Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 133,419 pages of information and 211,648 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.
William Innes (c1877-1940)
1941 Obituary 
WILLIAM INNES had considerable experience as an electrical engineer. He received his technical education at Bellahouston Academy and Glasgow Technical College, and after serving his apprenticeship from 1893 to 1900 with Messrs. J. B. Cameron and Company, and with Messrs. Mavor and Coulson, Ltd., he became an assistant engineer to Messrs. Drake and Gorham, for whom he was employed on the erection of lighting plants for various country houses in Scotland. He was shift engineer, and later engineer-in-charge, at St. Andrew's Cross generating station, for Glasgow Corporation from 1902 to 1905 in which year he came to London as chief assistant electrical engineer to Poplar Borough Council.
In 1912 he went into partnership with Mr. W. T. Towler, and established the firm of Towler and Innes. During the war of 1914-18 the firm had three works devoted to the manufacture of munitions. At the end of 1919, the partnership was dissolved and in the following year Mr. Innes became joint managing director of the Westminster Engineering Company, Ltd. He held this position until his death, which occurred on 22nd December 1940 in his sixty-third year.
He was also honorary consulting electrical engineer to the Royal Caledonian Schools at Bushey and to the Bushey Cottage Hospital. He also acted as consultant in connection with electric lighting schemes for various churches and public buildings. Mr. Innes was elected an Associate Member of the Institution in 1912, and was also an Associate Member of the Institution of Electrical Engineers.