Grace's Guide

British Industrial History

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 148,404 pages of information and 233,863 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

1914 Who's Who in Business: Company K

From Graces Guide

Jump to: navigation, search
Im1914WWB-p546b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p547a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p547b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p548a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p548b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p549a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p549b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p550a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p550b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p551a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p551b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p552a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p552b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p553a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p553b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p554a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p554b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p555a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p555b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p556a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p556b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p557a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p557b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p558a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p558b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p559a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p559b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p560a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p560b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p561a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p561b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p562a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p562b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p563a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p563b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p564a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p564b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p565a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p565b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p566a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p566b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p567a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p567b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p568a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p568b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p569a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p569b.jpg


Note: This is a sub-section of 1914 Who's Who in Business

KAHLA, E., & CO., Shippers, 28, Oxford Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.45 a.m. to 6.15 p.m. Established in 1876 by Joseph Kahla as J. Kahla & Co. Joined in 1883 by Elias Kahla. Title altered to J. & E. Kahla in 1896. Present Principal: Elias Kahla. Staff: Twenty. Business: Chiefly Shipping of Merchandise. Connection: Levant, Egypt, South America, including Brazil, British and Foreign West Indies, Central America, West Coast of Africa and the Colonies. Telephone: No. 3225 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address " Kahla, Manchester." Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd., Manchester. Mr. Elias Kahla is Vice-Consul of the Dominican Republic. Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Lieber's and Private.

KAMM, L., & CO., Electrical Engineers, Kinematograph Makers, 27, Powell Street, Goswell Road, Lond6n, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1892 by Leo Kamm, C.E., M.R.I., the present principal. Specialities: Kinematograph Apparatus, Oxygen Generators, Acetylene Generators, Optical Lanterns and Searchlights. Patents: About fifteen on Kinematographs and numerous other on other specialities. Awards: Diploma of Honour, International Kinematograph Exhibition, London, 1913; Gold Medal, Ghent Exhibition, 1913, for Kinematographs. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government and to Foreign Governments. Telephone: No. 8281 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Zerograph 'sling, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

KARN-MORRIS PIANO AND ORGAN CO., Ltd. (THE), Manufacturers of Organs, Pianos, and Player-Pianos (" Pianauto "), 3, Newman Street, Oxford Street, London, W. Factories: Woodstock, Ont., and Listowel, Canada. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in Canada in 1867 by D. W. Karn and in 1886 in London. Incorporated in Canada as a Limited Company. President: William Rutherford Tudhope. Claim to be the largest manufacturer; of Pipe and Reed Organs, Pianos, and Players in Canada. Staff: Upwards of 400. Branches: London, as above; Great Theatre Strasse 34, Hamburg, Germany. Agencies: Throughout the United Kingdom, the Colonies, and abroad. Specialities: Pipe Organs, Reed Organs with Grand Auxiliary Pipes and Qualifying Tubes, Pianos, " Pianauto " Player - Pianos. Telephone: No. 5634 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Klaviere, Ox, London."

KATZ BROTHERS, Ltd., Merchants, 49, Lime Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1864 at Singapore by the late Hermann Katz. Incorporated as a Colonial Limited Company in 1897. London Managing Director: K. Kirchberger. Large Stores at Singapore. Branches: Penang, Bangkok, London, Frankforton-Main. Business: General East India Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 656 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Hakatz, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. The firm are American Consular Agents at Penang.

KAY BROTHERS, Ltd., Manufacturing Chemists, St. Petersgate Mills, Stockport. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1786 by Olive Sims. Partnership Successions: (1) Sims and Shaw; (2) A. H. Shaw; (3) Hornby and Sons; (4) S. & T. Kay; (5) Kay Brothers. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1887. Directors: Samuel Kay, Thomas Kay, S. Vernon Kay, George A. Shaw, and Edward Hardcastle. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Staff: About 200. Specialities: Many of world-famed reputation. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, and throughout Europe, Asia, and Africa. Royal Warrants: Samuel Kay and Thomas Kay held a Special Appointment to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria, 1884, as Chemists and Druggists in Stockport. Telephone: No. 247 Stockport. Telegraphic Address: " Kay, Stockport."

KAYE & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Portland Cement and Blue Lias, Hydraulic Lime, Southam Works, Rugby. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1854 by William Oldham. Taken over by Kaye & Co. in 1870. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1880. Directors: L. ListerKaye (Chairman and Managing Director), J. H. T. Langley (Assistant Manager), Henry Roberts, W. H. Murphy-Grimshaw, A. H. Hulton. Specialities: Portland Cement, and Blue Lias Hydraulic Lime. Telephone: No. 2 Southam. Telegraphic Address: " Kaye, Southam." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Southam).

KAYE (JOSEPH) & SONS, Twine Manufacturers and Hemp Yarn Spinners, Nortonthorpe, near Huddersfield. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 5.40 p.m. Established • in 1869 by Joseph Kaye. Continued by (1) Joseph Kaye, Joseph Parker Kaye and Henry Kaye, (2) Joseph Parker Kaye and Henry Kaye, (3) Henry Kaye. Present Principal: Wilford IL Kaye. Premises: Situated in a valley with good railway accommodation in the centre of coalfields and excellent water supply. Staff: Fifty. Branches: Huddersfield, 26, Market Street; Sheffield, 10, Howard Street. Specialities: All kinds of Twines, Bleached, Dyed or Grey, Russian and Italian Hemp, Yarns. Patent: Twine Holders for crosswound tubes. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 7 Skelmanthorpe; No. 476 Huddersfield; No. 670 Sheffield.

KAYE & STEWART, Worsted and Woollen. Manufacturers, Broadfield Mills, Huddersfield, and 4, New Burlington Street, London, W. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1886 by J. H. Kaye and H. A. Crowther (retired 1896), as Kaye & Crowther. Present Principals: J. H. Kaye, J.P., and John Stewart (since 1896). Premises: Extensive fully equipped Mills. Staff: 1100 operatives. Specialities: Fine Worsted Goods for Men's Wear. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1020 and 1021 Huddersfield; No. 1745 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Broadfield, Huddersfield " '• " Cassimere, London." Code: ABC. Bankers: West Yorkshire Bank, Ltd. Mr. Kaye is a Justice of the Peace, President of. the Huddersfield Chamber of Commerce, and a Director of the West Yorkshire Bank, Ltd.

KAYSER, ELLISON & CO., Ltd., Steel Manufacturers, Iron Converters, Steel Smelters, Rollers, Forgers, Tilters, Wire Rollers and Wire Drawers, File and Tool Makers, Carlisle Steel Works, Sheffield, London Office: 21, Lime Street, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1825. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Directors: Chas. Wm. Kayser (Chairman and Managing Director), J. Kayser and Th. Zeitz (Assistant Managing Directors), B. C. Davis, and 2 N 2 Frank Kayser. Secretary: H. L. Rust. Branches: London, Boston (U.S.A.), Dusseldorf, St. Petersburg. Specialities: Diamond Cutter Steel, High-speed Turning Tool Steel, Silver Steel, and Silver Steel Wire, Chrome Steel, Nickel Steel, Motor Steels, and others. Registered Trade-mark: A Padlock. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government and to Foreign Governments. Telephone: No. 150 Sheffield (Private Exchange). Telegraphic Address: " Kayser, Sheffield."

KAYSER (JULIUS) & CO., Ltd., Wine Growers and Shippers, London House, Crutched Friars, London, E.C., and TrabenTrarbach o/Moselle, Germany. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. (usually). Incorporated as a Pfivate Limited Company. Managing Director: M. Seiflow. Premises: Very extensive Cellars and Offices at Traben-Trarbach and Cellars at Shipwrights Yard, Tooley Street, S.E. Business: Growers and Shippers of German Wines. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 434 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Auslese, Fen, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

KEARLEY & TONGE, Ltd., Tea and Produce Merchants, Mitre Square, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Directors: G. A. Tonge (Chairman), H. Evans. Premises: Very extensive. Tea, Duty Paid, and Bonded Warehouses at Mitre Square, E.C.; General Produce, Durward Street, E.; Bacon Stoves, Fulbourne Street, E. Bakery and Confectionery, Bethnal Green, E. Staff: 4000. Branches: Calcutta, Colombo, Specialities: Ceylindo Tea, Mitre Brand of Food Products. Awards: Medals, South Africa 1898 and 1904. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1635 Avenue, London (12 Lines). Telegraphic Address: " Amgoorie, London." Codes: A 1, A B C (4th and 5th Editions), J. K. Armsby, Riverside, Western Union. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Lombard Street); Capital and Counties Bank (Threadneedle Street); Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Lombard Street); London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. ( Fenchurch Street); Bank of New Zealand, and (Colonial).

KEARSLEY & CUNNINGHAM, Cotton Brokers, 36, Exchange Street East, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1810 by John Kearsley, as Kearsley, Muller & Co. Tn 1816 style changed to Kearsley & Bower. About 1820 the firm became John Kearsley & Son, and in 1848 Kearsley & Hadwen. Afterwards Samuel Kearsley & Co., until 1861, when present style was adopted. Present Principals: Walter Cunningham, J. A. Flamank (since 1901), and R. T. Cunningham (since 1903). Business: Cotton Brokers. Telephones: Nos. 765 and 61 (Central), Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Kearsley, Liverpool."

KEARSLEY (ROBERT) & CO., Ltd., Varnish and Colour Manufacturers, Ripon. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1837. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Directors: G. A. Roberts (Chairman), Cecil Bickersteth, W. H. Kearsley and S. N. Griffiths. Premises: Extensive Works covering five acres. London Offices: Central House, Kingsway, W.C. Branches: 1, Broad Street Place, E.C.; and 129, Curtain Road, London, E.C. Agencies: Everywhere. Specialities: Railway and Decorative Varnishes and White Enamel. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 5 Ripon; No. 4092 Regent, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Kearsley, Ripon "; " Arkalac, Westeent, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

KEEBLE, W. N. P., & CO., Wholesale Mantle and Costume Manufacturers, 3, Cross Key Square, Little Britain, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1882 by Walter N. P. Keeble. Present. Principals: Walter N. P. Keeble, Alfred J. Barham, and Kenneth G. Keeble. From a small beginning is now one of the leading wholesale manufacturers. Premises: Warehouse of six floors, and other premises adjoining. Staff: Sixty, and outdoor workers. Specialities: Exclusively wholesale medium-class trade for the million. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 13618 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Interesting, Cent, London." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. (St. Martins le Grand).

KEEN, ROBINSON & CO., Ltd., Mustard Manufacturers, Denmark Street, St. George Street, London, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1742 by Thomas Keen, and in 1764 by Matthias Robinson. Keen & Son amalgamated with Robinson & Co., in 1862, and with J. & J. Colman, Ltd., London and Norwich in 1903. In 1900 Keen, Robinson & Co. absorbed the old established firm of mustard makers, Finch, Rickmar & Co., of Staines. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Chairman: Frank A. Belville. Managing Director: Thomas Balls. Claim that the Mustard Manufactory of Keen & Son at Garlick Hill was the oldest manufacturing premises in the City of London. First house in the trade to reduce the hours of labour. Specialities: Keen's Mustard and Blue, and Robinson's " Patent " Groats and Barley. Awards: Sixty Gold Medals at British, Foreign and Colonial Exhibitions. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrants: Have held special appointments to Royalty since 1833. First Warrant was signed by The Great Duke of Wellington. Telephone: No. 12334 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Keen-Tower, London."

KEET, CHARLES H., General Produce Broker and Commission Merchant, F22, Exchange Buildings, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1878 by Charles H. Keet, the present principal. Specialities: Minerals (Barytes), Lead and Zinc Products, Cutch, Chemicals, Oils, Seeds, Fibres, &c. Con- nection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty). Telephone: No. 5285 (Central ), Lip erpool. Telegraphic Address: " Keet, Exchange Buildings, Liverpool." Banher8: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd.

KEGAN PAUL, TRENCH, TRUBNER & CO., Ltd., Publishers, Booksellers, 6874, and 42-44. Carter Lane, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established: The firm of Kegan Paul, Trench & Co., successors to H. S. King & Co., of the publishing branch, was founded in 1871. The firm of Triibner & Co. was established in 1852. Incorporated as a Company in 1889. Specialities: Scientific Works, Catholic Theology, Works of Reference, Belles Lettres, and Oriental Books. The firm are agents for Public Libraries throughout the world, and are also agents for several Governments. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 5730 Bank. Telegraphic Address: " Columnae, London."

KEIGHLEY, E. ERNEST, & CO., Ltd., Seed Crushers, and Cattle-feeding Cakes and Meal Manufacturers, Yorkshire Cake Mills, Hull. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1883 by Edward Keighley, Taken over by E. Ernest Keighley (son) in 1892. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: F. E. Wilkinson (Chairman), Geo. Minns, W. W. Bulay, F. Keighley, E. Ernest Keighley (Managing Director). Specialities: Compound Cakes. The " Yorkshire " Oil and Treacle Cakes, the " Yorkshire " Lamb and Horse Foods, the " Yorkshire " Cow Meal, Calf Meal, and Spice, the " Empress " Cakes and Calf Meal, the 25% Soya Bean Compound Feeding Cakes and Meals, the " Dublewat " Foods for Beasts, Sheep, Pigs, and Horses. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 673. Telegraphic Address: " Elk, Hull." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

KEIGHLEY GAS & OIL ENGINE CO., Ltd., Makers of Gas, Oil and Spirit Engines and Suction Gas Plants, Imperial Works, Keighley. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.45 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Present Directors: Robert Clough, Arthur Chown, James McNish. Secretary: John Brook. Speciality: The manufacture of " Imperial " Engines (Horizontal and Vertical, Gas, Oil, and Spirit Engines). Connection: " Imperial " Engines are now being used in thirty-three different countries. Telephones: Nos. 546 and 547 Keighley. Telegraphic Address: " Keighley." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Bradford District Bank, Ltd. Mr. Robert Clough, the Chairman of the Company, has been Mayor of Keighley.

KEILLER (JAMES) & SON, Ltd., AND JAMES KEILLER & SON (GERMANY), Ltd., Confectioners and Preserve Manufacturers, 15, Eastcheap, E.C., and Tay Wharf, Silvertown, London, E.; Albert Square, Dundee; and Tangermuende, Germany. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1797 by James Keiller, of Dundee. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893. Directors: James Boyd (Chairman), William Boyd (Managing Director, Dundee), R. Just Boyd (Managing Director, London), Ed. W. Meredith, John Keiller Greig. Secretary: H. Agnew. Original manufacturers of Marmalade, and one of the largest and most widely known British concerns engaged in the production of Preserves and Confectionery. Staff: About 2,000. Specialities: The Dundee Marmalade, with which the name of Keiller has been identified for over a century; also Preserves (Jams), Candied Peels, and all kinds of Confectionery and Chocolates, Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign: Colonial. The Company has Agencies or Travelling Representatives in practically every foreign country, and its productions are known in all parts of the world. Telephones: (London), No. 3440 Avenue and Nos. 1825, 1826, and 1827 Eastern; (Dundee), No. 600.. Telegraphic Addresses: " Keiller, London "; "Keiller, Dundee "; " Keiller, Silvertown "; " Keiller, Tangermuende." Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd.; Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd.; London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. British Linen Bank; (in Germany) Magdeburger Privatbank; and (in France) Comptoir National d'Escompte de Paris.

KEITH (JAMES) & BLACKMAN CO., Ltd., Ventilating, Lighting, and Heating Engineers. Head Office: 27, Farringdon Avenue, London. E.C. Established: James Keith, 1823; Blackman Ventilating Co., Ltd., 1883. Amalgamated under present title 1900. Branch offices at Manchester; Birmingham; Leeds Newcastle; Glasgow; Edinburgh; Belfast. Works at 443, 443A. and 447, Holloway Road, London, N., and Foundries at Arbroath, Forfarshire, N.B. Staff: 1000. Specialities: Fans, for ventilating, Induced Draught, Dust Removal, Drying, &c. Also Smith's Hearths, and Blowers, Radiators, Hot Water Supply Apparatus, Hydraulic Rams, Anti-Incrust Safety Valves, and High Pressure Gas Li*hting. Awards: At International Exhibitions. Connection: United Kingdom. All export business for Fans and Keith Light done through the Blackman Export Co., Ltd., Blackman House, 374, Euston Road, London, N .W N.W. Telephone: No. 6194 (six lines) Holborn. Telegraphic Address: " James Keith, Fleet, London."

KEITH, PROWSE & CO., Ltd., Theatrical Box Agency, Entertainment Providers, Music Publishers, Pianoforte Makers, &c. Registered Offices: 162, New Bond Street, London, W.; 48, Cheapside, London, E.C.; and thirty Branches in London. Established about 1796 by Robert Keith, who took into partnership William Prowse about 1832. Incorporated as a Limited Company 1902. Staff: About 250. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: (Bond Street), No. 24 Gerrard (six lines); (Cheapside), No. 3780 London Wall (four lines). (The Branches also have telephone communica tion.) Telegraphic Address: " Stalls, London."

KELIHER, J. J., & CO., Ltd., Letterpress and Lithographic Printers and Designers. Offices, 73, Moorgate Street, E.C, West Branch, Craven House, Kingsway, W.C. (Registered Office). Works, Marshalsea Road, Southwark, London, S.E. Hours of Business: Open Day and Night. Established in 1886 by J. J. Keliher. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: J. J. Keliher (Chairman), E. C. Keliher, J. W. Grubb, E. W. Macey and J. H. Jewell. Premises: Marshalsea Works on the site of " Dickens land." Equipped with up-to-date appliances. Staff: 400 to 500. Branches: Five, including country works. Business: General Printing, Specialize in Advertisers' Printing. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 842 (2 lines), Nos. 843, 166 Hop, No. 2552 London Wall, No. 3208 Gerrard, London. Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. Mr. J. J. Keliher has been Chairman of the London Master Printers, Member of the Board of Trade Advisory Committee for the Labour Exchange, and Member of the London County Council Advisory Committee for Book Production.

KELL (RICHARD) & CO., Grindstone Manufacturers, E, Exchange Buildings, Queen Street, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Quarries at Windy Nook, Eighton Banks, and Springwell, near Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1784 by Richard Kell, who was succeeded in 1830 by R. W. Hodgson. Present Principal: J. G. Hodgson, J.P., from 1885. Are proprietors of R. Atkinson & Co. Claims to be the largest and oldest-established firm of its kind. Premises: The area of Stone covered by the firm's leases extends to about two miles by one mile. Business: The manufacture of Grindstones for all purposes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1597 (Nat.). Telegraphic Address: " Mitchelson, Newcastle-on-Tyne." Code: A B C. Bankers Lloyds Bank Limited.

KELLER, BRYANT & CO., Shipping Agents, &c., 2, King William Street, E.C., and 26 and 27, Cockspur Street, London, S.W.; Maritime Chambers, Southampton, and 69, Piccadilly, Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1862 as Keller, Wallis & Postlethwaite. Continued as (1) Keller, Wallis & Co.; (2) Keller, Bryant & Co. Present Principals: F. C. Keller, George B. Bryant, C. F. Keller and A. H. Bryant. Business: General Agents of Norddeutscher Lloyd, Bremen & Stoomvaart Maatschappij Nederland, Amsterdam. Telephones: No. 6470 Avenue, London; No. 2192 Gerrard, London; No. 202 Southampton No. 290 Manchester. Telegraphic Addresses: " Rellek, London "; " Nordlloyd," London and Manchester; " Keller, Southampton.

KELLETT, WOODMAN & CO., Lining Manufacturers, 44, Union Street, Bradford. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1907 by Sidney Kellett and Edgar C. Woodman. Present Principals: Sidney Kellett, Edgar C. Woodman, A. H. Crebbin and E. W, Knowles. Warehouse Staff: About forty. Specialities: Cotton and Wool and Cotton Linings. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial and Continental. Telephone: No. 611 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Finish, Bradford." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. (Bradford).

KELLEY (HENRY) & CO., Engineers, Pall Mall, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established in 1895 by Henry Kelley, the present principal. Specialities: American Machines and Tools (of the highest grade only). Sole Representatives to several leading American firms. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 663 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Advantage, Manchester," Code: Lieber's.

KELLNER - PARTINGTON PAPER PULP CO., Ltd. (THE), Pulp and Paper Manufacturers, 11, Newmarket Lane, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1889 by Dr. Carl Kellner and Edward Partington. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1889. Directors: Sir Edward Partington, J.P. (Chairman), Edward Platt, J.P., Chas. F. Kenyon, Thomas Kenyon, Herbert Partington, J.P., Oswald Partington, J.P., and Charles Leopold Samson. Business: Manufacture of Pulp and Paper. Connection: United Kingdom; Norway, Austria. Telephone: No. 5509 (City) Manchester." Telegraphic Address: " Sylvestus, Manchester."

KELLOCK, C. W., & CO., Brokers for the Sale, Purchase, and Construction of Ships, Auctioneers, Valuers, Chartering Agents, 27, St. Mary Axe, London, E.C., and Water Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1820 by H. Tonge; afterwards Tonge, Curry & Co; Curry, Kellock & Co.; C. W. Kellock & Co. Present Principals: William Walter Kellock, J.P., Henry Grey Kellock, and John Frederick Dowler. Specially-arranged room for the sale of Shipping Property by Auction. Specialities: Shipping Auctions and Negotiating Sales by Private Treaty for Now and Second-hand Vessels. Are also Chartering Brokers. Connection; United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1743 London Wall (London); No. 59 Central (Liverpool). Telegraphic Address: " Kellocks," London and Liverpool.

KELLY, STUART & LAWLOR, Patentees and Makers of the Automatic Billiard Ball Returner, 47, Breightmet Street, Bolton, Lanes. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1894 by Kelly, Stuart & Lawlor. Present Principal: John Lawlor, J.P. Specialities: Automatic Billiard Ball Returner, when fitted to Billiard Tables conveys the billiard ball from pocket to the end of the table. Connection: World-wide. Have received testimonials as to the convenience to players, and claim that the cloth at the pocket does not get worn, and the nets are kept clean by the use of their Returner. Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. Mr. Lawlor is a Justice of the Peace and a Poor Law Guardian.

KELLY (THOMSON) & CO., Ltd., Linen and Damask Manufacturers, 29, Linenhall Street, Belfast. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established forty-five years ago by Thomson Kelly (d.). Continued by Henry Mull (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company. Chairman: Charles Johnston, J.P. Managing Director: John F. Cousins. Acquired business: Manufacturers of Drills and Imperials. Succeeding James Stewart & Co., Belfast. Connection I United Kingdom and United States. Telephone: No. 312 Belfast. Telegraphic Address: " Excelsior, Belfast." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions) and Western Union. Bankers: Northern Banking Co., Ltd. (Belfast). Mr. Charles Johnston is a Justice of the Peace and was High Sheriff for Co. Armagh in 1905.

KELLY'S DIRECTORIES, Ltd., Publishers of Directories, Maps, Plans, &c., 182, 183, and 184, High Holborn, London, W.C. Incorporated as a Limited Company in. 1895. Directors: E. Festus Kelly (Chairman), Sir Ernest Spencer (Deputy Chairman), J. Richards Kelly, Colonel A. Lindsay Kelly, L. G. Hoard (Manager and Secretary), Arthur L. Kelly, R. W. Hanson. Premises: Extensive; Publishing Offices, 182-184, High Holborn, London, W.C.; Printing Works at Kingston - on - Thames; Branch Offices (with Resident Agents), Birmingham, Glasgow, Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester, Sheffield. Also at Paris (Agency); Hamburg (Kelly & Co., Or. Reichenstrasse, 45-47); New York (Kelly Publishing Co., Temple Court, 5, Beekman. Street). Business: The Publication of Directories, notably the following:— " Post Office London Directory " (tho largest and most comprehensive work of the kind extant); " London County Suburbs Directory "; " Merchants, Manufacturers, and Shippers of the United Kingdom and Principal Trading Centres throughout the World "; Customs Tariffs of the World; Directories (local) of the large towns and cities of England; County Directories (England and Wales); Local Directories (" Buff Books ") of London Suburbs and various country towns and districts; Trade Directories, embracing the chief branches of commerce and industry pursued in the United Kingdom; and the publication of various Annuals, including " Kelly's Handbook to the Titled, Landed, and Official Classes," " Clergy List," " Royal Blue Book Court Guide," " Laxton's Builders' Price Book," &c. Also the publication of Maps, Plans, &c., of London and other large centres, counties, &c. Are agents for the sale of Colonial Directories and publications of a kindred nature. Telegraphic Address: " Directory, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Bloomsbury).

KELSALL BROTHERS & BEECHING, Ltd., Steam Trawler Owners, St. Andrews Dock, Hull. London Office: Donegal House, Love Lane, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1897 by John Kelsall, Thomas Kelsall, J. E. A. Kelsall, and George Beeching. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: John Kelsall (Chairman), George Beeching, J. E. A. Kelsall (Managing Directors). Secretary: C. Alex. Burgoyne. Fleet known as the " Gamecock Fleet." Fired on by the Russian Fleet in 1904. Telephones: No. 1508 (Corporation): No. 1495 (Corporation), G. Beoching; No. 419 (Corporation), Secretary, Hull; No. 3090 Avenue, London.

KELVIN, BOTTOMLEY & BAIRD, Ltd., Scientific Instrument Makers, 16,20, Cambridge Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1852 by James White. Partnership Successions: (1) David Reid and Matthew Edwards, 1881; (2) Sir William Thomson, F.R.S., &c. (raised to Peerage as Baroti Kelvin of Largs, January, 1892), David Reid, and Dr. J. T. Bottomley, F.R.S., 1890. Incorporated in 1900 as a Private Limited Company, under name of Kelvin & James White, Ltd.; changed to present name in July, 1913. Directors: Dr. J. T. Bottomley (Chairman). M. B. Field (General Manager), Timothy Warren, A. W. Baird, and James Francis Bottomley, Ph.D. Premises: Large fivestorey buildings with frontage to Cambridge Street and Renfrew Street. London Works: Morden Cliff, Lewisham. S.E. N.B. Coast Office: 7, Clayton Chambers, Westgate Road,Newcastle-on-Tyne. Allied Business at 11, Billiter Street, London, E.C. Specialities: Lord Kelvin's Patents, Ships' Compasses, Sounding Machines, General Nautical Instruments, Electric Measuring Instruments. Awards: Grand Prix, Exposition Universelle, Paris, 1900; St. Louis Exhibition, 1905; Brussels Exhibition, 1910, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty). Telephones: (Glasgow) No. 2330 Douglas; (Lewisham) No. 277 Lee Green; (Newcastle) No. 487 Central; (London) No. 2736 Avenue. Telegraphic Addresses: " Meter, Glasgow " " Mho, Lewis, London "; " Meter, Newcastleon-Tyne; " Stormglass, London."

KELWAY & SON, Langport, Somerset. Established in 1851 by the late James Kelway. Continued by William Kelway. Present Proprietors: William Kelway and James Kelway (jun.). Premises: Very extensive, covering 300 acres, fully stocked. Staff: 125. Business: Seed Merchants, Seed Growers, .&c. Wholesale: Specialists in choice strains of Garden and Farm Seeds. Retail: Specialists in Hardy Plants, Pwonies, Gladioli, &c. Awards: 252 Grand Prizes and Gold and Silver Medals at the leading British and Foreign, International and other Exhibitions. Many hundreds of First Class Certificates and Awards of Merit, Royal Horticultural and other Societies for Plants or Strains raised or introduced. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial and Foreign. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Kelway, Langport." Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and American Seed Trade. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. (Langport).

KEMBALL, BISHOP & CO., Ltd., Chemical Manufacturers, Crown Chemical Works, Three Mills Lane, Bromley-by-Bow, London, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1870. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: Colonel A. Conway Bishop (Chairman), E. V. Fry, H. F. Kemball, and J. E. Whitehall (Joint Managing Directors), F. R. Kemball, and T. H. Fry. Specialities: Tartaric Acid, Citric Acid and Sode Pot. Tart. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 3834 and 3835 East, London. Telegraphic Address: "Kemball, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd., Bow, London, E.

KEMPE, C. E., & CO., Ltd., Artists and Workers in Stained Glass, 28, Nottingham Place, London, W. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established by Charles Earner Kempe, M.A., Hon. Fellow Pembroke Coll., Oxford. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company. Chairman: Walter E. Tower (principal). Works: 4, Gloucester Road, Regent's Park, N.W. Speciality: Stained Glass and all Branches of Ecclesiastical Art. Noted for the highest-class work. Telephone: No. 1954 Mayfair.

KENDAL & DENT, Watch and Chronometer Makers to the Admiralty and to the Royal Italian Navy, Turret Clock Makers to the War Office, Jewellers and Diamond Merchants, &c., 106, Cheapside, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7.15 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established by James Francis Kendal, F.R.G.S., and John Dent. Staff: About eighty, and agents in every large town in Great Britain. Specialities: Watches. Inventors of the Universal Clock and the World's Pocket Chronometer. Inventors of the Double Dial Watch; also of Watches with raised figures on the dial for the use of the blind; the " Next Station Indicator," &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 8751 Central. Telegraphic Address " Kondentick, Cmt, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

KENDAL, MILNE & CO., Retail Drapers and House Furnishers, Deansgate, King Street, Police Street, and St. Ann Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1836 under the style of Kendal, Milne & Faulkner; present title since 1862. Present Principals: W. H. Milne, F. J. Milne, H. M. Kendal. A representative firm of Drapers, Dress Specialists, Outfitters, and Furnishers; one of the largest in the North of England. Stall: About 1,000. Specialities: Cotton, Linen, Silk and Woollen Goods; Haberdashery and all articles of General Drapery; Ladies', Gentlemen's, Boys', and Girls' Outfitting in every branch; Cos-tumes, Silks, Dress Fabrics, Millinery, Mantles, Furs, &c. Also every requisite for House Furnishing. Are Cabinet Makers and Decorators. Connection: United Kingdom generally. Numerous customers abroad. Royal Warrants: To His late Majesty King Edward, H.M. King George V. and H.M. The Queen. Telephone: No. 6203. Telegraphic Address: " Kenmil, Manchester." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Manchester).

KENDALL & GENT, Ltd., Machine Tool Makers, Victoria Works, Belle Vue, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1849 by Kendall & Gent. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Directors: A. Hugh Baldwin and Ephraim Harper. London Office, 60, Queen Victoria Street, E.C. Specialities: Patent Screwing and Tapping Machines; Dixon's Patent Radial Drilling and Tapping Machines, Milling Machines, Cutter Grinding Machines. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 5569 Central Manchester. Telegraphic Address: "Tools, Manchester." Codes: A 1, A B C, Lieber's, and Private. Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd.

KENDALL (HENRY) & SONS, South American Merchants, 148, Leadenhall Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Present Principals: Marlborough Robert Pryor, Walter Marlborough Pryor, and Philip Corbett Turnbull. Business: South American Merchants. Connection: South America. Telephone: No. 6396 City. Telegraphic Address: " Chrysactus, Led, London."

KENDALL & SONS, Ltd., Umbrella, Sunshade, Walking Cane Manufacturers, and Furriers. Offices and Works: Post Office Place, Granby Street, Leicester. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1870 by W. Wheeler Kendall. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Directors: H. W. Wilshere (Chairman), Percy W. Kendall, Frank R. Kendall, E. C. Kendall. Staff: About 200. Branches in leading towns throughout England. Specialities: Umbrellas and Sunshades, Walking Canes, and Furs. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 764 Leicester.

KENNEDY & MORRISON, Ltd., Engineers' Factors, &c., Library Street, and Union Street, Belfast, Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1889 by A. Kennedy and A. Morrison. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1911. Directors: A. Kennedy and A. Morrison. Business: Engineers' Factors. Telephones: Nos. 1302 and 1303 Belfast. Telegraphic Address: " Plato, Belfast."

KENNING (GEORGE) & SON, Manufacturing Masonic Outfitters, Goldsmiths, Goldlacemen, Embroiderers, and Ribbon Weavers, 1 to 4, Little Britain, E.C.; 16 and 16A, Great Queen Street, London, W.C. Ribbon Factory: Coventry. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; April to October, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1857 by George Kenning (d.). Continued by his son. Present Principal: Frank R. Kenning (son of the founder). Staff: Over 500. Branches: Manchester, Liverpool, and Glasgow. Specialities: Masonic Insignia of every description; Naval and Military Laces, Cords, Braids, &c. Patents: Several. Connection: Worldwide. Telephone: No. 9320 City, London. Telegraphic Address: " Kenning, London." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

KENNY, MAHON & CO., Ship Owners and Insurance Brokers, 30-32, Broad Street House, New Broad Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1881 as T. & E. Kenny by Thos. E. Kenny and Fitzroy C. Mahon, of Nova Scotia, as a branch of T. & E. Kenny, of Halifax. In 1890 London house became a distinct firm under above title. Business: Fire, Life, and Marine Insurances effected, Commission and Forwarding Agents, Ship Owners and Brokers. Connection: United Kingdom, Canada. Telephone: No. 2535 City. Telegraphic Address: " Keny, London." Bankers: Bank of Scotland.

KENRICK (ARCHIBALD) & SONS, Ltd., Ironfounders, Enamellers, and Lock Manufacturers, West Bromwich, Staffordshire. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1791 by Archibald Kenrick. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1883. Directors; Sir G. H. Kenrick (Chairman), Rt. Hon. Wm. Kenrick, J. Archibald Kenrick, W. B. Kenrick, G. W. Kenrick, C. Kenrick, F. L. Baldwin. One of the oldest firms in the iron trade. Premises: Works at West Bromwich, covering about twenty acres of ground, and fully equipped for modern ironfounding operations upon an extensive scale. Staff: About 1,200. Specialities; Cast Iron Hollow-ware,House hold and Builders' Iron Work, Malleable Ironwork and Castings. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 212 West Bromwich. Telegraphic and Cable Address " Kenrick, Birmingham." Bankers: Lloyds Bank, Ltd. (Temple Row, Birmingham).

KENRICK & JEFFERSON, Ltd., Modern Office Organisers, Patentees and DeviserS of Time and Labour-Saving Business Systems, and manufacturers of necessary Equipment; Commercial Stationers, Envelope Manufacturers. Registered Offices and Works: West Bromwich. Showrooms: 22, St. Andrew Street, London, E.C.; and at Birmingham; Liverpool; Manchester; Newcastle-on-Tyne; Glasgow; Cardiff; Swansea. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1883 by Fredk. T. Jefferson and John Arthur Kenrick. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: Fredk. T. Jefferson, J.P. (Chairman), Fred Jefferson (Managing Diroctor), John Arthur Konrick, J.P., A. Colin Kenrick, John Archibald Konrick, J.P., Edward Jefferson. Premises: Very extensive. Staff: Nearly 1,000. Speciality: The Organisation and Complete Equipment of Banks, Insurance Companies, and. Business Houses with modern methods and time-saving British made Appliances. Patents: Numerous, covering every department of Time and Labour-saving devices, Renewal Leaf Binders, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: 198 West Bromwich; No. 2374 City (London); No. 469 Midland (Birmingham); No. 2216 Royal (Liverpool); 567 City (Manchester); 1127 Douglas (Glasgow); Cardiff 4506 (Cardiff); Docks 312 (Swansea). Telegraphic Address: " Multigraph," for West Bromwich and all Branches.

KENT (ALFRED) & SON, Plain and Fancy Box Manufacturers, Clarence Works, Clarence Street, Clapham, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1838 by Alfred Kent. Present Principal: Edward Alfred Kent (son). Premises: A three-storeyed detached factory, fitted to the London County Council requirements. Staff: 250. Branch Factory: Bedford Road, Clapham, S.W., opened March, 1913. Three storeyed detached factory, built with reinforced concrete; all latest improvements and to the London County Council requirements. Specialities: Fancy Boxes of all descriptions manufactured at the works. These are made in many fancy designs, all of the best quality. Special attention paid to originality and artistic merit. Connection: United Kingdom, leading Export Houses. Telephone: No. 2351 Brixton, London. Telegraphic Address: " Easement, Claproad, London."

KENT & CO., Wholesale Manufacturers of Billiard Tables, Cues, Cue-tips and Accessories, 110, Middlesex Street, Bishopsgate, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1892 by L. R. Kent, the present principal. Branch: Cue and Cue-tip Factory at 28, Duke Street, Brushfield Street. Specialities: Billiard Tables, Cues, Cue-tips, and Accessories of every description. Manufactured for the trade only. Connection: .Shippers to the trade in India, Australia, New Zealand, Burmah, and various British Colonies. Telephone: No. 2271 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Baizes, London." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Finsbury); Credit Lyonnais (Paris).

KENT, G. B., & SONS, Ltd., Brush Manufacturers, 75, Farringdon Road, London, E.C.; Factories at Victoria Park, E., Hemel Hempsted, Herts, and 495, Bourke Street, Melbourne. Hours of Business: (Office), 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1777 by William Kent, great-grandfather of present Life Directors. Partnership Successions: William Kent, 1777; William Kent (junior), 1808; J. J. Kent, 1836; G. B. Kent & Co., 1854; G. B. Kent & Sons, 1880. Incorporated in 1900. Directors: A. Barton Kent, Ernest Koiit (Life Directors), C. F. Barrett and A. H. Lidderdale. Premises: Were for eighty-nine years at 11, Great Marl borough Street, W. Removed in 1897 to present warehouse (freehold) in Farring don Road. Factory (on long crown lease) at Victoria Park, London, E., built in 1875. Another at Hemel Hempsted (freehold), built in 1902. A Painting Brush Factory openel at 195, Bourke Street, Melbourne, Australia, February, 1909. Specialities: Best British Brushes for all purposes. Patents: Several which have now fallen into public use; also one, dated 1902, for Automatic Manufacture of Tooth Brushes and Hair Brushes. Connection: World wid,3. Agencies in Melbourne, Cape Town, Montreal, New York, Bombay, Barbados, Paris, Brussels, Buenos Aires, Cairo, Constantinople, St. Petersburg, Hamburg, &c. Are contractors to H.M. Government, the Agents-General of the Colonies, the principal Railways, Municipal Bodies, &c. Telephones: Nos. 1407 and 4116 P.O. Central. Telegraphic Address: " Tricho, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd., H, C. 13. Mr. A. Barton Kent is a member of the Council of the London Chamber of Commerce, a Past Master of the Worshipful Company of Skinners, Governor of Northampton Institute, &c. Mr. Ernest N. Kent is President of the British Brush Manufacturers' Association.

KENT (GEORGE), Ltd., Mechanical and Domestic Engineers, 199, 200 and 201, High Holborn, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1838 by the late George Kent. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Chairman and Managing Director: Walter George Kent. Claim to be, the oldest house in the trade. Branches: Ice Safe and Refrigerator Manufactory, Lansdowne Works, Guildford Street, London, W.C.; General Hydraulic Engineering; Iron and Brass Foundries, Biscot Road, Luton; Hydraulic and General Engineering; Iron and Brass Foundries; Water Meter Manufactory, Perth, Western Australia. Business: Invention and Manufacture of Rotary Knife Cleaning Machines, Ventilated Ice Safes and Refrigerators. Specialists in the manufacture of Fluid Meters for Water, Sewage, Air, Gas or Oil. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrant: Special appointment to H.M. King George. Held warrants to T.M. the late King Edward VII., and the late Queen Victoria. Telephones: No. 4751 City (Water Meter Department); No. 7769 Central (Domestic Machinery Department), London; No. 230 Luton. Telegraphic Address: " Kentobin, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

KENWORTHY, E. N.. & CO., Washing Machinists, Alpha Works, Terrace Street, Townfield, Oldham, Lancashire. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Present Principal: E. N. Kenworthy. Business: Are makers of Labour-saving Specialities, designed for Home Washing—Washing, Wringing, and Mangling Machines, &c. Forty Medals and First Awards. Patents are held relating to these inventions. Telephone: No. 477 (Nat.). Telegraphic Address: " Kenworthys, Townfield, Oldham." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank (Oldham).

KENYON (JAMES) & SON, LIMITED, Woollen and Cotton Manufacturers, Derby Street Mills (Woollen), Bury; Roach Bank Mills (Cotton), Bury. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Directors: James Kenyon (Chair man), James Kenyon (junior), Geoffrey Kenyon, Myles Noel Kenyon. Premises Very extensive. Six Mills equipped throughout with the latest appliances, covering a large area. Specialities: Woollen, Linen, and Cotton Cloths for Machinery, Domestic Blankets, Shirtings, Long Cloths. Telephones: Woollens, No. 173 Bury; Cottons, No. 175 Bury. Telegraphic Addresses: Woollens, " Kenyon, Bury "; Cottons, " Camellia, Bury." Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd.

KENYON, SON & CRAVEN, Ltd., Manufacturers of Jams, Marmalade, Pickles, Sauce, Candied Peel, and all kinds of Confectionery, Morpeth Street, Rotherham; Scarborough Street, Hull. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established fifty years ago by Charles Kenyon (d. 1893). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Premises: Extensive Factories at Rotherham and Hull. Specialities: Preserves made from English Fruit and refined sugar only; also Jelly Marmalade, Mincemeat, and Lemon Curd. Gold Medal awards at National Trades Exhibitions, Birmingham, Hull, and Leeds. Connection: United Kingdom. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephones: No. 44 (National) Rotherham; No. 1410 (Corporation) and No. 1401 (National) Hull. Telegraphic Addresses: " Kenyon, Hull "; "Kenyon, Rotherham." Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd., London.

KER, BOLTON & CO., East India Merchants, 7, East India Avenue, Leadenhall Street, London, E.C., and 27, West George Street, Glasgow. Present Principals: Robert Johnston. Paterson, James Whiteford Murray, Charles Spence Weir, James Graham, and James Murray Beattie. Branches: Singapore and Bangkok; Batavia, Sourabaya, and Samarang; Manila, Iloilo, and Cebu. Business: Foreign Merchants, Export and Import. Telephones: No. 1422 (P.O.) Central, London; No. 759 (Royal), Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Macmicking, London "; " Bolton, Glasgow."

KERR & LANHAM, Law Stationers, 16, Furnival Street, Holborn, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1845 by Robert Kerr. Succeeded by Henry Kerr and John Lanham (d. 1898). Present Principal: Henry Kerr. Business: Are Law and General Stationers and Printers. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Kerrlanham, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Temple Bar Branch).

KERR, ROBERT L., & SONS, Engineers and Machinery Merchants, 52, Bridge Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 7.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1874 by Robert L. Kerr. Present Principals: Robert L. Kerr, Walter Kerr and Dugald Kerr. Specialities: All classes of Machinery and Engineers' Tools. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Brazil and South America. Telephone: No. 7343 Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Roker, Manchester." Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. (St. Ann Street, Manchester).

KERR, STUART & CO., Ltd., Locomotive and Rolling Stock Builders, 5, Broad Street Place, London, E.C. Works: Stoke-on-Trent, Staffs. Hours of Business: Usual. Established upwards of thirty years ago as Kerr, Stuart & Co. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1894 and acquir€ d by the present CoMpany. Directors: George F. Glass Hooper (Chairman and Managing Director), F. Bell-Scott and Sir Thomas M. F. Parkyns, Bart. Capital: £240,000. Premises: Have from time to time acquired additional land adjoining the original Works. Equipped with modern machinery and Plant. One of the most up-to-date Works in Locomotive building. The freehold site covers 20.33 acres, abutting for nearly threequarters of a mile on the North Staffordshire Railway, and on the other the Trent and Mersey Canal. Also roads at each end, giving exceptional facilities of access. Business: Locomotive and Rolling Stock Builders. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office) and to the Crown Agents for the Colonies. Telephones: Nos. 11 and 190 Central, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Meliss, Ave, London "; " California, Stoke-on-Trent." Codes: A 1, A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Engineering and Lieber's.

KERSHAW (JAMES) & SONS, Ltd., Aerated Water Manufacturers, Ale, Porter, Wine and Spirit Merchants and Cordial Manufacturers. Registered Offices and Works, Askew Road, Gateshead. Branch Works, Plantation Street, Leadgate, near Consett. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1878 by James Kershaw (d. 1906, aged 65 years, leaving the business to his family). Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1907. Directors: John James Kershaw (Leadgate Works), Arthur Robert Kershaw (GatesheadWorks ), Wilfred Gladstone Kershaw, Walter Ridley Kershaw (Secretary). Capital, £7000. The Founder commenced business by making, and selling in cask, herb beer, which he carried on his back; he then bought a hand barrow, and afterwards a pony. Now own over 30 horses and waggons and extended their buildings four times. Premises: Originally at Strawberry Lane, Newcastle; removed to Bird in Bush Yard, a larger building, in 1878, and to Askew Road, where the present extensive premises were opened in 1881. Staff: Over seventy. Specialities: Aerated Waters of all kinds, including Dry Ginger Ale and Dry Kola. Wholesale Bottlers and Agents for the North of Combe's London Ales and Stouts. Awards: Eight Medals at various Exhibitions in England. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly), Export. Telephones: No. 10 (National) Gateshead; No. 79 (National) Leadgate. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. The late Mr. James Kershaw was a member of the Council for Gateshead for fifteen years, and until his death. Also Chairman of the Health and Sanitary Committee. He was a Poor Law Guardian and was a member of many other Committees, &c. He was also a Freemason.

KERSHAW, LEESE & CO., Ltd., Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers, India Mills, Stockport; and 64, Faulkner Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established about 1835. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Managing Directors: William Ashworth and S. Ashworth. Premises: Extensive fully equipped Mills in Stockport. Staff: About 1300. Staff Clubs: Cricket and Football. Specialities: Extra Hard Yarn, India and China Shirtings, and China Sheetings. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: No. 16 Stockport; No. 6412 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Kerlee," Stockport and Manchester.: Codes: A B C and Private. Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank, Ltd.

KESSLER & CO., Ltd., Shipping Merchants. Registered Office: 33, Dale Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1830. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1902. Directors: Henry Kessler (Chairman), P. W. Kessler, George H. Averdieck, Edgar Kessler, Harold Averdieck and Sir George Scott Robertson, M.P. Branch: Vicar Lane, Bradford, Yorks. Business: Shipping Merchants to all parts of the world. Connection World-wide. Telephones: No. 98 Cen tral, Manchester No. 804 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Kessler, Manchester." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Lieber's, Staudt and Hundius. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

KESTERTON, A., Wholesale Bamboo Furniture Manufacturers, 12, 14 and 16, Chapman Street, Hulme, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1897 by Alfred Kesterton and Harold Kesterton, the present principals. Business: Manufacture of Bamboo Furniture, Import Bamboo Poles and Canes. Connection: United Kingdom. Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd.

KETTERING CORSET MANUFACTURERS, Ltd., Makers of Corsets, Blouses, and Overalls, Rutland Works, Kettering; and Highfield Street, Market Harborough. Hours of Business: 7.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1897. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Director: C. H. Lawrence. Staff: 230. Specialities: Corsets, Blouses and Overalls. Telephone: No. 208 Kettering. Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

KETTLEWELL, BULLEN & CO., Merchants and Agents, 54, Old Broad Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Present Principal: W. J. M. MacCaw, M.P. Business: Merchants and Agents. Telegraphic Address " Kettlewell, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

KEYSER, A., & CO., Bankers, 21, Cornhill, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1853, included in Samuel Montagu & Co. Started as a separate firm in 1868, as A. Keyser & Co. Partners, Assur Keyser (retired), and Gustav Bitter (retired). Present Principals: Arthur E. Franklin, Leonard B. Schlesinger, Leonard B. Franklin, Maurice M. Keyser and Jacob A. Franklin. The partners of the firm of Samuel Montagu & Co., were originally Lord Swaythling, Edwin L. Samuel and Ellis A. Franklin, and they remained interested in this business for many years after the separation. Business: Usual. Banking Transactions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1112 and 1113 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Arbitrage, London."

KEYSTONE VARNISH CO., Varnish Manufacturers, 71-79, Otsego Street, Brooklyn, New York and Victoria Mills, Atkinson Street, Hunslet, Leeds. Hours of Busi ness: 7.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1828; Incorporated in 1895; English branch opened in 1912. Present Princi pals: F. L. Lines and N. B. Arnold. Claim to be the original makers of Oil Flat finish " Keystona." Specialities: " Key stona " and Caen Stone Keystona, paten ted; White Bedstead Enamel (non chipping). Connection: United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 4925 Leeds Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Key stone," Leeds and Brooklyn. Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited, Vicar Lane; Leeds.

KIDD, J. L., Ship Broker, 59, Dock Street, Dundee. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Saturdays close at 1 p.m. Established in 1895 by J. L. Kidd, the present principal. Business: Dundee Agent for H. & W. Nelson, Ltd., Lines from London and Liverpool to River Plate. Agent for Yeoward Brothers Line, Liver pool to Lisbon and Canaries. Marine Insurance Broker and General Com mission Agent. General Chartering busi ness and Ship Broker. Connection: United Kingdom and Continent. Tele phone: No. 1166 (Office) Dundee. Tele graphic Address: " Despatch, Dundee." Codes: Scott's (all editions) and Watkin's 1904. Bankers: Clydesdale Bank, Ltd. Mr. Kidd is Imperial Russian Vice Consul for Dundee and District. Clubs: New, Panmure Golf, and Scotscraig Golf. Pastime: Music.

KIDD (JOHN) & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Printing Ink and Rollers. Offices and Depot: 11, Wine Office Court, Fleet Street, E.C. Factory: Old Ford Road, .Bow, London, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established about 100 years ago by Benjamin Smiths & Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Specialities: Printing Ink and Rollers. Awards: Prize Medal, London, 1862; Honourable Mention, Turin, 1911. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1414 City (two lines) London. Tele graphic Address: " Inkholder, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

KIDERLEN, GEORGE WILLIAM, Manufacturers' Agent and Commission Merchant, 4 and 6, Moor Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1893 by George William Kiderlen, the prosent principal. Premises: Two floors. Business: Represents the leading makers in Razors, Combs, Hair Clippers, Shaving and Hand Mirrors, Cheap Suit Cases, Bonnet Boxes. Specialities: Crown and Sword, Essex, Ator and other Ern's Razors, Facit Hair Clippers, " Dalli " Box Iron, " Kroko " Fancy and Dressing Combs, Smokeless Charcoal Fuel. Patents " Dalli " Box Iron, " Zepp " Safe Razor. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, Foreign. Telephone: No. 12673 Central, London. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Fore Street, London, E.C.).

KIDSTON, A. G., & CO., Iron, Steel, Tinplate, Metal and Machinery Merchants and Exporters, 93, West George Street, Glasgow, and 148k, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1839 by Archibald Glen Kidston. Partnership Successions: (1) A. G. Kidston (d.) & Sons, William Kidston (d.), John Kidston (d.), Richard Kidston (d.); (2) John Kidston (d.) and Richard Kidston (d.); (3) John Kidston (d.), Richard Kidston (d.) and W. H. Kidston (grandson) and W. H. Wilson; (4) W. H. Kidston and W. H. Wilson (d.); (5) W. H. Kids ton; (6) W. H. Kidston, W. H. C. Kidston (grandson and greatgrandson of the Founder), and J. C. Blair; (7) W. H. Kidston, W. H. C. Kidston, H. B. Kidston (grandson and great-grandsons of the Founder), and J. C. Blair. Present Principals: William Hamilton Kidston, William Hamilton Campbell Kidston , Harry BrownlieKi dston and John Campbell Blair (London Office). One of the oldest firms in the trade. A branch of the old and parent firm, W. Kidston & Sons, founded about 110 years ago. Five generations in direct succession have carried on the business in Glasgow. Have removed from 81, Great Clyde Street, where the firm were for seventy-two years, to new and more central offices. Premises: Consisting of Large Offices in Glasgow and London. Staff: Twenty-nine, Glasgow; twenty, London. Business: Agents for Muntz's Metal Co., Ltd., for seventy years. Supply Shipbuilders, Engineers and Structural Works. Also Export largely a great variety of British and Foreign Goods. Award: Diploma, Glasgow Exhibition, 1888. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 9363 City (four lines), Glasgow; Nos. 5722 and 5723 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Holyrood, Glasgow "; " Suaviter, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), A 1, Lieber's, Engineering, Premier, Western Union, Private, Bedford McNeil. Ban kers: Royal Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (London), Clydesdale Bank, Ltd. (Glasgow) Mr. W. H. Kidston has been a Director of Merchants House, and is a Director of the Royal Insurance Co. (Local Board), a member of the Philosophical Society, Scottish Iron and Steel Institute, and of the British Iron and Steel Institute. Clubs: Western, Conservative, Junior (Glasgow), Prestwick, &c. (Golf). Pastimes: Golf, Shooting, &c.

KILBOURNE & JACOBS MANUFACTURING CO. (THE), Manufacturers of Steel and Wood Wheelbarrows, Contracting and Mining Equipment, &c., Columbus, Ohio, U.S.A. London Office 13 and 14, Broad Street House, New Broad Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Director: J. R. Kilbourne. London Manager: J. R. Morris. Branch: 25, Broad Street, New York City. Specialities: Steel and Wood Wheelbarrows, Contracting and Mining Equipment, Trucks, Tip Wagons, All-Steel and Patent Air Dump Cars. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Tele phone: No. 6243 London Wall, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Kil bourne, London." Code: Lieber's (London Office). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

KINCAID (JOHN G.) & CO., Ltd., Engineers, Boilermakers, Smiths and Founders, Clyde Foundry, 18, East Hamilton Street, Greenock, N.B. Established in 1868. Directors: John G. Kincaid (Managing), Charles S. Kincaid, James S. Kincaid, William Nicoll. Staff: 400-500. Specialty: Marine machinery and Boilers of every description for Paddle and Screw Steamers. Also build, engine, and fit-out Light Draught Steamers for Foreign River Navigation, forwarding same in plates and frames or floatable sections for re-erection abroad. Makers of Feed water Filters, Grease Extractors, and Evaporators. Connection: United King dom, Foreign, Colonial. Are on the Admiralty List. Telephone: Nos. 597 and 598. Telegraphic Address: Kincaid, Greenock." Codes: A B C, Lieber's, Engineering Telegraph.

KINETO, Ltd., Kinematograph Specialists, Manufacturers, &c., 80-82, Wardour Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Directors: Charles Urban, Mrs. A. A. Urban. Business: Manufacture and Export of and Dealing in Motion Picture Requisites and Film Subjects. Publish the Urban Science. Series. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Agencies in all parts of the world. Telephone: No. 6370 Central, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Kinetonia, London." Codes: Lieber's, A B C (5th Edition), Western Union.

KING BROTHERS, East India Merchants, Fancy Goods Importers, Moulding Manufacturers, Fancy Leather Goods Manufacturers, Upholsterers, Leather Manufacturers, &c., 53, Leadenhall Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1903 by King Brothers. Present Principal: E. N. King. Branches: Bombay, Calcutta, and Madras. Business: Carry on an extensive export trade in Fancy Goods, Leather Goods, Athletic Outfitters, Upholsterers' Springs, &c. Connection: The Colonies and Far East. Telephone: No. 3645 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Kinate, Led, London." Codec: A B C (5th Edition), and Lieber's. Club: (Mr. E. N. King), Junior Athenaeum.

KING (DAVID) & SONS, General Ironfounders and Sanitary Engineers, Keppoch Iron Works, Possilpark, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1874 at Keppochhill, by David King and his eldest son, John King. Present Principals: John King, David King, Donald M. King, and Robert King. In 1875 the business of Messrs. Blair & Miller, Saxon Foundry (old Sun Foundry), Glasgow, was taken over; new works were erected in Possilpark and opened in 1885, and have since been extended; in 1890 the business, plant, &c., of Messrs. Brown, Henry, & Haddow, Range Manufacturers, Budhill Ironworks, Shettleston, were purchased and transferred. Premises: Works at Possilpark cover over eight acres. Staff: 500-600. Branches: London, Leeds, Aberdeen. Specialities: Castings for Electrical, Heating, and Sanitary Engineers; Ornamental Structural Work and Builders' Castings. Award: Bronze Medal, Health Exhibition, Glasgow, 1904. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Are Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephones: Glasgow, No. 47 (P.O.) Kelvin, Nos. 3300 and 3301 (Nat.) Douglas; London, No. 3457 London Wall; Leeds, No. 562 ' • Aberdeen, No. 716. Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

KING, DAY & HEARN, Wholesale and Export Shoe Mercers, Manufacturers and Importers. Warehouse and Office: 2, Butler Street, Moorgate, E.C. Factory: Banner Street, St. Luke's, London. E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1890. Agency: Wellington Quay, Dublin. Specialities: Cork and other Socks. Importers and Factors of Boot and Shoe Laces, Eyelets, Buttons, and Fasteners, Linings, Sockings, Elastic Webs, Beadings, Bindings, &c., and all kinds of Shoe Findings. Connection: Home Trade chiefly. Telephone: No. 4835 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Decking, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

KING, E. W., & CO., Seed Growers and Wholesale Seed Merchants, Coggeshall, Essex. Hours of Business: Summer, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Winter, 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Established in 1894 by E. W. King, the present principal. Premises: Occupy Offices and six large Warehouses at Coggeshall; also own fi%e Farms, three of which cover 700 acres, which they cultivate. Seeds grown on contract. Seed Farms and Trial Grounds, Bouchiers Grange, Colne Road, Tey Road, Gt. Coggeshall Hamlet, Grange Hill and Little Coggeshall. Staff: Travellers, four; Clerks, nine; Shop Assistants and Warehousemen, twenty-five; Agri-cultural Labourers, thirty-two; and, part of the year, over 100 women. Specialities: Agricultural Root Seeds, Choice Culinary Peas and Vegetable Seeds. A special feature made of Sweet Peas. Awards: Gold Medal Royal Agricultural Society; Gold Medal York Gala for Sweet Peas; and many other Gold Medals from other Societies. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 10 Coggeshall. Telegraphic Address: " Ernest King, Coggeshall." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

KING, HENRY.—See ZEDEX (1912), Ltd.

KING (HENRY S.) & CO., Bankers and Indian Agents, 9, Pall Mall, S.W., and 65, Cornhill, London, E.C. Flours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1819 by George Smith (sen.), who came from Elgin, and joined Alexander Elder, the firm being known as Smith & Elder, and afterwards as Smith, Elder & Co. G. M. Smith, son of George Smith, entered the business in 1838, and about 1846 Mr. Elder retired. In 1853 Henry Samuel King became a partner, and in May, 1868, George Smith retired, when the name of the firm was changed to Henry S. King & Co. In 1869 Indian branches were established, and in 1875 Sir Henry Seymour King, K.C.I.E., was received into partnership. He has been sole partner since the death of Henry Samuel King in 1878. The firm were largely instrumental in establishing the overland route to India, in conjunction with Lieutenant Waghorn. Branches: King, King & Co., Bombay, Delhi, and Simla; King, Hamilton & Co., Calcutta; King, Baillie .& Co., Liverpool; Henry S. King & Co., Marseilles; Henry S. King & Co., Port Said. Connection: India, the United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: No. 1197 Regent, and No. 1115 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " King, London." Sir H. Seymour King, K.C.I.E., was M.P. for Central Hull from 1885 to 1910, and was first Mayor of the Royal Borough of Kensington (1900, and re-elected 1901-2). Is a well-known Alpine climber and yachtsman; F.R.G.S.; Governor of Charterhouse, a member of the Carlton, Athonmum, Conservative, and Alpine Clubs, Royal Yacht Squadron, Royal Temple Club; Chairman of the Indian and General Investment Trust, Ltd., of the London Board of the Austraian Mutual Provident Society, of the American Freehold Land Mortgage Co. of London; and of the International Investment Trust, Ltd.; Director of Lloyds Bank, Railway Passengers' Assurance Co., and Queensland Investment and Land Mortgage Co., Ltd.

KING (JOHN K.) & SONS, Seed Growers, Royal Seed Growing Establishment, Coggeshall, Essex, and Reading. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1793. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Seed growers to His Majesty King George V. Telephone: No. 2 Coggeshall. Telegraphic Address: " Seedsmen, Coggeshall." A B C Code. Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

KING (JOHN) & SON, Window Holland Manufacturers, 142, West Nile Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1775 by John King. Present Principals: Robert Pate and Thomas Pate. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Speciality: The Celebrated Scotch Window Holl ands. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 3588 and 3589 Douglas, Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " King:3on, Glasgow." Code: A B C (5th Edit!on). Bankers: Royal Bank of Scotland.

KING, P. S., & SON, Publishers, Parliamentary and General Booksellers, &c., Orchard House, 2 and 4, Great Smith Street, Victoria Street, Westminster, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1819 in Parliament Street. In 1883 A. W. W. King was admitted partner. P. S. King retired in 1887. Present Principal: A. W. W. King. From 1855 to 1874 the business was conducted at the corner of Parliament Street and Bridge Street, opposite the House of Commons, and from 1874 to 1898 in King Street, Westminster. Present promises were built specially for the business, and first occupied in 1899. Specialities: Publishing, Parliamentary and General Bookselling, Bookbinding, and Printing. Publishers of the Reports and Publications of the London County Council, the Government of India, the Government of the Commonwealth of Australia, the Government of New South Wales, China Maritime Customs, London School of Economics, Columbia University, Toronto University, American Academy of Political and Social Science, International Railway Congress, and also of the Parliamentary Papers, Reports, Blue Books, Acts of Parliament, Official Publications, Books, Pamphlets, &c. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 4324 Victoria. Telegraphic Address: " Parliamentary, London." Mr. A. W. W. King is a Justice of the Peace and a member of the Advisory Committee for the County of Middlesex, a Deputy-Chairman for the Willesden Division, 1905-12; a member of the Metropolitan Water Board, 1903-06; a member of the Council of the Royal Statistical Society, and of the Board of Management of the West London Hospital, and a Governor of the Haberdashers Company's Aske Schools. Clubs: Reform, National Liberal.

KING (RICHARD & WILLIAM), Ltd., Importers and Exporters to the West Coast of Africa, Bristol. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1690 by John King, then trading with the West Indies, who was Warden of the Society of Merchant Venturers, Bristol, 1723; Mayor of Bristol, 1732 (d. 1734). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1911. Directors: Mervyn K. King (Chairman), Edmund A. King, Charles M. King and Duncan McPherson. Staff: Large. Branches: Duala, Ba.tanga, Edea, Yaundi, &c., in German Cameroons, Grand Bassam, Jacqueville, Lahou, Sassandra, Drewin, Tiassali, Fresco, Abidjan, Addah, Dimbokro, Toumodi, Soubre,&c., on the French Ivory Coast. Business: Importers of all West African Produce, viz. Palm Oil, Palm Kernels, Rubber, Ebony, Mahogany, Cocoa, Ivory, &c. Exporters of Cottons, Woollens, Silks, Hardware, Provisions, Tobacco, Salt and General Goods of all sorts. Award: Medal, Exhibition of all Nations, London, 1851. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 155 Bristol. Telegraphic and Cable Address: ``Palm, Bristol." Codes: A B C and Private. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. The Directors hold a number of public offices.

KING (WHITFIELD) & CO.—See WHITFIELD KING & CO.

KING'S NORTON METAL CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Naval and Military Ammunition for large and small guns, Rolled Metals, Wire, &c., King's Norton Metal Works, King's Norton, Birmingham. Londoh Office: 16, Great George Street, S.W. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Directors: Thomas R. Bayliss, J.P. (Chairman and Managing Director), T. A. Bayliss, J.P. (Managing Director), MajorGeneral E. Micklem, John Palmer, L. von Chauvin, E. P. Harvey. Premises: Area sixty acres at King's Norton, Works and Offices. Staff Clubs: Sick and Dividend Society. Branch: Abbey Wood, Kent, Loading Factory, covering sixty acres. Specialities: Cartridges for Small Arms, Naval and Field Guns, Fuzes, Primers. Specialists in Metals— e.g., Cupro-Nickel, German Silver, Patent White Metals: " Knalba I.," " Knalba II.," Soft Steel, &c. Patents: Many. 1wards: Gold and Silver Medals, Brussels, 897; Two Gold and one Silver Medal, Paris, 1900, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Knem, King's Norton.' Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd., Birmingham. Mr. T. R. Bayliss is a Justice of the Peace for the Counties of Worcester and War wick, an Alderman of Worcestershire, a City Councillor of Birmingham, &c. Mr. T. A. Bayliss is a Justice of the Peace for the County of Worcester, &c.

KIPPAX, J. H., & CO., Coloured Cotton Goods Manufacturers, 58, George Street, Manchester; and Wellfield Mills, Clayton-le-Moors, Accrington. Hours of Business: Manchester, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1909 by J. H. Kippax, the Present Principal. Speciality: Coloured Cotton Goods. Telephones: No. 2677 City, Manchester; 2 o No. 508 Accrington. Bankers: Union Bank of Manchester, Ltd., and Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd.

KIPPS, E., & CO., Ltd., Leather Dressers and Merchants, 151-153, Bermondsey Street, London, S.E.; and 99, Charles Street, Leicester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1868 by Edward Kipps (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in •1900 Directors: A. M. Kipps (Chairman), Herbert Kipps, George Sard, and H. T. Bendy. Premises: Consist of Factory and Warehouse. Business: Leather Dressers and. Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: No. 1110 Hop, London; No. 739 Leicester. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd., Southwark Branch.

KIRBY BANKS SCREW CO., Ltd., Screw, Bolt and Nut Manufacturers, Albert Screw Works, Leeds. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m, Established in 1864 by Kirby Banks. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: Alderman Penrose Green, J.P. (Chairman), John E. Davenport and Fred A. Padgett. Secretary: H. Banks. Premises: Cover three acres, equipped with up-to-date plant and appliances. Staff: 400. Specialities: Best quality of Black and Bright Bolts, Screws, Nuts, &c., for Engineers, Motor Car Manufacturers, &c. Taps and Dies of any description made to order. All mild steel used is made to special analysis and tests, to stand excessive vibration and strain. Hold large stocks of special Nickel Steel, &c., for Engineering and Motor Car Work. Patents: Oil Fuel Furnaces, Machinery for the production. of Bolts and Nuts, &c. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 541 Leeds (two lines). Telegraphic Address " Hexagon, Leeds." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited. Mr. Pen ease Green is an Alderman of the city of Leeds, and was Lord Mayor of Leeds in 1909. He is Chairman of the Leeds Gas Department and Public Dispensary.

KIRBY & NICHOLSON, Ltd., Costumiers, Mantle Manufacturers, Furriers, &c., 6, St. Ann's Square, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established early in the nineteenth century, at York, by Messrs. Nicholson and Hudson. The latter was the celebrated George Hudson, known as the " Railway King." Partnership Successions: (1) Nicholson & Hudson; (2) C. & J. Potter; (3) Kirby & Nicholson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: J. Ward Nicholson (Chair. man), William Wordsworth, George A. Potter-Kirby, W. H. Heywood. Branches: Victoria House, York; 479 and 481, Lord Street, Southport. Stag: Over 500. Specialities: Costumes, Mantles, Millinery, Furs, Carpets, and Linens. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3448 Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Kirby Nicholson, Manchester."

KIRK & RANDALL, Builders, Contractors, and Constructional Engineers, Warren Lane Works, Woolwich. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1850. Business: Building and Engineering Contracts of all kinds. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3 Woolwich. Telegraphic Address: " Kirk Randall, Woolwich."

KIRK (WHEATLEY), PRICE & CO., Electrical and Mechanical Valuers, Arbitrators, and Auctioneers, 46, Watling Street, London, E.C., and Albert Chambers, Albert Square, Manchester, and 26, Collingwood Street, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Established in 1850 by Captain Wheatley Kirk. Present Partners: Henry Sherley-Price, M.I.Mech.E., M.I.E.E., Ernest Sherley-Price, M.I.S.I., A.I.E.E., John Place, M.I.Mech.E., A.M.I.E.E., and Horace Sherley-Price. Speciality: Valuation of Mechanical and Electrical Plant and Works. Telephones: (London) No. 5077 Bank; (Manchester) No. -3218 Central; (Newcastle), No. 3229 Central. Telegraphic Addresses: " Indices, Cent, London "; " Indicator, Manchester "; " Indicator, Newcastle."

KIRKALDY (DAVID) & SON, Testing Engineers, Testing and Experimenting Works, 99, Southwark Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1866. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Test for H.M. Government (most Departments), and the principal Railways, &c. Telephone: No. 2439 Hop.

KIRKER, GREER & CO., Ltd., Distillers of Irish Whisky, Academy Street, Belfast. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.. Established in 1875 by Archibald M. Kirker (d.) and William Greer (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Sidney Greer (Chairman), Mrs. H. Greer, W. J,' Neill, F. M. Weldon. Branches: London, Manchester, Glasgow, Birmingham, Leeds, Aberdeen, &c. Speciali-ties: Proprietors of a well-known Brand of Irish Whisky. Awards: Several Medals. Telephone: No. 230 Belfast. Telegraphic and Cable Address: "Malt, Belfast." Code: A B C. Bankers: Belfast Banking Co., Ltd. (Belfast), Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (London).

KIRKHAM, HULETT & CHANDLER, Ltd., Gas Engineers, 132 and 133, Palace Chambers, Bridge Street, Westminster, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 1.0 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established by Thos. Nesham Kirkham, David Hulett, Thomas Hersey, Samuel Chandler (sen.), Josiah Chandler (all deceased), and Samuel Chandler (jun.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1879. Directors: Walter Benson, Herbert Walter Hersey, Frederick Deacon Marshall, Sidney Horsey (Managing Director and Secretary). Formed to acquire Letters- Patent for a Gas-Washing and Scrubbing Apparatus. Agents: In United States, Germany, France, Belgium, Italy, and Spain. Specialities: Gas Washer Scrubbers, Condensers, Tar Extractors, and Purifier Grids. Patents: For Washer Scrubbers, Tar Washers, Purifying Grids. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 127 Victoria. Telegraphic Address: " Washer, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Lambeth Branch).

KIRKHAMS, Earthenware Manufacturers, Stoke-on-Trent. Hours of Business: 7 a.m to 6 p.m. Established in 1860 by William Kirkham, J.P. Present Principals: W. R. Kirkham, H. G. Kirkham, J.P. Staff: About 160. Specialities: Druggists and Hospital Earthenware, Electrical Ware and various special features in Pottery. Connection: United Kingdom. Export to all parts of the World through Merchants at home. Telephone: No. 832 Stoke-on-Trent. Telegraphic Address " Kirkhams, Stoke-on Trent." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

KITSON & CO., LIMITED, Locomotive and General Engineers, Airedale Foundry, Hunslet Road, Leeds. Registered Address: " Airedale, Leeds."

KITSON EMPIRE LIGHTING CO., Ltd. (THE), Manufacturers of Lamps, &c., Stamford, Lincs. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1902 by Arthur Kitson (Inventor of the Kitson System of Lighting), as the Kitson Light Foreign Supply Co., London, amalgamated with Empire Light, Ltd. Both originally owned by Arthur Kitson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1911. Successor of Kitson Empire Co. Chair man Walter Coates. Managing Director: Arthur Kitson. Premises: Cover about three acres. Staff: About 200. Branches: London, 39, Wilson Street, Finsbury, E.C.; Paris, 39, Rue Lafayette. Agencies: All over the world. Specialities: Lamps and Parts pertaining to the Kitson Empire Patent System of Lighting. Claim that the " Kelite " patent inverted Domestic Portable Lamp is the safest, best and most economical light known, 100 candle power. Made in brass or lacquered; also all kinds of hanging lamps, &c., for domestic use and all forms of indoor lighting to burn Petroleum or Paraffin Oil. Their trade mark, " Kelite," is well known. Patents Over 200. Awards: Philadelphia, 1900; Paris, 1901; Glasgow, 1901; Philadelphia. 1902; Dresden, 1903; Athens, 1904; Wellington, 1905; Milan, 1906; Dublin, 1902; Franco-British Exposition, London, 1908; Hors de Concours, Brussels, 1910; Allahabad, 1911; Hors de Concours, Roubaix, France, 1911. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office), Crown Agents for the Colonies. Kitson System was adopted by Trinity House for all the British Lighthouses in 1902. Over 2,000,000 lamps in use abroad. Telephone: No. 328 Stamford. Telegraphic Address: " Vaporific, Stamford." Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and Lieber's.

KITTEL & CO., Ltd., Merchants, 5, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1883 by T. B. Kittel. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Managing Director: T. B. Kittel. Agencies: Direct Representatives in all European Countries; also in India, China, Japan, and South America. Specialities: Ores, Gold and Silver, Special Pig Iron for all purposes, Steel, Coal, Coke, Refractory Materials and Cement. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 415 Avenue; No. 559 Central; No. 1900 City, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Centrum, London."

KLEINERT, I. B., RUBBER CO., Manufacturers of Dress Shields, Hose Supporters, Dental Rubber, &c., 725-727, Broadway, New York, U.S.A.; European Headquarters, 62 and 63, Basinghall Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. President: V. Guinzburg. Vice- President and Treasurer: H. A. Guinzburg. Secretary: A. B. Salingor. • European 2 0 2 Manager: R. E. Wright. Branches: Hamburg, Paris, Brussels, Vienna, Berlin, Stockholm, Copenhagen,Milan, St. Petersburg; Glasgow. Specialities: Dress Shields, Rubber Sheetings, Baby Pants, Dental Rubber, &c. Patents: Innumerable. Awards: Highest at St. Louis Exposition, Chicago, &c. Connection: All civilized countries. Telephone: No. 7469 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Stability, Ave, London." Code: Western Union. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

KLEINWORT, SONS & CO., Bankers, 20, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1854. Partnership Successions: (1) Kleinwort & Cohen; (2) Drake, Kleinwort & Cohen, 1858; (3) Kleinwort, Cohen & Co., 1871; (4) Kleinwort, Sons & Co., 1883. Present Principals: Herman Greverus Kleinwort, Sir Alexander Drake Kleinwort, Bart., and Herman Anton Andreae. Business: All branches of General Banking. Telephones: London Wall 3850, Private Branch Exchange. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Kleinwort, London." Sir Alexander Drake Kleinwort, Bart., is Deputy Chairman of the North British and Mercantile Insurance Co. and Railway Passengers Assurance Co.

KNAPP, DREWETT & SONS, Ltd., Printers, Manufacturing Stationers, &c., 20, Clarence Street, Kingston-on-Thames, and 30, Victoria Street, Westminster, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established: R. G. A. Knapp (d.) 1859; William Drewett 1875; amalgamated in 1900. Incorporated as a Litnited Company in the same year. Directors: J. A. Drewett, G. H. Drewett, Valentine Knapp (Managing Directors), H. Drewett, E. A. Judges, C. Spearing. Business: Printers for Railway Companies, Public Authorities and General Commercial Businesses, &c.; Proprietors and Printers of four Newspapers, including the Surrey Comet ". (established 1854). Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1890, 1891 and 1892 Kingston; No. 945 Victoria; No. 46 Molesey. Telegraphic Address: " Type, Kingston-on-Thames." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

KNIGHT, ALFRED H., F.I.C., Metallurgical Chemist and Assayer, 51, Highfield Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1883 by A. H. Knight, F.I.C. Present Principals: A. H. Knight and Leslie Knight, A.R.S.M., F.I.C. (son). Premises: Specially con structed for the business of Assaying and Metallurgy, extending over five hundred square yards, and devoted exclusively to this work. Staff: Twenty-one, including those specially engaged in weighing and sampling cargoes of Ore. Business: Metallurgical Chemists and Assayers. Samplers of Ores and Metallurgical Products, and consulting Metallurgists. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 2300 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Assayers, Liverpool." Code: A B C. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

KNIGHT (CHARLES) & CO., Ltd., Printers, Publishers, &c., 227 to 239, Tooley Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established over seventy years. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Chairman and Managing Director: J. Archibald Allen. Business: General Printers, Publishers, Lithographers, and Manufacturing Stationers. Proprietors of the " Local Government Chronicle," Knight's Official Advertiser, and Knight's Local Government Reports. Publishers of all Books and Forms required for use by Local Authorities. Connection: The British Isles. Telephone: No. 4155 Hop, (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Together, London."

KNIGHT & CO., Manufacturers' Agents and Merchants, 14, Leeds Road, Bradford. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1859 by John P. Knight. Present Principals: John Atkin and James Y. Knight. Business: Manufacturers' Agents and Merchants. Connection: Home Trade. Telephone: No. 1215 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Chevron, Bradford." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Halifax Commercial Bank, Ltd. (Bradford).

KNIGHT & FORSTER, Ltd., Printers, Water Lane Printing Works, Leeds. Hours of Business: Fifty-two and a half hours per week. Established in 1821 by James Young Knight, trading as J. Y. Knight. Succeeded by J. C. Knight as J. Y. Knight & Co. Present Principals: Arthur Langford Knight and Edward Eustace Forster. Since 1885 trading as Knight & Forster. Staff: 250 at Printing Works; twenty elsewhere. Branches: Leeds City, Bradford, Newcastle, Middlesbrough, Rotherham, Sheffield, Hull. Specialities: Colour and Commercial Letterpress and Lithographic Printing, Account Book Making. Award: Bronze Medal, Exhibition, 1851, for Steel Pens. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: Nos. 115 and 116 Leeds; No. 155 Bradford; No. 3133 (National), Hull; No. 655 Middlesbrough; No. 2756 Newcastle; No. 244 Rotherham; No. 107 Sharrow, Sheffield. Telegraphic Address: " Printing, Leeds." Bankers: The London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

KNIGHT (JOHN), Ltd., Soap Manufacturers, The Royal Primrose Soap Works, Silvertown, London, E. City Office: 6, Billiter Street, E.C. Glasgow Office: Caledonian Chambers, 87, Union Street. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1817 by John Knight. Incorporated in 1902 as a Private Limited Company, trading as John Knight & Sons, Ltd., and in 1906 as a Public Company. Directors: J. W. Hope (Chairman and Managing Director), J. Baillie Knight, F. Houghton, A. H. E. Squire, Alan C. Knight, S. Barnett. Secretary: James Webster, F.C.I.S. Premises: Large Works at Silvertown, with frontage to the River Thames. and connected by siding with the Great Eastern Railway. One of the notable industrial establishments of East London. Staff: Large. (Workmen's Hall at the works, with various clubs, societies, &c., for the benefit of the employees.) Specialities: All kinds of Hard, Soft, and Toilet Soaps. Are also Glycerine Makers, Oil Seed Crushers, Oil Refiners, Tallow Melters. and Oleo Makers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal War-, rant: Special Appointment to His Majesty the King. Telephones: No. 1768 East (four lines), for Works; No. 1941 Central, for City Office; No. 8007 City, Glasgow. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Johnite, London." Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd.

KNIGHT, W. E., Ltd., Agricultural Merchants, &c., Trent Bridge, Newark; and Ilkeston Road, Radford, Nottingham. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1868 by W. E. Knight. Incorporated as a Limited Corwany. Directors: W. E. Knight, J.P. (Managing Director and Chairman), E. Knight and E. Thorpe. Specialities: Sheep Dips (Manufacturers), Coal, Lime and Artificial Manure (Manufacturers), and Corn, Coal, Lime, and Wool (Merchants). Telephone: No. 9 Newark. Telegraphic Address: " Knight, Newark." Mr. W. E. Knight is an Alderman and has been Mayor of the Borough of Newark. He is a Justice of the Peace for Nottinghamshire and for the Borough of Newark.

KNILL & GRANT, Fruit Brokers and Warehouse Keepers. Offices: Monument Buildings, Pudding Lane, London, E.C. Established in the latter part of the eighteenth century under the name of Merrill. Partnership Successions: Merrill & Knill; John Knill( father of Sir Stuart Knill, Lord Mayor of London, 1892-3); Richard Grant (1860-1887). The present partners, Richard J. Grant and Harry Grant, are the sons of the late Richard Grant. Warehouses: Nos. 27, 29, and 30, Pudding Lane; 32 to 35, Botolph Lane; Middelton's Wharf; London Docks. It was near or on the site of No. 27, Pudding Lane that the Great Fire of London (1666) began. Speciality: The firm, whose business is one of the oldest of its kind in the City, act as brokers. and deal with all varieties of " Green " Fruit—fruit that is not dried. Connection: Spain, Holland, Portugal, Africa, South America, Canada, North America, Australia,Tasmania, New Zealand, France, Italy, Sicily, Egypt. The firm's sales are attended by buyers from all parts of the United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 2002 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Fruta, Bilgate, London."

KNILL (JOHN) & CO., Wharfingers and Warehouse Keepers, 5, Adelaide Place, London Bridge, London, E.C.; Fresh Wharf, E.C.; Cox & Hammond's Quays, E.C.; London Bridge Steam Packet Wharf, Lower Thames Street, E.C.; and Fishmongers' Hall Wharf, Upper Thames Street, E.C. Telephones: No. 2017 Avenue; No. 3431 London Wall. Sir John Knill, Bart., was Lord Mayor of London, 1909-10.

KNOTT BROTHERS, Ltd., Fish Merchants, Fish Docks, Grimsby, Proprietors of the Live Fish Co. and the Standard Fish Co. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established over thirty years ago. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Directors: A. J. Knott, J.P., Herbert E. Knott. Business: Fish Merchants, Direct Supply system to Private Families, Hotels, &c. Specialise in Skate, Dabs, Flounders, Haddock, whole or fillet, Whiting, Ling, Tusk, Cod, Codlings, Herring, Gurnets, Rock Salmon, Soles, Lemon Soles, White Salmon, Smelt, Halibut, Cod, River Soles, Silver Whiting, Turbot, Meigrams, Plaice, Brill, Hake, Cleethorpes, Native Oysters, English Native Oysters, Selected Blue Point Oysters, Best Block Ice, Salmon and Lobsters, when in season at market prices, &c., and Best Cod Liver Oil. Telephone: No. 546 Grimsby. Telegraphic Address: " Live, Grimsby." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. Mr. A. J. Knott i.s a Justice of the Peace and a Councillor, was. Mayor of Grimsby, 1911-12, had the honour of presenting an Address of Welcome on behalf of the Town to H.M. King George on the occasion of his visit to Grimsby, 1912; Mr. Knott was, DeputyMayor of Grimsby, 1912-13, is Chairman of the Grimsby United Fish Merchants' and Fish Curers' Association, Ltd.

KNOTT (WILLIAM) & SON, Ltd., Engineers, Fairfield Street, Manchester. Hours of Business 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1876 by William Knott; as William Knott & Son in 1907. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1913. Managing Director: Sam Knott. Specialities: Steam and Hydraulic Engineering. Telephone: No. 1648 Central, Manchester, Telegraphic Address: " Knott, Central 1648, Manchester." Bankers: Williams Deacons Bank, Ltd.

KNOWLES (ANDREW) & SONS, Ltd., Colliery Owners, Pendlebury, near Manchester, and 44, King Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established at the close of the eighteenth century by the late Andrew Knowles (d. 1847) of Eagley, near Bolton. Partnership Successions: (1) Robert Knowles, Thomas Knowles, James Knowles, and John Knowles (sons of founder), 1847 to 1870. (2) Andrew Knowles (senior) and Kaye Knowles (sons of Robert Knowles), John Knowles (son of Thos. Knowles), Robert Millington Knowles, and Andrew Knowles (junior) (sons of James Knowles). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1873. Chairman: Robert Knowles, great grandson of the founder (High Sheriff of the County of Derby, 1914) preceded by Robert Millington Knowles, D.L., J.P., the late Andrew Knowles (d. 1890), and the late John Knowles, cousin of Andrew Knowles (d. 1894). One of the oldest firms in the trade. The firm's colliery operations began in the neighbourhood of Bolton, early in 1800 they leased Mr. Milnes-Gaskell's Mines at Clifton, and later those of Mr. Dauntesey of Agecroft, about 1854 they took over the Pendleton Colliery, the sinking of which crippled the finances of John Fitzgerald, father of the translator of " Omar Khayam." The firm have also undertaken extensive colliery operations in the Radcliffe Little Lever neighbourhood. Premises: Collieries, Pendleton, Agecroft, Pendlebury, Clifton Hall. Staff: 4000. Branches: Salford, Manchester, Bury, Bolton, Rochdale, Heywood, Radcliffe, Davenport and Wilmslow; 283, Lord Street, Southport; 2, Birley Street, Blackpool; Old Station Yard, Lancaster; London and North Western Railway Goods Siding, Morecambe; Fort Street, Douglas, Isle of Man. Specialities: A superior class of House Coal which has a large sale in the Manchester Market, and the celebrated " Dow Top Coal which has a large sale in Ireland and the West of England. Telephones: Pendlebury, Nos. 7092 and 7091 Central; Manchester, No. 550 City. Telegraphic Address: " Knowles, Colliery, Pendlebury." Mr. John Knowles was a Justice of the Peace and a Deputy Lieutenant and High Sheriff of Lancashire. Mr. Andrew Knowles was a Justice of the Peace, Deputy Lieutenant and High Sheriff of Gloucestershire. Mr. Arthur Knowles is a Justice of the Peace, Deputy Lieutenant and a former High Sheriff of Lancashire. Mr. Robert Millington Knowles, the late Chairman of the Company, is a Justice of the Peace, Deputy Lieutenant, and a former High Sheriff of Nottinghamshire.

KNOWLES & FOSTER, Foreign Bankers and Merchants, 48, Moorgate Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1853 by John Knowles and Richard Foster, ,who took over the business of their uncles, Thomas Foster and George Holgate Foster, trading as Foster Brothers since 1826. Partnership Successions: (1) John Knowles (1853 to 1877); (2) William Knowles (son of John Knowles), 1866 to 1886. Joined by John Gallop (1869 to 1881); Richard Foster (1853 to 1909); Edward Lacy Weigall (1889-1910). Present Principals: Thomas Foster Knowles (son of John Knowles), joined 1878; Richard Foster, (son of the late Richard Foster), joined 1897; John Knowles (son of William Knowles), joined 1899, Thomas Geoffrey Pettitt, 1910. -Business: Foreign Bankers and Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom, Portuguese, and South American. Telephones: Nos. 3391 City, 1006 and 1007 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Knowles, Ave, London," and others. Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

KNOWLES (JOHN) & CO. (WOODEN BOX), Ltd., Manufacturers of Fireclay Goods, Sanitary Stoneware Pipes and Connections, and Proprietors of Crucible Steel Pot and Cement Fireclay Mines, Mount Pleasant Works, Wooden Box, near Burton-onTrent. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1849 by John Knowles at Wooden Box. In 1863 in London. Continued by John Knowles & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Chairman and Managing Director; John Hassall. Premises: Birmingham, Cole Bank, Hall Green; Glasgow, Iron and Steel Works, Shettleston; Nottingham, Brougham Chambers, Wheeler Gate; Sheffield, 31 to 43, Green Lane. Staff 370. Specialities: Sanitary Stoneware Drain Pipes and Connections; Firebricks, Lumps and Tiles for Iron and Steel Furnaces; Boiler Seating Blocks and Flue Covers, Nozzles, Stoppers and Rod Covers for the Bessemer or Siemen's Steel Process; Firebrick Backs and Linings for Coal and Gas Stoves, and Hollow Fuel for Gas fires. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 13 Woodville. Telegraphic Address: " Knowles, Woodville." Bankers; London City and Midland Bank, Ltd., Swadlincote; and Crompton & Evans' Union Bank, Ltd., Chesterfield.

KNOWLES, LIMITED, Cotton Spinners, Peel Mills, Turton Street, Bolton. Incorporated April 25th, 1904. Directors: Lester L. Haselden, A. Sampson Lord, William E. Walker, William Walter Cannon. The Company has five Mills and operates a large number of spindles in the production of various counts of cotton yarns. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 573 Bolton. Telegraphic Address: " Knowles, Bolton."

KNOWLES (THOMAS), Ltd., Sanitary Ware Manufacturers, Spring Vale Fireclay Works, Darwen, Lancashire. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Director: Thomas Knowles, J.P. Specialities: Salt Glazed Sanitary Pipes, Bends, Junctions, Gullies, and all kinds of Traps and Fittings, Cattle Troughs, Pig Troughs, Horse Mangers, Sinks; also Waste Water Closets, Latrines and Urinals; Patent Manholes, Patent Anti-flood Traps, Patent Outlet Pipes for Gas Cookers, and Knowles' Patent Golf Sand Boxes. Telephone: No. 55, Darwen. Telegraphic Address: " Knowles, Darwen." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.

KOCH & CO., 1, Charterhouse Buildings, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Established in 1887 by Adolf Koch. Specialities: Tools, Materials, and General Supplies for Watchmakers, Goldsmiths, Jewellers, Opticians, Dentists, Engineers, &c.

KODAK, Ltd., Photographic Apparatus and Material Manufacturers, Kings way, London, W.C.; and Branches as below. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Incorporated in 1898, and is associated with the Eastman Kodak Co., of New Jersey, U.S.A. (Capital, $35,000,000), Kodak Societe Anonyme Francaise, Kodak Gesellschaft, Berlin, and other European businesses. Largest manufacturers in the world of Cameras, Films, Papers, Dry Plates, and other Photographic Material, with factories at Ro chester, N.Y., Jamestown, N. Y. , Toronto, Canada, and Harrow, England. Directors: (Kodak, Ltd.) W. S. Gifford (Chairman), Sir H. Trueman Wood, Andrew Pringle, George Davison, F. C. Mattison, H. A. Strong. George Eastman, and W. S. Gifford (Managing Directors). Deputy Managing Director: F. C. Mattison. Secretary: W . J. Williams. Premises: (London) Head Office and Warehouse, Kingsway, London, W.C. Branches at 59, Brompton Road 60, Cheapside; 1 and 2, Gracechurch Street, E.C.; 115, Oxford Street; 171-173, Regent Street; and 40, Strand. Also Branches at Liverpool, Birmingham, Newcastle -on- Tyne, Glasgo w, and Dublin. Wholesale and Retail Houses: New York, Chicago, San Francisco, Paris, Berlin, Brussels, Vienna, St. Petersburg, Moscow, Milan, Copenhagen, Lausanne, Cape Town, Bombay, and at London, Liverpool, Newcastle, Birmingham, Dublin, and Glasgow. Stag: (European) Upwards of 1,100. including nearly 600 factory employees. Specialities: Photographic Apparatus and Materials, and particularly Camera. Hold numerous and important patents. Awards: Grand Piix, Paris, 1900; also Medal of Royal Photographic Society. Royal Warrant: Purveyors of Photographic Material to H.M. Queen Alexandra. Telephone: No. 970 Gerrard (seven lines). Telegraphic Address " Kodak, London."

KOENIGS, H. & CO., Iron, Steel and Metal Merchants and Agents, 38, Lime Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1883 by Hermann Koenigs, the present principal. Specialities: All classes of Iron and Steel Wire and Wire Ropes, Nails, Spanish Spelter Zinc Sheets,. and Oxide of Zinc. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Telephone: No. 4270 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Bamboo, London." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

KONIG, J. C., & EBHARDT, Printers, 18 to 23, Craven Street, City Road, London, E.C.; and at Hanover and Vienna. Hours of .Business: London, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1845. London Manager: Oscar Timme. Staff: Over 1200. Specialities: Account Books, Fine Art Colour Printing, Lithography and Letterpress, Files and Office Sundries. Patents and Inventions: Numerous. Awards: Highest Awards at all exhibitions. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 5063 London Wall (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Presswork, Hox, London." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions).

KOPKE, C. N., & CO., Ltd., Port Wine Shippers, 1 and 2, Rangoon Street, Crutched Friars, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1638 by the family of Kopke's at that timeConsuls- General at Lisbon of theHanse atic Free Towns of Germany." Continued by the same Kopke family down to the death of the Baron de Massarellos (Joaquim Kopke) about ten years ago. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Directors: E. H. Williamson (Chairman), Frank Bohane, George Hardey Mason. Staff: Over 100. Branches: Oporto (Portugal), Villa Nova de Gaya. Business: Started as General Merchants, Shippers and Ship Owners.' The principal trade and shipping business for more than 100 years was entirely in their hands. The firm are extensive Port Wine Shippers. Awards: Gold Medal, Paris, Philadelphia, &c. Connection: World-wide. Tele-phones: No. 8036 Central, London; No. 193 Villa Nova de Gaye. Cable Addresses: " Kopkes, London "; " Copque, Oporto."

KORTING BROTHERS, Ltd., Engineers, 53, Victoria Street, Westminster, London, S.W . Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1874 by Ernest Korting and Berthold Korting. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Managing Director: (England), O. Lindemann. Agencies: All over the world. Specialities: Steam Plant and Oil Engines. Patents: Numerous. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 49 Victoria. Telegraphic Address: " Korting, Vic, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

KOSMO-LUBRIC OIL CO., LIMITED (Incorporated with Marshall & Co., Ltd., and Marshall's Lubricants, Ltd. ), Oil Importers and Refiners, Castle Street Mills, Stalybridge. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1892 by J. Marshall, manufacturing his specialities — Waterproof Soap, Rainproof Combination, Motor Oils and Greases. Present Principals: J. Marshall and others. Has had the honour of supplying the Kosmo-Lubric Brand Motor Oil to H.M. the King. Premises: Works and General Offices at Stalybridge and Mossley, near Manchester; also Wharf. The Works have three times the capacity of the old works, and are equipped with up-to-date appliances. Improved methods of dealing with Cylinder Oils have been introduced. Branch: 18, Lad Lane, Dublin. Specialities: Waterproof Soap, Rainproof Combination, Motor Oils and Greases. Cylinder Oils are guaranteed free from all grit and resinous matter. Makers of Dark and Amber Cylinder Oil (treated by special process), Motor Oils, Engine Oils, Spindle Oils, Loom Oils, Stainless Loom Oil, Soluble Oil, AnciRust, No. 1 grade suitable for Shipping and Export Trade; No. 2 grade for Heavy. Machinery; No. 3 for Nickel and Polishing Metals. Also Flanelette Finish for Cotton Goods. Trade-mark KosmoLubric (registered). Connection: United Kingdom and Export. Have received numerous testimonials relating to the nature of their specialities. Telephone: No. 224 Ashton-under-Lyne. Telegraphic Addresses: " Lubric, Stalybridge "; " Lubric, Mossley."

KRONIG & CO., Exporters of all classes of Cotton Goods, 5, Marsden Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1875 by William Kronig and Henry Siegler as Kronig & Siegler. Continued in 1890 as Kronig & Co. Present Principal: C. A. W. Kronig. Specialities: All classes of Cotton Goods. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 627 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Kronig, Manchester." Codes: A B C, Private. Bankers: Union Bank of Manchester, Ltd.

KUHN & CO., Merchants, 31, Lombard Street, E.C., and 6, Mincing Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1857. Present Principal: Hermann Kuhn. Have always been largely connected with Mincing Lane Coffee Trade. Telephones: Nos. 2162 (Mincing Lane); No. 2054 Avenue, London (Lombard Street). Telegraphic Addresses: " Kuhn, London." (Mincing Lane); " Rhizopod, London " (Lombard Street).

KUHNER, HENDERSON & CO., South American, South African, Canary Islands, and General Merchants, Salisbury House, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1867 by Ralph Kuliner (d. 1900) and Max Hendschel (retired' 1890). Joined by Alexander Henderson in 1890, and Charles Henry Kuhner joined in 1900. Branches, and affiliated firms, Cape Town, Johannesburg, Las Palnias, Calcutta, Teneriffe and Buenos Ayres. Business: General Merchants. Telephones: Nos. 5331 and 5332 (London Wall), London. Telegraphic Address: " Kuhner, London." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions); Lieber's, A 1, and Southard. Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Lothbury).

KYL-FYRE, Ltd., Fire Extinguisher Manufacturers, Proprietors of the " KylPyre " Dry Powder Extinguisher, 12, Elms Buildings, Eastbourne. London Office: 7, Mark Lane, E.C.; and at 2'1, Tidal Basin Road, Victoria Docks, L.; 92, Market Street, Manchester; Russell Chambers, King Street, Nottingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 8.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Directors: H. F. M. Varley (Managing Director and Chairman), H. Wiggins. Premises: Large Factory, equipped with the latest appliances. Agencies: In all the leading towns. Business: Manufacturers of Fire Extinguishers; specialise in Motor Car Extinguishers. Claim to make the most efficient Fire Extinguisher for dealing with blazing petrol, electrical outbreaks, &c. Have equipped the Corporations of Birmingham, Bristol, Liverpool, Newcastle-on-Tyne, Dublin, Preston, Cardiff, Manchester, Eastbourne, Huddersfield, &c., Electricity Works of Kensington. and Knightsbridge, Chelsea, Stockport, &c., the Electric Lighting Co., Ltd., Thornycroft & Co., Southampton, many of the leading Hotels and Compton Place, Eastbourne, Eaton Hall, Cheshire, Mourne Park, County Down, Ireland, Eridge Castle, Sussex, Bayham Abbey, and many other large mansions. Over two millions now in use. Inventions: Owners of a secret process for the manufacture of Fire Extinguishers. Connection: Worldwide. Telephone: No. 750 Eastbourne. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Kylfyre, Eastbourne." Bankers: London and Provincial Bank, Ltd. (Eastbourne).

KYNOCH, Ltd. Head Offices: Lion Works, Witton, Birmingham. Hours of Business: Offices, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Works, 8 a.mn. to 6 p.m. Established in 1850 by the late George Kynoeh. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Arthur Chamberlain, T.P. (Chairman), George Hookham, J.P., John S. Nettlefold, J.P., A. T. Cocking, J.P., H. Donald Hope, Edward Jones, H. Marks. Premises: Extensive explosive Works at St. Marks, Kynochtown, Essex; Paper Mills, Inchicore and Clondalkin, Co. Dublin; Gas Engine Works and Iron Foundry, Perry Barr, Birmingham; Rolling Mills, Lodge' Road, Birmingham; Nail, Metal, and Tube Works, Fyre Street, Birmingham; Cycle Works, Perry Barr, Birmingham; Toilet Soaps, Candles, Ammunition and Shell Factories, Witton, Birmingham; also. Explosive Factory at Durban, Natal. Staff: Total, about 5,000. The Company are manufacturers upon a very large scale of all kinds of Munitions of War, Sporting Ammunition, Blasting Powder, Fog Signals, Soaps and Candles, Paper, Coins, Metals, Nails, Iron Castings, Cycles, Gas Engines, Suction Gas Plants,&c. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 350 East, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Kynoch, Birmingham."

See Also

Loading...

Sources of Information