Grace's Guide

British Industrial History

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 142,033 pages of information and 227,610 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

Traffic Commissioners

From Graces Guide

Jump to: navigation, search

The traffic commissioners are responsible for the licensing and regulation of the operators of heavy goods vehicles, buses and coaches, and the registration of local bus services in Great Britain.

The Road Traffic Act 1930 divided Great Britain into twelve traffic areas: Metropolitan, Northern, Yorkshire, North-Western, West Midland, East Midland, Eastern, South Wales, Western, Southern, South-Eastern and Scottish. (The Southern traffic area was discontinued in 1933 and its responsibilities split between the Western and South-Eastern areas).

See Also


Sources of Information