John Scott (1852-1939)
John Scott (1852-1939), Managing Director of Hampson and Scott
1939 Obituary 
Mr. John Scott, J.P., died at his home at Ashtead, Surrey, on January 3, 1939, in his 88th year.
He was the father of Mr. G. Shaw Scott, the Institute's Secretary, and rendered valuable service to the Institute, especially during its earliest years, by giving the Secretary the benefit of his extensive business experience.
He was Managing Director of Hampson & Scott, Limited, of Walsall, which company made the "Scott" patent safety stirrup and other of his inventions.
He retired from business in 1916, left the Midlands, and settled at Ashtead, where he spent the remaining years of his life. Walsall Chamber of Commerce owed much to his foresight and energy. A Founder Member of the Chamber, he was present at the first meeting in 1881. He was a Life Member and Past President of the Chamber.
The doyen of Walsall's magistrates, he was appointed to the Bench in 1892. He was a Trustee of the Walsall Mutual Benefit Building Society; on the Committee of the Pelsall District Miners' Accident Fund; a member of the Walsall Liberal Association; one of the earliest members of the Staffordshire Society (London) and the oldest member of the Institute of Metals. A great garden lover, his chief hobby was shrub-growing. Even when well on in the 'eighties, he was a keen fly-fisherman. His extensive collection of books on angling was presented recently to the Walsall Free Library.
Travel was another hobby; before his journeyings became limited to motor explorations in the British Isles, he travelled extensively in Europe (including Russia) and as far back as 1878 visited Australia and New Zealand.