Grace's Guide

British Industrial History

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 133,169 pages of information and 210,845 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

1914 Who's Who in Business: Company H

From Graces Guide

Jump to: navigation, search
Im1914WWB-p428b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p429a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p429b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p430a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p430b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p431a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p431b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p432a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p432b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p433a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p433b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p434a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p434b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p435a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p435b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p436a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p436b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p437a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p437b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p438a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p438b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p439a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p439b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p440a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p440b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p440a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p440b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p441a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p441b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p442a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p442b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p443a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p443b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p444a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p444b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p445a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p445b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p446a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p446b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p447a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p447b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p448a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p448b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p449a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p449b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p450a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p450b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p451a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p451b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p452a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p452b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p453a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p453b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p454a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p454b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p455a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p455b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p456a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p456b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p457a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p457b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p458a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p458b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p459a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p459b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p460a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p460b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p461a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p461b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p462a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p462b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p463a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p463b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p464a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p464b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p465a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p465b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p466a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p466b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p467a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p467b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p468a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p468b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p469a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p469b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p470a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p470b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p471a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p471b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p472a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p472b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p473a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p473b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p474a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p474b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p475a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p475b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p476a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p476b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p477a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p477b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p478a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p478b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p479a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p479b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p480a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p480b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p481a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p481b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p482a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p482b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p483a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p483b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p484a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p484b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p485a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p485b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p486a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p486b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p487a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p487b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p488a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p488b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p489a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p489b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p490a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p490b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p491a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p491b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p492a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p492b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p493a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p493b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p494a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p494b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p495a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p495b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p496a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p496b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p497a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p497b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p498a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p498b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p499a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p499b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p500a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p500b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p501a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p501b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p502a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p502b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p503a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p503b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p504a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p504b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p505a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p505b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p506a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p506b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p507a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p507b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p508a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p508b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p509a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p509b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p510a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p510b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p511a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p511b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p512a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p512b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p513a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p513b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p514a.jpg

Note: This is a sub-section of 1914 Who's Who in Business

HAACKE, A., & CO., LIMITED, Kieselguhr Merchants and Experts in Non-Conductors of Heat and Cold, Oil Merchants, Light Iron Workers, Proprietors of original Fossil Meal, Kieselguhr Wharf, Homerton, London, N.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1881 by Albert Haacke. Continued by C. Lauer and Ashby W. Warner. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Directors: Ashby W. Warner (Managing Director), John Warner, 1, Whalley. 'Secretary; A. H. Grocott. Introduced Kieselguhr for many purposes, now largely used for commercial manufacturing purposes. Premises: Large factory at Homerton. Water communication with the Thames. Staff Large clerical and travelling. Branches: 4, Great Mersey Street, Liverpool; The Exchange, Middlesbrough; 165A, St. Vincent Street, Glasgow. Specialities: Sole Proprietors of the original Fossil Meal Composition and of the " Non-Con " and " Warnerite " Registered Compositions. Asbestos Manufacturers, Cork for Ice, &c., Plants. Patents: Fossil Meal, " Non-Con," `` Turpent." Connection: World-wide. Telephone: London, No. 886 East. Telegraphic Addresses: " Haacke," London, Liverpool, Glasgow and Middlesbrough.

HAAGEN, T. H., SON & CO., Tanners, Curriers and Belting Manufacturers, Horselydown Leather Works, Tower Bridge, London, S.E. Hours of Business: Works, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1856 by T. H. Haagen. Present Principals: T. H. Haagen (senior), T. H. Haagen (junior). Manager: A. M. Jacoby. Specialities: High-class Leather Belting for all classes of Machinery, Chrome Leather for Picking Bands, &c. Awards: Gold Medals, Antwerp, 1885, 1894; Amsterdam, 1895; Brussels, 1897; Cross of Honor, Amsterdam, 1895; Diploma of Honor, Antwerp, 1894; Brussels, 1897. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office), London County Council, various Railway Companies, &c. Telephone: No. 3780 Hop, London. Telegraphic Address: " Strapping, London." Code:A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd., Head Office.

HACHETTE & COMPANY, Publishers. Paris: 79, Boulevard Saint-Germain; London: 18, King William Street, Charing Cross, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. • Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established: In Paris, by Louis Christophe Francois Hachette, in 1826; London branch established in 1859. Founded primarily for the publication of classical works, the house now issues general literature; standard works in history, geography, memoires, belles lettres, science and art, voyages; prize and gift books, musical publications, and the famous Joanne Series of French and English guide-books. The London branch is directed by the firm's English agents, A. J. Kerr and F. P. Minoggio, and has pro duced the extensive series of works for the study of French, German, Spanish, Italian, and other European languages. In addition to the Paris and London establishments, the firm has over 750 railway bookstalls in France, and carries on a very extensive newspaper distributing agency all over France and her Colonies. Staff: Over 500 people are employed in the publishing business alone, without counting editors, translators, and the hundreds of workers engaged in the bookbinding departments. It is computed that some 10,000 persons, including authors, artists, producers, and workpeople, are attached to and gain a livelihood from this firm.

HADDOCK, PARKER & CO., Chemicals, Oils, and Produce Brokers, Export Agents, 14, Chapel Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1856 by the late John Haddock. Present Principals: George Parker, Arthur B. Rayner, George L. Ellis and W. D. H. Thompson. Business: Brokers in Chemicals, Oils, and Produce. Export Agents; also deal in Miscellaneous Chemical, &c. Telephones: Nos. 1321 and 1375 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Haddock, Liverpool." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions); Lieber's; Western Union.

HADDON (JOHN) & CO., Typefounders, Advertising Agents, Import and Export Merchants, Salisbury Square, Fleet Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1814. Present Principal: Walter Haddon. One of the oldest houses in the trade. Pioneers of the Point System in the British Empire. Premises: Head Offices, Salisbury Square, E.C. Model Printing Office, 45, Great Guildford Street, Southwark Street, S.E. Works, Caxton Type Foundry, Market Harboro', Leicester. Business: General Import and Export Merchants, Contractors for Advertisements; Typefounders; Stocks of Printing Types and Materials held in seventeen of the world's principal ports. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 9269, 9265, and 8159 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Typify, London." Cable Address: " Dilutum, London." Bankers: London City and. Midland Bank, Ltd.

HADDOW, AIRD, STEEL & CO., Lace Manufacturers, Brown Street, Newmilns, Ayrshire. Hours of Business: Warehouse, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; works, open night and day. Established over thirty years ago. Present Principals: Thomas Aird and James Crerar. Staff: 120. Branches: London, 8 Love Lane, Wood Street, E.C.; Manchester, 8 Green Street, Tib Street, and in Australia, New Zealand and South Africa. Specialities: Lace Curtains, Curtain Nets, Brise Bise Blinds and Vitrages. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Lace, Newmilns." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Royal Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

HADEN, G. N., & SONS, Heating, Ventilating and General Engineers, experts on Heat Economy, Trowbridge, Wiltshire. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1.15 p.m. Established in 1816 by George Haden and James Haden. Continued by George Nelson Haden and Joseph Poynton Haden. Present Principals: William Nelson Haden, J.P., and Charles Ingham Haden. The firm have carried on the business without interruption since foundation. Branches: London, Lincoln House, Kingsway, W.C.; Manchester, 4, Albert Square; Birmingham, 14, Burlington Chambers, New Street; Dublin, 199, Brunswick Street; Bristol, 7, St. Stephen's Avenue; Glasgow, 163, Hope Street; and Johannesburg. Specialities: Heating, Ventilation, Hot and Cold Water Supply, Electric Lighting and Power Plants, Cooking and Laundry Plants. Experts in Heat economy. Patents: Hard Labour Machines, Accelerated Circulation of Water, Flue Blocks for building in walls. Original Patentees of Rubber Expansion Joints for Hot Water Pipes. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, South Africa, France, Italy, China and Turkey. Telephones: No. 2 Trowbridge; No. 2219 Holborn, London; No. 4016 Central, Manchester; No. 1301 Midland, Birmingham; No. 2674 Dublin; No. 725 Argyle, Glasgow; No. 1867 Bristol. Telegraphic Addresses: " Haden," Trowbridge, Manchester; " Warmth," London, Birmingham, Dublin. Codes: Lieber's, A B ,C (5th Edition).

HAGEDORN, A., & CO., Celluloid Manufacturers, 27, Barbican, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1902; incorporated as a limited company in Germany in 1908. Managing Director: Paul Meyer; London Manager, G. Heiser. Branches: Large works in Osnabriick and Lingen, Germany, Province Hanover. Staff: 500. Business: Manufacture of Celluloid in Sheets, Tubes, and Rods; also Finished Goods for many trades, such as Cycle, Toys, Fanoy Goods, &c. Patents: For the Manufacture of Cycle Handles,§ Chain Covers, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 7973 Central, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Occido, Barb, London "; " Korkcellulo, Osnabriick." Code: Premier. Bankers Lloyds Bank Limited.

HAGELBERG, W., Fine Art Printer and Publisher, 12, Bunhill Row, London, E.C., Printing Works, 19-22, Marienstrasse, Berlin. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays close at 1 p.m. Established over sixty years ago in Berlin, over twenty-eight years in London. Staff About 1400. Branch: 5, East 17th Street, New York. Business: Fine Art Printers and Publishers. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 13397 Central, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Hagelberg, London "; " Luxuspaper, Berlin." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

HAGGART, P. & J., Royal Woollen Manufacturers, Aberfeldy Mills, Royal Breadalbane Mills, Aberfeldy, Perthshire. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Wednesdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1846 by Peter Haggart and James Haggart. Present Principal: James D. Haggart (son of Peter Haggart). Have the honour to be Manufacturers to the Royal and Imperial Courts of Europe, and are patronised by the Nobility and Aristocracy of Britain and other countries. Premises: Two largo Mills, equipped with all the latest appliances for carding, condensing, weaving and spinning, dyeing and finishing; also Warehouse and Tailoring Establishment. Originally at Keltneybinin. Removed twenty-five years ago to Aberfeldy. Specialities: Ladies' and • Gentlemen's Tailoring; Tweeds, Costume Tweeds, Sporting Homespuns, Rugs, Shawls, Clan Tartans, complete Highland Outfits, Wools, Blankets, Scotch Clan Tartans, Cashmere Sports Coats; Novelties in Silk Goods, &c. Curtains, Table Covers, Stair Carpets, Highland Gaiters, Leggings, &c.; Scotch Bonnets, Hats and Caps. Special Materials for Warm Clothing for the poor. Patents: Sporting Tweeds to suit Moors and Deer Forests. Awards: Highest for Cheviot Homespuns, Highland and Agricultural Society of Scotland; " Gold Stars," Royal Albert Hall, London; Diploma, Glasgow Exhibition. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to H.M. the King, H.M. the Queen, and Her Majesty Queen Alexandra; also held Appointment to his late Majesty King Edward. Telephone: No. 6 (P.O.), Aberfeldy. Telegraphic Address: " Haggart Mills, Aber- foldy."

HAGGIE, R. HOOD, & SON, LIMITED, Wire and Manilla Rope Manufacturers, Binder Twine Factory, Willington Patent Rope Works, Newcastle-on-Tyne.. Registered Offices Akenside House, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1843 by R. Hood Haggie; originally founded by William Chapman and Edward. Chapman in 1789. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: Stevenson Haggie (Chairman and Managing Director), Arthur J. Haggie, J.P., and Frank Dean (Managing Directors), Stanley S. Haggie, Edward Newton, R. Irwin Dees, R. J. Nichol (Secretary). Premises: Extensive Factories covering over nine acres. Branches: London, Hull, Cardiff, North Shields, Grimsby, Liverpool, Glasgow. Specialities: Proprietors of several Brands of Manilla Ropes and Binder Twine. Steel Ropes for all purposes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 589 City (three lines) Newcastle-on-Tyne (Head Offices). Telegraphic Address: "Haggie," Newcastleon-Tyne, London, Cardiff, Hull, Grimsby, North Shields, Liverpool, Glasgow.

HAHN, E., & CO., Dealers in Precious Stones, 33, Hatton Garden, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1872 by Emil Hahn. Present Principal: Emil Hahn. 'Branch: Birmingham. Connection: Woild-wide. Specialities: Are Dealers and Importers of every known variety of Precious Stones, Pearls, Opals, Corals, Ceylon Stones, Fancy Stones, Semi-Precious Stones, &c. Also Stones for Collectors, Church Work, Art Metal Work, Museums, and principally for the Jewellery Trade. In rough or cut state. Telephones: No. 515 Holborn; No. 7148 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Aquamarine-Smith, London." Cable Address: "Aquamarine, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Holborn Circus).

HAIG (JOHN) & CO., Ltd., Distillers, Markinch, Scotland. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1627 by Robert Haig, who commenced distilling; continued by direct family successions. John Haig was the first Chairman of the Scottish Distillers when they all amalgamated in 1877. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Directors: John Haig (Chairman), Oliver Haig, Cecil de Proe, Thomas Brown, Sir Douglas Haig, T. Wilkinson. General Manager: T. Wilkinson. Secretary: Robert Wallace. The oldest Distillers in the world. Premises: Equipped with modern appliances at Markinch and Glen Cawdor Distillery, Nairn. Branches; Glasgow, Manchester, London. Speciality Scotch Whisky. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 4 Markinch. Telegraphic Address: " Haig, Markinch."

HAIGH, H., & CO., Wool, Top and Noil Merchants, Hollings Mill, Sunbridge Road, Bradford. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1897 by Herbert Haigh. Present Principals: Herbert Haigh and Thomas Haigh. Have made steady progress necessitating three removals to larger buildings. Premises: Three large Warehouses with Offices and. Sample Rooms. Staff': Usual. Specialities: Mohair, Alpaca, Camels' Hair, and all descriptions of Noils and Wastes. All classes of raw materials supplied to Textile Manufacturers. Connection: United Kingdom, United States, and Continental Export. Telephones: Nos. 1686 and 1687, Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Margin, Bradford." Codes: Western Union and A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Bradford District Bank, Ltd. (Commercial Branch).

HAIGH (JOHN) & SONS, LIMITED, Machinists, Priestroyd Iron Works, Huddersfield. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1835 by John Haigh. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: John Thomas Haigh (Managing Director), John Haigh, Phinehas Haigh. Secretary: Fred. B. Ramsden. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Staff: 200. Speciality: Woollen and Worsted Carding Machinery. Award: First-class and Gold Medal, Huddersfield Exhibition, 1883. Connection: United Kingdom, United States, Canada, New Zealand, Australia, Russia, Turkey, India, France, Germany, and Holland. Telephone: No. 111 Huddersfield. Telegraphic Address: " Haighs, Machinists, Huddersfield." Codes: A B C, A 1 (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

HAINSWORTH, JNO., & SONS, Woollen Manufacturers, Cape Mills, Farsley, Leeds. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1800 by Abimelech Hainsworth. Partnership Successions: (1) Jno. Hainsworth & Bros.; (2) Jno. Hainsworth & Sons; (3) Charles Hainsworth; (4) Reuben Gaunt and A. W. Hainsworth; (5) Reuben Gaunt, A. W. Hainsworth, and Leonard Gaunt; (6) Reuben Gaunt, A W. Hainsworth, Leonard Gaunt, and Reuben Gaunt (jun.); (7) Reuben Gaunt, Leonard Gaunt, Reuben Gaunt (jun.); (8) Rouben Gaunt, Leonard Gaunt, Charles Gaunt; (9) Charles Gaunt, Leonard Gaunt; (10) Present Principals: Leonard Gaunt, F. W. Gaunt. Premises: Situated probably on the site of an old Fulling Mill. Specialities: Army, Police, and Railway Cloths, Wool-dyed, Indigo, and other Fast Colours. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 43 Stanningley. Telegraphic Address: " Cape, Farsley." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

HAIR, THOS. G., Importer of Russian Mats and other Continental Produce, Manufacturer of Hand Basses for the Fish and Meat Trades, 10 to 12, Wellington Street, Hull. Hours of Business: Office, 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1880 by Thos. G. Hair, the present principal. Specialities: Manufacture of HandBasses; Importing Mats and other goods, chiefly from Russia and China. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Telephone: No. 63x (National) Hull. Telegraphic Address: " Hair, Hull." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Hull).

HALDEN, J., & CO., Ltd., Drawing Office Material Dealers and Manufacturers, 8, Albert Square, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1878. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Governing Directors: J. R. Ball and W. Monkhouse. Premises: Rowsley Works, Reddish, were erected in 1908 and are equipped with up-to-date machinery. Registered offices are at the same address. Staff: 220. Branches: London, 15-17, Broadway, Westminster, S.W.; Newcastle-on-Tyne, 6, Grainger Street; Birmingham, 27, Upper Priory; Glasgow, 17, Cadogan Street; Leeds, 14, Park Row. Specialities: Drawing Office Materials and Instruments, Engineers' Photo Processes, the Continuous Photo-Copying Machine, Halden's Electric Photo Copying Frame (copies two tracings at one operation); the Halden Calculex, a patent circular Slide Rule. Everything supplied for the Drawing Office. Patents: Several. Connection: United. Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 199 and 200 Heaton Moor, Manchester; Nos. 105 and 106 Victoria, London; No. 2072 Newcastle-on-Tyne; No. 2409 Birmingham; No. 4337 Corporation and No. 442 Argyle, Glasgow; No. 3773 Leeds. Telegraphic Addresses: " Halden, Manchester "; " Eyepieces, Vic, London "; " Eyepieces, Newcastle-on-Tyne "; " Sepia, Birmingham "; " Ferro, Glasgow "; Sepia, Leeds."

HALE & PATERSON, General Produce Brokers, African Chambers, 19, Old Hall Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1879 by S. N. Hale and T. S. Paterson. Present Principals: T. S. Paterson and J. S. M. Tombs. Business: General Produce Brokers. Telephone: No. 522 (Central), Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Pax, Liverpool." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Leyland & Bullins Branch).

HALE & SON, Ostrich Feather, Ivory, Rubber, Mother o' Pearl, Drugs, Carpets, and Colonial Brokers, 10, Fenchurch Avenue, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about 200 years ago. Partnership Successions: (1) Howard & Hale; (2) Ellis & Hale; (3) Hale & Son. Present Principals: M. G. Hale; junior partners, J. M. Vanhouse, B. S. Ingram, and M. W. Palmer. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Specialities: Ivory, Rubber, Ostrich Feathers, Gums, Drugs, Spices, Cocoa, Mica, Isinglass, Fibres, & c. Telephones: No. 4273 Avenue; No. 5218 Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Sonelah, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

HALEY (ALFRED) & CO., Ltd., Worsted Spinners, Westgate Common Mill, Wakefield. Hours of Business: 6.15 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established by Alfred Haley. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: Alfred Haley (Chairman), Alfred A. Haley (Vice-Chairman), Ernest Glover, W. P. Webster (Secretary), and J. A. Rowson. Premises: Occupy three mills. Equipped with all up-todate appliances. Staff: Over 330. Speciality: White Botany Yarn. Telephone: No. 32 Wakefield. Telegraphic Address: " Haley, Wakefield." Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd. (Bradford).

HALEY, S., & SON, Ltd., Card Clothing and Wire Manufacturers, Pyenot Hall Mills, Cleckheaton. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established sixty years ago by Samuel Haley. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Direc tors: Jonas Haley, Jonas Percy Haley and Tom Briggs. Staff: 150. Business: Card Clothing and Wire Manufac turing. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 35 Cleckheaton. Telegraphic Address: " Haley, Cleckheaton." Bankers: Lon don City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

HALIFAX & HUDDERSFIELD UNION BANKING COMPANY, Ltd., and HALIFAX JOINT STOCK BANKING CO., Ltd.—See WEST YORKSHIRE BANK, Ltd.

HALL, BEDDALL & CO., Builders, Decorators, Electricians, &c., Pitfield Wharf, Waterloo Bridge, London, S.E. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works, 6.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established about 100 years ago, formerly trading as William Lawrence & Sons. Present Principals: Thomas Hall and George Perry Nash. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Pitfield Wharf has a depth of nearly 450 feet, a river frontage of nearly 70 feet, and has the advantage of a private dock for barges, &c. Branches: 31, Bread Street, Cheapside, E.C.; 33, Great Castle Street, Regent Street, London, W. Speciality: Have a reputation for high-class joinery. Telephone: No. 598 Hop, London. Private lines between Pitfield Wharf, 31, Bread Street, and 33, Great Castle Street, London. Telegraphic Address: " Pitfi hall, London."

HALL BROTHERS, CAIRNS, NOBLE & CO., Ltd., Shipbrokers and Coal Exporters, Mount Stuart Square, Cardiff Docks (over Lloyds Bank), Cardiff.

HALL, JOHN, & CO., OF STOURBRIDGE, LIMITED, Fireclay Manufacturers, Amblecote Firebrick Works, Stourbridge. Established over sixty years ago by the late John Hall. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Chairman: W. P. Gibbons. Speciality: High Heat-resisting Bricks and Clay. Telephone: No. 55 Stourbridge. Telegraphic Address: " Hall, Stourbridge."

HALL (JOHN) & SONS, Woollen Merchants, Bell Lane, Bury, Lancs. Hours of Business: Usual. Established by John Hall. Continued by John Hall and James Hall (sons). Present Principals: George Hall and John Arthur Hall (grand sons of the founder). Specialities: " Ventnor Flannels," " Hall Mark " and " Orkney " Blankets. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 145 Bury. Telegraphic Address " Orkney, Bury." Bankers: Lanes. and York Bank, Ltd.

HALL, J. P., & CO., Ltd., Electrical and General Engineers, Blackriding Iron Works, Oldham, Lancashire. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1887 by J. P. Hall. Directors: Joseph Platt Hall and Alfred Greaves Hall. Secretary: A. E. Marland. Specialities: Electric Generators, Motors and Accessories for Continuous and Alternating Current. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Are Contractors to H.M. Admiralty, War Office, India Office, G.P.O., Crown Agents for the Colonies, &c. Telephone: No. 300. Telegraphic Address: Dynamo, Oldham." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions); A 1; Engineering (2nd Edition). Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.

HALL & PHILLIPS, Ltd., Felt Hat Manufacturers, Abbey Mills, Nuneaton, and 27, Milton Street, Fore Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Works, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established: Founder unknown. Transferred about 1734 from the Bracebridge family to Thomas Willday, whose grand son was succeeded in 1853 by Messrs. Hall & Phillips. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Directors: John Edward Hall (Chairman), Ernest Edmund Bourne, and John Kemp Bourne. One of the oldest-established firms in the trade. Premises: Originally solely at Atherstone (Warwickshire). Partly removed to Nuneaton about 1865. Business entirely transferred in 1885. Mills are extensive, and fully equipped with modern appliances. Staff: About 650. Specialities: Men's, Ladies', and Children's Wool Felt Hat;, Fur Napped and Wool Velour Hats, Fez and ML•lay Caps, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractois to H.M. Government and to the Colonial Governments. Telephones: No. 17 Nuneaton; London Office, No. 3445 City. Telegraphic and Cable Address: "Hall, Nuneaton." Cable Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank; Ltd. (Nuneaton Branch).

HALL (ROBERT) & SONS, BURY, Ltd., Textile Weaving Machinery Makers, Hope Foundry, Bury, Lancashire. Hours of . Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1844 by Robert Hall. Partnership Successions: (1) Robert Hall & Sons; (2) Robert Hall & Sons, Bury, Ltd. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1894. Directors: Robert Hall (youngest son of founder), J. Howard Ball, Oscar S. Hall (grandsons of founder). Premises: Very extensive. Staff: Over 500. SpeciaNies: Weaving Looms of every dscription for Cotton, Silk, Linen, Woollen, or other Fibres; also Preparation Machinery for same. Patents: Very numerous. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 97 Bury. Telegraphic Address: " Hall, Bury." Bankers: Union Bank of Manchest-r, Ltd.

HALL, RUSSELL & CO., Ltd., Shipbuilders, Engineers, and Boilermakers, Aberdeen Iron Works, York Place, Aberdeen. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1864. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1897. Directors: Alexander Hall Wilson (Managing Director), James Younger Hunter, J. H. Anderson, F. Coutts. Premises: Extensive Works with all modern appliances; two Hauling-up Slipways. Staff: 1,200 workmen. Business: Builders of all classes of Passenger and Cargo Steamers up to 450 ft. long; also construct the Engines and Boilers of all Ships built at the Works. Undertake all classes of Ship Engine and Boiler Repairs. Speciality made of Steam Trawlers and Fishing Vessels. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2877 National (Aberdeen). Telegraphic Address: " Halrussel, Abordeon."

HALL, R. W., & CO., Coal Merchants and Proprietors, 49, Oriel Road, Bootle, near Liverpool, and 64, Bankhall Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.in. to 6 p.m. Established in 1874 by R. W. Hall, J.P., the present principal. Specialities: Coal, Coke and all kinds of Fuel. Connection: United Kingdom. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephones: No. 179 Bootle; No. 430 Waterloo. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd., Bootle. Mr. Hall is a Justice of the Peace for Bootle and has been a Town Councillor.

HALL & SON, Hosiery Manufacturers, Stoke-Golding, near Nuneaton. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1882 by John Hall, the present principal. Premises: Site of Building overlooks the scene of the Battle of Bosworth Fi aid (1485), 100 yards from where Richard's Crown was found. Specialities: Grampian Hose and Half-hose, Military Ribbed and Plain Half-hose, Mixture Ribbed Hose and Half-hose. Telegraphic Address: " Hall, Stoke Golding." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

HALL (WILLIAM) & CO., LIMITED, Manufacturers of Needles, Pins, and Fish Hooks of all kinds, Studley S.O., Warwickshire. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1825 by William Hall. Succeeded by John Morgan in 1848. Followed by John Morgan and George Chambers Morgan (Sons) in 1890. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Directors: John Morgan, Harry Herbert Knowles, George Charles King. Premises: Cover about two acres. Staff: 400 to 500. Business: Manufacturers of Needles, Pins, and Fish Hooks of all kinds. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Special attention given to Colonial trade. Telephone: No. 9 Redditch. Telegraphic Address: " Hall, Studley." Cable Address: " Hall, Studley." Codes: ABC; A 1. Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (Alcester).

HALLAMSHIRE STEEL AND FILE CO., Ltd. (THE), Steel Rollers, &c., Hallamshire Works, Neepsend, Sheffield. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1873. Directors: F. P. Smith, F. C. Wild, E. L. W. Bellhouse. Business: Steel Rolling and Tilting for the trade. Telephone: No. 1030 Sheffield. Telegraphic Address: " Neepsend, Sheffield." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

HALLOWES & TOSETTI, Merchants, 147, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Established about 1855 by Theodore Satow. The firm became Samuel Richards & Co. in 1883; Hallowes & Tosetti in 1899. Principals: Edward P. B. Hallowes, Max E. 0. Tosetti. Speciality: Agents for Heidsieck & Co.'s Champagne. Connection United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 496 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Monopole, London."

HALLY & CO., Fancy Flannel Manufacturers, Auchterarder, Perthshire; 11, George Square, Glasgow; and 3 and 4, Russia Row, Milk Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1850 by William Hally (d.). Present Principals: John Hally, W. Rally, R. Y. Hally, William Hally, J. D. Hally, Auchterarder, Glasgow, and London. Premises: Extensive, containing 542 looms. Warehouses, Glasgow and London. Staff: Twenty-four; Works, 330. Agencies: Manchester, Bradford, Belfast, Montreal, and Winnipeg. Specialities: Fancy Flannels, Shirting, and Blouse Cloths in Wool, Angolas, and Ceylons. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 12 (P.O.), Auchterarder; No. 4831 (Central), Glasgow. Telegraphic Addresses: " Hally," Auchterarder and Glasgow; " Orbital, London." Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

HAMBLETON, T. H., Silk Manufacturer, Hope Mills, Macclesfield, and 36, Gutter Lane and 9-10, Foster Lane, Cheapside, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established twenty-five years ago by T. H. Hambleton, the present principal (late of Paradise Mills). Purchased the business of J. O. Nicholson, Park Lane, Macclesfield, as a going concern in 1910. Staff: 300. Specialities: Silk Handkerchiefs, Mufflers, Tie Silks, Dress Silks, Scarves, Satins, Damasks, West African Head Squares, Crêpe de Chine, Tameline, and Tussore, Knitted Mufflers, Ladies' Scarves, Knitted and Woven, and all descriptions of plain and fancy Fringing and Knotting. Award: Gold Medal, Brussels Exhibition, 1910. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 29 Maccles- field. Telegraphic Address: " Silk, Macclesfield." Code: A B C (5th Edition), Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd. (Macclesfield and Manchester). Mr. Hambleton was Mayor of the Borough 1908 and 1909. Justice of the Peace and Town Councillor. Director of the Cheshire Permanent Building Society and Trustee of the Methodist Free Church, Park Green; Chairman of Macclesfield Liberal Club; Hon. Treasurer of Macclesfield Division of the Liberal Association; Manager of Macclesfield Certified Industrial School; Guardian of the Poor (retired 1911); MeMber of the Palatine Masonic Lodge, Manchester, and William Whiston Masonic Lodge, Macclesfield; Vice-President of the Macclesfiekl Cricket and Football Clubs; Vice-President of the Macclesfield Choral Society and of the Chrysanthemum Society; Member of the Silk Association of Great Britain and Ireland; a Governor of the Macclesfield Infirmary. Pastimes: Motoring and Gardening.

HAMBURGER, ROGERS & CO., Gold Lawmen and Military Contractors, 30, King Street, Covent Garden, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established about 1750. Title of firm in some of the earliest records was R. & H. Hewetson (1796). In 1814, Hamburger & Co.; in 1827, Hamburger, Harwood & Co.; in 1839, Hamburger, Rogers & Co. Present Principals: William R. N. Knaggs (nephew of the late J. N. Rogers) and P. Wells Jackson. Premises: The building known in olden times as " The Sign of ' The Sun.' " Specialities: Cavalry and Yeomanry Outfits, Court Uniforms, Gold Lace. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Royal Warrants: Special Appointments as Gold Lacemen to H.M. the King. Held similar appointments to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria and His late Majesty King Edward VII. Telephone: No. 4784 Central. Telegraphic Address: ,` Regimentals, London." Bankers: Coutts & Co.

HAMEL & HORLEY, Ltd., Exporters, 71, Whitworth Street, Manchester; and London. Hours of Business: Usual Incorporated as a Limited Company. Specialities: In all kinds of goods. Connection: East and Far Eastern Markets. Telephone: No. 8625 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Hamelin, Manchester." Codes: A B C, Lieber's, Bentley's, &c.

HAMER (JOHN C.), Ltd., Coloured Cotton Goods Manufacturers, Hope Mills, Radcliffe, near Manchester. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1888 by John C. Hamer. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: James Prestwich (Chairman), John White, John Collier. Premises: Very extensive, containing 1700 Looms. Staff: Total 1300. Branches: Within Mills, Canal Mills and Seed Street Works, Radcliffe; Springside Mills, Little Lever. Specialities: Ginghams, Zephyrs, Oxfords, Handkerchiefs, &c. Connection: Chiefly Foreign, also United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephones: No. 64 Radcliffe; No. 5384 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Hamer Radcliffe." Bankers: Union Bank of Manchester, Ltd.

HAMER (WRIGHT) & SONS, Woollen Manufacturers, Clay House Mills, Greetland, near Halifax. Hours of Business: Mill, 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Office, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1901. Present Principals: Wright Hamer, John Hamer, and Ben Hamer. Staff: About 150. Specialities: Army Grey Shirtings, Cap Cloths, Overcoatings, Costume and Mantle Cloths, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 76 Elland. Telegraphic Address: " Wright Hamer, Greetland." Code: A B C. Bankers: West Yorkshire Bank, Ltd. Mr. Wright Hamer is a member of the Urban District Council of Greetland.

HAMILTON ADVERTISER, LTD. (THE), Printers and Publishers, Campbell Street, 2 F 2 Hamilton, Lanarkshire. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Fridays, 8.30 a.m. to midnight; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1856 by William Naismith. Joined in partnership by William Clark Naismith and John. Edward Naismith (sons) in 1900. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. (Capital £50,000-25,000 5 per cent. Preference and 25,000 Ordinary shares.) Chairman: William Naismith, J.P., Managing Directors: William Naismith, J.P., William Clark Naismith, and John Edward Naismith. Premises: Cover 1,820 sq. yds. Works equipped with all modern appliances and machinery. A portion of the Office Buildings consist of the old Ebenezer Congregational Chapel built in 1841. The chapel was attended for many years by the parents of Livingstone. Stall: Office, over thirty; outside Correspondents, over fifty. Branches: Lanark, Motherwell, Uddingston. Business: Printers and Publishers of the " Hamilton Advertiser." Claimed to be the largest Weekly Provincial in Scotland outside the four cities— Glasgow, Edinburgh, Dundee, and Aberdeen. Circulation, 30,000 copies. Large farming clientele; also General Printing and Publishing. Connection: Scotland and the Colonies. Posted extensively to subscribers abroad. Telephone: No. 23 Hamilton. Telegraphic Address: " Advertiser, Hamilton." Eankcrs; Bank of Scotland. Mr. William Naismith is a Justice of the Peace for the County of Lanarkshire.

HAMILTON & CO. (LONDON), Ltd., Painting and General Brush Manufacturers, 116 and 118, Clerkenwell Road, London, E.C.; Works, Wealdstone, near Harrow, Middlesex. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. Established in 1811 by C. F. Hamilton. Business was acquired in 1857 by the late Chas. A. Watkins; partnership with sons, 1895. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1903. Directors: Chas. Hamilton Watkins, Arthur L. Watkins, and Walter Collett. Agencies: Australia, New Zealand, S. Africa, Japan, India, Egypt, Canada, South Amorica. Specialities: Painters' Brushes, Decorating and Graining Tools. Trademark: "Somper idem." Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1532 City (2 lines); 5 Harrow (2 lines). Telegraphic Address "Semper, London."

HAMILTON, D., & CO., Exporters of Wool, Tops, Yarns, Noils, and Shoddy, 15, Harris Street, Bradford. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1904 by Douglas Hamilton and John F. Elgie, the present principals. Specialities: Wool, Tops, Yarns, Noils, and Shoddy. Connection: Europe. Tele-phone: No. 276 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Astute, Bradford." Bankers: Bradford District Bank, Ltd. (Bradford).

HAMLETT (GEO.) & SONS, Ltd., Salt Manufacturers, Packers and Shippers, Brick and Tile Manufacturers, Contractors, Engineers and Factors, " Premier " Works, Winsford, Cheshire. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1869 as a Building Brickmaking undertaking. In 1889 Salt Manufacturing was added. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1903. Directors: Arthur Hamlett (Chairman), Edwin Hamlett, J.P., and Fred. G. Hamlett. One of the oldest houses in the trade. Premises: Extensive Works, covering an area of eight acres. Stall: 200. Branch: 18, Chapel Street, Liverpool. Agents: Premier Salt Co., London, Marylebone, N.W.; Liverpool, 159, Crown Street. Speciality: Table Salt. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 2, 22, and 23 Winsford; No. 6864 Liverpool; No. 1506 Paddington. Telegraphic Addresses: " Hamletts, Winsford, Cheshire "; " Flavouring, Liverpool " • " Salisateur, London." Code: Western Union. Bankers: Union Bank of Manchester, Ltd. (Winsford Branch) ' • Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. (Marylebone Branch, London).

HAMLYN & CO. (Brewers Grains Co.), Merchants and Contractors, 37 and 38, Mark Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.• Established in 1859 by the father of the present principals. Premises: Factory, Thames Grain Drying Station, Upper Ground Street, Blackfriars, London, E.C. Stables, Gambia Street, Blackfriars, London, S.E. Branches: 4, Albert Square, Manchester; Liverpool, Dublin, Sheffield, Elgin, &c. Business: Well-known experts in Brewery and Distillery Bye-Products. Contractors for these goods. Proprietors of specially prepared Yeast for fermenting purposes. Feeding Stuffs for cattle. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1246 and 1247 Avenue, London; No. 1356 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Addresses: " Hamlyn, London '; Brugrains, Manchester. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England.

HAMMOND BEEF CO., Ltd., American Chilled Beef Importers, Provision Merchants, & c., 89, Charterhouse Street, E.C.; 138, 139 and 382, Central Meat Market, W. Smithfield, London. Hours of Business: 4 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Company in 1901. Present Directors: A. W. Benn, A. Colby, R. Crews, A. Gauld, H. S. Scott, E. Tilden. Branches: Bootle, Dundee, Folkestone, Glasgow, Liverpool. Business: The Importation of American Chilled Beef. Connection,: British Islands, Foreign, and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 724 and 7418 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Murray, London."

HAMMOND & CO., Ltd., Breeches Makers and Tailors, 465, Oxford Street, London, W. Established at the end of the eighteenth century by Robert Hammond. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893. Branches: Manchester, Paris, Vienna. Agencies: South Africa, Chili. Specialities: Leather Breeches and Sporting Clothes. Several inventions have been patented by the firm. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: Special Appointments to H.M. King George V. H.M. the Emperor of Austria, H.M. the King of Spain. Also held the Warrant of Her late Majesty Queen Victoria, and His late Majesty King Edward VII. Telephone: No. 231 Mayfair. Telegraphic Address: "Breeches, London."

HAMMOND (JOHN) & CO., Ltd., Wholesale Clothing Manufacturers and Contractors, Store Street and Church Street, Manchester, and Enderley Mills, Newcastle-under-Lyme. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1870 by John Hammond. Joined by James Lovatt and Geo. E. Anson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. One of the largest Government and Clothing Contractors and Wholesale Clothing Firms in the Kingdom. The Civilian trade is conducted at Manchester. Uniform Clothing Contracts Newcastle-under-Lyme. Staff: About 1,500. Specialities: Almost every class of Male Clothing; Uniforms for Government and Municipal Bodies. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government, Municipal Bodies, &c. Telephones: Nos. 5788 and 5787 City, Manchester; No. 69 Newcastle-under-Lyme. Telegraphic Addresses: " Hamod, Manchester; " " Hammond, Newcastle, Staffs." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

HAMMOND TYPEWRITER CO., Ltd. (THE), Typewriter Manufacturers, 50, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1880. Secretary: Reginald J. Bray. Branches and agencies throughout the world. Connection: World - wide. Telephone: No. 6536 City. Telegraphic Address: " Typanglo, London." Bankers: The Farmers' Loan and Trust Company, Ltd.

HAMPSON, R. H., Manufacturer of Cleaning Waste, &c., and Cotton Waste Merchant, Egerton Mills, Stockport. Hours of Business: Factory, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1828 by R. H. Hampson. Present Principal: George William Healey. Claim to be the oldest firm in the Cotton Waste business. Premises: Extensive, equipped with modern appliances. Staff: About fifty. Specialities: Engine Waste, Sponge Cloths (Manufacturer) and Cotton Waste (Merchant). Patent: Cleaning Waste Machines. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractor to H.M. Government and to various Railways. Telephone: No. 116 Stockport. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Waste, Stockport." Bankers: Union Bank of Manchester, Ltd. (Stockport). The late Mr. R. H. Hampson was a Councilor and Guardian of the Poor (Stockport). Mr. Healey has been a Councillor of Stockport and is a member of the Manchester Royal Exchange.

HAMPTON & SONS, Ltd., Decorators, House Furnishers, Auctioneers, and Estate Agents. Chief Offices and only Showrooms: Pall Mall East, London, S.W. Estate Agency and Auction Offices: 2 and 3, Cockspur Street, London, S.W.; with Branch at Wimbledon Common. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1830. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1897. Specialities: Decorations, Furniture, Carpets, Curtains, &c. One of the Company's enterprises is the Royal Damask and Linen Manufactory, Lisburn, Ireland. About 800 hands are employed in the several establishments. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, and Foreign. Hold a number of patents. Cabinet Workshops: 43, Belvedere Road, Lambeth. Depository: Queen's Road, Battersea. Telephones: No. 30 Gerrard (six lines); also No. 37 Gerrard (three lines) for Estate Agency. Telegraphic Address: " Hamitic, London."

HANCOCK & CORFIELD, Ltd., Colour Printers (Posters, Showcards, &c.). Imperial Works, Mitcham, near London. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established twenty-three years ago to take over the patent rights from the Embossed Metal Tablet Co., Gray's Inn Road, E.C., for Printing and Embossing Metal for advertising purposes, and in 1904 acquired the business of Messrs. Waller, Willis & Co., Colour Printers. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company. Directors: John Corfield (Managing Director), Reginald Corfield, William Henry Waller. Premises: Large Factory with floorage covering about three acres at the Imperial Works, Morden Road, Mitcham. Staff: 300. Branches: Glasgow, Birmingham, Belfast, Manchester, Den Haag, Holland, and Australia. Specialities: Artistic Colour Printing on Metal, Aluminium and Paper, Steel, Iron, Tin, Zinc, &c. Are Manufacturers of Embossed Iron Advertisement Tablets, General Printing and Lithography. Are well known for the excellence of their work, and for the introduction of novelties in designs. Specialize in all Advertising Novelties. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, Post Office). Telephones: Nos. 1202 and 1203 Wimbledon. Telegraphic Address: " Corfield, Mitcham."

HANCOCK & JAMES, Lace Net Manufacturers, Heathcote Street, Nottingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1894 by H. S. James, the present principal. Staff: Varies according to trade. Branches: London, 12 and 13, Bow Lane, E.C.; Manchester, 17, Nicholas Street; Paris, 69, Rue d'Aboukir. Specialities: Portable Mosquito Curtains for Exploring Parties and Camp Life; Silk and Cotton, Plain, Spotted and Fancy Nets. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 801 Nottingham. Telegraphic Address: " Veracity, Nottingham." Code: A B C, Lloyd's.

HANCOCK (JAMES) & SON, Ltd., Art Colour Manufacturers, Diglis Ceramic Art Colour Works, Worcester. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about 1860 in its present form by James Hancock. The direct ancestors of the founder have been in the same line of business since the time of Josiah Wedgwood, for whom they manufactured Colours, &c. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Managing Directors: E. A. Hancock and F. Penny. Branch: Depot, 8, Furlong Lane, Burslem, Staffs. Specialities: All kinds of Colours for the Decoration of China, Pottery, and Glass. Specialise in Colours for Stained Glass Windows, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, and all countries where Pottery is made or Glass decorated. Telegraphic Address " Colours, Worcester."

HANCOCKS & CO., Jewellers and Silversmiths, Corner of Bruton Street, New Bond Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1848 by C. F. Hancock. Partnership Successions: (1) C. F. Hancock, (2) C. F. Hancock, Son & Co., (3) Hancocks & Co. Present Principals: H. H. Dore and A. G. Dore. Premises: At 38 and 39, Bruton Street, 152, New Bond Street, W. Specialities: Diamonds, Emeralds, Rubies and Pearls. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrants: By Appointment to H.M. tho King and to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephone: No. 1374 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Handore, London."

HANDASYDE, C. H., & COMPANY, Manufacturers of Stearines, Oleines, Pitches, Batching Oils for Textile Industries, Compound Engine Oils, &c. Head Office: Dean Oil Works, Dalkeith, Scotland. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1870 by Charles H. Handasyde, the present principal. Premises: Cover over four acres, equipped with all the latest improvements. Branch: Abercorn Oil Works, Paisley. Specialities: Stearines, Oleines, Pitches, Batching Oils for Textile Industries, Compound Engine Oils, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Handasyde," Eskbank or Paisley.

HANISCH, PAUL C., & CO., American Leather, 46, St. Thomas Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1898 by Paul C. Hanisch, the present principal. Premises: Five-storied Warehouse. Branches: Northampton, Leicester. Speciality: Only American Leather for Shoe Trade. General Agents for Europe for several leading Tanneries in U.S.A. Connection: United Kingdom, Continent, New Zealand, Australia. Telephone: No. 9431 Central (London). Telegraphic Address: "Hanisch, London." Codes Widebrook; A B C; Lieber's. Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Southwark Branch).

HANKS (HERBERT), Ltd., Decorative Contractors, 39, Berners Street, Oxford Street, W. Workshops: 10, Ur per Charlton Street, W., and 34, Newman Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1888 by Herbert Hanks, who had been Manager to Battam & Heywood, formerly Battam, Heywood & Hanks. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1911. Directors: Herbert Harks (Managing Director), Louis He nks, H. D. Hanks and O. L. Hanks. Premises: Have occupied the same buileing since foundation, which is one of the o!d eighte3nth-century private houses, retaining some of the original wall and ceiling decorations, consisting of ,the grcund floor and basement of 39, Berners Street. Staff: Five clerks; Works, about 100. Specialities: Alteration and Decoration of Private Houses in a practical and artistic manner. Drains Tested; also Sanitary Fittings, with water, air or smoke, specially prepared to apply the air test by means of Reekie's patent drain-testing Plug; Sanitary and Electrical Engineering; also artists in Furnishing, according to the Adam's style Georgian, Tudor period, Louis XVI., and other styles. Carry out Upholstering, &c. All work carried out under personal supervision. Connection: United Kingdom, chiefly the West End of London, South Wales and Country Houses. Have received numerous testimonials. Telephone: No. 5151 Central, London. Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (Oxford Street).

HANOVER RUBBER CO. (Hannov. Gummi Kamm Co. Act. Ges.), Indiarubber Manufacturers, Hanover, Linden. London Office: 17, Goswell Road, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1862. Incorporated as a Limited Company in Germany. Directors: Messrs. Heise, Siercke, Bartl. British Manager: H. A. Sudfeldt. Premises: Very extensive and well equipped. Staff: 3000. Agencies: In all parts of the world. Specialities: Hard and Soft Rubber Goods of every description. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 7773 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Address: " Hartgummi, London." Bankers: Dresdner Bank, London.

HANSON, BROWN & CO., Ltd., Shipowners and Brokers, Iron, Iron Ore, Coal and General Merchants, Importers and Exporters, Queen's Square, Middlesbrough; and Exchange Buildings, Quayside, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1904. Directors: J. W. Brown (Chairman), and C. A. Brentnall. Secretary: F. Blenkinsop. Premises: Limestone Quarry, Aycliffe, co. Durham; Warehouses, Graham's Siding, Clarendon Road, and North Street, Middlesbrough; Works, 25, Hill Street, Liverpool. Staff: 100 to 150. Business: Shipowners and Brokers; Iron, Iron Ore, Coal and General Merchants; Importers and Exporters. Connection United Kingdom and the Continent. Large business with Spain. Telephones No. 491 (three wires) Middlesbrough; private wire to Works and Warehouse; No. 1888 Central, Newcastle-on-Tyne; No. 2867 Royal, Liverpool. Telegraphic Addresses: " Lion," Middlesbrough and Newcastle-on-Tyne; " Lubricants, Liverpool." Bankers -: Lloyds Bank Limited (Newcastle-on-Tyne), London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Middlesbrough). Mr. J. W. Brown is Vice-Consul for the Argentine Republic.

HANSON, B. & S., Timber Merchants, 120, Swan Arcade, Bradford. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1911 by Benjamin Hanson and Samuel Hanson, the present principals. Formerly with the highly respected and late firm of Harrison & Singleton, Ltd., for over forty years. Stocks held in Grimsby,, Hull, Liverpool, Manchester. Specialities: All kinds of Timber, Deal, Boards; also Hardwoods for Joiners and Engineers. Connection: West Riding of Yorkshire and Midlands. Telephones: No. 5042 Bradford. Bankers: Beckett & Co.

HANSON. DALE & CO., Ltd., Sheet Lead Rollers and Leadpipe Manufacturers, Lead Works, Huddersfield. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1833 by John Hanson and William Dale. Partnership Successions: (1) Joe Hanson (son of John Hanson), (2) J. J. Brook (nephew of William Dale). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Managing Director: N. K. Brook. Specialities: Chemical Sheet Lead and Lead Pipes, Tin Lined Lead Pipes, Lead Wire, Block Tin Pipes, &c. Awards: 1st Prize, London Exhibition, 1851. Gold Medal Huddersfield, 1883. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 82, Huddersfield. Telegraphic Address: " Hanson Dale, Huddersfield."

HANSON (SAMUEL) & SON, Wholesale Grocers, Tea, Fruit, and Wine Merchants, &c., 14 and 18, Eastcheap, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1747 by Samuel Hanson. Continuously in the family from that date, and is one of the oldest and most widely known houses in the trade with which its name is identified. Present Active Principals: F. G. Ivey, T. C. Tanner, P. Machin, R. C. Tanner. Premises: Extensive Salerooms and Offices, 14 and 18, Eastcheap, London. The Eastcheap building is a prominent feature of that thoroughfare. Branch House: 25, Victoria Street, Liverpool. Staff: Very large, some hundreds of persons being employed. Specialities: Tea, Coffee, Fruit, Canned Goods, Sugar, Spices, Wine. Connection: Widespread in the home and export markets. Telephone: No. 2554 Avenue (four lines). Telegraphic Address: " Hanson, London." The late Sir Reginald Hanson, Bart., who died April 19th, 1905, and who was senior partner at the time of his decease, was Lord Mayor of London in 1886-7, and represented the City of London in Parlia ment from 1891 to 1900. Was succeeded in the business by his son, Sir F. S. Hanson, who was elected Alderman of the Ward of Billingsgate in 1905, was Sheriff of London for the year 1908-9, and who died on February 17th, 1910.

HARBUTT'S PLASTICINE, Ltd., Manufacturers of Modelling Materials, and Publishers of Textbooks on School and General Modelling, and " The Modelling Monthly," a magazine devoted to Educational Handwork in the School and Home Plasticine Works and Studio: Bathampton, Bath. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1898 by Wm. Harbutt, A.R.C.A. (Lond.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Directors: Wm. Harbutt, A.R.C.A. (Chairman and Governing Director), Noel C. Harbutt, Eric J. C. Harbutt, W. H. Hawling (Secretary). Agents: London, all the principal towns of the United Kingdom, Colonial Agencies in Australia, New Zealand, South Africa (Cape Colony), Transvaal, and Orange Free State), Canada, India, China, Japan, South America. General American Agents: Albany, New York. Continent—Rotter dam and Paris. Speciality: " Plasticine," a pure Modelling Material for Sculptors and for School and General Home Modelling use, in ten Colours; and " Play-Wax," a Modelling wax in twenty eight Colours. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 9 Batheaston. Tele graphic Address: " Plasticine, Bath." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Railway Station: Bathampton, G.W.R. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. Mr. Wm. Harbutt, A.R.C.A., was formerly Headmaster of the Bath School of Art.

HARDER, BLAIR & CO., Jute Merchants, 13, Panmure Street, Dundee. London Office: St. Olave's House, 18 and 19, Ironmonger Lane, Cheapside, London, IE.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Estab lished in 1899 by ilermann Rudolf Harder and William Buchan Blair, the present principals. Staff: About twenty-four. Branch: Hermannshaus, Bergstrasse, 16, Hamburg (R. Harder). Business: General Export Merchants to all parts. Specialize in Jute Goods, Sacks, Canvas, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone Nos. 623 and 624 Dundee; No. 2553 City, London. Telegraphic Address: " Harder, Dundee "; " Hardblair, Hamburg "; " Harblair, London."

HARDIE & GORDON, Iron, Brass and Bronze Founders, Levenbank Foundry, Dalreoch, Dumbarton, Scotland. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Present Principals: Hardie and Gordon. Managing Partner: William Mayer. Premises: Consist of four Iron Foundries and Brass Foundry. Specialities: All kinds of Marine Engine Castings (Iron, Brass and Bronze). Mayer's Brass Melting Air Furnaces. Mayer's Brass Recovering Mills. Hot Air Furnaces for Foundry Drying Stoves. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 97 and 98 Dalreoch. Bankers: Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

HARDING (JOHN), SON & CO., Ltd., Manufacturing Clothiers, Baronia Works, Nantwich, Cheshire. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1837 by John Harding and E. C. Harding, trading as John Harding & Son, at Marsden Square, Market Street, Manchester, as Woollen Cloth Merchants, Afterwards became John Harding, Son & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Sole Director: William Benjamin Baxter. Clothing Department added in 1851. Premises: Factory at Nantwich; also at Crewe. Large Warehouse at 18 and 20, New Brown Street, Manchester, and London, and Dublin. Colonial Head Office: 460 George Street, Sydney. Staff: 600 (Nantwich); about 300 (Crewe). Speciality: Men's and Boys' Ready-made Clothing; also Bespoke De partment. Patents: Inventors of Seam less Seat Breeches and Trousers, also Rowing and Football Knickers. Con nection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colo nial. Telephones: No. 24 Nantwich; No. 4593 Manchester. Telegraphic Ad dress: " Hardings, Clothiers, Nantwich." Bankers: Manchester and District Banking Company.

HARDING, RICHARDSON, RHODES & CO., Ltd., Card, Comb, and Pin Manufacturers for the Textile Trades, &c., Tower Works, Globe Road, Leeds. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1852 by T. R. Harding. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892 as T. R. Harding & Son, Ltd. Amalgamated with Richardson, Child, Christy & Co., Ltd., and James Rhodes & Son, Ltd., in 1895. Directors: T. W. Harding, J.P., D.L. (Chairman), W. Rhodes, Wm. Sykes, and W. F. Lucey (Managing Directors), G. H. Halley, I. E. Rhodes, Walter Sykes. Premises: Extensive. Cover about three acres, fully equipped. Staff: About 560. Specialities: Card Covering, Wool Combs, Steel Pins for all classes of textile work and for Gramophones, Engine Counters, and Speed Indicators for all purposes. Patents: Various. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty). Telephone: No. 533 Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Porcupine, Leeds." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Beckett & Co. (Leeds). Mr. T. W. Harding is a Justice of the Peace and Deputy Lieutenant for Cambridgeshire; High Steward of Cambridge; has been Lord Mayor of Leeds.

HARDING, T., SON & CO., Wholesale and Export Manufacturing Stationers, Printers, Paper Merchants, Account Book and Paper Bag Makers, St. Philip's Bridge, Bristol. Hours of Business: Winter, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.; summer, 7.30 a.m. to. 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 7.30 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established about 1860 by the late Thos. Harding. Present Principals: William Locke Harding (son), Sydney Locke Harding (grandson of founder). Several travellers and large staff of workpeople employed. Specialities: General Printing, Paper Bag Making, Stationery, Wrapping Papers and Bags for all trades; Notepapers, Envelopes, Reliable Account Books; Special Books for the Baking, Dairy, and Tailoring trades, and to order; Delivery Books and Ledgers, Tailors' Measure Ledgers; Picture Postcards in every style; Birthday, Christmas, and New Year Cards. Connection: United Kingdom and South Africa. Telephone: No. 515 Bristol. Telegraphic Addiress': " Hardings, Philip's Bridge, Bristol." Bankers: London and Provincial Bank, Ltd.

HARDMAN, INGHAM & DAWSON, Ltd., Cotton and Hemp Driving, Hemp Manufacturers, Bankside Mill, Oldham, and Diamond Rope Works, Royton, Lancs. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1896 by Charles Hardman and George Ingham, the present principals. Premises: Large and highly-equipped Works. Staff: 400. Specialities: Ropes for Main Driving and Polished . Cotton Twines; also Mill Bandings of every description. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: Nos. 1313 and 43 Oldham. Telegraphic Address: " Excel, Oldham." Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. (Manchester).

HARDMAN (THOMAS) & SONS, LIMITED, Makers of Woollen, Linen, and Cotton Machinery Cloths, Fernhill Mills, Bury, Lanes, and Fleet House, 17, Farringdon Avenue, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Mills, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1836 by Thomas Hardman (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Directors: R. B. Hardman, T. R. Hardman, H. Hardman, T. V. Hardman, G. D. Hardman (Managing Director). Premises: Extensive Mills in Bury. Specialities: Every description of Woollen, Linen, and Cotton Machinery Cloths. Connection: Worldwide. Telephones: No. 41 Bury; No. 62 Holborn, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Felts, Bury "; " Unbend, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition); Western Union. Bankers: Lancashire and York- shire Bank, Ltd.

HARDTMUTH, L. &. C., Ltd., Pencil Manufacturers, Kohinoor House, Kingsway, London, W.C. Established in 1790 by Josef Hardtmuth, in Bohemia. One of the oldest Continental houses in the trade. London Warehouse as above. Factory in Bohemia, employing 1,200 hands. Branch houses in New York, Paris, Dresden, Milan, Prague, Budapest, Vienna. Specialities: High-grade Drawing and other Pencils; Patent Cigar Piercer. The firm hold several valuable patents relating to the above articles. Have obtained highest awards at numerous International Exhibitions. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 8973 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Hardtmuth, London."

HARDWARE CLUB (WHOLESALE), Ltd.— See WHOLESALE HARDWARE CLUB, Ltd.

HARDY BROTHERS (ALNWICK), Ltd. The World's Angling Specialists, Alnwick, Northumberland. London Branch: 61, Pall Mall, S.W. Established in 1871. Premises: Extensive Works at Alnwick, claimed to be the most perfectly appointed in Europe. Stag: About 300. Branches: Edinburgh, 5, South St. David Street; Manchester, 12 and 14, Moult Street. Specialities: The manufacture of the highest class Fishing Rods, Reels, Flies, and Tackle. Sole makers of the famous " Hardy Palakona " Split Bamboo Rods, and " Alnwick " Greenheart Rods. Also of " Perfect " Ball-bearing Fly Reels, patent " Silex " No. 2 Casting Reels. Have patented many improvements in rods, reels, baits, lines, hooks, &c., and are continually introducing improvements. Have received the highest testimonials from anglers and the sporting Press. " The Field " says " They have left all competitors behind." Awards: Fifty-one Gold Medals, &c. Connection: Wherever angling is enjoyed. Royal Warrants: To H.M. King George V., H.M. the King of Italy, and the King of Spain. Patronised by H.M. Queen Alexandra, H.M. Queen Helena, and H.R.H. Princess Victoria, &c. Telephones: No. 93 Alnwick; No. 487 Regent (London); No. 1294 Edinburgh; No. 1326 (City) Manchester. Telegraphic- Addresses: " Hardy, Alnwick "; " Anglisiren, London "; " Angler, Edinburgh "; " Angling, Manchester." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

HARDY, L. N., & CO., Export Merchants of Textile Goods, 1, Burnett Street, Bradford. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about 1840, date unknown, by N. P. Nathan and H. Nathan, of Hamburg (Germany), as N. P. & H. Nathan, dissolved 1866, when two firms were formed as Hardy Nathan & Sons and N. P. Nathan's Sons. The latter retired from Bradford and continued the business in Manchester. Hardy Nathan & Sons dissolved in 1880, when the business was continued as L. N. Hardy & Co. Partners Ludwig N. Hardy and Moritz von Halle dissolved 1892. Continued by Moritz von Halle (retired 1909, d. 1910), joined in 1905 by Hardy Behrens, Oliver Whitehead, and Lawrence von Halle. Business: Export Merchants of Textile Goods. Connection: Foreign; chiefly to ports in the Far East and South America. Telephone: No. 88 Bradford. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Hardico, Bradford." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

HARDY PATENT PICK CO., Ltd. (THE), Manufacturers of Mining, Quarry, and Contractors' Tools, &c., Heeley, Sheffield. London Office: 22, Queen Victoria Street, E.C. Business: Makers of all Mining, Quarry, Contractors' and Agricultural Tools, Boring Machines, &c. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 157. Telegraphic Address: " Hardypick, Sheffield." Codes: A B C, A 1, Lieber's, Engineering Telegraph, Universal Mining.

HARE, C. H., & SON, Ltd., Manufacturers of Loose Leaf Metals, Automatic Machines, &c., Crown Works, Tyseley, Birmingham; and 13, D'Arblay Street, Soho, London, W. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1832 by James Hare. Continued by Charles H. Hare (son) from 1896. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1910. .Directors: F. C. Hare, grandson of the Founder (Managing Director and Chairman), Mrs. S. R. Hare and Charles H. Mortimore. Claim to be the largest Loose Leaf Manufacturers in Great Britain. Premises: Extensive Works; Machine Shop covers 25,000 square feet all on one floor, and is fully equipped with up-to-date machinery. Chiefly for the manufacture of Loose Leaf Metals for Account Books. Complete books in London. Staff: Employees, 160; Managers and Clorks, twenty. Specialities: Loose Leaf Metals for Account Books, Small Automatic Machines, Duplicators, Filing Devices, Pocket Book Clips, Spring Clips of all kinds, Press and Repetition Machine Work, Music Stands and Stools, Pianoforte Tools, &c. Patents: Numerous. Awards: Gained at several Exhibitions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 86A Acocks Green; No. 1487 Regent, London. Telegraphic Address: " Zip, Acocks Green." Code: A B C. Mr. C. H. Mortimore is a member of the Chamber of Commerce.

HARFIELD & CO., Engineers, Iron, Steel and Brass Founders, Blaydon Iron Works, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1845 by Thomas Brown, continued by W. H. Harfield. Present Principals: Executors of W. H. Harfield. General Manager: J. G. Ormond. Works Manager: H. J. Quicke. Secretary: W. Dorey. Claim that W. H. Harfield was the original inventor of modern system of working cables for anchors. Now universally adopted in both war and merchant vessels, first adopted in the " Great Eastern " Ship, 1857. Premises: Cover three acres. Equipped with up-to-date appliances. Staff: 500. Specialities: Capstans, Windlasses, Steering Gears and General Ship Auxiliaries, also Iron and Brass Foundry. Patents: Capstans, Windlasses, Steering Gears, Wire Rope Nippers, &c. Awards: Highest, North East Coast, Tynemouth, 1882; Amsterdam, 1883; Liverpool, 1886; Newcastle, 1887, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, Tndia Office), also to Colonial and all Foreign Governments. Telephone: No. 29 Blaydon. Telegraphic Address: " Hayfield, Blaydon-on-Tyne." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Newcastle).

HARGRAVES, WM (EXECUTORS OF THE LATE), Tobacco Manufacturers, 44, Swan Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Factory, 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1833 by George Cambell. Partnership Successions: (1) Cambell, Jones & Hargraves; (2) William Hargraves; (3) Executors of William Hargraves. Present Principal: Henry J. Candlin, trading as Executors of William Hargraves. Premises: Extensive and well equipped. Staff: 120. Specialities; All descriptions of Cut and Spun Tobacco. Connection: United Kingdom. Telegraphic Address: "Candlin, Manchester."

HARGREAVES BROS. & CO., LIMITED, Manufacturers of Black Lead, Blue, Furniture Cream, Floor Polish, Metal Polish, Tints, &c. Registered Offices: Ocean Works, Kent Street, Hull; also " Gipsyville," Hull. London Office and Warehouse: 12, Soho Square, W. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1867 by Theophilus Lessey Hargreaves and Matthew Henry Hargreaves. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1906. Governing Directors: Theophilus Lessey Hargreaves and George Powell Hargreaves. In 1905 took over the old established business of John Johnson & Co., Ltd., Liverpool (established 1849 by the late John Johnson). For some time the St. Anne's Works, Liverpool, were conducted by present Company; later, business removed to Hull. In 1908 absorbed the business of Stephenson, Mager & Co., owing to death of Edmund Mager. Also acquired a small business, manufacturing Laundry Blue, in Liverpool in 1908. Premises: Originally occupied building in New George Street, Hull. In 1907 ten acres acquired outside the city. Model Factory erected at " Gipsyville." Staff: 200 to 300. Specialities: Blue, Black Lead, Floor Polish, Liquid Metal Polish, Knife Polish, Snowdon Tints. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Large staff of Travellers at home and abroad. Telephones: No. 527 National; No. 527 Corporation,' Hull (private line to " Gipsyville "); No. 5116 Gerrard (London). Telegraphic and Cable Addresses " Blue, Hull "; " Gipsiglos, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Whitefriargate, Hull).

HARGREAVES, G., Printer, Bookbinder and Publisher, Smedley Printing Works, Smedley Road, Cheetham, and 45A, Market Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1885 by G. Hargreaves, the present principal. Started " The Manchester Programme," sixteen years ago. Premises: Cover three floors. Staff: Fifty. Business: Commercial Manufacturers, Bookbinders and Printers. Telephone: No. 2128 City, Manchester. Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd. Mr. Hargreaves is a Freemason. Clubs: Various.

HARGREAVES (JOHN), Ltd., EXECUTORS OF, Colliery Proprietors, Colliery Office, Burnley. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Chairman: Sir John O. S. Thursby, Bart. Specialities: House, Steam, and Manufacturing Coal, Furnace and Foundry Coke. Telephone: No. 373 Burnley. Telegraphic Address: " Executors, Burnley."

HARGREAVES (JOHN) & SON, General Produce Merchants, 15, Victoria Street, Liverpool. Established in 1860 as Ellis and Hargreaves. Present Principals: John Hargreaves and John Hargreaves (jun.). Specialities: American and Colonial Produce. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Telephone: No. 313 (Central), Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Hargreaves, Liverpool " (Registered). Codes: A B C (5th Edition; Borrough's; Utility, and Private.

HARKER, C. R., STAGG & MORGAN, Ltd., Wholesale Druggists, Manufacturing and Export Chemists, Devon Wharf, Emmott Street, Mile End, London, E. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established about 1820 as Langton Brothers at 15, Laurence Pountney Lane, Cannon Street, E.C. Partnership Successions: (1) Langton, Langton & Wheatley, 1869; (2) Langton, Harker & Stagg; (3) C. R. Harker, Stagg & Moss; (4) C. R. Harker, Stagg & Morgan. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Directors: S. Morgan, T. White (Chairman), F. C. J. Bird, R. Stagg. One of the oldest and best-known houses in the trade. Premises: Carried on business at 15, Laurence Pountney Lane from 1820 to 1905; since then at Devon Wharf, Mile End. Specialities: Manufacturers of all kinds of Pharmaceutical Preparations; Distillers of Essential Oils; Packed Goods ready put up for Chemists' retail sale; Fruit Essences; Colours for Confectionery, Tobacco Flavours. Patent: The " H. S.11." Alcohol Recovery Still (Bird's Patent). Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 21.5 East. Telegraphic Address: " Edulcin,e, London." Private Telegraph Code on application. Bankers: National Bank, Ltd.

HARKER (GEORGE) & CO., Ltd., Spice Merchants and Colonial Produce, 101, Upper Thames Street, London, E.C., and Coleman Street, Southampton. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1826 by George Harker. Partnership Successions: (1) George Harker (jun.) and Daniel Prince Loe; (2) Daniel P. Loe and Mrs. George Harker; (3) D. P. Loe, Henry Harker and William Charles Mew. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: J. W. C. Richardson, Philip Morgan, J. W. Fitt, H. A. Tessier. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Packing Department, 165A, High Street, Borough, S.E., Corn Market Stand 78, New Corn Exchange. Staff: Large, including Salesmen, Travellers, Clerks and Packers. Branches: Depots, Hull, Plymouth, Bristol, Birmingham. Specialities: Spices, Rice, all Colonial Produce and Starch. Own many registered brands. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly). Telephone: No. 9511 City (four lines), London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Harkers, London," ‘‘ Mewhark, Southampton."

HARKER (JOHN) & CO., Manufacturers and General Merchants, St. Anne's Rooms, 15, St. Anne Street, Liverpool; 32, City Road, Chester, and Ropery, Handbridge. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1809 by James Stewart. Succeeded by W. Stewart and R. Stewart. Continued in 1865 by John Harker. Tho business in Chester was founded about a century ago. Held by Robert Gregg (Mayor and Alderman of Chester for many years). Succeeded in 1878 by John Harker. Present Principal: John Harker. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Business: Manufacture of Ropes and Brushes; Wholesale Dealers in Hardware, Smallwares, Fancy and General Goods. Connection: United Kingdom; Shipping from Liverpool to West Africa (chiefly); County trade from Chester, chiefly North Wales and all adjoining counties. Telephone: No. 214 Chester. Telegraphic Addresses: " Harker, St. Anne Street, Liverpool "; " Harker, City Road, Chester." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

HARLAND & WOLFF, Ltd., Shipbuilders and Engineers, Belfast; 1A, Cockspur Street, London, S.W.; Glasgow, Liverpool, and Southampton. Established in 1859. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1885. Present Principals: The Right Hon. Lord Pirrie, K.P., P.C. (Chairman), J. W. Kempster, Chas. E. Ellis, John Sampson. Managing Directors: J. W. Kempster (Chairman), G. Cuming, Robert Crighton, John Dickinson, and Charles Payne. Business: Shipbuilding and Marine Engineering, for both of which industries the facilities at Belfast are probably unsurpassed. The Company's operations in shipbuilding have long been upon a scale of the first magnitude. Its name is especially identified with the development of the modern ocean " liner " of exceptional dimensions and luxurious equipment. The steamships built for the White Star Line during the past twenty years have been partiularly notable in this connection. Built the White Star steamships "Oceanic " (the first vessel to surpass the dimensions of the " Great Eastern "), " Cedric," " Celtic," " Baltic," " Adriatic," and " Olympic "—each one of which was, at the time of launching, the largest vessel afloat, and the last over 46,000 tons. The Company has also built a number of ships for H.M. Navy, besides a great variety of merchant vessels of all types and sizes. The Shipyards and Works at Belfast cover a great area on the River Lagan, employ many thousands of hands, and are equipped and organised for a very large output in all departments. The same applies to the Glasgow Works, and at Liverpool and Southampton expedition in large repairs is provided for. Telephones: No. 3339 Belfast; No. 8418 Gerrard, London; No. 890 Southampton; No. 1180 Bootle; No. 632 Govan. Telegraphic Address: " Harlandie." Bankers: Bank of Ireland (Belfast); London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (London, Liverpool, and Southampton); National Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Glasgow).

HARLE (GEORGE) & SON, Oil Importers, General Merchants and Agents, Broad Chare, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1858 by George Harle (d.). Continued by George Harle and Thomas E. Harle (son). Present Principals: William E. Harle and Thomas C. Harle (sons of T. E. Harle)., Specialities: In Cylinders, Engine and Safety Lamp Oils. Connection t United Kingdom and Australia. Telephone: No. 1341, Newcastle. Telegraphic Address " Harle, Newcastle." Bankers; Barclay c Co., Ltd,

HARNETT & CO., General Merchants, 1, Fenchurch Avenue, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1869 by William O. S. Harnett. At his death in July, 1908, the business was bought by A. W. Maude, then manager, who had been connected with the firm since 1883. He was joined later in 1908 by H. M. Shaw. Present Principals: A. Worthington Maude and Henry M. Shaw. Branches: Buenos Ayres, Montevideo, Santiago de Chile and Lima. Business: General Merchants, specialise in Harness Furniture. Owners of the brand " Nomerma " Unshrinkable Underwear. Connection: Foreign, Contractors to Foreign Governments. Telephone: No. 6622 Central, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Ottenrah, Loridon." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London and Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.; British Bank of South America, Ltd.; and Anglo South American Bank, Ltd. Mr. Shaw was a Lieutenant in the Royal Gloucestershire Hussars.

HARPER, A., SONS & BEAN, Ltd., Engineers, Stampers, and Ironfounders, Waddam's Pool Works, Dudley; and Rolfe Street Works, Smethwick. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1826 by Absolom Harper. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: George Bean (Chairman), F. D. Everitt and J. Harper Bean. Business: Engineers, Stampers and Ironfounders. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government and the Principal Railway Companies. Telephone: No. 262 Dudley. Telegraphic Address: " Waddarns, Dudley." Code: Lieber's. Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. Mr. George Bean is an Alderman and ex-Mayor of Dudley, and Mr. J. H. Bean is a member of Dudley Town Council.

HARPER & BROTHERS, Publishers, 45, Albemarle Street, London, W. Telephone: No. 85 Regent. Telegraphic Address: " Harpspel, London."

HARPER, H. G., & CO., Shipbrokers, &c., 14, St. Mary Axe, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1876 by Henry George Harper. Present Principal: Frederick Petersen. Staff: Total, thirty-seven. Branches: Cardiff, Newport, Newcastleon-Tyne, Exchange Buildings (Harper, Seed & Co., Ltd.). Business: Shipowning, Shipbroking and General. Chartering. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Tele phones: No. 4935 London Wall, London (four lines); No. 30 (Post Office) Cardiff; No. 440 (National) Newport; Nos. 3016, 3017 and 3018 Central, Newcastle. Telegraphic Addresses: " Harpering, London"; " Harpeter, Cardiff and Newport "; " Foredeck, Newcastle." Codes: Scott's, Watkins, Private. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd., St. Mary Axe, London, E.C.

HARPER (JOHN) & CO., Ltd., General and Malleable Ironfounders and Manufacturers of Finished Hardware of all kinds, Albion Works, Willenhall, Staffs. London Office and Showrooms: 4, New Union Street, Moorfields, E.C. Hours of Business: Offices, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1790 by W. Harper. Staff: 764. Premises: Extend over four and a half acres. Agencies: Brussels, Amsterdam, Copenhagen, Christiania, Melbourne, Cape Town, Dublin. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 12 and 12A Darlaston; No. 8023 London Wall. Telegraphic Addresses: " Harpers, Willenhall "; " Oilgas, London." Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd.

HARPER (THOMAS) & SONS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Sewing Needles and Fish Hooks, Phoenix Works, Redditch. London Office: 9, Aldermanbury Postern, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1868 by Thomas Henry Harper. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Chairman: J. H. Harper. Director and Secretary: V. Sharp. Premises: Works, cover about one acre. Stall: Over 100. Specialities: All kinds of Sewing Needles; Cases and Workboxes. Trade Mark known all over the world—" the Phoenix." Awards: Medals, Chicago, 1893, for extra-quality Needles; California, 1894. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 16 National, Redditch. Telegraphic Address: " Harper, Redditch." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

HARRAP (CHARLES) & CO., Printers and Advertising Agents, 36 to 38, Whitefriars Street, Fleet Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Present Principals: Charles Harrap and Leslie Austen Harrap. Speciality: Special processes of Lithography and Photography; Technical Publishing; Advertising and Printing. Printing Consultants. Patent: Harrap and Crawford's Chromo Process for Aluminium. Connection: United Kingdom, and Colonial. Telephone: No. 879 City, London. Bankers: London and South Western Bank, Ltd. (Charing Cross). Mr. Charles Harrap is the Author of " Metalography," Transferring.," " Lithography, History and Practical Devolopments. He has been President of the Association of Teachers in Technical Institutes. Members of the Institute of Printers. Club: Aldwyeh (London).

HARRILD & SONS, Ltd., " Fleet " Works, Norwich Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1809 by Robert Harrild. Partnership Successions: (1) Robert Harrild, (2) Robert Harrild & Sons, (3) R. & H. Harrild, (4) Horton Harrild & Sons, (5) Harrild & Sons, Ltd. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Horton Harrild and William Lecnand Harrild. The late Mr. Robert Harrild was the first maker of composition rollers. Premises: Spacious warehouse at " Fleet " Works; Norwich Street, and Engineerng and Joinery Works at Stamford Street, Blackfriars, S.E. Staff: Large. Specialities: Printing Rollers, Chases, Machinery, Engineering, and Joinery; all requisites for Printers and Binders. Have a large business in same. Many inventions have been patented of service to these trades. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government

(Printing Departments). Telephone: No. 2798 Holborn. Telegraphic Address: " Guillotine, London." Bankers: Bank of England.

HARRINGTON BROTHERS, Ltd., Manufacturing Chemists. Warehouse and Offices: 4, Oliver's Yard, City Road, London, E.C. Manufactory: Shandon Chemical Works, Cork. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1885 by William B. Harrington, F.C.S., Sir Stanley Harrington, J.P., and I. E. Harrington. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Directors: William B. Harrington (Chairman), 0. Penzig (Managing Director). The business is an off-shoot of the old-established firm of William Harrington & Son, Chemists, Cork (founded in 1805). Connection: United Kingdom, India, the Colonies and many Foreign Countries. Telephones: No. 10586 Central, London; No. 165 Cork. Telegraphic Addresses: " Siccative, London "; " Magnesia, Cork." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Chief Office, London), Munster and Leinster Bank, Ltd. (Cork).

HARRINGTONS LTD., Manufacturers of Chemicals, Colours, Paints, Distempers, Varnishes, Printers' Ink, Shandon Works, Cork, Ireland; and as Harrington Brothers, Ltd., Wholesale Chemists, 4, Oliver's Yard, City Road, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1885. - Directors: William B. Harrington, F.C.S. (Chairman), Sir Stanley Harrington and Ignatus E. Harrington. Offshoot of William Harrington and Son, Wholesale Chemists, Cork. Founded 1805. Premises: Cover one acre. Staff: Upwards of seventy. Specialities: Chemicals for Scientific and Technical purposes; Dry and Ground Colours, Paints, Distempers, Varnishes, Enamels and Printers' Inks. Awards: Grand Diploma of Honour and Medal, London, 1884'; Highest Award and First Prize Medal, Cork, 1883. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 165 Cork. Telegraphic Addresses: " Magnesia, Cork "; " Siccative, London." Bankers: Munster and Leinstor Bank, Ltd., Cork, and Branches. Mr. W. B. Harrington is a Director of several local Companies. Sir Stanley Harrington is also a Director of local Companies and is a Commissioner of National Education and a Senator of the National University of Ireland. Pastimes: Cycling and Golf.

HARRIS BROS., Iron, Steel, Metal, Machinery and Coal . Merchants and Ship Breakers, Barton Hill, Bristol, and The Docks, Falmouth. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1875 by George Harris. Present Principals: Frank Harris, George Harris. (junior), and John Harris. Premises: Cover several acres, with Railway Sidings at Bristol, and Docks for Shipbreaking at Falmouth. Staff: 250. Business: Buyers of Warships and Merchant Ships for breaking up, Scrap Iron, Steel, and Coal. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office). Telephones: No. 1531 Bristol; No. 88 . Falmouth. Telegraphic Address: " Onward," Bristol and Falmouth. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. The partners are members of the Town Council.

HARRIS, BULTEEL & CO., Naval Bankers, Whimple Street, Plymouth. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1774. Present Principals: Mackworth Praed Parker and Frederick Thomas Bulteel. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Branches: Dartmouth, Newton Abbot, Paignton, Plynipton, Saltash, Totnes. Agencies: Devonport, Ivybridge, Kingsbridge, Modbury, Plymouth, George Street, Mutley, South Brent, Stonehouse, Devon, Yealmpton. Business: All the usual Banking business transacted. Telephone: Nos. 1196 and 1197 Plymouth. Telegraphic Address: "Naval, Plymouth."

HARRIS & DIXON, Ltd., Shipowners, Insurance Brokers and Coal Factors, 81, Gracechurch Street, London, E.C., and Bilbao, Spain. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1902. Directors: Frederick William Harris (chairman), Frederick Leverton Harris, Frank Everard Dixon, Herbert Alfred Harris, Austin Edward Harris, William Holford Dixon, Frederick William Lund and Thomas Henry Carlton Levick. Secretary: Charles John Obery, F.C.I.S. Marine Superintendent: Herbert Malcolm Rogers. Business: Shipowners, Insurance Brokers, and Coal Factors. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: No. 3150 (3 Lines); No. 5577 Avenue (Trunk), London. Telegraphic Address: " Sirrah, Grace, London." Codes: Scotts and A B C. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited and Barclay & Co., Ltd.

HARRIS (JONATHAN) & SONS, LIMITED, Flax Spinners and Weavers of Highest Class Linens, Flax Embroidery Threads, Artistic Needlework. Works: Derwent Mills, Cockermouth. Wholesale Ware-house: 15 and 16, Aldermanbury, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Warehouse and Branches, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1834 by Jonathan Harris (sen.), Jonathan Harris (jun.), and Joseph Harris, as Jonathan Harris & Sons. On decease of Joseph Harris, last survivor of founders, a•nd retirement of Joseph William Harris and Thomas Mason Harris, principal Jonathan James Harris. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1893. Directors: Jonathan James Harris (Chairman and Managing Director), Thomas Mason Harris (Managing Director and Secretary), Thos. W. Harris, Ed. L. Waugh. Depots: 23, South Molton Street, London, W.; 4, Midland Arcade, Birmingham; 33, King Street, Manchester • 134, Mains Street, Glasgow. Specialities: Flax Threads of all kinds; Art Linens for Embroidery; Flax Embroidery Threads; Costume Linens; Designers of Embroideries for Ecclesiastical and Secular purposes. Colour Dyeing of Flax Fabrics a leading feature. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 10, Cockermouth. Telegraphic Addresses: " Harris, Cockormouth "; " Harris, 15, Aldermanbury, London."

HARRIS (JOSEPH) & CO., Rubber Manufacturers, Broadheath, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1888 by Joseph Harris, the present principal. Premises: Cover 2000 square yards. Staff: Eighty to one hundred. Specialities: Advertising Balloons, Rubber Novelties, Bagpipes, &c.; also Surgical Goods. Claim to be the largest makers of Advertising Balloons in Great Britain; also the original inventors of Seamless Surgical Goods for Chemists and Druggists. Patents: Several. Awards: Gold Medals. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 491 Altrincham. Telegraphic Address: " Balloons, Altrincham." Mr. Harris is a Councillor for Altrincham.

HARRIS & SHELDON, Ltd., Shop Fitters and Manufacturers of Shop Fittings, Stafford Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1880 by Sydney Harris (d.). Joined a few years later by John Eccleston Sheldon. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: John Eccleston Sheldon (Chairman and Managing Director), Henry Jutson Fisher, John Ebenezer Hoskins, J.P., and Robert George Richards. Premises: Extensive. Extend from Stafford Street to Old Cross Street. Staff: Office, including Branches, about sixty; Workpeople, about 450. Branches: London, Manchester, Glasgow, Dublin, Berlin; Depots and Agencies at Melbourne, Sydney, Johannesburg, Cape Town, Argentine, Geneva, Christiania, Amsterdam, Vancouver, Paris, Cairo, and Colombo. Specialities: Everything appertaining to the complete Equipment of Shops and Offices. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 6547 Central, Birmingham (three lines), Private Exchange; No. 1068 London Wall, London; No. 2013 City, Manchester; No. 8077 City, Glasgow; No. 3094 Dublin. Telegraphic Addresses " Fittings, Birmingham "; " Completely (Central), London "; " Artistic, Manchester "; " Sheldonian, Glasgow." Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and Lieber's.

HARRIS, T. H., & SONS, Soap Makers, Tallow Melters and Bone Boilers, Marsh Gate Lane, Stratford, London, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1829 by Thomas Horatio Harris and Edward William Lilley. Present Principals: Arthur Harris, Alec Samuel Harris, Booth Harris (jun.), and Leopold Harris (since 1911). The works cover nearly three acres, with 500 feet frontage to the City Mill. Staff: Large. Specialities: Soaps of all descriptions for domestic and Laundry use. Soap Basis for Manufacturers. Also Home Melted Tallow, Bones for Brush Makers and Manure Manufacturers. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly). Telephone: No. 3587 East., London. Telegraphic Address: " Sopeando, Bochurch, London."

HARRIS, WINTHROP & CO., Bankers, 15, Wall Street, New York. London Office: 125, Pall Mall, S.W. Hours of Business: Usual. Present Principals: John F. Harris, Henry Rogers Winthrop, Theodore ' E. Cunningham, Charles G. Smith, Woodward Babcock, Hugh Blythe, George A. McClellan, Edwin A. Strong, and Rene A. de Russy; also Julien Ashton Ripley and H. D. Babcock (special partners). Branches: 5 Rue Daunou, Paris; 3, The Rookery, Chicago. Business: Bankers. Members New York Stock Exchange. Connection: United States, United Kingdom, Paris. Telephones: Nos. 362, 363 and 364 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Hathrops," London, Paris and New York. Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, and Union of London and Smiths Bank.

HARRISON, AINSLIE & CO., Ltd., Ironmasters, Manufacturers of Cold Blast Charcoal Pig Iron, " Lorn " Brand; Producers of Hematite Iron Ore for all purposes. Mines at Lindal Moor, near Ulverston, Lancashire. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established 200 years ago. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Directors: R. Dempster, G. B. Haddock, M.P., S. H. Jenks, Eric Jenks, and J. F. A. Rawlinson. Owners of the only Charcoal Iron Furnace in Great Britain. Premises: Cover 2670 acres of mining ground. Staff: 600. Business: Manufacture of Cold Blast Charcoal Pig Iron, "Lorn" Brand; Producers of specially Low Phosphorus Red Hematite Ore from own mines. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 44 Ulverston. Telegraphic Address: " Lorn, Ulverston."

HARRISON, ALFRED H., Eastern Agent and Commission Merchant; and Childs & Naylor, Custom House, Shipping, Insurance and General Forwarding Agents, Tower House, 40, Trinity Square, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1902 by Alfred H. Harrison, the present principal. The business of Childs & Naylor founded about thirty-five years ago. Purchased by Alfred H. Harrison about six years ago from W. J. Naylor, the remaining partner in the business. Premises: Adjoin the " Tower " and close to Tower Bridge and Trinity House. Two sides of Trinity Square recently demolished for the new building for the Port of London Authority. Agencies: Alfred H. Harrison represented and trading in India, Burma, Straits Settlements and the Far East. Childs & Naylor Agencies, Southampton, Liverpool and Glasgow. Business: Trades as an Eastern Agent and Commission Merchant under the style of Alfred H. Harrison; and as Childs & Naylor conducts Bonded Goods and Stores, Insurances, Clearance of Passengers' Baggage, and Shipment of Goods all over the world. Held the contract for tho clearance and delivery of all the Exhibition goods from Japan for the London Exhibitions, Ltd., White City, W., during 1907. Telephone: No. 1679 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Mannered, Fen, London." Cable Address: " Mannered, London." Codes: Mitchell's Self-testing Safety, Lieber's, Standard, A B C (4th and 5th Editions) and Private. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Victoria Street and St. Mary Axe), London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Aldgate).

HARRISON, A., Ltd., Bottle Screw Stopper Makers, Rimrose Road, Bootle, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Directors: John Forshaw, A. Harrison and Richard Forshaw. Premises: Factory covers about 50,000 feet. Staff: About 120. Specialities: Lignum Vitae-wood Screw Stoppers for Beer and Mineral Waters, &c.; also Flax Spinning Bobbins. Connection: United Kingdom, France and the British Colonies. Telephones: Nos. 175 and 1050 Bootle, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Lathe, Liverpool." Code: A B C. Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd. (Bootle).

HARRISON BROTHERS & HOWSON, Cutlers, Sheffield. London Showroom, 43, Holborn Viaduct, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Specialities: Cutlery and Silver Ware. Royal Warrant Holders. Telephone: No. 1162 Sheffield. Telegraphic Address " Knife, Sheffield."

HARRISON & CAMM, Ltd., Railway Wagon Builders, Railway Wheol and Axle Manufacturers, and Wagon Repairs Contractors, Rotherham. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1861 by William Harrison and Samuel Camm. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: F. Parker Rhodes (Chairman), C. E. Rhodes, J. Hurst (Managing Director). Specialities: Railway Wagons in Oak, Steel or Iron; Railway Wheels and Axles. Wagon Repairs Contractors. Also Iron.. and Brass Founders. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 143 and 243 (National) Rotherham. Telegraphic Address: " Harriskam, Rotherham."

HARRISON, E. A., & CO., Ltd., Typewriters' Supplies, &c., 39, Temple Row, and Dr. Johnson's Passage, Bull Street, Birmingham; and Worcester Chambers, Pierpoint Street, Worcester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established eighteen years ago by Mrs. E. A. Harrison. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Directors: Mrs. E. A. Harrison and Miss G. G. Harrison. Premises: The entire building of four storeys in Bull Street and the whole of the floor at 39, Temple Row. Specialities: Typewriters, Typewriter Supplies, Good Stationery and Copying Work. Connection: Chiefly in the three Midland Counties, Worcester shire, Warwickshaire and Staffordshire. Telephones: No. 1681 Central (Temple Row); No. 3481 Central (Bull Street) Birmingham. Telegraphic and Cable Ad dress: Typing, Birmingham."

HARRISON, H., & CO., Auctioneers, Valuers, &c., 7, Charles Street, Bradford, Yorks. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1909 by Herbert Harrison, the present principal. Premises: Offices in two rooms at above address. Business: Business Transfer Negotiators, Auctioneers, Valuers and Estate Agents. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 5206 Central, Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Medium, Bradford." Bankers: Brad ford District Bank, Ltd. (Head Office).

HARRISON, MCGREGOR & CO., Ltd., Engineers, Albion Iron Works, Leigh, Lancs. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1873 by Henry Harrison, Alexander McGregor, and George Rich. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Chairman: William Harrison, J.P. Managing Director: Thomas D. Harrison, J.P. Staff: 1000. Speciality: Harvesting Machinery. Patents: Harvesting Machines, Food Preparing Machines. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 26 Leigh. Telegraphic Address: "Albion, Leigh, Lancashire." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. (Leigh).

HARRISON & SON (HANLEY), Ltd., Potters' Colours and Glaze Manufacturers, Potters' Millers and Merchants, Phoenix Chemical Works, Bath Street, Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1810. Incorporated as a Limited Company, 1900. Directors: Sydney T. Harrison and A. C. Harrison. Secretary: H. G. Read. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Branches: Joiner's Square and Boundary Street, Hanley; Victoria Hills, Stanley, Stoke-on-Trent. Specialities: Colours and Glazes for Potters. Claim to be the largest Glaze Manufacturers in the world. Awards: Highest, Melbourne, 1880 Chicago, 1893. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone No. 13 Central, Hanley. Telegraphic Address: " Phoenix, Hanley." Bankers a United Counties Bank, Ltd., Hanley.

HARRISON & SONS, Booksellers, Publishers, and Export Stationers, 45, Pall Mall, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in the year 1840. The firm removed from 59, Pall Mall, which was originally a coffee house of great repute, known as The Smyrna, and the resort of noted wits and men of fashion, including Dean Swift. This old landmark has lately been demolished. No. 45, Pall Mall is the retail branch house of the well-known Government printing firm, of St. Martin's Lane. Specialities: Bookselling, and the Publishing of Sporting and Military Books. The firm are also the Publishers of " Burke's Peerage," " Burke's Landed Gentry," " The Titled Nobility of Europe," the Foreign Office List, India Office List, &c. They supply high-class Stationery and execute Heraldic Designs. Royal Warrant Holders to H.M. the King and to H.M. Queen Alexandra. Telephone: No. 1198 Regent.

HARRISON & SONS, Printers, 45, 46; and 47, St. Martin's Lane, London, W.C. Established in 1750. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Have held important Government contracts from foundation of business to present date. Office for receipt of Advertisements for the " London Gazette." Premises: Extensive Works in St. Martin's Lane. Staff: About 1,000. Specialities: Postage Stamps; Mathematical and Scientific Work; Printing in Oriental languages. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Royal Warrant: By Special Appointment Printers-in-Ordinary to H.M. the King. Telephones: No. 3741 Gerrard; No. 875 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Reginarum, London."

HARRISON & SONS, Seed Merchants, Chief Offices, 33, Market Place; Seed Farm, &c., Aylestone; Trial Grounds, &c., Syston; and Warehouse, St. James Street, Leicester. Hours of Business: Vary in the different places. Established before 1764 by one John Harrison. From 1865 to 1882, continued by Thomas Harrison (d.) and his two sons. Present Principal: John Harrison, assisted by his three sons. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Chief Offices and Retail Department in Market Place. Extensive Warehouse in St. James Street, 20,000 feet flooring, equipped with up-to-date machinery. Farm and Trial Grounds at Aylestone and Syston. Staff: Ninety-two. Specialities: Vegetable Seeds sold in large quantities to Farmers and Market Gardeners; also Farm Seeds of superior stock and conditions by up-to-date machinery. Their trade mark is well known. Awards: Over Forty Prize Medals and many Certificates of Merit. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 4267 Leicester. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Harrisons, Leicester." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

HARRISON & SONS, Seed Merchants and Growers and Bulb Importers, Agricultural and Horticultural Sundriesmen, High Street, Maidstone, Kent. HMO's of Business 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Established in 1867 by Wallace Richard Harrison (sen.) (d. 1903). Succeeded by Wallace Richard Harrison and Edmund Arthur Harrison, the present principals. Premises: Shop and Stores, 6 and 7, Middle Row, High Street; Warehouses, Bank Street; Greenhouses, Lenside. Specialities: Agri-cultural and Horticultural Seeds. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 73 Maidstone. Telegraphic Address: " Harrison & Sons, Maidstone." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. •(Maidstone).

HARRISON (THOMAS) & CO. (Harrison's Wharf), Asphalte Manufacturers, &c. Office and Works: Canal Bank, Deptford, London, S.E. Established in 1845 by the late Thomas Harrison, who with Mr. Syers carried on this business. Is one of the oldest, if not the oldest of the Asphalte Manufacturers in the United Kingdom. Also manufacture Anti-fouling and other Compositions for Ships.

HARRISON, THOMAS & JAMES, Ship owners. Head Office: Mersey Chambers, Old Churchyard, Liverpool. London Office: Dock House, Billiter Street, E.C. Business: Owners of the Harrison Lino and Rennie Line of Steamers, with regular Services between Liverpool and Calcutta, West Indies, Mexico, New Orleans, Galveston, Brazils, South Africa, Red Sea Ports and East Africa, and Tonnay-Charente, France. New Direct Service from Antwerp, Swansea, Glasgow, and Liverpool to North Pacific Ports (via Magellan), California, Oregon, Washington, British Columbia, &c. Rennie Line: London and Middlesbrough to S. Africa. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 5844 Central, Liverpool; No. 2075 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Addresses: "Harrisons, Liverpool "; " Tanjarison, London."

HARRISONS & CROSFIELD, Ltd., Importers, Blenders and Distributors of Tea, General Merchants, &c., 1 to 4, Great Tower Street, E.C., and Ceylon Wharf, Bankside, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1844 by Daniel Harrison, Joseph Crosfield and Smith Harrison, as Harrison & Crosfield. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Directors: C. Heath Clark, C. Harrison, C. Arthur Lampard, G. Croll, H. E. Muller, G. S. Townsend, H. T. Crosfield, J. M. Schmidl. Staff: 400 in London, about the same number abroad. Branches: New York, Montreal,Colombo, Calcutta, Medan, Batavia, Kuala, Lampur, Melbourne, Calicut, and Quilori. Business: Importers, Blenders and Distributors of Tea throughout the world. General Merchants and Dealers in Foreign and Colonial Produce. Agents in London and in the East for the management of Tea, Rubber and other Produce Estates. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 6600 (six lines), London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Crosfield, London." Codes: Western Union, Bentleys, A B C, Private. Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Lombard Street, E.C. ).

HARRODS STORES LIMITED, Merchants, Shippers, and Bankers, 87 to 135, Bromp ton Road; 1 to 14, and 32 to 44, Hans Crescent; 1 to 35, Hans Road, and Basil Street, London, S.W. Hours of ihminess: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m.; closed on Bank Holidays. Established about sixty years ago by the late C. D. Harrod. Incorporated 1889. Directors: Sir Alfred J. Newton, Bart. (Chairman), Herbert Bennett, Richard Burbidge (Managing Director), Edgar Cohen, F. H. Harvey Samuel, William Mendel, H. K. Newton, M.P., D.L. Premises: The main buildings cover upwards of four acres of ground in Bromp ton Road and adjacent thoroughfares, Workshops and Warehouses, Pavilion Road, Keppel Street, and Chapel Place, S.W.; Depositories, Barnes; Motor Hire Garage, Pentagon Place; Livery Stables, Lloyd's Place, and Belgrave Yard, S.W.; Stable 3, Whitehorse Yard, Lancelot Place, and Barnes; Farms and Gardens, Littleton, Shepperton, and Barnes. Staff: Over 6,000. Business: Harrods' Stores comprise under one roof one hundred departments, in which every natural and manufactured product of the world is obtainable. Telephones: Western One for eighty-five lines. Telegraphic Address: "Everything, Harrods, London." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

HART ACCUMULATOR CO., Ltd., Storage Battery Manufacturers, Marshgate Lane, Stratford, London, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: George W. Kidd (Chairman), E. J. Clark (Managing Director), L. W. Spratt, George Hay and J. Theodore Prestige (jun.). Premises: Extensive Modern Works in Stratford. Staff: Works, 300; Office, fifty. Branches: London, 36, Victoria Street, Westminster, S.W.; Manchester, 33, Brazennose Street; Glasgow, 107, Wellington Street. Speciality: Electrical Storage Batteries. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to H.M. King George V. Telephones: Nos. 1306 and 1307 East; No. 3914 Victoria, London; No. 5116 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Addresses: " Hartmossel, Bochurch, London "; " Hartmossel," Manchester and Glasgow. Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

HART & LEVY, Ltd., Wholesale Clothiers, Wimbledon Works, Leicester. Hours of Business: Usual. Established sixty years ago by the late Joseph Levy and Israel Hart. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: Sir Maurice Levy, Bart., J.P., M.P. (Chairman and Managing Director), Sir A. Levy Lever, Bart., J.P. (Life Directors), Edward S. Hart. Premises: Very extensive. London Warehouse: 91, Wood Street, E.C. Staff: 2,200. Branches: Factories at Nuneaton, Burton Latimer, Brightlingsea, Colchester. Speciality: Wholesale Clothing. Telephone: No. 172 Private Exchange, Leicester. Telegraphic Addresses: " Hart Levy, Leicester '; " Tailoring, London." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

HART (MELBOURNE) & CO., Cigar Shippers, 19, Basinghall Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1877 by H. Melbourne Hart and E. L. Hart. Partnership Successions: (1) H. Melbourne Hart and A. O. Hart in 1880;, (2) H. Melbourne Hart and P. H. L. Phillips in 1895. Present Principals: P. H. L. Phillips and R. E. M. Hart.. Business: Import Havana Cigars. Ship direct from the following Havana Factories: Partagas, Villar, Ramon, Allones, Cabanas, Corona, H. Clay, J. S. Murias, Romeo and Juliet, Intimidad, Juan Lopez, Larranaga, &c. Sole Consignees of Vafiadis Cairo Cigarettes. Connection: United Kingdom, Havana, Mexico, South Africa, India, Australia, New Zealand, Egypt. Telephones: Nos. 1814, 1815 London Wall, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Vafiadis, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

HART & SON, Violin Dealers and Makers, Experts in Old Violins, 28, Wardour Street, Piccadilly Circus, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established about 1825 by John Hart. Present Principal: George Hart. Business: Well-known Violin Experts; Dealers in Old Italian (Cremona) and other Violins; Makers of Violins; Repairers, Bow Makers, Case Makers, &c. Connection: World wide. Royal Warrant Holders to His late Royal Highness the Duke of Edinburgh. Telephone: No. 6933 Central. Cable Address: " Guarneri, London " (for United States). Bankers: Coutts & Co.

HART, SON, PEARD & CO., Ltd., Architectural Metal Workers, 138, 140, Charing Cross Road, London, W.C., and Grosvenor Works, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1817 by Joseph Hart. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893. Specialities: Ornamental Wrought and Cast Iron, Bronze and 2 a 2 Brass for Ecclesiastic and Public Buildings, Gates, Railings, Staircases. Telephones: No. 5316 (Gerrard), London; No. 574 (Midland), Birmingham. Telegraphic Addres. es: " Diurnation, London "; " Grosvenor, Birmingham."

HART, THOMAS, Rope Manufacturer, 12 and 14, Town Hall Street, Blackburn. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1798 by Thomas Hart. Present Principals: Thomas Hart, J.P., R. Edward Hart. Ono of the oldest firms in the trade. Specialities: Lambeth Cotton Rope for Power Transmission, Mill Bandings of all kinds. Patent: The Lambeth Rope. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 10 Blackburn. Telegraphic Address: " Hart, Blackburn." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.

HARTLEPOOLS PULP & PAPER CO., Ltd. (THE), Paper Manufacturers, West Hartlepool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Directors: John Garnett, J.P. (Chairman), John Makin (Managing Director), Walter Andrew, James Byrom, J.P., James Makin, and Charles W. Shepley, J.P. Secretary: Noah Andrew. Premises: Works cover over five acres. Siding into works connecting with N. E. Railway Co., and West Hartlepool Docks. Staff: 280 to 300. Agency: 77A, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C. Specialities: White tInd toned Printings, machine finished and super-calendered, E.S. Writings, cartridge glazed and unglazed, imitation parchments. Glazed and unglazed, M.G. Papers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 16 West Hartlepool. Telegraphic Address: " Paper, West Hartlepool." Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd. (Bury).

HARTLEY & SUGDEN, LIMITED, Makers of Wrought-Welded Cast Iron Sectional and Riveted Boilers, &c., Atlas Works, Halifax. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1869 by Hartley & Sugden. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1878, on the death of founder, Mr. Hartley. Directors: Harry Collier, John Edward Hartley (Managing Directors), John Williams Sutcliffe, Sam Fox. Premises: Cover two and three-quarter acres. Stag: About 30(-. Specialities: Welded Iron Boilers for Hot Water and Steam Heating; Cast-iron Sectional Boilers for Hot-water Heating Apparatus. Patents: Several for Boilers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1238 and 1239 (National), Halifax. Telegraphic Address: " Boilers, Halifax." Bankers: West Yorkshire Banking Co., Ltd.

HARTLEY, SIR WILLIAM P., Preserve and Marmalade Manufacturer, Aintree, Liverpool, and Tower Bridge Road, London, S.E. Hours of Business: Usual. Established forty years ago by W. P. Hartley (now Sir William P. Hartley, Kt.), the present principal. Premises: Very extensive; cover about ten acres at Aintree and three acres in London. Speciality: Preserves and Marmalade. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 38 and 106 Walton (Liverpool); No. 3553 Hop (London). Telegraphic Addresses: " Hartley, Aintree "; " Orcharding, London."

HARTLY HODDER & SON, Shipowners and Brokers, Coal Exporters, 73, Queen Square, Bristol; Avonmouth, Portishead; Sharpness Docks, and 29, Commercial Road, Gloucester. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1875. Present Principal: C. Hartly Hodder. Business: Shipbrokers, Coal Exporters, Importers of China Clay and Boulder Flints. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 3052 and 18 Westbury, Bristol; No. 28 Avonmouth; No. 5 Sharpness; No. 146 Gloster. Telegraphic Addresses: " Freight, Bristol "; " Hodder," Avonmouth, Sharpness, and Gloucester. Codes: Scotts (1896, 1910), and Watkins. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

HARTMANN, T. C., Importers of Furs, &c., 16 and 17, Great Saint Helens, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1891 by T. C. Hartmann, the present principal. Business: Importation of Furs, Hides, Skins and other raw produce from various parts of the world and Export of Manufactures. Telegraphic Address: " Harpagus Lad, London." Cable Address: " Harpagus, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Head Office).

HARTON COAL CO., Ltd. (THE), Colliery Proprietors, Limestone Quarry Owners, Lime Burners, &c., South Shields. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1885. Directors: Sir Lindsay W ood, Bart., Hylton Philipson, Ralph H. Philipson, Arthu; INT. L. Wood, George May. Premises: Collieries, Halton, Saint Hilda, Boldon, Whitburn; Quarries and Limeworks, Marsden, South Shields. South Shields, Marsden and Whitburn Colliery Passenger Railway. Private Shipping Staithes on River Tyne, South Shields. Employees: Upwards of 9000. Branch: Fitting Office, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Telephones: Nos. 161 and 162 City, Newcastle-onTyne; No. 416 South Shiolds (General Offices); No. 160 City; No. 2977 Central, Newcastle-on-Tyne (Fitting Offices). Telegraphic Addresses: " Harton, Newcastleon-Tyne " (General Offices); " Parkinson, Newcastle-on-Tyne " (Fitting Offices).

HARVEY BROTHERS, East India Merchants, 41, Eastcheap, London, E.C. (late 16, Mark Lane, London, E.C.). In India, A. & F. Harvey, Head Office, Tuticorin, Southern India. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1880 by Andrew Harvey and Francis Harvey (d. 1905). Present Principal: Andrew Harvey. Branches: Various in India. Business: Export and Import Shipping (United Kingdom), General Shipping, Export and Import, Cotton Ginning, Pressing, Spinning, Dyeing, and Manufacturing (India). Connection: United Kingdom, East Indian, Burma, Straits, China, and Japan. Telephone: No. 3184 Avenue. Telegraphic Address " Yevrah, Bllgate, London." Bankers: Clydesdale Bank, Ltd.; National Bank of India, Ltd.; Bank of Madras.

HARVEY & CO. (DUBLIN), LIMITED, Manufacturing Veterinary Chemists, 49, Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1859 by Matthew Small, V. S: Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901; Jackson D. Bogue, Managing Director. Sole proprietors of " Harvey's Great Remedies for the Horse," widely known and used at home and abroad. Connection: United Kingdom, India, South Africa, South American Republics, &c. Telephone: No. 1177 Dublin. Telegraphic Address: " Remedies, Dublin." Bankers: Ulster Bank, Ltd.

HARVEY, NICHOLS & CO., Ltd., Silk Mercers, Drapers and Carpet Warehousemen, 109-125, Knightsbridge; 208-212, Sloane Street, London, S.W. One of the representative West End firms of Linen Drapers and Furnishers. Supply everything for Ladies' Wear and Novelties. Hold Royal Warrants. Telephones: Nos. 3440, 3441, and 3442 Victoria. Telegraphic Address: " Harveys, London."

HARVEY UNITED STEEL COMPANY, LIMITED, Manufacturers, 28, Victoria Street, Westminster, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901 to amalgamate Harvey Steel Co. of Great Britain (incorporated January, 1893) and Harvey Continental Steel Co. (incorporated July, 1894). Business: Licensors for the Harvey & Krupp and Charpy Processes for the manufacture of Armour Plates. Patents: Numerous, for Armour Plates. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telegraphic Address: " Platearmor, London." Code: A B C (4th Edition). Bankers: Bank of England (Western Branch); Martin's Bank, Ltd. (68, Lombard Street, E.C.); London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Westminster Branch); Sheffield Banking Co., Ltd. (Sheffield).

HARVEY, WILLIAM C., Steel Merchant and Machinery Agent, 166, Buchanan Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established fifteen years ago by William C. Harvey, the present principal. Specialities: Steel Forgings, rough turned, Machinery especially for Chemical Works and Sugar Factories, Leather Belting. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1530 Douglas, Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Steelclad, Glasgow." Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland. Club: (Mr. W. C. Harvey) Palette. Pastimes: Music, Fishing, Bridge.

HASELTINE, LAKE & CO., Chartered Patent Agents, 28, Southampton Buildings, Chancery Lane, London, W.C., and 60, Wall Street, New York. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1.30 p.m. Established in 1850. Present Principals: William Edward Lake and W. J. Mellersh-Jackson. Premises: Removed from 7 and 8, Southampton Buildings to the present large offices at No. .28, which faces the main entrance of the Patent Office. Staff: About seventy. Business: Chartered Patent Agents. Owing to the magnitude of their business have boon able to secure the services of assistants specially trained in connection with all classes of invention, and to obtain the co-operation of trustworthy correspondents in practically every country in the world. Telephones: No. 5611 Holborn (two lines), London; No. 1135 John, New York. Telegraphic Addresses: "Scopo, London "; " Haslak, New York." Codes: Western Union. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.; National City Bank (New York City).

HASLAM FOUNDRY & ENGINEERING COMPANY, LIMITED (THE) (Incorporated with Pontifex and Wood, London), Iron Founders, Engineers, Brass Founders, and Coppersmiths, Makers of Ice and Refrigerating Plants, Sugar Plant, Brewing Plant, Distilling Plant, &c., Union Foundry, Derby. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 12 noon. Offices, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established in 1824. Principal (to date of incorporation): Sir A. Seale Haslam. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1876. Directors: Sir A. Seale Haslam (Chairman and Managing Director) and W. G. Haslam. Premises: Highly-organi ed Works, standing on four acres of ground. London Offices, 175 to 177, Salisbury House, London Wall, E.C. Staff: Clerical, fifty; workmen, 700 to 800. Specialities: Refrigerating Machinery, Ice-making Machinery, Air Desiccating Plants for Blast Furnaces. Also Coppersmiths, Brass Founders, Iron Founders, Still Makers, Brewers' Engineers, &c. Patent: The Haslam Dry-air Refrigerating Machine for bringing Frozen Meat from the Colonies and Argentine, &c., to this and other countries; invented by Sir Alfred Seale Haslarn. Connection: Very extensive Homo and Foreign trade with leading Shipping Companies, Meat Companies, Brewery Companies, Dairies, British and Foreign Admiralties, &c. Telephones: No. 778 Derby; No. 862 London Wall; No. 5198 Central, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Zero, Derby "; " Ponfex, Ave, London." Codes: A B C and Bentley's. Sir A.- Seale Haslam is Chairman of Directors of the Derby Canal Co., Chairman of Directors of the Derby Branch of Parr's Bank, Ltd. was Mayor of Derby 1890-1891, Member of Parliament for Newcastle-under-Lyme from 1900 until 1906, and Mayor of Newcastle-under-Lyme 1902-3-4. Clubs: Reform, Devonshire, City of London.

HASLAM (JOHN) & CO., Ltd., Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers, Bolton. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1815 by John Haslam. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1882. Directors: William Haslam (Chairman), John Percival Haslam, Ralph Edgar Haslam, Lewis Hallam, M.P., William Lowe, Arthur Sidney Latham, Robert Heywood Haslam, Algernon Harcourt Clare Haslam, Samuel Haslam Scott, Ralph Alexander McEwam Haslam, Sir Samuel H. Scott, Bart., and F. C. Scott. Premises: Extensive. Contain about 2000 Looms and 160,000 Spindles. Branches: Manchester, London, &c. Business: Cotton Spinning and Manufacturing. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 90 Bolton. Telegraphic Address: " Squirrels, Bolton." Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd. Mr. Lewis Haslam is M.P. for Monmouth Boroughs.

HASLER & CLAPHAM, Corn and Seed Merchants and Farmers, Dunmow, Essex, and No. 10 Stand, New Corn Exchange, Mark Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1896 as an amalgamation of the businesses of Robert. Hasler, J.P., C.A., founded in 1863, and George Dixon Clapham, 1863. Partners, Robert Hasler, J.P., C.A., William Hasler, J.P., and George Frederick Clapham. Reconstituted in 1907. Present Principals: William Hasler, J.P., George Frederick Clapham and Francis Joseph Nicholls. Staff: Sixty-five, Branch: Braintree. Business: Wholesale Agricultural Seed Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 7 Dunmow. Telegraphic Address: " Hasler, Dunmow." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers Barclay & Co., Ltd.

HASSALL, THOMAS, Ltd., Drysalters, Ducie Street, Piccadilly, Manchester. Hours of Business: 7.30 a.m. to 6. p.m. Pay Day: Last Friday in the month. Established in 1810 by the grandfather of Thomas Hassall, J.P., the present Governing Director. Incorporated as a private Limited Company. Governing Director: Thomas Hassan, J.P. Premises: Large, well-equipped Warehouse on the Canal Wharf. Specialities: Salt of all descriptions, Spices, Drysalteries, Chemicals, Whiting, Cement, Plaster, Minerals, Peat Moss Litter, Tartaric, Acetic, Sulphuric and Muriatic Acid; all kinds of Soda, Bakers, Machine and Colza Oil, Turpentine, Benzoline, Ammonia, Soaps, Gum Arabic, Glue, &c. Telephone: No. 946 (Central), Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Sel, Manchester." Code: A B C. Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd.

HASSBERGER & CO., Merchants and Shippers, 164, Deansgate, Manchester, and as Hassberger & Dreschfold, Furth, Bayern, Germany. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1863 by S. Hassberger, continued in Germany by S . Hassberger, W. Dreschfeld, and C. Hassberger, and in England by N. Guggenheim, H. W Hassberger, E. Oberdorfer, and M. Oberdorfer. Present Principals Carl Hassberger (Germany), and Max Oberdorfer (England). Premises: Consist of Office and Warehouse in Manchester, Sacking Factory and Offices in Furth. Staff: About ninety. Business: Shippers of Cotton Goods, Importers of Oriental Carpets. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1693 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Hassberger, Manchester." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.

HASTE & BROWN, Ltd., Tanners, Carriers, Enamellers, Japanners, and Degreasers, of Leather, Hough End Tannery, Bramley, Leeds. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 12 noon. Office, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1840 by William Haste. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Premises " Hough End Tannery," and land connected cover about twenty acres. Warehouse at 55, Charles Street, Leicester. Staff: Average 200. Specialities: East India Tanned Kips Curried and Japanned into light Leathers, suitable for Boot Uppers, Leggings, &c. Semi-Chrome Box Leathers in Butts, Shoulders, Bellies, and Sides, and ditto in Imitation Box Leathers. Japanned and Enamelled Butts and Shoulders, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 10 Starmingley. Telegraphic Address: " Haste, Bramley, Yorks." Bankers: Halifax and Huddersfield Union Banking Co., Ltd. (Leeds Branch).

HATCH, MANSFIELD & CO., Ltd., Wine, Spirit, Cigar, and Cigarette Merchants, 47, Pall Mall, London, S.W. Hours o/ Business: 9.15 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.15 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1894 by Ernest F. G. Hatch. Directors: Sir Ernest Hatch, Bart. (Chairman), Hon. J. Mansfield, C. G. Rayne, J. H. G. Lang, C. W. Hughes, and R. Allison. Specialities: The firm make a special feature of insisting on the importance of vintages. Offices and Sample Room, 47, Pall Mall, S.W. Cellars at Adelphi Arches, Strand, cover over half an acre of ground, and are stocked with many thousands of dozens of old bottled Wines of every description. The old-established firms of C. G. Rayne & Co. (Newcastle-on-Tyne), Bell, Ranni3 & Co. (Edinburgh, Ayr, Perth, Dundee and London), Barton & Co. (late of St. James's Street, London), Dremel & Co. (London), have recently been incorporated in the busines". Branches also at Manchester with various agencies throughout the country. Foreign agencies at Bombay, Calcutta, Simla, Aden, Shanghai and other Chinese ports, Uganda, British East Africa, Sierra Leone, Gold Coast, and West Africa. Royal Warrant Holders to H.M. King George V., and to His late Majesty King Edward VII. Telephones: Nos. 1382 and 1196 Regent. Telegraphic Address: " Luscious, London." Bankers Lloyds Bank Limited, Capital and Counties Bank, Limited, and Clydesdale Bank, Ltd.

HATCHARD & CO., Booksellers, 187, Piccadilly, London, W. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1793 by John Hatchar. d. Present Principals: Edwin Shepherd, Arthur L. Humphreys. Claim to be the oldest bookselling house in London. Business: Bookselling in all its branches. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to Their Majesties the King and Queen. Te!ephone N o. 591 Regent.

HATHERN STATION BRICK & TERRA COTTA CO., Ltd. (THE), Manufacturers of Architectural Terra Cotta and Staffordshire Blue Bricks, Hathern Works, near Loughborough. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established in 1875 by George Hodson and James F. Hodson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Directors: G. A. Hodson (Managing Director), F. W. Hodson, F. Hodson, R. E. Hodson. Secretary: M, Bourne. Premises: Cover forty-five acres, large and well-equipped Factory. Branch: Cliff Blue Brick Works, Tamworth. Specialities: Terra Cotta in White, Glazed "Hathernware," Vitreous Glazed, Buff, Biscuit, Grey, Tawny, and Red to Architects' Designs, Chimney Pots, Staffordshire Blue Vitrified Bricks, Stable and Footway Pavings, Kerbs, Channels, Manger Blocks, Copings, Blue and Pink Terra Cotta, Architectural Terra Cotta in any colour. Claim that for durability and hardness it is not to be equalled in the Kingdom. Connection: Most of the large towns in the United Kingdom and Canada. Telephone: No. 611 Loughborough. Telegraphic Address: " Bricks, Hathern Station." Cable Address: "Hatherra, Loughborough." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

HATHORN, DAVEY & CO., Ltd., Engineers, Sun Foundry, Dewsbury Road, Leeds. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Chairman: Henry Davey. Managing Directors: A. H. Meysey Thompson, J.P., and Hugh Lupton. Specialities: Pumping Machinery for Water Works, Mines, Sewage; Steam, Electric, Hydraulic and Belt-Driven. Telephone: No. 524 Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Hathorn, Leeds." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions); Universal Mining; Imperial Combination; Engineering Telegraph (2nd Edition). Mr. A. H. Meysey Thompson is a Justice of the Peace. Mr. Hugh Lupton is a City Councillor.

HATTERSLEY, GEO., & SONS, LIMITED, Loom and other Textile Machinery Makers, North Brook Works. Keighley, and 47, Brook Street, Bradford. Hours of Business: Head Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Bradford Office, Mondays and Thursdays, 11 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Manchester Exchange, Pillar F, Tuesdays and Fridays. Established in 1789 by Richard Hattersley. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1888. Chairman and Managing Director: Alfred Smith. One of the oldest houses in the trade. Claim to have been the makers of the first Power Loom for the worsted industry (1834), and inventors of the Heald or Dobby Machine in 1867. Premises: Cover over five acres, fully equipped. Staff: 1,100 to 1,175. Speciality: Looms and Preparing Machinery of every description. Patents: Inventors and Patentees of many types of Looms and Dobbies since 1834, now in general use. Connection: All over the world. Telephones: Nos. 175 and 176 Keighley. Telegraphic Address: " Hattersley, Keighley." Code: A B C (5th Edition), and Lieber's. Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd. (Keighley).

HAUFF, CHARLES, Fine Art Dealer, 62, Great Russell Street, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1875 by Chas. Hauff (son.). Present Principals: Chas. Hauff (jun.) and Oscar Hauff. Represent Braun, Braun & Co.. of Paris, Dornach (Alsace), and New York; also Messrs. Reinthal & Newman, Publishers, New York. Business: General Wholesale Fine Art Dealers. Connection: Great Britain, Continent, British Colonies. Telephone: No. 6014 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Haufwerkes, London."

HAWES (ALFRED) & SON, Manufacturing Opticians, 79, Leadenhall Street, E.C., and 49, New Cavendish Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1840 by William Hawes, joined by his son. Present Principals: Alfred Hawes & Son. Premises: Occupy two Shops and Workshops. Staff: Twenty-six. Speciality: Spectacles. Patents: Inviso Rimless Spectacles and Pince Nez. Opticians to the Royal London Ophthalmic Hospital and the London Hospital. Telephones: No. 9362 Central No. 601 Mayfair, London.

HAWKER (JAMES) & CO., Wine and Spirit Merchants, Whisky Blenders, &c., 129, Exeter Street, Plymouth. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1818 by James Hawker. Present Principals: Francis Feodor Wynne Hawker, Ernest William Hawker. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Built in 1655. Believed to be one of the oldest buildings in East Plymouth. Known as Hawker's Avenue. 50,000 feet of cellarage. Staff: Thirty-four. During sloe season 100 women employed. Branch: 40, George Street, Plymouth. Business: Wine and Spirit Merchants, sole Proprietors and Compounders of the "Pedlar " Brand of Sloe Gin, and of various other well known English Liqueur Cordials. Award: Gold Medal and Diploma, Buenos Aires, 1911; Gold Medal and Diploma, International Exhibition, Paris, 1913. Connection: All parts of the United Kingdom, North and South America, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, and various parts of Germany, France, India, China, and Portugal. Royal Warrants: Special appointment to H.M. the King. Held appointments to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria, His late Majesty King Edward VII., and to H.R.H. the late Duke of Edinburgh. Telephones: No. 43 Plymouth (Exeter Street); No. 38 Plymouth (George Street). Telegraphic Address: " Hawker, Plymouth." Code: A B C. Mr. Francis F. W. Hawker is Chairman of the Plymouth Conservative Association, and interested in several other undertakings locally.

HAWKES, O. C., Ltd., Electrical Engineers, Looking Glass Manufacturers, Glass Bevellers, Silverors by their New Electro Coppered Process, Embossers, Manufacturers of all kinds of Leaded Lights, Show Cases, Show Cards and Glass Tablets, Patent Electric Stoves and Patent Day and Night Electric Signs, Patent X.L. Vacuum Cleaners, Globe Works, Bromsgrove Street, Birmingham. London Showrooms: 69 and 70, Aldorsgate Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1859 by John Hawkes. Succeeded by O. C. Hawkes in 1873. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896, and amalgamated with Saml. Evans & Sons, Smethwick. Directors: O. C. Hawkes, J.P. (Chairman and Managing Director), J. Courtenay Lord, J.P. (Deputy Chairman), W. Lee Mathews, Bernard Hawkes. Claim to be the largest manufacturers in the world of Bevelled and Silvered Plates and Looking Glasses of every description, and Electric Signs. Premises: Very extensive works, covering about eight acres. Equipped with up-to-date appliances throughout. Staff: About 1000. Specialities: The new X.L. Pore& ain Finish t wood for all Bathroom and Lavatory Requisites. Glass Bevelling, Bending, Embossing and Engraving, Painting and Staining on Glass, Polished Plate for Motor Bodies, Windshields, &c., with polished edges. Patent Plate, Rough Rolled and Wired Glass, Hawkes' Patent Crystalline Glass, Sand Blasting, Glass Tablets for Advertising, Opal Letters, Patent Flaps for Ventilating, Viewing and Speaking purposes, View Reflectors, Reflector Signs for Cross Roads and Dangerous Corners. Wrought Iron and Patent Ratchet Casements, Collapsible Gates, &c. Patents: Glass Bevelling Machines, Crystalline Glass Ratchet Casements, Day and Night Electric Signs, Electric Heating Stoves, Motor Flaps, Vacuum Cleaners, &c. Awards: Gold Medals, Melbourne, Edinburgh, Oxford, &c. Connection: World - wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office). Also Sole Agents for District for the Trip'-ex Safety Glass 03., Ltd., 1, Albemarle Street, Piccadilly, London, W. Telephones: No. 2300 Midland (four lines) Birmingham; No. 7889 Central, London. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Hawkes, Birmingham "; " Overmantel, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd., Bennett's Hill, Birmingham. Mr. 0. C. Hawkes is a Justice of the Peace for the City of Birmingham and also for the County of Warwickshire. Mr. J. Courtenay Lord is a Justice of the Peace for the City of Birmingham.

HAWKES, SOMERVILLE & CO., Merchants, Shipbrokers and Forwarding Agents, Tower Buildings, Water Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1864 by John Edward Hawkes. Present Principals: George Herbert Longrigg and Harold Ackerley. Took over the businesses of William Charles Miller & Co. (1849), and S. Wright Kelso & Co. (1845), Shipbrokers, in 1909. Claim that William Charles Miller started the first line of Steamers to the River Plate in 1849. At the time of amalgamation Mr. Longrigg was sole partner in the three firms. Business: Merchants, Shipbrokers and Forwarding Agents. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 541 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Hawkes, Liverpool." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited. Mr. G. H. Longrigg was first Secretary and Member of the Council of the Liverpool Shipping and Forwarding Agents' Association.

HAWKES & SON, Band Instrument Makers, Band Music Publishers, Denman. Street, Piccadilly Circus, London, W., and Station Road, Aldershot. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1858 by William Henry Hawkes. Succeeded by Oliver Hawkes, the present principal. One of the oldest and bestknown houses in the trade. Premises: Large warehouse of five floors in Denman Street. New electrically installed factory at Highgate and secondary factory at Aldershot. Staff: Total, 210. Specialities: Military and Brass Band and Orchestral Instruments and Music. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 5204 Central. Telegraphic Address:" Sonorous, London."

HAWKSWORTH, EYRE & CO., Ltd., Manufacturing Silversmiths, Electro Platers, and Plated Cutlers, 60 and 62, Rockingham Street, Sheffield. London Office: Atlantic House, 46A, Holborn Viaduct, E.C. Canada: Coristine Building, Montreal; Agent, Mr. Frank H. Scott. Hours of Business: Sheffield, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. London, 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. Established about 1798. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1873. Thomas Alfred Scott, Managing Director. Were originally makers of the Old Sheffield Plate. Premises: Works cover nearly three-quarters of an acre. Stan: Over 120. Specialities: Silver Goods suitable for Presentation, especially Candlesticks, Candelabra and Lamps, Bowls, Cups, Trays, Salvers, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1391 Central, Sheffield; No. 479 Holborn, London. Telegraphic Address: " Electrology," Sheffield and London. Bankers: Sheffield Banking Co., Ltd.

HAWLEY, W., & SON, Colour Manufacturers and Miners, Colour Works, Duffield, Derby. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1838 by William Hawley. Present Principal-: John Hawley. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Speciality: Mineral Colours. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 36 Duffield. Telegraphic Address: " Hawley, Duffield, Derby." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

HAWORTH (RICHARD) & CO., Ltd., Cotton Spinners, Manufacturers and Merchants, 35, Dale Street, and Egerton Mills, Tatton Mills, Ordsall Mills, and Throstle Nest Mills, Ordsall, Manchester. Established in 1852 by Richard Haworth, with whom were associated F. C. Hulton and James Craven. George Chester Haworth was taken into partnership in 1867; John Fletcher Haworth in 1876; Frederic Haworth in 1881; Richard Ford Haworth in 1893. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: George Chester Haworth, J.P. (Chairman), Frederic Haworth, J.P., Richard Ford Haworth, Francis Colin Haworth, Edwin Farrow, Geo. Chester Haworth (jun.), Wm. Binns, Joseph Wood, and Gordon M. Haworth. Secretary: Albert B. Ward. The Mills are considered one of the sights of Manchester, and have been visited by Royal and other notable personages. They cover thirteen acres, and are equipped with the most modern machinery. Stag: 3,000. Branches: London, Glasgow, Shanghai, and all principal towns in the United Kingdom. Specialities: Makers of the wellknown " Spero " Cloths, Window Hollands, Cretonnes, White Calicoes, Flannelettes, Linings, Drills, and General Fancy Cotton Goods. Are Cotton Spinners, Doublers, Manufacturers, and Finishers. Contractors to the Government. Telephones: City Nos. 7168 and 7169 (Mill); 5103 City (eight lines) (Manchester Warehouse); No. 8563 Central (London Home Trade); London Shipping and Making-up, London Wall No. 6912. Telegraphic Addresses: " Spero, Manchester ' (Warehouse); " Spero, Glasgow " (Warehouse) • " Lasdro, Manchester " (Mill); " Haworth, Cent, London " (Home Trade); " Quodvis, Ave, London " (Shipping and Making-up). Cable Addresses: " Fideus, Shanghai; " Xypete, Hong Kong "; " Spero,' Yokohama, Kobe, Bombay. Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Lieber, Whitelaw, Vocabulaire Officio', Western Union.

HAWTHORN, R. & W., LESLIE & CO., Ltd., Marine and Locomotive Engineers and Shipbuilders. Head Office: St. Peter's Works, Newcastle-on-Tyne. London Office: Sussex Place House, 87A and 88A, Leadenhall Street, E.C. (J. W. McCulloch). Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1817 by Robert Hawthorn. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1886. Premises: Shipbuilding Yard at Hebburn-on-Tyne, Marine Engine Works at St. Peter's-on-Tyne, Locomotive Works at Forth Banks, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Staff Club: Royal Naval Volunteer Reserves. Business: Shipbuilding in all its branches, makers of Marine Engines, Turbine and Reciprocating Machinery, Water-Tube Boilers, &c., Locomotives of all descriptions and Combined Crane and Locomotive. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 3044, Marine Engine Works; No. 1232, Locomotive Engine Works; No. 1950, Shipyard, Newcastle-on-Tyne; No. 10332 (Central), London. Telegraphic Addresses " Hawthorns " (Marine Engine Works), " Locomotive " (Locomotive Engine Works), " Leslie " (Shipyard), Newcastle-on-Tyne; " Hebburnist, London." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Newcastle-on-Tyne).

HAY & ROBERTSON, Ltd., Linen and Cotton Damask Manufacturers and Embroiderers, St. Margaret's Works, Foundry Street, Dunfermline, Fife. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1862, by Robert Hay and William Robertson. Succeeded by Robert Robertson, Robert Robertson (jun.), Sir William Robertson, Robert Hay Robertson, and John Whyte Robertson. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1910. Directors: Sir William Robertson (Managing Director and Chairman), Robert Hay Robertson, John Whyte Robertson, W. B. Robertson. Premises: Seven acres. Staff 1300. Branches: Caledonia Works. Dunfermline. Agencies in London, Manchester, Glasgow, Belfast, New York, Toronto, Adelaide and South Africa. Specialities: Damask Manufacture, Hem Stitching and Fancy Sewing and Embroidering. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 261 and 262 Private Exchange, Dunfermline. Telegraphic Address: " Hay, Dunfermline." Codes: Western Union, A B C, and Lieber's. Bankers: Royal Bank of Scotland, Ltd. Sir William Robertson is Hon. Sheriff and a Justice of the Peace, Vice-Chairman of the Carnegie Dunfermline Trust.

HAY (WILLIAM), Ltd., Manufacturing Chemists, &c. Head Office and Laboratories: 42 to 46, Walmsley Street, Hull. London Depot: York Street, Walworth, S.E. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Premises: Well equipped Laboratories. Business: Manu facturers of every description of Soluble Fruit Essences, Liquid Colours, &C.; also Flavourings and Colourings; Specialities and Requisites for the Brewing Trade, Mineral Water Makers, and Manufacturing Confectioners, &c. Distillers and Importers of Essential Oils, &c. Awards: Gold and Silver Medals; also Highest Testimonials from the Medical Journals and the principal Trade Journals in this and other countries. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial; rapidly extending trade both at home and abroad. Telegraphic Addresses: " Hay, Ltd., Hull "; " Bushworth, London."

HAYDEN, W. H., & CO., Ltd., Wholesale and Manufacturing Stationers, Merchants and Shippers, 1 and 2, Cox's Court, Little Britain, London, E.C.; and 2, Cross Keys Square, E.C. Packing and Export Department: 10, Warwick Square, Paternoster Row, E.C. Established in 1829. Directors: George Kentish (Chairman), Digby Hayden Kentish, and Captain Leonard William Kentish. Agents in Australia, Canada, India, New Zealand, Cape, South America, China, Japan, and Russia. Specialities: Stationery of best quality, Wholesale and Export. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 263 City (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Tollcorn, Cent, London." Cables A B C Code (5th Edition). Mr. George Kentish is Vice-Chairman of the Stationers Association.

HAYES, CANDY & CO., Ltd., Textile Warehousemen, 55 and 56, Friday Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; March and September, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established July, 1882, by James Charles Hayes and William Marshall Candy. Incorporated April, 1900, with a directorate consisting of James C. Hayes, W. M. Candy, W. B. White, R. Maurau, E. C. Lucas, and H. H. Ansell. Present Directors: James C. Hayes, Chairman and Managing Director; William M. Candy and W. B. White, Managing Directors; J. P. Gilloch, F. R. Newell and A. C. Tyler, Directors. Branches: Lyons, Paris, Nottingham, Glasgow, Dublin, Manchester. Staff: About 140. Specialities: The Company are Specialists in Piece Silks, English Crapes, and Chiffons of all kinds for Millinery and Dresses. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 5136-7-8-9 Bank. Telegraphic Addresses: " Haycand," London, Nottingham, Manchester, Paris, Lyons; " Crapes, Glasgow "

HAYMAN, CHRISTY & LILLY, Ltd., Newspaper and General Printers, Stationers, Binders, and Publishers, 113, 115, and 117, Farringdon Road, and Ray Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1851. Incorporated as Hayman, Christy & Lilly, Ltd., 1889. Managing Directors: John Ridd Hayman (Chairman), Miller Christy, and Alfred P. Lilly. Was the first general printing firm to adopt the Linotype machine, and has a large installation now in use. Premises: Three large buildings of seven floors each, with paper-store at the back, connected by gangways, and served by an electric lift and by an overhead travelling run-way. A highly organised establishment, with valuable modern plant. Staff: Large in all departments, numbering several hundreds in the busiest seasons of the year. Specialities: Newspaper and General Printing, Book - binding, Stationery. Made a feature at the outset of Ornamental Work in Colours, and received for this Honourable Mention at the London International Exhibition, 1862. Better known in later years as a Magazine and Weekly Periodical house. Special attention to production of Letterpress Printing in large quantities and at rapid rates, such as the proprietors of Magazines, Periodicals, &c., require. Also Prospectuses and Trade Catalogues of all kinds. The firm's facilities for producing weekly newspapers and periodicals are probably equal to those possessed by any other printing house in London. They comprise a large instalment of Rotary Printing and Folding Machines, including six of the fastest and most modern type. Telephones: No. 102 and 103 Holborn. Telegraphic Address: " Sibyline, Smith, London." Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd. Members of the London Master Printers Association, of which Mr. Hayman was President in 1904-5.

HAYNES, THOMAS, Maltster and Farmer, Radcliffe-on-Trent; Commercial Road and West Gate, Grantham; and Water Street, Stamford. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 9 a.m. Established in 1823 by John Morley. Present Principal: T. Haynes, J.P. (great-grandson of the founder). Premises: Consist of eight Maltings. Staff: Thirty-two. Speciality: Haynes' special method of Kilning Malt. Devised and patented in 1892. Patents: Special Kilning process, 1892; Prevention of Arsenical Contamination of Malt, 1901. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 26 Radcliffe. Telegraphic Address: " Haynes, Radcliffe-on-Trent." Bankers: Nottingham and Notts Bank, Ltd. Mr. Haynes is a Justice of the Peace for Notts; District Councillor; Guardian of the Poor; Vice-Chairman of the Parish Council; and President of the Unionist Association. Pastimes: Golf, Tennis, and Shooting.

HAYWARD BROTHERS & ECKSTEIN, Ltd., Engineers and Ironfounders, Manufacturers of Pavement Lights, Casements, &c., 187, 201, Union Street, Borough, London, S.E. Hours of Business: London Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1783 by Hayward. Continued by Haywards, later by Eckstein. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: W. Eckstein, A.M.I.C.E. (Chairman), J. A. Wilimore, A.M.I.C.E., George F. Pittar, A.M.I.C.E., and J. G. Willmore, A. F. Benjamin, late A.R.I.B.A., and P.A.S.I. Staff: 350; also Office, Travellers, &c. Branches: Manchester and Glasgow. Agencies: Representatives in Birmingham, Bristol, Newcastle, Dublin, Leeds, and abroad. Specialities: Pavement Lights, Iron Staircases, Ventilators, Steel Sashes, Casements, Iron Doors, Collapsible Gates, " Copperlites," &c. Patents: Numerous. Awards: Twenty-three Medals and other awards. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government, Army and Navy Establishments, &c. Telephone: No. 3642 Hop (two lines). Telegraphic Address: "Hayward Brothers, London." Code: A B C, &c.

HAYWARD BROTHERS, Ltd., Pickle and Sauce Manufacturers, Montford Place, Kennington, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Factory, 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1869 by Robert Hayward. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: Robert Hayward (Chairman), Henry Hayward, George J. Hayward, and Frank T. Hayward. Specialities: The " Military " Pickle; the " Military " Sauce; the " Old English " Pickles; tho " Karjat " Chutney, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: Hop No. 355. Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London and South Western Bank, Ltd.

HAYWARD (WILLIAM) & SONS, LIMITED, Patentees and Manufacturers of Hurdles, Railings, &c., Brunswick Works, and Vulcan Works, Willenhall Road, Wolverhampton. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1880 by the late William Hayward. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1898. London Office, 5, Suffolk House, Laurence Pountney Hill, E.C. Specialities: Iron and Wire Fencing; Unclimbable Railing, Ornamental Railing; also Field and Entrance Gates, Palisading, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, &c.). Telephones: No. 123 Wolverhampton; No. 4574 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Address: " Hayward, Wolverhampton."

HAYWARD-TYLER & CO., Ltd., Hydraulic and Sanitary Engineers. Registered Offices: 99, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C. Works: Luton, Beds. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1815 by W. Russel, who was succeeded by Hayward-Tyler. Purchased in 1856 by Robert Luke Howard. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1905. Chairman: Robert Luke Howard. Specialities: Aerated Water Machinery, Pumping Machinery, Hydraulic Presses, Steam, Fire, Sanitary, and Water Fittings, and Meters, for household purposes. Awards: Ten Gold, Twenty-four Silver, and Nineteen Bronze Medals at leading exhibitions. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office), also to the Crown Agents for the Colonies, Foreign and Colonial Governments, Royal Ordnance Factories, London County Council, Metropolitan and other Water Boards and authorities, the principal British and Foreign Railways, Shipbuilding and Engineering Companies, &c. Telephones: No. 9626 City, London. No. 32 Luton. Telegraphic Addresses: " Tylerox, Cent, London "; " Hayward-Tyler, Luton." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Western Union and Private.

HAYWARDS, Court Lacemen, 11, Old Bond Street, London. W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1770 by T. & W. Hayward, originally at 73, Oxford Street, opposite Poland Street. Carried on by the Hayward family until 1840, when D. Biddle became proprietor. Partnership Successions: (1) Arthur Cumming Biddle and Charles Harry Biddle; (2) C. Harry Biddle, Frank Debenham and E. R. Debenham. Present Principals: E. R. Debenham, F. S. Oliver, E. Montague Biddle. Specialities: Real Laces, Ancient and Modern; Old Embroideries. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: Held appointments to many members of the Royal Family during and since the reign of George III. Commissioner at Exhibitions 1851 and 1862, London; Jurors at the same Exhibitions, and at Paris Exposition, 1867, and FrancoBritish Exhibition, London, 1908; Judge at Annual National Competition, Board of Education, and Exhibition of Art Industries, Royal Dublin Society, &c. Telephone: No. 2023 Mayfair.

HAZELL, WATSON & VINEY, Ltd., Printers and Binders. Head Office: 52, Long Acre, London, W.C. Works: Long Acre, and 4-8, Kirby Street, London, E.C.; 3, Old Jewry, E.C.; and at Aylesbury. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1845 by the late George Watson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1884. Premises: Very extensive and well-equipped Works. Staff: About 1,400. Staff Clubs: Various Institutions and Recreations. Business: General Printing and Binding. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 605 Gerrard (Long Acre); No. 2450 Holborn (Kirby Street); No. 323 Bank (Old Jewry); No. 15 Aylesbury. Telegraphic Addresses: " Plaintiff, Rand, London" (Long Acre); " Viney, Smith, London " (Kirby Street); " Hazell, Aylesbury."

HAZELWOOD BRICK CO. (THE), Manufacturers of Bricks, Tiles, Pipes, Terra Cotta, &c., Cranleigh, Surrey. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1905, took over the businesses and yards formerly known as The Cranleigh Brick, Tile, and Terra Cotta Co., Ltd., and The Baynards Brick, Tile, and Terra Cotta Co., Ltd., in the same year. Present Principals: Frederick Elliott and George Elliott. Premises: Cover some 140 acres, of which about twenty acres are used for the business; extensive buildings, cottages, &c. Specialities: Manufacture of Old-fashioned Bricks and Tiles sold as " Antique Tiles " and " Multicoloured Bricks." Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 26 Cranleigh. Tele-graphic Address: " Elliott, Cranleigh."

HEALD BROTHERS, Sack, Bag, Tarpaulin Manufacturers, 152, Bermondsey Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established many years ago. Date unknown. Present Principals: Richard James Heald and Frederick H. Heald. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Branches: Stands, 51, New Corn Exchange, Mark Lane, E.C.; Reading, Corn Exchange; Maidstone, Corn Exchange. Specialities: Sacks and Bags for Millers, also Corn and Forage Merchants, and Potato Salesmen. Proprietors of " Yahdroe " (registered) brand of Hay Cord; proprietors of " Golden Rays " (registered) brand of Binder Twine. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: Nos. 1182 and 764 Hop, London. Telegraphic Address: " Heald Brothers, Berm, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Southwark).

HEALEY BROTHERS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Twine, Cotton Rope, all classes of Mill Bandings, Hemp Twines and Cords, Cotton Spinners, Doublers, Reelers, Thrown Yarns, Cabled Yarns, Net Yarns, Net Mounting Cords, &c., Cartridge Ropery, Heywood. Manchester Office: 19, Cannon Street. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1843 by William Healey. Continued by William Healey (jun.) and David Healey. Incor porated as a Limited Company. Manag ing Directors: David Healey (Chairman), W. Duckworth, P. Healey, W. D. Healey. Secretary: James Hunt. Premises: Very extensive branch mills. Stanley Mill and Mossfield Mill, Heywood; Vic toria Mill, Hollinwood. Staff: 700 to 800. Specialities: Cotton Parcelling Twines, Main Driving Ropes, Net Yarns, Cotton Belting Yarns, Plaited Tubular Bandings, Hemp Twines and Cords. Connection:1 United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 3 Heywood (Cartridge Ropery); No. 3A Heywood (Stanley Mill); No. 3B Heywood (Moss field Mill); No. 122 Hollinwood (Victoria Mill); No. 153 City, Manchester (Office). Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: Union Bank of Manchester, Ltd. The late Mr. William Healey was twice Mayor of the Borough, including Diamond Jubilee Year. He was an Alderman and Chairman of the Education Committee, and a member of the Lancashire County Council, and was actively engaged in all social work. Mr. David Healey has been twice Mayor of the Borough, and is a Councillor and Chairman of the Gas Com mittee, and also takes a great interest in all social work.

HEARNE, T. P., & CO., Merchants, 8, Leadenhall Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Estab lished in 1864 by T. P. Hearne. Succeeded by E. Finch, M.P. Lupton, E. J. Loftus and W. H. D. Wordingham. Present Principals: E. Finch (jun.), E. J. Loftus and W. H. D. Wordingham. Premises: Offices first floor. Business: Export Merchants to Brazil. Connection: Foreign. Telephone: No. 129 Avenue, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Heatlipool, London." Code: A B C, A 1. Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank Bank, Ltd., Leadenhall Street.

HEARTH (JAMES) & CO., Hosiery Manufacturers, Newarke Street, Leicester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1859 by James Hearth. Present Principals: Walter Hearth, William Henry Willis, James E. Hearth. Premises: Extensive Factories at Burbage and Market Harborough, fully equipped with the latest appliances. Stag: 500. Specialities: Women's and Children's Plain and Ribbed Hose, Men's Half Hose, Bathing Dresses and Costumes, and Children's Jerseys. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 3706 and 3707 Leicester. Telegraphic Address: " Hearth, Leicester." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

HEATH (HENRY), Ltd., Hat Manufacturers, 105, 107, and 109, Oxford Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Established in 1822 by Henry Heath. One of the oldest hat manufacturing firms existing in London. Incorporated January 28th, 1898. Connection: Worldwide, Agencies in all important Foreign and Colonial centres. Royal Warrants: Special Appointments to H.M. King George V., H.M. Queen Alexandra, and to His late Majesty King Edward. Telephone: No. 21 Gerrard (Private Branch Exchange). Telegraphic Address: "Hatterie, London."

HEATH, MACHIN & CO., Manufacturers of Leather Goods, Teddesley Works, Walsall. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1870 by Thomas Heath. Succeeded by his widow. Present Principals: Mrs. E. Heath and E. J Machin. Premises: Three-storey Factory fronting Teddesley Street, three wings or factories extending from it at rear, several important additions during last ten years to meet increased business owing to development of Fancy Leather Goods trade, which has had the firm's special attention for the past twenty years. Staff: 110. Specialities: Doc, Collars, Fancy Leather Goods all kinds,' Riding Bridles and Driving Reins. Patents: Dog Collars, numerous registered designs in Fancy Leather Goods. Connection: British Isles, Foreign, Colonial. Tele-phone: No. 317 Walsall. Telegraphic Address: " Heath Machin, Walsall." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited, Walsall.

HEATH (SAMUEL) & SONS, Ltd., Brassfounders, Cobden Works, Leopold Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established sixty years ago by the late Samuel Heath. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Directors: George Howard Cartland (Chairman), Alfred William Heath (Managing Director), Alfred Heath. Claimed to be the largest Stamped Brassfoundry in the world. Premises: Works cover about two acres. Staff: 1000. Agencies: In all parts of the world. Specialities: Bedstead Mounts, Fender- Mounts, Coffin Furniture, Art Metal and Lock Furniture, Lamp and Electric Fittings. Patents: Several. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 303, 304, 305, 306 and 307 Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Spinning, Birmingham." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

HEATHCOAT (JOHN) & CO., Lace Manufacturers, Tiverton, Devon, and 13, Ironmonger Lane, Cheapside, London, E.C. A Factory was originally established at Loughborough in Leicestershire in the year 1808, John Heathcoat, the founder of the firm, being the inventor of the first machine which ever made a piece of lace. During the Luddite Riots against the use of all machinery, the factory was attacked and the lace machines broken up. The business was thereupon moved in 1816 to Tiverton, Devon, where it has gradually expanded until the factory and the works connected with it now cover an area of more than ten acres, giving employment to a large number of people. Now buildings are erected and extensions of machinery made as may be required to meet the constantly increasing demand for the firm's silk nets. For the last sixty years they have had their own Silk Filatures in Italy, where they reel the finest classic cocoons for every description of silk net which they make. This is the only firm who can claim to produce silk nets in all the various stages of manufacture from the cocoon to the finished article. Specialities: Silk Tulles for Millinery, Costumes, Embroidery, and Veilings. Patents: First Lace Machine, 1808; many Improvement Patents since. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 10448 Central. Telegraphic Address: "Heathcoat, London "; "Heathcoat, Tiverton." Bankers: Parr's Banking Co., Ltd. (London and Tiverton).

HEATON & DUGARD, Ltd., Metal Rollers, Wire Drawers, Makers of Metal Mouldings and Sash Bars, Jack Chains and Bent Wire Articles, Shadwell Street Mills, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1840 by George Heaton (senior), George Heaton (junior), and William Dugard. Succeeded by Arthur Heaton and Herbert Arthur Dugard. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. Directors: Arthur Heaton (Chairman), Herbert A. Dugard, Albert Charles Morris, Edwin J. Overton. The founder was originally a member of the firm of Heaton Brothers, Engineers, of Shadwell Street, Birmingham, and was one of the first makers of a steam carriage to successfully run on the highway. Business: Metal Rollers, Wire Drawers, Manufacture of Brass, Bronze, and Copper Sash Bars, Mouldings, &c.; also Jack Chains, Hooks and Eyes, Curtain Hooks, and a large variety of Bent Wire Goods. Specialities': Drawn and Rolled, Shaped and Fancy Wires. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly), Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 476, 477 and 478 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Heagard, Birmingham." Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd.

HEATON (WILLIAM) & SONS, Cotton Spinners, Lostock Junction Mills, Lostock, near Bolton, Lancashire. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1800 by Lambert Heaton. Present Principals: William Heaton, Joseph Rowland Heaton, Benjamin Heaton, John Heaton, William Heaton, junr. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Three Mills, containing 263,000 spindles. Staff: About 1,200. Branch: Delph Hill Mill, Halliwell, Bolton. Business: Spinning of Fine Super-combed Sea Island Yarns, suitable for Lace, Muslin, Harness Twine, Sewing Thread, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 41 Bolton. Telegraphic Address: " Heatons, Lcstock." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.

HEATONS (LEEDS), Ltd., Ladies' Costumiers, 0 6, North Street, Leeds. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about thirty years ago by G. W. Longfield. Continued by E. Longfield & Co., with various partners; continued in 1900 as E. L. Heaton & Co.; E. Longfield paid out in 1902. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Directors: H. Heaton (Managing Director), W. Heaton, J. Heaton and T. H. Heaton. Premises: Extensive factories with every facility and accommodation for the trade. Staff: 400 to 500. Branches: London, 4-5, Old Change, E.C.; Glasgow, 60, St. Enoch Square. Specialities: Ladies' Tailor made Costumes, Coats and Skirts. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Telephone: No. 3700 Leeds (2 lines). Telegraphic Address: " Mantles, Leeds." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

HEBBURN BOILER CO., Ltd., Boiler Makers, Hebburn-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1885 by Nicholson Brothers. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Managing Director: W. E. Nicholson. Specialities: Lancashire, Cornish, Water-Tube and Locomotive Boilers. Patent: Nicholson's Water-Tube Boiler. Telephone: No. 22 (P.O.), Hebburn. Telegraphic Address: " Boilers, Hebburn."

HEDGES & BUTLER, Wine and Spirit Merchants, 155, Regent Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1667. Specialities: " Melnotte et Fils Champagne, which has been supplied to His Majesty the King and to other members of the Royal Family; Ancient Golfers' " Whisky, and other brands of Scotch and Irish Whiskies. Branches: 30, King's Road, Brighton; and The Arcade, Bournemouth. Connection: The firm are shippers to all parts of the world. Royal Warrant Holders. Telephones: No. 4444 Gerrard; Brighton, No. 70x; Bournemouth, No. 0943. Telegraphic Address: " Hedges Butler, London." Code: A B C.

HEDGES, W. T., Ltd., General Publicity Offices, Effingham House, 1, Arundel Street, Strand, London, W.C. Hours of Business: Open day and night. Established in 1895 by W. T. Hedges. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Chairman and Managing Director: W. T. Hedges. Speciality: General Publicity. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2000 Gerrard; Clients' private line, 6000 Gerrard. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Publicator, London." Bankers: Bank of England.

HEDLEY, G. H., LIMITED, Folding and Rigid Box Board Manufacturers, Hedge Mill, Loudwater, Bucks. Registered Office: 17 and 18, Brown's Buildings, Exchange, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1898 by G. H. Hedley. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Managing Director: G. H. Hedley. Premises: Large and fully equipped; one machine fifty-four inches wide. Speciality: Folding and Rigid Box Boards. Output, seventy tons of Box Boards per week. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 99 Bourne End. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Hedley, Loudwater." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (High Wycombe Branch).

HEDWORTH BARIUM CO., Ltd. (THE), Chemical Manufacturers, 1, St. Nicholas Buildings, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Directors: J. C. Rollin, J.P. (Secretary), Ralph E. Lambton, Charles Rollin, M.Sc., F.G.S., J.P., Hugh Rollin. French Works at La Poterie, Bel beuf, near Rouen. Specialities: Manufacture of Binoxide of Barium and other Barium Compounds. Patents: On new processes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1448 Central, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " St. Bede, Newcastle-on-Tyne."

HEELEY SILVER ROLLING & WIRE MILLS, Ltd. (THE), Guernsey Road, Heeley, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: John Newton Mappin (Chairman), Walter John Mappin, Herbert Joseph Mappin, Stanley Arthur Mappin, Herbert Linley Howlden, Walter Thorpe Haddock (Managing Director). Were original Founders, together with Henry Slaughter and James Leahy (d.). The business is a new industry to the immediate district. Premises: Cover three and a half acres. Staff: Upwards of 400 officers and men. Branch: Sheffield City Warehouse. Agency: London. Business: Smelters and Rollers of Silver, Copper, German Silver, Brass and Aluminium; Sheet Metal, Fancy Wires and Strip Mounts, Drawers of Silver, German Silver, Brass and Copper Wires; General Stampers and Producers of Spoon and Fork Blanks in all metals for the trade. Patents: Many, for mechanical improvements facilitating technical production. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Is essentially a trade resource of London, Sheffield, and Birmingham Manufacturers. Telephones: No. 773 Sheffield (City Warehouse); No. 4513 (three lines) Sheffield (Rolling Mills). Telegraphic Address " Ixion, Sheffield."

HEENAN & FROUDE, Ltd., Engineers, Newton Heath Ironworks Manchester; Worcester Engineering Works, Worcester; 4, Chapel Walks, Manchester; and 56, Victoria Street, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1881 by Hammersley Heenan. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Premises cover thirteen acres at Newton Heath and Worcester. Staff: 180. Specialities: Bridges, Roofs. Structural Iron and Steelwork at Newton Heath Ironworks. Refuse Destructors at Chapel Walks, Manchester; and Colliery and Mining Plant, Railway Wagons, Welded Boilers, Fans, and Cast Iron Work at Worcester. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government; also to Colonial Governments. Telephones: No. 5187 City, Manchester; No. 6260 Newton Heath; No. 391 Worcester. Telegraphic Addresses: " Spherical, Newton Heath "; " Heenan, Manchester "; " Heenan, Worcester "; "Heenafro, Sowest, London." Bankers: The Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd. (Manchester).

HEILBRON (DAVID) & SONS, Distillers and Wine Merchants, 72, Bath Street, Glasgow; Bonded Warehouse, 43, Graeme Street, Glasgow; Stores, 190, Hope Street. Established in 1827. Principals: David Heilbron and his sons, Capt. Ellis J. Heilbron, Bertie Heilbron and Granville Heilbron. Are Importers of Whisky, Brandy, Wines and Cigars, Distillers, Bonders and Exporters. Proprietors of " King's Liqueur," " Hillburn," and " Special Liqueur " Scotch Whiskies. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1717, 1718 Douglas. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Heilbrons, Glasgow." Bankers: Bank of Scotland (Sauchiehall Street Branch, Glasgow).

HEILBUTH. G., & CO., General Merchants and Foreign and Colonial Agents, 15,Walbrook, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1893. Present Principals: George H. Heilbuth and Walter J. H. Heilbuth (see H. Stodart & Co.). Business: Exporters and Buyers for Colonial and Foreign Clients; also Importers. Awards: Three Diplomas and Bronze Medal for Exhibits at the Antwerp International Exhibition, 1894. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, Foreign. Telephone: City 1445. Telegraphic Address: " Liveryman, Cannon, London." Code: A B C (4th Edition). Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. (Head Office).

HEINEMANN, WILLIAM, Publisher, 21, Bedford Street, Strand, London, W.C. Established in January, 1890, by William Heinemann. Present Principals: William Heinemann and Sydney Pawling. Publisher for a number of important living writers and of many works on Art, Literature, the Drama, Education, Travel, and Research, including translations from the French, German, Italian, Spanish, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Europe, North and South America, India, Egypt, and British Colonies. Telephones: Gerrard 5675 (three lines). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Sunlocks, London."

HEINKE, C. E., & CO. (amalgamated with Foster & Williams), Submarine Engineers, Manufacturers of Diving Apparatus and India Rubber Goods, 87 to 89, Grange Road, Bermondsey, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1825. The firm of Foster & Williams was started in 1837. In 1901 the two concerns were amalgamated, and all operations concentrated at the Grange Road establishment. Engineering and rubber works, covering over an acre of ground. Specialities: Diving Apparatus and Submarine Appliances generally; also all kinds of India Rubber Goods, for submarine and other purposes. Connection: Home, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1998 Hop. Telegraphic Address: " Heindig, London." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions).

HEINZ, H. J., CO., Pickle and Sauce Manufacturers. Head Office: Pittsburgh, Pa., U.S.A. European Headquarters: 99 and 101, Farringdon Road, E.C. Established in 1869 by H. J. Heinz. One of the largest enterprises of its kind in the world, employing upwards of 5000 persons. Specialities: "Fifty-seven Varieties " of Pure Food Products, notably Tomato Ketchup, Baked Beans, Olives, Ideal Pickle and Sauce, Beefsteak Sauce, &c. Telephones: (London), Nos. 1151 and 5530 Holborn. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Heinz, London." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

HELE PAPER CO., Ltd. (THE), Paper Manufacturers, Devon Valley Mills, Hele, near Cullompton, Devon. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1767 by' Charles Dewdney and William Matthews. Partnership Successions: (1 and 2) two generations of the Dewdney family; (3) C. R. Collins, 1852-1873; (4) C. R. Collins and T. H. Hepburn, trading as C. R. Collins & Co., 1873-1883; (5) Hepburn & Co., 1883-1892. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Directors: Sir Henry Hepburn (Chairman), J. Horsburgh and J. P. Hepburn. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Cover about five acres. Previous to 1767 these were three water grist mills, converted that year into paper mills. Staff: 230. Specialities: Writing, Ledger, Drawing, Envelope and Blotting Papers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 6 Exeter. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Hepburn, Hele." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: National Provincial Bank, Ltd.

HELLEWELL, W. H., & CO., Ltd., Dyers and Finishers, Asquith Bottom Dyeworks, Sowerby Bridge. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1900 by William Henry Hellewell. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. Managing Directors: W. H. Hellewell and Leonard Ingham. Was the first Dyeing firm to be started after the formation of the Bradford Dyers Association. Premises: Works cover an area of 12,000 square yards, fully equipped. Staff: 300. Business: Stuff Dyers, Stovers, Proofers, and Finishers; Mohairs, Cashmeres, and. Satins; Cloth Dyers (Indigo) to Government Departments. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office, Post Office); also to the Crown Agents for the Colonies, &c. Telephones: No. 5431 Bradford; No. 668 Halifax. Bankers: West Yorkshire Bank, Ltd.

HELLYAR & SONS. Ltd., Electrical Engineers, &c., 169, Church Road, Barnes, London, W. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Established in 1820 by T. L. Hellyar. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Managing Director: T. H. Hellyar. Premises: Show Rooms, Offices, Stores and Works. Staff: Thirty-two. Business: Electrical Engineers and Contractors. Sole Manufacturers of the Electro " Neurotone," under license for all Countries except the United States and Canada. Connection: Colonial. Telephone: No. 950 Putney (Private Branch). Telegraphic Address: " Hellyar 950, Putney." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. Hellyar is a member of the Electrical Contractors Association. Pastime: Foot-ball.

HELME (JAMES) & CO., Manufacturers of Oil Baize and Leather Cloth, Halton Mills, Lancaster. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1869. Present Principals: Sir Norval W. Helme, M.P., Robert N. 2x Helme, Thomas W. Helme, James HeImo. Branches: Manchester, 25, Spear Street; London, 37, 38, Gutter Lane. Specialities: Oil Baize and Leather Cloth. " Patent Chromo Baizine." Awards: Paris and Melbourne. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 205 Lancaster. Telegraphic Address: " Helme, Lancaster." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.

HENDERSON, CRAIG & CO., Ltd., Wood Pulp, Paper, and Tallow Merchants. Head Office: 67/69, Watling Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1883 by John Y. Henderson, E. Majer, and C. T. Craig. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Directors: C. T. Craig (Managing . Director), Frederick Roth, Henry Johnson, and F. W. R. Dewdney. Premises: Occupy ten rooms. Staff: Twenty-four. Branches: Edinburgh, 4, St. Andrew Square; Manchester, 52, Corporation Street. Business: Merchants and Agents in Wood Pulp, Paper, and Tallow. Connection: United Kingdom, Export to Germany, Russia, Italy, and Belgium. Telephones: Nos. 8531 and 8724 City. Telegraphic Address: " Craig, London." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. Mr. Craig is a Liveryman of the Stationers Company and a member of the Council of the London Chamber of Commerce.

HENDERSON, GERALD & GRAHAM, Experts in Motor Coats and Weatherproof Garments, 31, Golden Square, Piccadilly, London, W. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m: to 1 p.m. Established in 1889 by John Graham Henderson. Premises Formerly at Woensforth Mill, Hawick, Scotland. Warehouses and Offices, 31, Golden Square; Tailors' Shops, West and East Central, London. Specialities: Leather-lined Motor Coats, Irish Frieze, Scotch Kersey Motor Coats, Leather Linings, &c. Patent; Wovenproof Cloths for Motor Clothing. Awards: Gold and Silver Medals in many parts of the world. Connection: Sell to High-grade Tailors and Shippers in London and the Provinces. Agents at Paris, Monte Carlo, New York, Sydney, and St. Petersburg. Telephone: No. 8628 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Address: " Gergrahen, London." Bankers: National Bank, Ltd., London.

HENDERSON (JAMES) & SONS, Ltd., Publishers, Red Lion House, Red Lion Court, Fleet Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Present Principals: Nelson F. Henderson and Winfred S. Henderson (Managing Directors). Premises: Business, Editorial, and Publishing Offices situated in Red Lion Court, E.C. Business: Publishers of Weekly Newspapers, Humorous Periodicals, Books for Boys and Girls, Magazines, Novels, Picture Post Cards, Calendars and Engravings. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 155 Holborn. Telegraphic Address: " Lotofun, Fleet, London." Cable Address: " Nosredneh, London." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Chancery Lane, E.C.).

HENDERSON & KEITH, Ltd., Woollen Merchants, 9, Golden Square, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1889 by W. T. Henderson and A. Keith. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: W. T. Henderson, A. Keith (Managing Directors), R. Henderson. Secretary: G. Bramley. Branch; 36 and 38, Lexington Street, W. Business: Woollen Merchants. Connection I United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4078 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Address: " Inroad, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (37, Nicholas Lane, E. C. ).

HENDREY & PUCKLE, Rubber and Colonial Brokers, 9, Mincing Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1894 by W. J. C. Hendrey. Continued as Hendrey & Puckle. Present Principals: W. J. C. Hendrey and J. S. Puckle. The former was for many years a partner in the firm of Donald Gray & Sons, established over 100 years ago. Business: Rubber and Colonial Brokers. Connection: United Kingdom, Selling for Principals all kinds of Colonial Produce. Telephone: No. 249 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Sticklac, London." Bankers: Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co., Ltd.

HENDRY BROTHERS, Ltd., General Export Merchants. Head Office: 34, Robertson Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1846 by G. T. Hendry. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Directors: P. W. Hendry (Chairman), J. D. G. Hendry, and A. L. McCombe. Business: The Export of Engineers' and Builders' Supplies. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 9590 City (five lines). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Kosmos, Glasgow."

HENDRY & STEEL, Property and Insurance Agents, 502, St. Vincent Street, Glasgow, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to" 4 p.m. Established in 1850 by John Hendry. In 1877 William Steel joined the firm, when the present title was adopted; in 1900 James Steel, M.A., the present principal, became a partner. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 138 Charing Cross; No. 3151 Central. Bankers: British Linen Bank (Sandyford Branch), and Union Bank (Anderston Branch).

HENLEY & SON, Wholesale Cyder and Perry Makers, &c., Exporters and Merchants, 51 to 55, St. Thomas's Street, London, S.E. Mills, Chief Stores and Offices, Newton Abbot, Devon. Established in 1791 by W. C. Henley. Present Principal: W. C. Henley, grandson of the founder. One of the oldest and most important firms engaged in the cyder trade. Premises: Extensive steam mills and chief stores in the cyder districts—Newton Abbot, Devonshire—the head offices. The London offices and warehouses have always been situated between Joiner's Street Arches, S.E., and St. Thomas's Street. Numerous Refineries in Devon, Somerset and Hereford. Specialities: The well-known brands of Cyder and Perry bearing the trade-mark of the firm; also " Sparkling Avalon," a high-class production, made in England from the " must " of the apple as Champagne is made from the " must " of the grape. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 247 Hop (two lines). Telegraphic Addresses: " Ciderappel, Boroli, London "; " Henley, Newton Abbot." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd., and Lloyds Bank Limited.

HENLEY'S (W. T.) TELEGRAPH WORKS CO., Ltd., 13 and 14, Blomfield Street, London Wall, London, E.C. Established about the middle of last century by the late William Thos. Henley. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1880. Works, North Woolwich and Gravesend. Specialities: Insulated Wires and Cables of every kind for the Transmission of Electric Current for Lighting, Power, &c. Important contracts completed in various parts of the world. Also manufacturers of Motor Tyres, Mechanical Rubber Goods, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 4560 London Wall (seven lines). Telegraphic Addresses: (Inland), " Henletel, London"; (Foreign), "Henley's, London."

HENRIQUES, D. Q., & CO., West India Merchants, 21, Finsbury Pavement, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about 1800. Continued by direct descendants of Henriques since foundation. Present Principals: Herbert Bailey and Harold Lucas Quixano Henriques, Edward Reginald Wood. Business: West India Merchants. Connection: West Indies chiefly, and Central America. Telephone: No. 604 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Address: " Riques, Ave, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

HENRY, A. & S., & CO., LIMITED, Manufacturers and Merchants, 40 to 52, Leeds Road, Bradford. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1804. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1889. One of the oldest houses in the trade. Branches: Manchester, Huddersfield, Glasgow, Belfast, Dundee, &c. Speciality: All kinds of Textiles. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1531 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: "Henry's, Bradford."

HENSHAW, S. R., & SON, Sanitary and Hot Water Engineers, Plumbers, Glaziers, Painters, Decorators, and General Contractors, 14, Colquitt Street, Bold Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1873 by Samuel Robinson Henshaw. Present Principals: S. R. Henshaw & Son. Premises: Consist of . Offices, Showrooms and extensive Workshops. Business: Sanitary and Hot Water Engineering, Plumbing; Specialists in Sanitary and Bathroom Fitments; Painting, Decorating, Glazing, &c. Make a special feature of reliable materials and workmanship. Patent: Henshaw's registered Towel Rail for drying towels and warming bathrooms. Telephone: No. 2777 Royal, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Sanitarians, Liverpool."

HENTSCHEL (CARL), Ltd., Photo Engravers, Designers, Electrotypers, and Stereotypers. Head Offices: 182, 183. and 184, Fleet Street, London, E.C. Foundry: 1 and 2, Goldsmith Street, Gough Square, W.C.; 1 and 2, Hen and Chicken Court, Fleet Street; and at Knight's Hill and Wolfington Road, West Norwood. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to midnight. Established in 1887 by • Carl 2 H 2 Hentschel. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Amalgamated with Meisenbach, Ltd., and Hentsehel-Colo urtype, Ltd., in 1906. Directors: Carl Hentschel (Managing Director and Chairman), Harry Furniss, A. T. Clarke. Secretary: H. A. Hardcastle. Stall: Over 450. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2633 (three lines) Holborn. Telegraphic Address: "Hentschel, London." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. Mr. Carl Hen tschel is a member of the Corporation of the City of London.

HENTSCHEL-COLOURTYPE WORKS, 230 and 232, Knight's Hill, West Norwood, S.E., and 182, 183, and 184, Fleet Street, London, E.C. Established by Carl Hentschel. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Amalgamated with Carl Hentschel, Ltd., in 1906. Directors: Carl Hentschel (Managing Director and Chairman), A. T. Clarke (Managing Director). Hentschel-Colourtype is the most outstanding department of the Hentschel Ltd. concern (q.v.). Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 133 Sydenham. Telegraphic Address: "Hentswood, London." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

HENZELL OIL CO. (THE), Forth Banks, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Established in 1881 by Robert Henzell, J.P., the present principal. Formerly leased the old Mansion House in Newcastle, burnt down by fire, when firm bought and built the present works. Branches in different parts of the Kingdom. Specialities: High-grade Lubricating Oils for High Speed Engines, Dynamos, Turbines, Marine Engines, Diesel Engines, Motors, Locomotives, Air Compressors, Cylinders (High Pressure and Superheat); also Transformer and High Tension Switch Oils. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to the British Admiralty, the Egyptian State Railways, the Crown Agents for the Colonies, the Italian State Railways, &c. Telephone: No. 1343 (National), Newcastle. Telegraphic Address: " Henzell, Newcastle-on-Tyne." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England.

HEPBURN & SONS, Ltd., Law Stationers and Printers, &c., 7 and 8, Pancras Lane, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1837 by William Hepburn. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: H. F. Hepburn (Chairman and Managing Director), S. F. Hepburn. Branch: Clifton Street, London, E.C. Specialities: Law Stationery and Printing. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 4412 London Wall, London (two lines). Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

HEPTON BROTHERS, Ltd., Wholesale Mantle and Ladies' Waterproof Cloak Manufacturers, Oxford Row, Leeds. London Office: 20, St. Paul's Churchyard, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1877 by Arthur Frederic Lawrence Hepton and the late Sir Wilfred Lawrence Hepton. Joined later by Henry Leopold Lawrence Hepton. Incorporated as a private Limited Company. Directors: A. F. L. Hepton, H. L. L. Hepton, W. Hepton, W. Teale, C. Y. Wainwright, H. Proctor. Premises: Extensive and wellfitted. Staff: About 800. Specialities: " Heptonette " and " Hudorvert " (registered) Ladies' Raincoats, Coats and Costumes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 627 Central, Leeds; No. 9707 City, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: "Hepton, Leeds." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited. Mr. Arthur F. L. Hepton was co-opted as an Alderman in the City Council in 1904.

HEPWORTH, J., & SON, Ltd., Clothiers and Outfitters, Providence Works, Claypit Lane, Leeds. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Chairman and Managing Director: Norris Rhodes Hepworth. Branches: Throughout the Country. Telephones: Nos. 4031 and 4032 Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Hepworth, Leeds." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

HEPWORTH MANUFACTURING CO., Ltd. (THE), Cinematographers, 2, Denman Street, Piccadilly Circus, London, W. Factory: Hurst Grove, Walton-onThames. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1899 by Cecil M. Hepworth. Partnership formed in 1900. Cecil M. Hepworth, H. V. Lawley; dissolved in 1904, the latter retiring. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Directors: Cecil M. Hepworth (Chairman), S. Barker, and E. J. Humphery. Claim to be the leading English Film Manufacturers. Premises: Large Factory at Walton-on-Thames, with a theatre attached. Branch: Berlin, 226, Friedrickstrasse, S.W. Specialities: The " Hepwix " Cinematograph Films (Topical, Panoramic, Dramatic). Bioscopes and Arc Lamps. Inventions and Patents: The Vivaphone. The " Hepworth " Arc Lamp, the " Hepworth " Printing and Developing Machine. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 2451 Gerrard; No. 16 Walton-on-Thames. Telegraphic Addresses: " Heptoic, London "; " Hepworth, Walton-on-Thames." Bankers: London and South Western Bank, Ltd., Strand.

HEPWORTH (WILLIAM) & CO., Tanners and Leather Manufacturers, St. Ann's Leather Works, Kirkstall, Leeds. Hours of Business: Office, 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1904 by William Hepworth, the present principal. Speciality: Rolled Insoling Leather. Connection: Chiefly Home Trade (wholesale only). Telephone; No. 6 Headingley, Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Hepworth, Kirkstall." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd., . Leeds Branch. Lieut.-Col. W. Hepworth, V.D., retired in 1913 from the command of the 8th Batt. West Yorks Regiment. Clubs: Junior Army and Navy, and West Riding.

HERBERT (ALFRED), Ltd., Machine Tool Makers, Coventry. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1889 by Alfred Herbert, the present Managing Director. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Branch works and Foundry at Edgwick, Foleshill, near Coventry. Staff: 2000. Branches: London, Manchester, Lee d3, Glasgow, Newcastle, Belfast, Paris, Berlin, Zurich, Milan, Calcutta, Yokohama. Specialities: Hexagon Turret Lathes, Capstan Lathes, Automatic Turning Machines, Automatic Screw Machines, Milling Machines, Ball Bearing Drilling Machines, &c. Awards: Paris, 1900; Liege, 1905; Milan, 1906; Franco-British, 1908; Buenos Ayres, 1910. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 860 Coventry (6 lines). Telegraphic Address: " Lathe, Coventry," Codes: A B C, Lieber's, Private, Western Union.

HERBERT, KERSHAW & CO., Ltd., (Proprietors of A. Adam & Son), Manufacturers of Stamped Brassfoundry, Highgate Works, Highgate Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6, p.m. Established in 1866 by G. W. Herbert. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Managing Directors: Arthur G. Herbert and Harold R. Russell. Premises: Removed from Dean Street in 1910, and laid down new plant in order to cope with the increasing business. Factory floor space, 45,000 square feet. Staff: 400. Specialities: All kinds of stamped Brassfoundry, Sail Eyelets and Rings, Curtain Hooks, Fancy Nails, Safety-pins, &c. Patents: Numerous on their own work and on Royalties. Connection: United Kingdom (extensive), Colonial and most civilized countries. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office). Telephone: No. 511 Midland, Birmingham (two lines). Telegraphic Address: Duplex, Birmingham." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd.

HERMGES, J., Manufacturers' Agent, 11, Paternoster Square, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to • 6 p.m. Established in 1885 by W. J. Hermges, the present principal. Premises: Occupy the entire floor at Paternoster Square. Staff: Ten. Specialities: Textile Goods, Furnishing Materials, Suede Cloth. Patent: Measuring Tapes for Textile Goods. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 1453 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Hermges, London." Code: A B C. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

HERSCHELL, A., & CO., West African and General Merchants, 24, Chapel Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9.15 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1865 by Adolph Herschell and Moritz Herschell (brothers), as A. & M. Herschell. Continued by (1) Adolph Herschell alone, 1881-1897; (2) A. Herschell & Co., 1898 to 1904, partners Adolph Herschell, Arnold Herschell (son of Adolph Herschell), and Benjamin Dick; (3) Arnold Herschell and Benjamin Dick, 1905-1910. Present Principal: Arnold Herschell (since 1910). Business: Export and Import Merchants (Export chiefly). Everything except Liquor. Connection: United Kingdom. Trade with natives direct all over the West Coast of Africa. Exporters and Shippers to British Columbia and Hawaiian Islands. Telephone: No. 2269 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic and Cable Address: Herschell, Liverpool." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Scott's ,(9th Edition), Bedford McNeill, and Private. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Liverpool).

HERSKIND & CO., Steamship Owners and Brokers, Dock Office, West Hartlepool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1868 by F. Herskind. Present Principal: P. Herskind. Business: Steamship Owners and Brokers. Telephone: No. 20 West Hartlepool. Telegraphic Address: " Herskind, West Hartlepool." Codes: Scott's and Watkin's Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

HERTFORD STREET MOTOR HIRING CO., Ltd. (THE), Napier Motor Cars and Garage, 7, Hertford Street, Mayfair, London, W. Hours of Business Open night and day. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1910. Managing Director: S. Janson. Company formed to take over the hiring department of Messrs. S. F. Edge, Ltd., famous noiseless 6-cylinder Napier cars. Premises: Cover over one and. a half acres. Garage, Carrington Street and Brick Street (adjoining). Specialities: Hire of Napier Carriages; a number of these cars were hired by the Master of the Horse for His Majesty's Guests at the Coronation. Connection: World-wide tours. Telephone: No. 1045 Gerrard (four lines), London. Telegraphic Address: " Monopolize, London."

HERTZ, M., & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers and Merchants, Chepstow Street South, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1846 in Bradford by the late Martin Hertz. Partnership Successions: (1) Martin Hertz; (2) Martin Hertz, Thomas Labatt, William Martin Hertz; (3) Thomas Labatt, William Martin Hertz; (4) William Martin Hertz, Frederick Moxon Hertz. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Directors: Frederick Moxon Hertz (Governing Director), Edward Lowe, William Ewart Clucas, Charles Kukla, Gerald Hertz. Staff: 130. Business: Manufacturers and Merchants of all kinds of Cotton Goods. Connection:, All parts. Telephone: No. 2324 Central (Private Branch Exchange), Manchester. Telegraphic Address: "Martertz, Manchester." Bankers: Beckett & Co., Bradford, Yorks.

HESFORD (CHARLES M.) & CO., Agricultural Engineers, Farmers' Implement and Machinery Dealers, Moorgate, Ormskirk; and Exchange Buildings, Wigan. Hours of Business: Office, 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Wednesdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1902. Present Principal: Charles M. Hesford. Premises: Cover about 700 square yards. Staff: Seven. Specialities: Farmers' Requisites. Cycles and Hardware. Connection: Local. Telephone: No. 64 Ormskirk. "S, Telegraphic Address: " Hesford, Ormskirk." Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd. (Lancaster).

HESKETH, T. M., & SONS, Ltd., Cotton Spinners, New Mills, Astley Bridge, Bolton; Albert Mill, Horwich; and Canal Mill, Chorley. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1853 by John Stones and T. M. Hesketh. Continued by (1) John Stones & Co., (2) T. M. Hesketh & Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: George Hesketh, Green Ainsworth, Felix Cottrill, George Hesketh (jun.), and William Hesketh. Premises: Contain 208654 Mule and Ring Spindles. Business: Cotton Spinners. Telephone: No. 1163 Bolton. Telegraphic Address: " Hesketh, Bolton." Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd.

HESLOP (R. OLIVER) & SON, Iron and Steel Merchants and Agents, Princes Buildings, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1870 by Richard Oliver Heslop. Present Principals: Richard Oliver Heslop, J.P., and Cuthbert Harrison Heslop (since 1911). Specialities: Iron and Steel, Brass, Copper and Iron _Tubes; Ingot Tin, &c. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 1463 Central, Newcastle. Telegraphic Address: "Heslop, Newcastle-on-Tyne." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited, Quayside Branch, Newcastle. Mr. R. 0. Heslop is M.A., F.S.A., a Justice of the Peace for the City and County, Consul for the Netherlands, Governor of the Royal Grammar School, a Vice-President of Newcastle Society of Antiquaries, of Literary and Philosophical Society, and of the Surtees Society. He is also on the Public Library and Art Gallery Committees of the City.

HESSE & SAVORY, Marine, Motor and General Engineers, Teddington Motor Car and Launch Works, Twickenham Road, Teddington, Middlesex. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1890 by Simpson, Strickland & Co. Present Principal: Gerald Savory, since 1913. Premises: Cover about one and one quarter acres. Staff: Forty. Business: Manufacture of Hesse Patent Reversing Gear for Motor Boats, General Engineering Work. Patent: Hesse Marine Re-versing Gear. Connection: United Kingdom Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: .No. 2494: Kingston. Telegraphic Address: ." Kingdon, Teddington. Code: Western Union. Bankers: London and Provincial Bank, Ltd., Broad Street, Teddington.

HETHERINGTON (JOHN) & SONS, Ltd., Textile Machinists and Engineers' Heavy Machine Tool Makers, Vulcan, Phoenix, and Ancoats Works, Manchester. Established in 1836 by John Hetherington. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Premises: Cover between sixteen and seventeen acres. Stall: 4,200. Branch: Boston, Mass., U.S.A. Specialities: Engineering Machine Tools and Textile Machinery. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 8065-6-7-8-9 Manchester. Telegraphic Address: "Heth, Manchester."

HEWETSON (HENRY) & CO., Linen, Sail- Cloth and Sail Twine, Ropes, &c., • 27, Watling Street, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays close at 1 p.m. Established over 150 years ago by Henry Hewetson. Present Principals: Stanley Clark, Charles Spurgeon Moore and Philip Passmore Shapland. Claim to be the oldest established Canvas house in London. During the present partnership the business has been largely extended, and its connection is now worldwide. Branches: Dundee, Hull, Melbourne, Dunedin. Agencies: Numerous. Special Representatives in Australia and New Zealand. Specialities: Sailcloth and Canvas of every description. Proofed Canvas, Flax, Hemp and Jute Goods. Connection United Kingdom, Colonial and Foreign. Telephones: Nos. 898 & 899 City, London. Telegraphic Address: " Initiate, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

HEWIT, J., & SONS, Tanners and Dyers of Calf, Goat, Sheep' and Pig Skins, City Tan Works, Edinburgh. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established over ninety years ago. Present Principal: George Lawson, who succeeded to the business twenty-five years ago. Premises: Extensive. Staff Variable. Branch: 69, Elm Bank Gardens, Barnes, S.W. Business: All Leathers for Bookbinding, Purse, Belt-making and Upholstering, &c. Award: Exhibition Medal in 1886. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephones: No. 822 Edinburgh; No. 1643 Richmond, London. Telegraphic Address: " Hewit, Edinburgh." Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

HEWLETT, C. J., & SON, Ltd., Wholesale and Export Druggists and Manufacturing Chemists, 35-42, Charlotte Street, Great Eastern Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m, Established in 1832 by the late Chas. J. Hewlett, Ph.C., succeeded by John Cooke Hewlett, F.C.S. (son of the founder). Managing Director: E. J. Millard, F. C. S. F.R.M. S., Pharmaceutical Chemist. Staff: About 100. Travellers in United Kingdom, ten; also in Australia, South Africa, India, Straits Settlements, and in the East. Agencies in almost every country. Specialities: Standardised Drugs, such as Tinctures. Have invented numerous Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Specialities. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government, London County Council, Metropolitan Asylums Board, and hospitals. Telephones: No. 1172 London Wall; No. 5271 Central. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Pepsine, London."

HEYDT (E. von der) & CO., Foreign Bankers, 6, Austin Friars, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 ft.M. to 5.30 p,m. Established in 1910 by Baron von der Heydt. Present Principals: Baron von der Heydt and Waldemar von Boettinger (since 1912). Baron von der Heydt came over to London in 1910, being a member of the old-established .firm of von der HeydtKersten and Mine, of Elberfeld, founded in 1754. Premises: Occupy eight rooms. Staff: Eighteen.' Agencies: von dor Heydt-Kersten & Sohne, Elberfeld; von der Heydt & Co., Berlin. Business: Foreign Bankers, usual Banking Transactions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: No. 6925 London Wall; No. 8329 Bank, London. Telegraphic Address: " Inaccessus, London.' Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and Lieber's, Western Union and Hartfield's Wall Street. Bankers: Bank of England, London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd., and National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. The partners are members of the London Chamber of Commerce, and are interested in Political Economy, Art and Literature. Clubs: Royal Automobile, German Athenaeum, St. James'.

HEYN, G., & SON, Steamship Owners, Managers Ulster Steamship Co., Ltd. (" Head Line "), 1, 2 and 3, y Ulster Chambers, Belfast. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1830 by Gustavus Heyn. Present Principals: James A. M. Heyn and Frederick L. Heyn, J.P. (sons). Are now nearly a century in close connection with all developments of . the shipping trade of Belfast. Premises: Head Office at Ulster Chambers; Branch Office, York Dock; Stores and Workshops, Garynoyle Street and Whitla Street. Agencies: In the United Kingdom, United States, Canada, and Russian Ports. Business: Run Lines of Steamers (" Head Line ") from the United States, Canada and the Baltic Ports, Belfast and Dublin. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 2097 (three lines), Private Telephone Exchange, Belfast. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Heyn, Belfast." Codes: Watkins, Scott's, and Private. Bankers: Belfast Banking Co., Ltd. Mr. J. A. Heyn is Consul for Russia and Belgium. Mr. F. Heyn is Consul for Spain, Turkey and Greece. He is a Justice of the Peace and has been President of the Belfast Chamber of Commerce; is a Harbour Cw.nmissioner. Clubs: Ulster, Union, &c.; Royal Ulster Yacht, Royal North of Ireland Yacht, Royal Co. Down Golf, Royal Belfast Golf, &c. Pastimes: Golf and Yachting.

HEYWOOD (ABEL) & SON, Wholesale Newsagents, Booksellers, Stationers, Printers, &c., 56 and 58, Oldham Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.15 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Newspaper Department never closed except Saturday noon to Sunday evening. Established in 1832 by Abel Heywood. In 1864 Abel Heywood (jun.), was admitted into partnership, and G. Basil Heywood in 1899. Present Principals: Abel Heywood and G. B. Heywood. Branches: Oldham, Stockport, Ashton, Preston, Burnley, Liverpool. Specialities: The Supply of Newspapers (wholesale). Large business also as Wholesale Booksellers, Stationers, and Printers. One of the best-known firms in the trade. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1009 and 1010 City, Manchester; No. 168 Oldham; No. 353 Ashton; No. 196 Preston; No. 409 Burnley; No. 471 Stockport. Telegraphic Address: " Abel Heywood, Manchester."

HEYWOOD, JOHN, Ltd., Publishers, Wholesale Stationers, Booksellers, Paper Merchants, Newsagents, Letterpress and Lithographic Printers, Deansgate and Ridgefield, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1842 by John Heywood. Incorporated as a Limited Company, 30th August, 1905. Managing Director: F. Rickitt. Directors: L. E. Walker, A. C. Wilson, John Heywood, F. K. Heywood. Premises: Very extensive buildings equipped with the latest and best machinery and most modern labour-saving appliances. Staff: 1,500. Branch: 20-22, St. Bride Street, London, E.C. Business: Are Wholesale Newsagents on a very large scale; Scholastic, Educational, and General Booksellers; Stationers, Publishers, Paper Merchants, and General and Lithographic Printers. Have in addition an important factory, where Church and School Furniture is manufactured. Have patented several inventions, such as improved Desks for Schools, movable Partitions for Schools, &c. Telephones: No. 2940 Manchester (five lines); No. 5956 Holborn, London. Telegraphic Addresses: "Books, Manchester "; Handworked, Fleet, London."

HIATT & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Handcuffs, Dog-collars, Police Lanterns, &c., Masshouse Lane, Birmingham. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1780. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Specialities: Handcuffs, Police Lanterns, Police Staves, Dog-collars, Metal Badges of every description, &c. Award: London, 1862. Telephone: No. 3365 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Hiatt, Masshouse Lane, Birmingham."

HIBERNIAN BANK, Ltd. (THE). Head Office: College Green, Dublin. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1825; Subscribed Capita], £2,000,000 in 100,000 Shares of £20 each; Paid-up Capital, £500,000; Reserve Fund, £100,000. Directors: John Murphy (Chairman), John Louis Scallan, Martin Francis Mahony, J.P., Alderman William Francis Cotton, J.P., D.L., M.P., Thomas Levins Moore, J.P., Edward Kenrick Bunbury Tighe, D.L., and Alfred T. Collins (General Manager). Secretary: James M. Greer. Branches: City, College Green, Sackville Street, Thomas Street, Dorset Street, Camden Street, Smithfield (Cattle Market, Thursdays, 9 a.m. to 12 noon); Country, Abbeyleix, Ardee, Armagh, Athy, Ballaghaderin, Ballybofey, Ballymote, Birr, Bray, Castlepollard, Cavan, Cookstown, Cootehill, Cork, Drogheda, Dundalk, Edenderry, Fintona, Granard, Kells, Kildare, Kilkenny, Kiltimagh, Kingscourt, Letterkenny, Londonderry, Loughrea, Mohill, Monaghan, Monasterevan, Mullingar, Naas, Navan, Newbridge, Oldcastle, Portumna, Rathfriland, Sligo, Strabane, Swinford, Thomastown, .Tubbercurry, Tullamore, Wicklow. Sub-Branches: Thirty-three. London Agents: Lloyds Bank Limited. Business: All Banking transactions.

HICK, HARGREAVES & CO., Ltd., Engineers, Millwrights, Diesel Oil Engine Manufacturers, &c., Soho Iron Works, Crook Street, Bolton. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Offices, 8.45 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established in 1832 by Benjamin Hick. Continued as (1) Benjamin Hick & Sons, 1832 to 1867; (2) Hick, Hargreaves & Co., 1867 to 1892. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Directors: Frank Hargreaves (Managing Director), Percy Hargreaves, J. G. Hudson, H. A. Richardson and C. Robson. Secretary: J. M. Halson. Premises: Works cover about seven and a half acres. Equipped with all up-to-date appliances. Staff: About 1000. Specialities: Corliss and Drop Valve Engines up to 10,000 I.H.P.; Diesel Oil Engines, Mill Gearing, Superheaters, and General Engineering, Connection: World-wide. Telephones: Nos. 1373 and 1374 Bolton. Telegraphic Address: " Hick, Bolton." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), A 1, Western Union. Lieber's, and Ager's Telegraphic Primer. Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. Mr. John Hick was member of Parliament from 1868 to 1880.

HICK (RICHARD) & SON, Wine Merchants, 22, Park Row, and 65, Basinghall Street, Leeds. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1802 by Robert Hick (d. 1834). Partnership Successions: (1) Thomas Hick and Richard Hick (sons),. 1834-1857; (2) Richard Hick, 1857-1870; (3) Richard Hick and Edward Hick, 1870-1875, as Richard Hick & Son; (4) Edward Hick alone. Richard Hick (father) retired 1875. Present Principal: Edward Hick. One of the oldest houses in the trade. Specialities: All kinds of Old Bottled Wines and Brandies. Noted for old Vintage Ports and thoroughly matured Spirits. Connection: Extensive. Telephone: No. 1082 (National) Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Hick, Park Row, Leeds." Bankers: Beckett & Co. (Old Bank, Leeds),

HICKMAN, WILLIAM EDWARD, New Woollen and Cotton Rag and Paper Stock Merchant, Grace Street, Leeds. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1872 by William Edward Hickman, the present principal. Premises: Grace Street building is situated within three minutes of all stations. Staff: About 300. Branches: Whitehall Road, Neville Street, Somers Street, and Wellington Road, Leeds. Specialities: Woollen Mills Supplies, Paper Mills Supplies, Newspaper Over-issues and Paper Stocks. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone No. 1400 Central, Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Hickman, Leeds." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Beckett & Co. (Leeds). Mr. Hickman was elected a Poor Law Guardian in 1913. He is a well known breeder of Hackney Horses. Club: Leeds and County Conservative.

HICKS, JAMES J., Scientific Instrument Manufacturers, 8, 9 and 10, Hatton Garden, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1861 by James J. Hicks. Incorporated with Stanley & Co., Ltd., in 1911. Staff: About 150. Specialities: Standard Meteorological Instruments. Make a special feature of Aneroid Barometers and Clinical Thermometers. Patents: About thirty. Awards: Twenty-five Gold. Medals and Grand Prizes. Royal Warrants: Special appointment to H.M. Government. Telephone: No. 6042 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Lenticular, London."

HICKSON & CO., Rubber Heel and Boot Polish Manufacturer, West Row, Stockton-on-Tees. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1902 by G. H. Hickson and Robert Lee, the present principals. Premises: New enlarged building in 1907. Specialities: " Hixopad" patent Embedded Plate Revolving Rubber Heels. Connection: British Isl'es, South Africa, Italy, Spain, Switzerland, New Zealand, &c. Telephone: No. 435 Stockton. Telegraphic Address: " Hickson & Co., Stockton-on-Tees."

HIELD, (THOMAS) & SONS, Exporter of Carpet Yams, Dewsbury. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1881 by Thomas Hield. Present Principals: Thomas Hield, William Donald Hield and Philip Hield since 1912. Business: Exporters of Carpet Yarns. Connection: Foreign and United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 218 Dewsbury. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

HIEPE & MILLER, Analytical and Consulting Chemists, Experts in connection with the Fermentation Industries, Kilverts Buildings, Withy Grove, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1888 by the late Dr. W. L. Hiepe, F.I.C.; joined by Dr. A. K. Miller in 1895. Present Principal: Dr. A. K. Miller, F.I.C. Business: Analytical and Consulting Chemists. Experts in connection with Brewing and the Fermentation Industries. Telephone: No. 3960 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address " Maltose, Manchester," Dr. A. K. Miller is a Fellow of the Institute of Chemistry of Great Britain and Ireland, a Fellow of the Chemical Society, member of the Institute of Brewing, of the Society of Public Analysts, and the Society of Chemical Industry, &c.

HIGGIN, LLOYD & CO., Gum and Starch Makers, and Manufacturing Chemists, Little Peter Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1840 by Nathaniel Lloyd. Continued by James Higgin, Abraham Evans Lloyd, and Joseph Wood. Present Principal: James Bradshaw Lloyd. Premises: Well equipped Works. Specialities: Gums and Starches for Calico Printers, Dyers, and allied Trades; Chemicals; special Gums for Wholesale Stationers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1185 (City), Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Soluble, Manchester." Bankers: Union Bank of Manchester, Ltd.

HIGGINS, EAGLE & CO., Ltd., Lace Warehousemen (Wholesale), 4 and 6, Cannon Street; 3, Distaff Lane; and 17 and 26, Old Change, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.45 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established about 1845 as Higgins, Eagle & Hutchinson. In November, 1890, the business was taken over by the present directors, Edward Clark, Charles Ash Body, and Alfred Longdale Temple, trading as Higgins, Eagle & Co. Prior to this each member of the present co-partnership was for many years associated with the firm. Although now converted into a Limited Company, there is no outside issue of shares. Premises: Extensive warehouses fronting Cannon Street, and extending from 3, Distaff Lane to 26, Old Change. Branches: Birmingham, Manchester, Leeds, Liverpool, Edinburgh, Glasgow; also at Melbourne (Australia) and Wellington (N.Z.). Stag: Over 300 persons. Specialities: Real Lace, Cotton Lace, Silk Lace, Nets, Curtains, Swiss Embroideries, Chiffons, Tulles, Ribbons, Handkerchiefs, Blouses, Linen Goods, Underclothing, Frillings, Flowers, Straws, Skirts. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 6630 Central; No. 1609 London Wall (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Lydford, London."

HIGGS & HILL, Ltd., Builders and Contractors, Crown Works, South Lambeth Road, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12.30 p.m. Established in 1845 by William Higgs (d.). Amalgamated in 1874 with the old-established firm of Hill & Sons, Islington. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: William Higgs, Joseph Hill (Managing Directors), E. J. Hill, R. P. Higgs, W. M. Hill. Premises: Original firm started at Bayswater. Removed to Palace Wharf, Stangate, in 1852, and to the present extensive works in 1866. Covering three and a half acres. Equipped throughout with modern machinery. Business: General Builders and. Contractors. Specialize in Hospital Furniture Fittings, Sanitation and periodical painting. Also Garden Stone Work. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office), the London County Council, and have also executed large contracts for Government Departments. Telephones: No. 2340 Brixton (three lines); No. 2067 Victoria, London. Telegraphic Address: " Higadillo, London."

HIGHAM (CHARLES F.), Ltd., Efficient Advertising Service, 2 & 3, Norfolk Street, Strand, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1909 by Charles Frederick Higham. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Director: C. F. Higham (Chairman). Staff: Twelve. Branch: Arcade Buildings, Liverpool. Specialities: " Signed " Advertisements. Made the famous appeal to " The Party Whips," by the Chairman for better political announcements. Strictly Service " Agency. Telephone: No. 2741 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Address: " Highamads, London."

HIGHAM (JOSEPH), Ltd., Manufacturers of Brass and Wood Wind Instruments, Drums and all appurtenances, 127, Great Ducie Street, Strangeways, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1842 by Joseph Higham. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: Richard Brown (Chairman), James W. Brown, T. C. Camden. Secretary and Manager: T. C. Camden. Pioneers of the Brass Band Contest movement in Great Britain. Premises: Factory covers 5000 square feet. Designed and erected for the manufacture of Higham Instruments. Completely equipped with the latest and most up-to-date machinery and tools electrically driven. Staff: Fifty. Agencies: Wellington (N.Z.), Brisbane, Melbourne, Calcutta, Toronto, St. Johns (Newfoundland), Cincinnati (United States). Specialities: High Grade Brass and Wood Instruments, Drums and all percussion Instruments, Tubular Bells, &c., for Brass and Military .ands and Orchestras (manufactured throughout). Silver and Gold Platers of Brass Instruments. Patentees and Inventors of " Clear Bore Valves " as applied to Brass Musical Instruments, used by princi pal Soloists and Best Brass Bands. Awards: Highest, London, 1862; Dublin, 1865; Chicago, 1893; Manchester, 1897; Gold Medal, St. Louis, United States, 1904; only times exhibited. Connection: United Kingdom. Colonial and United States. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephone: No. 3639 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Trombone, Man chester."

HIGHLAND DISTILLERIES CO., Ltd., Distillers, 106, West Nile Street, Glasgow. Established in 1887. Original Directors: IV. A. Robertson (Chairman), James Ford, J. W. Greenlees, J. C. R. Marshall, William Grant, Robert Dick. Present Directors: James Robertson (Chairman), Thomas W. Dewar, A. C. Robertson, A. C. Marshall, James Boyne (Secretary). Distilleries: Bunnahabhain, Islay; Glenrothes, Glenlivet; Tamdhu, Glenlivet; Glenglassaugh, Banffshire. Speciality: Fine Highland Pot Still Malt Whisky. Supply the Wholesale Trade only. Telephone: No. 3299 Douglas. Telegraphic Address: "Bunnah, Glasgow." Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd. Con trolling Agents: Robertson & Baxter, Ltd., Glasgow.

HIGINBOTHAM (JAMES) & SONS, Manufacturers of Hats, Mount Street, Hyde, and 18, Bute Street, Luton. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1871 by James Higinbotham. Present Principals Charles Higinbotham and James Higinbotham (sons). Specialities: All kinds of Medium class Felt Hats and Straw Hats for Men, Women and Children. Connection: Home and Export. Telephone: No. 19 Hyde. Telegraphic Address: " Higinbothams," Hyde and Luton. Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank, Ltd. .(Hyde).

HILDESHEIMER (ALBERT) & SON, Artistic Colour Printers and Fine Art Publishers, 50, Moor Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established by Albert Hildesheimer in Manchester, 1870. Present Principals: Albert Hildesheimer and Henry Hildesheimer (son). Branch Office: Sun Buildings, Park Row, Leeds. Specialities: Artistic Colour Printing for Advertisements. Leading features are Poster Printing, Showcards, Cut-out Plastic Figures, and Calendars. Have introduced many artistic novelties, Connection United Kingdom (chiefly) and Colonial. Telephone: No. 11655 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Artefacto, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

HILDESHEIMER, S., & CO., Ltd., Fine Art Publishers, Moulding Manufacturers, Frame Makers, Christmas and Post Card Publishers, Chromo House, 96, Clerkenwell Road, E.C., and 55, 56, St. John's Square, London, E.C., and Miller Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1870 by S. Hildesheimer in Manchester. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1887. Directors: Harry Kahn (Chairman), E. Newgass, Col. F. Cooper-Turner, E. Hopkins, C. Shaw, C. H. Searle, L. Sonn (Managing Director). Staff s About 200 in London and Manchester. Specialities: Photogravure Reproductions of pictures by leading artists; Pictorial Postcards, &c. Awards Silver Medals, Manchester, 1880; Calcutta, 1883-4; London, 1904. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones; No. 315 Holborn; No. 2831 Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Chromo," London and Manchester. Code: A B C (5th Edition).

HILES, H. S., & CO., Paint, Oil, Colour, and Varnish Merchants, 75, Bridge Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1898 by Mrs. Zillah Hiles, Urban Leach Glover, and James Lowe (retired 1913). In 1906 Harry Sidney Hiles succeeded his mother (Mrs. Zillah Hiles). Present Principals: Harry Sidney Hiles and Urban Leach Glover. Staff: Twelve. Specialities: In all Decorators', Coach Builders', and Scenic Artists' Colours. Connection: North of England, Midlands, and North Wales. Telephone: No. 4385 Central, Manchester.

HILEX IRON CO., Iron and Steel Merchants, King Edward Street, Hull. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1903 by C. A. Hill, the present principal Specialities: Pig Iron Brands. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Import and Export. Telephone: No. 967 Hull. Telegraphic Address: " Ferrum, Hull." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Hull).

HILL BROTHERS, White and Red Bricks, Drain Tiles, Pantiles, Flat Tiles Manufacturers; and Builders and Builders' Merchants, Misterton, Gainsborough; and at Gringley-on-the-Hill, Gainsborough. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12.30 p.m. Established in 1877 by Thomas Hill and James Hill. Present Principals: Thomas Hill and Robert James Hill. Premises: Works cover two acres, and surrounding Clay Pits thirty acres. Specialities: White Pressed Facing Bricks, Red Sand Stock Facings. Telephone: No. 7 Gainsborough. Telegraphic Address: " Hills, Misterton." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (late Lincoln and Lindsey Banking Co., Ltd.). Mr. Thomas Hill is Chairman of Shipley & Co., Ltd., Ironmongers, Gainsborough, and ViceChairman of the Misterton and West Stockwith Gas Co., Ltd.; also Vice Chairman of the Misterton Council Schools. Mr. R. J. Hill is the Parish Churchwarden; also Director of the Misterton and West Stockwith Gas Co., Ltd.

HILL, C. A., & CO., Iron and Steel Merchants, King Edward Street; Stores: St. James Street, Hull. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1892 by C. A. Hill, the present principal. Business: Iron and Steel Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Telephone: No. 967 Hull. Telegraphic Address: " Ferrum, Hull." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Hull).

HILL, CRAVEN & HAY, Manufacturers of Cloths for Rubber Proofing and Shower Proofing for Ladies' and Gentlemen's Waterproof Garments, Springfield Mills, Springmill Street; and Apsley Mills, Richmond Road, Bradford. Hours of Business: Fifty-five hours weekly. Established in 1887 by David Craven (d. 1890) and Fredk. Wm. Hill under the style of David Craven & Co. Partnership Successions: (1) Fredk. Wm. Hill and Joseph Pearson Craven, joined 1892; title of business same. Purchased 1902 the Bradford business of Tootal Broadhurst, Lee Co., Ltd. (2) Henry Hay (manager of Tootal Broadhurst, Lee Co., Ltd.) joined; title changed to Hill, Craven & Hay. Premises: Extensive. In 1905 Springfield Mills acquired; in 1906 machinery and business of C. H. Ellis & Co., of Castlefield Mills, Bingley, purchased; and in 1907 Apsley Mills were taken; in January, 1910, Apsley Mills were bought from the executors of John Hill & Sons; March 31, 1910, purchased the old-established Cotton business of William Rocca & Co., 35, Long Millgate, Manchester. Specialities: Cloths for Rubber Proofing and Shower Proofing. Probably the largest manufacturers in the trade. Makers of Serges, Sicilians, and Cloths for Costume and Dress Purposes. Connection: United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, Germany, Austria, France, Italy, Belgium. Telephone: No. 291 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Paramatta, Bradford." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Bradford).

HILL, J. C., & CO., Ltd., Wire Rolling and Drawing, Oakfields, Cwmbran, Mon. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1857. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company. Managing Director: Edwin H. Crawshay. Specialities: Brand Acorn Wire of all kinds, Wire Nails, and Wire Staples. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 10 Cwmbran. Telegraphic Address: " Acorn, Cwmbran." Bankers . Lloyds Bank Limited.

HILL, J. & P., Engineers, Ordnance Works, Sheffield, and Caxton House, Westminster, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1895 by William Hill (d. 1902). Present Principals: Joseph A. Hill and Alfred P. Hill, sons (since 1902). Specialities: Machine Tools, General and Special for Highspeed Work. " Galloway-Hill' Patent Boiler Furnace, " Standard " Patent Spark Arrester. Patents: In naval and marine Engineering Work, Boiler Makers' Plant. Steam Generator and Fuel Economiser. Awards: Buenos Aires Exhibition, 1910; Ghent International Exhibition, 1913. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 4568 Sheffield (two lines); No. 6189 Victoria., London. Telegraphic Addresses: "Ordnance, Sheffield "; " Fighter, London."

HILL (RICHARD) & CO. (1899) Ltd., Wire Manufacturers, Rollers of Wire Rods, Bars, Strip and Hoops, Marsh and Newport Wire and Rolling Mills, Middlesbrough, Yorks. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1866 by Richard Hill. Continued by Richard Hill & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: Frederick W. Manson (Chairman), Frederick Bowes (General Manager), and Sir H. Lincoln Tangye, Bart. Secretary: Edward Miller. Premises: Cover about eight acres. Speciality: Gun Wire as supplied to Home and Foreign Governments. Awards: Medals, London and Brussels Exhibitions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government; also to the Japanese, Chinese, Italian, Turkish and other Governments. Telephone: No. 81 Middlesbro'. Telegraphic Address: " Hills, Middlebro." Coder A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Sir H. Lincoln Tangye, Bart., is Vice-Chairman of Tangye's, Ltd., Birmingham.

HILL (SAMUEL) & SONS, Printers (Letterpress and Lithographic), 10, College Lane, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1879 by Samuel Hill (d.). Present Principals: Mary Hill, Charles M. Hill and Henry 0. Hill. Premises: Doubled in 1909 and business removed twice. Building covers four floors. Staff: Ninety. Specialities: In Letterpress and Lithographic Printing. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: Nos. 3136 and 3137 Royal, Liverpool. Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd.

HILL (THOS. A.) & CO., Ltd., Hosiery and Underwear Manufacturer, Russell Street, and Newdigate Street, Nottingham. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1853 by Messrs. Miller, Butler & Co. Partnership Successions: (1) In 1858, R. Earwaker & Co., at Castle Gate and Whitehall's Factory; (2) in 1883, R. Steele and T. A. Hill; (3) Thos. A. Hill, since 1891. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1912. Directors: Thomas A. Hill and Charles H. Hill. Secretary: W. P. Bennett. Specialities: All kinds of Underwear for Men, Women, and Children, especially Fine Goods suitable for Tropical climates. Telephone: No. 97 Nottingham. Telegraphic Address: " Fabric, Nottingham." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. Mr. Thos. A. Hill is a member of the Executive Council of the Association of Chambers of Commerce of the United Kingdom, and was Chairman of the Nottingham Chamber of Commerce in 1906 and 1907.

HILL (WALTER) & CO., Ltd., Advertising Agents and Contractors, 67, 69, and 71, Southampton Row, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1886 by Walter Hill. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1888; Walter Hill, Chairman and Managing Director. Connection: United Kingdom. Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 2157 Gerrard: No. 341 City. Telegraphic Address: " Tuxedo, Cent, London." Mr. Walter Hill is Chairman and Managing Director of a large number of kindred concerns.

HILL (WILLIAM) & CO., Sewing Silk Manufacturers, Wellington Mills, Leek, Staffs. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1861 by Silas Gibson, jun. (d. 1890). Taken over in 1890 by William Hill (d. 1906). Previously Manager for thirty years. Present Principal: Benjamin Hill (since 1904). Has had thirty-two years' experience with the firm. Branches: London, 9 and 10, ,Foster Lane, Cheapside, E.G.; Leeds, 13, Park Place. Specialities: Tailors' Buttonhole Silk Twists, Machine Silks and Hand Sewing Silks; also Rich Machine Sewing Silks and Mercerised Machine Twists, Corset Silks, Hand-made Machine Silks for the Boot and Shoe Trades. Registered Trade Marks: " Star," " Exchange," and " Aim High " Brands. Awards: Hon. Mention, London, 1862; Prize Medals, London, 1873; Leeds, 1875; Paris, 1878; Melbourne, 1881 and 1888. Connection: Home and Colonial Markets. Telegraphic Address: " Star, Leek." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.

HILL (WILLIAM E.) & SONS, Violin and Bow Makers and Dealers, 140, New Bond Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established as William E. Hill & Sons in 1880. (The late William E. Hill commenced working as a violin maker in 1833. The family have been violin makers for at least five generations. Present Principals: Arthur Frederick Hill, Alfred Ebsworth Hill, and William Henry Hill. Premises: Offices, Showrooms, &c., at above address, New Bond Street; Workshops, Hanwell, Middlesex. Business: Dealing in the Instruments of celebrated old makers; the repairing of old Instruments; the making of new Instruments, Bows, Cases, and all Accessories. Awards: Highest at Exhibitions in London and on the Continent. Patents: Several relating to Accessories of the Violin and 'Cello; also improved Violin Cases, aiming at lightness combined with strength. Connection: United Kingdom, European, American, Colonial. Royal Warrants: To H.M. The King, and to His late Majesty King Edward, H.M. the King of Italy, H.M. The Queen of Holland, H.M. the ex-King of Portugal. Telephone: No. 3225 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Stradivari, London." Bankers: Bank of England (Western Branch). The partners in the firm are recognised experts in all cases concerning authenticity of old violins, both in England and elsewhere.

HILL, WM., & SON, Organ Builders, York Road Organ Works, Islington, London, N. Established 1755. In succession the following were principals: John Snetzler, Thos. Elliot, Wm. Hill, Thos. Hill. Present Partners: A. G. Hill and W. Hill. The firm, which is the oldest in the trade, have built organs for many of the principal cathedrals in the Kingdom and the Colonies, including the great organ of Westminster Abbey. Specialities: Pneumatic and Electric Actions. A special type of Hydraulic Engines for blowing organs. Branches: Manchester, Cambridge, and Edinburgh. Connection,: United Kingdom and all British Colonies. Royal Warrant Holders to His Majesty King George, also to His late Majesty King Edward. The firm have held Royal Warrants for nearly a century. Telephone: No. 1034 North. Telegraphic Address: "Bassoonist, London." Cable: A B C Code (5th Edition).

HILLABYS, Ltd., Liquorice Refiners and Pontefract Liquorice Cake Makers, Lion Works, Pontefract. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1822 by the late Thomas Monkman (d. about 1845). Widow married John Hillaby who developed the business and first introduced machinery into the same. Succeeded by sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Director: Ernest Hillaby. Chairman: Arthur Hillaby. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Claim to be the largest manufacturers in the world. Staff: 150 to 200. Specialities: Pontefract Cakes and Liquorice Wafers, &c. Trade Mark: A Lion. Connection: United Kingdom, Continental, Colonial, American. Telephone: No. 17 Pontefract. Telegraphic Address: "Lion, Pontefract." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

HILLFOOT FORGING CO., Ltd. (THE), Slack Steel Works, Penistone Road, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: C. R. Hemingway (Chairman) and F. T. Rollin. Staff: About fourteen, and workmen. Specialities: All kinds of Forging for Engineers. Crank Axles, Piston Rods, &c. Connection: United Kingdom. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty), Supply Steel to Lloyd's and Board of Trade Tests. Telephone: No. 57 Owlerton, Sheffield. Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. (Sheffield).

HILLS, MENKE & CO., General Merchants, 154, Great Charles Street, Birming ham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1878 by W. G. Hills (d. 1903) and C. Th. Menke. Present Principal: C. Th. Menke. Branches: London, Manchester, Bradford, Hamburg, Germany, Batavia, Java. Staff: Fifty. Business: Exportation of all kinds of Merchandise to the Continent and the East. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 7203 Central (three lines), Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Euphrates, Birmingham." Bankers: Bank of England (Birmingham Branch); London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Temple Row, Birmingham).

HILLS & UNDERWOOD, Vinegar Brewers, Distillers, Wine and Spirit Merchants.— See BURNETT (ROBERT), & CO., Ltd.

HILLS' DRY DOCKS AND ENGINEERING CO., Ltd., East and West Bute Dockyards, Cardiff. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. (Office). Established to acquire and develop the business of Charles Hill & Sons, founded 1857, builders of Steam and Sailing Ships at East and West Bute Dockyards. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1882. Directors: Charles Gathorne Hill (Chairman), William Aiming (Deputy-Chairman), W. C. F. Bacon, W. R. Corfield, Thomas Hoskins Gore, Eustace T. Hill, Hilary Blondel Marquand, Charles Ellah Stallybrass, T. Allan Johnson, J.P. (Managing Director). Secretary: John Rees (Chartered Secretary). Premises: Two large Dry Docks over 400 ft. long in East Bute Dock; ono Dry Dock, 235 ft. long in West Bute Dock; Engine Works, Iron Foundry and Brass Foundry fully equipped with thoroughly modern machinery and cranes. Dry Docks, Works, and Vessels under repair lighted by electricity. Stall: Office, &c., fifty; Workmen average 350. Business: Engineers, Ship Repairers, Boilermakers, Blacksmiths, Coppersmiths, Plumbers, Joiners, Patternmakers, Brass Founders, Ironfounders, Electricians, Riggers, &c. Telephone: No. 2844 (two lines) East Dock. Telegraphic Address: " Euclid, Cardiff." Bunkers: London City and Midland Bank.

HILLSBOROUGH LINEN CO., Ltd., Manufacturers, 3, Bedford Street, Belfast. Factory: Hillsborough, Co. Down. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1871. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Director and Chairman: J. Theodore Richardson, D.L. Speciality: Huckabacks. Telephones: Nos. 3694 and 3695 Belfast; No. 2 Hillsborough. Cable Address:" Huckaback, Belfast." Code: Lieber's. Bankers: Northern Banking Co., Ltd.

HIMLEY FIRE & RED BRICK CO., Ltd. (THE), Fire Brick and Red Brick Manufacturers, near Dudley. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1850 by R. L. Chance (sen.). Continued by (1) R. L. Chance, jun.; (2) A. L. Chance. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Chairman: A. L. Chance, J.P. Managing Directar: G. R. L. Chance. Premises: Cover twenty-five acres. Staff: About 130. Specialities; Fire Bricks of all descriptions, Steel Ladle Bricks and Gratebacks. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone; No. 58 Brierley Hill. Telegraphic Address: " Himley, Kingswinford." Mr. A. L. Chance is a Justice of the Peace for Warwickshire. He was High Sheriff in 1903.

HINCHCLIFFE & CO., Manufacturers of Dress Goods, Casement and Upholstery Cloths, 26, Canal Road, Bradford. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1901 by J. H. Hincheliffe and E. H. Gates as Hinchcliffe & Gates. Partnership dissolved 1905, E. H. Gates retired. Title changed to Hinchcliffe & Co. Present Principal: John Henry Hinchcliffe. Premises: Mill, Thompson's Shed, Thornton Road, Bradford. Staff: 112. Specialities: Dress Goods, all classes, Printed, Woven, and Figured Mohair Casement Cloths suitable for Curtains, Long Curtains, Hangings and. artistic Draperies. Connection: United Kingdom, Australia. Canada, United States, Continent. Telephones: Nos. 3070 and 3071 Bradford, Telegraphic Address: " Apropos, Bradford." Bankers: Bradford District Bank, Ltd. (Commercial Branch, Bradford).

HIND, A., & SONS, Manufacturers of Silk and Mixed Fabrics, City Shed, Wyke, Bradford. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.15 p.m. Established in 1881 by Adam Hind (retired 1894), Fred Hind, and Arthur Hind (retired 1891). Present Principal: Fred Hind, J.P. Premises: Constructed new Works in 1899 fitted with electric light thoroughout. Extensive area; floorage, about two acres. Staff: About 150. London Office: 8 and 9, Friday Street, E.C. Specialities: Plain and Fancy Silks for the Blouse and Dress trade; Silk and other Sleeve Linings, Linings for Ladies' Mantles, Plain and Fancy Moirettes in Silk and Cotton. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 56 Low Moor, Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Hind, Wyke." Bankers: District Bank, Bradford.

HIND (JOHN) & CO., Ltd., Dress and Blouse Manufacturers, Woodside Mills, Wyke, Bradford. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 5.45 p.m. Established in 1851 by John Hind. Partnership Successions: (1) Jolla Hind, James Hind, and Adam Hind (brothers), 1853 to 1881; (2) John Hind and Irvine Hind (son), as John Hind & Co., 1881 to 1887; (3) Irvine Hind, under same title, 1887 to 1904. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1904. Governing Director and Chairman: John Sugden Smith. Director and Cashier: Charles Keeley Danby. Premises: Extensive Loom Sheds, Warehouse, and Offices. Stall: About 220. Specialities: Dress and Blouse Materials and varieties in Shirtings. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 40 and 41 Low Moor Exchange (John Hind & Co.); No. 40A Low Moor (J. Sugden Smith); No. 41A Low Moor (Irvine Hind). Telegraphic Address: " Jonind, Wyke." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions); Western Union. Bankers: The Bradford District Bank, Ltd.

HINDE, PHILLIPS & CO., Cotton Merchants, 150, The Albany, Old Hall Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1906 by Charles A. Hinde and Frederick Phillips. Present Principals: Charles A. Hinde, Frederick Phillips and Herbert Holden. Premises: Occupy the second floor, south corridor, at above address. Business: Cotton Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 5855 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Ceaseless, Liverpool." Cable Address: " Hindphil, Liverpool." Codes: Meyer's (36, 37 and 39th Editions), and Shepperson's 81. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

HINDES, Ltd., Bromsgrove Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1797 by John Hinde at Islington, London. Works established at Birmingham in 1836. Incorporated 1889. Managing Director: W. L. Bailin Hinde. Branches: 1, Tabernacle Street, London, E.C.; Pitt Street, Sydney, N .S. W. Specialities: Brushes, Hair Curlers and Wavers, and all Toilet Articles. Have patented Hair Curlers, Wavers, Brushes, Combs, &c. Royal Warrants: Special Appointments to King William IV., Queen Adelaide, and Queen Victoria. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Midland No. 368 Birmingham; Nos. 4825 and 4820 Central; No. 6410 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Address: "Binderies," Birmingham and London.

HINDHAUGH (JOHN) & CO., Importers and Millers, 38, Cloth Market, Newcastleon-Tyne. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1805. by John Hindhaugh (d.). Continued by James Hindhaugh (d.) (son), John Potts (d.) (sonin-law), J. Barker Ellis (d.) and Joseph Baxter Ellis (nephews). Partners: Alderman Sir Joseph Baxter Ellis, J.P., and William Barker Ellis and Joseph Ellis (sons). Premises: Extensive Mills and Warehouse with storage capacity for 40,000 Sacks of Grain. Staff: 130, Business: Grain, Seed and Rice Importers. and Corn Millers. Specialize in " Wholemeal " for Brown Bread. Awards: Certificate of Merit at various exhibitions for Wholemeal. Connection: United Kingdom, United States, Canada, South Africa, New Zealand and the principal countries of Europe. Telephones: Nos. 773 and 774 Central, Newcastle. - Telegraphic Address: " Hindhaugh, Newcastle." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Newcastle). Sir Joseph Baxter Ellis was created first Lord Mayor of Newcastle by His late Majesty King Edward on the occasion of T-Tis Majesty and Her Majesty Queen Alexandra's visit to Newcastle.

HINGLEY, N., & SONS, Ltd., Ironmasters, Chain and Anchor Manufacturers, Netherton Iron Works, near Dudley, Worcestershire. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about 1820 by N. Hingley, B. Hingley, J. Hingley, H. Hingley and S. Hingley. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Chairman: Sir George Hingley, Bart. Secretary: G. C. Edwards. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Very extensive and well-equipped, cover over 200 acres. Staff: 2500. Branches: Australia, New Zealand, Canada, America, China, Japan, France, Germany, Russia, Italy, Spain. Business: The largest production of genuine South Staffordshire Wrought Iron Bars, including " Marked Bars " and the " Netherton " Brand. Manufacture large Cables and Anchors for all the leading Steamship Lines and Navies of the world. Patent: Hall's Anchor. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial.Telephonc: No. 34 Dudley. Telegraphic Address: " Hingley Dudley." Codes: All. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited. Sir George Hingley, Bart., is a D.L. and J.P. for the County of Worcestershire and a County Alderman.

HINSHELWOOD, THOS., & CO., Ltd., Paints, Colours, Varnishes, Oils, Greases, &c., Glasgow Paint, Oil and Colour Works, Glenpark Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: Offices, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works, 7.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1878 as Hannay, Gourlie & Hinshelwood. In 1884 J. B. Hannay retired. Continued as Gourlie (retired 1887) & Hinshelwood, and in 1887 by Thomas Hinshelwood (d. 1911) as Thos. Hinshelwood & Co. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1906. Directors: Sir Andrew H. Pettigrew, (Chairman), of Pettigrew & Stephens, Ltd., Thomas Beattie, Peter A. Malone (Joint Managing Directors), John Shields, of Johnston, Shields & Co., James H. Templeton, John M. Macleod, C.A., of Kerr, Andersons & Macleod, and W. G. Allan. Capital, £100,000 in £1 Shares, fully paid. Premises: Works entirely re-constructed in 1899, covering about three acres, with a street frontage of 350 yards. Equipped with all up-to-date appliances. Branches: Alexandria & Cairo (Egypt). Specialities Colours for all purposes, " Nile " and " Galley " Brand Paints, Anti-fouling and Anti-Corrosive Compositions, " Walcote " and " Galley" Brand Enamels, Engoline" Oils and Greases. Distempers: " Freskel," " Galley " Brand Cold Water Paint, and " Plasco." Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office), Crown Agents for the Colonies, and to Foreign Governments. Telephone: No. 920 Bridgeton, Glasgow (Private Branch Exchange ). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Taxin, Glasgow." Codes: Western Union, A B C (5th Edition), Lieber's. Bankers: Royal Bank of Scotland (Glasgow). Sir Andrew H. Pettigrew has been a Town Councillor and was Chairman of the Executive of Glasgow Historical Exhibition in 1911.

HIRCH, C., & CO., Crude Rubber and General Goods, 21, Mincing Lane, London, E.C. Liverpool Agents: Oswald Latham & Co., 9B, Exchange Buildings. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1876 by C. Hirch (d. 1903). Continued as Hirch, Fulde & Co. in 1879, Mr. Fulde retired 1901. Present Principal: Robert E. Hirch. Premises: Originally had offices at 118, Fenchurch Street, rebuilt in 1901. Moved for some years to 158, Fenchurch Street. Later returned to old address. Removed December 31st, 1912, to larger premises at present address. Staff: Fifteen. Speciality: Plantation Rubber. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 2681 Avenue, London; Nos. 581 and 582 Central, Liverpool. Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Lieber's, Private Rubber. Bankers: Bank of England; London & South-Western Bank, Ltd. (Foreign Department), Fenchurch Street, The late Mr. Hirch was an original member of the Royal Economic Society.

HIRSCHBERG, MARTIN, Insurance Broker and Underwriter, 27, Oxford Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1894 by Martin Hirschberg, the present principal. Business: International Insurance Bureau, Insurance Underwriter and Broker. Resident Underwriter of the Baden Marine Insurance Company, Ltd., of Mannheim, with full powers of Attorney, Branch Manager of the Union Assurance Society, Ltd. Transacts any kind of Insurance on behalf of various Companies and Underwriters. Covers effected on every class of risks. Special facilities for Insurance against Perils of the Sea, Fire, Earthquake, Loss of Profits in consequence of Fire, Riots, War, &c., on Oversea Property (Warehouses, Offices, Factories, Mills, &c.). Has issued booklet entitled " Marine Insurance in a Nutshell," giving the basic principles of Marine Insurance. Connection: Influential, amongst the leading Merchants and Manufacturers in Manchester and other towns. Clients and Correspondents in many Continental cities. Telephone: No. 6821 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Afloat, Manchester." Bankers: Union Bank of Manchester, Ltd.

HIRST, C. & J., & SONS, Ltd., Woollen Manufacturers, Longwood, Huddersfield. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1860 by Crosland Hirst and James Hirst. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1895. Directors: Thomas Hirst, Albert Hirst, Geo. C. Hirst, and A. Horsfall (Managing Directors). Staff: 1050. Specialities: Fancy Cheviots for Overcoatings, Suitings, Mantles and Costumes; also Tweeds for Caps. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 131 and 132 Milnsbridge. Telegraphic Address: " Crosland Hirst, Longwood."

HIRST, SAMUEL, China, Glass and Earthenware Merchant, 19, Commercial Street, Leeds. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1870' by Samuel Hirst, the present principal. Premises: Three large Showrooms and small Warehouse, 19, Commercial Street, Leeds. Branch: 4, 5 and 6, Mill Hill, Boar Lane, Leeds; two large Showrooms and very extensive Warehouse. Specialities: China and Glass of all the leading makers, British and Foreign, Hot Water Plates, Sick Feeders and all china and glass utensils for invalids, Air-tight Fruit Jar, Royal Worcester, Royal Crown Derby, Coalport, Minton's Copeland, Cauldon and all best makers' goods in stock. Matchings and Repairs of all kinds. Awards: Golf Medal, Diploma, Leeds Industrial Exhibition, 1912. Connection: United Kingdom, chiefly; Colonial, United States. Telephones: Nos. 3640 and 1764 Leeds. Bankers: Beckett & Co., Ltd. Mr. Samuel Hirst has been President of the China and Glass Dealers' Association of Great Britain for the past nine years.

HIRST (THOMAS) & CO., Colonial Wool Merchants, Marshalls Buildings, Huddersfield. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1861 by Thomas Hirst. Continued by Thomas Hirst, Tom E. Hirst, John Raynor, Reginald Hirst and Sir William Raynor. Present Principals: Sir William Raynor and Reginald Hirst. Premises: Occupied the present building since its erection in 1870 on the site of Marshall's Yard, where the Hirst family had been located for two generations. Staff: Fifty to sixty. Branches: London, 93, Wool Exchange, E.C.; Bradford, 209, Swan Arcade, Melbourne (Victoria), Olderfleet; Sydney, Spring Street; Christchurch, Dalgetys Buildings; Boston (United States), 232, Summer's Street. Business: Importers and Merchants. Specialize in cased New Zealand Wool for the American Market. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 68 Huddersfield; No. 2530 Bradford; No. 6416 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Bundaleer," Huddersfield, Bradford and London; " Bundhirst," Melbourne, Adelaide, Sydney, Christchurch; " Murfitt, Boston." Codes: Lieber's, A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd., Bank of England (Leeds Branch).

HITCHCOCK, BIGGS & WILLETT, Woollen Warehousemen, 14 & 15, Warwick Street, Regent Street, London, W.; and 27, Golden Square, W. Telephone: No. 1796 Regent. Telegraphic Address " Hitchcock, Reg, London."

HITCHCOCK, WILLIAMS & CO., Drapery Warehousemen, St. Paul's Churchyard, Paternoster Row, Warwick Lane, Paul's Alley, &c., London, E.C. Established in 1825 by George Hitchcock. Premises: Very extensive, comprising Nos. 69 to 74, St. Paul's Churchyard; Nos. 43 to 50, Paternoster Row; and Nos. 1, 2, 5, 6, 7 and 8, London House Yard, with factories 10 and 11, 29 to 33, Warwick Lane, Paternoster Buildings, and elsewhere. The portion fronting upon St. Paul's Churchyard, and extending from London House Yard to Paul's Alley, contains the retail departments, and is one of the fashionable shopping resorts of the Metropolis. Here (at No. 72), in the year 1844, the Young Men's Christian Association had its inception in a society formed mainly under the auspices of the late Sir George Williams, to promote the welfare of young men engaged in the drapery and other trades. Specialities: Mantles, Lace, Millinery, Costumes; General Drapery. Connection: United Kingdom, India, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, South America, &c., &c. The house is known throughout the English-speaking world. Telephones: No. 9001 City (seven lines). Telegraphic Address: " Churchyard, London."

HITCHINS & CO., Warehousemen, 63 and 64, Friday Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1890 by E. R. Hitchins, S. R. Oliver and J. W. Bennett. Continued by J. P. Hitchins and H. F. Brand. Present Principals: E. R. Hitchins, J. P. Hitchins and H. F. Brand. Staff: Seventy. Branches: 14, Friday Street, and 89, Watling Street, E. Specialities: Cotton and Woollen Dress Goods and Handkerchiefs. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 5135 Bank; No. 3366 Central (63 and 64, Friday Street); No. 5928 Bank (14, Friday Street) London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Doubtless, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Lieber's. Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. (Cheapside, E.C.).

HOARE (CHARLES) & CO., Bankers, 37, Fleet Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Established in 1673, in Fleet Street. Previously in Cheapside, but all records were burnt in the Great Fire of London. One of tho oldest and best known of the private banking firms of London. Connection: -United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1309 Holborn. Telegraphic Address: " Bankore, London." Cable Codes: Western Union; A B C.

HOARE & COMPANY, LIMITED, Red Lion Brewery, St. Katharine's Way, London, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. The oldest Brewery in London. Established over four hundred years ago; date unknown. Most noted early proprietor, Sir John Parsons, 1703 (Lord Mayor in 1703); (2) Lady Parsons; (3) Goodwyn & Co.; (4) Hoare & Co., since 1802. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Directors: A. L. Wigan (Chairman), H. Wiles (Vice Chairman), H. E. Hoare, W. R. Hoare, W. J. Peake Mason, the Hon. H. G. E. Hanbury-Tracy, H. Savill. Premises: Cover three acres of ground. The Brewery was bought by Henry Hoare, a partner of Messrs. Hoare, Bankers, in 1802, for a younger son, and has remained in the Hoare family until date of incorporation, the former partners retaining all the ordinary shares. Staff: 200. Staff Clubs: Toby Athletic and Rifle Club and Red Lion Savings Bank. Agencies in most important towns in Great Britain and the Continent. Specialities: Imperial Stout in cask and bottle; " Toby " Ale in bottle. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 2050 Avenue (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Brewery, Wapping." Bankers: Messrs. Hoare, 37, Fleet Street, E.C.

HOBBS, HART & CO., Ltd., Lock, Safe, and Door Manufacturers. General Offices: Arlington Street, London, N.; Showrooms: 76, Cheapside, London, E.C. Hours of Business: (Cheapside) 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1851 by Alfred Charles Hobbs. Incorporated July, 1887, as a Limited Company. Specialities: Locks and Lock Furniture, Combination Bolts; Strong Rooms and Bullion Vaults, Fire resisting Bullion and Jewel Safes, Wrought-iron and Steel Doors, &c. Awards: At leading Exhibitions. Royal Warrants: Appointed Makers of Locks and Safes to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria, May 17th, 1876; to *His late Majesty King Edward VII., July, 1901. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Manufacturers to the Bank of England and its Branches; Contractors to H.M. Government, &c. Telephone: No. 835 North. Telegraphic Address: " Hobbs Hart, London."

HOBSON, HOUGHTON & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Steel Files, Rolling Mills, Forge and Melting Furnaces, Don Steel Works, Saville Street, Sheffield. London Office: 63, Queen Victoria Street. Warehouse: 83, Beckman Street, New York. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Works, 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1828 by Francis Hobson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903, amalgamating George Fisher & Co., and Gregory & Bramall. Directors: John Houghton (Chairman), Ernest Houghton, Frank Houghton, Arthur A. Menzies, Leonard Tatham, Ernest Hutchinson (Secretary). Premises: Cover 12,000 square yards. Staff; Forty-eight. Specialities: Tool Steels, Files, Wire Drawers' Plates, Needle Wire, Hammers, Twist Drills, &c. Con nection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office, Colonial Office). Telephones: Nos. 2254 and 1887 Sheffield. Telegraphic Addresses: " Hobson, Sheffield "; " Fisher, Sheffield "; " Fischenzen, London." Code: A B C. Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd., Warrington.

HOCKIN, BANBURY & CO., Ltd., General Merchants, Bude, Cornwall. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1788 by John Hockin (d.). Continued by Hockin & Hooper. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1881. Manag ing Director and Chairman: John W. Banbury. Secretary: Ralph P. Banbury. The Hockin family have been associated with the business for over a century, the present Chairman for half a century. Premises: Main building is situated on the Strand.. Staff: About Twenty. Branch: Whitstone and Bridgerule Station. Business: Supply almost everything. A miniature Whiteleys for the District. Connection: Cornwall and Devon. Tele phone: No. 29 Bude. Telegraphic Ad dress: " Banbury, Merchant, Bude." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Laun ceston). Mr. Banbury is Lloyds Agent from the county boundary (Devon) to Cambeak, Cornwall, and a member of the Board of Guardians; Hon. Treasurer of the Bude Branch of the Royal National Lifeboat Institution. Mr. Ralph P. Banbury:, the Secretary, is a member of the Masonic Granville Lodge No. 3405.

HODDER (HARTLY) & SON.—See HARTLY HODDER & SON,

HODDER & STOUGHTON, Publishers, Warwick Square, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1868 by M. H. Hodder and T. W. Stoughton. Present Principals: T. W. Stoughton, J. E. Hodder Williams, ft. P. Hodder Williams, and A. C. Stoughton. Staff Seventy-four. Publications include works in Theology, Biography, Travel, Fiction, Art, and Belles Lettres, Medical and Scientific Works, Prize Books, Educational Books, &c. Telephones: No. 920 Holborn and No. 3068 Central. Cable and Telegraphic Address: " Expositor, London."

HODGES, FIGGIS & CO., Ltd., Booksellers, 104, Grafton Street, Dublin. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in the eighteenth century by R. Milliken. Continued by (1) Hodges; (2) Hodges & Smith; (3) Hodges & Foster. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Managing Director: Thomas Brown. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Specialities: University and General Books. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3598 Dublin.

HODGES, W. D., & CO., Ltd., House Agents, High Class Furnishers and Decora tors, Builders, Sanitary and Electrical Engineers, 247 and 249, Brompton Road, London, S.W. Specialists in Antiques. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m to 1 p.m. Established in 1876 by W. D. Hodges. Incorporated as a Limited Company after twenty years successful trading with a view to conserve the interests and support of the employees. Managing Director: W. D. Hodges. Assistant Manager: H. Burgess. Secretary: W. A. I. Golledge. Premises: Originally occupied site adjoining 247 and 249, Brompton Road (1 and 3, Fulham Road), which was pulled down in 1887 when the present imposing building was erected. Works and Warehouses: North Street and Crescent Place, London, S.W. Staff: Experienced Assistants and Workmen under personal supervision. Business: High Class Furnishing and Decorating House Agency, Building, Sanitary and Electrical Engineering. Connection: Chiefly the Town and Country Houses of the Upper Classes. Telephones: Nos. 3308 and 3309 Kensington, London (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Applied, London."

HODGKINSON, W. S., & CO., Hand Made Paper Manufacturers, Wookey Hole Mill, Wells, Somerset. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1716. Present Principal: Guy Ayscough Hodgkinson. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Very extensive and fully equipped with all the latest improvements. Staff: About 230. Branch: 3, Queenhithe, London, E.C. Specialities: Hand-made Account Books, Writing, Drawing, Loans, Bank and Printing Papers. Telephones: No. 51 2 i 2 Wells; No. 792 Bank, London. Telegraphic Address: " Paper, Wells, Somerset."

HODGSON (GEORGE), LIMITED, Makers of Power Looms for Weaving, Frizinghall Works, Bradford. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1849 by George Hodgson, J.P. (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: George H. Hodgson (son of founder) (Chairman), Thomas Dawson, Geo. S. Nield (Managing Director). Secretary: J. L. Feather. One of the most noted firms in the North of England. Premises: Very extensive works. Staff: Large. Specialities: Weaving Looms of every description. Patents: Numerous. Awards: At leading Exhibitions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 255 and 256 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Hodgson, Bradford." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Lieber's. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

HOE, R., & CO., Ltd., Printing Machine Manufacturers and Engineers, Offices, 109 to 112, Borough Road, London, S.E.; Works, Borough Road, Mansfield Street, Dantzic Street, Earl Street, Kell Street, Southwark Bridge Road, and Steedman Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established about 100 years ago by Robert Hoe. Specialities: Rotary Web Newspaper Perfecting Presses; Book, Magazine and Pamphlet Rotary Perfecting Presses; Rotary Off-set Presses, Flatbed Letterpress and Lithographic Presses; Electrotyping and Stereotyping machinery. Hold many patents relating to the above machines. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: Nos. 4028 and 4029 Hop. Telegraphic Address: "Expugnator, London." Cable Address: " Hoe, London." Codes: Western Union (Universal Edition); A B C (5th Edition); Lieber's Standard; and Private Code.

HOGG & HEATH, Average Adjusters, 33, Cornhill, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1862 by Edward Hogg. Present Principals: J. S. Hogg, A. D. Mackinnon and C. E. Fox. Branch: Glasgow, 19, Waterloo Street. Business: Average Adjusters. Telephones: No. 3094 Avenue (33, Cornhill, E.C.); No. 01727 Argyle, Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Adjudieo," London or Gla-igow. Bankers: Bank of England.

HOGG, JOHN, Publisher, 13, Paternoster Row, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1837 by James Hogg the elder in Edinburgh; joined in partnership by his two sons, James Hogg and John Hogg, trading as James Hogg & Sons, in 1858. The founder was a well-known publisher in his day. The first work he issued was a " Narrative of Some Passages in the History of Eenoolooapik," the first Esquimaux who visited this country, written by Dr. A. Macdonald, one of the surgeons attached to the Franklin Expedition, and published in 1841. In 1845 he started the " Instructor," a journal in three series, continued for a period of fifteen years. He also published the principal works of the Rev. George Gilfillan, and the earlier works of Dr. Peter Bayne, and was intimately associated with De Quincey during the last ten years of the life of the latter, while his collected works were in course of publication. Present Principal: Godfrey James Hogg. Specialities: The Artistic Crafts Series of Technical Handbooks; English Classics; Belles Lettres; Medical Books; Manuals of Self Culture; Books for Young Readers (various Series); Popular Cookery and Handbooks. Awards: Honourable Mention, International Exhibition, London, 1862; Participant in the Grand Prix, Paris Exhibition, 1900; Grand Prize Diploma and Medal, St. Louis, 1904; Diploma and Gold Medal, Franco-British Exhibition, 1908; Gold Medal, Brussels, 1910; Gold Medal, Turin, 1911. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 1906 City. Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

HOGG & MITCHELL, Manufacturers; Strand Factory, Londonderry, Ireland; Birchin Lane, Church Street, Manchester; Silver Street, London; Clayton Square, Liverpool; 3, Miller Street, Glasgow; Guildhall Buildings, Lower Temple Street, Birmingham; 411 Union Street, Aberdeen; Falcon Mills, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1892 by David Hogg, J.P., and Charles H. Mitchell; Junior Partners, Robert Hogg and William L. Mitchell, the present principals. Staff: About 1400. Specialities: Linen Collars and Shirts. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 13287 Central, London; Nos. 4657, 4658 City, Manchester; No. 2569 Royal, Liverpool.

HOLBORN, R. M., & SONS, Wholesale Tea and Coffee Dealers, 6, 7 and 8, Crutched Friars, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established towards the end of the eighteenth century by one Robert Major Holborn. Business: Wholesale Tea and Coffee Dealers. Connection: United Kingdom and the Continent. Telephone: No. 819 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Souchong, London."

HOLBROOKS, Ltd., Sauce Manufacturers, 203, Ashted Row, Birmingham. London Office: 68 and 70, Fenchurch Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1870 by J. Leslie Tompson. Partnership Successions: (1) Tompson, Berry & Co.; (2) John Tompson & Co., 1875; (3) Birmingham Vinegar Brewery Co., Ltd., 1879; (4) Holbrooks, Ltd., 1900. Iia;orporated as a Limited Company in 1879. Staff: 600. Brewery: Stourport, Worcestershire, covers ten acres. Specialities: Pure Malt Vinegar and Worcestershire Sauce. Awards: Fifteen Gold Medals. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 166 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Pickles, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

HOLCROFT (THOMAS) & SONS, LIMITED, Tinned and Enamelled Cast-iron Hollowware, Light Castings of all kinds for Home and Export, Ettingshall Foundry, Wolverhampton. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1879 by Thomas Holcroft (d.). Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1893. Premises: Extensive Works, covering eight acres. Specialities: Ma- chine-made Light Castings, Porcelain Enamelling on Cast-iron, Tinning on Cast-iron, Galvanizing. Patents: Numerous. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office). Telephone: No. 157 Wolverhampton. Telegraphic Address: " Holcroft, Wolverhampton." Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd. (Wolverhampton).

HOLDEN, BURNLEY & CO., Ltd., Commission Woolcombers, Bradford. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1873 by Jonathan Holden (d.) and James Burnley (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Directors: F. J. Burnley (Chairman), T. H. Waterhouse, John Wood (Managing Director). Speciality: Treatment of Burry and Seedy Wools; Fine Wool a speciality. Also manufacturers of Yorkshire Brown Grease. Patent: For removing Foreign Bodies from Wool, such as Burrs, Seeds, Shivs, &c. Telephone: No. 69 (National) Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Burnley, Girlington."

HOLDEN (EDWARD THOMAS) & SON, Tanners, Curriers, and Japanners. Head Office and Factory: Park Street, Walsall. London Office: 11, Jewin Crescent, E.C. Hours. of Business: Usual. Estab-lished in 1819 by Edward Holden. Succeeded by E. T. Holden, J.P. (son). Present Principals: Sir E. T. Holden, Knt., J.P., R. H. Holden, J.P. Branches: London, Paris, Emden (Germany), Beith (Scotland). Specialities: Manufacture of Leather suitable for Saddles, Bridles, Harness, Army Accoutrements; also Belt, Bag, Legging, Pocket Book, Purse, and Fancy Leathers; Japanners of Enamelled and Patent Leather in all colours for above trades. Leather suitable for Carriage and Motor Cars always in stock. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Tele phone: No. 48 Walsall. Telegraphic Address: "Holden, Walsall." Bankers: Metropolitan Bank, Ltd. Sir E. T. Holden was Member of Parliament for Walsall in 1891 and was Knighted in 1907. He is a Justice of the Peace for Walsall and County of Staffordshire, and has been three times Mayor of Walsall. Mr. R. H. Holden is a Justice of the Peace for the County of Staffordshire.

HOLDSWORTH, BENJAMIN, Worsted and Woollen Manufacturers, Butts Mills, Cleckheaton. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1820 by Benjamin Holdsworth. Partnership Successions: (1) Benjamin Holdsworth and Robert Goldthorp; ( 2) Benjamin Holdsworth and Benjamin Holdsworth Goldthorp; (3) Benjamin Holdsworth Goldthorp. Present Principal: Benjamin Holdsworth Goldthorp, J.P. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Branch: 55, York Street, Sydney (T. B. Wilkinson). Specialities: Worsteds and Woollens, Suitings, Overcoatings, &c.; originally Flannels and Blankets. Connection: United Kingdom, Canada, Australia. Telephone: No. 51 Cleckheaton. Telegraphic Address: " B. Holdsworth, Cleckheaton." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. B. H. Goldthorp is an ex-County Alderman, a Justice of the Peace for the West Riding of Yorkshire, &c.

HOLDSWORTH & GIBB, Ltd., Cotton Spinners and Doublers, Manufacturers and Dyers, Moorside Mill, Swinton, Lanes., and 12, Oxford Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m, to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1860 by John Holdsworth and Walter Gibb: Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1877. Directors: John S. Brighouse, J.P., J. Francis Gibb (Managing Directors), Walter Gibb (Chairman). Originally carried on an extensive Hand-loom Business. Premises: Extensive well-equipped Mill. Staff: 670. Specialities: Single and Doubled American Yarns, 32's and below. Sail Cloth, Shoe Ducks, and Hammocks. Telephones: Mill, No. 4525 Central, Manchester; Warehouse, No. 3525 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Addresses: " Spinners, Swinton, Manchester "; " Loneta, Manchester." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.

HOLLAND (ARTHUR) & CO., Steamship Owners, Ship and Insurance Brokers, 2, East India Avenue, Leadenhall Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1870 by Arthur Holland. Present Principals: Sir Arthur Holland, J.P., John Heaton Hield, Charles Frederick Holland. Branch: 30, Chapel Chambers North, Chapel Street, Liverpool. Business: Managing Agents of the Steamers of the Buenos Ayres Great Southern Railway Co., Ltd.; Loading Brokers for the River Plate Steamers of the Royal Mail Steam Packet Co., General Steamship Owners, Chartering and Insurance Brokers. Connection: United Kingdom and River Plate chiefly. Telephones: No. 4051 Avenue; No. 10230 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Spartan," London and Liverpool. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited. Members of the Baltic Exchange.

HOLLAND & HANNEN & CUBITTS, Ltd. Builders and Contractors, &c. Registered Office: 258, Gray's Inn Road, London, W.C. During March, 1909, the two businesses of Holland & Hannen and William Cubitt & Co. were registered under the above title. The premises and workshops of the former are situated at Hyde Street, Bloomsbury; and of the latter at the above address, 258, Gray's Inn Road. The Directors of Holland & Hannen are Frank May, Edward Charles Hannen and Frank Maitland May; and of William Cubitt & Co., Benjamin Hannen, George Robertson Holland and Eric Maurice May. There are two small branches of the business established at 20, Abchurch Lane, and Charlotte Street, Hans Crescent, S.W., that respectively control the Jobbing work of the City and West End. The various yards and workshops in London cover a considerable area and are capable of turning out high-class builders' work in all its ramifications. A considerable number of the largest business premises in the City and West End, as well as country mansions situated throughout the United Kingdom, have been executed by the two branches of the business; among the former might be mentioned the Scottish Provident Institution Buildings, Lombard Street, and the National Debt Offices, Prince's Street. Within the last ten years two important contracts have been executed by the William Cubitt & Co. branch in South Africa, viz. the Mount Nelson Hotel at Cape Town, and Government House at Salisbury, Rhodesia. Telephones: (Holland and Hannen Branch), No. 264 Gerrard; and (William Cubitt & Co., Branch), No. 6035 Holborn. Telegraphic Address: " Cubit, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd., Lombard Street; Parr's Bank, Ltd., Cavendish Square; Coutts' Bank, Strand.

HOLLAND & HOLLAND, Ltd., Gunmakers, 98, New Bond Street, London, W. Established in 1835 by Harris J. Holland, who was succeeded by Henry W. Holland, the surviving partner. Incorporated as a Limited Company in July, 1898; H. W. Holland, Chairman and Managing Director. Specialities: Ejector Guns, Express and Big Game" Cordite" Rifles," Paradox" Guns, &c. Inventions: A large number of patents have been granted to the firm. The factory is situated in the Harrow Road. The Shooting School and Rifle Range is at Wembley Park, London, INT .14T . Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: To H.M. King George and to T.M. the Kings of Italy and Spain. The firm has also been granted the Order of Merit by the Sultan of Turkey. Telephone: No. 2909 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Armourer, London." Code: A B C.

HOLLAND & WEBB, Ltd., Yarn Spinners, Doublers (Cotton, Cashmere, Worsted, Merino) and Merchants, Weekday Cross, Nottingham, and Leicester, Chemnitz, and Calais. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1824 by William Jackson. Partnership Successions: (1) William Jackson (jun.) and Charles Ashby Holland; (2) Charles Ashby Holland and W. F. M. Webb; (3) W. F. M. Webb; (4) W. F. M. Webb, H. L. Lippold, and James H. Shaw; (5) Holland & Webb. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors (Board increased to seven in 1911) W. F. M. Weston-Webb (Chairman), H. L. Lippold, R. W. Webb, Frank Taylor, 0. 1. Linclauer, B. IL Perkins, C. Lippold. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Warehouse and Offices are built. on the site of the birthplace of Philip James Bailey (b. 1816), Author of " Festus." Premises: Four-storey brick and stone building. Basement equipped with power press, &c. Specialities: Yarns for Home, European, American, and Canadian. Markets. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones No. 2251 Local; No. 3742 Trunk (Home Department); No. 3747 Trunk (Foreign Department); Private Exchange (five lines), Nottingham. Telegraphic Address: " Rock," Nottingham, Leicester, Chemnitz, Calais. Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Edition); Western Union (Universal Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Nottingham Joint Stock Branch).

HOLLICK & PRATT, Ltd., Coach and Motor Body Manufacturers, Mile Lane, Cheylesmore, Coventry. Hours of Business: 6 a m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1821. Partnership Successions: (1) Taylor & Hoyden; (2) Heyden; (3) Hollick. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1910. Present Director L. W. Pratt. Claim to be the first to build Motor Bodies in England, and to fix Pneumatic Tyres on -Carriages. Premises: Have recently moved from Smithford Street to above Works, which have been erected specially for large Motor Body production. Staff: 150 to 160. Specialities: Motor Bodies, Wind Screens and Hoods. Patent: Cape Hood for Side-entrance Bodies. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Telegraphic Address: " Hollick and Pratt, Coventry."

HOLLIDAY (READ) & SONS, Ltd., Coal Tar Colour and Chemical Manufacturers, Turnbridge, Huddersfield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1830 by Read Holliday. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Directors: Joseph Turner (Chairman), Lionel Brook Holliday, Thomas Pearson Crosland, Edward Cockshaw. Premises: Works cover twenty-five acres. Staff: About 750. Branches: Manchester; Glasgow; Belfast; Bradford; New York, Boston, Philadelphia (United States); Toronto (Canada); Osaka (Japan); Melbourne, Sydney (Australia); Leipzig, Plagwitz (Germany). Specialities: Coal Tar Dyes, suitable for all Materials, Picric Acid for use as an explosive, Aniline Oil and Aniline Salt for Black Dyeing. Patents: _Numerous. Awards Japan-British Exhibition; Turin Exhibition, 1911. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1621 Private Branch Exchange, Huddersfield. Telegraphic and Cable Address " Holliday, Huddersfield." Codes: A B C, Lieber's, Atlantic. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Cloth Hall Street).

HOLLINGSWORTH, JOHN, Steam Trawler Owner, Fish Merchant and Ice Merchant, St. Andrews Dock, Hull. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. (telegrams at all hours). Established in 1892 by John Hollingsworth, the present principal. Premises: Extensive Stores and three Stands in Fishmarket. Staff: About 100. Business: Owner of Steam Trawlers. All classes of Fish and Ice supplied. Connection: United Kingdom, Continent of Europe. Telephone: No. 63 North Ferriby, Yorks. Telegraphic Address: Hollingsworth, Hull." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

HOLLINS MILL CO., Ltd. (THE), Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers, Wellington Mill, Hazel Grove, near Stockport. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Premises: Very extensive, fitted with 31,000 Spindles and 750 Looms. Business: Spinning and Manufacture of Cotton. Telephone: No. 1 Stockport. Telegraphic Address: " Hollins Mill, Hazel Grove, Stockport."

HOLLINS (WILLIAM) & CO., LIMITED. Spinners and Manufacturers of " Viyella," and Spinners of Hosiery and other Yarns. Registered Offices: Pleasley Works, Mansfield, Notts. London Offices: Cloth (Piece and Garments), 24, 25 and 26, Newgate Street, E.C. Hours of Business: (Offices) 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established originally in 1784 by Henry Hollins and four partners. Since carried on by five successive genera tions of the Hollins family. Partnership until 1882, when converted into a Private Limited Company. Present Company registered in 1908. Directors: H. E. Hollins (Managing and Chairman), W. Hollins, C. H. Hill, C. Hollins (Directors), J. P. Douglas, E. L. Paget, and A. R. Hollins (Directors and Managers), D. B. Anderson (Director). Secretary: M. L. T. Hare, M.A., A.C.A., Premises: Two Spinning Mills at Pleasley, near Mansfield; Spinning Mill (coloured yarns) and Garments Factory at Radford, Nottingham; Spinning Mill at Hudders field; Mill at Via Gellia, Cromford, Derby shire; Weaving Factory at Glasgow, Also Offices in London (as above), Nottingham, Leicester, Manchester, Hawick, N.B., and Berlin; and Warehouses in London, Nottingham, and Berlin. Agencies: Chemnitz, Paris, Switzerland, Austria, New York, Toronto, Melbourne, &c. Business: The Spinning of Yarns for Hosiery and other purposes; also the spinning and manufacturing of " Viyella " and " Aza " Cloths. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Head Office, No. 708 (Nat.) Nottingham, and No. 350 (two lines) Mansfield; London, No. 5261 Holborn (two lines) and No. 5261 City (two lines). Telegraphic Addresses: " Pleasley, Nottingham "; " Viyella, London," &c., &c. Bankers: The Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

HOLLIS, BENTLEY & PLAYFAIR, Gun and Rifle Makers, Colmore Works, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established: The business of Isaac Hollis & Sons in 1810, and Bentley and Playfair in 1840; Amalgamated 1911. Present Principals: Robert J. Petersen and Major Charles Playfair. Claim to have manufactured the first Remington Rifle adopted by the American Government and manufactured the first Ejector Gun. Staff: 200 to 300. Branches: London, Holborn Viaduct, E.C.; Paris, Melbourne, Cape Town, Calcutta and Turin. Specialities: High-class Sporting Guns and Rifles for Home and Export. Patents: Single Trigger Mechanism, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Royal Warrants: Held by both firms in the past. Telephone: No. 1559 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Hollis, Birmingham." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), and Western Union. The late Mr. Charles Playfair was Chairman of Guardians of Proof House, County Magistrate, &c. Mr. Robert Petersen is Chairman of Proof Committee. Major Charles Playfair is Chairman of the Technical School Committee and of the Gun Section, Chamber of Commerce. Pastimes: (Mr. Petersen), Hunting, Shooting, Fishing, &c.; (Major Playfair), Yachting, Shooting, Golfing, &c.

HOLLOWAY BROTHERS (LONDON), Ltd., Builders and Contractors, Victoria Wharf, 19 and 21, Belvedere Road, Westminster Bridge, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1882 by Thomas Holloway and Henry Holloway. Since incorporated as a Limited Company. The business was established and ear ried on for eighteen years at Victoria Works, Queen's Road, Battersea. Removed thirteen years ago to present address. Premises: Specially designed and constructed to meet requirements of business. Were the first builders in London to adopt electric power for machinery in workshops. Staff: 2,000 to 3,000. Branch: 43, South Audley Street, Grosvenor Square, W. Specialities: The construction of buildings of all kinds. Connection: United Kingdom. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephones: No. 1153 Hop (three lines); No. 2832 Gerraol. Telegraphic Address: " Antefixa, Watloo, London." &t, kers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Caxton House, Westminster, S.W.).

HOLLOWAY, D., & SONS, Tinners of Metals, 201, Cheapside, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1909 by Drusilla S. Holloway, the present principal, in succession to her late husband, of the firm of G. & A, Holloway, Floodgate Street, Birmingham. Premises: Occupy workshop. Staff: Ten . Specialities: Tinning of Rivets, Tacks, Washers, Grids, Hooks, Wire Work, &c. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 1593 Midland, Birmingham. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Deriteild Branch).

HOLLOWAY, THOMAS, Proprietor of " Holloway's " Pills and Ointment, 113, Southwark Street, London, S.E. (late 78, New Oxford Street, W.C.). Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1837 by Thomas Holloway. Have agents in all parts of the world. Telephone: No. 12193 P.O. Central.

HOLMAN BROTHERS, Ltd., Engineers and Rock Drill Specialists, Camborne, Cornwall. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1839 by John Holman. Partnership Successions: (1) John Henry Holman; (2) James Miners Holman. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Directors: James Miners Holman (Managing Director), and J. Leonard Holman. Is one of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises situated in the centre of the Mining Division, about five minutes' walk from the Railway Station, the Dolcoath Mine, Ltd., and the Camborne Mining Schools. General Mining Department. Head Office and Works: Wesley Street; Rock Drill Department, Station Hill; Boiler Department, Roskear, Camborne. Branches: London, Broad Street House, E.C.; Johannesburg, Messrs. Fraser Chalmers, Ltd,, P.O. Box 619, Corner House, Commissioner Street. Agencies: Scotland, Robertson & Fraser, 7, West George Street, Glasgow. Italy, • Sicily, Elba and Sardinia, A. E. Praetorius, Milan, Italy. Canada, Mussens Limited, P.O. Box 1560, 318, St. James Street, Montreal. United States of America & Alaska, The Mine & Smelter Supply Co., 42, Broadway, New York. Rhodesia, Fraser & Chalmers, Ltd., Bulawayo & Salisbury. Australia, and New Zealand, The Australian Metal Co., Ltd., 113-115, William Street, P.O. Box 221, Melbourne. Straits Settlements, Federated Malay States, Burma, Siam and Dutch East Indies, Fraser & Chalmers, Ltd.,3, London Wall Buildings, London, X. India & Ceylon, Shaw, Wallace & Co.' P. 0. Box 70, Calcutta. China, British American Trading Co., 5, Budge Row, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Brazil, Williams, Robertson & Co., 112, Avenida Rio Branco, Rio de Janeiro. Specialities: Mining Machinery of all kinds, including Air-Compressors, Rock Drills, Pumping and Winding Engines, Ore-dressing Machinery and Boilers. Patents: Inventors of AirCompressors, Rock Drills, Hoists, "Acme" Tables, Grit Mills and Pneumatic or Air Cushion Stampers. Awards: Gold Medal, London,1899; Paris Exhibition. 1900; the Diploma of Honour, Imperial International Exhibition, London, 1909. " Holman " Rock Drills divided the First and Second Prizes in the World's Stope Drill Contest, Johannesburg, 1910. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. On Admiralty and India Office Lists, and Contractors to practically all the Mining Camps of the world. Telephones: Nos. 75 and 76 Camborne. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Airdrill, Camborne." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.; Barclay & Co., Ltd. Mr. J. M. Holman is a Justice of the Peace for the County of Cornwall, and Director also of The Cornwall Boiler Co., Ltd., Dolcoath Mine, Ltd., and East, Pool & Agar, Ltd.; and Mr. J. Leonard Holman is Director of The Cornwall Boiler Co., Ltd.

HOLMAN, N., & SONS, Ltd., Mining, Shipping and General Engineers. Head Office: Foundry, St. Just, S.O., Penwith; Foundry and Dry Dock, and 99, 100 and 102, Market Jew Street, Penzance. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established about 1800 by Nicholas Holman (d). Continued by three generations of the same family. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Directors: Frederick Holman, M.I.M.E. (Chairman), F. W. Holman, E. B. Holman, P. D, Holman and W. Holman. Premises: Foundry and Engineering Departments at St. Just, Foundry and Engineering Departments, Penzance. Owners of the Penzance Graving Dock. Staff: Ninetyfive to 100. Specialities: Cornish Ranges, Mitre Machines, Engines and Boilers for Mines, Mine Castings and General Mining Material. Patents: Cornish Ranges, Mitre Machines, Water Wheels, Self Lubricating Pumps, &c. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly). Telephones: No. 11 St. Just; Nos. 8, 8A and 85, Penzance. Telegraphic Address: " Holman Foundry," St. Just (and) Penzance. Bankers: Barclay and Co., Ltd., Penzance.

HOLME (JOHN H.) & CO., Timber Merchants, 27, Sandhills Lane, Liverpool; and 6, Dock, Salford, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1876 by Henry Wainwright and William Rowland. Continued as (1) Wainwright, Rowland & Co.; (2) Rowland, Holme & Co.; (3) Richard Holme & Co.; (4) John H. Holme & Co. Present Principals: James Ronald Holme and James Wilcox. Premises: Timber yard at above address covers about 5000 square yards; Office, about 300 square yards; Shed Storage at C. Buxton & Sons, Saw Mill Proprietors, 12 to 16, Derby Road, Sandhills; Storage Grounds at North Docks and various railway yards. Stocks of Timber are held on ground near Manchester Ship Canal. Staff: Twenty-one, regular, up to fifty in the Shipping and Timber Storage Department. Specialities: Oversea Timber of all kinds, chiefly Canadian Pine and Spruce, Oak, Walnut, Whitewood, Elm, Pitch Pine and other woods from the United States and North of Europe. Also deal in Teak, Mahogany, Cedar, &c, Connection: Home Trade covers the manufacturing districts of England and the East Coast of Ireland; also Foreign and Colonial, Canada, United States, Baltic Provinces, &c. Telephones: No. 5689 Central; No. 43 Bootle, Liverpool; No. 104 Trafford Park, Manchester. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Homely, Liverpool." Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd. (Heywood's Branch).

HOLMES, W. C., & CO., Ltd., Whitestone Iron Works and Turnbridge Foundry, Huddersfield. London Office: 11, Victoria Street, S.W. Hours of Business: Office, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Works, fifty-four hours per week. Established in 1850 by William Cartright Holmes; joined by John William Cartright Holmes, Percy Frederick Holmes, and Edward Dartford Holmes. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1910. Staff: Between 300 and 500. Staff Clubs: Sick, Cricket, Football. Agencies: Fort Wayne, U.S.A., Paris, Holland, Belgium. Speciali- ties: Apparatus for the Purification of Gas; Roofs, Bridges, &c.; also Chemical Plant. Patents: Several, including Rotary Scrubber for Ammonia Extraction, Cyanide, and Naphthalene, several Valves and Tar-extracting Machines. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephones: No. 1760 Victoria (London); Nos. 1113 and 1114 Huddersfield. Telegraphic Addresses: " Ignitor, London "; " Holmes, Huddersfield." Code: Lieber's. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

HOLMES, W. H., & SONS, Paint and Colour Manufacturers, Glass, Oil and. Brush Merchants, Portland Road, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Established in 1848 by W. H. Holmes, who carried on business with his five sons. Present Principals: Alfred, John Henry, and Ellwood Holmes. Branch: 17, Soho Square, London, W. Specialities: Paints for Decorators; Fine Colours for Decorators, Linoleum Manufacturers, and Litho Printers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 811 and 812 Central, and 278 City Newcastle; No. 1228, Gerrprd_ (four lines), London.

HOLMES' LIGHTS CO., Patentees of the improved Holmes Life Buoy Rescue Light, 10, Idol Lane, Eastcheap, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1877 by Joseph R. Holmes, the present principal. Branches: Glasgow, Liverpool. Specialities: Life-saving at Sea Apparatus; Flash Lights, Electrical and Mechanical; Powder Signals, Naval Outfits. Inventions: ". Torpedo Finder," " Beresford Detacher," &c. Awards: Many Gold and other Medals. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to all Governments. Telephone: No. 8267 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Holmes' Lights, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: National Bank of Scotland. Clubs: (Mr. Joseph R. Holmes), Royal Temple Yacht Club, The Trout Anglers Co., Edinburgh, &c. Mr. Joseph R. Holmes is a member of the County Council, Argyle, &c. Has travelled all through Labrador, and in the Arctic, &c. A member of the Royal United Service Institute, Pastimes; Deer-stalking, Golf, (Vc,

HOLMWOOD & HOLMWOOD, Ltd., Merchants, Commission Agents, Insurance and Ship Brokers and Underwriters, 17, Gracechurch Street, E.C., and at Lloyds', London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1849 by Charles Holmwood. Partnership Successions: (1) Holmwood & Row, 1858; (2) Holmwood, Row & Co., 1861; (3) Mare, Holmwood & Co., 1876; (4) Holmwood & Holmwood, 1895. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Directors: T. D. Holmwood (Chairman), E. Holmwood, E. S. Holmwood, F. W. Senier. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Staff: Fifty. Branch Offices: 14, Cockspur Street, W.C.; 32, Avenue de l'Opera, Paris; and Vancouver, British Columbia. Business: Merchants, Commission Agents, Insurance and Ship Brokers and Underwriters. Telephone: No. 1262 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Holmwood, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), A 1, Lieber's, Private. Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.; Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. Mr. E. S. Holmwood, Mr. F. W. Senier, Hon. J. C. Crosbie, and the Hon. D. Morrison, are Directors of The Newfoundland Produce Co., Ltd., St. John's, Newfoundland, and Halifax, Nova Scotia.

HOLWELL IRON CO., Ltd., Smelters and Manufacturers, Asfordby, near Melton Mowbray. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: H. Runge (Chairman), R. Dalgliesh, J.P., D.L. (Deputy-Chairman and Managing Director), H. A. Allport, W. T. Cartwright and F. Carbutt. General Manager: T. Sarson. Secretary: E. Carter. Premises: Extensive Ironstone Mines; four Blast Furnaces; large Pipe Shops and General Foundries. Staff: Large. Staff Clubs: Workmen's Institute; First and Second Cricket Teams; First and Second Association Football Teams (Playing Fields on the premises). Agencies: Geo. Bradshaw & Co., 64, Cross Street, Manchester (for Manchester and District); Robert Kirk, 3 and 5, Exchange Street, Belfast (for Ireland). Business: Ironstone Mines; Pig Iron Smelters; Manufacturers of C. I. Gas and Water Mains and Specials; Tubbing Plates, Columns, &c. Connection: Extensive with Canada, South America, South Africa, India and Australia. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, Home Office, and India Office). Natal Government, Crown Agents for the Colonies; Large Corporation Contracts, amongst others the Metropolitan Water Board, Liverpool, Manchester, Leeds, Southampton, Nottingham, Leicester, Birmingham, &c. Telephone: No. 36 Melton Mowbray. Telegraphic Address: " Holwell, Asfordby." Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and Lieber's. Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (Nottingham). The Managing Director (Mr. Dalgliesh) is Deputy Lieutenant of Leicester; Vice-Chairman of the County Council; Chairman of the Leicester Territorial Association; Chairman of the Conservative and Unionist Association for the Melton Mowbray Division; Sheriff for the County, 1907; Vice-Chairman of the Quarter Sessions.

HOLZAPFELS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Anti-Corrosive and Anti-fouling Composi:Dns, and other Paint Specialities, Milburn House, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1881 as M. Holzapfel and Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company as Holzapfels Composition Company, Ltd. Re-registered in 1908. Directors: Max Holzapfel (Chairman and Managing Director), Albert C. A. Holzapfel (ViceChairman), Arthur G. Davidson, H. E. Deadman, James A. Donald, Albert George Holzapfel, Otto Levin, J.P., Thomas M. Little, Charles Petri, William Walther. Secretary: Clifford Johnson, A.C.I.S. Branches; London, Cardiff, Liverpool, Glasgow, Southampton, West Hartlepool, Sunderland, Hull, New York, Hamburg, Copenhagen; Genoa, Odessa, &c. Specialities: Anti-corrosive and Anti-fouling Compositions and other Paint Specialities. Awards: Brussels, 1910; Franco-British Exhibition, 1908; Crystal Palace, 1884; Paris, 1900; Bergen, 1898. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, India Office); Crown Agents for the Colonies. Telephones: Nos. 2263 and 2264 (National) Central, Newcastle-onTyne; No. 106 (P.O.), Newcastle; No. 2263 (Trunk), Newcastle. Telegraphic Address: " Holzapfel, Newcastle - on Tyne." Bankers: North Eastern Banking Co., Ltd. (Quayside, Newcastle); Glyn. Mills, Currie & Co. (London).

HOME YEAST CO., Ltd. (THE), Yeast Merchants, Bakers' and Confectioners' Sundriesmen, 47, St. Paul's Street, Leeds. Hours of Business: 7.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1889 by John Fenwick. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Managing Director: John Fenwick. Staff: 80. Branches: Sheffield, Northampton, Boston, Barnsley, Lincoln, Grimsby, Bedford, Middlesbrough, Peterborough, Norwich, Ipswich, Halifax, West Hartlepool, Bedale, Swinton, Yorks. Speciality: Agents for " Balloon " Yeast. Telephone: No. 1544 Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Fenwick, Leeds."

HOMFRAY & CO., Ltd., Carpet Manufacturers, Albert Mill, Sowerby Bridge, Yorks. London Warehouse: 19, Old Bailey, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Chairman of Directors: H. J. Homfray. Managing Director: E. E. Sykes. Specialities: Axminster SeamlEss Carpets and Rugs. Telephone: No. 2114 Holborn, London. Telegraphic Address: " Homfray, London."

HONEY, ROBERT, Wine and Spirit Valuer, Bottler, Warehouseman, and Carman, Champagne Disgorger, &c., St. Olave's Duty Paid Vaults, John Street, Mark Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established by Robert Honey in 1874. He continued to be the proprietor down to 1901, since when his son, William Robert Honey, has been the sole principal. Specialities: The Valuation of Wine and Spirits, the Bottling and Warehousing of the same. Cartage of Goods; Champagne Disgorging. In John Street, Crutched Friars, 20,000 sq. ft. of cellarage are available. Undertakes the clearance of all Wines and Spirits from Bond, and delivers bottled to any address in London or the country. Wine Sales are attended and Wine bought on Commission. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 6307 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Yenohor, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (94, Fenchurch Street).

HOODS, Ltd., Manufacturers, Importers, and Exporters of General Merchandise, International Exchange, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1876 by Joseph Hood. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Directors: Alderman Samuel Edwards, J.P. (Chairman), Joseph Hood, J.P. (Managing Director), Horace H. Hood, Vincent J. Hood, Charles Shelvoke. Premises: Commenced in a small way, but great success led to the building of the International Exchange, with unique Showrooms. Business: Manufacture, Importation, and Exportation of General Merchandise. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government, also to the Turkish Admiralty and other Powers. Telephones: No. 6973 (four lines), Birmingham; No. 165 Longton; No. 7818 Manchester; No. 462 Bradford. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Hood, Birmingham "; " Hoods, Manchestor "; " Dooh, Bradford "; " Hoods, Longton." Code: A B C. Bankers: Bank of England; also Lloyds Bank Limited.

HOOKER, W. H., Ltd., Export and Import Merchants, 8 and 9, Martin's Lane, London, E.C., and Mombasa, B.E.A. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1895 by William H. Hooker. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. Directors: Stewart Semple, H. C. Bateman, Bryan Laing, J.P., and Percy J. R. Tapp (Chairman and Managing Director). Secretary: Gordon I. Brassey.. Business: Export and Import Merchants. Connection.: Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 4621 Central, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Hookeria, London." Codes: A B 0 (5th Edition), Bentley's and Private. Banker: Robarts, Lubbock & Co., and National Bank of India, Ltd.

HOOPER & BATTY, Ltd., Advertising Contractors, 15, Walbrook, London, E.C. Telephone: No. 9648 City.

HOOPER & CO., Ltd., High-class Coachbuilding and Motor-Coachbuilding, Offices and Showrooms 54, St. James's Street, Piccadilly, London, S.W. Works: 77, King's Road, Chelsea, London, S.W. Garage (attached to Works): 44A, Smith's Terrace, Chelsea, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established by Mr. Adams, in the Haymarket, 1806. Partnership Successions: (1) Adams & Hooper; (2) George Hooper; (3) Hooper & Co. (until 1895). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Directors: H. H. Mulliner, Sir Courtauld Thomson, John Robertson (Managing Director). This firm is one of the oldest and most important in the trade, and has long enjoyed Royal and distinguished patronage. Specialities: Motor Coachbuilding of the highest class and Motor Repairs; designed and built nearly all the motor bodies for the late King Edward, H.M. King George, H.M. the Queen, H.M. Queen Alexandra, H.I.M. the German Emperor, H.R.H. Duke of Connaught, and H.R.H. Princess Christian. Other specialities include: State Carriages, Dress Carriages, Plain Carriages—all of the highest quality only, and to special and exclusive designs. Connection: United Kingdom, British Colonies, and all countries where high-class carriages are used. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment as Coachbuilders and Motor Body Builders to H.M. the King, to H.M. the Queen, and to H.M. Queen Alexandra (all three Warrants to John Robertson); also to the German Emperor, H.M. the King of Portugal, and H.M. the Queen Dowager of the Netherlands; coachbuilders to H.M. the King of Spain and H.M. the King of Norway. (The firm held for sixty years the Royal Warrant of Her Majesty Queen Victoria, and for nearly forty years that of the late King Edward.) Telephone: No, 912 Regent. Telegraphic Address " Sociable, St. James, London." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Lombard Street, London).

HOOPER'S TELEGRAPH AND INDIARUBBER WORKS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Submarine and Subterranean Telegraph Cables, Telephone Cables, &c. Offices, 31, Lombard Street, London, E.C.; Works, Millwall Docks, E. Established in 1860 by the late William Hooper, trading in his own name. In 1870 a Limited Company was formed, known as Hooper's Telegraph Works, Ltd., which went into liquidation in 1877. Business was continued under the style of Hooper's Telegraph and India-Rubber Works. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Directors: John Pitman Hooper (Chairman), John Frederick Wood Hooper, William Arthur Carnell Hooper. Specialities: Sub-marine and Subterranean Telegraph Cables; Telephone Cables; Hooper's Core and Insulated Wire for Electric Light, &c.; India-Rubber Sheet and Tape (Pure or Vulcanised); Jointing Materials for Electric Light Wires; Lead-covered and Armoured Electric Light Wires and Cables. Patents and Inventions: Hooper's India-Rubber Core, patented by William Hooper in 1859 as an insulator; several others. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office) and Colonial Governments for various descriptions of Submarine and Mining Cables, Field Telegraph Cables, &c., and core of Persian Gulf and Ceylon Cables, laid in 1868. Contractors to the Great Northern Telegraph Co., for cables in the Far East. Also Contracts with Western and Brazilian Co., for Cables on coast of Brazil; West India and Panama Telegraph Co., for Cables from Trinidad, Porto Rico, St. Thomas, and St, Croix; Cuba Submarine Telegraph Co., from Santiago to Manzanillo, Cienfuegos, Batabano, and Cape Cruz; Amazon Telegraph Co., for Cables in River Amazon. Telephone: No. 1169 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Linear, London." Bankers: Robarts, Lubbock & Co.

HOOTON, WILLIAM, Lace Machine Builder, Continental Works, Great Eastern Street, Nottingham. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1870 by William Hooton (d. 1899). Present Principal: William Arthur Hooton (son). Staff: 400 (men). Specialities: Lace Machines, and every accessory required for a lace manufacturer's plant. Patents: Several connected with lace machinery. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 511 Nottingham. Telegraphic Address: "William Hooton, Nottingham." Bankers: Nottingham and Notts Banking Co., Ltd.

HOPCRAFT & BROADWATER, Shipping and Insurance Agents, 4, Fenchurch Avenue, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6'p.m. Established in 1841 by George Hoperaft and Robert Broadwater (d. 1876). Staff: Seven. Speciality: Shipping Agency. Connection: United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, the Cape, India. Telephone: No. 1280 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Broadwater, London." Bankers: Bank of England; Williams Deacon's Bank.

HOPCRAFT & NORRIS, Ltd., Brewers, Brackley, Northamptonshire. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established sixty years ago by Alfred Hopcraft. Continued by (1) The executors of Alfred Hopcraft; (2) A. & E. Hoperaft. Incorporated as a Limited Company, July 13, 1895. Directors: Walter H. Norris (Chairman), Ernest Hopcraft, J.P., Captain Gerald Walker, J.P., Gerald M. Soames, C.C., and Graham B. White. Secretary: P. E. Clarkson. Premises: Cover three acres, with railway sidings to the L.N.W. Railway. Staff: Forty workmen, six clerical (Brewery); sixteen workmen, five clerical (Agencies); three travellers for all the business. Branches: Banbury, Aylesbury, Bletchley, and Long Buckby. Business: Brewery, Maltings and Wine Cellars and Bottling Departments. Large Bitter Beer trade. Award: Prize Medal for Bottled Beer, Brewers' Exhibition, 1913. Telephones: No. 14 Brackley; No. 38 Banbury; No. 5 Long Buckby; No. 106 Aylesbury. Tele graphic Address: " Norris, Brackley." Bankers: Gillett & Co., Brackley. Mr. Ernest Hoperaft is a Justice of the Peac3 for Northamptonshiro. Mr. Gerald M. &lathes is a County Councillor for Northamptonshire. Captain Gerald Walker is a Justice of the Peace for Yorkshire and Hertfordshire.

HOPE, ALEX. (JUNIOR), & CO., Ltd., Chemical Manufacturers, Anchor Chemical Works, Provanmill, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1843 by Alexander Hope (jun.) and James Johnston. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Director: W. G. Johnston. Business: Chemical Manufacturers. Tel&phones: Nos. 2852, 2853 Bell, Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Alexope, Glasgow." Bankers: Bank of Scotland.

HOPE BROTHERS, Ltd., Hosiers, Outfitters, &c., 44 and 46, Ludgate Hill, and 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5, Old Bailey, London, E.C. Counting House: 44 and 46, Ludgate Hill, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. Established: April 1st, 1874, by the late Thomas Peacock. Incorporated: August 22nd, 1900. Directorate: T. E. Goodyear (Chairman), W. W. Greenslade and E. A. Earl (Managing Directors), T. W. Leslie and W. E. Bottrill (Directors). Secretary: F. L. Brayne. Premises: Chief establishment, corner of Ludgate Hill and Old Bailey, London, E.C. London Branches: 48, Ludgate Hill, and 70, Old Bailey, E.C.; 35-38, Poultry, E.C.; 43, Poultry, and 1 and 2, Old Jewry, E.C.; 9 and 10, Poultry, E.C.; 134 and 135, Fenchurch Street, E.C.; 37 and 38, Strand, W.C.; 281 and 282, High Holborn, W.C.; 283, High Holborn, W.C.; 84, 84A, 86, 88, Regent Street, W.; 82, 82A, 84, 86, 86A, Bishop's Road, Paddington, W.; 12, Norton Folgate, E.; 34, Cannon Street, and 84, Queen Victoria Street, E.C.; 129, 131, 133, Kensington High Street, W.; 506, Oxford Street, W.; 6, High Street, Croydon; 22, 24, 26, London Street, Greenwich; 1, The Quadrant, Richmond. Country Branches throughout the United Kingdom. Factories: (Shirts and Collars), Littleport, Cambridgeshire, and 2A, Heiron Street, and 14, Cook's Road, Walworth, S.E.; (Hats) 126, Southwark Street, London, S.E. Specialities: Shirts, Collars, Hosiery, Hats, Neckwear, Gloves, Tailoring, &e. One of the largest firms of outfitters in the kingdom. Are manufacturers of the leading articles sold. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4700 City (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Centiped, London."

HOPE (HENRY) & SONS, Ltd., Makers of Steel and Bronze Windows, Casements, Sashes, Leaded Lights, Patent Glazing, Constructional Steelwork, Hardware, Leadwork and Heating and Ventilating Installations, 55, Lionel Street, Birmingham; and Halford Lane, Smethwick. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1818. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: H. Donald Hope (Chairman), Henry Hope, Fred. T. Garratt, Ralph W. Hope, and A. Reoch Grant. Premises: Cover seven and a half acres. Staff: 600. Branches: London, 59, Berners Street, W.; Manchester, 21, Spring Gardens; Glasgow, 134, St. Vincent Street; Dublin; Leeds; Belfast; Newcastle-on-Tyne; Swansea; New York; Toronto; Montreal; Buenos Aires; Cape Town; Melbourne; and Shanghai. Specialities: Steel and Bronze Windows, Casements, Sashes, Leaded Lights, Patent Glazing, Constructional Steelwork, Hardware, Leadwork and Heating and Ventilating Installations. Connections: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 998 and 999 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Conservatory, Birmingham." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Western Union, and Private. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Colmore Row, Birmingham).

HOPKINSON, J., & CO., Ltd., Makers of Patent Valves and Safety Boiler Mountings, Britannia Works, Huddersfield. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. (Office). Established in 1843 by Joseph Hopkinson; continued by his sons, John Addy Hopkinson and Joseph Hopkinson. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1894. Directors: Frank A. Hopkinson (Chairman), M.I.Mech.E., Allen H. Hopkinson ( Vice- Chairman), M. I. Mech. E . , Lawrence H. Hopkinson, John H. Hanson, C.E., R. V. Rigby, Richard Kilburn. Branches: London, Glasgow, Edinburgh, Cardiff, Oldham, Blackpool, Paris, St. Petersburg. Stall: (and workpeopl), 600. Specialities: Inventors and patentees of the well-known Hopkinson Boiler Mountings and Steam Stop Valves; also makers of • highclass Steam Specialities. Patents: Numerous. Connection: World - wide. Telephones: Nos. 1269 and 1270 Huddersfield; No. 1555 (Argyle), Glasgow; No. 5672 (Bank), London; No. 2195 (Central), Edinburgh; No. 1067 Cardiff. Telegraphic Addresses: " Hopkinson," Huddersfield, Edinburgh, Cardiff; " Hopkinsons," Glasgow; " Valvestem, Cent, London." Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd.

HOPPER, F., & CO., Ltd., Wholesale Cycle, Motor Cycle and Motor Car Manufacturers, St. Mary's Electric Power Works, Barton-on-Humber. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Counting House, 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1880 by F. Hopper, J.P. Joined by H. Wilson, J.P. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Directors: F. Hopper, J.P. (Managing Director), H. Wilson, J.P. G. H. Nowell, and W. Tomlinson. Secretary: C. A. Goldthorp. Premises: Increase of business necessitates constant erection of new buildings. Works cover several acres. Staff: Upwards of fifty. Stall Clubs: Barton Cycle Works Recreation Club and Institute, Ltd. Branches: Brigg Road, Barton-on-Humber; Offices, Garage and Foreign Department covering several acres. London .Warehouse, 8, Great Eastern Street, E.C. Specialities: Complete Machines, Frames and Concomitant parts of specialised designs to suit Traders who are exclusively supplied by this firm. Patents: Very numerous. Connection Supply the largest Trading Corporations throughout the world. On the G.P.O. list. Telephones: No. 17 (Post Office) Barton-on-Humber; No. 8988 (London Wall) London. Telegraphic Addresses; " Hopper, Barton-onHumber "; " Hopperdom, London."

HOPTON & SONS, Bent Timber Merchants, Wheel Manufacturers, Timber Merchants, &c., George Street, Euston Square, London, N.W.; and Union Works, Market Harborough. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1840 by Henry Hopton. Present Principal: Charles Hopton. Premises: Large works at Market liarborough and London, fully equipped with modern machinery; offices, &c., George Street, Euston Square, London. Staff: About 100. Specialities: Bent Timber and Wheels for Carriages, Motors, and all kinds of Vehicles; also for other purposes. Are merchants of English and Foreign Timber. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government; also to the principal English and Foreign Railway Companies. Telephones: No. 496 North; No. 13 Market Harborough. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Hoptons, London "; " Hoptons, Market Harborough."

HORA, E. & H., Ltd., Motor Body, Coach and Van Builders, 36, 38, Peckham Road, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Works, 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1878 by Ernest and Harold Hora. Incorporated as a Limitod Company 1896. Directors: R. J. White (Chairman), Harold Hora (Managing Director), J. G. White. Secretary: J. J. Ball. Premises: Works cover over two acres. Also extensive Showrooms. Staff: 300. Branches: Ferndale Road, Brixton; Hara Walk, Kingsland Road, N. Business: Building of every Type of Motor Cars, Motor Bodies, including 'Buses .and Commercial Vehicles, Engine Repairs, &c. Also the manufacture of Carriages and all Horse-drawn Vehicles. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 3760 Hop (two lines) Head Office; No. .2732 Dalton (Hare Walk); No. 3760B, Hop (Brixton). Telegraphic Address: " Linchpin, Camber, London."

HORNBLOWER, F. H., & CO., Galvanizers, Marlborough Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1886. Present Principal: F. H. Hornblower. As Electro-Galvanizers, claim to be one of the first, if not the first, to introduce this class of Galvanizing commercially in this country for certain classes of work. Agencies: London, 65, Fenchurch Street, E.C.; Birmingham, Box 47, 32, Temple Courts; Glasgow, 163, St. Vincent Street. Business: Galvanizars, Sheet Iron Workers in Ridging Down Spouts and Gutters. Shippers of Galvanized Nails, Screws, Washers, Nuts and Bolts, &c. Agents for Galvanized Corrugated Sheets, Hardware, Acetylene Plants, Flare Lights. Hold Stocks of all sizes of Carbide. Oxy-Acetylene Welders and Cutters. Connection: Chiefly with Shipping Merchants in England. Telephone: -No. 1843 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Hornblower, Liverpool." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

HORNBY, WM. HY., & CO., Ltd., Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers, Brookhouse Mills, Blackburn, Lancashire; Manchester Office and Warehouse, Princes Chambers, 26, Pall Mall. The firm, which is an old established one, was incorporated as a Limited Company under its present title in December, 1900; Sir William Henry Hornby, Bart., sole Governing Director. At the Brookhouse Mills 78,754 mule spindles and 1,384 looms are operated, and the Company maintains a large output of China and India Shirtings. Telephone: No. 115 Blackburn. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

HORNSBY (RICHARD) & SONS, Ltd., Engineers, Grantham, Lincolnshire, Branch Works at Stockport. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1315 by Richard Hornsby (d.). Joined by Richard Hornsby (d.), James Hornsby (d.) and William Hornsby (d.) as Richard Hornsby & Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1879. Directors: H. Simpson Gee, J.P. (Chairman), J. W. Hornsby, J.P. (Deputy Chairman), David Roberts, J.P. (Managing Director), Alfred ,Rowe Bellamy, Albert J. Hobson, J.P., Alfred Tongue, F.C.A. Secretary: W. Haynes. Premises: Works at Grantham and Stockport cover eighty acres. Staff: Upwards of 3,500. Branches: Stockport, Dublin, " Hornsby House," London, 75B, Queen Victoria Street, E.C.; Glasgow, 173A, St. Vincent Street. Also at Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane (Australia), also Montreal ( Canada). Specialities: Oil Engines, Petrol Engines, Gas Engines and Suction Gas Plants. Also general Agricultural Implements. Patents: Numerous, chiefly for Oil, Gas and Petrol Engines. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, India Office, War Office, &c.). Telephones: No. 120 Grantham; No. 27 Stockport; No. 69 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Hornsby," Grantham, London, Reddish, Dublin, Glasgow, Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Montreal. Codes: A 1, A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Lieber's, Marconi's, Western Union, Engineering, Private. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Grantham, London).

HORROCKSES, CREWDSON & CO., Ltd., Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers, Preston, Bolton, Manchester, and London. Established in 1791 by John Horrocks, then a small spinner of Bolton, who built a mill in that year at Preston, and became one of the pioneers of the Lancashire " factory system," by which the cotton industry was revolutionized. Within ten years he owned seven large mills, and in 1802 he was returned unopposed to Parliament as one of the two Members of the borough of Preston. Partnership Successions: John Horrocks, died in 1804 at the age of thirty-six years. He had previously been joined in partnership by John Whitehead and Thomas Miller, the firm trading as Horrockses, Miller & Co. The founder's place in the firm was taken by his brother Samuel Horrocks. In 1865 Thomas Miller (who had been sole proprietor since 1860) died, and the business passed to Edward Hermon (M.P. for Preston from 1868 to 1881), who died in 1881, and was succeeded by S. 0. Hermon, S. A. Hermon, and Mr. Styles. In 1885 the firm of Horrockses, Miller & Co., and that of Hollins Brothers (controlling adjoining mills) were amalgamated; and two years later a further important amalgamation was effected, bringing into the combination the business of Crewdson, Crosses & Co., of Bolton. Incorporated as a Limited Company (1887) under the title of Horrockses, Crewdson & Co., Ltd. Present Chairman: Sir Frank Hollins, Bart. Vice-Chairman: W. W. Galloway. Directors: Alfred Crewdson, Sidney A. Hermon, W. B. Secretan, Carltolt Cross, H. H. Owtratn, Sydney Gask, Alfred Crewdson (jun.), H. Waterhouse, A. M. Hollins, F. H. Hollins, M. S. Newton, T. H. Watson. Premises: Works at Preston and Bolton for Cotton Spinning and Manufacture; Warehouses at Manchester and London. The Preston Mills of the Company (comprising the Yard Works, with the original mill of 1791 still in use, and the New Works in close proximity), cover a total area of sixty acres. The Spinning Mills contain upwards of 300,000 spindles; the Weaving Sheds over 8,000 looms; and the number of hands employed exceeds 6,500. Specialities: Long6loths, Twilled Shirtings, Cambrics, Nainsooks, Pillow Cottons, Plain and Twilled Sheetings and Readymade Sheets, Harvards and Fancies. Also Flannelettes of the highest class in quality, finish, and design. Awards: Prize Medals, London, 1851 and 1862; Gold Medals, Paris, 1867 and 1878; Diplomas of Honour, Vienna, 1873, and London, 1884; Gold Medal, Cape Town, 1877; Gold Medal, Calcutta, 1884; Grand Prix, Paris, 1900; Grand Prix, Franco-British Exhibition, 1908; Grand Prix, Brussels, 1910. Connection: World-wide. The Company's name has long been a household word in the United Kingdom, and has become known in every quarter of the globe as a synonym for reliability in Cotton Goods. Telegraphic Addresses: "Horrockses," Preston, Bolton, Manchester; " Horrockses, Cent, London." Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd.

HORSFALL & BICKHAM, Ltd., Manufacturers of Card Clothing, Card Grinding Machinery, and all kinds of Card Wire, Bridgewater Works, Orchard Street, Pendleton, Manchester. Hours of Busi ness: Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1835 by William Horsfall. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: H. H. Worthington (Chairman), George A. Kennedy (Managing Director), William Hyde, Henry Lees, W. R. Hewson and Percy C. Briggs (Director and Secretary). Claim to be the original Card Makers in this country, and to be one of the largest makers of all sorts of Card Clothing and Card Grinding Machinery. Premises: Very extensive. Cover three or four acres. Equipped with all up-to-date appliances. Staff: Several hundreds. Agencies: France, Germany, Belgium, Austria, Russia, Italy, &c. Specialities: All sorts of Card Clothing, Card Grinding Machinery and Card Wire. Patents: Horsfall Wheel Grinder, Horsfall 4-Flat Grinding Machine. Awards: First-class Medals and Awards, England, France and Belgium for Card Clothing, and Card Grinding Machinery. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 6414 and 951 Central Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Horbick, Manchester." Code: A B C. Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd.

HORSLEY (THOMAS) & SONS, Ltd., Gun makers, Motor Engineers and Accessory Dealers, 10, Coney Street, York. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1830 by Thomas Horsley (father of the present Managing Director) as Gun Makers; continued as Thomas Horsley & Son. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1909. Directors: Thomas Horsley, sen. (Managing Director), Thomas Horsley (jun.), H. O. Horsley and H. B. Horsley. Business: Gun Makers, Motor Engineers. Inventors and Makers of the Horsley Disc Valve Petrol Engine. Telephone: No. 626 York. Telegraphic Address: " Horsleys, York." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

HORTON & ARLIDGE, Cardboard Box Manufacturers, Paper Factors and Importers, Stampers in Gold, Silver, &c., Designers, Engravers, Lithographers and Printers, Campbell Square, Northampton. Hours of Business: Usual. Established thirty years ago by Thomas Arlidge & Son. Present Principal: W. H. Horton, since 1909. Business greatly extended by present proprietor. Premises contain floor space of 30,000 feet. Removed in 1910' from Waterloo Works to present building, which was erected for Turner Brothers, Hyde & Co., at one time the largest firm of export Boot Manufacturers in the world. Specialities t Boxes for Boots, Millinery, Costumes, Suits, &c., in Straw, Leather and Fancy Boards, Box Labels, Stamping on Leather and other materials, Wrapping Papers, Tissues and Casings, Brass and Steel Stamps and Embossing Dies. Telephone: No. 125 Northampton. Telegraphic Address: " Horton, Boxmaker, Northampton." Bankers: Northamptonshire Union Bank, Ltd.

HORTON (BENJAMIN) & SON, Timber Merchants and Fencing Contractors, Lewisham Bridge, London, S.E. Hours of Business: Usual. Present Principals: H. B. Horton, H. M. Horton and E. C. Horton. Branch: Westerham Station Yard, Kent. Business: Contractors for all kinds of Wood Fencing, Saw Mills. Specialize in Seasoned English Timber, Cleft Oak Pale Fencing fixed complete. Telephones: No. 1166 Lee Green, London; No. 8 Westerham. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Deptford Branch). Clubs: (Mr. H. B. Horton), Founder Member, Royal Automobile; (Mr. H. M. Horton), Town Member, Royal Automobile. Mr. H. B. Horton is a member of Lewisham Borough Council .

HORTON, W., Manufacturer of Sporting Guns, Specialist in Gunfitting. Warehouse and Works: 199, Buchanan Street, Glasgow. Shooting School and Gunfitzing Ground: Kennyhill, near Glasgow. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1855 by William Horton. Present Principal: Oliver Horton (son of founder). Succeeded his father in 1895. Manager for many years previously. Has some celebrity as an exponent of Scientific Gunnery in " The Field," and is an acknowledged authority on Gunfitting. Claimed that although the firm is the youngest in the trade in Glasgow, it has a reputation of the very highest, and is bracketed for first place in Scotland with a well-known Edinburgh house. Premises: Highlyequipped with the most modern and complete plant. Probably the most up-todate in Scotland. Staff: Highly efficient trained craftsmen. Specialities: Manufacture of the highest-class Sporting Guns. Gunfitting, viz. the suiting of the weapon to the shooter's build, and aligning the gun so that when it is thrown to the shoulder it points at the spot the shooter is gazing at. Author of " Gunfitting, what it is, and what it does." Patents: Many for improvements in Sporting Guns. Connection: United Kingdom chiefly; also many customers in India and the Colonies. Telephone: No. 811 Douglas, Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Horton, Glasgow."

HOSKEN, TREVITHICK, POLKINHORN & CO., Ltd., Millers, Corn Merchants, Wool Combers, Bakers, Biscuit Manufacturers, Wholesale Grocers, Agricultural Providers, Seed, Manure, and Feeding Cake Factors, Ship Owners, Wharfingers, &c. .Registered Office: Hayle, Cornwall. Branches: Truro, Plymouth, St. Austell, Tavistock, Bradford (Yorks), (Wool Department); Falmouth (Grain Department), and Penzance. Hours of 13248i7bC88: Hayle, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.; Plymouth, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.; Tavistock (Wool Combing Works) 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 6.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Other Branches, usual wholesale hours of town. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890, absorbing business of W. Hosken & San, J. H. Trevithick & Sons, both of Hayle, and S. J. Polkinhorn, Truro. Subsequently acquired Mills of Lake & Son, Ltd., Truro, Tavistock Mills and Foundry, and original Valletort Mills, Plymouth, of Harris Brothers & Co. Directors: R. Trevithick (Chairman and Managing Director), Plymouth; H. H. Trevithick, - Hayle; S. J. Polkinhorn, J.P. (Managing Director), Truro; H. Hosken, Hayle; W. P. Trevithick, Plymouth; and Henry Rosewarne, Truro. Secretary: J. S. Broach, F.C.I.S., Hayle. Acquired in 1890 businesses established in early part of the nineteenth century, and are conducting one of the largest concerns in the West of England. Depots: In the Channel Islands, Bristol, Liverpool, Portsmouth, Swansea, Cardiff, Newport (Mon.), &c. Business: Chiefly Flour Milling, Grain Importing, Wool Combing. and Biscuit Making. Highest-class Products. Connection: West of England, South of England, Channel Islands, South Wales, Bristol, Liverpool, and Ireland. Telephones: No. 2 (twQ, lines) Hayle (Private Branch Exchange); No. 215 Plymouth; No. 6 Truro; No. 13 St. Austell; No. 14 Tavistock; No. 1298 Bradford. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Cornubia, Hayle," and all Branches. Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (Plymouth).

HOSKINS & SEWELL, Ltd., Manufacturers of Bedsteads, Bedding, Mattresses, Tubes and Ships' Berths, Bordesley, Birmingham. London Show Rooms, 1, South Place, Finsbury, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about sixty years ago. Continued under private 2x partnership. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1897. Directors: John E. Hoskins, J.P. (Chairman), E. L. Sewell (Managing Director), John E. Sheldon, C. H. Stone ( Secretary). Premises: Covering several acres, equipped with modern appliances. Branch works at Eagle Wharf Road, London, N. (Bedding Factory); Tube Mill and Mount Works, Floodgate Street, Birmingham, and Spring Mattress Factory, Francis Road, Hay Mill, near Birmingham. Staff: Very large. Specialities: Metallic Bedsteads. Make a special feature of " Hoskins " Fini*h for Brass Bedsteads. Connection: United Kingdom and all Markets throughout the World. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office). Telephones: No. 2340 (six lines), Midland, Birmingham; No. 1193 London Wall (London Show Rooms). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Hoskins, Birmingham " " Hoskwell, London." Code: ABC (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

HOSSELL, J. J. & H., Fellmongers and Wool Merchants, 96, Coventry Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Branches: Birmingham, Belmont Passage, Lawley Street; York, Layerthorpe Bridge. Specialities: All classes of English Skin Wool Stocked, also Colonial X Bred. Telephones: No. 4186 Central, Birmingham; No. 622 York. Telegraphic Address: " Hossell, Birmingham." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. (Colmore Row).

HOSTER, CONSTANCE (MRS.), Typewriting, Translation, Shorthand, and Training Offices, St. Stephen's Chambers, Telegraph Street, London, E.C. Office Hours: 9.30 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 3 p.m. (Two shifts of clerks.) Established in 1893 by present principal, Mrs. Hoster, F.I.P.S. (Typists' Section). Premises: Nineteen rooms at above address. Staff: (Office) twenty-five, varying number of translators, &c., on outside staff. Specialities: (1) Typewriting, Shorthand, Translating, Reporting, the Copying of Plans, Illuminating, Stencil Duplicating; Facsimile Typewriting on new Multigraph Machine; (2) Training in Secretarial and Commercial Work, Instruction in English, Secretarial Bookkeeping, French and German Short hand, also technical French and German, and Instruction by Correspondence. In the Typewriting, Translation, and Shorthand Departments all Commercial, Legal, Literary and Official Work is undertaken, and qualified operators are also supplied at clients' offices. Clientele: Solicitors, Merchants, Bankers, Financial Houses, Stockbrokers, Doctors, Members of Parliament, members of the Dramatic Profession, &c. Telephone: No. 1570 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Playada, London?' Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (72, Lombard Street, E.C.). Principal is a member of the London Chamber of Commerce.

HOTEL CECIL, Ltd. (THE), Victoria Embankment and Strand, London, W.C. Incorporated as a Company in January, 1896. The hotel is one of the fashionable resorts of the day, and the banqueting department is largely utilized for important social events. Staff: Between 600 and 650. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 60 Gerrard. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Cecelia, London."

HOTEL CHINA CO., Ltd. (THE), China and Earthenware Manufacturers and Glass Importers, also Manufacturers' Agents for Best Sheffield -Silver Plate and Cutlery. Registered Office: 29, New Cannon Street. Warehouse: 27, New Cannon Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1903. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1912. Directors: F. R. Gleave (Managing Director), and Miss J. R. Brotherton. Staff: Office, six; three travellers, call on all Hotels, Restaurants, &c., in the United Kingdom. Specialities: Toughened Glass, Vitrified Earthenware, guaranteed not to crack in the Glaze. Glassware special pro-cess in acid etching and badging on same. Connection: In the Potteries chiefly for China and Earthenware, Manchester and abroad for Glass, and Sheffield for Electro Plate, Silver and Cutlery. Telephone: No. 6199 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Hotchinco, Manchester." Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd. (Head Office, Manchester).

HOTHAM & WHITING, Warehousemen and Manufacturers, 25, Wellington Street, and 2, Thirsk Row, Leeds. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1820 by James Hotham. Branches: Norfolk Street, Sheffield; Norton Street, Liverpool. Business: General Manchester Warehousemen, Mantle Manufacturers, Pinafore, Shirt, and Underclothing Manufacturers. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 3770 Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Hotham, Leeds." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

HOUGH (RICHARD), Ltd., Calender Bowl Makers, Nelson Square, Bolton. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established over eighty years ago. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: R. Hough (Chairman), S. Bellis, H. Bellis and J. W. Hough. Specialities: All kinds of Calender and Mangle Bowls for Bleachers, Finishers, Paper Makers, Dyers, Calico Printers, &c.; Cotton, Paper, Wood Wool, Coir Fibre, &c., Bowls, &c.; Metal Bowls supplied, re-ground and re-surfaced. A special feature made of finest quality Cotton Bowls. Claim that they are unequalled for " Finish " and Durability. Telephone: No. 305 Bolton.

HOUGHTON, A. B. & G. G., Metal and Glass Shop Window Fittings, 42 and 43, Main Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1909 by A. B. Houghton and G. G. Houghton, the present principals. Specialities: In concentrating on the production and distribution of little Glass Shelves supported by " Tiny T," " Just There," and kindred Brackets, as well as Glass Showstands and Tiers for shop window dressing. Patent: " Tiny T," " Just There," &c., in England, France, Germany, Austria, Belgium, and United States. Connection. Represented in France, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Italy, Belgium, and Holland. Telephone: No. 480 Victoria, Birmingham. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Houghtonic, Birmingham." Bankers: London City and Midland, Birmingham; Credit Lyonnais, Paris; Deutsche Bank, Berlin; Union Bank, Vienna; Banque Federale, Zurich.

HOUGHTONS Ltd., Photographic Manufacturers, 88 and 89, High Holborn, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. Established in 1834 by Antoine Claudet and George Houghton, the title of the firm being Claudet and Houghton; in 1865 Claudet, Houghton & Son, and in 1880 George Houghton & Son. Incorporated in 1903 as George Houghton & Son, Ltd. In 1904 the firm became known as Houghtons Limited. Chairman, George Houghton. Mr. A. Claudet was the first to introduce Daguerrotype as Professional Photography into England. Business: Manufacture of Cameras, - in which the firm are also dealers, Photographic Materials of all kinds, Optical, Scientific, Surveying and Nautical Instruments. Branches: Distributing Depots (Photographic), 88 and 89, High Holborn, London, and 70 and 78, York Street, Glasgow; (Optical), 95, Hatton Garden; Works., Waltham stow. The staff employed at the depots numbers 200 and at the works 950. Connection: Throughout the United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2500 Holborn (five lines). Telegraphic Addresses: " Bromide, London," for High Holborn; " Leviathan, London," for Hatton Garden; " Rhamnus," for Walthamstow Works; " Houghtons," for Glasgow.

HOULDER BROTHERS & CO., Ltd., Ship Owners, Ship and Insurance Brokers, Freight Contractors, &c. Head Office: 146, Leadenhall Street, London, E.C. Established in 1853 by the late Edwin Savory Houlder. Incorporated: January 26th, 1898. Managing Directors: F. H. Houlder (Chairman), Sir S. W. Furness, M.P., M. C. Houlder, F. W. Lewis, W. C. Warwick. The Company have very extensive and important interests as Ship Owners, and transact a large business also as Insurance Brokers and Freight Contractors. Their connections are world-wide, and are particularly influential in the trade between the United Kingdom and the River Plate, and also South and East Africa. Branches: Liverpool, Glasgow, Manchester, Newport (Mon.), Bristol, Swansea. Port Talbot, Birmingham, Sheffield, Leeds, Immingham, Buenos Aires, La Plata, Cape Town, Sydney (N.S.W.). Melbourne and Brisbane. Telegraphic Address: For Birmingham Office, " Cargo,"; for other Offices, " Houlders." Codes: A 1, A B C (5th Edition). Lieber's, Standard, Watkins', Western Union.

HOW (SAMUEL) & CO., General Produce Brokers, 20, Manchester Buildings, Tithebarn Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1850 by Samuel How. Present Principal: Joseph Powell. Specialities: Sugar, Coffee, Cocoa, Cottonseed, and other General Produce. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 406 (Central), Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " How, Liverpool." Codes: A B C, &c.

HOWARD & BULLOUGH, LIMITED, Makers of Cotton Spinning and Manufacturing Machines, Globe Works, Accrington. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Mondays, 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 11.30 a.m. Established in 1853 by John Bullough (d.) and John Howard. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Directors: Sir George Bullough, Alfred Hitchen (Chairman), Tom Bullough, C. A. Peltzer (Vice-Chairman), J. Newton, G. G. Riding (Assistant Director). Secretary: George Ormerod. Specialities: Cotton Spinning and Weaving Preparatory Machines. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 8 Accrington (four lines). Telegraphic Address: - " Globe, Accrington." Codes: A B C and A 1. Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.

HOWARD & SONS, Ltd., Cabinet Makers, Upholsterers, Decorators, and Manufacturers of Patent Parquet Flooring, 25, 26, 27, Berners Street, London, W., and Cleveland Works, Fitzroy Square, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1828 by John Tabor Howard, succeeded by Daniel Howard, George Howard, and Walter Howard. Incorporated as a Company in 1899. Directors: Walter Howard and John Grantley Howard. Specialities: Parquet Floorings, Easy Chairs; also Decorations of all kinds. Patentees of a special Parquet Flooring. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and in the Colonies. Royal Warrants: The present Directors are Royal Warrant Holders to H.M. King George V.; also to His late Majesty King Edward. Telephone: No. 5552 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Duvet, Ox, London."

HOWARDS & SONS, Ltd., Chemical Manufacturers, Uphall Works, Ilford, London, E.; and at Stratford, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays. 9 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. Established in 1797 by Luke Howard, F.I.S. (d. 1864), who was succeeded by Robert Howard (d. 1871), John Eliot Howard, F.R.S. (d. 1883), Colonel S. Howard, C.B. (d. 1902), W. D. Howard (d. 1912), and others. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Directors: David Howard, J.P., D.L., Theodore Howard, Alfred G. Howard, J.P., D. Lloyd Howard, J.P., Bernard F. Howard, Geoffrey E. Howard. Premises: New Works and Offices at Ilford on the site of a British Camp. Part of the old premises at Stratford retained for special processes. Occupy land extending to forty acres of which about ten aro covered with buildings. Specialities: Quinine, Mercurials, Camphor, Bismuth Salts, /Ethers, Spirits, Sodii Bicarb, and almost all Pharmaceutical and many Technical Chemicals. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 162 Ilford. Telegraphic Address: " Quinology, Ilford." Branch: Hopkin & Williams, Ltd., 16, Cross Street, Hatton Garden, E.C. Manager: Edmund White, B.Sc., &e., President Pharm. Society.

HOWARTH & CO., Schreiner Engravers and Engineers, Victoria Works, Lower Crumpsall, Manchester. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1859 by Robert Howarth (d.), joined by Frederick Cawley Roberts, the present principal. Claim that they were formerly the largest engravers of cylinders for oilcloth and paper printing, but for several years past have specialized in Schreiner engraving—engraving Bowls for producing the Schreiner finish on cloth. Premises: Cover two acres, equipped with modern Appliances. Staff: About 100. Specialities: Engraving Steel Bowls for producing the Schreiner finish on cloth. Patents: Twin - Screw - Mill - Engraving Machine for Schreiner Engraving. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly), Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 218 Cheatham Hill. Telegraphic Address: " Schreineria, Manchester."

HOWE, D. L., & CO., Shipbrokers and Carting Contractors, 57, Queen Square, Bristol. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1904 by D. L. Howe, the present principal. Business: Ship Brokers and Carting Contractors, Agents for Langland's Steamers trading round the coast of Great Britain. Also Agents for the Bideford and Bristol S.S. Co.'s Steamers trading between Bristol, Bideford and Ilfracombe. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Telephone: No. 944 Bristol. Telegraphic Address " Howeld, Bristol."

HOWELL (HENRY) & CO., Ltd., Wholesale and Export Manufacturers of Canes and Sticks, Nos. 176 to 186, Old Street, St. Luke's; Martha's Buildings, Old Street, St. Luke's; and 53 and 54, Featherstone Street, St. Luke's, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1832. Henry Howell, proprietor, about 1860; succeeded by Henry Howell & Co., 1882. Incorporated: Nov. 19th, 1903, as a Limited Company: Jonathan Howell, • Managing Director; George Short, Henry Short, and John W. Howell, Directors. Premises: One of the largest establishments in Europe devoted to the manufacture of Canes and Sticks. Four large factories specially equipped for this industry, and employing about 600 hands (average). Also showrooms displaying the great variety of styles and patterns embraced in the Company's productions. Many thousands of different kinds of Sticks, Handles, &c. Specialities: Umbrella and Parasol Sticks, Walking Sticks, Riding Whips, Hunting Crops. Noted for Natural Sticks, of every description. Materials from every quarter of the globe. Special attention to artistic details in the mounting, &c., of the finer grades of sticks. Several patents and improvements in Umbrella Sticks and Walking Sticks. The Company are mounters in gold, silver, ivory, polished stones, &c. Award: Grand Prix (Highest Award), Paris, 1900. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 5862 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Henry Howell, Finsquaro, London." Bankers: Bank of England.

HOWELL (JOHN) & CO., Ltd., Wholesale Drapers, 1, 2, and 3, St. Paul's Churchyard; 1 to 9, Ludgate Hill; 7 to 15, Creed Lane; and 40, Carter Lane, London, E.C. Established in 1822 by the late Wynn Ellis, who was for many years M.P. for Leicester, and who at his death (1875) bequeathed a large number of valuable pictures to the National Gallery. Partnership Successions: Ellis, Everington & Co.: Ellis, Howell & Co. The late John Howell, father of the present Chairman of the Company, joined the founder in partnership in 1837. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1871. Directors: E. H. Howell (Chairman), T. H. Tarlton, Francis Hall, J. Paynter. In St. Paul's Churchyard and adjacent streets the warehouse accommodation amounts to 820,000 cubic feet. Branches: Birmingham, 13, Albert Street; Liverpool, 66, Hanover Street. Stag: About 320 in all. Specialities: Latest Novelties in Dresses, Silks, and Fancy Drapery Goods. There are nearly thirty departments. The Company are large buyers in all the principal markets, and have buying agencies in most parts of the world. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Telephone: Nos. 3090, 3091, 3092 City. Telegraphic Address: " Howell, Central, London."

HOWELL, LLEW., & CO., Ltd., Coal Miners and Fire Brick Manufacturers, Argoed Colliery and Brick Works, Station Road, Port Talbot. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1887 by Llewelyn Howell, J.P. Succeeded by his trustees, Llewelyn John Howell (son) and Herbert Hudson. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1912. Directors: J. M. Davey (Chairman), L. J. Howell, Mansel Hunter, Herbert Hudson. Herbert Hudson, Secretary. Branch: Briton Ferry. Specialities: First Quality Cooking and House Coals, Fire Bricks, &c. Telephone: No. 249 Port Talbot. Telegraphic Address: " Llewelyn Howell, Port Talbot." Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Port Talbot.

HOWELL, THOS. H., Ltd., Iron and Steel Merchants and Exporters, Llanarth Street, Newport, Mon. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. (Summer); 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. (Winter); Saturdays close at 2 p.m. Established in 1823 by Aaron Crosfield. Partnership Successions: (1) Crosfield & Phillips, 1843-1849; (2) Phillips & Gething, 1849-1853; (3) S. M. & H. Phillips, 1853-1868; (4) Henry Phillips, 18691879; (5) Thos. H. Howell, 1879-1899. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: Thos. H. Howell, J.P. (Managing Director), Thos. H. Howell (jun.), Illtyd Howell, Osmond Howell. Claim to be the oldest firm of Iron Merchants in the Principality and Monmouthshire. Premises: 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, and 31, Llanarth Street, and 162, Dock Street. Specialities: Supply all requirements of Ship Repairers and Engineers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephones: Nos. 37 and 13 (National); No. 51 (P.O.) Newport. Telegraphic Address: " Howell, Newport, Mon." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

HOWES & EDWARDS & SONS, Wine and Spirit Brokers, &c., 27, Mincing Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1845. A well-known firm of Wine and Spirit Brokers, &c. Telephone: No. 6165 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Consensus, London." Codes: A B C (4th Edition); Lieber's. Bankers: Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co.

HOWES, S., CO., Manufacturers of " Eureka " Grain Cleaning Machinery, " Little Giant" Turbines, Motor and Pelton Wheels, " Eureka" Works, Silver Creek, New York. London Office: 64, Mark Lane, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1856 by Simeon Howes. Partnership Successions: (1) Howes, Babcock & Co., 1864; (2) Howes, Babcock & Ewell, 1879; (3) Howes & Ewell, 1888; (4) S. Howes Co., 1892. President: A. C. Barbeau. Manager: (London Office), A. Gilli. Premises: Claim to have the largest and best equipped Factory in the world for the building of Grain Cleaning Machines exclusively. Specialities: Grain Cleaners, Water Turbines, Machines for Flour, Corn, Samp and Cereal Mills, Rice, Coffee, Seed, Canning, Cement Mills, Scales and Weighing Machinery. Awards: Gold Medals and other Diplomas at all Exhibitions where Machines have been exhibited, about t wen uy-five. Trade Mark: " Eureka." Connection: Contractors to the New York State Govenrment, also to H.M. Government, French, Russian, Indian, Dutch, Egyptian and Cape of Good Hope Governments. Telephone: No. 1924 Avenue, London. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Barbeau, London "; " Barbeau, Silver Creek." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Western Union, Lieber's.

HOWLETT & WHITE, LIMITED, Wholesale and Export Boot and Shoe Manufacturers, " Anchor " Boot Factory, St. George's Plain, Norwich. London Office: 48, Jewin Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1846 by Tillyard & Howlett. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: John Godfery Howlett, Arthur Godfery Howlett (Chairman), James Warnes Howlett, George Ernest White, William G. Mase, Edward St. John Theobald. Premises: Extensive and fully equipped with modern appliances, with a street frontage of 590 ft. Stall: 1500. Specialities: " Anchor," " Norvic," " Mascot," " Freedom," and " Peerless " Registered Brands of Boots and Shoes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 48 Norwich. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Howlett, Norwich." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

HOWSE, MEAD & SONS, Ltd., Woollen Merchants, 19, St. Paul's Churchyard, E.C., 8, Carter Lane, E.C., and 77, Leonard Street, Finsbury, E.C., London. Established over a century ago by William Barber, in High Street, Borough, S.E. Incorporated April 15th, 1905, as a Limited Company. Managing Directors: Alfred Mead, E.W. Morgan, Harold Stewart, Granville Smith, and F. Terry. Premises: Warehouses in St. Paul's Churchyard and Leonard Street, Finsbury. Branches: 9 and 11, East 37th Street, New York; 39, Rue St Augustin, Paris; 47 Mohrenstrasse, Berlin; Vienna, 6 Wellzeille. Agencies in every country. Speciality: Woollen Cloths for men's wear, of the higher grades. One of the best-known houses dealing with this class of goods; large Home, Foreign, and Colonial trade. Telephones: Nos. 363 and 364 Bank. Telegraphic Address " Meadsons, London."

HOYER, JOHN C., Scientific Instrument Maker, St. Mary's Works, Eldon Road, Wood Green, London, N. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1899 by J. C. Hoyer at St. Mary's Hospital, Paddington, when Instrument Maker to Dr. A. D. Waller, F.R.S. Business: Maker of Dr. A. D. Waller's Physiological Instruments, Digital Sphygmograph, Photographing Box, Lantern Railway, Myograph, Chloroform Apparatus, &c.; Lippmann's Capillary Electrometer, &c.; Slow and Fast Clock-driven Cylinders for Recording; Electric Signal Time Clocks; Dr. W. L. Symes' Embedding Baths and Apparatus. Original maker of Sir Almroth Wright's Incubator for the estimation of the Opsomic Index and Apparatus. Maker of All-metal Gas Regulators, Clinical and Surgical Instruments, Engineers' Small Tools; Gas and Electric-heated Soldering Irons; " Always Accurate " Pocket Spring Balance for Nurses, Fishermen, Jewellers, &c. Awards: Bronze Medal, London, 1899; Diplome d'honneur, Turin, 1901. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 1939 Tottenham, London.

HOYLAND SILKSTONE COAL & COKE CO., Ltd. (THE), Colliery Proprietors, Hoyland, near Barnsley, Yorks. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1888. Directors: Jacob Higson, C.E. (Chairman), T. A. Higson, H. Baker, F. A. Scott. Secretary: T. Williamson. Premises: Cover several acres. Staff: Nearly 2000. Specialities: House, Gas and Steam Coal, splendid seams of Silkstone and Flockton Coal. Business largely developed and great improvements made during the past few years. Connection: United Kingdom, Continental. Telephones: Nos. 5 and 31 Hoyland. Telegraphic Address: " Hoyland, Barnsley."

HOYLE BROTHERS, Ltd., Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers, Olive and Meadows Mills, Bacup. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1860 by Joshua Hoyle. Partnership Successions: (1) Hoyle and Crapper, (2) J. & J. Hoyle Brothers. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. Directors: J. T. Hoyle, J. H. Hoyle. Business: Cotton Spinning and Manufacturing. Telephones: No. 17 and 18 Bacup.

HOYLE, CALEB, Cotton Spinner and Manufacturer, Derdale Mill, Todmorden. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1870 by Henry Maden and Caleb Hoyle, trading as Maden & Hoyle. Present Principal: Caleb Hoyle since 1895, when the partnership was dissolved. Premises: Very extensive, containing 60,000 Spindles and over 1600 Looms. Staff: Over 1000. Branches: Hollins Mill, Walsden, bought by C. Hoyle in 1904; Office, 6, Major Street, Manchester, established in 1910.. Specialities: Grey Cloth for Home trade, Mexicans, T's, Satins, Drills, &c., for Export to China, India, West Coast of Africa and the Levant. Telephones: No. 38 (Derdale Mill); No. 39 (Hollins Mill), Todmorden. Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd., Todmorden.

HOYLE (JAMES), Ltd., Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers, Acre Mill, Hebden Bridge. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1855. Incorporated as a Limited Company in. 1887. Specialities: Sheetings and Ducks for all purposes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3 Hebden Bridge. Telegraphic Address: " Acre, Hebden Bridge."

HOYLE (JOHN) & CO., Wool Noil Merchants, 160, Sunbridge Road, Bradford. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1902. Present Principals: John Hoyle and C. H. White. Speci alities: Carbonized Noils and Cardings for Felting for Hat Manufacturers. Connection: Home and Colonial. Telephone: No. 1610 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Thrifty, Bradford." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Bradford).

HOYLE (JOSEPH) & SON, Manufacturers of Fancy Woollens and Serges, Prospect Mills and Quarmby Clough Mills, Long wood, Huddersfield. London Orrice: 6 and. 7; Addle Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1866 by Joseph Hoyle, present senior partner, trading as Joseph Hoyle. Joined in partnership by Emmanuel Hoyle (son) in 1887. Staff: 1,500. Present Principals: Joseph Ho yle, Emmanuel Hoyle. Premises: Large well-equipped Mills. Specialities: Art Serges for Upholstering and Fur nishing Fabrics, Blue Serges for Clothing and Contract Work, Army Cloths. Special feature made of Khaki Cloths, Tweeds, and all kinds of Woollen Goods. Con nection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colo nial. Telephones: Nos. 33 and 43 Milns bridge. Telegraphic Address: " Hoyle, Longwood." Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Banking Co., Ltd.

HOYLE (JOSHUA) & SONS, Ltd., Cotton Spinners, India Mill, Bacup, Lancs. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company. Branches: Plantation Mill, Beech Mill, Bacup; Brooksbottoms Mill, Sunamerseat; Freeholds Mill, Shawforth. Specialities: Manufacture of Grey, White, Dyed, Printed and Coloured Goods, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 10 Bacup; No. 38 Ramsbottom; Nos. 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 Manchester. Telegraphic Addresses: " India, Bacup "; " Sunset Manchester."

HOYLE, ROBSON, BARNETT & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Paints, Dry Colours, and Varnishes, Oil Boilers, Coopers, Iron Keg Makers, and Importers of Tar, Pitch, Resin, &c. Registered Office: St. Nicholas Chambers, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Established in 1798. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: Edward G. Barnett (Chairman), Frederick P. Barnett, A. Selby Wood (Managing Director). Premises: Extensive Works, conveniently situated at Bill Quay-on-Tyne, about four miles from the Town Office, with a river frontage of over 800 ft., and an area of about three acres. London Office, 84 Leadenhall Street, E.C. Cardiff Office, Collingdon Road. Business: Are large Shipbuilders' Contractors, and Purveyors of the requirements of Ship Store Merchants, Wholesale Druggists, Ironmongers, House Painters, Implement Makers and Estate Agents; Specialise in Drop Blacks, Emerald Greens, Chrome Yellows, Vermilionettes and Permanent Reds. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1219 and 1220 Newcastleon-Tyne; No. 506 Cardiff. Telegraphic

Addresses: "Hoyson, Newcastle-on-Tyne; " "Hoyson Cardiff"; " Hoyrobnett, Led, London." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

HOYLE, W., & CO., Ltd., Makers of China and Home Trade Bleaching Goods and Twills, Jeans, &c., Spring Mill, Tottington, near Bury. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1860 by James Hoyle and William Hoyle. Partnership Successions: (1) James Hoyle; (2) James Hoyle & Sons; (3) William Hoyle & Brothers; (4) William Hoyle & Brother; (5) William Hoyle & Co. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1902. Managing Director: William Hoyle. Chairman: William Greenhalgh. Premises: Very extensive, fitted with 1000 looms. Staff: 400. Business: Manufacturer of China and Home Trade Bleaching Goods and Twills, Jeans, &c. Telephone: No. 335 Bury. Telegraphic Address: " Hoyle, Tottington." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. W. Hoyle was at one time Chairman of the Urban District Council.

HOYLE, W. & R., Worsted Spinners, Queen's Road Mills, Halifax. Hours of Business: Office, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1830. Specialities: Botany and Cross-bred Yarns. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 150 Halifax. Telegraphic Address: " Elyoh, Halifax."

HUDSON, B. J., & SONS, Timber, Hardwood and Veneer Merchants, 31 to 37, Whitfield Street, London, W., and Branches. Specialities: Mahogany, Wainscot, Walnut Logs and Planks; also Veneer Stock. Telephones: Nos. 3947 and 2719 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Beefwood, London."

HUDSON BROTHERS, Ltd., Provision Merchants and Grocers, 50 and 52, Ludgate Hill, London, E.C. Established over half a century ago by James Hudson and Frank Hudson. The Company is one of the most important in the Provision and Grocery Trades, and has a large number of branch establishments in London and provinces. Telephones: No. 9776 City (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Hudson Bros., London."

HUDSON & CO., Wholesale Clothiers, St. Peter's Buildings, York Street, Leeds. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Established in 1902 by Percy Hudson, the present principal. Staff: About 100. Business: Stock and Machinery buyers connected with the clothing trade. Connection: Home and Foreign. Bankers: Halifax Commercial Banking Co., Ltd. (Park Row, Leeds).

HUDSON & KEARNS, Ltd., Printers and Publishers, Hatfield Street Works, Stamford Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1831 by William Hudson and John Francis Daniel Hudson. Continued by sons of the founders. From 1867 to 1880 (when he (lied) John Henry Kearns was a partner. For family reasons the business was converted into a Limited Company, October, 1907. Directors: William Hudson, Edward Hudson, and John Barr Stevenson. Premises: Large works at above address, covering about three-quarters of an acre, were erected in 1905 by Messrs. Cubitts from designs by Frank Matcham & Co. Business: Newspaper and General Printers. Also Process Block Makers and Manufacturing Stationers. Makers of the Yale - Locked Hatfield Security Perpetual Ledgers. Printers of many well-known publications, " Country Life," " The Ladies' Field," " The Garden." Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 609, 610, 2640 Hop; No. 354 Central. Telegraphic Address: "Hudson, London." Mr. Edward Hudson is a Director of George Newnes, Ltd. Mr. William Hudson and Mr. Edward Hudson are Directors of " Country Life," Ltd.

HUDSON, SYKES & BOUSFIELD, Ltd., Worsted Spinners and Woollen and Worsted Manufacturers, 19, Wellington Street, Leeds. Works: Springfield Mills, near Leeds. London Offices: 1, Gresham Street, E.C., and 1, Warwick Street, Regent Street. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1866, being an amalgamation of Hudson & Bousfield, established in 1838, and John Sykes & Son, who in 1849 took over the business of James Brown & Co., established towards the end of the eighteenth century. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1899. Directors: A. W. Sykes (Chairman), C. E. Bousfield, E. C. Hudson, P. D. Thomas (Deputy Chairman), A. Eastwood, J. H. Clayton, E. Stockdale, H. E. Sykes, C. A. Robinson (Secretary). Branches: Montreal, 301, St. James' Street; Glasgow, 142, Queen Street (Gray, Christie & Co.). Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, Foreign. Telephone: No. 163 Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Bousfield, Leeds." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions).

HUDSWELL, CLARKE & CO.. Ltd., Locomotive Engineers, Railway Foundry, Leeds. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1860 by Wm. Hudswell and John Clarke. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: Harold Lambert, Geo. W. Butlin (Joint Managing Directors), Wm. Johnson, W. W. W. Clayton. Staff: 400 to 500. Specialities: Locomotive Engines for Main or Branch Lines; also for Iron and Steel Works, Collieries, Contractors' Work, &c. Connection: United Kingdom. Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government and to Colonial Governments. Telephone: No. 3540 (National) Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Loco, Leeds." Codes: Lieber's; A 1; A B C (4th and 5th Editions); Engineering Standards. Bankers: Beckett & Co. (Leeds).

HUGGINS (WILLIAM) & SONS, Steel and Brass Cased Tube Manufacturers, Glover Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1858 by William Huggins. Present Principals: Henry Huggins and Frederick Huggins (sons). Premises: Consist of three. works, 107, Glover Street, 59, Glover Street, and 61, Watery Lane, with stables at 44, Glover Street. Works are equipped with modern appliances. Staff: 300. Speciality: Tubes for Metallic Bedsteads. Are the original manufacturers of Close Joint Brass Cased Tubes. Patents: Numerous, relating to Tube-making. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 192 and 193 (Victoria), Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Huggins, Birmingham." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited; Foreign, Credit Lyonnais.

HUGHES, BOLCKOW & CO., LTD., Iron and Steel Merchants. Head Office: 2, Exchange Place, Middlesbrough. Yards and Showrooms: Battleship Wharf, Blyth, Northumberland; Derwenthaugh Quay, Swalwell, S.O.; Samuda's Wharf, Millwall, East; and 10, Dover Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Directors: Ralph T. Hughes, Charles F. H. Bolckow (Managing Directors), and Bedford L. Dorman. Business: Iron, Steel and Machinery Merchants, Dismantlers, Battleship Breakers, Makers of Battleship Teakwood Garden and Indoor Furniture. Telephone: No. 480 Middlesbrough. Telegraphic Address: " Hughes, Middlesbrough." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Middlesbrough).

HUGHES (CRAWFORD) & CO., Manufacturers, Patentees, Merchants, Electrical Engineers and Exporters, 2A, Ryder Street, St. James's, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Important improvements carried out and present business established in 1887; with which is incorporated the Sheffield Central Engineering and Manufacturing Co., 1899, and W. G. Crawford Hughes & Co. Present Principal: W. G. Crawford Hughes, F.G.S., A.M.Inst.C.E. Premises: In addition to the chief offices, &c., in Ryder Street, St. James's, extensive stores at Battersea. Agents at Glasgow, Dublin, Manchester, Liverpool, Sheffield, and other provincial towns. Specialities: Wire Ropes, Cables, Flexible Cords, Art Metal Work for Pictures, High-class Picture Wires of highest tensile strength, Patent Hooks, Picture Chains and Hooks, Rod Brackets, &c.; also Hardware and Brassfoundry, Sheffield Goods, and all kinds of Electrical Fittings, Engineers' Tools, Files, Electric Fans, Motors, &c. Patents: Numerous. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Are contractors to the Government, Corporations and Railway Companies, &c. Telephone: No. 294 Regent. Telegraphic Address: " Conversant, London."

HUGHES, E. GRIFFITHS (KARSWOOD), Ltd. — See HUGHES, E. GRIFFITHS (KRUSCHEN), Ltd. (next entry).

HUGHES, E. GRIFFITHS, (KRUSCHEN) Ltd., Sole Manufacturers of Kriischen Salts and E. Griffiths Hughes (Karswood), Ltd., Manufacturing Chemists. Head Office: 68, Deansgate Arcade, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1756. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Directors: William Griffiths Hughes, Pharmaceutical Chemist (Managing Director), Harry Marland (Sales Manager), and William Fenwick Wrigley (Chartered Accountant and Secretary). Claim to be the oldest established firm of Manufacturing Chemists in Manchester. Premises: Packing and Manufacturing Factory, equipped with up-todate appliances. Staff: 100. Agencies: Depots and Distributing Agencies throughout the United Kingdom, Colonies, India and Foreign Countries. Specialities: " Krilschen " Salts, Karsoto, Fir Tree Oil InsectiCide, and ninety-eight other articles for Therapeutic. Horticultural, Toilet, Household and Veterinary use. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2003 City, Manchester. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Kriischen, Manchester." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

HUGHES, E., & SONS, Ship Store Merchants, Royal Stuart Warehouses, James Street, Cardiff. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1889 by E. Hughes. Present Principals: E. Hughes, 0. Hughes and G. Hughes. Staff: Twelve. Business: General Ship Store Merchants and Sailmakers. Telephone: No. 237 Cardiff. Telegraphic Address: " Bodvel, Cardiff."

HUGHES, GEO. H., Light Carriage Wheel Manufacturer, St. Stephen's Street Wheel Works, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1878 by G. H. C. Hughes, J.P. Present Principals: F. C. Hughes and W. J. Fieldhouse. Premises: Extensive and well-fitted. Specialities: Baby Carriage Wheels, Wheels for Perambulators, Mail Carts, Folding Carts, Toy Carriages, Toy Motors, Tricycle Horses, Children's Tricycles, Rickshas, Ambulances, Bath Chairs, Merlin Chairs, Trucks, Laundry. Barrows, Parcel Carts and Hospital Appliances. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1517 Central, Birmingham (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Hughes, Birmingham." Code: A B C.

HUGHES & HARBER, Ltd., Printers, Publishers, Manufacturing Stationers, Booksellers, &c., The Royal Press, Longton, Stoke-on-Trent. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1888 by Arthur Landon Harber, J.P. (present Governing Director) and Stephen A. Hughes (d. 1890). Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1901. Capital: £10,000. Chairman and Governing Director: Arthur Landon Harber, J.P. Premises: Large building specially erected to meet the requirements of the business. Staff: Skilled craftsmen, upwards of fifty. Business: Publishers of the English Ceramic Society and others. Printers of High Class Illustrated Catalogues, Brochures, &c., and Illuminating Artists of repute. Court and Manufacturing Stationers. Advertising Agents and Contractors. Award: First Prize for Artistic Printing gained in United Kingdom Competition promoted by the " British Printer." Connection: Products sent to all parts of the civilized world. Publications printed in French, German, Spanish, &c. Royal Warrant: Held appointment to His late Majesty King Edward VII. Telephone: No. 30 Longton, Staffs. Telegraphic Address: " Harber, Longton." Mr. Harbor is a Justice of the Peace for the County Borough of Stoke-on-Trent. Mayor of Longton, 1906-1907. He is a prominent Staffordshire Freemason, P.M. Etruscan Lodge 546, P.Z., P.E.P. Godefroi de Bouillon Preceptory of K.T., and has held the office of Provincial Grand Treasurer of Staffordshire. President of Staffordshire County Amateur Swimming Association, and of the N. S. Life Saving Association. Trustee of Longton Hospital, Associate of the Institute of Journalists, Member of the Institute of Printers, &c.

HUGHES (HENRY P.) & SONS, Colonial Wool Brokers, 10, Basinghall Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1811 by Henry P. Hughes. Continued by Henry P. Hughes, son, (2) Henry P. Hughes (d.), William Hughes (d.) and John Hughes (d.), sons of the second Henry P. Hughes. Present Principals: Frederick R. Hughes (nephew of the second Henry P. Hughes), and Lewis McKenzie. In the eighteenth century, prior to the establishment of Colonial Wool Broking, the father of the Founder was in the Wool trade carrying on business as a " Blackwell Hall Factor," his office being at the same spot in Basinghall Street where the present business has all along been conducted. Claim to be the oldest established in the trade. Business: Colonial Wool Brokers. Telephone: No. 3320 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Address: " Mixture, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co.

HUGHES (HENRY) & SON, Ltd., Marine Opticians, 59, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established early in the nineteenth century. Specialities: All Instruments and Appliances required ,for the navigation of ships. Are on the Admiralty List as Nautical Instrument Makers to H.M. Navy. Premises: Several floors are occupied at 59, Fenchurch Street. The works are Azimuth Works, Station Road, Forest Gate. Branch Offices and Showrooms at the Royal Albert Docks. Connection: World - wide. Telephone: No. 555 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Azimuth, London."

HUGHES (JOHN R.) & CO., Slate Merchants, Gwynfa, Carnarvon. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established twenty-five years ago by J. R. Hughes. Present Principal: John Rowland Hughes, J.P. Specialities: Gwynfa Grey and Green and Rustic Randoms. Proprietors of the celebrated " Gwynfa Welsh Green Slates." Connection: General. Telegraphic Address: " Gwynfa, Carnarvon." Mr. John Rowland Hughes is a Justice of the Peace for the County and Borough, ex-Chairman of the County Council and Asylum Board, and Alderman of County Council.

HUGHES & KIMBER, Printers' Engineers and Manufacturers of Machinery and Materials for Letterpress, Lithographic and Copper-Plate Printers, 9, Gough Square, Fleet Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1820. Present Principal: E. A. Braddick. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Specialities: Machinery and Materials for Letterpress, Lithographic and Copper-Plate Printers. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, Foreign. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephones: No. 2888 Central; No. 2158 Holborn, London. Telegraphic Address: " Modulation, London."

HUGHES & LANCASTER, Ltd., Engineers and Contractors for Sewerage and Water Supply Works, Manufacturers of Air compressing Machinery, " Shone " Pneumatic Automatic Ejectors, and Sewage and Water-raising Apparatus generally, 16, Vic toria Street, London, S.W., and 20, Water Street, Liverpool; Works, Acrefair, near Ruabon, N. Wales. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1865 by John Hughes. Present Principals: John Hughes and Charles Lancaster. Business: Are Sole Licensees and Manufacturers of the " Shone " Patents in connection with the sewerage of towns and other areas; Manufacturers of Sewage and Water Raising Apparatus; Air Compressing Machinery, Rockdrills, &c. Have carried out important Sewerage and Water Supply Works at Bombay, Rangoon, Karachi, Oporto, Arad, Cape Town, Gibraltar, Malta, Eastbourne, Nor wich, Preston, Gosport, and in over one hundred other towns in various parts of the world. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 4772 Victoria; No. 2 Ruabon; No. 2034 Liverpool (Central). Telegraphic Ad dresses: " Voidance, Vie, London "; " Diagram, Liverpool "; " Voidance, Ruabon."

HUGHES & YOUNG, Umbrella Manufacturers, 75, Thomas Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: Works, 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Warehouse, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1827 by John Dow. Partner ship Successions: (1) W. H. Hughes and G. H. Young; (2) Herbert Hughes; (3) W. Smartt and H. Spencer. Present Principal: Harold Spencer. One of the oldest manufacturing Umbrella houses in the Kingdom. Staff: 150. Specialite Umbrellas. Recognised Specialists in all kinds of Umbrellas. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly) and all Markets. Telephone: No. 3135 (City), Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Sehguh, Manches ter." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank, Ltd.

HULL, BLYTH & CO., Coal Contractors and Exporters, 1, Lloyds Avenue, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1875 by E. C. P. Hull. Present Principals: E. C. P. Hull, C. K. Marr, Nathaniel Dunlop, H. Sillitoe, Leonard S. B. Hull. Branches: Car diff, Glasgow, Newcastle, West Hartlepool. Business: Supply Steamers with Coal, &c., at all the principal Ports throughout the world. Is one of the most influential firms in the trade. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 4285 Avenue (two lines); No. 82 Central (Trunk calls only). Telegraphic Address: " Vapor, London." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Fenchurch Street).

HULL BREWERY CO., Ltd., Ale and Stout Brewers and Maltsters, Silvester Street, Hull. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 P.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1888. Directors: Colonel A. K. Dibb, J.P. (Chairman), J. H. Fisher, J.P., Wm. Hodgson; R. W. Gleadow and J. G. Smithson (Managing Directors), Acquired Messrs. Gleadow, Dibb & Co.'s business. Premises: Brewery and Bottling Stores, Silvester Street; Maltings, Anlaby Road, Waverley Street., and Waterhouse Lane; Maltings, Lincoln. Specialities: Fine Ales and Stout; are also Maltsters: Telephone: No. 4271 (Nat.) Hull. Telegraphic Address: "Beer, Hull." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

HULL CITY GARAGE, Ltd., Motor Engineers and Agents, 57 and 59, Beverley Road, and Grosvenor Street, Hull. Hours of Business: Open day and night; also Sundays'. Established in 1905 by the present Directors. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Directors: Col. A. K. Dibb, J.P. (Chairman). General Manager: C. Parish. Premises: Claim to have one of the largest Garages in the North of England. The buildings cover 2,000 sq. yds. Business: Motor Engineers and Dealers. Are also Motor Body Builders, Painters, &c. Agencies: Wolseley, Daimler, Napier, Darracq Ford and Goodchild Autocarriers. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: Nos. 2929 and 1805 Hull. Telegraphic Address: " Car, Hull." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. The Company are Associate Members of the Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders.

HULL FISH MANURE & OIL CO., Ltd., Makers of Fish Meals and Fish Liver Oil, St. Andrew's Dock, Hull. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1891. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Staff: Seventy to Ninety. Specialities: Fish Meals and Fish Liver Oil. Connection: Home and Foreign. Telephone: No. 1430 Corporation, Hull. Telegraphic Address: " Guano, Hull." Codes: Lieber's and Western Union. Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

HULL HIDE SKIN & FAT CO., Ltd. (THE), Office and Hide and Skin Mart, Finkle Street, Hull. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Market open to receive goods 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1867 by a number of Hull Master Butchers. Reconstructed in 1906, and powers enlarged as to capital and scope of business. Directors: J. T. Hall (Chairman), J. Cappleman (Vice-Chairman), L. Caley, R. Smith, H. Burton, J. H. Nelson, T. H. Richardson, W. G. Leonard. Manager: E. F. Breaker. Business: Hide and Skin Brokers, Sweet Fat Melters, Tallow Refiners, Bone Boilers, Size Makers. Connection: Local, chiefly Yorkshire, Lincolnshire; Continental (small). Telephone: No. 21 (Corporation), Hull. Telegraphic Address: " Hides Hull." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

HULL & JUNIPER, 369, 370 and 380, Central Markets, Smithfield, London, trading at 369 and 370 as Juniper & Co., Poultry and Game Salesmen, and at 380 as Hull & Co., Foreign and Colonial Meat Salesmen. flours of Business: 5.30 a.m. to 3 p.m. Established in 1889. Present Principals: Frederick William Hull, Alfred Samuel Juniper. Premises: Large and unique, with own Refrigerating Plant and Cold Storage. Specialities: Importers and Exporters of Frozen Poultry, Game, and Wild Fowl; also Colonial and Continental Meat. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No 933 and 51.78 Holborn. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Frostily, London. Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank,Ltd.( Smithfield).

HULL & LIVERPOOL RED OXIDE CO., Ltd. (THE), Bank Side, Hull; Peasley Cross, St. Helens. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1890 to take over the business previously carried on by Sissons Brothers & Co., Ltd., Hull, and Wigg Brothers & Steele, Runcorn. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Directors: T. H. Sissons, J.P., W. J. Wigg, A. T. Hall, H. H. Sissons, F. K. Norman, J.P., C. E. Wigg, and A. H. Whit. Premises: Works, well equipped, at Hull and St. Helens. Specialities: Red Oxide of Iron, Indian Reds, and Purple Oxides. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Oxide," Hull and St. Helens. Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Hull).

HULME (ALFRED), Ltd., Mahogany, Oak and Timber Merchants, Withington Street Saw Mills, Pendleton, Manchester. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Office, 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1850 by W. Carter Hulme (father of Alfred Hulme). Partnership Successions: Hulme Brothers; (2) Alfred Hulme. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Directors: Alfred Hulme (Governing Director), Alfred Hulme (jun.), Arthur Worlidge Lees (Secretary). Specialities: Spanish Mahogany, Oak, Teak and Sycamore. Large Stocks of all Hard and Soft Woods. Telephones: Nos. 158 and 3709 (Central) Manchester.

HUMBER FISHING AND FISH MANURE CO., Ltd. (THE), Manure, Cake and Fish Products Manufacturers, 135, High Street, Hull. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912, formed by the amalgamation of the business of F. Scott (established 1876), and E. Thomas (established 1900). Directors: Clive H. Wilson (Chairman), Ernest Thomas (Managing Director), Kenneth Philip (Secretary), William Hewitt, Frank B. Sanderson. Premises: Two Manure Mills, one 'Oil Mill. Staff: Up to 100. Branches: Maxwell Street, Stoneferry; 59, High Street, Hull. Speci: Fish Manures of all grades, Cattle Feeding Cod Liver Oil, Fish Meal Compound, Feeding and Dairy Cakes and Meals, and Fish Meal for Poultry and Pheasant Feeding. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1000 and 1000A Municipal, and No. 38 P.O., Hull. Telegraphic Address: " Rapid, Hull." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Hull. Mr. Clive H. Wilson is a Director of Messrs. Thomas Wilson, Sons & Co., Ltd., Shipowners. Mr. Frank B. Sanderson is proprietor of Isis Mills and head of the largest private firm of seed crushers in the North of England.

HUMPHREYS, Ltd., Iron Buildings, Knightsbridge, London, S.W.; and Du5lin: 10, StDphen's Green; Brussels: 36, Boulevard Baudouin; Turin: 31, Corso Siccardi; Budapest: V Szalez utca 2; Buenos Ayres: 430 Bartholome Mitre; Cairo: 11 Cheik Abou Sebaa. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Founded in 1834. Incorporated in 1891. Specialists: For the supply, delivery and erection of transportable buildings and the erection of Exhibition Buildings, Hospitals, Schools, Churches, Chapels, Bungalows for home and export, Warehouses, Iron-framed Fireproof and Concrete Buildings. Patents: In England, Argentine Republic, India, &c. Connection: In all parts of the world. Royal Warrant: To the late King Edward VII. Telephones: 881 Kensington; 881 Western. Telegraphic Address: " Humphreys, Knightsbridge, London." Codes: Western Union; A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Bank of England, and London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

HUMPHREYS, PERCIVAL ELLIS & CO., Tanning Material and Export Merchants, 90, Tooley Street, London, S.E., and 41, North John Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1897 by Charles Hale Goldsmith (d. 1907), as John Humphreys & Co. Present Principal: Percival W. Ellis (joined 1903). Claim to do a larger business in tanning material alone than any other firm. Premises: Occupy the first and second floors as Offices. Specialities: Sole consignees for the following Proprietary Brands: Forestal Company's, Quebracho Extract, " Crown " Brand; Hemlock Extract, " Eggcup " Brand; " Mimosa Renner D," Bleaching Extract; Larch Bark Extract and " Guara " Natural Tanning Material. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: No. Hop 2727, London; No. Bank 4340, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Quebracho," London and Liverpool. Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and- Midland Bank, Ltd.

HUMPHRIES, JACKSON & AMBLER, Ltd., Metal Casement Specialists, Art Metal Workers and Leaded Glazing, Cornbrook Park Road, and Lucy Street, Hulme, Manchester. London Office: 34 and 35, Norfolk Street, Strand, W.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in. 1907 by the present Company. Incorporated as a private Limited Company. Directors: Samuel Humphries, James Jackson, John Finlayson Ambler, Staff: 110 to 120. Specialities: Metal Casements, also Highest Class of Ornamental Metalwork and Painted and Stained Leaded Lights. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Office of Works, &c.), also to the New Zealand Government. Telephones: No. 713 Trafford Park, Manchester; No.. 1441 (P.O.) City, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Craftsmen, Manchester "; " Venticase, Estrand, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd. (Cornbrook, Manchester).

HUNSLET ENGINE CO., Ltd., Locomotive Engineers, The Hunslet Engine Works, Leeds. Hours of Business: Office: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1864 by J. Towlerton Leather. Purchased by James Campbell in partnership with his brother George Campbell (d. 1889). Carried on by James Campbell, since deceased, and sons. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1902. Directors: Alex. Campbell (Chairman), F. H. Lee, R. M. Campbell. Premises: Very extensive. Cover an area of over three acres. London Office: 1; Broad Street Place (Finsbury Circus). Speciality: High-class Locomotive Engines of all descriptions. Connection: Very extensive, with Foreign and Colonial Countries in all parts of the world. Telephones: No. 3430 (three lines), Leeds. Telegraphic Addresses: " Engine, Leeds "; " Jimcrow, London."

HUNT, J. J., & CO., Ltd., Cotton Manufacturers, Beech Mill, Culcheth, near Warrington; and 41, Oxford Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1881 by J. J. Hunt. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Directors: J. J. Hunt and T. James. Staff: 150. Specialities: Cotton Ticks, Hammock Cloths and Alforj as. Connection: United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa. Telephone: No. 2407 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Hunt, Culcheth, Warrington." Cable Address: " Surgessiez (Reuter's), Liverpool." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank, Ltd. Mr. J. J. Hunt is a Tax Commissioner.

HUNT, R., & CO., Ltd., Agricultural and Mechanical Engineers,. Atlas Works, Earls Colne, Essex. Hours of Business.: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; clerical staff, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1815 by the late Robert Hunt, the father of the present Managing Director. Succeeded by his sons, Thomas, Robert, and Reuben; then (1872-1887) by Reuben Hunt in partnership with James A. Tawell. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: Reuben Hunt (Managing Director), Frank Hunt, Arthur Hunt. Secretary: Henry Massingham, F.C.I.S. Premises: Works cover five and a half acres, and include Foundry, Warehouses, Workshops, &c., situated in the picturesque village of Earls Colne, about ten miles from Colchester, on the old Roman road leading to Cambridge. Staff: Over 300. London Representative: W. T. Parrack, M.I.M.E., 136, Leadenhall Street, E.C. Bristol Representative: S. Worthington, Mary Bush Lane, Tower Hill, Bristol. Business: Manufacturers (not Factors) of Agricultural Machinery, Shafting, Pulleys, and all Accessories for driving by power. In 1872 the manufacture of Biddell's Patent Food-Preparing Machinery was taken over from Messrs. Ransomes, of Ipswich. Connection: All over the world. Telephone: No. 2 Earls Colne. Telegraphic Address: " Hunt, Earls Colne." Bankers ....Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Halstead).

HUNT, ROOPE, TEAGE & CO., Port Wine Shippers, 3 and 4, Water Lane, Great Tower Street, London, and at Oporto. Hunt, Roopo, & Co., established prior to 1735. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2533 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: "Portsales, London."

HUNT (WILLIAM) & SONS, THE BRADES, Ltd., Steel and Edge Tool Manufacturers, Brades Steel Works, near Birmingham. London Office, 40 and 41, Finsbury Court, Finsbury Pavement, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Specialities: Steel and Edge Tools. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 101 Oldbury. Telegraphic Address: " Brades, Birmingham." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (New Street, Birmingham).

HUNTER (JAMES), LIMITED, Grass and Clover Seed Specialists, 50, Foregate Street, Chester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1883 by James Hunter. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Directors: James Hunter, C. P. Hunter. Specialities: The supply of Grass and Clover Seeds re-machined on the premises to the highest standards of purity and germination, which are guaranteed. James Hunter originated and introduced in 1883 the system which guarantees the purity, genuineness and germination of all seeds sent out by the firm. Closely associated with the now widely known and appreciated " Clifton Park System " of Farming, having supplied all the grass and clover seeds used by Mr. R. H. Elliot in the course of his experiments (extending over twenty-one years) in laying down over 900 acres of land on his farm at Clifton-on-Bowmont. The Elliot System of Farming has now become world-known, and seeds have been supplied by the firm to every part of the world. Patents: Numerous. Machines for Dressing Clover and Grass Seeds to a higher standard than obtainable elsewhere. Apparatus for the elimination of " hard " leguminous Seeds. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 754 Chester. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Hunters, Seedsmen, Chester." Cable Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

HUNTER, JOHN A., & CO., Ltd., Curers, Exporters, and Merchants in Bacon, Hams, and Tinned Meats, 10, Borough High Street, London Bridge, London, S.E. Registered Offices: Pine Grove, Bootle, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Curing, Packing and Works, 7.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Offices, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1873 by John A. Hunter, the present Managing Director. Staff: 250. Specialities: Hams and Bacon. Hermetic Packing for Export goods; Canned British Beef and Meats. Connection: United Kingdom, and practically the world over. Telephones: Nos. 934 and 903 Hop, London; Nos. 1154 and 1155 Bootle. Telegraphic Addresses: " Merchantmon, London "; " Nosegay, Liverpool." Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd. (Liverpool).

HUNTLEY & PALMERS, Ltd., Biscuit Manufacturers, Reading, Berks, and 162, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Established in 1826. The original partners wore Thomas Huntley and George Palmer. Subsequently, Samuel Palmer and Wm. I. Palmer joined the firm, prior to the death of Thomas Huntley in 1857. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Present Directors: W. Howard Palmer, J.P. (Chairman), Eustace E. Palmer (Deputy Chairman), Alfred Palmer, J.P., S. Ernest Palmer, D.L., J.P., Charles H. Palmer, J.P., Albert J. Palmer, J.P., Wm. Bullivant Williams, J.P., C. Eric Palmer, E. Cecil N. Palmer, and Geoffrey H. Palmer. As the largest Biscuit manufacturing enterprise in the United Kingdom, and indeed in the world, the business possesses a special interest. It has long since become the predominant industrial feature of Reading. Premises: The factories at Reading cover upwards of twenty-four acres. Total floor area, over thirty-six acres. Staff: About 6,000. Specialities: Plain and Fancy Biscuits and Cakes of every description; between 400 and 500 different kinds. Highest awards at principal exhibitions of the last half-century, including Grand Prix, Paris, 1878. Also two Grands Prix Paris, 1900. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: Special Appointments to H.M. King George V., His late Majesty King Edward, H.M. the King of Italy, H.M. the King of the Belgians, H.M. the King of Denmark, H.M. the King of Sweden, H.M. the King of the Hellenes, the Imperial House of Japan, H.M. the King of Siam, H.M. the Queen of Norway, H.M. the Queen Mother of Holland. Telephones: No. 4 Reading; No. 5350 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Addresses " Huntpalm, Reading "; " Huntpalm, London::

HUNTRODS, J., & CO., Iron and Hardware Merchants, Station Road, Workington. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1873 by Joseph Huntrods, the present principal. Business: Iron and Hardware Merchants. Telephone: No. 13 Workington. Telegraphic Address: "Huntrods, Workington." Mr. Huntrods is a Director of Whitehaven Iron and Steel Co., Workington Bridge and Boiler Co., Townhead Mining Co., and Salter Mining Co.

HUNTSMAN (HENRY) & SONS, Breeches Makers; Court, Military, Naval and General Tailors; 41, Albemarle Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established early in the nineteenth century, at 126, New Bond Street, by William Preston (sen.), Breeches Maker to King George III. Present Principals: Benj. F. Huntsman and Henry W. T. Huntsman. Specialities: Hunting and Sporting Coats and Breeches; Evening Dress; Court Dress; Naval and Military Tailoring. Connection: Throughout the United Kingdom; also Foreign and Colonial. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to H..M. King George V. Telephone: No. 2542 Mayfair. Bankers: (Since 1850), London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (1, St. James's Square, S.W.).

HURST & BLACKETT, Ltd., Publishers, Paternoster House, Paternoster Row, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1837 by Henry Colburn. First styled Hurst & Blackett in 1851. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1886; re-incorporated, 1904. Premises: From 1837 to 1904 at 13, Great Marlborough Street, originally the town house of the first Duke of Marlborough; afterwards at 182, High Holborn. Specialities: Books of Travel, Belles-lettres, Novels, Biographies. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: Nos. 2870 and 2871 Holborn. Telegraphic and Cable Address I " Hurstibus, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

HURST, NELSON & CO., Ltd., Railway and Tramway Rolling Stock Manufacturers, the Glasgow Rolling Stock and Plant Works, Motherwell. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1880 by Andrew S. Nelson (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909 to acquiro a Company of the same name registered in 1893. Directors: Sir Thomas Mason, D.L. (Chairman), A. M. B. Grahame (Managing Director), Thomas Jackson, C. A., and George W. Chalmers. Premises: Extensive fully equipped works at Motherwell; and Chatsworth Wagon Works, near Chesterfield; Bridgend Wagon Works, Bridgend, Glam.; Swansea Wagon Works, Swansea. Staff: 1,600. Branches: Offices, London, 14, Leadenhall Street, E.C.; Cardiff, Gordon Chambers, 31, Queen Street; Glasgow, 40, West Nile Street. Business: Builders of Railway Carriages, Wagons, Electric Cars and every other description of Railway and Tramway Rolling Stock, Motor Omnibus and other Road Vehicles Bodies. Make a special feature of Electric Railway and Tramway Trucks. Makers of Wheels and Axles, Railway Plant, Forgings, Smithwork, Iron and Brass Castings. Pressed Steelwork of all kinds, including underframes and bogies. Patents: Movable Step for Tramway Cars, Sand Valve for Tramway Cars, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: No. 44 Motherwell; No. 219 Chesterfield; No. 102 Bridgend; No. 197 Docks, Swansea; No. 5549 Avenue, and No. 1737 City, London; No. 4881 Cardiff; No. 8210 City, Glasgow. Telegraphic Addresses: " Nelson," Motherwell, Swansea, Cardiff and Glasgow; " Nelsons," Chesterfield and Bridgend " Lintel, Led, London." Bankers: Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Glasgow).

HURST & SON, Seed Merchants, 152, Houndsditch, London, E. Established in 1843 by William Hurst and W. G. McMullen. The latter retired .after a short time, when W. Hurst joined his father. Present Principals: Nathaniel Newman Sherwood, W. H. C. Sherwood, and J. E. N. Sherwood. Specialities: Garden, Flower and Agricultural Seeds; also Flowering Bulbs. One of the largest concerns of its kind. Wholesale- only. The office and shops are at 151, 152 and 153, Houndsditch. Warehouses in Gun Square, Houndsditch, Butler Street, E.; also at Boston, Lincs. Trial Grounds, Kelvedon. Stand, No. 27, Seed Market, Mark Lane. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 4430 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Hurst, Ald, London." Codes: Western Union and Private.

HUSBAND, SNELLING & CO., Produce Brokers, Agents, and Merchants, St. George's House, 6, 8, Eastcheap, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1897 by John. Irons Husband. Present Principals: John Irons Husband, R. E. S. Snelling. Branch: 15, Stanley Street, Liverpool. Business: Produce Brokers, Agents, and Merchants, especially with California and the Pacific Coast. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial, California, Pacific Coast, China, and Japan. Telephones: No. 1124 Central; No. 6454 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Ciderkin, London "; " Accurate, Liverpool." Bankers: London and South-Western Bank, Ltd.

HUSKINSON & SONS, Wheelwrights and Motor Body Builders and Carting Contractors, Midland Works, London Road, Nottingham. Established in 1800. Present Principals: Blackburn, Starling & Co., Ltd., Nottingham.

HUTCHINGS, E. & SONS, Manufacturers of Cane Art Furniture, The Works, Caroline Place, and Maiden Street,.Weymouth. London Showrooms: 217, Old Street (E. Light). Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1830 by James Hutchings. Succeeded by Eli Hutchings (nephew). Present Principals: William S. Hutchings and Charles Hutchings (sons of Eli Hutchings). Premises: Factories, Caroline Place and Maiden Street, Weymouth. Specialities: Pulp Cane Chairs, Settees, Tables and Cane Lounges. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 233 Weymouth; No. 6359 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Address: " Hutchings, Weymouth." Bankers: Stuckeys Banking Co., Weymouth.

HUTCHINGS, SHEPHERD & CO., Hemp Spinners, Ilminster, Somerset. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1840 by Samuel Hutchings. Succeeded by James William Shepherd and Frederick George Shepherd. Present Principal: Herbert Hutchings Shepherd. Specialities: Carpet Yarns and Webbing Yarns. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Telephone: 8 Ilminster. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Linen, Ilminster." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Western Union. Bankers i Parr's Bank, Ltd., Ilminster.

HUTCHINSON & CO., Publishers and Exporters, 34, 35, and 36, Paternoster Row, and Paternoster Square, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1888 by Sir George Thompson Hutchinson. Joined in partnership in 1891 by Alfred Spencer. Present Principals: Sir George Thompson Hutchinson and Alfred Spencer. Staff: About fifty. Business: Publishers of important Novels, Biographical, Art, Natural History, and other Works; also of many cheap series, &c. Connection: World-wide. Chiefly with the British Colonies and the United States. Telephone: Nos. 2870, 2871 City. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Literarius, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. Sir G. T. Hutchinson is a Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society. Clubs: (Sir G. T. Hutchinson) Devonshire, Whitefriars, Golf, Motoring; (Mr. Alfred Spencer), Whitefriars, Golf.

HUTCHISON & POLLOK, LIMITED, Hemp Rope Manufacturers, Sail and Tarpaulin Makers, 8 to 10, Lancelets Hey, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1780. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1896. Directors: Tom R. Atkinson, William G. Pollok, T. W. S. Pollok. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Branches: 113, Fenchurch Strect, London, E.C. Factory: 178 to 184, Lodge Lane, Liverpool. Speciality: White Star Brand Manila Rope used on the largest steamships in the world. Award: Gold Medal, 1886, Liverpool Exhibition; only time exhibited. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. On Admiralty List. Telephones: 2395 Central; No. 5240 Central; No. 219 Royal, Liverpool; No. 1193 Central, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: Manila, Liverpool." Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd.

HUTTON (JAMES F.) & CO., Ltd., Shipping Merchants. 14, Lloyd Street, Manchester. Established in the eighteenth century by W. B. Hutton. Partnership Successions: (1) W. M. Hutton and R. Hutton (sons); (2) James F. Hutton (grandson); (3) J. Arthur Hutton and Reginald W. Hutton (great-grandsons). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: J. Arthur Hutton (Chairman), Reginald W. Hutton, A. Buckley, and F. W. Pritchard. One of the oldest firms in the West African trade. Agencies: France, Germany, Belgium, Holland. Specialities: Cotton Goods for Export to Africa and the East. Telephone: No. 570 Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Hutton, Manchester."

HUTTON (WILLIAM) & SONS, Ltd., Manufacturing Silversmiths, Electroplaters, and Cutlers. Works: West Street, Sheffield, and Hanley Street, Birmingham. Showrooms: 7, Farringdon Road, London, E.C. Established in 1800 at Birmingham. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893, Directors: Colonel Elford Pearse (Chairman and Managing Director), Herbert Hutton (Managing Director), Dr. R. S. Hutton, S. C. Gibbs, Wilfred. Steel, E. Butler. Specialities: All descriptions of Silver, Electro-plate, Britannia Metal and Table Cutlery Goods. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Exclusively Wholesale Trade. Telephones: No. 30 Sheffield; No. 598 Central, Birmingham; No. 6360 City (two lines), London. Telegraphic Addresses: "Hutton, Sheffield "; " Production, Birmingham "; " Silversmith, Smith, London."

HUXHAM & CO., Carriers, Warehousemen, Removers, Shipping and Forwarding Agents, Victoria Wharves and Pier, and Great Western Docks, Plymouth. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1901 by F. S. Huxham, the present principal. Premises: Capable of warehousing several thousand tons, and Stores fire proof building at Victoria Wharves; Waterside and Rail accommodation alongside the Warehouses. Business: Warehouse Keepers for general merchandise; Railway, Shipping and Forwarding Agents. All kinds of Cartage, Horses and Vans by contract. Furniture removed in specially built vans by experienced packers. Fire Insurances effected, Bills of Lading dealt with, Customs cleared, &c. Colonial and Foreign traffic dealt with. Agents for Neale & Wilkinson, Foreign and Colonial Carriers, and for the Canadian Northern Steamships, Ltd., " Royal Line " to Canada. Telephones: Nos. 145 and 677 Plymouth. Telegraphic Address: " Huxham, Carriers, Plymouth." Bankers: Capital and Counties, Ltd.

HUXTABLE, J. T., & CO., Leather Goods Manufacturers, 8 and 9, Grosse Buildings, Stephen Street, Tottenham Court Road, London, W. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1855 by J. T. Huxtable, retired 1905. Present Principals: Frederick Rouser and George Harvey. Staff: About thirty. Speciality: Highest-class hand-made Leather Goods. Fitted Suit Cases, &c. Own a number of registered designs for Kit Bags, Attaché Cases, and Razor Strops. Connection: United, Kingdom, India and the Far East, Egypt, and South America. Telephone: No. 2921 Regent, London. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Oxford Street).

HYAM & CO., Ltd., Gentlemen's, Boys', Ladies', and Girls' Tailors, 134 to 140, Oxford Street, London, W. Established eighty years ago. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Specialities: Riding Habits and Riding Breeches, Juvenile Tailoring and School Outfitting, Sporting and Motoring Costumes, Servants' Liveries, &c. Branches: 21, 22, 23, Now Street, Birmingham; 40 and 41, Dudley Street, Wolverhampton; 42 and 43, Briggate, Leeds. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrant Holders to H.R.H. the Duchess of Connaught and H.R.H. the Duchess of Sparta. Telephone: No. 240 (three lines) Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Hyam, Ox, London."

HYDE (THOMAS) & CO., Cotton Manufacturers, Derby Street Mill, Colne, Lancs. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1887 by Thomas Hyde. Present Principals: William Hyde, J.P., Henry Hyde and James Hyde. Premises: Cover ono acre, contain 744 looms up to 44 in. reed space. Staff: 350. Specialities: Fancy Zephyrs, Shirtings, and Voiles. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 55 (National) Colne. Telegraphic Address: " Shirtings, Colne." Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd.

HYDRAULIC ENGINEERING CO., Ltd. (THE), Engineers and Ironfounders. Registered Offices and Works, Charles Street, Chester; London Office, Palace Chambers, 9, Bridge Street, Westminster, London, S.W. Established: Original works by Messrs. Johnson; became Johnson & Ellington in 1869. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1874. Directors: E. B. Ellington (Chairman), Bertram R. Beale, H. Brassey, Jas. E. Darbishire. N. B. Ellington, F. W. Thornton, and Charles J. Hobbs. Secretary: J. Mason. Staff: 400. Branches: Offices at Machell Street, Hull; 116, Bute Street, Cardiff; Ogden's Chambers, 97, Bridge 2L Street, Manchester; 90, Pilgrim Street, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Business: The Manufacture of Hydraulic Power Plants, Cranes, and Lifts. Have patented many inventions, relating chiefly to Hydraulic Machinery, and are widely known at home and abroad. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 121 Chester; No. 2820 Victoria. Telegraphic Addresses: " Hydraulic, Chester"; " Hydrower, Parl, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), and Lieber's. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. (Chester).

See Also

Loading...

Sources of Information