Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 148,135 pages of information and 233,678 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.
Michael Nicholson Thomson (1864-1895)
1896 Obituary 
MICHAEL NICHOLSON THOMSON, born on the 13th of October, 1864, was a son of the late Mr. Alexander Thomson, of Glasgow, an architect better known as “Greek Thomson,” and a great-grandson of the late Mr. Peter Nicholson, who wrote several works on architecture, building and construction, and who in 1844 took part in a discussion at the Institution on the scaffolding used in erecting the Nelson Column in Trafalgar Square.
Michael, after being educated at the High School, Glasgow, was apprenticed for five years, in October, 1879, to the late Sir William McOnie, of that city, under whom he acquired a practical knowledge of the business of an engineer and millwright.
In April, 1885, in order that he might gain still further experience, he was articled to Messrs. Niven and Haddin, of Glasgow, with whom he remained until January, 1888.
Mr. Thomson was then engaged for six months in the office of Messrs. Thomson and Sandilands, architects, of Glasgow, after which he entered in July, 1888, the service of Messrs. Matheson and Co., of Lombard Street, London. By that firm he was employed in preparing plans, specifications and estimates for various engineering works.
Mr. Thomson remained with Messrs. Matheson and Co. until his death, which took place on the 15th of October, 1895, at Fulham, after a short illness, the cause being attributed to blood poisoning. He was a man of considerable ability, well-informed and of studious habits, was much esteemed by his employers, and had every prospect of doing well in the profession had his life been spared.
He was elected an Associate Member on the 5th of May, 1891.