Grace's Guide

British Industrial History

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 133,384 pages of information and 211,458 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

William Goodyear

From Graces Guide

Jump to: navigation, search

William Goodyear (1869-1951)

1869 Born 20 December[1]

1883-7 Apprentice on the construction of Tilbury Dock Works

Various workshop experiences.

1894-7 Journeyman at Brooks Cement Works

1895 Appointed instructor at Gray's Technical College

1898 Chief mechanical engineer at Brooks Cement Works


1952 Obituary [2]

"WILLIAM GOODYEAR was associated with the cement industry for fifty-three years and had held the appointment of chief mechanical engineer to Associated Portland Cement Manufacturers, Ltd., from 1912 until his retirement in 1941. During this long connection he was responsible for the modernization or extensions to almost all the works owned by the company in the British Isles. He received his theoretical training in mechanical engineering at the City of London College, City and Guilds Technical College, Finsbury, and the People's Palace. His apprenticeship was served at Tilbury Docks from 1883 to 1887, which at that time were under construction.

After gaining experience as a fitter and turner in various large engineering workshops he found similar employment in 1894 at Brooks Cement Works, Grays, Essex, and four years later he became chief mechanical engineer to that concern. In 1907 he received the appointment of engineer-in-charge of the Crown and Quarry Groups of cement works at Rochester, and in 1910 became mechanical assistant to Mr. C. Percy Taylor, who was closely concerned with the operation of the Associated Portland Cement Manufacturers, Ltd. After his retirement and until 1946 he did some consulting work and contributed articles to the technical press. Mr. Goodyear, who died on 12th June 1951 at the age of eighty-one, was elected an Associate Member of the Institution in 1904 and transferred to Membership in 1913. He had had considerable experience as a teacher of engineering and at one period held the post of instructor at three technical schools."


See Also

Loading...

Sources of Information