Grace's Guide

British Industrial History

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 142,875 pages of information and 228,796 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

1914 Who's Who in Business: Company D

From Graces Guide

Revision as of 11:28, 8 May 2020 by PaulF (talk | contribs)
Jump to: navigation, search
Im1914WWB-p258b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p259a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p259b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p260a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p260b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p261a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p261b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p262a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p262b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p263a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p263b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p264a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p264b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p265a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p265b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p266a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p266b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p267a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p267b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p268a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p268b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p269a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p269b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p270a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p270b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p271a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p271b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p272a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p272b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p273a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p273b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p274a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p274b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p275a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p275b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p276a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p276b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p277a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p277b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p278a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p278b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p279a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p279b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p280a.jpg
Im1914WWb-p280b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p281a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p281b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p282a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p282b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p283a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p283b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p284a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p284b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p285a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p285b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p286a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p286b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p287a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p287b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p288a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p288b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p289a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p289b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p290a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p290b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p291a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p291b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p292a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p292b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p293a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p293b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p294a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p294b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p295a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p295b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p296a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p296b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p297a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p297b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p298a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p298b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p299a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p299b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p300a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p300b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p301a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p301b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p302a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p302b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p303a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p303b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p304a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p304b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p305a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p305b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p306a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p306b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p307a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p307b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p308a.jpg

Note: This is a sub-section of 1914 Who's Who in Business

DAILUAINE-TALISKER DISTILLERIES, Ltd., Distillers, 50, Wellington Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established early in the nineteenth century. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Company have two Distilleries in Strathspey, one in the Isle of Skye, one in Aberdeen, and Bonded Warehouses in Glasgow, Aberdeen, and Carron-Strathspey. Are believed to be the largest distillers of Pure Malt Whisky in the world, and are proprietors of many well-known Trade-marks. Branches: 45, Great Tower Street, London, E.C.; 29, St. Andrew Square, Edinburgh. Telephone: No. 345 Argyle. Telegraphic Address: Dailuaine, Glasgow."

" DAILY CHRONICLE " (THE).—See UNITED NEWSPAPERS, Ltd.

" DAILY EXPRESS " (THE), Morning Newspaper, 23, St. Bride Street, London, E.C. Established in April, 1900, by C. Arthur Pearson. Conducted by a Company incorporated in 1908. Directors: R. D. Blumenfeld (Managing), J. J. Candlish, G. Lawson Johnston, A. W. Rider, G. Wetton, S. B. Lawxnco. Telephone: No. 0689 Ho I born ( Private Branch Exchange ). Telegraphic Address: " Express, Fleet, London." Cable, Address " Action, London." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

" DAILY GRAPHIC " (THE).—See BAINES, H. R., & COMPANY, Ltd.

" DAILY MAIL " (THE) AND " DAILY MAIL " OVERSEAS EDITION. — See ASSOCIATED NEWSPAPERS, Ltd.

" DAILY MIRROR " (THE).—See PICTORIAL NEWSPAPER COMPANY, LIMITED (THE).

DAILY NEWS, Ltd. (THE), Publishers of the " Daily News and Leader," and ‘‘ The Star," Bouverie Street, Fleet Street, London, E.C.; and 53, Dale Street, Manchester. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Editor of the Daily News and Leader: A. G. Gardiner. Secretary: T. G. Curtis. The " Daily News " was founded in 1846 by Charles Dickens, who was its first editor. Among notable contributors have been Harriet Martineau, Henry Labouchere, Archibald Forbes (war correspondent), Justin McCarthy, Andrew Lang, and H. W. Lucy (Parliamentary department). Telephones: Nos. 313 Central (9 lines) and 6420 City (14 lines). Private Branch Exchange connecting all departments. Telegraphic Addresses: " Daily News " or " Star," London, " Longest, Manchester."

" DAILY TELEGRAPH " (THE), Morning Newspaper, Publishing and Editorial Offices, 135 and 141, Fleet Street, London, E.C. Established in 1855 by J. M. Levy (d.).

DAIMLER CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Motors, &c., Daimler Works, Coventry. Hours of Business: Offices, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works, always open. Established in 1896 as the Daimler Motor Co., Ltd. Incorporated as a Limited Company in the same year. Directors: E. Manville, Sir Hallewell Rogers, Lincoln Chandler, F. Dudley Docker, Albert Eadie, Percy Martin, Neville Chamberlain, Col. H. C. Holden, T. F. Walker, A. H. E. Wood. Premises: Cover thirty-five acres. Staff: 5000. Branches: London, Pall Mall, S.W., Store Street, Tottenham Court Road, Highgate Hill ' • Manchester, Nottingham, Birmingham, Bristol, Brighton, Leeds, Newcastle, Cardiff, Oxford. Specialities: Motorb, Motor Cars, Commercial Vehicles, Road Trains, &c. Awards: Grand .Prix, Turin, 1911; St. Petersburg, 1910; Buenos Ayres, Paris, Berlin and Brussels. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to H.M. The King, His late Majesty King Edward, the Emperor of Germany, the King of Spain, the Czar of Russia, and the Duke of Sparta. Telephone: No. 505 Coventry. Telegraphic Address: "Daimler, Coventry."

DALE, REYNOLDS & CO., Ltd., Editors and Proprietors of Technical Journals, Organisers and Directors of Trade Exhibitions and Markets, and Advertising Agents and Experts, 44 and 46, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1856. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 5477 Bank. Telegraphic Address: " Twentyfour, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Covent Garden).

DALGETY & CO., LIMITED, Merchants, 45, Bishopsgate, London, E.C. Incorporated in 1884. Directors: Hon. Edmund W. Parker (Chairman), Arthur P. Blake, R. E. Bush, Stephen Fairbairn, E. Lionel Fletcher, William 0. Gilchrist, Maurice G. C. Glyn, S. R. Livingstone-Learmonth. Colonial Boards of Advice: (Melbourne) George Fairbairn, Robert Power, R. 0. Blackwood, Harold Armytage; (Sydney) T. F. Knox, C. W. Little, and H. C. Taylor; (Fremantle) Sir E. H. Wittenoom, K.C.M.G., F. F. B. Wittenoom, James Morrison. General Manager and Colonial Superintendent: E. V. Reid. Secretary: T. B. Fisher. Branches: (Victoria) Melbourne and Geelong; (New South Wales) Sydney and Newcastle; (Queensland) Brisbane, Rockhampton, and Townsville; (South Australia) Adelaide; (West Australia) Perth, Fremantle, Kalgoorlie, Albany, Geraldton, Carnarvon; (New Zealand) Auckland, I Christchurch, Dunedin, Napier, Timaru and Wellington. Also Sub-Branches at Camperdown, Colac, Hamilton, and Terang (Victoria); Albury, Broken Hill (New South Wales); Toowoomba (Queensland); Beachport, Burra, Jamestown, Kingston, Millicent, Mount Gambier, Naracoorte, Port Adelaide, Port Augusta, Port Pirie, Snowtuwn, Wilmington (South Australia); Port Hedland, Roebourne (West Australia); Blenheim, Cheviot, Dannevirke, Gishorne, Gore, Hamilton, Invercargill, Masterton, Nelson, Oamaru, Opotiki, Palmerston North, Wairoa, and Wanganui (New Zealand). Capital: Fully subscribed, £4,500,000; Paid-up, £1,500,000. Reserve Fund: £500,000, Invested in Freehold Premises, 45, Bishopsgate, London, E.C., Government and other Trustee Securities. Telephones: Nos. 4618, 4619, and 4620 London Wall; Nos. 17 and 18 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Dalgety, Led, London."

DALROSS, Ltd., Advertising Agents and Publishers, 82, Mitchell Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900 as J. M. Munro, Ltd. Re-registered in 1908 as above. Directors: William Dallas Ross, John F. Horn, James Gordon, David Ross. Secretary: William Kempsell. Branches: London, 17, Bouverie Street; Edinburgh, 43, George Street. Business: Publishers of " Golfing," " Scottish Trader," " National Guardian," " Leather Trader," &c. Official Advertising Agents to the Scottish National Exhibition, Glasgow, 1911; Royal Technical College, Glasgow, &c. Connection: World-wide. Tele-phones: No. 9561 City, Glasgow; No. 316 Edinburgh; No. 2225 Holborn, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Dal ross, Glasgow "; " Promote, Edinburgh "; " Created, Fleet, London." Bankers: Bank of Scotland.

DALY (JAMES) & SONS, Ltd., Wholesale Butter Merchants and Exporters; and the s2 Shandon Castle Margarine Factory. Butter Department, 30 to 34, Shandon Street; Margarine Factory, Shandon Castle, Cork. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1870 as a Butter Business; Margarine Factory in 1900 by James Daly. Premises cover several aPres of ground. Several hundred hands are employed. Specialities: Butter; Margarine. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (War Office). Telephone: No. 363 Cork. Telegraphic Address: " Cream, Cork." Code: ABC (4th and 5th Editions). Bank ers: Munster and Leinster Bank (Cork).

DALY (JOHN) & CO., Ltd., Wholesale Tea, Wine and Whisky Merchants, Bonded Warehouse Proprietors, Wholesale Bottlers and Mineral Water Manufacturers, 18 and 19, Caroline Street, 13, North Main Street, and 16 to 25, Kyrl's Quay, Cork. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1779 by John Daly. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Directors: Wm. T. Green (Chairman), John McAuliffe, M. J. Mahony (Managing Director). Stall: 150. Specialities: Rum, old Irish Whisky. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 137 (Caroline Street); No. 166 (North Main Street). Telegraphic Address " Whiskey, Cork." Bankers: Munster and Leinster Bank, Ltd. (Cork).

DALZIEL FOUNDRY, Ltd., Stereotypers and Stereo Block Makers, 2A, Plough Court, Fetter Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Works open day and night. Established in 1889 by Harvey Dalziel, inventor of the Dalziel Foundry Process and Apparatus. Incorporated June 17th, 1897. Managing Director: Harvey Dalziel. Speciality: Fine Art Hard Metal Stereos. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Colonial. Telephones: (Plough Court), Nos. 4717 and 4718 Holborn; (Earl Street), Nos. 5742 and 5743 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Letterpress, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Holborn Circus Branch).

DAMPNEY, J., & CO., LIMITED, Paint Specialists. Factory: Eagle Paint Works. Offices: Bute Docks, Cardiff. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. (Factory); 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. (Office). Established: The original business in 1867 by the late John Dampney at Plymouth. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: C. C. Percy (Chairman), Richard Cory, R. W. Cory, W. Swan Dixon, J. B. Dampney (Managing Director). Premises: Extensive, covering one and a quarter acres; fully- equipped Factory. London Office: 87, Bishopsgate. Branch: Liverpool. Depots: London, Newcastle-on-Tyne, West Hartlepool, Glasgow. Agents at all the principal ports of the world. Specialities: Compound for preventing incrustation and corrosion inside steam boilers (not a Boiler Fluid); Graphite Paint for preserving Steel Structural Work, &c. Makers of Antifouling Composition for Ships' Bottoms, Special Compounds for Holds and Decks of Ships. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, W ar Office, Office of Works); also to the Crown Agents to the Colonies, &c. Telephones: No. 284 (National), Offices; No. 939 (National), Works. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Dampney, Cardiff "; " Apexior, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Docks Branch).

DANIELL, A. B., & SONS, China, Glass, &c., 42, 44, 46, Wigmore Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. Established in 1820. Specialities: China and Glass, Antique Furniture, Old Sheffield Plate, Oriental Porcelain, Articles of vertu. Connection: United Kingdom, America, India, Australia, &c. Held the Royal Warrant from Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telegraphic Address: " Guinea, London." Telephone: No. 735 Mayfair.

DANIELL, S. A., Ltd., Machinists and Tool Makers, Lion Works, Edward Street Parade, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.in. to 6 p.m. Established about 1863 by the late S. A. Daniell (d. 1893), as S. A. Daniell. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1895. Directors: C. T. Bishop (Chairman), Fred Hadley (Managing Director), Althans Blackwell, Frank S. Pearson. Premises: Extensive Works and Foundry at Edward Street Parade, and King Edward's Road. Staff: About 120 workmen; clerical twenty. Branches: 10, Camomile Street, London; 33, Robertson Street, Glasgow; and 12, Lever Street, Manchester. Specialities: Copying Presses, Stocks and Dies, Screwing Machines for hand and power, Engineers' Tools, Gas Fitters' Tools, Smiths' Tools, Joiners' Tools, &c. Have patented certain Stocks and Dies, Cramps, Machine Tools, &c., and have a foundry for the supply of Iron Castings. First Awards: Calcutta, Melbourne, Sydney, and Paris (1900). Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial, especially Australasia, India, South Africa, South America, and the Far East. Telephones: Nos. 5405 and 5406 Birmingham. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Daniell, Birmingham." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions).

DANIELLS, Ltd., Mineral Water Manufacturers, Guildford Street, Chertsey, Surrey. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1880. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Directors: J. Skegg, F. E. Tidswell and F. Daniells (Managing Director). Branch: Station Road, Addlestone, Surrey. Specialities: Pure Table Waters. Telephone: No. 21 Chertsey. Telegraphic Address: " Daniells, Chertsey."

DANISH BACON CO., Ltd., Bacon Importers, 9 to 13, and 60 to 65, Cowcross Street, Smithfield, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.15 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1902, by Danish Co-operative Bacon Factories. Was registered as a Limited Company in May, 1912. Managing Director: C. L. Hansen. Secretary: R. H. Gordon. Premises: Bacon Stores, Smoke Houses, Stables, Warehouse and Offices. Staff: About 170. Business: Importation of Bacon. Turnover, nearly two million sterling annually. The Danish farmers are able to sell their Bacon direct to shopkeepers and thereby save agents' commission; the shopkeepers obtain their Bacon first hand, profits are divided amongst Customers in England and Farmers in Denmark. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 6105 Holborn (four lines); No. 2301 (Post Office) Central, London; No. 1927 Holborn; and No. 578 City. Telewriter: No. 85 Walbrook. Telegraphic Address: "Runners, London." Code: AB C (5th Edition). Bankers: British Bank of Northern Commerce (Bishopsgate, E.C.).

D'ARCY (JOHN) & SON, Ltd., Brewers, Anchor Brewery, Usher Street, Dublin. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established early in the eighteenth century, according to Parish Records. Title deeds show that in 1782 the brewery was owned by Kavanagh & Brett; succeeded by John Dominick Byrne, who sold the business to John D'Arcy, grandfather of the present Chairman; succeeded by Matthew Peter D'Arcy, D.L. (d. 1889). Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1896. Chairman: James F. D'Arcy, D.L. In 1905 the goodwill, trade-marks, and brewing rights of the Phoenix Brewery, Dublin, Ltd., which was established in 1778, were purchased. Premises: Cover about seven acres. Business: Brewers of Ales, Stout, and Porter. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly), Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 196. Telegraphic Address: " Anchor, Dublin." Bankers: Bank of Ireland.

DARKE, C., DAY & CO., Manufacturers' Agents, 88, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1895 by Charles Darke Day (retired 1902). Joined by A. Erno in 1900. Present Principal: Adolphus Erno. Specialities: Toilet Brushes, Brushes of all kinds, Officers' Swords, Safety and other Razors. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 3911 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Replant, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), A 1 and Lieber's. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Fore Street).

DARLISON BROTHERS, Earthenware and China Merchants, 189 to 191, Green Street, Bethnal Green, London, N.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Thursdays, closed all day; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1868. Business: Wholesale China and Earthenware Merchants. Telephone: No. 288 Eastern, London. Telegraphic Address: " Darlisons, London."

DARRACQ, A., & CO. (1905), Ltd., Motor Car Manufacturers. Registered Address: 2, Coleman Street, London, E.C.; and at 150, New Bond Street, W. Works: Townmead Road, Fulham, S.W. Established in 1903. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Directors: Norman Craig, K.C., M.P. (Chairman), H. S. Higginbottom, W. B. Hopkins, A:merle H. Paget, M.P., A. Huntley Walker (Managing Director), Owen Clegg ( General Manager of the Works ). Speciality: Darracq Motor Cars. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1234 Hop; No. 202 Wall; No. 8444 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Address: " Darracqs, London." Codes: A B C (4th Edition), Lieber's. Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

DARTON, F., & CO., Wholesale Manufacturing Opticians and Scientific Instrument Makers, Clerkenwell Optical Works, 142, St. John Street, and 52, Clerkenwell Road, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1834 by Alfred Oborne. Present Principal t Francis A. Darton, F.R.Met.Soc. Premises: Consist of six large workshops at St. John Street, two Shops at Clerkenwell Road. Both buildings are fitted with electric power. Specialities: Standard Meteorological Instruments for Observatories, Recording Meteorological Instruments, Spectacles and Folders, Opera, Field and Marine Glasses, Prism Binoculars, Microscopes and Telescopes, Meteorological Instruments, Barometers and Thermometers, Clinical, &c., Electro Medical Apparatus, Electrical Accessories, Model Motors and Dynamos, &c. Awards: At leading Exhibitions. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office) and various other Government Departments. Telephone: No. 1891 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Exceptional, London." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. Established 1834.

DAUN & VALLENTIN (formerly known as Holme, Sewell & Co. for many years), Rectifying Distillers, Lambeth Distillery, Lambeth Road, London, S.E. Established in 1720 by John and William Law. Purchased in 1870 the Lambeth Distillery (Hodges & Co. ), also, in 1898, the business of George Orme & Co. Specialities: Gin, British Brandy, and Cordials. Connection: Home and Export. Telephone: No. 2769 Hop. Mr. Grimble Vallentin has been twice Master of the Worshipful Company of Distillers.

DAVEY & CO., LONDON, Ltd., Ship Fittings Manufacturers, 88, West India Dock Road, London, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1885. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Director: A. C. Davey. Specialities: Ship Signal Lamps, Morse Code Lamps, Cargo Gins, Purchas3 Blocks and Hoisting Gear, General Ships' Fittings. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office). Telephone: No. 1836 East, London. Telegraphic Address: " Acdav, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

DAVEY, PAXMAN & CO., Ltd., Engineers and Boiler Makers, Standard Iron Works, Colchester; and 78, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1865 by James N. Paxman, C. M. Davey, and H. M. Davey; T. J. Balls subsequently becoming a partner. Messrs. Davey retired in 1877, and T. J. Balls in 1885. The founder then took his son, William Paxman, into partnership, and the business remained in their hands until 1897. Incorporated as a Limited Company, 1898. Directors: James N. Paxman, J.P., M.Inst.M.E. (Chairman), William Paxman, Wilson Marriage, J.P., P. A. Sanders, A.M.I.M.E. Secretary: W. Hedley King. Premises: Works at Colchester cover fifteen acres. London offices as above. Stall: About 900. Agencies throughout the world. Specialities: Steam Engines and Boilers for electric light, power, and traction purposes, and for driving the machinery of mills, factories, &c., and a variety of general machinery. Awards: At leading Exhibitions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 52 Colchester; No. 697 Bank (London). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Paxman " (London or Colchester). Mr. James N. Paxman was Mayor of Colchester, 1888 and 1898; High Sheriff of Essex, 1904-5.

DAVID (CORNEILLE) & CO., Merchants, Thames House, Queen Street Place, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1857. Present Principals: C. E. Gunther, R. L. Gunther. Business: Merchants; Sole Agents for Liebig's Extract of Meat Co., Ltd. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, and United States. Telephones: Nos. 3630, 3631, and 3632 City (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Corneille, Cannon, London." Bankers: Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co.

DAVID, HERMAN, Diamond and Precious Stone Merchant, 31, Frederick Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1878 by Herman David. Present Principals: Herman David and Herman David (jun.), and Louis David (sons). Branches: St. Claude (Jura), France, and at Amsterdam. Specialities: Diamonds and Precious Stones. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2394 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Herman, Birmingham." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. Herman David has been Consular Agent for France in Birmingham for the past eighteen years.

DAVID'S, E. S. SONS & CO., Shippers, Lloyd's House, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1893 by J. E. David and H. E. David, the present principals. Business: Shippers. Connection; United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 3309 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Day light, Manchester." Bankers: Bank of England and Parr's Bank, Ltd.

DAVIDSON, C., & SONS, Ltd., Paper Manufacturers, Mugiemoss Works, Bucksburn, Aberdeenshire. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1796 by Charles Davidson. Founder was assisted later by his sons, William Davidson and George Davidson; succeeded by Charles Davidson, George Davidson, Alexander Davidson, ' John Davidson, David Davidson (sons of William Davidson). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1875. Present Directors: Alexander Davidson, David Davidson, Charles W. Davidson, Wm. D. Davidson, Alex. Marr, and Thomas Davidson. Premises: Head Office at Mugiemoss Works, Bucksburn, Aberdeenshire. Branches: 23, Upper Thames Street, London, E.C., and at Liverpool, Newcastle, Glasgow, Edinburgh, Aberdeen. Business: The manufacture of M. G. Caps, Envelope Papers, Krafts, Felt Paper, Browns and Grocers' Papers of every description; are also large Paper Bag Makers, General Printers, and Lithographers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 34 Aberdeen. Telegraphic Addresses: " Paper, Aberdeen "; " Ptarmigan, London."

DAVIDSON, JAMES M., Wholesale and Export Fish Merchants, Russell Road, Aberdeen, and 33, East Clyde Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business I 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1885 by James M. Davidson at Glasgow. Present Principals: James M. Davidson (Glasgow), and Robert Milne (Aberdeen). Supplied Special Army Rations to the Government during the South African War. Premises: Curing stations at Glasgow, Aberdeen, Mallaig, Buncrana, Peterhead, Thurso and Shetland. Staff: 150 to 200. Specialities: Lochfyne Kippers, Smoked Haddocks, Fillets, Sun Dried Cod, Ling, and Haddocks for Home and Export trade. Connection: Supply all the principal Fishmongers, Provision Dealers in Great Britain and Ireland; Export Dried Salt Fish to Spain, Mediterranean Ports, South America, West Indies; Smoked Haddocks, Fillets and Kippers to Australia and South Africa. Royal Warrant: Held special appointment to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephones: No. 1079 Aberdeen; Nos. 2118 and 2119 Bell, Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Goldfish," Aberdeen and Glasgow. Mr. Milne has been President of Aberdeen Fish Trade Association for three years.

DAVIES, GEORGE, & SON, Chartered Patent Agents, 4, St. Ann's Square, Manchester. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1835.

DAVIES & SON, Tailors, 19 and 20, Hanover Street, Hanover Square, London, W. Established in 1804 by Thomas Davies. Present Principal is of the third generation in a direct line from the founder. Branch: 16, Place VendOme, Paris. Speciality: High-class Tailoring. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to His late Majesty King Edward, also to H.M. King George V., H.R.H. the Prince of Wales, the Emperor of Russia, the King of Denmark, the King of Greece, and the King of Spain. Telephone: No. 3841 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Hanoverian, Reg, London."

DAVIS & CO., Bale Sheet and Bag Makers, Cotton Waste and Paper Stock Dealers, Hutchinson Street, Queen Street, Salford. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1907. Present Principals: John Davis and James McGilvray. Business: Bale Sheet and. Bag Makers, Cotton Waste and Paper Stock Dealers. Connection: United Kingdom and America. Telephone: No. 5778 City Manchester. Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank, Ltd. (Withy Grove).

DAVIS, D., & SONS, Ltd.— See under FERNDALE SMOKELESS STEAM COAL.

DAVIS GAS STOVE CO., Ltd. (THE), Gas Engineers, &c., 200, Camberwell Road,' London, S.E.; and at Luton. Showrooms: 59, Queen Victoria Street, E.C. Established in 1875. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893. Specialities: Gas and Steam Cooking Apparatus; Gas Fires; Hot Water Appliances. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 848 Hop (two lines); No. 742 Bank (two lines); No. 260 Luton. Telegraphic Addresses: " Metropolitan, London "; " Castings, Luton."

DAVIS (ORLANDO) & CO. (Successors to Collier Brothers), Lloyds' Agents, Average Agents, and Shipowners, 36, Southside Street, Plymouth. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1676.

DAVIS, S. & A. G., Flour and Maize Millers, Enniscorthy, County Wexford, Ireland. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1.30 p.m. Established in 1858 by Samuel and Abraham Grubb Davis. Present Principals: Francis William Davis and Albert Samuel Davis, J.P. Premises: Cover about an acre. Staff: Ninety-six. Branch: Wexford. Specialities: High-class Flour made with the latest scientific appliances and process; also Maize Products, chiefly Granulated Maize Meal. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 3 Enniscorthy; No. 27 Wexford. Telegraphic Address: " Davis," Enniscorthy and Wexford. Bankers: Bank of Ireland. Mr. Albert S. Davis is a Justice of the Peace.

DAVIS (SAMUEL) & SONS, Underwear and Hosiery Manufacturers, Canal Street Mills, Derby. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1854 by Samuel Davis. Present Principals: S. Davis, A. L. Davis, H. J. Davis, A. Taylor. Premises: Three Factories. Staff: Over 1,000. Branch: Hinckley. Specialities: Wool and Cotton Underwear and Hosiery. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial (chiefly), Foreign. Telephone: No. 315 Derby; No. 2 Hinckley. Telegraphic Addresses: " Hosiery, Derby "; Davis, Hinckley."

DAVIS & SOPER, Merchants and Commission Agents, South and East Africa, Australia, and Tasmania, 54, St. Mary Axe, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established by George Davis. Joined in partnership by W. Garland Soper in 1859 ' • title of firm, Davis & Soper. George Davis retired in 1865 (d. 1874 In 188 William Soper (son of W. Garland Soper) became partner. W. Garland Soper died 20th Dec., 1908. Present Principal: William Soper. Premises: Occupy entire building. Stall: Nineteen, and Packers. Business: (1) Agents for important Municipal Corporations in South Africa: Cape Town Corporation, Port Elizabeth Municipality, Bloemfontein Corporation, Buluwayo Municipality, Salisbury Municipality, &c.; (2) Buyers of Grain and Timber Cargoes, and General Morchand ise to indent. Connection: United Kingdom, South Africa, British East Africa, Australia, Tasmania. Telephone: No. 1108 Avenue (two lines). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Reposnos, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

DAVIS & TIMMINS, Ltd., Screw Manufacturers and Metal Merchants. Offices: York Road, King's Cross. Works: Wood Green, London, N. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established by the late E. Davis. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899 to take over a private company of the same name. Directors: Sir Henry C. Mance, C.I.E. (Chairman), Sir Henry Benbow, K.C.B., D.S.O., R.N., William Negus, J.P., G. E. Davis (Managing Director), G. E. Timmins, W. Constant (Secretary). Awards: Highest at all exhibitions. Telephone: No. 11070 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Conductivity, London."

DAVIS, W. H., & CO., Ltd., Bedstead Manufacturers, Anchor Bedstead Works, Macdonald Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1872 by the late W. H. Davis. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: W. H. Davis, W. Neale, C. H. Morgan, and W. B. Ash. Premises: Head Offices and Works cover over an acre of ground. Works equipped with all modern improvements. Branch: 58-64, Leonard Street, London, E.C.; area 20,000 sq. ft. Business: Manufacture of every kind of Bedstead, Cot, and Sleeping Gear. Trade-mark An Anchor. Patents: Numerous. Telephone: No. 325 Midland, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Avance, Birmingham." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Bank of England; London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

DAVY, ARTHUR, Woollen Manufacturer, 17, Chester Street, Morley Road, Bradford; and Asia House, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established nineteen years ago by Arthur Davy, the present principal. Staff: Forty-five. Business: Woollen and Worsted Coatings, Cottons, Linings and Dress Goods. Connection: Foreign and Home Trade. Telephone: No. 4713 (three lines), Bradford. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Fantasie, Bradford." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions); Lieber's; Ross Moss; Al; and Private.

DAVY BROTHERS LIMITED, Engineers and Steam Boiler Makers, Park Iron Works, Foley Street; Don Boiler Works, Leveson Street, Sheffield. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.; Works, Double Shift. Established in 1830 by David Davy (sen.) and Denis Davy. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1872. Directors: Robert Eddison, J.P. (Chairman), Wm. Hy. Ellis, M.Inst.C.E., A. J. Capron, M.Inst.C.E. (Managing Director). Premises: Very extensive, and thoroughly well equipped; Works covering an area of between five and six acres. Staff: Between 800 and 1000. Specialities: Steel Works Plant and Machinery. High Speed Hydraulic Forging Presses, Steam Hammers, &c. Patents: High Speed Forging Presses; Induced and Balanced Draught with Hot Air Economisers. Connection: United Kingdom chiefly; Foreign. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office). Telephones: Nos. 44, 2429, and 2418 Sheffield. Telegraphic Address: " Motor, Sheffield." Bankers: Sheffield and Hallamshire Bank, Ltd.

DAVY, J., & CO. (ELSECAR), Ltd., Ironfounders, Elsecar, near Barnsley. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established forty years ago by Jonathan Davy; joined by William Lax (dissolved seven years later). Continued by J. Davy. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. Directors: E. Davy (Chairman), J. Davy and F. Davy. Premises: Formerly a brewery. Works cover half an acre. Staff: About fifty. Specialities: Stove Grates; also all kinds of Builders' and Colliery Castings. Award: Special First-class Award at Local Exhibition, 1886, for castings. Connection: England. Telephone: No. 37 Hoyland. Telegraphic Address: " Davy, Elsecar." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Elsecar).

DAWN MILL CO., Ltd., Cotton Spinners, Newtown, Shaw, Lancashire. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: Charles William Rye (Chairman), Fred Platt (Managing Director), James H. Lord, John T. Sunderland, John T. Henthorne. Premises: Very extensive, containing 102,000 Spindles. Specialities: Spinning of American Super Wefts and Twist, Ring Twist and Beams. Connection: Chiefly East Lancashire District, fair trade in Holland. Telephone: No. 33 Shaw. Telegraphic Address: " Dawn Mill, Shaw." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

DAWSON, H., & CO., Wool Brokers, Portland House, 73, Basinghall Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; During Wool Sales, 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. Established in 1892 by Hick, Martin & Drysdale. Continued by (1) Hick, Dawson & Co., 1889; (2) H. Dawson & Co., 1899. Present Principal: Harry Dawson. Staff: Thirty to forty Buyers and Clerks. Branches: Bradford, 10, Booth Street; Huddersfield, 7 and 8, Byram Arcade; Verviers, 13, Rue de L'Harmonie; Sydney, 62, Pitt Street; Christchurch, 172, Manchester Street; Buenos Ayres, 383, Bartolome Mitre. Agencies: United States, Germany and France. Business: The Collection of Wool in all countries of production and distribution of same to every manufacturing district. Issue a periodical circular dealing with the Wool Sales and conditions of the market, and showing the quantities of available wools from Colonial and other sources, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, American, Continental and Colonial. Telephones: No. 952 London Wall, London; No. 868 Bradford; No. 381 Huddersfield. Telegraphic Address: " Kumbuk," London, Bradford, Huddersfield and Verviers. Codes: A 1, A B C, Lieber's, Western Union and Private. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Lombard Street), London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Coleman Street), United Counties Bank, Ltd. (Bradford).

DAWSON (JAMES) & SON, Ltd., Curriers, &c., Leather and Balata Belting Manufacturers, &c., Boultham Works, Lincoln. London Office: 62 and 63, Mark Lane, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established about twenty-five years ago by James Dawson & Son. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: Alexander Trotter (Chairman), James Dawson (Managing Director), W. S. Dawson, George Gunning (Secretary). Branches: Melbourne, Sydney, Johannesburg, Bucharest, Moscow, St. Petersburg. Vancouver, Winnipeg, Toronto, Montreal, Halifax, N.S., St. John's, N.F., Tokio, Yokohama, Reval, Libau, Riga, Rio de Janeiro, Fremantle, Perth, &c. Specialities: Currying; Manufacture of Belting of all kinds; Hydraulic Leathers, and Balata. Conveyors for Mines and Collieries. Patents: " Lincona " (Regd.) Balata Belting and Conveyors, " Lincona " (Regd.) Cycle Belting. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 39 Lincoln; No. 5819 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Dawsons, Lincoln." Codes: Al; A B C (5th Edition); Private. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Lincoln).

DAWSON (MARK) & SON, Ltd., Worsted Spinners. Registered Offices: Springhead Mills, and Prospect Mills, Thornton, Bradford. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.15 p.m. Established in 1848 by Mark Dawson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: Wm. A. Dawson (Chairman), Julia Dawson, Wm. Townend. Premises: Contain 40,000 Spindles. Staff: 700. Speciality: Worsted Yarns for Serges. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3421 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Dawson, Bradford." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

DAWSON, PETER, Ltd., Distillers and Wholesale Whisky Merchants, Dufftown, and 82, Great Clyde Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1802. Premises comprise Offices, Stores, Bonded Warehouses, Distillery, &c. Staff: Thirty, besides a large and varying number of workmen. Speciality: Scotch Whisky. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 7597 City, and 1889 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Pibroch, Glasgow."

DAWSON, WM., & SONS, Ltd., Newsagents, Cannon House, Breams Buildings, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1809 by Wm. Dawson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Business: Wholesale and Export Booksellers and Newsagents. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (India Office, &c.); also to the London County Council. Telephone: No. 3485 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Nonnac, London."

DAWSON (WILLIAM) & SONS (OTLEY), Ltd., Printers' Engineers, Ashfield Foundry, Otley, Yorks. Haws of ,Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1830 by the late William Dawson. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1906. Directors: W. V. Dawson (Chairman), E. Stott, H. Bey, F. N. Thompson. Geo. Wilkinson, Joseph Mason (Secretary). Premises: Were erected specially to suit the requirements of the business; situated on the banks of the River Wharfe. Works extend about seven acres. Stag: About 500. Specialities: Original Makers of the Wharfedale Printing Machines. Inventors and Patentees of various appliances for the production of High-class Half-tone and Three-colour Work and for High-class Magazines. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 23 Otley. Telegraphic Address: " Dawsons, Otley." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

DAY & MARTIN, Ltd., Boot Polish and Blacking Manufacturers, Daymar Works, Carpenters Road, Stratford, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1770. Incorporated as a Limited Company, 1899. Directors: C. H. Watkins (Chairman), F. J. 0. Torry, F. G. Sage, H. C. Mends-Gibson, and R. O. Burlison (Directors), Aubrey T. Hill (Managing Director). Secretary: Percy C. Scull. Staff: About 300. Specialities: Blacking, Boot Polish, Laundry Blue, Black Lead, Furniture Polish, Leather Dressings. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to His late Majesty King Edward, to H.M. King George V., and to Queen Alexandra. Telephone: No. 292 Stratford. Telegraphic Address: "Japanese, Strat, London."

DAY & MILLWARD, Ltd., Patentees and Manufacturers of all kinds of Weighing Machines, Patent Agate Scales, Scale Beams, Steelyards, &c. Also of the Prize Medal Patent Weighing Machines, Suffolk Street and Ellis Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1700. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Chairman: H. Allday. Managing Director: F. A. Booth. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Cover about two acres. Staff Clubs: Air Gun, Sick and Dividend Society. Branch: 39, Duke Street, Aldgate, E.C. Specialities: Scales and Weighing Apparatus, Steelyards and Automatic Machines and Weighbridges. Awards: Gold Medal, Exhibition, 1851; Silver Medal, 1867; Prize Medal, 1862; and several Diplomas. Patents: Prize Medal Weighing Machine, Agate Scales, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office). Telephones: No. 587 Midland, Birmingham; No. 2750 (Post Office) Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Scales, Birmingham." Codes: Dedocorabo, A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd., Birmingham.

DAY, S. H., & CO., Ltd., 7, Union Court, Old Broad Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1787. Samuel Hulme. Day (d. 1876) was succeeded by his sons, Sidney Day and Augustus T. Day. Sidney Day retired in 1890, when Augustus T. Day became sole partner. Successors in 1874 to H. A. Frisby & Son, of Mark Lane; in 1902 to Carbonell & Co., of Regent Street (established 1739); and in 1904 to Wm. Arrow (son of Sir William Arrow, at one time Master of Trinity House), who succeeded to the business of John and Charles White, of Lime Street (established 1815). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Chairman and Managing Director: Augustus T. Day. Business: Wine and Spirit Merchants. Premises: Offices, 7, Union Court; large Cellars in Union Court. Connection: London, America, India, Japan, Java, &c. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to H.M. King George V., also to His late Majesty King Edward. Telephone: No. 3084 Central. Telegraphic Addresses: "Lohrez, London." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (London).

DAY'S Ltd., Stoneware Sanitary Pipes, Waste, Water Closets, Bends, Junctions, Interceptors, Gulleys, Traps, and Sanitary Fittings Manufacturers, Coal and Clay Mines, Silica Quarry, Horsehay, Salop. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1850 by the Horsehay Pottery Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: E. Lisle (Managing Director), W. Hamblett, E. Lisle (jun.) and L. Johnson. The first Kiln, erected in 1850, is now a dwellinghouse. Premises: Mines and Quarries owned by the Company cover 154 acres, and Surface Land, 138 acres. Staff: 160. Specialities: Waste Water Closets and Sanitary Fittings. Patents: Automatic Waste Water Closets. Awards: Seven Gold, Silver and Bronze Medals, Four Highest Awards, Royal Sanitary Institute of Great Britain. Connection: Supply all England and Wales, Ireland and Egypt. Output of fifteen miles of Sanitary Pipes, 8000 pieces of fittings, weekly. Telegraphic Address: " Day's, Dawley, Salop." Code: A B C. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. Levi Johnson has been Mayor of Wolverhampton.

DAYMOND (JOHN) & SON, Architectural Sculptors and Art Workers, 1, 3, 5 and 7, Edward Street, Vincent Square, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1853 by the ]ate John Daymond. Present Principals: John Daymond and John Dudley Daymond. Staff: 50 to 100. Specialities: Stone Carving on Buildings; Modelled Ceilings and Wood Carving; Marble Chimney Pieces, Decorations, Floors, &c.; Reredoses, Altars, Stalls (for Churches). Are Workers in Marbles, Alabaster, Stone, Granite, Wood, Fibrous Plaster, Modelled Stuc, and Gesso; and make Models for Bronze Castings, &c. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Office of Works) and to Crown Agents for the Colonies. Telephone: No. 927 Victoria. Telegraphic Address: " Damophilus, Sowest, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

DEACON (SAMUEL) & CO., Advertisement Agents and Contractors, 7, Leaden hall Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1812 at Snow Hill, Holborn, by Samuel Deacon; succeeded by his son, Octavius D. Deacon, the present sole proprietor. Speciality: Advertising in all its Branches, British, Foreign, and Colonial. The firm is one of the oldest and best known of its kind. Telephone: No. 4153 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Deacon, Leadenhall, London."

DEAKIN & FRANCIS, Ltd., Manufacturing Jewellers and Silversmiths, Regent Place, Birmingham. Hours of Business I Usual. Established in 1780 by Henry Woolfield, and continued until 1825 as Henry Woolfield & Son; 1825 to 1850, carried on by C. W. S. Deakin, who was joined in 1850 by C. W. B. Moore; 1876, C. W. B. Moore retired, and C. W. S. Deakin was joined by S. H. Deakin; 1881, J. H. Francis, took the place of C. W. S. Deakin. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Present Directors: S. H. Deakin, J. H. Francis, J. Francis and W. L. Jordan. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Have carried on in direct succession on the samo site, evolving from Merchants to be one of the largest Manufacturers in the trade. Branch: Sydney (N.S.W.), Hoffnungs Chambers, 163, Pitt Street. Agencies: Throughout the Colonies. Representatives in almost every foreign country. Specialities: Gem and the highest grade of Gold Jewellery, Goldware and Silverware of all descriptions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 50 Central, Birmingham (two lines). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Deafra, Birmingham." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

DEAKIN, W. R., Ltd., Fruit Growers and Preservers, Eclipse Works, Wigan, and Canning Factory, Toddington, near Cheltenham. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established in 1887 by W. R. Deakin, J.P. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Governing Director: W. R. Deakin, J.P. Premises: Extensive; Factory at Toddington situated in the heart of 1,000 acres of Fruit Plantations, established by the Right Hon. Lord Sudeley. Devoted to the Canning of English Fruits in Syrup. Large Farms at Evesham and Pershore. Specialities: Fruit Growing and Preserving. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones .? No. 76 Wigan; No. 3 (P.O.), Winchcombe, Telegraphic Addresses: " Deakin, Wigan"; " Deakin, Toddington, Win.chcombe." Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd.

DEAN, J., Revolving Shutter and Blind Manufacturer, Cromwell Works, Putney, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1894 by J. Dean, the present principal. Claims to be the largest employer of labour in the Blind trade. Premises: Extensive works, fitted with motor machinery in Putney; wholesale department, 86, High Street, Putney. Works and offices built specially for the trade and the property of the proprietor. Branches: Birmingham, Manchester, Portsmouth, Bath, Swansea, &c. Specialities: Shop and Window Blinds and Revolving Shutters. Proprietor of Dunhill's Patent Self-Acting Spring Shop Blinds. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Contractor to H.M. Government, London County Council, &c. Telephones: Nos. 254 and 1318 Putney. Telegraphic Address: " Rolerons, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Putney).

DEAN (MATTHEW) & SONS, Worsted Spinners and Hosiery Manufacturers, Butterby Mill, Croxdale, near Durham; and Elvet Waterside, Durham. Hours of Business: Mill, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Hosiery Works, (Elvet Waterside) 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established about fifty years ago by Matthew Dean (d.) at 10, Silver Street, Durham. Present Principal: Matthew Dean (son). Staff: Mill, thirty; Elvet Waterside, fourteen. Speciality: Knitting Wools (Spinners). Connection: Durham and Northumberland chiefly; also Lancashire, Yorkshire, Cumberland and Westmorland. Telephone: No. 76 Durham. Telegraphic Address: " Dean, Hillcrest, Elvet Moor, Durham." Mr. Dean has been Chairman of the Parish Council at Croxdale. He is President of Durham City Cricket Club and was a member of the Highway Board.

DEAN & SON, Ltd., Publishers, 160A, Fleet Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established about two centuries ago. Partnership Successions: (1) Bailey & Dean; (2) Dean & Munday; (3) Dean & Son. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Arthur W. Dean (Chairman), Henry S. Dean (Managing Director), F. G. Green, A. G. M. Hesilrige. Speciality: Children's Picture Books; Are the Publishers also of " Debrett's Peerage," " Debrett's Baronetage, Knightage and Companionage," " Debrett's House of Commons and Judicial Bench," " The Paper Makers' Directory of All Nations," &c. Connection: United-Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 119 Holborn. Telegraphic Address: " Debrett, London."

DEANS, LOGAN & CO., Ltd., Wine Shippers, Cordial and Liqueur. Manufacturers, &c., 16-20, Commercial Court; Stores, 22-28, Hill Street; Bonded Stores, " Stack Z," Belfast. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1876 by Deans, Hadden & Co., continued from 1890 as Deans, Logan & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Directors; Alexander Deans (Chairman), James Logan, Samuel G. Logan, J.P., and J. W. Kinnear. Secretary: John Ward. Branches: London, Glasgow, Newcastleon-Tyne, Leeds, Manchester, Dublin and Cork. Specialities: " Seclna" and Cherry and Honey Liqueur (non. alcoholic); patent held. Importers of Wines of all countries. Award: Diploma of Honour and Diploma of Gold Medal Turin Exhibition, 1911. Connection: Over twenty representatives covering the whole of the United Kingdom. Agencies in Australia, India, Canada, New Zealand, Egypt, and Gold Coast, West Africa, and America, Ti ipoli, Morocco, Italy and Norway. Telephone: No. 2812 Belfast. Telegraphic Address: "Deans, Belfast." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Ulster Bank, Ltd., Head Office: Waring Street, Belfast.

DEAR, ALEC J., (Late George Dear), Woolstapler, Codford St. Mary, Wilts. Scotch Representatives: Joseph McCaig & Co., Galashiels, N.B. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1840 at Woodford, Wilts, by James Dear (d.), who was succeeded in 1862 by George Dear (d.). In 1872 the latter succeeded James Raxworthy at Codford St. Mary (established about fifty years before), and carried on business in both towns for several years; subsequently the Woodford branch was closed. Present Principal: Alec J. Dear. Premises: Cover three-quarters of an acre. Staff: Fifteen. Specialities: Sorting Fleeces, a chief feature is made of South Down and Wiltshire Down Matchings. Awards: Medal, Crystal Palace, International Exhibition, 1881; Bronze Medal for Wool (George Dear). Connection,: Continent. Telegraphic Address: " Dear, Codford St. Mary." Bankers: Wilts and Dorset Bank, Ltd. (Salisbury).

DEBENHAM & CO., Manufacturers and Warehousemen (wholesale), 91, Wimpole Street, London, W.; also at 15, 16 and 17, St. Paul's Churchyard, London, E.C. A constituent company of Debenhams, Ltd. Staff (excluding branches): About 1,500. Established: Originally Debenham & Freebody, but carried on as a separate business since the beginning of 1900. Telegraphic Address: "Debenham, London." Telephone: .No. 1, Mayfair (twenty lines).

DEBENHAM & FREEBODY, Drapers, Silk Mercers, Mourning Warehousemen, Dress, Costume, and Mantle Makers, Lacemen, Jewellers, and Dealers in Works of Art, Outfitters, Milliners, Furriers, and Drapers, 21, 25, 27, 29, 31, 33, and 35, Wigmore Street, and 2, 3, and 4, Welbeck Street, London, W. Staff: Over 500. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. Established: Before 1800, by a Mr. Flint. The style of the firm in 1813 was Clark & Debenham. Present title assumed 1863. A constituent Company of Debenhams, Ltd. Specialities: Silks, Mourning Goods, Dresses, Costumes, Mantles, Lace, Haberdashery, Hosiery, Gloves, Outfitting, Millinery, Furs (late Nicholays), and Drapery. The firm acquired the business of Helbronners, Ltd., Church, &c., Embroiderers, now carried on at 27, Wigmore Street. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to the King and Queen; to His late Majesty King Edward, to H.M. Queen Alexandra; also to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telegraphic Address: " Debenham, London." Telephone: No. 1 Mayfair (twenty lines).

DEBENHAM, STORR & SONS, Ltd., Auctioneers, Surveyors, and Estate Agents, 26, King Street, Covent Garden, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1813. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1898. Directors: H. M. Allom (Chairman and Managing Director), E. A. Allom, W. S. Allom. Secretary: W. S. Allom. One of the oldest and best-known firms in London. Expert Jewellery, Silver, and Fine Art Auctioneers; also Auctioneers of Furniture, Antiques, Furs, Lace, Medals, Guns, and miscellaneous property; Surveyors, Valuers, and House and Estate Agents. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2399 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Viewing, London."

DEBENHAM, TEWSON, RICHARDSON & CO., Auctioneers, Surveyors, and Land Agents, 80, Cheapside, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1853 by Frank Gissing Debenham. Staff: About forty. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: Nos . 503 and 504 Bank. Telegraphic Address: "Debenhams, 80, Cheapside."

DEBENHAMS, Ltd. The following federated Houses, each being under separate and independent management, were taken over by Debenhams, Ltd., a Company formed in January, 1905:—Wholesale Businesses: Debenham & Co., Warehousemen, Wimpole Street and Welbeck Street, W. • Debenham & Co., Warehousemen, St. Paul's Churchyard, E.C.; Debenham et Cie., Agents and Commissionaires, 115, Rue Reaumur, Paris; Debenham et Cie., Agents, Lyons; Debenhams (Australia) Proprietary, Ltd., Melbourne and Sydney; Debenham, Gardiner & Co., Ltd., New York; Debenhams (Canada), Ltd., Toronto and Montreal; Debenhams (South Africa), Ltd., Cape Town and Johannesburg; Debenham's Continental, Ltd., Brussels. Retail Businesses: Debenham & Freebody, Drapers, Silk Mercers, &c., Wigmore Street, W.; Haywards, Lacemen, 11, Old Bond Street, W. Manufacturing Business: Nicholays, Furriers, 76, Welbeck Street, W. Registered Offices: 91, Wimpole Street, London, W. Telegraphic Address: "Debenham, Wire, London." Telephone: No. 1 Mayfair (twenty lines).

DE CLERMONT & DONNER, Merchants, 27, St. Thomas Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1853 by Philip Von Donner and Robert de Clermont. Present Principals: Robert Donner, Edward Donner, Edward de Clermont and Robert Speyer. Branches: Madras, Aden, Mombasa, Hodeidah, Now York, and Boston. Specialities: Leather; also Skins and Hides. Telephones: Nos. 533 and 1492 Hop, London. Telegraphic Address: " Declermont, London."

DE DION BOUTON (1907), Ltd., Motor Car Manufacturers' Representatives, 10, Great Marlborough Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated: March 9th, 1907. Directors: S. Van den Bergh, W. Scott - Leefe, A. I. Phillips, H. O. Duncan (Managing Director in France), J. W. Stocks (Managing Director in England). Secretary: H. H. Rodwell. Specialities: Motor Cars, Omnibuses, Delivery Vans, Lorries, Motor Launches, and Dynamo and other Motor Combinations. Connection: United Kingdom and all British Colonies and Dependencies. Telephones: Nos. 3150, 3151, 3152 City. Telegraphic Address: " Andesite, Reg, London."

DEED, JOHN S., & SONS, Ltd., Leather Manufacturers and Importers, 91, New Oxford Street, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1834 by John S. Deed. The firm became John S. Deed & Sons in 1861, and in 1899 John S. Deed & Sons, Ltd. Specialities: Morocco Leather, Chamois Leather, Buff Hides, Enamelled Hides, &c. The firm are also Importers of American Leather. Awards: Seven Prize Medals. Branches: 05, Humberstone Gate, Leicester, and 5, Colwyn Road, Northampton. Works: Eagle Works, Mitcham, Surrey. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Telephone: No. 9177 (two lines) Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: "Deeds, Westcent, London."

DEEDES, TEMPLER & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Real Balbriggan Hosiery, Sea Mills, Balbriggan, Ireland. Hours of Business: Summer, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Winter, 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1884 by the late Edward George Deedes, R.N. (d. 1908), five months after the business was formed into a Limited Company. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1908. Directors: A. W. M. Marshall, G. A. Templer, R. Metchette (Managing Director). Premises: Cover one acre, site of building was formerly an old Brickfield. Staff: Total, 367. Staff Club: Football. Specialities: Ladies' Hose in Cotton, Cashmere and Thread, and Gentlemen's half-hose in real Balbriggan make. Trade Mark: A Sheep carrying banneret. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Deedes, Balbriggan." Bankers: Northern Banking Co., Ltd.

DEELEY, WALTER E., Iron, Metal and Machinery Merchant, 11, Victoria Buildings, Victoria Street, Manchester. Hours of Business t 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established ten years ago by Walter E. Deeley, the present principal. Premises: Own Railway Sidings. Specialities t New and Second-hand Gas Engines and Contractors' Plant, &c. Connection: United Kingdom and Export. Telephone i No. 4922 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Separator, Manchester." Code t A B C. Bankers: Union Bank of Manchester, Ltd. (Deansgate).

DE GRELLE, HOUDRET & CO., General Merchants, 130, London Wall, London, E.C.; and at Brussels. HMO's of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1859 by Chas. De Grelle Rogier and Jules Houdret, one of the present principals. Present Principals: Chas. De Grelle Rogier, Jules Houdret, Chas. Houdret, Jules Cornelius Houdret. Staff: About sixty clerks. Business: Sole representatives since 1859 for England and the Colonies of the Val St. Lambert Works (glass of all kinds); claimed to be the largest glassworks in existence. General Merchants. Specialities: Glass, China, Earthenware, Woollens, Dynamite, Liquid Gold Insulators, and generally all export articles. Connection: England and Colonies, Japan, China, Dutch Indies, and South America. Telegraphic Address: "De Grelle, London."

DEIGHTON'S PATENT FLUE & TUBE CO., Ltd., Pepper Road, Hunslet, Leeds. Hours of Business: Offices, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: Lawrence Clayton, J.P. (Chairman), William Deighton (Managing Director), Joseph Clayton, J. R. Pickering. Premises Extensive, equipped with all modern improvements. Area, 3 acres. Staff: Twenty. Proprietors of the Yorkshire Patent Steam Wagon Co. Specialities: Corrugated Flues for Marine and Land Boilers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Makers to the Chief Governments of the World and to the leading Shipbuilders at home and abroad. Telephone: No. 1674 (National) Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Flues, Leeds." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

de JERSEY & CO., Merchants, 14, Blackfriars Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 'Usual. Present Principals: Joh. Knoop, Chas. Louis v. Knoop, Ernest W. Gromme, Jersey do Knoop, Joh. Ludwig Knoop. Branch: 81, 82, 84 and 85, Cotton Exchange Buildings, Bixteth Street, Liverpool, W. Business: General Merchants. Telephones: Manchester, Nos. 3033 and 3036 Central; Liverpool, No. 13 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Dejerseys," Manchester and Liverpool.

DE KEYSER'S ROYAL HOTEL, Ltd., Victoria Embankment, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. (the Hotel is open day and night). Established originally in the early " fifties " by Constant De Keyser. His son, Mr. (afterwards Sir) Polydore De Keyser, erected the present building. Incorporated in 1897.

DE LA RUE (THOMAS) & CO., Ltd., Engravers, Printers, Manufacturing Wholesale Stationers, &c., &c., 110, Btmhill Row, London, E.C. Specialities: The Engraving and Printing of Bank Notes, Bonds, and other Securities; the Printing of Postage and other Stamps, the Manufacture of Playing Cards, Drawing Boards, Cardboards, Envelopes, &c., and of Account Books, Albums, Index Diaries, and Fancy Leather Goods, &c. Are General Engravers and Printers; Publishers of Works on Card Games and Patentees and Manufacturers of a wellknown Self-filling Fountain Pen, and an Inkstand. Connection: World - wide. Telephone: No. 4227 London Wall. Teleyraphic Address " Delarue, Finsquare, London."

DELHI & LONDON BANK Ltd. (THE), 5, Bishopsgate, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in India as the Delhi Bank Corporation in 1844; in London as the Delhi and London Bank Ltd. in 1865. Directors: Colonel W. Graham Smith (Chairman), D. H. Small, Walter F. Smith, A. F. Simson, A. T. Rawlinson, C. C. McLeod. Branches: Calcutta, Delhi, Lucknow, Mussoorie, Simla, Karachi, Amritsar. Business: General Banking and Exchange. Telegraphic Address: " Orlammo, London." Bankers: Bank of England; Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

DELLAGANA, B., & CO., Ltd., Electrotypers, Storeotypors, and Process Engravers. Head Office and Works: 11, Shoe Lane, Fleet Street, E.C.; 14, Bishopsgate Avenue, Camomile Street, London, E.C.; 62, Greengate, Salford, Manchester; 35, Atherton Street, Liverpool; and 16, Somers Street, Leeds. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established about 1840 by the late J. and B. Dellagana. They were succeeded by the present concern. Incorporated as a Company in 1883. Directors: J. C. Barnard (Chairman), John B. Ball, Arthur H. Loring, R. J. Beadon, and Allan McCall; and George E. Holloway (General Manager). The firm claim to be the oldest in the trade. Specialities: Printing Blocks by all processes and Electro-Metallurgy of all classes. Premises: Six Factories and six branches. Staff: About 200 hands. Telephone: No. 207 Holborn. Telegraphic Address: " Dellagana, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Ludgate Hill, E.G.).

DELLINGBURN OIL & CHEMICAL CO. (THE), Manufacturing Chemists and Oil Refiners, Dellingburn Square, Greenock. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1912 by William Wright and H. Telfer Whitelaw, the present principals. Premises: Cover half an acre. Staff: Office, five; Chemical Laboratory, two; Works, ten. Agencies: Numerous at Home and Abroad. Specialities: " Sterilax " Detergent; " Reenolene " Liquid Soap; " Reeno " and " Sylvo lone " Disinfectant Fluids; " Delco " Marine Engine Oils, Motor Oils and Greases; and " Delcoline " Concrete Mould Oil. Connection: Home and Abroad. Telephone: No. 773 Greenock. Telegraphic Address: " Chemical, Greenock." Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Greenock).

DELTA METAL CO., Ltd. (THE), Metal Manufacturers, Delta Works, East Greenwich, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1883 by the late Alexander Dick. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1888. Directors: Herbert A. Dugard (Chairman), J. W. Meyjes (London) and Edward Price (Birmingham), (Joint Managing Directors), Alexander F. H. Dick (Secretary). Premises: Extensive Works on the Banks of the Thames, and at Birmingham. Branch: Delta Works, Dartmouth Street, Birmingham. Specialities: " Delta Metal " High-class Engineering Alloys, " Dixtrudo " Highspeed Turning and Screwing Brass and " Dixtampo " Yellow Metal, and Dick's Patent Extruded Metals, of which they are sole Manufacturers; Brass, Bronze and Copper Rods, Gun Metal, Babbitt's Metal, Manganese, Phosphor and Aluminium Bronzes, &c. Patents: Numerous in connection with the manufacture and working of Metals and Alloys. Awards: five Diplomas of Honour, eighteen Gold Medals, ten Silver Medals. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office, Post Office), Crown Agents for the Colonies, &c. Telephones: No. 1800 New Cross (three lines), London; No. 3206 Central (five lines), Birmingham. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: "Delta, Eastgren, London " (Inland); " Extrusion, Birmingham "; " Delta, London " (Cables). Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited, London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

DEMPSTER, R. & J., Ltd., Gas and Chemical Plant Manufacturers, Gas Plant Works, Oldham Road, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1884 by Robert Dempster and John Dempster. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1894. Directors: Robert Dempster, John Dempster, Charles Dempster, R. A. Hepworth (Managing Director). Premises: Cover 7i acres. London Office: 165, Gresham House, Old Broad Street, E.C. Staff: Office 32; 600 hands. Specialities: All kinds of Structural Ironwork, Coke Oven and Blast Furnace Recovery Plant. Gasworks Installations, Elevators and Conveyors, Chemical and Gas Plants; also makers of Condensers, Exhausters, Steam Engines and Pumps, &c. Have patented several of their inventions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 54 and 2296 (National) Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Scrubber," Manchester or London. Codes: A B C (1883 and 5th Edition), Engineering, A 1. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

DENHOLM, POND & CO., Steamship Owners and Brokers, 155, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. (also JAS. & JNO. DENHOLM, Greenock, and 30, Renfield Street, Glasgow). Flours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Present Principals: John Denholm, Alfred Percy Pond. Staff: Total Office, &c., about twenty. Business: Owners of a direct line of Steamers from Newfairwater (Danzig), Stettin, Hamburg, and Continental Ports to London and Greenock. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 13787 Central; No. 49 Greenock; No. 5666 Central, Glasgow. Telegraphic Addresses: " Denholm, London "; " Denholm, Greenock "; " Denholm, Glasgow." Codes: Scott's, Watkins'. Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland (Greenock) and British Linen Bank (London).

DENISON, SAML., & SON, Ltd., Weighing Machinists and Ironfounders, Hunslet Foundry, Leeds. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Offices, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1770 by Thos. Glover. Succeeded by Samuel Denison (cousin), and title of firm altered in 1820. Joined by Henry Dean Denison (son) in 1851. Title of firm became Saml. Denison & Son. Samuel Denison and George Henry Denison (sons of Henry Dean Denison) became partners in 1887. Henry Dean Denison died 1889. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Directors: Samuel Denison, M.Inst.M.E., Geo. Henry Denison, Wm. Freer Thonger. Glover's business is referred to in the first Directory of Leeds, published 1797. Samuel Denison owned the first screw-cutting lathe in Leeds. Premises: Cover two and a half acres, freehold. There are no deben-tures. Specialities: Automatic Weighing Machinery, and Testing Machines, from 100 lb. to 300 tons capacity. Patents: Several: " Blake-Denison Weigher " for material travelling on Conveyor band3; Automatic Truck Weighers; Continuous Tape - Recording Weighers, Automatic Telpher and Overhead Runway Weighers, Briquetting Machines for Metal borings, &c. Connection,: World-wide. Contractors to Admiralty, War Office, India Office, Crown Agents for the Colonies, British and Foreign Railways. Agencies in all British Colonies. Members of the Engineering Employers' Federation, Members of the British Engineers' Association. Telephone: No. 1516 (National), Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Weigh, Leeds." Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and Lieber's. Pay Day: Last Wednesday in each month. Bankers: Beckett & Co. (Leeds).

DENNIS BROTHERS, Ltd., Motor and Fire Engine Engineers, Onslow Street; Factories, Woodbridge Hill, Guildford. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1896 by John Dennis and Raymond. Dennis. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: Raymond Dennis (Chairman and Managing Director), John Dennis (Managing Director), N. P. Andrew and G. S. Suter. Premises: Office and Showroom covers one acre, including repair department. Factories at Woodbridge cover six acres, equipped with modern appliances. Staff: 699. Staff Club: Dennis Athletic, membership of over 600. Specialities: Commercial Motor Vehicles, Pumping Plants, Fire Engines, Pleasure Cars, Municipal Wagons, &c. Telephones: No. 129 and 329 Guildford. Telegraphic Address: " Dennis, Guildford." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (Guildford).

DENNIS, E. T. W., & SONS, Ltd., Printers and Publishers, 42, Holborn Viaduct, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established 20 years ago, incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: E. T. W. Dennis (Chairman), E. H. Dennis, A. M. Dennis, C. H. Mason, A. H. Taylor. Staff: 150. Branch: Large Works, Scarborough. Specialities: Fine Art Printing, View Publishing, Wedding Cards, Christmas and New Year Cards, Calendars, View Books, Post Cards, Advertising Booklets. Awards: Ssweral for Printing. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2848 Holborn. Telegraphic Address: Dennis, Scar-borough." Bankers: Beckett's Bank, Scarborough.

DENNIS (JOHN) & CO., Ltd., Furnace and Retort Builders, Chimney Stack Builders and Contractors, Ellonville, Dalkeith, Midlothian, Scotland. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1864 by John Dennis. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: Downie Brown, William Toynbee, Geo. R. Toynbee. Staff: Varies, according to Contracts on hand, from eighty to about 200. Specialities: Erecting Shale Oil Retorts, Gas Retorts, Chimney Stacks, Steam Boilers, Economisers, and other Furnaces. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 75 Dalkeith. Telegraphic Address: " Dennis, Dalkeith." Bankers: Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Edinburgh and Dalkeith); also Commercial Banking Co. of Sydney, Ltd.

DENNIS, W., & SONS, Ltd., Fruit Brokers, Salesmen, and Auctioneers, Potato Growers and Merchants, Importers and Exporters, Kirton, Lincs. Hours of Business: Various. Established as Successors to William Dennis, who commenced business about 1870. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1907. Directors: William Dennis, J.P. (Chairman), and John W. Dennis, Joseph M. Dennis, J. Herbert Dennis, Thomas E. Dennis, and Frank W. Dennis (Directors), sons of W. Dennis. Premises: Farm: 6,000 acres in South Lincolnshire. Branches: London (Covent Garden Market), London (King's Cross Market); Liverpool, Southampton, Leicester, Biggleswade, St. Malo (France), and Jersey. Business: Importers of Fruit, Vegetables, and Nuts into London, Liverpool, and Southampton, from all parts of the world. Growers of Potatoes for Seed and Table purposes, Merchants, and General Farmers. Registered Trade-mark: " 0 B 0." Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government and to various Public Bodies. Telephones: No. 5233 Gerrard (Covent Garden); No. 976 North (King's Cross Market), London; No. 1362 (Central), Liverpool; No. 999 Southampton; No. 03985 (Central), Leicester; No. 16 Biggleswade; No. 62 Boston. Telegraphic Addresses: " Unlikely, London "; " Oboe, Liverpool "; " Dennis, Southampton "; " Oboe, Leicester "; " Dennis," St. Malo, Jersey, Biggleswade, and Kirton. Codes: A B C, Lieber's, and Economy. Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

DENNY, A. & F., Booksellers and Bookbinders, 147, Strand, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1880, when the business of John Steven was purchased from the Trustees. Present Principals: Alfred Denny and Frank A. Denny. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 5254 Central. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Temple Bar Branch).

DENNY & CO., Engineers and Boilermakers, Engine Works, Dumbarton, N.B. Established in 1851. Present Principals: James Denny, Peter Denny, Col. John McA. Denny, Sir. Archd. Denny, Bart., LL.D., Leslie Denny, Walter Brock, Daniel Jackson, George K. Ward, Maurice E. Denny, John McA Denny, jun., and George Jackson. General Manager: Engineer-Commander W. McK. Wisnom, R.N. (lathed). London Office: 10, St. Helen's Place, E.C. (Agent, P. A. Denny). Specialities: Marine Engines and Boilers generally. Also Machinery for Destroyers, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial, and Naval. Telephones: Nos. 97 and 98 Dumbarton (Private Exchange); No. 538 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Addresses: "Lennox, Dumbarton "; " Rowlocks, Led, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Bentley's, and Western Union. Bankers: Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

DENNY, MOTT & DICKSON, Ltd., Timber Importers and Merchants, 14, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C., and East Wood Wharf, West India Dock, London, E. Established in 1875 by Charles Frederic Denny, Francis Delamotte Mott, and James Dickson. Continued as Denny, Mott & Dickson until 1900, when a Private Limited Company acquired the business, with the following as Directors: C. F. Denny (Chairman), F. D. Mott (Vice Chairman) deceased, 1902, J. Dickson (General Managing Director), Frank Delamotte Mott, Murdoch Sinclair Allan, John Purvis Dickson, Charles Edward Denny. In 1906 the Private Company was reconstituted with a capital of £300,000, divided into 20,000 Preferred Ordinary and 10,000 Ordinary Shares of £10 each. Directors: James Dickson (Chairman), Sir David Burnett, J.P., Charles Edward Denny, Frank Delamotte Mott, Murdoch Sinclair Allan, John Purvis Dickson; Charles Frederic Denny (Hon. Life Director). Bankers: Royal Bank of Scotland. Solicitors: Coward & Hawkesley, Sons & Chance, 30, Mincing Lane, London. Auditors: Cooper Brothers & Co., 14, George Street, Mansion House, London. Brokers: W. Greenwell & Co., 2, Finch Lane, London. Secretary: William Robert Arbuthnot. Registered Office: 14, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. The Company does a very extensive business as Teak, Mahogany, Hardwood, and general Timber Importers and Merchants; also a general export business to Siam and South Africa. Speciality: All Timber employed by railway rolling-stock and naval constructors, and by large contractors. (Issues a monthly Wood Market Report, which is well known in the trade.) Connection: Widespread and important at home and abroad, including the Admiralty, the War Office, most of the large Railway Companies, Rolling Stock Manufacturers, Shipbuilders, Foreign Governments, and many Continental houses. Branches: Newcastle, Liverpool, Glasgow, Preston, Fleetwood; Saw Mills at Cardiff and Bangkok (Siam). Telephones: (Head Office) Hardwood Department, No. 3047 Avenue (four lines); Pitch Pine and Odessa Oak Departments, No. 1214 Avenue; Softwoods Department, Nos. 5917 and 60 Avenue. Telegraphic Addresses: Inland, " Denny, Grace, London; " Foreign, " Denny, London " (for Head Office); " Burmah, Newcastle-onTyne "; " Lignum, Liverpool "; " Loyalty, Glasgow "; " Denny, Preston "; " Denny, Cardiff "; " Denny, Bangkok."

DENNY (WILLIAM) & BROTHERS, Shipbuilders, Leven Shipyard, Dumbarton, Scotland; and at 10, St. Helen's Place, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Office, 8.45 a.m. to 5.15 p.m. Established in 1844. Original Partners: William Denny (sen.), James Denny, Peter Denny, Alex. Denny, Archd. Denny (all deceased). Succeeding Partners: William Denny (jun.) (deceased),Walter Brock (deceased), James Denny, Peter Denny, John McAusland Denny, Archd. Denny, Leslie Denny, H. W. Brock (deceased), John Ward (deceased), Daniel Jackson, Walter Brock, Geo. K. Ward, Maurice E. Denny, and J. McAusland Denny (jun.). The firm holds a very important place among the leading British shipbuilders, and conducts one of the largest industries on the Clyde. Premises: The Leven Shipyard, at the confluence of the rivers Leven and Clyde, covering about seventy acres, and organised for the construction of modern steamships of every type, up to the largest dimensions. The average number of workmon employed is 2,000, and the technical and clerical staff numbers 150. The Experimental Tank for testing models of ships remained for many years the only one in the hands of a private firm. The shipyard is capable of producing about 45,000 tons of shipping per annum, and the firm's aggregate output since 1844 has reached 1,500,000 tons, represented by 1001 vessels of all classes, from ocean liners to yachts. Vessels have been built for most of the leading British shipowning firms and companies, and for almost all foreign countries and British Colonies. Speciality: High-speed Vessels; Turbine Machinery. Closely associated with the application of the steam turbine to navigation. First firm to fit turbines to a ship intended for the mercantile marine, viz., the " King Edward," well known as a pleasure steamer on the Clyde. Have since constructed a considerable number of turbine steamers, embodying notable improvements, among them being the South Eastern and Chatham Railway Company's ss. " Queen " (the first cross-Channel turbine steamer), and the" Onward," " Invieta," "Victoria," " Empress," &c., built for the same Company's Dover-Calais service. The threescrew steamer " Otaki " belonging to the New Zealand Shipping Co., Ltd., and built by Messrs. Denny, is the first vessel fitted with the combined engines invented by Sir Charles Parsons, having two triple-expansion reciprocating engines, driving the wing screws, and a turbine driving the ce o screw. Early in 1913 Messrs. Denny delivered to the London, Brighton & South Coast Railway for their service, conducted jointly with the State Railways of France, between Newhaven and Dieppe, the T.S. " Paris," fitted with Yarrow water tube boilers and geared turbines, on Sir Charles Parsons' principle. This vesse1 attained the great speed of upwards of 25 knots. Awards: Newcastle, 1846-50; London, 1862; Bremen, 1864; Paris, 1867; Vienna, 1873; Sydney, 1879; Melbourne, 1880; Amsterdam, 1883; London, 1884, 1885, 1886; Edinburgh, 1886; Havre, 1887; Barcelona, 1888; Glasgow, 1888; Sydney, 1889; Antwerp, 1894; Chicago, 1897; Glasgow, 1901; London, 1905; Milan, 1906. Patents: Very numerous, including the Denny-Brace Spark Catcher; Denny-Porterfield Sidelights; Denny and Gourlay Blast Lamps; Torsion Meter, &c., &c. (Much success has attended a system of awards in the works, by which employees are encouraged to suggest improvements in machinery, &c.) Telephones: Nos. 1, 15, 16, and 96 Dumbarton; No. 538 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Denny, Dumbarton"; "Rowlocks, Led, London." Bankers: Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

DENT, ALLCROFT & CO., Glove Manufacturers and Warehousemen, 97, Wood Street, London, E.C. Factories and Branches: Worcester, Martock, Paris, Grenoble, Brussels, Ottignies, Leipzig, Naples, New York, Melbourne, Wellington, N.Z., and Montreal. Telephone: No. 175 (two lines) Bank. Telegraphic Address: "Dent Allcroft, London."

DENT, E., & CO., Ltd., Watch, Clock, Chronometer and Ships' Compass Makers, 61, Strand, W.C., and 4, Royal Exchange, E.C., London. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1814. Incorporated in 1897. Besides the Strand and Royal Exchange establishments the Company have a factory at 4, Hanway Place, Oxford Street, London, W. Specialities: High-class Watches and Clocks, Turret Clocks, Ships' Liquid Compasses, Jewellery. Inventions and Patents: Watches winding and setting the hands without a key; Watchman's Tell - tale Clock; Improved Spring Tail Lever Escapement; Improved Binnacle for Boat Compass, Roller Gymbals for Ships' Compasses, Steering Circle for Ships' Compasses. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal W arrant: Special Appointment as Watch, Clock, and Chronometer Makers to His late Majesty King Edward.

DENT & HELLYER, Sanitary Engineers. Offices and Showrooms: 35, Red Lion Square. Warehouse and Factory: 75, Theobald's Road, London, W.C. Office Hours: 9 a.m. to 6p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1730. The name of the founder is unknown, but prior to 1769 Lancelott Burton became proprietor of the business, which was continued under the style of L. Burton until 1839. Partnership Successions: Archer Burton (nephew), and William Dent, trading as Burton & Dent (1839-48); William Dent, trading as W. Dent (1848-55); George Beard and William Dent, as Beard & Dent (1856-70); George Beard, William Dent, and William Fullarton Dent (son), as Beard, Dent & Son (187074); William Dent and Samuel Stevens Hellyer, as Dent & Hellyer (1874-88). Present Principal: (Since 1888), Samuel Stevens Hellyer, assisted latterly by his two sons, Bertrain and Raymond Hellyer. Specialities: Plumbing; Sanitary and Hot Water Engineering; Manufacture of General Sanitary and Drainage Appliances. Are also Lead and Solder Merchants. Patents: About thirty. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrant: Sanitary Engineers by Appointment to His late Majesty King Edward. Also held the Royal Warrant of Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephone: No. 849 Holborn. Telegraphic Address " Anosmia, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Bloomsbury, W.C.).

DENT, J. M., & SONS, Ltd., Publishers and Bookbinders, Aldine House, Bedford Street, and 66, Chandos Street, Covent Garden, London, W.C.; and Garden City (Letchworth), Herts. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1872 as a bookbinding business by J. M. Dent, and as a publishing concern in 1888 by the same. The principal is assisted in the management of the business by his son, H. R. Dent. The old premises lately occupied by the firm were those originally in the possession of Messrs. Macmillan, and many of the great litterateurs of the nineteenth century, including Tennyson, Huxley, Kingsley, &c., must have met here. Business: The firm are the publishers of the well-known " Temple Shakespeare," " The Temple Classics," "Everyman's Library," " Everyman," the Literary Weekly, and have made a special study of format; also publish Fiction. Are their own bookbinders and printers, and employ altogether over four hundred people. The binding and printing are now carried on at Letchworth (Garden City). Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Telephone: No. 2452 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Templarian, London." Cable: "Malaby, London." Mr. J. M. Dent is a member of the Whitefriars Club and of the Reform and Cobden Clubs.

DENT, URWICK & YEATMAN, Wine and Spirit Agents and Importers, 34, Groat Tower Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established about 1780 by Thomas Urwick; continued since 1824 in a direct line from father to son; joined in 1888 by Harry Oswald Yeatman. One of the oldest houses in the trade. Premises: Have occupied Offices in the same building since 1821. The premises are over 300 years old. Staff: About twenty-four. Speciality: High-class Wines and Spirits. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2680 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Urwick, London." Bankers: Williams Deacon & Co. T

DENT (WILLIAM) & SON, Fruit, Onion, Potato, Flowers, Tomato and Vegetable Salesmen, Smithfield Market, Manchester. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. (November to March); 3 a.m. to 6 p.m. (April to October). Established in 1865 by William Dent (d.). Continued by William Thomas Dent, the present principal. Branch: 19, Commercial Buildings, St. Heliers, Jersey. Agencies: Guernsey, Scilly Isles, Jersey and France. Specialities: Jersey Potatoes, Bedford Potatoes, Fruits, Tomatoes, Flowers and Vegetables. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 5801 (National), City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Fruit, Manchester." Bankers: Union Bank of Manchester, Ltd.

DENTAL MANUFACTURING CO., Ltd. (THE), Alston House, Newman Street, London, W. Factories: High Barnet, Herts. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, Close at 1 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1874. Directors: W. Rushton (Chairman), H. A. Edwards, J. Ellison, W. H. Dolamore, D. A. Wormald. Staff: About 700. Branches: Manchester Dublin; Glasgow; Newcastle-on-Tyne; Moscow. Specialities: Manufacture of Artificial Teeth, Dental Rubbers, Dental Chairs, Vulcanizers' Instruments and Dentists' requisites generally. Patents: Numerous. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 9424 Gerrard, London (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Fossiline, London." Codes: Western Union, A B C. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

DE PAIVA, J., & CO., Sack, Bag and Jute Goods Manufacturers and Merchants, 11, Drury Lane, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1870 by J. De Paiva. Present Principal: Tom A. Macfarlane. Branches: Dundee, Belfast, Calcutta. Specialities Sack, Bag and Jute Goods. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1343 and 1363 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Depaiva, Liverpool." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd., Castle Street, Liverpool.

de PASS, E. A., & CO., West India and General Merchants, Dixon House, Lloyd's Avenue, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1884 by E. A. de Pass. Present Principals: Eliot A. de Pass, Lionel de Mercado, Michael de Mercado, Harold de Pass. Affiliations in New York, Jamaica, Trinid.ad. Business: General Shipping Merchants and Merchants in Co!onial and Foreign Produce. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 675, 676, and 677 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Edipus, Fen, London."

DERBY (JOHN) & SONS, Cutlery Manufacturers, 260, St. Philips Road, Sheffield, and 317, High Holborn, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1840 by John Derby (d. 1912). Present Principal: Arthur R. W. Derby (son). Speciality: Cutlery. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial.

DERRY & SONS, Ltd., Printers and Stationers, Hounds Gate and Works, Canal Street, Nottingham. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1865 by Joseph Derry. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1891. Directors: Henry Derry, Arthur Derry and Walter Derry. Premises: Sale Rooms, Hounds Gate; Printing and Binding Works, Canal Street. Specialities: Account Book Making, Ledgers, Journals, Order Books, Day Books, Cash Books, &c.; also Die Stamping, Stationery and Engraving, Publishers of Mothers' Union Journal for the Diocese of Southwell, &c. Telephones: Nos. 389 and 984 Nottingham.

DERRY & TOMS, Silk Mercers and Drapers, 99 to 121B, Kensington High Street, and 1 to 6, King Street, Kensington High Street, London, W. Hours of Business: In summer, 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; in winter, 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Premises cover an area of about three and a half acres. Stag: about 1,400 persons. Established about fifty years ago by Charles Derry, who, after a few years, was joined by C. W. Toms. Present Principals: Charles J. D. Derry, Charles W. Toms, J.P., Arthur D. Derry, Alfred E. Derry, Charles B. Toms, Stanley J. Toms. Specialities: Highclass Drapery Goods. Connection: United Kingdom (large): also Colonial. Royal Warrants: To H.M. Queen Mary; also to her late S.H. the Duchess of Teck, T.M. the King and Queen of Spain. Telegraphic Address: " Derry, Kensington." Telephone: No. 3380 Kensington (Pi ivato Branch Exchange).

DETLOFF (HENRY), Ltd., Printers in English and Continental Languages, 26 and 28, Sun Street, Finsbury Square, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1886 by Henry Detloff. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Managing Director: Henry Detloff. Publish the " Londoner General-Anzeiger," and the " Fiihrer durch London and Ratgeber far Fremde in England." Connection: United Kingdom and Continent. Telephones: No. 2782 Central, and No. 4497 London Wall. Bankers: London and SouthWestern Bank, Ltd. (Finsbury Branch).

DEUCHAR (JAMES), LIMITED, Wine and Spirit Merchants, 2, Eldon Square, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about forty years ago by James Deuchar. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894, and reconstructed in 1898. Premises: 110 Licensed Houses, excluding four Hotels, three Mineral Water Factories, and one Brewery. Staff: About 600.

DEUTSCHE BANK, Berlin. London Agency: 4, George Yard, Lombard Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1873 as the London Branch of the Deutsche Bank, Berlin, which was founded in 1870, and is registered in Berlin under Prussian Law, recognised in England by the Declaration exchanged between the British and German Governments, March 27, 1874, and registered in London under the Companies (Consolidation) Act, 1908. Capital: (Fully Paid) £10,000,000. Reserve: £5,625,000. London Managers: M. von Rapp, 0. Roese, and W. Pannenborg. Premises: Part of the building is on the site occupied by the City Conservative Club, which was wound up in 1888; also situated on part of site of the old " George and Vulture Hotel " and of Dr. Pintseh's school. Business: Transact all ordinary Banking business, Foreign Exchange, and Foreign Banking generally. Connection: Continent of Europe; also important ramifications throughout the world. Telephone: No. 3400 (six lines). Avenue. Telegraphic Address: "Deutsche, London."

DEVAS, ROUTLEDGE & CO., Ltd., Manchester Warehousemen and Manufacturers, 20, Cannon Street, London, E.C.; Burdett Road, London, E.; Southwark Bridge Road, London, S.E.; Vasledge Works, South Wigston, Leicester. One of the oldest houses in the trade. Established in 1799. Incorporated in 1878. The warehouse in Cannon Street is among the largest in London. The factories in Burdett Road, Southwark Bridge Road, and at South Wigston, near Leicester, are equipped for manufacturing operations upon an extensive scale. Specialities: Mantles, Costumes, Skirts, Men's and Juvenile Clothing, Hosiery. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: Nos. 3007 and 7141 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Vasledge, London."

DEVINE & CO., Whalebone Cutters, St. Stephen's Road, Old Ford, London, E. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1880 by the late G. Devine (sen.). Present Principals: G. Devine and W. Devine. Premises: Extensive and well equipped. Staff: Sixty to 100. Branch: 46, Wilson Street, Finsbury, London, E.C. Specialities: Finner Bristles, Split Whalebone for Stays and Brushes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3401 East, London. Telegraphic Address: " Vinehood, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd., Bethnal Green Road, London, E.

DEVITT & MOORE, Shipowners, 12, Fenchurch Buildings, London, E.C. Established in 1836 by Thomas Henry Devitt (d.) and Joseph Moore (d.). Present Principals: Thomas Lane Devitt and Joseph- Moore. Claim to be the oldest Loading Brokers and Sailing Ship Owners trading to Australia. Also interested in the ownership of Steamers trading to various parts of the world. Have devoted special attention to the training of Officers for the Merchant Service in connection with Lord Brassey's scheme. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2983 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: "Flumina, Fen, London."

DEWAR, J. H., Scotch Whisky Merchant, 49, Rose Street, Glasgow, N.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Established in 1842 by James Dewar. Present Principal: J. H. Dewar (since 1873). Premises: Extensive Warehouses and Stores. Agents. Branches: 213, Saint George's Road and 666, Argyle Street, Glasgow. Specialities: Single and Blended Whiskies up to twenty-five years old. Connection: -United Kingdom, India, and Colonial. Telephone: No. 571 Douglas, Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Delta, Glasgow." Bankers: Commerical Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Glasgow).

DEWAR (JOHN) & SONS, Ltd., Distillers, and Exporters of Scotch Whisky. Registered 0 glee: Perth. London Offices: Dewar House, Haymarket, S.W. Distillery: Aberfeldy, Perthshire. Established in 1846 by the late John Dewar, father of the present Managing Directors. On the founder's death in 1884 the business was continued by his son, John A. Dewar (now Sir John A. Dewar, Bart., M.P.), who remained in Perth to control the Distillery and Blending Departments, and took into partnership in 1886 his youngest brother, Thomas (now Sir Thomas) Dewar, the latter making London his headquarters. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company, 1894. Converted into a Public Limited Company in 1897. Managing Directors: Sir John A. Dewar, Bart., M.P., and Sir Thomas R. Dewar, J.P. Directors: John Dewar, P. M. Dewar, A. J. Cameron, F. G. Whitfield. Premises: Glasgow Road, Perth, where the Bonded and Duty-Paid Warehouses. Cooperage, Case - making Shop, Bottling and Packing Departments, Offices, &c., cover an area of five acres. Offices in the leading towns of the United Kingdom; also Foreign and Colonial branches at New York, Sydney, Melbourne, Calcutta, &c. Staff: Over 800, besides the personnel of the numerous agencies. Speciality: Scotch Whisky. Awards: Edinburgh, 1890; Grand Prix, Paris, 1900; Grand Prix, St. Louis, 1904, and Buenos Aires, 1910; over fifty Gold and Prize Medals and Diplomas for Old Scotch Whisky. Connection: Worldwide. Royal Warrants: Special Warrant from King George V.; also held the Warrants of Their late Majesties Queen Victoria and King Edward VII. Royal Warrants received from Their Majesties the King of Spain, the King of Sweden, German Emperor, and King of Portugal. Telephones: No. 154 and 381 Perth; Nos. 413 and 414 Gerrard (London). Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Dewar, Perth "; " Prizemedal, London."

DEY TIME REGISTERS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Time Recorders. Head Office: 75, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1896. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: John Howard (Chairman), F. Muncaster Howard and E. Stafford Howard (Managing Directors), W. R. Howard, Barrister. Branch: Baltic Chambers, Wellington Street, Glasgow. Agencies: Paris, 77, Avenue de la Republique; Brussels, 25, Boulevard du Hainaut. Agents all over the world. Specialities: Time Recorders for Time-keeping and Job Costing. Patents: Numerous. Telephone: No. 5690 Bank, London. Telegraphic Address: " Countable, London." Code: Lieber's. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Club: (Mr. F. Muncaster Howard and Mr. E. Stafford Howard), Junior Constitutional.

DIAMOND (THOMAS) & CO., Engineers, Ship Repairers and Boiler Makers, &c., East Bute Dock and Commercial Dry Dock, Cardiff. Hours of Business: Usual. Premises: Engineering Works and Steam Saw Mill at East Bute Dock; Boiler Works at Commercial Dry Dock. Length, 600 ft.; entrance, 60 ft. Business: Vessels Docked for Repairs; Engineers, and Boilermakers; Oxy-Acetylene Welding a speciality. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 4746 (two lines) Cardiff. Telegraphic Address: " Decks, Cardiff." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

DICK (GEORGE HANDASYDE) & CO., East India Merchants, 30, Renfield Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1871 by George Handasyde Dick. Partnership Successions: (1) G. H. Dick and M. Broadley; (2) G. H. Dick, A. McAllister and J. Wilson; (3) J. M. Handasyde Dick, A. McAllister and J. Wilson. Present Principals: J. M. Handasyde Dick, J. Wilson, J. Buchanan Dick. Specialities Cotton Piece Goods and Yarns, T. R. Prints, Calico Prints, Acids, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, India, Burmah, China, and the Straits Settlements. Telephone: No. 7614 Central, Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Commandant, Glasgow." Codes: McNicol's; Whitelaw's; A B C. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Manchester and London); Bank of Scotland (Glasgow).

DICK, KERR & CO., Ltd., Electrical and Mechanical Engineers and Contractors, Abchurch Yard, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Works: Preston, Lancs., and Kilmarnock, N.B. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: C. T. Cayley (Chairman), D. C. Ellis, J. D. Lingard, R. H. Prestwich, John Sampson, W. Rutherford (Managing Director), C. S. Schultz (Assistant Managing Director). Branches: Manchester; Glasgow; Cardiff; Newcastle; Sheffield; Buenos Ayres; Sydney; Johannesburg; Tokyo; Rio do Janeiro. Business: Electrical and Mechanical Engineering. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 5866. Bank (four lines), London. Telegraphic Address: "Dicker, London." Codes: A B C, A 1, Lieber's, Western Union.

DICK, R. & J., Ltd., Manufacturers of Gutta-Percha and Balata Driving Belts, Boots and Shoes, &c. Works: Greenhead, Glasgow. London Offices 11, Cross Street, Finsbury, E.C., and 46, Watling Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1847 by Robert Dick and James Dick. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Directors: Right Hon. J. Parker Smith (Chairman), J. E. Audsley, Sir John Ure Primrose, Col. J. Smith Park, M.V.O., D. W. Kennedy, Adam C. Hay (Managing Director), Andrew Barclay. Premises: Very extensive and highly-equipped Works. Branches: Throughout the United Kingdom and in all the chief cities of Belgium and Holland. Agencies all over the world. Staff: 600 hands at Works. Specialities: Gutta-Percha and Balata Belting, Horseshoe Pads, Boots and Shoes, Mining Requisites; makers of all descriptions of Gutta-Percha Furnishings, Horseshoe Bar and Frog Pads, &c. Trade-mark: Dick's Original Balata, Gutta-Percha, and Canvas Belting. Patents: Several. Connection: Worldwide. Telephones: No. 2534 (National) Bridgeton, Glasgow; No. 461 (P.O.) Bridgeton; No. 3335 London Wall; No. 5065 Bank, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Gutta-Percha, Glasgow "; " Toecaps, London "; " Trimly, London." Codes: ABC; A 1.

DICK, W. B., & CO., Ltd., Oil Refiners, Boilers, Importers, and Rectifiers, and Distillers of Turpentine, 33, Eastcheap, London, E.C.; and at Rotherhithe, Glasgow, Liverpool, Barrow-in-Furness, Newcastle-on-Tyne, and Cardiff. Hours of Business: (Eastcheap) 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1853 by the late William Bruce Dick. Incorporated in 1896. Directors: W. Bruce Dick (Chairman), Charles Edward Dick, William Hay Hannay, F. R. Leftwich, J. A. Macarthur. Premises: Besides the City offices in Eastcheap, the Company have a number of oil works and refineries, covering several acres of ground. These are: The Clyde Oil Works, Glasgow; the Mersey Oil Works, Liverpool; the Refinery, Rotherhithe, London, S.E.; also establishments at Barrow, Newcastle, and Cardiff. The London Refinery at Rotherhithe is supposed to occupy the site of one of the Thames-side shipyards at which Peter the Great of Russia worked. Specialities: Marine Engine and Cylinder Oils, Turbine Engine Oil, Crank Chamber Oil, Fire-Boiled Oil for Sheet Dressing. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 6565 City (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Dicotto, London." Code: A B C. Bankers: Royal Bank of Scotland.

DICKESON, JONES & CO., Manufacturers and Merchants, 82, George Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.in. to 6 p.m. Established in 1903 by R. H. Dickeson and C. W. Jones, the present principals. Specialities: Plain and Fancy Cottons and Woollens, also Velvets and Velveteens. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone,: No. 5609 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: Barnacle, Manchester." Codes: A B C (5th Edition); Western Union, Lieber's, Standard, " D.J." and Ross Moss.

DICKESON (RICHARD) & CO., Ltd., Naval and Military Contractors, Wholesale Grocers, Provision Merchants, and Exporters, 136 to 148, Tooley Street, London, S.E. flours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1649. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: A. W. Prince (Chairman and Managing Director), W. Reynolds, J.P. (Vice-Chairman), Sir Alfred Reynolds, J.P., F. Dickeson Bolton, F. W. Parsons. Premises: Extensive Warehouses at above address. Branches: Dover, Dublin, Aldershot, Portsmouth, Plymouth, Liverpool, Salisbury Plain, Pembroke Dock, Portland, Sheerness, Gibraltar, Malta, Cairo, Alexandria, Khartum, Aden, and Bermuda. Also Agencies: Jersey, Guernsey, Cyprus, and India. Specialities: Are Contractors for the Navy and Army; also Wholesale Grocers and Exporters, Tea and Coffee Blenders, Importers of Provisions, &c. Telephones: No. 1304 Hop (five lines). Telegraphic Addrees " Thetical, London."

DICKINS & JONES, Ltd., Silk Mercers, Linen and Lace Warehousemen, and General Drapers, 226 to 244, Regent Street; 26 and 26A to 33, Argyll Street; and 6, 7, and 8, Little Argyll Street, London, W.; and 9, Rue du Faubourg Poissonniere, Paris. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; April to July, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1803. The leading features of the business are Household Linens, Laces, Silks, Costumes, Mantles, Furs, Millinery, Lingerie, Boots, &c. Its departments include everything appertaining to ladies' dress. The business premises cover about an acre of ground in the finest shopping centre of the world. Staff: About 1,000. Connection: United Kingdom, India, Colonies, and Foreign. Telephone: (National), No. 9700 (ten lines), Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Deeanjay, London."

DICKINSON (JOHN) & CO., Ltd., Paper Makers, Wholesale and Export Stationers, 65, Old Bailey; and 27, Upper Thames Street, London, E.C. Mills: Croxley, Apsley, Nash, and Home Park, Herts. Intimately identified with the development of modern paper-making in England, and one of the largest and most widely known houses engaged in this industry at the present time. Established in 1804 by John Dickinson, who commenced business in Walbrook, E.C., in partnership with George Longman (some time M.P. for Maidstone), and removed shortly afterwards to 65, Old Bailey, the present head offices of the firm. The founder was a pioneer of paper-making by machinery. Purchased Apsley Mill, near Hemel Hempsted, in 1809, and there set up his successful machine for the manufacture of paper by means of an ingenious perforated cylinder of metal, with a finely-woven wire covering, revolving in a vat filled with pulp, and producing a continuous sheet of paper of superior surface and appearance. Also associated his name with numerous other patented inventions relating to paper-making, several of which marked important steps in the progress of the trade. Was elected Fellow of the Royal Society in consideration of h;s scientific attainments. Acquired Nash Mills (adjoining Apsley Mill) in 1811, and subsequently erected Home Park Mills, near King's Langley (about 1825), and Croxley Mills, near Watford (1830), besides securing valuable lands and water rights, and establishing " halfstuff " mills at Batchworth and Manchester. Incorporated March 31st, 1886; present capital, £900,000. Directors: Lewis Evans (Chairman), Cecil H. Thomas, Major George Wemyss, Reginald Bonsor, Robert Pratt Barlow, and G. A. James Rothney (Secretary). Premises: Mills as above. Head Office and Warehouse, 65, Old Bailey. Warehouse and Showrooms for Envelopes, Notepapers, Cards, Boards, &c., 27, Upper Thames Street. Branches: Belfast, Manchester, Bristol, Glasgow, Birmingham, Leeds, Liverpool, Nottingham, Calcutta, Bombay, Madras, Rangoon, Cape Town, Johannesburg, Durban, Sydney, and Montreal. Specialities: Every description of Paper, Cards, and Boards; also Envelopes, Cabinets of Notepaper and Envelopes, Fancy Cards, Fancy Leather Goods, Tags, Account Books, Systems. Noted for fine qualities of Art Paper, and for Pulp Boards, Coated Papers and Boards, &c. Stock of Envelopes upwards of 130,000,000. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 7500 City (ton lines) (for Paper and Export Departments); No. 9870 City (eight lines) (for Stationery Department). Telegraphic Addresses: "Commiles, London" (for Old Bailey); "Jaldi, London" (for Upper Thames Street).

DICKINSON & SON, Timber, Slate, and Cement Merchants, Dudley. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about 1800. Present Principal: R. Dickinson. Ono of the oldest firms in the trade. Business: General Timber Merchants, Slate and Cement Merchants. Telephone: No. 87 Dudley. Telegraphic Address: " Dickinson, Dudley." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

DICKSON, F. C., & CO., Gunpowder Manufacturers, Blackbeck, Havorthwaite, Ulverston. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1862. Present Principal: Frederick Maurice Dickson. Speciali-ties: Blasting Gunpowder and Compressed Cartridges for Quarry and Mining purposes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Dicksons, Haverthwaite." Bankers: Manchester and Livcri_ool District Banking Co., Ltd.

DICKSON (JAMES) & CO., Wholesale Stationers, 10, South Saint Andrew Street, Edinburgh. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1807 by the late James Dickson; succeeded in 1846 by William Dickson (d.) and David Dickson (d.) (sons). In 1885 David Dickson, jun. (son of David Dickson), and Robert Johnston were admitted partners, and are now present principals. Premises: Originally in Milne Square; removed to South St. Andrew Street in 1837, rebuilt in 1900. Specialities: 'Writings and Printings of all kinds; Fine Hand-made Papers. Connection: Scotland and North of England. Telephone: No. 62 Central, Edinburgh. Telegraphic Address " Curo, Edinburgh."

DICKSON & ROBINSON, Seed Merchants, Cathedral Street, Manchester; 17 to 21, Robert Street, Cheetham, Manchester; and Experimental Grounds, Northenden, Cheshire. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Present Principals: Francis Robinson (connected with the firm for fifty years, and for more than thirty years the senior), Henry Hicks, and W. Percival Robinson. Premises: Central Depot in Cathedral Street for the sale in season of Seeds, Bulbs, &c., and the display of the newest and also of the finest standard varieties of Flowers, Fruit, and Vegetables. Head and General Offices and Garden Seed and Bulb Warehouse, 17, Robert Street, Cheetham, Manchester. Agricultural Seed Warehouses, 19 and 21, Robert Street, Cheetham, Manchester. The warehouses are each 50 yds. long, giving over an acre of floor space. Experimental Grounds: Northenden, Cheshire, where are conducted the outdoor tests of every department. Specialities: Garden Seeds; Grasses, Clovers, Mangels, Swedes, Turnips, and other seeds for the farm; Bulbs and Roots from all parts of the world, and Forcing Plants; Roses and Herbaceous Plants; Fruit, Forest and Ornamental Trees, Shrubs and Plants; and all horticultural requisites. Varieties of the firm's introduction dominate in the garden and farm seeds. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to H.M. King George V., and to Her Majesty Queen Alexandra; also held Warrants to His late Majesty King Edward; and to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria from 1887. Telephones: Nos. 3450 and 401 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Purity, Manchester." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. (Manchester).

DICKSON, R. S., & CO., Wholesale Smallware, Haberdashery and Dress Trimming Warehousemen, 164, Argyle Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established thirty-nine years ago by R. S. Dickson and W. S. Morrison, as Dickson & Morrison, partnership lasting ten years. Continued by R. S. Dickson for twelve years. Present Principals: B. S. Dickson, J.P., John Dickson, Win. McD'rmid. Premises: Have occupied the present building for thirty years, consisting of Four Floors. Staff: Forty; travellers, five. Specialities: Novelties for Dress, Jacket and Mantle Trimmings, Buttons, Braids, Ornaments. Smallware and Haberdashery specialists. Suppliers of every requisite for Dress, Mantle, and Costume Makers, &c. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly), Colonial. Telephones: No. 2429 and 2430 Central, Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Haberdashery, Glasgow."

DICKSONS & CO., Seed Merchants and Nurserymen, 1, Waterloo Place, Edinburgh. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1729. Present Principals: William Hall Massie and James Welsh. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Specialities: Garden Seeds, Forest and Fruit Trees and Roses. Royal Warrants: Special appointment to KM. the King. Telephone: No. 1066 Edinburgh. Telegraphic Address: " Dicksons, Edinburgh." Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd. Mr. Massie is President of the Scottish Horticultural Association and VicePresident of the Royal Scottish Arboricultural Society.

DICTAPHONE COMPANY (THE), The Dictaphone, claimed to be the greatest invention of modern times for facilitating the dictation of letters, 195, Oxford Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1901 as a private company. Principal: Thomas Dixon. Claim that the Dictaphone is the original Dictating Machine. Premises: Extensive Factories at Bridgeport, Conn. U.S.A., and Bendon Valley, Wandsworth. Equipped with modern appliances. Offices and Showrooms at 195, Oxford Street, W. Staff: 3,000. Connection: United Kingdom, America, and the Continent, etc. Telephones: No. 2226 and 2227 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Address: " Dictaphone, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

DIGBY COLLIERY CO., LTD. (THE), Colliery Owners. Head Office: 17, Derby Road, Nottingham. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 12 noon. Established about 1865 by Thomas Bayley (sen.) (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: Sir John Turney, Kt. (Chairman), C. H. Hill, J.P., Frederick Chambers, J. G. Small, G. E. Lomax, J.P., H. Dennis Bayley, J.P. Staff: 2,500 to 3,000. Business: Colliery 'Owners. Connection: United Kingdom and Export. Telephones: No. 5570 (two lines) Nottingham (Head Office); No. 1618 Gedling; No. 264 Digby. Telegraphic Address:" Ashless," Nottingham."

DIGBY, LONG & CO., Publishers, 18, Bouverie Street, Fleet Street, London, E.C.

DILLON, H. W., & SONS, Shipowners, Ship and Insurance Brokers and Chartering and Rice Sales Agents, Ethelburga House, 91 and 93, Bishopsgate, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1872 by H. W. Dillon. Partnership Successions: (1) Dillon, Weighill & Co., 1872 to 1874; (2) Dillon, Harrowing & Co., 1875 to 1905; (3) H. W. Dillon & Sons, 1906. Present Principals: H. W. Dillon, J. P., R. H. Dillon and E. W. Dillon; also Directors of Dowgate Steam Ship Co., Ltd., 1894; and London Gate Steamship Co., Ltd., 1909. Business: Bi-monthly service from Hamburg and Antwerp to River Plate ports in conjunction with Messrs. Wm. Thomas Sons & Co., Ltd. Ore Chartering and Rice Chartering, Shipowning, Ship and Insurance Broking, Rice Salesmen, &c. Telephones: Nos. 6118 and 6119 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Address: " Dillon, London." Codes: A B C, Scott's, Watkin's, Private. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited. Clubs: (Messrs. H. W. Dillon and E. W. Dillon) Golf, National Liberal, Eighty, &c. Mr. H. W. Dillon is a Justice of the Peace for the County of London. Mr. E. W. Dillon is an Oxford Blue (Rugby and Cricket), is a Rugby International.

DILLWYN & CO., Ltd., Spelter Manufacturers, Cambrian Place, Swansea. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established over a century ago. Continued up to 1902 by Miss E. A. Dillwyn and John Corfield. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Directors: Colonel J. R. Wright (Chairman), R. M. Dillwyn, George Schwarz and J. Corfield (Managing Director). Speciality: Spelter; Brand, D. & Co. • Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 61 (Office); No. 70 (Works) Swansea. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Spelter, Swansea." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd.

DINSMORE (JOHN) & SONS, Woollen Manufacturers, Oldgreen Woollen Mills, and Ahoghill Factory, Ballymena, Ireland. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1796 by Francis Dinsmore. Continued by (2) Francis- Dinsmore; (3) Francis Dinsmore; (4) John Dinsmore; (5) John Dinsmore and Sons. Present Principals: John Dinsmore and John Dinsmore (jun.), and Frank Dinsmore. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Contain eighty-six Fast Looms with Carding, Spinning, Dyeing and Finishing Machinery. Staff: 250. Specialities: Tweeds, Irish Friezes and Coatings. Claim to be the largest makers in Ireland of Ladies' Tweeds, Serges and Dress Goods. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4 Kells. Telegraphic Address: " Dinsmore, Oldgreen Kells (Antrim)." Bankers: Provincial Bank of Ireland, Ltd.

DIRECT UNITED STATES CABLE CO., Ltd., Winchester House, Old Broad Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Mark Lane Station open day and night. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1873; reconstituted 1877.

DIRECTION DER DISCONTO - GESELLSCHAFT. Head Office: Berlin. London Branch: 53, Cornhill, London, E.C. Business: Banking Transactions of every description carried out. Acts as representative of several Banks in Germany, Austria, Roumania, Servia, Brazil, Chili, Argentine, India, Straits Settlements, Siam, China, Japan, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Colonial. Telegraphic Address: "Scondito, London." Bankers Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.; London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.; Bank of England; and National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

DISTILLERS CO., Ltd., Distillers and Yeast Manufacturers, 12, Torphichen Street, Edinburgh. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established and Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1877. Directors: W. D. Graham Menzies (Chairman), W. Brown Robertson, James Duff, Archibald Walker, Alexander McNab, Col. • Bald Harvey, David Alexander, J. B. Fergusson, Andrew A. Watt, D.L., William Virtue, J. Stuart Smith, and William H. Ross (Managing Director). Secretary: David R. Kelly. The history of the firm is closely connected with that of the Grain Distillery industry for the last thirty years. In the early seventies the leading Scotch Grain Distillers formed an Association for the better regulation of production. This movement culminated in the formation, in 1877, of a Company embracing all the principal Distilleries, with the exception of that of Messrs. Menzies & Co. Some of these had been established for over a century as Malt Distilleries, and needed conversion into Patent Still Distilleries, to meet the more modern requirements of the trade. In 1878 the Pot Still Distillery of the Chapelizod Co., Dublin, was acquired, and was later fitted with a Patent Still to suit the altered taste of the public. Shortly afterwards the Caledonian Distillery, Edinburgh, and the Gin Distillery, Tooley Street, London, were absorbed by the Company. In 1892 the Knockdhu Distillery was established for the supply of Highland Malt Whisky. In 1902 the Distilleries of Messrs. C. & D. Gray, Adelphi, Glasgow, and of the ArdgoCvan Distillery Co., Ltd., Greenock, were taken over. In 1908 the Company acquired the Vauxhall Distillery, Liverpool, from Messrs. Archibald Walker & Co. The total amount invested in the business is fully £3,000,000. Distilleries: Port Dundas, Glasgow; Loch Katrine, Adelphi, Glasgow; Caledonian, Edinburgh; Oarsebridge, Alloa, N.B.; Cameron Bridge, Windygates, Fifeshire; Kirkliston, near Edinburgh; Glenochil, Clackmannanshire; Cambus, Clackmannanshire; Ardgowan, Greenock; Knockdhu, Banffshire; Phoenix Park, Dublin; Dundalk, Co. Louth; Vauxhall, Liverpool; Tooley Street, London, S.E. Export Blending and Bottling Stores: South Queensferry, N.B. Specialities: Wellknown Brands of Whiskies. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone No. 5252. Telegraphic Address: " Distillers, Edinburgh." Bankers: Royal Bank of Scotland.

DISTRICT IRON & STEEL CO., LIMITED, Steel Rolling Mills, Close-Joint and Electric Welded Tube Mills, Fencing Manufacturers, District Works, Smethwick, Staffs. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1867 by F. P. Broughton (d. 1889), Thomas Keen (d. 1892). Succeeded by F. L. Broughton, 1889. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Directors: F. L. Broughton (Managing Director), H. A. Keen. Premises: Very extensive, covering seven acres, fitted with all the latest improvements. Staff: 350. Business: Manufacture of Close Joint Tubes commenced 1894; Fencing commenced 1898. Steel Rolling. Patents: Tube Rolling Machine, and Fencing. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, &c.). Telephone: No. 137 Smethwick (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " District, Smethwick." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Temple Row, Birmingham).

DISTRICT MESSENGER & THEATRE TICKET CO., Ltd. (THE), 100, St. Martin's Lane, London, W.C. Hours of Business: Open Day and Night. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Chairman G. E. J. Manners, D.L., J.P. General Manager: Arthur Lord. Staff 1100. Branches: In various parts of London. Business: Supplying Messengers and Theatre Tickets. Connection: Universal. Licensed by the Postmaster-General. Telephones: Nos. 1023, 1024 and 1025 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Address: " Opponents, West rand, London." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. (St. Martin's Place, W.C.).

DIXEY, C. W., & SON, Opticians, 3, New Bond Street, London, W. Branch: 20, Welbeck Street, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1777. Specialities: Spectacles and Eye Glasses.

DIXON, ARTHUR G., Furniture Warehouseman and Remover, " The " Depository, 22-34, 38-46, 59-65, Harrow Road, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1879 by William Haynes and Arthur G. Dixon. Present Principals: Arthur G. Dixon, Herbert Haynes (son of William Haynes). Is one of the largest and most up-to-date Depositories in London. Premises: The first block of warehouses was built in 1878 and opened in 1879. There are now eight well-fitted Warehouses, with workshops and covered yard adjoining. Consist of five storeys and a basement containing an available floor space of four acres and over two million cubic feet for storage purposes. Conveniently situated, being .150 yards from the corner of Edgware and Harrow Roads, at the terminus of the Metropolitan Electric Tramway for Willesden, Sudbury, Harrow, &c., and close to Edgware Road stations (Metropolitan and Bakerloo Railways), and Bishop's Road. Warerooms aro perfectly dry, fitted with electric light, and well ventilated. There are large hydraulic lifts which convey the furniture direct from the vans to the floor required. A private telephone exchange admits of communication between every part of the buildings. Specialities: Household Removals, Furniture Warehoused. Special Department for Luggage, Pianos, Wine Cellars, Strong Rooms, Separate Lockup Compartments or Rooms numbering nearly a thousand. Department for Luggage so arranged that while admitting of the reception of 10,000 or 12,000 separate articles, all are easily accessible at any time. There are also special rooms for storing Pianos, Pictures, and other valuable property, and large strong rooms for the safe custody of Plate Chests, Safes, Deed Boxes, &c. Vans allowed to stand loaded to suit the convenience of clients; Depositors also allowed to place their own locks on the rooms. Removals undertaken for the Continent or packed for shipment abroad. Numerous testimonials have been received from clients acknowledging care and attention shown by the firm and their employees. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 89 Paddington. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (219-221, Edgware Road, W.).

DIXON & HEMPENSTALL, State Opticians and Mathematical and Scientific Instrument Makers, 12, Suffolk Street, Dublin. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established by Thomas Dixon and Thomas Hempenstall, Have had thirty years' practical experience in all branches of the Optical business, and have personally attended and supplied spectacles and optical goods to Princess Patricia of Connaught; also to several Viceroys of Ireland, Earl and Countess Roberts, members of the Royal Household and the nobility and gentry of England and Ireland. Premises: Electrically fitted workshops; all the machinery is driven by electric motor power. Lately added three workrooms to the photo department for developing, printing and enlarging. Specialities: Optical, Engineering, Meteorological and Photographic Goods. Patents: Barometers, Binoculars, Improvement in Prism Binoculars and in Barographs, Spectacles and Pince Nez. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 209Y Dublin. Bankers: Belfast Banking Co., Ltd.

DIXON & HEYDORN, Manufacturers of Paints and Varnishes, Roding Works, Barking, London, E. Business acquired in 1908 by Ragosine & Co., Ltd.

DIXON (ISAAC) & CO., Steel and Iron Roof and House Builders, and Constructional Engineers, Windsor Iron Works, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1870 by the late Isaac Dixon. Present Principals: James Maguire and Arthur Cole, who have been connected with the firm for over 30 years Staff: About 20. Business: Experts in the Manufacture and Erection of Steel and Iron Roofs, Sheds, Houses and Buildings for all purposes and adapted to all climates. Claim that the founder was one of the pioneers in the special business of Steel and Iron Roof and House Building and kindred trades, and invented many improvements in connection with the firm's manufactures. Specialize in Export work. Awards: Numerous Medals, &c., from Exhibitions and leading Agricultural Societies. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government, Crown Agents for the Colonies, &c. Telephone: No. 804, Royal, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Roofing, Liverpool." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

DIXON (PETER) & SON, Ltd., Paper Makers, Spring Grove Paper Mills, Oughtibridge, near Sheffield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1870 by the late Peter Dixon (d. 1882), and Joseph Dixon. Business carried on by Joseph Dixon, trading as Peter Dixon & Son, Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1909. Directors: Joseph Dixon (Chairman), W. H. Dixon, 0. Dixon, C. Dixon. Premises: Extensive and well fitted. Staff: About 600. Branch: West Marsh Paper Mills, Grimsby, opened in 1906, extended 1912. Business: Manufacture of Paper for Newspaper Printing; weekly output, about 1000 tons. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1 Oughtibridge; No. 1900 Sheffield; No. 68 Grimsby. Telegraphic Addresses: " Dixon, Oughtibridge "; " Dixonia, Grimsby." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. Joseph Dixon is an Ex-President of Sheffield Chamber of Commerce, Chairman of Gregory, Reddish & Co., Ltd., Deepcar, a Director of R. Fletcher & Son, Ltd., Stoneclough, and Director of Wharneliffe Silkstone Colliery. Mr. Cuthbert Dixon i3 a member of the Wortley Rural District Council.

DIXON (SIR RAYLTON) & CO., Ltd., Shipbuilders, Ship Repairers, and Engineers, Cleveland Dockyard, Middlesbrough-on-Tees. Hours of Bvsiness: May to September, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; October to April, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1862. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: Harald Raylton Dixon (Chairman and Joint Managing Director), Waynman Dixon (Joint Managing Director), H. W. F. Bolckow, Thomas Dixon, G. M. Harroway. Premises: Cover about twelve acres, with six building berths. Branches: Offices, London, 57, Gracechurch Street, E.C.; Liverpool, 14, Castle Street. Business: Builders of First-class Mail and Passenger Steamers over 500 ft. long down to Steam Trawlers; also First-class Cargo Boats. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty). Telephones: No. 34 (National); No. 11 (P.O.), Middlesbrough. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Dixon, Middlesbrough." Telegraphic Addresses: " Dixon, c/o Forenoon, London "; " Forenoon, Liverpool." Codes: A B C; Scott's. Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

DIXON & ROE, Wholesale and Export Paper Merchants, 17, Walbrook, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established about 100 years ago by Gibbons and Smith. Partnership Successions: (1) Gibbons & Roo; (2) Dixon & Roe, 1867; R. C. Dixon died 1872. (3) M. T. Roe, solo proprietor, 1872-1900; (4) H. H. Roe, partner 1900; (5) H. B. Roe 1902; M. T. Roe died 1906. Present Principals; H, J. ,Qe,II, B. Roes Have occupied the same premises in Walbrook for over 100 years; rebuilt in 1878. Branch: 4, Cloak Lane, E.C. Specialities: Hand-made and Machinemade Account Book Papers, Writings, Ste.; also Printings, Imitation Art and Art Papers, Typewriting Papers, Browns, Glazed Tints, &c. Patents: For Writing and Blotting Papers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones,: No. 686 Bank: No. 12771 Central. Bankers: Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co.

DIXON, THOMAS, Managing Director, West End Advertising Agency, Ltd.; President and Founder, Dixon Institute of Advertising and Scientific Salesmanship; Managing Director, British Typewriter Co.; 193 and 195, Oxford Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1868 by Louis Collins. Thomas Dixon became a partner later, and has been sole principal since 1891. Recently purchased the freehold of the commodious premises occupied as offices, &c., at 195, Oxford Street, one of the most advantageous positions in this main thoroughfare. Speciality: Extension of businesses by Advertising Organisation and Scientific Salesmanship. Is Advertising Agent for Sir Herbert Marshall, J.P. (The Angelus Piano-Player), the Birmingham Small Arms Factory, the Chiswick Soap Co., the Columbia Phonograph Co., the Royal Enfield Cycle Co., the Signet Shoe Co., &c. Claims that his work in connection with Advertising students has been responsible for the present high standard of Advertising. Is the Author of the "Advertisers' Guardian." Connection: World-wide. Agents all over Great Britain, Colonies, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, India. Telephones: Nos. 2226 and 2227 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Padaco, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Regent Street Branch).

DOBBIE & CO., Royal Seedsmen, Edinburgh, and Marks-Tey, Esse t. Hours of Business: Warehouse and Office, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m; Nursery, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1865 by James Dobbie, sole partner until 1885. Purchased in 1885 by Wm. Cuthbertson, J.P., who was joined by R. Fife in 1886, and by Archd. M. Burnie in 1893. Present Principals: Wm. Cuthbertson, J.P., R. Fife, Archd. M. Burnie. Premises: Originally at Renfrew. Transferred to Rothesay in 1874. Removed to Edinburgh in 1910, where a large establishment, thoroughly up-to-date in every respect, has been erected. Stall: 120 to 150. Business: Seed Department — growing and selling of all kinds of Garden Seeds, specialising in selected strains of Vegetables and Flowers for Competition; noted as experts in Sweet Peas and Scotch Seed Potatoes. Nursery Department— S pecialise in Dahlias, Pansies, Violas, Roses, Chrysanthemums, Fuchsias, Pelargoniums, and Vegetable Plants for Exhibition. Connection: World-wide. 220,000 Catalogues issued annually. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to His Majesty King George V. as Seed Growers and Florists. Telephone: No. 115 Portobello, Edinburgh. Telegraphic Address: " Pansies, Edinburgh." Bankers: Clydesdale Bank, Ltd.

DOBBIE McINNES, Ltd., Patentees and Manufacturers of Nautical and Engineering Instruments. Head Office: 57, Bothwell Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1841 by the late Alexander Dobbie, and by the purchase of M. Walker & Son, T. S. McInnes & Co., Ltd., D. McGregor & Co., Ltd., and Gebbie & Co. The founder was succeeded in 1881 by Alexander Dobbie & Son. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Title changed in 1902 to Debbie, McInnes, Ltd., by tho amalgamation of T. S. McInnes & Co., Ltd. Directors: James J. Dobbie, D.Sc., F.R.S., J. Archie Russell, and A. B. Dobbie, B.Sc. Managing Director: Walter P. Clyde. Premises: The original buildings at 20, Clyde Place, Glasgow, were attacked and partially sacked by the Bread Rioters, complete destruction being prevented by the bravery of the late William Dobbie, nephew of the founder. In 1872 at 24, Clyde Place, a considerable portion of the premises was wrecked by the explosion of the Tradeston Flour Mills. Works: Govan, near Glasgow. Branches: 9, Billiter Square, London, E.C.; Mill Dam, South Shields; and 39, South Castle Street, Liverpool. Specialities: Are Sole Makers of the " McInnesDobbie " Patont Engine Indicators, Pressure and Explosion Recorders, and all accessories for indicating purposes. Improved Bourdon Pressure, Vacuum and Hydraulic Gauges, Revolution Counters, Furnace Deformation indicators, and High-class Engine and Boiler Fittings; also Official Chart Agents. Sole Makers of Debbie's Patent Compasses and Sounding Machine, Ships' Clocks, Anoroids, Binoculars, Telescopes, and General Navigational Instruments. Patents held for above. Awards: Numerous. Connection United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, and India Office). Telephones No. 2913 (Post Office); No. 1545 (National) Argyle. Telegraphic Addresses: " Com pass," Glasgow and South Shields; " Dobbiamo," Liverpool and London. (]labs: (Mr. Walter P. Clyde), Conserva tive, Glasgow.

DOBBIN, T., & CO., Shipowners, Ship Chandlers, Sailmakers, General Canvas Workers, and General Merchants, 23, Emmett Street, and Bridge Road, Poplar, London, E. Established: 1874. Present Principal: John V. Dobbin. Premises: Extensive, covering 6,400 sq. ft. sup. area. Staff: Office, seven; Warehouse and Factory, forty-three. Branch: Durban, South Africa. Business: Shipowners, Ship Chandlers, Sailmakers, Merchants, and General Canvas Workers. Patents: Floor Scrubber, Tent Runner. Connec tion: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Tent Makers to War Office) and to Colonial Agents. Telephone: No. 3113 East. Tele graphic and Cable Address: " Tougvark, London." Codes: A B C; Scott's (9th Edition); Watkins'. Bankers: London and South-Western Bank, Ltd. The firm is represented on the Baltic Mercantile and Shipping Exchange.

DOBBS BROTHERS, Ltd., Brass and Brass-Cased Tube and Stair Rod Manufacturers, Adelphi Works, Wolverhampton, and Ladywood Works, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1839 by Dobbs & Son (father and grandfather of the present Managing Director). Staff: Large. Specialities: The manufacture of Stair Rods, Brass-Cased Tubes, and Special Brass Tubings; also certain branches of Cabinet Brassfounding.

DOBBS, TOM B., & CO., Florists, Royal Staffordshire Seed Stores, 32, Queen Square, and Goldthorn Nursery, Rustic Works, Penn Road, Wolverhampton. Hours of Business: Usual. Established by the family of the late Richard Lowe, F.R.H.S., a well-known Landscape Gar dener, and Judge at the Horticultural Shows. Present Principals: Alfred Dobbs, Tom B. Dobbs. Claims to be the oldest established Nursery and Seed business in Staffordshire. Specialities: Supply all kinds of Seeds; undertake Landscape Gardening, Laying-out of Pleasure Grounds, Bowling Greens, and Lawns; also Rustic Garden Furniture. Awards: Gold Medals and Prize Medals at Shrews bury and Wolverhampton for Model Gardens; Prize Medals, Shrewsbury and Wolverhampton, for Bouquets. Telephone: No. 593 Wolverhampton. Telegraphic Address " Dobbs, Nurserymen, Wolverhampton."

DOBELL, RICHD. R., & CO., Timber Merchants and Agents, 110, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Holes of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1881 by Richd. R. Dobell and Thomas Beckett to act as European Representatives of the old-established firm of Dobell, Beckett & Co. Quebec, Timber Merchants; succeeded by Thomas Stevenson, Lorenzo Evans, W. M. Dobell, R. M. Beckett. Present Principals: R. M. Beckett, N. Christensen, and W. A. Home. Agents: Throughout United Kingdom, Continent, South Africa, Australia. Branches: Offices in Quebec, Montreal, Ottawa, and Three Rivers, Canada. Business: Importers of all descriptions of Canadian Timber in the Log, Pine and Spruce Deals, Boards, &c. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office). Telephone: No. 947 Bank. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Dobdob, London." Bankers: Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co.

DOBREE (SAMUEL) & SONS, Bankers and West Indian Merchants, 7, Moorgate Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Established in Guernsey by Samuel Dobree about 1740 (earliest record). In London about 1770. Business: Bankers and Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom, Channel Islands, Foreign, East and West Indies, East Africa. Telephone: No. 7860 (two lines), London Wall. Cable Address: " Dobree, London." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Lombard Street, E.C.).

DOBSON & BARLOW, Ltd., Textile Machinists, Bolton. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1790 by Isaac Dobson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Reconstructed in 1907. Directors: J. L. Rushton (Chairman), B. P. Dobson, W. Higginson, H. L. Rushton. Premises: Cover thirty acres in Bolton and thirty-five acres at Bradley Fold, near Bolton. Staff: 4,000 (Bolton); 1,000 (Bradley Fold). Speciality: Textile Machinery. Patents: Innumerable. Connection,: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 601 Bolton (six lines). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Dobsons, Bolton." Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. (Bolton).

DOBSON, MOLLE & CO., Ltd., Stationers, Printers, Lithographers, Paper Shaving Manufacturers, Paper Bag Makers, &c.; Registered Offices, St. Clair Works, St. Clair Street, Edinburgh. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1827 by a Mr. Clarke. Partnership Successions: James Dobson, William Dobson, Wm. Molle, W. Gardner Sinclair (present Managing Director joined in 1882). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: Sir James A. Russell, LL.D. (Chairman), W. Gardner Sinclair, J.P. (Managing Director), R. M. F. Robertson, Hugh Sinclair, R. M. McLetchie. Premises: St. Clair Works cover four acres. Staff: 600. Staff Clubs: Golf, Bowling, Rifle, Musical Society. Branches: Glasgow: 57, Oswald Street; London: 22, Tudor Street, E.C. Liverpool: 47, Kremlin Drive. Also at Belfast. Business: Manufacture of Paper Shavings and Paper Bags. Are also Poster and Showcard Specialists. General Printers and Lithographers. Patents and Inventions: Paper Shaving Machinery; Bag Making Machinery. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly), Foreign, Colonial; send some specialities to America. Telephones: Nos. 1589 and 1590 Central (Edinburgh); Nos. 4060 P.O. and 432 Argyle (Glasgow); No. 2631 City (London); No. 97 Garston (Liverpool); No. 3426 Belfast. Telegraphic Addresses: " Papermen," Edinburgh, Glasgow; " Outshoot, Fleet, London." " Outshoot, Liverpool." Bankers: Com-mercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

DOBSON & SONS, Goldsmiths, Silversmiths, and Diamond Merchants, 110, New Bond Street, London, W. Hours of Business: Summer, 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Winter, 9 a.m. to 6.15 p.m. Established in 1760. Original firm, Wilkinson & Dobson, succeeded by H. H. Dobson (grandfather of the present members of the firm); succeeded by T. W. Dobson (son). Present Principals: Percy Holmes Dobson, Charles Westcott Dobson. Premises: First opened at 32, Piccadilly, under which house the old Fleet Ditch ran. Staff: Total, ten. Specialities: Antique and Second-hand Silver, Animal Models, Medals, &c., Diamonds, Presentation Plate, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 702 Mayfair. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Daintily, Wesdo, London." Bankers: Barclay & Co.

DOBSON, W. E. & F., Ltd., Manufacturers of Lace Curtains, Curtain Nets, Antimacassars, &c., Silk Lace Dyers and Dressers, Dyers and Finishers of Jap Silks, Shantungs, Voiles, Crêpes, Chiffons, Brilliants, Ninons, &c., and Cotton Doublers, Queen's Road, Nottingham. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1848 by the late W. E. Dobson, J.P. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Branches: Anglo-Scotian. Mills, Beeston, Nottingham, and Lawson Street, Kilmarnock, N.B. Speciality: Re-dyeing old Colours of Chiffon to any darker shade and refinishing equal to new. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3934 Nottingham. Telegraphic Address: " Justitia, Nottingham." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

DOCKER BROTHERS, Ltd., Varnish and Fine Colour Manufacturers, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Managing Directors: Frank Dudley Docker, C.B., J.P., and Ludford Charles Docker, J.P. Premises: Cover several acres. The Varnish Tank Rooms have a capacity of 500,000 gallons. Branch: London. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 6410 Central, Birmingham (six lines); No. 2775 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Japan, Birmingham "; " Matured, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank.

DOCKRELL (THOMAS), SONS & CO., Ltd., Merchants and Contractors, South Great George's Street, Dublin. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m to 1.15 p.m. Established seventy years ago by the late Thomas Dockrell. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Directors: Sir Maurice Dockrell (Chairman), Henry M. Dockrell, Lady Dockrell. Premises: Extend to three streets, South Great .George's Street, Stephen Street, and Drury Street. There aro also Joinery Workshops in Golden Lane. Staff: Clerical, over sixty; other employees several hundreds. Business: Contractors; Window Glass, Oil, Colour and Cement Merchants; Carpet and Linoleum Factors; Wall-paper Dealers; Ironmongers, Decorators, Shop Fitters, Brass Founders, Electricians, House, Land and Estate Agents, Auctioneers and Valuators. Telephone: No. 3330 Dublin (controls four lines) and Private Telephone Exchange to all departments. Telegraphic Address: " Dockrell, Dublin." Bankers: National Bank, Ltd. (Old Broad Street, London, and Dublin).

DOLBERG, R., Manufacturer of Portable Railway Plant, &c., 31, Budge Row, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1872 by R. Dolberg. Premises: Wellequipped Works at Rostock and Dortmund. Staff 600. Branches: Hamburg, Berlin, &c. Specialities: Portable Railway Material, Peat Machinery, Agricultural Machinery. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1280 London Wall. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Dolbergius, London." Bankers: Swiss Bank-Verein.

DOLLOND & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers, Opticians to the Admiralty and other Government Departments, Eyesight Specialists. Offices and Works: 11, Kirby Street, Hatton Garden, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Offices, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established by John Dollond in 1750. Specialities: All descriptions of Optical Instruments, including Prismatic Binoculars, Telescopes, Spectacles, &c.; also Scientific Instruments in great variety. Inventions: Various, in connection with optical instruments. Branches: Eight, in London. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 2370 Holborn (two lines); (Private Exchange to Branches). Telegraphic Address " Dollonds, London." Code: A B C. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

DOMECQ, PETER, Sherry and Spanish Brandy Growers and Shippers. Jerez de la Frontera. London House, 6 and 7, Great Tower Street. For Spanish Brandy, 43, Great Tower Street, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1730. Present Principals: Marquis de Casa Domecq and family. Owners of the greater part 'of the famous Macharnudo Sherry vineyards. Specialities: Real Old Sherries; claim to hold the largest stock in the world. Also Domecq's Spanish Brandy. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrants: Special appointment to H.M. the King. Held appointment to His late Majesty King Edward VII. Entitled to use the Royal Arms of Spain by Royal Orders, and the Arms of the Vatican by Pontifical rescript. Telegraphic Address: " Domecq," Jerez and London. Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co., Ltd. The Marquis de Casa Domecq is interested in horse breeding and showing.

DOMEIER & CO., General Merchants and Chemical Agents, 8, Harp Lane, London, E. C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1864 by Albert Domeier. Present Principal: Charles Twietmeyer. Specialities: Glycerine, Carbonate of Potash, Fine Chemicals, Essential Oils. Patents brought out for the recovery of Glycerine from Soap Lyes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2220 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Domeier, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Lieber's. Bankers, London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Mincing Lane, London).

DONALD BROTHERS, Manufacturers of Art Canvas, Art Linens, &c., James' Park. Factory, Dundee, and 23, Heddon Street, Regent Street, London, W. Hours of Business: Usual. Present Principals: Bernard S. Donald and Francis J. Donald. Specialities: Art Canvas, Art Linens and other Decorative Fabrics for Wall hanging, Stencilling, Embroidering, Draping, Upholstering, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 6 Dundee; No. 3710 Regent, London. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: "Bonnie, Dundee "; "Quatrefoil, Reg, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

DONALD STEAMSHIP CO., Ltd., Shipowners, 72, Queen Square, Bristol. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1903. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Thomas Luther Evans (Managing Director and Secretary), George Burton Hunter, J.P. (Chairman and Director), John Addie Donald and Thomas E. Thirlaway. Business: Shipowners. Connection: Bristol and New York. Telephone: No. 3469 Bristol. Telegraphic Address: " Inspect, Bristol." Codes: Scott's (10th Edition), Bentleys and Watkins. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. Dr. George Burton Hunter has been Mayor of Wallsend. He is a Justice of the Peace for Newcastle-on-Tyne, and is Chairman of Messrs. Swan, Hunter & Wigham Richardson. Capt. Thomas Luther Evans, F.R.G.S., is Marine Surveyor and a member of the local Marine Board of Trade, Bristol. Mr. John Addie Donald is President of the Donald Steamship Co., Incorporated, of 18, Broadway, New York. Mr. Thomas E. Thirlaway is a Director of Messrs. Swan & Hunter, Wallsend-on-Tyne.

DONCASTER (DANIEL) & SONS, Ltd., Importers of Swedish Iron and Steel, Forgers and Tilters. Offices, Warehouses, and Converting Furnaces, Doncaster Street; Forge Department, Penistone Road; Melting Furnaces, Malinda Street, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established: In 1778, Daniel Doncaster obtained the well-known Trade Marked Daniel Doncaster (d. 1819); continued by (1) William Doncaster, 1829; (2) William Doncaster and Daniel Doncaster (brother), dissolved 1832; (3) Daniel Doncaster; (4) Daniel Doncaster, retired 1872 (d. 1878), Daniel Doncaster (junior), David Kenway Doncaster (d. 1884), Charles Doncaster (d. 1878), as Daniel Doncaster and Sons; (5) Daniel Doncaster (junior), (retired 1892) and Samuel Doncaster (son of D. Doncaster, senior), and Herbert Barber (brother-inlaw of Samuel Doncaster). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Directors: Samuel Doncaster (Chairman), Herbert Barber, James Henry Doncaster, Charles M. Doncaster, Herbert Graham Barber and Basil W. Doncaster. Specialities: Importers of Swedish Iron and Steel; Converters, Melters, Forgers and Tilters; Sellers of Alloys, Special Steels, O and Rare Metals. Trade Mark: DD Connection: With Sheffield houses, supplying them with Raw Materials for their manufacture. Telephones: Nos. 66 and 2033 Sheffield; No. 4440 (Forge Department) Sheffield (five lines). Telegraphic Address: " Doncasters, Sheffield." Code: Lieber's. Bankers: Sheffield Banking Co., Ltd. The late Mr. Charles Doncaster was Chairman of the Sheffield School Board. Mr. Herbert Barber was Master Cutler of Sheffield during 1909-1910.

DONISTHORPE & COMPANY, LIMITED, LEICESTER, Spinners of Worsted, Mohair, Lambswool, Merino, and Cotton Yarns, &c. Registered Offices: Friars Mills, Leicester, and Sarah Street and Frog Island Mills, Leicester. Hours of Business: Staff, 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Workpeople in Factory, 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1739 by Henry Donisthorpe. Carried on subsequently by his descendants. Enlarged and extended under proprietorship of the late Alfred Russell Donisthorpe. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Directors: F. Russell Donisthorpe (Chairman and Managing Director), Edward Steer, J.P., George Ernest Ellis, F. Pochin, Geo. E. Heriot, and Andrew Chambers. Secretary: J. Woodier. One of the oldest, if not the oldest firm in the trade. The late George Edmund Donisthorpe, of Leeds and Belvedere, Harrogate, great-uncle of the present Managing Director, and a former partner, is claimed as the inventor of the Combing Machine. Premises: Three Mills, The Friars' Mills, Sarah Street Mills, and Frog Island Mills, all highly equipped and extensive. Staff: Fifty clerical, 930 workpeople. Specialities: All varieties of Weaving, Knitting, Carpet, Hosiery, Mohair, &c. Patents: Numerous. Trade-mark: " Ibex " (Registered). Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 230 and Private Exchange 2343 and 2344 (Friars and Sarah Street Mills), No. 521 (Frog Island Mills), Leicester. Telegraphic Address: " Donisthorpe, Leicester." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions); Lieber's. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

DONKIN (BRYAN) CO., Ltd. (THE), Gas, Mechanical and Motor Engineers, Chesterfield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1803 by Bryan Donkin. Continued as Bryan Donkin & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1889 as Bryan Donkin & Co., Ltd. Reregistered as Bryan Donkin & Clench, Ltd., in 1900. Again altered to The Bryan Donkin Co:, Ltd., in 1906. Directors: G. H. Shipley (Chairman), Eustace Abel Smith, Alex. S. Leslie-Melville, A. H. Leslie-Melville, George Clark, M.I.Mech.E., M.I.A.E. (Managing Director), H. J. Donkin, M.I.Mech.E., and Alfred George Webb, F.C.I.S. (Director and Secretary). One of the oldest firms in the trade. Claim that the founder invented and perfected probably the first Rotary Printing Machine, 1813. In 1810 he received a Gold Medal from the Society of Arts for a Tachometer for measuring the speed of machines. In 1819 he received a, Gold Medal for a Counting Machine. Another invention was a Dividing Machine, which can be seen in the Museum of Science and Art at South Kensington. In 1858 obtained a contract from the Russian Government for the erection of a complete paper mill at St. Petersburg, with steam power plant of 2000 h.-p. Supplied many firms with Steam Engines and Rotary Engines. Premises: Originally at Bermondsey, removed after completing 100 years there (1903) to Chesterfield. Factory covers fourteen acres, equipped with up-to-date appliances. Staff: About 700. Staff Clubs: Football, Cricket, Cycle, Ambulance, and Orchestral Society. Branches: London, Parliament Mansions, Victoria Street, Westminster, S.W.; Manchester, 42, Deansgate. Specialties: Gas Exhausting Plants, High Pressure Gas Plants, Rateau Gas Fans, Gas Valves of all types, Reducing Governors, Tar and Liquor Pumps, Motor r arts made for the trade. Patents: Rotary Compressors, Reynolds' District and Service Regulators, and Gas Valves. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (War Office). Telephones: No. 84 Chesterfield; No. 5358 Victoria, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Donkin, Chesterfield. • " Donkin Co., London." Codes: Lieber's, Standard, Engineering, A B C (4th Edition). Bankers Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. •

DONKIN, C. W., & CO., Ltd., Automobile Engineers, Webster Street and Chorley Court, off Dale Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Open day and night. Resident Engineer. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: C. W. Donkin, James Donkin, James Nuttall. Premises: Accommodation for large vehicles. Private lock-up Sheds. Business: Agents for Belsize Cabs and Cars, Delaunay Belleville Sub-Agency, stock Dunlop and Michelin Tyres, D. A. Lighting Sets and Cylinders. Telephones: Nos. .6084 and 6085 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Donkin, Liverpool." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

DONNE (LEWIS) & SON, Watchmakers and Jewellers, 6, Birchin Lane, Cornhill, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established twenty years ago in succession to former members of the same family engaged in the same trade, going back more than 100 years, and is one of the oldest City firms of watchmakers. Present Principals: Lewis Donne and Morgan Donne. Specialities: High-class Watches and Clocks of all kinds. Are the Inventors and Patentees of the Restingbarrel Keyless Watch Movement, with Winding Indicators; also of the Undetachable Watchbow. Awards: Only Gold Medal, Edinburgh International Exhibition, 1886; Diploma of Honour, Inventions Exhibition, 1885; only Gold Medal, Calcutta, 1885. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial.

DOREE (HERBERT) & CO., Manufacturers of Needlework and Importers of Embroidery, &c., 104 and 105, Nowgate Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established: October, 1892. Specialities: All kinds of English Needlework and Fancy Linens, and the Importation of the Hand Embroidery and Drawn Thread Linen Work of almost every nation of the world. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 5199 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Taoro, London."

DOREE, J. G., & CO., Designers, Manufacturers, and Importers of Art Needlework, and Fancy Linens, 114, Newgate Street, London, E.C. Established in 1882. Specialities: All kinds of Art Needlework; Lace and Linen Five o'clock Tea Covers, Duchess Sets, &c.; Broche Silk and Tapestry Cushion Cases; Handembroidered Muslin; Cosies, Table Centres, &c. Importers of Japanese Hand-drawn Thread Linen Goods. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial.

DORMAN, LONG & CO., LIMITED, Steel Manufacturers, Bridge Builders, and Constructional Engineers, Middlesbrough. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Arthur John Dorman (Chairman and Managing Director), Charles Arthur Head, Charles Dorman, Sir Hugh Bell, Bart., William Henry Panton, Walter Johnson, Maurice L. Bell, Richard C. Denton, J. Francis Mason, Arthur Cooper, Alfred M. Mosscrop, Arthur Dorman, Francis Samuelson. Business: Makers of Rolled Steel Girders and all descriptions of Sectional Steel for Shipbuilding, Bridge Building, &c.; also makers of Steel Rails and Billets; Bridge Builders and Constructional Engineers; makers of Galvanised Corrugated Sheets, and Steel Wire of all classes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 18 (National), Middlesbrough. Telegraphic Address: " Dorman, Middlesbrough." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Middlesbrough and London).

DOUBLEDAY, SON & CO., Wholesale Woollen and Silk Warehousemen, 5 to 9, Godliman Street, St. Paul's Churchyard, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., except during middle of summer and middle of winter, when from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1836 by William Doubleday, father of present senior partner. Founder carried on the business until 1864. Then W. Doubleday, W. B. Doubleday (son), and Th. Danneel until 1894. From latter date until now, the Present Principals: W. B. Doubleday, John Watson, K. D. Watson, and Th. Danneel, jun. Branches: Berlin, Glasgow, Manchester. Stag: About seventy. Specialities: Silk and Woollen Goods for Ladies' wear. Connection: Home, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1895 Central. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Doubleday, Cent, London."

DOUGHTY, E., & CO., Ltd., Lace Manufacturers, 49, Heskey Street, Nottingham. Flours of Business: 8. a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1853 by the late Edwin Doughty. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1888. Directors: A. Pratt Barlow (Chairman), W. Sills, J. A. Thompson. Specialities: Fine Curtains and Nets, Levers and Warp Laces. Inventions: Brussels, Cross-ground, Lockstitch, and other Nets. Telephone: No. 7 (National), Nottingham. Telegraphic Address: "Filet, Not t ingham."

DOUGHTY, SON & RICHARDSON, Ltd., Seed Crushers, Manure Manufacturers, and Seedsmen. Registered Offices: 201, High Street, Lincoln; Cake Mills, Manure Works, and Bone Mill, Waterside South; Clover Seed Warehouse, Melville Street. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1791 by J. G. Doughty. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Managing Director: W. S. Richardson. Staff: 150. Specialities: " Lincoln " Pure Cakes for all Stock; Fertilisers for all Soils. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 7. Telegraphic Address: " Doughty, Lincoln." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

DOUGLAS (GEORGE C.) & CO., Consulting Engineers and Chartered Patent Agents, 12, Bank Street, Dundee. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1887 by George C. Douglas, the present principal. Business: Consulting Engineering, Jute Mills and Factories. Patent business conducted at Home and Abroad. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1487 Dundee. Bankers: Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd. Mr. Douglas was President of Dundee Institute of Engineers, 1887, 1888, 1902 and 1904. He is Hon. President of the Institute, Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Patent Agents, London, and a member of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (London).

DOUGLAS & GRANT, Ltd., Engineers and Millwrights, Iron and Brass Founders and Forging Makers, Dunnikier Foundry, Kirkcaldy, Fifeshire. London Office: Finsbury Pavement House (Couch and Radcliffe). Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1857 by the late Robert Douglas. Partnership Successions: (1) Robert Douglas and Lewis Grant; (2) Lewis Grant, David Bonar, and David Landale; (3) Lewis Grant and David Landale. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Directors: Lewis Grant, M.I.Mech.E. (Chairman), David Landale, M.I.M.E., Charles Edward Douglas, M.I.Mech.E., A.M.I.E.E., Lewis Campbell Grant, Ralph W. T. Walker, Andrew Ness (Secretary). The first contract undertaken was the supply of materials for the Crimean War. Premises: Large Iron and Brass Foundries, Erecting and Millwright Shops, &c. Staff About 400. Manchester Agents: J. Moore & Sons, 44, Barton Arcade, Deansgate. Newcastle Agent: C. W. Fairweather, Cathedral Buildings, Dean Street. Branches: P.O. Box 459, Rangoon, Burma; Rue Chaigneau, Saigon, Cochin China; No. 1 Road, Tanjore, S. India. Specialities: Heavy Steam Engine Work for Mill Driving, Waterworks Pumping, Mine Hoisting, Winding and Pumping Claim to be the largest makers in the world of Rice Milling Machinery; Carels Drop Valve Engines, Corliss Steam Engines, Barring Engines. They claim to have been the first makers of Triple Expansion Marine Engines and Corliss Engines in Great Britain. Awards: Gold Medals for Steam Engines and Rice Mill Work. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War .Office, and India Office), Crown Agents for the Colonies. Telephone: No. 105, Kirkcaldy (2 lines). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Douglas, Kirkcaldy." Codes: A 1, A B C (5th Edition), Engineering, Private. Bankers: Commercial Bank of Scotland. Mr. Grant and Mr. Douglas are members of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, the latter being also a member of the Institution of Electrical Engineers Mr. Landale is a Member of the Institution of Mining Engineers.

DOUGLAS & GREEN, Ltd., Manufacturers and Bleachers, St. Ann's Buildings, Donegall Street, Belfast. London Office: 129, Cheapside, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established fifty to sixty years ago by John Douglas. Joined by William Green in 1892, trading as Douglas & Green. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1903. Managing Director and Chairman: William Green. Premises: Cover half an acre, fully equipped with all the latest improvements. Staff: About 1000. Specialities: All classes of Handkerchiefs, Plain, Printed; Fancy Lace and Embroideries; all classes of Household and Fancy Linens, Irish Hand Embroidery. Award: Gold Medal and Diploma for Silkana Handkerchiefs, Brussels Exhibition, 1910. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: Nos. 2690, 2691, 2692 and 2375 Belfast. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Douglas, Belfast." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Lieber's, Textile. Bankers: Ulster Bank, Ltd., Belfast. u2

DOUGLAS (WILLIAM) & SONS, Ltd., Food Appliances Engineers and Merchants, Douglas Wharf, Putney, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established by William Douglas. Partnership Successions: (1) William Douglas & Son; (2) William Douglas & Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Directors: Thomas Douglas, John Douglas, Loudon M. Douglas. Premises: Purchased in 1898, cover about one acre. Staff: Total, about 100. Branch: Beaverbank, Edinburgh. Specialities: Everything in connection with the slaughtering of animals, preparation and preservation of Pork and Meat. Patent: Douglas-Conroy Refrigerating Machinery. Awards: Gold Medal for Refrigerating Machinery in open competition at Dairy Show, London, 1905; Various Bronze and Silver Medals for Refrigerating, Egg Testing, and Milk Cooling Machinery and Appliances. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1954 Putney (two lines), London No. 5185 Central, Edinburgh. Telegraphic Address: "Ibidem, Put, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Premier, Moreing & Neale's. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd., Putney.

DOULTON & CO., Ltd. (Royal Doulton Potteries), Potters and Sanitary Engineers. Head Office: High Street, Lambeth. Potteries and Works: Lambeth, Burslem, Rowley Regis, St. Helens, Paisley. Showrooms: London, Burslem, Liverpool, Manchester, Birmingham, Glasgow. Hours of Business: (Head Office), 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1815 by John Doulton (sen.). One of the typical English pottery enterprises, world-famous for its successful continuance and artistic development of the ancient ceramic industry of Lambeth. Incorporated in 1899. Directors: Henry Lewis Doulton (Chairman and Managing Director), Ronald D. Doulton, W. A. Turnbull, E. C. Hannen, L. J. E. Hooper, and J. C. Bailey. Staff: About 4000 persons at the Company's various establishments. Specialities: The Art Pottery universally known as " Doulton Ware." The " Lambeth Fa:fence." " Carrara " Stoneware, now largely used for architectural decoration, as in the façades of the Savoy Hotel, London. " Terra Cotta," for architectural use and horticultural ornaments. Also " Holbein," " Rouge Flambe," " Crystalline " Glazes, Fine Earthenware and China, made at the Burslem Studios. Patents: Many relating to the above productions, and to appliances and processes of manufacture. Awards: Over 220 gold medals and other awards, from the timo of the Great Exhibition of 1851. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrant: Potters to His Majesty King George. Telephone: No. 2260 Victoria (five lines). Telegraphic Address: "Doulton, London."

DOVE, JOHN, Basket, Perambulator, Invalid Carriages and High Class Toy Manufacturers, 31, St. Andrew Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1834 by the grandfather of the present principals. Continued by his eldest son. Present Principals: Donald Dove, William S. Dove and John Dove (sons).' Incorporated the firm of J. and T. A. Dove, 15. St.. Andrew Square, ten years ago. Have had the honour of supplying Goods for the use of Royalty. Premises: Comprising about twenty spacious Flats at above address; Works at 44, St. Andrew Square; Stores, London Lane. Staff: 150 to 200. Specialities: Baby Carriages, Horse Carriage Ambulances of every description, Invalid Carriages, Wicker Chairs and all kinds of Hamper Making. Patents: Several for Perambulators. Awards: At. many Exhibitions. Connection: United Kingdom, India, South America, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephone: No. 3159 Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Basketmaker, Glasgow." Bankers: Bank of Scotland.

DOVE, PHILLIPS & PETT, Ltd., Mineral Water Manufacturers, 277, High Street, Rochester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established as an amalgamation of three firms: W. Dove, founded 1874; B. R. Phillips, 1830; and T. Pett, 1866. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. Directors: Walter S. Dove (Managing Director and Chairman), Walter J. V. Dove (Secretary), Benjamin R. Phillips, P. B. Phillips, and Thomas Pett. An amalgamation of the only existing old established businesses which claim to cater for and hold the " cream " of the mineral water trade of the district. Doing an increasing business. Premises: Cover 11,450 square feet. Staff: Fifty. Specialities: Dry Ginger Ale, Genuine Soda Water, Home-Brewed Ginger Beer and Hop Ale. Pioneers of all the latest improvements, Screw-stoppered, Crown-Corked and Swing Stoppered Bottles and Machinery connected with their use. Automatic power Bottle Washing Machinery and Rotary Fillers. Patents: Registered owners of non-Alcoholic non-Aerated Beverages, " Stillinger " and " Stillora." Connection: Local, with a radius of twelve miles. Telephone: No. 75 Chatham.

DOW & FRAME, Muslin Manufacturers, 9, Bell Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Estab lished in 1862. Present Principal: John. G. Dow. Branches: London, E.C., Man- chester, Nottingham. Specialities: Fancy Dress Lappet Muslins, Handkerchiefs, Fine Plain Muslins, Stiff Lining Muslins. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 2081 Bell No. 75 Bell. Telegraphic Address: " Fluster, Glasgow." Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

DOWIE & MARSHALL, Bespoke Boot makers, 455, West Strand, London. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1824 by the late James Dowie. In 1874 James Saunders Marshall, the pre sent principal, became sole proprietor. Speciality: Hand-made Boots and Shoes. Connection: United Kingdom, India, and Colonies. Telephone: No. 9015 Central. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

DOWLEY (EDWARD) & SONS, Ltd., Millers, Importers and Exporters of Grain, Food Stuffs, Farm Seeds, Coals, Artificial Manures, &c., Carrick-on-Suir, Ireland. Hours of Business: Office, 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1610 by the ancestors of the present proprietors. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1910. Directors: Edward Dowley, J.P. (Managing Director and Chairman), Myles Edward Dowley. One of the oldest firms in the trade, has been connected with the Milling trade at Tinvane, Carrick-on-Suir, for over 300 years. Have lately acquired by purchase the premises and business of the old-established firm of John Grubb & Son, Corn Market, Carrick-on-Suir. Premises: Offices and Warehouses, New Street and Quay; Mills, Quay, Carrick-on-Suir. Branch: Offices, Quay, Waterford. Specialities: Grain, Food Stuffs, Farm Seeds, Coals, Artificial Manures, &c. Are Carriers on River Suir. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Tele phones: No. 4 Carrick-on-Suir No. 151 Waterford. Telegraphic Addresses: " Edward Dowley, Carrick-on-Suir "; " Dowley's Boats, Waterford." Bankers: National Bank, Ltd., Carrick-on-Suir.

DOWN BROTHERS, Ltd., Surgical Instrument Makers, 21 and 23, St. Thomas's Street, London, S.E. Factory: King's Head Yard, Borough, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1879 by Arthur Down; in 1885 H. V. Down became a partner. Incorpo rated as a Private Limited Company in 1902 with a Directorate consisting of Arthur W. Down (Chairman), Hubert V. Down and Sydney J. A. Down (Governing Directors). The firm's show rooms are exactly opposite Guy's Hospital. The site is within the precincts of the old St. Thomas' Hospital, and on the spot where the Brewery of the Hospital stood. Premises: Large building of six floors, with showroom and offices,&c., 21 and 23, St. Thomas's Street. Factory in King's Head Yard consists of five large floors. Have recently added the adjoining premises in King's Head Yard. A staff of 104 hands is employed in the factory; and 95 hands including clerks and travellers. Specialities: High-class Surgical Instruments; also Aseptic Hospital Furniture. The firm's manufactures gained Grands Prix at the Paris Exhibition in 1900, at the Brussels Exhibition, 1910, and at the Buenos Ayres Exhibition, 1910, and a Gold Medal (highest award) at the Allahabad Exhibition, 1910, and are held in high esteem at the leading Hospitals, and by the Medical and Surgical Profession. Patents: Principally relating to Aseptic Hospital Furniture, namely, Operation and other Tables, &c., used in Hospitals. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Army, Navy, the Honourable Council of India, the Crown Agents for the Colonies, and the principal Hospitals throughout the Kingdom, India, and the Colonies. Telephones: No. 4400 Hop (four lines). Telegraphic Address: " Down, London." Code: ABC.

DOWN (JOHN R.) & CO., Metal Merchants and Assayers, London and Provincial Bank Buildings, 57 and 58, Wind Street; Metal Refinery and Assay Office, Cuba Road, Swansea. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1875 by John R. Down, the present principal. One of the principal Metal Merchants in South Wales. Turnover of about £1,000,000 sterling yearly. Premises Occupy a suite of offices; also works and assay laboratory. Business: Metal Merchants and Assayers. Patent: Down Morgan Rotary Calcining Furnace. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial .; No, 11.00 entrAl, Private Branch Exchange, Swansea. Telegraphic Address: " Down, Swansea." Codes: Lieber's, Scotts, A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (Swansea). Mr. John R. Down is a member of the Swansea Chamber of Commerce, and for twenty-five years has been a member of the Council. He is a Councillor and Overseer on Brynan District Council, and a member of Oystermouth Burial Board; Director of Glyncoed Collieries, Ltd.

DOWNES & CO., Blouse and Tea-Gown Manufacturers, Manchester House, 57-60, Friday Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Specialities: TeaGowns, Dressing-Gowns, Matinees, and Bl ouses. Telephone: No. 10531 Central, London. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

DOWNEY, W. & D., Photographers, 57 and 61, Ebury Street, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; at night by arrangement. Established in 1856 by William Downey and Daniel Downey. Present Principals: William Downey and Arthur J. H. Downey. Specialities: Artistic Photography; • Oil Paintii tg; Miniatures on Ivory, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial.

DOWNING, T. H., & CO., Hosiery Manufacturers, Newarke Street and Pocklington's Walk, Leicester. Hours of Business: 8.15 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established early last century by Charles Lea, under the style of Charles Lea & Co. In 1854 Thomas Henry Downing took over the business, in conjunction with Robert Humberstone (nephew of Charles Lea). In 1879 Robert Humberstone retired. T. H. Downing (d. 1902) was joined in partnership by John Wainwright, Joseph Read, and Robert Parker, the firm trading as above. Joseph Read retired 1881 and John Wainwright in 1888. In 1889 Francis Strange Brice (nephew of T. H. Downing) was admitted partner. In 1891 Robert Parker retired, and in 1898 Robert Walter Kaye (nephew of T. H. Downing) became partner. Present Principals (since 1902): Francis Strange Brice, Robert Walter Kaye. Premises: Large Warehouse and Factory, Leicester, fitted with modern appliances. Staff: 400. Staff Club: Cricket. Branches: Warehouses, London, Liverpool, Manchester, Cardiff, and Birmingham. Agencies and Representatives: Australia, Canada, South Africa, China, Japan, Egypt, Syria, Turkey, Norway, Sweden, Holland. Business: Manufacturers and Distributors to the principal Retail Houses of all kinds of Hosiery and Knitted Underwear; also Ladies' Blouses, Golf Jerseys, Athletic Clothing. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 3931 (seven lines), Leicester No. 9827 (London Wall) London; No. 276 (Royal) Liverpool; No. 1919 Cardiff; No. 5568 City, Manchester; No. 3387 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Addresses: " Downings, Leicester "; " Seamless, London."

DOWSON & MASON GAS PLANT CO., Ltd. (THE), Manufacturers of all kinds of Gas Plants and Gas Furnaces, Alma Works, Levensh ulme, Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1910, formed by the amalgamation of the Mason Gas Power Co., Ltd., established in 1905, and the Dowson Economic Gas. and Power Co., Ltd., established in 1887. Specialities: Dowson Gas Power Plants for Bituminous Coal, Anthracite, Coke, Charcoal and other fuels. Duff Gas Producers for Furnaces, &c. Weardale Gas Furnaces for Plates and Bars, Wire Annealing, Steel Casting Annealing, Malleable Casting Annealing, Tin Plate and Sheet Annealing, Ship Frames, &c. Awards: Many medals, &c., from various exhibitions. Agents in the Colonies and many Foreign countries. Contractors to H. M. Government (Admiralty, War Office). Telephone: No. 39 Heaton Moor, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Gasify, Levenshulme."

DOXFORD (WILLIAM) & SONS, LIMITED, Shipbuilders, Marine Engineers, Brassfounders and Boilermakers, Pallion, Sunderland. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established in 1840 by William Doxford in the days of wooden shipbuilding. Joined by Theodore Doxford and Alfred Doxford (sons), and in 1880 by Robert Doxford, and Charles D. Doxford (younger sons). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Directors: Sir Theodore Doxford, J.P. (Chairman), R. P. Doxford, A. E. Doxford, C. D. Doxford, J.P., R. Doxford, Arthur Doxford, and William Doxford. Secretary: John Holey. In 1878 the Engineering Department was added, and the business has developed continuously. Premises: Cover thirty-five acres. Business: Builders of all types of Steamers up to 20,000 D.W., Torpedo and other High-speed. Vessels, either with Reciprocating or Turbine Engines, Patent Belt-Discharging Vessels for Coal or Ore. Internal Combustion Engines and Floating Oil Storage. Patents: For Turret Deck Steamers, Belt-Discharging Vessels, Joggling Presses, &c. Telephones: Nos. 412, 413, 414, and 1141 (National), Sunderland. Telegraphic Address: " Doxford, Sunderland." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

D. P. BATTERY CO., Ltd. (THE), Storage Battery Manufacturers, Lumford Works, Bakewell. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1888. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Chairman: Walter Claude Johnson. Premises: Works cover about five acres. Staff: Joiners, Fitters, &c., with Dynamo, Engines, &c. Specialities: Storage Batteries and Accessories. Patents: Several. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 2 Bakewell; No. 1591 Victoria. Telegraphic Addresses: " Battery, Bakewell "; " Cumulose, Vic, London."

DRAKE & GORHAM, Ltd., Electrical, Mechanical, and Hydraulic Engineers, Head Office: 66, Victoria Street, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m: to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1886 by Bernard M. Drake and J. M. Gorham. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: Bernard M. Drake (Chairman and Managing Director), J. M. Gorham, J. C. Forster, E. H. Story, John Forbes (Directors), M. G. Drake, George C. Hamilton, and W. M. Carver (Managing Directors). Branches: 47, Spring Gardens, Manchester; Baltic Chambers, 50, Wellington Street, Glasgow. Specialities: The application of Electricity to Light and Power; Petrol Gas and Acetylene Lighting. Telephones: No 4893 Victoria (three lines); No. 3700 City, Manchester (two lines); No. 3858 Corporation and Nat. No. 2198 Argyle, Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Accumulator," London, Manchester, Glasgow.

DRAKES, Ltd., Constructional Gas Engineers and Ironfounders, Ovenden, Halifax (Registered Office), 165, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established about fifty years ago by Jonas Drake (d.). Succeeded by John Armitage Drake (d.), William Armitage Drake, John Samuel Marsland (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Directors: William Armitage Drake (Chairman and Managing Director), Henry West, C. F. Srencer, J. W. Drake, and J. W. Wallis. Staff: About 800. Specialities: Gas Works Installations and other structural work; Elevating and Conveying Machinery. Patents: Various. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephones: No. 543 Halifax (two lines); No. 4987 City. Telegraphic Address: " Drakeson., Halifax." Codes: Engineering; A B C (4th and 5th Edition); A 1. Bankers: The West Yorkshire Bank, Ltd. (Halifax).

DRAY, G. W., & SON, Ltd., Paper Makers, Printers, &c., Drayton Paper Works, Southwark, S.E.; Registered Offices, 23, College Hill, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Established in 1856 by the late Geo. William Dray. Incorporated as a Limited Company 1889. Directors: Fred G. Dray (Managing Director), T. Neighbour, J.P. (Chairman), Geo. J. Welton, A. E. Coningham. Premises: Four Factories in London. Branches: London, 34, Lime Street, E.C.; 95, Fore Street, E.C.; 5, Minories, E.C.; Plymouth, Manchester, Liverpool, Newcastle-on-Tyne, Belfast, Cape Town, Sydney. Business: Paper Manufacturers, Roll Papers (five machines), Toilet Papers, &c. Are the owners of Hopking's Patent for Roll Paper Machines. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: Nos. 390 and 384 Hop; Nos. 12890 and 13349 Central; No. 687 Avenue; No. 1319 Avenue; No. 4006 London Wall; No. 519 Brixton; No. 334 Birkenhead. Telegraphic Address: " Notyard, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

DRESDNER BANK (THE), Bankers, 65, Old Broad Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1872, at Dresden, Germany. London Managers: Arnold Ellert, Paul Lindenberg, and Fritz B. Gutmann. Premises: Head Office, Berlin. Branches at all principal towns in Germany. Business: Bankers. Telephones: 4370, 4371, 4372, and 9334 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Address: "Dresdner, London." Codes: A B C, Lieber's. Bankers: Bank of England; London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

DREW, BRADY & CO., Hosiery Trimming Manufacturers, Silver Street, Leicester. Hours of Business: 7.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1840 by the lath John Brady. Present Principals: John E. Faire, Sir Samuel Faire. Premises: Four storey Warehouse and Factory. Specialities: Sateens, Beiges. Inventions: Hosiery Furnishings (Dove Sateens). Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 297 Leicester. Telegraphic Address: " Sateen, Leicester." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

DREW, JAMES, Hosier, Shirtmaker and Outfitter, Burlington Arcade, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, Close at 2 p.m. Established in 1838 by James Drew (d.). Present Principals: Verney Drew (nephew of James Drew), Managing Partner; and William Drew (son of James Drew). The Burlington Arcade was built in 1819 (the year Her late Majesty Queen Victoria was born). It is the property of Baron Chesham and derived its name from the Earl of Burlington, a title now merged in with the other titles of the Duke of Devonshire. The length of the Arcade was in the latter part of the 17th century the subject of many wagers by the young dandies of that period on account of its deceptive appearance; it measures 196 yards. Have been patronized by H.M. The King, H.I.M. The Emperor of Austria and Hungary, His Majesty The King of Siam, His Majesty The King of Norway, and numerous other Royal Personages, and many of the Aristocracy. Premises: Consist of the first 3 shops situated on the right hand side from the Piccadilly entrance. Specialities: Drew's Patent Duplex Stock. Choice assortment of Shirts, Collars, Pyjama Suits, Hosiery, Scarfs, Gloves, Braces, Bath Robes, Dining Jackets, Tennis Jackets, Waistcoats, &e., Umbrellas, Travelling Rugs, &c. Patent: " Drew's DuplexStock," for Hunting. Connection: Worldwide. Royal Warrant: Special appointment to H.M. The King. Telephone: No. 7714 Gerrard, London. Mr. Verney Drew is on the Council of H.M. Royal Warrant Holders and is a Past President of one of the leading Societies for the protection of Commerce in the West End.

DREW, J. & H., Land Agents and Surveyors, 15, Queen Street, Exeter. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established by John Drew (d. 1796), became steward to the Sainthills, of Bradninch, about 1748. Succeeded by eldest son, John Drew (d. 1833). John Drew (d. 1867), eldest son of last-named, left Bradninch and started business in the neighbourhood of Exeter. Joined in partnership by eldest son, John Drew, F. S.I. (d. 1891), and youngest son, Henry Drew, F. S.I. (d. 1912), as John Drew & Sons. On the death of John Drew (third), John Drew, F.S.I., and Henry Drew, F.S.I. altered title of firm to J. & H. Drew. John Drew (fourth) d. 1891. His elder son, John Gould Drew, B.A., F.S.I., and Henry Alban Drew, F.S.I. (elder son of Henry Drew), became partners. Present Principals: John Gould Drew, 13,A., F.S.I., Henry Alban Drew, F.S.I. One of the oldest firms of land agents and surveyors. The senior partner is one of the Referees under the Finance Act. Business: Surveys and Valuations of Land and Timber for sale or purchase, Poor Law Rating Assessments, Collection of Rents, and Management of Estates, Collection of Tithe Rent Charge, &c., Agents for Estates in Devonshire, Cornwall, Somersetshire, and Glamorganshire. Connection: South-West of England. Telephone: No. 280 Exeter. Telegraphic Address: " Drews, Exeter." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Eiceter).

DREWRY CAR CO., Ltd. (THE), Manufacturers of Railway Motor Cars; Office, 13, South Place, London, E.C.; Works, Burton-on -Trent. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Directors: C. S. Drewry (Chairman), J. Ballantvne, A. H. M. Ward, W. S. Dawson. Agencies in various countries. Specialities: Railway Motor Cars for Passenger Traffic and for Permanent Way Service, &c. Telephones: No. 458 London Wall; No. 13562 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Effervesce, London."

DREY, SIMPSON & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Plush, Imitation Sealskin and other Imitation Furs, &c., Hanover Mills, Reddish, Stockport. Hours of Business: Office and Warehouse, 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 12.30 p.m.; Mills, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1873 by Oscar Drey and Frederick J. Simpson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Governing Director: Oscar Drey. Premises: Hanover Mills, cover over three acres; Factory at Tourcoing having an area of about three acres. Staff: 500 (Stockport); 300 (Tourcoing). Branches: Selling Offices, Manchester, 61, Portland Street; London, 2, Milk Street, E.C. Specialities: Plush, Imitation Sealskin, and other Imitation Furs, &c. Patents: Fustian Cutters by Power Machinery. Inventor and Patentee, Oscar Drey, United Kingdom. Connection: United Kingdom. Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 510 (City), Manchester; No. 318 Stockport for Hanover Mills; No. 672 (Central), for Manchester (61, Portland Street); No. 8056 London Wall (2, Milk Street, E.C.). Telegraphic Addresses: " Sapphire, Stockport "; " Hanomyl, London," Bankers: Union Bank of Manchester, Ltd. (Manchester).

DREYFUS & CO. LIMITED, Colonial Export and Import Merchants, Leadenhall House, 101, Leadenhall Street, London, E.C.:, and East London, Port Elizabeth, and King William's Town, Cape Colony. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1866 by Ludwig Dreyfus in Port Elizabeth. Former partners at Port Elizabeth: W. J. Stollreither and M. A. Fraundorfer (1871-1880), Henry Dowsett and T. E. Thewlis (1880-1892), Julius Auerbach and Richard Garthe (18931901). Amalgamated in 1901 with the business of Theodor Dreyfus, established 1878 at East London, Cape Colony, and the London firm of Dreyfus & Co., founded 1874. Incorporated as a Limited Company under the style of Dreyfus & Co., Ltd. Directors: Julius Auerbach (Chairman), W. E. Hearson (Managing Director), T. E. Thewlis, and Arthur Auerbach. Business: Importation of Merchandise into Cape Colony; Exportation of Wool. Mohair, Feathers, &c. Connection: United Kingdom and South and East Africa. Telephone: No. 1885 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Dreyfus, London." Cable Address: " Dutchman, London." Codes: Broomhall's Imperial Combination Code and A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Standard Bank of South Africa; London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Leadenhall Street, E. C. ).

DRING AND FAGE, Manufacturers of Hydrometers, Thermometers and Gauging Instruments, 56, Stamford Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1745. Specialities: Hydrometers, Thermometers, Gauging Instruments, Scales, Cases, &c. Patents: Many relating to their specialities. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 11323, Central London. Telegraphic Address: " Dringauge, London." Bankers: London and South-Western Bank, Ltd.

DRIVER BROTHERS, Dress Goods Manufacturers, North Street Mills, Silsden, via Keighley. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 7 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1897 by Henry Ripley Driver and Frank Driver, the present principals. Premises: Extensive, containing 350 Looms. Staff: 230. Bradford Warehouse, 35, Swaine Street. Branches: London, 7, Bell Yard, Carter Lane, E.C.; Manchester, 4, Aytoun Street; Glasgow, 24, St. Enoch Square. Specialities: Fancy Artificial Silk, Silk, Worsted and Cotton Figured Dress Goods, Voiles, Blouse Cloths, Zephyrs, Moreens, J)elaines, Printing Cloths in Cotton, Union, and All Wool; Union and Cotton Shirtings, Ceylons, and Pyjama Cloths. Selected by the Bradford Chamber of Commerce to furnish patterns illustrating the class of fabrics manufactured in the Bradford District for the Brussels Exhibition, 1910, and for the Milan Exhibition, 1911. The exhibit at Brussels was awarded a Grand Prix, together with the special congratulations of the Jury. Patent: Frog or Heater for loose Reed Looms to prevent breakages. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign (especially United States and South America, India, China, Japan), Colonial. Telephones: NO3. 41 and 42 Steeton. Telegraphic Address: " Driver Bros., Silsden." Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd. (Silsden).

DRIVER (WILLIAM) & SONS, Ltd., Nail Manufacturers, Importers and Merchants. Works: Highfield Lane. Warehouse and Offices: Canal Works, Silsden. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1848 by William Driver (d.). Continued by his sons. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1908. Directors: Frank Driver (Chairman), H. R. Driver, Charles Driver, J. M. Driver and M. A. Driver. Specialities: Horse Shoe Nails, Bolts, Frost Cogs. Leather Factors, Boot and Shoe Bills, Cutlan Bills, and all kinds of nails for the Boot and Shoe trade. Connection: United Kingdom, Importers from and Exporters to the Colonies. Telephone: No. 41 Silsden. Telegraphic Address: " Driver, Nailworks, Silsden." Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd. (Silsden).

DROESSE, HUGO, Fancy Leather Goods Manufacturer, 29, Moor Lane, Fore Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1886 by Hugo E. J. Droesse, the present principal. Premises: Four large floors. Staff: Over 100. Branches: 10, Tenby Street, Birmingham; and at Offenbach-on-Main. Specialities: All kinds of Fancy Leather Goods. Inventions: A variety of Ladies' Bags, Purses, Pocket-books, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, Foreign. Telephone: No. 1944, London Wall, London. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.; London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

DROSTE & CO., Cocoa and Chocolate Manufacturers, 29, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C.; Works at Haarlem, Holland. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 2 p.m. Fistablished twenty-fivo years ago by G, J. Droste (sen.), Haarlem. London Principal: Frederick W. A. Bird; and three Directors in Holland. Agencies: Depots and Sub-Agencies in all parts of the world.

DRUMMOND (JAMES) & SONS, Ltd., Spinners and Manufacturers, Lumb Lane Mills, Bradford. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1851 by James Drummond. Continued as James Drummond & Sons, 1872. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Chairman: John Drummond. Secretary: J. Douglas Drummond. Premises: Cover ten acres, equipped-with all up-to-date appliances. Staff: 1500. Branches: London, 26, Gt. Pulteney Street, W.; Montreal, 232, McGill Street; Cape Town, 90, Fletchers Buildings; Sydney (N.S.W.), 93, York Street. Business: Spinners of Botany and Crossbred Yarns, Manufacturers of High-class Worsted Coatings and Trouserings. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 4067 and 4068 Bradford; Regent 1736, London. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

DRUMMOND (MESSRS.), Bankers,. 49, Charing Cross, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1716. Telegraphic Address: " Drummonds, London." Clearing Agents: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.; Bank of England.

DRUMMOND, W., & SONS, Ltd., Seed Merchants and Nurserymen, Bulb and Manure Merchants, and Horticultural Sundriesmen, 57 and 58, Dawson Street, Dublin, and Stirling, Scotland. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established over 100 years ago by Peter Drummond, of Stirling. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Directors: James W. Drummond (Stirling), Peter Drummond (Stirling), Henry C. Drummond (Stirling), W. H. Drummond, J.P. (Dublin), Kearsley M. Drummond (Dublin), D. Macleod (Dublin). Premises: Very extensive in Ireland and Scotland. Stall: Between forty and fifty. Speciality: Garden and Farm Seeds. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 556 Dublin. Telegraphic Address: " Drummonds," Dublin and Stirling.

DRY WINE & CAMBRUNNEN WATER COMPANY (THE), 104, Great Portland Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1887 by the present principals. Speciality: Sole Proprietors of the Cambrunnen Sparkling Table Water from the Taunus Spring near Homburg. Recommended by Specialists as a highly useful Table Water, with valuable solvent properties in cases of uric acid, and proved to be most useful for gouty and rheumatic complaints. Shipping Agents for Scotland, Dymock, Howden & Co., Edinburgh. Agents in New York, General Importation Co., 974, Sixth Avenue. Also supply Dry Wines (Champagne, Sherry, Port, Claret, &c.), Brandies, Whiskies and Vinzoe, a nutritive Wine made from the formula of an eminent Dietetic Physician. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Patronised by many of the Nobility, the House of Commons, H.M. Ships, Steamship Companies, and Clubs. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to H.R.H. Prince Christian. Telephone: No. 6618 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address " Vinomele, London."

DRYAD CANE FURNITURE & METAL WORKS, Manufacturers of Cane Furniture and Architectural and Decorative Metal Work, 42, St. Nicholas Street; Works, Harvey Lane and Thornton Lane, Leicester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established: The Cane Works in 1907; Metal Works, known as Collins & Co., in 1902; Metal Works joined to Cane Works in 1911. Present Principals: Harry Hardy Peach and William Henry Pick. Premises: Works cover half an acre. Staff: 159. Specialities: Cane Furniture in all its branches, Architectural and Decorative Metal Work of the highest class. Trade Mark: " Dryad." Awards: Silver Medal, Brussels, 1910; Diploma of Honour, Turin, 1911; Gold Medal, Japanese-British Exhibition; Gold Medal, Festival of Empire. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial, chiefly South Africa and America. Telephone: No. 3967 Leicester (two lines). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Dryad, Leicester." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: National Provincial Bank, Ltd. (Cane Works), Parr's Bank, Ltd. (Metal Works).

DRYDEN, THOMAS, General Engineer and Millwright, Grimshaw Street Foundry, Preston, Lanes. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established by William Dryden. Present Principal: Thomas Dryden (son). Premises: Cover 6000 square yards. Staff: 165. Business: General Engineering and Millwrighting. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Govern.. ment (Admiralty, War Office). Telephone: No. 907 Preston (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Dryden, Preston." Bankes London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

DRYSDALE & CO., Ltd., Engineers, Bon Accord Works, Ferry Road, Yoker, Glasgow, W. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1874. Acting Directors: J. W. W. Drysdale (Managing Director), Wm. Drysdale, Geo. Reid, A. N. Drysdale, J. W. W. Drysdale (jun.), B.Sc. Secretary: Jas. Nicholson. Specialities: Centrifugal Pumping Engines and Pumps of various types; High-speed Engines and Fan Engines; Complete Plants for Salvage purposes; Electric Lighting Engines; Irrigation Plant, &c. Contractors to the British Admiralty and War Office, India Office, and Crown Agents for the Colonies, Foreign Governments, and the Mercantile Marine. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 111 and 112 Clydebank (Nat.); No. 367 Clydebank (P.O.). Telegraphic Address: " Bonaccord, Glasgow." Codes: Lieber's; A B C (5th Edition); Engineering Telegraph. Bankers: The Clydesdale Bank, Ltd.

DRYSDALE, M., & CO., Electrical, Motor and General Engineers, Town Foundry, Gravesend. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1891 by M. Drysdale, the present principal. Premises: Consist of General Foundry and Machine Shops. Specialities: Patent Beer Displayers for Hotel Bars and Patent Bulk Beer Pasteurizers, Brewers and General Engineering. Telephone: No. 908 Gravesend (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Drysdale, Gravesend."

DUBLIN DISTILLERS CO., Ltd. (THE), Distillers of Pot Still Whisky. Registered Obrizes: 157, Thomas Street, Dublin. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. Established in 1752 at the Marrowbone Lane Distillery; in 1758 at the Thomas Street Distillery, and later at Jones's Road Distillery. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1889. London Office: 36 Mark Lane, E.C. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Distillery, Dublin." Code: A B C. Bankers: Bank of Ireland.

DUBLIN DOCKYARD CO., Ltd. (THE), Shipbuilders, Marine and General Engineers, Ship and Engine Repairers, Alexandra Basin, North Wall, Dublin. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1901 by Walter Scott, M.I.N.A., and John Smellie, M.I.N.A. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Walter Scott (Chairman and Joint Managing Director), John Smellie (Joint Managing Director), Sir John P. Griffith (Special Director),William Alexander, Robert Crawford. Premises: Total area of works, eight and a half acres. Staff: 500 to 600 hands. Business: Builders of Passenger and Cargo Vessels, Paddle Steamers, Dredgers, &c. Repairs of all descriptions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty) for repairs to Vessels up to and including third-class Cruisers. Telephones: Nos. 23 and 24 Dublin. Telegraphic Address " Dockyard, Dublin " (night and day). Bankers: Hibernian. Bank, Ltd.

DUBLIN TAR CO., Ltd. (THE), Tar Distillers and Chemical Manufacturers, 1, 2, 3 and 3A, Hanover Quay and Forbes Street, Dublin. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1886, founded by John M. M. Stoer. Secretary and Manager: E. Maxwell Stoor. Specialities: Coal Tar Pitch, Tar, Naphthas, Creosote, Brick, Fuel, Green Oils, Naphtha Varnishes, Sulphate of Ammonia, &c. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 2541 Dublin. Telegraphic Address: " Tar, Dublin." Bankers: The Hibernian Bank, Ltd., Dublin.

DUCHESS OF DEVONSHIRE DAIRY CO. (THE) (Registered), Tiverton Junction, Cullompton, Devon. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1876 by William John Mills, the present principal. Staff: Fifty-one. Staff Club: Court of Ancient Order of Foresters in connection with the works under the name of " Duchess of Devonshire Dairy Co." Specialities: Butter and Cream. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 7 Cullompton. Telegraphic Address: " Duchess, Willand." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (St. Philips, Bristol).

DUCKHAM (ALEXANDER) & CO., Ltd., Oil and Chemical Manufacturers, Phoenix Wharf, West Ferry Road, Millwall, London, E. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1899 by Alexander Duckham, F.C.S. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Directors: Alexander Duckham, F.C.S. (Chairman), Percy N. Hooper, M.I.C.E., M.I.E.E., M.I.A.E., Corbett W. Woodall. Premises: Wharf frontage on the Thames, 120 ft.; depth of premises, 570 ft.; frontage on West Ferry Road, 220 ft. Depots: Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle, Glasgow. Specialities: Oils and Insulating Materials. Have patented a system of Electrical Main Laying; also Patent Oil Separator, and many inventions in Lubricants and Insulating Materials. Connection: All parts of the world. Telephones: Nos. 674, 674A, 674B, and 1046 Eastern. Telegraphic Address: " Aloxicaco, London." Codes: Lieber's and A B C.

DUCKWORTH, CHARLES, Manufacturer, Merchant, &c., 43, George Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established about 1861. Present Principal: Charles Duckworth. Premises: Consist of five storeys. Staff: About forty. Branches: London, 34, Aldermanbury, E.C. (Tel.: No. 8166 Central); Leeds, 18, St. Paul's Street (Tel.: No. 3775); Birmingham, Cannon Passage, Cannon Street (Tel.: No. 5869 Central). Specialities: Dyed and Printed Linings, Silesias, Cotton Italian Cloths, Cap Linings, Shroud Linings, Corset Cloths, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Continent, Canada, Australia. Telephone: No. 498 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Geranium, Manchester." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

DUCKWORTH CO., Publishers, 3, Henrietta Street, Covent Garden, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1898 by Gerald Duckworth and A. R. Waller; joined later by George H. Milsted (present junior partner), present principals. Business: General Publishing, including series of Art Books, Works by Sir Leslie Stephen, Works by Elinor Glyn, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3423 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Ductarius, London."

DUCKWORTH & EDDLESTON. Cotton Manufacturers, Roe Lee Mill No. 1; Roo Lee Mill No. 2; and Carr Cottage Mill, Whalley New Road, Blackburn, and Waterloo Mill, Clitheroe, Lanes. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1883 by George Duckworth and William Eddleston. Partnership Successions: (1) John Duckworth and Wm. Eddleston; (2) John Duckworth and 11Irs. Jane Eddleston. Present Principals: John Duckworth, John Eddleston. Premises: Mills contain 2,500 looms; office, 70, Haworth's Buildings, 5, Cross Street, Manchester. Specialities: All kinds of Fancy Woven Goods, Dobbies' and Jacquards 32 inches to 56 inches. Tele-phones: Nos. 369, 332 Roe Leo Mill No. 1; No. 344 Roe Lee Mill No. 2; No. 374 Carr Cottage Mill, Blackburn; No. 9 Waterloo Mill, Clitheroe; No. 5347 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address; "Fancies,131ae1cburm "

DU CROS, W. & G., Ltd., Motor Car Agents (Panhard & Levassor), 14, Regent Street, S.W. Registered Offices and Works: Acton Vale, London, W. Motor Car Engineers, Taxicab Proprietors. Hours of Business; 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1901 by Harvey du Cros. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: William du Cros, George du Cros, and Harvey du Cros, junr. Premises: One of the finest Motor Showrooms in London. Works at Acton cover several acres, equipped with high-class machinery and every up-to-date appliance. Cab Garage, one of the largest and best planned in the world. Employees number over 3000. Business: Sole selling representatives for the famous Panhard Cars in England. Motor Car Manufacturers and Repairers. Private Cars for hire. Taxicabs. Connection: Agents for Panhard Cars in the United Kingdom and Colonies. Telephones: No. 4245 Gerrard; No. 800 (ten lines), Hammersmith ( Works ), London . Telegraphic Address: " Levassor, London "; (Regent Street); " Voiturante, London " (Acton Vale Works).

DUESBURY BROTHERS & BILL, Varnish Manufacturers, Faraday Works, Monmore Green, Wolverhampton, and Gomer Street, Willonhall. Proprietors of Adolphe, Crosbie & Co., Paint and Colour Works, Walsall Street, Wolverhampton. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m..; Saturdays,' close at 1 p.m. Established in 1867 by E. W. T. Jones (County Analyst, Wolverhampton). Continued by (1) Jones & Taylor, 1869; (2) E. W. Jones & Co. Partners, E. W. T. Jones (retired, 1895), and Frederick Duesbury; (3) Frederick Duesbury (d. 1905). Present Principals: Arthur Edward Duesbury, Alfred Ernest Duesbury, and Clement Henry Bill. Premises: Extensive well equipped works covering two and a half acres. Specialities: Berlin Black, Art Metal Black, Stoving and Air Drying, Anti-Rust, Green Lock Varnish; also Imperial Black and Composition and Paints. Several patents now expired. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 52 Wolverhampton. Telegraphic Addresses: " Duesbury, Wolverhampton "; " Crosbie, Wolverhampton." (For Branch Works). Bankers: United Counties Banking Co., Ltd.

DUFF GORDON & CO., Sherry Shippers, 62 and 63, Mark Lane, London, E.C. Established in 1772. Business: Shippers of Sherry Wines, Connection,: 'United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 5760 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Cid, London."

DUFF, MORGAN & VERMONT, Ltd., Electrical and Motor Car Engineers and Exporters, 48, Dover Street, London, W. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. Directors: Capt. G. J. B. Duff, 3. Delmar Morgan, A.I.E E., Oliver S. Locker Lampson, M.P., and Capt. C. Hore-Ruthven, M.I.S.I. Branch: Victoria Garage, St. Stephen's Road, Norwich. Business: Electrical and Motor Car and ,Marine Engineering, Exporters and Importers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1184 Regent, London; No. 401 Norwich. Telegraphic Addresses: " Victoreska, Piccy, London "; " Garage, Norwich." Codes: A B C (5th Edition); Western Union; and Private. Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.; Mercantile Bank of India, Ltd.; Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corporation.

DUFF (WILLIAM) & CO., Merchants, Bankers, and Newspaper Proprietors, 113, Cannon Street, London, E.C., and 14/15, Alsterdamm, Hamburg. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1793; on© of the oldest firms of Merchant Bankers in the City. Partnership Successions: (1) Halse & Son; (2) Morgan. Brothers. Present Principal: William Duff. Staff: About one hundred. Specialities: Metals, Drugs and Chemicals, Textiles, Paper, Glass. The firm are proprietors of " The British Trade Review." Connection: United Kingdom, India, the Colonies, China, Japan, United States, Canada. Telephones: No. 546 Bank; No. 7991 Central. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Duff, London "; " Duff, Hamburg." Codes: A 1 (1st Edition); Lieber's; Western Union (Universal Edition); A B C (4th and 5th Editions); Scott's (6th Edition); Ager's (3rd Edition); Hamilton's Telegraph Code Condenser Duff's Private. Bankers: (in London) Martin's Bank, Ltd., and Bank of England; (in Hamburg) The Standard Bank of South Africa, Ltd.

DUGARD BROTHERS, Manufacturers of Sheet and Rolled Metals, Tubes and Wire, Vulcan Mills, Bridge Street, West Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1875 by William H. Dugard and George H. Dugard, the present principals. Staff .100 to 120. Specialities: Rolled Metals and Sheets; Brass and Copper Tubes; Soam less, Brazed, and Best Mandril, for Telescopes, Pumps, &c.; Wires, Rods, and Gun Metal Rods for turning, Brass for Stamping, Spinning, Bending, &c.; Compo (Free Cutting) for Clocks, &c.; Plating Brass, Engraving Brass, " J " Metal, Dipping Metal, Princes Metal, " H " or Brown Metal, Gilding Metal, Gun Metal, Bronze, Copper (ordinary and high conductivity) Wires, Rods, Gun Metal Rods, Tubes, Brass Solder, Soft Solder, Cold Bright Rolled Steel, Mild Steel. Connection,: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 98 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Vulcan, Birmingham."

DUGDALE BROTHERS & CO., Woollen Merchants, Huddersfield. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. . to 1 p.m. Established in 1896 by H. P. Dugdale, joined by F. H. Dugdale (brother) in 1899. Present Principals: H. P. Dugdale and F. H. Dugdale. Specialities: Indigo Blue Serges and Fancy Worsted Suitings. Connection,: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 605 Huddersfield. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Value, Huddersfield." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: West Yorkshire Bank, Ltd. (Huddersfield).

DUGDALE (JOHN) & BROTHERS, Spinners and Manufacturers, Shippers, 17, Cooper Street, Manchester. Mills at Lower House, Burnley, Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway, Rosegrove Station. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Present Principals: Arthur Dugdale, Frank Rawcliffe, and Thomas H. Wilkinson. Business: Spinners and Manufacturers, Shippers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 1.264 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Dugdale Brothers, Manchester." Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd.

DUGDALE (JOHN) & SONS, Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers and Cotton Goods Manufacturers, Paradise Mills, Cherry Street Mills, Higher Audley Street Mills, Foundry Hill Mills, Bank Mills, Daisy Field Mills, Plantation Mills, and Audley Mills, Blackburn. Telephone:No, 47. Telegraphic Address: " Soho, Blackburn."

DUGGAN, NEEL & McCOLM. —See BURRELL & CO., Ltd. (Proprietors).

DUKES, BERNHARD, Royal Hungarian' Councillor, Patent Agent and United States Patent Attorney, 55, Chancery Lane, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1887 by Bernhard Dukes. Present Principal: Siegmund Sokal. Business: All matters relating to British and Foreign Patents. Connection: United Kingdom and Continent of Europe. Correspondents for effecting orders in every country with laws for the protection of industrial property. Telephone: No. 4515 Holborn Telegraphic Address " Sokalsig, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Holborn Branch). Mr. S. Sokal is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Patent Agents, and Certified Austrian Patent-Attorney.

DUKINFIELD, C., & CO., Cotton Merchants, 79 and 80, Cotton Exchange Buildings, Old Hall Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1881 by Charles Dukinfield, joined by W. George Cooke in 1899. Present Principals: Charles Dukinfield and William George Cooke. Business: Cotton Merchants. Connection: Chiefly Cotton Section of United States. Telephone: No. 569 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Dukinfield, Liverpool." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited, Liverpool.

DULAU & CO., Ltd., Publishers and Booksellers, English and Foreign; Agents appointed for the sale of the Natural History Publications of the British Museum, and of several learned societies, 37, Soho Square, London, W. Established in 1792 by Arnaud Bertrand Dulau (Frere Jean Baptiste, nephew of the Archbishop of Arles). Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Director: Reginald Champion. Supply Magazines and Periodicals of all Countries. Telephone: No. 7961 Central. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd., and Societe Generale.

DUN, R. G., & CO., " The Mercantile Agency," King's House, 36 and 37, King Street, Cheapside, London, E.C. Established in 1841. Premises: Dun Building, Broadway, New York, erected for and owned by the firm. Head Office for the United Kingdom: King's House, 36 and 37, King Street, Cheapside, London, E.C. Upwards of 236 Branch Offices in the Principal Cities of the world, and over a quarter of a million Correspondents. Telephone: No. 973 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Durtes, Cent, London." Cable Address: " Otter, London." Glasgow: 55, West Regent Street. Manchester: Royal Insurance Buildings, Exchange Street. Belfast: Kingscourt, Wellington Place.

DUNCAN, D., & SONS, Newspaper, Proprietors, Cardiff. Established in 1857. Premises: Chief Offices at Cardiff —claimed to be one of the largest Newspaper Offices in the kingdom. Staff: 250 employed at chief offices; 750 Reporters and Correspondents throughout the nine counties covered by the three papers. Total staff over 1,000. Business: Proprietors of the " South Wales Daily News," " Cardiff Times," and " South Wales Echo." " Cardiff Times," recognised as a pioneer in the weekly Press of Wales, was started in 1857; " South Wales Daily News," 1872; " South Wales Echo," 1884. Telephones: Nos. 416, 2511 (eight lines). Telegraphic Address: "News, Cardiff." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London and Provincial Bank, Ltd. Branch 0 glee Telephones: Swansea, No. 535; Newport, No. 11; London, No. 1323 (Avenue); Aberdare, No. 70; Merthyr, No. 17; Neath, No. 171; Pontypool, No. 130; Brynmawr, No. 36; Bargoed, No. 16; Barry, No. 100; Bridgend, No. 86; Pontypridd, No. 206; Porthcawl, No. 46; Ton Pentre, No. 35; Treherbert, No. 16.

DUNCAN, FLOCKHART & CO., Manufacturing Chemists, 104, 106, 108, South Canongate,Edinburgh. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Claim to be the original manufacturers of chloroform. Two retail establishments in Edinburgh. Wholesale Branch at 143, Farringdon Road, London, E.C. Stall: Over 300. Agencies: Canada and business relations with most of the leading Drug Houses throughout the world. Specialities: Anaesthetics, Pharmaceutical Preparations, Flexible Gelatine Capsules, Aerated Mineral Waters. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrants: Chemists by Appointment to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria, and Purveyors of Aerated Waters to H.M. King George. Telephones: No. 3274 Central, Edinburgh (four lines); No. 1260 City, London (three lines). Telegraphic Addresses: Dunhart, S inith, London; " Dunhart, Edinburgh." Bankers: Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Edinburgh).

DUNCAN, FOX & CO., Chilian and Peruvian Merchants, 29, Groat St. Helens, London, E.C., and 31, James Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1847 by David Duncan and H. F. Fox. Present Principals: Thomas Woodsend, A. C. Mitchell, A. L. Duncan, P. H. McClelland, J. G. Reid, F. H. Fox, J. L. Davies, A. Reid, and H. Mascn Staff: Total, 317. Branches: 47, Lower Mosley Street, Manchester; Chile: Valparaiso, Santiago, Concepcion, Talcahuano, Antofagasta, Penco, Chillan, Talca, Parral, Lautaro, and Valdivia; Peru: Lima, Callao, Piura and Payta; Bolivia; Cruro, La Paz. Business: General Merchants,trading with Chile, Peru, and Bolivia. • Are Agents for Southern Patagonia Sheep Farming Co. Telephones: Nos. 564 and 3791 City, London. Telegraphic Address: " Dunfoxania, London." Codcs: Western Union, Lieber's, Private. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. Thomas Woodsend is a Director of the Royal Insurance Co., a Director of the British and Foreign Marine Insurance Co., Anglo South American Bank. Mr. P. II. McClelland is a Director of the South American Export Syndicate, and a Director of the Southern Patagonia Sheep Farming Co. Mr. A. L. Duncan is a Director of Southern Patagonia Sheep Farming Co., and Carrizal and Cerro Blanco Railway Co. Mr. J. G. Reid is a Director of Backus and Johnston Brewery Co. Mr. F. H. Fox is a Director of the London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

DUNFEE (WILLIAM) & CO., Wine and Spirit Merchants, 28, Queen Street, London, E.C. Telephone: No. 5697 Bank. Telegraphic Address: " Vasistas, London." Colonel Vickers Dunfee is a member of the Common Council of the City of London, for Vintry Ward.

DUNHILL (ALFRED), Ltd., Motor Equipment Specialists, &c. Head Office: 359 and 361, Euston Road, London, N.W. West End Depot: 2, Conduit Street, W. City Branch: 42, Lombard Street, E.C. Provincial Branches: 72, St. Vincent Street, Glasgow; and 88, Cross Street, Manchester. Agencies throughout the country and Colonies. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.•' Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Incorporated in 1903. Directors: D. Perceval (Chairman), S. C. Desborough, B. Henderson, G. Paxton, J. F. Marshall, and L. E. Kennard. Are also Brass Finishers, Manufacturers of Waterproof Goods, Tarpaulins, Van Covers, Rick Cloths, Sacks, Harness, &c.; Dealers in Ropes, Twines, Canvas, Rugs, Rubber Goode, and all Stable Requisites. Established about the year 1795. Incorporated in 1903, together with the business of Motor Equipment Specialists, the two businesses being under the one management. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonies, Foreign. Telephones: No. 3405 North (two lines), and No. 1909 Holborn (for 359-361, Euston Road); No. 3859 Gerrard (for 2, Conduit Street). Telegraphic Addresses: " Dunsend, Eusroad, London "; " Dunhill, Glasgow "; " Motorities, Manchester."

DUNKERLEY, C. C., & CO., Ltd., Iron and Steel Merchants, Store Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: William Warburton (Chairman), F. B. Dunkerley, J.P. (Vice-Chairman), William C. Dunkerley, Henry Leaver, and Charles W. Ellis (Joint Managing Directors), C. F. Whitehead. Premises: Iron and Steel Warehouses, which cover the site formerly occupied by Sir William Fairbairn's engineering premises. Specialities: Large and varied stock of Steel Joists, Channels and a variety of material required in Constructional and other work. Telephone: Nos. 6490, 6491, 6492, 6493, 6494, 6495 Manchester. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Ajax, Manchester." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. Mr. F. B. Dunkerley is a Justice of the Peace.

DUNKLEYS, LIMITED, Perambulators, Bath Chairs, Wheels, Motors, and Flying Machines, Dunkley House, 76, Houndsditch, London, E.C., and 61, Jamaica Row, and Market Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1878 by W. H. Dunkley. Incorporated as a Private Limited. Company in 1906. Directors: William Henry Dunkley (Chairman), W. H. Dunkley (jun.), George Potter. Have had the honour of supplying members of the Royal Family. Premises: Cover about two acres. Branches: Arcade, Wolverhampton; London Road, Leicester; and at Coventry and Stoke-on-Trent. Agencies throughout the Continent and in the Colonies. Specialities: The " Dunkambulator " and Dunkley's Patent Ball Bearings for Wheels of all kinds for Tramways, Motors, Bath Chairs, &c.; Motors for Aeroplanes. Patents: Electric Bath Chair, Ball Bearings, Weldless Rims, Electric Welded Wheels, Pneumatic Tyres, Motor for Aeroplanes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 6187 (Central), London; No. 1961 (Midland), Birmingham; No. 50 Barnt Green. Telegraphic Addresses: " Dunkley, Houndsditch, London "; " Dunkley," Birmingham, Arrowville. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

DUNLOP, BREMNER & CO., Ltd., Shipbuilders, Engineers, Boilermakers and Repairers, Inch Works, Port Glasgow. Established 1871. Managing Director: Donald Bremner. Engineering Director: Thomas Paton. Shipbuilding Director: George G. Parker. Specialities: Passenger and Cargo Steamers, Bulk Oil-carrying and Cable-laying Steamers; Light Draft Paddle, Stern Wheel and Twin Screw Steamers; Steam Yachts of all sizes. Patent: Dunlop's Combined Steam and Pneumatic Marine Engine Governor. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 8. Telegraphic Address: " Inch, Port Glasgow." Codes: Scott's (10th Edition) and A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Glasgow and Port Glasgow).

DUNLOP (JAMES) & CO., Ltd., Iron and Coal Masters and Steel Manufacturers. Works and Registered Office: Clyde Iron Works, Toiler oss; a!so Calderbank Steel Works, by Airdrie. Town Office: 7, Royal Bank Place, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. A large 'and important concern, the history of which dates back to the starting of the Clyde Iron Works by Thomas Edington, over 130 years ago. The founder was succeeded by Cohn Dunlop, and the style of the firm was thereafter Colin Dunlop & Co., until changed to James Dunlop & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: R. M. Donaldson (Chairman), Colin Dunlop, W. G. Gray, T. B. Rogerson, and A. S. Macharg, C.A. Premises: The Company's Works are upon an extensive scale, and the Clyde Iron Works derive a special historical interest from the fact that it was here that Hot Blast was first introduced by Neilson. Specialities: Hematite "Clyde " and " Monkland. " Brands of Pig Iron; Sulphate of Ammonia, Pitch, Tar, and Oil; Steel Plates (Siemens Martin). Are also owners of the Hallside, Newton, Carmyle, Easterhill, and Monkland Collieries. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 9936 (five lines). Telegraphic Address: " Dunclyde, Glasgow." Bankers: Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

DUNLOP RUBBER CO., Ltd. (THE), Dunlop Tyres for Motors and Cycles, 14, Regent Street, London, S.W. Registered Offices: 150 to 152 Clerkenwell Road, London, E.C. Factory: Para Mills, Aston Cross; Manor Mills, Aston; and Alma Street, Coventry, near Birmingham. Directors: Harvey Du Cros, J. P. (Chairman), the Earl of Albemarle, M.V.O., A.D.C., Arthur Du Cros, M.P., J.P. (Vice-Chairman and Managing Director), Sir William G. D. Goff, Bart., D.L., J.P., Charles Wisdom Hely, J.P., Louis M. Bergin, R. Watson, J.P., Auguste Dutreux. Secretary: A. Cunningham. Branch Factories and Depots at 146, Clerkenwell Road, E.C., Coventry, Nottingham, Manchester, Newcastle-on-Tyne, Bristol, Glasgow, Dublin, and Belfast; Foreign Depots, Belgium, Italy, Denmark, Holland, Russia, India., Africa. Speciality: Pneumatic Tyres. Connection: Worldwide. Telephones: No. 5812 Gerrard (six lines) (for Regent Street); No. 6861 Holborn (for Registered Offices); Nos. 142, 143, and 144 Birmingham. Telegraphic Addresses: " Pneumaticus, London "; " Covers, Birmingham."

DUNMOW FLITCH BACON CO., Ltd. (THE), Bacon Curers, &c. Registered Office: Dunmow, Essex and 12, Bank Street, Braintree (Shop for bye-products and small goods). Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Factory, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Directors: William Hasler, J.P. (Chairman), Edwin Frederick Ashelford (Provision Manager), John Barnabas Frankham, J.P., and Joseph Smith, J.P. The business- is situated in the ancient town of Dunmow, famous for the " Danmow Flitch of Bacon Trials " since 1111. Premises: Factory capable of dealing with 700 Pigs per week. Staff: Thirty-five to forty. Specialities: Bacon Curing, Hams, Sausages and other small goods. Awards: Silver and Bronze Medal, Dairy Show, Agricultural Hall, 1911, Bronze Medal, 1912, for Pale Dried Bacon. Connection: Home trade and Export. Telephone: No. 23 Dunmow. Telegraphic Address: " Flitch, Dunmow." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Dunmow).

DUNN, BENNETT & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Hotel China, Royal Victoria Pottery, Burslem, Staffs.; and Southampton House, 317, High Holborn, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1878, founded by William Dunn and Thomas Wood Bennett. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Managing Director: Thomas Wood Bennett. Premises: Extensive Works, equipped with all modern requirements. Staff: 500. Agencies: Manchester, Liverpool, Glasgow, Bristol, New York, Montreal, Sydney, Copenhagen, Paris, Ostend, Florence, Palermo, Buenos Aires, Rio de Janeiro and San Francisco. Speci alities: Patent Unchippable Surface Plates, Dishes, chiefly adapted for use in Hotels, Cafés, Hydros, Clubs, &c., and on board ship. Made with artistic finish and strength. Their output of Plates alone is between 40,000 and 50,000 weekly. Also makers of Tea, and Coffee Pots, Vegetable Dishes, Meat Dishes, and factors of Glass Tumblers, Decanters, Wine Glasses, &c. Patents: Unchippable Surface Plates and Dishes. Awards: London, Amsterdam and Brussels, &c. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Territorial Force), Principal Railway Companies, and Steam ship Companies at home and abroad. Telephones: No. 354 Burslem; No. 2013 Holborn, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Dunn Bennett, Burslem." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank, Ltd. (Burslem).

DUNN, FISCHER & CO., Merchants, 41, Threadneedle Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1905. Present Principals James Hamet Dunn and Charles Louis Fischer. Procuration: F. C. Strudwick. Premises: 2nd, 3rd and 4th floors. Staff: Twenty. Business: Issue of Government, Municipal and other Loans. Connection: United Kingdom, the Continent, United States, Canada, South and Central America, China, Japan. Telephones: No. 6587 Central (2 lines), Nos. 1738 and 1739 City (2 lines), London. Telegraphic Address: " Dunfisco, London." Codes: Western Union, Lieber's, A B C, Hartfield's. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.; Royal Bank of Scotland, and Bank of Scotland, Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

DUNN & KING, Ltd., Wire Rope Manufacturers, Carronbridge Wire Rope Works, Larbert, Scotland. Registered Office: 166, Buchanan Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Incor porated as a Limited Company in 1907. Directors: John Dunn (Chairman), W. M. Dunn, B. Dunn, J. Dunn, D. H. Wallace, E. King (Managing Director). Premises: Cover one acre. Staff: About fifty. Business: Manufacture of all classes of Wire Ropes. Patents: Non-Rotating Ropes, Wire Winding Machinery. Con nection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colo nial. Telephones: Nos. 54 and 83 Lar bert; No. 1641 Douglas, Glasgow. Tele graphic Address: " Rex, Larbert." Code: A B C (5111 Edition), Private.

DUNN & TAYLOR, Cash Box and Lantern Manufacturers, 61, Buibury Street, Bir mingham; Miles Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1883. Present Principals: Albert Victor Taylor and Walter James Hazlewood. Premises: Works rebuilt in 1903. Equipped with modern appliances. Staff: 200. Specialities: Cash Boxes and Lanterns. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 3720 Central, Birmingham.

DUNSTALL, G. K., Rough Ostrich and Fancy Feather Merchant and Commission Agent, 39, Redcross Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1892 by G. K. Dunstall, the present principal. Business: Rough Ostrich and Fancy Feather Merchant, Commission Agency. Telephone: No. 11718 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Octa chord, London." Code: Lieber's, A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. ( Aldersgate Branch).

DUNVILLE & CO., Ltd., Distillers, Arthur Street. and Royal Irish Distilleries, Belfast, Ireland. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1808 by the late John Dunville, in conjunction with W. Napier. The firm was continued by John Dunville and William Dunville, and after wards by William Dunville, R. G. Dunville, James Bruce, and James Craig until the retirement of William Dunville when R. G. Dunville, James Bruce, and James Craig continued until the formation of the present Company. Incorporated in 1879. Directors: James Bruce, D.L., J. D. Dunville, D.L. (Chairman), H. C. Craig (Vice-Chairman), H. L. Garrett, and J. C. Brownrigg, three last-named being Managing Directors. Staff: About seventy clerks at headquarters; fifty travellers in the United Kingdom. Speciality: Old Irish Whisky Premises: Head Office, Arthur Street; Distillery, Royal Irish Distilleries, Grosvenor Street; Bonded Warehouses in Calendar Street, Alfred Street, and Ade laide Street, and Duty Paid Stores in Calendar Street, Alfred Street, and Franklin Street, Belfast. Offices in London, Liver pool, Manchester, Newcastle - on - Tyne, Glasgow, and Dublin, with representatives throughout the United Kingdom, and agents all over the world. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonies, and all Foreign Countries. Telephone: No. 346 Belfast. Telegraphic Address: " Dunvilles, Belfast."

DUPONT, E., & CIE., Manufacturers of Toilet Brushes and Toilet Articles, 18, Fore Street, London, E.C. DepOt in Paris: 44, Rue Turbigo. Factory: Beauvais (Oise), France. Hours of Business 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1845 by Alphonse Dupont. Converted in 1882 into a Company. Managing Director: Emile Dupont (Officer of the Legion of Honour). Premises: Cover fifteen acres. Staff: 3,000. Travellers and Agents in all parts of the world. DepOts: London, Paris, New York. Specialities: Toilet Brushes and Toilet Articles of all kinds. Connection: France, United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 9580 London Wall. Telegraphic Address " Dupontec, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Princes Street, E.C.).

DURANT, A. C., F.C.I.B. & A., Insurance and Mortgage Broker, Insurance Surveyor, &c., Bank Street Chambers, 23, Bank Street, Bradford., Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1879 by A. C. Durant. Joined by F. W. H. Durant. Partnership dissolved 1901. Present Principal: Alfred Charles Durant. Premises: Suite of five Offices and Storerooms. Branch: Leeds; Representatives. Staff: Efficient Clerks and Typists. Business: Fire, Life, Marine, Accident, Employers' Liability, and all branches of Insurance; Scheduling and Surveying, Negotiating for a complete understanding between assured and offices to a prompt settlement in the event of loss. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1919 Bradford; after office hours, No. 3 Shipley . Telegraphic Address: " Insure, Bradford." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. Mr. Alfred Charles Durant, Fellow of the Corporated Insurance Brokers and Agents, is a Member of the Council and Chairman of Yorkshire Committee of the Association of Insurance Brokers and Agents, and a Member of the Bradford Exchange and Leeds Exchange. Clubs: Bradford County and Conservative, Bradford Golf.

DURANT, RADFORD & CO., LTD., Merchants, Billiter Buildings, Billiter Street, London, E.C. Telephone: No. 5700 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Duradford, London."

DURTNALL & CO., Removal Contractors and Continental Carriers, 149, North Street, Brighton. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1812 by William Hope. Succeeded by (1) W. Durtnall; (2) W. Wilkins. Present Principals: Wilkins Brothers. Completed' their centenary in 1912. Premises: Occupy six Warehouses and five Offices. Staff: 300. Branches: London, Tunbridge Wells and Worthing. Agencies: In all chief Home and Continental towns. Business: Home and Continental Carriers and Removers and Furniture Warehousemen. Connection: United Kingdom and the Continent. Telephones: No. 149 Brighton; No. 4502 Holborn, London; No. 153 Worthing; No. 238 Tunbridge Wells. Telegraphic Address: " Durtnails, Brighton."

DUSSAULT, CHOVIL & SONS, Export Merchants, 38, Summer Row, Birmingham. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1876 by Edward Pecher & Co.; afterwards became Dussault, Chovil & Co., who later acquired also the business of Walsh, Lovett & Co., Ltd. Present style assumed in 1912. Present Principals: Ludwig Alexander Dussault, Alfred Samuel Chovil, A. Harold Chovil, Carl Dussault, A. Dussault. Agencies: Five on East Coast of South America. Specialities: All Goods excepting soft Manchester Goods. Own various valuable trade-marks. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephones: Nos. 7263 and 7264 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Dussault, Birmingham." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. (Birmingham), and various London Banks.

DUTTON (GEORGE) & SONS, Manufacturers of Roller Leather for Cotton Spinning, Skivers and Hat Leathers, Weaver Leather Works, Northwich, Cheshire. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1809 by Joseph Dutton; succeeded by (1) William Dutton (son); (2) Dutton & Lamb; (3) George Dutton. Present Principals: J. F. Dutton and G. W. D. Dutton. One of the oldest houses in the trade. Premises: Extensive Works covering an area of three acres. Staff: Eighty. Branch: For Hat Leathers, W. Ashworth & Son, 4, Piccadilly, Manchester. Speciality: Welsh Roller Leather for Cotton Spinning. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial through Shippers. Telephone: No. 85 Northwich. Telegraphic Address: " Tannery, Northwich." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

DUTTON, MASSEY & CO., Tinplate and Metal Merchants and Colliery Proprietors, Tower Building, Water Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1840. Present Principals: C. W. May Massey, Rd. Kendall, and Walter Massey. Premises: Extensive and well equipped. Staff: Seventy-one. Branches Norfolk House, Laurence Pountney Hill, London, E.C.; St. Anne Square, Manchester. Specialities: Coal and Metals. Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.

DYAS, ROBERT, Ltd., Drysalters and Colourmen and General Stores, 63 and 29, Fore Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 8 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 4 p.m. Established in 1873. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Directors: Robert Dyas (Managing Director), James Edmund Dyas, Samuel Robert Dyas. Branches: Twenty-one in London. Specialities: Gums, Glue, and Gelatine, Artists' Colours and Materials of all kinds; also all the usual domestic goods stocked by oilmen and drysalters. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Export Drugs and exceptional goods from the Head Office. Telephone: No. 1648 Central.

DYER BROTHERS, Diesinkers and Engravers, 21-27, Hatfield Street, Golden Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 1 p.m. Established fifty-one years ago. Present Principals: Arthur W. Dyer and Bertram M. Dyer. Staff: Twenty-three Engravers, thirty-three Diesinkers, four Artists, &c. Specialities: Letterpress Embossing Dies with counterparts and Printing Blocks. Steel Dies for all purposes. Brass Blocks for Gold Blocking, Bookbinders' Tool Cutting, Engraving of all kinds for Printers and Bookbinders. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Stationery Office) as Engravers. Telephone: No. 186 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Dyerment, Barb, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

DYER, T., & CO., Manufacturing Furriers, 112, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business; 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1877 by H. T. Dyer. Present Principal: T. Dyer (nephew), since 1902, connected with the business since 1879. Premises: Two floors, fitted with machinery driven by electricity. Branch: Atlas Chambers, Leeds. Specialities Fur Coats, Small Furs, New Models, and special orders completed on the premises. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 356 (Post Office) Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Dyerovis, London." Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd., 37,. Nicholas Lane, London, E.C. Mr. T. Dyer is a Freeman of the City of Lon don, and a Freemason, also a member of the London Chamber of Commerce.

DYER, WM., & SONS, Picture Cleaners and Restorers, 7, Mount Street, Grosvenor Square, London, W. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1857 by William Dyer, who was for many years Restorer to the National Gallery, London. Present Principals: Arthur E. Dyer, Alfred E. Dyer (sons). Speciality: Valuable Pictures carefully cleaned and restored. Personal attention only. Connection . All parts of the United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 2271 Mayfair. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

DYSON, R. A. & CO., Steam and Motor Engineers and Body Builders, 76, 78, 80, Grafton Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1840 by Richard Abraham Dyson. Present Principals: Joseph Dyson and James Dyson. Premises: Cover about four and a half acres of erecting shops and yards. Staff: Ninety. Staff Clubs: Football. Specialities: Motor Repairs; and Agents. Official Repairers to the Foden Steam Motor Wagon Co. Agents for the Berliet Commercial Car Trailer Wagons. Heavy Vehicles, to carry up to fifty tons, Motor Body Builders, and Motor Wagon Wheels. Patent: Tipping Wagon. Awards: Medals, &c., at Agricultural Shows. Connection: Home Trade, chiefly, South America, South Africa and Spain. Telephone: No. 428 Royal, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Ignition, Liverpool." Code: A B C. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

DYSON, WORSNOP & CO., Manufacturers, Cliff Mills, Great Horton, Bradford, Yorkshire. Town • Office: 124, Swan Arcade, Bradford. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1905. Present Principals: W. H. Waite and J. W. Worsnop. Speciality: Fancy Worsted Coatings. Telephone: No. 3112 Brad ford. Telegraphic Address: " Worsnop, Bradford, 3112."

DYSTER (ERNEST J.) & CO., Ltd., Wood Chimney Piece Makers, 126 and 128, Bridport Place, Hoxton, London, N. Hours of Business: Offices, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works, 7.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1892 by Charles. W. E. Towers. Purchased in 1906 by Ernest J. Dyster. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Director: Ernest J. x2 Dyster. Specialities: Wood Mantels, Fitments, Panelling and General Artistic Woodwork. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Telephone: No. 1768 Dalston, London. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

DYSTER, NALDER & CO., Brokers for Hides, Leather, Skins, Furs, Horns, Tallow and Tanning Materials, 6, Crosby Square, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1770. Specialities: Hides and Skins from South Africa; Tanned Goat and Sheep Skins from India. Connection: World-wide. Telephones.: Nos. 4194 and 4195 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: "Dyster, Led, London." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

See Also

Loading...

Sources of Information