Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 148,118 pages of information and 233,665 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.
Ernest Henry Davies (c1900-1951)
1953 Obituary 
ERNEST HENRY DAVIES, whose death occurred suddenly at his home in Preston, on 13th December 1951, at the age of fifty-one, was well known as a consulting engineer in the north-west of England, where he had spent the whole of his active career.
He served an apprenticeship in Liverpool with Capstick Casefull and Company, Ltd., from 1915 to 1921, during which period he studied at Edinburgh University, taking a mechanical engineering course.
After gaining experience as an engineering fitter to Cammell Laird and Company, Ltd., Birkenhead, he became, in 1924, a pupil and assistant to Mr. R. Atkinson, Liverpool, consulting engineer. On the completion of his training two years later he was actively engaged as an inspecting engineer on his own account, his services in the meantime being retained by Mr. Atkinson, in conjunction with whom he worked on the inspection of a wide range of machinery and plant.
From 1935 to 1941 he held several short appointments, including that of engineer designer to the Mersey Desizing Mills, engineer in charge of the reconstruction of the textile mills of Kangol Wear, Ltd., Cumberland, and chief inspecting engineer and consultant to Peter Cassidy, Ltd., Manchester, hoist and crane engineers.
He then went into practice in Preston as a consulting engineer on his own account and continued in that work until his death. At Preston he was chiefly concerned with the inspection of lifts and cranes. His advice was also extensively sought by prominent engineering firms, including Rolls-Royce, Ltd., and his services were retained by insurance companies as an expert technical witness on major stress calculations.
Mr. Davies was elected an Associate Member of the Institution in 1941 and transferred to Membership in 1947.