Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 146,052 pages of information and 231,597 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.
Francis Edward Alphonsus Kenyon (1872-1907)
1907 Obituary 
FRANCIS EDWARD ALPHONSUS KENYON, son of Mr. John G. Kenyon, of Gillingham Hall, Beccles, was born on the 3rd August, 1872, and was educated at Downside College, Bath, and at Stonyhurst College, subsequently undergoing a course of instruction at the Crystal Palace School of Engineering.
He obtained practical experience under Mr. William Leitch and Mr. Donald Arbuthnott on the staff of Messrs. Charles Brand and Sons, Contractors, during the construction of the Cruden branch of the North of Scotland Railway and the Highland Railway direct line to Inverness.
In 1898 he found employment under Mr. L. P. Nott, Contractor, on the Prince of Wales dry dock at Swansea, and after acting as engineer for Messrs. Brand and Sons on the Grangemouth dock extension contract, he rejoined Mr. Nott’s staff, and was engaged as assistant agent on the Swansea south dock entrance-lock and pumping-station; on the extensive works of the Tranmere Bay development scheme; and as Agent in charge of the Princes Risborough and Grendon Underwood section of the Great Central main line.
He was on the point of leaving England in June, 1907, to represent Mr. Nott in Canada, when his health failed him and after some months’ illness, patiently borne, he died in a sanatorium at Penmaenmawr on the 27th August, 1907, in his thirty-sixth year and almost at the outset of his professional career.
Mr. Kenyon was elected an Associate Member of The Institution on the 4th December, 1900.