Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 142,869 pages of information and 228,796 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.
William Wood (1881-1938)
1938 Obituary 
WILLIAM WOOD was for over twenty years a director of Messrs. John Ruscoe and Company, Ltd., Albion Works, Hyde, Cheshire. He was born at Dukinfield in 1881 and served his apprenticeship with Messrs. Scott and Hodgson, Ltd., engineers, of Guide Bridge, Manchester, from 1896 to 1902.
After gaining further practical experience with various engineering firms in Lancashire, he joined the mechanical and maintenance department at Blackburn electricity station. From 1907 to 1910 he passed through all departments of the National Gas and Oil Engine Company, Ltd., at Ashton under Lyne, and in the latter year he joined Messrs. Ruscoe as a foreman. He was appointed manager in 1912 and a director in 1919, retaining for the rest of his career the position of general manager. He devised improvements in automatic stokers for Lancashire boilers and a rope drive with special means for aligning the pulleys.
In 1925 Mr. Wood was elected an Associate Member of the Institution. His death occurred on 18th April 1938.