Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 147,950 pages of information and 233,606 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.
1780 Company established by the Whitmore family.
1822 John Whitmore (1801-1872) commenced on his own.
1839 Listed as 'John Whitmore, Millwright and Engineer'.
Produced a number of engines and complete windmills.
1855 Employed 60 persons.
1860 John Whitmore brought his 2 sons William Nathaniel Whitmore, aged 27, and John Whitmore Junior, aged 21 into partnership as Whitmore and Sons, producer of equipment for mill-stone milling.
1864 200 men were employed at the Iron Works; an office was opened in Mark Lane, London
1868 George Binyon was taken into partnership - Whitmore and Binyon.
c.1872 Expanded the works and hired Mr. W. J. Perrett, someone with experience in roller milling machinery.
1881 Exhibited at the 1881 Milling Exhibition.
1885 The works were enlarged.
1886 The partners were William N. Whitmore, William J. Whitmore (his son), George Binyon and W. J. Perrett.
Producing beam engines to power flour mills.
1893 made an engine and roller mills for Rackham's Deben Flour Mill in Wickham Market. The engine is now on display at the Museum of East Anglian Life.
1897 Concentrated on producing a compound horizontal mill engine of which many were made.
1898 Incorporated as limited company
1901 The works and plant were sold by auction; E. R. and F. Turner took over the flour milling part.
1902. Martin Crannis auctioned off the Wickham Market Ironworks by order of the liquidator J.M Henderson on Sept 12th 1902.
William R. Dell and Son acquired the patterns for rice milling machinery.