Grace's Guide

British Industrial History

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 134,007 pages of information and 212,853 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

1914 Who's Who in Business: Company T

From Graces Guide

Jump to: navigation, search
Im1914WWB-p916b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p917a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p917b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p918a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p918b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p919a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p919b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p920a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p920b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p921a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p921b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p922a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p922b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p923a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p923b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p924a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p924b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p925a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p925b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p926a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p926b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p927a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p927b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p928a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p928b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p929a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p929b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p930a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p930b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p931a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p931b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p932a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p932b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p933a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p933b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p934a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p934b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p935a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p935b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p936a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p936b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p937a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p937b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p938a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p938b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p939a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p939b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p940a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p940b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p941a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p941b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p942a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p942b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p943a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p943b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p944a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p944b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p945a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p945b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p946a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p946b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p947a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p947b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p948a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p948b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p949a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p949b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p950a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p950b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p951a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p951b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p952a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p952b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p953a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p953b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p954a.jpg

Note: This is a sub-section of 1914 Who's Who in Business

TABRUM & SON, Hop Merchants, 42, High Street, Southwark, London, S.E. Established in 1813. Partners: Burnett Tabrum, J.P., Burnett Tabrum (jun.), F. B. Anderson. One of the oldest houses in the trade. Speciality: Finest English and Foreign Hops for home consumption or export trade. Special department for small packets hydraulically pressed. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonies, Foreign. Telephone: No. 2409 Hop. Telegraphic Address: " Tabrum, London."

TADDY (JAMES) & CO., Tobacco Manufacturers, 42 to 45, Minories, London, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established about 1740. Is one of the oldest and best known of the representative English firms engaged in the manufacture of Tobacco, Snuff, and Cigarettes. Premises: Bonded Factory at Nos. 42, 43, and 44, Minories, London, E.; Offices, No. 45. Staff: Between 400 and 500 hands. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Taddy, London."

TAGART, BEATON & CO., Timber Merchants and Agents, 47/51, King William Street, London, E.C. Established in 1886. Branch in Liverpool. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial, United States (Pitch Pine), Russia, Norway, Sweden. Telephone: No. 182 and 183 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Tagart, Cannon, London."

" TAILOR AND CUTTER " (THE).—See WILLIAMSON (JOHN) CO., Ltd. (THE).

TAIT (STORMONTH) & CO., Port Wine Shippers, 5/6, Hart S t., Mark Lane, London, E.C., and at Oporto. Hours of Business: Usual. Speciality: Port Wine. Awards: Gold Medals, St. Louis Exhibition, 1904, and Milan Exhibition, 1906. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1338 Avenue. Telegraphic Address:" Stormonth, London." Bankers: National Bank of Scotland.

TALBOT SPINNING AND WEAVING CO., Ltd., (THE), Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers, Talbot Mills, Chorley, Lancs. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Directors: Councillor H. W. Hitchen (Chairman), Chorley; Isaiah Dootson (Bolton), James Eastwood (Lytham, near Blackpool), J. Barber Lomax, J.P. (Bolton), Joseph Entwistle (Bolton), and John Thompson (Blackpool), Managing Director. Secretary: W. Hindle (Morley). Managers: Weaving Department, Alexander Woods (Chorley); Spinning Department, John Baldwin (Chorley). Claim to be the largest concern of its kind set up and started at one and the same time. Premises: Very extensive, covering over ten acres, containing 136,500 Spindles and 1700 Looms. Staff: 1100. Branch: Stephen's Buildings, 62, Market Street, Manchester. Business: Weavers of Fine Cambrics, Lawns, Pongees, &c. Spinners of Carded Egyptian and American Yarns, 42's to 100's. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephones: Nos. 128 and 129 Chorley; No. 2623 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Tatbots, Chorley "; " Talbotype, Manchester." Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. (Chorley). Mr. H. W. Hitchen was Mayor of Chorley, 1911.

TANGYES LIMITED, Engineers, Cornwall Works, Birmingham; London, Manchester and Glasgow. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1858 by the brothers Tangye. Incorporated as a Limited Company, 1881. Chairman: George Tangye, J.P. Managing Director: William Tangye, J.P. Premises: Very extensive, fully equipped works, covering about twenty-five acres. Staff: Nearly 3000. Specialities: Gas, Oil and Steam Engines, Pumps, Hydraulic Machinery and Lifting Appliances. Patents: Many. Con-nection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 6460 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Tangyes," Birmingham and Branches. Codes: All Standards used.

TANKARD (JAMES), LIMITED, Worsted Spinners, Upper Croft Mills, Bradford. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1850 by James Tankard (d. 1887). Succeeded by H. H. Tankard, J. W. Tankard, F. Tankard, J. M. Tankard (sons), trading as James Tankard. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1895. Directors: J. M. Tankard (Managing Director), F. Tankard, F. Rayner. Premises: Upper Croft Mills, principal establishment; Albion Mills, Laisterdyke, Bradford (Branch); Market Room, 12, Charles Street, Bradford (attendance Mondays and Thursdays, 12 to 5 p.m.). Employees: 1,400. Business: Spinners of Fine Botany Yarns in White and Colours for Coatings, Hosiery, and Dress Goods. Cashmere, Silk Twist, and Natural Shade Yarns for Underwear. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3427 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Tankard, Bradford." Code: A B C (5th Edition). - Bankers: Bradford District Bank, Ltd. (Bradford). Mr. J. M. Tankard is a Justice of the Peace.

TANN, JOHN, Ltd., Safe and Strong Room Engineers, 117, Newgate Street, London, E.C.; Works, St. Stephen's Road, Old Ford, London, E. Established in 1795 by Edward Tann (d. 1862). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Managing Director: Edward Tann. Secretary: John L. Tann, B.Sc., A.C.G.I. Premises: Offices and Showrooms in Newgate Street; extensive Works and Offices at Old Ford. Stag: Large; varying from time to time. Specialities: All kinds of Fire and Burglar Proof Safes; Strong Room, Plate Closet, and Party Wall Doors; Bankers' Steel Strong Rooms, Safe Deposits; all kinds of Locks; Deed and Cash Boxes, &c. Patents: Fireproof Composition for Safes, &c.; various patents in Wedge-proof arrangements and general constructional improvements of Safes, Locks, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Agencies in the Australian States, New Zealand, South Africa, India, South America, Near and Far East. Telephones: No. 1644 Holborn (for Newgate Street); No. 667 Eastern (for Works). Telegraphic Address " Safejotan, London."

TANNER, R. T., & CO., LTD., Paper Merchants and Wholesale Stationers, 15 and 16, Dorset Street; 39 and 40, Hutton Street; 40, 41 and 42, Primrose Hill, Salisbury Square, Fleet Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1877 by R. T. Tanner. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: F. Garrett (Managing Director and Chairman), A. Tanner, A. Eames, H. S. Pearsall. Specialities: All kinds of Papers for Printers, Publishers, &c. Patent: Pleated Wrappers for Newspapers, Periodicals, Music, &c. Telephone: No. 7054 City (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Tanner, London."

TANQUERAY (GEORGE) & CO., Wine, Spirit, and Cigar Merchants, 5, Pall Mall East, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established about 1839 or earlier. Founder, George Tanqueray. Has since descended from father to son. Present Principals: William M. Tanqueray, Walter B. Hubback, Hew J. Brown. Premises: Offices, warehouses, and cellars at above address. Specialities: Fine Old Wines, and wellmatured Spirits. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to His late Majesty King Edward VII. and to H.M. King George V. Telephone: No. 3778 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Tanqueray, London."

TANQUERAY, GORDON & CO., Ltd., Distillers, Rectifiers, British Brandy and Cordial Manufacturers, Whisky Blenders and Wholesale Wine and Spirit Merchants, 91 and 132, Goswell Road, and 6 and 8, Pear 'free Street, London, E.C. Established in 1769. Incorporated in 1898. Directors: R. C. W. Currie (Managing Director). J. A. Combo (Assistant Managing Director), Richard Combo (Chairman), 0. P. Sorocold (Vice-Chairman), C. J. Phillips. Specialities: Gordon's London Dry Gin and Special Scotch Whisky, which have become widely known; British Brandy; Special Blends of Whisky. Telephone: No. 4677 (three lines) London Wall. Telegraphic Address:" Gordon, Barb, London." Cable Address: " Gordon, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

TASKER, SONS & CO., (Proprietors, John Taylor, Dunford & Co., Ltd., 12 and 14, Dean Street, Newcastle-on-Tyne), Curriers, Belting and Hose Pipe Manufacturers. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1839 by John Tasker (d.). Continued by Charles Tasker and John Tasker (sons). Present Principals: John Taylor, Dunford & Co., Ltd.

TATE (HENRY) & SONS, Ltd., Sugar Refiners, Liverpool and London. Registered Office: 21, Mincing Lane, London, E.C. Secretary: William Hughes. Established in 1859 by the late Sir Henry Tate, Bart. Incorporated February 27th, 1903. Directors: Sir William Henry Tate, Bart. (Chairman), Edwin Tate (Vice-Chairman); Ernest William Tate, Alfred Herbert Tate, Claude Robinson, John William Macdonald, Lionel Alfred Martin (Managing Directors). The house is universally known as one of the largest and most important in the sugar-refining industry. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 581 Avenue. Telegraphic Addresses: " Tateson, Fen, London "; " Tateson, Liverpool." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd., 54, Lombard Street, London, E.C. Sir William Henry Tate (second Baronet), Chairman of the Company, is a D.L. for the County of Lancaster, and a Director of the Liverpool and London and Globe Insurance Co., and of the Bank of. Liverpool.

TATTERSFIELD & CO., Wool Merchants and Top Makers, Halifax Commercial Bank Buildings, Bradford, Yorks. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1897. Present Principal: George Henry Tattersfield, F.R.G.S. Branches: In Karachi (India) and Boston. Business: Dealers in Russian, Indian, Chinese, Syrian, Mesopotamian, European and English Wools. Connection: Sell to Mills using their specialities in Great Britain, United States and the Continent. Telephone: No. 4017 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Glutamic, Bradford." Codes: Western Union, Lieber's, A B C (5th Edition), Wool and Fibre and Private. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited. Mr. Tattersfield has travelled 220,000 miles since 1900, in India, United States, Europe, Asia, &c. He is a Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society, and member of the London Chamber of Commerce. Club: National Liberal (London). Pastimes: Travelling, Riding and Cycling.

TAYLER, D. F. & CO., Ltd., Pin Manufacturers, Printers, Metal and Wire Manufacturers, Newhall Works, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1830 by Daniel Foot Tayler. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1886. Directors: Sir Henry A. Wiggin , Bart. (Chairman), Graham Wilfred Williams, Harold Wilfred Williams (Managing Directors), grandsons of John Alfred Williams and sons of Wilfred Williams; George Walter Merrett. Originally makers of Pins only. Premises: Extend over about two and a half acres. Staff: Over 500. Specialities: Pins, Hair Pins, Safety Pins, Hooks and Eyes, Fasteners, and Novelties of all kinds in Pins, &c. Awards: Prize Medals at different International Exhibitions. Connection . Worldwide. Contractors to H.M. Government. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to H.M. the Queen, also to H.M. Queen Alexandra. Held Appointment to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria and to Her late Majesty Queen Adelaide. Telephones: Nos. 57, 3366, 2535 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Epingles, Birmingham." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Temple Row, Birmingham).

TAYLOR BROTHERS, Brace and Belt Manufacturers, 4, Greek Street, C.-on-M., Manchester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1858; Continued from father to son. Present Principal: William Sykes Taylor. Branches: London, 24, Aldermanbury, E.C.; Glasgow, 70, Union Chambers; Dublin, 49, Clarendon Street; Belfast, 12, College Street. Specialities: Braces and Belts. Patents: Times Patent Brace, Seculem Brace, Taybros Brace. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4447 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Braces, Manchester," Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd.

TAYLOR BROTHERS, Cocoa and Chocolate Manufacturers, Holland Street, Blackfriars, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1832 by Henry Taylor, William Taylor, and John Taylor. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Subsequently, in 1907, sold to James Epps & Co., Ltd., the present proprietors, who conduct the business under the original title. Speciality: Maravilla Cocoa. Telephone: No. 2380 Hop. Telegraphic Address: " Epps, London."

TAYLOR BROTHERS, Colour Printers, Sovereign Street, Leeds. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1868 by JohnW. Taylor. Present Principals: John W. Taylor and Robert Thomas Taylor. Specialities: Chromo Almanacs, Coloured Supplements for Magazines and Newspapers, Art Calendars. Award: Silver Medal, Dresden Exhibition. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 461 Central, Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Almanac, Leeds."

TAYLOR BROTHERS, Steel Manufacturers, Adelaide Works, Sheffield. Established in 1832. Speciality: Saws. Patents: Perforated Saws and Guide Lined Saws. Awards: At leading Exhibitions. Corporate-mark: " Advance." Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 417 Central (Sheffield). Telegraphic Address: " Adelaide, Sheffield."

TAYLOR & Co., Clothing Manufacturers 45A, St. James Street, Leeds, and Laveracks, Ltd., High Baxter Street, Bury St. Edmunds. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1888 by Robert Bourke, the present principal. Premises: Cover 5000 square yards. Staff: 500. Specialities: Cutting, Making and Trimming all classes of clothing for the Wholesale trade only. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Telephone: No. 1374 Central, Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Apparel, Leeds."

TAYLOR (ENOCH) & CO., Australian Merchants, Sydney and Botany (N.S.W.); 5, Laurence Pountney Hill, London, E.C. 'lours of Business: Usucti, Established in 1851 by Enoch Taylor. Claim to bo th© oldest boot house in Australia. Specialities: Boots, Shoes and Machinery. Telephone: No. 1196 City, London; No. 40 Sydney. Telegraphic Address: " Enoch," London and Sydney. Code: A B C (5th Edition).

TAYLOR (FRED.) & SONS, Cotton Manufacturers, 17, Bloom Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1829. Staff: About 1000. Branches: Prospect Mill, Hinclley; Pioneer Mills, Radcliffe. Specialities: All classes of Cotton Goods. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1070 and 1071 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Amici, Manchester. Code: A B C. Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd.

TAYLOR (HUMPHREY) & CO., Ltd., Gin and Liqueur Distillers, Bloomsbury Distillery, 45, New Oxford Street, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1770 by Humphrey Taylor, succeeded by sons, grandsons, &c. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Humphrey R. Taylor, Ernest C. Marshall, Andrew Ritchie. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Factcry: Ogle Street, Marylebone, London, W. Specialities: Creme de Menthe, Starboard Light registered brand. " Pricota " Apricot Brandy, " Junora " Wine of Health. Have had the honour of being appointed Liqueurs Distillers to H.M. The King. Awards: Gold Medals, International Exhibition, 1851; Grand Exhibition, 1862; Japan British Exhibition, 1910; Grand Diploma of Honour, Buenos Aires, 1910; Grand Prix, Festival of Empire, 1911. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1966 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Ovinius, London." Codes: A B C (4th Edition), Private.

TAYLOR, J. B., & CO., Fancy Box Manufacturers, York Road, Leicester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1860 by John Barratt Taylor. Taken over in 1892 by John Goodman Taylor (retired 1899) and William Goodman Taylor (sons). Present Principal: William Goodman Taylor. Premises: Moved from their old Factory in Newark Street to new Factory in York Road, erected in 1910, containing four floors, each covering 170 feet by 44 feet. Staff 110. Specialities: All kinds of Cardboard Boxes, Shirt, Hose and Sock Boards, and Paper Merchants. Telephones: Nos. 367 and 368 Private Branch Exchange, Leicester. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited. Mr. John Barratt Taylor was a Guardian of the Poor for twenty-five years, and a Town Councillor for about five years.

TAYLOR (JOHN), DUNFORD & CO., LIMITED, Leather, Rubber, and Asbestos for Mechanical purposes, Machine Belt and Hose Pipe Makers, Boiler and Pipe Coverers, Solid and Pneumatic Tyres. Leather Works, Low Bridge, Pilgrim Street; Rubber and Asbestos Works, Dean Court. Boiler Covering Works, Heath Court, and at 37, The Wicker, Sheffield. Registered Office: 12 and 14, Dean Street, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1847 by John Taylor (d.); carried on the business until 1874. Succeeded by—(l) Thos. Greene & C. G. Dunford, 1874 to 1893; (2) Thos. Greene & F. B. Dunford, 1893 to 1905. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Directors: Thomas Greene (Chairman), Hugh Dunford Smith and Erringtons Dunford (Managing Directors), Harvey Dunford, Roy C. Dunford, G. D. Cowan, Wm Simm. Secretary: Roy C. Dunford, C.A. Premises: Freehold sixstoreyed building, with complete modern equipment; electro-driven plant and lifts. Agencies throughout the country. Specialities: Manufacturers of Leather Belting, Hosepipes, Hydraulic Leathers; India Rubber and Asbestos Goods; Motor Tyre Covers and Inner Tubes supplied and repaired; Boiler and Pipe Coverers. Connection: United Kingdom, General Export trade. Contractors to H.M. Government, also to the principal Railway Companies. Telephones: No. 1750 Central, No. 628 City, Newcastle - on - Tyne, No. 1006 Central, Sheffield. Telegraphic Addresses: "Taylor, Newcastle-on-Tyne "; " Taytask, Sheffield." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

TAYLOR (JOHN) & SONS, Civil and Mining Engineers, 5, 6, 7 and 9, Queen Street Place, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1799 by John Taylor, F.R.S., M.Inst. C. E. Partnership Successions: (1) John Taylor, John Taylor (jun.) and Richard Taylor, 1830; (2) John Taylor and Richard Taylor, 1863; (3) John Taylor, Richard Taylor, John Taylor (jun.), and Richard Heneage Taylor, 1872; (4) John Taylor and Robert Taylor, 1884; (5) John Taylor, Robert Taylor, and Frank Taylor, 1890; (6) John Taylor, Robert Taylor, Frank Taylor, and Edgar Taylor, 1893; (7) John Taylor,Robert Taylor, Frank Taylor, Edgar Taylor, and Henry Claude Taylor, 1899; (8) John Taylor (retired 1903), Robert Taylor, Frank Taylor, Edgar Taylor, Henry Claude Taylor, and Arthur Enfield Taylor, 1902. Frank Taylor died December, 1908. Present Principals: Robert Taylor, Edgar Taylor, Henry Claude Taylor, Arthur Enfield Taylor. Premises: Originally at Tavistock, Devonshire; removed to Bury Court, St. Mary Axe, London. In 1849 occupied the present address. Business: Are Consulting Engineers to and Managers of Companies Working Metalliferous Mines; Inspections of Mining Properties; give technical advice upon Metalliferous Mines and on Mining Plant. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4214 City (five lines). Telegraphic Address: "Rolyat, Cannon, London." Cable Address: "Rolyat,London." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

TAYLOR (JOHN) & SONS (BOLTON), LIMITED, Manufacturers of Cotton and Hemp Driving Ropes, Cotton Bandings, Twines and Cords, &c., Provincial Buildings, Hotel Street, Bolton; Ropery, Lever Street, Bolton. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. (offices). Established about 1870 by John Taylor (d. 1906). Continued as Ford & Taylor, and on R. Ford's death reverted to John Taylor, about twenty-two years ago. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1900. Directors: Ralph F. Taylor (Chairman), Samuel Taylor, John H. Taylor, James Taylor, Jonathan Taylor, Frank Taylor (sons of the founder). Premises: Extensive, fitted with the latest appliances. Staff: 110. Branches: Bolton, Chequerbent and Chorley. Agencies: Glasgow, 144, St. Vincent Street (J. A. Tough); London, Capel House, New Broad Street, (F. Wood); Germany, Hamburg (Hagen & Co.); Transvaal, Johannesburg (Bartle & Co.). Specialities: Cotton Driving Ropes, Mill Bandings, Baling Cords, Twines, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government; also to Foreign Governments. Telephones: No. 152 National Bolton (Private Branch Exchange); No. 74 Chorley; No. 36 Westhoughton. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Ropery, Bolton," " Taylors Ropery," Chorley and Chequerbent. Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. (Bolton).

TAYLOR (JOSEPH) & CO., Chemical Plant engineers, Central Plumbing Works' Blackhorse Street Mills, Bolton, Lanes. Hours of Business: Works, 7 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Office, 8 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1892 by Joseph Taylor, the present principal. The business was built up bythe founder out of his own earnings as a workman. Premises: Situated near Bolton Town Hall, covering about 1000 square yards. Staff: About fifty. Specialities: Chemical Plumbing in all its branches, Lead Working, Solid Plate Lead Saturators for Handfishing, Steam Discharging or Self-emptying Acid Tanks, and Elevators, &c., Valve Ejectors, Leadburning, Copper Scoops, &c., Repairs of every desdription. Award: Silver Medal, Earls Court, 1904; Gold Medal, FrancoBritish Exhibition, 1908. Connection: United Kingdom (most towns), India, Australia, Newfoundland, Norway, &c. Telephone: No. 848 Bolton. Telegraphic Address: " Saturators, Bolton." Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. Mr. Taylor is a member of Bolton Town Council, he has been President of Bolton and District Master Plumbers for three years, Chairman for three years of section twelve, British Gas Industries, and Chairman of Deane and Lostock Conservative Association, &c. Clubs: Senior Conservative, Junior Conservative, and Rumworth and Hulton; Deane Golf and Beaumont Bowling Green, &c.

TAYLOR (JOSEPH) & COMPANY, Ltd., Importers and Manufacturers of Lemon, Citron, and Orange Peels, Fruit Preservers, Manufacturing Confectioners, Wholesale Druggists, &c., .Irwell Preserve Works, Mill Street, Radcliffe, Lancs. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1855 by Joseph Taylor (d. 1882). Continued in 1882 by William Bowker (nephew (died) July, 1911) as Joseph Taylor & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: James Skinner Bowker (Managing Director), William Nixon, Robert Taylor Bowker. A portion of the Works are erected on the site of the old Cawdaw Hall, long a striking landmark in Mill Street. Premises: Extensive, covering 5,000 sq. yds. Stag: 250; July and August, 350. Branch: Bolton, Bank Street. Specialities: High-class Fruit Preserves, Bottled Fruits, Caramel Toffees, Candied Peels, Jellies, Mince Meat, Boiled Sugars. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephones: No. 344 Whitefield; No. 366 Bolton. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Taylor, Radcliffe." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: Union Bank of Manchester, Ltd.

TAYLOR, J., & SON, Wholesale China, Glass, Earthenware and Hardware Merchants, 344 to 346, St. James' Road, Old Kent Road, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1879 by J. Taylor & Son. Present Principal: Thomas T. Taylor. Branch: 294, St. James' Road, S.E. Business: China, Glass, Earthenware and Hardware for Household Use, 'Hotels. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2315 Hop, London.

TAYLOR, J., T. & J., Ltd., Manufacturers of Woollen Cloth, Blakeridge Cheapside Mills, Branch Road Mills, and Warehouse, Station Road, Batley, Yorks. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1845 by John, Thomas and Joshua Taylor (brothers). Continued by Theodore C. Taylor in 1892. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1896, for the purpose of sharing profits with the employees. Chairman and Managing Director: Theodore C. Taylor, M.P., J.P. (son of Joshua Taylor). Commenced profit sharing on a limited scale in 1892, extended the scheme to all ranks of employees in 1896 as from 1895, under which scheme employees become shareholders and now hold more than half the share capital. Staff: Over 1600. Specialities: High-class and medium Woollen Cloths. Connection: Home, Colonial and Foreign. Telephone: No. 80 Batley. Telegraphic Address: " Taylors, Batley." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Leeds). Mr. T. C. Taylor is and has been since October, 1900, M.P. for Radcliffe-cum-Farnworth Division of Lancashire. He is a Justice of the Peace for the Borough of Batley and was one of the first members of the West Riding County Council.

TAYLOR, LANG & CO., Ltd., Textile Machinists, Castle Iron Works, Stalybridge. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Specialities: In Mixing and Blowingroom Machinery and Self-acting Mules for coarse, medium, and fine Counts, also Waste Spinning Mule. Patents: Original patentees of the " Buckley " Opener and numerous others in connection with the preparing and spinning of cotton. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 107 Stalybridge. Telegraphic Address " Lang, Staly-bridge."

TAYLOR & LITTLEWOOD, Ltd., Woollen and Worsted Spinners and Manufacturers, Newsome Mills, Huddersfield. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 5,40 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established in 1827 by John Taylor. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Managing Director: Stanley A. Taylor. Premises: Consist of four Mills and Weaving Sheds, equipped with all modern appliances. Staff: 600. Branches: London, 5, Golden Square, W.; Huddersfield, 3, St. Peter Street. Specialities: Fancy Worsted Suiting and Trouserings, Overcoatings and Plain Suitings. Awards: Gold Medal, Paris, 1878; Bronze Medal, Sydney, 1879. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 198 Huddersfield. Telegraphic Address: " Breezy, Huddersfield." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Huddersfield).

TAYLOR & LODGE, Manufacturers of Plain and Fancy Worsted and Woollen Suitings, Trouserings, Overcoatings, &c., Rashcliffe Mills, Huddersfield. Established in 1883 by John T. Lodge and T. W. Taylor. Present Principal: Chas. H. Kaye. Premises: Extensive; 140 Looms. Staff: 360. Business: Manufacture of all kinds of Worsted and Woollen Suitings, Trouserings, Overcoatings, &c. Connection: United Kingdom. Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 679 Huddersfield. Telegraphic Address: " Taylor Lodge, Huddersfield." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

TAYLOR (RICHARD) & SON, Boot and Shoe Manufacturers, Victoria Factory, Kettering Road, Northampton. Hours of Business: 7.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1875 by Richard Taylor (d. 1899). Present Principal: John Edward Taylor. Specialities: High Class Ladies' and Gents' Boots and Shoes. Also High Grade Tennis and Cricket Goods. Trade Marks: "Reliance " and " Phealatees," High Class Welted Boots. Award: First Class Medal, Melbourne Centennial Exhibition, 1888. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly). Telegraphic Address: " Reliance, Northampton."

TAYLOR & SANDERSON and THE TAYLOR & SANDERSON STEAM SHIPPING CO.; Ltd., 34, West Sunniside, Sunderland. HMV of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1877 by J. Wallace Taylor and John Sanderson (d.). Joined by John Wallace Taylor (jun.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Managing Directors: John Wallace Taylor, j. P„ John Wallace Taylor (jun.). The Taylor & Sanderson Steam Shipping Co., Ltd. Branch Office: Milburn House, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Business: Ship Brokers, Ship Owners, and Coal Exporters. Telephone: No. 31 (National) Sunderland. Telegraphic Address: " Taysand, Sunderland." Bankers: North-Eastern Banking Co., Ltd. (Sunderland).

TAYLOR, SETH. Head Office: Waterloo Flour Mills, Waterloo Bridge, S.E., and St. Saviours Flour Mills, Mill Street, Dockhead, London, S.E. Established in 1861 by Seth Taylor. Business was originally started by the father of the present propriotor at Flour Mills, Camden Town, in 1848. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 281 and 282 Hop. Telegraphic Address " Seth Taylor, London."

TAYLOR, TAYLOR & HOBSON, LIMITED, Scientific Instrument Makers, Stoughton Street Works, Leicester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1886 by Thomas Smithies Taylor and William Taylor. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: Herbert Ellis (Chairman), W. Taylor (Governing Director), T. S. Taylor, W. S. Hobson, W. B. Appleton. Branches: Offices, London, 62, Oxford Street, W.; New York, 1133, - Broadway. Specialities: Photographic Lenses and other Optical Goods; Engraving Machinery and other Fine Tools, Golf Ball Moulds, Timerecording Clocks. Connection: Worldwide. Telephones: Nos. 134 and 135 Central, Leicester; No. 4591 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Addresses: "Lenses," Leicester and New York; " London." Bankers London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Leicester).

TAYLOR (THOMAS) & CO., Manufacturers and Export Merchants, 11, Panmuro Street, Dundee, and Airleywight Linen and Jute Works, Bankfoot-by-Perth; also at Belfast and Manchester. Established in 1860. Agencies in various Continental and Foreign centres. Specialities: All classes of Linen, Union, Cotton, and Jute goods, Bags, Bagging, &c., &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Continental, Foreign. Telephone: No. 582. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Thomas, Dundee." Codes: Private; Lieber's; A B C (4th and 5th Editions); Samper's (2nd Edition).

TAYLOR (THOMAS) & CO., Paint, Colour and Varnish Manufacturers, Avon Paint and Varnish Works, Saltford, Bristol, Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1897 by Thomas Taylor, the present principal and manager. Premises: Situated on the River Avon, midway between Bristol and Bath, with ample water power. Specialities: Painters Colours, Enamels, Stainers, &c. Trade Mark: " Avon Brand." Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Telephone: No. 2 Saltford (Bristol Area). Telegraphic Address " Taylor, Saltford. ' Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

TAYLOR, THOS., & SONS (BARNSLEY,) LIMITED, Linen, Union, and Cotton Drill Manufacturers, Bleachers and Printers. Head Office and Works: Barnsley, Yorkshire; also at 81, Peter Street, Manchester, 17 and 18 Great Pulteney Street, Golden Square, London, and 26, Cite Treviso, Paris; and 45, Textile Buildings, Belfast. Established about 1725. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Directors: Hy. Herbert Taylor Burbury, J.P. (Chairman), Rev. Thos. Thornely Taylor, M.A., Francis Wm. Burbury, J.P., G. H. Peake. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Specialities: Cloths of Linen for Vestings and Suitings, especially for tropical wear. Telephone: No. 79. Telegraphic Address: " Taylors, Barnsley."

TAYLOR (THOMAS) & SONS, Ltd., Cotton Spinners and Doublers, Grecian Mills, Bolton. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about 1820 by Thomas Taylor and Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Present Proprietors: The Fine Cotton Spinners and Doublers Association, Ltd. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Very extensive mills, fitted with up-to-date machinery. Staff: 700 to 800. Business: Spinning of Fine Combed Yarns, Doubling of all kinds of Yarns. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Telephone: No. 31 Bolton. Telegraphic Address " Acorn, Bolton."

TAYLOR (WALTER) & SONS, Furniture Removers, Warehousemen, and House Furnishers, Taylor's Depository, Ranelagh Road, Lupus Street, Pimlico, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1850. Premises: Warehouse space with floors exceeds twenty acres. Branch: Furnishing Department, 58A, Brompton Road, S.W. Connections: World-wide. Telephones: No. 3356 Victoria; No. 690 Kensington. Telegraphic Address: "Taylor's Depository, Pimlico."

TAYLOR, W. HOWSON, Maker of " Ruskin " Pottery, Ruskin Pottery, West Smethwick, near Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1898 by the late Edward R. Taylor. Present Principal: W. Howson Taylor. Premises erected in 1898 covering 1,500 square yards. Agencies throughout the world. Specialities: Artistic Pottery and Enamels, Buttons, Hat Pins. The name " Ruskin Pottery " is registered by the Board of Trade. Awards: Grand Prize, St. Louis, 1904; Milan, 1906; " Hors Concours," Christchurch, New Zealand, 1907; Grand Prize, Franco-British Exhibition, London, 1908; two Grands Prix, Brussels, 1910; Grand Prix, Turin, 1911. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Howson, Taylor, West Smethwick." Bankers Lloyds Bank Limited (Smethwick).

TAYLOR & WORTHINGTON, Steamship Owners and Brokers, 20, Chapel Street, Liverpool, and Dalecrest Steamship Co., Ltd. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1909. Present Principals: Harold Taylor and Arthur Worthington; also Managing Directors of Dalecrest Steamship Co., Ltd. Business: Steamship Owners and Brokers; also own two steamers, s.s. " Dalecrest," 7525T, and s.s. " Dalebank," 7545T, engaged in general trades (Dalecrest Steamship Co., Ltd.). Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 1011 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: Propice, Liver-pool." Codes: Scotts (10th Edition) 1906, and Watkins. Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd.

TAYLOR'S TYPEWRITER CO., Ltd., Typewriters Bought, Sold, Exchanged, and Repaired; MS. Copied; 74, Chancery Lane, W.C., and 92, Queen Street, Cheapside, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1884. Works: 15, Theobalds Road, W.C. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 4881 Holborn; No. 8325 Bank; No. 7093 Central; No. 2075 City. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Glossator, London."

TEARNE & SONS, Manufacturers of Transfers, Heraldic, &c., &c., All Saints Road, Birmingham. Established in 1856 by Samuel Tearne the elder. Present Principals: Leslie J. Menzies, Frank E. Tearne. Business: Manufacture of Transfer s, Heraldic, ornamental and useful, for use on Railway Carriages, Saloons, Locomotives, and Tramway Cars, and for all other purposes, Contractors for the last fifty years to the Indian and other Governments; also to the Railway Companies in the United Kingdom, India, and the Colonies. Telegraphic Address: " Tearne, Birmingham." Code: A B C (4th Edition).

TEES FURNACE CO., LIMITED, (THE), Iron Masters and Mine Owners, Lackenby Iron Works, Grangetown, and Roseberry Mines, Great Ayton. Head Office: Prudential Chambers, Albert Road, Middlesbrough. Works: Lackenby. Mines: Roseberry. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: W. H. Hustler (Chairman), W. R. Innes Hopkins, E. B. Richardson, Geo. A. Burton, R. J. Mounsey, Jas. B. Peat, and J. J. Burton (Managing Director). Formed to acquire the Tees Side Iron Works, which were subsequently dismantled. In 1902 the Lackenby Furnaces were purchased, and, by arrangement with the present Managing Director, the Roseberry Ironstone Mines were added in 1907, and the Ayton Banks Ironstone mine in 1913. The furnaces built in 1870 by the Lackenby Iron Company were rebuilt in 1909-10, and the entire plant brought up to date. Speciality: Highclass Cleveland Foundry Pig Iron for Home and Canadian use. Brand: " Lackenby." Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: Middlesbrough (National), No. 686. Telegraphic Address: " Furnace, Middlesbrough."

TELEGRAPH CONSTRUCTION & MAINTENANCE CO., Ltd., (THE), the Manufacture, Laying, and Repairing of Submarine Telegraph Cables, 38, Old Broad Street, London, E.C. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1864. Directors: Earl of Selborne (Chairman), Sir James Ponder, Bart., C. F. Campbell, P. V. Luke, C.I.E.; F. R. Lucas and W. S. Smith (Managing Directors). Secretary: C. W. Clarke. The Company laid the first Atlantic Cable. Employed the " Great Eastern " for laying cables from 1865 to 1874. Laid the All Red Pacific Cable in 1902. Premises: Works at Wharf Road, City Road, and Enderby's Wharf, East Greenwich. Business: The manufacture of Submarine Cables; also the Laying and Repairing of the same. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Telcon, Ave, London."

TELFORD & TELFORD, Organ Builders, 109, St. Stephen's Green, Dublin. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1830. Claim to be the oldest firm of Organ. Builders in Ireland. Speciality: Fine Church and other Organs, built entirely of Irish manufacture, including the casting of Organ Metal and making Metal Pipes. Awards: Winners of two large Gold, one Silver, and two Bronze Medals. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial.

TEMPERLEY, W. A., & CO., Importers and Merchants, Grain, Oilcakes, Feeding Stuffs, Fertilizers, and Agricultural Seeds, &c., 2, St. Nicholas Buildings, Newcastle-on-Tyne, and 9, Beaumont Street, Hexham. Established in 1801. Present Principals: William Angus Temperley, Thomas Leman Temperley, Robert Shield, Edward Shield, and Eric Temperley. Premises: Beaumont Street, Hexham. Building of dressed stone, comprising Corn Lofts, Stores, Grist Mill, Stables, Motor House, and Offices. Ground area, 600 sq. yds.; three storeys and basement. Newcastle Office 3 consist of nine rooms, about 230 sq. yds. Staff: Newcastle, seventeen Clerks, Market Representatives, &c.; Hexham, nine Clerks, Warehousemen, &c. Represented on following Exchanges: Newcastle, Carlisle, Berwickon-Tweed, Alnwick, Morpeth, Hexham, Darlington, Stockton - on - Tees, Leeds, Wakefield, Hull Exchange and Pacific Hull. Connection: Large agricultural trade in Northumberland, Durham, North Yorkshire, &c. Agents in United Kingdom for the General Swedish Seed Co., Svalof, Sweden. Telephones: No. 1166 Central (Private Branch Exchange), Newcastle; No. 29 (P.O.) Hexharn. Telegraphic Addresses: " Watco, Newcastle - on Tyne "; " Temperley, Newcastle-onTyne " (private); " Temperley, Hexham." Codes: A B C; Baltimore; Blitz; Private. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Lambton's Branch), and at Hexham.

TENNANT (CHARLES) & CO., Ltd., Chemical Manufacturers, 93, West George Street, Glasgow. Works: St. Rollox, Glasgow. Established in 1792 by Charles Tennant. Present Principals: Thomas Alexander, Harold J. Tennant, M.P., Francis J. Tennant, and William Alexander. The Works at St. Rollox are very extensive, and occupy an advantageous position, having facilities of transport by means of two lines of railway and the Forth and Clyde Canal in immediate proximity. A conspicuous feature is the tall chimney locally known as " Tennant's Stalk " (453 ft. high), which ranks with the loftiest structures in the world. The Company's operations as manufacturers of Chemicals for the Textile Trades are upon a very large scale, and constitute one of the most important industries of the kind in Great Britain. Specialities: Bleaching Powder, Sodas, and Soaps. Inventors of Bleaching Powder, which is one of the principal products of the St. Rollox Works. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: Nos. 6618-9 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Tennant, Glasgow." Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

TENNANT, C., SONS & CO., LIMITED, Merchants and Agents; Chemicals, Iron, Ferro Manganese Steel, Copper, Tin, &c., 9, Mincing Lane, London, E.C. Established by Charles Tennant over a century ago. Present Principals: Rt. Hon. Lord Glenconner, William Augustus Tennant, Charles Atkins, Edgar Bee Beck, and E. W. D. Tennant. Connection: All parts of the world. Telephones: No. 2166 Avenue; No. 11239 Central. Telegraphic Address: "Tonnants, Fen, London."

TENNANTS (LANCASHIRE), Ltd., Chemical Manufacturers, 1, Booth Street, Manchester; Mill Street, Bradford, Manchester; and 6, Oldhall Street, Liverpool. Works Clayton, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Tennants," Manchester and Liverpool.

TEOFANI & CO., Ltd., Turkish Tobacco Importers, and Manufacturers of the celebrated " Teofani " Cigarettes, London. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1880. Branch: Cavalla, Turkey. Speciality: Highest quality Cigarettes. Awards: Grands Prix, Gold Medals, Croix d'Honneurs, &c. Hors Concours—Membres du Jury, Brussels, 1908, 1906; London, 1907; Vienna, 1906; Liege, 1905; Brussels, 1904; Antwerp, 1904; Geneva, 1904; Lyons, 1904; Paris, 1903; Lorient, 1903; Brussels, 1910, Expert Member of the Jury of Awards. Royal Warrants: Purveyors by appointment to His Majesty the King of Spain, to His Majesty the King of the Hellenes, to 1-1 is Majesty the King of Portugal, and to His Highness the Khedive of Egypt. Telephone: No. 3366 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Teofani, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

TERREY (CHARLES) & CO., Die Sinkers, Relief Stampers, Menu and Christmas Card Manufacturers, &c., 11, Lensden Place, Golden Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1855 by Charles Terrey. Present Principal: Joseph Henry Deacon. Staff: Forty. Branch: 85, Queen's Head Street, Islington, N. Business: Trade Workers in Christmas Cards and Kindred Trades, Relief Stampers, and Die Sinking in all its branches, Aerographers. Patents: Auto. matic Die Stamping Machines (not Regis tered). Connection: United Kingdom, Canada, South Africa, and India. Telephone: No. 4687 City, London. Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

TERRY (HERBERT) & SONS, The Spring Specialists, Novelty Works, Redditch. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1855 by Herbert Terry. Staff: About 350. Specialities: High grade Springs of all descriptions. Presswork and Wirework. Patents and Inventions: Very numerous. Patents worked for inventors. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Tele phones: No. 61 (three lines). Tele-graphic and Cable Address: " Springs, Redditch." Code: A B C (5th Edition) and Western Union. Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd.

TETLEY (JOSEPH) & CO., Ltd., Tea, Coffee and Cocoa Merchants, Blenders and Shippers, 49, Mansell Street, London, E. Established in London in 1856 by Joseph Tetley. Directors: Joseph Tetley (son of the founder), Wm. Tetley-Jones (grandson of the founder), John Lecky, R. H. Adamson, P. K. Read, and John D. Morris. This firm is one of the largest of the great London tea houses whose ramifications extend all over the world. Tea, Coffee and Cocoa in every form are dealt in, and many notable blends have been introduced. The spacious sale rooms are on the ground and first floors of No. 49, Mansell Street, with counting house, &c., in the basement. The Tea blending and packing operations, whether for home consumption or export, are con ducted entirely " under bond " at the firm's own very extensive private Bonded Warehouses, 54, 56, and 58, Commercial Road, London, E., and 6, Jewry Street, E.C.; and th© Coffee and Cocoa Depart ments on the second and third fiourA of 49, Mansell Street. Branch Offices: New York, Chicago, Philadelphia, Boston, Pittsburg, San Francisco, Winnipeg, Vancouver, Calgary, Colombo, Calcutta, Hankow, &c. Agencies in many other places. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, and Foreign. Telephone: No. 2511 Avenue (four lines). Telegraphic Address: " Sephley, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and Private. Bankers Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Lombard Street, E. C. ).

TETLEY (JOSHUA) & SON, Ltd., Brewers, Tho Brewery, Leeds. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in the eighteenth century by William Sykes. Continued by—(1) Joshua Tetley; (2) Joshua Tetley & Son. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: Charles Francis Tetley (Chairman) and Charles Foster Ryder. One of the oldest houses in the trade. Premises cover about six acres, fully equipped. Stag: About 600. Branches in several towns. Specialities: The East India Pale Ale (Bitter Ale), and all qualities of Beers. Connection: United Kingdom chiefly. Large Family trade. and with Licensed Houses. Telephones: Nos. 507 and 1503 Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Tetley, Leeds." Bankers: Beckett & Co. (Leeds).

TETLEY & WHITLEY, East India Merchants, 56, Bloom Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Present Principals: C. G. Tetley and A. B. Thomson. Branches: Thomson, Tetley & Co., Colombo, Ceylon; Tetley & Whitley, Madras, India. Business: Export Manchester Piece Goods, Import Kauri and other hard Varnish Gums and Gum Copals, also Ceylon and Madras Produce. Connection: United Kingdom, India, Ceylon, Java, Singapore, New Zealand, &c. Telephone: No. 3863 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Addresses: " Shipment," Manchester, Colombo, Madras.

TETT (HENRY S.) & CO., Ltd., Wholesale Agricultural, &c., Implement Makers. Registered Address: 10 and 11, Market Street, Faversham; 61, High Street, Sittingbourne; Preston Works, Faversham. Employees: Over 100. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 7.30 p.m. Established in 1872 by Henry S. Tett and John Hussey, as Tett & Hussey. Continued in 1884 by Henry S. Tett. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Business: Wholesale Agricultural Builders' Merchants and Furnishing Ironmongers, Agricultural Implement Makers, Sole Manufacturers of Tett's Kent Drills, &c. Specialists for Hop and Fruit Growing and Patentees of Horse Hop Washers and Nozzle for Fruit Washing, &c. Award: About fifty Medals at various Agricultural Shows. Connection: Home and Foreign trade. Telephones: No. 195 Faversham; No. 38 Sittingbourne. Telegraphic Address: " Tett," Faversham and Sittingbourne.

" TEXTILE MERCURY " (THE). — See MARSDEN & CO., Ltd., Carr Street, Manchester.

THACKER, W., & Co., Publishers and Exporters, 2, Creed Lane, London, E.C. (Calcutta and Simla, Thacker, Spink & Co.). Telephone: No.11174 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Mofussil, London."

THACKRAY, CHARLES FREDERICK, Surgical Instrument Maker, Great George Street, Leeds. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Established in 1906 by Charles Frederick Thackray, the present principal. Speciality: Surgical Instruments. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 3723 and 3724 Central, Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Aseptic, Leeds."

THAMES EXPORT PACKING CO., Ltd., (THE), Packers and Forwarders, Insurance Agents, Wharfingers, &c., Bowater's Wharf, 42 and 44, Bankside, London, E.G., Morden Wharf, E. Greenwich, and Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. (two shifts working night and day). Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Sir T. Vansittart Bowater, Major Frank H. Bowater, Fred W. Bowater. Premises: Extensive Riverside Warehouses. Stag: 140. Business: Packers of all classes of Goods for Export, Finishers. Wharfingers, Forwarders to all parts of the world. Insurances effected. Connection: Worldwide. Telephones: No. 898 Hop; No. 1097 New Cross.

THAMES PAPER CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Box Boards and Mill Wrappers, also " Fiberite " Packing Cases, Thames Mills, Purfleet, Essex. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1886. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Directors E. B. Fiske (Managing Director), W. J. Alford, S. Jarratt, W. G. Fiske, T. W. Lockyer. Premises: Extensive, covering seventeen acres. Staff: About 400. Specialities: Paper Box Boards, used in the making of Folding and Rigid Boxes; also for Bookbinders' and Printers' use, Mill Wrappers and " Fiberite " Packing Cases used as a substitute for wood boxes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 22 Rainham and 11 Tilbury. Telegraphic Address: " Boards, Purfleet." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

THARSIS SULPHUR & COPPER CO., Ltd. (THE), 136, West George Street, Glasgow. Hours cl Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1866 by Sir Charles Tennant, Bart. (4.), and others interested in the Alkali Manufacture. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1866. Directors: The Rt. Hon. Lord Glenconner (Chairman), E. M. Chalvet, Albert J. J. Messean, Hugh Brown, Louis O. Schmidt, Rene Millet, Thomas Alexander, James Couper, Charles G. Tennant. Premises: Works at Willington Quay; Hebburn-on-Tyne; East Moors, Cardiff; Garngad Road, Glasgow; Mines in Province of Huelva, Spain. Specialities: Sulphur in Pyrites, Refined Copper in Cakes, Bars and Ingots, Purple Iron Ore. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 2524 Douglas. Telegraphic Address: " Tharsis, Glasgow." Codes: Moreing & Neal. Bankers: Bank of Scotland (London); Clydesdale Bank, Ltd. (Glasgow); Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Glasgow).

THE EARL OF ROSSLYN'S COLLIERIES, LIMITED, Colliery Owners, Dysart, Scotland. Shippers of " Rosslyn Hartley Steam Coal." Shipping Ports: Dysart, Burntisland, and Methil. Secretary: Philip Clark. Telephone: No. 8 Dysart. Telegraphic Address: " Colliery, Dysart." Bankers: Bank of Scotland (Dysart).

THE JOHN WILLIAMSON CO., Ltd., Publishers of • The Tailor and Cutter," &c.— See WILLIAMSON (JOHN) CO., Ltd. (THE).

THE MIDVALE STEEL CO. OF PHILADELPHIA & LONDON, Ltd., Steel Manufacturers, P.O. Box 1606, Philada., Pa., U.S.A. London Office: 38, Victoria Street, Westminster, S.W. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1866. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1913. Directors: Charles J. Harrah, James F. Sullivan (Chairman), Axel Petre (Vice-Chairman), W. P. Barba and Ernest Harrah. Premises: Very extensive works in Philadelphia covering an area of fifty acres, fully equipped with all recent improvements. Staff: 5,500. Branches: Buenos Aires and Mexico City. Business: Specialists in the manufacture of all grades of Locomotive and Car Wheel Tyres. Rolled Weldless Rings of all sizes, and Mining Machinery Parts • also Steel Tyred and Rolled Steel Wheels, Axles and other Locomotive Forgings, Bar Steel (Tool, Drill and special Alloy), High Speed Steels and Stellite. Manufacturers of Heavy Guns and their Mounts, Armour Plate, Projectiles, Ordnance Material, also Large Forgings (Solid or Hollow Carbon or Alloy Steel). Patents: Numerous on their various specialities. Connection: Represented by Fraser & Chalmers, Ltd., in Australia, New Zealand, Straits Settlements, The Netherlands and South Africa. Telephone: No. 7847 Victoria, London. Telegraphic Address: " Eflowmot, Vic, London.' Cable Addresses: " Midvale, Philada "; " Midvale, Mexico City "; " Eflowmot, London "; " Marrovale, Buenos Aires." Fraser & Chalmers' Cable Address: " Vanner " at all their offices.

THE PANTECHNICON, Motcomb Street, Belgrave Square, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1830 by the late Mr. Seth-Smith. Present Proprietor: Frederick SethSmith (grandson of founder). Business has remained in the family since foundation, and is one of the oldest in the trade. The word " Pantechnicon " was coined by the founder as a business name for the establishment. Premises: Very handsome and extensive buildings. Admirably situated in the centre of the West End, between Belgrave Square and Lowndes Square, comprise Baggage Warehouse with separate lockers; open Warehouses for the storage of Furniture and Personal Effects; separate Lock-up Rooms and Closets of all sizes; Piano Rooms, Works of Art Booms, Motor Car, Carriage and Harness Department; Safe Deposit, with Private and Trustee Safes, and rooms where meetings of Executors, Trustees, &c., may be held in privacy and comfort. Business: Packing, Removing, and Storing of Goods of every description. Special attention devoted to Pictures and Works of Art, Musical Instruments, Wines, and Valuables of all kinds. The Conveyance Department is thoroughly organised for Removal of Goods in secured Vans by road, rail, or sea to any part of the United Kingdom or Continent. Valuations for Probate made, Sales of Property arranged, Insurances effected, Repairs to Furniture carried out, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2562 Victoria. Telegraphic Address: " Pantechnicon, Knight-3, London."

THEWLIS & CO. (Successors to Thewlis, Sellers & Co.), Makers of Machinery for Dyeing, Drying and Finishing Cottons, Woollens and Worsted Cloths, Plushes, Sealskins, Carpets, &c, Phcenix Works, Folly Hall, Huddersfield. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Mondays, 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 6.30 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1903 by Edgar Thewlis and John S. Jagger. In 1904 Arthur E. Sellers joined. In 1908 John S. Jagger was paid out. In 1910 Wilfred Quarmby joined. A. E. Sellers was paid out in 1912. Present Principals: Edgar Thewlis and Wilfred Quarmby. Staff: Fifty. Specialities: Shearing Machines for various trades, such as Rugs, Cocoa Matting, Felt Hats, Rabbit Skins, Sheepskins, all kinds of Cloth and very wide Machines for Carpets. Special Machines for producing effects on Mohair and Silk Fabrics. Patents: Several, and improved machines for producing various effects and finishes of Pile Fabrics. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial, United States, extensive. Telephone: No. 85Y Huddersfield. Telegraphic Address: " Thewlis, Huddersfield." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: West Yorkshire Bank, Ltd.

THIBOUVILLE-LAMY (JEROME) & CO., Musical Instrument Manufacturers, 68bis, A72, Rue Reaumur, Paris, and 10, Charterhouse Street, London, E.C. Factories: Grenelle, Paris, Mirecourt, La Couture and Poussay. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1790. Present Principals: Madame Thibouville, Leopold Thibouville, Alfred Acoulon and Emile Blondelet. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Claim to be the most important manufacturers of Musical Instruments in the world, uniting all branches of Instrument Manufacture. Premises: Warehouses in London and Paris. Factories as above. Staff: Over 1000. Specialities: Military and Band Instruments, and all classes of Stringed Instruments. Patents: Numerous. The first Automatic Piano Player. Awards: Medals at all the International and Universal Exhibitions. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 9919 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Tibouvil, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

THOM (ALEXANDER) & CO., Ltd., Printers, Publishers, Lithographers, -Book binders and Stationers, 85-89, Middle Abbey Street, Dublin. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1825 by Alexander Thom. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1884, amalgamated in 1890 with Sealy, Bryers & Walker (Printers and Publishers) and Sullivan Brothers (Booksellers and Educational Publishers). Directors: R. P. Pim (Chairman), James Walker and W. P. Robertson (Managing Director and Secretary). Premises: Extend from Abbey Street to Princes Street. Staff: About 500. Business: Printers, Publishers, Lithographers, Bookbinders, Publishers and Editors of the " Dublin Gazette," " Thom's Official Directory " now in its 71st year of publication, " National University Calendar," " Legal Calendar," &c. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Stationery Office), Bank of Ireland, Gt. S. & W. Railway Co., G.N. Ry. Co., Dublin Corporation, and other public bodies. Royal Warrant: Held special appointment to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria, 1876 to 1898. Bankers: Royal Bank of Ireland, Ltd., Dublin. Telephone: No. 1446 Dublin. Telegraphic Address: " Thom, Dublin."

THOM, LAMONT & CO., Ltd., Steam Pump Makers, Hawkhead Works, Paisley. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Office, 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established in 1895 by John Thom and Thomas W. Lamont. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. Directors: James Black (Managing Director), R. Tennent, J. H. Thom and S. Thom. Premises: Cover three and a half acres. Specialities: Pumping Machinery of all descriptions. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly), Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 262 Paisley. Telegraphic Address: "Hawk, Paisley." Code: A B C (5th EditioD).

THOMAS (C. CAREY) & SON, Produce Importers, 46, 47, and 48, Bute Street, Cardiff. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1879 by C. Carey Thomas. Present Principals: Charles Carey Thomas and Arthur Percy Thomas (son). Claim that No. 48, Bute Street was the first bonded warehouse built in Cardiff, and wa3 known as No. 1 Bond. Premises: Consist of extensive warehouses in Bute Street. Staff: Large. Business: Importers of Foreign and Colonial Cereals, &c., and Wholesale Dealers in Spices, Peppers, &c. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 539 Cardiff. Telegraphic Address: " Midlothian, Cardiff." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

THOMAS, CHRISTR., & BROS., Ltd., Soapmakers, Candlemakers, Refiners of Edible Oils, Broad Plain, Bristol. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1745 by Samuel Fripp. Joined at end of eighteenth century by Christopher Thomas. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: J. L. Ferguson (Chairman), E. Was, E. Briggs. One of the oldest houses in the trade. Premises: Cover three and a half acres, fully equipped. Stall: 120. Works employees, 750. Branches: Offices, London; Depots, Cardiff, Newport, Swansea, Plymouth, Exeter. Specialities: Household Soaps, Candles, Puritan Olive Oil Soap, Fripp's Olive Oil Soap made by the same formula as in 1745. Patents: Various. Connection: West of England, Wales, Midlands, South of England, General Export trade. Telephone: No. 1957 Bristol (private branch exchange). Telegraphic Address: " Thomas, Bristol." Bankers: London City & Midland Bank, Ltd. (Bristol).

THOMAS, E. E., Fruit, Flower and Potato Salesman and Importer, New Street, Cardiff. Hours of Business: Summer, 5.30 a.m,; Winter, 6.30 a.m. Established in 1898 by E. E. Thomas, the present principal. Had a varied experience in London and America. Business: Wholesale Distribution of English and Foreign Fruit and Flowers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 2651 (two lines) Cardiff. Telegraphic Address: " Apricot, Cardiff." Code: A B C. Bankers: London and Provincial Bank, Ltd. Mr. Thomas is Hon. Secretary of the Sully Coursing Club. Club: Cardiff Conservative. Pastimes: Coursing and Golf.

THOMAS, G. B., & SON, Corn, Cake, Flour and Seed Merchants, 7 and 9, Castle Square, Carnarvon, and Morfa Nevin Stores. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Thursdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1838 by Simon Hobley. Present Principal: William Griffith Thomas. Business: Corn Merchants, District Representatives of J. Bibby & Sons, Cake Manufacturers, Liverpool. Welsh Oats a speciality. Connection: United Kingdom. Cargoes received from New Zealand. Telephone: No. 42 Carnarvon. Telegraphic Address: " Granary, Carnarvon." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Mr. Thomas is a Justice of the Peace for the County of Carnavon.

THOMAS (RICHARD) & CO., Ltd., Tinplate Manufacturers, Iron, Steel, and Brass Founders. Registered Office: South Wales Works, Llanelly, Carmarthenshire. Selling Offices: Rd. Thomas & Co., Ltd., 47/51, King William Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturday, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1798 at Lydbrook, Gloucestershire. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1884. Directors: Charles Bathurst, M.P., H. Coulson Bond, Henry Parish, Richard Thomas, Harold Massey Thomas, Richard Beaumont Thomas " (Chairman and Managing Director). One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Steel Works and Engineering Department, South Wales Works, Llanelly; Chemical Works, Brickfield Works, Llanelly. Branches: South Wales Works, Llanelly; Richard Thomas Mills, Llanelly; Burry Works, Llanelly; Cwmbwla Works, Swansea; Cilfrew Works, near Neath; Ely Works, Pontyclun, Glam.; Edlogan. Works, Pontrhydyrun, Mon.; Lydney Works, Lydney, Glos.; Lydbrook Works, Lydbrook, Glos. Business: Own and control about 100 Tinplate Mills situated at or near Llanelly, Swansea, Neath, Cardiff, Newport, and Bristol. The Lydbrook and Lydney factories were first established in the eighteenth century. Iron Steel, and Brass Castings, Chilled Mill and Cold Rolls, Sulphuric Acid for Tinplate Making, also Green Copperas (Sulphate of Iron), Coke and Charcoal Tinplates, Tin and Terne-coated Sheets, Canada Plates. Patents: Machinery for Pickling, Cleaning, and Tinpots. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: London Offices for Sales, Nos. 1957 and 1958 City; Registered Offices, No. 346 (National), Llanelly. Telegraphic Addresses: " Superheat, London "; " Morewoods, Llanelly." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (London).

THOMPSON & CAPPER, Ltd., Manufacturing and Wholesale Chemists, Manesty Buildings, College Lane, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in. 1843 by George Thompson. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1912. Governing Director: Edwin Thompson. Branches: Liverpool; Manchester; Birkenhead; Sheffield; Southport; Huddersfield; Leeds; Bradford. Specialities: Compressed Tablets, Homoeopathic Medicines, Photographic Apparatus, Microscopic Apparatus and Accessories, Pharmaceutical Preparations, &c. Sole British Agents for the F. J. Stokes Machine Co., Philadelphia, U.S.A., manufacturers of Pharmaceutical Machinery. Telephone: Royal 2093. Telegrams: "Sanitas, Liverpool." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

THOMPSON (GEORGE) & SONS, Tanners, Curriers and Leather Belting Manufacturers, Stone Mill Tannery, Sowerby Bridge, Yorks. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 12 noon; Offices, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1846 by George Thompson, continued by George Thompson & Sons. Specialities: Leather Belting. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government, Colonial Governments, and Continental Railways. Telephone: No. 525 Halifax. Telegraphic Address: " Leather, Sowerby Bridge." Code: Al, and A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Private. Bankers: Halifax Joint Stock Banking Co., Ltd. (Sowerby Bridge).

THOMPSON, JOHN, Boiler Works, and Head Office, Wolverhampton; Wind- mill Works, Dudley. London Office: 63, Queen Victoria Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1840 by William Thompson. Succeeded by his son John Thompson (d.1909). Joined in partnership by James Thompson, J.P., A. E. Thompson, W. J. Thompson, J.P., and S. J. Thompson (sons), who are the pre sent principals. Premises: Business was founded at Highfields Works, Bilston, and removed to Wolverhampton in 1870. Windmill Works, Dudley, opened in 1900. Wolverhampton Works extend over five acres. Windmill Works over two acres. Staff: 700 (Wolverhampton); 200 (Dud ley). Branches: Offices, Cardiff, Newcastle, Sheffield, South Africa, China, Japan, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, &c. Specialities: " Thompson" Dish-ended Boilers, Economic Dry Back Boilers, Water Tube Boilers, &c. Awards: Gold Medals, 1891, 1892; Diploma, Franco-British Exhibition, 1908. Gold Medal, Japan-British Exhibition, 1910. Connection: World-wide. Contractor to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, Crown Agents). Telephones: No. 19 Wolverhampton (two lines); No. 86 Dudley; No. 6471 City, London. Tele graphic and Cable Address: " Boiler, Wolverhampton"; " Chimneys, Dudley." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Engineering, Lieber' s,Western Union, Private. Bankers: United Counties Banking Co., Ltd.

THOMPSON, JOHN, Shirt and Collar Manufacturer, Victoria Factory, Little Victoria Street, Belfast. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1860 by John Thompson. Present Principals: Joseph Thompson and William H. Thompson (sons of the founder). Claim to have established the first Linen Collar Factory in Belfast. Branches: London, 37, Jewin Crescent, E.C.; Man chester, 25, Mosley Street; Birmingham, Manchester Buildings, Upper Priory; Cardiff, Hayes Buildings; Edinburgh, 25, North Bridge; Aberdeen, 17, St. Nicholas Street; Glasgow, 51, Buchanan Street. Staff: About 400. Speciality: All Classes of Collars and Shirts of fine Irish Linen; Coloured Fabrics, &c. Con nection: Chiefly in United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 1372 Belfast. Telegraphic Address: "Pioneer, Belfast.

THOMPSON (JOHN) & CO., Builders and Contractors, 43, Wood Street, Peterborough. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about 1840 by John Thompson (d.). Continued by Thomas John Thompson, Walter Hill, and Walter Stuart Thompson. Present Principals: Thomas John Thompson and Walter Stuart Thompson. Branch: Rail-way Arches, Broughton Street, Battersea, London, S.W. (Stone Working Machinery). Business: Experts in Church Reparation. Specialists in Oak Work, also in Carving and Sculpture (both Wood and Stone), and in Ornamental Wrought-iron Work. Contractors for Glasgow University, Royal Holloway College, Egham; Royal College of Music, London; also extensive Reparation Work carried out at many Cathedrals and Churches in Great Britain and Ireland, including Peterborough, Salisbury, Lichfield, Chester, Hereford, and St. Patrick's Cathedral, Dublin, and amongst Churches, Halifax Parish Church, St. Michael's, Coventry, Macclesfield, Melton Mowbray, &c. Have just completed the vast and dangerous Underpinning of Winchester Cathedral, and are now engaged upon the Reparation of St. Paul's Cathedral. Have erected several new churches, including also the Tower and Spire of the American Church in Paris, and many important works at mansions, including Sandringham, Flixton, Hall, Hever Castle, &c. Royal Warrant: Held Special Appointment to His late Majesty King Edward VII. Telephone: No. 35 Peterborough. Telegraphic Addresses: " Thompson, Peterborough "; " Tuneful, London." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Peterborough branch). The late Mr. John Thompson was four times Mayor of Peterborough. Mr. T. J. Thompson is a member of Peterborough Town Council. Mr. W. S. Thompson is a member of the Masons Company. Clubs: (Mr. T. J. Thompson), Constitutional (London). (Mr. W. S. Thompson), Junior Constitutional (London).

THOMPSON (JOSEPH) & CO., Timber Importers and Merchants, Saw and Planing Mill Owners, Hendon Lodge, Sunderland. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1845 by Joseph Thompson (d.). Partnership Successions: (1) Joseph Thompson and H. H. Thompson; (2) Joseph Thompson & Co. (Oswald. and Alan C. Thompson). Present Principal: Alan C. Thompson. Premises: Offices, Hendon Lodge; Saw Mills, Saw Mill and Planing Mills, South Dock; Hardwood Yard, Lawrence Street; Deal Batten and Board Stocks, South Docks, Sunderland. Timber Ponds at Claxheugh. Specialities: Joiners' Work, Mahogany and all Hardwoods, Pitch Pine and all Quebec Timbers. All kinds of Deals, Batten, and Boards from the Baltic. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: Nos. 13 and 457 (National), Sunderland. Telegraphic Address: " Lodge, Sunderland."

THOMPSON, ROBERT, & SONS, LIMITED, Shipbuilders, Repairers, Salvors, Engine Repairers, and Coppersmiths, Southwick Yard and Bridge Dockyard, Sunderland. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established by Robert Thompson, grandfather of present directors. Succeeded by (I) Robert Thompson (junior), (2) Robert Thompson and Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Directors: Richard Charles Thompson, J.P., (Chairman), Joseph Lowes Thompson. Premises: The Southwick Shipbuilding Yard has a capacity for building vessels up to 400 feet. Three Graving Docks, 442 feet, 356 feet, and 320 feet. Also extensive Coppersmith Works, Brassfoundry, Engineering Shops, &c. Business: Shipbuilding. Make a speciality of Cable and Oil Boats, Ship Repairing, and Engine Repairing (Oil Vessels), and lengthening vessels. Copper Pipe Outfits, Brass Work, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephones: Nos. 7 and 8 Sunderland (Southwick Yard); Nos. 160 and 1105 (Bridge Dockyard). Telegraphic Addresses: " Jet, Sunderland " (Southwick Yard); " Dockyard, Sunderland " (Bridge Dockyard). Mr. Richard Charles Thompson is Consular Agent for France in Sunderland.

THOMPSON (SAMUEL) & SONS, Maltsters, Midland Maltings, Smethwick, Birmingham; West of England Maltings, Bristol; River Maltings, Battersea, London, S.W. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1805 by George Thompson and Samuel Thompson. Partnership Successions: Several. Present Principal: Samuel N. Thompson, J.P. Branches: Peterboro', Taunton, &c. Specialities: All descriptions of Malt and Barley Merchanting. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephones: No. 51 Smethwick; No. 587 Battersea; No. 192w Bristol. Telegraphic Addresses: " Malt," Birmingham and Bristol; " Maltdust, London." Bankers: United Counties Bank.

THOMPSON, T. C., & SONS, Ironfounders, Firs iron Foundry, Leigh, Lancs. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1865 by T. C. Thompson. Partnership Successions: (1) Thompson & Turner; (2) T. C. Thomp son; (3) T. C. Thompson & Sons. Present Principals: John W. Thompson and Betty Thompson. Premises: Engineering Shops, Stores, Moulding Shops, &c., covering 2000 yards, with 4000 yards for extension. Staff: Thirty to forty. Specialities: Engineers', Builders', and Colliery Castings, Iron Boiler Fire Bars. Patent: Street Fire Grates. Connection: Local chiefly, Foreign trade through Shippers. Telephone: No. -183 Leigh. Telegraphic Address: " Thompson, Ironfounder, Leigh." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank, Ltd. Mr. T. C. Thompson was a Councillor for many years.

THOMPSON, WILLIAM, JAMES, & HENRY, Produce Brokers, 38, Mincing Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established about 1765 by John Thompson. Partnership Successions: (1) William James Thompson; (2) William James Thompson; (3) William James Thompson; (4) William James Thompson. Present Principals: William James Thompson, Arthur Thompson, William James Thompson (jun.), Roger E. Thompson and Arthur C. S. Holmes. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Agencies Calcutta (Carritt, Moran & Co.); Amsterdam (D. M. & C. Watering). Business: Tea, Rubber and Colonial Brokers, were formerly Brokers to the Honourable East India Company. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 6530 Avenue, London (six lines). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Thompson, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Lieber's. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. Mr. William James Thompson is a Lieutenant for the City of London, a Director of the Commercial Union Assurance Co., and African Banking Corporation.

THOMPSON, WM. P., & CO., Chartered Patent Agents, 6, Lord Street, LiVerpool. London Office: 285, High Holborn, W.C. Bradford Office: 77, Market Street. Established in 1872 by W. P. Thompson. Present Principals: Wm. P. Thompson, F.C.S., M.I.Mech.E., C.P.A., at London, H. Sefton Jones, F.C.S., C.P.A. (and at Bradford), H. Pumphrey, C. P. A . Staff: About fifty. Business: Securing and Defending Patents, Registrations, and Copyrights in all countries for inventors, Filing Cases for Local Patent Agents throughout the world. Are the owners of Experimental Works in Birkenhead, covering about halfan-acre. Branch Agencies in about seventy countries. Telephones: No. 4592 Bank, Liverpool; No. 823 Holborn. Telegraphic 3o and Cable Addresses: " Patent, Liverpool "; " Patent, Bradford "; " Discovery, London."

THOMSON, D. C., & CO., Ltd., Publishers, Manchester, Glasgow, and Dundee; London Office, 170, Fleet Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1816 with the commencement of the " Dundee Courier," the first daily paper north of the Forth. In 1886 traded as W. & D. C. Thomson. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Directors: D. C. Thomson (Chairman), Frederick Thomson, W. Harold Thomson. Staff: Over 650. Business: Printing and Publishing Newspapers and Periodicals. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: London, 1723 Holborn; Manchester, 2534 City; Glasgow, 3802 Douglas; Dundee, 545 (four lines). Special private wire between London and Dundee Offices. Telegraphic Addresses: " Courier," London, Glasgow and Dundee; " Redskin, Manchester." Bankers: Bank of Scotland (Dundee and London).

THOMSON (GILMOUR) & CO., Ltd., (in which are incorporated C. H. Curtis & Co., Greenock, and James Menzies & Son, Glasgow), Scotch Whisky Distillers and Blenders. Registered Address: 44 to 64, James Watt Street, Glasgow. London Office: 18, Harp Lane, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1825. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893. Directors: F. J. Stevenson (Managing Director), A. Gilmour Thomson, F. S. Lakeman, J. C. Rodger, James Thomson, H. B. Southwell. Premises: Distillery, Glencadem, Forfarshire. Head Office and Bonded Warehouses, Glasgow. Specialities: The Royal Blend, Glencadem, Scotch Cream, Auld Scottie and Stag Blend Whiskies. Awards: Prize Medals, Sidney, 1879; Bordeaux, 1882; Paris, 1910; Buenos Ayres, 1910; Turin, 1911. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1758, Central, Glasgow. Cable Address: "Royal, Glasgow." Codes: A 1, A B C (5th Edition), Lieber's.

THOMSON, J. F., & CO., Ltd., Distillers, Glengarioch Distillery, Oldmeldrum, N.B. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1797 by the Mansons. Purchased from founders in 1884 by the present principals. One of the oldest Distilleries for pure malt whisky in Scotland. Premises cover about eight acres. Equipped with all modern appliances. Staff: Twenty. Speciality: Pure Malt Whisky. Connection: United Kingdom. Bankers: Clydesdale Bank, Ltd. The partners hold various public offices.

THOMSON LINE OF STEAMERS (THE).— See CAIRNS, NOBLE & CO.

THORBURN (WALTER) & BROTHERS, Ltd., Woollen and Worsted Cloth Manufacturers, Damdale and Tweedside Mills, Peebles. London Office: 29, Golden Square, W. Hours of Business: Office, 8 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 12.30 p.m.; Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established in 1869 by Walter Thorburn (afterwards Sir Walter Thorburn, M.P.) and Michael Grieve Thorburn. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1904 (shares not offered to the public); re-registered under the Act of 1907. Amalgamated with the old Waulk Mill of Peebles, one of the first places where the South of Scotland woollen trade originated. Staff: 350 to 400. Specialities: Woollen and Worsted Cloths. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4 Peebles. Telegraphic Address: " Thorburn, Peebles." Bankers: Bank of Scotland, Peebles and London.

THORLEY, JOSEPH, Ltd., (Thorley's Food for Cattle), King's Cross, London, N. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1851 by Joseph Thorley. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: Joseph Thorley (Chairman), Charles Pinnock, Charles Albert Cattley. Premises: Mills alongside the Regent's Canal at King's Cross, covering about an acre; also on the Wandle at Wandsworth, over two acres. Specialities: " Thorley's Food," the well-known condiment for all cattle; Thorley's Feeding Cakes, Calf Meal; " Ovum," a spice for poultry and game. Manufacturers of Feeding Meals of various kinds. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to H.M. the King. Telephone: No. 515 North. Telegraphic Address: " Lactifer, London." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

THORNE, GEORGE, Wine and Spirit Merchant, 41, Crutched Friars, London, E.C. Established in 1867. Is a well-known authority on Port Wines, and a writer upon this and other subjects connected with the wine and spirit trade. Specialities: Fine Bottled Port and Pure Malt Whisky. Holds large stocks of vintage Ports; also Champagnes, Clarets, Burgundies, Rhine and Moselle Wines, &c. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: Avenue 642.

THORNE, R., & SONS, Ltd., Distillers, Lion House, 29 and 30, Tower Hill, London, E.C.; and at Greenock, Dublin, &c. Established in 1831 at Greenock by Robert Thorne. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892, the present directors being Robert Thorne (Chairman), E. Ludlow Thorne, W. C. Thorne, M. R. Hill, and H. Thorne. Premises: London offices, &c., at Tower Hill; Warehouses, The Glebe, Greenock, Scotland; Dublin branch, 16, Beresford Place, Custom House Quay. Malt Whisky Distilleries at Aberlour-Glenlivet, arid Greenock Distillery. The Greenock Distillery has long been well known, and is described in " Weir's History of Greenock " (1829). The Company are Distillers from Malt only, in Pot Stills, and are proprietors of several well-known Scotch Whiskies. Irish Whiskies are also dealt with; and the Company are agents for Cognac brandy shippers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Telephones: No. 2707 Avenue; No. 1726 Central. Telegraphic Addresses: " Kilty, London "; " Thorne, Greenock "; " Double Anchor, Dublin "; " Thorns, Aberlour."

THORNEWILL (JOHN) & SON, Ltd., Iron Merchants, Burton-on-Trent. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1732 by Thomas Thornewill. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Business: Iron Merchants. Specialities: Bars, Plates, Sheets, Joists, Coach Builders' Iron and Woodwork. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 81 Burton-onTrent. Telegraphic Address: " Thornewills, Burton-on-Trent." Bankers: Crompton, Evans & Co. (Derby).

THORNEWILL & WARHAM, Ltd., Engineers, Iron and Brass Founders, Millwrights and Boiler Makers, Ironworks, Burton-on-Trent. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1732 by Thomas Thornewill. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Premises extend over an area of about three acres; highly-equipped Works. Staff: 300 to 500. Specialities: Colliery and Mining Plant, Waterworks and Sewage Plant, Brewery and General Engineering. Specialities include Winding and Hauling Plant; Blowing Engines; Compound and Condensing Engines; Pumping Engines. Patent: Expansion Gear for Winding Engines. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No, 81 Burton - on - Trent. Telegraphic Address: " Thornewills, Burton-on-Trent." Codes: A B C; Engineering. Bankers: Crompton, Evans & Co., Derby.

THORNHILL (WALTER) & CO., Dressing-Bag Manufacturers, Silversmiths, Jewellers, and Cutlers, 144, New Bond Street, London, W. Established in 1734 by an ancestor of the late Walter Thornhill. Specialities: Fitted Dressing Bags, Artistic Silver Work, Jewellery, Cutlery, VVedding and Christmas Presents. Telegraphic Address: " Thornhill, London." Telephone: No. 471 Mayfair.

THORNTHWAITE MINES, Ltd., Lead and Zinc Ore Miners, Keswick, Cumberland. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 12 midnight. Established in 1894 by F. W. Crewdson (Banker, Kendal), and Anthony Wilson, Keswick. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: F. W. Crewdson (Chairman), Ernest Crewdson, N. F. Wilson, and Anthony Wilson (Managing Director and Secretary). Premises: Hold a lease over the Manor of Thornthwaite. Staff: About 100. Business: Lead and Zinc Ore Miners. Connection: With English and German Smelters. Telegraphic Address: " Thornthwaite Mines, Keswick." Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd. (Liverpool).

THORNTON & CO., Ltd., India-rubber Manufacturers. Head Office": 4, Hanover Street, Edinburgh. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1848. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: Thomas Paul and George Tullo (Managing Directors), James Tullo, Arthur G. Thornton. Secretary: George Tullo. Branches: Edinburgh, 78, Princes Street; Belfast, 24 and 26, Donegall Place; Leeds, 45, Boar Lane, and 50, Briggate; Bradford, 20, Tyrrel Street. Speciality: India-rubber Goods of all descriptions. Patents: Thornton's Door Silencer, Thornton's Squeegee, Amazon Belting for machinery purposes. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: Nos. 2443 and 3297 Edinburgh; No. 366 Belfast; No. 969 Leeds; No. 816 Bradford. Telegraphic Addresses: " Thornton," Edinburgh, Belfast, Leeds; " Rubber, Edinburgh "; " Reliance, Bradford."

THORNTON, R. HENRY, Wholesale and Manufacturing Jeweller and Silversmith, 206, Newhall Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established by R. Henry Thornton, the present principal. Agency: Markhams Buildings, P.O. Box 1347 Cape Town. Specialities: Local Souvenirs with Coat of Arms in enamels at popular prices. Patent: Fairy Self-fitting Earrings. Connection: United Kingdom, Australasia and South Africa. Telephone: No. 6619 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Rhenthorn, Birmingham." Code: A B C. Mr. Thornton is Chairman of John Collyer & Co., Ltd., Electro-plate Manufacturers, Ho ckley Hill, Birmingham, a Freemason, P.M. Leigh Lodge, No. 887, he travelled for three years in South Africa for Sport and Pleasure, 1904 to 1906. Pastime: Golf.

THORNYCROFT, JOHN I., & CO., Ltd., Engineers, Shipbuilders, and Motor Manufacturers. Head Office: Caxton House, Westminster, S. W. Works: Southampton and Basingstoke. Hours of Business: (Normally) 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1864 by Sir (then Mr.) John I. Thornycroft, LL.D., F.R.S. Now carried on as a Limited Company. The Company have large works at Southampton and Basingstoke, the former being the Shipbuilding and Ship Repairing Works, and the latter specially organised for the construction of modern Self-propelled Vehicles for General, Commercial, and Military purposes, and for Marine Motors. Stag: Between 4,000 and 5,000 hands in all. Specialities: Marine and Mechanical Engineering; the Building of Torpedo Craft and of Launches for river or sea service, propelled by either steam or oil engines; the Building of Motor Boats, and the Manufacture of Motors, Motor Cars and Wagons for heavy transport. The name of Thornycroft is inseparably associated with modern developments in high speeds at sea, through the improvements introduced in this connection by the founder of the business. The firm built the first Torpedo Boat for the British or any other Admiralty, and have since constructed many notable craft of this class for the Royal Navy. Of late years (in addition to marine work) the Company havo played a prominent part in the improvement of Motor Vehicles and Cars, and have introduced several successful varieties of the same. Patents: Numerous relating to Boilers, Propellers, Motors, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Are Contractors to Foreign Governments, as well as (for many years) to the British Admiralty and War Office. Telephones: No. 175 Gerrard (for Head Office and Marine Motor Dept.); No. 9219 Gerrard (for Garage); No. 415 Southampton (for Shipbuilding and Marine Repair Works); No. 39 Basingstoke (for Car, Vehicle, and Marine Motor Works). Telegraphic Addresses: " Thornycroft, London," and " Thornycroft, Southampton" (for the above-named departments respectively). Motor Car Repair Depots and Garages, 5-11, Vauxhall Bridge Road, S.W.; 35, Kirkstall Road, Leeds; 74, North Western Street, Manchester; 61, Bishop Street, Anderston, Glasgow. Bankers: Bank of England (Western Branch). Sir John I. Thornycroft, Kt. (1902), is a Fellow of the Royal Society, and Vice-President of the Institution of Naval Architects.

THORP (ROBERT) & SONS, Silk Manufacturers, 16, Tariff Street, Dale Street, Manchester, 1A, Wood Street, Cheapside, London, E.C. Mills: Macclesfield and Congleton. Established in London in 1764 by Samuel Thorp, of Aldgate. Specialities: Silk Ribbons, Ferrets, Pearson's Rich Sarsnets. Connection: United Kingdom, Canada, and Australia. One of the oldest exporting firms to New York, and still doing business in spite of the protection duty of fifty per cent. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Galloon," London, Manchester, New York. Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd. (Manchester). Mr. J. Walter H. Thorp was Mayor of Macclesfield 1898.

THRISCUTT & BALE, China Clay Producers and Merchants, Caudledown China Clay Works, Treverbyn, St. Austell. Office: 17, South Street, St. Austell. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1803 by Thomas Thriscutt. Firm became Thriscutt & Bale about fifty years ago. Present Principals: Mrs. E. S. Hiam (Thriscutt), Mrs. J. Carr (Bale). Staff: Eighty workmen, manager, and agent. Speciality: Whitest of Clays (Kaolin) for Papermakers, Potters, and Bleachers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, United States, India. Telephone: No. 12 St. Austell. Telegraphic Address: " Caudledown, St. Austell." Bankers: Shilson, Coode & Co. (St. Austell Bank).

THRUPP & MABERLY, Coach and Motor Body Builders, 425, Oxford Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Staff: About 200. Established in 1740. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Royal Warrant to His late Majesty King Edward. Telephone: No. 4147 Gerrard.

THWAITES BROTHERS, Ltd., Engineers, Vulcan Iron Works, Bradford. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1845 by R. Thwaites (d.). London Office: 96 and 98, Leadenhall Street, E.C. Specialities: Steam Hammers; Roots' Blowers; Foundry Plant and Metal lurgical Installations for Copper, Lead, - &c. Connection: British, Colonial and Foreign. Telephones: Nos. 3459 and 3460 Bradford; No. 6318 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Thwaites, Bradford '; Evanuero, London." Bankers: The Bradford Banking Co., Ltd. (Bradford).

TIDSWELL, E. & H., & CO., Fancy Warehousemen, 2 and 3, Wood Street, London, E.C. Established over twenty years ago by Henry Bollen Tidswell, the present senior partner. The business is an off shoot of Bollen & Tidswell, which firm carried on business in the City for over a hundred years, the present partners being Henry Bollen. Tidswell and Stanley George Darby (late of Jerrard, Darby & Clegg, Ltd.). Premises: Large Ware- house at 2 and 3, Wood Street; modern Factory at 15, New Union Street, Moor fields, E.C. Branches in Glasgow and Dublin. Staff: About 350. Specialities: Laces, Blouses, Shirts, &c. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 5181 Cen tral. Telegraphic Address: " Tidswells, London." Bankers: Barclay, Bevan & Co., Ltd.

TIFFANY & CO., Jewellers and Silver smiths, 221 and 221A, Regent Street, London, W.; Fifth Avenue, New York; 25, Rue de la Paix and Place de l'Opera, Paris. Established by Charles L. Tiffany. Specialities: High - class Jewellery and Silverware. Connection: Throughout the United Kingdom, the Colonies, the United States, &c. Royal Warrants: Special Ap pointments to H.M. King George V., His late Majesty King Edward VII. and to H.M. Queen Alexandra. Also held the Royal Warrant of Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephone: No. 11871 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Tiffany, Reg, London."

TILBURY CONTRACTING AND DREDGING CO., Ltd., Dredging Contractors, Queen Anne's Chambers, Tothill Street, West minster, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906 as a reconstruction of a former company of the samo name, which was founded in. 1884. Directors: Edmund Hughes (Managing Director), Colonel R. L. Hippisley, C.B. (Chairman), A. M. Hughes (Assistant-Managing Director), Graham Hutchison, Lord Herbert Scott, D.S.O., W. L. Cox (Secretary). Staff: Varies according to work, average 200. Branches: 74, Great Tower Street, London, E.C., Southampton, Greenwich, Tilbury, Inverkeithing, Maidstone, Paris, Nantes, Esbjerg (Denmark). Business: Dredging, Lighterage, Quarry and Marine Contracting. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty), and the leading Port and Harbour Boards, Railway, Shipping, and other companies throughout the United Kingdom; also to the French Government and to Railway and Port Cos. in the Argentine. Telephones: Nos. 4035, 4036 and 4037 Victoria, London. Telegraphic Address: " Tilburian, Vic, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Western Union. Bankers: National Bank, Ltd., 13, Old Broad Street, London, E.C.

TILGHMAN'S PATENT SAND BLAST CO., Ltd., Broadheath, near Manchester. Hours of Business: 7.15 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 7.15 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1872 by B. C. Tilghman. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1874. Directors: B. C. Tilghman, Alfred Simpson, C. S. W. Packard, Alfred Eugene Mathenson (Managing Director). Premises: Extensive, covering about fourteen acres, fully equipped with all modern appliances. Stag: 700 to 800. Staff Club: Sick. Specialities: Sand Blast Apparatus; Air Compressors. Patents: Sand Blast Apparatus; Air Compressors. Connection: United, Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 14 Altrincham. Telegraphic Address: " Tilghmans, Altrincham." Bankers Lloyds Bank Limited (Broadheath ).

TILLEY (THOMAS) & CO., Ltd., Waterworks Engineers and Well Sinkers, 33, Tothill Street, Westminster, S.W., and CambridgeRoad Works, Bethnal Green, London, N.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1815 by M. Clark. Succeeded in 1840 by Thomas Tilley. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Manager: E. J. Tilley. Carried out Trial Borings for the original Thames Tunnel, and many for foundations for Thames bridges. Also carried out many large water supplies for London and other towns. Staff: Usual Office, and Works eighty to 100. Specialities: Well Sinking Artesian and Trial Borings. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, Board of Works). Telephones: No. 872 Victoria; No. 220 Dalston, London. Telegraphic Address: " Artois, Vic, London."

TILLIE & HENDERSON, LIMITED, Manufacturers of Men's Shirts, Collars and Pyjamas, Women's Underclothing, &c., 19 and 20, Silver Street, London, E.C., and 39, Miller Street, Glasgow. Factories: Foyle Factory, Londonderry, and Branches in Ireland, and at Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1851 by William Tillie and John Henderson. Formed into a Private .Limited Company in 1907. Present Directors: David Sinclair (Chairman), .Thomas Macfarlane, William John Tillie, Marshall Tillie, Henry David Sinclair. Specialities: Men's Shirts, Collars and Pyjamas, of every description. Women's Underclothing and Baby Linen, Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3150 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Kalen," London, Glasgow, Londonderry.

TILLOTSON & SON, Ltd., Fine Art Catalogue Printers, Block Makers, Cardboard Box Makers, Newspaper Proprietors -(Bolton " Evening News," series of Seven Weekly Journals, and " The Football Field)," and Literary Agents, Mealhouse Lane, Bolton; Commercial Road, Liverpool (Box Factory); 20, New Bridge Street, London, E.C.; and as the Premier Box Co., Ltd., Box Factory, Worsley Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p m. Established in 1827 by William Holden. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: John L. Tillotson (Chairman), J. Lever Tillotson and Fred L. Tillotson. Premises: Cover 20,738 square yards. Staff: 868. Specialities: Fine Art Catalogues, Half Tone Blocks, Newspaper Literature, Folding and Fancy Cardboard Boxes. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 700 Bolton; No. 878 Bootle, Liverpool; No 658 Holborn, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Tillotsons," Bolton, Liverpool and London. Codes: A 1 and A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd.

" TIMES " (THE), Newspaper, Printing House Square, London, E.C.; Advertisement Office, 162, Queen Victoria Street, E.C.; Publishing Office, Playhouse Yard, Blackfriars, E.C.; City Editor's Office, 15, Copthall Avenue, E.C. Hours of Bu iness: All hours, all days; the entranc3 door has never been closed, day or night, week-days or Sundays. (The building in Printing House Square occu pies, it is supposed, a part of the site of the old Norman Castle of Mountfichet, afterwards the Blackfriars Monastery, in the Hall of which were conducted the proceedings against Catherine of Aragon; and here, prior to 1770, stood the King's Printing Office, for the issue of proclamations, &c. Playhouse Yard, where the Publishing Offices are situated, takes its name from the theatre which Burbage, the actor, built on this site in 1578, and in which Shakespeare, a member of the company of players, was also a shareholder.) Established in 1785 by John Walter. Succession: (John) Walter I., 1785-1812; (John) Walter II., 1803-1847; (John) Walter III., 1847-1894; (Arthur) Walter IV., 1894-1910; (John) Walter V., 1910. Is now a Company, the Directorate constituted as follows:— John Walter (Chairman), Reginald Nicholson, George Geoffrey Robinson, Samuel John Pryor, Dudley Disraeli Braham, and Hugh Chisholm. There is no change whatever in the political or editorial direction of the paper, which is conducted by the same staff and on the same lines as hitherto. Originally founded in 1785 as the " Daily Universal Register," " The Times " has borne its present name since January 1st, 1788. The journal's unique position among the newspapers of the world is a matter of general recognition, and in England it has long been regarded as a national institution. Telephone: No. 6600 Holborn (twelve lines). Telegraphic Address: " Times, London." Bankers: Coutts & Co. and Barclay & Co., Ltd.

TINKER, SHENTON & CO., LIMITED, Engineers, Hyde Boiler Works, Hyde. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1872. Directors: James E. Shenton (Managing Director), Richard Shenton, and Booth Taylor. Premises: Very extensive, fitted with all the latest improvements. Staff: 250. Specialities: Highpressure Steam Boilers, Boiler Fittings, &c.; Superheaters. Telephone: No. 21 Ashton-under-Lyne. Telegraphic Address: " Duplex, Hyde."

TINKERS, LIMITED, Boiler Makers, Daisy Field Boiler Works, Hyde, near Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about 1888 by Tinker Bros. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Branches: Belfast, Bombay, Calcutta, Shanghai, Japan. Specialities: Manufacturers of high-class Lancashire and other types of Boilers, Patent Superheaters, Air Vessels, &c.; High Pressure Boilers a leading speciality. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, Post Office). Telephones: No. 20 Hyde; No. 6003 Central, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Tinkers, Hyde "; " Belsham, London." Codes: ABC; A 1. Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd. (Hyde).

TINLING, C., & CO., Ltd., Newspaper Proprietors and Publishers (" Liverpool Courier," &c.), and General Printers, Registered Offices, 55, Victoria Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1808 by Thos. Kaye. (The " Liverpool Courier," as a weekly, was first published in 1808.) Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Directors: Sir John A. Willox, (Chairman and Managing Director), R. Haddon, W. F. Machray (Manager). Present Directors: Sir Robert A. Hampson (Chairman), F. M. Radcliffe, and AV. J. Elliott. A. Burchill (Managing Editor), A. Hiatt (Secretary). Branches: London (Fleet Street), Wigan, Southport, St. Helens, Birkenhead, Seacombe, Widnes, Chester, Rhyl, Llandudno, Rock Ferry, Douglas, Isle of Man, Warrington, Wrexham, Crewe. Business: Newspaper Publishers; Printers to the University Press, Liverpool, and to the Corporation of Liverpool. Proprietors of the " Liverpool Courier " (Conservative); a weekly paper until 1857; printed twice a week until 1858; and daily from 1863. Also the " Evening Express " started in 1870, the " Football Express " (published every Saturday night), and the " Weekly Courier." Telephones: No. 6703 Central (Liverpool); No. 108 Holborn (London). Telegraphic Address: " Courier, Liverpool." Sir Robert A. Hampson was Lord Mayor of Liverpool in 1903-1904.

TODD, SAMUEL A. C., Manufacturing Stationer and Printer, 26, Bothwell Street, Glasgow. Established twenty-six years ago by Samuel Todd, the present principal. Business: Publishers of the " Select " Series of Private Greeting Cards, Ball Programmes, Menu Cards, Wedding Cards, &c., Die Press Stamping and Photogravure. Connection: British and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. Central, 2156 and 2157 Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Yuletide, Glasgow." Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

TODD, WALTER, Designer and Manufacturer of Rustic Garden Decorations, " The Laurels," Windmill Lane, Smethwick. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1900 by Walter Todd, the present principal, whose father spent over fifty years in this industry and was connected with works outside Manchester. Business started in a small way, has made steady progress annually.. Premises: Cover 2200 square yards. Is self-contained and well equipped. Speciality: Decorations at moderate prices. Claims to have introduced high-class goods at low prices and a new era in this trade. Six men turn out as many goods as twenty men about ten years ago. Issues the best set of Illustrations drawn from actual goods. Specialist in Rustic Goods, Fencing, Portable Huts, Arches, Seats and Pergolas (in sections). Awards: First-class Certificate of Merit, Wednesbury and District Horticultural Show, 1904, for Rustic and Sectional Garden Goods; only award King's Heath and Balsall Heath Horticultural Show, Highbury, Moseley, 1906; Silver Medal and Certificate (Highest Award), Handsworth Flower Show, 1907 and 1909; Silver Medal and Certificate (only award), Smethwick and Oldbury Horticultural Show, 1910; and West Birmingham and District Horticultural Show, 1910, &c. Connection: United Kingdom (all parts). Works maintained at full time in the manufacture of Rustic Goods only. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Cape Hill). Mr. Todd has Founded and has been the Hon. Secretary of the Smethwick Poor Children's Fresh Air Fund since the commencement. The Institution is maintained by public subscriptions, managed by a local committee elected annually, and the whole of the work is voluntary.

TODD & WRIGHT, Ltd., Motor Cars, &c., 34, Craven Road, Bayswater, W. Works: Adjoining Great Western Railway, Paddington, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established in 1848 by Robert Todd. Succeeded by Mr. Wright. Business is still in the hands of the same family. Incorporated as a Limited Company 1907. Directors: W. E. Barnes (Governing Director), W. R. Wright and M. Johnson. Premises: Large Compact Works; Showrooms have accommodation for about twenty Cars and Carriages. Specialities: Motor Cars and Horse Carriages, and Accessories, Motor and Horse Drawn Ambulances. Awards 1 Bronze and Gold Medals (Last Exhibit.). Connection: United Kingdom, India, South America, Egypt, Japan, Australia. Clientee include leading men of this country, also leading Motor Chassis Manufacturers. Telephone: No. 2880 Paddington, London. The Directors are members of the Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders, Ltd., the Master Coachbuilders Benevolent Institution, and of the Institute of British Carriage Manufacturers.

TOLER BROTHERS, Ltd., Wholesale Newsagents, Advertising Contractors, and Manufacturing Stationers, Savoy Corner, Thames Embankment, London, W.C. Hours of Business: Always open, Sundays excepted. Established in 1805 by Elizabeth Toler. Continued as (1) W. J. Toler & Sons, (2) Toler Brothers. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Directors: Charles S. Toler (Chairman and Managing Director), W. J. Toler (Founder of the Wholesale Firm). Staff: Over 300. Specialities Newspaper distributing, Advertising, Contracting and Stationery. Stationery Trade Mark " Te Be L." Connection: London and Brighton (chiefly). Telephone: No. 2318 Gerrard, London.

TOLHURST & SONS, Oil, Lead, and Colour Merchants, 75-81, Tooley Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: Office, 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1817 by John Tolhurst (deceased 1849). Subsequently carried on by John Tolhurst, elder son of above; later with Alfred Tolhurst, younger son of the founder , and from 1885 to 1912 by Alfred Tolhurst and his nephew, John Grose Tolhurst (d. 1912), only son of John Tolhurst. Present Principal: Alfred Tolhurst, younger son of founder. Specialities: Lubricating and Burning Oils, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. Hop 7 49. Telegraphic Address " Tolsons, Tooley, London."

TOLSON & CHISNALL, Cotton Textiles, &c., 2, Bale Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1886 by Charles Guthrie Tolson and Carl Holmstrom (d. 1902), joined in 1905 by William Dixon Chisnall, and in 1909 by Joseph Tolson (son of the Founder). Present Principals: Charles Guthrie Tolson, William Dixon Chisnall and Joseph Tolson. Premises: Have accommodation for the despatch of 200 bales or cases daily. Goods are packed in the building. Specialities: Dyed, Printed and Bleached Cotton Textiles, Dyed Velvets, also all classes of Woollen Textiles to India and all ports in the Far East. Telephones: Nos. 24, 2169 and 3772 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Holmstrom, Manchester." Codes: A 1, A B C, Lieber's, Western Union, Private. Bankers: West Yorkshire Bank, Ltd. (Bradford); Manchester and County Bank Ltd. (Manchester).

TOMKINSON & ADAM, Axminster Carpet and Rug Manufacturers, Kidderminster, and 94, Newgato Street, London, E.C. Established in 1871 by Michael Tomkinson and William Adam. Present Principals: Michael Tomkinson, Peter Adam, William Adam, John Tomkinson, Herbert Tomkinson, Gerald Tomkinson, Ronald William Adam. Premises: Works cover nearly fffteen acres. Stag: 1,500. Specialities: Power Loom Axminster Carpets in piece goods and wholepiece carpets, without seam. Patentees' and first makers of Power Loom Axminster Carpets. Many Patents held for Axminster Weaving in breadths and whole-piece Carpets. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 7 Kidderminster; London, No. 958 Central. Telegraphic Addresses: " Tomkinson, Kidderminster "; " Gobelin, London." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

TOOTAL BROADHURST LEE COMPANY, Ltd., Manufacturers and Merchants, 56, Oxford Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in the early part of the nineteenth century under the style of Atkinson, Tootal & Co. Firm was afterwards known as Edward Tootal & Co., and subsequently as Tootal Broadhurst & Co., and Tootal Broadhurst, Lee & Co.; and was eventually Incorporated as a Limited Company under present title. Chairman: E. Tootal Broadhurst. Secretary: A. Brookes. Premises: Head Office and Warehouse at 56, Oxford Street, Manchester; Mills and Factories at Bolton (Sunnyside Mills), Manchester (Ten Acre Mill and Newton Heath Works); Branch Warehouses, &c., as follow:—London, 132, Cheapside, and New York, 4th Avenue, 27th Street; Cairo, Egypt; Paris, 42, Rue des Jeuneurs; Berlin, Bruederstrasse 4; Glasgow, 10, Princes Square; Belfast, Linen Hall Street; Dublin, 6, William Street; Leeds, 45, St. Paul's Street; Nottingham, 5, Warser Gate. Specialities: Fancy White and Dyed Cotton and Silk Goods of the highest class. The Company is one of the best-known and most important concerns engaged in this branch of the Textile trade. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, and Foreign, including a large business with the United States of America. Telegraphic Address: " Tootal, Manchester." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Western Union, Lieber's, A 1, Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd.; National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. Mr. Edward Tootal Broadhurst, Chairman of the Company, is a Director of the London and North Western Railway .Co., Deputy Chairman of the Manchester and Liverpool District Bank, and a Director of the Atlas Fire Insurance Co.; High Sheriff of Lancashire, 1906-7. Other Directors of the Company also hold various public offices.

TOOTH & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Artistic Pottery (Bretby Ware), Bretby Art Pottery, Woodville, near Burton-onTrent. Londoil, Showrooms: 15, Charterhouse Street, Holborn, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1883 by Henry Tooth. Joined by John Downing Wragg in 1886. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1912. Directors: Henry Tooth and W. E. Tooth. Specialities: High-class Artistic Pottery under the registered title " Bretby Ware." Awards: Gold and Silver Medals, leading International Exhibitions, United Kingdom and on the Continent; Dilpoma of Honour and Gold Medal, Brussels, 1910; Turin, 1911; Ghent, 1913 (latest AwardS). Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 34 Woodville. Telegraphic Address: " Tooth, Woodville." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

TOPHAM, JONES & RAILTON, Ltd., Contractors, 11, Great George Street, Westminster, London, S. W. Hours of Business 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1893 by W. H. Topham, E. D. Jones, and James Railton. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Directors: W. H. Topham (Chairman), E. D. Jones, Jltmes Railton (Permanent), and R. H. Taylor. Branches: New 16-acre Dock Contract, Southampton; Plant Depot, Crymlyn Burrows, Swansea; Tilbury Dock Extension Contract, Tilbury; Fishguard Harbour Works, Goodwich, Pembrokeshire; Rosyth Dredging Contract, Port Edgar, South Queensferry, N.B.; Lagoon Dock Contract, Singapore; Waterport Improvement Contract, Gibraltar, &c. Specialities: Docks. Breakwaters, Railways and any heavy Engineering Works. Carried out large Harbour and Dock Contracts at Gibraltar and Singapore, Constructed large Wet Docks at Cardiff, Swansea, and Southampton, Railways in England, Wales and Ireland, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 249 Victoria, London. Telegraphic Address: " Canal, Par], London." Code: A B C. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited, St, James's Street, London, S.W.

TOPPS, THOMAS, Wholesale Fish Merchant and Herring Curer, 79, Middle Market Road, Great Yarmouth. Hours of Business: Vary according to necessities dealing with " perishables "; generally 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1837 by Thomas Topps. Present Principal: D. T. King (grandson). Specialities: Bloaters, Kippers and Ham Herrings. Connection: Mostly British. Herrings cured daily for home consumption. Fishmongers supplied in all parts of the United Kingdom. Bloaters and Kippers exported to the Continent. Telephone: No. 267 Great Yarmouth. Telegraphic Address: " Alert, Great Yarmouth." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. Mr. D. T. King is a member of the Great Yarmouth Education Committee; also of the Board of Guardians, Chairman of the National Health Insurance Committee; member of St. Andrew's Lodge Freemasons; also of St. Andrews Chapter, R.A. Masons, No. 1631.

TORDOFF (JOHN) & SON, LIMITED, Tea and Coffee Dealers, 46, Kirkgate, Bradford, and 21, Mincing Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1820 by John Tordoff. Joined in partnership about 1850 by T. D. Tordoff and by W. Kaye and C. E. Hanson in 1883. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Directors: W. Blagbrough (Chairman), C. E. Hanson, J. N. Grierson, Walter Smith, H. D. Beaumont. The oldest house in the Tea trade in the city of Bradford. Premises: Include a retail Shop, Tea Warehouse, Packing Rooms, &c. Specialities: Tea and Coffee. Connection: North of England, Bradford and district chiefly. Telephone: No. 273 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Tordoff," Bradford and London. Bankers: Bradford District Bank, Ltd.; Mr. C. E. Hanson has been President of the Bradford Grocers Association, and of the Bradford Chamber of Trade.

TORKINGTON, RICHARD, Oil Refiner, Tallow Molter, Grease Maker, Lower Wharf Street, Ashton-under-Lyne. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1868 by Richard Torkington (d.). Present Principal: William Torkington. Specialities: Finest White Home Melt Tallow, Edible Tallow, Marrowfat and all Lubricating Oils, Beef Dripping, Pure English Neatsfoot and all Animal Oils, Pale Animal Greases, Prime Vegetable Butter Oils, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 61y Ashton. Telegraphic Address: " Richard Torkington, Ashton-underLyne." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd.

TOWER TEA, Ltd., Wholesale Tea, Coffee, and Cocoa Dealers, 71, Eastcheap, London, B.C. Bonded and Duty Paid Warehouse: Wellclose Square, London, E. Established in 1876 by William Lough and Thomas Lough. Originally the Great Tower Street Tea Co.; afterwards acquired by Tower Tea, Ltd. Incorporated in 1896. Directors: Right Hon. T. Lough, M.P. (Chairman), Wilfred H. Lough, and Matthew Shaw. The Company was one of the originators of the Wholesale Packet Tea Trade. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Telephone: Nos. 3309 and 3310 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Lough, London." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions).

TOWN (JOSEPH) & SONS, Ltd., Paper Makers and Paper Merchants. Registered Office: Butts Court • and at 68, 77 to 85, Albion Street, Leeds, and Turkey Mills, Keighley. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1822. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Directors: John Town, J.P. (permanent), J. Clifton Town, W. Norman Town and J. Ernest Town. Premises: Mills rebuilt in 1855. Extension in Leeds made in 1863, 1878 and 1890. Specialities: TubSized Air-Dried Rag Papers, Account Book, Bank, Typewriting Papers, &c. Registered Water Marks: Turkey Mill, Albion, Sunnydale, Cyclo and Cyclops. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign,Colonial. Telephone: No. 3981 Lees (four lines). Telegraphic Address: " Town, Leeds."

TOWNEND, G. & W., Wool Brokers, Importers and Exporters, 23, Cheapside, Bradford, and 19A, Coleman Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about sixty years ago. Present Principal: Arthur Jessop. Branches: Buenos Aires and Melbourne. Business: Brokers, Importers, and Exporters of Wool. Telephones: Nos. 2811 and 2812 Bradford; No. 9005 London Wall Telegraphic Addresses: " Alpaca, Bradford "; " Alpaca, London." Bankers: Bradford District Bank, Ltd.

TOWNEND, J. F., & CO., Hosiery Manufacturers, Clarke's Factory, St. Ann's Hill Road, Nottingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1895 by J. F. Townend. Present Principals: J. F. Townend and his two sons. The founder was with I. R. Morley's, Nottingham, for thirty years previously. Premises: Clarke's Factory. Specialities: Best makes of Plain and 2/1 Rib and Lace Stockings, of choice designs and reliable wear. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly). Telephone: No. 4032 Nottingham. Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

TOWNEND (THOMAS) & CO., Hat Manufacturers, 16 and 18, Lime Street, London, E.C. Established in 1778. Premises: Formerly the Hall of the Worshipful Company of Pewterers; were erected in 1668, and have been occupied by Thomas Townend & Co. for about 100 years. Branches: Atherstone, Warwickshire; 34, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Business: Silk and Felt Hat and Helmet Manufacturers; also Straw Hats, Caps, and every other kind of Headgear. One of the oldest and best-known London firms of Hat Manufacturers. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 3303 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Autograph, London."

TOWNSON, WM., & SONS, Ltd., Builders, Contractors, Timber Merchants, &c., Park Hill Saw Milli..., Bolton, and 55 & 56. Avenue Chambers, Southampton Row, London, W.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about forty-five years ago by Wm. Townson (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Stall: Over 1000, including Sub-Contractors. Business: All classes of Building Construction, Timber Merchants, &c. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 738 Bolton; No. 6026 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Townson, Builders, Bolton "; " Townsonius, London." Bankers: Union Bank of Manchester, Ltd. (Bolton).

TOZER, KEMSLEY & FISHER, Ltd., Merchants, &c., 84, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. The Company is an amalgamation of the firms of Walter Kemsley & Co., Tozer Brothers & Co., and Budden, Fisher & Co., the last-named established in 1849, the others subsequently. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: Walter Kemsley, J.P. (Chairman), Edward Tozer, A. H. Tozer, R. R. Millbourn, Henry Tozer, Donald Kemsley, A. L. Roberts. Stall: Fourteen buyers, 110 clerks, including typists. Are Merchants, Shipping Agents, &c. Have considerable business in Australia, New Zealand, Japan, South Africa, India, and Sweden. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4950 London Wall (five lines). Telegraphic Address: "Kemsley, London."

TRAFALGAR COLLIERY COMPANY, LIMITED, Colliery Proprietors, Drybrook, Gloucestershire. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established about 1860 by Cornelius Brain. Adjoining properties amalgamated, and Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1883. Directors: Richard Murray, J.P. (Chairman), Frank Brain, J.P. (Managing Director), T. R. Dent, Sidney Smith. The first Chairman, T. Bennett Brain, died 1909. The second Chairman, James Smith, died Feb., 1911. Premises: Extensive. Staff: 700. Speciality: House Coals, well known in the trade as " Trafalgar." Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 5 (National), Cinderford. Telegraphic Address: " Trafalgar, Serridge Junction." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank.

TRAVERS (JOSEPH) & SONS, Ltd., Wholesale Grocers, Wine and Spirit Merchants, 119, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Established in 1709. Is one of the oldest commercial houses in London. Was conducted in latter part of eighteenth century under style of Smith, Kemble & Travers, and the senior partner at that time (William Smith) was M.P. for Norwich. In 1777 style of the firm became Smith, Kemble, Travers & Kemble; in 1807, Smith,Travers, Son & Kemble; in 1814, J. Travers & Son; in 1819, J. Travers & Sons. Incorporated in 1889. Present Directors: Sir Edward Bowron (Chairman), Ashwell Henry Stableforth (Deputy Chairman), Walter Francis Travers, Edward Reader Wilkinson, Charles David Mackenzie, and Richard John Harford. Premises: Comprise a large building at 119, Cannon Street, and 14, Sherborne Lane, E.C., and a Green Fruit Saleroom at Monument House, Monument Yard, E.C. Also large warehouses at St. Katharine Dock, E., for Tea Blending and Export Trade, General Stores, &c., and vaults for the firm's large Wine and Spirit trade; Spice mills at Travers Wharf, 54, Bankside. Branch Houses: 44, Stanley Street, and Pall Mall, Liverpool, and at Singapore. Specialities: Teas. Coffees, Sugars, Pure Spices, Canned Goods, Dried, Green and Fancy Fruits and Groceries in general, Wines and Spirits. Connection: T.Tnited Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. There is probably no larger business of the kind in the world. Telephone: No. 10101 Central. Telegraphic Addresses: (London) "Thega, Cannon, London"; (Continental) " Thega, Cannon, London "; (N. American) " Jostrav, London."

TRAVIS, J. J., & CO., Ltd., Decorators' Merchants, Greaves Street, Oldham. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1889 by J. J. Travis. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. Managing Director: J. J. Travis. Specialities: Wallpapers, Varnishes, Paints, &c. Telephone: No. 287 Oldham. Telegraphic Address: " Reliable, Oldham."

TRECHMANN, WEEKES & CO., Ltd., Cement Manufacturers, Hailing, near Rochester. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1854. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Specialities: Cement for Ferro-Concrete Work, Artificial Stone and Patent Roofing Material. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 515 Chatham. Telegraphic Address: " Trechmann, Telephone, Rochester." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

TREDEGAR IRON & COAL COMPANY, LIMITED, Colliery Proprietors and Coal Exporters. London Office: 60, Fenchurch Street, E.C. Collieries: Tredegar, South Wales; and McLaren Merthyr Pits in the Rhymney Valley. Shipping Offices: The. Exchange, Cardiff. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1873. Directors: Rt. Hon. Lord Aberconway (Chairman), Edward Alexander, James Johnson-Ferguson, Arthur Lawrence, Hon. Henry Duncan McLaren, Sir Arthur Basil Markham, Bart., M.P., Edgar Wilson Taylor, Colonel Alexander Keith Wyllie, C.B. Business: Producers of High-class Locomotive, Admiralty, and Marine Steam Coal; Makers of Rails of Light Sections for Colliery and other purposes. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 2312 London Wall; No. 3151 (National) Cardiff; Nos. 24 and 41 Tredegar. Telegraphic Addresses: " Glyncamion," London and Cardiff; " Company, Tredegar." Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Limited (Birchin Lane, London, E.C.).

TREGONING (JOHN S.) & CO., LIMITED, Tinplate Manufacturers, Llanelly, South Wales. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1851 by John S. Tregoning (d.), grandfather of the present Directors, in partnership with W. H. Tregoning, H. C. James, Wm. Shakspeare, R. M. Sampson and Henry Williams (dissolved 1872). John S. Tregoning (d. 1878) was then joined by John S. Tregoning (son), who continued the business until 1897, when it was transferred to J. S. Tregoning and W. E. C. Tregoning (sons). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. Directors: John S. Tregoning (Chairman), W. E. Cecil Tregoning, Geoffrey N. Tregoning. Premises: Owners of six Tinplate Mills and Tinhouses. Equipped with modern appliances. Stall: 375. Specialities: Tinplates for Gas Meters and Dairy work; for Stamping, Decorating, and Food Packing; Blackplates for Enamelling, Deep Stamping, Trunk and Bucket-making. Connection: United Kingdom, Canada, United States, Argentine, Brazil, Russia, Holland, Italy, Norway, Sweden, Denmark, India, Australia. Telephoner No. 379 Llan,elly. Telegraphic Address; " Tregoning, Llanelly."

TREHERNE, A., & CO., Ltd., Publishers, 12, York Buildings, Adelphi, London, W.C. Telephone: No. 3475 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Trehernet, London."

TRELOAR & SONS, Cocoa Nut Fibre Manufacturers and Importers, and Manufacturers of Matting and Door Mats; English Carpet and Rug Warehousemen; Importers of Turkey and Indian Carpets and Oriental Mattings; Linoleum and Flooreloth Manufacturers; 68, 69, and 70, Ludgate Hill, London, E.C. Telephones: Nos. 9821 and 6651 Central. Telegraphic Address: "Treloar, London." Sir William Purdie Treloar, Bart., is an Alderman of the City of London, and was Lord Mayor, 1906-1907. Founder and Trustee of Lord Mayor Treloar Cripples' Home and College, Alton, Hampshire.

TRENGROUSE, H., & CO., Provision Agents and General Commission Merchants 51, 55, Tooley Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1875 by Henry Trengrouse, joined later by Richard Trengrouse, brother (retired 1908). Present Principal r Henry Trengrouse, J.P. Staff; Large. Agencies: Liverpool, Manchester, Bristol, Cardiff, Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Dunedin, (N.Z.), Monte Video, Buenos Ayres. Specialities; Butter, Cheese, Bacon, Eggs and Canned Goods. Claim to be Pioneers of the trade in New Zealand and Australian Dairy Products. Agents for Armour & Co., Chicago, for upwards of thirty years. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones Nos. 1170 and 1171 Hop, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address " Trengrouse, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), A 1, Lieber's, Western Union, Private. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Borough).

TRENT, I. E., & CO., Manufacturers, 3 and 4, Cox's Court, Little Britain, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1884 by Innocent Edwin Trent, the present principal. Premises: Formerly at .5, Falcon Street, E.C., removed to the present address in 1906. Staff t Sixteen. Specialities: Flannel Shirts, Pyjamas, Tunic Shirts, Sports Shirt for Scouts and Football. Manufacturers of the Trentex Cellular Shirt and Military Officers' Shirts, Tent Outfits and Accessories. Connection: United King• dom (all parts), Colonial and Foreign. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephone: No. 11,400 Central, London. Cable Address " Exceptive, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank (Fore Street).

TRENT & UPSDALE, Manufacturers of Dressing Gowns, &c., 2 and 3, Roscoe Street, London, E.C. Established in 1898 by William H. Trent and John Upsdale, present principals. Staff: About 300 to 350. Branch: East Stockwell Street, Colchester. Business: The Manufacture of Men's Dressing Gowns, Fancy Vests, Athletic Clothing, &c. Supply the Wholesale Trade only. Telephone: No. 5368 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Whitecoat, London." Bankers: London and South-Western Bank, Ltd.

TRERON ET CIE., Milliners and Drapery Warehousemen, Les Magasins des Tuileries, 254-290, Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in Paris in 1720 by Madame Elise Treron. Present Principal: Walter Wilson. Premises have a frontage of 260 ft.; the Warehouse is in the Old Corporation Gallery Buildings. Staff: 200. Specialities: Millinery, Mantles, Costumes, Furs, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2150 Douglas. Telegraphic Address: " Treron, Glasgow." Bankers: Clydesdale Bank, Ltd., Laurieston, Glasgow.

TRESISES, Printers, Stationers, Account Book Manufacturers, Newspaper Proprietors, 186 and 187, Station Street, and Union Street, Burton-on-Trent. Established in 1860 by J. N. Tresise (d.). Present Principals: Charles Arthur Tresise and Joseph Nicholas Tresise (sons). The business has grown from the smallest, now claims to be the largest firm of Printers and Account Book Manufacturers in Burton. Staff: Seventyone. Branches: Offices, Ashby-de-laZouch, Coalville, Swadlincote and Uttoxeter. Business: Makers of Ledgers, &c., for the principal Brewers, Publishers of the oldest and leading Newspapers of Burton and district. Agency; 20, New Bridge Street, London, E.C. Telephones: No. 76 (Stationery, &c., and Adverts.); No. 76B (Bookbinding); No. 220 (Editorial and News), Burton-on-Trent; No. 594 Swadlincote; No. 99 Coalville; No. 578 Ashby. Telegraphic Address: " Tresises, Printers, Burton-on-Trent." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited. Mr. Chas. Tresise is an Alderman and Justice of the Peace of the County Borough of Burton-onTrent, Mayor of Burton, 1907, 1908.

TRICKER, R. E., & CO., Hand Sewn Boot and Shoe Manufacturers, 58, St. Michael's Road, Northampton. Hours of Business: Usual. Established by R. E. Tricker, the present principal, whose father and grandfather manufactured boots over a hundred years ago. The Old Style Hand principle of Boot Manufacturing is still adhered to by the firm, every pair of boots made being guaranteed hand-sewn welts. The proprietor overlooks every department. Specialities: Noted for Tramping Boots and Shoes and Elk Hide Sole Boots and Shoes, as light as a feather. Trade Mark: " Elthea." Connection: World-wide. Manufactures sent to almost every country. Telegraphic Address: " Tricker Company, Northampton." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. R. E. Tricker is a great Tennis player, having taken the championship racket of his club in 1908, and is specially qualified to design and make Tennis Boots and Shoes. He is well known in the Musical World of Northampton. His wife is considered the finest Soprano in the City.

TRICKETT, SIR H. W., Ltd., Fancy Slipper and Shoe Manufacturers, Gaghills Mills, Waterfoot. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1883 by Sir H. W. Trickett. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: 0. Eatough, S. 0. Ashworth, J. T. Lord. Secretary: Stephen West. Staff: 1,000. London Office: Balfour House, E.C. Toronto: Manchester Buildings. Specialities: All kinds of Slippers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colo • nial. Telephone t No. 18 Waterfoot. Telegraphic Address: " Globe, Waterfoot." Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd. Sir H. W. Trickett was Mayor of Rawtenstall for five years.

TRIVETT, L. O., Ltd., Lace. Nettings, &c., Manufacturers, Shorthill, Nottingham. Branches in various centres and under different names. Hours of Business: 9 a,m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1892 by L. 0. Trivett, J.P. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Directors: L. 0. Trivett, J.P. (Managing Director and Chairman), A. Colton, H. Smith and L. Lamb. Premises: Buildings form a landmark to Nottingham from the east. Elected on the site of the old town wall overlooking South Nottingham. Excavations revealed old cave dwellings and was honeycombed with tunnels. Finishing and shipping branch at Short Hill, covering in superficial floor space about 32,000 feet. Staff: 120. Specialities: Lace Nettings, Hosiery and Veilings. Patent: Chenilling for Spotting Textiles. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 5360, 5361 and 5362 and Private Exchange, Nottingham. Codes: Lieber's, A B C (4th Edition). Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (Nottingham), Bank of Montreal (Toronto), Credit Lyonnais (London and Paris). Mr. L. 0. Trivett is a Justice of the Peace and a County Councillor for the county of Nottinghamshire, Chairman of the Scouts Executive County of Notts, &c.

TROLLOPE (GEORGE) & SONS, Surveyors, Land and Estate Agents, Valuers and Auctioneers, 13, Hobart Place, Eaton Square, London, S.W. Hours of Business t 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1777 by Joseph Trollope (who came up to London from Lincolnshire), at 15, Parliament Street, Westminster, S.W. Present Principals: Colonel George Haward Trollope, D.L., Howard Woollright Trollope, Henry Charles Trollope, F. S.I., J.P., Robert Gerald Trollope and Edward Neild Shackle, F.S.I. One of the oldest firms in the Profession. Other Offices: 25, Mount Street, Grosvenor Square; West Halkin Street, Belgrave Square; and 5, Victoria Street, Westminster, London, S.W. Business: "Consulting Surveyors and Agents to some of the principal London Landlords. Railway Insurance and Industrial Companies, Public Bodies, &c. Also hold the Agency of several important Country and London Estates. Connection: United Kingdom, France, Germany, Italy, America and Egypt. Telephones: Nos. 3417 and 4603 Victoria, London. Telegraphic Address: " Trolobart, Souwest, London."

TROLLOPE (GEORGE) & SONS and COLLS & SONS, Ltd., Builders, Contractors, &c., 5, Coleman Street, E.C.; 77, Grosvenor Road, S.W.; West Halkin Street, S.W.; and Camberwell Road, S.E., London. Established: As regards George Trollope & Sons, in 1778, by Joseph Trollope, son of Thomas Trollope; as regards Coils & Sons, in 1840, by Benjamin Coils. The two old-established firms ultimately agreed to unite their interests, and the present Company was formed. Incorporated November 30th, 1903, under the style of George Trollope & Sons and Coils & Sons, Ltd. Directors: G. H. Trollope (Chairman), H. W. Trollope, F. G. Trollope, A. B. H. Coils, W. Elliot, C. C. Trollope. Premises: The Company's various yards and workshops in London cover a very considerable area, and there is a branch at Dorking, Surrey. Business: As Builders, Contractors, Decorators and Furnishers, the firms of George Trollope & Sons and Coils & Sons (now amalgamated in this Company) have long occupied a position of prominence. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephones: Nos. 1971 and 3003 Victoria; No. 4910 Wall; No. 1751 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Tutorized, London."

TROWER & SONS, Wine and Spirit Merchants and Agents, St. Mary-at-Hill House, Eastcheap, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established previous to 1780 by Robert Jones and Mardall. Speciality: Fine Wines and Spirits. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 6426 Central. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Rota, London." Bankers: Robarts, Lubbock & Co.

TRUMAN, HANBURY, BUXTON & CO., Ltd., Brewers, Spitalfields, London, and Burton-on-Trent. Established about 1666, and in 1694 was owned by Joseph Truman, (sen.). Partnership Successions followed until 1889. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1889. Premises: London Brewery, Spitalfields, covering about eight acres. Depots in London suburbs and Branches in the Provinces. Brewery at Burton-onTrent. (For the employees, Sick and Death Benefit Clubs in London and Burton.) Specialities: London Ales and Stout, and Burton Ales; " Eagle " Ales and Stout in Bottles. Grand Prix, Brussels, 1910, for Ale and Stout, and Gold Medal, Liege, 1905, for Stout. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone No. 4470 Avenue (four lines). Telegraphic Address: " Brewery, London." Principal Bankers: (in London) Barclay & Co., Ltd.; also other Banks.

TRUSCOTT, JAS., & SON, Ltd., General and Fine Art Printers and Stationers, Lithographers, Account Book Makers, &c. Suffolk Lane, Cannon Street, London, E. C., and Dowgate Works, Tonbridge. Hours of Business: Day and night. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Sir George Wyatt Truscott, Bart. (Chairman), Henry Dexter Truscott, J.P., James Ralph Truscott, Cyril Alfred Truscott. Specialities: General and Fine Art Printers and Stationery, Lithography, Account Books, &c. Telephones: No. 4242 City (four lines) (night and day). Telegraphic Address: " Truscotts, London." Sir George Wyatt Truscott, Bart., Chairman of the Company, was Lord Mayor of London,1908-9; was elected Common Councilman (Dowgate Ward), 1882, and Alderman for same Ward, 1895, in succession to his father, the late Alderman Sir Francis Wyatt Truscott (Lord Mayor, 1879—S0; d. 1895); was Sheriff of London for the year 1902-3, and was Knighted during that term of office, and created a Baronet in 1909; is on the Commission of Lieutenancy of the City of London, and is a Member of the Courts of the Stationers', Haberdashers', Vintners', and Musicians' Companies; was Master of the Musicians' Company, 1908-9; Ma ster of the Haberdashers' Company, 1911-12; and Master of the Stationers' Company,1901-2; is Chairman of the Visiting Committee of the City of London Corporation Hospital for Mental Diseases, and a Governor of St. Bartholomew's, St. Thomas's, Bridewell and Bethlem Hospitals, and of Queen Anne's Bounty.

TRUSLOVE & HANSON, Ltd., Booksellers, Publishers and Stationers, 153, Oxford Street, W., GB, Sloane Street, and 1, Basil Street, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, close at. 1 p.m. Established in 1890 by Joseph Truslove. Joined in partnership in 1893 by Frank Hanson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: Joseph Truslove (Chairman and Managing Director), Frank Hanson (Managing Director), W. J. Barwick and Joseph Shaylor. Staff: Ninety. Specialities: Publishers of " Litchfield's Illustrated History of Furniture from the Earliest to the Present Time," " Litchfield's Pottery and Porcelain, a Guido to Collectors," Tounsend's "Embroidery," &c. Connection: United Kingdom (all parts), Foreign and Colonial. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to H.R.H. Princess Christian. Telephones: No. 6251 Gerrard (Oxford Street), No. 4428 Kensington (Sloane Street).

TUBBS, HISCOCKS & CO., Ltd., Warehousemen and Manufacturers, 16-22, Milton Street; 16 and 17, Chapel Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business:, 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1863 by Alfred Thomas Tubbs. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Directors Alfred Thomas Tubbs, Edwin Fulcher Hiscocks, Alfred Herbert Tubbs. Branch: 60, Great Western Arcade, Birmingham. Specialities: Manufacturers of Yarn, Beaver Reel Cottons, Grip Hose Supporters; also one of the best known houses for Haberdashery, Corsets, Underclothing, Hosiery, Shirts, Collars, Gloves, Ties, Handkerchiefs, Belts, Lace and Furs. Telephone: No. 3800 City (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Haberdashery, London."

TUBBS, LEWIS & CO., Elastic Manufacturers, 29 and 30, Noble Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1854 by H. 1'. Tubbs and Joseph Lewis. Present Principals: Henry Thomas Tubbs, J.P., and Stanley William Tubbs, J.P. Staff: 800. Specialities:" Tulewco " Mercerised Loom Elastic and Langford Stainless Loom Elastic. Manufacturers of Pins, Bone and Wood Knitting Pins and Crochet Hooks, and Fishing Lines. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 22 City (two lines), London. Telegraphic Address: Elastics, London." Code: A B C. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

TUCK (RAPHAEL) & SONS, Ltd., Fine Art and Book Publishers, Raphael House, Moorfields, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1866 by the late Raphael Tuck; joined in 1870 by three sons—Sir Adolph Tuck, Ba,rt., Gustave Tuck, Herman Tuck. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company, in which only the members of the firm and leading members of the staff had the privilege of taking shares. Incorporated as a Public Company.. Directors: Sir Adolph Tuck, Bart. (Chairman and Managing Director), Gustave Tuck, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Alfred Parsons, R.A., Desmond A. Tuck. Capital: £500,000, Preference and Ordinary Shares. Claim that the firm occupies an entirely unique po.ition in the Art world as Universal Providers for every form of Printed Art. Noted all over the world as the leading firm for the highest perfection in Art reproductions. Premises: Very handsome building, with lofty vestibule paved with mosaic, large central hall, grand staircase with marble dad.o of the ancient Greek green marble known as " Verde Antico," from the re-discovered quarries near Vole, Greece. The cap and plinth is of moulded " Breche Sanguine " red marble from the Numidian quarries near Oran, North Africa. Premises comprise all necessary offices, large show-rooms, and departments for the various branches of the business. Other premises: Milton House, Chiswell Street, 5, Fins-bury Street, and Ropemaker Street, E.C. Staff: In London average 600. Staff Club: Raphael House Athletic. Branches in Paris, Berlin, New York, Montreal, Direct Agencies in South Africa and South America. Specialities: Five thousand new designs of Christmas and New Year Cards annually. " A Royal Collection " of Christmas and New Year Cards, consisting of forty sets reproduced by special permission of the Royal personages for whom the originals are yearly produced, including the King and Queen, late Queen Victoria, German Emperor, and Empress, Emperor and Empress of Russia, King and Queen of Spain, King and Queen of Italy. Xmas Auto Stationery, Boxed Cards, English Hand-made Cards, Calendars and Block Calendars, including Art and Boudoir Panels; Books and Toy Books, Father Tuck's Annual, " Crystal Thoughts from tho Poets," " Golden Gift Series," " Fairy Tale-;," " Nursery Rhymes," " Alphabet3. " Natural Histories," " Paint Box " Series of Painting Books, Birthday Books, Tuck's Picture Post Cards; Oilette " Post Cards; the Sepia, the Gravure, the Photographic Post Cards, &c.; Tuck's Post Card Exchange Register. " Lag-Zaw," the Royal Picture Puzzle, Picture-Puzzle Post Cards, &c., &c. Birthday and Easter Post Cards, Scripture Text Cards, Menus and Programmes, Condolence and In Memoriam Cards, Engravings, Photogravures, Etchings, Colour Facsimiles, Coloured Prints, Studies for Copying and Framing, Floral, Bird, Landscape, Figure, Head, and Animal Studies; Artistic Stove Screens, Photographs, Photochromes, Oilettes, and Rapho types, &c. Toy Novelties. The 3 P Build-up Puzzles, &c. Picture Building A B C Art Novelties. Patents: Numerous, connected with the various departments. Trade-mark: " Easel and Palette." Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to the late Queen Victoria, the late King Edward, H.M. Queen Alexandra, T.M. King George V. and Queen Mary, H.I.M. The German Emperor. Telephones: Nos. 5040, 5041, 5042, and 1490 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Palette, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

TULLOCH & CO., Export Merchants and Agents, London House, Crutched Friars, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1885 by H. W. Tull och. Present Principals: A. 0. Wright and Ralph Ward. Premises: Cover 3300 feet. Staff: Thirty-nine (Head Office). Branches: Birmingham, Manchester, and Calcutta. Specialities: Cement, Metals, Hardware; Provisions and Sundries; Textiles and Yarns. Connection: India, China, and South America. Telephones: Nos. 1131 and 1132 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Target, Feii, London." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. (Fenchurch Street).

TUNKS & TISDALL, Ltd., Dairy Farmers, Holland Park Dairy Farm, Kensington, London, W. Hours of Business: 5 a.m. to 10 p.m.; Sundays, 5 a.m. to 2 p.m. Branches: Bedford and Kettering. Established about 1770 by George Tunks (grandfather of the Governing Director), continued by Elizabeth Tunks and Emma Tunks (daughters). The latter married Edmund C. Tisdall. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: Alfred Tisdall (son of above), Alfred Douglas Tisdall, John Benson (Managing Director). Premises: Originally started at a farm close to where the Albert Hall stands. Farmed the Holland Parks from 1851 to 1893. The present Dairy stands on the corner of the Front Park, the famous Holland House being to the north. Claim to be one of the very first to have their farms inspected from where the milk is obtained, both by Sanitary and Veterinary Inspectors; also that it is the only Dairy in London which the public are invited to inspect at any hour in the day. The present Dairy occupies all the ground between Melbury Road, Holland Park Road, and the High Road. The Stables are in the rear of 239, High Street, where the old cowsheds can still be seen. Branch Dairies: Kettering and Bedford. Specialities: Pasteurised Milk specially prepared. Guarantee that the- milk supplied contains 12 per cent. of solids, with at least 3 per cent. of fat. Pure milk in bottles or sealed, cans for the nursery and invalids, from farms under the supervision of the British Analytical Control. Certificates as to perfect purity constantly received, and visits paid to farms by Inspectors. All milk and cream guaranteed free from preservatives. Modified Humanised Milk bottled to order of medical men. The milk supply is now derived from farms in the Vale of Aylesbury, between Risboro and Oxford. All the travelling churns are sealed by the farmer and opened at the Dairy. Connection: London, within a radius of two miles from Dairy. Telephones: No. 2204 Western; Kettering, No. 461; Bedford, No. 751. Telegraphic Address . " Holland Farm, Kensington." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. The late Mr. Edmund C. Tisdall was well known as a breeder of good pure-bred Milking Shorthorns, and took many prizes at shows with animals bred on the firm's farms at Horton, Epsom, between 1870 and 1885. Mr. Alfred Tisdall (Chairman of the Company) is on the Council of the British Dairy Farmers' Association, and took up the Milk Separator after the Aylesbury Dairy Co. had exhibited it at the Kilburn Royal Show. He worked at it and made it a success. Was the first to work a specially-made Churn Elevator, and assisted in introducing other Dairy machinery. He was a member of the old Kensington Vestry from 1892, and has been a member of the present Council since its foundation. A Past Chairman of the Metropolitan Dairymen's Society.

TURNBULL (HENRY) & CO., Wholesale Clothiers, Mantle and Costume Manufacturers, 12, 14, and 16, Thomas Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1879 by Isaac Cobley (d. 1884), Henry Turnbull (d. 1888). Present Principals: Ann J. Stonehewer, Frederic Turnbull (executors of Henry Turnbull (d.)), and Walter Stonehewer. Staff: About 200. Branches: Nottingham, 2, Pepper Street; Sheffield, 176, Norfolk Street; Wigan, 22, Upper Dicconson Street. Business: Wholesale Bespoke Trade for Men, Youths, Juveniles, and Ladies. Connection: Home trade. Telephone: No. 6041 City, Manchester; No. 1243 Nottingham; No. 56x Sheffield; No. 323 Wigan.

TURNBULL & STOCKDALE, LIMITED, Cretonne and Linen and Textile Printers, Bleachers and Dyers, Rose Bank Print Works, Ramsbottom, Manchester. Established in 1881. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Premises: Print and Bleach Works as above; Edenwood Dye Works, Stubbins, near Mancheste.r. Branches: 33, Mosley Street, Manchester; 231, Oxford Street, London, W.; 50, Wellington Street, Glasgow; 12, Castlereagh Street, Sydney, N.S.W.; Via Carlo Alberto, 9 Bis, Turin. Staff Clubs: Cricket and Football. Specialities: Producers of Printed and Dyed Cotton and Linen Fabrics for decorative and upholstery purposes. Awards: Gold Medals and Highest Awards at leading Exhibitions. Connection: Worldwide. Telephones: No. 3 Rams-bottom; No. 2703 City, Manchester; No. 1709 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Rosobank, Ramsbottom "; " Texatur, London." Bankers: .The London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

TURNER (ALBERT) & SON, Timber Merchants, Lime and Cement Merchants, Tilers, and Slaters, and General Builders' Merchants, Goods Yard, London and North-Western Railway, Shepherd's Bush, London, W., with Branches. Hours of Business: All day. Established about 100 years ago. Present Principals: Albert Turner, Albert Turner (jun.), William Turner Riley, and Stanley Turner. Branches: Nutley, Sheffield Park,. Frant, Eridge, and Wadhurst (all in Sussex), Hawkhurst and Staplehurst in Kent. Midlands Branch: Wilford Road, Nottingham. Specialities: English Timber, Oak and Fir Fencing, Barge Timber, Wheelwright Goods, Slating and Tiling. Connection: United Kingdom. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, Royal Arsenal). Telephones: No. 71 Park (three lines), London; No. 6 (P.O.) Nutley; No. 3125 Nottingham.

TURNER (ARCHIBALD). & CO., LIMITED, Elastic Web Manufacturers (Wholesale only), Bow Bridge Works, Leicester. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1844 by Archibald Turner (d. 1876). Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1897. Premises: Extend over about two acres. Branches: London, Manchester, Glasgow, Belfast, Dublin, Paris, Hamburg, Copenhagen, Brussels, Milan, Madrid, Barcelona, Oporto, Valladolid, Lisbon. Agencies in all parts of the world. Specialities: Elastic Webs of every description. Fishing Line; Plaited Ligature Silk for Surgeons; Carriage Reps, &c. Awards: Paris, 1878; Vienna, 1873. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 254 (National), Leicester, Telegraphic Address: " Leo, Leicester." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Leicester).

TURNER, ATHERTON & CO., Ltd., Hatters' Machinists, Electrical Engineers, Felt Hat Body Makers, &c., Virginia Mills, Higher Hillgate, Stockport. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Amalgamated with purchase of American Branches; formerly two businesses, Giles Atherton, Stockport and John Turner, Denton. Directors: Giles Atherton, J.P. (Chairman), W. H. Atherton (Managing Director, Stockport), A. Turner (Managing Director, Denton ), Arnold Turner (Managing Director, Danbury), H. H. Turner (Managing Director, Newark, U.S.A.), W. E. Turner, G. D. Atherton. Capital, £175,000. Branches: Denton, near Manchester, Danbury, Connecticut, Newark, New Jersey, United States. Specialities: All kinds of Hatting Machinery, Electric Lifts; Felt Hat Bodies, Blowing and Forming of Fur for the trade. Patents: Most of the principal Machines in use in the Hat trade. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 13 (National) Stockport; No. 5 Denton. Telegraphic Addresses: " Machines, Denton "; " Atherton, Stockport." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Directory. Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd. Mr. Giles Atherton was Mayor of Stockport in 1896, 1897 and 1903.

TURNER BROTHERS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Asbestos Goods, Hair and Balata Beltings, Pipe and Boiler Coverings, Asbestos Roofings, &c., Rochdale. London Office: 120, Fenchurch Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: S. Turner, R. Turner, C. H. Turner, F. Turner, S. Turner (jun.) and H. R. Turner. Premises: Very extensive, well-equipped Works in Rochdale. Branches: Newcastle-on-Tyne, 4, Skinnerburn Road; Cardiff, East Canal Wharf, St. Mary Street; Glasgow, 68, Gordon Street. Specialities: " Permanite " Compressed Asbestos Fibre Jointing, " Codifex " Packings, " Lomoto " Packings, " Veelos " and No. 1 Balata Beltings, " Tower " and " Gripwell " Hair Beltings, Pipe and Boiler Coverings, " lEgis " Asbestos-Cement Slates and Sheets, " Firefly " Asbestos Roofings, &c. Registered Trade Mark: " Firefly." Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India. Office) and to Foreign Governments. Telephones: Rochdale, No. 941 (Private Branch Exchange; 3 P 2 London, No. 1376 Avenue; Newcastle, No. 1991 Central; Glasgow, No. 1298 Central; Cardiff, No. 1987. Telegraphic Address: " Turners, Rochdale." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Lieber's, Western Union, and Private.

TURNER, BYRNE & CO., Hay and Straw Merchants and Importers, 63, Cumberland Hay Market, N.W., King's Cross Goods Depot, G.N. Railway, London, N., and all Goods Depots of Railways. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1850 by Charles Turner. Present Principals: Samuel Chalkley and Ralph Walton Moore. Staff: Fifty (London). Specialities: Hay and Straw. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government. Royal Warrants: Special appointment to H.M. The King. Telephone: Nos. 632, 637, 630 Mayfair; No. 2332 North, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Hayknife, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Adam's, Lieber's. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

TURNER, E. R. & F. Ltd., Engineers, St. Peter's and Grey Friars' Works, Ipswich. London Office: 82, Mark Lane, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1837 by Henry Bond, Walton Turner, and George Hurwood, trading as Bond, Turner & Ilurwood. Partnership Successions: (1) Hurwood & Turner, 1847 to 1851; (2) E. R. Turner & Co., 1851 to 1853; (3) E. R. and F. Turner, 1853 to 1897. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: Fredk. Turner, J.P. (Chairman), Peirson Turner, Leonard Turner, Frederick W. Turner. Premises: The Works cover about six acres. Staff: About 600. Agencies all over the world. Specialities: Flour Milling .Machinery of every description, both for Roller and Stone systems; Wheat-Cleaning, Washing and Conditioning Machinery, Corn-Crushing and Fodder-Preparing Machinery of all kinds; Corn Grinding Mills of all descriptions; High-class Steam Engines and Boilers; Oil Engines, Inventors of TurnerHartnell Automatic Expansion Governor and Turner Pegg Positive Corliss Valve Gear for Steam Engines. the Turner Patent Wheat Drier and Conditioner, the Turner Patent Diagonal Four-Roller Mill, the Turner Patent Purifier for Semolina and Middlings, &c. Connection: United King dom, Foreign, Colonial (extensive). Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office). Telephone: No. 24 Ipswich. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Gippeswyk, Ipswich "; " Canvassers, London." Codes: A B C .(4th and 5th Editions); A 1; Lieber's; Private. Mr. Frederick Turner was Mayor of the Borough, 1890-1.

TURNER, G. R., Ltd., Manufacturers of Railway Rolling Stock and Colliery Engineers, Langley Mill, Nottingham. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12 noon. Established about 1869 by George Reynolds Turner. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Directors; S. C. Wardell (Chairman), N. V. C. Turner, J. Marshall. Premises: Extensive Wagon-Repairing Depots all over the country. Stall: About 800. Speciality: Steel-framed Bogie stock. Patents: Doors for Hopper Wagons. Connection: United Kingdom. Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 34 and 35 Langley Mill. Telegraphic Address: " Turner, Langley Mill." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (Nottingham).

TURNER (SAMUEL) & CO., Ltd., Dress Goods Manufacturers, Clod Mills, Spotland, Rochdale. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1859 by Samuel Turner & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1888. Directors: Samuel Turner, Robert Turner, C. H. Turner, Frank Turner, Samuel Turner (jun.), and H. R. Turner. Staff: 1200. Branches: London, 64, Aldermanbury, E.C.; Manchester, 99, Portland Street; Glasgow, 207, Ingram Street; Belfast, Textile Buildings, Linenhall Street. Speciality: Dress Goods, Shirtings in Wool and Cotton. Telephone: 302 Rochdale (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Spotland, Rochdale." Code: Lieber's. Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank, Ltd.

TURNER (THOMAS) & CO., Manufacturers of Crucible Steel, Saws, Files, Table and Pocket Cutlery, Scissors, Razors, Edge Tools and Electro-plate, Suffolk Works, Sheffield. London Showrooms: 56, Holborn Viaduct, E.C. Established in 1802 by Thomas Turner; succeeded by his son in partnership with other members of the family. Amalgamated with Wingfield, Rowbotham & Co. in 1898. Present Principals: A. J. Hobson, Wilfred Hobson. Staff: 800 workpeople and outside hands. Specialities: Sole manufacturers of Joseph Haywood & Co.'s celebrated " Kettle " Brand Pen and Pocket Knives; also Saws, Files, Table and Pocket Cutlery, Scissors, Razors, Edge Tools and Electro-plate. Trade-mark: " Encore," granted 1805. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial, Australia, Canada and South Africa chiefly. Contractors to H.M. Government ( Admiralty, War Office, India Office); also to the Crown Agents for the Colonies, and many Colonial and Foreign Governments. Royal Warrant: Cutlers to His Majesty King George V. Telephones: No. 1010 Sheffield; No. 5691 Holborn (London). Telegraphic Addresses: " Renrut, Sheffield "; " Rowbotham, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Mr. Thomas Turner was Master Cutler in 1871, and Mr. A. J. Hobson in 1902. The latter was Lord Mayor of Sheffield, 1911-12.

TURNER, WILLIAM, Wire Brush Manufacturer, Kingsland Road, Boxmoor. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1890 by William Turner. Present Principal: William Clark, who purchased the business in 1904. Specialities: Tube Brushes and Foundry Brushes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Kittool, Boxmoor." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd., Hemel Hempstead.

TURNER (WILLIAM) & CO., Gold and Silver Refiners, Bullion Dealers and Purchasers of Gold or Silver in any form, 73 to 79, Eyre Street, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1887 by William Turner and R. J. Brown. Present Principals: R. J. Brown, W. G. Turner and H. Turner. Premises: Cover 1400 square yards, modern Rolling Mill for precious metals only. Part of site formerly the Drill Hall of the Hallamshire Rifles. Business: Gold and Silver Refining, Dealing in Bullion, Purchase Gold or Silver in any form. Patent: Sterling Silver of unusual ductility. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 1496 Central, Sheffield. Telegraphic Address: " Return, Sheffield." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

TURNER (WILLIAM) & SON, Ltd., Manufacturers of Steel, Files, &c., Caledonia Works, Mowbray Street, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1845 by William Turner. Continued by (1) Turner & Walker; (2) Holland & Turner; (3) William Turner; (4) William Turner & Son. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Directors: George H. Dewsbery (Chairman and Managing Director), Lieut. - Col. G. E. Branson and .John Bassett. Staff: About 100; Clerks, 10; Managers, three. Staff Club: For Works. Specialities: " Impregnable " High Speed Steel, " Marvel " High Speed Files, Crucible and Warranted Cast Steel Files, Hand and Machine Cut, Crucible Cast Steel Forgings; Saws, Hammers, Cartridge Die Steel and Mining Steel, Best Crucible Cast Steel and Special Steels for all purposes. Engineers"cools, Hammers, Saws, &c., and General Merchants. Award: Diploma of Honour, National Workmen's Exhibition, 1893. Connection: World-wide. Chiefly in South America, Cuba, Philippine Islands, India, Mexico, &c. Contractors to H.N. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office), Foreign Governments, and to British and Foreign Railways. Telephone: No. 657 Sheffield. Telegraphic Address: " Caledonia, Sheffield." Cable Address: " Santag, Sheffield." Codes: A 1, Engineering, A B C (2nd Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. George H. Dewsbery is Consul for Chile in Sheffield.

TURNER (W.), LORD & CO.—See LORD (W. TURNER) & CO.

TURNER (WRIGHT) & SON, Ltd., Cotton Spinners and Doublers, Kingston Mills and Trafford Mills, Pendleton. Hours of Business: Mills, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Offices, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1850 by Wright Turner (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Directors . W. V. Hamilton (Chairman), George Perry (Managing Director), P. W. Turner. Secretary: George R. Mackrell. Premises: Extensive Mills, equipped with modern appliances. Stag: About 700. Business: Cotton Spinners and Doublers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty). Telephone: No. 505 City (Manchester). Telegraphic Address . " Riturner, Manchester." Codes: A B C and Lieber's. Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd.

TURNERS & MANVILLE, Ltd., Asbestos Mine Owners and Merchants, Manufacturers of Electrical Specialities. Registered Office: Spotland, Rochdale. London office: Hopetoun House, 5, Lloyd's Avenue, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Managing Director: Samuel Turner (jun.). The Company holds the agency for the Asbestos and Asbestic Co., Ltd., Danville Mine, Canada. Took over the business of the British Johns-Manville Co., Ltd., and of the London branch of the H. W. Johns-Manville Co., of New York. Branches: Throughout the United Kingdom and all over the world. Specialities: Canadian, Russian, and South African Asbestos, Crude and Fibres; " Noark " Enclosed Fuses, House Service Boxes, Tramcar Equipment, Moulded Mica, Trolley Line Insulators, Electric Heaters, Vulcabeston, Moulded and Sheet Insulation, Insulating Tapes, Porcelain Insulators for high-tension transmission, " Transite " Fireproof Boards and " Sindanyo Asbestos Wood. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1458 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Vulbeston, London." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd. (Cornhill, E.C.).

TURNEY BROTHERS, Ltd., Light Leather Manufacturers, Trent Bridge Leather Works, Nottingham. London Office: Brighton Chambers, Denman Street, London Bridge, S.E. Hours of Business: Office: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works, 6.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1863 by John Turney and Edward Turney. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1888. Present Directors: Sir John Turney (Managing Director), A. W. Black, M.P., Joseph T. Wood, John Mycroft. Premises: Cover Sneinton Island; area about three acres, equipped with all up-to-date appliances. Stall: About 500. Stall Clubs: Cricket, &c. Branches: Leicester, Belvoir Street; London, Brighton Chambers, Denman Street, London Bridge, S.E.; Manchester, 6, Paton Street, Piccadilly. Specialities: Crust Sumac Skivers for Hatters, Bookbinders, and Fancy Leather Manufacturers; Crust Chamois, Sod Oil; also Coloured and Finished Sheep, Calf, and Goat in all varieties. Chrome Sheep for motor clothing, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 2974/5 (two lines) Nottingham; London, No. 6902 Central. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Turney, Nottingham." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions) and Lieber's. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Sir John Turney was Sheriff of Nottingham, 18781879; Mayor 1886-1887 and 1888; Knighted 1889. He is a Magistrate for the County and City of Nottingham, Alderman and Member for the town for the last forty years; Chairman of the Clifton Colliery Company, Chairman Murray Brothers & Co., Ltd., Chairman Walsall Glue Co., Ltd., Chairman South London Cleaning Co., Ltd., Chairman Digby Colliery Co.' Ltd., Local Director of the Alliance Assurance Co., Ltd., President of the Light Leather Federation of the United Kingdom. Mr. J. T. Wood is Chairman of the British Section of the International Association of Leather Trades' Chemists, and is Examiner in Leather Dressing, &c., to the City and Guilds of London Institute. Was Chairman of the Nottingham section of the Society of Chemical Industry, 1903-5. Member of the Leather Industries Committee of the University of Leeds.

TURNEY, W. J., & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Crust Skivers, Crust and Finished Chamois and Parchment, 18, The Grange, Bermondsey, London, S.E. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1865 by William J. Turney (d.). Succeeded by Henry Turney (d.), Randle L. Mathews, J.P., William A. Holmes. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1906. Managing Director: William A. Holmes. Premises: Very extensive works at Stourbridge, covering an area of four acres. Agencies: New York, Vienna, Rotterdam, and Glasgow. Business: Specialists in and Manufacturers of Crust Skivers, Crust Chamois, Finished Chamois, Parchment, Glue, Sizepowder, White Skin Grease and Sod Oil. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 18 Stourbridge; No. 1624Hop, London. Telegraphic Address: " Turney, Stourbridge." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

TURTLE, L. H., Ltd., Tool Specialists, Cutlery Manufacturers and Furnishing and Builders' Ironmongers, Crown Hill Works, and 53, North End, Croydon; Cutlery Works, Arundel Street, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 8.30 p.m.; Wednesdays, close at 1 p.m.; Saturdays, 10.30 p.m. Established originally about forty years ago by Thomas Lindsley, a saw manufacturer; about twenty years ago by Louis Henry Turtle, the present principal. Previously connected with Sheffield Manufacturers for twenty years, when he managed and travelled for one of the leading houses. Premises: Chief building at Crown Hill, covering 190 feet long. Have two complete grinding and repairing plants in Croydon. Staff: Eighteen. Business: Specialists in Tools for all trades, with expert knowledge of manufacture both English, American and Continental. Sole Agents for BassettLowke Scale Model Locos, and " Hobbies " Specialities. Patent: Corner Cramp for Framing Pictures, &c. Connection: Local chiefly. Have customers an India. Supplied Tools to the Maharajah of Mysore, The Bahamas, Canada, United States, &c. Contractor to Croydon Education Committee, Surrey Education Committee, Crystal Palace Engineering Schools, &c. Telephone: No. 1341 (two lines), Croydon. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Turtle, Cutler, Croydon." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. Mr. Turtle is a member of the Council of the County Borough of Croydon and represents the Central Ward, President of the Croydon Chamber of Commerce, and local Hon. Secretary to the Ironmongers Federated Association Incorporated. Registered Trade Mark; " L. H. Turtle," granted by the Sheffield Cutlers' Company.

TURTON BROTHERS & MATTHEWS, Ltd., Steel, File and Spring Works, Sheffield. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: Wilfred A. Matthews (Chairman), Denis Conway Wightman, Ronald W. Matthews (Managing Directors), Major Durham S. Matthews. Specialities: Tool Steel of all kinds; Files, Railway Springs, and Shear Blades. Patents: Several. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty).

TURTON (GEORGE), PLATTS & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Railway Buffers, Springs, Drawgear, &c. Registered Offices: Savile Street, Sheffield. London Office: 110, Cannon Street, E.C. Hours of Business: Works, 7 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon; Offices, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1882 by George Turton, joined by William Platts in 1891 (dissolved ] 894). Continued by William Platts (d. 1908). Purchased in 1910 by George H. Cowen, M.I.Mech.E. Incorporated as a private Limited Company. Directors: G. H. Cowen (Managing Director), W. MeKinnel, G. E. Griffith and F. M. Osborn. Secretary: W. H. Simmons. Premises: Workshops on both sides of the River Don, the two portions being connected by an iron bridge of 110 feet span. Agencies: Glasgow, Newcastle-on-Tyne, Cardiff, Manchester, Birmingham, Australasia, India, Mexico, &c. Specialities: Railway Buffers for Locos., Carriages and Wagons on Platts-Turton Patent and Matthews' Patent, also ordinary Buffers of all kinds. Spiral and Volute Springs of all sizes up to fifty tons resistance. PlattsTurton Patent Ribbed Section Volute Springs, Cowen's Patent Equal Temper Spiral Springs, Rees & Moreton's Patent Flexible Drawgear, Stuarts' Patent Lock-fast Rail Key, Eros Ventilators for Railway Carriages, &c. Their trade mark is well known. Awards: Gold Medals, Melbourne, 1880, 1881, for Turton's Original Buffer and Draw Bar Cradle; Glasgow and Inventions Exhibition, Lon- don, 1885, for Turton's Slack-gathering Coupling Buffer. Connection: Worldwide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office), also to British, Indian, South American, South African, Australian, Japanese, Chinese and other Railways. Telephones: Nos. 1370 and 1667 Sheffield. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses " Buffer, Sheffield "; " Coupler, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Sheffield Banking Co., Ltd. (Sheffield).

TWIBELL, J. W. B., Stone Merchant, City Works, Thornes Lane, Wakefield. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Works, 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1909 by J. W. B. Twibell, the present principal. Specialities: Grindstones, Rubstones, Scythestones and Grit Stones for all purposes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Twibell, Wakefield." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

TWIGGE & BUTTERS, Dried Fruit and Rice Merchants, 19 to 23, Stanley Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Winter, 8 a.m.; summer, 9 a.m.; close various times. Established in 1872 by Jno. Twigge and W. B. Butters, J.P. Specialities: Greek, Smyrna, and Spanish Fruits; also Rice of all kinds, and Tapioca. Connection: Trade through travellers and agents in most parts of United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 5367 Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Fruit, Liverpool."

TWINING, R., & CO., Ltd., Tea and Coffee Merchants, 216, Strand, London, W.C., and 9, Mincing Lane, E.C.; Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1710 by Thomas Twining. Incorporated as a Company in 1904. Directors: A. J. Tweed (Chairman), C. T. Sidgwick, Harvey Twining and C. T. Donaldson. Branches: (Outside London) Liverpool, and 76, Boulevard Haussmann, and 83, Avenue Niel, Paris. Connection: Throughout the United Kingdom, Foreign, and in the Colonies. Purveyors to most of the leading hotels and railways in United Kingdom. Royal Warrants: To His late Majesty King Edward, H.M. King George V., H.M. Queen Alexandra, H.I.M. tho German Emperor, H.M. the King of Italy, H.M. the King of Spain, H.M. the King of Sweden, H.M. the King of the HeHones, and H.R.H. the Duke of Saxe Coburg and Gotha. Have been Royal Warrant Holders to the Court of St. James's since 1837. Telephones: No. 130 Gerrard (two lines); No. 272 Avenue; No. 8108 Central for Liverpool; Nos. 240-93 for Paris. Telegraphic Address: " Twinings, London."

TWO STEEPLES, LIMITED, Manufacturers of Underwear and Hosiery, Wigston, near Leicester. Hours of Business 7.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 7.30 a.m. to 12 noon. Established by E. W. Lee and T. H. Glenn. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Directors: Edward Lee, Arthur T. A. Lee, George F. Lee. Claim to have been the first to make an underwear of pure wool that was actually unshrinkable and not merely described as such, which they succeeded in producing after careful experimenting in 1895. The name of " Two Steeples," given to this, was registered, and has become generally known. Premises: Factory at Wigston covering several acres; Warehouse, three floors, 1, Fell Street, London. Branch Office: Extensive Suite, 28, Faulkner Street, Manchester. Stall Club: " Two Steeples " Cricket and Tennis at Wigston. Specialities: Unshrinkable Pure Wool Underwear, Trustworthy Underwear, Old, English Flannels, &c., made up into Garments as the " Air Fabric " Cotton Underwear and " Two Steeples " Hosiery, Children's Jerseys and Underwear. Con nection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 2 Wigston; No. 6158 London Wall (two lines); No. 2625 City, Manchester. Tele graphic Address: " Steeples," 'Wigs-ton and London. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

TWYFORDS, LIMITED, Sanitary Potters and Engineers, Cliffe Vale Potteries and Enamelled Fireclay Works, Hanley, Staffs. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established about 1850 by Thomas Twyford. Succeeded by Thomas W. Twyford, J.P., D.L., in 1885. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: Thomas W. Twyford;LP., D.L. (Chairman and Managing Director), Harold Twyford, and J. T. Webster. The Chairman is a direct descendant of Joshua Twyford, Potter, of Shelton, near Stoke-on-Trent, who died 1729, and was Churchwarden of Stoke Church in 1684. Premises: Potteries cover a large site, situated in a most favourable position, with the railway and canal on either side. Branches: Showrooms, London, 120, Southampton Row, Russell Square, W.C.; Glasgow, 95, Bath Street; Montreal, 310, University Street; Vancouver, 325, Howe Street. Also Showrooms and Agencies in all the principal cities of Europe and the Colonies. Business: Sanitary Potters and Engineers. Patents: Numerous in connection with Sanitary Appliances. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Hanley, No. 1412 (two lines); London, No. 1500 Gerrard. Telegraphic Addresses: " Twyfords, Hanley "; " Twicliffe, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), and Lieber's. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

TYDEMAN (H. LIONEL) & CO., Engineers, Merchants and Exporters, 43, Aldwych, London, W.C. Hours of Busi• ness: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1905 by H. Lionel Tydeman, the present principal. Specialities: In Engineering, " Grampian " Marine Motors and Outfits, " Velox " high pressure Steam Disinfectors. Connection: Home and abroad. Telephone: No. 2967 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Indusineer, Estrand, London." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd., National Bank of India, Ltd.

TYLER (WALTER), Ltd., Opticians and Lantern Manufacturers. Registered Offices: No. 11, Charing Cross Road, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1876 by. Walter Tyler. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1905. Directors: T. H. Palmer, H. R. Bishop, Edgar H. Bishop, L. C. Bishop, and R. Collier, J. C. Squier. Proprietors of the Tyler Apparatus Company, Ltd. (now formed into a separate Company), carrying on business at the same address, manufacturing and dealing in all kinds of Optical Lanterns and Cinematograph Machines, and every Appliance for Electric Theatres; also Photographic Studio, making Lantern Slides, and Lighting Effects. New additional premises taken in 1909 at the Film House, Gerrard Street, W., where attention is devoted to the publishing of new Cinematograph Film Subjects from the best Continental Manufactories. This brancla hss since been formed into a separate Limi'ed Company under the style of the Tyler Film Co., Ltd. Also control other Film Companies. Connection: World - wide. Telephones: No. 9997 Gerrard; No. 8579 Central. Telegraphic Addresses: " Walter Tyler, London "; " Tyfilm, London "; " Tylematco, London."

TYLOR, J., & SONS, Ltd., Hydraulic and Sanitary Engineers, Iron and Brass Founders, Belle Isle, King's Cross, London, N.; and Showrooms, *232, Tottenham Court Road, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established about 1768. The business, which is one of the oldest of its kind in the City of London, was incorporated as a Limited Company on 10th May, 1898. Directors: Philip Bright (Chairman), R. Tylor, J. S. Maples, and T. Allsop. Secretary: W. L. Self. Branches: 13, Bridge Street, Sydney, N.S.W., and:339, Smith Street, Durban, Natal. Specialities: Fittings and Appliances for water supply and drainage; Sanitary Appliances generally; Water Waste Preventing Fittings; Patent Water Meters; Fire Valves, Hydrants, Sluice Valves, &c.; Pumps and Appliances for raising and distributing water; Petrol Motors and access oriel. Telephone: No. 3582 North. Telegraphic Address: " Tylosis, Camroad, London." ('odes: A B C (5th Edition) and Imperial Combination.

TYNE METAL COMPANY LIMITED, Ironfounders, &c., Skinnerburn Road, Newc&stle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1895 by Chas. E. Watson, Edw. Taylor, Swainson T. Taylor, Wm. J. Ogle, Ralph W. Raine, and Geo. E. Squire. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: William H. Scott (Chairman), Chas. E. Watson (Managing Director), Swainson T. Taylor, Ralph W. Raine, J.P., Roger Harris, Edward Taylor, and Thos. J. Watson, M.I.Mech.E., Sidney F. Squire, Secretary. Speciality: Sole manufacturers of " Tyne Metal "; patentees and makers of Centre Bollard for Steam Trawlers; makers of Patent Self-oiling Sheaves. Sole makers of Tyne Metal " Brake Blocks for Tramcars. Patents: Centre Bollard (three and four sheaves); Self-oiling Sheave for conveying wire rope; Steel-back Brake Block for Tramcars. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial; Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty) since 1905, for the supply of Dredger parts. Telephone: Central 2943 Newcastle-on-Tyne. Telegraphic Address: " Floating, Newcastle-on-Tyne." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. Ralph W. Raine is a Justice of the Peace. Mr. Swainson T. Taylor is a Town Councillor of Newcastle-on-Tyne.

TYNE-TEES STEAM SHIPPING CO., Ltd., Steamship Owners. Registered Office: 25, King Street, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1864 by the Tyne Steam Shipping Co., Ltd. Amalgamated in 1903 with the Tees Union Shipping Co., Furness, Withy & Co., Ltd. (Coasting, Trade). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Directors: Sir William H. Stephenson, Kt. (Chairman), Sir S. W. Furness, Bart., M.P. (Vice-Chairman), Richard Welford, W. B. Van Haansbergen, C. E. Pease, R. J. Thompson, T. L. Kirk, R. Milbank° Hudson. Branches: Free Trade Wharf, London, and at Middlesbro', Stockton, Hartlepool, Scarborough, Sunderland. Business: Steamships trading from Newcastle to London, Hamburg, Rotterdam, Antwerp and Ghent, and from Middlesbro', Stockton, Hartlepool, and Scarborough to London, also Sunderland to London. Connection: As above. Telephones: Nos. 3097, 3098, 3099, and 3100 (4 lines) (National), Newcastle-on-Tyne. Telegraphic Address: " Welford, Newcastle." Bankers: North-Eastern Banking Co., Ltd.

TYRER (THOMAS) & CO., Ltd., Stirling Chemical Works, Canning Road, Stratford, London, E. Hours of Business: Works, 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 6.30 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. Established by Messrs. Dunn & Co. in 1844. Taken over by Thomas Tyrer in 1890 (Dunn & Co. retiring from business). Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1898. Directors: A. Gordon Sa,lamon (Chairman), F. W. A. Luboldt, R. E. P. Grosscurth, Thos. Tyrer, F.I.C., F.C.S. (Managing Director). Premises cover one and a half acres. Specialities: Acid Phosphoric, Bismuths, Ethers, Hypophosphites, Mercurials; " Sterling " Brand Antifouling Preparations; Siccatives; Photographic and Analytical Chemicals. Reputed for their chemical products. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3729 Eastern (two lines). Telegraphic Address: "Tyrer, Stratford, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. (Lombard Branch). Mr. Tyrer was President of the Society of Chemical Industry, and is now Honorary Treasurer of same; has held the office of Chairman of the Chemical Section of the London Chamber of Commerce, and continues a member of its Council; is also a member of the Chemical Society, of the Institute of Chemistry; was President of the British Pharmaceutical Conference for 1906-7.

TYZACK (SAMUEL) & CO., Ltd., Iron and Steel Manufacturers, Monkwearmouth Iron and Steel Works, Fulwell Road, Sunderland. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1857 by Samuel Tyzack, Wm. Thackray, and John T. Bell. Joined by Wm. Thackray (junior) and W. G. C. Wylde. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1889. Directors Frank Stobart (Chairman), R. A. Bartram, Alfred Dickinson, Wm. Thackray (Managing Director), W. G. C. Wyide (Director and Secretary). Premises: Very extensive, covering twelve acres, highly equipped. Stall: Between 400 and 500. Specialities: Shipbuilding Material and Bars and Rivets. Patent: For Ship's Bulwark-rails and Hatch-rests. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 12 (National), Sunderland. Telegraphic Address: " Tyzack, Sunderland." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited:

TYZACK, W., SONS, & TURNER, Ltd., Manufacturers of Steel, Files, Saws and Agricultural Knives, &c., Little London Works, Heeley, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1812 by William Tyzack. Continued by (1) William Tyzack & Son; (2) William Tyzack, Sons & Turner; (3) Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Frederick Tyzack (Chairman); Stuart Tyzack and William Tyzack (Managing Directors). Premises: Works cover seven and a half acres. Staff: Over 500 (with strong Rifle Club). Specialities: Scythes, Saws, Files and Agricultural Knives. Awards: Gold Medals, Melbourne Exhibitions, 1881 and 1888. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 366 Sharrow (three lines). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Tyzack, Sheffield." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Al, Lieber's; Western Union, Broomhall's International Mercantile. The Directors are members of the Chamber of Commerce and the Iron and Steel Institute.

See Also

Loading...

Sources of Information