Grace's Guide

British Industrial History

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 131,445 pages of information and 208,892 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

1914 Who's Who in Business: Company F

From Graces Guide

Jump to: navigation, search
Im1914WWB-p335b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p336a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p336b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p337a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p337b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p338a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p338b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p339a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p339b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p340a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p340b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p341a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p341b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p342a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p342b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p343a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p343b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p344a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p344b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p345a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p345b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p346a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p346b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p347a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p347b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p348a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p348b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p349a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p349b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p350a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p350b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p351a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p351b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p352a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p352b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p353a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p353b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p354a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p354b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p355a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p355b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p356a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p356b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p357a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p357b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p358a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p358b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p359a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p359b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p360a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p360b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p361a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p361b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p362a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p362b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p363a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p363b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p364a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p364b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p365a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p365b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p366a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p366b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p367a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p367b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p368a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p368b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p369a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p369b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p370a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p370b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p371a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p371b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p372a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p372b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p373a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p373b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p374a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p374b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p375a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p375b.jpg

Note: This is a sub-section of 1914 Who's Who in Business

FABB & TYLER, LIMITED, Printers and Publishers, Review Office, 6, Guildhall Street, and 4, 5, and 25, Guildhall Place, Cambridge. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7.30 p.m. Established in 1877 by J. Austin Fabb. Joined in 1881 by W. Tyler (retired through illness in 1907). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Directors: J. A. Fabb (Managing Director), L. S. Fabb, E. J. A. Fabb. Stag: Thirty-four. Specialities: University, College and School Printing, Examination Papers, County Council (Education and Finance), and General Printing. Were the first Printers of the " Cambridge Review." Compilers of Registered List of members of the University in Residence. Connection: United Kingdom, London and Public Schools. The " Cambridge Review " circulates all over the world. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

FABER, A. W., Pencil, &c., Manufacturer, 149, Queen Victoria Street, London, B.C. Established in 1761. Factories in Germany, France, and the United States. Branches: Paris; Berlin; and Newark, U. S, A. Specialities: Pencils, Erasers, Artists' Materials, Ink, Rubber, Rubber Bands. Are also Wholesale Stationers. Awards: Paris, 1900; numerous others. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 5210 Bank. Telegraphic Address: " Zeichnung, London."

FABER, JOHANN, LIMITED, Pencil Manufacturers, 12, Lovell's Court, Paternoster Row, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1879 by Johann Faber. Premises: Factory at Nuremberg is the largest of its kind in Germany. Staff: About 1,200 at Works.

FABRA COMPANY, Ltd. (THE). — See a BRASSARD, FRED.

FACSIMILE LETTER PRINTING COMPANY, Ltd., Printers and Publishers, 6A, Tudor Street, Ludgate Circus, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Directors H. E. Boot (Managing Director) and G. A. Bleaney. Premises: Extensive, covering 8,000 sup. ft.; fullyequipped Works. Staff: 150. Specialities: The production of Circular Form Letters, Advertising Booklets, Folders, Leaflets, and Letter Headings. Lithography by the new " Offset " Process. Advertising and Copy Writing Department for the formation of Profitable Selling Schemes. Connection: United Kingdom and Continent. Telephones: No. 4393 City (four lines and nine extensions). Telegraphic Address: " Bootudor, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Ludgate Hill, E.C.).

FAIRBANKS CO. (THE), Manufacturers of Weighing Machines, &c., 14, Mallow Street, Old Street, City Road, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1830 by E. and T. Fairbanks. Incorporated as a Company in 1890. First firm to manufacture Platform Weighing Machines. Premises: Warehouses at New York, Boston, Mass., Buffalo, Philadelphia, Baltimore, Pittsburg, Albany, New Orleans, Hartford, Corm., Syracuse, N.Y., Banger, Me. Branches: Glasgow, Hamburg, Paris; also Branch Weighing Machine Works, 40, Cato Street, Birmingham. Specialities: Weighing Machinery and Mill Supplies; Cocks, Injectors, Packings, Pulleys, Shaftings, Hangers, Belting, Engineers' Tools and Machinery, Trucks, Wagons and Hand-carts, Railway Supplies of all kinds. Contractors to H.M. War Office and India Office, and to the Colonial Governments. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1760 London Wall. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Fairbanks, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition); Lieber's; Western Union.

FAIRBANKS, LAVENDER & SON, General Saddlery and Fancy Leather Goods, Eldon Works, Walsall. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Established in 1828 by Joseph Lavender and Wm. B. Fairbanks; continued by Frederick Lavender and Geo. Lavender. Present Principals: Fred W. Lavender, J.P., and Chas. Lavender. Speciality: High-class Fancy Leather Goods. Patents: Numerous. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 146 Walsall. Telegraphic Address: " Fairbanks, Walsall."

FAIRBANKS, MORSE & CO., Ltd., Manufacturing Engineers, 87, Southwark Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.45 p.m. Manager: A. L. Cole. Main Office: Chicago, Ill., U.S.A. Factories: Beloit, Wis., U.S.A., and Three Rivers, Mich., U.S.A. Branches: Fortyfive. Specialities: Gas, Oil, and Petrol Engines; Steam Pumps; "Eclipse" Windmills; Fairbanks' Steel Mills; Railway Appliances, Railway Velocipedes, Railway Stand Pipes, Hand Cars, Railway Motor Cars, Trolleys; Hoisting Apparatus. Connection: United !- Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 946 Hop. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Fairminded, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition); Lieber's, Western Union.

FAIRCHILD BROTHERS & FOSTER, Manufacturing Chemists, Fairchild Building, Cor. Washington and Laight Streets, New York, and 64 and 65, Holborn Viaduct, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1879 by Benjamin T. Fairchild and Samuel W. Fairchild. Joined in 1881 by Macomb G. Foster, trading as Fairchild Brothers & Foster. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891 under same title, retaining in its directorate those who had been associated with its earlier development. President: Benjamin 1 T. Fairchild. Vice-President: Macomb G. Foster. Treasurer and General Manager: Samuel W. Fairchild. Secretary: E. W. Dusenbury. European Manager: A. E. Holden. Specialities: Digestive Ferments and Digestible Foods such as Pepsencia," Zymine ' Peptonising Tubes, Peptogenic Milk Powder, Panopepton," Laibose,' Pepule ' Products, &c. Connection: United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Europe, Asia, Africa and Australasia. Telephone: No. 10153 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Lofairy, London." Mr. S. W. Fairchild is President of the Union League Club, New York. Clubs: (Mr. S. W. Fairchild), Manhattan (Now York), Devonshire (London), Travellers (Paris); (Mr. B. T. Fairchild), Union League (New York); (Mr. M. G. Foster), Union League.

FAIRE BRO.'S & CO., LIMITED, Manufacturers of Smallwares, Shoe Mercery, &c., Rutland Street, and Southampton Street, Leicester. Hours of Business: 7.45 a.m. to 6.15 p.m. Established in 1855 by Watkin L. Faire, senior (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: John E. Faire, J.P. (Chairman and Managing Director), Sir Samuel Faire, J.P. (Managing Director). The Headquarters' Warehouse, Leicester, is said to be the finest example of a terra-cotta building in Great Britain. Premises: Extensive Warehouses and Manufactories, Leicester. Branch Warehouses, Fore Street, London, E.C., and Northampton. Branch Manufactory, Borrowash, Derby. The factories are equipped with all modern appliances. Staff: Large. Stall Club: Private Fire Brigade at each of the Leicester establishments, which have proved very successful in the Fire Brigade Competitions. Branches: Melbourne and Sydney, Australia, and Christchurch, New Zealand. Agencies: Representatives in Canada, South Africa, and on the Continent of Europe. Specialities: Boot Laces, Braids, and Bindings, Glace and Soft Cotton Webbings, Loopings, and Tapes, Elastic Fabrics (including Suspenders), Boot Mercery (including Linings, Cork Socks, and Wood Lasts), and General Haberdashery. Inventions: Constructors of own Machinery specially designed by the firm. Chief Trade-marks: " St. George," " Wheatsheaf," " Electric," " Sphere," " Clock Face," " Elephant." Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 4700 Leicester; No. 6972 City. Telegraphic Addresses: " Faire, Leicester "; " Fairness, Cent, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Lieber's, Western Union, Premier. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

FAIRFIELD SHIPBUILDING & ENGINEERING CO., Ltd. (THE), Fairfield Works, Govan, Glasgow, and 9, Victoria Street, Westminster, London, S.W. Telephones: London, No. 744 Gerrard; Glasgow, Nos. 393 and 398 Govan. Telegraphic Addresses: " Fairfield, Glasgow "; " Kentigerm, Vic, London." 111 FAIRHEAD, W. Memorial Brass Engraver, Art Stencil Cutter, &c., 82, Long Lane, London, E.C., and 12, America Square, London, E.C., incorporating D. Sutton. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1870 by W. Fairhead. Purchased in 1908 by D. Sutton, the present principal. Specialities: Art Stencil Plates and Brass Door Plates. Patents: Various improvements in Stencilling appliances. Telephone: No. 2457 Holborn London. Bankers: Farrows' Bank, Ltd.

FAIRLIE, H. C., & CO., Ltd., Manufacturing Chemists, Camelon Chemical Works, Falkirk. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1878 by the late Henry C. Fairlie. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1910. Directors: James Fairlie, John C. Fairlie, Frank W. Fairlie. Premises: Five acres and a half. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Staff: 150. Specialities: Bichromates, Borax, Iodine and Potash Salts. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 10 Falkirk. Telegraphic Address: " Fairlie, Falkirk." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Bank of Scotland, Glasgow.

FAIRWEATHER (OWEN) & CO., Hemmers, Fringers, General Sewers by Power, 1, Bedford Street, and Tonge Street Mill, Tonge Street, Greek Street, C.-on-M., Manchester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1910 by Owen Fairweather. Joined by J. C. Parkinson. Present Principals: Owen Fairweather and Arthur Lomax. Premises: Occupy half of four storey mill. Staff: Twenty. Specialities: Hemstitching, Italian Stitching, Blanket Whipping, Hemming and general Making Up. Have introduced several inventions. Connection: Universal. Telephone No. 5330 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Bellman, Man chester." Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd.

FALK, STADELMANN & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of all Material used in connection with Lighting and Heating, 83-87, Farringdon Road, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., or 9 a.m. to 7 p.m., according to the season. Established in 1881 by S. Falk. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1887. Directors: S. Falk (Managing Director), V. Falk, M. Falk, L. Thurnauer. Staff: 900. Branches: Glasgow, Melbourne, Sydney. Specialities: Oil Lamps, Gas Mantles, Electric Lamps. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 6300 Holborn, London (Private Branch Exchange). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Lamps, London." Codes: A B C, A 1, Lieber's, Western Union, Private. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

FALKIRK IRON CO., Ltd., Ironfounders, Falkirk, N.B. Established in 1819 by R. W. Kennard, J.P. Succeeded by sons. Directors: R. W. Kenhard, Major A. M. Kennard, Major L. E. Kennard, T. W. Alsop, Robert Kidston. Premises: Works cover forty acres. Staff: 1500. Branches: London, Liverpool, Glasgow, Edinburgh. Speciality: All kinds of Cast Iron Goods. Patents: Various. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Castings, Falkirk."

FALKNER (GEORGE) & SONS, Printers, &c., 170, Deansgate, Manchester; and 181, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1843 by George and Andrew Falkner. Continued by Robert Falkner, Frank Falkner and FitzGerald Falkner, sons of George Falkner. Present Principals: FitzGerald Falkner, George FalknerFalkner, and Robert Noel Falkner, the two latter being sons of the late Robert Falkner, who was for many years head partner. Produced the Parliamentary Deposit Plans, &c., for the Thirlmere Water Works Scheme, for the City of Manchester; also those for the Manchester Ship Canal. Specialities: All kinds of High-class Letterpress, Printing of Bank Cheques, and Colour Reproduction. Connection: United Kingdom (all parts). Telephones: No. 766 City, Manchester; No. 2974 Central, Manchester; No. 2032 Holborn, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Falkners, Manchester "; " George Falkner, London." Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd. (Head Office, Manchester); Union Bank of Manchester, Ltd. (Deansgate); Lloyds Bank Limited (King Street.).

FAREBROTHER, ELLIS & CO., Auctioneers and Surveyors, 29, Fleet Street, London, E.C. Established in the early part of the nineteenth century by Mr. Alderman Farebrother. Partnership Successions: (1) H. F. Gadsden; (2) Fred. James Clark; (3) Sir John Whittaker Ellis, Bart. Present Principals: Hubert D. Egerton, B. I'Anson Breach, Ralph S. Ellis, Vincent S. Galsworthy. Business Auctioneers, Land Agents, Valuers, Surveyors. Telephone: No. 6344 Hol born. Telegraphic Address: " Farebrother, London."

FAREY (SAMUEL) & SON, Cotton Weavers, Firth Shed, Skipton, and 7, Mosley Street, Manchester (Robert Barclay). Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established in 1864 by Samuel Farey (d.). Present Principal: W. R. G. Farey, J.P. Premises: Extensive up-to-date Works, covering two and a quarter acres. Staff: 300. Business: Cotton Weaving. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 30 Skipton; No. 100 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Farey, Skipton."

FARMER & BRINDLEY, Ltd., Sculptors, Carvers, Marble Quarry Proprietors, Merchants and General Marble Contractors, Workers in Wood and Stone; Museum of Marble and Ancient Monuments, 63, Westminster Bridge Road, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12 noon. Established over sixty years ago by the late William Farmer. The founder was joined in partnership in 1869 by William Brindley, who had been in his employ from the commencement of the business. Incorporated in 1905 as a private Limited Company. Managing Director: William Brindley. Directors: H. W. Barnes, E. R. Brindley, A. C. Brindley. Premises: Works, &c., extending to over an acre of ground. Firm are proprietors of valuable marble quarries. Stag: From 300 to 500, according to requirements. Specialities: Sculpture and Carving, particularly in rare marbles; also in Wood and Stone. Representative firm in this branch of art industry. Have executed very fine work in innumerable public buildings. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 2396 Hop.. Telegraphic Address: " Farmer Brindley, London." Cable Address: " Porphyry, London."

FARMER (SIR JAMES) & SONS, Ltd., Engineers, Adelphi Ironworks, Salford, Manchester. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 12 noon; Offices, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1852 by the late Sir James Farmer. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Directors: W. J. Norton, D. G. Norton. Secretary: George Nowbory. Premises: Cover about two acres, equipped with modern appliances. Staff: About 200. Branch: Failsworth Foundry, Slater Street, Failsworth, Manchester. Specialities: Machinery for Bleaching, Dyeing, and Finishing Cotton Goods, Linoleum and Floor Cloth Machinery, Copper and Steel Tube and Wire Drawing Machinery. Patents: Several. Awards: Gold Medals, London, 1885; Brussels, 1910; Bronze Medal, Melbourne, 1888. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: Nos. 2754 and 1074 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Agricola, Manchester." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Western Union.

FARMILOE, T. & W., Ltd., Lead, White Lead, Paint, Colour and Varnish Manufacturers, Brassfounders and Sanitary Engineers, Glass Merchants and Manufacturers, Rochester Row, Westminster, London, S.W.; Nine Elms Lane; and Mitcham Varnish Works, Mitcham. Hours. of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about a century ago by Mr. Meakin, continued as Meakin and Farmiloe. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: John Farmiloe (Governing Director), James Farmiloe, George Arthur Farmiloe, Harold Farmiloe, and James Lewis Farmiloe. Premises: Equipped with up-to-date appliances. Staff: About 500. Specialities: Sheet Lead, Lead and Compo Pipe; Glass of all kinds; " Nine Elms " Brand of pure Paint; Putty and Painters' Goods. Awards: Gold Medal, Healtheries Exhibition. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Export largely to India, South Africa, Japan and China. Tele phone: No. 4480 Victoria, London (five lines), Private Branch Exchange. Tele graphic Address: "Farmiloe, Sowest, London."

FARNWORTH (ROBERT), LIMITED, Fancy Cotton Cloth Manufacturers. Registered Office: Orient Mill, Bolton. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1892 by William Hollas and Robert Farnworth. Partnership dissolved in 1899, when the firm was incorporated as a Limited Company, trading as Hollas & Farnworth, Ltd., from which the present firm was detached in 1908. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Directors: Robert Farnworth (Managing Director and Secretary), James Farnworth, P. A. Scowcroft, E. Farnworth. Premises: Mill containing 440 looms. Stall: 300. Sales Office: 44, Portland Street, Manchester. Specialities: Fancy Muslims suitable for light summer dress wear, Fancy Tapes and Braids in Cotton, Silk, and Linen; Inventions: Are joint inventors and joint owners of a Braid Loom and a Circular Reed. Connection: United Kingdom, chiefly Manchester; trade with merchants in Home, Colonial, and United States trade. Telephones: No. 1127 Bolton; No. 875 (Central) Manchester. Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd.

FARQUHARSON (JAMES) & SONS, Manufacturers of Uniform Equipment for Boys' Organisations, Birmingham and Sheffield Warehousemen and Foreign Fancy Goods Importers, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, and 64, Houndsditch, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1849 by the late James Farquharson. Has remained in the hands of the same family, and., has become one of the largest businesses of its kind in London. Present Principals: James Robert Farquharson, Peter Farquharson, John Farquharson, all sons of the founder. Specialities: As Birmingham and Sheffield Warehousemen, trade in Hardware and Cutlery. Make a special feature of Hotel and Restaurant Outfitting. The Foreign Fancy Goods Departments of the business are also very important. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 852 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Farquharson, Houndsditch, London."

FARRAR, J. B., & SONS, Ltd., Textile Machine Makers, Globe Works, Halifax; Yorkshire. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. (office). Established in 1805 by Joseph Farrar, continued by (1) J. B. Farrar and J. Farrar; (2) J. B. Farrar; (3) J. B. Farrar & Sons. Incorporated as a private Limited Company. Managing Directors: Joseph Farrar and Alfred R. Whitehead. Premises: Works extend over one and a half acres, fully equipped. Staff: 200 to 300, according to trade. Business: Makers of Worsted Machinery, Drawing, Spinning, and Twisting, &c.; Specialities in Twisting Machines and Patent Dyeing Machines. Patents: On their specialities. Awards: Two Gold Medals, Huddersfield Exhibition; Ono Silver Medal, Highest Award, Bradford Exhibition. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 167 Halifax. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Machine, Halifax." Codes: A B C (4th Edition) and Lieber's. Bankers: National. Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

FARRAR (JOHN) & SONS, Ltd., Quarry Owners and Stone Merchants, Thornton, Bradford, and Southowram, near Halifax. Hours of Business: Quarries, 7 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1830 by John Farrar and James Farrar, Charles Farrar and Samuel Farrar (sons). Succeeded in z2 1891 by Charles Farrar. Incorporated in 1893 as a Private Limited Company. Directors: Alfred Farrar (Chairman), John Farrar, John Hy. Shaw. Premises: Registered Office, Southowram; Extensive Quarries, Bell Dean, Egypt and Headley, at Thornton; Yew Tree, Birks Royd, Grange House and West Lane, Southowram, Moor End, Halifax; Steam Polishing and Sawing Works, Thornton and Southowram. Depots, Halifax Stations, Halifax Canal, Brighouse Station, Brighouse Canal, Bradford Stations, Thornton Station, Hipperholme Station, Lightcliffe Station, Luddendenfoot Station, Luddendenfoot Canal; Goole, for Shipments to London and Export. Stall: 100 to 150. Business: Supply all kinds of Stone. Speciality, Hard Blue York Stone supplied largely for Government buildings, in self-faced, tooled, polished, and sawn. Registered Trade Marks: " Farite " and. "Invincible." Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephones: No. 281 Halifax; No. 36 Thornton. • Telegraphic Address: " Farrars," Thornton and Southowram. Bankers: West Yorkshire Bank, Ltd.

FARRELL (RICHARD), Ltd., Timber, Corn, Coal and Iron Merchants, Youghal, co. Cork, and Tallow Quay, co. Waterford. Hours of Business: Offices, 9.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1853 by Richard Farrell (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in. 1908. Directors: Thomas Farrell, J.P., and R. C. Farrell (sons). Premises: Cover four acres under Yards, Sheds and Stores, with central powerhouse, driving Mills and Granaries by Electrical Power; also Lighting. Specialities: Timber, Corn, Coal and Iron. Native Grain (Oats) and Pitwood exporting; also Ship and Motor Boat owners. Connection: United Kingdom, Norway, Sweden and Canada, and France occasionally. Telephone: No. 4 I oughal. Telegraphic Address: " Farrell, Youghal." Bankers: Provisional Bank of Ireland, Ltd. (Youghal). Mr. T. Farrell is Lloyds Agent, and Commissioner for Oaths, High Court. Mr. R. C. Farrell was an Urban District Councillor for many years. Pastimes: Motoring, Golfing.

FARRINGDON WORKS (THE) & H. PONTIFEX & SONS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Ice-making, Refrigerating and Brewing Machinery, Copper Work, Pumps, Sanitary Goods, &c., Farringdon Works, Shoe Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established originally in 1788, when the premises in Shoe Lane (one of the most notable industrial establishments in the City of London) were erected by the firm of Pontifex & Wood. They were taken over by the Farringdon Works, Ltd., in 1893. The similar business of Henry Pontifex & Sons; established in Shoe Lane in 1796 (and later removed to King's Cross), was amalgamated with the Farringdon Works, Ltd., in 1894, when the present title was assumed. Staff: From 250 to 400 hands Specialities: The Company are widely known as Refrigerating Engineers, and also as Brewers' Engineers and Coppersmiths. Are also large producers of Copper Work, Pumps, and Sanitary Goods, and are specialists in Hydraulic Machinery, supplying the Admiralty, War Office, General Post Office, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 790, 791, and 794 Holborn. Telegraphic Address: " Cuprite, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.; London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

FARROW & JACKSON, Ltd., Mechanical Engineers and Manufacturers of Wine Bins and Cellar Requisites, and machinery fOr the Brewing, Mineral Water and Refrigerating Trades, 16, Great Tower Street, London, E.C.; 8, Haymarket, London, S.W. Factory: 91, Mansell Street, London, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1798 by Benjamin Farrow. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1897. Awards: Many, at leading Exhibitions. Stag: About eighty. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 2155 for Tower Street and Mansell Street; No. 3702 Gerrard for Haymarket. Telegraphic Address: " Farjak, London."

FARROW (ROBERT) & CO.; Oil Merchants and Importers, William Street, Sunderland. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1874 by Robert Farrow, the present principal. Premises: Originally in Norfolk Street. Removed in 1881 to the present central and extensive warehouses and offices. Consist of three storeys with cellars, the property of the Company, erected to suit the requirements of the business. Warehouses in Lambton Street for heavy goods, tar, pitch, resin, &c. Bond " B," Low Street. Specialities: High-class Marine Engine Cylinder and Burning Oils, every requisite for Deck, Engineroom, and Cabin Stores; also White Lead, Zinc White, and Coloured Paints, Varnishes, &c. Illuminant, known as " Luminol," for postmen's and policemen's lanterns, and for colza lamps, Dynamol " for dynamos and electrical machinery. Used by many important steamship lines. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (War Office). Agents for Jeffery's Patent Marino Glue and Westhorp's Patent Machine and Spun Oakum. Telephone: No. 86 (National) Sunderland. Telegraphic Address: " Farrow, Sunderland." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd., Mr. R. Farrow is also principal partner in the firm of Samuel Pinkney & Co., Iron and Steel Merchants, William Street, Sunderland. He was for several years one of the overseers for Bishopwearmouth Parish, and for twelve years People's Warden of St. Thomas's Church. He is on the Committee of the Royal Infirmary, Sunderland. Club: County Constitutional (Sunderland).

FASS, A., South African Merchant, 80, Bishopsgate, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1877 by Adolph Fass. Present Principal: Francis George Fass. Business: South African Merchant. Connection: South Africa. Telephone: No. 6583 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Address: " Spiniform, London." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions) and A 1. Bankers: Standard Bank of South Africa, Ltd. Mr. Fass is a Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society.

FAUDELS LIMITED, Manufacturers and Importers of Fancy Goods and Stationers' Sundries, 36 to 40, Newgate Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1833 by Henry Faudel and Benjamin Samuel Phillips, the latter of whom subsequently became Alderman of the Ward of Farringdon Without, was Lord Mayor of London in 1865, and received the honour of knighthood. Henry Faudel died in 1865, and Sir Benjamin S. Phillips took into partnership his two sons, Samuel Henry Phillips and George Faudel-Phillips (now Sir George Faudel-Phillips, Bart.). On the retirement of Sir Benjamin S. Phillips in 1887, Henry John Davis came into the firm; and in 1891 Benjamin Samuel Faudel-Phillips (son of Sir George) was admitted as a partner. Incorporated as a Limited Company, March, 1907. Directors: Sir George Faudel-Phillips, Bart., G.C.I.E. (Chairman), Henry John Davis (Managing Director), Benjamin Samuel FaudelPhillips, J.P., and Frank Edward Bonni well. Secretary: John Lane. Premises: Very extensive warehouse in Newgate Street, arranged for the convenient accommodation of an exceptionally large stock. Branches at Manchester, Liverpool, and Cardiff. Staff: About 380. Specialities: Fancy Goods and Stationers' Sundries. The house is one of the largest in the world engaged in this trade. Supplies an immense range of goods, embracing not only a great variety of articles of British manufacture, but also kindred productions from every foreign source, Continental, Oriental, Far Eastern, &c. Wools and Embroideries are a leading feature, and the Chinese and Japanese Art Industries are also fully represented. Connection: World-wide. Import from and export to every quarter of the globe. Telegraphic Address: " Faudel, London." Sir George FaudelPhillips, Bart., was High Sheriff of the County of London in 1895; Lord Mayor of London in 1896-7 created a baronet in 1897, and G.C.I.E. in the same year. Is a Governor of St. Bartholomew's Hospital, and Past Master of the Worshipful Company of Spectacle Makers, of which Mr. Henry John Davis and Mr. Benjamin Samuel Faudel-Phillips are also members. Has been decorated by H.I.M. the Shah of Persia (Order of the Lion and Sun), H.I.M. the Sultan of Turkey (Osmanieh Order), and is Commander of the Order of Leopold (Belgium), and of the Order of the White Elephant (Siam).

FAULDER (HENRY) & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Preserves, Marmalades, Bottled and Canned Fruits, Candied Peels, Cocoa and Chocolate, and General Confectionery (Sweetmeats), " Silverpan " Preserve Works, Cocoa and Chocolate Works, Squirrel Confectionery Works. Registered Office: St. Petersgate, Stockport. Hours of Business: Offices, 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Factories, 7.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1832 by Thomas Wheeler as a Grocery business. Continued by Henry Faulder (d.), David Ward (d.), Walter Barlow and William John Lister, present Governing Directors. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1889. Directors: Walter Barlow (Chairman and Governing Director), William J. Lister (Governing Director), Samuel Maskery, J.P. Secretary: Francis Kent Palmer. Premises: Three Extensive Factories for the respective trades of Fruit Preserving, Cocoa and Chocolate Manufacture, and General Confectionery. Equipped with modern appliances. Staff: About 1,000. Specialities: Preserved Fruits, Preserves, Marmalade, Bottled and Canned Fruits, Candied Peels, Cocoa and Chocolate, Sweetmeats, and General Confectionery. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly); Shipping Abroad. Telephone: 535 Stockport (three lines). Telegraphic Address " Faulder, Stockport." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.

FAULKNER, C. W., & CO., Ltd., Artistic Colour Printers, Publishers of Photogravure and other Pictures, Cards, Calendars, &c., 79, Golden Lane, and 9 and 10, Bayer Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Offices, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Factory, Summer, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Winter, 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1879 by Hildesheimer and Faulkner. Continued in 1892 as C. W. Faulkner & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Directors: C. W. Faulkner (Managing Director), W. Appleton, William McKenzie, Frederick Kaye, Joseph Shaylor. Premises: Six floors at 79, Golden Lane, and four floors at 9 and 10, Bayer Street. Equipped with all modern appliances. Staff: 164. Specialities: Pictures, Calendars, and Christmas Cards. Award: Gold Medal, Highest Award, Crystal Palace, 1882. Connection: Universal. Telephones: No. 201 London Wall; No. 12997 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Poems, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and Unicode. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

FAVELL, ELLIS & KIRKMAN, Decorators and Sanitary Engineers, 5, St. Andrew's Street, Cambridge. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1711. Present Principal: W. R. Kirkman. Claim to be the oldest-established business of any kind in Cambridge. Premises: Occupy Offices and Showrooms at St. Andrews Street; Workshops at St. Tibbs Row. Specialities: High-class Decorations, Sanitary Inspections and Reports. Telephone: No. 110 Cambridge. Telegraphic Address: " Favell Ellis, Cambridge."

FAVRE, A., & CO., Agents for Laboratory Supplies, 122, Newgate Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1907 by A. Favre and Ernest Satchwell. Present Principal: A. Favre. Premises: Showrooms at above address. Specialities: Laboratory Supplies, Bauer's X-Ray Tubes and Scientific Instruments. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone; No. 2283 Holborn, London, Telegraphic Address: " Analyseur, London." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

FEARFIELD, J., Ltd., Lace Manufacturers, St. Mary's Gate, and Broadway, Nottingham. Factory: Stapleford, near Nottingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established over seventy years ago by Joseph Fearfield. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Governing Director: Marcus J. Astle, J.P. Specialities: Tattings and White and Coloured Irish Trimmings. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 290 Nottingham. Telegraphic Address: " Fearfield, Nottingham." Bankers: Crompton and Evans Bank, Ltd. (Sandiacre).

FEATHER (JOHN) & SON, Ltd., Wool Merchants and Top Makers, Wade Street, Bradford. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1842 by John Feather. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: A. Hopwood, George H. Feather, Arthur W. Feather, Specialities: Camel's Hair, and Persian Tops, and all kinds of Foreign Wool Tops and Noils. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 219 Bradford. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Feather, Bradford." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Kirkgate).

FEE, D. A., & CO., Agents, Auctioneers, and Property Experts. City Office: 82, Royal Avenue, Belfast. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1824 by David Fee.

FEIST, H. & C. J., Wine and Spirit Merchants, 116, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1836 by H. & C. J. Feist. Present Principal: Carl Ernest Feist. Staff: Large. Specialities: Important Stocks of Wines and Spirits held in Bond in London and in the countries of production. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 3526 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Prehendo, London." Club: Junior Athenaeum.

FELBER, JUCKER & CO., Ltd., Engineers, Merchants, Ship Agents, 29, Peter Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1860 by Jean Felber, under the firm of J. Felber & Co. After the death of J. Felber in 1885 the business was taken over by Jacques Jucker (former manager of J. Felber), who was joined in partnership by E. Hoyle and W. H. Whitby in 1887, when the title was changed to Felber, Jucker & Co. In 1912 the business was transformed into a private Limited Company under above style. Governing Director: E. Fontana Jucker (former Manager of Felber, Jucker & Co.). Premises: Extensive Offices in Manchester. Staff: Eighty-seven in various offices, exclusive of workmen. Branches: London, Glasgow, Bombay, Johannesburg, also at Augsburg, Buenos Ayres, Gothenburg, Milan, Mulhouse, Vienna, and Zurich. Specialities: " Asbestilite" brand of Asbestos-Cement Slates, Tiles, plain and corrugated sheets. Export of Machinery, Engineering Work in General. Ship Coal and other Merchandise to all parts. Import Paper, Papermakers' Raw Materials, Timber, Hard and Soft Woods, and Finished and Manufactured Woodwork. Agents in England for the Gothenburg-Manchester Steamship Line. Have patented several inventions in connection with Papermaking, Spinning and Weaving. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 4903, 3451, 4776 Central, and 1116 City, Manchester; No. 289 Bank, London; No. 4204 Corporation, Glasgow. Telegraphic Addresses: " Felber," Manchester, London, Glasgow. Bankers: Williams Deacons Bank, Ltd., Manchester.

FELLOWS & CO., Iron, Steel, Coke and Mineral Merchants, Kings Hill, Wednesbury, and Midland Railway Wharf, Walsall. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1870 by Joseph Fellows (d. 1910). Present Principals: Edward John Fellows and Joseph Bertram Fellows. Specialities: Pig Iron, Coke, &c. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 58 Darlaston; No. 429 Walsall. Telegraphic Address: " Fellows, Wednesbury." Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd. (Darlaston).

FELLOWS, MORTON, & CLAYTON, Ltd., Canal Carriers. Registered Office: Fazeley Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established by the late Joshua Fellows about 1845. Later, the carrying business of the Grand Junction Canal Co. between London and the Midlands was acquired, and in 1889 the whole, together with the business of Thomas Clayton of Saltley, was incorporated. Directors: Alfred James Ash (Chairman), Henry R. de Salis, Frederick Morton, H. T. Nock. Speciality: The Carriage of General Goods and Merchandise by Canal between the Midlands and Ports of London, Liverpool, Manchester, and Hull. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 533 and 532 Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Fellsmorton, Birmingham."

FELTHAM, W. H., & SON, Cotton Bag Manufacturers and Printers, Imperial Works, Tower Bridge Road, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1878 by Walter Hunt Feltham. Present Principals: Walter Hunt Feltham and Walter Harold Feltham. Branch: Imperial Works. Southall Street, Manchester. Staff: Averages 400. Staff Clubs: Sick and Holiday Fund. Specialities: All kinds of Cotton Bags manufactured and printed in any sizes, colours, and designs. Awards: Bronze Medal, Cookery and Food Exhibition, London, 1896; Bronze Medal, Paris, 1900; Silver Medal, Brussels, 1910; Gold Medal, Turin, 1911. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Tele• phones: No. 2093 Hop, London; No. 4723 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Addresses: " Unbagged," London and Manchester. Codes: Western Union, A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

FENTON BROTHERS, Ltd., Silversmiths, Cutlers and Electro-plate Manufacturers, South Moor Works, Earl Street, Sheffield. Hours of Business: Not fixed. Established in 1850 by John Frederick Fenton and Frank Fenton. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Director: William Alexander. Branches: London, Glasgow, Ontario, Shanghai, China, and Cape Town, South Africa. Specialities: Trays, Waiters, Entree Dishes, Bowls, Fruit and Tea Services. Patents: Liquor Frames, Biscuit Caddies, Revolving Tureens and Butter Dishes, Spoon and Fork Producing Plant. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty and War Office). Telephone: No. 1235 Sheffield. Telegraphic Address: " Fenton Brothers, Sheffield." Code:Western Union. Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Sheffield.

FENWICK (ARTHUR), Ltd., Die Sinkers, &c. Registered Offices: Athletic Works, 107 and 108, Vyse Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established in 1888 by Arthur Fenwick, present Managing Director. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Arthur Fenwick (Life Governor and Managing Director), Arthur F, Fenwick, George J. Fenwick, A.R. C. S.L. (Secretary), and William E. Fenwick. Business: Medallists, Die Sinkers, Seal and Ring Engravers, Companies' Seals and Presses, Badge Makers, Enamel Painters, Art Enamellers, Souvenir Spoons, Masonic, Buffalo, Druid, Foresters and all other Jewels, " Townovelties " Advertising Specials, Celluloid Buttons, Tool Makers, Stampers and Piercers, Coinage, Tokens, Checks and Labels, Marking Tools in Brass and Steel. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 50 Jewellers, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: "Athletic, Birmingham."

FERGUSON BROTHERS, LIMITED, Spinners, Manufacturers, Bleachers, Dyers, Printers and Finishers, Holme Head Works, Carlisle. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1825 by Joseph Ferguson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: F. W. Chance (Chairman), J. S. Chance, H. B. Overton, H. T. Rogers, R. C. Chance, and F. S. Chance. Branches: London, 39, Aldermanbury; Glasgow, 5. Dixon Street; Manchester, 2, Charlotte Street; Bristol, 13, John Street, Broad Street; New York, 6036, Metropolitan Buildings, 1, Madison Avenue; Montreal, 232, Board of Trade Buildings. Business: Spinners, Manufacturers, Bleachers, Dyers, Printers, and Finishers. Speciality made of Highclass Linings for Tailors and Dressmakers. Awards: Highest, Philadelphia, 1876; Highest, Paris, 1878; Gold Medal, Sydney, 1879; Melbourne, 1880; Calcutta, 1884; Highest, Adelaide, 1887; Chicago, 1893; Gold Medal, New Zealand, 1907; Grand Prix, Franco-British Exhibition, 1908, Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Colonial. Telephones: No. 66 (National), Carlisle; No. 6293 (P.O.), Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Ferguson, Carlisle." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd.

FERGUSON, HOLNESS & CO., Ltd., Wholesale Tea Merchants, Blenders and Packers, Sale Room and Offices, 52 and 53, Great Tower Street, E.C. Bonded Tea Blending and Packing Warehouse, 64, The Grange, Bermondsey, London, S.E. Hours of Business: Offices, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Warehouse, 8.15 a.m. to 6.15 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1876 by James Ferguson (d. 1893), and Edwin Holness, the present Managing Director. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1912. Premises: Extensive. Staff: 300. Specialities Blending and Packing Tea under bond for Exportation. Owners of a number of well-known brands of Tea. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 2450 Central, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: "Holness, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Private.

FERGUSON (JAMES) & CO., Dress Trimming Manufacturers, 70, Wood Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1864 by James Ferguson, the present principal. Specialities: Silk Pleatings, Ruching and Pipings, Mourning Veils and Trimmings. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Ruchings, Cent, London." Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

FERNAU (GEORGE) & SON, Wool Merchants, 21 to 25, Wool Exchange, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5 p.m.; During wool sales, 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Established in 1876 by George Fernau. Present Principals: H. S. Fernau, Henry Gibbs, Cyril John Merriman. Branches: 25, Cheapside, Bradford; and at Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane. Manager of Australian Branches, G. H. Gerber, Sydney. Business; Purchase of Colonial Wools in London, Australia, and at the Cape on commission. Are also Top Makers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 24 Bank, London; No. 1712 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Fernau," London and Bradford. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. (London); Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Bradford); Bank fuer Handel and Industrie (Leipzig); La Societe Generale (Ronbaux); Banque Generale Beige (Verviers).

FERNDALE SMOKELESS STEAM COAL. Proprietors: D. Davis & Sons, Ltd. Registered Offices: Cymric Buildings, Cardiff. London Office: 138, Leadenhall Street, E.C. Paris: Office of Concessionaire, 22, Rue St. Augustin. Hours of Business: Usual. Directors: Frederick Lewis Davis (Chairman), David Hannah, Jules Vasse, Thomas VivianRees (General Commercial Ma na ger) , Harry Leonard Warner, John Bell White. Premises: Ferndale Collieries, Rhondda Valley, South Wales. Equipped with the most up-to-date Power Station, Electric Winder, &c. Speciality: Ferndale Smokeless Steam Coal. Best Steam Coal, uniform in quality. World-wide reputation for great evaporative power, purity and durability. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty), Foreign Admiralties, many of the largest steamship Companies, and supplied to some of the largest shippers of Coal. Telegraphic Addresses: " Ferndale," Cardiff, London, Paris. Messrs. D. Davis & Sons, Ltd., are also proprietors of th3 Welsh Navigation Steam Coal Co., Ltd. (Coedely Collieries), Steam and Bituminous Coals, Coke, &c., and are chief proprietors and sole managers of John Lancaster & Co., Ltd. (Griffin Natatyglo Collieries). Annual Output of the above Collieries, 3-.1 million tons. Secre tary of the three Companies: J. F. Davies.

FERRANTI, Ltd., Electrical and General Engineers. London Office: Central House, Kingsway, W.C. Works: Hollinwood, Lancashire. Manchester Office: 78, King Street. Hours of Business: London Office 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Works, 7.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Manchester Office, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1883 by S. Z. do Ferranti. Incorporated as a Limited Company as S. Z. de Ferranti, Ltd. Re registered in 1905. Directors: A. W. Tait (Chairman), J. M. Henderson, M.P., Arthur Whittaker, S. Z. de Ferranti, A. Bruce Anderson (Managing Director•). Premises: Cover 29,255 square yards. Equipped with up-to-date appliances throughout. Staff: 1,800 to 1,900. Staff Clubs: Musical Society, Football, Cricket. London Meter Depot: 57, St. John's Square, Clerkenwell, E.C. Agencies: Glasgow, 156, St. Vincent Street. Representatives in Birmingham, Leeds, and Newcastle on-Tyne. Specialities: Meters and Switch gear. Connection: Worldwide. Subsidiary Companies or Agencies in every country. Contractors to H. 11I. Government (Ad miralty, War Office, India and Colonial Office). Telephones: Nos. 1602 & 1603 Regent (London); Nos. 31 & 48 Fails worth (Hollinwood); No. 2960 City (Man chester); No. 1018 Holborn; No. 729 (National), Argyle; No. 1729 (P.O.) Central, Glasgow. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: "Ferranti, Westcent, London " and " Ferranti, London "; " Ferranti, Hollinwood "; " Ferranti, Manchester "; " Ferranti, Glasgow." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), A 1, Engineering, Western Union, Lieber's.

FETTERCAIRN DISTILLERY CO., Ltd., Distillers, Fettercairn. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1824 by Messrs. Durie, continued by David Durie. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Chairman: Sir John R. Gladstone, Bart. Manager and Secretary: George Gauld. The Distillery was visited by the late Premier, the Rt. Hon. W. E. Gladstone. Premises: The ruins of the Old Distillery prior to 1824 in the Grampian Hills are still visible, The Distillery was originally established two miles higher up the mountains in the heart of a smuggling district on the slopes of the well known Cairn O'Mount. In 1824 the present Distillery was built, and enlarged in 1890, covering about four acres. Staff: Twelve. Business: Distillers from fine Malt only. The barley is grown in the district known as the " Howe o' the Meares." Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 3, Fettercairn. Telegraphic Address: " Distillery, Fettercairn." Bankers: North of Scotland and Town and County Bank, Ltd. (Fettercairn).

FEUERHEERD BROTHERS & CO., Ltd., Port and Sherry Wine Shippers, 47, Mark Lane, London, E.C. Established in 1815 in Oporto . Present Principals: H. L. Feuerheerd, F. M. Feuerheerd and A. M. Feuerheerd. Branches: Oporto, Portugal and Jerez de la Frontera, Spain. Specialities: Fine Old Tawny Ports and old-fashioned Sherries. Awards: Gold Medals, Paris, 1867; Bordeaux, 1889; Paris, 1889; St. Louis, 1904. Connection: Worldwide. Telephone: No. 13141 Central, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Feuerheerd, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Mincing Lane). Mr. Feuerheerd was formerly United States Consul in Oporto.

FIAT MOTORS, Ltd., Sole Concessionaires for F.I.A.T. Cars in the United Kingdom, India, and the British Colonies. Address: 37 and 38, Long Acre, London, W.C. Repairs and Stores: Fiat Motors, Ltd., Wembley. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in November, 1903. Managing Director: D'A. R. Baker. Secretary and Manager: S. W. Lewis. Cars are manufactured in Italy by the Fabbrica Italiana Automobili Torino. Telephones: No. 7946 Gerrard (five lines); Nos. 43 and 44 Wembley. Telegraphic Addresses: " Fiatism, Rand, London "; " Fiat, Wembley."

FIELD (ALFRED) & CO., Merchants and Manufacturers, 77, Edmund Street, Birmingham; 1A, Bradford Avenue, London, E.C.; 23, Westfield Terrace, Sheffield; Oriel Chambers, Water Street, Liverpool; and 93, Chambers Street, New York. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1836 by Alfred Field and F. E. Field. Present Principals: Henry Cromwell Field, J.P., Henry Julian Ebsworth, Franz R. Dorken (Birmingham), Edward A., Sfpcton, and William J, Corbet (New York). Staff: About 200. Branches: Ten in United Kingdom , and Abroad, including allied businesses. Business: Exporters and Importers of every kind of Merchandise and Produce, Manufacturers of Cutlery in Sheffield, Manufacturers of Sporting Guns and Specialities in Hardware and Saddlery in Birmingham. Connection: World-wide. English Colonies, United States, South America, and the Continent chiefly. Telephones: Nos. 3320-1 Central, Birming ham; No. 9179 London Wall; No. 3045 Sheffield; No. 5962 Liverpool. Telegraphic Addresses: " Field," Birmingham and Sheffield; " Fieldade," London and Liverpool. Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions); A 1, Western Union, and Lieber's. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited. Mr. H. C. Field is a Director of the, Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd., and of other Commercial Companies.

FIELD (EDWIN) & SONS, Manufacturers of Angora Hearthrugs and Table Covers, Tenter Croft Mills, Skelmanthorpe, near Huddersfield. Warehouses: 2, Paternoster Square, London, E.C.; 33, Virginia Street, Glasgow; 6, Exchequer Chambers, Dublin; and 4, Waring Street, Belfast. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon; Factories, 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1862 by Edwin Field. Continued in 1897 by John T. Field, J.P., and Charles E. Field as Edwin Field & Sons. Present Principal: Charles Edwin Field. Premises: Cover 6000 superficial yards. Staff: 500. Agencies: 2, Paternoster Square, London, E.C.; 33, Virginia Street, Glasgow; 4, Waring Street, Belfast; 6, Exchequer Chambers, Dublin; Apollo Chambers, 326, Flinders Lane, Melbourne. Specialities: Angora Table Covers and Hearthrugs. Trade Mark: Head of the Angora Goat. Awards: Medals, City and Guilds, London. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 5 Skelmanthorpe. Telegraphic Ad dress: " Edwin, Skelmanthorpe." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Mr. John T. Field is a Justice of the Peace for the West Riding. Pastimes: Shooting, Motoring, Golf.

FIELD, J. C. & J., Ltd., Candle and Soap Manufacturers, Upper Marsh, Lambeth, London, S.E. Established prior to 1642 by Thomas Field, who retired from the business in 1655. Specialities: Candles, Night Lights, Tapers, Oil and Toilet Soaps, Varnishes, Japans, Lubricating Oils, &c, Awards New Zealand, 1906; Paris, 1900; St. Louis, 1904; Brussels, 1897; Paris, 1886; Calcutta, 1883; International Health Exhibition, 1884; Inventions Exhibition, 1885; Edinburgh, 1886. Premises: One and a half acres of ground at Lambeth, and sixteen acres at Rainham, are occupied by the factories, offices, &c.

FIELD, J., & SONS, Ltd., Worsted Manufacturers, Oakenshaw Mills, Bradford. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1881. Incorporated as. a Limited Company in 1910. Managing Directors: Fred Field (Chairman) and John Henry Field. Branches: Bradford, 15, Charles Street; Leeds, 4, King Street; Glasgow, 33, Virginia Street; Manchester, 12, Mosley Street; London, 38, Golden Square, W. Business: Worsted Manufacturers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Field, Oakenshaw." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Bradford District Bank, Ltd.

FIELD & MACKAY, Ltd., Quarry Owners, Clee Hill Basalt Quarries, Bitterley, Ludlow. Hours of Business: Usual.' Established in 1881 by Col. William Field and John Mackay. Continued by John Charles Mackay and Thomas Storar Field. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1911. Chairman and Managing Director: J. C. Mackay, A.M.I.C.E. Manager: George Bright. Premises: Cover 100 acres. Staff: 350. Specialities: Macadam and Titterstone-Clee Tar Macadam Setts. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 5 Clee Hill. Telegraphic Address: " Titterstone, Clee Hill."

FIELD, SONS & CO., Ltd., Lithographers, Printers Folding Box and Pattern Card Makers, Southgate Works, Bradford. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established in 1850 by Martin Field, father of the present managing director. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905.. Directors: Edgar M. Field (Managing Director), Percy Lund (Chairman), William T. Field, ' John Breare and John R. Foulds. Premises: Floor space covers 4000 square yards. Staff: Over 300. Branches: London, 28, Cheapside, E.C.; Liverpool, 3, Hope Chambers, Leather Lane; Glasgow, 33, Virginia Street. Specialities: High-class Lithographed Show-cards, Labels, &c. Printed folding Boxes and Advertising Dummies, Letterpress Printing and Pattern Cards. Connection; United Kingdoms Telephone8 Nos. 5566 and 5567 Bradford; No. 11759 Central, London; No. 7849 Central, Liverpool; No. 2324 Bell, Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: Fields, Southgate, Bradford."

FIELDEN (ROBERT) & SONS, Ltd., Buffalo Hide Curers and Picker Manufacturers, Inchfield Picker Works, Walsden near Todmorden, and 6 Arch, Exchange, Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Manchester,. Tuesdays and Fridays, 1.45 p.m. to 2.45 p.m. Established in 1817 by Robert Fielden. Continued as Robert Fielden and Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: J. Fielden (Managing Director and Chairman) and T. Fielden. The oldest and largest Makers of Buffalo Pickers in the trade. Specialities: All kinds of Buffalo Picker required in weaving from a superior quality of hides. Trade Mark: A Buffalo Head. Patents: Several in Pickers and Machines for Making Pickers. Connection: Practically in every manufacturing Country. Telephone: No. 36 Todmorden. Telegraphic Address: " Fieldens, Walsden." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.

FIELDING, S., & CO., Ltd., Earthenware Manufacturers, Devon Pottery, Stoke-onTrent, Staffs., and Gamage Buildings, Holborn, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1873 by S. Fielding. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Directors: A. Fielding J.P. (Chairman and Managing Director), A. R. Fielding. Secretary: James Sayer. Premises: Extensive. Contain fifteen Ovens and Kilns. Staff: 400. Staff Club: Cricket. Specialities: In useful and Ornamental Goods, universally known as " Crown Devon " and " Devon " Ware, Decorated Earthenware in Dinner, Tea, Toilet, and Dessert Ware: Connection: Home and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 814 and 1368 Stoke-on-Trent. Telegraphic Address: " Fielclings, Stoke-onTrent." Bankers: United Counties Banking Co., Ltd. (Stoke). Mr. A. Fielding is a Justice of the Peace.

FIFE COAL CO., Ltd. (THE), Colliery Owners, Fireclay Manufacturers, &c. H cad Office: Leven, Fifeshire. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1872. Directors: John Jordan, Adam Nimmo, T. G. Nasmyth, James S. Stenhouse, C. A. Carlow, A. D. Smith-Sligo, C. Carlow (Managing Director and Chairman). Secretary: W. Walker. Company formed to take over Beath and Blair adam Collieries, then employing about 300 men. Premises: Coalfields and several Fireclay Works. Staff: 14,500. Branches: Crossgates, Cowdenbeath, Kelty, Cardenden, Kirkcaldy. Specialities: Coal of Navigation, Anthracite, Steam and Household qualities, Fireclay Pipes, Sanitary Fittings, Bricks. Telephone: No. 2 Leven. Telegraphic Address: " Carlow, Leven." Bankers; British Linen Company and Royal Bank of Scotland. Accounts in other banks for local purposes.

FIFE (WILLIAM) & SON, Yacht Builders, Fairlie, Ayrshire. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1803 by William Fife. Present Principals: William Fife and Robert Balderston. Were builders of the " Industry," seventh steam-ship built on the Clyde in 1814. Business: Designers and Builders of Racing and Cruising Yachts, numbering 631 Yachts up to 1913. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 8 Fairlie. Telegraphic Address: " Fife, Fairlie." Codes: A B 0, Leiber's, Western Union. Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

FIGGIS (SAMUEL) & CO., Produce Brokers, 45, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1890 by SEimuel Figgis, joined by H. B. Figgis, John Wilson, T. H. Urwick, B. E. Figgis, T. E. C. Bates. Present- Principals: Samuel Figgis, Howard B. Figgis, B. Ernest Figgis, J. Maurice Figgis, A. H. Punnett, Richard Wright, Aubrey F. C. Walker. Premises: Consist of five offices. Staff: Fortyseven. Specialities: Rubber (extensively), Ostrich Feathers, Ivory, Shells, Spices, Gums, Drugs and Drysalteries. Award: Gold Medal, Ceylon Rubber Exhibition, 1907. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 6116/6118, and 6119 City (Office), London. Telegraphic Address: " Jubilamus, Fen, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Lombard Street). The partners are members of many philanthropic societies, clubs, &c.

FILSHILL (JOHN), Ltd., Manufacturing Confectioners, 420, Gallowgate, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1861 by John Filshill (d.). Succeeded by James Filshill and James Hamilton. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. Dprectors: James Filshill (Managing Director), H. R. Potter, James Hamilton and Robert Campbell. Premises: Factory burned seventeen years ago. Present building erected on the same site. Previous to the fire the firm manufactured Preserves also. Business now confined to Sugar Confectionery only. Staff: 150 to 200. Specialities: Toffees, Caramels, Liquorice, Cream Confectionery and Gums. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 170 and 171 Bridgeton. Telegraphic Address: " Filshill, Glasgow." Code: A B C. Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

" FINANCIAL NEWS " (THE). Head Office: 1 11, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Office open practically all day, and up to 12.30 a.m. (midnight). Established in 1884 by H. H. Marks, J.P., who is still the Editor-in-Chief. Managing Editor: Ellis T. Powell, LL.B., B.Sc. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1884. Directors: Sir Ernest Flower (Chairman), Aden Beresford, and C. F. Tombs. Premises: Head Office as above; West End Offices, 7, Pall Mall, S.W.; Paris Offices, at which an edition in French is published, 36 bis, Boulevard Haussmann; New York Offices, 20, Broad Street; large Printing Works, corner Temple Avenue and Tudor Street, London, E.C. " The Financial News " was the first daily financial newspaper published in London. Telephones: 6830 City (four lines). Telegraphic Address: " Finews, London." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

FINANCIAL TIMES, Ltd., Proprietors of the " Financial Times " and other publications, and owners of large Printing Works, 72, Coleman Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Head Office, all day to 9 p.m.; Printing Works, all hours, night and day. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1888. Directors: Francis Matthew Bridgewater (Managing Director), Francis Franklin Bridgewater, George Eaton Hart. Premises: Entire Building, 72 and 73, Coleman Street, London, E.C.; Printing Works, Newspaper Buildings, Portugal Street, Kingsway, London, W.C. Staff: About 700. Branches: Paris, 25, Boulevard des Italiens; New York, 44, Broad Street. Agencies: Berlin, Brussels, St. Petersburg, Johannesburg, &c. Business: Own the " Financial Times " and other Publications. High-class Printing, newspaper and general. Telephone: No. 3436 London Wall, London (twol ines). Telegraphic Address: " Finantimo, London." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

" FINANCIER & BULLIONIST," Ltd. (THE), Publishers, 49-57, Wool Exchange, Coleman Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1870. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Managing Director: Frank Sayer. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 8148, 8149 London Wall. Telegraphic Address " Finanzmann, Ave, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd., and London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

FINDLATER, MACKIE, TODD & CO., Ltd., Wine, Spirit, Beer and Mineral Water Merchants, Findlater's Corner, London Bridge. Head Cellars: 9, Canal Street, Camberwell, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1856 by Alexander Findlater, Ivie Mackie, and Bruce Todd. Continued by James Henry Todd, William James Todd and Alexander Findlater Todd. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1910. Directors: James Henry Todd (Chairman), William James Todd, Alexander Findlater Todd. Staff: Over 130. Branches: Fifteen. Specialities: Scotch Whisky; Wines, Spirits, and Foreign Mineral Waters. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to His Majesty The King of Spain. Telephone: No. 161 Hop, London. Telegraphic Address: "Findlater, London." Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Nicholas Lane, E.C.).

FINDLAY, RICHARDSON & CO., Ltd., Shipping Merchants (Eastern), 34, West George Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established early in the nineteenth century; the designation of the firm has been changed several times: from 1856 the name was Richardson, Findlay & Cc., and in 1909 the firm was incorporated as a Limited Company under its present title. Directors: Robert Elmsall Findlay (Chairman), James Marshall, Norman Annandale Black, Walter Graham Crum. Secretary: John Reid. Branches: Yokohama & Kobe, Japan; Manila & Iloilo, Philippine Islands. Connection: United Kingdom, Europe, United States and Canada, Australia, China, Japan and Philippine Islands. Telephones: 3153 and 1450 Douglas (Post Office). Telegraphic Addresses: " Borneo, Glasgow "; " Findlay " Yokohama, Kobe, Manila and Iloilo. Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (London); British Linen Bank (Glasgow); Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation, Chartered Bank of India, Australia and China, and International Banking Corporation (Japan and Philippines),

FINE COTTON SPINNERS AND DOUBLERS ASSOCIATION, Ltd., 6, St. James's Square, Manchester. Telegraphic Address " Distaff, Manchester."

FINLAY (ALEXANDER), Ltd., Soap, Candle, and Glycerine Manufacturers. Offices: 22 to 32, Victoria Square, Belfast. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1798 by Alexander Finlay, grandfather of the present Chairman. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Chairman: Alexander Finlay. Claim to be the largest of the kind in Ireland, and the only Distillers of Glycerine in the country. Specialities: Silkstone Curd White Soap and Pharmaceutical Glycerine. Awards: Gold and Bronze Medals, Highest Awards for Soaps, Candles, and Glycerine. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 264 Belfast. Telegraphic and Cable Address " Yalnif, Belfast."

FINLAY & CO., Colonial Merchants, 17, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1877 by Arthur William Finlay. Joined in 1890 by James Harrisson Brock. Present Principals: Arthur William Finlay, James Harrisson Brock. Business: General Buyers. Specialities: Metals, Hardware, Grbceries, Wines, Spirits, Soft Goods, &c. Consignees of Wool, Skins, Tallow, and all Colonial Produce. Connection: United Kingdom, European Continent, Cape Colony, Australia, New Zealand, Rangoon. Telephone: No. 5405 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Firearm, London." Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Limited.

FINLAY (JAMES) & CO., Ltd., Merchants in Glasgow, and Spinners, Manufacturers and Bleachers at Catrine and Deanston, 22, West Nile Street, Glasgow. London Office: 34, Leadenhall Street, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about 1750 by James Finlay. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1909. Directors: Sir A. K. Muir, Bart. (Chairman), J. F. Muir, J. B. Muir, M. W. Muir, W. Brown, R. H. Sinclair, J. D. Tannahill. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Branches: Liverpool, 28, Chapel Street; Calcutta; Bombay; Karachi; Colombo. Business: Merchants and Spinners; also Manufacturers and Bleachers. Telephones: Nos. 9626 and 9627 City. Telegraphic Address: " Mercator, Glasgow." Codes: Whitelaw's ABC; A 1.

FINN (EDWIN) & SONS. Ltd., Brewers, Pale Ale Brewery, Lydd, Kent. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1858 by Fredk. Finn and Edwin Finn. Continued as Edwin Finn & Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Director and Chairman: Edwin Finn. Staff: Thirty. Branches: Rye, Wish Street; Ashford, 16, New Street; Folkestone, 27, Rendezvous Street; Bexhill, Station Road. Speciality: Palo Ale for Family Consumption. Telephone: (all night service) No. 3 Lydd. Telegraphic Address: " Finn, Ltd., Lydd." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited, Ashford. Mr. Finn has been Mayor for twenty-four years and thirty-nine times Churchwarden.

FINNEY, T. B., & CO., Ltd., Pepper, Seed, Spice and Rice Millers and Butchers' Outfitters, Cornbrook Spice Mills, Trentham Street, Cornbrook, and Cornbrook Bakery, Rusholme Road, C.-on-M., Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1894 by T. B. Finney. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1911. Directors: T. B. Finney (Chairman), R. Finney, T. Bardsley, G. E. Cooper, C. Howard, and J. Pedder. Premises: Consist of five-storey Mill and outbuildings. Staff: Fifty. Specialities: "PAB " for Sausage and Polony Making (Inventors and Sole Makers), Pepper, Seed, Spice and Rice, Peppers and Spices, warranted absolutely pure. Patents: PAB, Bergice Reekie, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 6632 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Preservaline, Manchester." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Chester Road).

FINNIGANS, Ltd., Trunk and Dressing Bag Manufacturers, 18, New Bond Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1830 by Bryan Bernard Finnigan. Incorporated as a private Limited Company. Directors: W. Finnigan (Chairman), W. Finnigan (jun.). H. Finnigan, B. Finnigan. Premises: Five Retail Shops, two Factories. Staff: 500. Branches: 123, Deansgate, and 115, Market Street, Manchester; 59, Bold Street, and 37, Dale Street, Liverpool. Factories: Browneross Street, Sa- ford, Manchester; and 9, Lower James Street, Lprsdon, W. Specialities: Travelling Trunks, Motor Trunks, Dressing Bags, Fancy Leathers, Ladies' Hand Bags. Connection: Worldwide. Telephones: Nos. 906 and 907 Regent, London; No. 7071 Central, Manchester; No. 1661 Royal, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Finnigans," London, Manchester, Liverpool.

FINSBURY DISTILLERY CO. (THE), Distillers, Moreland Street, City Road, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1740. Specialities: Stone's British Wines, Stone's Limo Juice Cordial, Gin Distilling and Compounding of all Cordials and liqueurs. Sole Agents for Wolfe's Schnapps and Irvine's Australian Wines. Connection: United Kingdon, Foreign, and Colonial. Telephones: No. 7786 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Findisty, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

FINSBURY OFFICE FURNISHING COMPANY (THE), Complete Office Furnishers, 46, Finsbury Pavement (Finsbury Pavement House), London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established by John W. Cooke, the present principal. Premises: Well-equipped Works in Lamb's Passage, Chiswell Street, E.C. Staff: About 100. Speciality: Office, Board Room, and Bank Furniture of all kinds. Fittings of every description; High-class Cabinet Work. Patent: LinoDura Floor Covering, Patent No. 292,213. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 6179 and 573 London Wall. Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

FIRMIN & SONS, Ltd., Naval and Military Button and Ornament Manufacturers, Woollen and Trimming Warehousemen, 108 and 109, St. Martin's Lane, Charing Cross, London, W.C. West End Branch: 6, Warwick Street, Regent Street, W. Established about 1700 by Nathaniel Firmin. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1875. Specialities: Buttons, Ornaments, Accoutrements, Gold and Silver Lace and Embroidery for Officers of the Army, Navy, and Auxiliary Forces. *Staff: About fifty in the showrooms; exclusive of a large number of factory employes. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrant Holders to His late Majesty King Edward VII. and to H.M. King George V. Contractors to the Government, Foreign Navies, Railway Companies, Police Forces, Fire Brigades, &c. Telephones: No. 1377 Central for St. Martin's Lane; and No. 1145) Central, Warwick Street. Telegraphic Address: " Firmin, London."

FIRTH, T. A., & CO., Wool Brokers and Noil Merchants and Commission Press Packers, 20, Mill Street, Bradford. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1850 by Thomas A. Firth. Continued by (1) Joseph Knowles, Edward Busher and Frank W. Firth; (2) Joseph Knowles, Frank W. Firth and George Firth; (3) Frank W. Firth, George Firth, and J. Henry Knowles. Present Principal: Frank W. Firth and George Firth. Claim to be the originators of Bradford Wool Sales. First sale in 1867. Sales held about every six weeks as announced. Premises: Consist of three Warehouses, covering over 7000' square yards. Staff: Thirty-seven. Business: Wool Brokers and Noil Merchants and Wool Sales. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 3119 Bradford (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Taf, Bradford." Bankers: Bradford District Bank, Ltd. (Commercial Bank Branch).

FIRTH, T. F., & SONS, LIMITED, Manufacturers of Carpets, Seal and Carriage Rugs, &c., Clifton Mills, Brighouse, Yorks, Flush Mills, Heckmondwike, Yorks; and Firth Carpet Co., Firthcliffe, and Auburn, New York. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established in 1825 by Edwin Firth. Partnership Successions: Heckmondwike: (1) Edwin Firth; (2) Edwin Firth & Sons. Brighouse: (1) Firth, Willans & Co.; (2) T. F. Firth & Co.; (3) T. F. Firth & Son; (4) T. F. Firth & Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1889. Directors: Sir Algernon F. Firth, Bart., and W. H. Aykroyd (Life Directors), W. Findlay, T. Elliott, R. H. Goldthorp, and M. B. U. Dewar. Secretary: A. M. Campbell. Recognised as one of the leading Carpet firms in the country. Premises: Very extensive. Claim that the Mills at Bailiff Bridge, Brighouse, are the largest in the district, extending over seven acres; at Heckmondwike seven acres; at Firthcliffe, ten acres; and at Auburn, seven acres, United States. Workpeople: Over 2,500 in all. Employ practically all the people of Bailiff Bridge. Workpeople's Clubs: Bailiff Bridge (erected by the late Sir Thos. F. Firth and the present Sir Algernon F. Firth), Private Fire Brigade, Works Approved Society for National Health Insurance. Warehouses: London, 46 and 47, Newgate Street -; Manchester, 1, George Street; Glasgow, 38, Queen Street; Bristol, 1, John Street; Cardiff, Park Hotel; Toronto, 64, Wellington Street West. Offices in New York, Melbourne, Cape Town, Johannesburg, Paris, Hamburg, Amsterdam, Brussels, Cairo, Constantinople, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 132, 13:3, and 134 Brighouse; No. 188 Heckmondwiko; No. 1618 Holborn, London; No. 9 City, Manchester; No. 7736 (City) Glasgow; No. 1889 Bristol. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Firth," Bailiff Bridge and Heckmondwike; " Firthomas, Cent, London"; " Carpeting, Manchester." Codes: Lieber's, A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Anglo-American. Sir A. F. Firth, Bart., and Mr. W. H. Aykroyd are Justices of the Peace for the West Riding of York.

FIRTH, THOMAS (E. H. Muddimer, trading as), Merchant, Yarns, Buttons, Trimmings, 44, King Street, Leicester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1892 by Thomas Firth. Now carried on by E. H. Muddimer, who has been connected with -the business since 1893, Specialities: All requisites for Hosiery Manufacturing. Connection: Foreign and Colonial, Import and Export; also Home Trade. Telephone: No. 330 Leicester. Telegraphic Address: " Firth, Leicester." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank Ltd. (Leicester).

FIRTH, THOS., & SONS, Ltd., Steel Manufacturers. Registered Office: Norfolk Works, Savile Street East, Sheffield. London Office: 8, The Sanctuary, Westminster, S.W. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established: The original firm was founded about 1840 by the late Mark Firth and his father, Thomas Firth; joined in partnership by Thomas Firth (jun.), John Firth, Edward Firth, Charles Henry Firth (sons of the founder). Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1881. Directors: Bernard A. Firth (Chairman), James Rossiter Hoyle (Managing Director), F. C. Fairholme (Assistant Managing Director), Charles E. Ellis, E. Willoughby Firth, Lord Aberconway, John Sampson, Major H. B. Strange, R.A. The business was started in a small way, but rapidly increased; are now one of the largest manufacturers of Steel. In 1875 had the honour of a visit from His late Majesty King Edward, when Prince of Wales, to the works on the opening of Firth Park, presented to the City by the late Mark Firth. Premises: Very extensive, cover nearly forty acres of ground; fully equipped with modern machinery and all up-to-date appliances. Have large Works in Riga, Russia, and controlling interest in the Firth-Stirling Steel Co., Pittsburg, and in the Washington Steel and Ordnance Co., Washington, U.S.A.. Employees: Upwards of 5,500. Agencies all over the world. Specialities: Firth's Rend able Capped Armour-piercing Projectiles, Gun Forgings, Marine Shafting, Steel Turbine Castings for Marine Engines, Steel Forgings and Castings of every description, Locomotive Tyres and Axles, Shoes and Dies for Mining Batteries, Rifle Barrel Blanks and Steel for component parts of Rifles; Special Steels for Motor Car Work, &c.; Saws, Edge Tools, and Files; Sheet Steel for Cylinder Laggings and other purposes; Crucible Cast Steel for all descriptions of Tools. Sole manufacturers of Firth's " Speeizlicut " High- speed Steel and Twist Drills, and Firth's Special Steel Parts for Ore Crushers, Stone Breakers, Ball Mills, &c. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office); also to Colonial and Foreign Governments. Telephones: Nos. 3230-3237 Sheffield; No. 5631 Gerrard. Telegraphic Addresses: " Firth, Sheffield "; " Mesmeric, London." Bankers: The Sheffield Banking Co., Ltd. (George Street, Sheffield); London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

FIRTH (WILLIAM), Ltd., Iron and Steel Merchants and Contractors' Plant and Machinery Merchants. Head Office: Greek Street Chambers, Leeds. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1823 by George Firth, grandfather of the present Directors. Partnership Successions: (1) Frederick Firth and William Firth, 1863; (2) William Firth, 1878; (3) Executors of William Firth, 1892. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors; William Firth, Douglas A. Firth. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Branches: Machinery and Plant Department, Balby Bridge Works, Doncaster. Specialities: Iron and Steel Bars, Channels, Joists, &c., have also large trade 'with Collieries, Mines, &c., in Rails and accessories for Sidings and Light Railways. Award: Gold Medal, International Exhibition, Crystal Palace, for Steel Pit Props and Girders. Connection: With -Collieries, Mines, Brickworks, and Railway Contractors in all parts of the United Kingdom.. Telephone: No. 3590 Leeds (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Rails, Leeds." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited, Leeds. Mr. William Firth is a Director of Thornhill Iron and Steel Co., Ltd., Dewsbury, and a member of the Iron and Steel Institute.

FISH (FREDERICK) & SON, Drapers, House Furnishers, Cabinet Makers, Bedding Manufacturers, Carpet Factors, Suffolk House, Tavern Street, and St. Lawrence Street, 62, Carr Street (Upholstery and Bedding Factory), Bond Street (Cabinet Works), and Northgate, Ipswich (Furniture Warehouse). Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1851 by Frederick Fish (d.). Continued by Frederick Fish, Jackson Fish, and Henry Campin Monteith. Present Principal: Henry Campin Monteith. Can claim to be the oldest established up-to-date General Drapery and House Furnishing Business in the Eastern Counties. Premises: Extensive Shops, Showrooms, Warehouses, Galleries and Workrooms. Staff: Over 200. Staff Club: Cricket. Specialities: General Drapery and House Furnishings. Registered Trade Mark: On many specialities. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 33 Ipswich. Telegraphic Address: " Fish, Ipswich."

FISHER BOOKBINDING CO. (1912), Ltd. Factory and Offices: Herne Hill, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Reconstructed, 1912. General Manager: Edgar P. Woodman. Secretary: J. Frankham. Premises: Own a large factory facing Brockwell Park, equipped with all the latest improved machinery and appliances. Staff: Over 300 regularly employed. Specialities: Are Bookbinders to the Printing Trade for Cloth and Leather Work; also Wholesale Publishers' Bookbinders. Well known for fine and careful work and for promptitude in carrying out orders. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1630 (two lines) Brixton. Telegraphic Address: " E xcalibur, Herne, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

FISHER (DONALD), Ltd., Scotch Whisky Dealers and Exporters, " Ben Lawers Scotch Whisky Stores, 2 to 18, Howden Street, Edinburgh. Established in 1836. In 1866 was taken over by Donald Fisher, the present Managino. Director. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1913. One of the largest and best known businesses in the Scotch Whisky trade. Its connections and agencies are world-wide. Telephones: Nos. 671 and 7538 Central. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Kingfisher, Edinburgh." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

FISHER, M. H. (Successor to H. O. Knight, and the Executors of D. Cobb). Paris White, Whiting, and Putty Manufacturer, Bank Mills, Barton-on-Humber, Lincs. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1805 by D. Cobb. Present Principal: M. H. Fisher. Premises: Works cover two acres. Staff: Eleven. Speciality: Paris White. Connection: United Kingdom. Telegraphic Address: " Cobb, Barton-on-Humber." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Hull).

FISHER, SON & SIBRAY, Ltd., Specialists in everything for the Estate, Farm, and Garden, Royal Nurseries, Handsworth, Sheffield. Established over 170 years ago. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1895. Directors: William Atkinson, J.P. (Chairman and Managing Director), William Penrose Atkinson (Vice Chairman). One of the oldest firms in the trade. Claim to have raised and introduced many of the finest hardy trees and shrubs in cultivation. Premises: Extensive Nurseries, Handsworth. Branches: Sheffield and Rotherham. Specialities: Hardy Trees and Shrubs, Seeds (Agricultural and Horticultural), Bulbs, and Exotic Plants. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Nurserymen to His Majesty tho King. Telephones: Nos. 813 and 780 (P.O.) Sheffield. Telegraphic and Cable Address " Nurseries, Handsworth-Yorks." Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. (Sheffield).

FITCH & SON, Ltd., Provision Merchants, 99, Bishopsga te, London, E.C. Established in 1784. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Edwin F. Fitch (Chairman), Stanley F. Fitch, Hugh B. Fitch, Edwin C. Beale, E. F. Ashelford. Business: Wholesale and Retail Provision Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to H.M. the King. Telephone: No. 2595 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Fitch, Bishopsgate, London." Bankers: Robarts, Lubbock & Co. Mr. E. F. Fitch is a Rember of the Court of Common Council of the City of London, and a Churchwarden of the Parish of St. Ethelburga.

FITZPATRICK, H. D., & CO., Chartered Patent Agents, 94, Hope Street, Glasgow; and 50, Scottish Provident Buildings, Belfast. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Consulting Hours, 10.30 a.m. to 4.30 p.m. Established in 1887. Bus ness: International Patent Agency. Patents taken out; also Designs and Trade Marks registered. Specialists in legal proceedings relating to Patent matters. Connection: Directly represented in all British Colonies and in Foreign Countries. Telephone: No. 711 Argyle; No. 2110 Central, Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Abana, Glasgow ." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

FLAMMERSHEIM & STEINMANN, Wall-Paper Manufacturers, Cologne, and 4A, Bloomsbury Square, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1826. Present Principals: Karl Steinmann and Curt Arnolds. Claim to have the greatest number of printing machines and the largest output of Wall-Paper of Continental Mills. Specialities: Paper Hangings, Medium to High Class. English widths and French widths. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2304 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Apostrophe, London." Bankers: Deutsche Bank, Ltd. (London).

FLANAGAN, J. M., & CO., China, Japan and East India Merchants, 5, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1870 by J. M. Flanagan. Present Principals: John Morton Flanagan, Gerald E. Flana- , gan and Reginald S. James. Specialities: In Lancashire, Yorkshire, Dundee, Glasgow, Textiles, Yarns and Wools. Connection: China, Straits, Japan, Java, Ceylon and America. Telephone: No. 783 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Welldon, London." Codes: Parker's " Safeguard " (12 Figure), Economist (Phrase), Whitelaw's, McNicol (9 Figure and Berne), Merckenschlager (New 10 Figure), A 1, A B C (5th Edition), Ross-Moss and Private. Bankers: Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Co., Ltd. Mr. J. M. Flanagan lived for years in the East. Clubs: City of London and Thatched House.

FLANNERY, BAGGALLAY & JOHNSON, Ltd., Consulting Engineers, 9, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Established in 1878 by Sir J. Fortescue Flannery, J.P., who successively took into partnership Robert Baggallay, Alexander Banks Johnson, E. A. Fawcus, F. T. Blakiston, S. B. Tritton, H. B. Gregson, E. C. Given, and H. Fortescue Flannery. Present Principal: Sir J. Fortescue Flannery, Bart., D.L., M.P., Robert Baggallay, H. B. Gregson, E. C. Given, H. Fortescue Flannery. Branches: Liverpool, Rotterdam. Business: All branches of Consulting Mechanical Engineering, a speciality being Marine Construction. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 338 Avenue (London); No. 6598 Central ( Liverpool). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Drafting," London, Liverpool, and Rotterdam.

FLATOW, L., & SONS, Importers and Exporters of Woollen Rags, Dewsbury. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1875 by L. Flatow. Present Principal: J. W. Flatow. Business: Import and Export of Woollen Rags. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 144 and 144A, Dewsbury. Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. J. W. Flatow is on the Executive Committee of the N.S.P.C.O. and Hon. Secretary of Dewsbury Poor Children's Fund; Hon. Vice-President Leeds Jewish Institute; Hon. VicePresident Leeds Jewish Board of Guardians. Clubs: Carlton, Dewsbury, Scarboro Lodge 1214.

FLATTERS, MILBORNE & McKECHNIE, Ltd., Preparers in Science and Technology, 16 to 20, Church Road, Longsight, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, Close at 12.30 p.m. Established in 1909 by Abraham Flatters, F.R.M.S. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Director and Secretary: A. Flatters. Staff: Nine. Business: Microscopical and Photomiorographic preparation of Biological and Technical Subjects and publication of their own methods in the " Micrologist," founded by A. Flatters. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 394 Rusholme.

FLEMING, A. B., & CO., Ltd., Printing Ink Manufacturers, Oil Merchants, and Manufacturers, Caroline Park, Edinburgh. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1852. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1880. Directors: R. C. Maclagan. (Chairman), William Bailey, Fred W. Carter, John McDonald, W. Muirsmith (Managing Director). Secretary: Charles Shaw. Premises occupy as an office an old historical mansion on the shores of the Forth, built in 1696 by Viscount Tarbat. Branches: London, 15, Whitefriars Street, E.C.; Dundee, Carolina Port; Glasgow, 111, Waterloo Street; Liverpool, King Edward Street; Birmingham, 66, George Street Parade. Business: Manufacture of high-class Printing Inks; Oil Manufacturers and Merchants. Patent: Solidified Oil. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Trade-mark: A Griffin. Telephone: No. 1 Granton. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses t " Caroline, Edinburgh "; " Fleming, London "; " Solidified, Liverpool "; " Flemink, Birmingham "; " Batching, Dundee." Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

FLEMING & FERGUSON, Ltd., Shipbuilders and Engineers, Phoenix: Works, 2A Paisley. London Office: 9, Fenchurch Avenue, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1877 by W. Y. Fleming and P. Ferguson. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Staff: 1000. Speciality: Dredging Plant.

FLEMING, REID & CO., LTD., Worsted Spinners and Hosiery Manufacturers, Greenock, Scotland. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: James Fleming (Chairman), Robert M. McQuistan (Managing), Murdoch Galbreath (Deputy Chairman), William Deacon, William T. Fisher (Secretary), William Gow, junr., John Pickles. Premises: The Worsted Mills at Greenock, and 250 Retail Branches throughout England, Scotland and Ireland. Staff: About 2500. Specialities: Yarns (Knitting); also Hosiery and Underwear of every description. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 307 and 308, Greenock. Telegraphic Address: " Worsted, Greenock."

FLERSHEIM & CO., Ltd., Lace, Net, and Curtain Manufacturers. Registered Office: St. Mary's Gate, Nottingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1865 by the late H. Flersheim. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company, 1897. Premises: Warehouse, St. Mary's Gate; Factory, Beech Avenue, Nottingham; Sale Rooms, 6, Gutter Lane, Cheapside, London. Specialities: Lace Curtains, " Lockstitch " Nets, Mosquito Nets, Plain and Spotted Cotton Nets, Laces for Export. Patents: " Lockstitch " Nets and Curtains. Tclephones: No. 5 Nottingham; No. 9622 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Flersheim, Nottingham." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Lieber's. Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

FLETCHER, FLETCHER & CO., Ltd., Manufacturing Pharmaceutical Chemists, " Vibrona " Laboratories, Thane Road, Holloway, London, N. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1879 by the present Governing Director. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1899. Directors: F. W. Fletcher, F.C.S. (Governing Director), F. Baccombe, F.1.0., and Captain T. Clemens Usher. Business was carried on from 1879 to 1910 at 469, Holloway Road; transferred in June, 1910, to extensive freehold premises designed by Messrs. Hart & Waterhouse, and erected at the corner of Thane Road. Specialities: " Vibrona," the Ideal Tonic Wine, of which they are the proprietors; is largely prescribed by the medical profession as a Tonic Restorative. " Bronamalt," an Ideal Tonic Food for delicate Children and Invalids. Also proprietors of Fletchers' Syrups of the Hydrobro mates and Fletchers' Concentrated Liquors, all of proved value. Are the patentees of Fletchers' Thermo-Hydrometer and Fletchers' Autometric Stopper, also of Endolytic Tubes for Clinical Diagnosis. Connection,: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Australasian Agency: Potter & Birks, Ltd., Grosvenor House, Grosvenor Street, Sydney. Telephones: Nos. 1749 and 1750 North (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Hydrobromic, London." Bankers: . London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

FLETCHER (GEORGE) & CO., Ltd., Engineers, &c., Masson and Atlas Works, Derby, and 21, Mincing Lane, London, E.C. Established upwards of sixty years ago by George Fletcher, sen. (d.); succeeded by his son George Fletcher (jun.) (d.). Directors: P. G. Henriques, R. H. H. Marsh, R. J. G. F. Finney, C. W. Rooke, F. P. Rudder. Business: Engineers, Ironfounders, Millwrights, Boilermakers, Manufacturers of all kinds of Machinery for Sugar Factories and Refineries; Distilleries, Collieries and Mines, Breweries. Connection: United. Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (War Office). Telephones: No. 817 Derby; No. 2813 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Amarilla," Derby and London. Codes: Western Union, A B C (4th and 5th Editions), A 1, Lieber's, Engineering (2nd Edition). Bankers: United Counties Bank Ltd., Derby.

FLETCHER (MARK) & SONS, Ltd., Dyers, Mercerisers, Calico Printers, &c., Moss Lane Works, Whitefield, near Manchester. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30.p.m. Established 60 years ago by Mark Fletcher. Continued as Mark Fletcher & Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: Herbert Fletcher (Chairman), Mark Fletcher. Secretary: Frank Rees. Premises: Well equipped works at Whitefield, Manchester. Staff: 400. Branches: Manchester, 5, Cheapside; Middleton, Wood Street; Pendleton, Brindle Heath. Specialities: Printed Linings, Indigo Blue Dyeing and Printing. Mercerised and High Class Finishers. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone No. 32 Whitefield. Telegraphic Address " Prints, Whitefield." Registered Office: Whitefield, Manchester. Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd. (Whitefield).

FLETCHER (ROBERT) & SON Ltd., Paper Manufacturers, Kearsley Paper Works, Stoneclough, near Manchester. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established about 1830. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Managing Director: James Fletcher. Specialities: Coloured Tissue Paper, Letter Press Copying Papers, Manifold Papers, Waxed Papers, Thin Banks and Typewriting Papers. Telephone: No. 46 Farnworth. Telegraphic Address: " Tissue, Stoneclough." Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. (Manchester).

FLETCHER (ROBERT) & SONS, Lace Manufacturers, Long Eaton, West End Mills, and Draycott Victoria Mills, Derbyshire. Hours of Business: Works, 4 a.m. to 12 p.m. , Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1875 by Robert Fletcher. Present Principals: R. W. Fletcher, E. H. Fletcher. Premises: Long Eaton Works, devoted to Manufacture of Laces and Fancy Nets; Draycott Mills, Spotted Nets, Plain Nets, Laces, &c. Specialities: All kinds of Laces, Fancy Nets, Spotted Nets, Plain Nets, &c. Telephones: No. 45 Long Eaton; No. 18 Draycott. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

FLETCHER, RUSSELL & CO., Ltd., Gas Apparatus Manufacturers, also Makers of Kitchen Ranges, Registers, Theatre Chairs, &c., Palatine Works, Warrington. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Directors: G. Perkins (Chairman), T. W. Fletcher, C. Clare, W. Russell, W. Fairhurst, F. G. Rowson, T. Settle, F. P. Bayley. Secretary: W. H. Rudge. Premises: Very extensive Works cover between seven and eight acres. Equipped with up-to-date appliances throughout. Staff: 900. Branches: London, 134, Queen Victoria Street, E.C.; Manchester, National Buildings, St. Mary's Parsonage; Birmingham, 57, Summer Row; Brussels, 7, Rue du Lombard. Specialities: Gas Cookers, Fires, Furnaces and Geysers, Oil and Air Gas Cookers, Fires and Furnaces, Geysers, Greenhouse Boilers, Dental Goods, Gas Governors, Blow Pipes, Kitchen Ranges, Mantles, Restaurant Tables, Garden Chairs, Theatre Chairs, Curb Fenders, &c. Patents: Numerous. Awards: Medals and Awards at the chief Exhibitions. Connection I United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 70 Warrington; No. 2042 Manchester; No. 6034 Bank, London; No. 8241 Brussels. Telegraphic Addresses: " Gaseries," Warrington, London; " Fletcher, Brussels." Codes: A B C, A 1. Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd.

FLETCHER, W. & T., Lace Manufacturers, Osmaston Road, Derby. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1873 by William Fletcher (retired 1897) and Thomas Fletcher. Present Principals: Thomas Fletcher (senior) and Frederick Fletcher, Sidney Fletcher, and Thomas William Fletcher (sons). Premises: Extensive. Warehouse at Short Hill, Nottingham. Plain Net Mending Rooms at Burton-on-Trent and Chesterfield. Factory at Danilovka, Moscow, Russia. Staff: 900 to 1000. Specialities: Lace and Plain Net. Connection: United Kingdom and Russia. Telephone: No. 10 Derby. Telegraphic Address: " Lace, Derby." Codes: ABC, Lieber's. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Wardwick, Derby).

FLOCKTON, TOMPKIN & CO., Ltd., Crucible Steel Makers, Refiners, &c., of all kinds of Steel used for Tools, &c., Newhall Steel Works, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established by members of the family in 1806. Two firms amalgamated in 1860. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company. Agents and Offices in London, Glasgow, Cardiff, Manchester, and. Birmingham. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 480 Sheffield. Telegraphic Address: " Tompkin, Sheffield."

FLOHR (JOHN) & CO., Shipping Merchants, 28, Oxford Street, Manchester. Flours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1874 by Alexander Oetling, of Hamburg, and John Flohr, of Manchester. Partnership Successions: (1) Oetling, Flohr & Co.; (2) Flohr, Ege & Co.; (3) John Flohr & Co. (1900). Present Principal: John Flohr. Business: Shipping English Cotton Goods to all markets. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 277 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Addresses: " Flohr, Manchester "; " Clock, Manchester."

FLORIS, J., Perfumer, 89, Jermyn Street, St. James's, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established about 1775 by John Feminias Floris, and has continued in the same family to 2 A 2 present time. Is one of the oldest firms in the trade. Specialities: Perfumes, Sachets, Bath and Toilet Preparations, Brushes, Combs, Bowls of Soap, Large Puff Bowls, Sponges, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Continent, Colonial, United States. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to H.M. The King, His late Majesty King Edward and Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Received Royal Warrant of Appointment in 1820 to H.M. King George IV. Telephone: No. 2885 (P.O.) Mayfair. Telegraphic Address: " Florissima, Piccy, London."

FLOWER & EVERETT, Ltd., Dredging Contractors and Lightermen, and Barge Builders, 69, King William Street, London, E.C. Established by Farnham Flower and Henry Flower of Bow, London, E., about 1820. Premises: Wharves and Shoots, River Bank, Charlton, Kent; Rainham, Barge Yard, and Greenwich; Jetties and Wharves, Westminster and Holland Street, Blackfriars, London. Specialities: Dredging, with Steam Dredger, Steam Grab Barge, and by manual labour with Bag and Spoon Barges. Are also builders of Lighters and Sailing Barges. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office).

FLOWER & SONS, Ltd., Brewers. Head Office: Stratford-on-Avon. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close early. Established as E. F. Flower & Sons in pre-Victorian days. Became Flower & Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1888. Directors: Archibald Dennis Flower (Chairman), Spenser A. Flower, Gilbert E. Thwaites, Archibald Park, F. L. Talbot, Theodore H. Lloyd, John Pritchard. Secretary: Charles Lowndes. Stores and Offices: 5, London Street, Paddington, London; Russell Street, Leamington; 377, High Street, Cheltenham; 138, Edmund Street, Birmingham. Telephone: No. 4 Stratfordon-Avon. Telegraphic Address: "Flower, Stratford-on-Avon."

FOERSTER (WILLIAM) & CO., Cotton Waste Merchants and Shippers, Head Office, Hamburg, Groningerstr. 6, Germany; and Frankfort Mill, Oldham, England. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. (Oldham). Established in 1881 by William Foerster. Present Principals: William Foerster and Carl Foerster. Business: Cotton Waste Merchants and Shippers. Also Manufacturers of Pencil Cedar Slats at Christiana, Tennessee, United States. Telephones: No. 514 Oldham; Gruppo 6, 5012 Hamburg. Telegraphic Addresses: " Foerster, Oldham "; " Stability, Hamburg." Bankers: Vereinsbank in Hamburg, and Reichsbank-Giro-Conto.

" FOOTBALL POST." — See FORMAN, THOS., & SONS.

FOOTE & MILNE, Ltd., Electrical Engineers and Contractors, 66, Victoria Street, Westminster, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1882 by the Jablochkoff Electric Light and Power Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Staff: Office and Engineers, twenty; Workmen, 100 to 200. Business: Electric Lighting and Power Installations in all branches; Public Supply of Electricity. Awards: Gold Medal, South African and International Exhibition, Kimberley, 1892; Silver Medal, Electrical and Industrial Exhibition, Birmingham, 1889. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government.

FORBES & CO., Manufacturers of Mercerised Brocades, Mufflers, Poplins, Fancy Shirtings, &c., 57, Dickinson Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1900 by Sir Thomas Thornhill Shann, J.P. (retired in 1907), and John Forbes. Present Principal: John Forbes. Specialities: Have a very large number of registered designs for Brocades and Figured Mufflers. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 6983 Central, Manchester. Tele-graphic Address: " Stylus, Manchester." Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd. Sir T. T. Shann was Lord Mayor of Manchester for two years, November, 1903, to November, 1905.

FORD, T. B., Ltd., Blotting Paper Manufacturers, Snakeley Paper Mill, Loudwater, High Wycombe, Bucks. Railway Address: Loudwater Station, G.W.R. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company. Managing Director: F. T. Ford, J.P., C.C. Specialities: Inventors of Slade's Original Hand Made Blotting Papers, and Blotteretts for drying Cheques and Signatures. Invention: Slade's Blotting Paper, Original Hand-made, now Ford's, 428 Mill Gold Medal Absorbent Blottings. Awards: Gold Medals. and Highest Paris, 1855; New Zealand, 1882; Adelaide, 1887; Melbourne, 1888; Chicago, 1893; Paris, 1900; Cape Town, 1904; Brussels, 1910; Grand Prize, Franco-British Exhibition, 1908; Turin, 1911. Connection: United Kingdom, all parts, also Foreign and Colonial trade. Telephone No. 10 Bourne End district. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Ford, Loudwater." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

FORD, WALTER, Fruit Broker and Potato Factor, New Hibernia House, Winchester Street, Borough Market, S.E.; 17, Stratford Market, E.; and Great Northern Potato Market, Kings Cross, London, N.E. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1885 by Walter Ford, the present principal. Premises: Occupy large building of four floors on the north side of the Borough Market. Staff: Varies according to the season of the year. Specialities: Fruit for Preserving, Apples for Export, and Seed Potatoes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 6468 and 6469 City; No. 838 East; No. 2390 North, London. Telegraphic Address: " Astaphis, Phone, London." Cable Address: " Astaphis, London." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions).

FORDER, B. J., & SON, Ltd., Brick Makers and Granite Quarry Proprietors. Head Office and Registered Office: 20, Bury Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established early in the nineteenth century by Benjamin J. Forder. Started as Lime Burners. Brick-making added in 1898. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: Halley Stewart, J.P. (Chairman), Percy Malcolm Stewart, J.P. (Managing Director), and Benjamin Christmas Forder, J.P. The Lime and Cement Businesses were sold to the British Portland Cement Manufacturers, Ltd., at the end of 1911. Premises: Claim that the Pillinge freehold Brick Works are the largest in the Kingdom; have an output capacity of over a million per week. Other works at Elstow Brick Works, Forder's Elstow Siding, Bedford, M.R.; Westoning Brick Works, North Harlington, M.R.; Farcet Brick Co., Ltd., Fletton and Yaxley Siding, Farcet, G.N.R. (Pressed and Wire Cut Bricks); Great Bentley, Essex (Red Sand Facing Bricks); Marston Hall Quarries, Forder's Siding, Nuneaton, L. & N.W.R. (Broken Granite and Setts). Speciality: Pressed Bricks. Patents: The Long Jib Excavator (Grossmith's patent), holds the world's record and in ordinary working digs a solid face of sixty feet of clay from the bottom to top and forms its own batter. Contractors to H.M. Government (War Office), Crown Agents to the Colonies, London County Council, and to the Metropolitan Water Board. Telephone: No. 7032 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Forderbrik, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. Mr. Halley Stewart was M.P. for Spalding, 1887-1895, and for Greenock 1906-1910.

FORDHAM, W. B., & SONS, Ltd., Wholesale Hardware Merchants and Manufacturers, and American Importers, 36-40, York Road, King's Cross, London, N. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1825 as W. B. Fordham. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1886. Directors: Edward Fordham (Chairman), Wm. Harold Fordham, Alfred John Monshall. Specialities: Hardware of every description; Importation of American Goods. Wholesale trade only. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3355 North (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Fordhams, Kincross, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

FORE STREET WAREHOUSE CO., Ltd. (THE), Wholesale Warehousemen (Dry Goods), 104, Fore Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1817 by James Todd. The firm later became known as Todd & Morrison, and afterwards as Morrison, Dillon & Co. Incorporated as a Company in 1864. Present Directors: Walter Chamberlain, J.P . (Chairman), W. J. Stephenson and F. H. Witheridge (Managers). Specialities: Silks, Ribbons, Dress Materials, Straws, Flowers, and General Drapery. The warehouse is very extensive, covering over three-quarters of an acre of ground. Connection: Home Trade; also with New Zealand, India, and Canada.' Telephone: No. 4900 London Wall (five lines). Telegraphic Address: " Forest, London." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

FORES (MESSRS.), Printsellers, Publishers and Dealers in Works of Art, 41, Piccadilly, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.45 p.m. Established by S. W. Fores in the year 1783. Present Principal: George P. Fores, great-grandson of the founder. For over a century the firm and family of Fores have occupied the premises at the corner of Sackville Street, Piccadilly. Speciality: Works of Art of a Sporting Character. Are also general Publishers of Works of Art, Printsellers, and Dealers in Pictures. Connection: World-wide.

FORMAN, THOS., & SONS, Newspaper Proprietors and Colour Printers, " Guardian " Office, Sherwood Street and Forman. Street, Nottingham. [fours of Business: Usual. Established: Date unknown. Believed to have been commenced in 1772 by Geo. Burbage as Newspaper Printer and Stationer. Business was acquired by Thomas Forman in 1847 (d. 1888). John Thomas Forman and Arthur Forman admitted 1871, Jesse Robert Forman admitted 1879 (d. 1892); James Forman admitted 1882; Thomas Bailey Forman admitted 1904. Present Principals: John Thomas Forman, Arthur Forman, James Forman, Thomas Bailey Forman. " The Nottinghamshire Guardian," a weekly newspaper, was started in 1846 by a Company of County Gentlemen and Agriculturists in the interests of Protection, the celebrated Lord George Bentinck being one of the Promoters. The paper was printed in their office, and the copyright and plant sold to Thomas Forman in 1849. The " Nottingham Guardian " (daily) was established by him in 1861, and the " Nottingham Evening Post " in 1878. The " Football Post " was started in 1903. The Colour and Letterpress Printing business has been very largely extended, and a large section of the business of the well-known Colour Printing firm of Armitage and. Ibbetson, of Bradford, has been incorporated. A large department is devoted to the printing and publishing of Art Advertising Calendars. Premises: Erected in 1872 and added to from time to time. Equipped with all modern appliances throughout. Colour Printing Offices in London, Glasgow, Liverpool, and Manchester. Stag: About 850. Staff Clubs: Forman's Institute, " Guardian " Office Girls' Club, Sick, &c. Branch Newspaper Offices: London, and in the neighbouring towns in the North Midlands. Business: Proprietors of the " Nottingham Guardian " (daily), " Nottingham Evening Post " (daily), " Nottinghamshire Guardian " (weekly), and " Football Post " (weekly); also Highclass Printers of Posters, Show Cards, Art Calendars, Catalogues, &c. Awards: International Printing Exhibition, London, 1906: Diploma of the First Class (highest award). Ditto, 1910: Two Gold Medals. City Exhibition, Manchester, 1912: Gold Medal. Birmingham Exhibition, 1913: Gold Medal. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 3352 (multiple lines); Nottingham. Telegraphic Address: " Forman, Nottingham." Bankers: Nottingham and Notts Banking Co., Ltd. (Nottingham).

FORREST, W. C., CO., Woollen Manufacturers, Prospect Mills, Pudsey, near Leeds. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1868 by W. C. Forrest. Joined by W. Forrest in 1890. Present Principals: Wm. C. Forrest, J,P., Walter Forrest, J.P. Premises: Extensive well-fitted Mills with floorage of nearly three acres. Branches: Bradford, attendance Mondays and Thursdays only, 11 to 4 o'clock (Warehouse), London, Glasgow, Manchester, Holland, Belgium, &c. Specialities: Cotton Warp Woollen Cloths for Dress, Juvenile Clothing, Art Serges, Skirt, Mantle Goods for Home and Shipping Trade. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 99 Stanningley (for Mills); No. 1100 Bradford (for Warehouse). Telegraphic Address: "Forrest, Pudsey." Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd.

FORSTER & GREGORY, Ltd., Indiarubber Chemists, Lonesome Chemical Works, Streatham Common, S.W. London Office: 66, Cannon Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. -to 6 p.m. Established in 1852 by W. G. Forster. Partnership Successions: (1) Forster & Gregory; (2) Forster & Gregory, Ltd. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Alfred L. Biggs, H. G. Brown, and W. G. Forster (Managing Director). Premises: Cover six acres, originally a large farmyard. Staff About thirty-five. Agency: 57, Dickinson Street, Manchester. Specialities: All Colours and Solvents for Indiarubber. Awards: Prize Medal, Paris, 1878; London, 1881; Bradford, 1882. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1091 Streatham, and No. 723 City, London. Telegraphic Address: " Redantim, London." Code: A B C. Bankers: London and South-Western Bank, Ltd.

FORSTER (JAMES A.) & SONS, Diamond and Pearl _Merchants, 29-30, Holborn Viaduot, London, S.E., Paris, and Vienna. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1870 by James Leverson. Continued by (1) Leverson, Forster & Co.; (2) James A. Forster & Sons. Present Principals: James A. Forster, Edward J. Forster and Allan A. Forster. Specialities: Diamonds, Pearls, and all precious stones—also are Diamond Cutters and Lapidaries. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: No. 673 Holborn, No. 872 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: Nosrevel, Cent. London. Codes: A B C and Western Union. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

FORSTER & SONS, Ltd., Glass Bottle Manufacturers, Atlas Glass Works, St. Helens, Lancs. London Office: 88, Fenchurch Street, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1878 by John Forster. Joined by Walter Forster and W. A. Forster. Incorporated in 1905 as a Limited Company. Chairman: John Forster, J.P. Joint Managing Directors: Walter Forster and W. A. Forster. Claim to be the first Bottle Works in the United Kingdom to make bottles solely by machinery. Premises: Very extensive, covering five acres. Staff: 700. Specialities: Machine-made Bottles and Machines for making same. Patents: For Glass Making of all kinds. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: No. 256 St. Helens (Private Branch Exchange); No. 2053 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Froking, St. Helens "; " Frocongen, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. (St. Helens). Mr. John Forster is Consul General in London for China, an Alderman of the Borough of St. Helens, and a Justice of the Peace for the County and Borough of St. Helens.

FORTH & CLYDE & SUNNYSIDE IRON CO., Ltd., (THE), Ironfounders, Falkirk. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1875 by the Forth and Clyde Iron Co. Amalgamated with Sunnyside Iron Co., Ltd. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: R. M. Wilson (Chairman), Alexander Brown, and James Brown (Managing Directors), James Liddell, David Dickson, John A. Brown. Premises: Cover fifteen acres. Staff: 600. Specialities: Ranges, Registers, Baths, and every description of Light Castings. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 70 Falkirk. Telegraphic and Cable Address " Clyde, Falkirk." Bankers Royal Bank of Scotland; British Linen Bank.

FORTNUM & MASON, Ltd., Purveyors of High-class Groceries, Comestibles, Wines, Spirits and Cigars, Nos. 181, 182, 183, and 184, Piccadilly; 27, Duke Street; and 44, Jermyn Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Staff (average): About 100. Established in the seventeenth century by Mr. Fortnum. Incorporated: April 30th, 1898. Chairman: T. Simpson Jay. Managing Director: Captain Charles E. WTyld. Specialities: Stores for Yachts, Military and Naval Messes, Expeditions, and general export business. Royal Warrants: Special Appointments to His late Majesty King Edward, H.M. Queen Alexandra, and H.M. King George V. Telephone: No. 41 Gerrard (six lines). Telegraphic and Cable Address: "Fortnum, London."

FORTT, JAMES, " Original " Bath Oliver Biscuit Manufacturer, &c., 13 and 13A, Green Street. Factory: Manvers Street, Bath. Hours of Business: Factory, working day and night. Established in 1735 by Doctor Oliver (d. 1764). Present Principals: James Fortt (Sleeping), A. H. Fortt (Managing), W. E. Fortt. From a comparatively small beginning and confined to local trade, the business is now known all over the world. The founder invented the " Original " Bath Oliver Biscuit as an ideal Food for Dyspeptics. He bequeathed the secret to his coachman, who opened a shop in Green Street. The business rapidly increased, the secret being handed down to the present proprietor. Have frequently had the honour of orders from Royal Households. Premises: Originally in Green Street. Establishment has constantly been improved to meet the rapidly-increasing demand, and new factory in Manvers Street added. The methods of manufacture were at first very primitive, a staff of wood attached at one end to the side of a table or board, on which the dough was placed in such a manner as to allow of its being freely pressed. This method was changed for a steel roller, and afterwards to machinery. Works now equipped with the most up-to-date plant and the most perfected sanitary arrangements. The shop in Green Street is practically the same in appearance as far as the exterior is concerned as it was 175 years ago. Wholesale Agents: E. Lazenby & Son, Ltd., London; and Crosse & Blackwell, Ltd., London. Specialities: " Original " Bath Oliver Biscuits, " Original " Bath Buns, Bride Cakes, and Confectionery. Every " Original " Bath Oliver Biscuit has the Trade Mark, a bust of Dr. Oliver, in the centre; any without it are merely imitations. Present proprietors hold Doctor Oliver's original receipt. Awards: Grand Prix, Gold Meda], and Diploma, Paris, 1910; Grand Prix, Gold Medal, and Diploma, Brussels, 1910; Grand Prix, Gold Medal, and Diploma, Rome, 1911; eight Gold Medals, London; also Silc er Medals, Bronze Medals, and many other awards. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 183 (Green Street); No. 286 (Factory), Bath. Telegraphic Address: " Biscuits, Bath,"

FORTUNA MACHINE CO., Ltd. (THE), Engineers and Manufacturers, Deacon Street, Leicester. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Directors: Albert Hirth and Emil Lilienfein. Specialities: Patent Leather Skiving Machines; Patent Power Hack Saws; Patent Measuring and Testing Instruments; Patent Internal Grinding Attachment, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 4765 and 4766 Leicester. Telegraphic Address: " Skiving, Leicester." Code: Lieber's. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

FOSTER, BLACKETT & WILSON, Ltd., Lead Manufacturers, Tyne Lead Works, Hebburn-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1862 by James Foster, Robert Blackett, and John Wilson. Succeeded by Alex. Gow-Stewart, Charles Frank Forster (both deceased), and Alfred James Foster. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Directors: A. J. Foster, J.P. (Managing Director), R. E. Lambton, Reginald Foster. Premises: Cover six acres. Specialities: Chemical Sheet Lead, Lead Pipes, White Lead, Red and Orange Lead, &c. Connection: Worldwide. Telephone: No. 214 Gateshead. Telegraphic Address: " Foswhite, Hebburn." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

FOSTER BROTHERS, Fishing Rod and Tackle Manufacturers, Midland Works, Ashbourne, Derbyshire. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 8.30 p.m. Supposed to have been established in 1667. Founder unknown. Business was owned by J. Barber in 1763, later by Samuel Shipley, and then by his son, Wm. Shipley. It remained in his possession for about half a century. Acquired by the Foster family in 1833. Present Principal: William Henry Foster (successor to David Foster and George Foster). Specialities: Steel - centred Rods, Diamond-ribbed Rods, Plaited and Waterproofed Silk Lines, Metalcentred Lines, Drawn Gut, Floating Flies, and all kinds of Fishing Rods and Tackle. Publishers of the " Anglers' Exchange," and of "The Scientific Angler." Patents: Steel-ribbed Rods, Steel Centred Rods, Silk Sheathed Rods, Rational Spinning Reel, Kill Devil Devons, Hair-bodied Floating Flies, Running Roller, Rod Rings, &c. Awards: Sixteen International and other Exhibition honours, including Gold Medal, International Sports Exhibition, London, 1904. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Foster, Ashbourne." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

FOSTER BROTHERS, LIMITED, Tube Makers and Engineers, Lea Brook Tube Works, Wednesbury. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1888. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893. Directors: Humphrey Foster (Chairman and Managing Director), J. F. Green, and Humphrey F. Foster. Premises: Very extensive Works, cover five acres. Highly equipped. London Offices and Warehouse, Rose Alley, Park Street, Southwark Bridge, S.E.; Export Office, 7, East India Avenue, E.C. Specialities: Tubes and Fittings, High-pressure Steam Pipe-work. Patent: The " Foster " Welded-on Flange for High-pressure Steam Pipe-work. Publications: Foster Standard Dimensions for Main Steam Pipe Installations; Standard Trade Lists. Telephones: No. 9 (two lines) Wednesbury; No. 4546 (three lines) Hop, London. Telegraphic Addresses: "Fosters, Wednesbury "; " Jealousy, London."

FOSTER, H. E., & CRANFIELD, Fire Assessors, Auctioneers, Surveyors, Land and Reversionary Agents, 6, Poultry, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1843 by H. E. Marsh (deceased).

FOSTER (JOHN R.) & CO., Manufacturers and Warehousemen of Upholstery Trimmings and Sundries. Factory, 3 and 4, Winsley Street, and 50 and 51, Castle Street, East Oxford Street, W. City Warehouse, 44A, Gutter Lane, Cheapside, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Factory, 8 a.m. to 7.30 p.m.; Warehouse, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1860 by John R. Foster at 3, Winsley Street, W. Present Principals: John Robert Foster and John Collie Foster. Premises: Covering 21,600 superficial feet. Staff: About 130. Specialities: Manufacturing and distributing of all kinds of Upholstery Trimmings, Small Wares, &c. (wholesale only). Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3002 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Terfos, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (New Oxford Street, W.C.). Mr. J. R. Foster is a Fellow of the Zoological Society and an original member of the Constitutional Club. Mr. J. Collie Foster is an Ex-Chairman of the Manufacturers' Section of the London Chamber of Commerce and a member of the Council of that body. Also a member of the Advisory Trade Uommittee appointed by the Board of Trade for the management of Labour Exchanges in the London area; an Arbitrator of the London Court of Arbitration; a Liveryman of the Haberdashers Company, and an original member of the Constitutional Club.

FOSTER (JOHN) & SON, Ltd., Alpaca and Mohair Spinners and Manufacturers, Black Dike Mills, Queensbury, near Bradford. Hours of Business: Usual at Queensbury; Monday and Thursday at 18, Forster Square, Bradford. Established in 1819 by John Foster (sen.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1889. Premises: Total floor area about fifteen acres. Specialities: Mohair and Alpaca Dress Goods, Silk Seals and Plushes, Mohair and Alpaca Yarns for Export. Awards: Gold Medals, London 1851; Paris 1878 and 1889; Grahamstown 1899; Grand Prix, Paris, 1900; Grand Prize, Franco-British Exhibition, 1908. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephones: Nos. 1968 and 1969 Queensbury. Telegraphic Address: " Foster, Queensbury." Bankers: Bank of England; London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.; London City and Midland Banking Co., Ltd., Bradford; Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd., Queensbury.

FOSTER (JOSEPH) & SONS, Engineers and Printing Machine Makers, Bow Lane Ironworks and Soho Foundry, Preston, Lancashire. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1860 by Joseph Foster ( d. ), who was joined in 1882 by his sons, Francis Foster (d.) and James Yates Foster. The Bow Lane Ironworks were built in 1877; the Soho Foundry was bought in 1836; and the London Works were leased in 1889. Premises cover twelve and a half acres. Staff: About 700. London Office: 134, Fleet Street, E.C. Branch Works: 20, Whitefriars Street, London, E.C. Specialities: Book and Newspaper Printing and Folding Machines of all kinds; Steam Engines, Boilers, Mining Machinery, Chemical Machinery and General Engineering. Patents are held relating to Printing and Folding Machinery and Mining Machinery, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 96 Preston (for Soho foundry); No. 498 Preston (for Bow Lane Ironworks); No. 4522 Holborn, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Foster, Preston "; " Fosterment, London," Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

FOSTER, M. B., & SONS, Ltd., Ale, Beer, Wine and Spirit Merchants. Head Offices: 242 and 244, Marylebone Road, N.W.; Export Stores: Victoria Stores, North Woolwich, E., London. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1829 by Myles Birket Foster, who was joined by his son, Dodshon Foster, and later by his younger son, John H. Foster. Incorporated in 1890 as a Limited Company. Present Directorate: Lancelot T. Glasson (Chairman), H. E. Coles, Charles Matthews Duncan, Herbert Taylor McCrea Howes, Samuel Arthur Sampson. Secretary: Alexander Knight. Premises: Originally in Wimpole Street, Cavendish Square. Stores built in Marylebone Road for home and export trade about 1866; export department transferred to North Woolwich, 1873. Total superficial area of stores, &c., at present time (Marylebone and North Woolwich), 280,000 sq. ft. One of the most extensive and complete establishments of the kind in existence. Branch: Glasgow. Agencies: in all the principal ports of the world. Staff: About 1,000 (clerical and labour). Specialities: The bottling of Bass's Ale and Guinness's Stout. Own well-known brands of Whiskies and Gin. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 3162, 3163, and 3164. Paddington; No. 550 East. Telegraphic Addresses: "Retsof, London "; " Embefost, Woolwich." Cable Address: " Retsof, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Marylebone Road).

FOSTER, PORTER & CO., Ltd., Wholesale Drapery Warehousemen, 47, Wood Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1842. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1871. Authorised Capital: £300,000. Paid up, £240,000. Directors: Edmund R. Porter (Chairman), James Stark, Arthur Wilfrid Porter. Manager: W. Tozer. Secretary: G. S. Grant. Business: Wholesale Drapery Warehousing. Telephone: No. 3247 London Wall (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Fosporter, London." Bankers: Bank of England.

FOSTER, W. & H., Ltd., Worsted Spinners and Manufacturers, Denholme Mills, near Bradford, Yorks. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established about 1830. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Premises: .Extensive well equipped Mills. Specialities: Lastings, Serge de Berries, Camlets, Coatings, Stuffs, &c, Award e Prize Medal, Paris, 1878. Telephone: No. 102 Thornton (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Fosters, Denholme."

FOSTER'S PARCELS & GOODS EXPRESS, Ltd., General Carriers, Shipping and Forwarding Agents, 79, 80, 81, and 82, Fore Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1874 as Foster's Parcel Express Company, Ltd. Present Company formed in 1898. Chairman and Managing Director: Ernest Lamb, C.M.G., M.P., J.P., C.C. Premises: Head Offices, &c., as above; West End Office, 18, Carlisle Street, Soho, W.; Stables, Leeke Street, King's Cross, W.C. Agencies in the principal towns of the United Kingdom. Business: General Forwarding and Carrying. Parcels and Goods of all kinds dealt with. Special services for tho Distribution of Price Lists, Catalogues, Samples, Almanacs, &c., to all parts of the Kingdom and abroad. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Lamblike, London."

FOULDS (ANDREW) & SON, Ltd., Scotch Whisky Merchants and Blenders, 4 and 5, Abbey Street, Paisley, N.B.; Bottling Stores, Bridge Street; Excise Warehouse, Mill Street; and 162, George Street, and 11, Abbey Close, Paisley. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1833 by Andrew Foulds, grandfather of the present Directors. Speciality: Scotch Whiskies. Proprietors of well-known Brands of Whiskies. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 319 Nat. Tele- graphic Address: " Karoo, Paisley." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

FOULDS & HOWSON, Ltd., Razor and Spectacle Case Manufacturers, 66 to 70, Eldon Street, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Established in 1867 by Joseph Foulds ( sen.), partner with George Howson for twenty-five years. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1911. Directors: Joseph Foulds (Managing Director), other directors private. Premises: Consisting of Workshops and Warehouse. Speciality: Razor Cases, made by Machinery. Connection: United Kingdom (Local chiefly). Telephone: No. 1527 Sheffield.

FOULDS (WILLIAM) & CO., Ltd., Distillers, Scotch Whisky Merchants, and Coopers, 4, School Wynd, Lady Lane, and Argyle Street, Paisley; Glenfyne Distillery, Ardrishaig, N.B. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1854 by William Foulds; in 1893 W. M. M. Turner and J. B. C. Newton joined the firm. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: John Wishart (Chairman), W. M. M. Turner and J. B. C. Newton (Managing Directors), and R. D. Macmillan. Premises comprise four Bonded Warehouses, two Duty-paid Stores, Cooperage, and Distillery. Stall: Eighty-six. Branch: 36, Mark Lane, London, E.C. Specialities: Well-known Brands of Cased Whiskies. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 108 Paisley. Telegraphic Address: " Foulds, Paisley." Code: A B C. Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Paisley).

FOUR OAKS SPRAYING MACHINE CO. (THE), Sole Inventors and Manufacturers of the " Four Oaks " Undentable Syringes, Spraying, Limewashing, and Disinfecting Machines, Garden Engines and Horticultural Brass Foundry, Four Oaks Works, Sutton Coldfield, near Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1902 by W. C. G. Ludford. Present Principals: W. C. G. Ludford (Founder) and L. B. Ludford. Have the honour of supplying H.M. The King. Premises: Works equipped with modern appliances. Staff: Over 100. Specialities: " Four Oaks " Syringes, also patent Spraying, Limewashing and Disinfecting Machines of every description. Also Spraying Pumps for spraying Locusts, Vines, Rubber, Tea, Cocoa, Coffee, and Cotton Plants, also for Fruit and Rose Trees, Cattle and Sheep for Fly, for Limewashing Fowl Houses, Washing Carriages, Motor Cars, &c. Also Garden Engines and Horticultural Brassfoundry. Their Trade Mark, representing Four Oak Trees, is well known. Patents: Many in connection with Spraying Machines and Syringes. Awards: Over thirty Gold and SilverMedals. Many in competition with the world. Silver Cup, Highest Award, Royal International Horticultural Exhibition, London, 1912. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (War Office, India Office, Admiralty), Crown Agents for the Colonies, Commissioners of Woods and Forests, and to the London County Council and all Public Bodies. Telegraphic Address: " Sprayers, Four Oaks." Telephone: No. 5 Four Oaks. Code: A B C (4th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Temple Row, Birmingham).

FOWNES BROTHERS & CO., Glove Manufacturers and Merchants, 71, 73, and 75, Gresham Street, and 1, Aldermanbury, London, B.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established in 1777 by John Fownes. Present Principals: William Gardiner Rigden, Henry Urwick, William Fownes Rigden, Edward Fownes Rigden, and Stanley Fownes Rigden. Premises: London warehouse, with staff of 110. Branch warehouses at New York, San Francisco, Montreal, Melbourne, Paris, Parma, and Hamburg. Factories: Worcester; Charlbury; Gillingham; Battersea; Tipperary; Evesham; Amsterdam, N.Y., U.S.A.; Gloversville, N.Y., U. S.A.; Johanngeorgenstadt, Saxony; and Paris. Total staff at factories, indoor and outdoor, about 2,500 hands. Specialities: Gloves of every description. The firm are both manufacturers and merchants. Connection: Throughout the civilised world. Telephone: No. 5603 (two lines) London Wall. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Fownes, London."

FOX, A. H., Ltd., General House Furnishers, Prince of ales Road; Warehouse, Canada Road; Workshops West Street, Cromer. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7.30 p.m.; Thursdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1887 by A. H. Fox. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Managing Director: A. H. Fox. Premises: Cover half an acre. Staff: Twenty. Specialities: Upholstery and Cabinet Work. Connection: England. Telephone: No. 27 Cromer. Telegraphic Address: " Fox, Ltd., Cromer." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. Mr. Fox is a Protection Commissioner.

FOX, ALBERT E., Boot Heel Manufacturer and Leather Factor, Sunhill Works, Burton Latimer, Kettering, and Fox's Heel Works, Ringstead. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1902 by Albert E. Fox. Present Principals: Albert E. Fox, Joseph Westley and Harry Whitney (limited partnership). Premises: Two large factories fully equipped. Staff: 100. Speciality: Men's Boot Heels, all qualities. Also Football Studs and Bars; Leather Boot Protectors, Carded: (" Andybits "), Regd. Connection: United Kingdom, chiefly. Telephone: No. 6 Burton Latimer. Telegraphic Address: " Sunhill, Burton Latimer," Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd., Kettering.

FOX BROTHERS & CO., LIMITED, Woollen Manufacturers, Wellington, Somerset. London Offices: 7, Golden Square, W., 39, Noble Street, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1727. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890, Directors; Joseph H. Fox (Chairman), T. Fox, and F. H. Fox (Managing Directors), J. Howard Fox, C. L. Fox, G. Fox. Premises: Chief Mills at Wellington, highly equipped. Stall: 1,500. Branches: Mills at Uffculme, Cullompton, Culmstock, and Wiveliscombe. Specialities: Flannels and Worsted Suitings, Tweeds, Blue Worsteds and Serges, Puttees, &c. Patent: Puttees. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, Post Office); also to the Police. Telephone: No. 22 (National) Wellington. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Fox, Wellington, Somerset." Bankers: Fox, Fowler & Co.

FOX, C. & T., & CO., Wholesale and Export Cabinet Manufacturers, 7, 8, 9 and 10, Eldon Street, Finsbury, E.C. Factory, 2 and 3, Glover Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1820 by C. J. Fox. Present Principals: R. F. Fox, T. M. Fox, and E. C. Fox. Specialities: Antique and Modern Furni.. ture, also reproductions from the Antique. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1485 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Foxbrush, London."

FOX, SIR DOUGLAS, & PARTNERS, Civil and Consulting Engineers, Cross Keys House, 56, Moorgate Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established about 1856 by the late Sir Charles Fox. Present Partners: Sir Douglas Fox, Sir Francis Fox, F. Douglas Fox, F. H. W. Fox, and Ralph Freeman. Business: Civil Engineering generally. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2901 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Traction, London." Sir Douglas Fox has been President of the Institution of Civil Engineers, and the other Partners are members of the Institution.

FOX (EDWIN), BOUSFIELD, BURNETTS & BADDELEY, Surveyors, Auctioneers and Land Agents, 12, Abchurch Lane, Bank, London. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1848 by the late Edwin Fox. Present Principals: Edwin Fox, Sir David Burnett, Bart., Leslie T. Burnett and Bernard B. Baddeley. Business Auctions, Surveys, Land Agency. Have acted as Surveyors to the Government, principal Banks, Insurance Companies and Public Authorities. Sir David Burnett, Bart, is an Alderman of the City of London. He was Sheriff 1907-1908, and Lord Mayor, 1912-1913,

FOX (GEORGE) & SONS, Ltd., Cotton Spinners, &c., Providence Mills, Staincliffe, Dewsbury. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1859 by E. Fox & Sons as Cotton Spinners. In 1884, continued as George Fox & Sons. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1904. Directors: George R. C. Fox, E. C. St. George Stockwell, James A. Whiteley, Orrick Turner, Leonard C. Critchley. Have 92,000 Mule Spindles. Staff: 450. Business: Cotton Spinners, Doublers, and Warp Makers, Lace, Tape, Warp, and Cable Yarns, 16s to 80s Twist and Two-fold. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 18 and 265 Dewsbury. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Foxsons, Dewsbury." Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and Western Union. Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd. (Dewsbury).

FOX & LIGHTOWLER, Mohair Merchants and Importers, Hope Street, Bradford. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established by Ernest Fox and Arthur E. Lightowler, the present principals. Specialities: Long Mohair Tops for Dolls' Hair, &c. Connection: Home and Foreign Importers from South Africa and Turkey. Telephone: No. 2408 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Try, Bradford." Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and Private. Bankers: Bradford District Bank, Ltd. Mr. A. E. Lightowler is a member of the Bradford City Council.

FOX (PERCY) & CO., Wine Merchants and Agents, 41, Crutched Friars, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1885 by T. Percy Fox. Present Principals: Thomas Percy Fox, Basil Carter Sharp and Ronald Henry Fox. Business: Agents for Lanson pere & fils, Reims; Nathaniel Johnston & Sons, Bordeaux; de Beuverand and de Poligny, Burgundy, France. Connection: United Kingdom, British Colonies, China, South America and India. Royal Warrant: Special appointment to H. M. King George, held by Lanson pere et fils. Telephone: Avenue 67. Telegraphic Address: " Oremant, Fen, London."

FOX, ROY & CO., Ltd., Merchants and Brokers, Prudential Chambers, Plymouth. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1873 by Charles Alfred Fox and the late David Roy. Present Directors: Charles Alfred Fox, Charles Reginald Fox and E. Bonvile Fox. Branches: London; Liverpool; Bristol. Specialities: Phosphates, Nitrate of Soda, Nitrate of Lime, Sulphate of Ammonia, Potash Salts, Bones and Bone Products, Guano, Arsenic, Wolfram, and other Minerals, China Clay, Shipping Indents. Also, in Plymouth, Ship and Insurance Brokers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 7 and 8 Plymouth; No. 2734 Avenue, London ' • No. 6560 Central, Liverpool; No. 323 Bristol. Telegraphic Address: " Foxry," for all Offices. Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions) in all Offices, and in addition, at Plymouth, Lieber's, Western Union, &c. Bankers: Lloydfi Bank Limited.

FOX, SAML., & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Steel Railway Springs, Umbrella Furniture and Wire, &c., Stockbridge Works, near Sheffield. Telegraphic Address: " Fox, Deepcar."

FOXALL, E. & J., Chain Makers and Shipsmiths, 93, Jordan Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1860 by Eli Foxall. Present Principal; Benjamin Foxall. Premises: Cover 800 square yards. Staff: Average twenty. Speciality: Chains. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 1439 Royal, Liverpool.

FOXCROFT (ROBERT) & SONS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Steel Trunks, &c., Featherstall Mill, Littleborough, Lancs. Hours of Business: Travellers, 9 a.m. to 12 noon; 2 p.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1867 by Robert Foxcroft. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1913. Directors: Edmund Foxcroft and Thomas Foxcroft (sons of the founder). Premises: Cover 3,500 square yards. Specialities: Travelling Requisites; Patent three-ply Veneer Dress Cases; Fibre Dress and Suit Cases; " Favourite," " Star," " 21 B " (Registered designs) and the Premier Dress Cases, Imperial and Overland Trunks, &c., Steel Trunks; all goods guaranteed. (Wholesale and Export only). Connection I United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 90 Littleboro'. Telegraphic Address: " Foxcroft, Littleborough." Bankers: Union Bank of Manchester, Ltd. (Littleborough).

FOXTON BROTHERS & CO., Manufacturers of Boot and Shoe Laces, &c., Town Street Mills, Armley, Leeds, and 13, Canonbury Lane, London, N. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1882 by J. Foxton and H. Foxton. Present Principal: Hartas Foxton, assisted by Stanley Foxton and. Herbert Fox ton. Premises: Braid Mills at Armley; Dye Works, Winker Green Mills, Armley. Staff: About 120. Specialities: Boot and Shoe Laces, Window Blind Cords and Art Silk Braids. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Address " Foxtons, Armley." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Armley). Club: Conservative.

FOXWELLS, Clothing Manufacturers, The Lawns, Hinckley, Leicestershire. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1854 by Matthew Foxwell (d.). One of the first to place upon the market readyto-wear clothing. Specialities: Readymade Clothing. Telephone: No. 244 Hinckley. Telegraphic Address: " Foxwell's, Hinckley."

FRADELLE & YOUNG, Photographers, 283, Regent Street, London, W. Hours of Business: (Studio), 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; (later by appointment). Established in 1865 by the late Albert Eugene Fradelle. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Are Official Photographers to the leading Hotels and Restaurants in London. Telephone: No. 4075 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address:" Frandulage, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

FRAME & CO., Foreign and Colonial Merchants, 21, Mincing Lane, London, E.C., and 90 to 96, Wall Street, New York. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1888 by G. Macgregor Frame; joined in partnership by Geo. R. Alston in 1890, trading as Frame, Alston & Co. Geo. R. Alston was paid out in 1903, when the style was altered to above. Present Principals: G. Macgregor Frame (founder), Stephen Ewen, E. L. Prior. The first two partners are resident in. London; the last-named in New York. Premises: Extensive Offices in London and New York. Staff: Large in each country. Business: General Merchants. Specialities: Cocoa, Spices, Metals, and Colonial Produce. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 154 and 155 Avenue. Telegraphic Addresses: " Framezzo. London "; " Advance, New York." Banks: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (London); National Bank of Commerce (New York).

FRANCE, J. A., & SON, Canned Goods Merchants and Produce Importers, 10, Bigg Market, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Estab lished in 1879 by J. A. France (retired 1900). Present Principal: Gerald Ashburner France, M.P., J.P. Premises: Hanover Square, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Staff: About 60. Branches: Lon-don, 110, Cannon Street, and 25, Laurence Pountney Lane, E.C.; Hull, 81 and 82, High Street; Whitehaven, 61, Roper Street. Business: Agents for Nestle and Anglo Swiss Condensed Milk Co., Liebig Extract of Meat Co., and Ainsley Packing Co., Campbell, Cal., United States. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1364 Central; No. 201 City, Newcastle-on-Tyne; No. 5744 Bank, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " France, Newcastle-on-Tyne "; " Eventually, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Western Union, Armsby, Economy and Private. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

FRANCE, WM., FENWICK & CO., Ltd., Wharfingers, Shipowners, Insurance Brokers, Colonial Merchants, and Carriers, 5, Fenchurch Street, E.C., and Stanton's Wharf, Tooley Street, London, S.E.; Goole; Newcastle-on-Tyne, &c. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1901 as an amalgamation of Wm. France & Co., Ltd., Fenwick, Stobart & Co., Ltd., and H. C. Pelly & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: C. F. H. Leslie, H. C. Pelly, and S. G. Higgins (Managing Directors), J. E. Champney, F. Stobart, and D. W. Stobart. Connection: United Kingdom, Continental, Colonial. Telephones: No. 3467 Hop (Stanton's Wharf); No. 1053 Avenue (four lines) (Fenchurch Street); No. 12 National (Goole). Telegraphic Addresses: " Frantons, London "; " Hydrobate, London "; " France, Goole." Bankers: Robarts, Lubbock & Co. (E.C.); Barclay & Co. (E.C.).

FRANCIS, DAY & HUNTER, Music Publishers, 142, Charing Cross Road (Oxford Street End), London, W.C. Hours of Business: In summer, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; winter, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1877. Specialities: Musical Comedies, Smallwood's Pianoforte Tutor, Francis and Day's Standard Song Folio, Comic Annuals, Dance Albums, and Sixpenny Popular Editions. Branches: 22, Denmark Street, Charing Cross Road, London, W.C.; 62-64, West 45th Street, New York; and 276, Collins Street, Melbourne. Connection: Throughout the United Kingdom, Abroad, and in the Colonies. Telephone: No. 5425 Gerrard. Telegraphic and Cable Address " Arpeggio, London."

FRANCIS, F., & SONS, Ltd., Metallic Cask, Tin Box Makers, Tinplate Printers, Hollow-ware Stampers, and Sheet Metal Workers, 140, Trundley's Road, Deptford, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1869 by Frederick Francis. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company. Chairman: Frederick Francis. Managing Directors: J. A. J. Francis, J. H. E. Francis. Premises: Cover four to five acres. Branch: 42, Queen Ann Road, St. Philip, Bristol. Staff: About 700. Specialities: Iron Drums and Kegs for Oils, Chemicals, &c; also Steel Barrels, Fancy Tins, Advertising Tablets and Trays; Stamped Retinned Hollow-ware, Tuns and Cans for Paints, Varnishes, Enamels, &c. Connection: United Kingdom chiefly. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office). Telephone: No. 1266 New Cross. Telegraphic Address: " Defiant, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.; National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.; London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

FRANCIS (THOMAS) & COMPANY, LIMITED, Manufacturers of Nails, &c., Sydenham Road, Sparkbrook, Birmingham. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established about 1740 by Thomas Francis (ancestor of the present proprietor). Present Principal: Thomas Francis. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Was probably founded prior to 1740. Since then it has been continued by descendants bearing the same name. Specialities: Patent Fence Spikes and Patent Combined Wall. Nails; Boot Protectors. Baling Studs and all kinds of Nails and Castings. Patents: Fence Spikes, No. 19722; Wall Nails, No. 12159. Awards: Mention Honorable, Paris, 1867; Bronze Medal, Havre, 1868. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, Post Office). Telephone: No. 142 Victoria, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: "Francis, Birmingham." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

FRANK (LIVETT) & SON, Ltd., Oil Refiners, Paint Makers, &c., 22, Borough High Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1840 by Livett Frank. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: 'Frederick Frank (Chairman), Robert Frank and Howard Frank. Staff I 114. Branches: London, 270, Boro' High Street, S.E.; 24, Tidal Basin Road, E. Albert Dock, E.; Southampton, 15, Canute Road. Business: Oil Refiners and Paint Makers, &c. Ship. Painters; Ship Stores; Yachts supplied. Agent for Kingler Frank & Rutty at Southampton. Yachts purchased and sold. Patents: Various. Telegraphic Addresses: " Celerity, Southampton "; " Frankness, London."

FRANKAU (ADOLPH) & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Pipes and Wholesale Dealers in English and Foreign Fancy Goods, 119 and 121, Queen Victoria Street; 226 to 229, Upper Thames Street. London, E.C. Established in 1848 by Adolph Frankau. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: Louis Blumfeld (Chairman), F. J. Frankau (Director), H. Hinrichs, J. L. Blumfeld, and S. Blumfeld (Managing Directors). Premises: Warehouses cover an area of 30,000 square feet; also factory, 112, High Street, Homerton. Staff: About 150; at factory, 150 mechanics. Branches: Glasgow, Montreal, New York, and Shanghai. Specialities: Briar-root Pipes. Agents for Tobacco and Cigarettes in Canada, and the United States. Patents and Inventions: Pipes and Pouches. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: (Nat.) No. 5503 Bank; (Post Office) No. 10572 Central. Cable: " Frankau, Cent, London."

FRANKENBURG & SONS, Ltd., India Rubber, Leather and Cable Manufacturers, Greengate Leather and Rubber Works, Salford, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about forty-five years ago by Isidor Frankenburg. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Isidor Frankenburg, (Governing Director), M. F. Frankenburg. S. Frankenburg, S. T. Rowe and H. Standring (Secretary). Premises: Extensive Works, equipped with up-to date appliances. Staff: 1900 to 2000. Branches: London, 12A, Fore Street, E.C., and 51, Knightrider Street, E.C.; Glasgow 57, Miller Street; Belfast, Royal Avenue. Specialities: Waterproof and Rainproof Clothing and Leather. Patents: Many with regard to proofing Waterproof Garments, and appliances designed to make the various processes healthful and harmless to workpeople. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 5728 City, Manchester; No, 8168 Central, No. 6791 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Sincolor," Manchester, London, and Glasgow; " Cantilever, London." Mr. Frankenburg is an Alderman, a Justice of the Peace; Mayor of Salford for three years.

FRANKFORD, A., & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Artificial Flowers, &c. (Wholesale only), 3 and 4, Beech Street, Barbican, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1876 by A. Frankford. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Directors: A. Frankford (Managing Director and Chairman), W. Seaman, T. A. Frankford, Cecil Perry. Secretary: A. J. Shepherd. Staff: Large. Specialities: Artificial Flowers of all descriptions, Millinery Trimmings, &c. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 1299 Central, London. Cable Address: " Brassique, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Aldersgate Street Branch).

FRANKLIN & HERRERA, LIMITED, Manufacturers' and Engineering Agents, Valuers, Investment and Real Estate Agents, &c. Head Office: 430, Bartolome Mitre, Buenos Aires, Argentina. London Office: 4, Moorgate Street, E.C., and at Montevideo, Uruguay. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established: The original business of Franklin, Herrera & Co., in Buenos Aires in 1901 by W. E. Franklin and J. J. do Herrera. Incorporated as a Limited Company under the laws of the Argentine Republic in 1911. Registered in England and London Office established in 1912. Directors: Dr. R. C. Aldao (President), Thomas Lloyd, Dr. Emilio del Valle; and (Managing Directors) W. E. Franklin and J. J. de Herrera. London Manager: A. M. Asquith. Business: Sole representatives in Argentina and Uruguay of numerous British Manufacturing and Engineering firms, and financial and General Agency work, including Investment in Real Estate and Mortgages, Administration of Properties and Valuations in the Argentine Republic. Connection: Extensive throughout the United Kingdom and the Republics of Argentina and Uruguay. Telephones: London, No. 7580 London Wall; Buenos Aires, No. 2224 Avenida. Telegraphic Addresses: " Franherbas, Stock, London "; " Rioplata, Buenos Aires." Codes: Western Union, Lieber, A B C (5th Edition), Private. Bankers: In London, London and River Plate Bank, Ltd. In Buenos Aires, London and River Plate Bank, Ltd.; Banco de la NaciOn; Banco de la Provincia de Buenos Aires, and British Bank of South America, Ltd. The President, Dr. R. C. Aida°, is a. Barrister-at-law, as is also Dr. E. del Valle; and Mr. Thomas Lloyd is a, member of W. & J. Biggerstaff, Bankers, London and Buenos Aires.

FRANKLIN, IDDINS & CO., Ltd., Wholesale Manufacturers, 22, Australian Avenue, Barbican, and 37, Great Arthur Street, Golden Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1902 by R. W. Franklin and F. Iddins. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909, Debenture partly under Manufacturers. Directors: R. W. Franklin and F. Iddins. Premises: Occupy ground floor and basement at 22, Australian Avenue. Entire building at Great Arthur Street. Specialities: Traveling Goods of all descriptions, Coverings and Linings for Trunks and Bags, Waterproof Motor Hood materials, Imitation Leathers, Waterproof and all descriptions of Canvases, Selvyts, Leather Cloths and Bookbinders' Cloths. Connection: Home, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 9528 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Address: "Fiacolmo, Barb, London." Code: Private.

FRASER & AGUIRRE, Merchants, Ocean House, 24 and 25, Great Tower Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1893 by S. H. Fraser and E. B. Aguirre. Present Principal; Enrique B. Aguirre (since 1900). Premises: Occupy two offices. Business: Importers on Consignment of Produce, Fruit, Wool, Ores, &c., Exporters of Coffee, Tea, Cinnamon and Spices. Connection: England, Spain, Germany, United States and South America. Telephone: No. 2690 Central, London. Cable Address: " Aguirre, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Lieber's and Western Union. Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Lombard Street).

FRASER (ALEXANDER) & CO., LTD., Highland Malt Distillers, Glenburgie Distillery, Forres, N.B., and 139, St. Vincent Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1810. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Directors: John A. Johnstone (Chairman and Managing Director), John K. Morrison (Leith), and Frank Newstead (Liverpool). Premises: The only part of the original buildings left are the old distillery and Excise Offices, which with their thatched roof make a quaint picture. Underneath these offices was the only bonded warehouse which was capable of holding about 1000 gallons of whisky. The distillery capacity up to the late sixties was only thirty gallons per week. Now between 6000 and 7000 gallons per week. The bonded warehouses contain some 800,000 gallons of whisky. Telephones: No. 4/C Forres; No. 970 Argyll, Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Glenburgie, Forres." Bankers; Bank of Scotland (Elgin).

FRASER & CARMICHAEL, Wholesale Grocers, Wine and Spirit Merchants, and Millers, Maygate Street, and Kirkgate Street, Dunfermline. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1815 by Jno. Carmichael. Succeeded by Alex. Fraser. Joined by Jno. Fraser and Daniel Alex. Fraser. Present Principals: Alexander Fraser, John Fraser, Daniel A. Fraser. Staff: 500 to 600. Branches: Seventy. Business: Wholesale Grocers, Wine and Spirit Merchants, and Millers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 70 Dunfermline. Telegraphic Address: " Fraser, Dunfermline." Bankers: British Linen Bank, Ltd.

FRASER & CHALMERS, Ltd., Engineers. Head Office: 3, London Wall Buildings, London, E.C. Works: Engineering Works, Erith, Kent. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Directors: Robert English (Chairman), C. E. Atkinson, R. T. Bayliss, W. J. Chalmers, H. F. L. Orcutt, W. B. Rommel, A. W. Tait, and Walter McDermott (Managing Director). Premises: Works cover about eighteen acres. Branches: Johannesburg, Salisbury, Buluwayo, Melbourne, Kalgoorlie, Singapore, Montreal, Paris, &c. Specialities: Mining Machinery and Power Plants, Boilers, Engines and Compressors, Pumps, Turbines, &c., Concentration, Conveying, Dredging, Metallurgical, Mining and Miscellaneous Plant. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office). Telephones: Nos. 1024 and 1025 London Wall; No. 351 Central, London. Cable Address: " Vanner Ave, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Moreing and Neal, and Lieber's.

FRASER (JAMES P.) & CO., Importers of American Hardwoods, &c., 91 and 93, Bishopsgate, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1906 by James P. Fraser. Present Principals: James F. Fraser and George D. Begg (since 1911). Staff: Six. Business: Importers of American Hardwoods and Mahogany. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly), Export trade to Persia, India and Africa. Telephone: No. 5018 Wall (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Hickorios, Led, London." Bankers: Clydesdale Bank, Ltd.

FRASER, ROSS & CO., Clothing Manufacturers, 60, Ingrain Street, Glasgow; and Cathedral House, Paternoster Row, London, E.C. Hours of Business z 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Present Principals: George Watson and William Gunn. Premises: Occupy four large floors. Staff: 400. Specialities: " Frosco " Clothing. A special feature made of Scotch Outfits. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Telephone: No. 2780 Bell, Glasgow (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Doublet, Glasgow." Codes: All. Bankers a Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd. Mr. William Gunn is a Magistrate of the Burgh of Hamilton.

FRASER & YOUNG, Crushed Granite Manufacturers and Granite Merchants. Office: Maxwellknowe, Dalbeattie, Scotland. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established in 1888 by Thomas Fraser, J. P., and David Young, the present principals. Premises: Granite Crushing Mill, Old-Land Quarries, and Two Granite Crushing Mills at Railway Station; Shipping Wharf for Vessels up to 250 tons burthen, Old-Land Quay, Dalbeattie. Original Granite Crushing Plant had a capacity of 30 tons per day; the capaci ty of present plant is over 150 tons per day. Staff: Twenty-five to thirty. Specialities: Crushed Granite for Cement Concrete work, Granite Chippings for Asphalte Work, Rough-Casting, &c. Broken Granite for Filter Beds; Granite Macadam for Road Making, &c. Granite Sand for Flag Making, &c. Gravel for Garden Walks. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 5 (Post Office) Dalbeattie. Telegraphic Address: " Fraser, Dalbeattie." Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Dalbeattie).

FRAZER (ROBERT) & SONS, Ltd., Manufacturers and Merchants, Milburn House, Newcastle-on-Tyne; also at London, Hebburn-on-Tyne, Whitehaven, and Nottingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1845. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: John Watts (Managing Director), Alfred Hardy, and F. R. Watts. Secretary: Henry A. Lawson. Premises: Hebburn-on-Tyne, Whitehaven, Workington and London: Grease and Oil Works and Stores. Business: Wagon Builders and Repairers; Oil and Grease Manufacturers and Merchants; Iron and Steel Merchants; Colliery Stores Merchants. Railway and Colliery Plant, Bolts, Nuts, Rivets and Spikes. Also Second-hand Wagon Wheels and Axles of all descriptions. Contractors for all classes of Dismantling. Works, Ships, Rolling Stock, &c., bought outright. Dealers in all classes of Scrap Materials and Metals. Sole Agents for Watts, Hardy & Co., Ltd., North Shields. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: Nos. 674, 675, and 676 City, Newcastle. Telegraphic Ad dress: " Refiners, Newcastle-on-Tyne."

FREDERICK HOTELS, Ltd. (THE), Hotel Proprietors, Registered Office, Hotel Russell, London, W.C. Hours of Busi ness: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: Arthur Bird (Chairman), Ronald Peake, Captain A. G. Weigall, M.P., Sir John H. Bethell, Bart., M.P., F. A. Dinham, A. Macmurchy (Secretary). The Company are Proprietors of several well-known Hotels. Telephone: No. 2307 Gerrard (for Registered Offices).

FREE (THOMAS) & CO., Shipping Agents and Australian Merchants, 101, Leaden hall Street, London. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Established in 1911 in London. Present Principal: Thomas Free. Agencies: At Australian and New Zealand Ports. Specialities: Ships Out fits and Rubber Heels. Agents for Huddart Parker, Ltd., Shipowners, Mel bourne. Patent: " Ashley " Rubber Heel. Connection: United Kingdom and Australasia. Telephone: No. 6322 City, London. Telegraphic Address: " Uprise, London." Code: Bentley's Phrase and A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.; and Com mercial Bank of Australia, Ltd. Lieut. Free is a Liveryman, Joiners Company; a Lieutenant R.N.R., retired; a Naval Architect; and a Trinity House Brother.

FREE TRADE WHARF CO., Ltd., Wharfingers and Shipping Agents, 43, Broad Street, Ratcliffe, E. City Office: 102, Fenchurch Street, London. Hours of Business Wharf, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; City Office, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Chairman: Sir William Stephenson. Wharfinger: A. E. Ballan. Secretary: A. H. Taylor. Premise: Two berths for large vessels and additional berthage for lighters, &c. The main building was erected by the East India Co., and the date 17-96 on the masonry and the East India Co. Coat of Arms is on the Gateway. Business: Wharfingers and Agents for the Tyne Tees Steam Shipping Co., Ltd., and the Little Western Steamship Co. Connection: Coastwise Steamers to Newcastle-on-Tyne, Sunierland, Hartlepool, Middlesbro', Stockton-on-Tees, Scarborough, Bristol, Penzance, Torquay, Dartmouth, and Newport (Mon.). Telephones: No. 3740 East (six lines); No. 751 East (Canned Goods Department). Telegraphic Address: " Freetrader, Step, London."

FREEAR & DIX (The Freear & Dix Steam Shipping Company, Ltd.), Steamship Owners and Brokers, Coal Exporters and Ship Surveyors, 64, John Street, Sunderland. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., and after office hours at private residences. Established by Thos. Henzell and Thos. Freear in 1860. Present Principals: John J. Robson, Ernest F. Dix, and Wilkinson Dix. The Freear and Dix Steam Shipping Co. was incorporated as a Limited Company. Managers: Freear & Dix. Branches: Seaham Harbour and Goole. Telephones: Nos. 32 and 33 (National) Sunderland. Telegraphic Address: " Freear, Sunderland."

FREEMAN, HARDY & WILLIS, Ltd., Boot and Shoe Retailers, Rutland Street, Leicester. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1877. Directors: Jonathan North, J.P., (Chairman), H. Simpson Gee, J.P. (Deputy Chairman), Sir R. V. Barrow, J.P., H. S. Bennett, John E. Faire, J.P., Robert Hyslop, H. W. Wilshere, and Sir Edward Wood, J.P. Business: Retailers of HighClass Boots and Shoes. Telephone: No. 3691 (three lines).

FREEMAN (JOHN), SONS & CO., Ltd., St. Stephen's House, Westminster, London, S.W.; Head Office, Penryn, Cornwall. Established in 1840 by John Freeman. Succeeded by his sons, John Dean Freeman and William George Freeman. Amalgamated with the West of England Granite Co. in 1892, and Incorporated as a Limited Company in same year. Chairman and Managing Director: Bernard A. Freeman, grandson of the founder. Claim to be the largest producers in the United Kingdom of granite for engineering purposes. Hold and work about sixty Granite Quarries in Cornwall. Stall: 600 to 1,200. Branches: Penzance, Par, Moorswater, Cheesewring; a'so at Ulebergshamn, Sweden. Business: Supply Granite for Architectural and Engineering purposes. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Chiefly home trade. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephones: No. 241 Victoria; No. 9 Penryn. Telegraphic Addresses: " Amassable, London "; " Freeman, Penryn."

FREEMAN, J. R., & SON, Segar Manufacturers, 172-176, St. John's Road, Hoxton, London, N., and at Cardiff. Hours of Business: .8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. 2 B Established in 1841 by J. R. Freeman. Present Principals: D. G. Freeman and Mrs. G. J. Freeman. Staff: 600. Telephones: Nos. 690, 691 Dalston. Telegraphic Address: " Falstaff, London." Code: A B C. Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

FRENCH ASPHALTE CO., Ltd., Asphalte Mine Owners and Paviors, Suffolk House, 5, Laurence Pountney Hill, Cannon Street, E.C.; and Sugar House Lane, Stratford, London, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1871 as Societe Francais des Asphaltes, Ltd.; name changed to above in 1904. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1871. Directors: A. Vian. (Chairman and Managing Director); Joseph Tucker, C. Albert Ionides, Horace Tucker, T. H. Ionides. Secretary: Thos. H. Knight. Branches: Berlin, Madrid, Glasgow, Marseilles, Lovagny, St. Jean- de-Maruejols (France), Valparaiso (Chile). Business: Supply and Lay Asphalte from the Company's Mines in France in the form of Com- pressed and Mastic Asphalte. Connection: United Kingdom, France, Germany, &c. Telephone: No. 6778 City. Telegraphic Address: " Asphales, London." Bankers: London County & Westminster Bank, Ltd.

FRENCH (HENRY) & CO., Iron, Steel, Coal, and Coke Merchants, and Silica and Firebrick Manufacturers, and Colliery Owners. County Bank Chambers, Middlesbrough. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1870 by Henry French and James W. Macfarlane. Present Principal: Herbert Robert French, succeeded founders. Specialities: Special " Brindled " Blast Furnace Firebrick Lumps, and " Girling " High Grade Steel Furnace Silica Bricks. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 176, Middlesbrough. Telegraphic Address: " French, Iron Merchant, Middlesbrough." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd., Middlesbrough.

FRENCH (SAMUEL), Ltd., Dramatic Publishers, &c., 26, Southampton Street, Strand, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1830 by Thomas Hailes Lacy. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893. Speciality: The Publishing of Plays and Recitations. Connection: Throughout the United Kingdom, in the Colonies, and in many Foreign Countries. Telephone: No. 2238 Gerrard.

FRENCH (WILLIAM THOMAS) & SON, 23 and 25, St. Mary Street, Ladywood, Birmingham. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works, 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1865 by William Thomas French. Present Principals: Alfred Edward French and Alfred William French. Agencies: London, 21, Watling Street, E.C.; and Paris. Specialities: Brass Garden Engines, Syringes, Hose Fittings of all descriptions, " Champion Vaporisers," and Sprayers of all types. Manufacturers of Cattle and Medical Appliances. Patent " Florists Friend Spraying Syringes." Telephone: No. 364 Edgbaston, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Syringes, Birmingham." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

FRESTON, T. W., & SON, Yarn and Cloth Agents, 8, Watling Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1859 by Peter Higson and the late Thomas W. Freston, J.P. Partnership Successions: (1) Thomas W. Freston, J.P., upon retirement of P. Higson in 1864; (2) Thomas W. Freston, J.P. and Edward H. Liddell, 1867; (3) Thomas W. Freston, J.P., 1876, when E. H. Liddell retired; (4) Thomas W. Freston, J.P. and Henry Wybrow Freston, J.P. (son), 1897; (5) B enry Wybrow Freston, J.P., upon the death of his father, 1907. Present Principal: Henry Wybrow Freston, J.P. Specialities: Grey Cloths for Linings, Domestic Calicoes and Sheetings. Telephone: No. 504 City. Telegraphic Address: " Freston, Manchester." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank, Ltd.

FREW (ALEXANDER) & CO., Brick Manufacturers and Coalmasters, Rawyards, Airdrie; 52, St. Enoch Square, and Barracks Station, Gallowgate Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1888 by Alexander Frew, the present principal. Have developed various Brickworks and Coalfields. Premises: Brickworks producing 30,000 bricks per day, and a large quantity of various Fireclay Goods, Furnace Blocks, &c. Specialities: Common Building Bricks, Firebricks, Sanitary Pipes and Connections, &c. Collieries producing Blaclband House, Navigation and Splint Coals to the extent of 600 tons per day. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 43 Airdrie; No. 2062 Central (52, St. Enoch Square); No.- 463 Bridgeton (Barracks Depot). Telegraphic Addresses: " Frew, Rawyards, Airdrie "; " Refractory, Glasgow." Bankers: Clydesdale Bank, Ltd. (Airdrie and Glasgow). Mr. Frew has been a member of Airdrie Town Council now for twenty years; Treasurer and Magistrate of the Burgh several times; a Justice of the Peace for the Co. of Lanark; Chairman of Airdrie, Coatbridge and District Water Trust. He is Chairman of Springwells Bowling Club, Airdrie. Clubs: Member of Glasgow. Conservative, Airdrie Golf, and Millport Golf.

FRIBOURG & TREYER, Tobacconists, Cigar Merchants, and Cigarette Importers, 34, Haymarket, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established about 1700. The shop is one of the most notable in London, as it has been kept as far as possible in the original style of the eighteenth century. The trade-mark of the firm is the " Rasp and Crown," the original old sign which used to hang outside the Haymarket premises two hundred years ago. Specialities: The firm are importers of the finest Havana Cigars, and Egyptian, Russian, Spanish, and Algerian Cigarettes. Are also proprietors of the following Tobacco Mixtures of finest quality: " Golden," " Waterloo," " Wingate," " Rasp and Crown," " Barings," and " Special Dark " Mixtures, and Snuffs of the best description. Branches: 3, Leadenhall Street, London, E.C.; 129, High Street, Oxford; and 12, Market Hill, Cambridge. Telephones: No. 805 Central, for 34, Haymarket; No. 806 Central, for 3, Leadenhall Street; No. 250 Oxford, for Oxford Branch. Telegraphic Addresses: " Pinchingly, London," for 34, Haymarket; " Cabinets, London," for 3, Leadenhall Street; " Fribourg, Oxford," for Oxford Branch.

FRIEND & CO., Continental Daily Parcels Express, Agents for the Belgian State Railway and Mail Packet Service, Custom House Agents, Bonded Vault Proprietors, &c. Head Offices: Northumberland Hause, Dover. Branches: Admiralty Pier and Prince of Wales Pier; Bonded Vaults, Strond Street, Custom House Quay, Dover. London Offices: 53, Gracechurch Street, E.C., and 72, Regent Street, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 10 p.m. Pier Office: Open for all outward boats daily, Sundays included. Established prior to 1800 by John Friend, afterwards assisted by John George Smith and John Piddington. Business merged in that of J. G. Smith & Co. in 1849. Present Principals: John George Piddington (member of the family of Smith and Piddington) and George Francis Raggett, R.N., Dover. Manager: Councillor H. R. Geddes. Premises: Consist of large central office and two branch offices in Dover, two large bonded vaults, one bonded floor, warehouse, stables, &c. Staff: Twenty, office; outdoor, about thirty: casual men, ten to twenty. Branches: Continental offices, Ostend, Brussels, Paris, Bale, Welkenraedt, Herbesthal. Sub-Agencies: In all large towns of the United Kingdom. Business: Continental Parcel Forwarding, Baggage cleared, re-forwarded or warehoused; issue of Tickets to the Continent vitt Ostend; Berths reserved; Foreign Exchange; Wines and Spirits stored and bottled; Vatting and blending; Harbour Motor Launch Service; Shipping Correspondents of the American Express Co.; Agency of the International Sleeping Car Co.; Official Agency of the Belgian State Railway and Mail Packet Service, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 257 Dover. Telegraphic Address: " Friend, Agent, Dover." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

FRISCHER & CO., Fancy Goods Importers, 22, Ropemaker Street, Finsbury, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1875 by M. Frischer, the present principal. Premises .Consisting of the entire building in Ropemaker Street. Staff: Twenty-eight. Branch: Vienna, VI Millergasse, 48. Specialities: Pipes and Tobacconists' Sundries. Brushes and Woodware. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 5884 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Amender, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London, County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

FRODINGHAM IRON & STEEL COMPANY LIMITED, Iron and Steel Manufacturers, Frodingham Iron and Steel Works, Scunthorpe, Lincs. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1865 by the late Joseph Cliff, of Leeds. Later became Joseph Cliff & Sons, trading as the Frodingham Iron Company, afterwards Frodingham Iron and. Steel Company. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Directors: Wm. Dewhirst Cliff (Chairman), Joseph Cliff, Walter Cliff, Stephen Cliff, J. T. Talbot Cliff, M. Mannaberg (Managing Director). Premises: Very extensive and highly equipped, covering about 200 acres. Staff: 2,000. Specialities: Manufacturers of Forge, Foundry, and Basic Pig Iron; also manufacturers of Siemens-Martin Steel; Slot and Conductor Rails for Tramways; Blooms 2 B 2 for Forgings, Steel for Electrical purposes, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 6 (P.O.) Scunthorpe. Telegraphic Address: " Cliff, Scunthorpe." Codes: Engineering (2nd Edition); A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Beckett & Co. (Leeds).

FRODSHAM (CHARLES) & CO., Ltd., Watch and Clock Makers, 115, New Bond Street, London, W. Established in 1843 by Charles Frodsham. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893.

FROMY, ROGEE & CO., Brandy Shippers, St. Jean d'Angely-Cognac; and 27, Walbrook, London, E.C. Hours of Business: France, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1815 by Francois Fromy. Continued in 1863 by Fromy & Rogee. Partners, L. E. Rog& and Frederick Fromy. Present Principal: Eugene Rogoe-Fromy, St. Jean-d'Angely. British Manager: Fred B. Robinson. Business: Brandy Distillation and Export. Specialise in " Medical Reserve," the Dry Brandy, Registered, a natural Dry Brandy without sugar, essences or artificial flavouring. Shipped in one style and quality throughout the world. Awards: H.C. Member of Jury, Paris, 1900; Liege, 1905; London, 1908; Turin, 1911; Ghent, 1913; Grand Prix, St. Louis, 1904; Milan, 1906; Seattle, 1909; Charleroi, 1911, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. " Fromy's Medical Reserve " has received high testimonials from " The Lancet " as a brandy of high quality, and well adapted for medicinal purposes. Also highly recommended by " Guy's Hospital Gazette." Royal Warrant: Appointment to the Court of Austria-Hungary. Telephones: No. 5886 Bank, London; No. 34 Fromy, St.-Jean-d'Angely. Telegraphic Addresses: Statically, London "; " Fromy, St.-Jeand'Angely." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Credit Lyonnais; Societe Generale; Comptoir National d'Escompte de Paris. M. Eugene Rogee-Fromy has been President of the Tribunal of Commerce, St. Jean-d'Angely, in 1911.

FROST, ROWLAND, General Galvanizer, Falcon Galvanizing Works, Moxley, near Wednesbury; and Rough Hills Galvanizing Works, Wolverhampton. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1889 by Rowland Frost, the present principal. Speciality: Tube Galvanizing. Patent: For process of Galvanizing. Connection: United Kingdom. Tele-phones: No. 72 Wednesbury; No. 25x Wolverhampton. Telegraphic Address: " Frost, Wednesbury." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Darlaston).

FROST & WOOD CO., Ltd. (THE), Agricultural Implement Manufacturers, Seeding, Cultivating, Haying and Harvesting Machinery, Smith's Falls, Ontario, Canada, and 2A, Southwark Bridge Road, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1839 by Ebenezer Frost (d. 1867), joined in 184C by Alexander Wood as Frost & Wood. Continued in 1863 by Alexander Wood (retired 1886), Charles B. Frost and Francis T. Frost (sons of E. Frost). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. President: The Hon. F. T. Frost. General Manager: J. E. Ruby. London Manager: O. H. Oertel. The business, which was started in a small shop, has now developed into the present extensive factory. In 1865 the increasing business necessitated the opening of an Agency in Montreal, now embracing the chief centres in almost every country in the world. Premises: In 1850 made additions of wooden buildings which were destroyed by fire in 1854. A new building was constructed equipped with all the latest improvements and plant, with fireproof appliances by three different systems. Timber yards cover several acres, and the total floor area of the buildings about 350,000 square feet. The Power House is isolated from the rest of the plant in a two-storey building. All departments equipped with the most powerful electrically driven machinery of the most up-todate types. Staff: About 1000. Agencies in most countries. Specialities: All kinds of Agricultural Implements, chiefly Binders. Reapers, Mowers and Rakes. Repair parts can be procured at branch houses. Patents: Various. Connection: Worldwide. Telephone: No. 990 City, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Cultivos, London." Cable Address: For Canada, " Frost, Canada." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Western Union, Lieber'e, Standard, New Century. The Hon. T. F. Frost is a Member of the Canadian Senate.

FRY, J. S., & SONS, Ltd., Chocolate and Cocoa Manufacturers, Union Street, Bristol, and Lever Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1728, Dr. Joseph Fry being the first of the Fry family to make Chocolate in Bristol. Letters Patent granted by King George II. in 1729 (d. 1787). Partnership Succession: (1) Anna Fry (widow of founder); (2) Joseph Storrs Fry (son); (3) Joseph Fry; (4) Francis Fry; (5) Richard Fry; (6) Joseph Storrs Fry and Francis James Fry. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1896. Directors: Francis James Fry, D. L., J.P. (Chairman), Albert Magnus Fry, Richard Algernon Fry, Claude Basil Fry, Roderick James Fry, and Conrad Penrose Fry (Secretary). Registrar: Wilfrid Grace. The oldest firm of Chocolate and Cocoa Manufacturers in the kingdom, and one of the most famous firms in the world. At the first Investiture of the " Order of St. Patrick " at Dublin Castle in 1783 Fry's Chocolate in Silver Bowls was handed round before the Knights-Founders separated, as a fortifier against the chill March winds. During the Crimean War the firm was called upon to supply Chocolate to the troops at the front. Her late Majesty Queen Victoria presented the soldiers in the South African War with tins of their Chocolate. Messrs. Harry De Windt and William Le Queux adopted their Cocoas and Milk and other Chocolates for their Arctic Expedition, and Captain Scott, R.N., chose their goods in preference to all others for his Antarctic Expedition, as has also Mr. J. Foster Stackhouse for his forthcoming British Antarctic Expedition. Premises: Nine immense Factories, numbered according to date of erection, all linked together by lofty galleries surrounding the oldest works, constructed of pure glazed brick with Portland stone facings. Seven storeys high, eighty feet. The founder started in a small factory in Wine Street, and moved later to Union Street. The present offices occupy nearly all one side of Union Street. Saw Mills at Canon's Marsh, Fancy Box Factory at Quay Street, Model Box Works at Wapping. Staff: Nearly 6,000. Specialities: Pure Concentrated Cocoa, Breakfast Cocoa, Malted Cocoa, Caracas Chocolate, " Yinello " Chocolate, Milk Chocolate, Alexandra Chocolates, King George Chocolates, Queen Mary Chocolates, Victoria Eugenie Chocolates, and Choice Chocolate Confectionery. Noted for the highest excellence in all their productions. Awards: Over 300 Grands Prix, Gold Medals, and Diplomas. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrants: Appointed Manufacturers of Chocolate and Cocoa to the Royal House of England by Her late Majesty Queen Victoria in the early part of her reign, confirmed by His late Majesty King Edward, whose Warrant as Prince of Wales they held for nearly forty years. Also to H.M. Queen Alexandra and H.M. King George V. both as Prince of Wales and as King, and to H.M. the Queen, H.I.M. the Empress Eugenie, T.M. the King and Queen of Spain, T.M. the King and Queen of the Hellenes, and H. M. Queen Margherita of Italy. In 1867 appointed by the Emperor Napoleon III. manufacturers to the Imperial House by a Special Brevet issued at the Palace of the Tuileries. Telephones: No. 106 Bristol; No. 3985 Central, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Fry, Bristol "; Fryson, London." Bankers: Parr's Bank Ltd. (Bristol); National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. Mr. Francis Fry was one of the pioneers of the railway line to Bristol, and in starting Bristol Water works. He also was one of the first to bring about the Parcels Post, and assisted in the suppression of the Slave Trade. Mr. Francis James Fry is a Deputy-Lieutenant for the County of Somerset; High Sheriff of the County, 1906-7; Sheriff of Bristol, 1887; late Alderman of the City of Bristol; Justice of the Peace. Members of the firm have always been prominent in all works tending to the prosperity and welfare of Bristol.

FULFORD, C. E., Ltd., Manufacturing Chemists, Carlton Hill, Leeds; also Offices in London and Dublin. Hours of Business: 8.45 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1897 by the late Charles E. Fulford. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Directors: F. H. Fulford. (chairman), Stuart Hirst, F. W. Boyer, W. E. Farr, and F. W. Noble-Jones. Colonial 0 ffices: Australia: 39, Pitt Street, Sydney; South Africa: 9, Long Street, Cape Town; Canada: 208. Dupont Street, Toronto. Branches all over the world. Business: Proprietors and manufacturers of several well-known proprietary articles. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 4020 Leeds (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Gladiator, Leeds." Codes: A B C and Broomhall.

FULLER & RICHARD, Wholesale Stationers, 41, Great Windmill Street, Piccadilly Circus, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1754 by Richard Dartnall. Partnership Successions: (1) Richard & Wilson; (2) J. E. Richard & Co.; (3) B. Fuller & Co.; (4) Fuller & Richard. Present Principals: George Henry Turner, George Calder Turner. Specialities: Writing, Drawing, Printing, and Wrapping Papers; Millboards and Strawboards. Are Envelope Makers; Stock Boxed Stationery. Inventors of the Wilson Patent Guillotine Paper Cutting Machine (patented in 1846). Connection: The United Kingdom chiefly. Telephone: No. 1291 Regent. Telegraphic Address: " Plenior, Piccy, London."

FULLER'S EARTH UNION, Ltd. (THE), Fuller's Earth Miners and Manufacturers, Billiter Square Buildings, London, E.C. Incorporated in 1891. Directors: Theo. Stretch (Chairman), Chas. H. L. Neish, A. P. Simpson, and W. E. Gray. Secretary: John Robins, F.C.I.S. Premises: Extensive Works at Nutfield, Surrey, and Combe Hay, near Bath. Stag: About 120 hands employed, in addition to Managers and Clerical Staff. Specialities: Fuller's Earth for Oil Refiners, Cloth Finishers, Silk Manufacturers, Toilet Purposes, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2145 London Wall. Telegraphic Addresses: " Irelwac, London "; Union, Bath." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank. Ltd.

FULLERS, LIMITED, American Confectioners. Factory: Hammersmith. Head Retail Depot: 209, Regent Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1889 by W. B. Fuller. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Chairman: The Hon. Hubert Beaumont. Highly organised modern Factory• at Hammersmith covers twothirds of an acre. Stag: 1500 total. Specialities: Chocolate and Novelties in American Sweets and Cakes. Connection: World-wide. Agencies in every principal town in England, and in most important countries abroad. Telephones: Nos. 40 and 533 Hammersmith (Factory); Nos. 6162, 6163, 6164 Mayfair (Regent Street). Telegraphic Address: " Candies, London." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.; London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

FULLERTON, HODGART & BARCLAY, Ltd., Engineers, Vulcan Foundry and Engine Works, Paisley, N.B. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1838. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Directors: Alexander Watt (Chairman), George Barclay, John C. Tannett, John A. Balderston, Matthew Hodgart, Goo. L. Muir, and R. G. Sommerville. Staff: 700. Specialities: Air Compressing Engines, Highclass Slow Speed Winding and Driving Engines, for Mine 3, Mills and Power Stations; Pumping Plants; Hydraulic Installations; Cotton Pressing Plants; Evaporators; Iron Castings up to 50 tons for Marine Engines and Turbines. Patents: Hodgart's Lever Presses; Foster's EAT orators, Meyer's Valves. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Agencies in South Africa, India, Australia, and Japan. Telephone: No. 63 Paisley. Telegraphic Address: " Vulcan, Paisley." Cable Codes: A B C; Engineering; Western Union. Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

FURLEY & CO., Hull and Sheffield, R. Furley & Co., Gainsborough • and Nottingham, Carriers, East Anglian Buildings, Princes Dock Side, Hull; Canal -Wharf, Sheffield; Bridge Street, Gainsborough; Lenton Boulevard, Nottingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established prior to 1774 at Gainsborough. Present Principals: Richard Furley and Francis Edward Furley. One of the oldest firms, if not the oldest, of the kind in England. The business has passed from father to son for five generations. Business: Canal Carriers, Hull to Sheffield, Gainsborough, Retford, Worksop, Newark, Nottingham, &c. Agents for Steamers, Hull to Lynn and Ipswich. Shipping and Forwarding Agents. Telephones: No. 4222 (National), No. 90 (Corporation), Hull; No. 322 (National), Sheffield; No. 6 Gainsborough; No. 1227 Nottingham. Telegraphic Addresses: " Furley," Hull, Sheffield, and Gainsborough.

FURLONG & SON, Auctioneers, Estate Agents, House Furnishers and Removal and Storing Contractors, 115 to 125, Powis Street, Woolwich. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 8.30 p.m.; Thursdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1812 by John Furlong (sen.). Partnership Successions: (1) John and James Furlong, 1839; (2) John Furlong, 1858; (3) Furlong & Son, 1868. Present Principals: Edwin Furlong, Herbert John Furlong, Frank Owen Furlong. Premises: Rebuilt on original site between 1898 and 1902; the Depository (formerly the Woolwich Baths and Lecture Hall), in Nelson Street, Woolwich, was acquired in 1888, enlarged in 1900, and annexe in High Street built in 1911. Second-hand Department, 11, Thomas Street, opened in 1904. Staff: Seventy to seventy-five. Business: Furniture Auction Sales fortnightly (since 1862). Property Sales monthly. General Estate and Insurance Agency; Surveys; Funerals; Complete House Furnishing; Steam Carpet Beating; Motor Removals and Warehousing. Connection: United Kingdom; large Military clientele. Telephone: No. 56 Woolwich. Bankers: London Country and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

FURNEAUX (SIDNEY) & CO., Ltd., Steamship Owners and Brokers, 26, Great St. Helens, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1894 by Sidney Furneaux, the present Managing Director. Business: Steamship Management and Chartering Agents. Telephone: No. 6327 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Furneaux, London." Codes: Watkin's, Scott's. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited, East City Branch, London. Managers of the Grove Steam Shipping Co., Ltd.

FURNESS, WITHY & COMPANY, LIMITED, Shipowners, Shipbuilders, Colliery Proprietors, &c. Head Offices Baltic Chambers, West Hartlepool. Branches: London (Furness. House, Billiter Street, E. C.), Newcastle-on-Tyne, Cardiff, New York, Halifax (N.S.), Montreal, Newport News, Rotterdam, Boston. Incorporated September 16th, 1891. Directors: Sir S. W. Furness, Bart., M.P. (Chairman), Rt. Hon. Lord Furness, R. W. Vick, J.P., A. S. Purdon, J.P., F. W. Lewis, R. E. Burnett, J. E. Furness, Walter Furness, W. H. Beckingham, C. Einar Furness, R. J. Thompson, and D. Cooke. Secretary: S. J. Forster. F.C.I.S., F.S.A.A. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Brantford," West Hartlepool, Newcastle - on - Tyne, and Cardiff; Welldeck," London ' • Furness," New York, Halifax (N.S.), Montreal, Newport News, Rotterdam, and Boston. Sir S. W. Furness, Bart., Chairman of the Company, is M.P. for the Hartlepools.

FYFE, JOHN, LIMITED, Granite Merchants and Quarry Owners, Provost Blaikie's Quay, Aberdeen. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1896 by the late John Fyfe, D.L., J.P. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. John M. Fyfe, Chairman. Premises: Owners of the following Granite Quarries: Grey, Kemnay Toms Forest, Tillyfourie, and Cove, near Aberdeen; Red, Corrennie, Aberdeenshire. Yards, Provost Blaikie's Quay, Seaforth Road, and Church Street, Aberdeen. Staff: About 800. Business: Supply Granite for Docks, Bridges and all Architectural work; Kerb Setts, Road Metal and Crushed Granite, Millstones and Rolls for Paper and Paint Mills. Amongst some of the principal contracts are Thames Embankment, Putney and Kew Bridges, London, King Edward VII. Bridge, Newcastle, Broomielaw and Rutherglen and Clyde Bridges, Glasgow, Forth and Tay Bridges, Roker Pier and Lighthouse, Sunderland, North Pier, Tynemouth, Northern Assurance Co. Offices (London), Queen Victoria Memorial (London), Aberdeen University Buildings, Royal' Insurance Company's Buildings (Lombard Street, London and Union Street, Aberdeen). The Blondin or Cableway was invented and first used by the late Mr. John Fyfe. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 31 Aberdeen. Telegraphic Address: " Fyfe, Aberdeen."

FYFE (JOHN R.) & CO., Fire Brick and Sanitary Earthenware Manufacturers, Shipley Fire Brick Works, Shipley. Hours of Business: 9 n.m. to 4 p.m. Established in 1874 as John R. Fyfe & Co. One partner retired 1891. Present Principal: John R. Fyfe. Premises: Extensive, covering an area of five acres.. Office Stag: Five. Specialities: Fire Bricks for Puddling and Rolling Mill Furnaces, Cupola Furnaces, and Suction Gas Plant Furnaces. Also makers of Lump, Ground and Pugged Fire Clay, Boiler Seating Blocks, Boiler Float Bricks, Quarries, Singe Plate Bricks, Sanitary Pipes, Traps, Gullies, Dishes, Flue Linings, Air Grates, Junction and Invert Blocks, Chimney Pots, Tiles, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial, through Merchants, Agents, &c., at home. Telephone: No. 59 Shipley. Telegraphic Addiess " Brick, Shipley." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. (Shipley Branch).

See Also

Loading...

Sources of Information