William Edward Walker
William Edward Walker (c1859-1922)
1922 Obituary 
WILLIAM EDWARD WALKER died on November 9, 1922, at the age of seventy-three.
He was born at Wigton, and after his early education at St. Bees, he served his time as mining engineer with the late Mr. William Davidson, Lord Leconfield's agent, at Whitehaven.
Soon after the completion of his training, he became Secretary and Engineer of the Mowbray Iron Ore Co., and was afterwards concerned in the formation of several mining companies.
He was Managing Director of the Ullcoats Mining Company for some years, and was for many years Director of the Whitehaven Hematite Iron and Steel Co. Mr. Walker also took a prominent part in the schemes for the development of other minerals; and his long experience caused him to be recognised as one of the leading authorities in Cumberland on metalliferous mining.
He was elected a member of the Iron and Steel Institute in 1888.
1923 Obituary 
WILLIAM EDWARD WALKER died on November 9, 1922, at the age of seventy-three years.
He was one of the most prominent men in the mining industry in West Cumberland. A native of St. Bees, he served his apprenticeship with the late Mr. Davidson, Lord Leconfield's agent at Whitehaven, and started business for himself in 1879.
Afterwards as mining engineer and director he was associated with many West Cumberland concerns, including the Whitehaven Haematite, Iron, and Steel Company.
Some years ago he formed a company to work a copper royalty near Coniston, and also carried on similar work with respect to lead in Dent.
He was a member of the North of England Institute of Mining and Mechanical Engineers, and was elected a member of the Iron and Steel Institute in 1888.