Grace's Guide

British Industrial History

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 143,349 pages of information and 230,029 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

1905 Gordon Bennett Cup

From Graces Guide

Revision as of 16:50, 27 August 2019 by PaulF (talk | contribs)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search
1905. Winner of the Gordon Bennett Cup.

The 6th Gordon Bennett Cup Race held around Circuit d'Auvergne on the 5th July 1905 and a distance of 341.4 miles over four laps

1. Leon Thery. Richard-Brasier.
2. Clifford Earp. Napier.
3. Camille Jenatzy. Mercedes. Did not finish.
4. Vincenzo Lancia. FIAT. Did not finish.
5. Edgar Braun. Mercedes.
6. Herbert Lyttle. Pope-Toledo.
7. Gustave Caillois. Richard-Brasier.
8. Charles Rolls. Wolseley.
9. Baron Pierre de Caters. Mercedes.
10. Alessandro Cagno. FIAT.
11. Otto Hieronymus. Mercedes. Did not finish.
12. Bert Dingley. Pope-Toledo. Did not finish.
13. Arthur Duray. De Dietrich 24/28.
14. Cecil Bianchi. Wolseley.
15. Christian Werner. Mercedes.
16. Felice Nazzaro. FIAT.
17. Alexander Burton. Mercedes. Did not finish.
18. Joe Tracy. Locomobile. Did not finish.

1. Leon Thery. Richard-Brasier. 7h 02m 42.6s at an average speed of 48.4 mph
2. Felice Nazzaro. FIAT. 7h 10m 09.2s at an average speed of 46.6 mph
3. Alessandro Cagno. FIAT. 7h 21m 22.6s at an average speed of 46.4 mph
4. Gustave Caillois. Richard-Brasier. 7h 27m 06.4s at an average speed of 45.8 mph
5. Christian Werner. Mercedes. 8h 03m 30.0s at an average speed of 42.4 mph
6. Arthur Duray. de Dietrich 24/28. 8h 05m 00.0s at an average speed of 42.2 mph
7. Baron Pierre de Caters. Mercedes. 8h 07m 11.6s at an average speed of 042.0 mph
8. Charles Rolls. Wolseley. 8h 26m 42.2s at an average speed of 40.4 mph
9. Clifford Earp. Napier. 8h 27m 29.8s at an average speed of 40.4 mph
10. Edgar Braun. Mercedes. 8h 33m 05.6s at an average speed of 39.9 mph
11. Cecil Bianchi. Wolseley. 8h 38m 32.4s at an average speed of 39.5 mph
12. Herbert Lyttle. Pope-Toledo. 9h 30m 32.0s at an average speed of 35.9 mph

See Also


Sources of Information

  • The Gordon Bennett Races by Montagu. Published 1963.