Thomas Telford Mitchell (1815-1863)
1865 Obituary 
MR. THOMAS TELFORD MITCHELL, the youngest son of the late Mr. John Mitchell, Engineer and General Inspector to the Parliamentary Commissioners for Highland Roads and Bridges, was born at Inverness in the year 1815.
He served a regular pupilage under his brother, Mr. Joseph Mitchell (M. Inst. C.E.), who had succeeded to the appointment on their father’s decease, and he was employed for some years in the office and on works both for his brother and for Mr. Leslie (M. Inst. C.E.).
He was then for two years Resident Engineer on the Newtyle and Coupar Railway, and subsequently for eight years was engaged in the same capacity on the Slamannan Railway, under Sir John Macneill (M. Inst. C.E.).
He was next for several years on the staff of Messrs. Stephenson, Brassey, and Mackenzie, contractors, and had charge, for them, of the construction of the Scottish Central Railway tunnel at Perth, and of the works on the Scottish Midland from Perth to Forfar.
On the death of his brother, Mr. Alexander Mitchell, in 1848 who was established at Perth as a Civil Engineer, Mr. Thomas Telford Mitchell succeeded to the business, and had the charge of most of the principal roads in the district, besides acting generally as a Civil Engineer, in which capacity he laid out and constructed the railroad from Dunblane to Callander, 13 miles.
During the latter part of his life he became a contractor on his own account, and constructed several branch lines of railway in the county of Perth, and a length of 30 miles of a railway in Galloway.
Mr. Thomas Telford Mitchell had thus had considerable experience in the profession, and he was considered a good practical Engineer.
He was elected an Associate of the Institution of Civil Engineers on the 24th of June, 1845, and his decease took place on the 31st of December, 1863.