Grace's Guide

British Industrial History

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 136,336 pages of information and 219,114 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

1914 Who's Who in Business: Company J

From Graces Guide

Jump to: navigation, search
Im1914WWB-p523b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p524a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p524b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p525a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p525b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p526a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p526b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p527a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p527b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p528a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p528b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p529a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p529b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p530a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p530b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p531a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p531b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p532a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p532b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p533a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p533b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p534a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p534b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p535a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p535b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p536a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p536b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p537a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p537b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p538a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p538b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p539a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p539b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p540a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p540b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p541a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p541b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p542a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p542b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p543a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p543b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p544a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p544b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p545a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p545b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p546a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p546b.jpg

Note: This is a sub-section of 1914 Who's Who in Business

JACK, T. C. and E. C., Publishers, 67, Long Acre, London, W.C.; and 199 to 215, Causewayside, Edinburgh. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1859 by Thomas C. Jack (deceased); succeeded in 1886 by his sons, Thomas Chater Jack and Edwin Chisholm Jack, the present principals. Premises: In London, Offices, &c., as above; in Edinburgh, extensive works on the site of the old Broadstairs House (demolished in 1880), once the residence of the physician of James IV. of Scotland. Specialities: Fine Colour Books; Editions de Luxe; General and Educational Works; Children's Books. Awards: Grand Prix, Paris, 1900; Grand Prize, St. Louis, 1904; Grand Prix, Crystal Palace, 1911. Connection: United Kingdom, the Continent, United States, Canada, Australia, South Africa, India. Telephones: No. 333 Gerrard, (London); Nos. 724 and 2109 (Central) Edinburgh. Telegraphic Addresses: " Sceptral, Rand, London "; " Octavo, Edinburgh."

JACKS (WILLIAM) & CO., Iron and Steel Merchants, 19, St. Vincent Place, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1880 by William Jacks (d. 1907). Joined in 1886 by A. Bonar Law (retired), now M.P. for Bootle. Present Principals: John R. K. Law, H. Arnold Wilson, R. Hetherington, R. Golding, and D. C. Mitchell. Branches: Middles-brough, Liverpool, Sheffield, Swansea, Grangemouth, and Duisburg. Specialities: Employ a Metallurgical and Chemical Expert, and under his advice supply special Irons of all kinds and for all purposes. Connection: World-wide; chiefly with the Continent, United States and Canada. Telephone: No. 9969 City, Glasgow. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Metal, Glasgow." Bankers: Clydesdale Bank, Ltd., and Barclay & Co., Ltd. (London, Glasgow, Middlesbrough).

JACKSON, ELPHICK & CO., Ltd., Bath Founders, Enamellers, and Sanitary Engineers, Avon Sanitary Engineering Works, Birkenshaw, Larkhall, N.B. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1898 by James Jackson and Oscar Elphick, trading as Jackson & Co. Partnership Successions: (1) Jackson & Elphick, Ltd.; (2) Jackson, Elphick & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Directors: Norman Cockburn (Chairman), John Mann (jun.), John Fairley, and James Jackson (Managing Director). Premises: Cover three acres. Branches: Johannesburg, Capetown, Melbourne, Bombay, Belfast, London, Milan. Specialities: Ferro Flint Porcelain, " C.I." Enamelled Baths, Sinks, Tubs, Lavatories, Divisions, &c. Patents: Jackson's Traps. Connection: United Kingdom, Europe, Colonial. Telephone: No. 16 (National), Larkhall. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Jackson, Larkhall." Bankers: Royal Bank of Scotland.

JACKSON (JAMES) & CO., French Polish and Varnish Manufacturers, Shellac and Glue Merchants, &c., Major Works, Major Road, Jamaica Road, London, S.E., and High Wycombe, Bucks. Hours of Busi ness: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1827 by James Jackson. Present Principals: James Connorton Hart, M.P.S., and James Thomas Hart. Have technical knowledge and long experience of trade requirements. One of the earliest firms importing and dealing in Shellacs, with a wide reputation among all in the Cabinet, Piano and Furniture Trade generally for the high quality of their French Polishes and Spirit Varnishes. Premises: From 1827 to 1910 occupied premises in Union Street, Borough, S.E. In 1910 removed to the present extensive Factory and Warehouse, equipped with all modern appliances. Depot in High Wycombe for the supply of Goods to local industry. Specialities: " Pure " Button Polish, Special Transparent Polish; also Patent Knotting for builders' and decorators' use. Large Stock of Glues, Shellacs of all kinds, Gums and Chemicals. Special Makes of Wood Stains, Varnish Stains and Lacquers. Connection: Home, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 3082 Central, London.

JACKSON (SIR JOHN), Ltd., Engineers and Contractors for Public Works, 53, Victoria Street, Westminster, London, S.W. Hours of Business: Usual. Founded by Sir John Jackson in 1876 and Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: Sir John Jackson (Governing Director), G. Hall Scott, Arthur Jackson, J. J. Warbrick, H. C. Wynne Edwards. Branches: Place Chicane-Caracol, Galata, Constantinople; 706, Canadian Buildings, Montreal, Canada; Victoria, British Columbia; Santiago, Chile; Ferrol, Spain; Arica, Chile; Baghdad, Singapore; Rio de Janeiro. Business: Engineering and Contracting for Public Works. Some of the principal works carried out successfully by this firm are: Substructure of the Tower Bridge; Extension of the Admiralty Breakwater at Dover; the Commercial Harbour at Dover; the last eight miles of the Manchester Ship Canal (carried out in two-thirds contract time); new Deep Water Lock at Barry, near Cardiff; the Commercial Graving Docks at Barry; extension of Swansea Docks; Dockyard at Keyham, Devonport, for the British Admiralty; the new Barbour at Simonstown, South Africa, also for the British Admiralty; the North Breakwater at the mouth of the River Tyne; they are at present carrying out the new Harbour Works at Singapore for the British Government; Graving Dock and improvement of the Arsenal at Ferrol for the Spanish Government; the great railway over the Andes from Arica on the coast of Chile to La Paz, tie capital of Bolivia (rising to an altitude of 14,500 ft.); and the dam across the Euphrates and IrrigationWorks in Mesopotamia for the Turkish Government; construction of Breakwater at Victoria, British Columbia. Telephones: Nos. 5649 and 5650 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Address: " Cofferdam, London." Code: Western Union. Bankers: British Linen Bank.

JACKSON, J., & SONS, Railway and Banking and Shipping Agents, 18, Chapel Street, and 9, James Street, Liverpool. London House: 7, Charing Cross, Trafalgar Square, S.W. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1886 by J. Jackson. Present Principals: David Jackson and Edmund G. Jackson. Staff: About fifty. Business: . Europeari Agents of the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul Railway, Boston & Albany Railroad, and Oceanic Steamship Co., of San Francisco. Fastest route from England to Australia. Tickets to all parts. Parcels and Goods forwarded to all parts of the world. Drafts and Money Exchange. Baggage Stored, &c. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 8223 Central, No. 4933 Bank, Liverpool; No. 9795 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Abroad, Liverpool "; " Rightaway, London." The Partners are members of Liverpool City Council.

JACKSON, McCONNAN & TEMPLE, Ltd., Rope and Twine Manufacturers. Office: 5, Goree Piazzas. Works: Edge Lane, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1825. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Tom Temple and James McConnan. Manager: Alexander Shand. Specialities: Hemp Ropes and Cords, and Binder Twines. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 5231 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Macconnan, Liverpool." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

JACKSON, P. R., & CO., Ltd., Engineers, Salford Rolling Mills, Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1840 by Peter Rothwell Jackson. Succeeded by Robert Newton Jackson (son). Incorporated as a Limited Company. Chairman: Robert Newton Jackson. Managing Director: Walter J. Davy. Staff: 600. Specialities: Tooth-Wheel Gearing, TyreMaking Plant, Ramsbottom Piston Rings, Dynamos and Motors, Steel Castings. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 623 and 5079 (National); No. 31 (Post Office) Trunk Service, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Jackson, Manchester." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

JACKSON (THOMAS S.) & SONS, Varnish and Colour Manufacturers, Corner Wharf, Malt Street, Old Kent Road, London, S.E. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1853 by Thomas S. Jackson. Present Principals: Charles S. Jackson and Alfred H. Jackson (sons). Specialities: Floor Polish and Wood Stains, French Polishes, Lacquers and Spirit Varnishes, Colours, Paints, &c. Awards: Medals, London and Vienna Exhibitions. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Contractors to H. M. Government (Admiralty, War Office). Telephone: No. 1868 Hop, London. Telegraphic Address: " Wood Stains London." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

JACOB, W. & R., & CO., Ltd., Biscuit Manufacturers, Office, 28 to 31, Bishop Street, Dublin; London Office, London Street, Dockhead, S.E. Established in 1851 by the late William B. Jacob. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1883. Present Directors: G. N. Jacob (Chairman), W. F. Bewley, A. E. Jacob, C. E. Jacob, G. A. Newsom, A. F. Bewley. Depots at London, Liverpool, and Manchester. Speciality: High-class Biscuits and Cakes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrant: Biscuit Makers by Appointment to H.M. King George V. Telegraphic Addresses: " Jacob, Dublin"; " Sultana, Liverpool "; " Elysium, Tooley, London "; " Crackers, Manchester."

JACOBS BROTHERS & CO., Rag Merchants, West End Mills, Dewsbury, Yorks.; and Portpool Lane, Gray's Inn Road, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1840 by Mr. Jacobs, senior. Continued by his sons and grandsons. Present Principals: Maurice Jacobs, Solomon Jacobs, Trevor Jacobs and Daryl Jacobs. Specialities New and Old Woollen and Cotton Rags. Connection: United Kingdom and all Foreign Countries. Telephones: No. 172 Dewsbury; No. 263 Central, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Whatever, Dewsbury "; " Whatever, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Lieber's, Waste Merchants' Standard Code, Simplex Code Condenser, and Burkhard's. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Dewsbury); Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (London).

JACOBS (EDWARD) & SONS, Fruit Brokers and Auctioneers, Floral Hall, Covent Garden, W.C.; Apple Market, Covent Garden, London, W.C. Offices: 35, Wellington Street, Strand, W.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1820. Present Principals: Michael Jacobs, Benjamin Jacobs, Samuel Jacobs and Gabriel Barnet. Business: Receivers and Salesmen of all varieties of Foreign, Colonial and English Fruit, Vegetables and Allied Produce. Registeredt Trade Mark: " I.D.U." Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 3969 Gerrard (Floral Hall and Wellington Street); No. 2870 Gerrard, London (Apple Market). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Jacobar, London." Codes: A B C, Lieber's, Western Union. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

JACOBS, HARRY (Representing Brandeis Goldschmidt & Co., London, New York, Berlin, Paris), Metal Merchant, Exchange Buildings, New Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1889 by Harry Jacobs, the present principal, who has had thirty years' experience in Metals, old and new. Was eighteen years at Warwick Chambers, Corporation Street, and five years at Exchange Buildings, New Street, Birmingham. Premises: Two Offices. Staff: Three. Residence: 268, Hagley Road, Edgbaston. Speciality: Electrolytic Copper. Connection: Manchester, Birmingham, and all the big Metal and Copper consuming districts; , also Germany, France, United States, Canada. Telephone: Nos. 1282 and 1283 Midland, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Agreeable, Birmingham." Code: Lieber's. Bankers: Metropolitan Bank ( of England and Wales), Ltd. Head Office, Birmingham. Clubs: Midland Conservative; Harborne Golf. Mr. H. Jacobs is a member of the Institute of Metals, a member of Birmingham Chamber of Commerce, a member of Birmingham Exchange, and a P.M. of St. Paul's Lodge of Freemasons.

JACOBSON (WILLIAM) & CO., Hemp Merchants and Twine Importers, 5, Lloyds Avenue, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1886 by William Jacobson. Present Principals: William Jacobson and Adolph Evers (since 1890). Staff: Ten. Business: Claim to be the largest Italian and Hungarian Twine Importers in the United Kingdom. Connection: United Kingdom, Continent and Colonial. Tele phones: Nos. 291 and 6286 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Lubeca, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition ) and Liebsrs. Bankers: London and South Western Bank, Ltd.

JACOBY, M., & CO., Ltd., Nottingham. Lace Manufacturers, Broadway, Nottingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1847 by Moritz Jacoby and Louis Berenhart. Succeeded by John Henry Jacoby, James Alfred Jacoby, Charles Theodore Jacoby, Arthur J. Butler. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1889. Chairman: John Henry Jacoby. Managing Director: Arthur J. Butler. Premises: Daybrook Works for Bleaching, Dyeing, and Finishing; Sherwood Factory for Plain and Fancy Nets. Specialities: Valenciennes Laces and Nets. Patent: Valenciennes Lace. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 45674568 Nottingham. Telegraphic Address: " Jacoby, Nottingham." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

JAEGER BROTHERS, Manufacturers of Electrical Accessories; also Agents for Cables, Ventilators, Heating Apparatus, &c., 18, Christopher Street, Finsbury Square London, E.C. Branch Office: For Gebr. Jaeger, of Schalksmuehle (Westph.), Germany. Hours. of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1901 by Gebr. Jaeger, of Schalksmuehle. Works in Germany were commenced in 1892 by Curt and George Jaeger, who are still owners of works. Present Principals: Hans Curt Jaeger and George Jaeger (Schalksmuehle, Westph.). London Manager: Ernest Jaeger. Works were started in 1892 with about fifteen to twenty workmen, now employ over 600. Premises: London Offices, wholdsale only. Staff: Works, 600; London, six. Staff Clubs: Private Savings Bank for male and female under twenty-one years of age (compulsory). The money saved is paid after that age as desired. Health Insurance since 1897. Agencies: Representatives and travellers. Specialities: All accessories for the Electrical trades (Manufactured and Patented). Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 2606 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Address: " Lampaient, London." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Carlowitz & Hilger's Depeschen Kuerzer. The Partners are engaged in many public offices in Germany.

JAEGER'S (DR.) SANITARY WOOLLEN SYSTEM CO., Ltd., 95, Milton Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Incorporated in 1883. Managing Director: Lewis R. S. Tomalin. Premises: Head Office and Wholesale and Shipping Warehouses, 61 and 63, Moor Lane, and 95, Milton Street, London, E.C.; Depots for , retail distribution in London, and Agencies for retail distribution throughout Great Britain and Ireland. Branches in ' Australia, Canada, and New Zealand. Stag: Several hundreds of persons are employed. Connection: Great Britain and Ireland, British Possessions. Telephone: No. 2090 City (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Stockinet, London."

JAMES (JOHN) & SONS, LIMITED, Needle and Fish Hook Manufacturers, Victoria Works, Redditch. London Office: 54, Aldermanbury, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1835 by John James. Incorporated as a Limited Company in .1902. Directors: Charles Bartleet James, John William James, Charles Ernest James. Specialities: Needles of every description. Fish Hooks, and Fishing Tackle for Sea and River Fishing. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 12 Redditch. Telegraphic Address: " James, Redditch." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

JAMES (ROBERT), SON & CO., Wine and Spirit Importers, Exporters and Merchants, 17, Store Street, W.C., London. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m . to 1 p.m. Established in 1829. Specialities: Bottled Wines, especially Ports. Exporters of Whiskies and Brandies. Agents for Scotch and Irish Distillers, and are also Shippers of All Foreign Wines, Brandies, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Forpign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 7251 and 9900 Central. Telegraphic Address " Finochio, Phone, London."

JAMES, ROBERTS & CO., Ltd., General Merchants, Importers and Exporters, 2) to 22, Christopher Street, London, E.C. Hours of, Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1910 by C. B. James. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1913. Managing Directors: C. B. James and J. S. Nunn. Chairman: Dr. C. W. H. Newington, M.R.C.S. Vice-Chairman: H. Home. Premises: Extensive Showroom, Offices and Warehouse occupying seven large floors. Specialities: The " Playano " Player Piano, " Echofon " Gramophone, Camp Equipment, Office Equipment and Typewriters. Connection: British and Colonial. Telephone: No. 2591 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Address: " Jarocomp, London."' Code: A B C. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Newgate Street).

JAMES (THOMAS), Engineers' Factor and Merchant, Northgate, Darlington. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1873 by Thomas James, the present principal. Manager: Herbert Maw. Premises: Large shop of three storeys and warehouses thirty feet by twenty feet, three floors and cellars. Business: Wholesale Retail and Export. General Shipping and Engineers' and Colliery Stores. Patent: Cycle Saddle (for Ladies) and Parasol for Cycle. Connection: North East Coast. Telephone: Darlington No. 3. Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. Mr. James has been a member of the Darlington Choral Society since 1871. Chairman of the Council for five or six years. He was trained in the Duke of York's School, 1854 to 1858, and joined the 13th Hussars (then Light Dragoons) as Trumpeter. Was corporal and Field Trumpeter for three years and retired in 1866 by purchase. He later filled several positions, including one on the Staff of the " Northern Echo." He was Hon. Choir Master of the Congregational Church for 25 years; was Chairman of the Management Committee of the Temperance Institute for five years, and is one of the Guarantor Members. One of the Founders and Vice-President of the Ragged School. Member of the first Committee of Y.M.C.A. He has retired from the Town Council, School Board, and Board of Guardians. Club: Liberal. Pastime: Fishing (Darlington Anglers' Club).

JAMES (THOMAS) & CO., Steel and Iron Merchants, 19 and 21, Dublin Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about sixty years ago by Thomas James (d.). Succeeded by Joseph Smith (d.). Now carried on by his Executors. Premises: Large Warehouse for Stocking Iron and Steel. Staff: Twenty-one. Specialities: Iron and Steel suitable for Engineering and Ship R epairing. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly), Foreign. Telephone: No. 75'7 (three lines) Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Iron, Liverpool." Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd.

JAMES, W. C. M., Agent, Exchange Buildings and 46, Trinity Road, Birmingham. Hours of Business: Usual. Specialities: Iron and Steel, Coke, Coal, and Minerals. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 1490 Midland, Birmingham. Telegraphic Addresses: " Billets, Birmingham " (Exchange Buildings); " Hematite, Birmingham " (Trinity Road). Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited, Aston Road, Bii mingham.

JAMESON & CO., Ltd., Hemp Manufacturers, Canning Street Works, Hull. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1814 by Wm. Jameson and his sons. Succeeded by Edward Bolton and A. N. Jameson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: Edward Bolton, J.P. (Chairman), S. H. Holmes, J.P., C. O. F. Saner, R. F. Jameson, J. Ashton, and E. V. Bolton. Premises: Cover two and a half acres, equipped with modern machinery. Branches: 110, Cannon Street, London, E.C.; 27, Charles Street, Bradford. Specialities: Hemp Spinning and Weaving; Makers of " Corncrake " Binder Twine. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 209 (National) Hull. Telegraphic Addresses: " Jameson, Hull "; " Hemp, London." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

JAMESON (JOHN) & SON, Ltd., Distillers, Bow Street Distillery, Dublin. London Office: Mark Lane, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1780. Acquired by John Jameson and Partners in 1802. Incorporated as a Limited Company 1902. Speciality: Pot Still Whisky (Irish). Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to His late Majesty King Edward VII., and King George V. Telephone: No. 1206 Dublin. Telegraphic Address: " John Jameson, Dublin." Cables: "Nilbud." Bankers: Bank of Ireland.

JANTZEN (PAUL) & CO., Chemical Agents, Brokers and Merchants, 133, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1875 by Paul Jantzen. Present Principals: E. F. Jantzen, 0. R. Jantzen and G. H. Wattson. Specialities: Chemicals for Colour Grinders, Natural and Synthetic Oils and Artificial Musk. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (War Office), Crown Agents for the Colonies, &c. Telephone: No. 969 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Jantzenaul, Fen, London." Cable Address: " Jantzenaul, London."

JARDINE & CO., Ltd., Organ Builders, Elsinore Road, Old Trafford, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established over a century ago in London and transferred to Manchester in 1823 by Samuel Renn. Continued by (1) Kirtland & Jardine; (2) F. W. Jardine; (3) Charles Woodfield Smith; (4) Edwin Charles Smith and Percy Colville Smith (sons). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Directors: Edwin Charles Smith and Percy Colville Smith (Managing Directors), R. Chester Haworth, Richard Hough and John Woodfield Smith. . One of the oldest and most notable firms of Organ Builders. Premises: Factory in Old Trafford, equipped with modern appliances. Specialities: Organs for Churches, Concert Rooms and private residences, fitted with pneumatic Actions, Patent Electric and Electro-Pneumatic Actions. Claim they are absolutely reliable and can be applied to any existing Organ. Console can be placed in any position. Roll attachment enabling anyone to play the most difficult composition with ease. Also introduced improvements in Artistic Voicing, Tone Specialists and Organ Designers, Electric Gas and Hydraulic Blowing. Patent: Electric and Electro-Pneumatic Actions with Roll Attachment. Telephone: No. 136 Trafford Park.

JARDINE, JOHN, Lace Machine Builder, Deering Street, Nottingham, and Branches. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1850 by John Jardine. Present Principal: Ernest Jardine, M.P., J.P. Claims to be the largest maker of Lace Machinery in the world. Premises: Consist of ten factories. Staff: 2500. Specialities: Every kind of machinery connected with the manufacture of Lace; Printing Machines; Shafting Pulleys, &c. Patents: Numerous. Connection: British and Foreign. Telephone: No. 3295 Nottingham. Telegraphic Address: " Jardine, Nottingham." Codes: A 1, Western Union and A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Nottingham and Notts Bank, Ltd.; Parr's Bank, Ltd.; and Credit Lyonnais.

JARMAN & FLINT, Ltd., Wholesale Grocers and Provision Merchants, Tower Buildings, Carr Lane, Hull. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1873 by William Jarman and George William Flint. Henry William Jarman (son of Wm. Jarman) was taken into partnership, 1889. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Directors: William Jarman, J.P. (Chairman), Henry William Jarman. Specialities: As you like it " Brand Food Specialities (except for Flour), " Kurrachee " Packet Tea. Connection: Yorkshire, Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire. Telephone: No. 160 (Post Office and Corporation) Hull. Telegraphic Address: " Jarman, Hull." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

JARROLD & SONS, Ltd., Manufacturing Stationers and Printers, London and Exchange Streets, Norwich. London Office: 10 and 11, Warwick Lane, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Thursdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1770 as Ja•rrold & Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Directors: William Thomas Fisher Jarrold (Chairman), Thomas Herbert Curteis Jarrold, John Edgar Moorhouse. Branches: Great Yarmouth, Lowestoft, Cromer, Sheringham. Business: Letterpress and Lithographic Printing; General Publishing; Picture Post Cards; Leather, Fancy, Silver, and Art Metal Goods. Are also School Contractors. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrant: Stationers at Norwich to H.M. the King. Telephones: No. 25 Norwich (London and Exchange Streets, Norwich); No. 911 Norwich (the Empire Press, Norwich); No. 3821 Central ( London); No. 56 Great Yarmouth; No. 190 Cromer; No. 39, Sheringham.

JARROTT (CHARLES) & LETTS, Ltd., Motor Car Manufacturers, 45, Great Marlborough Street, Regent Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1902 by Charles Jarrott. Incorporated as a Company in June, 1903. Directors: W. M. Letts (Governing Director) and Sir Kenneth Crossley, Bart. Representatives and agents for the Crossley Cars, De Dietrich and Sizaire Cars. Connection: United Kingdom and the Colonies. Telephone: No. 2362 Gerrard (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Jemidar, London."

JARROTT, Ltd., Automobile Makers, 35, Sackville Street, Piccadilly, W. Works and Depot: Ingate Place, Queen's Road, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works always open. Established by Charles Jarrott. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. Managing Director: Charles Jarrott. One of the pioneers of the Motor industry and has been connected with the business for thirteen years. He is famous for his Motoring records in all parts of the world. Claim that the firm are acknowledged to be the leading Motor Car Agents. Premises: Extensive Works in Battersea. Equipped with up-to-date appliances. Head Offices in Sackville Street, Piccadilly. Speciality: Automobiles. Connection: United Kingdom (extensive), Export all over the world. Telephones: Nos. 875 and 876 Regent; No. 972 Battersea, London. Telegraphic Address: " Jarotaric, Piccy, London." Code: Lieber's. Bankers: Coutts & Co., Ltd.

JARVIS (WILLIAM GEORGE) & SON, Builders and Contractors, Brick and Tile Manufacturers, Landowners and Farmers, Clare, Suffolk. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1831 by W. Perry (uncle of the present proprietor). Partnership Successions: (1) S. Jarvis, 1854; (2) W. G. Jarvis (son), 1880; (3) W. G. Jarvis & Son, 1907. Present Principal: W. G. Jarvis. Premises: Builders' and Contractors' Office, Workshops, and Timber Yard, Cavendish Road; Brick and Tile Works, Bridwell Street; Farmers, Church Farm, Clare. Business: Builders' Contractors, Undertakers, House Decorators, Brick and Tile Manufacturers. Noted for Red Facings, Moulded Bricks of all descriptions; Jarvis Patent Fixing Bricks; Hand-made Roofing Tiles, &c. Patent: Jarvis Fixing Brick. Award: Queen's Prize for Machine Construction and Building Construction, South Kensington Museum, and a Free Studentship; six prizes for Barley, First, Second and Third, with Diplomas, at Brewers' Exhibition, Agricultural Hall, London; one Bronze and one Silver Medal from the National Fire Brigade Union; one Gold Medal from Paris, and one Silver Medal. presented by the Queen Victoria Jubilee Committee; St. John Ambulance Badge. Telegraphic Address: " Jarvis, Clare, Suffolk." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. Mr. W. G. Jarvis has been Parish Surveyor, Income Tax Collector, and Assessor and Trustee of the Almshouse Charity. He is a Parish Councillor, a Trustee of Common Pasture Charity. For twenty-two years Captain of the Old Clare Fire Brigade. Agent for Rock Life Assurance, and the London and Lancashire Fire Insurance. A member of the Patriots Society, Foresters, and Shepherds.

JAY (VICTOR) & CO., Hat Manufacturers, 34 and 36, Southwark Bridge Road, London, S.E. Established in 1840 by Victor Jay, succeeded by Charles Griffin and Thomas Bowler. Present Principals: C. Griffin, T. Bowler, H. Bowler. Premises: Showrooms at 12, Wood Street. Staff: 230. Specialities: Men's Silk, Felt and Straw Hats, 2M and Cloth Caps; and Ladies' Hats in Felt, Straw, and other materials. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 490 Hop (two lines). Tele graphic Address: " Ordonez, Boroh, London."

JAYS, Ltd., Costumiers, Milliners, &c., 239 to 253, Regent Street, 251 to 255, Oxford Street, also trading as The International Fur Store (high-class Furriers) at 163 and 165, Regent Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1841. In May, 1896, the firm was incorporated as a Limited Company. J. W. Peale, W. H. Durham, and G. A. Hiley, Managing Directors; W. Murray, J. B. Weinberg, and E. I. Murray, Directors. A very extensive business as Costumiers, Milliners, and Furriers is carried on, the Company catering for the aristocratic and wealthy classes. Stall: Over one thousand hands. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrant Holders to Her Majesty Queen Alexandra. Tele phone: No. 6000 Mayfair. Telegraphic Address: " Jays, London."

JEBARA, K., & CO., Shippers, 52, Princess Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1887 by K. Jebara. Continued as Sednaoui and Jebara from 1891 to 1903. Present Principal: K. Jebara. Branches: Jebara and Khouri, Cairo. Business: Expert Buyers of all classes of Cotton, Woollen, Linen and Silk Goods on their own account and on Commission. Connection: Shippers to Egypt, Syria, South America, Abyssinia, Manila, &c. Telephone: No. 3125 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: "Jebara, Manchester." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd.; Imperial Ottoman Bank (Manchester). Mr. Jebara is a member of the Chamber of Commerce and Royal Exchange. He is one of the Committee of the Egyptian Section of the Importers' and Exporters' Association. Clubs: Reform; Freemasons.

JEBB BROTHERS, Ltd., Paper Stock and Scrap Metal Merchants, 32, Howard Street, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1858. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Managing Director and Chairman: Thomas Henry Jobb. Premises: Extensive and well equipped. Staff: 200 to 300. Branches: City Road, Crawhall Road, Newcastle-on-Tyne; Bell Street, North Shields; Carr Top Mills, Batley Carr, Batley. Specialities; Papermaking Materials, Scrap Iron, Metal, Rubber, Mungo and Shoddy Rags. Connection: United States, Canada and the Continent. Telephones: Nos. 1918 and 1803 Central, Newcastle-on-Tyne; No. 33 Dewsbury; No. 342 North Shields.

JEEVES (ALLEN) & SONS, Pickle and Sauce Manufacturers, Seddington, Sandy, Beds. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1882 by Allen Semor (d. 1913). Present Principal: Albert G. Jeeves. Premises: The factory is situated on the Farm on which the vegetables used in. the manufacture of Pickles are grown. Specialities: Pickles and Sauces. Telephone: No. 15x Sandy. Telegraphic Address: " Allen Jeeves, Sandy." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (Biggleswade). Mr. Albert G. Jeeves is a member of Biggleswade Board of Guardians and of Biggleswade Rural District Council, as a representative of Sandy. Vice-Chairman of Sandy Parish Council, and a Manager of the Sandy Group of Council Schools.

JEFFERY (ALFRED) & CO., Marine Glue Manufacturers, Marshgate Lane, Stratford, London, E. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1842 by Alfred Jeffery. Speciality: The manufacture of Marine Glue, an invention of the late Alfred Jeffery. This has practically supplanted pitch for vessels' decks, owing to its greater elasticity, and its being better adapted to variations of temperature. Is waterproof and insulating, and is suitable for many other purposes besides filling seams. Can be utilised for waterproofing packing cases. Is also employed in the construction of life-boats. Was specified by Her late Majesty Queen Victoria for the deck seams of the first Royal Yacht, the " Windsor Castle," afterwards named the " Victoria and Albert." Is now specified for similar purposes by leading yacht designers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 357 Stratford. Telegraphic Address: " Marine Glue, London."

JEFFRIES (ELIJAH) & SONS, Ltd., Harness and Saddlery Manufacturers, Mountrath Street, Walsall. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1820 by Elijah Jeffries. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Directors: James G. Jeffries and Albert Jeffries. Staff: Several hundreds. Specialities: Patent Saddles, Patent Whip-sockets, and numerous others. Also make a special feature of Horse Boots." Connection: World-wide. Telephone No. 252 Walsall. Telegraphic Address: " Premier, Walsall." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Walsall).

JENKINS, ROBT., & CO., Boiler Manufacturers and Coppersmiths, Rotherham. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1856 by Robert Jenkins and James B. Tapp. Continued from 1858 to 1875 by R. Jenkins, J.P. (d. 1910). Joined by A. T. Jenkins in 1876. Present Principal: Since 1899, Alfred T. Jenkins, J.P. Premises: Cover about two acres. Stall: Ninety. Specialities: Wrought Iron, Steel, and Copper Boilers, Steam Cooking Appliances, Hot Water Supply Boilers, Delta Boiler, Pure Copper Cylinders and Bath Boilers, Pure Brazed Copper Cylinders and Range Boilers, Copper Independent Boilers for Hot Water Supply. All kinds of Hotwater Heating Apparatus for Greenhouses, Public Buildings, &c. Vertical Boilers for Steam Engines or Cooking purposes, Hot-water Valves, &c.; also Coppersmiths' Work. Award: Royal Horticultural Society, 1882, for Heating Apparatus. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Departments, &c.). Telephone: No. 13 Rotherham. Telegraphic Address: " Jenkins, Rotherham."

JENKS BROTHERS, Ltd., Motor Accessory Manufacturers and Factors, Dudley Road, Wolverhampton. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Reginald. P. Jenks and G. Clement Jenks. Specialities: Motor Accessories and Tools. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 656 Wolverhampton. Telegraphic Address: " Jenbro, Wolverhampton."

JENNENS & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Helmets, Badges, Buttons, &c., 56, Conduit Street, London, W., and Deritend, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1760 by Charles Jennens. Continued by the same family since foundation. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Directors: William Jennens, Lionel Kerr Jennens and Keith Jennens. Specialities: Helmets, Cuirasses and every description of Metal Badges, &c., worn in the Army; also Metal Buttons generally. Connection: United Kingdom, India, Colonial and America. Royal Warrants: Special appointment to H.M. The King. Held appointments to His late Majesty King Edward, and to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephone: No. 36 Mayfair, London. Telegraphic Address: " Miloman, Reg, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Argyll Place).

JENNENS, WELCH & CO., LIMITED, Cloth Workers, Waterproofers, and Packers. Head Offices: Springwood Works, Huddersfield. Branches: Eastbrook Works, Bradford; Little Portland Street, Regent Street, London, W., and Craven Street, City Road, London, N. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1870. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: George Frederic Welch (Chairman), Joseph Hardy, Thomas Frank Cole (Secretary), Fred. Rushworth, Edwin John Higgs. Premises: Extensive, and well-equipped Works at Huddersfield, Bradford, and London. Specialities: Cloth Shrinking and Patent Waterproofing. Patent: " Jennwel " Waterproof Process. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, United State3, Colonial. Telephones: No. 3 Huddersfield; Nos. 2259 and 2260 Bradford; No. 6653 Gerrard (Little Portland Street, London); No. 9625 London Wall (Craven Street, London). Telegraphic Addresses: " Jennens, Huddersfield "; " Jennwel, Bradford "; and " Jennwel, Wesdo, London."

JENNINGS, E. J., A.I.E.E., Electric Power Engineer, West Walls, Westgate Road, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1885 by E. J. Jennings, the present principal. Speciality: Plant for the transmission of Electric Power. Telephone: No. 4429 Central, Newcastle. Telegraphic Adress " Potential, Newcastle-on-Tyne."

JENNINGS (GEORGE), Ltd., Hydraulic and Sanitary Engineers, Lambeth Palace Road, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1837 by the late George Jennings, who was succeeded by his sons, George H. and S. Jennings. Incorporated in 1901. Directors: J. D. Wragg (Chairman), C. W. Outram (Managing Director), G. H. Jennings, S. Jennings, W. Jennings, R. B. Wragg, J. Morley. Premises: Offices, showrooms,. &c., in Lambeth Palace Road, London, S.E. Branches: 139, Rue Lafayette, Paris; also at Brussels, Berlin, Rotterdam, Christiania, Copenhagen, St. Petersburg, Vienna, Cape Town, Durban, Johannesburg, Melbourne, Sydney, Dunedin. Specialities: All kinds of Sanitary Appliances; Large Modern Systems of Sanitation, both public and private; also Heating, Ventilation, and Water Supply. The 2 Nt 2 Company's name is known and their work met with in every quarter of the globe; and they have obtained highest awards at all International Exhibitions. Contractors to the War Office and the Admiralty. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to His Majesty King George, to H.M. Queen Alexandra, H.M. the King of Spain; also to His late Majesty King Edward. Telephones: Nos. 3600 and 3601 Hop. Telegraphic Address: " Jennings, London."

JENSON & NICHOLSON, Ltd., Varnish, Paint, and Enamel Manufacturers, Goswell Works, Stratford, London, E. Branch Offices: Exchange Buildings, St. Mary's Gate, Manchester; 48, Via Monforte, Milan. Established in the early years of the eighteenth century by a Mr. Kingham, who initiated the boiling and vending of home-made Varnishes at the sign of the " Whitecross " in Barbican, between Golden Lane and Whitecross Street. About 1840, Mr. Kingham took into partnership a Mr. Jenson, whose youthful energy, allied to the more modern methods adopted, resulted in a great expansion of the business. In 1856, Mr. Kingham retired, and Mr. Jenson was joined in partnership by Wilfred Nicholson, a traveller of the firm of Grace, Yallop & Co., White Lead Manufacturers, who brought into the firm the benefits of an extensive connection. Hence the new style of Jenson & Nicholson. In 1860 the works were transferred to larger and more commodious premises at Belle Isle, which continued to expand until, in 1866, a building at 65, Goswell Road, E.C., was taken, as being more centrally situated for office and warehouse premises. Export business was now opened up, and foreign direct agencies were created. In 1878, Mr. Jenson's failing health led to his retirement, and about this time the works at Belle Isle were destroyed by fire. Mr. Wilfred Nicholson selected Stratford Marshes for the new factory premises, which had the advantage of adjacent waterways connecting with the Thames. In 1900, Wilfred Nicholson was joined by his second son, John Charles Nicholson, in the management. After the retirement of Wilfred Nicholson, the firm was Incorporated as a Limited Company. The present Directors are: John C. Nicholson (Governing Director), Bernard Nicholson, D. G. Pope, H. E. Kimber. General Manager: A. Millis. Sales Manager: Robert Cooke. Assistant Manager: W. G. Brodie. Over thirty travellers are employed. Speciality: The manufacture of high-class Copal Varnish for Coachbuilders, Decorators, Grainers, &c., and the well-known decorative compound " Robbialac," &c. Awards: Twelve Gold and Silver Medals at International Exhibitions. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 760 East (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Varnish, London." Codes: " Lieber's, A B C (4th and 5th Editions), and Private.

JERRARD, DARBY & CLEGG, Ltd., Trimming Warehousemen, Haberdashers, Furriers, 124 and 124A, Wood Street; 1, 2, and 3, Goldsmith Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: January, February, June, July, August, December, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; March, April, May, September, October, November, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established by Thomas Webber Jerrard, A. G. Darby, and J. G. Clegg in June, 1881. Incorporated as a Limited Company, Juno 30th, 1904: T. W. Jerrard, founder (Chairman). Premises: Large Warehouses as above. Departments: Everything requisite for the Trimming of Ladies' Dress; Trimmings, Feather Boas, Braids, Cords, Buttons, Belts, Furs, Fancy Neckwear, Frillings, Hat Pins, Combs, Buckles, Ornaments, Haberdashery, &c.- Are specialists in Smallwares, &c. Well-known house for novelties. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4300 City ( four lines) Central. Telegraphic Address: "Capability, London."

JESSOP (WILLIAM) & SONS, LIMITED, Brightside Steel Works, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1774 by William Jessop. Partnership Successions: (1) Thomas Jessop (son), Chairman (d. 1887); (2) William Jossop (son of Thomas Jessop, d. 1905); (3) Sydney Jessop Robinson (nephew of Thomas Jessop), present Managing Director. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1875. Directors: Albert J. Hobson (Chairman), Sydney Jessop Robinson (Managing Director), Colonel Hughes, C.B., C.M.G., Wm. Blake Burdekin, J. H. Fisher, W. H. Thomas (Managing Director ). Secretary: Cedric Howell. Claim to be the largest manufacturers of High-grade Crucible Steel in existence; is also one of the oldest, if not the oldest, house in the trade. Premises: The Brightside Works cover an area of fifty-five acres, and are equipped with every modern improvement and appliance. The Works are intersected by the River Don, spanned by the Company's own bridge. Staff: 2,000. London Office: 3, Victoria Street, S.W. Specialities: High-grade Crucible Steel for every conceivable purpose; also Producers of Steel Forgings and Steel Castings in the rough or finished state up to sixty tons weight for Marine, Railway, Mining, Electrical and General Engineering; also for Motor Vehicle Construction. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office); also to American, European and Asiatic, Arsenals, Mints, and Army Departments. Telephone: No. 152 (Nat.) Sheffield (four lines). Telegraphic Address: " Jessops, Sheffield." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Sheffield and London). Mr. Thomas Jessop was Mayor of Shef. field in 1863 and Master Cutler in 1864. Mr. Albert J. Hobson was Master Cutler in 1902-3, and the Lord Mayor of Sheffield for 1911-12. Mr. Sydney Jessop Robinson was Master Cutler in 1906.

JEWSBURY & BROWN, Manufacturers of Mineral Waters and of Oriental Tooth Paste, &c., 7, Ardwick Green North, Manchester, and Fishergate Hill, Preston. Also Proprietors of the Stretton Hills Mineral Water Co., Church Stretton, Salop. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 12 noon. Established about 1825 by Jewsbury & Whitlow. In 1845 became Jewsbury & Brown. Present Principal: William Stones. Specialities: Mineral Waters, Aerated Beverages, Ginger Beer, Fruit Cordials, &c. Supply home and export markets; also proprietors and makers of a well-known Tooth Paste, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Canada, New Zealand, India, East, West, and South Africa, Continent of Europe (including Turkey), Central America, United States of America, South America, West Indies, Australia. Royal Warrants: Special Appointments to King George V., His late Majesty King Edward, Her late Majesty Queen Victoria, and the King of Spain. Telephones: Nos. 7137 and 7138 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Oriental, Manchester."

JEWSON & SONS, Timber Importers, Creoseters, Slate Merchants, Slating Contractors, and Box and Case Manufacturers, and Wood Wool Makers. Head Office: Norwich. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1845 by John Wilson Jewson. Present Principals: George Jewson, J.P., John William Jewson, Richard Jewson, William Henry ewson, Percy William Jewson. Premises: Well-equipped Sawing, Planing, and Moulding. Mills at Norwich, Great Yarmouth, Lowestoft, and Lincoln. Stocks also at King's Lynn, Boston, Hull, &c. Specialities: Wood Block Floorings, Mouldings, Creosoting, Fencings, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 13 Norwich (two lines); No. 14 Yarmouth; No. 85 Lowestoft; No. 316 Lincoln. Telegraphic Address: "Jewson, Norwich." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Norwich). Mr. George Jewson is a Justice of the Peace for the City of Norwich, Member of the Great Yarmouth Port and Haven Commission, and Alderman of the Norwich Town Council. Mr. Richard Jewson is ex-Chairman of the Board of Management of the Norfolk and Norwich Hospital. and Vice-Chairman of Hobbies, L'mited, of East Dereham.

JEYES' SANITARY COMPOUNDS CO., Ltd., 64, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Works: Richmond Street, Plaistow, Essex. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Incorporated in 1885. Agencies throughout the world. Specialities: Jeyes' Fluid, and other Disinfectants. Royal Warrants: To H.M. King George V. and H.M. Queen Alexandra. Awards: 145 Medals. Telephone: No. 938. Telegraphic Address: "Jeyes, Cannon, London." Codes: Lieber's and A B C (5th Edition).

JOBERNS (JOSEPH) & CO., Brickmakers, Aldridge Tileries, near Walsall. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established about 120 years ago by G. and J. Brawn (great-uncles of the present proprietors). Partnership Successions: (1) Brawn & Arrowsmith; (2) Joseph and W. S. Joberns & Arrowsmith; (3) Joseph Joberns & Arrowsmith; (4) Joseph Joberns. Present Principals: Edward Joberns, Bolton Joberns, and Harry Joberns. One of the oldest houses in the trade. Believed to have carried on Brickmaking on present site previous to known records. The Works are mentioned in old. treatises on Brickmaking. Premises: Fully equipped with up-to-date appliances. Cover forty acres, of which ten acres aro covered by the Works. Branches: Offices in Walsall and London. Specialities: Blue Vitrified Bricks of all kinds, and Roofing Tiles. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 3 Aldridge; No. 223 Walsall; No. 1557 Holborn. Telegraphic Addresses: " Joberns, Walsall "; " Joberns, WalsallWood " (for Works); " Rural, London." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

JOHANNESSEN, A. S. B., Produce Importer and Exporter, 31, Assembly Street, Leith. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1902 by A. S. B. Johannessen, the present principal. Speciality: Importation of Eggs. Connection: England, Scotland, Ireland, Russia, Denmark, Sweden, Germany, Austria, Roumania, Bulgaria, &c. Telephone: No. 656 Leith. Telegraphic Address: " Nolsoe, Leith." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Private. Bankers: Royal Bank of Scotland. Club: (Mr. A. S. B. Johannessen) Royal Forth Yacht, Granton, Edinburgh. Pastime: Yachting in his own Sailing Yacht.

JOHANSON, J. L., & CO., Timber, Coal and Commission Merchants, 70, Wellington Street, Glasgow, and as J. Johanson & Co., Norway. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1856 by J. L. Johanson. Joined in 1884 by Johan Johanson (brother), who purchased the interest of J. L. Johanson in 1890. Present Principal: Johan Johanson. Premises: Removed three times owing to the expanding business. Building consists of four rooms. Staff: Four to five. Business: Timber, Coal and Commission Merchants. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 3106 Central, Glasgow. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Johanson, Glasgow," Codes: Watkins, Scotts, A B C. Bankers: Royal Bank of Scotland, Ltd. Mr. Johan Johanson is Norwegian ViceConsul (since 1906) for Glasgow and Lanarkshire. As Vice-Consul holds H.M. King Haakon's Warrant to administer the Oath to Norwegian Subjects. Clubs: Norwegian Royal Yacht, &c. Pastime: Yachting.

JOHN WILLIAMSON CO., Ltd. (THE), Publishers of The Tailor and Cutter," &c.—See WILLIAMSON (JOHN) CO., Ltd. (THE).

JOHNS, SON & WATTS, Ltd., Cardboard Box Makers, &c., 40-50A, City Road, London, E.C., 2, Bell Yard, City Road, E.C., and Albany Works, Gunmakers' Lane, Old Ford, E. Established in 1842. Also manufacturers of Show Cards, &c.; Manufacturing Stationers, &c. Telephone: No. 587 London Wall (three lines); Telegraphic Address: " Johns, London."

JOHNSEN & JORGENSEN, Ltd., Manufacturers and Importers of Bottles, &c. Registered Offices, 26 and 27, Farringdon Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1884 by Wilhelm Johnsen and Johan Jorgensen. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1900. Directors: W. M. Johnsen, J. Jorgensen, I. Throndsen, and Oscar Johnsen. Premises: London Office and Show Rooms, cover about 15,000 square feet; Warehouse at East India Docks 100,000 square feet. Staff: 200. Branches: Manchester, 406, Corn Exchange; Glasgow, 13, West Campbell Street. Specialities: Bottles and Glassware of all descriptions for Brewers, Mineral Water Manufacturers, Wine and Spirit Trades, Druggists, Perfumers, Gas, Electric, and Oil Lighting, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial (extensive). Telephones: No. 8882 City (four lines); No. 5330 Manchester; No. 1740 (National) Argyle; No. 1358 Corporation, Glasgow. Telegraphic Addresses: " Fish, London " " Jorgensen," Manchester and Glasgow. Codes A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Premier. Bankers: British Bank of Northern Commerce. Mr. Johan Jorgensen is President of the Norwegian Chamber of Commerce, London, and a Director of the British Bank of Northern Commerce.

JOHNSEN, JORGENSEN & WETTRE, Ltd., Wood Pulp Agents, 26, Farringdon Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1884 by W. M. Johnsen and J. Jorgensen, joined by R. Wettre in 1894. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1911. Directors: W. M. Johnsen, J. Jorgensen, R. Wettre, L. E. Rustad, T. Somershield, W. Johnsen, jun. Staff: Fourteen. Branch: 406, Corn Exchange Buildings, Manchester. Business: Leading representatives for some of the principal Norwegian and Swedish Wood Pulp Mills, sell direct to Paper Mills. Connection United Kingdom, United States and other transmarine countries. Telephone: No. 8882 City, London (four lines); No. 3096 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Addresses; " Wettre, London "; " Jorgensen, Manchester." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), New Zebra Private.

JOHNSON (ANDREW), KNUDTZON & CO., Importers of Fish, St. Andrew's Dock, Hull. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1881 by Andrew Johnson. Joined in partnership by R. E. Knudtzon (d. 1893) and J. M. Jansen, retired 1884. Present Principal: Andrew Johnson. Business: Importing of Norwegian and Swedish Herrings, Salmon, Game; also Game and Poultry from Russia; Exporters of Herrings, Salmon, and all kinds of Dried Salt Fish. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephones: Nos. 1423, 177, 877, 1749, and 1423A (Corporation), Hull. Telegraphic Address: " Andrew, Hull." Codes: A B C (5th Edition); Private. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Hessle Road).

JOHNSON (BEN) & CO., Ltd., Printers, Lithographers, and Account Book Manufacturers, 100 and 101, Micklegate, York. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established many years ago as Goddard & Lancaster (date unknown ). Carried on as Lancaster alone. In 1867 became Johnson & Tessyman, and in 1880 Ben Johnson & Co. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1911. Directors: Cecil Ben Johnson and Gilbert Yorke Johnson. Staff: 250. Speciality: Railway. Printing; also General Printing, Lithographing, and Account Book Manufacturing. Telephone: No. 544 York. Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

JOHNSON BROTHERS (DYERS), Ltd., Dyers and Dry Cleaners, Bootle Dye Works, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1817. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Sir B. S. Johnson (Chairman) and T. Sands Johnson (Joint Managing Directors); F. C. Johnson, C. A. Holl, 0. Gunnell, W. E. Davis, C. Cameron. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Works cover eight acres. Staff: 2500. Branches: 350 throughout the country. Business: Dyeing and Dry Cleaning. Telephone: No. 801 Bootle (three wires), Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Scientific, Liverpool." Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd.

JOHNSON & DARLINGS, Ltd., Brewers, Wine and Spirit Merchants, &c., Governors Yard, Berwick-on-Tweed. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1820 by Carr & Co. Continued as Johnson & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Directors: Thos. Darling, J.P. (Chairman), Alex. Darling, J.P., Adam Darling (Secretary). Premises: Hide Hill, Bridge End Granary, Governors Yard, and Tweed Brewery, all in Berwickon-Tweed. Enfield Manure Works, Spittal, and Maltings at Belford. Business: Brewers, Wine and Spirit Merchants, Maltsters and Manufacturers of High-class Mineral Waters, Manufacturers of Manures, Grain and Seed Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 2 and 2A, 39, 29, 52, and. 28 Berwick-on-Tweed. Telegraphic Address: " Darlings, Berwick-on-Tweed."

JOHNSON (HENRY) SONS & CO., Ltd., Custom House, Shipping and General Forwarding Agents, 18 Byward Street, London, E.C., 24 Rue St. Vincent de Paul, Paris, and 19 Castle Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1814 by John Fairfax Chinnery. Joined by Henry Johnson (d. 1891), continued by Henry Alfred Johnson (d. 1910). Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1907 (First Chairman, Henry Alfred Johnson). Directors: Arthur Waterson Johnson (Chairman), Thomas Cope, Henry Thomas and Norman Linklater. Have now completed their hundredth year. Started in a small way by the clearance through customs of merchandise and wines for importing. Appointed Agents at the first exhibition in Hyde Park in 1851. Premises: Occupy. the entire building in Byward Street. Packing departments for Motor-cars, Heavy Machinery and for every class of special packing. Claim that they are the only City firm of Forwarding Agents who can lift weights by means of overhead tackles up to nearly twenty tons per lift. For removal business own a patent steel Collapsible Lift Van standing seven feet three inches high. It can be collapsed in height to one foot ten inches. Staff: Over 100. (London). Fifty (Paris). Agencies: In all parts of the world. Specialities: Heavy Freight Forwarding to all parts of the world, including the packing and despatch of settlers' effects in large or small quantities. Connection: World-wide. Extensive business in Paris with heavy motor-cars, &c. Telephone: No. 1183 City (4 lines) London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Threshold, London and Liverpool; " " Johnsonia, Paris." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (London; London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Liverpool); Claude Lafontaine & Co. (Paris). Mr. A. W. Johnson is a member of the Worship. ful Company of Fruiterers.

JOHNSON, H. & R., Ltd., Manufacturers of Tiles, Tunstall, Staffs., as Alfred Meakin, Highgate Tile Works, Tunstall; H. and R. Johnson, Tile Works, Cobridge; and Sherwin & Cotton, Eastwood Tile Works, Hanley. Hours of Business 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established about 1870 by Alfred Meakin in Tunstall. In 1901, by Harry Johnson and Robert Lewis Johnson (retired, 1904, and succeeded by A. G. Johnson). In 1875, by James Sherwin and E. Cotton in Hanley. The business of Alfred Meakin purchased in 1908, and that of Sherwin & Cotton in 1911 by H. and R. Johnson. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Directors: Harry Johnson and Alfred G. Johnson. Claim to own the largest glazed Tile Business in Great ' Britain. Premises: Cover eight acres. Staff: 600. Specialities: White, Glazed and Enamelled Tiles and " Air Pit " Fires. Awards: Grand Prix, St. Louis Exhibition, 1904, and Gold Medal. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1381 (Private Branch Exchange). Telegraphic Address: " Enamel, Tunstall," for Alfred Meakin; " Crystal, Hanley " (for H. and R. Johnson, Ltd.); " Sherwins, . Hanley." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Western Union and Private.

JOHNSON, J. H. & S., Wholesale Druggists, Manufacturing Chemists, Oil Importers, Paint Manufacturers, Drysalters, 6, 8, and 10, Whitechapel, and 7, Church Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1802 by Samuel Johnson. Partnership Successions: (1) Samuel Johnson & Sons, to 1838; (2) John H. Johnson & Samuel Johnson (jun.), to 1871; (3) Samuel Johnson, to 1882. Present Principals: Samuel H. Johnson, S. Wright Lee (since 1882), Geo. B. Johnson (since 1909). Premises: Occupied the same address for over a hundred years. Rebuilt in 1884. Warehouse at 2 and 3, Leigh Street. Staff: Several Experts in Chemistry and Qualified Chemists. Specialities: Drugs, Chemicals, &c., for Export and Home Trade; Medicines, Oils; Spirits and Lubricants for Motors; Paints of all kinds, White Zinc, White Lead, Red Lead. Are Drug Merchants and Manufacturers of Medicine Chests, Chemicals, Chemical Apparatus, Disinfectants, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to large Steamship Lines, Education (Science) Authorities, &c. Telephones: Nos. 701 and 3267 Royal, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: "Sodium, Liverpool." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

JOHNSON & PERROTT, Ltd., Motor and Carriage Builders, Nelson Place, Cork. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1810 by Robert Wm. Edden. Business acquired by James Johnson in 1860. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Nominal Capital: £15,000 in 3,000 shares of £5 each. Chairman: William Henry Moore-Hodder, D.L., J.P. Managing Director: W. Perrott, G.I.Mech.E., &c. Business: Builders of Motor Bodies and Carriages of all kinds. Connection,: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Carriage Builders by Special Appointment to H.E. the Lord Lieutenant of Ireland. Telephone: No. 648 Cork. Telegraphic Address: " Motors, Cork."

JOHNSON & PHILLIPS, Ltd., Cable Makers and Engineers. Works: Victoria Works, Old Charlton, S.O., Kent. London Office: 12, Union Court, Old Broad Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1875 by W. Claude Johnson and C. E. S. Phillips. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Directors: R. W. Blackwell (Chairman), W. Claude Johnson, Thomas Dence, H. J. Sheppard, E. M. Dence, G. E. Davis, J. Macgregor (Managing Director). Premises: Cover about fifteen acres. Branches: Glasgow, Cardiff, Manchester, Birmingham, Newcastle, and Portsmouth. Business: Cable Manufacturers, Electrical Engineers, and Contractors. Patents: Cables, Arc Lamps, Electrical Instruments, Alternators, &c. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office). Telephones: No. 438 Woolwich (six lines) (Works); No. 2207 Central (London Office). Telegraphic Address: " Juno, Charlton, Kent." Cable Address: " Juno, London." Bankers: London and Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

JOHNSON (RICHARD), CLAPHAM & MORRIS, Ltd., General Hardware, Iron and Metal Merchants, 24, Lever Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 100 years ago. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: William Henry Johnson (Chairman and Managing Director), William Morton Johnson, Edwin Stone, Arthur James Sinclair, Carl Demel, R. H. Holman. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Works, Newton Heath, Manchester. Equipped with modern appliances. Branches: Liverpool, 23, Cheapside, Sydney and Melbourne. Specialities: Galvanized Wire Netting, Wire Work, Wire Drawers, Brass Foundry, High-Tension Bronzes, Safety Lamps for Miners, Woven Wire of all kinds, Wire, &c., Reinforcements for Concrete Bricks, Tinplates, Sheet Iron, Galvanized Corrugated Iron, Tinned Sheets, Sheet Zinc, Copper, Spelter, Tin, Lead, Hardware, and Hollow Ware. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 6437 Central, Manchester; No. 5315 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Metallicus," Manchester, Sydney, and Melbourne; " Johnsons, Liverpool." Codes: A B C (5th and 4th Editions), WesternUnion, Lieber's, A 1, International Private. Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd. (Manchester).

JOHNSON (RICHARD) & NEPHEW, Ltd., Wire Manufacturers, Bradford Iron Works, Manchester. Established in 1773. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Herbert A. Johnson (Chairman), Ernest Johnson, Harold M. Johnson. Staff: About 1500. Branches: Ambergate Wire Mills, near Derby; 65, London Wall, London, E.C. Business: Makers of Copper, Iron, and Steel Wires of every description. Patents: Numerous. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 641 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Johnsons, Manchester." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Lieber's, A 1, Premier, Private.

JOHNSON, S. H., & CO., Ltd., The Engineering Works, Carpenters Road, Stratford, London, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1876 by Samuel Henry Johnson. Joined in partnership by Christopher Clarke Hutchinson (1883-1896). Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Arthur Boake, F.C.S., of A. Boake, Roberts & Co., Ltd. (Chairman), Mrs. Samuel Henry Johnson., George Wilkins, F.C.A., and William Richard Buck, late H.M.'s C.S. (Secretary). Works Manager: George Irwin, M.I.C. The business was started for the purpose of supplying the want felt by Chemical Manufacturers of Engineering Works superintended by men who had a good chemical knowledge as well as a mastery of Constructive Engineering. Premises: Works and offices at above address cover ing about two acres. Specialities: Filter ing Plant, including Filter Presses of all kinds for all branches of manufacture, Sludge Presses, Mining Machinery, Air Compressors and Blowers, Engines, Vacuum and other Pumps of every description, with Vortex Mixers, Jacketted Mixing Kettles, Montejus, Automatic Ejectors, and Automatic Forcing Rams, &c., &c. Have patented many inventions in connection with Filtering Machinery, Treatment of Ores, Hydraulic Machinery, Water - softening Plant, and Sewage Machinery, &c., &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 363 East. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Filtrum, Strat, London." Bankers: London County and West minster Bank, Ltd. (Stratford, London, E.).

JOHNSON & SON, Hosiery Manufacturers, Trinity Works, Loughborough. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1880 by John Johnson. Present Principal: William Johnson (son). . Staff: Forty. Agencies: London, 22, Basinghall Street, E.C.; Manchester, 6, Major Street; Belfast, 20, Waring Street. Business: Manufacture of Men's plain half hose. Trade Marks and Brands: " " (Regd.); WJL. (Regd.); Monogram WJL (Trinity Works Brand). Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 680 Loughborough. Telegraphic Address: " Johnson, Trinity Works." , Bankers: Nottingham and Notts Banking Co., Ltd. (Loughborough).

JOHNSON & SONS, Leather and Grindery Merchants, 9 and 11, Wilson Street, Finbury, London, E.C.; Sydney, Melbourne, and Brisbane. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1860 by G. Johnson (d.). Present Principals: Frank Johnson, George E. Johnson, Leonard Johnson (brothers). Business originally founded in Macclesfield. Transferred to Australia in 1880. Premises: Warehouses at Sydney, Melbourne, and Brisbane; also Tanneries and Boot Factories. Stall: Over 500. Business: Tanners and Boot Manufacturers; deal extensively in American, English and Continental Leathers, also all Sundries for Boot Factories. Connection: United Kingdom, Australasia, America, and Continent of Europe. Telephone: No. 888 Central. Cable Addresses: "Docibility, London "; " Tannic, Sydney." Bankers: English, Scottish, and Australian Bank, Ltd.; London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

JOHNSON & SONS ASSAYERS, LIMITED, Assayers to H.M. Mint, the Bank of England, and the Council of India, and JOHNSON & SONS, MANUFACTURING CHEMISTS, LIMITED, both of 23, Cross Street, Finsbury, London, and JOHNSON & SONS SMELTING WORKS, LIMITED, Bullion Refiners and Melters, of St. Paul's Works, Paul Street, Finsbury, and 20, Castle Street, Finsbury, London. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. at Cross Street, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. at St. Paul's Works; Saturdays, to 1 p.m. Established about 1743 by John Johnson, great-great-grandfather of the present John Grove Johnson. The business has descended from father to son throughout, and the chief present proprietors of the three Companies are the family of the late John Grove Johnson. Specialities: Assaying, Melting, and Refining Gold and Silver Bullion, and the Testing of Metallurgical Processes and Ores; the Manufacturing of Chemicals for Assay and Mining Purposes, for Photography, Process Work, and Electro-Plating; the Packing of Photographic Chemical Specialities and Pure Chemicals for General Purposes. The buildings cover an area of about 14,000 feet of ground. A staff of about 220 hands is employed. Connection: Throughout the United Kingdom, Foreign, and in the Colonies. Telephones: Cross Street, Assay Office, No. 3055 London. Wall; Chemical Department, No. 677 London Wall and No. 8550 City; Works, No. 261 London Wall and No. 3150 Central. Telegraphic Addresses: " Caustic, London," for Cross Street; " Cauterism, London," for Works.

JOHNSON, W. B., Patent Adviser and Consulting Engineer, 4, Clayton Square, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1854 by J. T. King, who remained until 1899. Present Principal.: W. B. Johnson (associated with the business for over forty years). Business: Patent Adviser and Consulting Engineer. Connection: In all patent-granting countries. Telephone: No. 1593 Royal, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Inventions, Liverpool.' •

JOHNSON, W. & H., Oil Refiners and Paint Manufacturers, National Works, 202, High Street, Hull. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1887 by Walter Johnson and Hubert Johnson, the present principals. Branches: Newcastle-on-Tyne, Aberdeen, Cardiff. London Office: 6, Crosby Square, E. C. Business: Manufacture of Lubricating Oils and Lubricants of every description; Specialise in Marine Engine Oils, Cylinder Oils, Refined Rape Oil, Boiled Linseed Oil, &c.; also Paints, Enamels, Ship's Compositions, Copper Paint for Wooden Vessels, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephones: No. 140 (National and Corporation). Telegraphic Address: " National, Hull." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

JOHNSTON, J. CLEMENT, Sack and Bag Contractor, Merchant and Manufacturer. Head Office: Glisson Road, Cambridge. Factories: Glisson Road, Cambridge; King's Street, King's Lynn. Depots: Town Quay, Barking (Factory), Yarmouth and Hull. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.; Thursdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.; Works, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1883 by the present proprietor, J. Clement Johnston, who is also proprietor of the firm of W. Goodwin & Co., Wisbech and Chatteris. Specialities: Covers, Stack Cloths, Reaping Twine, Hay Cord, Sack Tiers, Sacks and Bags, new and second-hand of all descriptions for Home and Export. Printing in one, two, or more colours, and in any design. Marquees and Tents for sale or hire. Ropes, Twines, Halters, &c., manufactured at Chatteris. Jute Goods in both Cloth and Sacks largely imported from Calcutta and stored at various London Wharves. Premises: Cambridge (originally at Station Road, which was gutted by fire in 1912), consists of two buildings, one of two storeys and one of four storeys; King's Lynn, one of two storeys. Connection: United Kingdom chiefly. Export trade through brokers. Office Staff: Seven. Factory Employees: Seventy to Eighty. Telephones: No. 273 Cambridge; No. 37 King's Lynn. Telegraphic Address: " Caledonia, Cambridge." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd . , and Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

JOHNSTON, SHIELDS & CO., Ltd., Lace Curtain Manufacturers, Vale Lace Mills, Newmilns, Scotland. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Factory, day and night. Established in 1880 by John Shields and E. B. Steegmann. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Governing Director and Chairman: John Shields, J.P. Claim to have inaugurated the manufacture of Lace Curtains, Curtain, and Vitrages in Sweden in 1890, and received a Government Monopoly in 1894 for the manufacture of the same class of goods in Spain. Staff: 400. Branches: Barcelona, 24, pral Gerona; London, 20, Cheapside, E.C.; Manchester, 5, Newton Street. Specialities: Lace Curtains, Curtain. Nets, Vitrages, and Window Blinds, twentypoint Dress Nets, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2 Newmilns. Telegraphic Address: " Johnston, Newmilns." Bankers: Clydesdale Bank, Ltd.

JOHNSTON, W. & A. K., Ltd., Geographical and General Publishers, Printers, &c. Head Office: Edina Works, Easter Road, Edinburgh. London Office: 6, Paternoster Buildings, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1825 by the late Sir William Johnston. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: Sir John M. Clark, Bart. (Chairman), C. E. S. Chambers, G. H. Johnston (Managing Director). Premises: Extensive Works covering 320 ft. in length and 60 ft. in width, with two flats and outbuildings. Stall: 250. Branch: 2, St. Andrew Square, Edinburgh. Is one of the oldest and most eminent firms of Geographical Publishers. Specialities: Publishers of various Geographical and Educational Works, Standard Works, Engravings, Printing, Bookbinding, and Map Mounting, Lithography, Letterpress Printing, Map Drawing, Engraving, and Mounting. Are Agents for the Ordnance and Geological Maps, and for the Maps issued by the Geographical Section of the General Staff. Admiralty Charts supplied. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrant: Held a special appointment as Geographers and Engravers to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephones: Nos. 652 and 1206 Edinburgh. Telegraphic Addresses: " Edina, Edinburgh "; " Geographers, London." Bankers: British Linen Bank. Sir William Johnston was Lord Provost of Edinburgh. Messrs. A. Keith Johnston, LL.D., T. B. Johnston, and G. H. Johnston were Geographers by appointment to the late Queen. In connection with employees of the house there are golf and bowling clubs.

JOHNSTON (WILLIAM), & CO., Ltd., Johnston Line, American, Mediterranean, Black Sea, and Danube Lines of Steamers, 18, Water Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Principals: William Johnston, Edmund Johnston, H. G. Johnston, W. S. Johnston, E. A. Johnston (U.S.A.). The Fleet consists of eighteen vessels, from 3,045 to 10,319 gross tonnage, two building, and one tug. Telephone: No. 8444 Liverpool. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Saint, Liverpool." Premises: Loading Berth, South Hornby Dock. Business: Regular Services from Antwerp, Swansea, and Liverpool to Piraeus, Volo, Salonica, Bourgas, Varna, Constantza, Sulina, Galatz, and Braila, and connecting with principal Levant and Black Sea Ports; Liverpool to Baltimore; London to Boston.

JOHNSTONS, Ltd., Building and Contracting Trades Merchants, 74, York Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1887 by Archibald Johnston. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Directors: Archibald Johnston (Managing Director), G. Archd. Johnston and Jas. H. Johnston. Are successors to John Morison & Son, Glasgow (established 1829). Branches: Edinburgh, Leith, Dundee, Ayr, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Speciality: British Cement. Also deal in Slates, Bricks, Lime, Whiting, Mastic; Arbroath Steps, Hearths, &c. Connection: Scotland and North-East of England. Telephones: Nos. 5515 Central (Private Branch Exchange). Telegraphic Addresses: " Trojan, Glasgow "; " Tensile." Edinburgh, Dundee, Ayr, Newcastle-on-Tyne.

JOHNSTONE & CO.,Ltd., Letter File Manufacturers and Stationery Specialists. Office: 3, Oliver Place. Works: 62, High Street, Hawick. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established by A. J. Donaldson at 24, Mill Street, Perth. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: A. J. Donaldson (Managing Director), Gideon Wilson and James Barrie. Branch: 72, Waterloo Street, Glasgow. Specialities: Letter Files, Storage Cases, Cabinets and Stationery. Patent: For Letter Files. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone I No. 81 Hawick. Telegraphic Address: " Johnstone, 3, Oliver Place, Hawick."

JOHNSTONE, JOHN D., Woollen Manufacturer, Perseverance Mills, Leeds. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1883 by John D. Johnstone, the present principal. Premises: Extensive well equipped Mills containing 4728 Spindles and seventy-three Looms. Staff: About 180. Specialities: Superfines, Meltons, Venetians and Vicunas. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1377 Central, Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Perseverance, Leeds." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

JOLLY & SON, Silk Mercers, Linen Drapers, Ladies' and Children's Outfitters, Costumiers, Ladies' Tailors, Practical Furriers, and Milliners, 40, 41, 42, and 43, College Green, Bristol. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established: Drapery Business in .1819 by Charles Freeman. Transferred to Thomas Jolly, J.P., 1848. Continued by William C. Jolly, J.P., and Frank Jolly. Present Principals: Frank Jolly, Herbert Francis Jolly, Llewellyn Bassett Jolly. Specialities: Silks and Dress Materials and Household Linens. Had the Ribbon specially woven for the Opening Ceremony of the Royal Edward Dock by the King, July, 1908. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to H.M. the Queen and H.M. Queen Alexandra. Telephone: No. 2409 Bristol. Telegraphic Address: " Jolly, Bristol." Bankers: Stuckey's Banking Co. (Corn Street).

JOLLY & SON, BATH, Ltd., Drapers and Furnishers, 9 to 14, Milsom Street, Bath. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established prior to 1831 by Thomas Jolly. Partnership Successions: (1) Thomas Jolly (son of founder); (2) William C. Jolly (son of T. Jolly, jun.); (3) Paul Jolly (son of W. C. Jolly). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Directors: Paul Jolly (Chairman), J. D. Allen (Deputy Chairman and Secretary), Russell Jolly, J. E. George, Franklin Spurr. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Frontage, 150 feet, ground floor, 23,000 square feet, removed to Milsom Street, Bath, in 1831, at other addresses previously. Staff: 350 to 400. Specialities: High-class trade in Silks, Dress Fabrics, Linens, Gowns, Millinery, Furs, also Furnishing and Decorations. Awards: Medals, International Exhibition, London, 1873, for guaranteed Silks; Paris Exhibition, 1900, for Furniture. Connection: Chiefly United Kingdom. Royal Warrant: Special appointment to H.M. The Queen for Silk. Telephone: No. 702 Bath (three lines, private exchange). Telegraphic Address: " Jolly's, Bath." Mr. Thomas Jolly was twice Mayor of Bath, and Mr. William C. Jolly once Mayor of Bath.

JONAS & COLVER, Ltd., Steel Manufacturers, Continental Steel Works and Novo Steel Works, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1870 by Joseph Jonas (now Sir Joseph Jonas). Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1892, and again in 1907. Directors: Sir Joseph Jonas, J.P., D. Eng. (Chairman), Robert Colver, J.P., W. T. Beesley, J.P., C. A. Hahn, B. W. Winder, J.P., Robert Jonas, J.P., J. K. Jonas, H. Beesley, Robert Col \Tor (jun.), and H. Jonas. Secretary: T. E. Venables. Premises: Cover twenty-eight acres; equipped with all modern machinery and up-to-date appliances. Staff 2,500. Branches: W. T. Beesley & Co., Ltd.; Colver Bros., Ltd. Specialities: Crucible Cast Steel of every description; "Novo Superior " and " Novo " (best special High-speed Steels), Siemens-Martin Steel, Cold Rolled Steel and Wire. Makers of Files, Hammers, Saws, and Mining and Quarry Tools. Awards: Medals at the International Exhibition, Philadelphia, 1876; International Exhibition, Paris, 1878; New Zealand, 1907; Grand Prix, London, 1908; Grand Prix, Buenos Aires, 1910; Hors Concours Membre du Jury, International Exhibition, Brussels, 1910. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 4660 (Private Branch Exchange). Telegraphic Address " Jonas, Sheffield." Codes: AB C; A 1; Lieber's, and Broomhall's. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Sheffield). Sir Joseph Jonas was Lori Mayor of Sheffield, 1904-1905. Mr. Robert Colver was Master Cutler in 1890.

JONES (A. LITHERLAND) & CO., General Produce Brokers, 119-121, The Albany, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1867 by A. Litherland Jones. Joined by (1) T. F. A. Agnew in 1879 to 1883; (2) A. Litherland Jones and Joseph Atkinson, 1885-1907. Present Principals: Alfred Litherland Jones and his son Arnold L. Jones (since 1910). Specialities: Sugar, Rice, Cocoa, Glucose, Starch, Calcutta Gunny Bags, Cotton Seeds, Linseed, Animal Charcoal, Telephone: No. 49 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: "Litherland, Liverpool." Code: Lieber's. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited. Mr. A. Litherland Jones has been Treasurer and President of the Liverpool General Brokers' Association and President of the Jute Goods Association. Club: Liverpool.

JONES (ALLAN) & CO., Specialists in Folding Wood Ware, Hatherley Works, Gloucester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1885 by Charles Allan Jones, the present principal. Started the business for the purpose of manufacturing, introducing, and conducting on original and practical lines. Premises: Works occupy two and a half acres of ground, freehold property, with reserve of several acres adjoining G.W.R. main line Gloucester to London. The Hatherley Road, named after works, dissects the property. Works equipped with complete and unique Tramway System, Electric Light (generated on the premises), and Grinnell Sprinkler Installations. Fitted with most modern Wood-working Plant. Main machine shop, 170 ft. by 90 ft. Stock Depots: 53, Curtain Road, London, E.C.; 136, Renfield Street, Glasgow; 24, Courtenay Street, Plymouth; and at Liverpool. Specialities: Step Ladders, known as Hatherley " Lattisteps," claimed to be unequalled for lightness, compactness, rigidity, and strength; " Cajac " Extension Ladders; Tables with provision in the tops for contraction and expansion to withstand variations in temperature and weather; " Cajac " Solid Side Steps; " Cajac " Double Steps; " Cajac " Card Table (the only Folding Leg Card Table with capacious drawer); " Hatherley " Easels, " Yindaw " and " Cajac " Chairs (folding), with perforated seats and slat seats respectively; Bicycle Stand, and numerous other articles. " Hatherley," " Cajac," and " Yindaw " Registered Trade-marks. Practically all the articles made are the inventions and patents of the manufacturers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 55 Gloucester. Telegraphic Address " Lattistop, Gloucester." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (Gloucester). Mr. Charles Allan Jones was a Queen's Scholar at Westminster School, and was admitted Solicitor in May, 1882. Was UnderSheriff of Cornwall, 1883-4.

JONES & ATTWOOD, Ltd., Heating and Sewage Engineers, Ironfounders, &c., Titan Works, Stourbridge. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1836 by John Jones. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Walter Jones and Ernest R. Jones. Staff: About 300. Specialities: Heating, Engineering, and Ironfounding, Sewage Engineering. Patents: Several. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 10 Stourbridge. Telegraphic Address: " Heat, Stourbridge."

JONES BROTHERS, LIMITED, Spinners and Manufacturers. Offices: 12, York Street, Manchester. Mills: Bedford New Mills, Leigh, Lancashire. Hours of Business: Usual. Specialities: Spinners and Manufacturers of Muslins, Lawns, Persian Lawns, Nainsooks, India Linens, Cambrics, Satteens, Shirtings, Twills, Drills, Herring-bones, Galateas, Carnados, Campanias, Fancy Ducks, Fancy Muslins and Brocades; Cotton and Mixed Dress Goods, Casement Dresslin Cloths and Velveteens; Handkerchiefs, " Mersilka," and " Alyta," &c. The above white, dyed, printed and mercerised. Also manufacture the " Selvyt " Brand Dusters and Specialities; the " Veluna " Cloth for Litho printing; the " Alyta " Motor Cape Hood Material, the " Solaro " Sun-proof fabrics, and " Aero " cloth for Aerop!anes. Telephone: No. 2860 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Addresses " Jonbro, Manchester "; " Selvyt, Manchester."

JONES & CAMPBELL, Ltd., Ironfounders, Torwood Foundry, Larbert, Stirlingshire. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1887 by James Jones and Dermont Campbell. Incorporated as a private Limited Company. Directors: James Jones, J. F. Jones, P. F. Jones (Secretary), Tom B. Jones, and Donald Campbell. Staff: About 400: Specialities: " Belle " Portable Range, " Rosebery," " Rodono," " Rosalind," " Lord of the Isles," " Trilby " and " Chevalier." Makers of Cooking Ranges. of all kinds, Heating Stoves, Bedroom Grates, Mantel Registers, " Interiors " and Castings to Customers' patterns. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4 Larbert. Telegraphic Address: " Tor, Larbert." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Clydesdale Bank, Ltd.

JONES & CO., Cannon Iron Foundry, 156 and 158, Goswell Road, London, E.C. The oldest Iron Foundry in London. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1800 by John Jones, who was succeeded by his son, James Jones, and grandson, James George Jones. Business purchased in 1903 by Thomas Augustine Richardson, who continued it under the original name. Present Principal: Thomas Augustine Richardson. Premises: Large Works, covering a ground area of one-third acre. Staff: One hundred. Specialities: General Ironfounding; are also Engineers and Smiths. One of the largest businesses of the kind. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1102 London Wall.

JONES & EVANS, BOOKSELLERS, Ltd., 77, Queen Street, Cheapside, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1816 by Sotheran & Co., in Great Tower Street; joined in partnership by Edward Jones (d. 1891), who was joined in partnership by Frederick H. Evans (retired 1898). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898.

JONES (FRANK) & CO., Building Material Merchants, Exporters and Importers of Building Material, 28A, 30, 32 and 34, Daulby Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Depots, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1891 by Frank Jones, the present principal. Premises: Daulby Street Depot and Offices were purchased in 1905, Northumberland Street Depot in 1906. aspots at 84, West Darby Road, 127, Northumberland Street, 7, Taylor Street, and 2, Everton Valley, Liverpool; and at 29, Rue de France, Brussels (Cantillana and Jones). Specialities: High Class Building Material, Fire Bricks for Furnace and all purposes, " Vitrinite " Real Stoneware, Imperishable Pipes for Sewerage Works, Tiles for Floor and Roof purposes. Glazed Tiles and Bricks, Sanitary Closets, Lavatories, Glazed Sinks, Blue, and Red Engineering and Building Bricks; Lime, both White and Hydraulic; Plaster of Paris; Parian, Keene, Mastic, and Portland Cements. Manufactured at Brussels Depot: Fireproof Slabs of Plaster, or Cement, for Partitions, or House Building in Tropical Countries; Vermin and Rot proof. Hydrated Lime for Export. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Contractors to the Liverpool Corporation and other Public Bodies. Telephones: Nos. Royal 1673 and 3783, and No. 464 Anfield, Liverpool. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Tiles, Liverpool." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd., (East Branch), Liverpool. Mr. Jones has been President of the Liverpool Building Material Trades Association, a, Member of Liverpool Chamber of Commerce, Associate Member of the Society of Engineers, London; of the Society of Civil and Mechanical Engineers, London; and of the Liverpool Engineering Society. Clubs: Royal Automobile. Pastime: Motoring.

JONES, GEO., & SONS, Ltd.,. China and Earthenware Manufacturers, Crescent Potteries, Stoke-on-Trent. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1860 by Geo. Jones. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Directors: G. H. Jones, C. S. Jones, G. B. Benham, A. 0. Jones, and E. G. Jones. Have had the honour of supplying goods to His late Majesty King Edward when Prince of Wales, H.M. Queen Mary when Princess of Wales, the Queen of Siam, and the Crown Prince of Siam. Premises: Very extensive. Fully equipped. works continually supplied with up-to-date appliances, extending over about four acres. Staff: 800 to 900. London Offices and Show Rooms: 21, Bartlett's Buildings, Holborn, E.C. Liverpool Agents: Chester Jones & Co., 5, Fenwick Street, Liverpool. Specialities: China Dinner, Tea, Dessert, and Toilet Sets; also Earthenware and White Granite. Inventions: Anglo China. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 815 Stoke-onTrent. Telegraphic Address: " Ionia, Stoke-on-Trent." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank, Ltd. (Stokeon-Trent),

JONES & HIGGINS, Ltd., General Drapers and House Furnishers, Rye Lane, Peckham, S.E. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7.30 p.m., or 8.30 a.m. to 8 p.m., according to season; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1867 by Edwin Jones, J.P., and G. Randell Higgins, J.P. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: Edwin Jones, J.P. (Chairman), G. Randell Higgins, J.P., Charles H. Higgins (Managing Director), Douglas S. Higgins, Frederick W. Swann. Staff: About 600. Business: General Drapery, House Furnishing. Telephone No. 2040 New Cross. Telegraphic Ad-. dress: " Jones, Higgins, Peck, London." Bankers: London and South-Western Bank, Ltd.

JONES, J. F., & SON, Fish Curers, Albion Street, Grimsby. Hours of Business: Office, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works (in telephonic communication), Day and Night. Established in 1893 by J. F. Jones. Present Principals: J. F. Jones and F. C. Jones. Premises: Large and convenient Curing Houses, with all the latest improvements in the different sections for the expeditious handling and curing of fish. Sanitary " de luxe " arrangements throughout. Staff: Average total 120. Branches: Billingsgate, and 296, Boulevard, Hull; High Street, Eyemouth, N.B.; London; Lowestoft; Fleetwood. Specialities .-Smoked Aberdeen Fillets, Kippers, Bloaters, for Home and Export, London Cut Codlings and Finnans. Connection: United Kingdom, Continent, South Africa, Australia. Telephones: No. 730 Grimsby, No. 1326 Corp., Hull. Telegraphic Addresses: "Diligent, Grimsby "; " Jones, Billingsgate, Hull "; " Jones, Curers, Eyemouth "; " Smokopolis, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. Jones, sen , personally supervises Hull Branch. Mr. Jones, jun., personally supervises Grimsby Branch.

JONES, JOHN, Borax Manufacturer and Refiner, High Street, Stoke-on-Trent. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1837 by John Jones (d). Present Principal: Henry - Irwin, J.P. (nephew), one of the early importers of crude Californian Borax and East India Tincal. Premises: Offices and General Warehouse, High Street; Borax Works and Grinding Mills at Hartshill Road. Business: Production of Refined Borax, Oxides and Chemical Bases for Pottery, Brick and Iron Enamelling, Colours, Glazes, &c. Connection: General, with Potters, Enamellers and Glazed Brick Makers. Telephone: No. 823 Central, Stoke-on-Trent. Telegraphic Address: " Borax, Stoke-on-Trent." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd., and Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd. Mr. Irwin is a Justice of the Peace for Staffordshire and a member of the Staffs County Council.

JONES, M., & BROTHER, Steamship Agents, Albion Chambers, Swansea. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to - 6 p.m. Established in 1856 by Matthew Jones and William Jones. Present Principals: Edwin Price Jones and Ernest William Jones. Business: General Cargo trade. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Telephone: No. 22 Central, Swansea. Telegraphic Address: " Jonesbror, Swansea." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. Mr. Jones is Vice-Consul for Chili, and Secretary of the Chamber of Commerce and the Swansea Labour. Employers' Association.

JONES (PRYCE), LIMITED, Manufacturers and Merchants, Royal Welsh Warehouse, Newtown, North Wales. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 or 6.30 p.m. Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established over half a century ago by Pryce Jones (now Sir Pryce Pryce-Jones). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Chairman Sir Pryce Pryce-Jones. Managing Director: Colonel E. Pryce-Jones, D.L., M.P. Premises: Palatial Warehouse and Factory, equipped with all the latest improvements. Opened in 1879 by the late Sir Watkin Williams Wynn, Bart., M.P. Staff: About 700. Staff Clubs: Royal Welsh Warehouse Recreation and Improvement Society, Cricket, Football, Tennis, Bowls, Hockey, Reading Rooms, Library, &c. Business: Manufacturers and General Merchants. Awards: Medals and Diplomas at many National and International Exhibitions. Connection: Worldwide. Contractors to H.M. Government and Colonial Governments. Royal Warrants: By Special Appointment to H.M. the Queen, and H.M. the Queen of Norway. Telephone: No. 15 Newtown. Telegraphic Address: " Pryce Jones, Newtown." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. (Newtown).

JONES, R. L., & CO., Wholesale Wine and Spirits Merchants, and Blenders, St. John's Place, Mansfield. London Office: 41, Great Tower Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1889 by R. L. Jones, the present principal. Premises: One of the most upto-date and suitable to requirements, cover nearly one acre. Staff: Thirtyeight. Branches: Dublin and Kilmarnock, N.B. Business: Blending and Bottling of Special Scotch Whiskies. Proprietors of the Gold Medal " Black Isle " and " Bobs," " Special " and " Imperial," " Coronation Special," " Club Favourite," and " John Bull's Special " Whiskies. Award: Champion Gold Medal for Whisky at Brewers' Exhibition, London, 1912. Connection: London and Provinces. Telephone: No. 58 Mansfield. Telegraphic Address: " Spirits, Mansfield.'.'

JONES (RUFUS) & SON, Elastic Web Manufacturers, Nuneaton. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1873 by Rufus Jones. Present Principals: Rufus Jones and Herbert Charles Jones. Specialities: Elastic and non-Elastic Brace Webs and Cords, Garter and Suspender Webs. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 86 Nuneaton. Telegraphic Address: " Webs, Nuneaton." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

JONES SEWING MACHINE CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Sewing Machines, Guide Bridge, near Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1889. Directors: John Edward Mellor, J.P. (Chairman), Joseph Watson Sidebotham, J.P., Albert Jones, Fred Jones, Joseph Mellor. Secretary: Percy Jefferson. Branches in all the principal towns in the United Kingdom. Business: Manufacture of Sewing Machines for all purposes. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to H.M. the Queen; also Queen Alexandra. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 550 Ashton under-Lyne. Telegraphic Address: " Jones, Hooley Hill." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Manchester).

JONES, T. C., & CO., Iron Metal and Machinery Merchants, Engineers and Demolition Contractors, 27, Sterne Street, Shepherd's Bush, W. Great Western Railway Yard and London and North Western Railway Yard, Shepherd's Bush, W., and Star Wharf, Lombard Road, Battersea, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1903 by Thomas C. Jones, the present principal. Carried out the whole of the Demolition of King's Cross, Baker Street, Finchley Road Stations for the Metropolitan Railway, King's Cross Gas Works for the G.N.R. Company, Whiteleys, and other large jobs. Premises: Cover over three acres. Staff: Average 100. Specialities: Demolition of Works, Mansions in town or country. Erection of Corrugated Iron Buildings. Connection United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: No. 1875 Park; No. 3182 Western; No. 1038 Hammersmith, London. Telegraphic Address: " Ironoxid, Shepherds, London."

JONES (THOMAS) & CO., Tanners and Curriers, Hide, Skin, Wool and Coal Merchants, The Tannery, Priory Street, New Ross, Ireland. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about one hundred and thirty years ago. Continued by the Jones family until 1860, when Dr. James Boyd (d. 1892) and John Bagenal Boyd (son) became partners. The last of the founder's family died ten years later. Present Principal: John Bagenal Boyd, J.P. Premises: Occupy part of the old Ros Mic Treoin, which was enclosed by the famous town wall built in the twelfth century. Consisting of main building of three storeys, one hundred and twenty-five feet by sixty-five feet, and adjacent buildings which were all rebuilt with extensions twenty-five years ago. Staff: Manager, clerical and employees. Specialities: Black and Brown Harness Leather, Shoe Leather and Kips, manufactured from Irish Hides and Skins. Connection: Milted Kingdom; Ireland chiefly. Telegraphic Address: " Tannery, New Ross." The late Dr. J. Boyd was Medical Officer of the Bannow District, Co. Wexford, for about forty years.

JONES (THOMAS) & CO. (CARDIFF), Ltd., American Shippers of Rags, Rope and General Paper Stock, Iron and Metals, Wharf Street, Cardiff. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1845 by Thomas Jones. incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. ' Directors: William Jones (Chairman), W. H. Jones and W. E. Jones. Premises: The property of the Company, covering three hundred and twelve feet by forty feet. Installed throughout with the Grinnell Automatic Sprinklers and Fire Alarm. Staff: Fifty to sixty. Specialities: Ropes, Paper Stock, Woollen Rags. A special feature made of Iron and Metals. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 1085, Cardiff. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

JONES (WILLIAM ALFRED) Ltd., (late William Alfred Jones & Co.), Wholesale Druggists and Manufacturing Chemists, Manufacturers' Agents, Importers and Exporters, Cigar Merchants, &c., the Jamaica Produce Co., West India House, Liverpool; and at Kingston, Jamaica. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1901 by William Alfred Jones. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1913. Managing Director and Chairman: William Alfred Jones. Inventors of " Bananine,". claimed- to b3 the original and only Banana Bread, Flour, Cocoa and Food; digestive and nutritious and of great value as an antiscorbutic. Originators of " Throatlets," the perfect Antiseptic Throat Pastille for coughs, bronchitis, asthma, hoarseness and other affections, also for singers and speakers; recommended by medical authorities. Inventors of " Bosfozone," the ideal Tonic; and proprietors of " Belaroma " Cigars from the finest Colonial Tobacco. Awards: Two Gold Medals, one Silver Medal. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 398 Royal, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Pastilles, Liverpool." Codes: A B C (4th Edition); A 1; Lieber's Standard and Private. Bankers: London and Provincial Bank, Ltd., Liverpool. Mr. William Alfred Jones was joint proprietor of the Liverpool Throat Hospital and a District Councillor and Overseer of Hoylake and West Kirby. Clubs: Lyceum (Liverpool); Junior Reform (Liverpool); Press (Liverpool); Hoylake Sailing; West Kirby Sailing, and West Kirby and Hoylake.

JONES (WILLIAM C.), Ltd., Cotton and Cotton Waste Merchants, Engine Cleaning Waste Manufacturers, 203 to 219, Collyhurst Road, Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Directors: T. S. Deakin, P. C. Miller, W. C. Jones. Secretary: W. Mather. Branches: London (Sussox Plac3 Hour?, 87A and 88A, Loadonhall Street, E.C.), Lille (France), Boston (United States), Business: Specialists in High Grad Waste. Sole Agents for the sale of waste produced by the Fine Cotton Spinners and Doublers Association, Ltd., J. & P. Coats, Ltd., and The English Sewing Cotton Co., Ltd., Sole Selling Agents for the Greenfield Mill Co., Ltd., Manufacturers of Bleached Waste and of Waste suitable for Explosives. Connection: United Kingdom and Shipping to all parts. Telephone: No. 6293 City, Manchester. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Waste, Manchester." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), A 1, Shepperson's 1881 Edition, Meyer's Atlantic 37th Edition, Lieber's Standard Telegraphic.

JONES & WILLIS, Ltd., Church. Furniture Manufacturers, Art Metal Workers, Artists in Stained Glass, &c. Showrooms and Works: 43, Great Russell Streets, London, W.C. Established about 1830. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Works: Eagle Works, Hornsey, N.; Porchester Street, Birmingham. Stag: About 500. Showrooms: 79, Edmund Street, Birmingham; Concert Street, Bold Street, Liverpool. Specialities: All Furniture used in Churches—metal, wood, stone, stained glass, textile fabrics, &c., being employed as materials. Lecterns, Communion Plate, Memorial Brasses, Choir Stalls, Fonts and Pulpits, Chancel Screens, Reredosos, Mural Tablets, Stained Glass Windows Decoration, &c. Are also workers in metal for public buildings. Awards: Paris, 1878; London, 1851; Melbourne, 1888; London, 1862. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial.

JONES, W. W., DOOLY & CO., Freight, Shipping, and Insurance Agents, 7, James Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1886. Present Principals: W. W. Jones, T. H. Dooly. Branches: 95, Leadenhall Street, London, E.C.; 38, Victoria Buildings, Manchester; 36, Brook Street, Bradford. Distributors' Warehouses: Ordsall Lane, Salford, and Trafford Park Warehouses, Manchester. (Telegrams: "Depot, Manchester.") Business: Freight, Shipping, and Insurance Agents, Warehousemen. Connection: United States and all Colonies. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: "Wastall," Liverpool, Manchester, and Bradford; " Conformist, London." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.; West Yorkshire Bank Co., Ltd.

JORDAN, A. J., Cutlery Manufacturer, 17 and 19, Furnival Street, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1886 by A. J. Jordan, the present principal. Premises: Factory at East India Works, Sheffield; Sales Room, 400, N. Third Street, St. Louis, United States, as A. J. Jordan Cutlery Co. Specialities: Razors, Butchers' Knives, Carvers, Razor Strops, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, United States. Telephone: No. 2641 Sheffield. Telegraphic Address: " Jordan, Sheffield." Bankers: United Counties Banking Co., Ltd.

JORDAN & SONS, LIMITED, Company Registration Agents, Printers and Publishers, 116 and 117 Chancery Lane, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1863 by Richard Jordan (d.), succeeded by William Jordan (brother). Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1895. Directors: William Jordan, Herbert William Jordan. Secretary: William T. Scheidel. Nominal capital £50,000 in 5000 shares of £10 each. Shares issued 2853, paid up £28,280. No Debentures, Mortgages, or Preference Shares. Uniform dividend 10 per cont. per annum. Staff: About 100. Branches: 4 to 7 Bishop's Court, Chancery Lane, W.C.; S Bell Yard, Temple Bar, W.C. Business: Registration of Joint Stock Companies and Limited Partnerships, Designing and Engraving Corporate and Company Seals, Printing and Publishing Books on Company Law and Practice, Stamp, Probate, and Divorce Law and Practice, and on legal subjects generally. Registers more companies and limited partnerships than any other firm in the United Kingdom. In 1913 registered over 1000 companies, with capital of about £10,000,000, besides limited partnerships. The number of Company Documents registered annually—e.g., Trust Deeds, Debentures, Special and Extraordinary Resolutions, Annual Returns, Allotments, &c.—is about 50,000. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: Holborn 246, London. Telegraphic Address: Certificate, Fleet, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Temple Bar).

JOWITT (ROBERT) & SONS, Colonial Wool Importers, Top Makers, Wool Scourers and Carbonisers, 131, Sunbridge Road, Bradford; Cliffe Mills, Bradford (Scourers and Carbonisers); Sunbridgo Road, Bradford (Woolcombers). Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1776 by John Jowitt. One of the oldest houses in the trade; Hme carried on business in Albion Street, Leeds, since 1790. Branches: London, Trowbridge, Melbourne, Sydney, Port Elizabeth, East London, Durban. Business: Importers on a large scale of Colonial Wool, Top Makers, Wool Scourers, and Carbonisers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 4574 and 2075 Bradford; No. 1704 Central. London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Jowitt, London "; " Native, Bradford "; " Carboscour, Bradford "; " Jowitts, Trow bridge "; " Jowitt, Melbourne "; " Jowittson, Sydney "; " Jowitt," Port Elizabeth, East London, and Durban. Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

JOYCE, J. B., & CO., Ltd., Tower Clock Manufacturers, Station Road, Whitchurch, Shropshire. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1692 by George Joyce. Continued by father and son in unbroken succession. Two sons of Arthur Joyce (d. 1911), now in the business. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1912. Directors: Horace Mayhew (Chairman), J. M. Etches and A. V. G. Ladds. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Makers of thousands of important Public Clocks in all parts of the world, including the private residence of the late Lord Grimthorpe, the greatest authority of his day on clockwork. Premises: Extensive up-to-date building, erected in 1900. Specialities: Tower Clocks for Churches, Cathedrals, Public Buildings, Railways, &c. Patent: Electric Impulse Clock for small inside Clocks by Arthur Joyce (d.). Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 17 Whitchurch. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Joyce, Whitchurch, Salop." Bankers: Parr's Bank Ltd., Chester.

JOYNSON (WILLIAM) & SON, Paper Manufacturers, St. Mary Cray, Kent. Established by William Joynson about seventy years ago. Partnership Suc-cessions: Edmund H. Joynson having predeceased his father, the business was left by William Joynson to his grandson, Edmund H. Joynson, present proprietor, who has taken James S. Fearnley and W. 0. H. Joynson into partnership. Premises: Extensive Paper Mills at St. Mary Cray, Kent. Branch Warehouses in Paris, Berlin, and Vienna. Speciality: High-class Papers. Telephone: No. 1 Cray. Bankers: Bank of England; Martin's Bank (St. Mary Cray Branch); Credit Lyonnais (Paris); Deutsche Bank (Berlin); Anglo-Austrian Bank (Vienna).

JUBB (ALFRED) & SON, Ltd., Printers and Stationers, Albany Printing Works, St. John's Road, Huddersfield. London Office: 1A, Wood Street, Cheapside, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1868 by Alfred Jubb, present Managing Director. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1891. Directors: Alfred Jubb (Managing Director), Marcus Jubb (son). All Shares held by the family. Staff: About 200. Specialities: Commercial Stationery used in the Woollen trade by Manufacturers, Merchants, and Wholesale Clothiers; also Show Cards of all descriptions. Special Machines for cutting Cloth Patterns. Connection: All United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial, chiefly London, Bristol, Birmingham, and Leeds. Continent of Europe. Numerous testimonials received from clients. Telephones: Nos. 1230 and 1231 Huddersfield. Telegraphic Address: " Jubb, Huddersfield."

JUDSON (DANIEL) & SON, Household Dyes, Paint, &c., Manufacturers, 31, Macks Road, Bermondsey, London, S.E. Varnish Factory, Church Road, Mitcham, Surrey. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1806 by Daniel Judson. Specialities: Straw Hat Dyes, Household Dyes, Paints, Judson's Washable Water Paint, and Varnishes. Telephone: No. 807 Hop. London. Telegraphic Address: " Fluidifico, London."

See Also

Loading...

Sources of Information