Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 133,419 pages of information and 211,648 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.
Walton Cliffe (c1872-1950)
Founder and Secrectary, Spenborough Engieering Society and Leamington Engineering Society since 1920;
Serving Brother in the Grand Priory of the Order of St. John of Jerusalem.
1951 Obituary 
"WALTON CLIFFE, whose death, in his seventy-eighth year, occurred on 12th May 1950, had over thirty years' experience as a teacher of engineering. He received his technical education at the Dewsbury Technical School, where he gained the Queen's Prize. After serving his apprenticeship with the Yorkshire Machine Tool Company, Ltd., Liversedge, Yorks., from 1888 to 1893, he was made works foreman to Messrs. J. Appleyard and Company, of Bradford, with whom he remained for three years. He then became a fitter to Messrs. Marsden's Engines, Ltd., of Heckmondwike, and after taking a special teachers' course at the Bradford Technical College was appointed by the Leeds Education Committee lecturer in engineering at the Cockburn Technical School. Subsequently he became head of the engineering department at the Cleckheaton Institute, for the complete equipment of which he was responsible. His final appointment, which he held from 1920 until his retirement seventeen years later, was that of lecturer in engineering for the Warwickshire County Council. During the 1914-18 war Mr. Cliffe equipped and ran a motor ambulance for the Dewsbury Base Hospital. He was instrumental in founding, in 1922, the Leamington St. John Ambulance Division and in 1938 he was invested as a Serving Brother of the Order of St. John of Jerusalem. He was actively connected with this work as a corps officer until the time of his death. During the 1939-45 war he was officer in charge of first-aid parties for the Borough of Leamington Spa. He had been an Associate Member of the Institution since 1913. "