Grace's Guide

British Industrial History

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 125,771 pages of information and 196,574 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

1914 Who's Who in Business: Company B

From Graces Guide

Jump to: navigation, search
Im1914WWB-p043b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p044a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p044b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p045a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p045b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p046a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p046b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p047a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p047b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p048a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p048b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p049a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p049b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p050a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p050b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p051a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p051b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p052a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p052b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p053a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p053b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p054a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p054b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p055a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p055b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p056a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p056b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p057a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p057b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p058a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p058b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p059a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p059b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p060a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p060b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p061a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p061b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p062a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p062b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p063a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p063b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p064a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p064b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p065a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p065b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p066a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p066b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p067a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p067b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p068a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p068b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p069a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p069b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p070a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p070b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p071a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p071b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p072a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p072b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p073a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p073b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p074a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p074b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p075a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p075b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p076a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p076b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p077a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p077b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p078a.jpg
Im1914WWb-p078b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p079a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p079b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p080a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p080b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p081a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p081b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p082a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p082b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p083a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p083b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p084a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p084b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p085a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p085b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p086a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p086b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p087a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p087b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p088a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p088b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p089a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p089b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p090a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p090b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p091a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p091b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p092a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p092b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p093a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p093b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p094a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p094b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p095a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p095b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p096a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p096b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p097a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p097b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p098a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p098b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p099a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p099b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p100a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p100b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p101a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p101b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p102a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p102b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p103a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p103b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p104a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p104b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p105a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p105b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p106a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p106b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p107a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p107b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p108a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p108b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p109a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p109b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p110a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p110b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p111a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p111b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p112a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p112b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p113a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p113b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p114a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p114b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p115a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p115b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p116a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p116b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p117a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p117b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p118a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p118b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p119a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p119b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p120a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p120b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p121a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p121b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p122a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p122b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p123a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p123b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p124a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p124b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p125a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p125b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p126a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p126b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p127a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p127b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p128a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p128b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p129a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p129b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p130a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p130b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p130a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p130b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p131a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p131b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p132a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p132b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p133a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p133b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p134a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p134b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p135a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p135b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p136a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p136b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p137a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p137b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p138a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p138b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p139a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p139b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p140a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p140b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p141a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p141b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p142a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p142b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p143a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p143b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p144a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p144b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p145a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p145b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p146a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p146b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p147a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p147b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p148a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p148b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p149a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p149b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p150a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p150b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p151a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p151b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p152a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p152b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p153a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p153b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p154a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p154b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p155a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p155b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p156a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p156b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p157a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p157b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p158a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p158b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p159a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p159b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p160a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p160b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p161a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p161b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p162a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p162b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p163a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p163b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p164a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p164b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p165a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p165b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p166a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p166b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p167a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p167b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p168a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p168b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p169a.jpg

Note: This is a sub-section of 1914 Who's Who in Business

BABCOCK & WILCOX, Ltd., Patent Water Tube Boilers; Head Offices: Oriel House, Farringdon Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1867 as the Babcock & Wilcox Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900, in reconstruction of a Company of the same name. Directors: John Dewrance (Chairman), James H. Rosenthal (Managing Director), Arthur T. Simpson, William D. Hoxie, F. G. Bourne, Charles A. Knight. Secretary: Walter Colls. Premises: Works at Renfrew, Scotland; Aubervilliers, La Courneuve; Oberhausen, Rheinland, Germany. Branches: Glasgow, Manchester, Newcastle, Middlesbrough, Cardiff, Birmingham, Sheffield, Brussels, Milan, • Naples, Madrid, Barcelona, Bilbao, Lisbon, Melbourne, Sydney, Montreal, Toronto, Mexico, Lima, Bombay, Calcutta, Yokohama, Shanghai, Johannesburg. District Offices: Belfast. Representatives in all countries. Specialities: Patent Water Tube Boilers and all Boiler-house Accessories. Patents: Water Tube Boilers (Land and Marine), Mechanical Stokers, Steam Superheaters, Fuel Economisers, &c. Awards: Medals at all the principal Exhibitions. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office), also to Foreign Governments. Telephone: No. City 6470 (eight lines). Telegraphic Address: " Babcock, London." Codes: A B C (4th Edition), Al, Lieber's, Engineering Telegraph (2nd Edition).

BACKHOUSE, H., & COMPANY, LIMITED, Chocolate Manufacturers, Clementhorpe, York. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established in 1899 by H. Backhouse, the present Managing Director. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1911. Speciality: Fine Chocolate. Connection: General.

BACON, G. W., & CO., Ltd., Map and Educational Publishers, 127, Strand, and 14, Union Court, Old Broad St., London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1866 by G. W. Bacon, F.R.G.S. Incorporated as a Company in 1890, re-constructed 1913. The Directorate consists of G. W. Bacon, F. Vincent Brooks, A. W. Kerly, J.P., Percy W. Ryde, George Poole Smith, William Stanford (General Manager). Specialities: Geographical Work, Atlases, Wall Maps, Commercial and School, Cycling Maps, and Educational Publications. Manufactories at 3 and 5, Savoy Street, Strand. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Agents in Bombay, Melbourne, Sydney,Toronto, Cairo, Boston. Telephone: No. 2977 Central. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Definition, Rand, London.". Bankers: London & South Western Bank, Ltd. Retail Department in the City: The City Map Shop, 14, Union Court, Old Broad Street, E.C. Telephone: No. 7389 Wall. Telegrams: " Erdkunde, Ave, London." Code: A B C.

BADCOCK, BISHOP CO., Ltd., Wholesale Dealers, 25, Eastcheap, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1879 by W. Badcock. In 1886 acquired the business of Hunt & Crombie, founded in 1859. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1912. Directors: William Badcock (Chairman) and Herbert Roll Bishop. Premises: Saleroom at Eastcheap and extensive Warehouses in Featherstone Street, Finsbury, E.C. Agencies: Represented by travellers in United Kingdom. Specialities: Dried Fruits, Rice, Spices and Colonial Produce. Connectim Time Trade and Export, Telephone: No. 236 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Badcock, Eastcheap, London."

BADDELEY, JOHN, Velveteen Merchant, 18, Tariff Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1865. Premises: Removed from 1, Charlotte Street, Manchester, in 1904 to present address. London 'Warehouse, 20, Cheapside, E.C. Glasgow Warehouse, 52, St. Enoch Square. Specialities: Good class Velveteens for Dresses and Mantles, both Plain and Corded; " Silkoid," a newly-invented Pile Fabric, practically indistinguishable in appearance from the best Silk Velvet. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Velluto," Manchester, London, Glasgow. Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. (St. Ann Street, Manchester).

BADGER (JOHN), COOKSON & CO., Ltd., Brassfounders, &c., Guardian Works, Gt. Hampton Street., Wolverhampton. Hours of Business: Usual. Established: John Badger & Co., Birmingham in 1872; F. N. Cookson, Ltd., 1834; and Aubin & Co.; three firms amalgamated. Incorporated as a Limited Company. General Manager: Clement A. Ely. Specialities: Brassfoundry, Repetition Work, Locks, Railway and Ships' Metallic Furniture and Electrical Fittings, Brass, Tin, and Copper Goods for Ships' use, Hardware and Press Work. Award: Prize Medal, 1851 Exhibition. Telephone: No. 890 Wolverhampton (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Guardian, Wolverhampton."

BAERLEIN & SONS, Merchants, Engineers, 12, Blackfriars Street, Salford, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1867 by E. Baerlein. Present Principals: Max Baerlein, Harold A. Baerlein, Edgar M. Baerlein. Specialities: The Export of Cotton Goods, Textile Machinery, &c. Are also general Machinery Agents and Exporters. Connection: The whole of Europe, Egypt, N. Africa, Asia, North America, South America, Central America, Canada, &c., &c. Telephone: No. 6300 City— Private Branch Exchange. Telegraphic Address: " Baersons, Manchester." Mr. Max Baerlein is a Director of the Clayton Aniline Co., Ltd.

BAGLAN BAY TINPLATE CO., Ltd. (THE), Tinplate Manufacturers, Briton Ferry, Glam. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated in 1889. Directors: Lewis Jenkins, J.P. (Chairman), William Morris (Managing Director and Secretary), Benjamin Thomas and J. Brynmor Hill. Agencies: Liverpool (John Bishop & Co., 18, Water Street), London (L. H. Lucy & Co., 10, Eastcheap, E.C.). Business: Manufacture of Tin plates. Connection: United Kingdom and Abroad. Telephone: No. 59 Briton Ferry. Telegraphic Address: " Bay, Briton Ferry." Code: A B C (5th Edition ). Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd., Briton Ferry.

BAGNALL (JOHN) & SONS, LIMITED, Ironmasters, Lea Brook Iron Works, Wednesbury, South Staffs. London Office: 8, Laurence Pountney Hill, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1800 by John Bagnall. Joined by John Bagnall, Thomas Bagnall, Samuel Bagnall . and James Bagnall (sons), trading as John Bagnall & Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1873. Directors: A. E. Wenham (Chairman), M. J. Whitehouse, G. W. Butler (Managing Directors), T. P. Harris and J. C. Forrest. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Two Mills and two Forges. Stall: About 400. Speciality: q BAGNALL Brand of Iron. Awards: Medals, 1851 Exhibition. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 24 Wednesbury. Telegraphic Address: " Bagnall, Wednesbury." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Birmingham).

BAGNALL, R. S., & SONS, Ltd., Engineers, Forgemasters, Chain, Cable, and Anchor Manufacturers, South Hylton Forge and Engineering Works, near Sunderland, and The Winlaton Iron Works, Blaydon-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1822 by Richard Siddoway Bagnall. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: E. F. Bagnall (Chairman), R. S. Bagnall, M.I. & S.Inst., C. L. Bagnall (Managing Director and Secretary). Premises: Extensive, covering four acres at Hylton and one acre at Winlaton. Agencies: Glasgow, 5, Oswald Street; Hull, Exchange Buildings; Stockton, G. E. Caseborne; Scandinavia, K. F. Nergaard, Christiania. Specialities: Stern and Rudder Frames up to fifteen tons weight; Chain, Cables and Anchors and Accessories. Patents: " Bagnall " and " Fairbairn " Rudder Coupling, " Armstrong " All-iron Anchor. Connection,: United Kingdom, Foreign. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office). Telephones: No. 6 (National), Hylton; No. 24 (National), Blaydon. Telegraphic Address " Bagnall," Hylton, and Winlaton. Code: A B C. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. (Sunderland).

BAGNALL, W. G., Ltd., Locomotive Builders and Railway Engineers, Castle Engine Works, Stafford. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1875 by W. G. Bagnall. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1887. Director: John G. Gifford (Managing Director). Premises: Extensive and fully equipped works. London Office: Sanctuary House, Westminster, S.W. Specialities: Narrow-gauge Locomotives, Sugar Cane, Tipping, and other special Wagons. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office, &c.); also to Foreign Governments. Telephone: No. 15 Stafford. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Bagnall, Stafford." Codes: Engineering, A B C (5th Edition), Bedford McNeil, Western Union. Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

BAGSTER (SAMUEL) & SONS Ltd., Publishers, 15, Paternoster Row, London. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1794 by Samuel Bagster, who was succeeded by his sons, and afterwards by his grandsons, one of whom is now the head. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1883. Directors: Robert Bagster (Chairman and Managing Director), Robert W. Hanson. Are the originators of the present form of Pocket Reference Bible, first issued by Samuel Bagster in 1812, with centre reference, and inventors of the present Yapp Divinity Circuit Binding. Agencies: New York, Melbourne. Specialities: Bibles, and all Helps to the Study of the Bible in the original Languages. Also Church Services, Prayer Books, and Devotional Books. This old-established firm have long been noted for Biblical Publications. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 13271 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Bagster, London."

BAHR, BEHREND & CO., General Merchants, Ship Owners and Shipbrokers, Forwarding, Shipping, and Passenger Agents, Hargreaves Buildings, 5, Chapel Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established prior to 1816 by Chas. Lewis Bahr. Partnership Successions: (1) Charles Lewis Bahr, David Behrend, trading as Bahr, Behrend & Co.; (2) Charles Lewis Bahr, David Behrend, Henry Alexander Stewart, trading as Bahr, Behrend & Stewart (dissolved partnership in 1847); (3) D. Behrend (d. 1860), Geo. W. Bahr, Geo. Behrend, trading as Bahr, Behrend & Co. (dissolved 1861); (4) Geo. W. Bahr, Geo. Behrend, Albert Hugo Albert Zeden, as Bahr, Behrend & Co. (dissolved 1870); (5) Geo. Bahr (d. 1880), Geo. Behrend, Gordon Ross (d. 1905), Henry David Behrend, trading as Bahr, Behrend & Ross (dissolved 1898); (6) Geo. Behrend (d. 1903), H. D. Behrend, Gustav Joseph, as Bahr, Behrend & Co., to 1905. Present Principals: H. D. Behrend, G. Joseph, Edward A. Behrend, since 1906. Are the oldest Shipbroking firm in Liverpool. Staff: Over fifty. Branches: Atlantic Chambers, Brazennose Street, Manchester; 6, Forster Square, Bradford; 22, Billiter Street, London E.C. Business: Lines of Steamers (Cargo and Passengers) .to Swedish and Norwegian Ports. Are General Merchants, Bankers' Agents, Steamship, Sailing Ship and Insurance Brokers and Commission Merchants. General Agents and Underwriters in Bradford for the Albingia Assurance Co. of Hamburg. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign (chiefly), Colonial. Telephones: No. 8220 Central, Liverpool (three lines); No. 683 Bradford; No. 6574 Manchester; No. 149 Avenue, London. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Bahr," Liverpool, Bradford, Manchester; " Steamboats, London." Bankers: Bank of England, London and Liverpool; London City and Midland Bank, Ltd., Liverpool, Bradford and Manchester. Mr. H. D. Behrend is Lieut.-Colonel, Lancashire and Cheshire R.G.A. Reserve; Vice Consul for Austria-Hungary; Vice-President • Liverpool Chamber of Commerce; Chairman General Trade Committee and of the Cotton Trade Section of the Chamber. Holds V.D. and Long Service Medal, Emperor of Austria's Jubilee Medal and Diamond Jubilee Cross. Clubs: Racquet, and Exchange (Liverpool); Junior Army and Navy, and Royal Automobile (London); Royal Liverpool Golf (Hoylake).

BAILEY & CO., Wine Merchants, 2, Pall Mall, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established early in the nineteenth century. Present Principals: Henry Southwood Bailey, and Arthur Fitch Kemp. Specialities: Wines, Spirits, and Liqueurs of the finest quality. Connection: World-wide. All over the United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Royal Warrant Holders to H.M. King George V., and H.M. Queen Alexandra. Telephone: No. 547 Regent. Telegraphic Address: "Vidovita, London." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Pall Mall Branch).

BAILEY, ISHERWOOD & CO. See REDMAYNE & ISHERWOOD, Ltd.

BAILEY, SIR W. H., & CO., Ltd., Engineers. Registered Offices: Oldfield Road. Works: Albion Works, Oldfield Road, Salford, Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1839 by John Bailey. Incorporated as a Limited company in 1889. Directors: A. J. Bailey (Chairman and Governing Director), Sir William Bailey, Fred Mandley Bailey. Secretary: W. T. Lawton. One of the largest firms in the trade. Premises: Works cover four acres; Ellesmere Foundry, Patricroft, for heavy ironwork. Specialities: Fusible Plug for preventing Boiler Explosions; Reducing Valves; Air Compressors; Steam Pumps; Sinking Pumps; Testing Machines, &c. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty). Telephone: No. 991 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Beacon, Manchester." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.

BAILEY (WILLIAM) & SON, Manufacturing Chemists, Horseley Fields Works, Wolverhampton. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1828 by William Bailey. Claim to be the oldest-established firm of Brewers' Chemists. Specialities: Brewers' Requisites. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 463 Wolverhampton. Telegraphic Address: " Industria, Wolverhampton." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. (Wolverhampton).

BAILLIERE, TINDALL & COX, Publishers (Medical and Scientific, Dental and Veterinary), 8, Henrietta Street, Covent Garden, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1830. Publishers of many medical and scientific text books, including the University Series of Students' Manuals, The Students' Aids Series, &c.; also of numerous Weeklies, Monthlies and Quarterlies. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: Gerrard No. 4646. Telegraphic Address: " Bailliere, Rand, London."

BAILY (WILLIAM) & SONS, Heating Engineers, 54, Gracechurch Street; Workshops, Talbot Court, E.C. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1.30 p.m. Established in 1779 by Thomas Bally at 2, Little Tower Street, E.C. In 1814 assumed the present title and removed to 30, Cornhill, in 1830 to 71, Gracechurch Street, and in 1910 to the present address. Present Principal: Henry Dignam Bally. Business: Heating all kinds of Buildings, working in Iron, Brass, Copper and Bronze, Manufacturing and Furnishing Ironmongery, Sanitary Engineering, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 5919 Avenue, London. Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Lombard Street), London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Threadneedle Street), London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Lombard Street). Mr. H. D. Baily was Master of the Ironmongers Company in 1903 and is a member of the Corporation of the City of London.

BAIN, A. W., & SONS, Incorporated Insurance Brokers, Post Office House, Leeds; 11, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C. (and at Lloyd's), and 51, Market Street, Bradford. Established in 1872. Present Principals: Albert Wellesley Bain, J.P., A. Ernest Bain, John T. Bain, George C. Liley, and George Turner. Business: Insurance of all classes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Telephones: No. 3900 (five lines) Leeds; No. 8090 City, London; No. 571 Bradford. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses-: "Bain, Leeds "; "Wharinsbro Cannon, London "; " Marine, Bradford." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd., and National Provincial Bank, Ltd. Mr. A. W. Bain was Lord Mayor of Leeds 1912-13. Chairman of the Corporation of Insurance Brokers and Agents.

BAINBRIDGE, A., Ltd., Iron, Steel, Coal and Machinery Merchants, North Yorkshire Ironworks, Hope Street, Thornaby-on-Tees. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1878 by the late Arthur Bainbridge. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1909. Directors: W. A. Bainbridge, F. W. Hutchinson. Premises cover about three acres. Staff: Forty to fifty. Business: Works; Dismantling, Shipbreaking, Dealing in Machinery. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No, 40 (National), Stockton. Telegraphic Address: " A. Bainbridge, Stockton." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

BAINBRIDGE BROTHERS (LEEDS), Ltd., Wholesale Manufacturers of Men's, Youths' and Juvenile Clothing, Park Lane and Grace Street, Leeds. Representatives all over England,Wales, Scotland, and Ireland. Also Manufacturers of all kinds of Fabric Hats and Caps for Home and Export trade. Specialists in Ladies' Fabric Hats and Men's Tweed Hats.

BAINBRIDGE & CO., Ltd., Drapery and Furnishing Warehousemen, 29 to 37, Market Street, and 26 and 28, Bigg Market, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m Established about sixty-nine years ago by the late Emerson Muschamp Bainbridge. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: Thomas Hudson Bainbridge, J.P. (Chairman), George Bargate Bainbridge, J.P., Arthur Emerson Bainbridge, J.P., John Benson Bainbridge, George Aubrey Bainbridge, Herbert Stanley Bainbridge, and Wilfred Hudson Bainbridgo. Premises: Very extensive Warehouses and Offices at Market Street and Bigg Market. Staff: 850. Specialties: House Furnishing in all branches. Removal of Furniture by Road, Rail, or Sea. Under the style of Bainbridge Bros. (Leeds), Ltd. (q.v.), the firm trade in Park Lane, Leeds, as Manufacturing Clothiers, sending representatives all over England, Scotland, and Ireland. Telephones: Nos. 3271, 3272, 3273, 3274, 3275 Nat. Newcastle. Telegraphic Address " Bainbridge, Newcastle-uponTyne."

BAINES & CO., Ltd., Proprietors and Publishers of the " Leeds Mercury," New Station Street, Leeds; and 65, Fleet Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 10 p.m. Established in 1718. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901, taking over the business of Edward Baines & Sons, Ltd., proprietors for over 100 years. Directors: Sir Harold Harmsworth, Bart. (Chairman), James Lumsden, Bertram L. Lima, George Arthur Cliff (General Manager). Connection: Worldwide. Telephone: No. 4494 Leeds (two lines); No. 144 Holborn (London). Telegraphic Addresses: " Mercury, Leeds "; " Leeds Mercury, London." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

BAINES, H. R., & COMPANY, LIMITED, Publishers of " The Graphic," " Tho Daily Graphic," and " The Bystander," " The Graphic " Offices, Tallis House, Whitefriars, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated July 23rd, 1869, under the Companies Act, 1862. " The Graphic " (1869) and " The Daily Graphic " (1890) were promoted by the late William Luson Thomas, R.I. Present Directors: William Carmichael Thomas (Chairman), Israel Davis, Alfred Curling Hunter, Alan Lupton, J. S. Wood. Premises: Extensive Offices and Works in Tallis Street; Fine Art Galleries at 190, Strand, W.C., and 35, Rue Lafayette, Paris. Large number of persons employed in the various departments. Business: Publication of the above-named well-known journals. Telephones: (Tallis Street), Nos. 2860, 2861, 2862, and 2863 Holborn; (190, Strand), No. 2954 Gerrard. Telegraphic Addresses (" The Graphic " and " The Bystander ") " Tallisca,no, Fleet, London"; (" The Dai]y Graphic ") " Digraph, Fleet, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Temple Bar Branch).

BAIRD (HUGH) & SONS, Ltd., Maltsters and Hop Merchants, 29, St. Vincent Place, Glasgow. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1823 by Hugh Baird, Succeeded by two sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Directors: Montagu M. W. Baird (Chairman and Managing Director) (son of Founder), Robert Strathern, W.S., John Kennedy, Robert V. Reid, Franklin M. Baird, J. Russell Wardle. Secretary: Alexander Forsyth. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Branches: Greenwich, Liverpool, Sunderland, Grantham, Newbury (Berle). Business: Maltsters and Hop Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: 7745 (three lines) and 3101 Central, Glasgow; No. 429 New Cross, London; No. 2206 Central, Live' pool; and 73x Newbury. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Hops, Glasgow "; " Malteurs, London "; " Roasters, Liverpool "; " Maltsters, Sunderland "; " Malt, Newbury." Codes: Private, A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Lieber's.

BAIRD & TATLOCK, Scientific Instrument Makers, 45, Renfrew Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Present Principal: J. Douglas Tatlock, manager for Trustees of John Tatlock (d.). Specialities: All Educational and Scientific Apparatus and Instruments. Complete Laboratory Equipment. Connection: United Kingdom and the Colonies. Telephones: No. 747 and 748 Douglas (Glasgow); No. 626 Edinburgh; No. 2781 City, Manchester; No. 1.931 Royal, Liverpool. Telegraphic Addresses: " Technical, Glasgow "; " Science, Edinburgh "; " Science, Manchester "; " Physical, Liverpool."

BAIRD, W. & G., Ltd., General Printers and Newspaper Proprietors, Royal Avenue, Belfast, Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 4 a.m. Established in 1861 by W. and G. Baird; the Ulster Printing Co. about 1850; Baird's Guide in 1852. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: Robert H. H. Baird, J.P. (Managing Director), Major Baird, James McQuitty. Premises: No.. 1 Building erected in 1886, No. 2 in 1898, No. 3 in 1908. Staff: Averages 680. Branches: Offices, 54A, Fleet Street, E.C., and 10, Parson's Green, London, S.W.; Londonderry, Enniskillen, Dundalk, Newry, Ballymena, Lame. Business: General Printers and Newspaper Proprietors. " Belfast Evening Telegraph," 1870, " Ireland's Saturday Night," 1894, " Belfast Weekly Telegraph," 1870, " Irish Daily Telegraph," " Ballymena Weekly Telegraph," 1877, " Larne Times," 1889, " Irish Post," 1909. Telephones: Nos. 1951 (four lines) Belfast. Telegraphic Addresses: " Baird, Belfast "; " Maquitty, London "; " Unattached, Fleet, London." Bankers: Provincial Bank of Ireland, Ltd. Clubs: Constitutional, Press (London), Donegall and Prince of Wales Masonic.

BAIRD-TAYLOR BROS., Wholesale and Export Scotch Whisky Merchants, 68, Bath Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1897 by James Baird-Taylor and William Baird-Taylor. Specialities: High-class Scotch Whiskies; also deal in Jamaica Rum. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: Douglas 2160 (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Tamarind, Glasgow." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: The Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Glasgow).

BAIRSTOW, T. & M., Worsted Spinners and Manufacturers, Sutton Mills, Crosshills, Keighley; 6, Commercial Street, Canal Road, Bradford; 16, Watling Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1838 by Thomas Bairstow and Matthew Bairstow. Continued by (1) Matthew Bairstow and John Bairstow Spencer; (2) Matthew Bairstow, James. Bairstow and John Bairstow Spencer; (3) James Bairstow and John Bairstow Spencer. Present Principal: James Bairstow. Premises: Cover about twelve acres. Staff: 750 to 800. Specialities: Worsted Coatings and Costume Cloths. Connection: Home, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: Nos. 57 and 58 Crosshills. Telegraphic Address: " Bairstow, Crosshills." Bankers: Bradford District Bank, Ltd. Mr. James Bairstow is Chairman of the Keighley Rural District Council and a Director of the Bradford District Bank, Ltd.

BAISS BROS. & STEVENSON, Ltd., Manufacturing Chemists and Wholesale Druggists, 174, 175, 176, Grange Road, Bermondsey, London. Established prior to 1833 by ancestors of the present principals. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: Arnold Baiss, Sydney S. Baiss, Henry E. Stevenson, F.C.S., and W. A. Baiss, the three first-named being the Managing Directors. Premises: General Offices and Works at Bermondsey, S.E. Staff: About 150 employees. Specialities: Fine Chemicals; also Cod Liver Oil Emulsion, and all Pharmaceutical Preparations. They are also importers of many Raw Drugs, Essential Oils, &c. Connection: United Kingdom (wholesale only); export to every part of the world; supply English and Foreign Governments, Public Institutions, &c. Telephones: (Offices) No. 2672 Central; (Works) 3664 Central. Cable Address: " Ipecac, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions).

BAKER, CHAS., & CO.'S STORES, Ltd., Manufacturers of Gentlemen's and Boys' Clothing, &c. Head Depot: 271, 272, 273, 274, High Holborn, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; at Branches, generally 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Established in 1877 by Charles Baker. Joseph S. Baker was admitted a partner in 1878. Incorporated in 1889. The present Board of Directors is as follows:— G. Edgar Baker, Clifford P. Baker, E. W. Morrish, J. F. Attridge, and Joseph S. Baker (Chairman and Managing Director). Secretary, W. R. Ferguson. Premises: The Head Depot in High Holborn occupies a large area, and comprises retail premises, warehouses, cuttingrooms, &c. Branches: (City), Nos. 41 and 43, Ludgate Hill, E.C.; (West End), Nos. 137, 138, 139, and 140, Tottenham Court Road, W.; No. 256, Edgware Road, W.; and Nos. 27, 29, 31, and 33, King Street, Hammersmith, W.; (Northern), Nos. 5, 7, and 9, Seven Sisters Road, Holloway, N., and Whitgift House, 38 and 40, North End, Croydon. Specialities: The Manufacture of Gentlemen's and Boys' Clothing, special attention being given to Men's Tailoring at moderate prices, in which a large business is done. School Outfits also receive careful consideration, and have always been a prominent feature. Messrs. Chas. Baker's business was established with the special purpose of producing cheap clothing of good quality for the people; and they were one of the first firms to develop this trade upon an extensive scale. Connection: United King dom; also Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: (Head Depot) No. 6238 Holborn. Telegraphic Address: " Bakers, Merchants, London." Bankers: Barclay & Co. There are cricket clubs, a benefit society, libraries, &c., for the employees of the Company.

BAKER & CROCKETT, LIMITED, Hardware Merchants, 1, Dudley Road, Wolverhampton. London Office: 23, Ely Place, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.45 to 5.30 Saturdays, 8.45 to 1 p.m. Established in 1843 by Joseph Baker. Joined by William Crockett (d. 1875) in 1844. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Directors: Richard Gibson, Thos. Jas. Tonks (Managing Directors), C. H. Fullwood , C. T. Steen. Acquired the business of Savage, Son and Tottey, 1865; T. P. & G. Lamb & Co., 1898; Saml. Walker & Co., 1900; J. Osborne & Sons, 1907; Walton Bros. & Co., 1909. Premises: Consist of large Warehouse and Offices at 1, Dudley Road. Works in Lord Street. Business: Hardware Merchants, Brass Founders, and Lock Manufacturers. Patent: "Wulf rung" Plate Lock. Connection: United Kingdom, Spain, Malta, Canary Islands, India, Australia, West Coast of Africa, South America. Telephones: No. 334 (Offices), No. 381 (Works), Wolverhampton. Telegraphic Address: " Hinges, Wolverhampton." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. Mr. R. Gibson is a member of the Wolverhampton Town Council.

BAKER, F. P., & CO., Ltd., Army, East Indian, and General Agents, Merchants, and Government Contractors, Bombay House, Bond Court, Walbrook, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1865 by Frederick Parker Baker. Managing Director: Major L. H. Vidal. One of the oldest firms of East India Agents in London. Originally started in Bond Court. Business: General Shipping, Agency and Supply; Army and East Indian Agents, &c. Connection India, Colonies, United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 13695 Central. Cable Address: " Banshee, London," Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.; National Bank of India.

BAKER (JOSEPH) & SONS, Ltd., Engineers. Engineering Works: Willesden Junction, N.W. City Address: 58, City Road, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 7.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in Canada in 1870, and in London in 1876. The founder was Joseph Baker (senior) deceased. Incorporated July 2nd, 1902; Joseph Allen Baker, J. P., M.P. (Chairman), William King Baker, M.C.C., George Samuel Baker, M.I.M.E., Philip Barton Baker, Joseph Schaller, Allan Richard Baker, and Edmund Harry Gilpin (Directors). Works Manager: George Samuel Baker. Specialities: Biscuit Machinery and Ovens, Bread and Cake Machinery and Ovens, Chocolate and Cocoa Machinery, Confectionery Machinery, Specialities in Food Preparing Machines, Grinding, Sifting, and Mixing Machinery, Refuse Destructors, Refrigerating Machinery, Suction Gas Plants, &c. The works at Willesden Junction cover three acres of ground. Branches: Brantford, Canada, and Mel bourne, Victoria. Connection: All over the world. The Company have gained many highest awards, including fifty Grands Prix and Gold Medals; the highest award, Paris, 1900; Grand Prize, St. Louis, 1904; London, 1908; London, 1910. Several hundred patents have been taken out. Telephone: No. 1203 Willesden. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Bakers, London."

BAKER & STARTIN, Mica and Mineral Ore Brokers, 19, St. Dunstan Hill, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1870 by Richard Baker. Continued in 1897 by Howard Startin. Present Principals: Howard Startin and R. E. Baker. Pioneers in the Mica Trade. Staff: Twelve. Specialities: Mica, Manganese, Mineral Ores and Talc. Telephone: No. 4130 Avenue (two lines). Telegraphic Address: Startin, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Edition), A 1 and Lieber's. Bankers: London and South Western Bank, Ltd.

BAKER STREET BAZAAR (W. & E. Boulnois, Limited), Carriage and Motor Repository, Depository for Storage of Furniture, &c., Saddlery and Harness Manufactory, Baker Street, and King Street, Portman Square, London, W. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1822 by William Boulnois. It is a matter of interest connected with the history of the Baker Street Bazaar that it was formerly the Barracks of the Life Guards, and from 1840 to 1861 the Smithfield Club Cattle Show was held in it. Specialities: The Baker Street Bazaar has probably the largest exhibition of Carriages and Motors for Sale in the Kingdom. There are hundreds on view in the extensive showrooms, which cover two acres on the principal floor. The department for the Warehousing and Removal of Furniture also forms an important branch -of the business, the Store Warehouses being of great extent. Telephone: No. 2162 Paddington. Telegraphic Address: " Proprietors, London." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. (Sir Samuel Scott, Bart., & Co. Branch).

BAKERS, Nurserymen and Seedsmen, Codsall, Wolverhampton. Hours of Business: Nurseries, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 1 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1903 by T. G. Baker, J.P. Present Principal: James S. Baker. Premises: The Nurseries cover 105 acres, devoted to the culture of all kinds of Hardy Plants, Shrubs, Vegetable and Flower Seed trials; also large Floral establishment in Wolverhampton. Staff: 150. Specialities: Raisers of many Novelties in Horticulture, Sweet Peas, Vegetables, and Hardy Plants. Connection: United Kingdom, extensive clientele; also considerable trade with the Colonies and Foreign Countries. Telephones: No. 4Q4 Wolverhampton; No. 15 Codsall. Telegraphic Address: " Bakers, Codsall." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

BALCKE & CO., Ltd., Engineers, Broadway Court, Broadway, Westminster, London, S.W. Hours of Business: April to September, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; October to March, 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, Close at 1 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Directors: Curt Schmidt (Managing Director), Duncan Bennett, Hans Balcke. Inventors of Cooling Towers. Staff: About 100. Branches: Leeds, Sandmead Street Lane, Rounday; Cardiff, 11, Windsor Place; Glasgow, 68, Gordon Street. Works: 28, Broughton Street, Queen's Road, Battersea, S.W. Specialities: Water Cooling Towers, Condensing Plants, Centrifugal Pumps, Oil Separators, Air Pumps, Valves, Steam Traps and Wet and Dry Air Filters. Patents: Numerous. Awards: At many exhibitions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1387 Victoria, London. Telegraphic Address: " Gegenstrom, London." Codes: A B C, Lieber's. Bankers London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (22, Victoria Street, Westminster, S.W.).

BALDWIN, J. & J., & PARTNERS, Ltd., Woollen and Worsted Yarn Spinners, Halifax; also Mills at Holmfirth, Leicester, Melton, and Wakefield. Established in 1785. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: J. H. L. Baldwin (Chairman), W. P. Viccars (Vice-Chairman), P. G. Baldwin, E. H. Burtt, J. F. Clay, S. C. Hobson, A. C. Watos, F. H. Wright. The following businesses have been acquired:— R. H. Barker & Co., Ltd., Wakefield; John Whitmore & Co., Leicester; Foster & Clay, Sowerby Bridge; Wood & Burtt, Holmfirth; T. W. Rust & Co., Ltd., of Melton Mowbray. Staff: about 1200. Speciality: Knitting Wools. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1365 Halifax. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Beehive, Halifax." Codes; Western Union and A B C. Bankers: West Yorkshire Bank.

BALDWINS, Ltd., Iron Masters and Colliery Proprietors. Registered and Head Office: 45, Wind Street, Swansea. City Office: 5, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Established under present title in 1902 to carry on as an amalgamated Company the following large and successful undertakings in the iron, coal, and allied trades: Wright, Butler & Co., Ltd., E. P. & W. Baldwin, Ltd., Alfred Baldwin & Co., Ltd., Blackwall Galvanised Iron Co., Ltd., and the Bryn Navigation Colliery Co., Ltd. Directors: Col. John Roper Wright (Chairman), Stanley Baldwin, M.P. (Vice-Chairman), Roger Beck, Samuel Lammas Dore, Aubrey Butler, Col. William C. Wright, J. C. Davies, and Col. D. E. Williams. The Company's works are at Gowerton, Landore, and Swansea, in South Wales; Panteg and Pontypool, in Monmouthshire; at Wilden, Swindon, Stourvale and Brierley Hill in the Midlands; and Blackwall, London, E. Staff: About 6,000 persons in all. Specialities: Round, Square, and Hoop Iron; Bar, Angle and Tee Steel; Black and Galvanised Sheets, Tinned Sheets, Tinplates, &c. The following noted brands are important features of the Company's output:— In Galvanised Sheets: The " Phoenix " (Corrugated) and " Phoenix" (Plain); also " Phoenix " Best, plain Sheets for Seaming and Working-up; and the " Lion and Crown " Best Dead Flat Galvanised Sheets for high-class work requiring special finish and quality. In Black Sheets: The " Vale," " Shield," and " Lion and Crown," all of highest possible quality, " dead flat," and suitable for Trunks, Pipes, and all special work; the " Plough," a cheaper brand for ordinary. purposes. In Tinned Sheets: The " Baldwin-Wilden," " Cookley K.," and " Lion and Crown," made in best coke finish; also in heavily-coated charcoal finish for Dairy work, Gas Meters, &c. In Tinplates: The " Cookley K.," " Cookley C.S.S.," or " Wilden," " Wolverley," " Unicorn," " Cookley Coke," and " Stour; " and for Welsh Tinplates, " Kemys," " Kama," " Koblah," ' Kaolin," " Karoo," " King's Dock, Swansea," and " Galles," all of superior finish and quality, for highclass work. The Company has its own Collieries in Wales, Blast Furnaces and Steel. Works, and numerous Manufactories where steel bars are converted into the above-mentioned classes of sheets. Is one of the largest producers of Galvanised Sheets, and is widely known for the same at home and abroad. Connection: United Kingdom and all Foreign and Colonial Markets, notably Canada, South Africa, Australia. Telephone: No. 908 Central, Swansea. Telegraphic Address: " Baldwins, Swansea."

BALFOUR, BEATTY & CO., Ltd., Electrical Engineers, Contractors and Managers of Electrical Undertakings, 66, Queen Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1909. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: George Balfour, A. H. Beatty, and William Shearer. Secretary: William McGill. Staff: Office, about fifty. Large amount of labour during contracts. Branch: 63, Castle Street, Edinburgh. Business: Electrical Engineers, Contractors and • Managers of Electrical Undertakings. Connection United Kingdom (chiefly), Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 503 City (two lines). Telegraphic Addresses: " Ruoflab, Cannon, London," and " Ruoflab, Edinburgh." Codes: Western Union, A B C, Lieber's, Hartfisld's New Wall Street, Bentley's. Bankers: Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co. (67, Lombard Street), Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Scotland).

BALL (JAMES) & CO., Manufacturers of Gold and Silver Lace, &c. Hatton Wall, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1795. Specialities: Gold and Silver Lace for Military, Naval, and Diplomatic Uniforms; Gold and Silver Cords and Braids; Silk and Mohair Braids, &c. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonies. Contractors to the Home and Indian Governments. Telephone: No. 598 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Braidmaker, London."

BALLANTYNE, HANSON & CO., Book and Commercial Printers, Bookbinders, Paul's Work, Causewayside, Edinburgh. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1796 by James Ballantyne. Joined by (1) Sir Walter Scott; (2) John Hughes; (3) John Alexander Ballantyne; (4) James Cowan; (5) J. D. Nichol; (6) Edward Hanson, P. Logie Pirie, R. W. Hanson, Charles E 2 McCall; (7) E. T. Hanson. Present Principals: R. W. Hanson and E. T. Hanson. One of the oldest firms in the trade, having an historic connection with Sir Walter Scdtt, and the printing of the Waverley Works. Premises: Very extensive works, covering about two acres. Equipped with all up-to-date appliances. Staff: Over 600. Staff Clubs: Golf, Cricket, Rambling, Rifle, Bowling, &c. Specialities: Book, Law and Commercial Printing. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 641 Edinburgh. Telegraphic Address: " Ballantyne Press, Edinburgh."

BALM, HILL & SONS, Ltd., Cotton and Silk Lace, and Shetland Shawl Manufacturers, 63, Mansfield Road, Nottingham. Established about 1830 by Joseph Balm and Thos. Hill; joined by Henry Hill, Frederick Hill, and Edgar Hill (sons of Thos. Hill), trading as Balm, Hill & Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Managing Directors: Henry Hill (Chairman), Frederick Hill, Edgar Herbert Hill. Probably the earliest surviving firm of Warp Lace Manufacturers. Claim to be the Inventors, Patentees, and Originators of the Machine-made Shetland Shawl Trade (1862). Premises: Extensive building conveniently situated near the Great Central and Great Northern Railways. Staff Club Holiday. Specialities: Warp Lace Machine Laces, Edgings, Tattings, and Fabrics; Machine-made Shetland Shawls, Falls, and Scarfs; Incandescent Gas Mantle Fabrics. Inventions and Patents: Machine-made Shetland Fabrics and its Machinery; Warp Lace Machine; Special Fabrics for Incandescent Gas Mantles; Jacquard for Embroidery. Machine now worked by the Nottingham Embroidery Co., Ltd., 63, Mansfield Road, an allied business. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 185 (Warehouse); No. 1479 (Factory), Nottingham. Telegraphic Address: " Balm, Nottingham." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: Nottingham and Notts Banking Co., Ltd.

BALMFORTH, E. B., Tanner, Currier and Leather Boot-lace Manufacturer, 4, Meanwood Road, Leeds. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Offices, 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1880 by the late E. B. Balmforth. Present Principals: Thomas Balmforth and William T. Balmforth. Premises: Large central works. Staff: Total, about eighty-five. 'Specialities Leather Bootlaces. Claimed to be clean, strong and durable. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (War Office, R.A. Clothing Department). Telephone: No. 730 Central, Leeds. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Laces, Leeds." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd., North Street, Leeds.

BALSTONE, COOKE & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Velvets, Velveteens, Cords, Moleskins, &c., Temple Buildings, Altrincham Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1857 by H. K. Balstone. He continued the business carried on for thirty years by Charles Townend, who in his turn succeeded the original founders dating back to about 1800. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895, continued under same management. Agencies in London, Glasgow, Belfast, Dublin, &c.; also in Paris, Lyons, Belgium, Holland, Italy, &c. Specialities: The manufacture of Velvets, Fustians, and Cotton Pile Goods generally. Award: Diplome d'Honneur, Turin, 1911. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, Continent of Europe, North America, and through foreign export merchants to South America, Asia, Africa, &c. Telephones: Nos. 1439 and 2942 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address " Balstone, Manchester." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (79, King Street, Manchester).

BAMBERGER, LOUIS, Timber Importer, 2, Broad Street Buildings, Liverpool Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1874 by Louis Bamberger, the present principal. Staff: About thirty. Branch: Canada Wharf, Bristol (Taylor & Low Brothers). Business: Importation of Timber. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 5425 London Wall (three lines); No. 4100 Bristol (two lines). Telegraphic Addresses: "Bellywood, London "; " Taylor, Bristol." Bankers: Parrs Bank, Ltd., Bartholomew Lane, London, E.C., Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd., Bristol.

BAMFORD BROTHERS, Provision Merchants and Importers of Colonial Dairy Produce, 10, Mathew Street, Liverpool, and 6, Boro' High Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1845 by Edwin Bamford and Charles Bamford. Present Principals: Alfred C. Bamford and Henry S. Bamford. Specialities: Provisions and Colonial Dairy products. Connection: United Kingdom, America and the Colonies. Telephone: No. 8615 Bank, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Bamford Brothers, Liverpool "; " Bamfords, London."

BAMFORTH & CO., Fine Art Publishers and Lantern Slide Manufacturers, Holmfirth, Yorkshire. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1871 by James Bamforth. Present Principals: Edwin Bamforth, Harry Bamforth, Frank Bamforth. Claim to be the largest firm of Lantern Slide Manufacturers in the world. Premises: Head Office and Works, with total area of floor space 10,000 feet, with New Studios and Painting Rooms, splendidly lighted and arranged at Holmfirth, Yorkshire. Staff: Sixty-six. Branches: London, Chancery Lane Chambers, 31-33, High Holborn, W.C. New York, 353, Broadway; Chicago, Toronto. Specialities: Originators of " Life Model " Post Cards. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4x Holmfirth. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Bamforth, Holmfirth." Code.: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd. (Holmfirth).

BAMLETT, A. C. (EXORS. OF), Ltd., Manufacturers of Agricultural Implements, Thirsk, Yorks., and 8, Place Voltaire, Paris. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1860 by A. C. Bamlett. Present Principals: Executors of A. C. Bamlett (d.). The firm have a reputation of over fifty years. Premises: Cover four acres, equipped with all modern appliances. Staff: 200. Speciality: Mowing Machines. Claim that the founder was the original inventor, patentee and manufacturer of Mowing Machines. Patents: Numerous. Awards: First Awards, Royal Agricultural Society of England, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Royal Warrant: Special appointment to H.M. The King, held appointments to His late Majesty King Edward and to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephone: No. 28 Thirsk. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Bamlett, Thirsk." The late Mr. Bamlett was a County and District Councillor, member of the Civil and Mechanical Institutes of Engineers, and of the Iron and Steel Institute.

BANCROFT, W., & CO., Lace Manufacturers, Aberdeen Street, Nottingham. Hours of Business 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Established in 1886 by George W. Bancroft. Staff; About 650. Specialities: Ladies' Blouses, Frilling, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial, Telephone: Nos. 2281 and 2282 (National), Nottingham. Telegraphic Address: " Aprons, Nottingham." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd., Hockley, Nottingham.

BAND, H., & CO., Manufacturers of all kinds of Vellum and Parchment, Kelmscott House, 15, Somerset Road. Works: Plough Yard, Brentford, London, W. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established thirty years ago by H. Band. Present Principals: H. Band, S. Brookman and T. Williams. Premises: Works in Plough Yard, leading from the High Street to the Canal side, comprising the necessary departments: Warehouse, Drying Sheds and Pits for Steeping the Skins. Staff: Thirty. Specialities: Vellums, Kelmscott and Roman for Printing de luxe Editions (used by the late William Morris); Artists' Vellum for Writing and Illuminating. Make a special feature of Oxford and dark Classic covering Vellums. Binding Vellums in all Colours. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial and United States. Contractors to H.M. Government (Stationery, India Office). Large Legal ' clientele. Telephone: No. 437 Chiswick. Telegraphic Address: " Band, Brentford." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd., Brentford.

BANK OF AFRICA, Ltd. Absorbed by the NATIONAL BANK OF SOUTH AFRICA, Ltd.

BANK OF AUSTRALASIA. Head Office: 4, Threadneedle Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1835, and incorporated by Royal Charter. Court of Directors: The Right Hon. Lord Aldenham, William R. Arbuthnot. Chas. E. Barnett, the Hon. Sir Charles W. Fremantle, K.C.B., Charles Gipps Hamilton, the Right Hon. Lord George F. Hamilton, the Right Hon. the Earl of Lichfield, the Right Hon. Alfred Lyttelton, K.C. M.P., Sir E. Montague Nelson, K.C.M.G., Leslie Sanderson, the Right Hon. Sir Andrew R. Scoble, K.C.S.I., K.C., Arthur Whitworth. General Manager: Richard Walter Jeans. Assistant Manager: John Laird. Branches: The Bank has branches in all the Australian States and New Zealand (over 200 establishments), and numerous agents and correspondents in England, Scotland, Ireland, Europe, Africa, India, China, Japan, Mauritius, Java, and North and South America. Business: All usual banking business is transacted, and the operations of the Bank extend to every part of the world. Paid-up Capital: £1,600,000. Reserve Fund: £1,960,000. Reserve Liability: (of the Proprietors under the Charter), £1,600,000. Telephone: No. 2977 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Tralas, Stock, London."

BANK OF BRITISH NORTH AMERICA (THE). Head Office: 5, Gracechurch Street, London, E.C.; General Manager's Office, Montreal, Canada. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1836. Incorporated by Royal Charter in 1840. Directors: F. R. S. Balfour, J. H. Brodie, J. H. Mayne Campbell, .E. A. Hoare, Henry J. B. Kendall, Frederic Lubbock, C. W. Tomkinson, G. D. Whatman. Secretary: Jackson Dodds. London Office Manager; W. S. Goldby. Has ninety-five branches and sub-branches, and transacts all descriptions of banking business. Telephone: No. 5518 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Toboggan, Grace, London."

BANK OF BRITISH WEST AFRICA, Ltd. Head Office: 17-18, Leadenhall Street, E. C. Liverpool Office: 14, Castle Street, Liverpool. Hamburg Office: " Ness," Hamburg. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Established in 1894. Incorporated as a Limited Company in the same year. Directors: Right Hon. Viscount Milner, G.C.B., (Chairman), Henry Coke, C. B. Edgar, D.L., J.P., D. Q. Henriques, George Miller, W. F. Moore, G. W. Neville, Sir Owen Philipps, K.C.M.G., O. Harrison Williams, Mazzini Stuart, J.P. Business: General Banking. Bankers to the Governments of several West African Colonies and to the Republic of Liberia. Telephone: No. 3036 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Arreglo, London." Bankers: Bank of England and Parr's Bank, Ltd. (London and Liverpool); London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (London).

BANK OF LIVERPOOL, Ltd. Head Office: Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 3 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established in 1831. Acquired in 1883 the business of Arthur Heywood, Sons & Co.; in 1888 the business -of the Liverpool Commercial Banking Co., Ltd.; in 1893 the business of Wakefield, Crewdson & Co.; in 1906 the Craven Bank, Ltd.; and in 1911 the business of the Carlisle and Cumberland Bank, Ltd. Directors: J. P. Reynolds (Chairman), F. W. Chance, A. T. Neilson (Deputy Chairmen), Chas. Booth, Oswald Dobell, A. Earle, Jas. E. Haggas, E. Paul, J. Rankin, Sir Helenus R. Robertson, W. Peart Robinson, H. P. Senhouse, J. A. Slingsby, I. H. Storey, and Sir W. H. Tate, Bart. General Manager: Jas. H. Simpson. Assistant General Manager: R. L. MoGlashen. Head Office Manager: J. J. Ritchie. District General Manager: (Northern District), F. W. Crewdson. Staff: 611. Branches (including Agencies): 139. Business: General Banking. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 7631 Liverpool (eight lines). Telegraphic Address: "Argosy, Liverpool." Numerous Treasurerships of Public Bodies are held by the General Manager and Branch Managers.

BANK OF MONTREAL. Head Office: Montreal. London Offices: 47, Threadneedle Street, E.C., and 9, Waterloo Place, Pall Mall, S.W. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1817. Largest Banking Corporation in the Dominion of Canada. Directors: The Rt. Hon. Lord Strathcona and Mount Royal, G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O. (Hon. President), R. B. Angus (President), H. V. Meredith (Vice-President), E. B. Greenshields, Sir William Macdonald, Hon. Robt. Mackay, Sir Thomas Shaughnessy, K.C.V.O., David Morrice, C. R. Hosmer, A. Baumgarten, C. B. Gordon, H. R. Drummond, D. Forbes Angus. General Manager: H. V. Meredith (Montreal). London Manager: Sir Frederick Williams-Taylor. Branches: In the Dominion of Canada, 142 (besides several sub - branches in the larger cities); in Newfoundland, three; in the United States, three, viz., New York, Chicago, Spokane (State of Washington), and City of Mexico. Also Correspondents at Boston (Merchants' National Bank), Buffalo (The Marine National Bank), New Orleans (Whitney Central National Bank), Philadelphia (First National Bank), San Francisco (First National Bank of San Francisco). Business: General Banking. The Bank acts as Financial Agent of the Government of the Dominion of Canada. Funds: Capital (Paid-up), $16,000,000; Reserve Fund, $16,000,000; Undivided Profits, $892,461. Telephone: No. 5960 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Hochelaga,, Stock, London." Cable Address: " Hochelaga, London." London Bankers: Bank of England; London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.; National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.; Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

BANK OF NEW ZEALAND. Head Office: Wellington, N.Z..; London Office: 1, Queen Victoria Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Incorporated by Act of General Assembly of New Zealand, July 29th, 1861. London Chairman: Frederic Lubbock. London Directors: W. T. Holmes, Alex. Michie. London Manager: Alexander Kay. Branches: In New Zealand, 194; in Australia, 2; in Fiji, 2. Business: General Banking. Bankers to the New Zealand Government. Capital: Four per cent. Guaranteed Stock, £1,000,000; 75,000 Preference Shares of £6 13s. 4d. issued to New Zealand Government, £500,000; 150,000 Ordinary Shares of £6 138. 4d., £1,000,000, of which £3 Os. 8d. per share is uncalled. Telephone: No. 5038 Bank. Telegraphic Address: " Logocracy, Cannon, London."

BANK TOP MILL CO. (BLACKBURN), Ltd., Cotton Manufacturers, Bank Top Mill, Dixon Street, Blackburn. Hours of Busi- ness: Mill, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Office, 8 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: Peter Fielding, Fred Margerison (Sales man), George Margerison (Chairman). Premises: Bank Top Mill, Dixon' Street, Blackburn, and Salisbury Mill, Ewood, Blackburn. Staff: 550 to 600. Specialities: Fine and Coarse Grey and Coloured Dhooties, Repps, Stripes, Mulls, Jac conotts, Chudders, Shirtings, &c. Connection: India (chiefly), through Manchester Merchants. Telephone: No. 223 Black burn. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Blackburn).

BANK OF VICTORIA, Ltd. (THE). Head Office: Collins Street, Melbourne. London Office: 10, King William Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1852. Directors: Hon. Edward Miller, M.L.C. (Chairman), Lionel F. Miller, Henry Ellis Lowe, Colonel James Burston (Vice-Chairman), W. J. T. Clarke. London Manager: Alfred Edwin Wallis. General Manager: James D. Law (Melbourne). Capital paid up, £1,478,010; Reserve Fund, £325,000. Branches: Ninety-eight in Victoria. Every description of Banking business transacted. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 429 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Gladsome, Cannon, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

BANKS & CO., Black Lead Pencil and Penholder Manufacturers, Greta Pencil Works, Keswick, Cumberland. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1832 by Messrs. Banks. Continued by (1) Gibson; (2) Birkbeck. Present Principals: Birkbeck & Sons. Banks & Co. had the honour of a visit from King Edward, when Prince of Wales, during his tour through the Lake District, and also from the Duke De Nemours (France) and suite (ex-Royal Family, France). Staff: Twenty experts in Pencilmaking. Speciality: Black Lead. Pencils (Graphite). Connection: United Kingdom. Bankers: Liverpool and Kendal Banking Co., Ltd. (Keswick).

BANKS (J. MILLWARD) & CO., Manufacturing Jewellers and Silversmiths, 6, Northampton Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1825 by J. P. Welch, afterwards known as Welch & Banks. Present Principal: F. Millward Banks. Specialities: Brooches, Pendants, Earrings, Necklets, &c., Smokers Requisites in Gold and Silver, Spoons, Small Silverware, &c. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Telephone: No. 15 Jewellers, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Brilliants, Birmingham." Banker s: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

BANKS & SONS, Waterproof Specialists, Tent Contractors, Rope and Twine Makers. Head Office: Elephant Works, Full Street, Derby; Rope and Twine Works, Canal Side; Tarpaulin and Tent Works, Full Street. Sales Establishment: 9 and 10, Tenant Street, Derby. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1870 by Thos. Banks. Present Principal: Henry Banks. Premises: Cover nearly two acres. Staff: Fifty, increasing to seventy during the busy season. Specialities: Waterproof Goods, Ropes and Twine, Tarpaulin and Tents. Telephones: Nos. 992 and 993 (two -lines). Telegraphic Address: " Elephant, Derby." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

BANNER SANITATION CO., Engineers, 24, Craven Street, Charing Cross, London", W.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1874 by E. G. Banner, C.E. (d.). Present Principals: William Edwards, A.R.San.Inst., Consulting Engineer, and George Wickham, Consulting Engineer and Sewage Disposal Expert. Business: Consulting Sanitary Engineers; Specialists in House Drainage and Sewage Disposal; Makers of every kind of Drain Testing appliance. Awards: Gold Medal, Society of Arts, for the best sanitated house in London. Gold and other Medals for Sanitary Appliances. Telephone: No. 4818 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Banners, London."

BANNERMAN (HENRY) & SONS, Ltd., Merchants and General Manchester Warehousemen, Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers, 33, York Street, Manchester, 13, Bread Street, Cheapside, London, E.C., 67, Carlton House, High Street, Birmingham; Swan Court, Long Row, Nottingham. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Business: Merchants and General Manchester Warehousemen, Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers. Telephones: Nos. 416, 4596, 4616, and 416T City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Bannerman, Manchester."

BANNERMAN MILLS CO., Ltd., (THE), Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers, 33, York Street, Manchester, and Brunswick Mill, Bradford Road, Ancoats; North End, and River Meadow Mills, Stalybridge; Old Hall Mill, Dukinfield. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Business: Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers. Telephones: Nos. 61 and 1209 Central, Brunswick Mill, No. 103 Stalybridge; No. 6 Ashton-under-Lyne, Dukinfield.

BANNERMAN, R. P., & SON, Printers' and Typefounders' Engineers and Machinists, and Printers' Furnishers, Northampton Works, Ringslade Road, Wood Green, London, N. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1885 by R. P. Bannerman. Premises: Consist of three departments, occupying about 8,084 sq. feet of floor space. 'Specialities: All Typefounders' Requisites, such as Typecasting Machines, Moulds, Matrices, Gauges, &c.; also the Repairing of Printing Machinery. Complete Printers' Furnishers. Inventors and Patentees of Patent Finished Type Mould 9159 of 1912; by using same the type is cast finished, ready for the case; Dwell Motion, Pat. No. 7684 of 7/4/'08, securing a dwell at will of one, two, or five revolutions; Quotation Action, Pat. No. 12134 of 25/5/'07, easiest ball joint delivery of machine cast quotations; Automatic Core Delivery for large type, Pat. No. 22866 of 27/10/'08, the only delivery of the kind in the trade, perfect action. The " Rigid " Case Rack, Pat. 7736, 1910. The only Printers' Case Rack securing absolute safety and rigidity. Made throughout in steel and iron. Every stay acts as a lock. Fireproof and dustproof. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 667 Palmers Green. Telegraphic Address: " Typograaf, Wood, London." Code: A B C. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

BANNISTER (HENRY) & CO., Yacht Rope Manufacturers, Cowes, Isle of Wight. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1820 by Henry Bannister. Present Principals: Rosa A. Warder, Arthur H. Morgan, William E. Hillyer, and Amy Bedoura (since 1897). Premises: Cover 1000 feet in length with a frontage of 116 feet. Staff: Thirty-five. Specialities: Yacht Rope of the highest quality a special feature, and all accessories. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrant: Special appointment to H.M. The King. Telephone: No. 25 Cowes. Telegraphic Address: " Bannister, Cowes." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

BARBER, I. & J., Cutlery Manufacturers, Era Works, Wheeldon Street, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., Office; Factory varies. Established in 1804 by Isaac Barber and James Barber, for many years controlled by James Barber and afterwards by his son. Present Proprietors: Thos. Ellin & Co., Ltd., Sylvester Works, Sheffield; also own and work the businesses of James Barlow & Sons, G. Hides & Sons, John Shaw & Sons, and others. Specialities: Spring Knives, Table Cutlery, Razors, Scissors, Canteen and Cased Goods of every description. Trade Marks: " Era," " Excelsior," " Echo," " Secure," " Koh-i-Noor," " James Barber, Sheffield." Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2593 Sheffield. Telegraphic Address: " Excelsior, Sheffield." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

BARBOUR, R., Importer of Cottonseed, Cake and Meal, Flour, Grain, &c., 15, Victoria Street, Belfast, and 36, Mark Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1905 by R. Barbour, the present principal. Specialities: Cotton Seed Cake and Meal. Connection: United Kingdom and the Continent. Telephone: No. 1423 Belfast; No. 5193 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Midge, Belfast "; " Nitrocult, Fen, London." Codes: Baltimore (2nd and 3rd Editions), Riverside and Private. Bankers: Ulster Bank, Ltd.

BARBOUR (WILLIAM) & SONS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Linen Threads, Shoe Threads, Twines, and Nets, Hilden, Lisburn, co. Antrim, Ireland. Hours of Business: Factory, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 11.30 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1784 by John Barbour (d. 1823), at Plantation, Lisburn. Business removed by his son William Barbour (d. 1875) to Hilden. in 1823, and continued by him and his sons and their descendants. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1883. Amalgamated with the Linen Thread Co., Ltd., in 1898. Directors: Frank Barbour, J. Milne Barbour, D.L., J.P. (Managing Director and Chairman of the Linen Thread Co., Ltd. ), Harold A. M. Barbour, C.C., W. B. Ardill, Malcolm Gordon (Manager, William Barbour and Sons, Ltd.), Sir James Knox. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Cover about forty-five acres. Finely erected buildings, equipped with up-todate appliances; also extensive Mills in Paterson, New Jersey. Factory in Ottensen, Germany, and Mill at Dunmurry. Hands employed: 5,000. Manufacture: Linen Thread for Sole Sewing, especially for Welt Lockstitch and McKay Machines. Linen Threads for Tailors, Boot and Shoe Makers; Wax Machine Threads; also for Carpet Sewing, Bookbinders, Jacquard Looms and General Domestic Use. Fancy Linen Thread for Lacemaking, &c. Upholsterers' Twines in all sizes, Seaming and Roping Twines, Drug, Medical and Shop Twines in great variety. Thread and Twine for Netting and Fishing Lines. Nets of every description, Yarns and Twists of all kinds for Weaving, Plaiting, &c. Patents and Inventions: Numerous, connected with their Machinery, &c. Trade-mark: An Open Hand and word " Flax." Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 223 and 224 Malone; No. 5 Lisburn. Telegraphic Address: " Barbours, Lisburn." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Ulster Bank, Ltd.; London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

BARCLAY (ANDREW), SONS & CO., Ltd., Mechanical Engineers and Locomotive Builders, Kilmarnock, N.B. Hours of Business: Usual. Established 1840. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1892. Managing Director: Thomas Turner. Premises: Large Workshops and Offices in Kilmarnock. Staff: From 600 to 700. Specialities: Locomotives, Pumps, Winding and Hauling Engines, Oddie-Barclay High Speed Ram Pumps, &c. Patents and Inventions: Several relating to the business of the Company, including Combination Injectors for Locomotives, Valves, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Telephones: No. 10 Kilmarnock; Nos. 1526 and 1527 (National) Argyle, Glasgow; No. 68 (Corporation) Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Barclayson, Kilmarnock." Bankers: British Linen Bank (Kilmarnock); Clydesdale Bank (London).

BARCLAY & CO., Ltd., Bankers. Head Office: 54, Lombard Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual banking hours. Established in 1896 by amalgamation of several well known private banking firms in London and country. Present Directors: Francis Augustus Bevan (Chairman), Hugh Gurney Barclay (Vice-Chairman), Robert Leatham Barclay, Cosmo Bevan, Henry Birkbeck, Thomas Robins Bolitho, William Edward Thomas Bolitho, Seymour Pleydell Bouverie, Edward Gurney Buxton, Geoffrey Fowell Buxton, Frederick George Hugh Clayton, Charles Henry Dent, Ernest Ralph Dodsworth, Frederick Craufurd Goodenough, Herbert Gosling, Sir Somerville Arthur Gurney, The Lord Kinnaird, John Edward Mounsey, Edmund Henry Parker, Hugh Exton Seebohm, Percy Tew, Joseph Herbert Tritton, Francis Barry Whitfeld, Cecil Mercer Woodbridge, Robert Woodhouse. General Manager: Frederick Craufurd Goodenough. Assistant General Manager: William Favill Tuke. Secretary: Edwin Fisher. Branches: Thirteen in London, and 575 in the country. The principal London branches are at 54, Lombard Street, E.C., 19, Fleet Street, E.C. (Gosling's), 1, Pall Mall East, S.W., and 95, Victoria Street, Westminster, S.W., each having its local Directors. Business: General Banking. The Bank acts as agents for a number of other banks and banking houses in the United Kingdom, and for Alloway & Champion, Winnipeg; Marshall & Ilsley Bank, Milwaukee; First National Bank, 'Los Angeles, California; Schickler Bros., Berlin; Ayrton & Evans, Pau; Devillier & Co., Paris; A. H. Keyser & Zonen, Amsterdam; Canadian Bank of Commerce; Mitsui Bank, Ltd., Tokio; Bank of Mauritius, Ltd.; and the Anglo-South American Bank, Ltd. Capital: £9,000,000, consisting of 450,000 " A" shares of £4 each fully paid, and 450,000 " B " shares of £16 each, having £4 per share paid up. Paid up Capital: £3,600,000. Reserve: £1,600,000. Telephones: (Head Office) No. 2800 Central and No. 798 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Fifty-four (Stock), London."

BARCLAY, CURLE & CO., Ltd., Shipbuilders and Engineers. Head Office: Whiteinch, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 6.15 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 6.15 a.m. to 12.15 p.m. Established in 1818 by Robert Barclay. Partnership Successions: (1) Robert Barclay & Co.; (2) Robert Barclay & Curie; (3) Barclay, Curle & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company, under present title, in 1884. Directors: Jas. Gilchrist (Chairman), Wm. Russell Ferguson (Managing Director), Noel E. Peck, Chas. Randolph Smith, Thomas Morton, Thos. E. Thirlaway, Dr. G. B. Hunter, Wm. Denton; Henry Scully, Secretary. Premises: Clydeholm Shipyard, Whiteinch-by-Glasgow, where the Company's Head Offices are situate; Stobcross Engine Works, 36, Finnieston Street, Glasgow; Stobcross Boiler Works, 90, Kelvinhaugh Street, Glasgow; Clydeside Repairing Works, Whitefield Road, Govan; Elderslie Private Dry Dock, Scot stoun West, Glasgow; West Shipyard, Scotstoun West, Glasgow. Business: The Company is one of the representative British Shipbuilding concerns, constructing vessels of various types for the Naval and Mercantile Services. Accomplished the third largest output of tonnage on the Clyde for the years 1900 and 1906, and second in 1908; tonnage launched in 1907, 47,332 tons, and I.H.P. 40,532. Is identified with the development of the Intermediate Twin-Screw type of Passenger Steamer and Trooper. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. On Admiralty List for War Vessels and Machinery. Telephones: Shipyard, Nos. 1057 and 1058 (Nat.) Hillhead, No. 2551 (P.O.) Western; Drawing Office, No. 2868 (P.O.) Western; Engine Works, No. 5401 and 5402 Central; Repair Works, No. 378 (Nat.) Govan (two lines), No. 479 (P.O.) Govan; Govan Graving Dock, No. 136 (Nat.) Govan; Elderslie Private Dry Dock, Nos. 3175, 3176 and 3177 Hillhead; West Shipbuilding Yard, Scotstoun West, Nos. 3206 and 3207 Hillhead. Telegraphic Addresses: " Barclay, Whiteinch " (for Shipyard); " Quadruple, Glasgow " (for Engine Works); " Repair, Glasgow " (for Repairing Works); " Slipdock, Scotstoun West, Glasgow " (for E. Private Dry Dock). Bankers: Bank of Scotland (Glasgow and London).

BARCLAY, PERKINS & CO., Ltd., Anchor Brewery, Park Street, Southwark, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established fully three hundred years ago, the business is one of the oldest in the kingdom. The Company possess the cash-book of the Brewery for the years 1693 to 1702. The business was then in the hands of the Child family. Subsequently Edmund Halsey (an employee who married his master's daughter) became sole proprietor. He amassed a fortune in a few years, and sold the business to his nephew and manager, Ralph Thrale, who further developed it, and left it on his death (1758) to his son Henry. (Dr. Johnson, whose portrait is the trade-mark of the firm, has much to say regarding the connection of the Thrales with the Brewery, and ultimately acted as executor and trustee under the will of Henry Thrale.) After the death of Henry Thrale the business was managed for a short time by John Perkins, until purchased by David Barclay, who took into partnership Sylvanus Bevan, and also John Perkins, the former manager. From that time (1781) a Barclay, a Perkins, and a Bevan have never been absent from the firm. Incorporated as a Limited Liability Company in 1896. Directors: E. W. Giffard (Chairman and Managing Director), R. W. Barclay, E. F. Barclay, A. F. Perkins, G. Bevan, Sir Nevile Lubbock, K.C.M.G., C. C. Perkins, H. F. Barclay, D. A. Lumsden. Premises: The Anchor Brewery and its appurtenances cover nearly eight acres of ground. The site is undoubtedly one of the most interesting in London. Staff: About 1000. Specialities: London Stout; Pale Ale, known as XLK.; Bottled Ales. Connection: Throughout the United Kingdom, and many parts of the world. Telephone: No. 687 Hop. Telegraphic Address: " Strongest, Boroh, London."

BARHAM & MARRIAGE, Ltd., Tea Dealers, Grocers, Wine and Spirit Merchants, and Italian Warehousemen. Head Office: 14, Aldgate, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established early in 1800, and acquired by Cornelius Barham and James Marriage in 1869. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: James Marriage (Chairman and Managing Director), Frank Wm. Marriage, Harry Langdon. Premises: Besides the Head Office at 14, Aldgato, and the Wine Department at 9, Aldgate, the Company have several branches. Stag: Eighty-six. Extensive business as Tea and Coffee Dealers,Family Grocers, Wine, Spirit, and Bottled Beer Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom; Contractors to Hospitals and other large Institutions. Telephones: No. 3073 Avenue (Aldgate); No. 2257 Holborn; No. 750 Western (Kensington); No. 8800 London Wall (King William Street); No. 8091 London Wall (Bishopsgate Street); No. 8336 Bank (Watling Street). No. 9114 Central (Moorgate Street).

BARKER (ALBERT), Ltd., Goldsmiths and Silversmiths, Dressing Case and Bag Makers, &c., 5, New Bond Street, London, W. Established by Albert Barker in 1886. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893. Specialities: Gold and Silver Smiths' Work, Dressing Case, Bag and Cabinet Work. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Royal Warrant Holders. Telephone: No. 2931 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Albert Barker, London."

BARKER & ALLEN, Ltd., Nickel and German Silver Metal and Wire Manufacturers, Spring Hill, Caroline Street, and Myddleton Street, Birmingham, and Surrey Street, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1840 by the late Stephen Barker. Business was purchased from the founder in 1882 by James and Samuel Allen. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company, 28th January, 1899. Joint Directors: Fred. W. Allen, John H. Allen; Thomas J. W. Allen (Secretary), William Pearce (Chairman), Avon Gray, W. Salt Brassington. (Started in a very small way by the founder, the business was developed with the assistance of the late James Allen, and came rapidly to the front. Occupies at the present time a leading position in the trade, and is one of the largest concerns of the kind in Birmingham.) Premises: Extensive Casting Shops, Rolling Mills and Wire Mills, newly built, and covering a very large area of ground. The working departments are equipped with the most modern appliances. Staff: (Clerical and workpeople), about 300. Branches: Warehouses in Sheffield and Birmingham. Specialities: Nickel, German Silver, Copper and Brass, Sheet Metal, Wire, Tubes, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Business is done with all the large Home centres, and also with Canada, Australia, China, India, and the South American Markets. Telephones: Nos. 342, 458, 3559, and 5969 Birmingham; No. 1337 Sheffield; No. 5923 Central, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " German, Birmingham "; " German, Sheffield"; " Florally, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition); A 1. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

BARKER (A. YEOMAN) & CO., Cotton Goods Manufacturers, 31, George Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1898 by A. Yeoman Barker, the present principal. Specialities: Printed Goods for the making-up trade. Connection: Homo and Colonial. Telephone: No. 5519 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Pinnacle, Manchester."

BARKER BROS. SILVERSMITHS, LIMITED, Unity Works, Constitution Hill, Birmingham, and 292, High Holborn, London. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established about 1810, Registered as a Limited Company, May, 1907. Speciality: Electro-Plate. Connection: Worldwide. Telephone: No. 6840 Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Barker, Birmingham."

BARKER & ENGLAND, Ltd., Machine Knife Manufacturers, Havelock Works, Colver Road, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1871 by George Barker and James Mitchell. Henry Jackson England joined the firm in 1874. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Chairman and Managing Director: Walter Biggin. Claim to own the most extensive Works in England devoted entirely to the manufacture of Machine Knives. Premises cover over two acres of ground; Works splendidly equipped. Staff: Office, twenty. Staff Clubs: Football, Cricket, Sick and Funeral Society. Specialities: Cutting Tools and Knives for every class of Machine. Best manufacture throughout. Connection:. Worldwide. Telephones: Nos. 4170 and 4171 Central (Sheffield). Telegraphic Address: " Sections, Sheffield." Bankers: Sheffield and Hallamshire Bank, Ltd.

BARKER (GEORGE) & BRETTELL, Chartered Patent Agents and Consulting Engineers, 77, Colmore Row, Birmingham. Present Principals: George Barker, C.P.A., and F. G. Brettell, C.P.A. Business: Agents for British, Colonial and Foreign Patents; Designs and Trade Marks Registered; Arbitrations. Telephone No. 1300 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Patent, Birmingham." Codes: A B C (5th Edition); Singer's. Mr. George Barker is President of the Chartered Institute of Patent Agents.

BARKER, JAMES, Woollen Manufacturer, Deanfield Mills, Morley, near Leeds. Hours of Business: Usual. Established Forty Years ago. Present Principals: Brian B. Barker and A. Dawson Barker. Staff: About 250 hands._ Specialities: Woollen Goods for Clothiers and Costumes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 56 Morley. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd., Morley. Mr. Brian B. Barker is a member of the Morley Town Council. Mr. A. Dawson Barker is a, member of the Gildersome Urban District Council.

BARKER, JOHN, Electro-plate and Cutlery Manufacturer, Lincoln Works, 38, Arundel Street, Sheffield; Showrooms: 50 and 51, Fore Street, London, E.C., and 40, St. Enoch Square, Glasgow. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1895 by John Barker, the present principal. Staff: Forty. Specialities: Pearl Handle Fish and Fruit Knives, &c. Connection: Home and Colonial. Telephone: No. 4262 Central, Sheffield. Telegraphic Address: " Perfecta, Sheffield."

BARKER (JOHN) & CO., Ltd., Drapers, Furnishers, &c., Kensington High Street; Ball Street; Young Street •; and Kensington Square, London, W. Depositories, &c.: Cromwell Crescent, S.W.; and Adam and Eve Yard, Kensington. High Street, and Wright's Lane, Kensington, W. Established in 1870 by John Barker and James Whitehead. Incorporated as a Limited Company, June, 1894. Present Directors: Sir John Barker, Bart., J.P. (Chairman), Francis Barker, S. M. Skinner, R. Millbourn, and H. Tilbury. Secretary: H. W. Over. The development of the business has been remarkable. Inaugurated as a cash draper's with two houses, at once began to increase, and at the present time over sixty houses are utilised. The departments number seventy, and include stocks of all descriptions of goods usually supplied by ganeral stores. Premises cover a very large area at above addresses. Staff: About 2,000. Connection: Large and widespread in the United Kingdom, the Colonies, and abroad. Telephone: No. 3520 Kensington.

BARKER (LUKE) & SONS, Ltd., Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers, Friths Mill, Todmorden, Dancroft and Crow, Carr Ings Mill, Todmorden. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1868 by William Barker, Luke Barker, and Richard Crabtree. Continued by (1) Barker & Crabtree to 1890; (2) Luke Barker & Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Directors: John Barker (Chairman) and Robert Barker. Mr. Robert Barker died in October, 1912, and was succeeded in the Directorate by his nephew, Robert H. Barker. Also Cloth Agents, Barker & Butterworth, 31, Faulkner Street, Manchester (John Barker and Charles F. Butterworth), founded 1907. Premises: Contain 1407 Looms and 7500 Ring Spindles. Staff: 560. Specialities: Three, Four and Five Shaft Drills and Plain Cloth up to forty-two inches wide. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: Nos. 11 and 184 Todmorden. Telegraphic Address " Lucus, Tod-morden." Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd. Mr. John . Barker is a member of the Livery—Worshipful Company of Musicians and Life Member of the Musical Association; Member of King Edward VII. 's and King George V.'s Coronation Choir. Mr. R. H. Barker is Captain in 6th Battalion Lane. Fusiliers.

BARKER, REGINALD W., Patent and Trade Mark Agent, 56, Ludgate Hill, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1886 by Reginald W. Barker, the present principal. Registered Patent Agent Licensed by the Board of Trade. For many years devoted his attention to Trade Marks matters. Staff Patent Experts and experienced Draughtsmen. Business: Specialist on Trade Mark matters; Patent Agent. Connection: British, Colonial and Foreign. Telephone: No. 1882 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Fabrique, Cent, London." Code: Western Union. Bankers: Bank of England (Law Courts).

BARKER'S (WILLIAM) CLOTHING CO., Ltd., Mayroyd Works, Hebden Bridge. Hours of Business: 7.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1840 by William Barker (d.), then a Fustian Manufacturer. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Manager: J. R. Stott. Claim to be the oldest firm in Hebden Bridge. Business: Fustian Clothing Manufacturers. Connection: United Kingdom chiefly and Foreign. Telephone: No. 5 Hebden Bridge. Telegraphic Address: " Clothing, Hebden Bridge." Bankers: West Yorks Bank, Ltd.

BARMAK, LIMITED, Hop Food Specialists, Pryme Street Mills, Chester Road, Manchester, and New Street Works, Dublin. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1902 by Edward Makin. Incorporated as a Limited Company in the same year. Directors: H. M. Hardcastle, Edward Makin, Oliver Fry, Francis Ellis. Staff: 200. London Office: 36, Mark Lane, E.C. Specialities: Hop Foods for all Live Stock. Patent: Machinery for treating the Hop and for the manufacture of Hop Foods (patented). Connection United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 1914/5 Central, Manchester; No. 1943 Dublin. Telegraphic Addresses: " Makbar, Manchester "; " Barmak, Dublin." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank, Ltd.

BARNARD (EDWARD) & SONS, Ltd., Wholesale Manufacturing Silversmiths and Goldsmiths, 22 to 24, Fetter Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m, Established in 1689 by Anthony Nelme. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1910. Directors: Walter Barnard, John Barnard, Michael Barnard, Stanley Barnard. Business: Wholesale Manufacturing Silversmiths and Goldsmiths. Is the oldest firm of Manufacturing Silversmiths in the United Kingdom. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 9840 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: "Edbars, Fleet, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd., National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

BARNARD (WILLIAM) & SONS, Glass Bottle Manufacturers, Box Makers and Aerated Water Engineers, &c., 66, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1855 by William Barnard. Present Principal: Gilbert Barnard, N.B.A. Premises: Works at Barnsley, Yorks, cover about ten acres. Equipped with upto-date appliances. Staff: 1,500. Staff Clubs: Cricket, Football and Social. Specialities: Mineral Water Bottles, Aerated Water Machinery, also Patent Boxes. Patents: Numerous. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: Private. Telegraphic Address: " Immediate Fen, London." Cable Address: " Immediate,. London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Bentley Complete Phrase, and Private. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Princes Street). Mr. Gilbert Barnard is a member of the North British Academy of Arts, Science and Literature.

BARNARDS, LIMITED, Manufacturers of Galvanized Wire Netting, Slow Combustion Stoves, Ornamental Gates, Railing and Horticultural Appliances, Norfolk Iron Works, Norwich. London Office: Cannon Street House, 110, Cannon Street, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1826 by the late Charles Barnard. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Directors: Charles Barnard (Chairman), James G. Bower (Managing Director), Cecil Wilson. Specialities: Galvanized Wire Netting, Slow Combustion Stoves, Ornamental Gates, Railing, Horticultural Appliances. Famous Norwich Gates at Sandringham manufactured by the firm. Patent: Sole Makers of Mixed Mesh Galvanized Wire Netting. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to His late Majesty King Edward VII. for Gates and Railings. Telephones: N o. 82 Norwich; No. 5528 Bank, London. Telegraphic Address: " Barnards," Norwich and London. Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

BARNES & CO., Ltd., Export Provision Merchants, Manufacturers and Ship Store Dealers, Fishmongers' Hall Offices, Upper Thames Street, London, E. C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1857, and soon acquired a reputation for excellence of production in jams and other provisions for home use and exportation. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Laurence Insoll (Managing Director), H. Kendall Barnes. Premises: Offices and showrooms as above; factory at Battle Bridge Lane, Tooley Street, London, S.E., where manufacturing operations are conducted upon a very extensive scale. Specialities: The celebrated Home-Made Scarlet Strawberry Jam and the Home-Made Orange Marmalade (for which preserves this house has long been noted), the "Nile " Sauce (Registered), Piquant Sweet Pickle, and a great variety of preserved provisions and table delicacies, including Jams, Marmalade, Bottled Fruits, Pickles, Sauces, Potted Meats and Fish, Table Jellies, &c., specially prepared and packed to ensure satisfactory keeping in any climate. These goods, under the firm's registered " Pyramid " trade-mark, are known all over the world, and have gained high awards at several International Exhibitions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government, the P. & O. and principal Steamship Companies, Military and Naval Messes, &c. Royal Warrant: By Appointment to the late King Edward VII. Telephone: City 2068. Telegraphic Address: " Barnes, Cannon, London." The founder of the Company, the late Mr. W. G. Barnes, was Deputy Lieutenant of the City of London; was a representative of the Bridge Ward in the Court of Common Council from 1878 to 1911; and was Deputy Alderman of that Ward. He was also a Liveryman of the Worshipful Company of Fishmongers.

BARNES, F. W., & CO., Lace Curtain Manufacturers, B. tissoll Street Works, Nottingham; and Anglo Scotian Mills, Beeston, Notts (all communications to Russell Street). Hours of Business: Usual. Present Principal: F. W. Barnes. Specialities: Lace Curtains, Blinds, Antis, &c. Telephones: No. 123 Nottingham; No. 126 Beeston.

BARNES, W., Ltd., Ironmongers, Market Place, Ashbourn. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7.30 p.m.; Wednesdays, close at 1 p.m. Established over a century ago by a relation of the same name. Continued by W. Barnes, the present managing director, as W. Barnes, for fifty years. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1911. Directors: W. Barnes (Managing Director), F. Davenport and H. Ryder. Premises: The whole of the front of the building was rebuilt in 1873 by W. Barnes. Staff: About twenty-two. Business: Wholesale and Retail Ironmongery, Machinery Agents, Manufacturers, Repairers. Patents: Automatic Oil Measuring Tank. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial, as regards one branch, End Runner Mill Manufacturers. Telephone: No. 19 Ashbourne. Telegraphic Address: " Barnes, Ashbourn." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

BARNET & MORTON, Ironmongers, Iron Merchants, Iron Workers, Oil Merchants, &c., 192,, 194, 196, High Street, Kirkcaldy. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Warehouse, 8 a.m. to 6.55 p.m. Established in 1821 by Robt. Russell. Partnership Successions: (1) Alexr. Russell & Sons; (2) John Barnet, 1847; (3) Barnet & Heron; (4) John Barnet; (5) Barnet & Morton, 1856. Present Principals: Henry Morton Barnet and Alexander Barnet. Premises: Cover three-quarters of an acre. Staff: Forty-six. Business: Ironmongery, Iron Working, Oil Merchants, &c. Connection: Chiefly Scotland. Telephone: No. 21 (National) (two lines), Kirkcaldy. Telegraphic Address: " Barnet, Kirkcaldy." Bankers: Commercial Bank and North of Scotland Bank, Kirkcaldy; British Linen Bank, Leven. Mr. H. M. Barnet was Provost of Kirkcaldy in 1893, 1894, and 1895; has also been Chairman of the Chamber of Commerce, Savings Bank, President of the Y.M.C.A. and President of Kinghorn Golf Club.

BARNETT & FOSTER (Proprietors of Galloway Brothers), Engineers, Manufacturing Chemists, Bottle and Box Makers, General Suppliers to the Bottling trades, Diving Apparatus Makers, Niagara Works, Eagle Wharf Road, London, N.; Vulcan Works, Bentinck Street, Bolton, Lancashire. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, .9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1850 by Samson Barnett. Partnership Successions: (1) Samson Barnett, Samson Barnett (jtm.), and Fredk. Foster; (2) Samson Barnett (sen.) and Fredk. Foster; (3) Fredk. Foster; (4) Augustus Pearce Blaxter. Present Principals: Augustus Pearce Blaxter, Augustus Pearce Blaxter (jun.), George William Chaloner. Absorbed in 1898 Galloway Bros., Bolton (established 1790). Premises: Extensive Works in London and Bolton. Staff: 350. Branches: Johannesburg, Cape Town, Glasgow. Agencies: In various places. Specialities: Machinery Ingredients and all supplies for the Bottling Trades. Makers of Diving Apparatus; also Ice and Refrigerating Machinery. Patentees of many inventions in connection with above specialities. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1605 North (London); No. 545 Bolton; Douglas 71, Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Drinks, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

BARNSLEY BREWERY CO., Ltd., Brewers, Maltsters, Bottlers, Wine and Spirit Merchants, Oakwell Brewery, Barnsley, Yorks. Hours of Business: Usual. Established by Paul and Guy Senior. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1888. Directors: Sam Lucas (Chairman), Charles J. Tyas, Andrew Beattie, F. G. Senior, H. E. Umbers, and Henry J. Wells, A.C.A. (Managing Director and Secretary). The business has more than doubled since formation of the company, and is quoted on the London Stock Exchange. Staff: About 160. Business: Brewers, Maltsters, Bottlers, Wine and Spirit Merchants. Connection: Home trade. Telephone: No. 34 Barnsley. Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

BARR & SONS, Seedsmen, Bulb Growers, and Nurserymen, 11, 12 and 13, King Street, Covent Garden, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1865 by Peter Barr, V.M.H.; succeeded by Peter Rudolph Barr, James William Barr, George Hewlings Barr, the present principals. Branch: Taplow, Bucks. Large Nursery and Bulb Grounds. Specialities: Seeds, Bulbs, especially Daffodils, and Hardy Plants. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 410 Gerrard; No. 16 Burnham Bucks. Telegraphic Address: " Barr, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd., Covent Garden.

BARR & STROUD, Makers of Scientific Instruments, Anuiesland, Glasgow. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1893 by Prof. Archibald Barr and Prof. William Stroud. Present Principals: Archibald Barr, William Stroud and Harold Drinkwater Jackson. Premises: Extensive and highly equipped Works. Staff: About 500. Specialties: Manufacturers of. the Barr & Stroud Rangefinders, adopted by the British and nearly all Foreign Navies, and by many of the Military Powers. Also manufacture Fire Control Instruments adopted by the British and Foreign Navies, and many other Instruments and Machines. Patents: Hold the Barr & Stroud patents. Connection: United Kingdom, and Agencies in the principal Foreign Countries. Telephones: No. 1265 and 1266 Hillhead. Telegraphic Address: " Telemeter, Glasgow." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: The Bank of Scotland.

BARRACLOUGH & CO., Manufacturers of Textile Fabrics, 100 and 102, Swan Arcade. Works: Wyke Mills, Bradford. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 549 Bradford (Office); No. 53 Low Moor (Works).

BARRACLOUGH, Z., & SONS, Goldsmiths and Jewellers, 54, Briggate (corner of Commercial Street), Leeds. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1805 by Samuel Tinker. Partnership Successions: (1) Tinker & Edmondson; (2) John Wilkinson; (3) J. & T. Wilkinson; (4) G. G. Denham; (5) Z. Barraclough & Sons. Present Principals: James H. Barraclough, Herbert Barraclough. Premises: Shop and Showroom. Workshops above. Specialities: Highclass Silverware, Gem Jewellery, Reliable Watches and Clocks. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty). Telephone: No. 636 Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Barracloughs, Jewellers, Leeds."

BARRAN (JOHN) & SONS, Ltd., Wholesale Clothing Manufacturers, Chorley Lane, Leeds. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established about 1855 by John Barran (afterwards Sir John Barran, Bart.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Directors: Henry Barran, J.P. (Chairman), Rowland Barran, M.P., Sir John N. Barran, Bart., M.P., P. Austyn Barran (Managing Director), R. Noel Barran, W. H. Spice, John Lyall, W. 0. Biddle, G. C. Veale and C. Crampton. Secretary: Leonard Hawkesworth. Works cover two and a quarter acres. Branches: 27, Cannon Street, London. Agencies: Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide, Australia; Wellington, New Zealand; Cape Town. Business: Manufacturers of every branch of Male Clothing from Juveniles' to Men's. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, and Foreign. Telephones: Nos. 4140 (3 lines), Leeds. Telegraphic Addresses " Barrans," Leeds and London.

BARRATT & BRADBURY, Ltd., Smallware Manufacturers and Merchants, 18, Tariff Street, Dale Street, Manchester; Britannia and Albion Mills, Prestwich; Chester Road Mills, Macclesfield; 177, City Road, London, E.C.; 4, Linen Hall Street, Belfast, &c. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1870 by Allen, Barratt & Co. Continued by Barratt & Bradbury. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1913. Governing Director: Walter Hetherington Barratt. Specialities: Ribbons, Tapes, Stitching Floss (Silk Cotton and Worsted), Twines, Bronze Colours and all goods required for making up piece goods, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: No. 927 Central and No. 6845 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Barratt, 18, Tariff Street, Manchester." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank, Ltd. (Spring Gardens).

BARRAUD & LUNDS, Chronometer, Watch and Clock Manufacturers, 12, Bishopsgato Street Within, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1725 by M. Barraud, a Huguenot refugee who brought to London tho skill of his race in clock-making. He was succeeded by his sons and nephews. John Richard Lund joined the firm in 1845, and his sons, John A. and Arthur J. Lund, carried on the business until the death of the former. It is now in the hands of Arthur J. Lund. The firm is the oldest manufacturing house in the trade. The " Old Lobby Clock," for over a century the standard authority for true City time, still marks the entrance to the shop. Premises: Originally in Wine Office Court, Fleet Street. Specialities: Fine English Work. The manufacture and importation of Chronometers, Keyless Levers, Half Chronometers, Repeaters, Calendar, and other complicated Watches. Won the first prize of £300 for Ships' Chronometers, given by Greenwich Observatory. Patents: In connection with Chronometer balances, by John R. Lund; Synchronising Clocks, by John Alex. Lund. Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

BARRETT (ARTHUR G.) & CO., Iron and Steel Manufacturers and Engineers, The Forge, Bradford, Yorks.; Bush Lane House, Cannon Street, London, E.C.; and 233, St. Vincent Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: Day and Night. Established in 1857. Present Principal: Arthur G. Barrett. Premises: Cover about two acres. Staff: About 250. Specialities: Iron and Steel (Manufacturers) and Power Transmitting Machinery. Connection: Home Trade and Shipping. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephones: Nos. 4565 and 4566 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Forge, Bradford." Bankers: Bradford District Bank, Ltd.

BARRETT, A., & SONS, Dressing Bag Makers, Silversmiths, and Jewellers, 63 and 64, Piccadilly, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established by Andrew Barrett about sixty years ago. He has since retired from the business in favour of his sons, who are now the proprietors. Speciality: Introduction of High - class Novelties in all the departments of the business, specially suited for presents. The principal premises embrace 63 and 64, Piccadilly and 52 and 53, Albemarle Street, with branch premises at 157 and 158, Piccadilly. Connection: Throughout the United Kingdom, Foreign, and in the Colonies. Have clients in all parts of the world. Supply most of the members of the Royal Family. Patents: The firm have a large number of registered designs. Telephone: No. 3119 Gerrard.

BARRETT, FRANK, Fish Salesman and Shipowner, Grimsby, Grimsby Docks. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1882 by Frank Barrett, the present principal, who was associated with the first application of Steam to Fish Catching as a Commercial Venture. Branches Manchester, Wholesale Fish Market; Ostend, Fish Market. B us Pess: Fish Salesman, Importer, Coal Merchant and Shipowner. Connection: United Kingdom, Alaska., Scandinavia and Iceland. Telephones . Nos. 157 and 158 Grimsby; No. 2413 Manchester. Telegraphic Addresses: " Barrett, Grimsby "; " Barrett, Fishmarket, Manchester." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.; London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.; Barclay & Co., Ltd., and London City and Midland Bank, Ltd., Grimsby; Manchester. and Liverpool District Bank, Ltd., Manchester. Mr. Frank Barrett was Mayor of Grimsby for 1908--9. He is Chairman of the Finance Committee and a member of the Executive Committee of the National Sea Fisheries Association. He is a member of the R. A. C. and Grimsby County Clubs, Lincolnshire Territorial Committee, a J.P. for the Borough and a member of the Humber Conservancy Board.

BARRINGER, WALLIS & MANNERS, LIMITED, Manufacturers of Decorated Tin Boxes, Metal Advertisement Tablets, Advertising Novelties, &c., Rock Valley, Mansfield, Notts. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Directors: William Holmes Reddan (Managing Director), Isaac Henry Wallis, J.P., Gustavo N. F. Reddan, Robert Manners. Premises: Factories cover over five acres. Equipped with modern plant and up-to-date appliances throughout. Staff: About 1,250. Branches: Offices, London, 160, Fleet Street, E.C. Glasgow, Herald Buildings, 69, Buchanan Street; Liverpool, 57, Moorfields. Specialities: Fancy Decorated Boxes for Biscuits, Tea, Tobacco, Salines, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to H.M. King George V. and to the Belgian Court. Also held appointments to His late Majesty King Edward and to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephones: No. 32 Mansfield; No. 5377 Central, London; No. 4699 (Central, P.O.), Glasgow; No. 918 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic Addresses: " Manners, Mansfield "; " Manner, Glasgow "; " Decbox, London"; " Decbox, Liverpool." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Clubs: Constitutional, and Imperial industries.

BARRON, W. S., & SON, Milling Engineers, Millwrights and Millstone Makers, Kingsholm, Gloucester. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1903 by William Stephenson Barron (senior partner) and George Stephenson Barron (son), the present principals. Premises: Cover about 16,000 square feet. Staff: Thirty-six to forty. Hundreds of " Dreadnought " Grinder Machines are now in use in some of the largest mills all over the world. Specialities: Provender Grinding Machinery, Warehouse and Grain Conveyors Plants, Flour Milling Machinery; Composition Millstone Makers and Millstones of French Burr Stones. Makers and Inventors of the Patent " Dreadnought " Grinder and " Super-Dreadnought " Grinder, specially designed for grinding the different cereals and by-products of Mills, and the " Dreadnought " Millstones; also Importers of French Burrs and Makers of French Burr Millstones. Patents: " Dreadnought " Grinder, " Super-Dreadnought." Award: Grand Prize, Brussels International Exhibition, 1910. Connection: World-wide. Have received numerous testimonials as to the value of • their " Dreadnought " Grinder. Telephones: No. 965 Gloucester. Telegraphic Address: " Barron Engineer, Gloucester." Cable Address: " Barron, Gloucester." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Wilts and Dorset Banking Co., Ltd. (Gloucester).

BARROW (SAMUEL) & BROTHER, Ltd., Tanners and Leather Merchants, Weston Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. An old-established and representative house in the Bermondsey leather trade. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Managing Director: Samuel Barrow (junior). Premises: Offices and extensive warehouses in Weston Street, S.E.; Tanneries at The Grange and Grange Road, Bermondsey, and at Redhill, Surrey. Branches: Leicester and Kettering. Specialities: Leathers for the boot and shoe trade, and for the coach and harness trades. The Company are Exporters of English Leathers for boot and shoe manufacture, and Importers and Merchants of Australian and American Leathers, Goat and Sheepskins, &c.; also Hide and Bark Merchants and Factors. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 581 Hop. Telegraphic Address: " Handbarrow, London."

BARROWFIELD IRON WORKS, Ltd., Gas Engineers, Ironfounders, Iron and Steel Structural Manufacturers, &c., 100, Fordneuk Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established by R. Laidlaw & Son. Partnership Successions: (1) Laidlaw, Sons & Caine; (2) Laidlaw, Sons & Caine, Ltd., from 1884. Incorporated as a Limited Company under the present title in 1889; David Laidlaw, Chairman of Directors; Peter Ewen, Manager and Secretary. Premises cover nine acres. London Office: 6, Little Bush Lane, Cannon Street, E.C. Specialities: All kinds of Plant for Gasworks, Oilworks, and Blast Furnace Gases; Cyanide Plant. Also manufacture Piers, Buildings, Roofing, Cast and Wrought Iron and Steel Tanks for Water, Petroleum, Tar, &c.; Steel Riveted Pipes and Plain and Machine Castings of every description. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 2507 Bridgeton (Nat.); Nos. 777 and '778 Bridgeton, Post Office. Telegraphic Address: " Gasometer, Glasgow." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions).

BARROWS & CO., Ltd., Engineers, Cherwell Works, Banbury, Oxfordshire. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. tot 12 noon. Established in 1860 by T. W. Barrows. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1891. Directors: T. W. Barrows, J.P. (Chairman), E. W. Barrows and H. M. Barrows. Premises: Cover three acres, fully equipped. Staff: 100. Staff Club: Football. Specialities: Portable Engines, Mortar Mills, Saw Benches, Street Sweepere, Water Vans, &c. Awards: Gold and other medals at all the leading Agricultural and Surveyors' Institutions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 59 Banbury. Telegraphic Address: " Barrows, Banbury." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), A 1, and Private. Bankers: Gillett & Co.

BARRY, OSTLERE & SHEPHERD, Ltd., Manufacturers of Floorcloth and Linoleum, Forth Works, Kirkcaldy. Hours of Business: Usual. Established as an amalgamation of several firms, the oldest of which, Shepherd & Beveridge, was founded in 1863. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Directors: John Barry, J.P. (Chairman), and J. Ernest Shepherd. Branches: London, 9 and 10, Old Bailey, E.C.; Manchester, 17, Minshull Street; Glasgow, 21 and 23, Waterloo Street. Specialities: Inlaid Linoleum by Walton's patents, for which the Company is the Sole Licensee for Scotland. Plain and Printed Linoleums and Cork Carpets, Granite, Plank and Jaspe Linoleums. Awards: and Diplomas -at most of the Great Exhibitions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 4 Kirkcaldy. Codes: A B 0 (4th and 5th Editions), Lieber's, Standard. Bankers: Bank of Scotland.

BARTHOLOMEW (JOHN) & CO., Map Makers, The Edinburgh Geographical Institute, Duncan Street, Edinburgh. F Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1820 by John Bartholomew, Geographical Engraver; succeeded by his son John Bartholomew, F.R.G.S. (1832). Present Principals: John George Bartholomew, LL.D., F.R. S. E., F.R. G. S. (grandson), Andrew G. Scott, W.S., since 1893. Claim to be one of the largest Mapmaking firms in the world. Premises at above address were specially planned for the Drawing, Engraving, and Printing of Maps. Staff: 120 skilled workers. Business: The production of Maps and Atlases. Are very large producers of Tourists' Maps, Motoring Maps, Special Maps for Books of Travel and Scientific Works; also of School Wall Maps and School Atlases. Makers of Physical Maps, Gazetteers, &c. Have copyrighted designs of new forms of Physical Maps and Tourist Maps. Connection: World-wide, chiefly United Kingdom, India, and the Colonies. Telephone: No. 611 Central, Edinburgh. Telegraphic Address: " Bartholomew, Edinburgh." Bankers: National Bank of Scotland.

BARTLE, F., & SONS, Engineers and Ironfounders, Cam Brea, Cornwall. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1860 by Francis Bartle and partners. Continued in 1884 by Francis Bartle, Charles D. Bartle and William Bartle. Present Principals: Charles D. Bartle and James 0. Bartle. Premises: Cover four acres. Staff: About 100. Specialities: General Mining Machinery, special feature made of Tube Mills, Pulverizing and Slime Dressing Machinery. Patents: Various for Tube Mills and Slime Machinery. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 18 Camborne. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Bartle, Cam Brea." Codes: A B C and Private. Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

BARTLEET, WM., & SONS, Ltd., Needle, Fish Hook and Fishing Tackle Manufacturers, Abbey Mills, Redditch. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1750 by Wm. Bartleet. Continued by various descendants, the last being a present Director. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Directors: Harold Stock Bartleet, J.P., Charles Frederic Milward, C.C., J.P., Henry Tomson Milward. Secretary: Joseph Smith. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Extensive well-equipped mills. Staff: 200 to 300. Branch: Warehouse, 122, Wood Street, London, E.C. Specialities: Fish Hooks and Fishing Tackle, Needles, Sewing Machine Needles, Crochet Hooks, Needle Cases, &c. Awards: Two Gold Medals, Paris,' 1900. Twenty-six Gold and Prize Medals. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 51 Redditch. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Penelope, Redditch." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (Redditch).

BARTON, F., & CO., Sole Makers of the " Cosy " and " Student " Oil Stoves, Manufacturers' Agents, and Importers of Mahogany from Cuba, 49, Lime Street, E.C. Warehouse: East Road, London, N. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1889 by O. Voge; joined in 1891 by E. H. Young, the present principal. Premises: Offices consisting of three rooms in Lime Street. Extensive warehouses and workshop in East Road. Specialities: Hardware for Export (chiefly Dutch Stoves, Kaffir Pots, Sad and Box Irons, &c.); Martini Rifles; Sporting Guns and Revolvers for all markets; Carriage Trimmings and Belt Webs. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telegraphic Address: " Baronage, London." Code: A B C. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Lombard Street).

BARTON LINNARD, Ltd., Manufacturing Opticians, 196, Clapham Park Road, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1905 by John H. Barton. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Directors: E. A. Eason (Chairman) John H. Barton (Managing Director), and E. W. Barton. The Founder was for many years with Ross, Ltd., of Clapham Common, and was Designer and Patentee of the first English Prism Binocular. Staff: Eighteen to twenty. Specialities: Prism Field Glasses which fold flat for the pocket, the optical system employed being of large size would otherwise form the usual bulky instrument. Patents: Numerous in connection with Field Glasses. Being makers to the trade, Dealers obtain the awards. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly) and Foreign. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Lombard Street). Mr. John H. Barton was many years in a Manchester warehouse, but being blessed with inventive and mechanical ability ultimately entered the Ross Works as designer of various instruments.

BARTONS, Photographic Mount Makers, Dealers in Art Papers and Boards, Cosway Works, Finch Road, Handsworth, Birmingham. London Office 39, St. James's Street, Piccadilly, S.W. Hours of Busi ness: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1905 by A. E. Barton Smith. Present Principals: A. E. Barton Smith and W. Astill Brown. Branch: 156, Rue de Faubourg Poisscnniere, Paris. Business: Making of the highest-class Photographic Mounts, used by the leading British, French and German Photographers. Telephones: No. 6626 Bir mingham.; No. 4.052 Mayfair, London. Telegraphic 'Address: " Mountable, Bir mingham." Bankers: Lloyds Bi nk Limited, Colmore Row, Birmingham.

BARTRAM & SONS, Shipbuilders and Repairers, South Dock, Sunderland. Flours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established seventy-two years ago by George Bar tram, father of the present senior member of the firm. Present Principals: Robert Appleby Bartram and Wm. Naizby Bartram. Were originally Wood Ship builders, but in 1871 began the con struction of Iron Vessels. Premises: Large Shipbuilding and Repairing Yards, &c., at South Dock, Sunderland. Staff: About 600 workmen. Speciality: Builders of large Cargo-carrying Vessels. Con-nection: United Kingdom, United States, Foreign. Telephone: No. 811 (Post Office); No. 124 (National) Sunderland. Tele graphic Address: " Bartram, Sunder land." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

BARWELL (JAMES), Ltd., Cock and Bell Founders, 40, Great Hampton Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established in 1784 by William Fiddian & Co. Continued by James Barwell. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Managing Directors: Edward Barwell, Arthur H. Barwell. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Specialities: Cocks and Fittings for Plumbers and Engineers, Church Bells and every description of Hanging and Handle Bells. Trade-mark: " Fiddian." Awards: Highest for Cocks and Steam Fittings, Highest for Church Bells and Mountings, International Exhibition, Adelaide, 1887; Highest for Cocks and Steam Fittings, International Exhibition, Melbourne, 1888. Connection: World-wide, specially in English and Spanish speaking countries. Telephone: No. 2255 (Central), Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Barbells, Birmingham." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Temple Row, Birmingham).

BARWELL & SONS, Wine and Spirit Merchants, St. Stephen's Street, and London Street, Norwich; 19, Conduit Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Thursdays, 9 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. (Norwich); Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. (London). Established prior to 1740 by Robert Suffield (junior). Present Principals: John Edric Hayward Barwell, Bertram Philip Paris Barwell. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: In St. Stephen's Street were rebuilt about 1878; part of the old buildings, including a secret underground chapel, still remains. London Street building, Norwich, rebuilt in 1892. Business: Family Wine and Spirit Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to His late Majesty King Edward. Held an Appointment to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephones: No. 328 Norwich; No. 135 Mayfair, London. Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Norwich and London).

BASHFORDS, Ltd., Wine and Spirit Brokers, 66, Mark Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1859 by John Bashford. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Directors: R. H. Forster (Chairman), H. E. King (Managing Director and Secretary). Premises: Large stocks of Douro Ports held in London and Oporto. Agencies: Chalon sur Marne (Jacquesson et Fils). Business: Wine and Spirit Brokers, Valuers and Auctioneers. Export Merchants. Speciality; Douro Ports, Pure Grape Brandies, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 11974 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Bashfords, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

BASS, RATCLIFF & GRETTON, Ltd., Brewers, Burton-on-Trent. London Offices: King's Road, Pancras Road, N.W. Established at Burton in 1777 by William Bass. Incorporated in 1888. Directors: John Gretton, M.P. (Chairman), Robert Ratcliff, Robert F. Ratcliff, M.P., Arthur J. Clay, Hugh F. Gretton, Percy W. Ratcliff, Gerard A. Clay, Sir W. A. H. Bass, Bart., and John Lambrick. Premises: The Brewery and other properties of the Company at Burton-on-Trent occupy an area of 750 acres. Branches: Twenty-eight, situated in important towns in the United Kingdom, France, and the United States. Staff: Approximately, 4,000. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to His late Majesty King Edward; also to H.M. King George V. when Prince of Wales. Telephone: Burton, No. 234 F 2 (Nat.); London, No. 2387 North (3 lines). Telegraphic Address: " Bass," Burton and London.

BASSANO, Ltd., Royal Photographers, 25, Old Bond Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. The studios have long been regarded as amongst the most select in the West End. Nearly every crowned head in Europe has patronised them, and at one time a room was specially reserved for Royalty. Nearly all the members of the Royal Family have been photographed here. Have also extensive works at Maybury Gardens, Willesden Green. Specialities: Miniatures on Ivory, executed by artists of the highest skill in this class of work. Also every branch of Photographic Art. Connection: Worldwide. Telephone: No. 1552 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Portraiture, London."

BASSETT, J., & SONS, Paper Hangings and Builders' Merchants, 82, High Street, Stoke Newington, London, N. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1880 by James Bassett. Present Principals: James Bassett, Edward James Bassett, Walter Bassett, and Herbert Bassett (sons). Branch: 25, High Street, Kingsland. Specialities: Paper-hangings, Varnishes, Brushes, and Creamo Enamels. Connection: London. Telephone: No. 252, Dalston. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

BASSETT-LOWKE, Ltd., Model Engineers and Ship Model Makers. Head Office and Works: Northampton. Retail Branch and London Office: 112, High Holborn, W.C. Succursale a Paris: 156, rue do Rivoli. Hours of Business: Northampton, 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 7 a.m. to 1 p.m. London,. 9 a.m. to 7.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1899 by W. J. Bassett-Lowke. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1910. Directors: J. G. Sears (Chairman), W. J. Bassett-Lowke (Managing Director), H. F. R. Franklin. Claim to have been the first firm to produce models to scale of British Locomotives at a popular price. Staff: About 180. Specialities: Model Locomotives from 1f-inch Gauge to 24 inches, Model Permanent Way, Model Signals, Stations and all accessories, Model and Small-power Boilers and Steam Engines, &c. Awards: Three Gold Medals, London, Nancy and Roubaix Exhibitions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Have con strutted Model Railways in many parts of the world. Contractors to H.M. Government (War Office, Board of Trade, India Office); also contractors to Great Western, London and North Western, Great Northern and East Coast, Great Central, Metropolitan and Caledonian Railways. Telephones: Nos. 165 and 362 Northampton; No. 6285 Holborn, London. Telegraphic Addresses: "Lowke, Northampton "; " Lowkodom, London."

BASTIN, MERRYFIELD, & CRACKNELL, Ltd., Blouse, Costume and Millinery Manufacturers, Real and Imitation Lace Manufacturers and Warehousemen, Gauze and Silk Merchants, 12, Great Portland Street, and 1, 2, 3, Great Castle Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established as Bastin & Merryfield by T. W. Bastin and Stephen Merryfield; as Cracknell & Co. by T. W. Bastin and Stephen Merryfield, and Miss A. Cracknell in 1897; and as a Limited Company with the present title in May, 1903. Branches: In Paris, Lyons, St. Gall, Brussels and Toronto. Several hundred hands are employed in London. Connection: The United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Telephone: No. 2,122 Gerrard (three lines). Telegraphic Address: ".Merryfield," London, Paris, Lyons, Toronto.

BATEMAN (RICHARD) & SON, Forage Contractors and Corn Merchants, 31, High Street, Aldershot. Hours of Business 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Established in 1852 by Daniel Bateman. Succeeded by Richard Bateman in 1872. Present Principals: Richard Bateman, J.P., and Frederick B. Bateman. Business Originally carried on at Redan Hill, on the formation of the Camp at Aldershot, and since extended to their various addresses. Have had the honour for many years of supplying Forage to the Royal family at the Royal Pavilion, Aldershot. Premises: Extensive at Aldershot. and Farnborough. Staff: About Forty. Branches: Aldershot, 244, High Street, and Redan Hill; Farnborough, Lynchford Road and Farnborough Station; Camberley, 5, High Strout. Business: Forage Contractors and Corn Merchants. Connection: Aldersliot, Farnborough, Camberley, Farnham and Borden Camp District. Telephone: No. 25 Aldershot; Nos. 27 and 100 Farnborough.

BATES, J. & E., & SONS, Ltd., Brassfounders, Lock Manufacturers, and Safe Engineers, 63 and 64, Bartholomew Close, London, E.C.; and Scarboro Works, Wolverhampton. Hours of Business: London, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works, 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1857 by Joseph Bates. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1901. Directors: Joseph Bates (Managing Director), Alexander John Bates, and Arthur Bates. Premises: The Works situated in Temple Street, Wolverhampton, were erected by the present Managing Director. They have been enlarged from time to time. Are well equipped with all modern improvements. Staff: About 250. Business: Brass Foundry; Manufacturers of all kinds of Locks; Safe Engineers; Nickel Platers and Bronzers. Patent: Now Seamless Body Safe. Connection: United Kingdom and the Colonies. Telephone: No. 3 Wolverhampton. Telegraphic Address: " Scarboro, Wolverhampton." Bankers: National Provincial Bank, Ltd.

BATGER & CO., Wholesale Export and Manufacturing Confectioners, Peel Makers, Jam Makers; Christmas Crackers, Wedding Cake Ornaments, and Fancy Confectionery of all kinds. Main Factory: Brook Street, Ratcliff, London, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1748 by Miss Batger. Later passed to Samuel Hanson (d. 1882), and Frederick Machin (d. 1902). Present Principals: Harry Machin, Stanley Machin, Ralph Machin. Is the oldest firm in the Manufacturing Confectionery, Peel-making, and Jam-making trades. Premises: Main Factory, covering three acres of land, Brook Street, London, E.; Ornamental Factory, Whitehorse Street, E.; City Sale Room, 16, Eastcheap, E.C. Branches: County Chambers, Corporation Street, Birmingham; Corn and Produce Exchange, Manchester. Agencies in all parts of the world. Specialities: High-class Preserves, and Fancy Confectionery of all kinds; Christmas Crackers, Wedding Cake Ornaments, &c. Are among the largest makers in the kingdom of Peels and Fancy Confectionery, and aro sole makers of the original Lime Fruit Marmalade, Nebula Lemon Squash, Gold Medal Jersey Caramels, &c. Enjoy a high reputation for the superior quality and purity of these goods. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephones: Nos. 141 and 1652 East; No. 1346 London Wall. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Batger Co., London." Codes: A B C (4th Edition), Lieber's, Standard Telegraphic. Mr. Stanley Machin is on the Court of the Fruiterers Company, and is -also a member of the Plumbers Company. He is also Vice-President of the London Chambar of Commerce, Director of the Manufacturing Confectioners' Alliance, Ltd., and President of the Confectionery and Preserved Food Manufacturers' Federation. Mr. Harry Machin is also a member of the Plumbers Company. Mr. Ralph Machin is a member of the Merchant Taylors Company.

BATH (HENRY) & SON, Metal and Mineral Brokers, 53, New Broad Street, London, Liverpool and Swansea. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1794 at Falmouth by Henry Bath and his eldest son. Removed to Swansea in 1820. Opened in London in 1865, and in Liverpool in 1875. Continued by various successions, but always continued under the same title. Present Principals: Henry Bath (sixth of the name) and Thomas Vaughan Anthony, both of London. One of the oldest firms. Premises: Wareheuses at Swansea and Liverpool. Issue Warrants for Goods stored under special Act of Parliament. Specialities: Minerals, Metals and Nitrate of Soda, in capacity of Brokers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Addresses: " Bathota," London and Liverpool; " Bath, Swansea."

BATH AND PORTLAND STONE FIRMS, Ltd. (THE), Bath and Portland Quarry Owners. Head Office: Abbey Yard, Bath; also Portland, Dorset. 110211'8 of Business: 3.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1888 by the amalgamation of Stone Bros., Ltd. (Bath), Randell Saunders & Co., Ltd. (Corsham), The Corsham Bath Stone Co., Ltd. (Corsham), R. J. Marsh & Co., Ltd. (Box), Pictor & Sons (Box), Isaac Sumsion (Bath), S. R. Noble (Box). Subsequently amalgamated Weston Quarries Co. and Stewards & Co., Ltd. (Portland). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1888. Directors: R. D. Thornton, J.P., D.L. (Chairman), Isaac Sumsion, J. E. Henshaw, J.P., H. Sansom, G. H. Long. Secretary: Alfred Taylor. General Manager: T. Sturgo Cotterell. Owners of Quarries at Corsham (Monk's Park Stone, Hartham Park Stone, and Corsham Down Stone), Box (St. Aldhelin Box Ground Stone), Bath (Combo Down Stone), Monkton Farleigh (Farleigh Down Stone), Limpley Stoke (Stoke Ground Stone), Bradford - on - Avon (Bradford Stone), Westwood. Masonry Yards at Bath, Box, Corsham, Chippenham, and Avoncliffe Siding. At Portland Quarries, Kingbarrow, Coombefield, Inmosthay, Waycroft, The Grove, Withiescroft, Bowers, Tout, Weston, Wakeham, Longstone Ope, Breston, &c. Extensive Masonry Works at Portland. Depots: London, 132, Grosvenor Road, Pimlico, S.W.; London & South-Western Railway, Nine Elms; Manchester, Trafford Park. Portland Office: Isle of Portland. Staff: Many hundreds. Specialities: Blocks up to ten tons in weight, both Bath and Portland; used for construction of buildings at home and abroad. Patent: " Fluate," a material for preserving all kinds of Stone. Connection: United Kingdom, South Africa, United States, Canada, India, South America, &c. Telephone: No. 205 Bath. Telegraphic Address: " Oolite," Bath, Portland, London, Manchester.

BATH, R. H., Ltd., Nurserymen and Fruit Growers, The Floral Farms, Wisbech. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1881 by R. H. Bath. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors; R. H. Bath, G. W. Leak, J. Boyce. Claim to be the largest growers of bulbs in Great Britain. Premises: About 500 acres. Staff: Varies from 100 to 250. Business: A large and increasing, retail Seed Trade done by post in con nection with Nursery Department. Specialise in Narcissus and Tulip Bulbs. Wholesale and Retail. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 8 (National), Wisbech. Telegraphic Address: " Flowers, Wisbech." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Wisbech).

BATH & SOMERSETSHIRE DAIRY CO., Ltd. (THE), Dairymen and Butter Makers, 3, Bladud Buildings, Bath. Businesses established in 1790 and 1806. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1882 by E. Kenyon Stow. Directors: M. S. Maule (Chairman), H. Bailis Tucker (Managing Director), Chas. W. Wasbrough, and George Weaver. Claim to be the English pioneers in Pasteurization of Milk in bulk for human consumption. H. Bailis Tucker devised and instituted the method by which this could be accomplished; generally adopted throughout the country lip to date. Commenced in 1899. Premises: Always open to public for inspection; up-to-date plant for purifying and Pasteurizing and butter-churning; every precaution to ensure cleanliness and healthiness at the Farms and throughout delivery to the consumer. Stall: 112. Branches: Dairies in Bath, twelve. Speciality: Safeguarded Milk, free from disease germs and dirty sediment. Also producers of Pasteurized Butter .Churned Fresh each morning (Regd.). Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 24 Bath. Telegraphic Address: " Pasteurized, Bath." Bankers: Parr's Banking Co., Ltd. (Bath).

BATHGATE, H. N., & CO., Import and Export Merchants and Manufacturers, Atlantic House, Bristol. London Office: 16, Water Lane, E.C. Premises: Atlantic House is of great historical and antiquarian interest, containing some of the finest carving and panelling extant. Staff: About twenty-five. Branches and Agencies: Liverpool, Plymouth, Belfast, Dublin, Glasgow, Hull, Cardiff, Naples, Marseilles, Athens, Smyrna, Amsterdam, Hamburg, Toronto, New York, &c., &c. Business: Importers, Exporters, and Distributors of Grain, Flour, General Produce, Farina, Starch, Glucose, Tapioca, &c. Proprietors and manufacturers of " Gleba " Feed Meal (Patent) for all Live Stock, and of " Calyx " Dietetic Corn Flour. Connection: British, Colonial, and Foreign. Telephones: No. 634 Bristol; No. 13772 Central (London); No. 1651 Dublin; No. 1889 Hull. Telegraphic Addresses: " Bathgates, Bristol "; " Tebathga, London "; " Norgate, Liverpool "; " Bathgates, Belfast "; " Bathgates, Hull"; and " Bathgates, Dublin." Bankers: Stuckey's Banking Co., Ltd. (Bristol); Parr's Bank, Ltd. (London).

BATSFORD, B. T., Publisher and Bookseller, 94, High Holborn, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1843 by Bradley Thomas Batsford, who died, aged eighty-three, after a business career of sixty-eight years. Present Principal: Herbert Batsford, associated with the business for many years. (Bradley Batsford, late senior partner, died in July, 1906.) Specialities: Books on Architecture, Decorative Art, Engineering, and Technology. Telephone: No. 7693 Central.

BATT (JOHN) & CO. (LONDON), Ltd., Merchants, 39, Old Broad Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1802 by John Batt. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: G. A. Koettgen (Chairman), E. A. Koettgen, B.A., and Nowlson Parham (Managing Directors), Arthur S. Walters, John Harvey Slade. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Business: Exporters and Importers of Iron and Steel, Machinery, Metals and other Goods, Textiles, Produce, &c.; Engineers, Freighters, Merchant Bankers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4858 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: "Battico, London." Codes: A 1, A B C, Lieber's, Private. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

BATTERSBY & COMPANY, LIMITED, Felt and Straw Hat and Cap Manufacturers, Offerton Hat Works, Stockport. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1865 by W. J. Battersby. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Chairman: W. J. Battersby. One of the largest firms in the trade. Branches: Warehouses at Stockport; London, 14/15, Hamsell Street, E.C.; and Paris. Staff: 750. Speciality: Manufacture of Fine-grade Felt Hats. Awards: Medals, Vienna, 1873; Paris, 1878, 1889, and 1900. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 39 (National), Stockport; No. 2716 (3 lines) (London Wall), London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Battersby, Stockport "; " Headmark, London."

BATTY & CO., Ltd., Makers of Pickles, &c., 99/101, Farringdon Road, London, E.C. Established in 1824 by the late George Batty. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: H. J. Heinz, C. E. Hellen, J. H. Warlow, H. Asterley, G. T. Chadney. Secretary: G. T. Chadney. Premises: Factory at Brayards Road, Peckham, S.E. Specialities: Pickles, Sauces, and Table Delicacies. Specially noted for Nabob Pickles and Nabob Sauce. Other specialities of various kinds. Awards: Paris, 1867, 1878; London, 1851, 1862, 1903, 1905; Diplome d'Excellence (equivalent to Gold Medal), Amsterdam, 1869; Sydney, 1880; Melbourne, 1880. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 5530 Holborn; No. 905 New Cross. Telegraphic Address: " Batty Co., London." Codes: Own Code used by clients; also A B C (5th Edition).

BAUER (WILLIAM) & CO., Freight and Insurance Contractors, Shipping and Passenger Agents and Packers. Head Office: 72, Mark Lane, London, E.C. Offices: 6, Water Street, Liverpool; 39, Corporation Street, Birmingham; 63, Pitt Street, Sydney, N.S.W.; 22, Market Street, Melbourne. Established in 1888. Claim to be the largest Freight Contractors in General Colonial Trades. Staff: Over forty. Sub - Agencies: Manchester, Glasgow, and all leading Continental and Colonial Cities. Correspondents in all parts of the world. Business: Shippers to Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, India, China, Japan, &c. Freight Contractors, Forwarding, Passenger, and Insurance Agents. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 3280 Avenue (four lines); Nos. 7170 and 7190 Liverpool. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Cargo, London "; " Supercargo," Liverpool and Birmingham. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Fenchurch Street).

BAUMGARTNER & CO, Colonial Newspaper Representatives and Publishers, 68, Basinghall Street, London, E.C. Principals: P. A. Baumgartner and H. E. Burnham. Sole European Agents for the Friend Newspapers, Ltd., Bloemfontein; the Farmer's Weekly, South Africa; Braby's South African Directories, South African Who's Who, &c. Specialists in Colonial Publicity. Telephone: No 1284 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Afrindica, Ave, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

BAUSCH & LOMB OPTICAL CO., Manufacturers of Optical and Scientific Instruments, Rochester, New York State.; and 37 & 38, Hatton Garden, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1853 by J. J. Bausch, who was joined by Captain Henry Lomb, as partner, in 1855. In 1905, the firm of G. N. Saegmuller of Washington, and later, the Carl Zeiss Optical Works of Jena, joined, forming the Triple Alliance in Optics. Present Principals: J. J. Bausch (President), Edward Bausch (1st Vice-President), Carl F. Lomb (2nd Vice-President), G. N. 'Saegmuller (3rd Vice-President), William Bausch (Secretary), Adolph Lomb (Assistant-Secretary), W. A. E. Drescher (Treasurer), Professor Rudolph Straubel (Director). Specialities: Optical and. Scientific Instruments, Theodolites, Microscopes, Projection Apparatus, &c., of the highest precision have been made a speciality by this firm for many years, and over forty. departments, fitted with the latest scientific appliances and supervised by a well-trained scientific staff, are engaged with this work. The Ophthalmic Lens departments are also famous for their excellence and reliable workmanship. Numerous Patents have been granted for the many inventions made for the benefit of Science and Industry, and Awards have been given at many Expositions. Premises: The factories at Rochester, N.Y., contain 2,400,000 cubic feet of floor space; total floor space, over ten acres. Equipped with all up-to-date appliances. Staff: About 2,200. Staff Clubs: Wellequipped modern hospital, with trained nurses for the treatment of emergency cases. Mutual Benefit Association, organised in 1881. For the convenience and economy of the employees, a spacious dining-room is provided, where food is served at cost prices. The firm largely supports local and Technical Institutions, &c. Branches: London, New York, Chicago, San Francisco, Washington, Frankfurt a/M., Germany. Agencies: Paris, St. Petersbur', Barcelona, Tokio, Mexico City, and Havana. Telephone: No. 754 -Central. Telegrams: Optibalop, London." Code: Lieber's. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Holborn Circus), for London.

BAVIN (RICHARD) & CO., Estate Agents, Victoria Street, Nottingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Mondays and Tuesdays, 9 a.m. to 7.30 p.m. Established in 1904. Staff: Eleven. Branch Office: 22, Main Street, Long Eaton, Derbyshire. Business: Estate Agents and Valuers. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 2044 Nottingham; No. 120 Long Eaton. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited. Clubs: Constitutional, &c.

BAXENDALE & CO., Ltd., Lead Manufacturers, Brass Founders, Furniture Manufacturers, Electrical Manufacturers, Glass Bevellers and Silverers, Embossers and Lead Light Workers. Sanitary, Gas, Water, Steam, and Electric Fittings. Hardware Merchants, Oil and Paint Warehousemen, Plumbers', Decorators' and Builders' Merchants, &c., Miller Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1863 by Laban Baxendale, Charles Darrah, and Henry Gordon. Present Principals: Charles Darrah, Frank A. Darrah, Henry M. Darrah, Ernest Darrah, Herbert R. Darrah, Arthur L. Darrah, Gerald Darrah, and Paul Darrah. Premises: Works and Warehouses cover several acres. Staff: About 1250. Branches: St. Andrew Square, Edinburgh Hanover Street and School Lane, Liverpool; Capel Street, Dublin; Albion Lead Mills, Trafford Park, Manchester. Business: As above. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 5900 City, Manchester (11 lines); Nos. 7647, 7648, and 7649 Central, Edinburgh; No. 4140 Royal, Liverpool; No. 1405 Dublin. Telegraphic Addresses " Baxendales," Manchester, Edinburgh, Liverpool, and Dublin. Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions).

BAXTER, W. H., Ltd., Engineers, Gelderd Road, Leeds. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1878 by W. H. Baxter. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Governing Director: W. H. Baxter, J.P. Premises: Extensive and highly equipped. Specialities: Stonebreaking, Ore Crushing, Screening and Elevating; also Sand Washing, Stone Tar Coating, Granulating and Crushing Machinery, and Concrete Mixers. Patents: During nearly forty years' experience has brought out over forty patents in this class of Machinery. Claimed to be a larger number than any other maker. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 663 Leeds. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Knapping, Leeds." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. W. H. Baxter is a Justice of the Peace.

BAXTER'S LEATHER CO., Ltd., 46, 48, and 50, Tabernacle Street, Finsbury, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1890 by E. W. Baxter and H. D. Richardson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: Walter Howard (Chairman), H. D. Richardson, Oscar S. Lee, E. W. Dowding; J. Kemp-Welch. Secretary: W. J. Fairweather. One of the most influential houses in the trade. Premises: Large warehouses in Tabernacle Street, and 13 to 17, Castle Street, E.C. Branches: Leicester, Northampton, Wellingborough, Norwich, Manchester, Stafford, Bristol. Have purchasing branch at Boston, U.S.A., and agencies in all the principal capitals of Europe. Specialities: Manufacturing, Importing, and Exporting Glazed Kid Skins, Sheep and Lamb Skins, Calf Skins, and all descriptions of Leather for the Manufacture of Boots and Shoes. Leathers for Brace and Belt Making, and for Upholstery. Have taken out patents for several of their inventions, all of which are well known. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1196 London Wall. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Oakleaf, Finsquare, London." Codes: Lieber's and Widebrook.

BAXTERS' BOLT, SCREW AND RIVET WORKS, Parade, Birmingham. Goods Entrance: Scotland Place, Helena Street. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1887 by Frederick Baxter and Harry Baxter, present principals. Staff: 100. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office). Telephones: No. 2036, 2037 Central. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Makers, Birmingham." . Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (Bennett's Hill, Birmingham).

BAYER (CHARLES) & CO., Manufacturers of Corsets. Warehouses: London Wall and London Wall Avenue, Victoria Buildings, Golden Lane and Bayer Street, E.C. Factories: 31, London Wall, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1870 by Charles Bayer. Premises: Ten Warehouses and Factories in England and Ireland, with the latest equipment and every modern improvement. Staff: About 5,000. Business: The Manufacture of Corsets of all kinds. Are the originators of the present system of Corset Manufacture in England. Are the owners of various inventions which have been patented in connection with the business. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 2584 National (Golden Lane); No. 2529 London Wall (for 31, London Wall).

BAYLISS, THOMAS & CO. Cycle and Motor Cycle Manufacturers, " Excelsior " Works, Coventry. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1874 by Jno. Thomas, T. Bayliss, and Jno. Slaughter. Incorporated as a Limited Company, after wards purchased by the present proprietors. Specialities: Motor Cycles and Cycles (ordinary). Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 497 (National), Coven try. Telegraphic Address: " Excelsior, Coventry." Bankers: The National and Provincial Bank, Ltd.

BAYNES & BECK, Westmorland Welsh and Grey Slate Merchants, Slating and Tiling Contractors, North Road, Ripon. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1854 by the late John -,Baynes, J.P. Present Principal: Charles Beck. Branches: Northallerton and Thirsk. Telephone: No. 13Y Ripon. Telegraphic Address: " Baynes, Sla,ters, Ripon." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd., Ripon. The late Mr. Baynes was four times Mayor of Ripon, and took an active part in the affairs of the City for more than half a century.

B. B. PICTURES, Ltd., (THE), Cinematograph Exhibition Proprietors, &c., 81, Dunlop Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1907 by J. J. Bennell. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1910. Directors: J. J. Bennell (Managing Director), Robert Wilson, J.P. (Chairman), A. Williamson, Peter Spence, J. B. Lawton, D. A. Cameron. Staff: 450. Branches: Manchester, 8, Great Ducie Street; London, 45, 46, Chandos Street, W.; Newcastle on Tyne, 31, Westgate Road. Business: Twelve per manent Picture Shows in Scotland— Dundee, Perth, Glasgow, Kirkcaldy, Greenock, Airdrie, Coatbridge; Cinematograph Exhibition Proprietors, Picture Producers, Film Renters, Electrical Engineers and Salesmen of every Bioscope Requisite. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 189 Queens Park, Private; No. 5485, 5486, 5487 Central; No. 175 (P.O.) Bridgeton, Glasgow (Production Department); No. 5320 City, Manchester; No. 1043 Central, 7140 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Bennell, Glasgow "; " Hirers, Manchester "; " Cinafilmos, London." Bankers: Royal Bank of Scotland, Ltd.; Bank of Scotland, Ltd.; London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Charing Cross); Lancat hire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd. (Dean' Manchester).

BEACH, T. W., & SONS, Ltd., Whole Fruit Jam Manufacturers. Registered Office: 31, Copthall Avenue, London, E.C. Works: Ealing Road Gardens, Brentford, and Evesham, Worcestershire. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1870 by the late Thomas William Beach, Fruit Grower. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1886. Directors: James Fraser (Referee), Alfred Edward Beach, Alfred William Beach (Managers). Premises: Extensive new Model Factory (1906), Evesham, Worcestershire, in the centre of Evesham Fruit Plantations. Works cover nearly four acres. Staff: Over 200. Specialities: Whole Fruit Jams, Jellies, Marmalades, and Bottled Fruits. Connection: United Kingdom chiefly; also Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 7460 London Wall, No. 119 Chiswick, No. Evesham. Telegraphic Addresses: " Groundwork, London "; " Beach, Brentford "; " Beach, Evesham."

BEALE, ARTHUR (late John Buckingham), Rope, Twine, and Horse-hair Manufacturers, Makers of Motor Boat and Yacht Fittings, 194, Shaftesbury Avenue, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established over 400 years ago by John Buckingham. Present Principal: Arthur .Beale. Ono of the oldest firms in the trade. Specialities: Buckingham's Al. pine Rope. Makers to the English Alpine Club Members. Awards: Medal for Cordage, Exhibition, 1862; Diploma, Tourist Exhibition, Bergen, for Alpine Rope, 1910. Telephone: No. 2960 Ger rard, London. Bankers r Coutts & Co.

BEALES', Ltd., Cooks and Confectioners, Caterers, Food Purveyors, and Stores, 370, 372, and 374, Holloway Road, N., and 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10, Tollington Road, Holloway, also " Atheneum," Camden Road, London, N. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 9 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 10.30 p.m. Established in 1866 by William Beale (d. 1904). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Directors: T. H. Beale, A. A. Beale, C. A. Cruft, Wm. E. Beale (Managing Director). Secretary: B. Ridehalgh. Premises cover an area of three-quarters of an acre (one central establishment, no branches). Staff: About 140. Specialities: Bride Cakes, Ghteaux and Petits Fours, General Catering. Are the patentees and manufacturers of White Triagon Bread. Connection: All the north and northern and western districts of London; also a considerable postal business throughout the United King dom. Telephone: No. 3433 North (2 lines). Telegraphic Address: "Dineruelo, Holway, London." Bankers: London and South Western Bank (Holloway).

BEANLAND, R., & CO., Ltd., Spinners, Spina Grove Mills, Clayton West, near Huddersfield. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established. in 1862 by Robert Beanland (d.). Continued by (1) Robert Beanland, Isaac Naylor and W. T. Bean land • (2) W. T. Beanland, A. M. Beardsell' and it. J. H. Beanland. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Directors: W. T. Beanland (Chairman), A. M. Beard sell, R. J. H. Beanland and F. Exley. Secretary: Frank Ward. Premises: Ex tensive well-equipped Mills, covering over sixteen acres. Staff: 340. Staff Clubs: Cricket and Girls'. Specialities: Worsted Yarns, both Botany and Fine Crossbreds for the Coatin!, trade. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 43 Skelmanthorpe (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Beanland, Clayton West." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: West Yorkshire Bank, Ltd., Bradford.

BEARD (WILLIAM) & SON, Manufacturers of Trunk, Portmanteau and Suit Case Locks and Fittings, Heath Town, Wolverhampton. Established in 1860 by William Beard. Present Principal: Thomas Beard, trading as above. Branch: 71, Lever Street, Manchester. Specialities: Locks and Fittings and every article supplied in making up Portmanteaux, Suit Cases and Wood Trunks. Best quality goods. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 52Y Wolverhampton; No. 2025 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Rims, Wolverhampton." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited, Wolverhampton.

BEARDMORE (WILLIAM) & CO., Ltd., Steel Manufacturers, Forge Masters, Armour Plate Makers, Shipbuilders, Engineers, Ordnance Manufacturers, Parkhead Forge Rolling Mills and Steel Works, Glasgow, and Naval Construction Works, Dalmuir. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Sir William Beardmore, Bart. (Chairman and Managing Director), Albert Vickers, The Most Hon. the Marquis of Graham, Sir A. Trevor Dawson, Colonel J. Smith Park, M.V.O. Premises: Works cover 250 acres and are equipped with all the most modern appliances. Staff: 12,000 to 15,000 men. Registered Office: 36, Victoria Street, Westminster, London, S.W. Specialities: Armour Plates, Ordnance, War Vessels, Cargo Vessels, Steamers, Forgings, Shafting, Castings, Steel Plates, Boiler Plates, Nickel Steel Plates, Beardmore Gas Engines, Beardmore Oil Engines, Motor Car Frames, Tyres, Axles, Wheels and Axles, Flanging of all kinds, Furnaces, corrugated or plain. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: Nos. 3100, 3101, 3107 and 523 Bridgeton; Nos. 91, 92 and 311 Clydebank; No. 4678 Victoria, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Beardmore," Glasgow, London and Dalmuir. Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Western Union, Lieber's, Al. Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd., and Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co.

BEARDSHAW, J., & SON, Ltd., Steel, Saw, File and Twist Drill Manufacturers, Baltic Steel Works, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1819 by Jonathan Beardshaw (great-grandfather of one of the present Managing Directors). Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Edward T. Beardshaw and William F. Beardshaw, J.P., M.Inst.C.E. (Managing Directors), Walter Emden, J.P., Colin Laycock, D. E. Beardshaw. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Very extensive and well equipped. Staff: About 200. Branch: 38, Victoria Street, Westminster, London, S.W. Specialities: High Speed Steel and Tools made therefrom, particularly an improved type of Twisted Drill. Patents: Improved Twisted Drill and Profile Sections. Awards: Two Gold Medals, Paris, 1900; Gold Medal, Buenos Ayres, 1910. Connection: World-wide. Stocks carried in principal centres. Telephones: Nos. 77 and 80 Sheffield; No. 3190 Victoria, London. Telegraphic Addresses: "Beardshaw, Sheffield "; " Vilvalle, London." Codes:A B C (5th Edition), Private. Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. Mr. William F. Beardshaw was for three years President of Sheffield Chamber of Commerce and three years President of Sheffield Society of Engineers and Metallurgists, is a Justice of the Peace and a Member of the Institution of Civil Engineers. Mr. Walter Emden is a Justice of the Peace and a past Mayor of Westminster and Dover.

BEATLEY, T. G., & SON, Steamship Owners, Brokers and Insurance Agents, 57/58, Leadenhall Street, London, E.C. Correspondents all over the world. Established about sixty years ago by T. G. Beatley. Succeeded by his son, F. J. Beatley, who was joined 25 years ago by T. E. Brooke, the present sole principal. Premises: In Leadenhall Street, the Shipping Centre; have been occupied since the firm's inception. Specialities: Baltic and White Sea Wood Chartering to United Kingdom, France, and Continent (with prompt settlement of freights), for which the firm claims to be one of the oldest in the City. Also undertake Mediterranean Chartering, Sale and Purchase, Time Chartering, and all Markets generally. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: Nos. 823, 824, and 4546 Avenue. Telewriter: No. 90 Walbrook. Telegraphic Address: " Beatleying, London." Codes: Private; Scott's, 1896; Watkins'. Bankers: Glyn, Mills & Co.

BEATSON, CLARK & CO., Ltd., Medical Glass Bottle Manufacturers, Rotherham. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1751 by W. Beatson. Partnership Successions: (1) 1751 to 1841, W. Beatson and Close & Clark; (2) 1841 to 1856, Clark & Beatson; (3) 1856 to 1865, W. C. Beatson; (4) 1865 to 1910, Beatson & Co. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1910. Directors: Clement Beatson Clark, J.P., Ernest Beatson Clark, William White Clark, and Herbert Noel Clark. Specialities: High-class Dispensing and other Chemists', Druggists' Bottles, Recess Labelled Bottles, Pocket Spitting Flasks for Consumptive Sanatoria. Connection: General. Telephone: No. 88 (National), Rotherham. Telegraphic Address: " Beatson, Rotherham." Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. (Rotherham).

BEATTIE, A., & CO., Art Colour Dyers and Chemical Cleaners, The Crown Dye Works, Kennington, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, .9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1818 by Andrew Beattie, succeeded by his nephew, James William Chisholm. Present Principals: Malcolm Eadie Chisholm, James William Chisholm (sons). Premises: In 1875, an enlargement being necessary, the old Lambeth Police Court was purchased from H.R.H. the Prince of Wales, and the present works erected upon the site. Tho works have been recently further extended. Branches: 39, Lower Kennington Lane, S.E.; 8, Kennington Park Road, S.E.; 5, St. Mary Abbotts Terrace, Kensington, W.; 86, Park Road, West Dulwich, S.E.; High Street, Wimbledon; 51, Victoria Road, Surbiton; 50, High Straet, Guildford; 18, Sheet Street, Windsor; Onslow Buildings, Woking; High Street, Harpenden. Specialities: Aro well known for the Dyeing of Art Colours, and are Chemical Cleaners of all kinds of materials. The different processes are carried out in the latest and most approved manner. Royal W arrant: Special Appointment to H.M. King George V. Held a Warrant to the late Queen Victoria, 1838-1901. Telephone: No. 1367 Hop. Telegraphic Address: " Abeatico, Lamb, London."

BEAUFOY & CO., Vinegar Brewers, British Wine Makers, Foreign Wine Importers, Spirit Merchants, Mineral Water Manufacturers, 87, South Lambeth Road, London, S.W. Established in 1730 by Mark Beaufoy at Cupars Gardens, Bankside. Transferred to present address in 1814.

BEAULAH, J. & J., Pea Growers and Merchants, Boston. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1880 by John Beaulah, J.P., and Josiah Beaulah, the present principals. Staff: About 500. Speciality: Marrowfat Green Peas in Bulk or Packets. Patents: Inventors of the " Ideal " Pea Cooker and Strainer; " Ureka " Soaking Tablet. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephone: No. 106 Boston. Telegraphic Address: " Beaulah, Boston." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

BEAUMONT BROTHERS, LIMITED, Woollen Merchants, Tailors' Trimmings, Corporation Street and Cannon Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1812 by George Beaumont. Partnership Successions: (1) Geo. Beaumont & Son; (2) John and George Beaumont; (3) Beaumont Brothers. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: John Beaumont (Chairman), J. Edward Beaumont (Joint Managing Directors) (grandsons of founder), F. Godlee, P. Swanwick. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: New Building erected in 1908 on site previously occupied by the firm since 1846, also the site of Cheeryble House, Warehouse occupied by Cheeryble Brothers. Staff: About forty. Branches: 26, Whitechapel; and 17, Williamson Street, Liverpool. Specialities: Woollen Cloths, and Tailors' Trimmings for Home Trade and Shipping. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 2372 (City) Manchester; No. 3078 (Royal) Liverpool. Telegraphic Addresses: " Beaumont Brothers," Manchester, Liverpool. Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank, Ltd.

BEAVEN, J. & T., Wool Staplers, Fellmongers and Leather Dressers, Holt, near Trowbridge, Wilts. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1770 by a member of the Beaven family and continued by the same family.. Present Partners: F. T. Beaven and E. C. Beaven. Present Principals: F. T. Beaven, E. C. Beaven, T. P. Beaven, J. F. Beaven and V. A. Beaven. Business: Woolstaplers, Fellmongers, Shumac Skivers, Leather Manufacturers, Gloves, Chamois Hat Leathers, and Dyed Leathers. Connection: United Kingdom, the Continent, Japan and America. Telephone: No. 94Y Bradford-on-Avon. Telegraphic Address: " Beaven, Holt. Wilts." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

BEAVER, JOHN H., Mohair, Alpaca and Fancy Yarn Spinner, Bowling Green Mills, Bingley, Yorks. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.15 p.m. Established in 1875 by John H. Beaver, J.P., the present principal. Premises: Extensive well equipped Mills in Bingley. Staff: 500 hands. Specialities: Yarns for Dresses, Plush, Linings, and Braids, and all classes of Mohair, Alpaca and Camels Hair Yarns. Award: Medal, &c., for Yarns in France, 1906. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 81 and 82 Bingley ,; No. 4 Haworth. Telegraphic Address: Mohair, Bingley." Mr. Beaver is a County Alderman and Justice of the Peace for the West Riding of Yorks. Club: Cavendish (Keighley). Pastimes: Driving, Motoring, and Foreign Travel.

BEBBINGTON, JAMES, Vegetable Black Manufacturer, Albion Chemical Works, Bank Street, Clayton, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1855 by Mather & Whittaker. Continued by (1) James Whittaker; (2) Oswald Whittaker. Present Principal: James Bebbington. Premises: Are walled round, the height varying from seven to eleven feet, because in 1855 it stood entirely by itself, an old Toll Bar with its lodge being its nearest companion. The works cover nearly 6000 square yards. Specialities: Best Light Vegetable Black, Lamp Black and Black Varnish, &c. Invention: Vegetable Black. Connection Great Britain and the Continent. Telephone: No. 263 Openshaw, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Whittaker, Clayton, Manchester." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd. Mr. Bebbington is a member of Political and Ratepayers Associations, and a Director of the New Theatre, Limited, Manchester. Sports: Bowls, Swimming and Football.

BECHSTEIN, C., Pianoforte Manufacturer, Nos. 32, 34, 36, 38, and 40, Wigmore Street, and 2-16, Little Welbeck Street, London, W. Branch: No. 334, Rue St. Honore, Paris, formerly the town house of the Dues de Noailles. Factories: Berlin, covering many acres, and employing over 1,000 hands. A large staff of experts is employed at the London establishment. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1853 by the late C. Bechstein. Present Principals: Edwin and Carl Bechstein, sons of the founder. Specialities: The highest quality and refinement in Pianoforte Making. Royal Warrants: To H.M. the King, to His late Majesty King Edward, H.M. Queen Alexandra, T.I.M. the German Emperor and Empress, T.M. the Kings of Italy, Spain, Wiirtemberg, Roumania, H.I.M. the Tsar of Russia, T.M. the Queens of Sweden and Norway, H.I.H. the Crown Prince of Germany, H.R.H. the Princess Frederic Charles of Prussia, H.R.H. the Prince Louis Ferdinand of Bavaria, the Duke of Saxe-Coburg-Gotha, the Princess Louise (Duchess of Argyll); also to the late Queen Victoria and the late Empress Frederick. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Bechstein, London." Telephone: No. 1761 Mayfair. The firm owns Bechstein Hall, London (Telephone: No. 1280 Paddington).

BECK & CO., Ltd., Hydraulic and General Engineers, 130, Great Suffolk Street, Southwark, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 0 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12 noon. Established over seventy years ago. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Directors: William Bell and T. Angus Wheatley, both of whom have held this position for thirty-two years, and A. R. Wheatley, B.Sc. Specialities: Positive Water Meters, Water, Gas, and Steam Fittings. Have patented numerous inventions relating to Water Fittings. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office), also to the Crown Agents for the Colonies, the London County Council, the Metropolitan Water Board, and the leading Water Works and Railway Companies at home and abroad. Telephone: No. 860 Hop. Telegraphic Address: " Hydrant, London." The Company are members of the Engineering Employers Federation. Clubs: (Mr. Bell), Whitehall; (Mr. Wheatley) St. Stephens.

BECK, KOLLER & CO., Brushes, &c. Head Office: Berlin, S. 0. Vienna; and 3, Bury Court, St. Mary Axe, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established fifty years ago by Beck & Koller. Present Principals: Carl Reichhold and Robert Heinze (Berlin). Specialities: On the Continent: Varnishes, Colour, Brushes, Pumice Blocks. In London: Pumice Blocks, Brushes, Filling-up Powder. Importers of Natural Pumice Stone and Powder. Sole agents for the Original " Schumacher " Brand Artificial Pumice Blocks. Connection: United. Kingdom, - Foreign, Colonial. phone: No. 8699 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: . " Rupaks, London." Bankers: London and South Western Bank, Ltd.

BECK & POLLITZER, Wharfingers, Shipping, Insurance, and Forwarding Agents, Motor Car Packers and Exhibition Stand Fitters, Trig Wharf, 29, Upper Thames Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1865 by Sigismund Pollitzer and John Beck. Present Principals: Frank Joseph Coleman Pollitzer, Percy William Pollitzer. Business has always been carried on at above address. Premises: Olympic Works, 271A, King Street, Hammersmith, W.; Warehouses and three Wharfs at 29, Upper Thames Street, E.C.. 17, Bankside, S.E., and Southwark Wharfs, 9, 10, 11, Bankside, S.E. Head Office: 29, Upper Thames Street, E.C. Extensive accommodation for storage and packing of Motor Cars and heavy machinery. Staff: About seventy. Specialities: Landing and Collection of Goods from Steamers; Storing Goods in' Warehouses and forwarding the same to all parts of the world. Similar work undertaken for export goods. Connection: World-wide; chiefly United States, Canada, Japan, and the Continent of Europe. Telephone: No. 6650, City (four lines). Telegraphic Address " Photorapide, London." Cable Address: " Beaupol, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Ludgate Hill Branch).

BECKER & CO., Ltd., Wood Pulp Merchants and Importers, 64, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1894 by F. E. R. Becker. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: G. V. D. Busche (Chairman), F. E. R. Becker (Managing Director), W. Buchanan, G. Buchanan, T. L. Becker, W. Grimshaw, W. Ryrie, H. Muther. Premises: Consisting of offices in Cannon Street. Sta.": About forty. Branches: Hamburg, Manchester, Christiania, Paris, Toronto, &c. Speciality: Wood Pulp for Paper Making. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 3079 Central; No. 5911 Bank, London. Telegraphic Address: " Odontoid, London." Codes: A B C, Al, Lieber's, Western Union, Private. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

BECKETT (JOSEPH) & CO., Drapers, Eastgate Row, Chester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Established in 1844. Staff: About 100. Specialities: Silk and Dress Fabrics, Costumes, Millinery, High-class Furs, and Real Laces. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 57 Chester. Telegraphic Address: " Beckett, Rows, Chester."

BECKWORTH (WILLIAM) & SONS, Ltd., Tanners, Curriers, and Leather Dressers, Viaduct Tanneries, Leeds. Hours of Business: Forty-eight per week. Established in 1892 by William Beckworth. Partnership Successions: (1) William Beckworth & Son, 1892; (2) William Beckworth & Sons, 1900; (3) William Beckworth & Sons, Ltd. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. Directors: W. Harold Beckworth and Richard P. Beckworth (joint Managing Directors), F. Gallsworthy, F. Eric Tetley. Premises: Very extensive and well equipped. Staff: 200. Branches: The Tannery, Lincoln; Hill Top Tannery, Bramley, near Leeds. Specialities: Dressing Leathers, Army Leathers, Athletic Leathers, Chrome Tanned Upper Leathers; at Lincoln, Belting Leathers and " Tortoise " Belting. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 111 Leeds; No. 94 Lincoln. Telegraphic Addresses: " Beckworth, Leeds "; " Tortoise, Lincoln." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited, Leeds.

BEDE METAL AND CHEMICAL CO., Ltd. (THE), Copper Smelters and Refiners, Hebburn, near Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1868. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Sir Andrew Noble, Bart., K.C.B. (Chairman), Sir Alfred M. Palmer, Bart., James E. Tully, Wilfred Hall, and Richard E. Carr. General Manager and Secretary: Wm. M. Brown. Branch: Trondhjem, Norway. Business: Copper Extraction (wet process), Smelting and Refining. Telephones: No. 421 National, Newcastle-on-Tyne; No. 15 (Post Office) Hebburn. Telegraphic Address: " Bede, Hebburn." Sir Andrew Noble, Bart., is a Knight Commander of the Bath.

BEDFORD & DWIGHT, Bore Regis, Wareham, Dorset. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1890 by William Bedford. Joined in 1905 by Arthur George Dwight, the present principals. Premises: Three farms covering about 420 acres. Farms chiefly for growing corn and grazing cattle and sheep. With Water Mill for grinding and crushing corn; also Corn and Cake Store. Small Brickyard, worked for Hand-made Bricks only. Claim to have the reputation of being " The Best in Dorset." Staff: About seventy. Wages £3300 per annum. Specialities: Watercress, output annually of 400 tons, and Hand-made Bricks. Connection: Watercress sent to most of the Wholesale Markets in England and Scotland. Telegraphic Address: " Bedford, Bere-Regis." Bankers: Wilts and Dorset Bank, Ltd. (Blandford). Mr. William Bedford was Chairman of the Milborne St. Andrew Farmers Club in 1904.

BEDLINGTON BRICK COMPANY (THE), Brick Manufacturers. Offices: Milburn House, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established about twelve years ago by E. Weatherley, Stephen Easten, and C. Robinson. Present Principals: Stephen Easten, C. Robinson, R. Robinson. Premises: Extensive, covering about sixteen acres. Works at Bedlington R.S.O., Northumberland. Office at above address. Staff: About twenty to thirty. Business: Brick Makers. Telephones: No. 13 (P.O.) Bedlington; No. 2438 (National) Newcastle-on-Tyne.

BEDWELL & SON, Organ Builders and Tuners, The Cambridge Organ Works, Cambridge, and 104, Poole Road, Bournemouth. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1890 by G. C. Bedwell, the present principal. Claim to have built the first new organ on the Hope-Jones principle. Premises: Specially built to suit the requirements of the, business. Specialities: Electric and Tubular Pneumatics.. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly). Mr. Bedwell has been President Of the Music Trades Association of Great Britain. He is a Trustee of the Music Trades Benevolent Society.

BEEBY, T. H., Timber Merchant, Brigstock, Thrapston. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1860 by Henry Beeby. Carried on as H. Beeby & Sons to 1898. Present Principal: T. H. Beeby. Premises: Cover two acres. Staff,: Sixteen employees. Speciality: English Timber. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 2 Brigstock. Mr. T. H. Beeby was a Guardian and District Councillor from .1890 to 1912. He is now Chairman of the Parish Council.

BEECROFT, SONS & NICHOLSON, Drapery, Clothing, and Furnishers' Valuers, &c., 12, Wood Street, Cheapside, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1842 by Charles Sidney Beecroft (son of Capt. Beecroft, R.N.) at Luton; commenced in London, 1870. Partnership Successions: (1) C. S. Beecroft & Sons; (2) Beecroft, Sons & Nicholson. Present Principals: Frederic Beecroft, Henry Beecroft, and William Nicholson (Incorporated Accountant). Premises: First floor at 12, Wood Street; area, 3,000 sq. ft. Staff: About seventy. Specialities: Drapery and Textile Valuations, Fire Claim and other Assessments, sales by Tender, General Accountancy, and Arbitrations. Connection: England, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, Channel Islands. Telephones: (Wood Street), No. 800 City, No. 7914 City; (H. Beecroft), No. 1045 Ealing; (F. Beecroft), No. 4746 P.O. Hampstead.

BEER, J. J., Chemicals and Minerals, 4, Cullum Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Business: Manufacture of Nitrate of Lime, Nitrate of Ammonia, Nitrite of Soda, Refined Nitrate of Soda from Atmospheric Nitrogen. Sole Agent for United Kingdom and British Colonies for the Norwegian Hydro-Electric Nitrogen Co., Ltd., of Christiania and Notodden,orway. Capital, with other Norwegian Companies amalgamated with them, about 3 millions sterling. Awards: 2, Grand Prix at the Imperial International Exhibition, Shepherd's Bush, 1909. Telephone: No. 7200 London Wall (two lines). Telegraphic Address: "Telbeer, Fen,London."Bankers: London and Southestern Bank, Ltd.

BEESON, WILLIAM, Potato Merchant and Grower, London. Established by George Beeson at Tooley Street in 1850. Business was taken over in 1886 by founder's son, William Beeson, the present proprietor, who had established himself in 1878 as a Salesman on Commission. Depots: 35, King's Cross Potato Market, N.; 8B, St. Pancras Depot, Midland Railway ' • South Row, Covent Garden; Borough High Street; 18 and 20, Southwark Street; Shore Street, Dunbar, N.B. Specialities: Growing New Varieties of Potatoes in Scotland and England; Buying Crops of the finest quality for Winter Supply; Export and Import to and from all countries; Supplying Seed Potatoes to Farmers all over the country. Telephones: No. 2912 Gerrard ' • Nos. 10286 and 5050 Central. Telegraphic Address: "W . Beeson, London." Code: A B C. Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Southwark Branch).

BEESWAX CO., Ltd., Bleachers and Refiners of Waxes, &c., 2, Rangoon Street, Crutched Friars, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1889. Manager: S. C. C. Green. Business: Bleachers and Refiners of Waxes and Fancy Candle Manufacturers. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Telephone.: No. 6354 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address " Waxworkers, Fen, London." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd., 123, Fenchurch Street Branch.

BEETON & CO., Ltd., Publishers, 10 and 11, Fetter Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Publishers of " Hearth and Home," &c. Promoters of the Hearth and Home Guild of Aid for Gentlepeople, Literary Guild, Photographic Guild. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 8261 Central.

BEGBIE; J. A.; & CO., East India Merchants, Import and Export, Dash wood House, New Broad Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5. p.m. Established in 1892 by the late John Aitchison Begbie. Present Principals: Andrew Russell Finlay (Rangoon), David Kennedy Love (Bombay), and Peter John Arnot (London). Branches: Rangoon and Bombay. Agencies: Marine Insurance Co., Ltd., Rangoon and Bombay; Central Insurance Co.; Union Marine Insurance Co., Ltd.; General Accident Fire and Life Assurance Corporation, Ltd.; Army, Navy and General Assurance Association, Ltd.; Federal Marine Insurance Co., Ltd.; Burma Para Rubber Co., Ltd., (Burma); Rudge-Whitworth; Bedford Motors. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphs° Addresses: "Euryalus, London "; " Begbie," Rangoon and Bombay. Bankers: British Linen Bank.

BEGG & CO., Shirt Manufacturers, New Wakefield Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established twenty years ago by P. D. Begg and A. B. Begg, the present principals. Branch: Sale, Cheshire. Agencies: London, Paris, Cape Town, Johannesburg, Jamaica. Specialities: Shirts for Export, special attention given to low and medium class trade for Kaffir and Native trade. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 1771 Central, Manchester; No. 168 Salo. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd., York Street, Manchester.

BEGG, JOHN, Ltd., Distillers, Blenders, and Exporters of Scotch Whisky, 47, McAlpine Street, Glasgow; Royal Lochnagar Distillery, Balmoral, N.B. Hours of Business: Glasgow, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; at the Distillery work carried on continuously, Sundays excepted. Established in 1845 by John Begg. He was succeeded by Henry Farquharson Begg. The family of the above constitute the present owners. Have been privileged to supply all the Royal Palaces since 1848. Speciality: Whisky of the highest class. Royal Warrant Holders continuously since 1848, held from Her late Majesty Queen Victoria, His late Majesty King Edward, and from H.M. King George V. Telegraphic Address: " Lochnagar, Glasgow."

BEGGS (THOMAS) & SON, Engineers and Brass Founders, 132, Southwark Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1850 by Thomas Beggs. Present Principal: George A. Beggs. Business: London Agents for Guest and Chrimes, Rotherham. Specialize in Siemens' Water Meters and articles connected with Water and Gas supply. Awards: Many to Guest and Chrimes 'for their manufactures, patent and otherwise. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 8422 City, London. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

BEHAR, V., & CO., Eastern Merchants, Turkey Carpet Manufacturers, House Furnishers and Decorators, 300 and 302, Sauchiehall Street, and 1, Dalhousie Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established eighteen years ago by V. Behar, the present principal. Pre mises: Consist of. three flats. Carpet Saloon, covering 150 feet by 60 feet; Looms at Smyrna, Ouchak, Kassaba, Kurdistan and other interiors; also in Tiflis, Shiray and Tabriz, Persia. British Raheb Looms, Perthshire, Scotland. Large stocks always at London and Liver pool Docks, and at Glasgow. Agencies: In various parts of the country. Specialities: Turkey Carpets, Raheb Turkish Pile, British-made Carpet (Registered), one and a quarter inch, one inch, and half inch thick. Eastern Carpets, British Axminsters in seamed and seamless squares, Stair Carpets, &c., Parqueteries and Wall Panelings to suit all periods, Linoleums Printed to special designs, High-class Draperies, Chintzes, Blinds, Materials for Chair Coverings, &c., Tapestries, Curtains dyed with special fast shades, Vegetable Dyes; also Antique Furniture and Reproductions. Complete Furnishing of Hotels, Hydros, Churches, Clubs, &c. A special feature made of large contracts. Awards: Gold Medals, Brussels, Chicago, St. Louis, Turin, Rome, London, Edinburgh and Glasgow. Con nection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 25 and 26 Douglas (Private Branch Exchange). Telegraphic Address: " Behar, Glasgow." Clubs: Royal Automobile and S.A.C. Bankers: Bank of Scotland, L' d., Sauchiehall Street Branch; Clydesdale Bank, Sauchiehall Street Branch.

BEHN, FREDK. T. H., General Merchant and Importer of Produce, 14, 16, and 18, Pall Mall, Liverpool. Hours of Busi ness: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1900 by Frederick T. H. Behn, the present principal. Premises: Two floors of building in Liverpool; Stores at Elmina. Staff: Twelve. Branches: Hamburg, 25H. Dovenfleth; and Elmina, Gold Coast. Business: Mainly Merchant. Importation of Produce. Connection: West Africa (British and Foreign Colonies), West Indies, South America, Madagascar. Has a large parcel post trade all over the world. Telephone: No. 191 (Central), Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Concession, Liverpool." Codes: Western Union, A B C, Lieber's. Bankers: Bank of British West Africa, Ltd.

BEHRENS (SIR JACOB) & SONS, Merchants, 1, Collier Gate, Bradford, and 36, Princess Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1834 by Sir Jacob Behrens. Branches: London, Glasgow and Calcutta. Rumness: Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Addresses; " Behrens Bradford," " Elephant, Manchester "; " Navarino, Calcutta "; " Boldness, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Western Union, Al, Lieber's Ross-Moss, Whitelaw's 401 Millions and Private.

BELDAM PACKING & RUBBER CO., Engine Packings, &c. Office: 1 and 2, Gracechurch Street, London, E.C. Works: Brentford, Middlesex. Hours of Business: 9 a m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1876 by Asplan Beldam, M.I.N.A., M.I.Mech.E., M.I.Mar.E. Present Principals: George William Beldam, M.A.Cantab., and Cyril Asplan Beldam, M.A.Cantab. Premises: The works at Brentford are extensive and fully equipped. The industry carried on embraces as a leading feature the weaving and manufacture of every description of Asbestos Goods and Engine Packings. Awards: Gold Medal, Milan International Exhibition, 1906, and two Gold Medals, Franco-British Exhibition, 1908; Gold Medal, Japan-British Exhibition, 1910. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. On Admiralty, War, and India Office Lists. Telephone: No. 192 P.O. Central. Telegraphic Address: " Corrugated, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Lombard Street).

BELDAM, ROBERT, Asbestos and India-rubber Manufacturers, 1A, New London Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1892 by Robert Beldam (d.). Present Principals: Ernest Asplan Beldam, M.I.Mar.E., and William Robert Beldam. Premises:Chief Office at 1A, New London Street, E.C., and Lascar Works, Strafford Road, Hounslow, Middlesex. Agencies: Liverpool, 9A, Oriel Chambers, Water Street (Charles Graham & Co.), Cardiff; 104, Bute Street (Bonnyman Brothers- & Co.); Newcastle-on-Tyne; E. Floor, Milburn Hour (Scott and Walker). Specialities: Asbestos Packings and Jointings, Mechanical Rubber Goods, and Al Lascar Packings and Kymbala Jointing (Sole Manufacturers). Patents: Al " Lascar " Packings and Beldam's re-inforced Manhole Door Joint. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office), and to the leading Steamship and Shipbuilding Firms. Telephone: No. 4645 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Smoothness, Fen, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and Two-in-one Condenser. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

BELDAM TYRE CO., Ltd. (THE), Manufacturers of Beldam Patent Pneumatic Tyres, Windmill Road, Brentford, Middlesex. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1913, taking over the business of Beldam Tyres, Ltd. (The Beldam Tyre Syndicate of 1909). Directors: George W. Beldam (Managing Director), Dr. W. G. Heasman, M.A., Cantab, and W. S. Coles. Secretary: Val. Bowden. Premises: Cover two acres. Staff: 150. Speciality: Beldam Patent Pneumatic Tyres for Motor Cars and Motor Cycles. Trade Mark: " G.W.B." Patents: Beldam's. Awards: Gold Medal, Turin Exhibition, 1913; Gold Medal and Grand Prix, Vercelli, Italy, 1913. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonies and Foreign. Telephone: No. 125 Ealing (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Beldam Tyres, Brentford." Codes: A B C and Lieber's. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

BELFAST BANKING CO., Ltd. (THE), Bankers. Head Office: Waring Street, Belfast. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1827. Previously the business had been conducted as a Private Bank for upwards of a century. Incorporated as a Company in 1865; became a Limited Company in 1883. Managing Directors: Henry I. Johns, David McKee, W. G. Crawford, M. Wilson. Secretary: Robt. Mac Donald. Assistant Secretary: J. P. Brewer. Staff: 299. Branches: Forty-seven; Sub-Branches, thirty. Agents in all the principal towns in the United Kingdom. Currency Drafts, Circular Notes, and Letters of Credit are issued, and Telegraphic Transfers made to all parts of the world. Business: All departments of Banking conducted; Money received on deposit; Dividends Collected, &c. Treasurers for the City of Belfast, the Counties of Down and Londonderry, and numerous Urban and District Councils. Telephones: Nos. 2990 and 2991 Belfast. Telegraphic Address: "Belbank, Belfast." Codes A B C (5th Edition); Lieber's. London, Agents: The Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Princes Street).

BELFAST ROPEWORK CO., Ltd. (THE), Rope and Twine Manufacturers, Belfast. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1876. Directors: Abram Combe, J.P., John Rogers, John Sinclair, Alexander McDowell, Fredk. W. May, James Gallaher, and Wm. Jas. Farrell (Managing Director). Business: Makers of the " Blue Bell " brand of Binder Twine. Extensive Producers of Trawl Nets, Shop Twines of every description; Manila Driving Ropes and Ships' Ropes from the largest hawser to the smallest line. Connection: Worldwide. Telephones: Nos. 301, 302, and 303 Knock, Private Branch Exchange. Telegraphic Address: " Ropeworks, Belfast." Bankers: The Bank of Ireland.

BELGRAVIA DAIRY CO., Ltd. (THE), Dairymen. Head Office: 4 and 6, Exhibition Road, South Kensington, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1881. Directors: Alfred Brisco (Chairman), Mark Richard Milbanko, J. W. T. Heaver, Fred. Pitts (Managing Director). Branches: Thirty-two. Specialities: Sterilised Milk, Humanised Milk, and Peptonised Milk. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 144 Kensington (Head Office). Telegraphic Address: " Belerico, Phone, London."

BELHAVEN LIMITED, Engineers, Iron and Brass Founders, Commercial Motor Vehicle Manufacturers and Specialists in the Design and Manufacture of Bakery and Confectionery Plant, Belhaven Works, Wishaw; Belhaven Foundry, Morningside, Newmains, Lanarkshire; and Belhaven Garage, 43, Washington Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: Offices, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 10 a.m. Garage open Day and Night. Established in 1859 by Robert Morton (d.). Continued as Robert Morton & Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company as Robert Morton & Sons, Ltd., Re-registered as Belhaven Engineering and Motors, Ltd. Purchased by Belhaven, Ltd., in 1912. Chairman: Major Robert Ramsden Mellor, A.I.E. S. Managing Director: Thomas Morton Gray Morton, M.I.Meoh.E., M.I.A.E., M.I.E.S., &o. Secretary: John Watson. Premises: Engineering Works cover four acres. Foundry, six acres, equipped with up-todate appliances. Garage capacity for fifty cars. Staff: 200' to 250. Specialities: Commercial Motor Vehicles, Steam and Petrol, from one ton carrying capacity to six tons; High-class Bakery and Confectionery Plant, Coal Cutting Plant, Steam and Water Turbines, Creosoting Plant. Patents: For Bakery and Confectionery Plant, Turbines and Pumps. Connection: United Kingdom (all parts), France, Germany, Austria, Italy, Denmark, &c., Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Canada, India and Ceylon. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty). Telephones: No. 4703 Glasgow; No. 10, Wishaw. Telegraphic Addresses: " Belmotors Wishaw "; " Overhaul, Glasgow." Codes: AB C (5th Edition), Lieber's, Engineering, and Private. Bankers: Clydesdale Bank, Ltd. Major R. R. Mellor was second in command of the 5th Battalion of The Duke of Wellington's Regiment (retired). Club: (Major Mellor) Huddersfield.

BELL (ARTHUR) & SONS, Scotch Whisky Distillers, Victoria Street, Perth. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1825. Present Principals: A. K. Bell, R. D. Bell. Speciality: Bell's Scotch Whisky. Telephone: No. 180 Perth. Telegraphic Address: " Bells, Perth." Bankers: Bank of Scotland.

BELL & BIEBERSTEDT, Wholesale Seed Merchants and Growers, 15-17, Coburg Street, Leith, Scotland, and at Belfast and Newry, Ireland. Established in 1887 by David Bell and August Bieberstedt, the present principals. Business: The Importing and Exporting of all kinds of Seeds—Clovers, Ryegrass,Natural Grasses, Turnip and Mangold, Vegetable Seeds, Bird Seeds. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial, especially the Continent, Canada, New Zealand, Australia, United States, and South America. Telephone: No. 713 Leith. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Bellseed, Leith." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions); Western Union; American Seed Trade; Private. Bankers: Royal Bank of Scotland (Leith); Deutsche Bank (Berlin); Credit Lyonnais (Paris); Jan Havelaar & Zoon (Rotterdam) D. B. Adler & Co. (Copenhagen).

BELL BROTHERS, Ltd., Ironmasters, Colliery and Ironstone Mine Owners, &c., Middlesbrough. Hours of Business:Usual. Established in 1844 by Sir Lowthian Bell, Bart. (d.), and his two brothers. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: Sir Hugh Bell, Bart. (Chairman and Managing Director), Arthur J. Dorman (Vice-Chairman), Walter Johnson,Maurice L. Bell, Charles Dorman, alter L. Johnson, R. L. Kirby, Arthur Dorman. Premises: Very extensive. Staff: About 6000. Specialities: Pig Iron Manufacturing, Coals, Coke, Ironstone, Limestone, &c. Products. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2 Middlesbrough. Telegraphic Address: " Bells, Middlesbrough." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

BELL & BURNIE, Ltd., Contractors and Refrigerator Builders, 2 to 12, Keble Road, Bootle, Lancs., and Sydenham Road, Queen's Quay, Belfast. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established in 1880 by John Bell and Joseph Burnie. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Directors: John Bell (Chairman), James Bell and James Burnie. Staff: Average 350. Specialities: Insulation of Cold Stores, Land and Marine. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 852 Bootle, Telegraphic Address: "Insulation, Liverpool." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

BELL (EDMUND) & CO., Wholesale Stuff Manufacturers and Merchants, 3, Swaine Street, Bradford, Yorkshire. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1854 by the late Edmund Bell (d. 1890). Succeeded by Arthur Jenkinson, who became principal partner in 1906. Present Principals: Arthur Jenkinson and Edwin Shepherd. Branch: 35, Milk Street, Cheapsido, London, E.C. Specialities: Woollen and Cotton Italian Cloth Linings, Blacks and Colours. Connection: United Kingdom, • Colonial. Telephones: No. 913 Bradford ' No. 1342 City, London. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Belfry, Bradford "; " Bellmund, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Lieber's. Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. Club: (Mr. A. Jenkinson), National Liberal.

BELL, G., & SONS, Ltd., Publishers, York House, 6, Portugal Street, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. (May to August); 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. (September to April). Established in 1838 by George Bell. Joined by Frederick R. Daldy (Bell & Daldy till 1873). Subsequent partners, George Bell, Edward Bell, Ernest Bell. Incorporated as a Limited Company 1910. Directors: Edward Bell, M.A., F. S. A., Ernest Bell, M. A . Premises: Originally in Bouverie Street; afterwards at 186, Fleet Street. Bell & Daldy purchased Bohn's Libraries in 1864 and took the premises of Henry G. Bohn, 4, 5, and 6, York Street, Covent Garden. George Bell & Sons moved into York House, specially built, in 1904. Stall: Fifty-two. Specialities: Educational Works, chiefly Classical and Mathematical. Books on Art, General Literature, including Bohn's Libraries and the York Library. Colonial Library for India and the Colonies only. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Agents for United States: The Macmillan Company, New York. Agents for India: A. H. Wheeler & Co., Bombay. Agents for Cambridge: Deighton, Bell &-Co. Telephone: No. 12784 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Bohn, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Bloomsbury Branch). Mr. Edward Bell was President of the Publishers Association, 1906-9.

BELL (JOHN) & CROYDEN, Ltd., Dispensing, Chemists and Surgical Dressings Specialists, 50, Wigmore Street, London, W. Established in 1798 at 225, Oxford Street, W. Is now a Private Company; John D. Marshall, Managing Director. Specialities: John Bell's Tooth Powder, manufactured by the firm for upwards of fifty years. Are also manufacturers of Sterilised Surgical Dressings and Accessories. Telephone: No. 6457 Mayfair (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Croybellaco, Westo, London." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

BELL (JOHN), HILLS & LUCAS, Ltd., Wholesale and Export Druggists, Manufacturing and Analytical Chemists, Oxford Works, Tower Bridge Road, London, S.E. Established in 1798 by John Bell. Prior to removal to present Works, the business was carried on at 2, 4, 6, 8 and 10, Hills Place, Oxford Street, W., for 110 years. Is now a Private Company; Walter Hills, Chairman of Directors. Telephones: Nos. 3584 and 3585 Hop. Telegraphic Address: " Atoleine, Sedist, London."

BELL'S FASHION BUREAU, 203, Oxford Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1904 by Ernest William Bell, the present principal. Business: Hold sole rights for Great Britain and Colonies for the " Chic Parisien " Series of Fashion Journals, published. by Arnold Bachwitz. Also publish "Mayfair Fashions " for Gentlemen. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephones: No. 7352 Gerrard (Business); No. 1069 Putney (Private). Telegraphic Address: " Ewbel, London." Bankers: London and. South-Western Bank, Ltd.

BELL'S UNITED ASBESTOS CO., Ltd., Asbestos Manufacturers, 591, Southwark Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established by John Bell & Son, and Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1888. Directors: H. A. Bell (Chairman), A. J. Burnett, H. J. Enthoven, T. B. Lightfoot, G. R. T. Upton. Joint Managing Directors: C. S. Bell, J. A. Fisher. A widely known and representative concern in the asbestos industry, having important manufacturing interests. Specialities: Asbestos and Asbestos Goods of all kinds, for every purpose to which this indispensable material is applicable. Telephone: No. 4040 (five lines) Hop. Telegraphic Address: " Belfry, London."

BELLIS & MEEK, Fruit Merchants, 5, 6, 8 and 10, Gt. Charlotte Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Winter, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Summer, 5 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1894 by W. J. Bellis. Joined in 1895 by J. Meek. Present Principals: Walter J. Bellis and ,Tohn Meek. Premises: Purchased the headquarters at Nos. 8 and 10, Gt. Charlotte Street in 1903. Staff: Forty-two. Branches: 13, Beau Street (purchased 1914), and 126 to 140, and 141, North Market, Liverpool. Specialities: English, Channel Islands, French and Californian Fruit. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: Nos. 1709 and 1715 Royal, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Tomatoes, Liverpool." Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and Western Union. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited. Mr. Meek has been President of Liverpool Wholesale Fruit Merchants Association. Mr. Bellis is a Justice of the Peace for the City of Liverpool and Councillor for the County Borough of Wallasey. Ho was the first President of Liverpool Wholesale Fruit Merchants Association, and has been President of Liverpool Fruit Buyers ikssociation, Chairman of Liverpool 'Junior Reform Club, 1905, 1906, and Chairman (if Liverpool Seamans Friend Society.

BELLIS, THOMAS K., East and West India and. African Merchant, 27, Addington Square, Camberwell, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. G 2 Established in 1874 by Thomas K. Bellis. Has associated his name so intimately with the turtle trade in London that he has been styled the " Turtle King." Is also a large importer of Cigarette Tobacco from Macedonia. The turtle branch of the business is now carried on as the T. K. Bellis Turtle Co. (1911), Ltd.: T. K. Bellis, Managing Director. Specialities: Sun-dried Turtle; Preserved Turtle; Real Turtle Soup; Real Turtle Jelly; Turtle Cup; Turtle Extract; and Turtle Oil Soap. Connection: India, Turkey, Germany,. Austria, France, and the British Colonies in Africa and the West Indies, as well as throughout the United Kingdom. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephone: No. 167 Hop. Telegraphic Address: " Kerrison, London."

BELLISS & MORCOM, LIMITED, Engineers, Ledsam Street Works, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1852 by George E. Belliss, M.I.Mech.E. Joined in 1884 by Alfred Morcom, M.Inst.C.E. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893, when the business was transferred to G. E. Belliss & Co., Ltd. Subsequently became Belliss & Morcorn, Ltd., in 1899. Directors: A. E. Seaton, M.Inst.C.E. (Chairman),, R. K. Morcom, M.T. E. E. , A. M. Inst. C. E , G. B. Parrott, T. H. Parrott, M.I.Mech.E. (Managing Director). Secretary: G. B. Parrott. F.C.I.S. Foundry is capable of turning out 100 tons per week from three cupolas, and producing castings up to 25 tons. Manufactures: Patent Forced-Lubrication, Quick-Revolution Engines for Electric Lighting, Power, Traction, and Mill Driving, in standard sizes from 10 to 3000 B.H.P.; also of Condensing Plants, Air Compressors, Fan Engines, Pumping Engines, Paraffin Engines, Steam Turbines, &c. Numerous inventions have been patented relating to these manufactures. Connection: Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office), Colonial and Foreign Governments, most of the Municipal Corporations and other public bodies at home and abroad, the leading Home, Colonial, and Foreign Railways, and the principal Shipbuilding, Engineering, Steel, Iron, Coal, and other works in the United Kingdom and Abroad. Telephones: Nos. 4480 and 4481. Telegraphic Address: "Belliss, Birmingham." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Engineering (2nd Edition), and Western Union (1900 Edition).

BELSIZE MOTORS, Ltd., Motor Car Manufacturers, Belsize Works, Clayton, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1896 by Jas. Hoyle Smith (present Managing Director) as Marshall & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company as Belsize Motor Car and Engineering Co., Ltd. Re-registered in 1906 under above title. Directors: Jas. Hoyle Smith (Managing Director), G. P. Dawson (Chairman), John Whitehead, Colin Mather, Gerald Higginbotham. Staff: 1500. Specialities: Motor Cars and Motor Taxi Cabs; Commercial Vehicles. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 4414 (Private Branch Exchange) Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Belsize, Manchester." Codes: A B C (5th Edition); Lieber's; Special.

BEMROSE & SONS, Ltd., Printers, Lithographers, Stationers, Bookbinders, and Account Book Manufacturers, Midland Place, Derby; 4, Snow Hill, London, E.C.; Post Office House, Leeds. Hours of Business: Usual; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established by the late William Bemrose in 1825. Traded as Bemrose & Sons prior to formation of Company. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Directors: Colonel W. Wright Bemrose, J.P. (Chairman), Henry H. Bemrose, M.A., Sc.D., F.G.S., J.P., Charles L. Bemrose, H. Cheney Bemrose. Premises: Extensive printing works at Derby. Specialties: Fine Art, Colour and General Printing, Designing and Printing of Calendars, also Lithographic and Collotype Work. Gold Medal, Paris, 1900; Grand Prix, Franco-British Exhibition, 1908: Gold Medal, Dresden, 1909. Printers to the Midland Railway Company. Telephones: No. 471 (3 lines) Derby, No. 576 Holborn (London) and 1668 Leeds. Telegraphic Addresses: "Bemrose, Derby"; "Bemrose, Cent, London."

BENGER'S FOOD, Ltd., Food Manufacturers, Otter Works, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1882 by Standen Paine. and F. Baden Benger. Incorporated as a public Limited Company in 1903. Directors: H. W. Kearns (Chairman), Robert Whitehead, F. A. B. Benger, A. H. Barlow and A. E. H. Blackburn. Branches and Agencies: Canada, New York City, U.S.A., and Sydney, Australia. Specialities: Wellknown Benger's Food and other dietetic and digestive preparations. Awards: Gold Medal, Health Exhibition, London, 1884; First Order of Merit, Adelaide International Exhibition, 1887; First Order of Merit, Centennial International Exhibition, Melbourne, 1889. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone No. 2969 City, Manchester Telegraphic Address: " Benger's, Manchester." Code: A B C (5th Edition) and Bentley's. Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd. (Manchester).

BENHAM & SONS, Ltd., 66, Wigmore Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1817 by the late Mr. John Lee Benham. Incorporated as a Company in 1891. Specialities: Cooking Apparatus, Kitcheners, Hot Water, Heating, and Steam Installations, Cooking Utensils. Connection: Throughout the United Kingdom, Foreign, . Colonial. Patents: Numerous. Telephone: No. 321 Paddington (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Benham, London."

BENN BROTHERS, Ltd., Publishers, 29, and 31, Christopher Street; and 37, 39, and 41, Clifton Street, Finsbury Square, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1880 by John Benn (now Sir John Benn). Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1897; capital increased to £50,000 in 1912; previously traded as J. W. Benn & Brothers. Directors: Julius Benn Sir John Williams Benn, D.L., L.C.C., J.P.(Chairman), Ernest J. P. Benn (Managing Director), H. P. Shapland, C. E. Hughes, H. P. Benn. Claim to have published the first illustrated trade paper. Branches: 17, Battery Place, Now York, and Avenida de Mayo 623, Buenos Aires. Business: Publishing. Are Publishers of the " Cabinet Maker," the " Hardware Trade Journal," the " Goldsmiths' Review," " Marine Engineering," the "Export World," the " Argentine Trader," the " Boiler Maker." Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 3457 and 3458 London Wall. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. Sir John Benn is an original Member of the London County Council, and has been Chairman; is a Deputy Lieutenant for London, Justice of the Peace for Essex and London, and Chairman of the Furnishing Section, London Chamber of Commerce.

BENN, J., & CO., Spinners and Manufacturers of Alpaca, Mohair, Melanges, Mottles, Colours, Demi and Super Lustre Yarns, &c., Oak Mills, Clayton, and Market Rooms, 52, Swat. Arcade, Bradford. Hours of Business: Mills, 6.30 a.m. to 5.45 p.m.; Offices, 8.30 a.m. to 5.45 p.m. Established in 1860 by Joseph Benn, Alfred Wallis, and A. Briggs. Present Principal: Alfred Wallis. Premises: Very extensive Mills, equipped with modern appliances. Staff: 510. Specialities: Mohairs, Brilliantines, Sicilians, Lustre, Mohair, and Alpaca Linings. Patent: Self-lubricating Fly Spindle. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial (Export through Bradford Houses). Telephones: No. 362 Bradford (Yarn and Piece Department); No. 62 Thornton (Wool and Noil Department); No. 1896 (Swan Arcade), Bradford. Bankers: Bradford District Bank, Ltd. (Commercial Bank Branch).

BENN, J. (JUN.), Manufacturer, 11, Forster Square, Bradford, and Springfield Mills, Idle. Hours of Business: Usual. Specialities: Alpacas, Mohairs, Linings, Costume Cloths, Tennis Cloths, Coverts, Plain and Fancy Worsted Coatings, Vicunas, and Serges. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 3245 (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Radium, Bradford." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Bradford District Bank, Ltd. (Commercial Bank).

BENN (JOSEPH) & SONS, Ltd., Alpaca and Mohair Spinners and Manufacturers, Beckside Mills, Great Horton, Bradford. Business: Alpaca and Mohair Spinners and Manufacturers. Telephones: Nos. 4734 and 4735 Private Branch Exchange; No. 129 Private Office, Bradford. Cable Address: " Bennsons, Bradford." Telegraphic Address: " Bennsons, Bradford."

BENNETT, C. T., & CO., Newfoundland and General Commission Merchants, 61, Queen Square, Bristol. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1830 by Charles Fox Bennett. Partnership Successions: (1) Charles Thomas Bennett (nephew), 1856; (2) Charles Thomas Bennett and Robert Ehlers, trading as C. T. Bennett & Co., 1895; (3) Robert Ehlers (nephew) since death of C. T. Bennett in 1900. Present Principal: Robert Ehlers. Specialities: Sale of Dried Codfish, Fish Oils, and other Newfoundland Produce; also Dried Fruit, Olive Oil, &c. Connection: Chiefly Foreign, Portugal, Spain, Italy, Greece and Canada. Telephone: No. 201 Bristol. Telegraphic Address " Bennett, Bristol." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), A 1, Private. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

BENNETT & JACKSON, Ltd., Bleachers and Sizers of Cotton Yarns, Mevril Springs Bleach Works, Whaley Bridge, near Stockport. A branch of the Bleachers Association, Ltd. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1880 by C. E. Bennett and John J. Jackson. John J. Jackson (Manager), John G. Munroe. Premises: Extensive and well-equipped. Staff: 180. Branches: 15, Sackville Street (Office), Union Street Mills, Ancoats (Warehouse), Manchester. Business: Bleachers and Sizers of every class of Cotton Yarns for Home trade or any market in the world. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 4 Whaley Bridge; No. 2795 Central, Manchester. Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd. (Manchester

BENNETT (SIR JOHN), Ltd., Watch, Clock, and Jewellery Manufacturers, 65, Cheapside, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1750 by George Bennett at Greenwich. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: H. W. Lofthouse (Chairman), J. A. Hill, and George Russell (Managing Director). Branch: 105, Regent Street, W. Specialities: Highest Class of Watches, Clocks, and Jewellery. Connection: World-Wide. Telephone: No. 65 Cheapside; No. 5951 Bank (Regent Street); No. 10376 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Horologist, London."

BENNETT, JOHNSON & HAYES, Lace Manufacturers, 30, St. Mary's Gate, Nottingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1880 by Bennett & Stafford. Continued by Bennett & Hayes, and later changed to present title. Present Principal: Harry Johnson, formerly manager to George Clarke, Stoney Street, and more recently controlled the Lace business of Brownsword & Clark. Premises: Occupy large and commanding buildings facing the well-known Broadway. Warehouse, five storeys high. Staff: Thirty to forty. Specialities: Originally noted for Silk Laces, now the firm ranks amongst the leading houses finishing and merchanting all classes of Cotton Laces, Allover Nets, Flouncings, and Laces for corset making. Connections: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 628 Nottingham.

BENNETT, SONS & SHEARS, LIMITED, Engineers and Coppersmiths, Farringdon Works, Shoe Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established over 100 years by James Shears at Fleet Market. Continuation of the amalgamated businesses of James Shears & Sons, Bankside, and Bennett & Sons, Kingsland Road, N.—Bennett, Sons & Shears, Ltd. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Directors: Owen H. Smith (Chairman), Vincent W. Yorke (Managing Director), Capt. Ralph M. Yorke, H. F. Stanley, J. C. Shears. One of the oldest houses in the trade. Extensive works fully equipped. Staff: Large. Specialities: Machinery and Utensils for Breweries, Distilleries, Sugar Plantations and Refineries, Stearine Candle and Soap Factories, Chemical Works and Laboratories. Millwrights, Brassfounders, Pewter Worm Makers, Back and Vat Makers. Patents: Ideal Condenser, " Shears " Mulser. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, .Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephones: No. 790 Holborn (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Cuprite, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

BENNETT, WM., SONS & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of the Bennett Crown Brand Improved Safety Fuse, Roskear Fuse Works, Camborne, Cornwall. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1873 by the late William Bennett, and continued by members of the family as a Private Limited Company. Staff: About 250. Agencies: Baltic Chambers, 19, Bishopsgate, London, E.C., and throughout the principal mining centres of the world. Speciality: The Bennett Crown Brand Improved Safety Fuse. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office), and to several Foreign Governments. Telephone: No. 11 Camborne. Telegraphic Addresses: " Fuse, Camborne "; " Blasting, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions); A 1; Lieber's; and Bedford McNeil.

BENSDORP & CO., Cocoa Manufacturers, Amsterdam, Holland. London Offices and Warehouse: 8, Minories, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1836. Present Principals: Gerard Bensdorp, Egbert Slaghek. Premises: Very extensive Works in Amsterdam. Staff: 1,000. Speciality: Bensdorp's Royal Dutch Cocoa.

BENSON (ROBERT) & CO., Merchants and Bankers, 31, Bishopsgate, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Established originally by Cropper, Benson & Co., merchants in Liverpool during the latter half of the eighteenth century and first half of the nineteenth century. Succeeded by (1) Roberti Benson & Co., of London, 18511875; (2) John Walter Cross and Robert Henry Benson in 1875, under title of Cross, Benson & Co. Present Principals: Robert Henry Benson, Henry Augustus Vernet. Business: Merchants and Bankers. Telephones: No. 2641 London Wall; No. 8219 Central. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Cross, Led, London." Bankers: Bank of England.

BENSON (WILLIAM) & SON, Colliery Owners, Coke and Firebrick Manufacturers, Collingwood Buildings, Collingwood Street, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Works: Montagu Colliery, Scotswood-on-Tyne. Established in 1857 by William Benson, who was joined in 1876 by his son, T. W. Benson. Present Principal: W. J. Benson. Staff: ,100-1,200. Specialities: " Montagu" Steam and Manufacturing Coals; " Benson " Firebricks. Telephones: No. 2107 (Nat.); No. 76 (P.O.). Telegraphic Address: " Benson, Newcastle." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Newcastle).

BENT & PARKER, Ltd., Government Contractors, Military Ornament, Badge, Buckle, Button, Helmet and Belt Furniture Manufacturers, Harper's Hill Works, Northwood Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1835 by Joseph Bent; joined in partnership by Lawley Parker in 1863, trading as Bent & Parker. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: Alline Bushell (Chairman), W. W. Twigg (Managing Director). Premises: Branch works carried on under the name of W. Twigg & Co., Ltd., at 25, Legge Lane. Staff: Between 200 and 300. Specialities: Makers of Military Ornaments, Badges, Buckles, Buttons, Helmet and Belt Furniture, &c., for the British Army and for Foreign Governments. Have patented many inventions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephone: No. 66 Birmingham; W. Twigg & Co., Ltd., No. 65 Birmingham. Telegraphic Addresses: " Bent, Birmingham "; W. Twigg & Co., Ltd., " Forward, Birmingham." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. (Hockley, Birmingham).

BENTALL, E. H., & CO., Ltd., Agricultural Implement Makers, Heybridge Works, Maldon, Essex. Hours of Business: Offices, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Works, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1812 by William Bentall. Continued by (1) E. H. Bentall; (2) E. E. Bentall. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Director: Edmund Ernest Bentall, J.P. Premises: Cover eighteen acres. Staff: 600 to 700. Benefit Society, Reading, Recreation and Diningroom. Specialities: Chaff Cutters, Grinding Mills, and Cattle Food Preparing Machines generally; also Petrol and Oil Engines and Engineers' Bright Steel Nuts, Bolts, &c. Awards: Paris, Santiago, Brussels, Turin, Ghent, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office and India Office). Telephone: No. 2 Maldon. Telegraphic Address: "Bentall, Heybridge." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Maldon). The late Mr. E. H. Bentall was M.P. for the Borough of Maldon. Mr. E. E. Bentall is a Justice of the Peace for Essex, and a County Councillor of Essex.

BENTLEY, ALBERT ED., Plain and Decorated Tin-Canisters, Bottles, Drums, Keg and Sheetmetal Worker, Wharf Street Sheet Metal Works, Cannel Street, Great Ancoats Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Office, 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1865 by John Bentley. Partnership existing between John Bentley (jun.) and Albert Edward Bentley dissolved October 31st, 1912. Present Principal: Albert Edward Bentley. Specialities: Levertop Canisters. Holds the original patent. Originator of the Decorated Black Iron Package for Soft Soaps. Telephone: No. 3903 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Canistrum, Manchester."

BENTLEY (JOHN) & CO., Manufacturers of Waterproof Cloth, Excelsior Mills, Thornton, Bradford. Warehouse: 5, Godwin. Street. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1896 by John Bentley and J. Snowden (retired in 1898). Present Principal: John Bentley. Staff: Ninety-two Weavers, eight Burlers, twenty-one men; total, 121. Specialities: Cloths for Rubber Proofing and Rainproof Cloths of almost every description. Covert, Cravenette, and Gabardine Cloths. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone No. 48 Thornton. Telegraphic Address: " Bentley, Thornton." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

BENTLEY (JOSEPH), Ltd., Horticultural Chemical Manufacturers, Barrow-on-Humber, Hull. Hours of Business: Usual. Established: Carried on for twenty years by Joseph Bentley. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Managing Director: J. Bentley. Specialities: Weed Destroyer, Insecticides, Fertilisers and Sheep Dips. The " Daily Mail " first and third prizes of £1000 and £50 in 1911 were won by Sweet Peas fed exclusively with Bentley's Sweet Pea Manure. Awards: Many Medals and Diplomas at Horticultural Exhibitions; Highest Award, Sundries Section, Royal International Horticultural Exhibition, London, 1912. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: Special appointment to H.M. The King and H.M. Queen Alexandra. Held appointment to His late Majesty King Edward VII. Telegraphic Address: " Bentley, Barrow-on-Humber."

BENTLEY & PLAYFAIR, Gun and Rifle Makers.—a'r'c HOLLIS, BENTLEY & PLAY- FAIR.

BENTLEY & SHAW, Ltd., Brewers and Wine and Spirit Merchants, Lockwood Brewery. Order Office: 35, John William Street. Stores: Lion Arcade, Wood Street, Huddersfield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1791 by Timothy Bentley. Continued by various partnerships. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Directors: W. N. L. Champion (Chairman), L. S. Dumaresq, Nathan Jagger and Herbert W. Jagger (Managing Director). One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Cover about ten acres. Staff: Office, twenty; Workmen, 150. Business: Brewers, Wine and Spirit Merchants. Connection: Local. Telephone: No. 328 Huddersfield. Telegraphic Address: " Timothy, Huddersfield." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

BERLINER, ARTHUR, Manufacturer of Surgical Dressings and Waddings, 15 to 17, Worship Street, and 2A, Tabernacle Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1850 by the late Henry Berliner. Present Principal: Arthur Berliner. Premises: The old Worship Street Police Court, covering about 16,000 ft., was added in 1907 and rebuilt. Some of the old cells still remain intact, and are kept as a curiosity. Stall: 150 to 200. Branches: Manufacturing Houses in Lancashire and North London. Business: Manufacture of Surgical Dress ings and Waddings. Patents: Various, confined to Dressings. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, &c.) for Surgical Dressings. Telephones: No. 507 London Wall; No. 998 City of London. Telegraphic Address; " Ronilreb, London,"

BERRIDGE (GEORGE) & CO., General Printers, Lithographers, Stationers, &c., 174, Upper Thames Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1859 by George Berridge. Present Principals: George Josiah Berridge, William W. J. Berridge (sons of the founder). Was first started at 37, Eastcheap in 1859. Removed to 179 and 180, Upper Thames Street in 1878. Staff: About 140. Specialities: High-class Letterpress Printing, also Colour Printing. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 514 Bank. Mr. George Berridge was a Common Councilor for Vintry Ward from 1890 to 1899, and Mr. George Josiah Berridge is a member of the Corporation of the City of London for Dowgate Ward (since 1904).

BERRY BROTHERS & CO., Wine, Spirit, and Liqueur Merchants, 3, St. James's Street, London, S.W., and 1, 2, and 3, Pickering Place adjoining. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in the beginning of the 17th century by a Mr. Pickering, succeeded by Pickering & Clarke, afterwards by a Mr. Browne. In 1800 Mr. Browne's nephew, Mr. G. Berry, became the proprietor. He was the great-grandfather of the present proprietors, Chas. W. Berry and Francis L. Berry. The premises were built about 1600 by the above-mentioned Pickering, who, according to tradition, first sold tea by the pound, and tobacco as " Pickering's best Virginia," in this very house. The records date back to 1765. Cellars: At 3, St. James's Street; 1, 2, and 3, Pickering Place, St. James's; 2, Bury Street, St. James's. Connection: Throughout the United Kingdom and in British South Africa; also Foreign principally United States. Royal Warrant Holders to His late Majesty King Edward VII., H.M. King George V., find H.M. Queen Alexandra. Telephone: No. 3888 Regent. Telegraphic Address: "Berrinche, St. James, London."

BERRY (JOHN) & SONS, LIMITED, Wool Combers and Serge and Blanket Manufacturers, Ashburton, Devon. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1820 by John Berry. Succeeded by two sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: R. B. Berry (Chairman), J. F. Baker, J. B. Honywill. Premises: Extensive factories and stores at Ashburton, Buckfastleigh and Exeter. Equipped with all the latest improvements. Staff: 370. Agencies: London, Glasgow, Belfast, Manchester, and Bradford. Specialities: Government Navy Serge and all Wool Blankets. One of the largest manufacturing houses of these goods in the Kingdom. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Borry, Ashburton." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

BERTRAM & CO., Ltd., Refreshment Contractors, Wine, Spirit, and Cigar Merchants, 33, New Bridge Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1864 by Messrs. Bertram & Roberts. The latter retired in 1885. Incorporated as a Limited Company in August, 1902. Directors: William Bertram, J. H. Bertram, and H. Russell. Specialities: Refreshment Contracting in all its branches; Wine, Spirit, and Cigar Merchants' business. The Company have a wide connection in both departments. Telephone: No. 6491 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Bertram, 33, New Bridge Street, E.C." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Southwark Branch).

BERTRAM (JOHN A.) & CO., Ltd., Scotch Whisky Blenders and Exporters, 7, Quality Street, Leith, N.B. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1798 by John A. Bertram. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: A. Duncan (Chairman), C. Sanderson, A. Duncan (Managing Directors), L. W. Knoblauch, J. A. Pyne. London Office: 28, St. Dunstan's Hill, E.C. Speciality: Scotch Whisky. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 354 Leith; London, No. 2945 Avenue. Telegraphic Addresses: " Ramshead, Leith "; " Uveous, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Clydesdale Bank, Ltd.

BERTRAMS Ltd., Engineers and Makers of Paper Mill Machinery, Rubber Mill Machinery, Rubber Plantation Machinery, and Linoleum Mill Machinery, St. Katherine Works, Sciennes, Edinburgh. London Office, 21, Great St. Helens, E.C. Hours of Business; Works, 6 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1821 by William Bertram and George Bertram. Continued by (1) George Bertram; (2) George and William Bertram (father and son). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1888. Directors: F. W. Carter, C.A. (Chairman), J. B. Sutherland, S.S.C., Thomas Young, M.I.C.E. (Managing Directors), Samuel Milne (Works Manager), D. W. Ireland (Commercial Manager). Premises; Works cover one and three-quarter acres, also Foundries, &c. Staff: 300 at Sciennes; 100 at Foundries. Specialities: Paper Mill Machinery, Rubber Mill Machinery, Rubber Plantation Machinery, and Linoleum Mill Machinery. Patents: Many on Paper Mill Machinery inventions, &c. Awards: Gold Medal London, 1862; Edinburgh, 1886 and 1890; Paris, 1884; Singapore, 1910. Connection: Worldwide. Telephones: Nos. 6645 and 6646 Central, Edinburgh; No. 964 Avenue, London; No. 814 Eccles, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Bertram," Edinburgh, London, Eccles. Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Lieber's, Engineering, Western Union, Bentley's Complete Phrase. Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Edinburgh, London).

BESSEMER (HENRY) & COMPANY, Ltd., Steel Manufacturers, Bessemer Steel Works, Sheffield; Bolton Steel Works, Bolton, Lancashire. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.45 p.m. Established by Henry (afterwards Sir Henry) Bessemer (d.), the distinguished inventor of the Steel to which his name was given. Partnership Successions: (1) Wm. D. Allen (d.); (2) Harry Allen (d.); (3) Wm. J. Allen (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Col. Sir Charles Allen, J.P. (Chairman), Sir C. A. A. G. Longdon, and Cecil Allen. Secretary: W. H. Trippett. Premises: Highly-equipped Works in Sheffield and Bolton. Specialities: Railway and Tramway Tyres, Axles, Crank Axles, Crank Shafts, Marine and other Forgings, Shoes and Dies for Gold Crushing, Billets, Bars, &c., &c.; also Rails, Angles, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to British and Colonial Railways, Indian, Japanese, Chinese, South American, and Australian Railways, and to others in all parts of the world. Telephones: Nos. 91, 3810, 3811 Sheffield; No. 161 Bolton. Telegraphic Address " Bessemer," Sheffield and Bolton.

BEST & BEST, Solicitors and Commissioner for Oaths, 24, Budge Row, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.45 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Present Principal: Charles Edward Best. Business: All branches of legal practice, special in Commercial and Company matters. Connection: World-wide, personally and through Connections and Agents. Telephone: No. 7405 City, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Procedendo, London." Codes: All Standard Codes used. Bankers: London, County and Westminster Bank, . Ltd. (St. Paul's Churchyard). Mr. Best is a member of the London Chamber of Commerce and of the Law Society, London.

BETHELL, GWYN & CO., Shipowners, Shipbrokers, and Shipping Agents, 11, Baldwin Street, Bristol; and at Avon mouth. Head Office:11 22,; Billiter Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1865. Present Principals: Walter J. Gwyn, Geoffrey G. Taylor and Harry S. Gwyn. Manager: L. J. Bethell. Business: Lines of Steamers between Bristol and Aus tralia, New Zealand, Western Australia, River Plate, S. Africa, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, Argentine, and Scuth Africa. Telephone: Nos. 428 and 429 Bristol; No. 13 Avon mouth. Telegraphic Address " Austral, Bristol." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

BETHELL, T. B., & CO., Elastic Web Manufacturers, Station Mills, Foleshill, Coventry. Hours of Business: Summer, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Winter, 7 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1882 by Thomas Burnet Bethell, J.P., the present principal. Premises: Well equipped, cover about one acre. Staff: About 100. Specialities: Satin-faced Spider Webs. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Tele phone: No. 256 Coventry. Telegraphic Address: " Bothell, Greatheath." Cable Address: " Bothell, Coventry." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Coventry).

BETTELEY, ADDYMAN & JALLAND, Manufacturers, Traffic Street, Nottingham. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1912 by Betteley, Addyman & Jalland, the present principals. Previously all associated with J. M. Perry & Co., Ltd., Nottingham; after twenty three years', seventeen years' and thirteen years' service respectively. Agencies: London, Manchester, Glasgow and Belfast. Specialities: Blouses and Neck Wear. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 4986 Nottingham. Bankers: Nottingham and Nottinghamshire Bank, Ltd.,

BETTS & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Metallic Bottle Capsules, &c. Registered Offices: 1, Wharf Road, City Road, and Batavia Mills, Elthorne Road, London, N. Hours of Business s 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1805 at Bordeaux by J. T. Betts (d.), and in 1840 in London by W. Betts (son). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1880. Directors Oliver Williams (Chairman), Oliver H. Campbell (Managing Director), Alexander C. C. Campbell, C. Jermyn Ford. Are the largest makers of Bottle Capsules in the World. Premises: Extensive Works, comprising three Factories in London, and one in Floirac, Bordeaux, specially organised and equipped for the manufacture upon a large scale of Patent Metallic Capsules, Tinfoil, Tea Lead, Collapsible Tubes, &c. Branches: Paris, 65, Rue de la Verrerie; Marseilles, 38, Rue du Consolat; and La Bastide, Bordeaux. Specialities: Metallic Bottle Capsules, of which the firm of Betts were the original patentees. Produced in great variety, including the Patent' Adhesive Breaking Line, Perforated, Side Embossed or Printed, and other kinds adapted to a wide range of uses. Tin and Lead Foils of every description, Tea Lead, Collapsible Tubes and Perfumery Sprinkler Corks. The Company's name is universally known in connection with the above productions. Patents: Besides the original patents for Metallic Capsules, own innumerable others relating to improved machinery for the manufacture of the same. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 1918 (2 lines) London Wall. Cable Address: " Checkmate, Hox, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions) and Lieber's. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. (Threadneedle Street, London, E.C.).

BEVERIDGE, W. & J., & CO., Shawl Manufacturers, Kinross, Scotland. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about 100 years ago. Records lost in a fire eighteen years ago. Founded by tho grandfather and continued by the father of William Beveridge and John Beveridge, the present principal. Staff: 100. Agencies: Manchester, 7, Mosley Street; Durban (South Africa), P.O. Box 627. Speciality: Shawls. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly Lancashire, Yorkshire), South Africa, India, Canada. Telegraphic Address: " Shawls, Kinross." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Clydesdale Bank, Ltd. The late John Beveridge was Provost for fifteen years.

BEVINGTON, A., & BROTHERS, Merchants, Manufacturers, and Manufacturers' Agents, Showrooms, 17, Hanover Street, Regent Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1907 by Arthur Bevington, the present principal. Premises: Occupy the upper part of 17, Hanover Street. Business: Specialists in Ladies' Underwear and Art Needle work. Sole Wholesale Agents in the British Isles for C. B. Cotton and Flax Threads. Connection: London and Provinces, including Scotland and Ireland. Telephone: No. 7379 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Address: " Vingtonros, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

BEVINGTON & MORRIS, Leather Merchants, Furriers, Fur Skin Merchants, Wool Rug Manufacturers, 28, Cannon Street and 90, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1702. Is one of the oldest firms in the City of London. Present Principals: Frederic Holl Morris and Herbert Shelley Bevington. Premises: Extensive warehouses, &c., in Cannon Street and Queen Victoria Street (wholesale only). Specialities: The firm are Tanners, Leather Dressers, and Curriers, Manufacturers' Merchants, Factors, and Importers of Australian and Continental Leathers. Also Wholesale Manufacturing Furriers and Fur Skin Merchants, and Dressers and Dyers of Fur Skins. Awards: Prize Medals, London, 1851 and 1862; Dublin, 1853; Paris, 1855; Silver Medal, Paris, 1867. Telephone: No. 506 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Nyshat, London."

BEVINGTON & SONS, Organ Builders, 11, Marlette Street, Charing Cross Road (Oxford Street end), London, W. Hours of Business: Office, 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Factory, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established about 1794 by Henry Bevington. Partnership Successions: Henry Bevington, Martin Bevington, Alfred Bevington, Charles Bevington, sons of the founder. Present Principals: Lewis H. Bevington, Henry Martin Bevington. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Dickens alludes to it in " A Tale of Two Cities." Speciality: Export Work and Organs for difficult positions. Have been awarded three Prize Medals. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: "Bevingtons, Soho, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

BEVINGTON, VAIZEY & FOSTER, Ltd., Insurance Brokers, Leadenhall Buildings, 1, Leadenhall Street, London, E.C., and at Lloyd's. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in the early part of the nineteenth century by Alexander Bevington (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Directors: K. G. R. Vaizey (Chairman), H. B. Foster, and G. do H. Vaizey. Business: General Insurance Broking. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Notabilia, Stock, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Head office, Threadneedle Street). Clubs: (Mr. K. G. R. Vaizey), St. Stephen's, Gresham; (Mr. H. B. Foster), Bath, Walton Heath Golf; (Mr. G. de H. Vaizoy), Gresham,

BEYER, PEACOCK & CO., Ltd., Gorton Foundry, Manchester, and London. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1854. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Directors: Sir Vincent Caillard (Chairman), Thomas Craven, Samuel W. Pilling, and Hon. F. S. Jackson. Premises: Works cover about twenty-two acres. Staff: About 2,300. Business: Builders of Locomotives, makers of Machine Tools, and Steel Founders. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 255 Central; No. 5640 Central (Secretary and General Manager); No. 5394 Victoria (London Offices).

BIBB (EDWARD) & SONS, Brassfounders, Windmill Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established over fifty years ago by Edward Bibb. Present Principals: William Alfred Bibb, Geo. Edward Bibb, William Lawrence Bibb. Specialities: Cornice Polo Fittings, Cornice Poles, Stair Rods and Eyes, Curtain Chains, Medival Handles, Poi.tiOre Rods, Angle Stair Rods and Eyes, Extension Rods, American Style Brass Goods, General Brassfoundry, &c. Patents: Several. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1678 (Midland) Birmingham (two lines). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Bibb, Birmingham." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

BIBBY BROTHERS & CO., Merchants, Steamship Owners and Agents, 26, Chapel Street, Liverpool, and 10 and 11, Mincing Lane, London, E.C. Present Principals: Arthur Wilson Bibby and Herbert Kirkman Bibby. Branch: New York, 138, Front Street. Are Agents for Warner, Barnes & Co., Ltd., Manila, and for El Varadero do Manila. The history of the " Bibby Line " dates from 1807, when John Bibby, grandfather of the present proprietors, inaugurated a service of small sailing ships; but it was not until about fourteen years later that the regular service to the East Indies was started. In 1851 steam was introduced, and since 1891 the present service of large steamships to Burmah, Ceylon, and Southern India has commanded special recognition. The steamers carry French and Egyptian Mails between Marseilles and Egypt, and between Suez and Colombo, and supplementary English Mails between Rangoon and Colombo and England. There are Fortnightly Sailings between Marseilles and the Suez Canal. Telegraphic Addresses: " Patrol, Liverpool "; "Ineffable, London " "Ineffable, New York." Mr. A. W. Bibby is Government nominee member of the Mersey Docks and Harbour Board, Liverpool.

BIBBY, J., & SONS, Seed Crushers, &c., King Edward Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1885 by Joseph Bibby, J.P., and James Bibby, the present principals. Staff: About 2000. Speciality: Feeding Stuffs for Cattle. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 8089 Central, Liverpool (eight lines). Telegraphic Address: " Feeding, Liverpool." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd. (Lancaster).

BICKERTON & JOHNSON, Engineers Mill Furnishers and Gas Engine Experts, 6, Hulme Street, Oxford Road, Manchester. Hours of Business: 7.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established in 1880 by Richard Bickerton (retired 1906), as Bickerton and Johnson. Present Principals: P. Hodkinson and C. E. Whitehouse. Claim to be the largest dealers of S.-H. Engines in the North of England, were sole Manchester and District representatives for Crossleys' Gas Engine for over twenty years, and erected most of their engines in the district. Their premises were first occupied by Crossley, and from it Crossleys sent out their first gas engine. Specialities: Gas Engines, S.-H. made equal to new, and Mill Furnishing. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 3675 Central, Manchester.

BICKFORD, SMITH & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Safety and Instantaneous Fuses, Tuckingmill, Cornwall, and elsewhere. London Office: 85, Gracechurch Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1831 by the Inventor, William Bickford, of Tuckingmill, who formed the original firm of Bickford, Smith & Davey. In 1864 became Bickford, Smith & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1888. Directors: Sir George J. Smith, H. Arthur Smith, George E. S. Smith, J. C. Bickford-Smith. The original firm and company have been the pioneers in the original and successive inventions of Blasting Fuses from the foundation to present date. Premises: Factories at Tuckingmill, Cornwall, where business originated; St. Helen's Junction, Lancashire; and Melbourne, Australia, with associated Bickford establishments in several foreign countries. Business: The production of Blasting Fuses of every type for all climates and conditions of work, including Instantaneous Fuses for Military and Civil Engineering, and Safety Colliery Fuses for gaseous mines; Electric Fuses; Volley-Firers and all blasting accessories. Have patented numerous inventions in the development of Fuses since the original William Bickford patent in 1831. Connection: World-wide; wherever mining and quarrying operations are carried on. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office, and other Departments) since the time of the original firm. Telephone: No. 65 Camborne. Telegraphic Address: " Bickfords, Tuckingmill, Camborne." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Lothbury, E.C.); Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Camborne); Parr's Bank, Ltd. (St. Helen's), &c. The Directors are concerned in several subsidiary companies. The late Major Bickford was one of the founders of the Volunteer movement in Cornwall. The late Dr. George Smith was a J.P. for Cornwall, Chairman of the Cornwall Railway Co., and a well-known writer on antiquarian subjects. The late Mr. W. Bickford-Smith was M.P. for the TruroHolston. Division of Cornwall from 1885 to 1892; Sir George Smith is D.L., C.A. and J.P. for Cornwall.

BICKLE ENGINEERING CO., Ltd., Marine, Mining and General Engineers, G.W. Railway Docks, Plymouth. Head Office: 36, Bloomsbury Square, London, W.C. Hours of Business: Factory, 6 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1887 by Thomas Bickle. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Chairman: William Negus. Manager: G. M. Tyler. Staff: Ninety. Specialities: Mining Engineering, Ship and Engine Repairing, Boilers, Pumping Engines, Hauling Appliances, Crushing and Ore Dressing Machinery, &c. Patent: Bickle Rock Drill. Awards: Modal, Crystal Palace for Rock Drill. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign, Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office). Telephone: No. 176 Plymouth. Telegraphic Address: " Engineers, Plymouth." Code: A B C. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd,

BIDDELL BROTHERS, Hop Merchants, 39, Borough High Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1869 by Alfred Biddell. Present Principal: William Robert Biddell (son). Branch: Bamberg, Bavaria. Speciality: Importing direct from their own kilns the best Bavarian Hops. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 799 Hop, London. Telegraphic Address: " Provost, London."

BIDE, S., & SONS, Ltd., Nurserymen, Alma Nurseries, Farnham, Surrey. Floral and Seed Depots: 97, Victoria Road, Aldershot, and 100, High Street, Guildford. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in the year of the Battle of The Alma, by Richard Bide, father of the present Governing Director. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Samuel Bide (Governing Director), Arthur Richard Bide, and Herbert Edward Bide. Commenced in a small way and worked up to its present position of one of the largest nurseries in the country. Premises: Cover 700 acres. Branch Nurseries: St. John's Nursery, Woking; Kingsley Nursery, Bordon; and. Isington Nursery, Alton, Hants. Specialities: Roses, Sweet Peas, Forest Trees, Shrubs, &c., and Seeds; also Farming and Hop Growing. Awards: Numerous Medals and Awards for Exhibits. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 8 Farnham. Telegraphic Address: " Bide, Farnham." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (Farnham). Mr. S. Bide was for many years a prominent member of Farnham District Council.

BIDWELL, BIDWELL & CO., Ltd., Toilet Brush Manufacturers, Axminster. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1839 in London by Thomas Bidwell. Life Directors: Arthur Bidwell (son of founder), Thomas Alexander Young, and Edgar P. Bidwell. Claim to be the pioneers of the Tooth Brush trade in England. Premises: Removed from London to Axminster in 1881. London Office: Bush Lane House, Cannon Street. Staff: About 350, varies. Business: Manufacture of Tooth Brushes, Hair, Nail, and Cloth Brushes of all descriptions. Patent: The " Grip " Hair Brush. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1862 Central, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Attacker, London "; " Bidwell, Axminster." Cable Addresses: " Bidwell, London "; " Bidwell, Axminster." Bankers: Wilts and Dorset Banking Co., Ltd. (Axminster).

BIGGERSTAFF, W. & J., Bankers and Agents, 59, West Smithfield, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1790 by John Biggerstaff. Present Principals: Thomas Lloyd, Assheton Leaver, and Cyril D'Arcy Leaver. The firm conduct an important Banking business, and are also Agents for the shipment of Live Stock and Merchandise to and from the Argentine Republic and Australia and New Zealand. Have an extensive connection amongst the dealers in the Metropolitan Cattle Market, N., where they have a branch house. There is also a branch at Central Buildings, North John Street, Liverpool, and at Calle Sarmiento 459, Buenos Ayres. Telephones: No. 12892 Central, No. 869 Holborn for West Smithfield; No. 648 North for Metropolitan Cattle Market; No. 3597 Bank, Liverpool. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Biggerstaff, Cent, London "; " Staff, Liverpool."

BIGGLESTON, H. M., & SONS, Iron and Brass Founders, Engineers, &c. Offices, 22, St. George's Street; Main Works, The Foundry, High Street; Sand and Gravel Pits, Old Park; Stores, Iron Bar Lane, Whitehouse Lane, &c.; Electrical Works, Jewry Lane and Stour Street; Canterbury. Hours of Business: Head Office, 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.; Thursdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1835 by William Henry Biggleston and John George Drury. Continued by Henry Moss Biggleston and George John Drury (d. 1904), and subsequently by H. M. Biggleston (d. 1913), Herbert Biggleston, and Frank Roffway Biggleston sons of H. M. Biggleston). Present Principals: Herbert Biggleston and Frank Roffway Biggleston. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Makers of girders for bridgework and chairs for rails for the section of South Eastern Railway lino between Ashford, Margate and Deal, and in 1858 the Chatham and Dover Lino were supplied with the bulk of the ironwork. Claim to have made the first marine torpedo, and took part in the structural preliminaries for the first Channel Tunnel scheme. Flying Machine experimenters of years ago took their plans for execution to the Canterbury Foundry. Claim to have made one of the first Fountain Pens. Premises: Extensive Foundries, Machine Shops, Forges, Fitting Shops, Assembling Rooms, &e, Main Foundry fitted with a ten-ton crane; also Radial Drilling Machines and all up-to-date plant. Large stores and showrooms at St. George's Street, which building was originally a mansion having decorations by Adams in the period of George III. Staff: About 100. London Agency: R. Krall & Co., 5, South Street, Finsbury, E.C. Specialities: Castings for general and electrical engineering trades. Output from twenty-five to thirty tons per week. Electric Street Lighting Fittings. Agricultural Ironwork, Constructional Ironwork, Castings for Mining Machinery Plants, Glass Bottle Makers, Gas and Laundry Engineers, &c., Colliery Supplies; also Metal Merchants and Wholesale Ironmongers. Patents: The Matthews and Biggleston Snooker Pool Scorer, No. 582011; The Biggleston " Invicta " Pot Lifter, No. 8431; The Tanner and Biggleston Patent Hop Hoverer (1913); Makers of Harrison Switch Fuse, No. 13766 (1908); Anti-Vibration Lamp Holder, No. 23980 (1909), and other. Harrison Electrical Devices. Connection: World-wide for Street Lighting Fittings. Contractors to Municipal Authorities, Railway Companies, Collieries, &c., throughout the United Kingdom and Abroad. Telephones: Nos. 17 and 17A Canterbury. Telegraphic Address: " Bigglestons', Ironfounders, Canterbury." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (London and Canterbury); London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Canterbury).

BIGGS, B., & CO., Merchants, 66, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established about ninety years ago by I. S. Lister. Partnership Successions: (1) Lister & Biggs; (2) B. Biggs; (3) Lister & Biggs; (4) B. Biggs & Co. Present Principals: Alfred Laurence Biggs, Herbert Graham Brown. Premises: Offices at 66, Cannon Street; Works, Old Ford. Specialities: All Wood Products. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone t No. 723 City. Telegraphic Address: " Retsila, London." Sole Agents in the United Kingdom for the Standard Chemical, Iron and Lumber Co., of Canada, Ltd. (Telephone: No. 8871 City). A. L. Biggs, London Secretary.

BIGGS, F. S., Ladies' Hat Manufacturer, Guildford Street, Luton. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1892 by H. H. George & Co., acquired in 1897 by Fitzroy S. Biggs, the present principal, previously Manager. Introduced shaded dyes to hats in 1900, which gave shot effects. The pioneer of Chiffon and Millinery Hats in Luton, now a very large business. Premises: Large factory and warehouse in Guildford Street, recently built to concentrate all the branch factories. Staff: Over 500. Specialities: Manufacture almost every kind of Ladies' and Girls' Hats. Invention: Shot Dyeing on Plait and Hats. Connection: United Kingdom, Continental. Telephones: Nos. 94 and 414 Luton. Telegraphic Address: " Biggs, Luton." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. Pastimes: Sport of all kinds.

BIGWOODS, Ltd., Fish, Game, and Poultry Merchants, Importers of Norway Ice, &c., 59, 61, 63, Baldwin Street, Bristol. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1789 by James Bigwood. Succeeded by— (1) James Bigwood (son); (2) James Bigwood (grandson of founder), from 1887 to 1908. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Directors: James Bigwood, James Edward Cecil Bigwood, J.P. (Chairman), William John Adams (Managing Director). Chairman is fourth in direct line from founder. Staff: Twenty-seven Clerks; seventy-three Workers constantly employed. Branches: 15, Victoria Street, Clifton; North View, Westbury Park; ' 30, Waterloo Street, Weston-super-Mare; Woolster Street, Plymouth; Quay, Brixham, Devon; and Padstow, Cornwall. Speciality: Severn and Irish Salmon. Connection: Large Wholesale and Retail trade covering West of England; United Kingdom generally (Sales); United Kingdom, United States, Colonies (purchases), Norway. Telephones: Nos. 2741 and 2742. Bristol. Telegraphic Address: "Bigwoods, Bristol." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

BILL, WM., Woollen Merchant, 31 and 29, Great Portland Street, W.; and 93, New Bond Street, W., London. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established over sixty years ago. Present Principal: William Thomas Bill, eldest son (and successor) of the founder. Member of the London Chamber of Commerce. Premises I In Great Portland Street, a commodious warehouse, centrally situated, and suitable for the highly specialised business with which the firm's name is associated. Branch depot at 93, New Bond Street, W. (formerly 11, Haymarket). Specialities; Exclusive Woollen Cloths, notably Irish and Scotch Cheviots, Irish Friezes, and Welsh Tweeds and Flannels. One of the largest dealers in these goods; and widely known for genuine peasant-made Homespuns from the cottage looms of Ireland, Scotland and Wales. The stocks held of these rare, beautiful, and characteristic textiles are exceptionally large, being among the most extensive in the kingdom, and afford a complete range of choice designs, textures, and colourings, suitable alike for gentlemen's and ladies' country wear. The firm's exhibit at, the Franco-British Exhibition, 1908, was awarded a Gold Medal, and as an expert in Homespuns the principal has appeared at different courts on behalf of the Board of Trade and the Irish Development Association. Connection,: Throughout the British Isles; also in the great centres of international trade in all the Colonies and foreign countries circling the globe, North to South from Siberia to the Falkland Islands. An important wholesale and shipping trade is carried on, as well as an extensive retail business. The firm's goods are in constant demand in the tailoring and allied trades, to meet the requirements of royalty and of the nobility and aristocracy, both at home and on the Continent and abroad. Personal supervision and attention on the part of the proprietor has always been a leading feature of the business. For general Catalogue and Price List see " Whitaker's Almanack," page iii, the Post Office Guid'6, the " Daily Mail " Year Book, " Who's Who," and other standard publications. Telegraphic Address: " Selfhelp, London." Telephone: No. 8303 Gerrard. Bankers: London and Provincial Bank, Ltd. (Edgware Road, W.).

BILLINGTON & NEWTON, Ltd., Metal Manufacturers, Longport, Staffs. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1870 by Charles Billington and John Newton. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: J. Newton, J.P. (Chairman and Manager), C. Billington, E. W. Hollinshead and T. A. Johnson. Claim to be the first firm in this country to manufacture and put on the market in a commercial form Phosphor Tin and Phosphor Copper. Premises: Cover one and a half acres, equipped with modern appliances. Staff: About 200. Specialities: Manganese Bronze Propellers and other Castings in this alloy for Motor Work, Compressed Phosphor Bronze, Compressed Bronze for Motor Gear. Patent: Steam Fittings and Fittings connected with the local Pottery Manufacture. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office), and other departments. Telephone: No. 304 Burslem. Telegraphic Address " Bronze, Longport." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited, Burslem. Mr. J. Newton is a Justice of the Peace of Staffordshire and a County Councillor.

BILLSON, R., & SONS, Rope and Twine Manufacturers, 133, Belgrave Gate, Leicester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1830 by Robert Billson. Continued by Robert Billson and William Billson, as R. Billson and Sons. Present Principal: Robert E. Billson (grandson of the Founder). Premises: Extensive works recently erected covering one and a half acres. Specialities: Ropes, Twines, Tents and Marquees. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 21 Leicester. Telegraphic Address: " Ropeworks, Leicester." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

BINNEY & SON, Ltd., Engineers, Catherine House, 64, City Road, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 pan. Established in 1867. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. Directors: John B. Denton (Managing Director), H. Denton, F. Denton. Premises: Works in London, Leeds, and Birmingham. Branches: Birmingham, Broad Street; Leeds, Washington Street; Coventry, Queen Victoria Road; Glasgow, 43, Oswald Street. Business: Manufacture of Steam and Hydraulic Engine Packing, Machine Beltings, &c.; Engineers' and Engineers' Stores Furnishers; also makers of the " Asblubric " Lubricants and " Asblubric " Non-slip and Belt Preservative. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 6967 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Address: " Lubricative, London."

BINNS (THOMAS) & CO., Ltd., Silk Dressers and Spinners, &c., Clifton Bridge Mill, Wakefield Road, Brighouse, Yorks. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1888 by Thomas Binns. Continued by Thomas Binns and W. Wadsworth. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1911. Directors: J. Wood, Wm. Wadsworth (Managing Director). Secretary: F. Holroyd, J.P. Premises: Large building, three storeys high and another two storeys high, fully equipped. Staff: 150. Specialities: Tussah Silk Yarns for Plush and Seal Manufacturing. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 137 Brighouse.

BIRCH BROTHERS, Ltd., Mail Contractors, Motor Omnibus and Char-a-bane Builders, Royal Mail Yard, 20, Cathcart Street, Kentish Town, London, N.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1874 by John and William Birch. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1899. Directors: William Samuel Birch (Managing. Director and Chairman), William Henry Birch (Assistant Managing Director), Charles John Wilson (Director and Secretary). Staff: About 300. Branches: Romney Street, Westminster, S.W.; 71, Upper Kennington Lane, S.E.; 14, Colchester Street, Whitechapel; 1, Cornelia Street, Barnsbury; Golden Horse Yard, Dorset Square, W. Telephone: No. 6097 Hampstead. Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Westminster Branch).

BIRD (ALFRED) & SONS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Custard Powder and other Food Products, Devonshire Works, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1837 by Alfred Frederick Bird, original inventor of Baking Powder and Custard Powder. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: Alfred F. Bird (Chairman), Robert B. Bird, Geoffrey Bird, Oliver Bird, Christopher A. Bird. Premises: Works occupying several acres. London Offices: Vulcan Buildings, Upper Thames Street, Blackfriars, E.C. Specialities Custard Powder and other Home Specialities. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 6635 and 6636 Central, Birmingham; No. 6064 Bank, London. Telegraphic Ad-dresses: " Bird, Birmingham "; " Custards, London."

BIRD (ROBERT) & CO., Webbing, Upholstery, Saddlery; also Horse Clothing Manufacturers, South Street, Crewkerne, Somerset. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about seventy years ago by Robert Bird (d.). Continued by C. W. Haslock, J. B. Haslock, and A. J. Haslock. Present Principals: C. W. Haslock and A. J. Haslock. Branches: London, 147, Cheapside, and 8, Hart Street, Wood Street, E.C.; Manchester, 37, Piccadilly; Glasgow, 73, Virginia Street; Birmingham, 70A, Charlotte Street; Walsall Quadrant Buildings, Stafford Street. Specialities: Webbing, Saddlery and Horse Clothing. Awards: Highest and only award, Adelaide Exhibition, 1887, for Saddlery Webs; Gold Medals, Calcutta, 1883, 1884, International Exhibition, London, 1885. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3 Crewkerne. Telegraphic Address: "Bird, Crewkerne." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

BIRD & SON, Ltd., Oil Merchants and Chemical Manufacturers, East Moors, Cardiff. Hovers of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1871 by Robert Bird (d.) and Charles Bird (father) (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: Charles Hayward Bird, J.P. (Managing Director), F. Graham Bird, Wm. Robert Bird. Premises: Extensive Works at East Moors and Imperial Wharf, Ferry Road, Cardiff. Business: Oil Merchants and Importers, Chemical Manufacturers. Telephone: No. 2604 Cardiff. Telegraphic Address: • " Birdson, Cardiff." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Cardiff Docks). Mr. Charles Hayward Bird, J.P., is an Alderman of Cardiff, and was Lord Mayor of Cardiff 1910-11.

BIRD & STOREY, Pharmaceutical and Veterinary Chemists, 42, Castle Street East, Oxford Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. Established in 1780 by Brice Pyman. Firm is remarkable as having had only three proprietors during the 130 years of its existence. In 1823 William Lionel Bird entered the business, and later became a partner with B. Pyman, trading as Pyman & Bird. On the death of the former, in 1847, the latter became sole owner until 1876, when his nephew, E. H. Storey, was admitted into partnership, and the present title was assumed. W. L. Bird died 1891. Present Principal: Edward Henry Storey. Claim to be pioneers in the Veterinary World in the use of the best and purest drugs only in all their preparations. To a steady adherence to this principle they attribute the remarkable success of the productions of their laboratories. Premises: Are situated at the corner of Great Titchfleld Street, near Oxford Circus, and opposite the site of the quaint old " Oxford Market," described by James Barry, R.A., as " London's most classic market," but now replaced by a block of residential flats. Business: Are Dispensing and General Chemists; also make a speciality of " Bird's Veterinary Medicines " for Horses, Dogs, Cats, &c., particularly " Bird's Botanic Essence, or Liquid Blister "; " Sinewtone," the Astringent Tonic; " Drinks " (Fever, Cough, Tonic, Worm, Gripe, Restorative, &c.), " Balls," " Ointments," &c., for all complaints. Have many proprietary articles, chiefly the " Botanic Essence," " Sinewtone," " Bird's Horse Medicines " (various), and " Bird & Storey's Dog Medicines " (various). Descriptive catalogues and leaflets are issued giving full particulars, with numerous testimonials. Connection: World-wide. Preparations supplied direct or through agents to the principal stables in all civilised countries, however remote. Have agents everywhere. Are contractors to H.M. Government, to the Crown Agents for the Colonies, &c. Telephone: No. 2982 Holborn. Mr. Storey has been a member of the St. Marylebone Borough Council from its inception in 1900, representing Cavendish Ward. He had previously been a member of the Marylebone Vestry for about ten years. He is a Pharmaceutical Chemist (by Examination), and a Member of the Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain.

BIRD (THOMAS) & SONS, Ltd., Boot Manufacturers, " Globe " Works, Bath Road, Kettering. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established by Thomas Bird, with George Abbott as partner in 1862, trading as Abbott & Bird. Partnership dissolved in 1891. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Directors: Thomas Bird, J.P. (Managing Director), Henry W. Bird, Thomas N. Bird, and Charles W. Clarke. Premises: Extensive and fully equipped. Staff: Between 400 and 500 workpeople regularly employed. Specialities: High-grade Gentlemen's Boots and Shoes; Sole Owners and Makers of the " Globe " Brand of Boots and Shoes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 34 Kettering. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Excel, Kettering." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd., Kettering.

BIRKDALE STEAMSHIP CO., Ltd., Vienna Chambers, Bute Docks, Cardiff. — See RADCLIFFE (CHARLES) & CO.

BIRKIN & CO., Lace Manufacturers, Broadway, Nottingham. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1827. Branches: London, 110, Cheapside, E.C.; Paris, 40, Rue d'Uzes; New York, 73-5th Avenue. Specialities: Fine Quality Laces and " B. B." Torchons. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 3069 Nottingham; No. 224 Bank, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Broadway, Nottingham "; " Tibiano, London."

BIRKIN, T. I., & CO., Manufacturers of Lace Curtains. Principal Offices and Sales Department: Broadway, Nottingham. Established by Sir Thomas Birkin in 1869. Present Principals: Sir Thomas Isaac Birkin, Bart., the founder, and Thomas Stanley Birkin, his son. Factories: New Basford, Nottingham; Baltic Street, Glasgow; Oelsnitz, Saxony; Warsaw, Russian Poland. Employees: Over 1000. Agencies: Throughout the world. Specialities: Lace Curtains; Makers of the Patent " Ariston " Lace Curtains and Nets. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Telephones: No. 285 Nottingham; No. 224 Bank, London; No. 2886 Bridgeton, Glasgow. Telegraphic Addresses: " Nottingham "; " Birkins, Glasgow."

BIRKS, RAWLINS & COMPANY, China and Porcelain Manufacturers, The Vine Pottery, Stoke-on-Trent. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1895 by L. A. Birks and A. J. Rawlins. (For some years previous Mr. L. A. Birks was with the firm of Messrs. Mintons, under M. Solon.) Present Principals: L. A. Birks, W. S. Rawlins, A. J. Rawlins. Staff: 130. Specialities: China, Tea, Breakfast, and Dessert Ware; " Savoy " Heraldic China, Royal Mercian Porcelain, Persindo Art Porcelain, &c. Awarded Diplomas of Honour, Turin, 1911; Ghent, 1913. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly), Foreign, Colonial. Telephone.: No. 137x Stoke-on-Trent. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. (Stoke-on-Trent).

BIRMINGHAM ADVERTISING TABLET CO., Ltd. (THE), Printers of Metal, National Works, Smethwick, Staffs. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Directors: George Barker (Chairman), and two others. Premises: Cover about one acre. Specialities: Printed Metal Showcards, Waiters, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 114 Smethwick. Telegraphic Address: " Tablet, Birmingham." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

BIRMINGHAM METAL & MUNITIONS CO., Ltd. (THE), Metal Rollers and Ammunition Makers, Adderley Park Mills, Birmingham. London Offices: Kingsway House, Kingsway, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1863 by John Abrahams. Afterwards acquired by the B.S.A. and Metal Co. Later by the Birmingham Metal and Munitions Co., Ltd. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: E. M. Goodman (Chairman), F. J. Shand, T. S. Walker, W. Wetherspoon, John H. Barker, M.Inst.C.E. (Managing Director). Claim to have made at their Works the first Solid-drawn Cartridge Cass in this country. Premises: Adderley Park Mills and Loading Factory, Streetly; cover seventy-three acres. Equipped throughout with up-to-date appliances. Staff: About 1,500. Staff Clubs: Cricket, Football. Specialities: Ammunition for all types of Standard Arms. Brass and Copper Wire, Rivets, Nails, Washers, &c.; Motor Radiator Tubes, Brass and Copper Sheets, Strips, &c. . Connection: Worldwide. Contractors to H.M: Government (Admiralty, War Office), Colonial and Foreign Governments. Telephones: Nos. 410, 411 and 412 (East) Birmingham; No. 2382 Regent (Kingsway House). Telegraphic Address: " Ammunition, Birmingham." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

BIRMINGHAM SMALL ARMS CO., Ltd. (THE), Manufacturers of Military Rifles for H.M. Government, Sporting and Match Rifles, the B.S.A. Air Rifle, the W.O. Miniature Rise, B.S.A. Cycles and Motor Cycles and Cycle Fittings, B.S.A. Motor Cars, B.S.A. Small Tools, Gauges, &c., Small Arms Factory, Small Heath, Birmingham. Branch Factories: Sparkbrook, Redditch and Coventry. Hours of Business: 9 a.tn. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1861; reconstructed in 1896; acquired the Eadie Manufacturing Co., Ltd., 1907, and the Daimler Motor Co. (1904), Limited, in 1910. Directors: Sir Hallewell Rogers (Chairman), E. Manville (Deputy Chairman), Percy Martin (Managing Director), T. F. Walker, L. Chandler, A. H. E. Wood, Albert Eadie, Col. H. C. L. Holden, C.B., F.R.S., A. Neville Chamberlain. Secretary: Kenneth R. Davis. Premises situated close to Small Heath Station, Great Western Railway. The total area of the shop and office floor space covers over eleven acres. The Branch Factory at Sparkbrook occupies over five acres, and is devoted to Motor Car Manufacture. The Redditch Factory occupies 6/- acres. Staff: Averages 250 clerks, 5,000 workmen. Specialities: The manufacture of Military Rifles for H.M. Government, Sporting and Match Rifles, W.O. Miniature Rifles, Air Rifles, Shot Gun Barrels. Hold an eminent position in the rifle-making industry. Also manufacturers of B.S.A. Cycle Fittings, Eadie Specialities, Small Tools, Motor Cycles, &c., and B.S.A. Motor Cars, &c. Have patented a large number of inventions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 6440 Birmingham (six lines); Motor and Small Tools Department, No. 6532 Birmingham (Central). Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Smallarms, Birmingham." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions); Lieber's; Western Union.

BIRT, POTTER & HUGHES, Ltd., Ship Owners, &c., 2, Fenchurch Avenue, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m.. to 6 p.m. In 1889 the three Firms, Allport & Hughes (established prior to 1845 by Wimble & Allport), John Potter & Co. (established 1868), and J. Gavin Birt & Co. (established 1877), amalgamated and carried on the business in joint names until 1895, when the firm became Birt, Potter & Hughes. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: John Wilson Potter (Chairman), George Tolman Haycraft, Henry Good Bedell, and Charles John Cowan. Business: Shipowners, Ship and Insurance Brokers, and Chartering Agents. Also Importers of Frozen Meat, Wool, and other Produce from the Australasian Colonies. Are largely interested in extensive Freezing Works and Shipping Businesses in Australia and New Zealand. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 4052, 4053, 4054 Avenue. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Glenbervie Fen, London." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. Mr. J. Wilson Potter is a Director of the British Steamship Investment Trust, Ltd. Mr. G. T. Haycraft is a Director of the New Zealand Shipping Co., Ltd.

BIRTLEY IRON CO., Colliery Owners, Engineers and Iron Founders, Birtley Iron Works, Birtley, co. Durham, and Milburn House, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1820. Specialities: Cast-iron Pipes and Connections for Gas, Water, Steam or Compressed Air, Engineering Castings up to twenty-five tons in weight. Patent: Water Spraying Tub for Dusty Mines. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty). Telephones: Nos. 379 and 2 Birtley (Works); No. 359 City, and No. 1282 Central. Telegraphic Addresses: " Birtley, Newcastle-on-Tyne " (Works); " Pelaw, Newcastle-on-Tyne " (Office). Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Newcastle-on-Tyne ).

BIRTWISTLE & FIELDING, Ltd., Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers, Great Harwood, and 27, Brazennose Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. (Manchester); At all Mills, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established eighty years ago by — Birtwistle and — Fielding. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Albert Birtwistle (Chairman), William Birtwistle, Alfred Birtwistle, Thomas Martin. Premises: Very extensive, comprising 9 mills in all, well equipped. Staff: 5000. Branches: 27, Brazennose Street, Manchester; Madder Clough Mill, Clayton-le-Moors; Victoria, Wensley Fold; Grange Mills, Blackburn. Speciality: Manufacture of Grey Cloth. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: Nos. 1015 and 2370 Central, Manchester; No. 2 Great Harwood.

BISHOP, R., & SONS, Maltsters, Newark-on-Trent. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established late in 1700 by the predecessors of the present proprietors. Continued by their grandfather, uncles, nephew and brother-in-law. Present . Principals: F. H. Appleby, J.P., L. C. B. Appleby and E. F. Milthorp, J.P. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Extensive, having a modern kiln recently erected, and fitted with up-to-date Machinery. Specialities: Finest India Pale Ale and Fine Porter Malts. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Telephone: No. 18 Newark. Telegraphic Address: " Bishops, Newark." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

BITTERLINGS Ltd., Buyers of Hides, Skins, Fat, Offals, &c.; Butchers' Complete Outfitters, and Ice Manufacturers, 1, Freeth Street, Meadow Lane, Nottingham. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Directors: C. E. Stansfield (Chairman), C. F. A. Bitterling (Managing Director), and H. A. Bitterling. Specialities: The Butchers' Exchange. Butchers' Offals, Hides, Skids, Fat, Bones, Guts, &c.; supply every requisite for the trade, selected Sausage Skins, &c. Connection: General. Telephones: Nos. 3987 and 3988 Nottingham. Telegraphic Address: " Bitterlings, Not tingham." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. (St. Peters' Gate).

BLACK (ADAM & CHARLES), Publishers, 4, 5 and 6, Soho Square, and 9, Dean Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1807 by Adam Black. Telephone: No. 6300 City. Telegraphic Address " Bibles, Ox, London."

BLACK (ALEXANDER) & CO., Makers of Canvas Buoys, &c., The Cellardyke Oil skin Factory, 33 to 39, James Street, Cellardyke, Fifeshire. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1882 by Alexander Black, J.P., the present principal. Premises: Cover ,144 feet long by 140 feet. Staff: Thirty. Specialities: Inventors and Patentees of the Canvas Fishing Net Buoy and Keep-me-Dry Petticoat Trousers. Makers of Oilskins, Sou'-westers, Lines, Barked and Tarred Mending Twines,, &c. Award: First-class Diploma and Gold Medal Parisian Inventors' Academy, Paris, 1892, for the Patent Canvas Fishing Net Buoys. Two Coronation Medals from H.M. The King and from His late Majesty King Edward. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 22 Cellardyke. Telegraphic Address: "Cellardyke Factory, Cellardyke." Mr. Black is a Justice of the Peace, Provost of Kilrenny since 1900 and is still in office.

BLACK (GEORGE) & SONS, Boiler, Tank, and Creosote Plant Manufacturers, and Creosote Oil Merchants, Tweedmouth Boiler Works, Berwick-on-Tweed. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1790 by George Black, grandfather of the present senior partner. Present Principals: George Black (senior), George Black (junior), and Thompson Black. Probably the oldest firm of Boiler Makers in the Kingdom. Specialities: Cornish, Vertical Cross-tube, Vertical-Mult., and Loco-type Boilers for Mills, Laundries, and other land purposes. Marine-Mult. and Donkey Boilers for Yachts, Steam Drifters, Launches, and other vessels. Mild Steel Air Receivers for Compressed Air, to requirements of Pneumatic Engineers. Mild Steel Tanks, Rectangular and Cylindrical, for various purposes. Specialists in the manufacture of Creosote Plant, Pressure Creosoting Plants suitable for Timber Trades. Black's Pressure Creosoting Plant to suit landed Estates and Small Timber Yards. Black's Steeping Plants (hot or cold) process. Black's Mild Steel Cattle Drinking Troughs. Makers of Gasholders, Purifier Covers, Hydraulic Mains, etc., Kitchen Range and Saddle Boilers for Greenhouses, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, chiefly, also Colonial. Telephone: No. 7 (National), Berwick-on-Tweed. Telegraphic- Address: " Boilers, Berwick." Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Berwick).

BLACK, JAS. R., & CO., Ltd., Manure Manufacturers, Corn, Seed and Feeding Stuffs Merchants, 4, Love Lane, Berwick-upon-Tweed. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in the nineteenth century by John Dewar. Succeeded by Crossman & Paulin in 1854. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1886. Chairman: John Mitchell (Manager and Secretary), Ralph Thompson, J.P. Premises: Manure Works at Spittal, a suburb of Berwick, occupying the old premises of the Whale Oil Refinery, where Berwick Ships were engaged in Whale Fishing. Buildings cover two to three acres. Staff: Twenty to thirty. Specialities: Fertilizers, Farm Seeds and Oil Cakes. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 90 (Office); No. 91 (Works), Berwick-upon-Tweed. Telegraphic Address: " Mancorn, Berwick-upon-Tweed." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

BLACKBURN, GEORGE, Wholesale Manufacturing Furrier, 34, Milk Street, Cheapside, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1859 by George Blackburn. Present Principals: Frederick William Blackburn, Edwin Tarne's Blackburn (sons), succeeded founder. Specialities: Small Furs for Neckwear and Fur Trimmings for Costumes. Connection: United Kingdom, Europe, and Colonies. Resident Representatives in Manchester and Glasgow. Telephone: No. 10239 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Yentlano, London." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. (St. Martin's-le-Grand Branch).

BLACKBURN, STARLING & CO., Ltd., Electrical and Mechanical Engineers, Lightning Conductor Manufacturers and Erectors, and Steeplejacks, Gresham Works, London Road, Nottingham. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1870 by Joseph Blackburn. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: Frank H. Starling (Managing Director), C. Osborne. Premises: Large new Works recently acquired, to which extensions have been added. Head Office and Works cover nearly one acre. Branches at 72, Piccadilly, Hanley; 28, Berners Street, Oxford Street, W.; 12, Fleet Street, Dublin. Business: Electric Light Contracts for complete Installations, General Engineering Repair Work; manufacture of Lightning Conductors; Steeple-jack work. Connection: United Kingdom, some Foreign. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty). Telephones: No. 238 Nottingham; No. 244 Hanley. Telegraphic Address: " Blackburn, Nottingham." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

BLACKIE & SON, Ltd., Publishers, 17, Stanhope Street, Glasgow; and 50, Old Bailey, London, E.C. Established in 1809 by John Blackie, sen. (b. 1782, d. 1874). Partnership Succession: John Blackie, (d. 1873), Robert Blackie (d. 1896), Walter Walter Graham Blackie, Ph.D., LL.D. (d.. 1906). Incorporated as a Private Limited Company, 1889. Present Directors: J. Alexander Blackie (Chairman), Walter W. Blackie, B.Sc., and John Blaekie. A Scottish publishing house, which originated as the continuation of an older business (that of W. D. & A. Brownlie, who flourished in the latter part of the eighteenth century), taken over in 1809 by John Blackie (sen.), previously one of the Brownlies' assistants. Premises: In Glasgow, Printing and Binding Works, with about 12,000 square yards of floor space. Also Offices and Warehouse in London, Bombay, Calcutta, and Madras. (The Glasgow Printing Works date in part from the eighteenth century; were formerly the works of the famous Scottish printers, Andrew & J. M. Duncan, who succeeded the brothers Foulis as printers to the University, and maintained the high standard of Glasgow printing.) Staff: About 1,100, including workpeople. Specialities: Educational Books, Books of Reference (as Dictionaries, &c.), Technical and Scientific Books, Juvenile Books and Children's Picture Books. The above in addition to General Publishing. Connection: United Kingdom, United States, Indian, Colonial. Telephones: (Glasgow), No. 3065 Bell; (London), No. 1248 Central. Telegraphic Addresses: " Blackie, Glasgow "; " Glossarium, Cent, London."

BLACKSTONE & COMPANY, LIMITED, Manufacturing Engineers, Rutland Works, Stamford. Town Office: Broad Street, Stamford, Lincs. London Office: 81, Cannon Street, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1837 by T. W. Ashby & Co. Partnership Successions: (1) Ashby, Jeffery & Luke; (2) G. E. Jeffery; (3) Jeffery & Blackstone. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1888. Directors: E. C. Blackstone, J.P., M.I.M.E. (Chairman and Managing Director), G. Hunt, P. B. Mills, G. B. Blyth. Secretary: G. M. Blackstone. Premises: Have extensive Sidings on the Stamford and Essendine branch of the Great Northern Railway. Tho Works extend over twenty acres; equipped with up-to-date appliances. Branches: Peterborough, Spalding. Agencies in most parts of the world. Specialities: Oil Engines, Haymaking and Agricultural Machinery; Vertical Stone Mills for grinding Corn and other substances. Patents: Numerous, dealing with most branches of their manufacture. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 307 and 308 Stamford (Works); No. 3144 (Central), London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Blackstones, Stamford "; " Engimanu, Cannon, London." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Stamford).

BLACKWELL, GEO. G., SONS & CO., Ltd., Metallurgists, Mineral and Metal Merchants, Mine Owners and Manufacturers, The Albany, Liverpool, and Botolph House, 10, Eastcheap, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1869 by Geo. G. Blackwell (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: Harold A. Blackwell (Chairman), E. S. Blackwell, A. W. Blackwell. Premises: Mines in Derbyshire, Durham, Ireland, Norway, Greece, Australia; Works at Garston; Offices, London, Derbyshire, Durham, Garston, &c. Specialities: Minerals and rarer Ores and Metals, Ferro-Alloys for Steel Manufacturers and all Minerals, Metals, Chemicals, &c. Radium and Radioactive ores. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office). Also to the Canadian and Foreign Governments. Telephones: Nos. 959 and 952 Central, Liverpool; No. 3565 Avenue, London; No. 50 Garston; No. 14 Baslow (Mines Office). Telegraphic Addresses " Blackwell, Liverpool; " Tungstate, London." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Exchange Branch, Liverpool).

BLACKWOOD & CO., Ltd., Writing Ink Manufacturers, 18, Bread Street Hill, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established over half a century. Specialities: Writing, Copying, and Marking Inks, Liquid Gums, Sealing Wax, &c. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Stationery Office. Telephone: No. 2283 Central.

BLACKWOOD (JAMES) & CO., Booksellers and Publishers, 12 and 14, Heneage Lane, Bevis Marks, B.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established over sixty years ago by James Blackwood. Specialities: Christian and General Literature; also Books for Mercantile calculations and business men. Are the owners of many copyrights. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone; No. 4434 Avenue.

BLACKWOOD, WM., & SONS, Publishers, 45, George Street, Edinburgh. London, Office: 37, Paternoster Row, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1804 by William Blackwood. Present Principals: George Wm. Blackwood and James H. Blackwood. " Blackwood's Magazine " was established in 1817, and has always held a high position amongst literary miscellanies. Business: Are General and Educational Publishers and issue many Standard Works. General Printing also undertaken. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 2491 Edinburgh; No. 10663 Central (London). Telegraphic Addresses " Blackwoods, Edinburgh "; " Maga, London."

BLAKE, F., & CO., Glove Manufacturers and Leather Dressers, Reckleford, Brunswick Street and Vicarage Street, Yeovil. Hours of Business: Summer, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Winter, 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. (Established in 1900 by Frederick Blake and Edward Raymond, trading as Blake & Raymond.) Present Principal: William Earle Tucker. Manager: F. Blake. Premises: Cover about one and a half acres. Staff: About 300. Business: Glove Manufacturers and Leather Dressers. Connection: United Kingdom, America, Japan, Europe and the Colonies. Telephone: No. 47 Yeovil. Telegraphic Address: " Blake Co., Yeovil." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

BLAKE, SANDFORD & BLAKE, Pharmaceutical Chemists and Aerated Water Makers, 49, Dover Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 9.30 p.m. Established in 1800 by Alexander Blake. Present Principal: C. A. Blake, son and grandson of former members of the firm. Speciality: The Dispensing of Prescriptions. Makers of Aerated Lithia Water and Potash Water. Royal Warrant Holders to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephone: No. 4481 Gerrard.

BLAKEMAN (THOMAS) & SONS, Curriers, Manufacturers and Merchants, Fore Hill and Broad Street, Ely. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Tuesdays, close at 1 p.m. Established over a century ago by W. Blakeman. Present Principals: T. W. Blakeman (sen.) and T.W. Blakeman (jun.). Premises: Extensive factory fitted with steam engine, ten to twelve horse-power, Fluffing Machine and Glazing Wheel of modern type, Hide Knife Splitting Machine, Embossing Machine, &c., Currying Rooms, Warehouses. Staff: Large of experienced curriers. Specialities: Curriers of Shoe, Harness and Strap Leathers, &c, Make a special feature of Leggings (Military, Wellington, Napoleon, Shepherds, &c.); Police Belts, Firemen's Belts, Axe Pouches, &c.; also Boot and Shoe Tops, &c. Contractors to H.M. Government since 1885. Supply the Post Office in large quantities. Connection: United Kingdom, all parts. Telephone: No. 36 Ely. Telegraphic Address:" Blakeman, Ely, Cambridgeshire." Bankers.: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

BLAKEY'S BOOT PROTECTORS, LIMITED, Armley Malleable Ironworks, Leeds. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1874 by John Blakey (d.). Business acquired by present Company in 1902. Chief Proprietor: Arthur E. Archer. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Directors: Arthur E. Archer (Chairman and Managing Director), Harry Le Marchant, G. Oscar Dollfus, Thos. Whitham. Staff: 400 to 500. Specialities: Boot Protectors. Paragon Lasts for home repairs Cricket and Golf Spikes and Circular Studs. Patents: Several. Own over a hundred Trade-mark Registrations at home and abroad. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2 Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Blakey, Leeds." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Leeds and Branches).

BLAMIRES, T. & H., Ltd., Spinners and Manufacturers, Phoenix Mills, Leeds Road, Huddersfield. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1858 by Thomas Howard Blamires (d. 1896), and Henry Blamires (d. 1910) at Folly Hall, Huddersfield. incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: Joseph Blamires, J.P. (Chairman), William Blamires and Arthur W. Sykes. Premises: Cover about three and a half acres; floor space extending over 23,800 square yards, equipped with all up-to-date appliances. Staff 500 to 600. Agencies: London, 59, Gresham Street, E.C.; Manchester, 41, Mosley Street. Specialities: All Wool and Mixtures of Wool and Cotton Flannels, Shirtings, Tennis and Cricketing Clothes, &c. Telephone: No. 179 Huddersfield. Telegraphic Address: " Phoenix, Huddersfield." Bankers West Yorkshire Bank, Ltd. (Huddersfield). Mr. Joseph Blamires is a Justice of the Peace and has been a member of the Huddersfield Town Council for some years, and is at present Mayor of the Borough.

BLANDY, HAWKINS & CO., Brewers, Wine and Spirit Merchants, Castle Brewery, Reading. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established 200 years ago or more, Carried on from 1856 as Blandy, Hawkins & Co. Present Principals: Henry B. Blandy, Hugh Hawkins, John C. Blandy and H. Douglas Hawkins. One of the very oldest houses in the trade. Specialities: Castle Ales and Stouts. Telephone: No. 271 Reading. Telegraphic Address: " Blandy Hawkins, Reading." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Reading).

BLATSPIEL STAMP & HEACOCK. — See STAMP (BLATSPIEL) & HEACOCK.

BLEACHERS' ASSOCIATION, Ltd. Registered Office: 4, Norfolk Street, Manchester. Have various addresses in the United Kingdom, the majority being in the neighbourhood of Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Formed to acquire about fifty firms engaged in Bleaching, Dyeing, Finishing and Printing. Since 1900 various other businesses have been acquired. Chairman: H. Shepherd Cross. Vice-Chairman: James Eckersley. Managing Directors: Arthur K. Davies, Henry Allen, Thomas Warburton, Frederick Whowell. Secretary: R. H. Eccles. Telephone: No. 664 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Bleach, Manchester." Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd.; Manchester and County Bank, Ltd.; Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd.

BLEASDALE, Ltd., Wholesale Druggists and Manufacturing Chemists, 23, Colliergate, York. Hours of Business: 7.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. Established in 1780 by John Dales. Partnership Successions: James Moore Butterfield succeeded, and was joined in 1838 by Joseph Clarke, trading as Butterfield & Clarke until the death of the former, when Wm. Bleasdale succeeded him, joined in 1860 by William Henry Bell, and later by Richard B. Tollinton. Upon the death or retirement of the other partners, With Bleasdale became sole proprietor, trading as W. Bleasdale & Co. till his death in 1888. Business carried on under trust till the death of Mr. Bleasdale's eldest son, 1893. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Directors: John C. Sharp (Chairman), Robert B. Atkinson, Cecil B. Johnson, T. C. Atkinson, Arthur Hum phreys (Managing Director). Premises: 300 feet long by 80 feet wide. Staff: Seventy-five. Specialities: Manufacture of Galenicals, Granular Preparations, Ball room Floor Polish, &c., Drug Grinding, &c. Connection: United Kingdom. Export done through London Agents. Telephone,: No. 92, York. Telegraphic Address " Bleasdale, York." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. Mr. Arthur Humphreys is a Past President of the Chamber of Commerce, Past President of the Commercial Travellers' Association, P.M. and P.Z. Eboracum Lodge and Chapter, Past President of York Chess Club.

BLEE (LINDSAY) & CO., Ltd., Coal Exporters and Foreign Coaling Contractors, 107, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C.—See LINDSAY BLEE & CO., LIMITED.

BLES, S. D., & SONS, Merchants and Shippers, 54, Princess Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1839 by S. D. Bles, of The Hague. Partnership Successions: (1) David S. Bles (eldest son), 1860, trading as S. D. Bles & Son; (2) S. D. Bles, David S. Bles, A. J., S. Bles (second son), 1863, as S. D. Bles & Sons; (3) D. S. Bles, J.P., A. J. S. Bios, J.P., M. S. Bles, J.P. (third son), 1873. Present Partners: M. S. Bles, J.P., Joseph Bles, S. F. Simons, G. M. Bles. Specialities: Prints, Whites, Greys, Fancies, Yarns, Chemicals, and Machinery of all descriptions. Agents for Platt Brothers & Co., Ltd., Oldham, for the Dutch Markets. Connection: United Kingdom, European and Eastern Countries, and the United States. Telephones: Nos. 7400 to 7403 City, No',. 3267, 3614 Central , Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Bles, Manchester." Mr. M. S. Bles is Consul for the Netherlands and a Justice of the Peace for Manchester, Director of the Manchester Chamber of Commerce, Treasurer to the Royal Manchester Institution, the Representative of the Royal Manchoster Institution in the City Art Gallery Council, Governor of the Whitworth Institute, member of the Council of the British Cotton Growing Association, member of the Council of the Importers and Exporters Association. Clubs: Manchester Racquet and Tennis; National Liberal; Royal Automobile; Dutch Club, London. Pastime: Golf.

BLOODWORTH, R. A., Ltd., Lace Manufacturers, 10, Short Hill, Nottingham, and 12 and 13, Bow-Lane, E.C.; and 10, Fore Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established upwards of fifty years ago by C. Bloodworth. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Directors: J. T. Buswell, L. C. Varney, A. E. Redgate and J. M. Grover. Specialities: Fine Laces, Frillings, Flounces and Valenciennes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 1033 Nottingham. Bankers; Lloyds Bank Limited.

BLUEMEL BROTHERS, Ltd., Cycle Accessories and Motor Accessories Manufacturers, Wolston, near Coventry. London Office: 37, Great Eastern Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1860 by C. A. Bluemel (senior). Managing Directors: Charles William Bluomel, Ernest Adolphus Bluemel and Frank Henry Bluemel. Premises: Extensive well-equipped building, covering about 60,000 superficial feet. Staff: About 550. Specialities: Celluloid Cycle Pumps, Handles, Mudguards, Gear Cases, Dress Guards and such-like goods. Also Sparking Plugs and Accumulators for Motors. Patents: Several. Telephone: No. 2 Wolston. Telegraphic Address: " Bluemel, Wolston."

BLUM (ADOLF) & POPPER, Shipping Agents, Freight Contractors, 34, Leadenhall Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1875 by Adolf Blum and Popper. Present Principals: Adolf Blum, D. Rischarvy, E. Goezl. One of the leading firms of Forwarding Agents to and from Austria-Hungary and Germany. Branches: Hamburg, Berlin, Bremen, Vienna, Budapest, Prague, Fiume, Trieste, Antwerp, Rotterdam, New York, Tetschen o/Elbe, Auscha. Business: General Shipping Agents and Forwarding Agents. Agents for the Grand Trunk Railway, Canada. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1959 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Blumolf, London." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Leadenhall Street, RC.).

BLUMER (JOHN) & CO., Iron and Steel Shipbuilders, North Dock Shipbuilding Yard, Sunderland. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1859 by John Blumer. Joined by Arthur Robson in 1865, retired in 1895, and was succeeded by T. R. Blumer and Win. Blumer. Arthur Robson died in 1897; T. R. Blumer retired in 1904. Present Principal: Wm. Blumer. Premises: Large Shipbuilding Yards, &c., at North Dock, Sunderland, Staff: 820. Connection: General Shipbuilding. Have built ships for every maritime nation in Europe; also for China, Japan, United States, &c. Telephone: Nos. 1220 and 1221 (National) Sunderland. Telegraphic Address: " Blumers, Sunderland." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

BLUMFIELD, Ltd., Motor Engineers, 70, Lower Essex Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1909 by T. W. Blumfield. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: N. F. Holder (Managing Director), H. C. Holder, J. A. Holder and A. E. Holder. Specialities: Motor Cycle and Cycle Car Engineers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 2066 Midland, Birmingham. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

BLUNDELL BROS., Ltd., Manufacturing Furriers, and Wholesale Straw Hat and Flower and Feather Warehousemen, 157, Cheapside, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1805 by Joseph King Blundell. Partnership Successions: ( 1 ) Joseph Blundell, son of founder; (2) Joseph Hight Blundell and Harold Blundell, grandsons of founder. Incorporated in 1902. Directors: Joseph Hight Blundell (Chairman), Harold Blundell, John Mountain, Edwin Beadell. Specialities: Originally founded in connection with the Luton straw hat trade; subsequently included felt hats, women's headgear, flowers, feathers, &c. Telephone: No. 348 Bank. Telegraphic Address: "Blundell, Cheapside, London."

BLUNDELL & SONS, Gold, Silver, and Platinum Refiners, 199, Wardour Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Established about 1850 by John Hearn (father-in-law of the late J. Blundell) in Clerkenwell. Firm carried on under title of John Ream & Co., succeeded by John Blundell. Present Principals: J. J. Blundell and T. G. Blundell. Specialities: Preparing, Assaying and Purchasing every kind of Residue or Waste, containing Gold, Silver, or Platinum; and supplying these Precious Metals, pure or alloyed, in Sheet Wire and Foil. Also purchase all kinds of Precious Stones. Have patented several important improvements in Assay Gas Furnace invented by Mr. T. G. Blundell. Connection: Worldwide. Telephone: No. 4746 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Golsilplat, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Berners Street Branch).

BLUNDELL, SPENCE & CO., LIMITED, Paint, Colour, Oil, and Varnish Manufacturers, Beverley Broad Works, Hull; and Anchor Wharf, 9, Upper Thames Street., London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1811 by Henry Blundell and Wm. Spence. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1874, and re-registered in 1889 on an enlarged basis. Probably the oldest and largest Paint, Colour, and Varnish Manufacturers in the United. Kingdom. The premises are very extensive; Beverley Road and Bankside Works cover about eleven acres, and are fully equipped with modern appliances. Departments include Home and Export Warehouses, Machine Cooperage, Laboratories, Sample Rooms, Department for Petrifying Liquids, Tinner's Shop. Employees: About 800. Stores: London, Cardiff, Liverpool, and West Hartlepool. Specialities: Petrifying Liquids for cure of damp walls, and substitute for glazed bricks; Metallic Galvanizing Paint for all metal work; Radiators and Steam Piping; Stucco Paint, a first-class Washable Distemper; Anti-fouling Compositions for ships' bottoms; Blended South American Turpentines; Turpentine Substitutes, and White Spirits. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Telephones: Hull, National Nos. 310, 1233, and 1699, and Corporation No. 1233; London, National, London Wall 8116. Telegraphic Addresses: " Blundells, Hull," and " Blunspence, London."

BLUNN (HENRY) & CO., Ironplate Workers and Japanners, Brereton Works, Rugeley. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established nearly a century ago. Present Principal: Thomas A. Cooke. Premises: Cover about one acre. Staff: Seventy to eighty. Branches: Hamburg, Singapore, Bangkok, Bordeaux, Paris, Amsterdam. Business: Export Manufacturers of Japanned Steel Travelling Trunks, Cash Boxes, Tinware, Military Uniform Cases and Patent Steel Mattresses for Bedsteads. Patents: On Trunks, Cash Boxes and Steel Mattresses. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, and Foreign Markets. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Blunn, Rugeley." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

BLYDE, A., & CO., Manufacturers of Steel, Files, Tools, Castings, &c., The Wallace Steel Works, Sheffield. London Office: West India House, Leadenhall Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1840. Present Principal: J. E. A. Blyde, F.C.S. Specialities: Tool Steel, Mining Steel, Cold Chisels, and Sates, Connection; United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1830 (Central), Sheffield. Telegraphic Address: " Economy, Sheffield." Code: ABC.

BOASE (HENRY) & CO., LIMITED, Jute Spinners, Wellfield Works, Dundee. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1866 by Ireland & Boase. Partnership Successions: (1) Henry Boase & Co.; (2) Henry Boase & Co., Limited. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: Alfred W. Cox (Chairman), James Robertson. Premises: Extensive and well equipped. Staff: 350. Specialities: Jute Twist Yarns. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 289 Dundee. Telegraphic Address: " Boase, Dundee." Bankers: Clydesdale Bank, Limited.

BOBY, R. & G., BROS. & CHAPMAN, Ltd., Manufacturers of Brewers' Materials and General Manufacturing Chemists, Cigar Manufacturers and Importers, 10, Great Eastern Street, London, E.C., and Station Works, Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1865. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1898, John W. Boby and Arthur W. Chapman being Managing Directors; Director and Consulting Chemist, Alfred Chaston Chapman, F.I. C. , F. C. S., &c. Specialities: Brewers' Materials, British Cigars, Importers of Havana and Mexican Cigars, also Sole Agents for La Rosa de las Antillas, Havana, and La Rosa Mejicana, Mexican. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 1802 London Wall. Telegraphic Addresses: " Sublime, London," " Virtus, Bury St. Edmunds."

BODDEN (WILLIAM) & SON, LIMITED, Spindle and Flyer Manufacturers, Hargreaves Works, Oldham. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1858 by Messrs. Bodden and Mercer. Succeeded by William Bodden and Son in 1873. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: Wm. Crellin, Geo. Harrison, Wm. Bodden, Harry Bodden, F. Ashton, Arthur Buckley. Secretary: Orlando Kenworthy. Premises: Extensive, fully equipped with all the latest improvements. Staff: About 800. Business: Manufacture of Spindles and Flyers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1218 (two lines) Oldham. Telegraphic Address: "Bodden, Oldham." Codes: A 1, A B C, and W.U.T. Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd. (Oldham). Mr. William Bodden was Mayor if 0.1(11-1a,m. 1877-1878.

BODILL, PARKER & CO., Ltd., Cabinet Furnishing and General Brass and Iron Founders, Ship Tackle and Eyelet Makers. Offices: 35 and 36, Great Hampton Row, Birmingham. Works: Albion Works, Great Hampton Row, and St. George's Mill, Tower Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1863 as Joseph Bodill & Co. Title changed to William Bodill & Co., and, in 1882, to Bodill, Parker & Co., the partners then being William Bodill and William Bodill Parker; subsequently, William Bodill, William Bodill Parker, Joseph Richard Parker, and James Everett Parker. Incorporated as a Limited Company, June 1st, 1893, and the first Board of Directors was: Richard Parker (Chairman), Alderman John Parker, William Bodill Parker, Joseph Richard Parker, James Everett Parker. Present Directors: Joseph Richard Parker (Chairman), Martin Rogers Parker, a- d William James Read. Premises: In 1897 the works were extended, a slum court with thirteen cottages (a cul-de-sac) being cleared for the purpose, and in 1912 adjoining premises were acquit ed, the development of the business necessitating further accommodation. Present works, warehouses, &c., cover a large area, with main entrance in Great Hampton Row, where the front block is occupied chiefly by stores and offices. At the rear is a stamping shop (95 ft. by 32 ft.), with two galleries for light machine work, having a total floor space of 4,022 sq. ft., and lighted from above. The galleries communicate with three large two-storey warehouses (once a terrace of houses), and a Machine Shop, 60 ft. by 56 ft., has been formed by covering in the old yard of the terrace. There are also Dipping, Annealing, and Casting Shops. Works are equipped throughout with modern appliances, capable of maintaining a large output. Stag: About 200 hands. Specialities: Furnishing and General Brass Work, Garden Hose Fittings, Metal Labels, Motor Car Fittings, Eyelets, Hooks and Eyes, and all Metal Fittings for Sails and Tents. Patents: Numerous, including " Bopark Spec:.a!ities as follows:— Curtain Rod Bracket;, Curtain Holders, Kuct Holders, Sash Lift, Stair Eyes, Moulding Hooks, Swivel Wardrobe Hook, Self-liftil g Portiere Rod, Motor Turn Buttons. Also Registered a-tfc'es (" B varks "):— Muslin Rod Brackets, Stair Eyes, Carpet Carver, Picture Hooks, Picture Suspenders, and Knife Sharpener. Connection: United Kingdom; also Foreign and Colonial through British Merchants. Contractors to H.M. Government, Admiralty, War Office, India Office, and to General Post Office, Commis sioners of Prisons, &c. Telephone: No. 2260 Birmingham. Telegraphic Ad dress: " Bodills, Birmingham." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Great Hampton Street, Birmingham).

BOEHM, FREDK., Ltd., Merchants and Wholesale Agents of Chemicals, Oils, Vegetable Butters, Drugs, Essential Oils, &c., 16, Jewry Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.15 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1.15 p.m. Established in 1888 by Frederick Boehm. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1908. Directors: Frederick Boehm (Managing Director and Chairman), H. Kunzer. Specialities: Chemicals, Oils, Vegetable Butters, Drugs, Essential Oils. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1365 Avenue, London (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Bissula, Telow,. London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Lieber's, A 1. .Telewriter: No. 96 Walbrook. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd., Fenchurch Street, London, and Deutsche Vereinsbank, Frankfurt a/M, Germany.

BOEHME, H., & CO., Ltd., Wholesale Yeast Merchants and Importers, Exporters, and Manufacturers of Bakers' and Confectioners' Sundries, 22, Creechurch Lane, Leadenhall Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1885 by Hermann Boehme. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1913. Managing Director: Hermann Boehme. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 6931 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Boehme, London." Code: A B C (4th Edition). Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank (Fenchurch Street Branch).

BOILERINE, LIMITED (EXPERTS IN HYDROLOGY). The Laboratories (Manufacturing and Analytical), 885A-897, Old Kent Road, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1886 by the late James Ross. Incorporated in 1908 as a Private Limited Company. Governing Director: J. W. G. Ross, F.R.C.I., M.J.Inst.E. Secretary and Chemist: H. Sampson Wills, F.C.S., a member of the Pharmaceutical Society. Speciality: " Boilerine," a Preventive and Disuniter of Incrustation in Steam Boilers, Motor Waggons, and the like. Telephone: No. 705 New Cross (two lines). Tele graphic and Cable Address: " Boilerine, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (New Cross).

BOLCKOW, VAUGHAN & CO., Ltd., Ironmasters, Steel Manufacturers, and Colliery Owners. Chief Office: Middlesbrough. London Office: 15, Philpot Lane, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12.45 p.m. Established about 1841 by Henry William Ferdinand Bolckow and John Vaughan, as Bolckow & Vaughan. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1864. Directors: Sir J. E. Johnson-Ferguson, Bart. (Chairman), Colonel J. G. S. Davies, R.E., Illtyd Williams, the Hon. Roland D. Kitson, the Rt. Hon. J. Parker Smith, the Hon. Henry D. McLaren,. M.P. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Works situated on the south side of the River Tees in the vicinity of Middlesbrough, comprising twenty-five blastfurnaces, steelworks, &c., producing several grades of iron, Cleveand, Hematite, Ferro-Manganese, and Spiegeleisen. Total output about 800,000 tons per annum. Total output of finished steel, about 220,000 tons per annum. Ironstone Mines are situated at Eston, North Skelton, South Skelton, Longacres and Belmont, near Guisbrough. Production of about 2,000,000 tons of ironstone per annum. The Collieries in the neighbourhood of Bishop Auckland have an annual output of nearly 2,500,000 tons. At the Auckland Park, Leasingthorne, and Dean and Chapter Collieries, bye product plants are installed. Also own Limestone Quarries at Newlandside, co. Durham. Number of Men employed: About 18,000. Branches: Darlington, West Hartlepool. Specialities: Cleveland Pig iron, Hematite, Ferro-Manganese and Spiegeleisen Steel Rails and Plates, Tramrails, Ironstone, Coal, Coke and Byeproducts, such as Sulphate of Ammonia, Benzol, Toluol, Xylol, Sol. Naphtha, and Motor Spirit. Also Fire Brick and Plate Bricks, Ground Annealed Slag and Artificial Stone. The manufacture of Steel is carried on by the Acid and Basic Processes, both Bessemer and Siemens, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Telephones: No. 1101 Middlesbrough; No. 5858 (Avenue), London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Bolckows, Middlesbrough "; " Bolckows, Grace, London." Code: A B C (4th and5th Editions) and Private. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. (Middlesbrough), Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co. (London), London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (London and Middlesbrough), Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. (London).

BOLDING (JOHN) & SONS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Sanitary Appliances, Grosvenor Works, Davies Street, Oxford Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1822 by Thomas Bolding. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Directors: John T. Bolding (Chairman and Managing Director), J. Hamlyn, W. H. Eason, W. J. Sprague, C. C. Hart, and C. B. Smith. Premises: Besides the Grosvenor Works in Davies Street (a large modern building, containing spacious showrooms, work shops, &c.), the firm have a Brass Foundry at 8, Eden Street, Hampstead Road, N.W., and Marble Masons' and Cabinet Makers' Works at 12, Euston Buildings, N.W. A large staff is employed, comprising expert workmen in all departments. Branch: 298, Euston Road, London, N.W. Specialities: High-class Sanitary Appliances; Complete Systems of Sanitation, public and private. Patents: Numerous, relating to Sanitary Appliances. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: Nos. 9630 and 9631 Gerrard; 818 Mayfair (P.O.). Telegraphic Address: " Boklings, Wesdo, London."

BOLE HALL MILL CO., Smallware Manufacturers, George Street, Tamworth. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1810 by Charles Harding. Purchased in 1861 by Egbert Duhamol de Hamel, the present principal. This business has made steady increase since the old factory at Bole Hall was vacated for the present mill in George Street. Premises: Cover about one acre. Staff: 150 to 200. Specialities: Weaving of all classes of Tapes and Webs. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Bolehall, Tamworth." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

BOLING, BROWN & CO., Manufacturers of Bottles for Chemists, &c., Aldersgate Buildings, Aldersgate Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1909 by George Frederick Boling and Charles Edward Brown, the present principals. The former was for twenty six years Manager and for many years a Director of another firm of Glass Bottle Manufacturers. The latter was also connected with the same firm for seven years, one of the principal shareholders. Staff: Large in France to meet their requirements according to the season. Specialities: All kinds of Bottles as used by Chemists, Druggists, Confectioners, &c. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial Business rapidly increasing. Telephone: No. 1726 City, London. Telegraphic Address: " Glassdom, London." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Finsbury).

BOND'S (JOHN) " CRYSTAL PALACE " MARKING INKS, 75, Southgate Road, London, N. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established 100 years ago. Present Principal: Alfred Bond Hickisson, grandson of the late John Bond, Chemist and Druggist, Actual Inventor of Marking Ink. Specialities: Heat and Non-Heat Marking Inks. Connection: World-wide. Awards: Gold Medals, Grand Diplomas, &c., at all the great Exhibitions wherever shown since 1851. Royal Warrants: By special appointment to H.M. the Queen and Court of Holland. Telephone: No. 1824 Dalston. Telegraphic Address: " Actinic, London."

BONNYBRIDGE SILICA AND FIRECLAY CO., Ltd., Firebrick and Ganister Manufacturers, Bonnybridge, Scotland. Hours of Business: Office, 8 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1874 by Alexander White(d.), who retired in favour of the late Azariah Griffiths and William B. Ross, and carried on as above. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1906. Managing Director: Alfred Griffiths. Pioneers of the well-known seam of Bonnybridge Fireclay and Ganister. Premises: About eleven acres, exclusive of ground leased for mineral operations. Staff: 160. Specialities: Firebricks of first-class quality of Fireclay and Ganister for Steel and Iron Works and Foundry Cupolas. Nozzles, Stoppers, Sleeves and Runner Bricks for Steel processes. Firebricks for Oil Fuel Furnaces. Brands: " Bonnybridge " and B.S. & F.C. Co." Awards: Medal, International Exhibition, Edinburgh, 1886; Medal, Royal Mining Engineering and Industrial Exhibition, Newcastle, 1887; Diploma, Glasgow International Exhibition, 1888. Connection: Home, Foreign and Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office), Principal Steel and Iron Works, &c. Telephone: No. 7 Bonnybridge. Telegraphic Address: " Silica, Bonnybridge.". Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers Commercial Bank, Ltd. (Bonnybridge); Royal Bank (Falkirk).

BONVILLES COURT COAL CO., Ltd., Colliery Proprietors, Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1847 by the Pembrokeshire Coal and Iron Co. Succeeded by C. R. Vickerman, in 1872 Bonville Court Coal and Iron Co., Ltd., in 1878 Bonville Court Coal Co. Incorpo rated as a Private Limited Company in 1909. Directors: C. H. R. Vickerman, J.P. (Managing Director), E. J. Harvey, E. G. Vickerman. Staff: 350 to 400. Specialities: Anthracite of the highest quality, large Coal used entirely for Malting; supply the principal Maltsters in the United Kingdom. Telegraphic Address: " Bonville, Saundersfoot." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Tenby).

BOORD & SON (INCORPORATED), Distillers, Compounders, and Wine and Spirit Shippers and Bottlers, 115, 117, 119, and 121, Tooley Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1744 (or prior to that date) by Jenner Swaine, who carried on the business of a Distiller in Newgate Street. Partnership Succes sions: (1) John Swaine, son of the founder, 1765; (2) Thomas Rose Swaine, cousin of John Swaine, admitted about 1775. He married Miss Coare, and united the businesses of Coare (founded about 1750) and Swaino; (3) Coare & Swaine, 1780; (4) Coare, Swaine & Minnitt, 1796; (5) Swaine & Minnitt. 1799, who opened with Messrs. Currie & Co., Bankers, an account that has been carried on to this day; (6) Swaine, Minnitt & Alport, 1809; (7) Swaines, Alport & Co., 1815; (8) Swaine & Co., 1835; (9) Joseph Boord, brother-in-law to Mr. Swaino, was taken into partnership in 1840, the style of the firm, however, remaining unchanged; (10) Swaine, Boord & Co., 1847; (11) Boord, Son & Beck with, 1859; (12) Boord & Son, 1866; (13) Boord & Son (Incorporated), 1888. Specialities: Include several well-known brands of Whisky, Gin, &c. As Distillers, Blenders, Compounders, and Rectifiers are amongst the oldest in the trade. Connection: United Kingdom, with export trade to all parts of the world. Telephone: No. 4539 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Genevanism, London."

BOOSEY & CO., Music Publishers, Band Instrument Manufacturers, &c., 295, Regent Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. One of the leading English firms engaged in the publication of all descriptions of Vocal and Inatriuriental Music. Are also manufacturers of Band Instruments, and hold an important Patent on Compensating Solbron Pistons for Brass Instruments. Branch: 9, East 17th Street, New York. Telephones: Nos. 8257-8 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Boosey, WeEdo, London."

BOOT (HENRY) & SONS, Ltd., Builders, Joiners, Plumbers, Painters and General Contractors. Offices and Joinery Works: 152, Moore Street, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 7.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1882 by Henry Boot. Joined in partnership by Charles Boot in 1900. Firm trading as Henry Boot & Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1910 under above title: Chairman: Henry Boot. Managing Director: Charles Boot. From the smallest beginning the firm has risen to the premier position amongst Sheffield Contractors. Premises: Large Joinery Works. Branches: Stone Works and Depots, Harrow Street, Ecclesall Road, Cemetery Road, Sark Road and Love Lane. Business: Builders, Joiners, Plumbers, Painters and General Contractors. Have erected many of the important public buildings in Sheffield, now engaged in erecting new premises for the University of Sheffield at a cost of over £40,000. Speciality: Collapsible Partition for Schools, Churches, &c. Connection: All parts of the Unitcd Kingdom, particularly for School Furnishing. Telephones: Nos. 1994, 1994A and 3012 Sheffield. Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. Mr. Charles Boot is President of the Sheffield Master Builders Association.

BOOTE, T. & R., Ltd., Tile Manufacturers and Architectural Faience, Waterloo Potteries, and the Patent Tile Works, Burslem, Staffordshire. London Offices and Showrooms: Birkbeck Bank Chambers, Holborn, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1842 by Thomas Latham Boote, J.P., and Richard Boote. Latter sole proprietor in 1879. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1894. Managing Directors: Richard Latham Boote, Charles Edmund Boote. Premises: Business commenced in 1842 at Central Pottery, Burslem. Afterwards conducted at Kiln Croft Works, Burslem. About 1851 established Waterloo Potteries; very extensive and highly-equipped Works, cover an area of about three acres. Branch: 49, Deansgate, Manchester. Staff: Office, about thirty; Workpeople, about 450. Business: Originally manufacturers of Earthenware and Tiles; lately manufacturers of Tiles and Architectural Faience only. Patents: For making Inlaid Tiles from Dust (expired), and for undercutting the backs of Tiles so as to secure them to the wall. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 348 and 424 Burslem; No. 888 Holborn (London); No. 3426 Manchester. Telegraphic Addresses: " Boote, Burslem "; " Oblong, London." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank (Burslem).

BOOTH (ALFRED) & CO., Banker, Merchant 3 and Commission Agents, Tower Building, Liverpool. Hours of Business Usual. Established in 1861. Present Principals: Alfred Booth, Right Hon. Charles Booth, Charles Booth (jun.), Alfred Allen Booth, George M. Booth, Paul Crompton, Clement W. Jones, David H. Crompton, E. E. Fletcher, W. H. Tregoning. Branches: Alfred Booth & Co., London; Booth & Co., London, New York, Boston, Sydney, Christchurch (N.Z.). Specialities: Pickled Sheepskins. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 8413 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Albo, Liverpool." Code: Tybo. Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd.

BOOTH & BROOKES, Ltd., Ironfounders and Engineers, Mildmay Iron Works, Burnham-on-Crouch, Essex (and Burnhan Eagineering Co.). Established in 1899 by Palmer and Booth. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: J. W. Booth (Managing Director), C. C. Booth, Warwick Brookes, W. J. Robbins and S. M. Hurd. Secretary: P. M. Booth. Premises: Extensive, cover two acres, equipped with up-to-date appliances. Staff: Large. Staff Club: Mildmay Football. Specialities: Iron Frames for Pianos, General Machine, Motor, and Electrical Castings, Electro Plating, Enamelling and Bronzing and General Engineering. On the Admiralty List. Patent: " Calora " Stove. Telephone: No. 9 Burnham-on-Crouch. Telegraphic Address: " Booth, Burnham-on-Crouch." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd., Maldon.

BOOTH (CHARLES) & CO., Engineers, Machinery and Tool Stores, 38, 40, 42, 46, and 48, Park Lane, 1 to 5, and 2, Liver Street, and 6, Pownall Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1817 by Jeremiah Booth. Present Principal: John Pollard. Is one of the oldest firms in the trade in Liverpool. Business: The Sale and Hire of Tools, Machinery, Boilers, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 4513 (2 lines) Bank. Telegraphic Address: " Spanners, Liverpool." Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd.

BOOTH & CO., Cotton Dyers and Manufacturers of Polished Cotton Yarn in Hank and on Bobbins, Middleton, near Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1871 by Booth & Co. Present Principal: Henry Hall. Premises: Extensive and well equipped. Staff: About 150. Specialities: Polished Cotton Yarn for manufacturing purposes and for covering electrical wires. Telephone: No. 40 Middleton. Telegraphic Address: " Booth, Middleton." Code: Lieber's. Bankers: Union Bank of Manchester.

BOOTH, H. B., & CO., Woolstaplers and Top Makers, 59, Sunbridge Road; Woolsorting Rooms, 49, Sunbridge Road, Bradford. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1892 by H. B. Booth, the present principal. Staff: Twelve to Fifteen. Specialities: English Fleece Wools, chiefly English Lustre and Half-bred Fleeces and Tops and a " Special " Roller Lapping Top. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly). Telephone: No. 1088 Bradford. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Encore, Bradford." Bankers: Bradford District Bank, Ltd. (Commercial Bank Branch).

BOOTH (JOHN) & SONS, Constructional Engineers. Head Offices, &c.: Hulton Steelworks. Town Works: Marsden Road Ironworks, Bolton. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Offices, 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1870 by John Booth. Present Principals: John Booth (founder), James Booth, Thomas Booth, Charles H. Booth. Premises: Head Offices, Works, &c., cover ten acres. Town Works, Marsden Road Ironworks, Bolton, cover one acre. Proprietors of Jeremiah Marsden & Co., Ltd., Britannia Foundry, Bolton; cover one and a half acres. London Office: D. C. MacCurrach, A.M.I.M.E., Queen Anne's Chambers, Broadway, Westminster, S.W. Belfast Office: A. W. McKean, Mayfair Buildings, Arthur Square. Business: Constructional Engineering in all branches. Specialise in Fireproof Steel Doors, Staircases, Partitions, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1195 (Hulton Works) (four lines); No. 1192 (Marsden Road) Bolton; No. 164 (Foundry), Bolton; No. 7162 Victoria, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Irony, Bolton." " Turnbuckle, Vic, London." " McKean, Mayfair, Belfast." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Engineering. Bankers: Union Bank of Manchester (Bolton).

BOOTH (JOSEPH) & BROTHERS, Ltd., Engineers, Crane Makers, &e., Union Foundry, Rodley, near Leeds. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1847 by Jeremiah Booth. Succeeded by -Joseph Booth, John Booth, and Jeremiah Booth (sons); afterwards by grandsons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: William Booth (Chairman), Arthur Booth, Alfred Watson Booth. Specialities: Cranes of all descriptions and sizes operated by Electric, Steam, Hydraulic and Hand Power, Electric Capstans, Haulage Gear, &c., Electric Dynamos and Motors, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 20 Stanningley. Telegraphic Address: " Cranes, Rodley." Codes: A B C (5th Edition); Lieber's. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Leeds). The Directors are Members of the Iron and Steel Institute.

BOOTH, L. J., & SONS, Woollen Cloth Manufacturers, 18, York Place, Leeds; Woodbottom Mills, Horsforth; and Park Mills, Rawdon, near Leeds. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12.30 p.m. Established in 1891 by Lewis James Booth (d.). Present Principals: Stead Booth, Alfred Booth, and Walter Bertio Booth. (sons). Premises: Extensive, fully equipped mills. Staff: Over 400. Specialities: Ladies' Skirt Cloths, Coat and Jacket Cloths, Costume Cloths. A special feature made of Black and Blue Serges. Connection: United Kingdom and Australia. Telephones: No. 1483 Central, Leeds; No. 57 Rawdon (Horsforth); No. 72 Rawdon. Telegraphic Address: " Zealous, Leeds." Bankers: London City &Midland Bank,Ltd.

BOOTH, P., & CO., Manufacturers, 26, Chapel Street, Bradford, and at Vulcan Shed, Dudley Hill. Hours of Business: Works, 6.15 a.m. to 5.15 p.m. Office, 9 a.m. to 5.15 p.m. Established in 1900 by Fred Booth (d.). Present Principals: Frank Booth (son) and Herbert Emsley. Premises: Contain fifty-four looms. Staff: Thirty-five. Specialities: Dress Goods, Linings and Gabadines. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 41 Dudley Hill.

BOOTH STEAMSHIP CO., Ltd., (THE). Steamship Owners, Tower Building, Water Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901, when the firm amalgamated with the Red Cross Line. Directors: Charles Booth (jun.) (Chairman), The Right Hon. Charles Booth, Alfred A. Booth, George M. Booth, George Brocklehurst, Frank Brocklehurst, *Clement W. Jones. Manager: John R. Webb. Secretary: William L. Collins. Branch: 11, Adelphi Terrace, London, W.C. Agencies: London, Dundee, Plymouth, Havre and Paris, Hamburg, Antwerp, Rotterdam, Amsterdam, Bordeaux, Vigo, Oporto, Lisbon, Madeira, New York, Para, Manaos, Maranham, Parnahyba, Ceara, Pernambuco, Buenos Ayres, Monte Video. Business: Steamship Owning, Royal Mail Carriers. Telephone: No. 8413 Central, Liverpool (Private Branch Exchange). Telegraphic Addresses: " Booth, Liverpool "; " Lusiad, London." Codes: Tybo, Scott's, Lieber's, Watkins', A B C (5th Edition), Private. Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd., Liverpool.

BOOTHS, Ltd., Potters, Church Bank Pottery, Tunstall and Darley Street, Bradford. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6- p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Director: Charles H. Bowers and Charles E. Green (Chairman). Premises: Extensive well-equipped Pottery. Staff: 800. Speciality: Silicon China. Awards: Gold Medal, St. Louis Exhibition, 1904; Diplome D'Honneur, Brussels Exhibition, 1910. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 669 and 670 Tunstall. Telegraphic Address: " Booths, Tunstall." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

BOOTLE JUTE FACTORY CO., Ltd. (THE), Jute Spinners and Manufacturers, " Dundee Works," Canal Street, Bootle, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1861 by Alexander Nicoll and Robert Peter. In 1881 James Bruce, the present head of the firm, was admitted a partner. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893. Managing Directors: James Bruce, J.P., H. Herbert Weightman. Premises: The works, the only textile establishment in the Liverpool district, cover about an acre and a half. Staff: About 400. Specialities: Jute Goods of all descriptions; but especially Jute Bagging for covering Cotton, for Home and United States trade Coal and other Bags; Wool Packs, Sheets, and Top Bags; D. W. Baggings and Twilled Sackings. Connection: United Kingdom, United States (large trade). Telephone: No. 73 Bootle. Telegraphic Address: " Jute, Liverpool." Code: A B C (4th Edition). Bankers: London City & Midland Bank, Ltd.

BORAX CONSOLIDATED, Ltd., Miners and Refiners of Borax, Boracic Acid, &c., 16, Eastcheap, London, E.C. Hours of Business; 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1899. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Col. J. W. Reid (Vice-Chairman), L. H. De Friese, J. Gerstley and F. M. Smith and R. C. Baker (Managing Directors). Secretary: H. T. Daniell. Business: Miners and Refiners of Borax, Boracic Acid and all Boron Products. Proprietors of " Twenty Mule Team " Borax and Boracic Acid. Awards: Brussels Exhibition, 1910; Turin Exhibition, 1911. Connections I United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 576 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Colemanite, London." Codes: A B C, Western Union, &c. Bankers: Glyn Mills, Currie & Co., Lombard Street, E.C.

BORLAND, R. & J., Brick and Tile Makers, Stonehouse, Lanarkshire. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1850 by Robert Borland. Continued by John Borland. Present Principal: Robert H. Borland. Premises: Cover seven acres. Staff: Twelve. Speciality: Field Drain Tiles, one and a half to six inches. Supply Best Blue Clay for Puddling. Connection: Scotland, North of England and. Ireland. Telegraphic Address: " Tileworks Stonehouse." Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd. Mr. Robert H. Borland is a Director of Stonehouse Agricultural Society, Treasurer of the Conservative Association, and Secretary of the Curling Club. He is a member of the Masonic Lodge Union 244. Pastime: Curling.

BORWICK (GEORGE) & SONS, Ltd., Baking Powder Manufacturers, 24, Chiswell Street, and 1, Bunhill Row, London, E.C. Established upwards of seventy years ago by the late George Borwick. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company, the entire shares being held by members of the family. Speciality: Baking Powder. Telephone: No. 11359 Central.

BOSCH MAGNETO CO., Ltd. (THE), Manufacturers of Magnetos, &c., 40, 42, Newman Street, Oxford Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 190.6 by Robert Bosch. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Secretary: J. A. Stevens. Technical Manager: A. E. Bennett. Works Manager: E. Schwer. Staff: Seventy; Workmen, Ninety. Agencies throughout the world. Speciality: Magneto. Trade Marks: Bosch, Ignition. Inventions: Numerous. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (War Office). Telephone: No. 430 Gerrard, London (five lines). Telegraphic Address: " Bomag, London." Codes: Lieber's and Private. Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

BOTTOMLEY & CO., Cigar Manufacturers, India Buildings, Halifax, Yorks. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1860 by Alfred Bottomley, the present principal. Claim to be the first Cigar Manufacturers in Halifax. Premises: Extensive Building facing the Railway Station. Staff: Large. Specialities: Their own registered Brands of Cigars known throughout the United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 252 Halifax. Telegraphic Address: " Gazeta, Halifax." Mr. Bottomley has been a Councillor and Alderman for over ten years, now retired.

BOULNOIS, W. & E., Ltd.—See BAKER STREET BAZAAR.

BOULTON BROTHERS & CO., Merchants and Bankers, 39, Old Broad Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1907 by Robert G. H. Boulton; joined by Gerard A. Moncrieff, William W. Boulton, Archibald J. C. Browne, and Frederick H. Cripps, the present partners. Acquired the business of Alexander Fletcher and Co., Bankers and East India Agents, 2, St. Helen's Place, E.C. (established in 1790). Business i Merchants and Bankers. Telephones: Nos. 555 and 5810 (National), London Wall; No. 3017 (Post Office), City, London. Telegraphic Address: " Boultonian, Aye, London." Bankers: Bank of England, Lloyds Bank Limited; National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. English correspondents for the Russian and English Bank, Ltd., St. Petersburg.

BOULTON & PAUL, LIMITED, Manufacturers of Portable Buildings, Rose Lane Works, Norwich. London Office: 126, Queen Victoria Street, E. C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1797 by Alderman Moore. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Joseph John Dawson Paul, J.P.,D.L. (Chairman), Henry ffiske (Managing Director), W. H. ffiske, G. M. Chamberlin, .J D. Paul,lun. One of the oldest houses, if not the oldest, in the trade. Premises: Extensive and highly equipped. Rose Lane Works opened in 1865. Staff: 650, total. Branch at Thorpe, Norwich. Specialities: Galvanised Wire Netting, Horticultural Building, Lighting, Pumping, and Heating Engineering, Portable and Permanent Building Garden Requisites. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to H.M. King George V. for Galvanised Wire Sheep Netting. Telephone: No. 12. Telegraphic Address: " Boulton, Norwich." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Norwich). Mr. J. J. D. Paul is a Justice of the Peace, Norwich, and a Deputy Lieutenant, Norfolk.

BOUNDS FRUIT & CIDER FARM (THE), Cider and Perry Manufacturers, Much Marcie, Dymock, via Gloucester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1878 by Henry Weston. Present Principals: Henry Weston and Stafford Weston (son). Premises: Situated in the midst of a large fruit-growing district. Farm covering about 400 acres. Branch: 17, Claremont Road, Handsworth, Birmingham. Specialities: Cider and Perry in Cask and Bottle. Awards: Numerous first prizes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Weston, Much Marcie." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Ross, Herefordshire). Mr. H. Weston is a member of Hereford County Council, Ledbury District Council, and The Hereford Pedigree Herd Book Society.

BOURNE & HOLLINGSWORTH, Fancy Drapers, Outfitters, Costumiers, Milliners, 116 to 128, Oxford Street; Berners Street; and Wells Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1894 by W. W. Bourne and H. Hollingsworth, who are the sole proprietors. The firm removed from Westbourne Grove in 1903 to their present premises in Oxford Street. specialities: Blouses of every description; Costumes; Millinery and Lace. The Millinery Department is one of the most important features of the business. Staff: Over 1500. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 1500 City (twelve lines). Telegraphic Address " Gracioso, London."

BOVEY, E. P., & SON, Building Contractors, Decorators, Ironmongers and Engineers, 17 and 18, Victoria Parade, and Torwood Street, Electric Joinery Works, Torquay. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1840 by E. P. Bovey, J.P., continued by E. P. Bovey, J.P., and E. P. Bovey (jun.). _Present Principal: E. P. Bovey (jun.) B. Sc, A.M.Inst.C.E. Premises: Victoria Parade, rebuilt in 1908, also Electric Joinery Works, Yacht Fitting department. Staff: About sixty to 200. Speciality: Electrical Engineering, Yacht Fitting, &c. Connection; United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 115 Torquay. Telegraphic Address: "Bovey, Torquay." Mr. E. P. Bovey (sen.) was a Justice of the Peace and Alderman of the Town Council up to 1911.

BOVEY (JOHN) & CO., Lloyd's Agents, Consuls, Forwarding Agents, Steamship and Sailing Ship Brokers, Insurance Brokers, Brokers for the Sale, and Purchase, and Construction of Steamers and Sailing Ships, Valuers, Marine Surveyors, Assessors, Arbitrators, Average Agents, and Experts, 32, Mount Stuart Square, Bute Docks, Cardiff. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. (later communications by telephone to 173 and 305 Penarth). Established in 1863 by John Bovey. Present Principals: John Bovey, J.P., Alfred John Bovey. Business: Consuls for Liberia, Haiti, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Honduras, Dominica, Paraguay, Bolivia, and Cuba. Agents for Earle's Shipbuilding and Engineering Co., Ltd., Hull. Agents for the Purchase and Sale of Best Welsh Steam Coal, Bunker, Anthracite, House and Gas Coals, Patent Fuel, Furnace and Foundry Coke, and Small Coal. Steamship Line Agencies: Thos. Wilson, Sons & Co., Ltd., Hull; the United Shipping Co., of London; Robert MacAndrew & Co., London and Liverpool; David Maclver & Co., Liverpool and London; Wilson & Co., Gothenburg; Caricatori Riuniti of Brindisi; Cartagenera Cia. of Carthagena; G. L. Lamy & Cie, Caen; Agents for Frank H. Bovey Co., Steamship Brokers, London. The American Record of Shipping Classi• fication and Bureau of Shipping. Underwriters' Agencies: Lloyd's London (from 1864), Liverpool, Glasgow Underwriters' Associations, Austrian Lloyd's, Sicilian Lloyd's, Dutch, Belgian, French, Spanish, Scandinavian, Swiss, Italian, German, Russian, and American Underwriters; the Hull Underwriters' Association; the Maritime Insurance Co., Liverpool; t he World Marine Insurance Co., London; the Vulcan Boiler Insurance Co., Manchester. Agents for the Great Britain Mutual Marine Steamship Insurance Association, Ltd. (J. & R. Bovey, London, Managers). Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Specialities: Time Chartering, Freight Contracts, All Insurances, Land and Marine, and especially Insurance of all classes of Work-people against all accidents, fatals, and catastrophe risks. Telephones: No. 73 Cardiff; Nos. 173 and 305 Penarth. Telegraphic Address: " Lloyd's, Cardiff." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions); A 1; Scott's, 1880, 1896, and 1906; Watkins'; Zebra. Bankers: Metropolitan Bank of England and Wales, Ltd. (Bute Docks Branch). Mr. John Bovey is a Magistrate for Cardiff, and Commander de la Croix du St Sauveur de Greco.

BOVING & CO., Ltd., Hydraulic Engineers, 9i, Union Court, Old Broad Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1905 by Jens Orten-Boving. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Jens Orten-Boving, M.I.Mech.E., Douglas Spencer, B.A. Cantab., James Walker, A.M.I.C.E., R. K. Morcom, M.I.E.E., A.M.I.C.E. Branches: Toronto, 164, Bay Street; Japan, 1, Yaesucho 1 Chome, Tokyo; Wellington (New Zealand), Bank of New South Wales Chambers, Lambton Quay; Brazil (Rio de Janeiro), 65, Rua General Camara; also Calcutta, Johannesburg, Mexico City and New York. Specialities: Water Power Plants, Centrifugal Pumps, Pipe Lines, Pulp and Paper Making Plant, Semi-Diesel Crude Oil Engines. Patents: Centrifugal Pumps, Turbine Governors, Automatic Valves, Pipe Joints, &c. Connection United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 4306 London Wall (three lines). Telegraphic Address,. " Jenorten, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Western Union, New Business.

BOVRIL, Ltd., Food Specialists, 152 to 166, Old Street, Bunhill Row, Banner Street, and Craven Street, London, E.C. Established in 1889, reconstructed in 1896. The late John Lawson Johnston, the inventor of Bovril, was the first Chairman. He was succeeded by the late Lord Playfair in the Chairmanship. Present Directors: The Right Hon. the Earl of Erroll, K.T. C.B. (Chairman), George Lawson Johnston (Vice-Chairman), Sir James Crichton Browne, M.D., F.R.S. William Lawson Johnston, Andrew Walker, Douglas Walker (Managing Director). Speciality: The supply of a quickly prepared Beef Tea called Bovril. The Company have model factories and offices in Old Street, Bunhill Row, Banner Street, and Craven Street, E.C. Connection: Worldwide. Royal Warrants: Special Appointments to H.M. King George V., His late Majesty King Edward VII., H.M. the King of Spain. Telephone: No. 4590 London Wall (five lines). Telegraphic Address: " Fluid, Finsquare, London."

BOWATER, JOHN J., Paint and Varnish Manufacturer, Albion Paint and Varnish Works, West Bromwich. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1856 by the late John J. Bowater. Present Principal: John J. Bowater (son). One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Total area about one acre, factory and outbuildings cover about half, wellequipped. Specialities: Varnishes, Paints and Japans, Enamels (air drying and stoving), and . " Japolin " White Decorative Enamel. Also "Sphinx " Lead White in Oil, the best substitute for genuine White Lead in the world, at £5 per ton less money. Connection: Unitcd Kingdom, the Colonies and Egypt. Contractor to H.M. Government (War Office and India Office). Telephones: Nos. 78 and 373 West Bromwich. Telegraphic Address: "Bowater, West Bromwich 78." Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd., West Bromwich branch.

BOWATER, W. V., & SONS, Ltd., Paper Makers and Agents, 159, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1881 by the late W. V. Bowater. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1910. Capital: £125,000. Managing Directors: Sir T. Vansittart Bowater, Major F. H. Bowater, Fred W. Bowater. Secretary: Rainald V. Bowater. Claim to be the largest firm of Paper Makers' Agents in the United Kingdom. Premises: Warehouse and Offices at above address; Wharf and Hydraulic Press Packing Warehouse at Bowater's Wharf, Bankside, S.E., and Morden Paper Works, Greenwich; also at 33, Carrick Street, Glasgow. Specialities: News, Fine and Common Printings, in reams or on reels; Writings, Art Papers, Wrappers, &c. All kinds of Waste Papers Bought and Sold. Belting, China Clay, Machine Wires, Machinery Metals, and other Paper Making Materials. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 536 Bank (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Sparteolus, London." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited; Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. Sir T. Vansittart Bowater is Alderman of the Ward of Castle Baynard in the City of London, and Lord Mayor of London, 1913-14, and has been Sheriff of London. He is a member of the Girdler and Loriner Livery Companies. Mr. Frank H. Bowater is Major of the 4th London (Howitzer) Brigade, R.F.A.

BOWDEN, E., & CO., Manufacturers of Magnesia and Asbestos Sectional and Plastic Non-Conducting Coverings for Boilers and Steam Pipes, Merchants' Exchange, Bute Docks, Cardiff. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1895. Premises: Works cover two acres. Specialities: Magnesia, Asbestos, &c. Sectional and Plastic Non-Conducting Coverings for Boilers, &c. Anti-corrosive Coating for Piers, Bridges, &c. Patents: Several. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 229 National (Office); No. 857 (Works) Cardiff. Telegraphic Address: " Durability, Cardiff." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

BOWDEN WIRE, Ltd., Patentees and Manufacturers, Pratt Street, Camden Town, London, N.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897 as E. M. Bowden's Patent Syndicate, Ltd., Reregistered in 1910. Directors: J. R. Nisbet (Chairman and Managing Director), J. Dring, J. P. Bowden and J.. E. Young. Developed the invention of E. M. Bowden for the transmission of power along slack wires now universally used in light operations. Premises: Extensive Factories, equipped with modern requirements. Staff: About 300. Specialities: Wire Mechanism and Fitments chiefly for Motor Cars, Motor Cycles and Aeroplanes. Patents: Numerous. Awards: Several. Connection: All over the World. The continent of Europe is worked by four subsidiary companies. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office), and to several foreign Governments. Telephone: No. 2327 North, London. Telegraphic Address: " Conquestus, Norwest, London." Code: Master. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

BOWER & CO., Wine Merchants, and General Merchants and Shippers, St. Laurence House, Mark Lane, London, E.C.; and at Rue de Cedofeito, Oporto. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1887. Principal: Sir Alfred L. Bower. They carry on an extensive Home and Export Trade as General Wine Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Telephone: No. 2892 London Wall. Bankers: Bank of England. Sir Alfred L. Bower, Sheriff of London 1912 and 1913, has been a member of the Common Council of the City of London since 1896, and a Liveryman of the Vintners Company since 1884; is a Liveryman of the Spectacle Makers and Loriners Companies, and an officer of the Legion of Honour.

BOWER & FLORENCE, Quarriers and Manufacturers of Polished Granite, Spittal Granite Works, Aberdeen. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1862 by James Haddon Bower and John Florence. Present Principal: Haddon A. Bower (son of founder). Claim to be one of the first three firms in Aberdeen to produce Polished Granite. Premises: Very extensive, covering about four acres. Staff: Over 150. Branches: London, Sunderland, and Melbourne. Specialities: Polished Architectural Work; MonuMental Work of all descriptions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. K31 Aberdeen. Telegraphic Address: "Bower, Aberdeen." Bankers: British Linen Bank.

BOWER, ROEBUCK & CO., Ltd., Worsted Cloth Manufacturers, Glendale Mills, Newmill, near Huddersfield. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12.30 p.m. Established in 1896 by Richard Bower (who died in 1906) and Frank Roebuck. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Director: Frank Roebuck. Premises: Fully equipped Mills at Newmill. Staff: About 250. Branches: Huddersfield, 10, Britannia Chambers; London, Golden House, Groat Pultenoy Street, W. Specialities: High-class Worsted Trouserings and Suitings; also Overcoatings. Connection United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 33 Holmfirth. Telegraphic Address E " Glendale, Newmill." Bankers: West Yorkshire Bank, Ltd. Mr. Roebuck is Chairman of the Kirkheaton, Dalton & Lepton Gas Co., and has been a member of the Council of Huddersfield Chamber of Commerce.

BOWER, T. R., & SONS, Ltd., Salt; Exporters and Brokers, 11, Rumford Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established over fifty years ago by the late T. R. Bower. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Director and Chairman: T. Stanley Bower. Business: Claim to export a larger quantity of salt than any private company or firm. Connection: India, Canada, Africa, Australia. Telephone: No. 5442, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: "Saliferous, Liverpool." Codes: A B C (5th Edition).

BOWHILL, THOMAS, Shoe Manufacturer, 7, 9 and 11, Bridewell Alley and Victoria Hall Works, Norwich. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 12 noon. Established by Thomas Bowhill in 1892 (d.). Present Principals: Mrs. H. E. Bowhill, W. H. Eagleton and William Hubbard. Premises: The factory in Bridewell Alley is the building known as the Old Bridewell, built in 1407 and occupied then by the first Mayor of Norwich, William Appleyard. One of the walls of the building is said to be the finest example of squared flint work in the kingdom. Staff: 400 to 500 workpeople. Speciality: The Manufacture of Infants' and Children's Footwear, High-class goods. Connection: United Kingdom, South America, South Africa, Australia, and the Continent of Europe. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Bridewell, Norwich."

BOWLES (GEORGE), NICHOLLS & CO., Ltd., Provision Merchants, 18, King Street, Snow Hill, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 7 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established sixty years ago by George Bowles (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: Michael J. Fitz Gerald (Managing Director), George J. Nicholls and Alexander Lindsay. Premises: Buildings cover about one-third of an acre. Staff: About 136. Specialities: Bacon, Butter, Cheese and Eggs. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: Nos. 6200 to 6205 (six lines). Telegraphic Address: " Arctic, Cent. London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Western Union and Private. Registered Address for each.

BOWLEY, S., & SON, Oil Refiners, Varnish Manufacturers, Motor Spirit and Naphtha Distillers, Colour and Paint Manufacturers, Wellington Works, Battersea Bridge, London, S.W. Hours of Business: (Office) 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1744 by Joseph Bowley, of Nottingham. Partnership Successions (1) Joseph Bowley, (2) Jane Bowley (widow), (3) Joseph Plunkett Bowley (son), (4) Sophia Bowley (widow) and Son. Present Principal: Joseph John Bowley. Business was established in Westminster as a Soap and Candle Manufactory, Oil Refinery, &c., up to 1868. Premises: Large works covering over three-quarters of an acre in extent. Specialities: The Distilling of Motor Spirit, also manufacturing Lubricants of all kinds, and making Varnish and Paints. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Telephone: No. 1 Battersea. Telegraphic Address: " Bolyanson, London." Mr. Bowley, sen., is a Fellow of the Chemical Society, and a member of the Society of Chemical Industry and the Chamber of Commerce.

BOWRING, C. T., & CO., Ltd., Merchants and Shipowners, 20, Castle Street, Liverpool; Winchester House, Old Broad Street, London, E.C.; and 59, Mount Stuart Square, Cardiff. Hours of Business: Usual. Established early in the nineteenth century by Benjamin Bowring. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899, in succession to C. T. Bowring & Co. Directors: Sir William Benjamin Bowring, Bart., J.P. (Chairman), Sir Thomas Benjamin Bowring, J.P., Frederick Charles Bowring, J.P., Hon. Edgar Rennie Bowring, John Bowring Wimble, Lawrence Bowring Stoddart, Henry Alfred Bowring, Charles Warren Bowring, Edward Hugh Bowring Skimming, Clive Bowring. Agencies in St. John's, Newfoundland, and. New York. Business: Are largely interested in Shipping; also in Petroleum and Marine Insurance. Extensive business with Newfoundland and America. Are Managers of several important Shipping Companies. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 181 Liverpool; No. 1050 London Wall, London; No. 182 Cardiff. Telegraphic Addresses: " Bowring," Liverpool, London, Cardiff. Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd. (Heywoods, Liverpool); Barclay & Co., Ltd. (London); London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Cardiff). Sir W. B. Bowring, Bart., J.P., has been Lord Mayor of Liverpool.

BOX (HENRY C.) & CO., Ltd., Actual Trunk Makers and Repairers, 251, Kensington High Street, W., and 3, Gloucester Terrace, Queen's Gate, South Kensington, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1909 as The International Trunk Stores. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1911. Directors: Walter H. Bacon (Managing Director), M. Wards, and Samuel Ward. Secretary: M. Wards. Staff: Large. Specialities: The " L.S.D." Trunks (Light, Strong and Durable), The " Resister " Trunks, and The " Petulite " Trunks (Registered). Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 4264 Kensington, London.

BOX MAKING CO. (THE), Box Manufacturers, Coronation Buildings, Gateshead. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about twenty years ago, by J. G. Kirtley, afterwards carried on by.Thomas Herdman in Albion Buildings, St. James Street, Newcastle, until 1906. Present Principal: N. G. P. Herdman. Premises: Large, with a floor space of 2 about 12,000 feet. Fully equipped with a plant capable of making all classes of Cardboard Boxes. Branch: 3, Cross Street, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Staff: About forty hands employed. Speciality: Cardboard Boxes, mostly rigid. Connection: Local chiefly. Telephones: Nos. 14 and 175 Gateshead. Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. Mr. N. G. P. Herdman is Chairman of the National Box Makers' Association (Northern District).

BOYD (JAMES) & SON, Woollen Manufacturers, New Bongate Mills, Jedburgh. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about ninety years ago by James Boyd. Continued by Thomas Boyd, J.P. Present Principals: A. B. Stewart and John S. Boyd, J.P., Trustees of Thomas Boyd. Premises: Consist of two extensive factories. Staff: 140. Speciality: Scotch Tweeds. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 11 Jedburgh. Telegraphic Address " Boyd, Jedburgh." Bankers: Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd. Mr. James Boyd was a Bailie, Mr. Thomas Boyd, J.P., was Provost, Mr. John S. Boyd is now Provost of the Royal Burgh of Jedburgh and a Justice of the Peace for the County of Roxburgh.

BOYD (JAMES) & SONS, Heating and Ventilating Engineers, and Horticultural Builders. London Office: 66, 67, Shoe Lane, E.C. Warehouse and Works: 42, Farringdon Street, London, E.C. Head Office and Works: Paisley, Scotland. Belfast Office: 93, Ann Street. Established in 1826. Acquired the business of J. Jones & Sons, Heating Engineers, of 66, 67, Shoe Lane, E.C., and Farringdon Street, E.C., in 1905, which business was established over sixty-five years. The present firm have been Heating and Ventilating Engineers and Contractors in Paisley for over sixty years. Stall: About 300. Agents in South Africa: Ronaldson & Co., Recreation Road, East London. Specialities: Are Contractors for Mechanical Warming and Ventilating, Low Pressure Hot Water Heating, Steam Heating, Laundry and Cooking Installations, Hot Water Supply; also Public Baths Engineering. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, Board of Works, London, Edinburgh, Dublin). Telephones: No. 8901 Central, London; No. 231 National, Paisley; No. 2876 Belfast. Telegraphic Addresses: "Boyd, Paisley "; " Amalgam, Belfast."

BOYD, J. & G., Ltd., Wholesale Druggists, Grocers, &c., 11 and 12, William Street; Stores, enmark Street and Robert Street, Limerick. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1846 by James and George Boyd (d.). Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1889. Directors: P. B. Robinson (Chairman), William Christy, William C. Christy, Eldred Holliday and William Holliday (Managing Director). Premises: Warehouse and Storage cover about 80,000 superficial feet. Staff: About 120. Business: Wholesale Druggists, Grocers, Oil, Colour and Seed Merchants and Implement Agents. Connection: Importers of Colonial Produce, Cement, &c., Oil, Colour, Window Glass, Seed and Manure. Telephones: Nos. 26 and 85 Limerick. Telegraphic Address: " Boyd, Limerick." Bankers: Provincial Bank of Ireland, Ltd. Mr. William Holliday was High Sheriff for the City for 1910 and 1911, and is President of the Chamber of Commerce, 1913.

BOYD (JOHN) & SONS, Decorators, &c., 57, Chapel Street, Southport. Hours of Business: 7.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1871 by John Boyd (retired). Continued by Maxwell Boyd (retired). Present Principal: John Boyd (jun.). Premises: Occupy large front Shop and workshops in the rear. Staff: Thirty. Specialities: House and Church Decorations, Plumbing and Electrical Work. Connection: Local. Telephone: No. 35 Southport. Telegraphic Address: " Boyd, Plumber, Southport." Residence: 4, York Road, Birkdale (Tel. No. 9 Birkdale). Clubs: (Mr. John Boyd, jun.) Hesketh Golf and The Birkdale.

BOYD (THOMAS) & CO., Metal and General Merchants, 3, Rumford Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1823 by Thomas Boyd. Continued by William Boyd and Arthur Ritchie. Present Principal: Arthur Ritchie. Premises: Occupy Office at above address. Business: General trade, including importing of Canned Goods and Fish, &c., also heavy old Metals. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 2476 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Boyd, Liverpool.". Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Western Union, Waste Merchants, Standard, and Private. • Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

BOYLE & SON, Flax, Hemp, and Jute Yarn Merchants and Spinners, Sovereign Street, Swinegate, Leeds. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 11.M. to 1 p.m. Established in 1824 by Humphrey Boyle. Joined by James Boyle (son). Later carried on by James Boyle alone. Present Principals: C. H. Boyle, J. Boyle, P. Boyle. Branch: Fellbeck Mill, Pateley Bridge. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 758 and 759 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Boyle, Leeds." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Beckett & Co.

BOYSON & SLEE, Timber Agents, 17, St. Helen's Place, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established early in nineteenth century by Ambrose Boyson. Succeeded in 1825 by Boyson & Hoyer; in 1816 by Boyson, Hoyer & Tagart; in 1865 by Tagart, Boyson & Slee; and in 1886 by Boyson & Slee. Present Principals: Ambrose P. Boyson and Ambrose Boyson. Business: Timber Agents. Connection: Norway, Sweden, Finland, Russia, Germany, British Colonies. Telephone: No. 1858 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Boysonius, London."

BRACE, WINDLE, BLYTH & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Saddlery, Harness, Bridle Work, Fancy Leather Goods, and Stationers' Sundries, Export Merchants, Walsall. Hours of Business: Usual. Established prior to 1779 by Westley & Windle. Partnership dissolved. Westley's business became H. Brace & Co., Ltd., and Windle's business became Windle & Blyth. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1869 (H. Brace & Co., Ltd.). In 1894 the two firms were amalgamated under the title Brace, Windle, Blyth & Co., Ltd. Managing Directors: W. E. Blyth and E. C. Windle. Specialities: High-class Saddlery, Harness Bridle Work, and Varieties in Fancy Leather Goods. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 99 Walsall. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Brace, Walsall."

BRADBURY, AGNEW & CO., LIMITED (Proprietors of " Punch "), Printers, Publishers, Bookbinders, Electro and Stereotypers, Fine Art and Illustrated Work, Facsimile Letter Printers, &c., 10, Bouverie Street, London, E.C., and the Whitefriars Press, Tonbridge, Kent. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1830 by Wm. Bradbury, of Derbyshire, who took over the printing business of Mr. Davidson, in Lombard Street. Joined later by Frederick Mullett Evans. Title of firm, Bradbury & Evans. Both partners retired in 1865. They were succeeded by their sons, William Hardwick Bradbury and F. M. Evans (jun.); the latter retired in 1872, when the firm became Bradbury, Agnew & Co. W. H. Bradbury died 1891. Succeeded by William Laurence Bradbury (son). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Managing Directors: Wm. Laurence Bradbury, Philip L. Agnew. The firm became the printers of " Punch " shortly after it was started in 1841, and in 1842 became the proprietors. Bradbury & Evans started the " Daily News " in 1846 with Charles Dickens as Editor, and in 1852 " The Field," which was then illustrated by John Leech; issued the " English Cyclopedia," under the direction of Charles Knight and the editorship of Dr. Edwin Lankester, also the works of Wilkie Collins, Dickens, and Thackeray. Business: Printers and Publishers of " Punch " and publications of collected reprints from " Punch," Printers of Law Works, Magazines, Newspapers, &c. Telephones: No. 2940 (four lines) Holborn; No. 19 Tonbridge. Telegraphic Addresses: " Charivari, London "; " Charivari, Tonbridge."

BRADBURY, GREATOREX & CO., Ltd., Scotch, Manchester, and Fancy Warehousemen, 2 to 11, Aldermanbury, 1 to 6, Dyer's Court, and 1, IA, and 2, Fountain Court, London, E.C. Established in 1815, by John Bradbury and Jeremiah Greatorex. Continued as a private Company for over half a century. Incorporated in 1869. Present Directors: Henry John Gardiner (Chairman), S. Tilley, J. P. Hitchings, C. Collins, G. Clarke (Secretary). One of the oldest concerns of the kind in London. Connection: Throughout the United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Have representatives in New Zealand, New South Wales, Victoria and Western Australia; also in Canada, Nova Scotia, Cape Colony, Natal, the Transvaal, and West Indies. Employ about 500 or 600 hands. Telephone: No. 8103 London Wall (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Greatorex, Cent, London.'

BRADDICK, E. A. —See HUGHES & KIMBER.

BRADFORD DISTRICT BANK, Ltd. (THE). Head Office: Bradford. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1862. Directors: Sir Prince Smith, Bt., J.P. (Chairman), David Wade, J.P. (Vice-Chairman), Grosvenor Talbot, J.P., James Bairstow. J.P., Albert Holden Illingworth, Dudley Holden Illingworth. General Manager: Alfred E. Lewis. Secretary: G. H. Whitehurst. Nominal Capital, £1,000,000. Called up, £344,000. Reserve Liability, £344,000. Total subscribed Capital, £860,000. Reserve Fund, £270,000. Branches: Bradford (Market Street; also Foreign Department and Commercial Bank Branch), Bingley, Dewsbury, Halifax, Harrogate, Huddersfield, Keighley, Leeds (Park Row; also Markets), Shipley. Sub Branches: Clayton, Crosshills, Silsden, Wibsey. London Agents: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Lombard Street). Business: All usual Banking transactions.

BRADFORD DYERS' ASSOCIATION, LIMITED (THE). Registered Offices: 39, Well Street, Bradford. Manchester Office: 6, Oxford Street, St. Peter's Square. London Office: 128 and 129, Cheapside, E.C. Incorporated in December, 1898, and now unites the interests of over forty of the most important companies engaged in the dyeing industry. Chairman: M. S. Sharp. Managing Director: George Douglas. Executive Committee: H. R. Armitage, Thomas Robinson, James Sharp, H. Sutcliffe Smith, D. H. Thornton, Richard C. Thyne. Telephones: No. 3800 Bradford; No. 3290 City, Manchester; No. 8440 P.O. Central, London. Telegraphic Addresses: "Dyers, Bradford"; " Colouring, Manchester " (for Manchester Offices). " Dybrassoc, London " (for London Offices). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.; Bradford District Bank, Ltd. (Commercial Bank Branch); Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

BRADFORD MANUFACTURING CO., Ltd. (THE). Registered Office: 29, Canal Road, Bradford, Yorks. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1882 by John Maddocks, J.P. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Directors: John Maddocks, J.P. (Chairman), William M. Gray (Chartered Accountant), John T. Ashley (Merchant). Manager: Herbert Henry Tompsett. Secretary: Wright Eastwood. Specialities I Dress Fabrics, Costumes, Furs, Tailoring, Household Linens, &c. Awards 4. Medals, Interna tional Exhibitions, London, 1884, 1885; Liverpool,. 1886. Connection: World wide. Telephone: No. 754 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Manufacturing, Bradford." Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd.

BRADFORD, THOS., & CO., Laundry, Dairy, Domestic, and Cooking Engineers, &c., Crescent Iron Works, Salford, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1850 by Thomas Bradford. Present Principal: William Litler Bradford. Branches: 141 and 142, High Holborn, London; 130, Bold Street, Liverpool; 1, Deansgate, Manchester. Business: Laundry, Dairy, Domestic, Bath and Cooking Engineering, Manufacture of School Furniture. Patents: 100. Awards: nearly 500, International and other Exhibitions, Royal Agricultural Society of England, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 558 and 4634—City Manchester; No. 6034 Gerard, London; No. 2047 Royal, Liverpool. Telegraphic Addresses: " Vowel, Manchester," " Bradfords, Westcent, London," " Vowel, Liverpool."

BRADLEY & COMPANY, LIMITED, Galvanised and Wrought Stamped Hollowware Manufacturers, Bilston, Staffs. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works, 6.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1872 by Walter S. Bradley. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: Walter S. Bradley (Governing Director), C. Hermon Bradley. Premises: Equipped with upto-date appliances, covering about three acres. Specialities: Galvanised and Wrought Stamped Hollow-ware, Art Metal Goods in Brass, Copper, and other metals. Trade Mark: " Beldray." Connection: General. Telephone: No. 25 Bilston. Telegraphic Address: " Galvanic, Bilston."

BRADLEY & CRAVEN, LIMITED, Engineers, Westgate Common Foundry, Wakefield. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1843. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1898. Premises: Cover about four acres. Well equipped with modern appliances. Staff: About 300. Specialities: Everything in connection with Brick, Pipe, and Tile Machinery; also all kinds of Colliery Work; Sheet Metal-working Machinery. Connection: All parts of the World. Telephone: No. 3 Wakefield. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Craven, Wakefield." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. (Wakefield).

BRADLEY, HUMPHREY, Cloth Manufacturer, Tingley Mills, Morley, near Leeds, and 4, St. Paul's Street, Leeds (Tuesdays and Saturdays). Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established fifty years ago by Humphrey Bradley. Present Principal: Humphrey Akeroyd Bradley. Premises: Well equipped mills at Morley. Staff: About 200. Specialities: Cloths suitable for shipping to the Near East, Far East and the Colonies; also cloths for the Home Trade houses. Awards: Highest Award (Grand Prix and Gold Medal) Brussels Exhibition, 1897, in the Collective Exhibit of Leeds Woollen and Worsted Manufacturers under the Leeds ° Incorporated Chamber of Commerce. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 29 Morley. Telegraphic Address: " Cloth, Morley." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Mr. Bradley is a Director of Morley Cloth Finishing Co., and a Director of Morley Cotton Spinning Co.

BRADLEY (JOHN) & CO., Ironmasters. Head Offices: Stourbridge Iron Works, Stourbridge. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established before 1800 by Messrs. Foster & Bradley. Exact date unknown. Present Principal: W. H. Foster. One of the oldest and most important houses in the trade. Were the builders of the historic locomotives, " Agenora " and " Stourbridge Lion," the latter being the first locomotive to run in America. The " Agenora " is now in South Kensington Museum. Also supplied many of the early railways with the first Rails, Chairs, and Accessories. Charcoal rods supplied for the first American cable. Premises: Extensive Ironworks and Collieries. Staff: Considerable. Speciality: Only High-class Finished Iron. Proprietors of several well-known brands. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Bradley, St ourbridge. " Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd., and Lloyds Bank Limited.

BRADLEY (NATHL.), Ltd., Manufacturers of Brewing Materials, 53, Chapman Street, Hulme, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1866 by Nathaniel Bradley, F.C.S. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1913. Directors: Nathaniel Bradley, F.C.S., J.P. (Chairman and Governing Director), F. E. Bradley (Secretary), G. T. Bradley and A. E. Bradley. Claim to be the originators and inventors of Hop Supplement in 1866, and Pasteur's Yeast Nourishment, 1877. Specialities: Brewing materials. Medals obtained by customers using their goods in England, America, Germany and South Africa. Connection: United Kingdom, Continent, United States and Colonies. Telephone: No. 3965 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Analyses, Manchester." Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd.

BRADSHAW'S ASPHALTE CO., Ltd., Asphalte Importers and Contractors for Improved Asphalte Roadways, Hanover Wharf, Copperas Street, Deptford Creek, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1844 by Charles Bradshaw. Speciality: Permanent Sanitary Roadways and Streets. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, Office of Works, War Office), also to the principal local authorities. Telephone: No. 2092 New Cross. Telegraphic Address: " Subtending, London." Code: A B C (4th Edition).

BRAGA, A. & CO., Ltd., Shipping Merchants, 18, Queen Street, Manchester, and St. George's House, Eastcheap, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established forty years ago by A. Braga. Incorporated as a private Limited Company. Directors: A. B. Braga, H. H. Jones (Manager), and J. Campbell. Business: Shipping all classes of goods. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign chiefly, Portugal, Brazil, and the Western Islands. Telephone: No. 337 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Braga, Manchester "; " Portuense, London."

BRAGG (JOHN) & SON, Fish Merchants and Herring Curers, 8, Lower Thames Street, E.C. Stand: 121, Billingsgate Market. Curing Houses: 4, Lombard Street, Spitalfields, London, E. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1830 by John Bragg. Continued by John Bragg and William Gvc in (son). Present Principal: William Gwin. Claim to be the oldest curers of Herrings in London. Specialities: Bloaters, Kippers, Ham-Cured Herrings, Fresh and Salted Herrings and Mackerel. Telephone: No. 6250 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Bragg, Billingsgate, London." The firm are members of the London Fish Trade Association; also of the National Sea Fisheries Protection Association, and of the Worshipful The Fishmongers Company.

BRAGG, T. & J., Goldsmiths, Jewellers, Diamond Mounters, Makers of Royal and Civic Insignia, Caskets and Keys, 55, 57, Vittoria Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1844 by Thomas Bragg and John Bragg (retired, d.). Continued by Thomas Bragg (d.), joined by Joseph William Tonks. Present Principal: Joseph William Tonks, J.P. Specialities: New Styles of Personal Ornaments with Roman and Etruscan decoration, Enamels applied to Jewellery. Introduced new principles of design in Mayoral Chains, Maces and Seals. Claim that most of the modern civic insignia and presentation caskets of the highest class are manufactured by the firm. Designers of every kind of work in Jewellery, and the Goldsmiths' and Silversmiths' Arts. Awards: Medals, London International Exhibition, 1862; Silver Medal, 1872, for Design; Member of the Jury, Paris, 1889. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Royal Warrants: Special appointment to Her Majesty Queen Alexandra, 1901 (Jeweller in Ordinary). Held special appointment to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria, 1885. Telephone: No. 3373 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic and Cable Address: Bragoria, Birmingham." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

BRAID (ROBERT) & SON, Wholesale Stationers, Factors for Home and Foreign Papers, 23, High Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1874 by Robert Braid and James Laing (dissolved, 1897). Present Principals: Robert Braid, J.P., and Robert William Braid (eldest son). Premises: Cover 6000 square feet. Staff: Fifty. Business: Wholesale Stationers and Factors for Home and Foreign Papers. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 3257 and 3258 Bell, Glasgow. Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (St. Vincent Street). Mr. Robert Braid is a Justice of the Peace for the County of the City of Glasgow.

BRAIN, E., & CO., Manufacturers of Bone China, Foley China Works, Fenton, Stoke-on-Trent. London Office: Gamage Buildings, Holborn, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1850 by William Robinson. Partnership Successions: (1) William Robinson (sen.) and William Robinson (jun.) • (2) E. Brain and W. Hawker; (3) William H. Brain and G. T. Hawker. Present Principal: William H. Brain. Staff: About 250. Specialities: Artistic China, known as the Foley Art China," and Domestic China known as " Foley China." Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 149 Longton. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Brain, Foley, Longton, Staffs "; " Brain, Fenton, England." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

BRAINTREE CASTINGS CO. (THE), Steel and Iron Founders, Chapel Hill Foundries, Braintree, and 10, Bush Lane, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1905 by Lake & Elliot. Present Principals: W. B. Lake and E. F. Elliot of Lake & Elliot, Ltd. Claim to be the first firm in Great Britain to produce low carbon steel castings successfully by the crucible process, and the first to produce them from the Electric furnace. Staff: About 300. Specialities: Steel Castings of the Highest Quality and Grey Iron Castings. Telephone: No. 3A Braintree. Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Braintree).

BRAKENRIDGE, T., & CO., Ltd., Wholesale Stationers, Letterpress and Lithographic Printers, 18, King Street, Whitehaven. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1874 by T. Brakenridge. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Business: Wholesale Stationers, Paper Merchants, Account Book Manufacturers, Lithographic and General Printers. Connection: General. Telegraphic Address: " Brakenridge, Whitehaven." In 1903 Mr. T. Brakenridge was appointed Distributor of Stamps for the Whitehaven District.

BRAMAH & CO., 100, New Bond Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1784. Joseph Bramah, the founder, was the inventor of the celebrated Bramah Lock, the Bramah Valve Water Closet, the Bramah Hydraulic Press, the Beer Engine, and many other patents. The firm are the sole manufacturers of the genuine Bramah Patent Locks. They also manufacture Steel Safes, Steel Doors for Strong Rooms, Deed and Despatch Boxes, Jewel and Writing Cases, Bags, Trunks, and Travelling Requisites of all kinds. Firm held the Royal Warrant of Appointment to His late Majesty King Edward VII. Telephone: No. 2947 Gerrard.

BRAMALL, WILLIAM H., Pressure, Vacuum, and Hydraulic Gauge Manufacturer, Brass-finisher and Founder, Wright Street, Empress Street, Cornbrook, Manchester. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established in 1880 by W. H. Bramall, the present principal. Staff: About sixty. Specialities: Pressure Gauges of all kinds, Pyrometers, and finely finished Brasswork for Air, Steam, and other Pressures, &c.; also Aluminium Founder and Finisher. Is well equipped for varieties of fine work in Brass, etc., for Engineering and other purposes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractor to H.M. Government (War Office). Telephone: No. 5218 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Squeeze, Manchester." Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd.

BRANCH (JAMES) & SONS, Ltd., Boot and Shoe Manufacturers, 19, 21 and 23, Bethnal Green Road, London, E. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1866 by ,Tames Branch, J.P. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1898. Directors: James Branch, J.P. (Managing Director ), H. Branch, C. Branch, E. W. Branch, S. Branch. Premises: Large and handsome building, well equipped. Branches: Bective Factory, Kingsthorpe, Northampton. , Colonial Offices: D. Haes & Co., P.O. Box 1074, Cape Town; D. Haes & Co., P.O. Box 4697, Johannesburg. London Office: 8, Jewin Street, E.C. Agencies at Port Elizabeth, South Africa, Cairo, Alexandria, and Wellington, N.Z. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 944 (P.O.) City, London; No. 139 Northampton. Telegraphic Addresses: "Bective, Branch, Bethroad, London "; " Branch, Bective, Kingsthorpe."

BRANCKER, BOXWELL & CO., Cotton, Colonial and General Produce Brokers, C 10 and 13, D 5, Exchange Buildings, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1831 by John Barnos Branckor. Continued by (1) John B. Branckor and Son, 1840; (2) John B. Branckor, Son & Co., 1861; (3) Brancker, Boxwell & Co., 1878. Present Principals: William Tanner Boxwell (since 1861), Charles Henry Brancker (1884), John Harvey Boxwell (1894), William Aspinwall Sibbald (1903), Charles Gamon (1906), Arthur Stanley Harris, (1907), and Herbert O'Connell (1909). The connection of the Brancker family with the commerce of Liverpool extends back to 1667. Peter Whitfield Brancker was Mayor of Liverpool in 1801. His eldest son, Thomas, was Mayor in 1830, and received the honour of knighthood from William IV., and his fifth son, John Barnes Brancker (1795 to . 1871), founder of the firm, was a prominent figure in Liverpool life. Mr. John Brancker (son of the founder) was Chairman of the Mersey Docks and Harbour Board for nine years, 1890 to 1899, and in 1900 was presented with the Freedom of the City in recognition of his services to the community. Mr. Charles H. Brancker (his son) is one of the Audit Commissioners of the Mersey Docks and Harbour Board. Mr. W. T. Boxwell is a Director of the London and Lancashire Fire Insurance Co., Ltd. Business: Periodical Auction Sales of Jamaica Coffee have been a special feature since foundation. Extensive importers of Cotton, Sugar, Coffee and other produce from Brazil. Specialize in Brazilian, Peruvian and South African Cotton; also the sale of Cocoa, Cottonseed, Cottonseed Cake, Castor Seed, Carnauba Wax and Rubber. Connection: United Kingdom, the Continent, Brazil, Jamaica, Peru and Rhodesia. Telephones: No. 14 Central (General); No. 6496 Central (Cotton). Telegraphic Address: " Brancker, Liverpool." Code: A B C (5th Edition), Shepporson's, A 1. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Liverpool).

BRAND & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Essence of Beef and Specialties for Invalids, Mayfair Works, 74 to 84, South Lambeth Road, Vauxhall, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1835 by Henderson William Brand. Converted into a Private Limited Company in October, 1897; Chairman, Thomas Deuce; Managing Director, Alexander Henry Dence. Specialities: Essences of Beef, Mutton, Chicken; Concentrated Beef Tea, Sauce, Soups, Potted Meats, and Preserved Provisions. Premises: Works cover over an acre. Retail Branch: 11, Little Stanhope Street, Mayfair, W. Connection: Worldwide. Royal Warrant Holders to H.M. the King. Telephones: No. 574 Victoria; No. 1129 Brixton. Telegraphic Address: " Brand's Essence, London." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Pall Mall, S.W.).

BRAND, SYDNEY, Rag, Iron and Metal Merchant, 10, Sussex Road and Glebe Yard, Western Road, Southall. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1909 by Sydney Brand, the present principal. The Globe Yard branch trading as The Southall Marine Store Co. Specialities: Iron and Metal Scrap (Dealer). Bankers: Barclay &. Co., L:d., Southall.

BRANDON BRIDGE-BUILDING CO., Ltd. (THE), Bridge Builders, Engineers and. Ironfounders, Brandon Works, Motherwell, N.B. London Office: 34, Victoria Street, Westminster, S.W. (H. J. Heagerty, representative.) Hours of Business: Works, 6.15 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Offices, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1865 by James Goodwin & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890 under the style of Goodwins, Jardine & Co., Ltd. Sold by liquidation in 1895. Incorporated in March, 1895, as The Brandon Bridge-Building Co., Ltd. Directors: D. H. Macdonald (Chairman and Managing Director), William Smith and W. Meiklem Thomson (Managing Directors), James Thomson, and H. J. Heazerty. Premises: Cover seven acres of ground. Fully equipped works. Staff: 400 to 500. Business: Builders of Iron and Steel Bridges, Roofing, Tanks, Piers, &c. Specialities in Iron Castings, Ingot Moulds and General Engineering Work. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office, Colonial Office). Extensive connection with South American Railway Companies, and Contractors to all the Home Railways. Telephones: No. 11 Motherwell; No. 596 Victoria. Telegraphic Addresses: " Girder, Motherwell "; " Heagerty, London." Codes: A B C, A 1. Bankers: Clydesdale Bank, Ltd.

BRANSON & CO., Ltd., Coffee Extract and Coffee and Chicory Manufacturers, Chase Works, Clapham, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1875 by W. P. Branson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: C. F. Branson, R. T. Rawlings. Specialities: Coffee Extract and Coffee and Chicory. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 983 Battersea. Telegraphic Address: " Espada, Clapcom, London."

BRAYSHAW, S. N., Engineer, 2, Mulberry Street, Hulme, Manchester. Hours of Business: .8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1897 by S. N. Brayshaw. Present Principals: Shipley N. Brayshaw, M.I.Mech.E., and E. Russell Brayshaw, M.I.Mech.E. The founder is the author of a paper on the " Hardening of Carbon and Low Tungsten Tool Steels," which was read before the Institute of Mechanical Engineers. Has fitted the Royal Mint with his patent gas burners. His burners were adopted after full trials against all competitors. Staff: About 100. Specialities: Milling Cutters, Furnaces for Hardening Steel and other purposes. Light Mechanism. Also Consultant on Steel and Hardening. Maker of Reamers, Drifts, Mandrels, Patent Circular Chasing Tools. Thrust Washers and Rollers for Motor Cars, British Adding Machines, Cash Tills, Patent Salt-Bath Hardening Furnace, Patent Twin-Chambered Furnace for Hardening High Speed Steel. Patents t Numerous, both British and Foreign, including French, German, Russian, and American, taken out by S. N. Brayshaw and E. Russell Brayshaw. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, France and Russia (chiefly); maker of Tools and Furnaces for many of the largest engineering firms in Great Britain. Telephone: No. 6771 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Hardening, Manchester." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool-District Banking Co.' Ltd. The partners are members of the Manchester Association of Engineers, members of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, and of the Iron and Steel Institute.

BRAZENDALE & CO., Works and Offices, 37, Leeds Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1902 by John Brazendale, the present principal. Staff: Ten. Specialities: Paris White, Whiting, Gas Carbon. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 6715 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Cascade, Liverpool." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. (Liverpool).

BRAZIL, STRAKER & CO., Ltd., Engineers, Makers of Pleasure and Commercial Motor Vehicles, &c. Registered Office: Causeway, Fishponds. Motor Works: Causeway, Fishponds and Vulcan Ironworks, Bristol. London Of: 5, Nelson Square, Blackfriars, S.E. Hours of Business 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1893 by C. G. Owen (d.), J. P. Brazil and H. F. Moseley. Continued by H. G. Holborow (d.), S. Straker and P. F. C. Williams. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899 as Brazil, Holborow and Straker, Ltd. Re-organized in 1907 as Brazil, Straker & Co., Ltd. Directors: J. P. Brazil, H. F. Moseley, H. G. Holborow, S. Straker, P. F. C. Williams and A. H. R. Fedden. Premises: Extensive, covering five acres of land. Fully equipped works with all modern improvements. Staff: 900 hands. Specialities: Highclass Motor Cars and Commercial Motor Vehicles, Internal Combustion Engines for Marine purposes. The Djinn, Petrol and Paraffin, Electric Light, Motor Winches, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 126 Fishponds; No. 846 Bristol; Nos. 369 and 370 Hop, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Chassis, Fishponds "; Hydraulic, Bristol "; " Rhomboidal, London." Codes: A B C. Bankers: Wilts and Dorset Banking Co., Ltd.

BREARLEY BROTHERS, Ltd., Silk Spinners, Hey Mills, Heywood, near Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Office, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established in 1880 by John Brearley, Thomas Brearley and William Brearley. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: William Brearley (Managing Director and Secretary), James Brearley, Samuel Brearley and Robert Brearley. Premises: Extensive Mills, equipped with modern appliances. Staff: About 120. Specialities: Dressed Silk, Plush, Velvet, Lace, Hosiery and Silk Sewing Yarns; also Yarns for figured Dhooties, Stripes and Fancies. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Telephone: No. 186 Heywood. Telegraphic Address: " Brearley Brothers, Heywood."

BRECONSHIRE COAL & LIME CO., Ltd. (THE), Coal and Lime and Builders' Merchants. Head Office: Brecon. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1863. Incorporated as a Limited Company in the same year. Directors: T. C. Kirk (Chairman and Managing Director), E. A. Wright, J.P., G. Wheatly Cobb, J.P., W. R. Jones, M.D., Chas. Griffiths, E. Powys Cobb. Branches: Cardiff, Swansea, Newport, Hengoed, Cradoc, Aberbran, Dofynock, Talyllyn, Talybont, Trefeinon, Talgarth, Glasbury, Hay, Moorhampton, Kinnersley, Builth Wells, Newbridge, Rhayader, Llanidloes, &c. Business: Coal, Lime, and Builders' Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 36 (P.O.) Brecon. Telegraphic Address: " Company, Brecon." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Brecon).

BREEZE, JACKSON & GREEN, Ltd., Wholesale Druggists and Baking Powder Manufacturers, 41, Union Street, and 41 and 42, Station Road, Plymouth. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Wednesdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established: Originally two firms, (1) in 1840 by Charles Jackson; (2) in 1860 by George Breeze. Amalgamated in 1894. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Specialities: Baking Powder, Japanese Dance Compo, Plaster and Ointment. Awards: Many Gold Medals. Connection: Devon and Cornwall. Telephone: No. 204 (National) Plymouth. Telegraphic Address: " Drugs, Plymouth." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

BREFFIT, E., & CO., Ltd., Glass Bottle Manufacturers, 83, Upper Thames Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, Close at 1 p.m. Established in 1834 by Edgar Breffit (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1883 on the death of the Founder. Director: William Breffit. Works: Castleford, Yorks. Warehouses: South-West India Docks, London, E. Staff: About 1000. Speciality: Glass Bottles. Awards: Many Gold Medals at leading Exhibitions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 843 Bank, London; Nos. 120 and 121 Castleford. Telegraphic Addresses: "Breffits, Cannon, London." " Breffits, Castleford." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

BREIDENBACH & CO., Manufacturing Perfumers, 48, Greek Street, Soho Square, London, W., and Tower Works, Croydon, Surrey. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1793 by William Page, whose only daughter married Francis Henry Breidenbach, from Cologne. The present proprietor is their son, Reginald Blackwell Breidenbach. Specialities: Perfumery and Toilet Soaps of all kinds. Connection: Throughout the United Kingdom, the British Colonies, and most Foreign Countries. Several inventions have been registered by the proprietor. Royal Warrant Holders to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephones: No. 5006 Gerrard, No. 7221 Central, No. 701 Croydon. Telegraphic Address: " Macassarine, London." Cables: " Breidenbach, London." Bankers: Bank of England; London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

BREITKOPF & HARTEL, Music Publishers, Music Printers and Engravers, Leipzig, and 54, Great Marlborough Street, London, W. Hours of Business: (London) 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1719 at Leipzig by Bernhard Christoph Breitkopf (d. 1777); London House opened in 1890. Present Principals: Dr. Oscar von Haso, Dr. Hermann von Hase, and Dr. L. Volkmann. Principal of London Branch: Otto Kling. Staff: Over 1000. Branches: Berlin, Brussels, and New York; also , Agents in all European countries. Specialities: Complete and carefully edited editions of Musical Classics. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: (London) No. 13514 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Breitkopfs, Reg, London." Bankers: Swiss Bank Verein (Regent Street Branch).

BRENT BRICK & LIME WORKS, Waxlow Road, Acton Lane, Harlesden, London, N.W.; Chinnor, Oxfordshire; and Oxshott, Surrey. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1896 by William E. Benton, the present principal. Business: Brick Works on the L. & N.W. Railway, Willesden; Canal Wharf on the Grand Junction Canal, Willesden; L. & S.W. Railway, Oxshott, Surrey; and Lime Works on the G.W. Railway, at Chinnor, near Princes Risborough. Works stand on seventy-four acres of freehold land. Specialities: Red Wire Cut Bricks, Best Gray and Red Sand Stocks, and Grey Lime. Patent: Continuous Lime Kiln. Telephone: No. 225, Willesden. Telegraphic Address: " Brent Brick Works, Harlesden." Bankers: National Bank, Ltd. (Harlesden). Mr. Benton has been President of the S. Staffordshire and E. Worcestershire Institute of Mining Engineers, and is an Associate of the Royal School of Mines.

BRETT, R. B., & SON, Colonial Publishers' Agents and Exporters, 134, Fleet Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1889 by R. B. Brett. Present Principals: Rowland Brandon Brett and Percival Arthur Brandon Brett. Agencies: European Representatives for Auckland of the " Auckland Star " (Daily), " New Zealand Farmer " (Monthly); at Wellington, " New Zealand Times " (Daily); at Christchurch, " Lyttelton Times " (Daily), " Canterbury Times " (Weekly), and " Christchurch Star " (Evening); at Oamaru, " Oamaru Mail " (Daily); at Invercargill, " Southland Daily News," " Southlander " (Weekly). Business: Colonial Publishers' Agents and Exporters. Connection: United Kingdom, New Zealand, Australia, Soath Africa, Canada, and South America. Telephone: No. 1523 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Phraseman, London." Code: Western Union. Bankers: Bank of New Zealand and Parr's Bank, Ltd. Mr. R. B. Brett is a Vice-President of the Institute of Printers and Kindred Trades; Chairman of Council, 1909.

BRETT'S PATENT LIFTER CO., Ltd., Engineers, Coventry. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Directors: William Radford (Chairman), F. R. Powell and Bernard Brett. Secretary: E. E. Sidwell. Specialities: All kinds of Plant in connection with the Drop Forging industry, Drop Stamps for Steam and Electric Drive, Presses, Furnaces for Oil or Coke, &c. Patents: Lifting arrangements for Steam-driven and for Electrically-driven Drop Hammers, Safety Clutch for Presses, Oil Fuel Burner. Award: Medal, Brussels Exhibition, 1910. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 384 Coventry. Telegraphic Address: " Lifter, Coventry." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

BREWER, T. J., & CO., Manufacturers of Pickles, Sauces, Vinegar, Rennet Powder, Essence of Rennet, Fruit Wines and Cordials, and other foodstuffs, &c., Colonial Works, Plymouth. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1880. Present Principal: T. J. Brewer. Premises: Cover over a quarter of an acre, with entrances in Buckwoll and KinterburySreets and Holycross Lane. Staff: Forty. Specialities: " Colonial " Fruit Sauce, " We 3t Country " Rennet Powder and Essence of Rennet, " Devon Valley " Nonalcoholic Wines and Cordials, &c. Telephone: No. 972 Plymouth. Telegraphic Address: " Colonial Works, Plymouth." Bankers: Wilts and Dorset Bank, Ltd. Mr. Brewer has been Chairman of Plymouth Incorporated Mercantile Association.

BRICE, PALMER & CO., LIMITED, Manufacturers of Mantles, Costumes, Jackets, Waterproofs, &c., 12 and 14, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1870 by the late W. H. Brice. Premises: Warehouse at 12 and 14, Cannon Street; factory at 90-96, City Road, also 22, Castle Street, London, E.C., employing some hundreds of hands. Agencies at Cape Town, Sydney, Melbourne, and in Buenos Aires and New Zealand. Specialities: Waterproofs and Stormproofs, Costumes, Jackets, &c. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 2897 Central, and 9862 City. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Eminent, Cent, London."

BRIDGER & KAY, Postage and Fisca Stamp Dealers, 71, Fleet Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in. 1897. Present Principals: E. J. Bridger, A. B. Kay. Specialities: Sale and Purchase of all kinds of Stamps, both Postage and Revenue. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 2316 Central.

BRIERLEY, C. E., & CO., Cloth Merchants and Exporters, Wholesale and Retail, St. John's Road, Huddersfield. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1907 by C. E. Brierley, the present principal. Business: Cloth Merchants, Clothiers, and Exporters of general goods. Connection: Home, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 433 Huddersfield. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.; Bank of British West Africa, Ltd.

BRIERLEY, WILLIAM (ROCHDALE), Ltd., Brassfounders and Finishers, Coppersmiths and Confectioners' Machinists, Borough Brass and Copper Works. Warehouses: 72, Drake Street, and Molesworth Street, Rochdale. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1844 by William Brierley. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: William Brierley (Chairman), W. B. Crossley, and William Brearley. Claims to be the largest Jam and Confectioners' Machinist in the trade. Staff: About 150. Specialities: Boiler Fittings, Confectioners' and Jam Machinery Patent Steam Sugar Boiling Process, " Climax " Lozenge Pinning, Printing, Embossing and Cutting Machine, Cornplate with Automatic Continuous Feed, Automatic Delivery and Scrap Conveyer, Patent Table Jelly Cutting Machines, Patent Improved " Thomas Wood's " Strigging Machine, Liquorice and Coltsfoot Rock Plants, &c. Patents: Numerous. Awards: Several Medals and Highest Awards. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 406 Rochdale. Telegraphic Address: "Valves, Rochdale." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.

BRIGG, NEUMANN & CO., Textile Merchants, Bradford; and 76, Mosley Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Established over fifty years ago by William Marriner Brigg and a Mr. Goldschmidt-, trading as Brigg, Goldschmidt & Co.; altered in 1885 to Brigg, Neumann & Co. Present Principals: Herman Samuel Joseph Neumann, William Whitaker, and Nicholas Walker Briggs. Staff: About 130. Specialities: Worsted Serges and Coatings and Fancy Dress Goods. Connection: United Kingdom, Far East, all Europe, Colonies, United States and South America. Telephones: Nos. 31623164 Bradford. Cable Address: " Neumann, Bradford." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Al, Lieber's, Galland, and Private.

BRIGG & SONS, Umbrella, Walking-Stick, and Whip Manufacturers, 23, St. James's Street, London, S.W., and 33, Avenue de l'Opera, Paris. Warehouse: Ridgmount Street, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Staff: About 60 (London and Paris). Established in 1836 by Thomas Brigg. The business has been in the hands of the same family since its foundation. Speciality: Jewelled Parasol and Umbrella Handles. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial.

BRIGGS & ARMSTRONG, Ltd., Sewing Cotton Manufacturers, Hope Street, Hazel Grove, Stockport. flours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1896 by Briggs & Armstrong. Incorporated as a Limited Company.: Extra Qualities of Crochet, and Sewing Cottons. Connection: 11(nie and Foreign.

BRIGGS (GEORGE) & CO., Ltd., Silk, Velvet, Velveteen and Crape Agents and Merchants, 2, Little Love Lane, Wood Street, London, E.C. - Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1876 by George Briggs, the present principal. Premises: Warehouse (wholesale only) in Little Love Lane; branch house at 2, Rue Desiree, Lyons, France. Specialities: Silks, Velvets, Velveteens, and Crapes from the principal Continental and English looms. The firm are large distributors of these goods, representing well-known manufacturers, and having buying agencies at Zurich, Como, and Vienna. Their stock comprises all novelties in French, German, Swiss, Austrian, Italian, China, and Japanese Silks; also Velvets, Crapes, and Crêpe de Chine. Export to India, Australia, New Zealand,-Cape, Canada, Argentine, S. America. Carry large stocks of British-made Silks and Silk Mixtures. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 7278 Central. Telegraphic Address: " George Briggs, London " (or Lyons). Cable Address " Geobriggs, London." Mr. George Briggs is a member of the Corporation of the City of London (Sheriff, 1911-12).

BRIGGS (HENRY), SON & CO., Ltd., Colliery Owners, Whitwood Collieries, Normanton, Yorks. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1865. Directors: Walter Geoffrey Jackson (Managing Director and Chairman), Walter Carrington Fowler, William Simpson Hannam, Walter Hargreaves, John Russell Scott, John Horsfall, John Henry Phillips, Francis Edward Shepherd. Secretary: William Green. Specialities: Gas, Steam, Manufacturing and House Coals, Malting and Furnace Coke. Connection: United Kingdom and the Continent. Telephone: No. 12 Castleford. Telegraphic Address: " Briggs, Normanton." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

BRIGGS (THOMAS) & SON, Silk and Velvet Agents, 8, Oat Lane, Noble Street, London, E.C.; and at Lyons. Telephone: No. 822 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Briggsius, London."

BRIGGS, T. N. & F. H., Ltd., Leather Manufacturers, Victoria Leather Works, Waring Street, Leicester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Present Principals: Francis Henry Briggs (Managing Director), Thomas Norman Briggs, Arthur Warner Barrs (Directors). One of the largest firms in the Leather Trade. Staff: 200. Staff Clubs: Cricket, Sick. Branches: Waring street, Guthlaxton Street, and Porter Street, Leicester. Offices in all the Countries of Europe. Speciality: Leather Manufacture. Connection: United Kingdom, Europe. Telephones: Leicester, Nos. 38 and 138. Telegraphic Addresses: " Tan," Leicester, Paris, and Genoa. Code: Widebrook. Bankers: National and Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. (Leicester); Blyderstein and Co. (London); K. K. Credit Anstalt (Vienna); Banco Commerciale Italiana (Genoa).

BRIGGS (WALTER) & CO., Dress Goods Manufacturers, Stuff and Woollen Merchants, 16, Peel Place, Leeds Road, Bradford. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1888 as Laycock & Briggs. Partnership Successions: (1) Briggs & Comfort; (2) Walter Briggs & Co. Present Principal: Walter Briggs. Branches: 1, 2, 3, Red Lion Court, Watling Street, London, E.C.; Waterloo Buildings, 10, Piccadilly, Manchester. Business: Manufacturers of all classes of Mohair and Lustre Dress Fabrics, Cotton and Wool Textiles, Cotton Moirette Skirtings, and Wool Serges and Coatings. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, and Eastern Markets. Telephone: No. 1077 Bradford. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Sicilian, Bradford." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Ross-Moss, and Private. Bankers: Halifax Commercial Banking Co. (Bradford).

BRIGHT (JOHN) & BROTHERS, Ltd., Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers; Carpet, Canvas, and Hair Belting Manufacturers; Bleachers, Dyers, and Finishers, Fieldhouse Mills, Rochdale. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1887. Present Directors: Frank J. Bright (Chairman), John A. Bright, Herbert Bright, Frederick Lye, Ian T. B. Cash. Premises: The Fieldhouse Mills, Rochdale, one of the typical establishments connected with the textile industries of Lancashire, employing 2,000 workpeople, and organised for very extensive operations in Cotton Spinning and manufacturing, Carpet Weaving, the production of Textile Belting, Canvas, &c., and the carrying out of all the allied processes of Bleaching, Dyeing, and Finishing. Manchester Office: 26, York Street; London 011ice: 8, Aldermanbury, E.C. Specialities: Oxford and Harvard Shirtings, Flannelettes, Zephyrs, Voiles and Fancies, Brussels and Tapestry Carpets and Rugs, Cotton Ducks, Hair Belting, &c. Telephone: No., 441 (four lines) Rochdale. Telegraphic Address: " Brights, Rochdale."

BRIGHTSIDE FOUNDRY AND ENGINEERING CO., Ltd., (THE), General Ironfounders and Engineers, Heating Engineers and Brick Machinery Manufacturers. Head Office, Wicker Iron Works, Sheffield. Established in 1756. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Ambrose Firth (Chairman), Thomas H. Firth (Managing Director), F. W. Firth. Secretary: F. Rodgers. Staff: 600. Branches: London, 28, Victoria Street, Westminster, S.W.; Birmingham, 13 and 15, Summer Row. Specialities: Large Castings up to 100 tons. Chilled Rolls, General Engineering and Hydraulic Engineering. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: Nos. 373 and 1233 Sheffield (Wicker Works); No. 8 Newhall; No. 863 Carbrook; No. 923 Victoria, London; No. 5860 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Addresses: " Castings, Sheffield "; " Brickpress, London "; " Vaporize, Birmingham." Code: ABC (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Sheffield).

BRILLIANT SIGN CO., Ltd., Sign Manufacturers, 38, Gray's Inn Road, London. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1892. Incorporated as the Brilliant Sign Co. (1907), Ltd. Another business amalgamated in 1907. Directors: F. G. Lucas (Governing Director), W. D. Lambert, C. E. Speaight, A. H. Trangmar, and T. E. Spurr. Premises: Freehold Model Factory at Shepherd's Bush, London. Floor space covers over three acres. Staff: 500. Branches: 233, Deansgate, Manchester; 25, Cookridge Street, Leeds; 58, Rempart du Lombard, Antwerp. Also complete factory installation at 1386 Charcas, Buenos Aires, and Branches in all important cities. Business: Sign Manufacturers. Trade Mark: " Permenart," fired on background. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 2101 and 2102 Holborn; Nos. 8, 520, and 521 Hammersmith, London. Telegraphic Address: " Signboards, London." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

BRINDLEY, F. J., & SONS, Hammer, Pick and Tool Manufacturers, Central Hammer Works, River Lane, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1864 by Frederick James Brindley. Joined in 1898 by William Charles Brindley and Frank Herbert Brindley (Sons), the present principals. Present Principals: Frederick James Brindley (sen.), William Charles Brindley and Frank Herbert Brindley. Premises: Part of the Works stand on the site of the laundry of the Sheffield Castle. In excavating foundations for the new part two subterranean passages were discovered, which are said to connect with the old Manor Castle Intake, three miles away. Bad air and water stopped complete exploration. The buildings cover half an acre. Equipped with all modern improvements. Staff: About eighty-three. Staff Clubs: Recreation Annual Fishing Trip. Specialities: All kinds of high-class Steel Tools, Ash Handles Turned; all patterns and every class of Engineering undertaken. Maker of various patents for the Inventors. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (all departments). Telephones: No. 1402 Central; No. 211 Boauchief, Sheffield. Telegraphic Address: " Brindley, River Lane, Sheffield."

BRINDLEY & FOSTER, Organ Builders, Columbia Place, 30 to 46, Suffolk Road, and 19 to 31, Fornham Street, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1854 by Charles Brindley. Albert Healey Foster became partner in 1874. Founder retired in 1889, and was succeeded by his son, Charles Brindley. Premises: Extensive Works, &c., at above address. Stag consists of specialists and experts in every department. Specialities: Building Organs for difficult situations, involving special patterns or original forms; also the construction of organs for ordinary situations in accordance with the principles of the " Charles Brindley System." This system is the outcome of careful and continued experi ments, and the inventions which characterise it relate to—(1) improvements in tone-production; (2) the introduction of a perfected automatic action; (3) the provision of additional manipulative mechanisms, whereby the playing of the organ is rendered more facile and aesthetic. The system has been described as " marking a new era in organ design and construction," and as " affording possibilities in organ playing hitherto un dreamt of." Its several important and distinctive features are covered by letters patent granted to the inventor. The firm's name is widely known in connection with highclass work in Organs for Churches and Public Halls, and their testimonials, from almost everyone of prominence in the musical world, extend over a period of E.ixty years. Awards include the only Double Award and Silver Medal, Inventions Exhibition, 1885, for " General Excellence of Tone and Mechanism." Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial (including Russia, Egypt, South America, India, South Africa, Australia, and New Zealand). Branches: London, 21, Buckingham Street, Strand, W.C.; Glasgow, Richmond Chambers, 147, Bath Street. Telephones: No. 598 Central, Sheffield; No. 7357 Central, London; No. 449 Douglas, Glasgow. Telegraphic Addresses " Organs, Sheffield "; " Fagotti, Westrand, London "; " Doric, Glasgow."

BRINKSWAY DYEING CO., Ltd., Velvet, Velveteen and Cord Dyers, Brinksway, Stockport, and 2, George Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1907. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Director and Chairman: Amos White. Secretary: J. Bailey. Staff: 120. Pay Day: Third Wednesday. Speciality: Dyeing of Fast Blacks and Fast Colours. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 368 Stockport; No. 914 City, Manchester.

BRINKWORTH, R. M., & CO., Grain and Produce Brokers, 18, Queen Square, Bristol. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Established under present style in 1911 by R. M. Brinkworth, the present principal. Agencies: London and Liverpool. Specialities: All classes of Cattle Feeding Stuffs. Connection: United Kingdom, France, Germany, Portugal and United States. Telephone: No. 222 Bristol. Telegraphic Address: " Brinkworth, Bristol." Codes: A B C, Hinrich's and Private. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Corn Street, Bristol).

BRINSMEAD (JOHN) & SONS, Ltd., Pianoforte Manufacturers. Galleries, Concert Hall, and Show ROOMS: 18, 20, and 22, Wigmore Street, London, W. Factories (3), Timber Yards, and Engineering Shops: Brinsmead Works, Kentish Town, London, N.W. Staff: About 300. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1837 by John Brinsmead (d.). Partnership of John Brinsmead, Thomas James Brinsmead, and Edgar William Brinsmead ended 1899. Incorporated: December, 1899. Directors: J. Cooper Burlingham (Chairman), J. Stark Browne, J. Doddridge, R. J. Sykes, and H. Billinghurst (Managing Director). Specialities: Horizontal Grand and Upright Pianofortes, and Art Cases. Highest awards at principal International Exhibitions throughout the world for over half a century; also the Legion of Honour. Royal Warrants to His late Majesty King Edward and Queen Alexandra. Telegraphic Address: " Brinsmead, London." Cable Codes: " Brinsmead " and A B C. Telephones: No. 1345 Paddington (Showrooms); No. 44 North (Works).

BRINTONS, Ltd., Carpet Manufacturers, Worsted and Woollen Spinners,. Kidderminster, and at London, Manchester, and Glasgow. Established in 1819 by Mr. Henry Brinton. Incorporated in 1881 as a Limited Company (John Brinton & Co., Ltd.); reconstructed in 1891, with the title of Brintons, Ltd. Present Directors: John Brinton (Chairman), Reginald S. Brinton, G. N. Preen, Cecil C. Brinton, G. R. Woodward, G. P. Preen. Premises: In 1819 the works stood upon rather less than an acre of land; to-day they cover more than seven acres. Warehouses at 10, 11, and 12, Ivy Lane, Newgate Street, London, E.C., and at Manchester and Glasgow; also agencies at Leicester, Paris, Berlin, Lisbon, Constantinople, Alexandria, Toronto, Johannesburg, Shanghai, Stockholm, Christiania, Copenhagen, The Hague, Cape Town, and Melbourne. Staff: At Kidderminster, over 1,200; at each of the warehouses a special staff. Specialities: Axminster, Brussels, and Wilton Carpets, Seamless Tufted Axminster and Chenille Carpets, also Seamless Hand-made Axminster Carpets and Rugs. The Company have exhibited at all the leading exhibitions, and hold Medals awarded at London, 1851, 1862, and 1873; Paris, 1855 and (Gold) 1867 and 1878; Sydney (Gold), 1879; New Zealand (Gold), 1882; Melbourne (Gold), 1888. Invention: A special method of manufacturing Axminster Carpeting, recently developed into a wide Loom of a unique character, for which the Company hold several patents. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. The business is one of the largest of its kind. Telephones: (Kidderminster) No. 5; (London) No. 7529 Central; (Manchester) No. 4739; (Glasgow) No. 7314 Royal. Telegraphic Addresses: " Brintons," for Kidderminster, London, Manchester, and Glasgow; " Seamless " for Melbourne.

BRISCOE, W. H., & CO., Ltd., Brassfounders, Stampers and Piercers, 51 and 52, Park Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.15 p.m. Established: Purchased about 1875 by W. H. Briscoe (d.). Present Principals: Arthur C. Briscoe, Edward C. Briscoe. Specialities: Stamped Brassfoundry, General Press and Turned Work for Cycle, Electrical Motor, and Chandelier trades. Patents: Numerous. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. .Telephone No. 1346 Central (National), Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Brisk, Birmingham." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. (Colmore Row, Birmingham).

BRISON, E., & CO., Brush and Bellows Manufacturers, Woodware Importers, Factors of Mats, Matting, Baskets, Zinc Washing Boards Manufacturers, Peter Street, Bristol. Hours of Business Office, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. (Summer); 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. (Winter). Factory, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. (Summer); 7 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. (Winter). Established prior to 1726 by Benj. Rutter (d. 1768). Fined in 1726 for having carried on business as Bellows Maker in the City of Bristol without being a freeman of the City. Premises: Extensive factory, with river frontage. Staff: About seventy. Specialities: Household and Painting Brushes, House Bellows, Zinc Washing Boards. Connection: United Kingdom; small export trade. Telephone: No. 2563x Bristol. Telegraphic Address: " Brison, St. Peter, Bristol." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. (Bristol).

BRISTOL ELECTRIC SAFETY LAMP WORKS (THE), Manufacturers of Safety Lamps, &c., 40, Great Smith Street, Westminster, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1890 by L. Bristol, the present principal. Specialities: Portable Electric Safety Lamps for Mining, Rescue Work, and other purposes (as used at Crumlin Training Station), &c., &c. Provided with all the latest improvements, combining, it is claimed, the highest degree of safety and durability. Of sufficient storage capacity to maintain a good light for about ten hours after each charge. Also manufacture Electrical Apparatus, &c. Connection: General. Contractors to H.M. Government. Awards: Gold and Silver Medals Crystal Palace, 1890 and 1892 (highest award). Prize of £50 won in the Home Office Competition for Miners' Electric Safety Lamps. Telephone: No. 2047 Victoria. Telegraphic Address: " Luciferous, London." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

BRITANNIA FOUNDRY COMPANY (THE), Engineers and Founders, Cox Street, Coventry. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1874 by J. Greenhill. Continued by Alfred Hall for six years. Incorporated as Hall & Walker, Ltd., until 1901. Title changed to above in 1901. Present Principal: Arthur Phillips Smith. Premises: Extensive. Works cover two acres, fully equipped. Specialities: Makers of Moulding Machines, Enamelling Stoves, and Motor Castings. Patents: Moulding Machines. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office). Telephone: No. 251 Coventry. Telegraphic Address: " Stoves, Coventry." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Coventry).

BRITISH ALUMINIUM CO., Ltd., Aluminium Manufacturers, 109, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C. Factories: Kinlochleven, Argyllshire; Foyers, Lochness; Larne Harbour; Milton, Staffs.; Stangfjord and Vigelands, Norway; Bauxite Mines, Montpellier, France. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Reconstructed and re-incorporated in 1910. Claim to be the pioneers of the Aluminium Industry and owners of the largest Water Power in England. Staff: About 3000. Speciality: Aluminium in' all forms. Awards: Gold Medal at the last Paris Exhibition and others. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 2676 City, London (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Cryolite, Cent, London." Codes: A B C, Lieber's, Western Union.

BRITISH-AMERICAN LAST WORKS (THE), Makers of High Grade Lasts, &c., St. Michael's Road, Northampton. Hours of Business: 7.30 a.m. to 6.15 p.m. Established in 1909 by Charles Henry Busby and Christopher Charles Hardwick, the present principals. Branches: Leicester and Paris. Specialities: High Grade Lasts, Upper Patterns, Boot Trees, Fillers, Knives, &c. Patent: Colwyn Hinged Last. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 331 Northampton. Telegraphic Address: " Lasts, Northampton." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

BRITISH BANK OF NORTHERN COMMERCE, Ltd. (THE), 41-43, Bishopsgat©, London, E.C. Hours of Business 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Directors: The Rt. Hon. Earl Grey, G.C.B. (Chairman), K. A. Wallenberg (Vice-Chairman), H. Bendixson, J. V. Faber, Councillor of State E. Gliickstadt, Arthur M. Grenfell, J. Jorgensen, N. Kielland-Torkildsen, K. F. Knudsen, F. Lowenadler and J. MadsenMygdal. General Manager and Secretary: A. D. Rutherford. Sub-Manager: A. Kiaer. The " Financial News," in commenting recently on their inspection of the first annual list of Shareholders, filed at Somerset House, noted that the list included five or six Royal Families and other very influential names. Authorised Capital: £2,000,000 in 200,000 Shares of £10 each. Subscribed Capital: £1,500,000 issued at a premium of 50 %. Paid Up Capital: £375,000. Reserve Fund (Premium on Shares): £375,000. Premises: Bank Premises cover about 10,000 square feet. Staff: About sixty. Business: Chiefly to facilitate commercial intercourse between the Northern Countries of Europe and Great Britain. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 3290 (4 lines), London Wall, London. Telegraphic Address: " Bankonord, London." Codes: Lieber's and others.

BRITISH CHAIN MANUFACTURING CO. (1913), Ltd. (THE), South Hylton, near Sunderland. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1913. Managing Director: G. H. Rankin. Speciality: The development of Cable Making by Welding Machines. Award: Gold Medal, Brussels, Lelong Patent Chain Making Machine. Telephone: . No. 31 Hylton. Telegraphic Address: " Chain, Hylton."

BRITISH & COLONIAL HORSE SHOE & MACHINE CO., Ltd., Horse Shoe Manufacturers, Billiter Buildings, Billiter Street, London, E.C., and Globe Iron Works, Walsall. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1888 by T. D. Richardson, J. F. Richardson and C. W. Miggleton. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Directors: T. D. Richardson (Managing Director), J. F. Richardson J. Byford, J.P., W. A. Perry and C. W. Miggleton (Chairman). Secretary: T. A. Richardson. Claim to be the largest Horse Shoe Manufacturers in Europe. Premises: Cover six acres. Specialities: Fullered Horse and Mule Shoes, Plain Stamped Horse and Mule Shoes, " Cowboy " Horse Shoes, Racing Shoes, Plain Stamped Ox Shoes, Horse Nails, Ox Nails, and " B.C." Horse Rasps. Patents: Horse Shoe Machinery for Manufacturing Horse, Mule, Pony and Ox Shoes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Travellers in all British Colonies. Contractors to H.M. Government (War Office), India Council, Crown Agents for the Colonies, Swiss Government and Egyptian Government, &c. Telephones: No. 224 Avenue, London; No. 86 Walsall. Telegraphic Address: " Thermopile, London "; " Horseshoes, Walsall." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Head Office and Walsall).

BRITISH COTTON & WOOL DYERS' ASSOCIATION, LIMITED (THE). Head Office: 22, Cumberland Street, Deansgate, Manchester. Bradford Office: 25, Cheapside. Glasgow Office: 54, Miller Street. Incorporated in 1900; unites the interests of fifty subsidiary companies, forming branches of the Association in the textile centres of Lancashire, Yorkshire, and Scotland. Directors: Adolph Hoegger (Chairman), C. R. Hindley (Vice-Chairman), Alex. Hamilton, Fred. J. Smith, and 'J. E. Turnbull (Managing Directors), James Brown, James Cunningham, Wm. Eckersall, Harold Fletcher, James Hilton, Wm. Kerr, Adam Leyden, T. S. Macfarlane, R. S. Markendale, A. F. M`Callum, J. Murgatroyd, C. A. Palfrey, Alexander Reid, Henry Robinson, J. W. Robson, W. 0. Smethurst, (General Board). Secretary and Accountant: Fred. J. Twelves. Business: The operations carried on by the Companies forming the Association comprise the Bleaching, Dyeing, Sizing, Mercerising-, &c., of Yarns (Cotton, Woollen, Worsted, and Silk); the Dyeing of Piece Goods; Garment Dyeing and French Cleaning; Hosiery Dyeing and Finishing; Cloth-working; also (by one Company) the manufacture of Chemicals and the grinding of Dyewares for the purposes of the above operations. Telephones: National, Nos. 3884-8 (Central), Manchester; No. 3151 Bradford; No. 06670 Glasgow. Telegraphic Addresses: " Cobra, Manchester "; Cotton, Bradford "; " Undying, Glasgow,"

BRITISH CROWN ASSURANCE CORPORATION, Ltd. (THE). Chief Offices: London, 110, Cannon Street, E.C.; Glasgow, 183, West George Street. Established in 1907. Incorporated as a Limited Company, April, 1907. Directors: The Rt. Hon. J. Parker Smith, of Jordanhill, Glasgow (Chairman), Claud A. Allan, ex-Provost R. K. Bell (of Paisley), John Cowan, D.L., D. H. Macdonald, Alexander Mackay, C.A., and Robert Sutherland, of Southbar, Renfrewshire. General Manager: D. W. Maclennan. Secretary: John R. Fleming, C.A. Branch Offices: Aberdeen; Belfast; Birmingham; Bristol; Cardiff; Dundee; Edinburgh; Leeds; Lincoln; Liverpool; Manchester; Newcastle-on-Tyne; Nottingham; Preston; Bournemouth. Business: Fire Insurance, Burglary Insurance, Employers' Liability Insurance, Accident and Disease Insurance, Fidelity Guarantee. Authorised Capital: £500,000. Subscribed Capital: £250,000. Paid up: £100,000. Telephones: No. 1826 City; No. 233 P.O., No. 2340 Argyle (Nat.) Glasgow. Telegraphic Addresses: " Britorb," London; " Fealty," Glasgow and Branches. Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Glasgow); Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (London).

BRITISH DYEWOOD CO., Ltd. (THE), Manufacturers of Dyewood and Tannin Extracts. Registered Office: 53, Bothwell Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Acquired in 1911 the business of The British Dyewood and Chemical Co., Ltd., an amalgamation (in 1898) of four old-established firms—E. D. Milnes & Brothers, Mucklow & Co., Wm. R. Scott & Co., John Dawson & Co. Directors: Wm. R. Scott (Chairman), James Dawson, Edward Mucklow, H. A. Bridge, and L. Devaux. Mills at Glasgow, Manchester and Lacovia (Jamaica). Specialities: All Requisites for Dyers, Calico Printers, and Tanners. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1425 Argyle (two lines), No. 4311 Post Office, Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Dyewood, Glasgow." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), A 1, Lieber's. Bankers Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd.; National Bank of Scotland, Ltd.; Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd.

BRITISH ELECTRIC DETONATOR CO., Ltd. (THE), Electric Detonator Fuse Manufacturers, 43, Castle Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business; 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Governing Director: Samuel Salisbury. Premises: Works, Parr, St. Helens, fully equipped. Staff: Eighty. Speciality: Compound Electric Detonators. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Telephones: No. 4036 Bank, Liverpool; No. 224 St. Helens. Telegraphic Addresses: " Detonator, Liverpool "; " British, St. Helens."

BRITISH ELECTRIC TRANSFORMER CO., Ltd. (THE), Manufacturing Electrical Engineers and Contractors, Hayes, Hayes End S.O., Middlesex; also at The Tricity House, 48, Oxford Street, W., and Charing Crows House, 29A, Charing Cross Road, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12.45 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Reconstructed with increased capital in 1903. Directors: J. F. Albright (Chairman), A. F. Berry (Technical Adviser), T. Rowe, F. J. Marehment, George Berry (Manager). Premises: Works on three acres Freehold property of the Company. Factory situated on the Grand Junction Canal near Hayes and Harlington (G.W.R. Station). Specialities Berry Transformers, Series Gear, "Tricity " Cookers and Utensils. Patents: Sole owners in connection with Transformers and Series Gear, " Tricity " Heating and Cooking Patents. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 226, P.O. Ealing; No. 101 Southall; No. 12 P.O. Hayes; Nos. 275 and 8491 City. Telegraphic Addresses: " Transfundo, Hayes, Middlesex "; " Tricicook, Westrand, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Engineering, Western Union.

BRITISH ENGINE, BOILER & ELECTRICAL INSURANCE CO., Ltd., 12, King Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1878 as the Engine and Boiler Insurance Company, Ltd. Reregistered in 1880 as the Engine, Boiler and Employers' Liability Insurance Co., Ltd. In 1896 absorbed the British Steam Users' Insurance Society, Ltd.; name altered to present style in 1904. Directors: R. C. Longridge, A.M.Inst.C.E., M.I.Mech.E. (Chairman and Managing Director), Walter E. Barratt, J.P., Sir George Hayter Chubb, Bart., James Eckersley, J.P., Walter Fletcher, Sir Frank Hollins, Bart., Norman Fletcher, George Chappell. Engineer: Michael Longridge, M.A., M.Inst.C.E., M.I.M.E. Secretary: H. F. Taylor. Staff: About 250. Branches: 70, Queen Street, London, E.C.; Glasgow; Newcastle-on-Tyne; Cardiff; Birmingham; Belfast; Bristol; Dublin; Dundee; Edinburgh; Nottingham; Plymouth; Sheffield. Business: Effecting Instiv ante on Steam and Gas Engines, Boilers, Electrical Machines, Gas-making Plant, and Lifts. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: Nos. 7157, 7158, 7159 (Central) (National) Manchester. Telegraphic Addresses: " Longridge, Manchester "; " Mishap, Cannon, London "; " Break down, Glasgow."

BRITISH FLEXIBLE SHAFT MANUFACTURING CO. (THE), Eagle Works, Saltisford, Warwick, Manufacturers of first-class Steel Flexible Shafts for Speedometers, Taximeters, Sheep-Shearing and Horse-Clipping Machines, General Engineering Purposes, Portable Grinding and Drilling Epuipments. Established in 1908 by J. C. Sauer, sole proprietor. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

BRITISH & GENERAL EXPRESS CO., Steam Ship Brokers and Forwarding Agents, 11, Rumford Place, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1895 by F. Wilson Campbell, the present principal. Premises:.Occupy double offices at above address. Business: Forwarding, Barging, Chartering and Shipping Agents, Ship and Insurance Brokers, Agents for the purchase, Construction and Sale of Steamers, Marine Engines, Boilers, Steam Launches and Barges. Also Bunker Coals Supplied. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 6208 iCentral, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Logbook, Liverpool." Codes: Watkins', Scott's and A B C. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Captain F. Wilson Campbell is a Certified Master in the Merchant Service and has been Marine Superintendent for a largo line of steamers.

BRITISH GRIFFIN CHILLED IRON AND STEEL CO., Ltd., Makers of Railway and Tramway Wheels, Chilled Rolls and Castings, &c., Head Office and Works, Barrow-in-Furness, Lancashire; London Office, 81, Cannon Street, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors Sir Douglas Fox (Chairman), W. M. Frank Schneider (Managing Director), Samuel Weiss, Robert Weiss. Secretary: Philip B. Snowdon. Specialities: Railway and Tramway Wheels, Chilled Rolls and Castings of every description for Crushing, Grinding, and Cement Machinery, Patent Chilled Hammer Heads, Dies, &c., Brake Blocks, also Steel-Tyred Wheels, with special Toughened and Annealed Semi-Steel Centres. Awards: Gold Medal Diplomal Argentine Centenary K2 Exhibition, Buenos Ayres, 1910. Connection United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (War Department, India Office), Crown Agents for the Colonies and to Colonial and Foreign Railways. Tele. phone: No. 121, Barrow-in-Furness; No. 5922 Bank, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Treadwheel," Barrow-in-Furness and London. Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Western Union. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

BRITISH HELE SHAW CLUTCH CO., Ltd., Suthers Street, Oldham. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in Liverpool in 1903 by Professor H. S. Hele Shaw, F. R. S., LL.D., &c.; associated with J. E. Jose and T. T. Vernon, who have assigned their interests to the Directors of Platt Brothers & Co., Ltd., Oldham. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Directors: G. W. Needham, H. P. Hall, and J. E. Jose. Premises consist of a seven-floor building at above address. Works, 129, Avenue de Versailles, Paris; 36, Rue de Vieux Mayour, Lige, Belgium; and 517, Arch Street, Philadelphia, U. S.A. Stall: Eighty; Paris, thirty. Agencies in most countries. - Specialities: Friction Clutches for Industrial purposes; also Clutches for Automobiles and Boats. Are the proprietors of Dr. H. S. Hele Shaw's patent Clutches, Brakes, Dynamometers, &c., patented in several countries. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1133. Teegraphic Address: " Prehension, Oldham." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co.

BRITISH HUB CO. (THE), Clyde Works, Weaman Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1904 by W. Leonard Pizzey, E. Pizzey and George Barton, the present principals. Speeialitios: Hubs for all purposes. Patents: No. 28458 (1913), Locking Cones; No. 15146 (1908), improvement in the Manufacture of Hubs. Award: Gold Medal, Turin Exhibition, 1911. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2845 Central Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Pizzey, Birmingham." Code: A B C.

BRITISH INSULATED & HELSBY CABLES, Ltd., Manufacturers of Electrical Cables and Accessories for all purposes. Works: Prescot and Helsby. London Office: Lennox House, Norfolk Street, Strand, W.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: E. K. Musprait, LL.D., J.P. (Chairman), James Taylor, J.P. (Vice Chairman), Sir J. S. Harmood Banner, M.P., J. Carlton Stitt, J.P., Hon. Arthur Stanley, M.P., G. Crosland Taylor, J.P. General Manager: D. Sinclair. Engineer-in-Chief: G. H. Nisbett. Secretary: W. Kerfoot. Amalgamation of the British Insulated Wire Co., Ltd., and the Telegraph Manufacturing Co., Ltd., in 1902. Name altered to present style. Premises: Highly-equipped Works at Prescot and Helsby. Branches: London, Manchester, Glasgow, Birmingham, Cardiff, Newcastle-on-Tyne, Dublin, Belfast. Agencies: Throughout the world. Specialities: Electrical Cables and Accessories of every kind; Overhead Material for Electric Traction, Lighting and Power Distribution, Electric Welders, Paper Pinions, Annealing Furnaces, &c.; Condensers, Primary Batteries, Wood or Steel Telegraph Poles, Motor Car Tyres and Inner Tubes, Golf Balls, &c.; Mining Exploders, Portable Hand Lamps. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: Nos. 8 and 74 Prescot; No. 4 Helsby ' • No. 2995 Gerrard, London; No. 2044 Central, Manchester; No. 2160 Central, Glasgow; No. 1142 Central, Birmingham; No. 1055 Cardiff; No. 417 Newcastle-on-Tyne; No. 2646 Dublin; No. 2836 Belfast. Telegraphic Addresses: " Insulator, Prescot "; Limited, Helsby "; " Airlike, Estrand, London"; " Vigorous, Manchester "; " Connectors," Glasgow and Birmingham; " Vigilant, Cardiff "; " Insulated," Newcastle, Dublin, and Belfast. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd; Bank of Liverpool, Ltd.

BRITISH LAW FIRE INSURANCE CO., Ltd., 5, Lothbury, London, E.C. Established in 1888 by members of the Legal Profession throughout the country. Trustees: The Right Hon. V is count Alverst one, G. C.M.G. , the Right Hon. Lord Mersey, the Right Hon. Lord Justice Sir Walter G. F. Phillimore, Bart., D.C.L., LL.D. Directors: M. F. Monier-Williams (Chairman), C. G. Kekewich (Deputy - Chairman), R. J. Bowerman, John G. Bristow, Holroyd Chaplin, Robert W. Dibdin, Claud Fraser, R. L. Fulford, Hamilton Fulton, Edward G. Gibson, L. W. North Hickley, Robert G. F. Hills, Wm. Stanley Hitchins, Ernest Humbert, Archibald Herbert James, F. C. Maples, Allan E. Messer, Robert C. Nesbitt, W. P. Norton, E. F. Oldham, J. W. H. Thompson, G. L. Whately. General Manager: David M. Linley. Secretary: T. Williams. Branches: (with Local Boards) 1, Regent Street, Waterloo Place, London, S.W., 37, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C., and at Manchester, Aberdeen, Birmingham, Bristol, Brighton, Chester, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Dublin, Belfast, Leeds, Liverpool, Newcastle-on-Tyne, Plymouth, and Southampton. Business: Insurance against damage by Fire and Lightning, Employers' Liability, Personal Accident and Sickness, Burglary, Fidelity Guaran tee, &c. Telephone: Nos. 2122 and 9470 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Britlaw, Stock, London."

BRITISH LEATHER CLOTH MANUFACTURING CO., Ltd., Imitation Leather Manufacturers. Registered Office: Hyde, near Manchester. Hours of Business: Office- 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works- Night and Day. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: John Wm. Hargreaves (Managing Director), C. A. Hargreaves, Geo. W. Thornton, Hermann Geiler. London Office: 7 and 8, Lilypot Lane, E.C. Glasgow, 147, Bath Street. Staff: Office staff and travellers, 40; employees, 220. Agencies all over the world. Specialities: Makers of Imitation Leathers for Upholstery, Motor Car and Yacht Cushions, Bookbinding, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government; also to the Governments of India, Canada, South Africa, New South Wales, Japan, Holland, Belgium, Norway, Egypt. Telephone: No. 65 Hyde. Telegraphic Address: " Skivers, Hyde." Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd.

BRITISH LEATHER CO., Ltd. (THE), Tanners and Curriers, Tranmere Tannery, Birkenhead. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Managing Director: J. C. Paterson. Speciality: Split Leathers, Grains and Fleshes. Patent: Leather Motor Tyre Protector. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 397 Birkenhead. Telegraphic Address: " Hides, Birkenhead." Codes: Widebrook and A B C. Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd.

BRITISH LINEN BANK. Head Office: Edinburgh. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated by Royal Charter in 1746.. General Manager: James Tuke. Secretary: J. Stark Smith. Assistant Secretary: F. Gordon Brown. London Manager: James Little. Deputy-Manager: J. S. Stocks; Branches: Glasgow, Chief Office, Queen Street; London, Threadneedle Street, E.C. One hundred and forty-four branches. Six sub-branches. Business: Transact all the usual banking business. Telegraphic Addresses: " Linen," Edinburgh and London; " British, Glasgow."

BRITISH L. M. ERICSSON MANUFACTURING CO., Ltd., (THE), Telephone Makers in all its branches. Head Office: 5, Chancery Lane, London, E.C. Factory: Beeston, Notts. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1898 by L.M. Ericsson & Co., of Stockholm. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1903, and formed into a Public Company, 1911. Directors: W. M. Crowe (Chairman and Managing Director), Hemming Johansson, Harold Sands, A. R. Jenkins, Philip G. Wayne. Secretary: W. A. Anderson. Premises: Factory at Beeston. Covers five acres. Also factories at Stockholm, St. Petersburg, Paris, Budapest, Vienna and Buffalo (United States). Staff: From 1200 to 1500. Speciality: Ericsson Telephones. The Ericsson Telephones are known all over the world. Are makers of Office and other Cabinet Furniture at the factory at Beeston. This department employs from 400 to 500 hands. Patents: Numerous. Awards: Large number of medals dating from 1881, taken at various Exhibitions. Connection: United Kingdom, Fokeign, Colonial (chiefly). Contractors to H.M. Government (War Office, Post Office, India Office) and other Government Departments and to the Colonial Governments. Telephone: No. 5340 Holborn, London (two lines•). Telegraphic Address: " Ericsson, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Western Union.

BRITISH MALT PRODUCTS COMPANY, Maltsters and Manufacturers of Diastasic Extracts from Malt. Offices: Lothian House, 1, Market Street, London, S.E. Glasgow Office: 4, Great Clyde Street. "Works: The Refinery, West Barns, Dunbar. Lothian Maltings: Dunbar, N.B., and Willow Mills, Clayton-le-Moors, Lancs. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Offices, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1893 by William Wight Macadam, J.P., and Robert Wight Macadam, J.P., the present principals. Claim to be pioneers of Malt Extract and other Malt products as applied to the bakery trade of the world. Premises: Scottish Works cover an area of twelve acres; Lancashire Works, three acres; both highly equipped. Staff: 300. Branches at Capetown, Johannesburg, Durban, and Port Elizabeth, South Africa. Specialities: " Lothian " Malt Products for human consumption, for Bakery, Brewing, Laundry, and Textile purposes. Macadam's Veterinary Malt Specialities for Horses, Cattle, Dogs, &c. Maltsters to Brewers and Distillers. Owners of several secret processes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to His late Majesty King Edward VII.; H.M. King George V. Telephones: No. 8737 (Central), London; No. 14 Dunbar (Refinery); No. 37 Dun bar (Private); No. 297 Accrington; No. 2375 Bell, Glasgow. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Brimalco, London "; " Macadam, Westbarns "; " Malt Co., Clayton - le - Moors." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

BRITISH MANNESMANN TUBE CO., Ltd., (THE), Manufacturers of Weldless Steel Tubes, &c., Salisbury House, London Wall, London, E.C., Works, Landore, South Wales. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Staff: 1500 to 1600. Branches: Manchester, Birmingham, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Agencies: Glasgow, Belfast, Newport, Cardiff and Middles brough. Specialities: Weldless Steel Tubes for Boiler, Steam, and Hydraulic purposes, Telegraph and Traction Poles, Spigot and Faucet Pipes, Hollow Davits, Derricks and Deck Supports, Gas Cylinders, Brass and Copper Tubes. Awards: Two Grand Prizes, one Diploma of Honour, one Gold Medal Franco-British Exhibition. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office), also to Crown Agents and to Foreign Governments. Telephones: Nos. 4610 and 4611, London Wall. Tele graphic Address: " Tubulous, London."

BRITISH NORTHROP LOOM COMPANY, Ltd., (THE), Automatic Loom Makers, Daisyfield, Blackburn. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1902. Incorporated as a Limited Company in the same year. Directors: Henry P. Greg (Chairman ), Wm. J. Orr, Sir Frank Hollins, F. B. Ross, Denis M. Hollins (Managing Director). Speciality: Northrop Automatic Looms. Patents: Numerous. Connection: United Kingdom and Continent of Europe. Telephone: No. 178 Blackburn. Telegraphic Address: " Northrop, Blackburn." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.

BRITISH OIL & CAKE MILLS, LIMITED (THE). Head Office 1 29, Groat St. Helen's, London, E.C. 11108 and Refineries: London, Rochester, Ipswich, Hull, Liverpool, Gainsborough, Gloucester, Bridgwater, Glasgow, Leith, Burntisland, and Manchester. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Formed to acquire, amalgamate, and carry on the business of the principal companies and firms engaged in the Oil and Cake Manufacture and Oil Refining industries. Directors: John Westall Pearson (Chairman and Managing), N. B. Foster and Edwin Robson (Managing), C. R. Beckitt, Hugh Chapman, Harrison Holt, Alan Lambert, F. C. Liversedge, H. W. Mason, John Stephen, James Stuart, and J. B. Willows. Secretary: J. E. Frost. Premises: Owners of about thirty Mills and fifteen Oil Refineries. The Mills have an aggregate output capacity of -750,000 tons per annum. The Company deals with nearly half the total seed crushed in the whole kingdom. Business: Seed Crushing, Manufacturing and Refining of Linseed, Cottonseed, Rapeseed, and other Oils. Manufacture Linseed Cake, Cottonseed Cake, and Feed Cakes of every description. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Telephone No. 1465 Avenue (Head Office). Telegraphic Address: " Broil, Led, London." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Lombard Street, E.C.).

BRITISH OIL & GUANO CO., Ltd., Manufacturers and Exporters of Fish Oils and Guanos. Registered Office: 44, Queen Street, Edinburgh. Managing Director and Works Office: 17, Mid Street, Fraserburgh. Factories: Baltasound, Bressay, Lerwick, Fraserburgh, Peterhead, Stornoway and Wick. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at .1 p.m. Established in 1897. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: William McConnachie (Chairman), James Wilson and Alexander Gordon. Premises: Extensive Works. Staff: Large. Specialities: Fish Oils and Fish Guanos. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Telephone: No. 106 Fraserburgh. Telegraphic Address: " Guanol, Fraserburgh." Codes: Scott's (1906), A B C (5th Edition), and Watkin's. Bankers: Bank of Scotland. Mr. W. McConnachie is Chairman of Messrs. Park & Co., Ltd., Saw Millers and Barrel Manufacturers. Mr. Gordon is a Baillie and a Director of Park & Co., Ltd.

BRITISH PATENT PERFORATED PAPER CO., (THE), Manufacturers of Toilet Rolls, Perforated and Plain, and all kinds of Roll Paper for every purpose, Atlas Works, Berkshire Road, Hackney Wick, London, N.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1883. In 1889 the business was sold by an order of the Court, and was purchased by Walter James Alcock, the present principal. Claim to be the original inventors and manufacturers of Perforated Toilet Rolls in Europe. Premises: Extensive Buildings, cover over 55,000 square yards. Staff: Large. Branches: 8, Boulevard de Villiers, Lovallois-Perret (Seine); 139, Alto Jacob Strasse, Berlin; Lucerne, Albany, New York, Chicago, Boston, and Sydney. Specialities: Toilet Rolls, Perforated and Plain, all kinds of Roll Papers for every purpose. Patents and Inventions: Too numerous to mention. The whole of the Machines used are manufactured by them. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 1876 East, London (2 lines). Telegraphic Address: "Medipathic, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

BRITISH PETROLEUM CO., Ltd., Importers of and Dealers in Petroleum Oils. Head Office: 22, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. London Branch Office: 18/19, Fenchurch Street. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated 1906. Chairman: The Right Hon. Lord Farrer. Managing Committee: T. Kean and E. G. Stauss. General Manager: Richard Airey. Secretary: Chas. Bourke. Branch Offices also at Eccles, Bristol, Birmingham, Hull, Dublin, and Gla:gow. Large Ocean Storages at Eccles, Barton, Weaste, Hull, Grangemouth, Sunderland, Avonmouth, Foynes, Belfast, Ea nd London (Purfleet and Beckton), and Depots in almost every town in the United Kingdom. Specialities: Well-known Brands of Burning Oils. Distributing Agents for Motor Spirit. Connection: Throughout the whole of the United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 3031 Avenue (five lines). Telegraphic Address: (Head Office), " Britoleum, Grace, London."

BRITISH PLUVIUSIN CO., Ltd. (THE), Manufacturers of Art Leather Cloth, " Pluviusin Brand " Imitation Leathers, 12, Newton Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1889. Directors: G. H. Winterbottom (Chairman), C. Dodd, C. Escher, F. Taylor. Secretary: M. Brickhill. Specialities: The Manufacture of Art Leather Cloth, " Pluviusin Brand," Imitation of Real Leathers used for Upholstery, Book-binding, and Fancy Leather Trades, Medical Shootings, Bandages, and other goods. Have introduced their special production to the various trades all over the world. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4646 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Pluviusin, Manchester."

BRITISH PORTLAND CEMENT MANUFACTURERS, Ltd., 4, Lloyd's Avenue, London, E.C. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1911. Chairman: The Rt. Hon. Lord St. Davids. Amalgamating amongst others the following firms: Barron's Cement Co.; Caledonian Cement Co.; Coles, Shadbolt & Co.; B. J. Forder & Son; I. C. Johnson & Co.; William Lee, Son & Co.; Norman Cement Co.; Peters Brothers; Premier Cement Co.; Saxon Cement Co.; Sussex Cement Co.; West Kent Cement Co. Connection: Worldwide. Telephone: No. 6404 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Britporcem, Fen, London."

BRITISH PURE YEAST COMPANY, LIMITED (THE), Yeast Manufacturers, 21 and 22, Alma Street, Burton-on-Trent. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1892. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company. Directors: Samuel Briggs (Managing Director), C. Howard Tripp (Chairman), H. G. Butt, A. H. Dudney, Dr. Henri Van Laer (Technical Director). Manager and Secretary: Arthur H. Dudney. Speciality: Pitching Yeast for Brewers' use. Patent: For Preserving Yeast for export. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 82 (National), Burton-on-Trent. Telegraphic Address: " Yeast, Burton-on-Trent." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

BRITISH THOMSON HOUSTON CO., Ltd. (THE), Electrical Engineers and Manufacturers of Apparatus and Supplies for Electric Traction, Lighting, and Power, Rugby. Hours of Business: Works, 7.15 a.m. to 5.45 p.m.; Mondays, from 7.30 a.m.; Saturdays, 7.15 a.m. to 12; Office, 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1889 as The Laing, Wharton and Down Construction Syndicate. Reconstructed in 1896. Directors: H. C. Levis (Managing Director), J. F. Nauheim (Chairman), C. Burrell, C. A. Coffin, G. Franklin, E. W. Rice (junior), 0. H. Smith, E. Thurnauer, H. N. Sporborg, and W. C. Lusk. Secretary: F. Fraser. Assistant Secretary: A. Clements. Premises: Very extensive. Site at Rugby covers. thirty-nine acres. Total floor space about 700,000 square feet. Stag: 5600. Stall Clubs: Thomson Houston Athletic. Large and well-equipped club grounds. B.T.H. Girls' Social Club. Branches: Birmingham, Cardiff, Glasgow, London, Manchester, Middlesbrough, Newcastle, Leeds, Sheffield, Swansea, Dublin, Coventry, Willesden. Specialities: " Curtis" Turbines, Horizontal and Vertical Type, " Mazda " Metallic Filament Drawn Wire Lamp, Railway and Tramway Equipments. Patents: All Rights for the United Kingdom of the Allgemeine Elektricitats Gesellschaft, Berlin, French Thomson-Houston Co., Paris, and General Electric Co. of New York, including the Curtis Turbine Patents and the Winter Eichberg Patents relating to single-phase operation of Railways, as used on the L.B. and S.C. Railway Electrification. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 54 Rugby; No. 2135 City, London. Telegraphic Address: " Asteroidal," for all Offices. Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd., Lloyds Bank Limited, and the Comptoir National d'Escompte de Paris.

BRITISH THREAD COMPANY (THE), Sewing Cotton and Thread Manufacturers, Trafford Mills, Clyde Street, Leicester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1905. Present Principals: Herbert Etchells, Tom Oram, Wm. E. Hall. Specialities: Sewing Cotton and Thread. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1249 Leicester. Telegraphic Address: " Strength, Leicester." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. (Leicester).

BRITISH VACUUM CLEANER CO., Ltd. (THE), Carpet Cleaners, 25, Victoria Street, Westminster, S.W.; Head and Registered Offices and Works: Parson's Green Lane, Fulham, London, S.W. West End Show• rooms: 95, Wigmore Street, W. Northern Office: 38, New Briggate, Leeds. Dublin, 9A, Trinity Street. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. for staff; 6 a.m . to 6 p.m. for works. Established in 1902. Incorporated as a Company in 1903. Directors: H. Cecil Booth, M.I.C.E. (Chairman), C. F. Hitchins, M.I.Mec.E., M.I.N.A. (Managing Director), F. Clench, 0. P. Gray. Speciality: Freeing Carpets and Upholstered Goods from Dust. Awards: At leading Exhibitions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: No. 2470 Putney (four linos), for Head Offices; No. 3014 Mayfair, for West End Showroom. Telegraphic Address: " Vacuumiser, London."

BRITISH WESTINGHOUSE ELECTRIC AND MANUFACTURING CO., Ltd., Electrical Engineers, Contractors and Manufacturers of Machinery and Apparatus for Central Power Stations, Manufacturers of Machinery and Apparatus for Power Traction, Lighting, &c., Westinghouse Building, Norfolk Street, Strand, London, W.C. Works: Trafford Park, Manchester. Hours of Business: Offices, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Works, 7 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1899 by George Westinghouse. Incorporated as a Limited Company in the same year. Directors: J. Annan Bryce, M.P. (Chairman), W. W. Blunt, E. A. Goulding, M.P., Lieut.-Col. Montagu Cradock, C.B., N. B. Dickson, P. A. Lange (Managing Director). Secretary and Treasurer: Arthur E. Scans. Premises: The works cover 150 acres. Staff: Works, about 7,000; Offices, about 300. Branches: Birmingham; Cardiff; Glasgow; Manchester; Newcastle-on-Tyne; Sheffield; Calcutta; Johannesburg; Melbourne. Specialities: The Manufacture of Machinery and Apparatus for Central Power Stations, for Power, Traction, Lighting, &c. One of the most important undertakings in the country. Have patented a large number of inventions of great utility. Connection: World-wide. Are represented in every foreign country. Telephones: London, No. 3261 Gerrard; Manchester, No. 190 Trafford Park. Telegraphic Addresses: "Multiphase, London "; " Westinghouse, Manchester." Codes: Westinghouse, Lieber.

BRITISH XYLONITE CO., Ltd. (THE), Manufacturers of Xylonite (Celluloid) and Xylonite Articles. Chief Office and Works, Hale End, London. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1877. Directors: A. D. Mackay, T. Eustace Smith, C. B. Brooke, C. P. Merriam (Managing Director), H. J. Brown, E. W. Coubrough, C. F. Merriam. Works also at Brantham, near Manningtree. Staff: 2400. Staff Clubs: Sick, Savings Bank and Athletic. Branches: Manchester, 2, Nicholas Croft, High Street; Sheffield, 29, Carver Street; London, 27, Milton Street, E.C. Specialities: Xylonite (Celluloid) Raw Material, Xylonite Combs, Brushes, Toilet, Articles, Collars, Cuffs, Knife Handles and various Sundries. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 45 Walthamstow (three lines), Hale End; No. 1668 London Wall (Milton Street). Telegraphic Addresses; "Xylonite," London, Manningtree, Manchester, Paris, Nurnberg, Vienna, and New York.

BRITON FERRY STEEL CO., Ltd. (THE), Steel Manufacturers, Briton Ferry, Glamorgan. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to. 5 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1889. Directors: Herbert Eccles (Managing Director and Chairman), Lewis Jenkins, J.P., J. E. R. Thomas, John M. Bevan and Henry Clement. Premises: Extensive well equipped works. Staff: About 450. Staff Clubs: Cricket and Bowling, with club houses, &c. Speciality: Soft Steel. Telephone: No. 48 Briton Ferry. Telegraphic Address: " Ingot, Briton Ferry." Mr. Herbert Eccles was High Sheriff of Glamorgan in 1905 to 1906, and is Chairman of the South Wales Siemens Steel Masters Association.

BRITTAINS, Ltd., Paper Manufacturers, Cheddleton Paper Mills, near Leek, Staffs. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1855 by Thomas Brittain (successor to the Fourdriniers, inventors of the Paper Machine). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Directors: Fred Haigh (Chairman), J. Cecil Clay, Thomas A. Brittain, J. Steele and Alfred Haigh. Registered Office: Ivy House Paper Mills, Hanley, Staffs. Specialities: Pottery Tissues, Duplex and Simplex Lithographic Transfer Papers (for Ceramic Multi-colour Printing), Thin Gauze Copyings and other Fine Tissues. Connection: United Kingdom and Abroad. Telephone: No. 739 Potteries, Central. Telegraphic Addresses: " Brittains, Cheddleton "; " Brittains, Hanley." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank, Ltd., Leek; National Provincial Bank, Ltd., Hanley.

BROAD & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Bricks, Portland Cement, Firegoods, &c., Sanitary Specialists, 4, South Wharf, Paddington, London, W. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1882. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: G. Harris (Chairman), A. G. Harris, P. M. Harris (Managing Directors), Maurice P. Harris. Premises: Offices and Depots on River Thames, Railways, and Grand Junction Canal. Staff: Large. Specialities: Sanitary Fittings, Bricks, Cement, Firegoods. Telephones: No. 8 Paddington (Head Office); No. 187 Hop (Blackfriars Wharf), No. 4215 Hampstead (L. & N.W. Rly.), No. 3 Yiewsley (West Drayton). Telegraphic Address: " Broadanco, London."

BROADBENT BROTHERS, Worsted Spinners, Upper Spen Mills, Gomersal (via Leeds). Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1902 by Herbert W. Broadbent and Ernest C. Broadbent. Present Principal: H. W. Broadbent. Staff: Large and increasing. Specialities: Fine and extra-fine Yarns for Warps and Weft, on spool, cheese, beam, &c., in hank, from Australasian Wools of quality and staple suitable for the finest Coatings, Linings, and Cashmere Goods; also makers of the finest Noils. Connection: Home trade chiefly. Telephone: No. 14 Cleckheaton. Telegrams: Broadbent Bros., Gomersal. Railway Stations: Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway Co., and London and North-Western Railway Company (Cleckheaton) Great Northern Railway Company (Birkenshaw). Mr. H. W. Broadbent is Chairman of the Gomersal Council.

BROADBENT (JOHN) & SON, Woollen Merchants and Manufacturers, Parkwood Mills, Longwood, Huddersfield. Hours of Business: 7.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1796 by John Broadbent (grandfather of present partners). Succeeded by (1) John Broadbent, Joseph Broadbent, and James Broadbent (sons); (2) John Broadbent and Butterworth:Broadbent (son). Present Principals::Benjamin Broadbent, M.A., J.P., and Arthur Broadbent. Premises: Large Warehouse at Parkwood Mills. Branch: Manchester. Specialities: All class of goods for Tailoring and Wholesale Clothing Trades. Specialists in Dyeing and Finishing of Worsted and Serges. Patent: For the purification of trade waste waters at a profit. Connection: United Kingdom chiefly; Colonial, small. Telephone: No. 10 Milnsbridge. Telegraphic Address: " Broadbents, Longwood." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

BROADBENT, T. W., LIMITED, Electrical Manufacturers and Contractors, Victoria Electrical Works, East Parade, Huddersfield. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 7 a.m. to 11.30 a.m. Established in 1891 by T. W. Broadbent. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Directors: T. W. Broadbent (Managing Director), F. W. Davies, G. A. Broadbent. Scottish Agency: 199, St. Vincent Street, Glasgow. Premises: Present works started in 1898. Specialities: Generators and Motors for Continuous and Alternating Currents, Motor Starters, Switchboards. and Switches. Also Installation work. Connection: United Kingdom, South Africa, India, Australia, New Zealand. Telephone: No. 371 Huddersfield. Telegrams:" Broadbent, Electrician, Huddersfield." Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd.

BROADWAY DAMASK CO., Ltd., Linen Damask Manufacturers, Broadway, Belfast. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established by Gamble, Shillington & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1877. Directors: James Gamble (Chairman), T. Courtenay Shillington, Robert Hetherington. Premises: Cover six acres. Staff: 800. Staff Club: Working Men's. Branches: Manchester; London; New York. Business: Manufacture of Damasks. Patent: Jacquard Machine. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 3335 Belfast; No. 8315 Bank, London; No. 7810 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Addresses: "Broadway, Belfast "; " Broadman, Manchester"; " Broadfast, London"; " Vahido, New York." Bankers: Bank of England, London; Northern Banking Co., Ltd., Belfast.

BROADWOOD (JOHN) & SONS, Ltd., Pianoforte Manufacturers, Conduit Street, London, W. Established about 1730 by Burckhardt Tschudi, who came to London from Switzerland, and became harpsichord maker to the Royal Family. He was succeeded on his retirement (circa 1773), by John Broadwood, who began his career in Tschudi's workshops, and whose name is associated with the production of the first " grand " pianoforte made in London, embodying the action devised by Backers with his (Broadwood's) assistance. The house of Broadwood has since then maintained a place among the foremost pianoforte manufacturers of the world, and its clientele has included many of the great masters of music (notably Mozart, Haydn, Beethoven, and Chopin), as well as leading virtuosi of modern times. Premises: In Conduit Street, were specially built to meet the modern requirements of the business, and include a salon for recitals, &c. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment as Pianoforte Makers to their Majesties the King and Queen, and to H.M. Queen Alexandra. Telephones: Nos. 2534 and 3883 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Broadwoods, London."

BROCK, C. T., & CO.'S "CRYSTAL PALACE" FIREWORKS, Ltd., Manufactory, Sutton, Surrey. Hours of Business: (Office) 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1725. Is probably the oldest firm of the kind, and one of the largest and most influential in the world. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Director: Arthur Brock, pyrotechnist to H.M. King George the Fifth, H.M. King Edward the Seventh, and H.M. the King of Spain; practically the sole proprietor of the business; represents the seventh generation of Brocks, in direct line of succession, in the art and industry of pyrotechny. Premises: Factory at Sutton, on a property of about 200 acres—a model firework manufactory, organised to maintain an output of thousands of tons annually ( 1 ) of Fireworks for every known purpose, (2) requisites for Illuminations upon any scale, (3) Christmas Cosaques, with novel contents of value, (4) Exhibition and Streets Decoration Material. Stag: Up to 600 hands in busy time. Branches: 109, Cheapside, and 154, Whitechapel Road, London; at Gravesend; and at 3, Amber Street, Shudehill, Manchester. Agencies: About 10,000 in the United Kingdom, European Continent, India, Africa, United States, South America. Specialities: Every description of Fireworks; Daylight Fireworks, with toy distribution by bombs; great Exhibition Firework Displays with novel effects; Illumination of Cities, MansionQ, Parks, &c., by Lamps of Novel, Artistic Colour, and specially made Japanese Lanterns Shipping, Alarm, Signal, and Miniature Fireworks, Fireworks for amateurs and for home use; Line-carrying Life -savina Rockets Public Decorations by Flags, Banners, &c. Are famous in connection with the Crystal Palace Firework Displays, 1865 to 1910, which have been witnessed by practically every Royal and distinguished visitor to England. Telephones: Nos. 281 and 873 Sutton. Telegraphic Address: " Fireworks, Sutton." Codes: A B C (5th Edition); Premier.

BROCK, H. N., Blouse Maker, South Street, Romford. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1910 by H. N. Brock, the present principal. Staff: Over 100. 'Specialities: In Blouses. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1 Romford. Telegraphic Address " Brock, Romford." Bankers: London and Provincial Bank, Ltd. (Romford).

BROCKHOUSE, J., CO., Ltd., Axle and Ironwork Manufacturers, Victoria Works, West Bromwich, Alma Street, Birmingham, and The Bridge, Wednesbury. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1880 by J. Brockhouse, J.P. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: J. Brockhouse (Managing Director), Sir James Smith. Premises: Three large factories. Staff: 700. Business: Makers of Motor, Carriage, and Van Springs, Axles and Ironwork. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (War Office), English and Crown Colony Railways. Telephones: No. 228 (two lines) West Bromwich; No. 48 (Northern) Birmingham • No. 10 Wednesbury. Telegraphic Address: " Brockhouse, West Bromwich."

BROCKLEBANK, THOS. & JNO., Ltd., Anchor-Brocklebank Line, Shipowners, Royal Liver Building, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: Sir Aubrey Brocklebank, Bart. (Chairman), Sir Percy E. Bates, Bart., F. A. Bates, D. H. Bates, A. A. Booth, Captain J. J. Brocklebank, T. Geoffrey Brocklebank, A. C. F. Henderson and T. Royden. Claim to be the oldest company trading to Calcutta, having maintained an unbroken service to that port since 1813, the year when the trade monopoly of the East India Company was abolished. Agencies: London, Alex. Howden & Co., 50, Lime Street, E.C.; Anchor Line (Henderson Bros.), Ltd., 4, St. Mary Axe, E.C.; Manchester, Anchor Line (Henderson Bros.), Ltd., 64, Cross Street; Glasgow, Anchor Line (Henderson Bros.), Ltd., Anchor Line Buildings, St. Vincent Place; Dundee, Anchor Line (Henderson Bros.), Ltd., 52, Commercial Street; Birmingham, Morison, Pollexfen & Blair, Ltd., 6, Victoria Square; Bradford, Bahr Behrend & Co., 6, Forster Square; Sheffield, G. A. Woodcock, 43, Tho Wicker; Leeds, J. Woodcock, 46, Royal Exchange; Newport (Mon.), Jones, Heard & Co., Ltd.; Cardiff, Guthrie, Heywood & Co.; and Belfast, James Little & Co. Business: Steamers regularly despatched to Calcutta at intervals of nine days from Liverpool, and of sixteen days from Glasgow, via Liverpool. Telephone: No. 8760 Bank, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Brocklebank, Liverpool." Cable Address: " Baronet, Liverpool." Codes: Bentley's, Scott's (10th Edition), and A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd. (Liverpool).

BROCKLEBANK (THOMAS) & SONS, Bobbin Manufacturers, Forge Mills, Caton, near Lancaster. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5.40 p.m.; Office, 8.30 a.m. to 4 p.m. Established in 1869 by Thomas Brocklebank and his three sons. Continued by (1) Thomas Brocklebank, Benjamin Brocklobank, T. Harrison Brocklebank, and Amos Brocklebank; (2) Benjamin Brocklebank, T. Harrison Brocklebank, and Amos Brocklebank; (3) T. Harrison Brocklebank, and Ernest Brocklebank (son of T. H. Brocklebank ). Present Principal: Ernest Brocklebank, J.P. (since 1905). Premises: Works and Stock Yard for Timber, covering two acres. Specialities: Bobbins for holding Sewing Threads, Electric Wire, &c., Handles and General Turned Wood Goods. Patent: Machinery for the Manufacture of Bobbins. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Telephone: No. 18 Caton. Telegraphic Address:" Brocklebank, Caton." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank, Ltd. (Lancaster). Mr. Ernest Brocklebank is a Justice of the Peace for Lancashire, member of Lunesdale District Council, Chairman of Caton Parish Council, Trustee of Caton Institute, and a Trustee of Berrys Charity, Caton, and Vice-President of Lancaster Cricket Club, and Lancs. Agricultural Society.

BROCKLEHURST, J. & T., & SONS (1911), Ltd., Silk Spinners, Throwsters and Manufacturers, Hurdsfield Mills, Macclesfield. Central House: Noble Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1745. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1911. Directors: R. B. Hopkins, W. Newbigging, C. Scarth, and H. M. Welch. Staff: 1200. Specialities: Dress Materials and all kinds of Spun and Thrown Silks. Awards: Gold Medal, Paris, 1878; Grand Prix, Brussels, 1910. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 224 Macclesfield; No. 33 Central, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Brock, Macclesfield "; " Ancient, London."

BROGDEN & CO., Wool Merchants, 200, Leeds Road, Bradford. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1879 by John Brogden. Present Principal: John Henry Brogden. Specialities: Wools, Tops, Noils, Wastes, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 713 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Brogden, Bradford." Bankers: Halifax Commercial Banking Co., Ltd. (Bradford).

BRONNER, MUSSETT & CO., General Merchants, 109, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1904 by L. A. d'Aubigny d'Engelbronner and J. D. Mussett. The partnership was dissolved in April, 1909, when Mr. d'Engelbronner retired, and the business was taken over by J. D. Mussett, the present principal. The name of the firm remains unaltered. Business: General Merchants. Exporters to the Far East and the Colonies; Commission Agents; Produce Importers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1722 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Orientness, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Fenchurch Street, E.C. ).

BROOK MANUFACTURING CO., Ladies' Skirt and Blouse Manufacturers, Clarke Road, Northampton. Flours of Business: 7.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1898 by Arthur W. Frisby, Thomas Frisby, and George A. Smith, the present principals. Premises cover about 60,000 square feet of floor space, half an acre of ground, fully equipped with all the latest improvements. Started business with fifty machines in one small factory; now have about 900 machines. Staff: About 1,000. Business: Manufacture of Ladies' Skirts and Blouses and Blouse Robes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 229 Northampton. Telegraphic Address: "Pinafores, Northampton." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Northampton).

BROOKE & PRUDENCIO, LIMITED, Manufacturers of the Highest-class Aerated Waters, Fruit Syrups, Cordials, &c., Neptune Works, 124, 126, 128, 130, 132, Newfoundland Road and Clement Street, Bristol. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. (later if necessary). Established in 1856 by Thomas Brooke. Continued in 1874 by Francisco Prudencio, trading as Batten & Prudencio. Joined in partnership in 1886 by John Wilcox and Francis Antonius Cotterell, at Ninetree Hill, Bristol. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1889. Directors: Past—James Dole (Chairman), Henry T. Gratte, Thomas Brooke, John Wilcox, Francisco Prudencio, William Stevens, and Alderman Charles Newth, J.P. Present—C. Arragon Stevens (Chairman), Francis A. Cotterell (Managing Director), and C. B. P. Ball. Premises: Large block of buildings in a populous Bristol suburb, equipped with best modern machinery. Staff: Counting House, nine; Representatives, four; Hands, eighty to 100. Specialities: The best form of Aerated Waters, Fruit Syrups, Cordials, and Flavouring Extracts, in which all ingredients are direct and genuine Fruit and other products. Registered Trade-mark: Neptune with Trident, Dolphin, Anchor, and Monogram, enclosed in a double circle uniting the lottcTs BP, each of which is inscribed with the name of which it is the initial letter. Connection: United Kingdom, Export. Telephone: No. 4.46 Bristol. Telegraphic Address: " Neptune, Bristol." Bankers: Stuckey's Banking Co., Ltd., Bristol.

BROOKES, J. & H., Manufacturers of Metallic Bedsteads and Safes, Cape Works, near Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1866. Present Principals: Henry James Brookes, Sydney Payne Brookes, William Arthur Brookes. Premises: Cover about three acres. Specialities: Iron, Brass and Iron, and all-Brass Bedsteads; also Fire and Burglar-Resisting Safes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 43 Smethwick. Telegraphic Address: " Emerald, Birmingham." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Colmore Row, Birmingham).

BROOKES, J. W. (OLDBURY), Ltd., Engineers, Rounds Green, Oldbury, near Birmingham. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1887. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Directors: Samuel Chapman (Managing Director), Joseph Parkes and Joseph James Parkes. Works Manager: Frank Brookes. Secretary: W. Wilson. Staff: About forty. Specialities: Brickmaking Machinery and Iron Foundry; all, kinds of Castings in connection with Brickmaking Machinery and General Engineering. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 70 Oldbury. Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. (Oldbury).

BROOKES, Ltd. Branches: Joseph Brooke & Sons, Hard York Nonslip Stone Co. Granite Department: Brick and Fireclay Works, Brookes Granite Co., Ltd.; Guernsey, A/S Brookes' Granite Company; Norway, A/B Brookes' Granite Co.; Sweden, Hipperholme; Halifax, Yorks. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1840 by Joseph Brooke. Continued by Aspinall Brooke, Newton Brooke and Willie Brooke. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: Newton Brooke (Chairman and Managing Director), Aspinall Brooke, Frank Brooke, W. D. Forsdike, and A. Taylor. Branches: London, Caxton House, Westminster, S.W.; Manchester, 8A, Exchange Street; Aberdeen, Pittodrie Street; St. Sampsons, Crevalt House; Fredrikshald, Norway, and Halle, Sweden. One of the most important firms in the trade. Specialities Hard York Stone, " Silex " (Joseph Brooke & Sons) Nonslip Stone for Pavings, Steps, and Landings (Hard York Nonslip Stone Co.), Granite Setts, Macadam, Kerbs, Granite for Dock Architectural Work, " Granolite " and " Perfecta " Pavings (Brookes, Ltd.), Glazed Bricks, Tiles, &c., Firebricks and Linings for Coke and Bye Products Ovens, Refractory Goods for Glass, Gas and Chemical Works (Brick and Fireclay Works). Patent: " Silex" Brand, Hard York Stone, " Nonslip " Stone. Connection: United Kingdom, Scandinavia, Continental and South America. Telephones: Nos. 10, 11 and 30 Lightcliffe; Nos. 4622 and 4623 Victoria; No. 7209 King's Cross; No. 5805 Central, Manchester; No. 315 Fredrikshald. Telegraphic Addresses: "Brookes, Halifax "; "Pitchstone, London " • " Nonslip, Manchester "; " Brookes, Fredrikshald '; " Granite, St. Sampson." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

BROOKFIELD LINEN CO., Ltd., Flax Spinners, Linen Manufacturers, Bleachers and Merchants. Head Office: 28 and 30, Donegan Street, Belfast. Spinning Mill and Factories, also Finishing Works at Brookfield. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1851 by Johnston & Carlisle. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1866. Directors: John Rogers (Chairman), J. S. Herdman and John C. McClung (Managing Directors) Premises: Very extensive, containing 24,000 Spindles and 1500 Looms. Staff: 3200. Business: All the operations required to transform the raw material into the finished article, are performed in their own works. Patents: Various in connection with. Spinning, Weaving and Finishing. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: Nos. 161 and 162 Belfast (Head Office). Telegraphic Address: " Brookfield, • Belfast." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Belfast Banking Co., Ltd.

BROOKS & DOXEY, Ltd., Makers of Textile Machinery, Manchester. Registered Offices: Union Iron Works, West Gorton. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Town Office: 15, Market Street. Established in 1859 by the late Samuel Brooks (d. 1886); carried on by his executors to 1891. From that year to 1895 by S. H. Brooks (son of founder) in co-partnership with R. A. Doxey as Brooks & Doxey. On the death of R. A. Doxey, in 1895, F. G. Goodbehere was admitted into partnership. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: S. H. Brooks (Chairman), F. G. Goodbehere (Maiiaging Director), Jas. Brown, J. P. B. Glossop, Eric Goodbehere. Premises: Works at West Gorton, together with branch works at Junction Iron Works, Miles Platting, cover fifteen acres. Staff: 2,500. Agents: For North Germany and Bavaria (also the Austrian States of Bohemia, Moravia, and Silesia), S. Schwenzke, Leibnizstrasse 20, Leipzig. For Switzerland, Alsace-Lorraine, Baden, Wfirttemberg, Tyrol, and Vorarlberg, Goo dbehere Bros., Dornacherstrasso 39, Basle. For Westphalia and Rhenish Prussia, Walter Kuhlen, P.O. Box 222 (Ludes. Loewe Haus), Ditveldorf. For Austria-Hungary (excepting Vorarlberg, Tyrol, Bohemia, Moravia, and Silesia), Carl Bellak, IX, Schwarzspanierstrasse 4,Vienna. For France and Belgium, Suttill & Delerivo, 15, Rue du Sec-Arembault, Lille (Nord). For Italy, Ing. V. Caldorara, Via Bigli 9, Milan. For Russia, Ernest Grether & Co., Manchester. For Poland, F. Arnold, Mikolajewska 29, Lodz. For Norway and Sweden, E. Grether & Co., 5, Blackfriars Street, Manchoster, and John A. Thulin & Co., Norrki;ping, Sweden. For Spain, Gottschalk Hermanos, Ali Boy 1 (Ronda S. Pedro), Barcelona. For Oporto district, E. Pfeill, Rua Formosa 400-1°, Porto. For India, Sorabjee, Shapurjee & Co., Remington Buildings, 16, Apollo Street, Fort, Bombay. For Greece, Ch. Chrissafidis, Quai T. Moutzopoulos, 93, Piree. r For Japan, C. Mies & Co., Hamburg, Tokio, Yokohama, &c. For Brazil, John F. Glossop, Rua S. Pedro 67, Rio do Janeiro. For Mexico, J. M. Anderson, Apartado 813, Mexico City. Specialities: The Manufacture and Equipment of all Machinery for Complete Cotton-Spinning Mills, Doubling Mills, and Sewing Thread Mills; also Woollen and Cotton Waste Machinery. Have patented many valuable inventions by members of the firm and staff, besides holding many which have been purchased or worked on royalty, and are under sole control of the Company. Awards: Grand Prix, Turin, 1911; Grand Prix, Paris, 1900; Highest Awards New Orleans, Antwerp, London, Barcelona, for Improvements in Cotton Machinery. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 605 City (4 lines). Telegraphic Address: " Union, Manchester." Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. (St. Ann's Street Branch, Manchester).

BROOKS, J. B., & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Cycle Saddles, every description of Leather Goods; also many motor Specialities, Criterion Works, Great Charles Street, Birmingham, and Criterion House 11, Grape Street, Shaftesbury Avenue, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1866 by J. B. Brooks (the present Chairman). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: J. B. Brooks (Chairman), Sir Henry Wiggin, Bart., Sir Hallowell Rogers, A. C. Johnson and Boultbee Brooks. Premises: Consist of four-storey factory, covering 4000 square yards. Equipped with up-to-date appliances throughout. Staff: 600 to 700. Specialities: Cycle Saddles, Motor Cycle Saddles, every description of Leather Goods, Motor Car Trunks, and other accessories. Patents Numerous for Cycle and Motor Saddles. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3670 (six lines) Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Addresses: " Brooks, Birmingham "; " Buttide, Westcent, London." Codes: A B C, A 1. Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. (Colmore Row, Birmingham).

BROOKS, JOSEPH R., Slipper Manufacturer, Gordon Slipper Works, Waterfoot, near Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1884. Present Principal: Joseph R. Brooks. Specialities Slippers in great variety and all classes; in Leather, Felt, Arctic and Camel Hair Cloths, also in Velvet. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 10 Waterfoot. Telegraphic Address " Brooks, Waterfoot." Cable Address: " Brooks, Waterfoot, England." Code: Western Union. Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd.

BROOKS (SHIRLEY), Ltd., Army and Territorial Contractors, 41 and 42, Artillery Place, Woolwich. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.; Thursdays, close at 1 p.m. ' • Fridays, 9 p.m. ' • Saturdays, 10 p.m. Established about 1855 by J. Haslett. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Secretary: H. J. Joyce. Business: Army Contracts and Military Outfits. Connection: Canada, India, South Africa, &c. (extensive). Telephone: No. 60 Woolwich. Telegraphic Address: " Shirley Brooks, Woolwich." Bankers: London and Provincial Bank, Ltd.

BROOKS, THOMAS & CO., Ltd., Builders' Providers, 4, Sackville Place, Dublin. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1832 by Maurice Brooks, D.L., J.P., M.P. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1880. Reconstructed in 1898 and shares issued to the public. Directors: Richard Keene Gamble, J.P. (Chairman), Frank H. Warnock, T. Noel Hutton, E. Clive Brooks, Alexander J. Wallace. Premises: Cover 160,000 square feet. Staff: 400. Branches: Marlboro' Street, Lower Abbey Street, Beresiord Place, Lower Gardiner Street, Foley Street, Potters Alley, and Marlboro' Place, Dublin. Specialities: Ironmongery, Plumbing Materials, Electric Light and Bell-fittings, Oil and Colours, Wall Papers, " Frugal " Kitchen Ranges and Grates, Sanitary Goods, Window Glass, Timber Importers, Saw Mills and Steam Joinery Works, Cement (" Red Lion " Brand), Fireclay Goods, Slates, Killaloe, Welsh, &c., Steel Joists, Galvanized Sheets. Connection: Ireland. Telephone: No. 3351 Dublin (seven lines and private branch exchange). Telegraphic Address: " Brooks, Dublin." Bankers: Royal Bank of Ireland. Mr. Maurice Brooks was Lord Mayor of Dublin in 1874, a member of Parliament for Dublin City, 1874 to 1886, a Justice of the Peace for the City and Deputy-Lieutenant for the County of Dublin. Mr. Richard K. Gamble is a Justice of the Peace for the City of Dublin, and Honorary Secretary of the Dublin Chamber of Commerce.

BROOKS, WILLIAM, Glove Manufacturer, Stoke-under-Ham. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1894 by William Brooks, the present principal. Staff: 100. Specialities: Washing Leather Goods, Housemaids' Gloves, Gauntlets, &c. Bankers: Stuckeys and Parr's Bank, Ltd. (Yeovil).

BROTHERHOOD, PETER, Ltd., Engineers, Peterborough; London Office, 53, Parliament Street, Westminster, S.W. Established in 1867 by Kittoe & Brotherhood at Clerkenwell, E.C. Partnership Successions: (1) Peter Brotherhood and Hardingham (1873); (2) Peter Brotherhood (1878) died 1902; (3) Stanley Brotherhood (1902) the present Governing Director of the business, which was converted into a Private Limited Liability Company, 1907. Premises: Extensive Works at Peterborough, equipped with machinery and appliances of the latest character. Staff: About 850. One of the leading firms of Engineers for High Speed Engines, Steam Turbines, Air Compressors, Fans, and Fan Engines. Hold many Patents relating to same. Contractors to H.M. Government and the principal Foreign Governments, Foreign Merchants, &c. Telephones: No. 70 Peterborough; No. 4683 Victoria. Telegraphic Address: " Brotherhood," London and Peterborough.

BROTHERTON & CO., Ltd., Ammonia and Tar Distillers. General Offices: City Chambers, Leeds. Ammonia Works; Birmingham, Glasgow, Leeds, Wakefield. Acid Works: Birmingham, Workington. • Tar Works: Glasgow, Leeds, Liverpool, Sunderland, Workington. Oil Storage Tanks: Birkenhead, Sunderland. Depots: Grimsby, Stockport. Established in 1878 by Edward Allen Brotherton. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company, January, 1902. Directors: Edward Allen Brotherton (Chairman ), John Wyld, Charles Frederick Ratcliffe, Alexander Robert Fraser. The largest concern in the kingdom engaged in the manufacture of Ammonia and Tar Products. The combined Works occupy fully 200 acres. Staff: About 1,500 in all. (The Company has instituted a Service Share Scheme, giving employees spacial facilities and inducements to take up shares, as well as a Pension Scheme. It has also its own Approved Society under the National Health Insurance Act.) Connection: United Kingdom, America, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: (General Offices) No. 1608 (10 lines) Leeds. Telegraphic Address: "Brotherton, Leeds." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Leeds). Mr. Edward Allen Brotherton was M.P. for Wakefield from 1902 to 1910; Mayor of Wakefield, 1902-3; and is Lord Mayor of Leeds, 1913-14.

BROTHERTON (JOHN), LIMITED, Tube Manufacturers, Imperial Tube Works, Monmore Green, Wolverhampton. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1861 by John Brotherton. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1886. Directors: R. Thomas, J.P. (Chairman), W. H. Underhill, John W. Crosby, John Magee, J. A. Lloyd, J.P. (Managing Director). Premises: Cover about six acres. Staff: 400. Branches: • Offices at London, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Specialities: Wrought Iron and Steel Tubes and Fittings, Coils, Oil Line Pipe, &c. Patent: Loose Flange Joint Tube. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: Nos. 22 and 51 Wolverhampton. Telegraphic Address: " Imperial, Wolverhampton."

BROUGH, NICHOLSON & HALL, Ltd., Manufacturers of Sewing Silks and Twists, &c., Leek, Staffs. London Office: 112, Wood Street, E.C. Branch Mill: Cheadle, Staffs. Hours of Business: . Usual. Established in 1815- by John Brough. Continued by (1) Jno. Brough & Co.; (2) J. & J. Brough. & Co.; (3) Brough, Nicholson & Hall. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Sir Arthur Nicholson and John Hall (Managing Directors), Alfred Moore, Joseph Tatton, J. Howe Hall, George H. Hall, John Povey, A. Falkner Nicholson, Bernard R. Hall and Henry Salt (Secretary). Premises: Very extensive, occupy six mills with largo weaving Sheds, &c. Staff: Nearly 2000. Staff Club: Cricket and Football. Specialities: All kinds of Sewing and other Silks and Twists. Registered Brands: Cozilka Embroidery, Braids, Bindings, Trimmings and Cords, Webs, Named Bands, Labels, Boot and Shoe Laces, Buttons, Tailors' Linings, Neckwear and Knitted Goods. Patents and Inventions: Many. Awards: Medal, London, 1851; Paris, 1862 and 1878 Amsterdam. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 3 Leek; No. 8455 Bank, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Broughs, Leek "; " Silkmill, London." Codes: A B C, Western Union. Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank, Ltd. (Leek and London). The Directors hold numerous public offices.

BROUGHTON COPPER CO., Ltd., Copper, Brass and Bronze Manufacturers, Broughton-Copper Works, Manchester; 6, Broad Street Place, London, E.C.; and Branches. Telegraphic Addresses: " Copper Co.," Manchester and London.

BROWN (ALFRED) & SONS, Woollen and Manchester Warehousemen, 77 and 78, St. Martin's Lane, and 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, and 31, Cranbourne Street, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1826 by Charles Meeking. Continued by Alfred Brown, Charles Brown and Robert A. Brown. Present Principals: Alfred Brown and Robert A. Brown. Premises: Lately occupied by James Platt, trading since 1850 as James Platt & Co. Staff: About eighty. Specialities: Supply of all requirements of Tailors at Home and Abroad. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 193, 312 and 9638 (Central), London. Telegraphic Address: " Cranbourne, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, 'Ltd. Mr. R. A. Brown is a member of the Armouries and Braziers Livery Co. Clubs: Royal Automobile, National Liberal, and Bath, Chislehurst Golf.

BROWN (A. R.), McFARLANE & CO., Ltd., Iron and Steel and Eastern Merchants, Consulting Engineers, and Naval Architects, 19, St. Vincent Place, Glasgow. Established in 1892 by A. R. Brown. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: E. A. Brown (Chairman), A. Scott Younger, B.Sc., M.I.N.A., James Dick, and William Fulton. Staff: Forty-eight. Business: Iron and Steel and Eastern Merchants, Consulting Engineers, &c. Are Agents for the Japan Mail Steamship Co. and the Tokyo Marine Insurance Co., Ltd. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 9946 Central (five lines). Telegraphic Address: "Nemesis, Glasgow." Codes: A 1; A B C (4th and 5th Editions); Lieber's,. Western Union; Engineering; Bentley's. Bankers: British Linen Bank; Yokohama Specie Bank. Mr. A. Scott Younger is Honorary Consul for Japan.

BROWN, BAYLEY'S STEEL WORKS, Ltd., Steel Manufacturers, Sheffield. London Office: 5, Laurence Pountney Hill, Cannon Street, E.C. Directors: Robert Armitage, M.P. (Chairman), Sir Wm. C. Plowden, K.C.S.I., Wm. Jas. Armitage, D. M. Fox, Lord Ernest Hamilton. Speciality: - Railway Material, as Tyres, Axles, Springs, &c. Awards: Gold Medal, Paris, 1878; Gold Medal, Sydney, 1879. Connection: United Kingdom, India, and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 82 and 83 Sheffield; No. 8232 Bank, London. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Bayley, Sheffield "; " Bali, London." Mr. Robert Armitage is Member of Parliament for Central Leeds, and was Lord Mayor of Leeds in 1905.

BROWN BROTHERS, Ltd., Wholesale Cycle and Motor Material Manufacturers and Merchants, 22-34, Great Eastern Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1888 by John S. Brown, Albert Brown, and Ernest Brown. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: Walter Chamberlain (Chairman), John S. Brown, Albert Brown and Ernest Brown (Managing Directors). Staff: About 350. Branches: Manchester, Paris, and Newman Street, London, W. Specialities: Motor Cycles, Parts, and Accessories; Cycle Fittings and Accessories; Tools for Motors, &c. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 6300 London Wall; No. 5275 Manchester; No. 3397 Gerrard (for Newman Street). Telegraphic and Cable Addresses " Imbrowned, Norton, London " (for Head Office); " Submotoris, London " (for Newman Street); " Broncho, Manchester "; " Albruna, Paris." Codes: Lieber's; A B C (4th and 5th Editions); Premier.

BROWN & CO. (CHESTER), Ltd., Drapers, Complete Furnishers, House Agents and Auctioneers. Shops and Showrooms: Eastgate Row. Works: Newgate Street. Warehouse: Duke Street and Northgate Street, Chester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Wednesdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1796 by Sarah Brown. Partnership Successions: (1) W. & H. Brown; (2) W. & C. Brown; (3) Brown, Holmes & Co.; (4) Brown & Lamont; (5) W. & F. Brown & Co.; (6) Brown & Co. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1908. Directors: H. F. Brown (Chairman), C. Thomason, and J. M. Harris. One of the oldest houses in the trade. Premises: Extensive, covering about one acre. In the basement is a twelfth-century crypt, now used as a Show Room for Antiques, which may be viewed at any time during business hours. Staff: About 200. Specialities: Enjoy a long-standing reputation for high-class Silks, Linens, Furniture, and Carpets, &c. Complete Furnishers, House Agents, Auctioneers, Valuers, Decorators. Furniture Stored. Connection: Large business in Cheshire, Shropshire, and North Wales. Clients in all parts of the United Kingdom. Telephones: (Drapery Dept.) No. 1; (Furnishing Dept.) No. 6. Telegraphic Addresses: (Drapery Dept.) " Brown, Mercer, Chester '; (Furnishing Dept.) " Brown, Upholsterer, Chester." Members of the firm have from time to time held most of the public offices in Chester.

BROWN (DAVID) & SON, Ltd., Household Soaps and Candles, McClinton's, Ltd., Toilet Soaps and Perfumes, Donaghmore, Tyrone, Ireland. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established over 100 years ago. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893. Managing Director: David Brown. Chairman: Robert Brown. Acquired many years ago the good-will and trade secrets of McClinton & Thomson. Premises: Works cover over three acres. Staff: Over 120. Awards: Gold Medals, Franco-British Exhibition, 1908; Imperial Exhibition, 1909; Japan-British Exhibition, 1910; Grand Prix Festival of Empire, 1911. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 2 Donaghmore. Telegraphic Address: " Brown, Donaghmore."

BROWN (GEORGE) & CO., Shipbuilders, Garvel Shipyard, Greenock, N.B. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1901. Present Principal: George Brown. Premises: Cover three acres. Staff: 250. Business: Builders of small Fast Passenger and Cargo Steamers, Tugs, Sternwheelers, Yachts and Grab Hopper Dredgers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 135 Greenock. Telegraphic Address: " Rapido, Greenock." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

BROWN, GORE & CO., Wine and Spirit Merchants and Agents, Tower House, 40, Trinity Square, London, E.C., and 16 and 18, Hackins Hey, Liverpool. Established in 1895 by Pelham Brown and Arthur Wentworth Gore: The former retired in 1901. Present Principals: Arthur Wentworth Gore and Victor Hermann Seyd, who joined the firm in 1899. Specialities: George Goulet-Reims (Champagne), Royal Warrant Holders by Special Appointment to H.M. the King, for which Brand the firm are agents in the United Kingdom. They are also agents for a number of first-class Wine and Spirit Shippers, including Richard Davies (Jerez), Gautier Freres (Cognac), Sociedad Franco-Espaliola (Logroilo), Hijos de Benigno Lopez (Tarragona), Wm. Foulds & Co., Ltd. (Paisley), and others. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and in the Colonies. Telephones: No. 916 Avenue, and No. 71.89 London Wall; Liverpool, No. 8319 Central. Telegraphic Addresses: " Vinifer, Fen, London "; " Brut, Liverpool."

BROWN (JOHN) & CO., Ltd., Steel Manufacturers, Ship Builders, and Coal-owners. Registered Office: Atlas Works, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1855 by John Brown, afterwards Sir John Brown. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1864. Chairman: The Rt. Hon. Lord Aberconway. Pioneer firm of Armour Plate Manufacturers. Builders of the record-breaking Cunarder " Lusitania." Premises: Very extensive; Steel Works in Sheffield cover forty acres; Shipyard, Clydebank, eighty acres; Aldwarke Main, Car House and Rotherham Main Collieries, Rotherham, 7,000 acres. Staff: Total; 20,000. Agencies: London, Liverpool, Newcastle, Glasgow, New York, Paris, Rotterdam, St. Petersburg, South America, Melbourne, Genoa, Constantinople. Business: Manufac-turers of Railway Material, Marine Specialities, Armour Plates, Guns, Battleships, and Passenger Steamers of largest size and power. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 29 (National) Sheffield. Telegraphic Address: " Atlas, Sheffield." Bankers: Sheffield Banking Co., Ltd. (Sheffield); Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co. (Lombard Street, London); Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. (20, Birchin Lane, London); London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Threadneedle Street, London); Union Bank of Scotland (Glasgow).

BROWN (JOHN) & SONS, Brush Turners and Japanners, Broad Street, Thatcham, Berks. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1847 by the late John Brown. Continued by John Brown and Arthur Brown. Present Principals: Arthur Brown and Thomas H. Brown. Premises: Cover an area of about three acres, fully equipped. Principal Departments: Turning and Japanning Brush Stocks and Handles for Brush Makers. Specialities: Mop and Broom Handles and Hay Rakes, Brush Turning and Japanning; also Church Chairs and Children's Chairs. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Contractors to the Admiralty and War Office. Telegraphic Address: " John Brown & Sons, Thatcham." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

BROWN (JOHN S.) & SONS, Ltd., Linen Manufacturers, Ulster Works, Belfast. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established over 100 years ago. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Herbert Brown (Chairman), W. R. McMurray (Managing Director), W. R. McMurray (jun.). One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Very extensive Mills at St. Ellen's Works; Ardoyne; Lower Lodge, Lurgan; and Bleach Works, Lambeg, equipped with all modern appliances. Branches: London, 26, Gresham Street; New York, 21, White Street; Toronto, 84, Wellington Street; Melbourne, Cape Town and Johannesburg. Specialities: Damask, Sheetings, Handkerchiefs and all Embroidered Goods. Patents: Many. Awards: Over fifty. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: Nos. 4041, 4042, 4043 and 4044 Belfast; No. 5453 Bank; No. 7067 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Damask," Belfast, London, Toronto; " Avowal, New York "; " Abel, Melbourne "; " Manifold, Cape Town "; " Augment, Johannesburg." Codes A B C and Lieber's. Bankers: Ulster Bank, Ltd. (Belfast), Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Cornhill, London).

BROWN, JOHN, & T. TIPLADY, Timber Importers, Saw Mills and Joinery Works, Stockton Street, West Hartlepool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1858 by Tiplady Brown (d. 1876), continued by John Brown and T. Tiplady Brown (the latter retired in 1896). Present Principal: Alderman John Brown, J.P., assisted by his oldest son, James Edward Brown. Yard and Mill cover two acres. Staff: Sixty. Specialities: All kinds of Joinery Work for Buildings of all descriptions, also Hard and Soft Woods. Connection: United Kingdom, Norway and Sweden as Buyers of Sawn Timber. Telephone: No. 124 West Hartlepool (Saw Mill Office). Alderman J. Brown is a member of the West Hartlepool County Borough and of Hartlepool Union Board of Guardians and Port Sanitary Authority. He is a Justice of the Peace for Durham County and was Mayor of West Hartlepool in 1902-3-4.

BROWN, LENOX & CO., Ltd., Admiralty Contractors, Chain Cables, Buoys and Moorings, Newbridge Works, Pontypridd, and Millwall, London, E. lours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in. 1808 by Lieut. Brown, R.N., and Mr. Lenox. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: H. M. Gregory, Hugh Lenox and James B. Richardson (Managing Director). Claim to have made the first Chain Cable for the Admiralty, and to have held contracts since 1808. Premises: Cover thirteen acres. Specialities: Buoys and Mornings for the Admiralty. Patent: Mooring Anchors. Connection: World-Wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty), to the Crown Agents, and to practically all the principal Harbours. Telephone: No. 323 Pontypridd. Telegraphic Address: " Lenox, Pontypridd." Bankers: London and Provincial Bank, Ltd.

BROWN (PALGRAVE) & SON, LIMITED, Timber Merchants and Saw Mill Proprietors, Yare Saw Mills, Southtown, Great Yarmouth. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1857 by W. Palgrave Brown. Continued in 1882 by Charles N. Brown, J.P. (son). Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1903. Directors: Charles N. Brown, J.P. (Chairman), William S. Wharton, Cyril H. Walter. Premises: Have a river frontage of 1,200 ft. Business: Importers of Baltic and White Sea Deals, Boards and Floorings, Pitchpine and other Timber. Telephone: No. 52 (National) Great Yarmouth. Telegraphic Address: " Timber, Great Yarmouth." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (Great Yarmouth).

BROWN & PANK, Wine and Spirit Merchants, 16, Mark Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. Established about eighty-three years; present title from 1869. Specialities: "Longenek" Brandy. Are also large shippers of Brandy, Port, and Winos and Spirits generally. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2161 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Richot, Fon, London."

BROWN & PLUMMER, Wine Merchants, Market Place, Swindon, Wilts. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 7 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1853 by William Brown. Continued by (1) Brown & Nephew; (2) Brown & Plummer. Present Principal: Thomas Reed. Had the honour of supplying Her late Majesty Queen. Victoria with Wines. Premises: On the site of the Old Town Hall and adjoin ing the Corn Hall, consisting of offices, &c., under the Town Hall, and extensive Cellars, the same size as the Corn Hall. Staff: Nine. Specialities: In Wines. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 81 Swindon. Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. Mr. Reed was twice Mayor of Malmesbury (Wilts.), and an Alderman of that Town. Club: Swindon Town. Pastimes: Tennis, Hunting.

BROWN & POLSON, Corn Flour and Starch Manufacturers, Royal Starch Works, Paisley. London Office: 6, Bouverie Street, Fleet Street, E.C. Hours of Business: (Paisley), 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1842 by John Brown, John Poison, Wm. Poison. Present Principals: John Armour Brown, J.P. (son of the founder), John Francis Brown, Stuart Hally Brown, and the trustees of the late John Poison. Premises: At Paisley, at foot of Gleniffer Braes, from which it derives a supply of fresh spring water. Specialities: Corn Flour, Paisley Flour (raising powder), and Starch. The original patent was taken out by John Poison for the manufacture of Corn Flour from Maize. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrant: By Appoint ment to H.M. King George V. Telephones: Nos. 79 and 80 Paisley; No. 8563 City (2 lines) (London). Telegraphic Addresses: " Royal, Paisley "; " Victoria, Fleet, London."

BROWN, R. B., & SONS, Weavers, Dyers, Finishers, Fustian Clothing Manufacturers, Hangingroyd Mills, Hebden Bridge, Yorks. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1877 by R. B. Brown (d. 1879). Present Principals: T. W. Brown, R. H. Brown, G. W. Brown, C. H. Brown (sons of founder). The business was started by the grand father of the present partners, whose connection with the clothing trade commenced about 1812. Part of the offices are on the foundation of the old Cornmill for the township of Heptonstall; mills for many hundreds of years. Staff: Over 400. Branch: Leeds (under separate management). Business: Manufacture of Clothing for Working Men, in every variety, including Fustian, Cord, Drabbette, Bluette, &c. Inventions: Numerous. Connection,: United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, South America. Telephone: No. 15 Hebden Bridge. Telegraphic Address: " Browns, Hebden Bridge." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd. (Hebden Bridge).

BROWN (ROBERT), Ltd., Distillers and Export Whisky Merchants, 107, Holm Street, Glasgow; Bonded Warehouses, 36, Cadogan. Street, and 3, Warwick Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1860 by Robert Brown. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Branches: 14, Jewry Street, London, E.C.; 26, Commercial Street, Dundee. Specialities: Special Brands of Whisky. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: By Appointment Distillers .to His late Majesty King Edward and Purveyors to T.R.H. the Prince and Princess Christian. Telephones: Glasgow, No. 1203 Argyle; London, No. 4692 Central. Telegraphic Addresses: " Edina, Glasgow "; Suffix, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

BROWN, SAMUEL, Paper Agent and Merchant, 2 and 4, New Inn Yard, Great Eastern Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established over 100 years ago by Stacy Brothers. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Staff: Total, eleven. Business: Paper Agent and Merchant. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1483 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Address: " Browsam, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd., Shoreditch, London.

BROWN & SONS (WELLINGBOROUGH), LIMITED, Boot Upper, Gaiter, and Legging Manufacturers, Curriers and Leather Dressers. Factory: Wellingborough. London Offices: 37, Brooke Street, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established: Prior to 1845. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Managing Director: Thomas Brown. Staff: 320 to 350. Specialities: Diamond Mark Boot Uppers, Leggings, and Gaiters. Patents: Several. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No.- 58 Wellingborough. Telegraphic Address: " Uppers, Wellingborough."

BROWN (THOMAS) & CO. (LEICESTER), Ltd., Wholesale Manufacturers of Ladies' Fine Shoes, 181, Humberstone Road, Leicester. Hours of Business: Factories, Winter, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Summer, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1883 by Thomas Brown and J. J. Gascoine. Joined later by Edward Brown. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Directors: Thomas Brown (Chairman), Edward Brown (Managing Director), John T. Padmore. Branch Factories: Oakham and Irchester. Staff: 800. Branches: Paris (two), Brussels Berlin, Milan, Cape Town, Alexandria. Specialities: Ladies' Light Footwear, for Home and Export trade. Connection: United Kingdom and all Foreign Countries where English Goods are taken. Telephone: No. 15 Leicester. Telegraphic Address: " Orders, Leicester." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

BROWN, THOMAS (NEWCASTLE) Ltd., Fishmongers, Game and Poultry Dealers, 13 and 15, Blackett Street, Newcastle-onTyne. Cold Stores: Newgate Street, Newcastle. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 10 p.m. Established in 1818 by Thomas Hasker. Succeeded by Thomas Brown, son-in-law (d.). Joined by Thomas William Brown (d.), Robert Stanley Brown (d.), and William John Brown (sons). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Chairman: T. Gillespie, C. A., and Andrew Rutherford (General Manager). One of the oldest houses in the trade. Branches: Gosforth, 42, High Street; Darlington, 7, Bondgate; North Shields, Fish Quay. Specialities: Ice, Best Quality Game and Poultry of all kinds, Line Caught Fish, Crimped Fish; also Importers of Foreign Game, Poultry and Fish from Russia, Norway, Germany, Austria and France. Connection: United Kingdom, and the Continent. Telephones: Nos. 1161 and 1162. Telegraphic Address: " Halibut, Newcastle." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Grey Street, Newcastle-onTyne).

BROWN (THOMAS) & SONS, Ltd., Wholesale Warehousemen and Manufacturers, &c., 119, Finsbury Pavement, and Brisbane, Queensland. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1863 by Thomas Brown (Glasgow) and D. L. Brown (Brisbane). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Managing Director: Thomas Herbert Brown (Brisbane). Chairman: James Milne (London). Staff: Several hundreds in Brisbane. Branches: Townsville, Queens 2 land. Business: Wholesale Warehousemen and Manufacturers, Wool Shippers, &c. Connection: Colonial. Telephone: No. 2166 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: Brisbrown, London." Codes: A B C, A 1 and Scotts. Bankers: Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

BROWN, WALKER & ATKIN, Ltd., Wine and Spirit Merchants and Importers. Head Offices: 7 and 8, North Church Side, Hull; Hodges', 175 and 177, Freeman Street, Grimsby; Groves' Stores, Market Place, Knaresbro', &c. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1897 as an amalgamation of Hodgson, Gibson & Brown, established over 100 years ago, and Keyworth, Walker & Co., established 1780. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Henry Joseph Walker, Frederick John Gardam, and James Thomas Evison. Business: Wine and Spirit Merchants, and Importers. Telephones: Nos.251 and 851 (Corporation) Hull; No. 402 (National) Grimsby, No. 42 (National) Knaresbro', and 18 (Corporation) Beverley. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

BROWN & WARD, Ltd., Engineers and Machine Tool Makers, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1899 by Edward Brown and W. Ward (d. 1904). Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: E. G. Brown, M.I.Mech.E. (Managing Director and Chairman), C. W. Cockerill (Works Manager), and J. R. Sambridge (Sales Manager). Secretary: F. Kind. Have built up an important business of Jewellers' Machine Tool Makers; shown at the Agricultural Hall, London, 1912. Premises: Cover 2000 square yards. Registered Office and Showroom at 44, Works, 32 to 42, Branston Street. Staff: About seventy. Specialities: Machine Tools for Jewellers and Brassfounders, Capstan and Automatic Turret Lathes, Spinning and Brassfounders' Lathes, Shaping and Drilling Machines, Wire Drawing Machinery, Special Automatic Machinery and Tools, Designers of Special Tools for the above trades. Connection: United Kingdom, through Manufacturing Jewellers and Brassfounders, and Colonial, extensive. Telephone: No. 3831 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Turrets, Birmingham." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. (Birmingham).

BROWN (WILLIAM) & CO., IPSWICH, Ltd., Timber Importers, Cement, Plaster, and Slate Merchants, Greyfriars Roai, Ipswich. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1799 by Wm. Brown; succeeded by sons and grandsons for three generations. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Amalgamated with Palfreman & Co., 1906, and Geo. Mason, 1911. Directors: F. W. Mason (Chairman), E. P. Tetsall (Managing Director), E. J. Brown, A. Brown (Secretary), E. Mason, C. E. Whitmarsh. One of the oldest houses in the trade. Staff: About ninety. Branch: Woodbridge. Specialities: Archangel Joiners' Boards. Connection,: United Kingdom. Telephones: Nos. 73 and 82 Ipswich; No. 99 Woodbridge. Telegraphic Address: "Brownler, Ipswich." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

BROWN (WILLIAM) & CO., Ltd., 36 to 42, St. Mary Axe, E.C., and 40 to 41, Old Broad Street, London, E.C. Established in 1810 under the title of W. & J. P. Royston. In 1834 the firm became Royston & Brown, and in 1858 William Brown & Co. Registered in 1887 as a Limited Company under the present title. Specialities: Bankers', Merchants', and Companies' Stationery and Account Books for Home and Export; Bankers' Cheques designed to prevent fraud; Lithographic and Letterpress Printing. Telephone: No. 6420 Avenue (Pvte. Bch. Ex.). Telegraphic Address: " Cobrown, Led, London."

BROWN, WILLS & NICHOLSON, Sugar Factors, Wholesale Grocers, Provision Importers, Ham Curers, &c., The Abbey Stores, Plymouth. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established at the latter end of the eighteenth century by William Burnell and John Burnell. Partnership Successions: (1) Burnell, Brown & Nicholson; (2) Brown, Wills & Nicholson. Present Principals: Joseph Pearce Brown, J.P., John Brown, J.P., and Kenneth A. Brown. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Staff: About 200. Business: Makers of Silver Drift Castor and Icing Sugars. Curers of Devonshire Hams. Connection: West of England, London, Midlands, Scotland, South Africa. " Beechwood " Meats exported. Telephone: No. 430 Plymouth. Telegraphic Address: " Brown, Plymouth." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Plymouth and London). The senior partners are both Magistrates.

BROWNE, MAXIMILIAN, Stock Broker, 11A, Wormwood Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established thirty years ago by Maximilian Browne, the present principal. Telephone: No. 2217 City. Telegraphic Address: " Upbear, London." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

BROWNE, M., & CO., Ltd., Lace Curtain Manufacturers (Wholesale only), Station Street, Nottingham. Hours of Business: 8.15 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.15 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1870 by Michael Browne (father of the present Directors of the same name); joined in partnership by J. H. Runge, trading then as Browne & Runge. Partnership dissolved about 1892, when J. H. Runge retired. The business was continued by M. Browne until his death in 1906. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Directors: Walter Scott Browne, Harold Browne (sons of founder). Premises: Warehouse covers 12,000 sq. ft. Branch: Showroom, 10 and 11, Friday Street, Cheapside, London, E.C. Factory: Draycott, near Derby. Speciality: All kinds of Lace Curtains. B ave introduced many new designs. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 34 Nottingham; No. 8046 (Bank) London. Telegraphic Address: " Brun, Nottingham."

BROWNE & MURRAY, Shirt and Pyjama Manufacturers, 4 and 6, Whitworth Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1881 by R. M. Browne (d. 1897) and Dunbar Murray, the present principal. Premises: Two Factories in Manchester and Hibel Road Mill, Macclesfield. Equipped with up-to-date appliances. Staff: About 400. Branches: London, 12, Foster Lane, E.C.; Bristol, 50, Queen Square; Kingston (Jamaica), Cape Town (South Africa). Specialities: All kinds of Shirts and Pyjamas for Home and Foreign trade. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 75 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address:" Flax, Manchester." Code: A B C. Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd.

BROWNE, T. B., Ltd., Advertising Agents, &c., 163, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established over forty years ago by T. B. Browne (deceased). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Directors: James Wann (Chairman and Managing Director), T. B. Browne, C. M. Browne, and J. T. Woolrych Perowne. Premises: Large building of eight floors in Queen Victoria Street, extending through to Upper Thames Street (seven floors), and Electrotyping and Stereotyping Foundry, 4x, Upper Thames Street. These premises, specially organised and equipped for the purposes of the business, comprise all the departments through which an advertisement passes in course of preparation. Branches: Manchester, 71, Market Street; Glasgow, 22, Renfleld. Street; Paris, 38, Rue 'du Louvre; New York, Aeolian Hall, West 42nd Street. Staff: Over 200. Business: Advertising Agents, Photo-Etchers, Electrotypers, Stereotypers, Trade Mark Agents, Press Cutting Agents. Speciality: All Branches of Newspaper, Magazine, and General Advertising, with particular attention to the preparation of artistic and effective " copy," and the introduction of new ideas. The Company possess large resources, and conduct their operations upon a very extensive scale. In addition to Press Advertising they produce Posters, Show cards, Enamel Plates, &c., and undertake Billposting not only in England, but in any part of the world. They offer special, literary service in connection with the preparation of business booklets, circulars, facsimile letters, folders, and other forms of advertising literature. They carry out publicity, not only in Europe and America, but in Egypt, China, and Japan, and many Asiatic countries, in the language of those countries. Have a complete Printing Office for the service of clients, among whom are many of the largest British advertisers. They publish annually " The Advertiser's A B C," the Standard Advertisement Directory of the World's Press. Other Publications; " The Art of Advertising," " Business Success and Modern Methods," " Magazine Advertising," " The Geographical Guide to British Provincial Advertising," " The Advertising of Prospectuses of Public Companies," " London—The Free Market of the World." Telephones: Central Nos. 191 and 142. Telegraphic Address: " Apis, Cent, London."

BROWNLEE & CO., LIMITED, Timber Merchants, Saw Millers, &c., City Saw Mills, Port Dundas, Glasgow, Caledonian Saw Mills, Grangemouth, and Kilmarnock Saw Mills, Kilmarnock. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1848 by James Brownlee. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: John Forrest, J.P., Robert Brownlee, John Forrest (jun.), James R. Forrest, Matthew H. Forrest, James Morton. Secretary: David Weston. Capital, £250,000 and £100,000 Mortgage Debenture Stock. Premises: Cover about fifty acres. Creosoting and " B.M." Process Works at Port Dundas. Staff: Officials and employees, over 500. Business: Importers of American and Baltic Timber of every description; Floorings and Linings in White, Yellow, Red and Pitch-pine; makers of Architraves and Mouldings, Doors, Windows, and other Finishings; Importers of Hardwood. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government, all departments. Telephones: No. 3810 Douglas (six lines), Glasgow; No. 10 ' Grangemouth; No. 24x Kilmarnock. Telegraphic Address: " Brownlee," Glasgow, Grangemouth, and Kilmarnock. Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland Ltd., (Glasgow and London).

BRUCE (ALEXANDER) & CO., Fish Curers, Fraserburgli, Scotland. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1829 by Alexander Bruce, William Bruce and. George Bruce, who succeeded to the business of their father, William Bruce. Present Principal: George Bruce (original partner). Branches: Great Yarmouth, Blyth, Lerwick and Baltasound. Speciality: Curing of Herrings for export trade. Awards: Gold Medal, Berlin International Exhibition, 1880, for Curing of Herrings in brine. Connection: United Kingdom, Europe and America. Telephone: No. 101 Fraserburgh. Telegraphic and Cable Ad dresses:"Bruce," Fraserburgh, Baltasound, and Blyth; " Curers," Great Yarmouth and Lerwick.

BRUCE & FORD, Law and General Stationers, 34, King Street, Cheapside, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established about 1820 by Wm. Henry Bruce. Joined in 1850 by James Ford (deceased). Present Principal: Herbert James Ford (son of James Ford). Speciality: General Stationery, Print ing, and Account Books. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 831 Central. Bankers: Union of London & Smiths Bank, Ltd. Mr. Herbert James Ford is a Liveryman of the Fishmongers Company.

BRUCE & SON, Elastic Web Manufacturers, South Wigston, near Leicester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1859 by Henry Turner & Son. Succeeded by Bruce & Son in 1882. Present Principals: Henry Bailey Bruce, Arthur William Bruce (son). Premises: Formerly at Brunswick Street, Leicester. In 1889 Factory, ono floor, constructed, South Wigston; Warehouses at 26, Fountain Street, Manchester, and 75, Aldermanbury, London, E.C. Agencies in Paris, Brussels, Milan. Business: Manufacture of Elastic Cords, Braids, Garter, Belt and Brace Webs, Elastic Boot Webs. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1 South Wigston. Telegraphic Address: " Brunswick, South Wigston." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. H. B. Bruce was Town Councillor from 1890 to 1907; Mayor of Leicester, 1905. Club: Leicester Constitutional.

BRUICHLADDICH DISTILLERY CO., ISLAY, Ltd. (THE), Distillers, 57, West Campbell Street, Glasgow. Distillery: Bruichladdich, Islay, Argyllshire. Established in 1881 by Robert Harvey and William Harvey. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1886.

BRUMBY & CLARKE, Ltd., Printers, Lithographers, and Boxmakers, Baker Street, Prospect Street, and Wright Street, Hull, and 5, Farringdon Avenue, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. Established in 1873 by R. W. Brumby & S. Clarke. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1898. Directors: Simpson Clarke (Chairman and Managing Director), Robert William Brumby (Managing Director), Registered under the Act of 1908 as a Private Company. Premises: Occupy floor space of 30,000 sq. ft., equipped with modern appliances. Stall: 135; Travellers, seven. Agencies: Twenty. Specialities: Colour Lithographers, Carpet and Linoleum Pattern Printers, Publishers, Ornithological Colour Printers, also Fine Art and General Letterpress Printers and Embossers; Cardboard Box Manufacturers. Patent: Collapsible Box. Awards: Highest for Colour Printing, Adelaide Exhibition, 1887; Grand Prix for Colour Lithography and Letterpress Printing, St. Louis Universal Exhibition, U.S.A., 1904. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 240 (Corporation), Hull. Telegraphic Address: " Brumby, Hull."

BRUNDLE, FREDERICK HENRY, Iron, Nail and Metal Merchant, 17, Paper Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established about twenty years ago by Frederick Henry Brundle, the present principal. Staff: About twenty. Business: Iron, Nail and Metal Merchant, supply the Export Packing Case and Box trades, Veterinary Surgeons and Furriers. Connection; United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 308 London Wall (two lines); No. 9350 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Brundle, Paper Street, London." Mr. F. H. Brundle is a City Councillor for Cripplegate Without; also a City Guardian, Churchwarden of St. Giles, Cripplegate, and Governor of Cripplegate Foundation.

BRUNNER, MOND & CO., Ltd., Alkali Manufacturers, Winnington, Northwich, Cheshire. Established in 1873 by John Tomlinson Brunner and Ludwig Mond. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1881. Directors: The Rt. Hon. Sir John Brunner, Bart., P.C. (Chairman), Sir Hugh Bell, Bart., Henry Brunner, J. F. L. Brunner, M.P., Roscoe Brunner, F. W. Brock, Thomas H. Forgan, Henry Glondinning, Georges Quorton, Gustav Jtirmay, Sir Alfred Mond, Bart., M.P., Emile S. Mond, Robert Mond, Henry A. Schellhaas, Armand Solvay, John Isaac Watts. Secretary: J. H. Gold. One of the most important industrial enterprises in the kingdom. Nominal capital £5,000,000. The Company's chief Works at Northwich, Cheshire, are upon a very extensive scale, and there are Branch Works at Sandbach, Middlewich, Lostock Gralam, and Silvertown. Own fleet of steamers, barges, &c., for purposes of transport. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1 Northwich. Telegraphic Address: " Crescent, Northwich." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

BRUNTON (ALEXANDER) & SON, Manufacturers, North Queensferry, Stecland; Quarry, Saline, Fife, and Carmore Quarry, Glenfarg, and Southerton Quarry, Kirkcaldy, Scotland. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1828 by Alexander Brunton. Continued by Alexandor and Adam Brunton. Present Principal: Alexander Brunton. Premises: Four Quarries, occupying thirty acres. Staff: 120. Business: Manufacture of Nidged Sets and Tar Macadam for Noiseless and Dustless Roads, Kerbs, Sets, Channels and Macadam. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Telephone: No. 7 Inverkeithing. Telegraphic Address: " Brunton, North Queensferry." Bankers: Clydesdale Bank, Ltd. (Inverkeithing). Mr. A. Brunton is a Justice of the Peace for Fife, County Councillor for Inverkeithing and Dalgety Division, Chairman of Inverkeithing School Board and Managing Director of 'overawe Granite Co., Ltd., Glasgow.

BRUSH ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING CO., Ltd. (THE), No. 1, Kingsway, London, W.C.; Falcon Works, Loughborough, Leicestershire. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1880 under the title of " The Anglo-American Brush Electric Light Corporation," to work the patents of C. F. Brush, of Cleveland, Ohio, U.S.A. Incorporated in 1889 under the present title. Share Capital: £489,512. Directors: E. Garcke (Chairman), Lord Vaux of Harrowden, W. L. Madgen, G. CornwallisWest, J. E. Spagnoletti, B. Broadhurst (Managing Director). Secretary: F. M. Hodson. Is one of the most influential concerns in the trade. Pioneers of Electric Lighting and Traction Work in Great Britain, and ever since in the van of progress. Premises: Works cover twenty-five acres of ground; are completely equipped with special modern machinery Staff: About 2,750. Branches: Manchester, Glasgow, Gibraltar, Barcelona, Lisbon, Rio de Janeiro, New York, Auckland, Perth (W.A.), Johannesburg, Bombay, Yokohama. Specialities: Electrical Machinery and Apparatus, Steam Enginos and Turbines, Railway and Tramway Rolling Stock. Ara Contractors for Complete Equipment of Electric Traction and Supply Undertakings. Connection: Worldwide. Telephones: (London Office), No. 2686 Holborn; (Works), No. 621 Loughborough. Telegraphic Addresses: " Magneto, London "; " Falcon, Loughborough "; " Traction, Manchester "; " Meteor, Johannesburg." Codes: A 1, A B C, and Western Union.

BRYANT & MAY, Ltd., Match Manufacturers, by Appointment to H.M. the- King, Fairfield Works, Bow, London, E.; and Diamond Match Works, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1845 by William Bryant and Francis May. Continued as a private firm until 1884; then sold to Bryant & May, LH. Incorporated June 12th, 1884. Directors: William Alexander Smith (Chairman), George W. Paton (Deputy-Chairman and Managing Director), 0. C. Barber, R. J. Hardy, Clarence E. Bartholomew, E. R. Stettinius, The Hon. Arthur Stanley, M.P. One of the largest concerns in the world devoted exclusively to the manufacture of matches. Premises: The Fairfield Works at Bow take a foremost place among the industrial establishments of the metropolis, and are a very important factor in the employment of labour in East London. They cover about seven acres of ground, and the same area is occupied by the Company's Diamond Match Works at Liverpool. Both works are equipped with machinery and appliances of the highest efficiency for every process incidental to match manufacture. Staff: About 2,500 hands, whose health is carefully studied in all the sanitary and general arrangements at the two factories. Specialities: Bryant & May's Special Patent Safety Matches and the " Swan " Vestas, both of which enjoy great popularity. Besides these, all other kinds of matches in modern use are manufactured. Several patents relating to the above are held by the Company. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. The Company's name is a " household word " at home and abroad. Their productions are almost universally known, and maintain a long-established reputation for reliability. Have received thirty-two awards for excellence of quality. Telephone: No. 1493 East (five lines). Telegraphic Address: " Brymay, Bochurch, London." Cable Address: " Brymay, London." Codes: Lieber's; A B C (4th and 5th Editions); A 1; vid Eastern; Western; and private. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd., London and Branches; and Bank of Liverpool, Ltd., Liverpool and Branches.

BRYCE (ALEXANDER) & CO., Whisky Distillers, Blenders and Bottlers, and Wholesale Wine Merchants, 12 and 13, St. Andrew Square, and 140, High Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1812 by Alexander Bryce, the groat-grandfather of the present principals. Premises: Very extensive. The firm possess many brands of Ports, Sherries, Champagnes, Clarets, Hock, Burgundies, Pale and Brown Brandies, Choice Old Whiskies, Gins, Rums, Liqueurs, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 43 Tron (Nat.); No. 124 Bell (Post Office). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Barleycorn, Glasgow."

BRYCE (DAVID) & SON, Publishers, 60, Berkeley Street, Charing Cross, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1832, in Buchanan Street, by David Bryce. In 1862 David Bryce (jun.) and John A. Mackinlay joined the firm, which then traded as David Bryce & Co.; in 1870 the founder died, and John A. Mackinlay retired, David Bryce, the present principal, shortly afterwards becoming sole proprietor, trading as above. jn 1895 the retail department was incorporated with another firm, and the publishing business removed to present address. Specialities: Books of Reference, Guide Books, Miniature Books, Cyclopmdias, Insets for Blotting Books, and Advertising Novelties. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 524 Charing. Telegraphic Address: " Bryce, Publisher, Glasgow." Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland (St. Vincent Street, Glasgow).

BRYCE, WILLIAM, Bookseller, 54 to 54A, Lothian Street, Edinburgh. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1885 by William 13ryce, the present principal. Commenced in a small way, the growth of the business has necessitated extensions from time to time. Premises: Are of a rambling, old-world appearance, In addition to a well-selected stock of Second-hand books, large stocks are held of Technical, Medical and Scientific Works. Catalogues in each of these departments being issued at regular intervals. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 5900 Central.

BUCHANAN, H. P., & CO., East India Merchants and Agents, 19, St. Vincent Place, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1884 by H. P. Buchanan. Joined in 1887 by D. F. Buchanan. Present Principals: H. P. Buchanan and D. F. Buchanan. Specialities: General Exports and Imports. Connection: East Indies and the Straits Settlements. Telephones: Nos. 7370 and 7371 Central, Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Romulus, Glasgow." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Premier, and Private.

BUCHANAN (JAMES) & CO., Ltd., Scotch Whisky Distillers, 26, Holborn, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established by James Buchanan, the present Chairman of Directors. The business has grown rapidly and continuously, and is one of the largest of its kind. Incorporated: August, 1903. Premises: The handsome modern premises of the Company in Holborn are built upon the site of Langdale's Distillery, familiar to readers of Dickens, and the scene of exciting incidents in the Gordon Riots of 1780. Branches: Glasgow; Bristol; Manchester; Liverpool; Paris; Hamburg; Also agencies in every part of the world. Distilleries: Bankier Castlecary, and Glentauchers - Glenlivet Distillery, Mulben, Speyside, N.B. Specialities: Proprietors of well-known Brands of Whisky. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Royal Warrants: By appointment to H.M. the King, to His late Majesty King Edward, to H.M. King George V. when Prince of Wales, and to H.M. the King of Spain; also held the Royal Warrant of Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephone: No. 6183 Holborn (five lines). Telegraphic Address: " Girple, Smith, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Lieber's, and Western Union.

BUCHANAN, SCOTT & CO., Importers, Exporters, Wholesale Wine and Spirit Merchants, 7 and 9, Garthland Street (City), Glasgow. Hours of Business: (Offices) 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. (Stores) 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1870 by Peter Buchanan, who died 5th July, 1909, aged 67. Present Principals: Mrs. Margaret Buchanan and G. Douglas Buchanan (since 1901). Specialities: The " Esperanto " Blend of Scotch Whiskies (Regd.); the " Old Heather " Blend of Scotch Whiskies; 1883 Jamaica Rum, thirty years in wood. The above specialities, and notably the " Esperanto " Blend of Scotch Whiskies, have an extensive sale at home and abroad. A large general Wholesale Wine and Spirit Merchant's business is also carried on. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 382 Bell. Telegraphic Address: " Burgundy, Glasgow." Bankers: Bank of Scotland and Chekbanko Esperantista.. The firm have interested themselves actively in the progress of the new international language, Esperanto; issue several special publications of a useful nature in this connection, and conduct an increasing portion of their foreign correspondence in Esperanto.

BUCK, GEORGE, Tool Maker and Cutler, '242, Tottenham Court Road, London, W. Established about the year 1790 by Mathew Buck. Specialities: Saws, General Tools, also Pocket Knives and Razors.

BUCK (ROBERT R.) & SONS, Flannel Manufacturers, Shirts, Pyjamas and Ladies' Blouses, Atlas Works, Carlisle, and 12, Gresham Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1859 by Robert R. Buck. Present Principals: Henry Bleasby, J.P., Joseph P. Buck, Alfred Buck, Frederick W. Buck, and George H. Buck. Premises: Very extensive Mills and Factory at Carlisle, Factory at Hackney. Equipped with upto-date appliances. Staff: 1500. Branches: Manchester, 3, Gore Street; Newcastleon-Tyne, 50, Grainger Street. Specialities: All wool Flannels, Silk and Wool Flannels and Ceylon Flannels. Award: Grand Prix, Franco-British Exhibition. Connection: United Kingdom, America, Canada, Australia, Africa. Telephone: No. 13745 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Unshrinkable, London."

BUCK & WOOTTON, Ltd., Printers, Commercial and Export Stationers, Account Book Manufacturers, 126, Westminster Bridge Road, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1821 by the predecessors of the late partners, W. Buck and William Wootton, later by H. N. Prentice and the late H. C. Wootton. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Director: Henry N. Prentice. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Business: High Class Printing, Stationery and Manufacturers of Account Books. Connection: United Kingdom, India, Ceylon, Uganda. Telephone: No. 3023 Hop, London. Telegraphic Address: " Resilient, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd., Bond Street, London, W.

BUCKINGHAM, J. H., & CO., Ltd., Cravat Silk Manufacturers and Warehousemen, 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8, Ropemaker Street, Moor Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1850 as Slater, Wilson, & Buckingham. In 1886 J. H. Buckingham founded the firm as it is now known, he being then the sole principal. The business was carried on by his son, Sir Henry Cecil Buckingham, who is Governing Director of the present Limited Liability Company. Specialities: Cravats from the finest Spitalfields Silks, manufactured by the firm. Also Shirts, Pyjamas, Collars, Umbrellas, Half Hose, and many other articles for men's wear. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Telephone: No. 8158 London Wall (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Neckwear, Finsquare, London."

BUCKLAND & SONS, Auctioneers, Estate and Land Agents, &c., 4, Bloomsbury Square, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1827. Branches: Windsor (estd. 1827) and Slough. Are largely interested in agricultural work. Valuers, appointed under the Finance Act, 1894, for Berks, Bucks, and Surrey. Have sold the fat stock belonging to the late Prince Consort, the late Queen Victoria, and the late King Edward VII. at the Royal Farms, Windsor. Auctioneers by appointment to H.M. King George V. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 2472 Gerrard; No. 48 Windsor; No. 28 Slough.

BUCKLEY (ABEL) & CO., Ltd., Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers, Ryecroft Mills, Ashton-under-Lyne. Hours of Business: Mills, 6 a.m. to 5.30p.m.; Manchester Exchange, 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. Established in 1824 by Abel Buckley. Continued by Nathaniel Buckley, M.P., and Abel Buckley, M.P. (sons). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: John Clark, Hugh Kershaw, William Lees and William Wilson. General Manager: Charles Gattie. Premises: Consist of three mills, two Spinning Mills and one Weaving Mill. Equipped with up-to-date appliances. Staff: Officials, twenty; employees, 380. Business: Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 30 Ashton -un derLyne. Telegraphic Address: " Buckleys, Ryecroft Mills, Ashton-under-Lyne." Mr. Nathaniel Buckley was Member of Parliament for Stalybridge and Mr. Abel Buckley for Prestwich. Mr. John Clark and Mr. W. Lees are Justices of the Peace and Aldermen.

BUCKLEY BRICK & TILE CO., Ltd., Buckley, via Chester. Established 1863. Directors: Lawrence Booth, John M. Gibson, John Philip Gibson and Richard M. Gibson. Specialities: Fire and other Bricks, Tiles, Lumps, &c., for Chemical, Lead and other Furnaces, Coke Ovens, &c. " Metalline " Clay goods are unexcelled for resisting the eroding action of Acids, Alkalis, Molten Metals, &c. Gibson's, Mackenzie's and Scherfenberg's patent Rings, Balls, Tiles, &c., for Glover, GayLussac, Hydrochloric, Intermediate and other Towers, or any Chemical Plant; also for Blast Furnace Heating Stoves. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3 Buckley. Telegraphic Address: " Gibsons, Buckley." Code: Private.

BUCKLEY (CHARLES) & CO., Manufacturers of all classes of Brushes, Longroyd Bridge Mills, Huddersfield. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1886. Specialities: Compressed Shives and Spills for Brewers, Distillers, Oil Manufacturers and Chemical Works; Steel Wire Brushes and Tube Brushes, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 767 Huddersfield. Telegraphic Address: " Buckley, Longroyd Bridge, Huthbrsfield."

BUCKLEY, SUCCESSORS OF SAMUEL BUCKLEY & CO. (OF LONDON AND NEW YORK), Ltd., Merchants, 2, Soho Square, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in the eighteenth century. Managing Director: Wilfred Buckley. Branches: 16, East 33rd Street, New York; Liege, Belgium. Business: Handling Goods suitable for the United States and Canada. One of the oldest and best-known firms in this trade. Also Manufacturers of Fancy Leather Goods. Connection: United Kingdom, United States, other Foreign Countries, Colonial. Telephone: No. 8814 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Buekmast, London."

BUCKLEY & TAYLOR, Ltd., Engineers, Millwrights, and Ironfounders, Castle Iron Works, Oldham, Lancashire. Hours of Business: Mondays, 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Tuesdays to Fridays, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 11.30 a.m. Established in 1861 by Samuel Buckley and James Taylor. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1902. Directors: William Taylor (Chairman) and James H. Buckley. Premises cover four acres. Stall: About 300. Specialities: Simple, Compound and Triple Expansion Steam Engines of Horizontal and Vertical type, from 100 to 3,000 h.-p.; MillGearing for driving Cotton Mills; Pumping Engines for Hydraulic Power Stations; Large Gear Wheels, with cast and cut teeth; Rope Pulleys for Main Drives; Wheel Moulding Machines. Patent: Wheel Moulding Machine. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 8. Telegraphic Address: " Engines, Oldham." Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd. (Oldham).

BUCKNALL (HENRY) & SONS, Ltd., Cork Growers, Merchants and Manufacturers, 22, Crutched Friars, London, E.C., and 278, Shields Road, S.S. Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Directors: R. C. Bucknall (Chairman), E. B. Forbes, H. W. Bucknall, John L. Wilson, J. S. Bucknall, R. W. Watson. Specialities: Corkwood, Corks, and Granulated Cork for Insulatior. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Continental. Telephone; No, 1685 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Bucknall, Fen, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Princes Street, E.C.).

BUCKNALL STEAMSHIP LINES, LIMITED, 5 and 6, Billiter Avenue, and 7, Fenchurch Avenue, London, E.C., and at Cape Town. This Company comprises a number of different Steamship Lines, including the British and Colonial Line, which maintains a regular Weekly Service, including passenger steamers between London and South Africa, and a service of fast wool steamers from Australia to the United Kingdom and Continent during the season; also the following Lines: Persian Gulf Line, American and Indian Lino, American and African Line, American and Manchurian Line, and Bombay - American Line. The Company also runs steamers on the American and Australian Line, and in conjunction with the Ellerman Lines maintains a regular service from Australia to South Africa. Telephone: No. 2423 (three lines) Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Buccaneer, Fen, London."

BUCKTON (JOSHUA) & CO., Ltd., Machine Tool and Testing Machine Makers, Well House Foundry, Meadow Road, Leeds. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Office, 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1842 by Joshua Buckton. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1882. Directors: J. H. Wicksteed, C. W. James, W. W. Lupton, T. A. Carpenter, N. D. Lupton. Premises: Cover three acres. Staff: 500. Specialities: Heavy Ordnance and Turbine Lathes, Armour Plate and Turbine Planing Machines, Universal Testing Machines of the largest capacity. Makers of the Buckton Testing Machine. Patents: Buckton Testing Machine, Cable Testing Machine, Recorders for Testing Machines, Planing Machines, Lathes, Drilling Machines, Steel Works Plant. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 4340 and 4341 Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Bucktons, Leeds." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions); A 1. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

BUCKTON (RICHARD) & SON, Linen Manufacturers, Hunslet Linen Works, Goodman Street, Leeds. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1847. Staff: About 300. Business: Makers of Bed Ticks, Towellings, &c.; Railway Wagon Covers; Canvas Scrims; Flax Shootings; and any kind of Flax, Hemp, or Jute Cloths; Yarn Bleachers. Connection: United Kingdom chiefly. Telephone: No. 733 Central, Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Ticks, Leeds."

BUDD & CO., Ltd., Colliery Agents, Coal Exporters, Ship Brokers and Pitwood Importers. Registered Office: Dowlais Chambers, Docks, Cardiff. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1870 by William Budd. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. Directors: William Budd (Chairman), Felix S. Budd, Charles Budd, H.. S. Kelly. Agencies: Newport (Branch Office), Paris, Barcelona, .Palermo, Genoa, Bilbao, Cairo, Nantes. Business: Colliery Agencies, Coal Exporting, Ship Broking and Pitwood Importing. Connection: Ireland, France, Italy, Spain, Algeria, Egypt, Brazil, Balkan States. Telephones: No. 3109 Cardiff (two lines); Nos. 110 and 26 Newport. Telegraphic Addi.esses: " Budd, Cardiff "; Budd, Newport "; " Metajull, Paris "; Codes: Private, A B C, Universal, Scotts'.

BUICK (CHARLES) & SONS, Fireclay Goods Manufacturers, Hilton Fireclay Works, Alloa, N.B. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1873 by the late Charles Buick, John S. Buick, and Charles Buick (jun.). Present Principals: John S. Buick, J.P., Charles Buick. Premises: Very extensive, cover four acres. Staff: 200. Staff Clubs: Friendly Sick Society. Specialities: Enamelled Fireclay Sanitary Goods, Glazed Fireclay Sewerage Pipes. Connection: United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Europe. Telephone: No. 36 Alloa. Telegraphic Address: " Buick, Alloa." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Royal Bank of Scotland.

BULL (HENRY) & COMPANY, LIMITED, Australian Merchants. Registered Office: 28, Milton Street, London, E.C.; and at Sydney (New South Wales) and Challenge Mills, Liverpool (New South Wales), Australia. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: Henry Bull (Chairman and Managing Director), A. H. Brown, Captain H. Bull (late John Dibble, B. C. Monk, S. T. Phelps, and R. W. King. Business: General Merchants, and Manufacturers of Flannels and Blankets at the Challenge Mills, Liverpool, N.S.W. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Telephone: No. 866 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Challenges, London," Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd., Bradford, and their Agents, Barclay & Co., Ltd., 54, Lombard Street, E.C.

BULL WHARF (THE PROPRIETORS OF), Ltd., Wharfingers and Warehouse Keepers, Bull Wharf, Queenhithe, Upper Thames Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1860 by Kebbel & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: H. T. Moore, T. Wickham Jones and H. Blakeway Phillips. Business: General Wharfingers. Special accommodation and facilities for Shells, Rubber, Drugs, Isinglass, &c. Telephones: Nos. 3583/5 London Wall. Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. Mr. H. T.. Moore is a member of the Port of London Authority.

BULLERS Ltd., Telegraph Engineers, &c., 6, Laurence Pountney Hill, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Established in 1843. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: A. K. Tharp (Chairman), E. J. Chambers, H. Dagnall, J. W. Harris and E. H. Chambers (joint Managing Directors). Premises: Originally in Devonshire, removed to Staffordshire in 1860. Branches: Ironworks, Tipton; Poreclain Works, Hanley; Staffordshire. Business: Telegraph Engineering, Manufacture of Insulators, Telegraph Fittings, China Door Furniture, Mortars, Pestles, &c. Ironfoundry, Metalwork, Pottery. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Post Office) Colonial and Foreign Governments, Railway, Telegraph and Telephone Companies. Telephones: Nos. 4907 and 4908 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Bullers London, Tipton and Hanley."

BULLIVANT & CO., Ltd., Wire Rope Manufacturers. Registered Offices: 72, Mark Lane, London, E.C. Manufactory: West Ferry Road, Millwall, London, E. Specialities: Flexible Steel Wire Hawsers and Ropes; Mining and Hauling Ropes; Blocks, Pulleys, and all Appliances for working Wire Ropes. Bullivants' Aerial Ropeways, Ltd., Contractors for Aerial Ropeways on all systems. Tele.: No. 2108 (3 lines) Avenue (for Regd. Office); No. 239 Eastern (for Manufactory). Tele. Address: " Bullivants, Fen, London."

BULMER, H. P., & CO., Cider Makers, Hereford. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1887 by H. P. Bulmer and E. F. Bulmer, J.P., M.A. (King's Coll., Camb.) (Brothers), the present principals. Premises: Cover seven acres, Cellars, two acres. Have storage of a Million Gallons of Cider in leviathan vats of 60,000 gallons. Specialities: Sparkling Cider, manufactured by precisely the same process as champagne is produced at Rheims. Their Trade Mark is well known. Awards: Gold Medal, Paris, 1888; Buenos Ayres, Grand Diploma of Honour (Highest Award), 1910. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrant: Special appointment to H.M. The King. Telephone: No. 11 Hereford. Telegraphic Address: " Bulmerco, Hereford." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Private. Bankers: National Provincial Bank, Ltd. (Hereford).

BULMER, T. A., & CO., Shipping and Forwarding Agents, Coal and Coke Exporters, Middlesbrough. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1872 by Thomas Arthur Bulmer. Joined by Alfred Bulmer. Present Principals: Thomas Arthur Bulmer, Alfred Bulmer, and Claude Bulmer. One of the very oldest firms in Middlesbrough. Staff: About twenty inside and outside Clerks. Business: Shipping and Forwarding Agents; Exporters of Coal and Coke. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: Nos. 15 and 384 Middlesbrough. Telegraphic Address: " Bulmer, Middlesbrough." Code: Scott's. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.; North Eastern Bank, Ltd.; London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.; Barclay's Bank, Ltd.

BULWELL FINISHING CO., LIMITED, Bulwell, Nottingham. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1S78 by Carey Bros. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Director: W. H. Carey. Is a Branch of Bleachers Association, Ltd., Manchester. Business: Lace Curtain Finishers. Telephones: Nos. 51, 52 and 53 Bulwoll. Telegraphic Address: " Bullfinch, Billwell."

BUMPUS, JOHN & EDWARD, Ltd., Booksellers, 350, Oxford Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1797 by John Bumpus. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Directors: Thomas Bumpus (Managing Director), John B. Bumpus, H. D. Vincent, J. V. E. Taylor. One of the oldest and best-known London Bookselling firms. Premises in Oxford Street were rebuilt, 1881-1882, in present handsome style, and comprise five floors, including basement. Staff: About fifty. Specialities: Second-hand Books, Book Plates, Highest-class Leather Bindings, Bound Books generally, and Art Books. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. The firm are Royal Warrant Holders. Telephone: No. 1651 Paddington.

BUNGE & CO., Grain and Rubber Merchant. Head Office: Antwerp. Branches: 33 and 34, Bury Street, London, E.C., Hamburg and Amsterdam. Hours of Business: Usual. Present Principals: Edward J. Bunge (Antwerp), and Julius C. Bunge (Amsterdam). Specialities: Grain, Cotton, Rubber, Ivory, &c. Telephones: No. 3430 Avenue; No. 56 (Trunk), London. Telegraphic Address: " Mobeka, Ald, London."

BUNN (CHARLES), Ltd., Motor and Carriage Fittings Manufacturers, also Stampers (Drop Forgings), Herbert Street, West Bromwich. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1820. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Directors: James Bunn and Charles W. Bunn, A.M.I.Mech.E. Specialities: Motor Fittings. Patents: Numerous. Connection ! United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 7, West Bromwich. Telegraphic Address: " Landau, West Bromwich."

BURBERRYS, Specialists in Weatherproof Kit, &c. Retail: Haymarket, London, S.W.; Basingstoke, Hampshire; 8 and 10, Boul. Malesherbes, Paris; and Agents in principal towns throughout the world. Wholesale and Shipping: 15, 16, and 17, Golden Square, London, W.; 12-14 West 37th Street. New York; Avenida Mayo 1377, Buenos Aires. Specialities: Weatherproof Materials and Garments. Telegraphic Addresses " Burberry, Charles, London" (for Haymarket); " Showery-, Reg, London " (for Golden Square); " Gabardine, Basingstoke." Tele-phones: No. 216517 Regent (for Haymarket); No. 8073 Gerrard (for Golden Square); No. 16 Basingstoke.

BURCH, N. G., & CO., Merchants, 16, Finsbury Circus, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1896 by Nathaniel Geach Burch, the present principal. Premises: Occupy four rooms, situated on the entrance floor at above address. Speciality: Finance and Public Works. Telephone: No. 2677 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: Predispose, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd. Private Bankers: Bank of England. Mr. Burch has been intereAed in estab fishing many Railways, Tramways, &c., chiefly in South America. He was for many years Consul for Venezuela in London. Clubs: Conservative and City Carlton.

BURFIELD & SON, Ltd., Rope and Twine Manufacturers, &c., South Road, Hailsham; Sussex. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 7 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established about 1808. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Managing Directors: James H. Maryan, Sydney J. Maryan and Fred T. Rich. Premises: Works cover about four acres. Staff: About 100. Specialities: Twines, Lines, Cords, Ropes, Cocoanut Mats and Mattings, Halters, Nosebags, Waterproof Covers, Rick Cloths, Outside Blinds, Brushes, Brooms, &c. Telephone: No. 16 Hailsham. Telegraphic Address: " Burfields, Hailsham."

BURGESS (JOHN) & SON, Ltd., Italian Warehousemen and Sauce and Pickle Manufacturers, Burgess's Factory, Hythe Road, Willesden Junction, London, N.W. (late of 107, Strand, London, W.C.). Established in 1760 by John Burgess, originally at 101, Strand; removed to 107, Strand, in 1779. Partnership Successions: Three generations of the Burgess family to 1874; from 1874 to incorporation of Company, two generations of the Brooks family, who now hold all the shares. Incorporated March 5th, 1901; Chairman, James L. Brooks; Managing Director, W. Brooks; Director, C. W. Brooks; Secretary, B. Marshman. Specialities: Essence of Anchovies, Anchovy Paste, Gorgona Anchovies, Potted Meats, Potted Fish, Pickles, Sauces, Soups, Olive Oil, Vinegars. Patents and Inventions: Patent Preserved Anchovies. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrant: To H.M. King George V. Telegraphic Address: " Gorgona, London."

BURGESS, LEDWARD & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Coloured Woven Cotton Goods, Dyers, Mercerisers, &c., of Cotton Yarns, 22, Dickinson Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1860 by George Burgess and H. Davenport Ledward. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Managing Directors: George Burgess and H. Davenport Ledward. Premises: Very extensive; 1,500 looms. Works, Wardley Mill, Walkden. Staff: 1,200. Branch: 150, Cheapside, London, E.C. Specialities: Manufacture of Blouse Cloth, Zephyr and Oxford Shirtings. Connection: United Kingdom, Continental, Colonial, South America. Telephones: No. 1140 (National), City, Manchester; No. 17 Walkden. Telegraphic Address: " Fastdi, Manchester." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Union Bank of Manchester.

BURGON & BALL, Ltd., Manufacturers of Patent Sheep Shears, Machines, &c., and General Merchants, La Plata Works, Malin Bridge, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1730. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: Herbert Barber (Chairman), Benjamin Hind (Managing Director), H. Burgon (Works Manager). Secretary: John H. Baines. Claim to be the largest firm of the kind in the world, and the first successfully to manufacture Solid Steel Sheep Shears by Machinery, and to be the largest and oldest Makers of Hand Shears. Branch: Sydney, N.S.W. Specialities: Sheep Shears, Sickles; are also General Merchants. Patents and Inventions: Solid Steel Sheep Shears and Sheep Shearing Machines (1865). Connection: Worldwide. Awards: Highest, Melbourne, 1881; Sydney, 1871 (only Gold Medal); Adelaide, 1861; Gold Medal, Christchurch, 1882; Highest Award, Crystal Palace, 1881; Silver Medal, Capetown, 1877; First Order of Merit for Excellence, Port Elizabeth, 1885; only Prize, the Royal Agricultural Society of England, 1893. Telephones: Nos. 66 and 176, Owlerton. Telegraphic Address: " Laplata, Sheffield." Bankers: Sheffield Banking Co., Ltd.

BURGOYNE, B. E., Ltd., Produce Merchants, 18, Billiter Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1900 by the late Bernard Edward Burgoyne. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: James Bradford, J.P. (Chairman), W. M. B. Mellish (Manager), M. Lelew. Agents in Dundee, Liverpool, and Leicester. Specialities: Farina and Dextrine, of which they claim to be the largest London Importers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 116 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Sizing, London." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

BURGOYNE, BURBIDGES & CO., Wholesale Druggists and Manufacturing Chemists, 12 and 16, Coleman Street, London, E.C. Established in, 1741. One of the former partners was Mr. Pidgeon, well known in the drug trade, and one of the founders of the Pharmaceutical Society. In recent years the firm has been carried on by Thomas and Freda. rick Burbidge. In 1876 Mr. Cyriax and Thomas Farries, F.I.C., were admitted into partnership. Present Principals: Thomas Farries, Henry Richard Arnold, Gerald Robert Moxon, Reginald Gordon Halstead. Staff: 100 clerks; also warehouse and sundries room clerks, &c. Specialities: Every description of Chemical, also Pharmaceutical, Preparations, &c. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government, most of the great hospitals of the world, and the Government Institutions throughout India. Telephone: No. 3255 London Wall (throe lines). Telegraphic Address: " Cyriax, London."

BURGOYNE, P. B., & CO., Ltd., - Australian Wine Importers and General Merchants, 5, Dowgate Hill, London, E.C. Established in 1871. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Directors: P. B. Burgoyne (Governing Director), Cuthbert John Burgoyne, Alan Hughes' Burgoyne, M.P., and Lennox Stuart Burgoyne (sons). Australian Office: Burgoyne Buildings, 130 to 132, William Street, Melbourne; also the Mount Ophir Winery and Vineyards, Rutherglen. The firm are intimately identified with the development of . the Australian Wine Industry, having introduced these wines to the British public. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to the late Queen Victoria, and as Wino Growers to the late King Edward and as purveyors of Australian Wine to H.M. the King. Telephone: No. 3944 Central. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Burgoyne, London."

BURKART (ARTHUR) & CO., Show Card Manufacturers, 8, Cheapside, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1903 by Arthur Burkart, the present principal. Specialities: Show Cards, Posters, Advertising Novelties, Calendars, Postcards, Booklets, &c. Award: Bronze. Medal, International Printing, Stationery, and Allied Trades Exhibition, 1904. Connection: United Kingdom chiefly. Telephone: No. 1275 City, London. Bankers: London and South Western Bank, Ltd.

BURLEY, C., Ltd., Brick and Portland Cement Manufacturers, &c., Station Works, Sittingbourne, Kent. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1855 by the late Charles Burley. Incorporated as a private Limited Company. Directors: Sydney Waterlow Burley (Managing Director), W. T. Burley, F. F. Burley, L. R. Burley. Premises: Brick Works and Cement Works occupy 100 acres. Staff: 700. Branch • Works: Milton Regis, Sittingbourne. Specialities: Stock Facing and Malm Bricks; Red Bricks, Best Portland Cement (Dolphin Brand), British Standard Specification; are also Hop and Fruit Growers, with land extending between 500 and. 600 acres; Farmers and Manure Merchants. Flint Merchants. The firm owns a fleet of thirty to forty barges, used in carrying the various products for the works, together with general freightage business. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 9 Sittingbourne. Telegraphic Address: " Burley, Limited, Sittingbourne." Bankers London County. and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Sittingbourne Branch).

BURLEY, RICHARD, Straw Hat Manufacturer, 10, Old Bedford Road, Luton. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1885 by. Richard Burley, the present principal. Branch: 57, Cheapside, Luton. Specialities: Men's Trimmed Straw Hats, Children's Galateas, and Ladies' Sailor Straw Hats, and Ladies' Semi-trimmed Fancies. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial, for Men's and Children's Hats; United Kingdom for Ladies' Fancies. Telephones: Nos. 7 and 146 Luton. Telegraphic Address: " Capstan, Luton." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

BURLINGTON SLATE QUARRIES (THE), Slate Quarry Owners, Kirkby-in-Furness, Lancs. Hours of Business: Usual. Established 200 years ago by the first Earl of Burlington. Continued and worked by succeeding Dukes of Devonshire. Present Principal: Rt. Hon. Lord R. F. Cavendish, now sole owner. Claim to be the oldest and most extensive in England. Speciality: Burlington Slate for Roofing. Telegraphic Address: " Burlington, Kirkby-in-Furness." Bankers: Man-chester, Liverpool and District Banking Co., Ltd., Ulverston.

BURNAND, W. E., & CO., Engineers, Chippinghouse Works, Lowfields, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1897 by W. E. Burnand, A.M.I.E.E., the present principal. Started in 1897 with total staff, one boy, making arc lamps and transformers, later carried out General Engineering work. Premises: Main machine shop, 150 feet by 30 feet, with gallery; also offices and outbuildings. Staff: Thirty-seven. Specialities: Alternating Current Motors up to 300 h. -p. and starters for same, transformers of all sizes, bearings for lino shafts and some special apparatus for the Admiralty. D. C. Motors only made for special duties. The firm control the Sheffield Electric Power Co., Ltd. Patents: Nos. 6095 and 20423 (1901); No. 14770 (1903); No. 21410 (1898); No. 26723 (1898) and others. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 16 Sharrow. Telegraphic Address: " Burnand, Lowfiel&, Sheffield." Bank ers: Sheffield Banking Co., Ltd.

BURNARD & ALGER, LIMITED, Chemical Manufacturers, Sulphuric Acid and Chemical Fertilisers, Wharfingers and Ware housemen, The Plymouth Chemical Works, Plymouth. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1854 by the predecessors of present directors. Continued a private firm until 1890. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1890. Directors: Robert Burnard. (Chairman), Harold Alger, Lawrence F. Burnard, and Col. A. H. Bagnold, C.B. Business has steadily grown since foundation. Premises: Extensive Factory and Works covering eleven acres. Owners of the freehold deep water Cattedown Wharves, where ocean steamers drawing 24 ft. can lie alongside always afloat to load or discharge. Obtained Act of Parliament in 1887 known as " The Burnard & Alger Cattedown Wharves Act," to levy dues on shipping and to issue transferable dock warrants. Depots for Chemical Fertilisers in various parts of the United Kingdom. Specialities: Chemical Fer tilisers, Sulphuric Acid, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Continent of Europe. Telephones: Nos. 57 and 230 Plymouth. Telegraphic Address: " Burnard Alger, Plymouth." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

BURNETT (EGERTON), Ltd., Serge Merchants, South Street, Wellington, Somer set. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established over forty years ago by Egerton Burnett (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Managing Director: Frank Jennings Burnett. Premises: The present Warehouse was opened in Queen Victoria's Jubliee year, 1887. Speciality: Royal Serges. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrants: Special appointment to H.M. The Queen, H.M. Queen Alexandra, The Empress of Russia and twenty-four other Royalties. Telephone: No. 4 Wellington. Telegraphic Address: " Burnett, Wellington." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

BURNETT (SIR ROBERT) & CO., Ltd. (with whom are incorporated Hills & Underwood, late of Norwich and Great Tower Street, E.C.), Rectifiers, Wine and Spirit Merchants and Vinegar Brewers, Vauxhall Distillery and Vinegar Works, London, S.E. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., or later as required; Warehouses, 6.30 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Bonded Stores, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. (Government Hours). Established in 1770 in Vauxhall as Fassett & Burnett. Had been in existence at Horselydown and Rotherhithe for some 100 years previously. Particulars of origin not known. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1911. Directors: George Arbouin Burnett, Douglas 'Burnett, Charles Guy Arbouin Burnett, F. H. J. Underwood. Preference Shareholders' Director: Ernest H. Burnett. Amalgamated in 1910 with Hills & Underwood, of London and Norwich, in person of F. H. J. Underwood. One of the oldest Distilleries in London. Premises: Cover about a couple of acres. Staff: About 120. Export Offices: London, 4, New London Street, E.C.; New York, 134, West 34th Street. Specialities: Gin, British Brandy, Cordials, Malt Vinegar, produced from malted Barley. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1464 Hop (two lines), Distillery and Vinegar Works; No. 280 Avenue, London (Export Office). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Burnett's, Vauxhall, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Prescott's Office, 50, Cornhill, E.C.).

BURNLEY (THOMAS) & SONS, Ltd., Worsted Spinners, Gomersal Mills, Gomersal, near Leeds. London Agents: Messrs. Harris and Sanders, 17, Silver Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1752 by William Burnley. Partnership Successions: (1) W. Burnley & Sons, 1780; (2) J. Burnley, 1799; (3) J. Burnley & Sons, 1810; (4) T. & W. Burnley, 1821; (5) Thomas Burnley, 1831; (6) T. Burnley & Sons, 1855. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893. Managing Director: Thomas Burnley. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Claim that theirs was the first Textile Mill run electrically. Very extensive and well equipped. Staff: About 500. Specialities: Tube Yarns, Scotch Fingering and Knitting Wools, Hosiery Yarns, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 86 Cleckheaton. Telegraphic Address: " Burn leys, Gomersal." Code: A B C. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. (Bradford).

BURNS (GEORGE) & SONS, Textile Engineers, Burnside Ironworks, Galashiels. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1856 by George Burns. Present Principals: James Burns and William Burns. Staff: Fifty (mechanics). Specialities: Preparing and Finishing Machinery for Woollen and Worsted Industries. Plans and Specifications drawn for complete Woollen Factories. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Consulting Textile Engineers to the Commonwealth Government of Australia. Telephone: No. 26 Galashiels. Telegraphic Address: " Burns, Galashiels." Codes: A 1 and A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Royal Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

BURNS, G. & J., Ltd., Shipowners, 30, Jamaica Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. (ordinary). Established in 1824 by George and James Burns (sons of Dr. Burns, for sixty-eight years Minister of the Barony Parish, Glasgow), the former being created a baronet of the United Kingdom, May, 1889. Partnership Successions: Sir George Burns, first Baronet, died June 2nd, 1890. The business had been for some years previously under the direct ion and control of his eldest son, John, who succeeded to the title, and who, in 1897, was raised to the Peerage as Baron Inverclyde of Castle Womyss. Ho was succeeded in the conduct of the business by his two sons, the Hon. George Arbuthnot Burns (2nd Baron Inverclyde ) and the Hon. James Cleland Burns, who continued to direct the firm's affairs 8.3 principal partners until the incorporation of the concern under the Companies Acts in 1905. The first Baron Inverclyde died in 1901; the second in 1905. Present Directors: The Right Hon. Lord Inverclyde of Castle Wemyss (Managing Director); Alex. Cross, of Langbank: John A. Roxburgh, Glasgow. Branches: 49, Queen's Square and 21, Royal Avenue, Belfast; Exchange Buildings, Leith; 20, Water Street, Liver-pool; 2, Brymner Street, Greenock; Steam Packet Office, Larne; 31, Brazennose Street, Manchester; The Harbour, Ardrossan; Steam Packet Office, Londonderry; 71, North Wall, Dublin. Staff: Clerks, 250; Ships' Officers, 53; Marine Engineers, 42; Stewards, 155; Ships' Crews, 364; Stevedores, Labourers, &c., 844; total, 1,708. Business: Regular Steamship Services between Glasgow, Greenock and Belfast, Ardrossan and Belfast, Glasgow and Larne, Glasgow, Greenock and Londonderry, Glasgow, Greenock and Liverpool, Glasgow, Groono-k and Manchester, Glasgow, Greenock and Dublin, maintained by fast modern steamers, affording every accommodation for passengers and cargo. The Company has carried His Majesty's Mails between Scotland and Ireland without a break since July 16th, 1849. Telephones: Head Office, Glasgow, No. 5760 (ten lines) Central, with private Branch Exchange connecting Departments and Quay Offices. Greenock, No. 50; Ardrossan, No. 25; Leith, No. 575; Londonderry, No. 105; Belfast, Nos. 3675, 104 and 74 and (Quay) No. 1465; Manchester, Nos. 2382 and (Quay) 2382A Central; Liverpool, Nos. 6323 a id 6313 Central; Dublin, Nos. 1018 and 1019.

BURNS & OATES, Ltd., Publishers, Stationers, Church Furnishers, and Contractors to His Majesty's Government, 28, Orchard Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established early in the nineteenth century. At one time the partners were James Burns, formerly an Anglican publisher, Mr. Oates, and Mr. Lambert. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1886; it has now among its directors Mr. J. G. Snead Cox, of Broxwood Court, Herefordshire (Chairman), and Mr. Edward Riddell-Blount, of Cheeseburn Grange, Northumberland. Specialities: Publishers of Works by Father Faber, Cardinals Wiseman, Manning, Newman, and Vaughan, Abbot Gasquet, Mrs. Meynell, Patmore, Mgr. Benson, A. Do Vero, Sir F. Burnand, Mrs. Craigie, Francis Thompson, and all other Catholic writers of eminence; Books of Catholic Teaching and of Catholic Tendency, and Educational Works for use in Catholic Schools. Connection: Throughout the Empire, the United States, and wherever the English language is spoken. Telephone: No. 5911 Mayfair. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Burns Oates, London."

BURNS, PHILP & CO., Ltd., Australian Merchants and Shipowners. Head Office: Sydney, N.S.W. London Office: London House, 35, Crutchod Friars, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1870 by Colonel Hon. James Burns (Chairman), Rt. Hon. Lord Inchcape, A. Forsyth, J. Forsyth, Senator Hon. J. T. Walker, Sir James R. Fairfax and T. C. Amsden. Branches: Twenty-five in Australia and in various Islands in the South Pacific and in Java. Business: Australian Merchants and Shipowners. Telephone: No. 6497 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Gogobera, London." Codes: Various. Bankers: Union Bank of Australia, Ltd.

BURRADON & COXLODGE COAL CO., Ltd. (THE), 21, Mosley Street, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: J. H. Reah (Managing Director), R. J. Lambert (Chairman). Business: Coal Owners and Brick Manufacturers. Specialities: Steam Coal and House Coal. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty). Telephones: No. 1318 Central; No. 254 City (Newcastle-on-Tyne). Bankers: North Eastern Bank, Ltd.. Telegraphic Address: " Reah, Newcastle on-Tyne."

BURRELL & CO., Ltd., Colour and Varnish Makers. Head and Export Offices: Tower House, Trinity Square, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Offices, 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Works, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1852 by A. E. Burrell. Succeeded by the late 'A. L. Burrell and E. R. Burrell (sons). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Directors: E. R. Burrell (Chairman ), P. E. Burrell, K. Burrell, J. B. Shand. Premises: Works, Burrell's Wharf, Millwall, E., cover two acres, fully equipped with modern appliances. Staff: Total, about 150. Branches: Sydney, New South Wales, Santa Cruz de Teneriffe, Mexico City, Madrid, Victoria, B.C., Buenos Aires. Agencies throughout the world. Specialities: Burrell's Snow-white Zinc Paint Burrell's Durable Enamel; " Limogene " Enamel; Burrell's Superfine Motor Body Varnish, Burrell's Graphite Paint, &c. Patents: " Helix" Roller Mills for the production of fine colours, pastes, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1691 Central (Export Offices); No. 124 East (Works and Home Trade) (two lines). Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: (Home) " Diagoras, Mi lleast "; (Export) " Burdenhall, London. Codes: A B C, A 1, Private. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd., 24, St. Mary Axe, London, E.C.

BURROUGHES & WATTS, Ltd., 19, Soho Square, London, W. Works: Bow Common Lane, London, E. Established in 1836. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. L. H. J. Burroughes, J. R. Abbott, C. P. Lidbetter, and S. J. Dicksee, Directors. Specialities: Billiard Tables, Ivory Billiard Balls, and all accessories in connection therewith, for which the firm is widely known. Connection: Throughout the United Kingdom, Abroad, and in the Colonies. Subsidiary Company, Burroughes & Watts, South Africa, Ltd., in Johannesburg; Cape Town, Durban, and Port Elizabeth, &c., &c. Branches: (In British Isles) Manchester, Newcastle, Glasgow, Birmingham, Sheffield, Cardiff, Southampton, Belfast, Dublin, &c. Patent: Steel Vacuum Cushion. Royal Warrant Holders to His Majesty King George V. Telephone: No. 1531 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Burroughes, London."

BURROUGHES, W, J., & SONS, Heating Engineers, 143 and 144, Holborn, London, E.C., Toronto and Vancouver (Canada). Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1878 by W. J. Burroughes, the present principal. Business: Specialists in all classes of Heating and Ventilation by Steam or Hot Water. Patent: Humidifying Radiator. Telephone: No. 2416 Holborn, London. Telegraphic Address: " Elapse, London."

BURROUGHS ADDING MACHINE, Ltd., Manufacturers of Adding Machines. Head Office; 76, Cannon Streets, London, E.C. Factory: Nottingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1895. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909 in succession to Burroughs Adding and Registering Machine Co., Ltd. Directors: W. H. Pike, junr. (Managing Director), W. J. Cannon, C. W. Gooch, A. J. Lanver. Branches: Birmingham, Bristol, Leeds, Leicester, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle-on-Tyne Nottingham, Glasgow, Dublin . Speciality: Adding Machines, for which numerous Patents are held. Connection United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 7497 City. Telegraphic Address: " Additive, Cannon, London." Codes: A B C, Lieber's. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

BURROUGHS WELLCOME & CO., Manufacturing Chemists, Snow Hill Buildings, London, E.C. London Exhibition Room: 54, Wigmoro Street, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m, Established upwards of a quarter of a century ago; are successors to, and sole proprietors of, the business of Brockedon, the originator, in 1842, of compressed medicines in the shape of bi-convex discs. Principal: Henry S. Wellcome, who, as surviving partner, became solo proprietor on the death of S. M. Burroughs in 1895. Special Features: The firm is credited with having revolutionised the method of administering medicines. It has pioneered the introduction of some of the most notable agents employed in modern medicine, and has developed many new processes. Invented and produced at great cost, exclusive machinery which operates with the precision of the finest watchwork, and ensures unique accuracy of dosage (ranging from nth of a grain to one drachm and more) in compressed products issued under the " Tabloid," " Soloid " and other brands. The firm's work is based on original scientific research, and conducted on strictly ethical lines. The present principal is the founder of the two research institutions known as the Wellcome Chemical Research Laboratories, in King Street, E.C., and the Wellcome Physiological Research Laboratories, at Herne Hill. Both are independent of the business, and under separate and distinct direction, although they do considerable scientific work for the firm. (The results of investigations at these institutions are communicated to the learned societies.) In the manufacture of fine chemicals, alkaloids, and galenicals of exceptional purity, a special aim is to bring back to this country industries that were slipping away. The firm is universally known for medicinal products issued under the " Tabloid " and other brands, characterised by portability and preservability in all climates, as well as by purity and extreme accuracy. Premises: Chief Offices, &c., at Snow Hill Buildings, London; and London Exhibition Room at 54, Wigmore Street, W. The " Wellcome " Chemical Works at Dartford, Kent, organised for manufacturing operations upon a large scale. Fully-equipped establishments at Now York, Montreal, Sydney, Cape Town, Milan, Shanghai, Buenos Aires, and Bombay; and depots in the principal cities of the world. Stag: Over 2,200 employees, including many highly qualified professional scientific workers. Connection: World-wide. Have medically equipped every great military expedition of recent years, notably the British campaigns in Ashanti, the Sudan, Chitral, South Africa, China, Somaliland, Thibot, &c., besides those of foreign Powers; also the exploring expeditions of Stanley, Emin Pasha, Nanson, the Duke of the Abruzzi, Peary, Jackson-Harmsworth, Shackleton, Sven Hedin, Roosevelt, Amundsen, Scott., and many of hers. Awards: For the scientific excellence of its products the firm has received more than 260 Grand Prizes, Gold Medals and other Highest Awards at the great International Exhibitions of the world. Telephone: City, Six Thousand (eight lines). Telegraphic Address: " Tabloid, Cent, London." For Cablegrams and Radiotelegrams: " Tabloid, London." Welfare work has always been a special characteristic of the firm in its relations with its employees, for whose benefit the Wellcome Club and Institute was founded at Dartford. The club premises consist of the old Manor House, with its beautiful park, and other buildings forming libraries, reading and writing rooms, assembly rooms, gymnasium, &c. Objects: To promote harmony and social intercourse amongst the employees; to provide them with a pleasant resort outside of business hours; and to encourage mental and physical recreation by means of music, literary and other entertainments, technical and other classes (with occasional lectures), athletics, field sports, and games. In connection with the Club are many subsidiary associations, including cricket, tennis, hockey, photographic, and arts and crafts clubs; scientific, literary, orchestral and various other societies. The Club grounds also afford facilities for boating, swimming, fishing, &c.

BURROW (DAVIS) & SONS, Brush Manufacturers, Whitehouse Street, Hunslet, Leeds. How's of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1861 by Davis Burrow; succeeded by Davis Burrow (jun.) and Alfred L. Burrow, trading as Davis Burrow & Sons. Present Principal: Alfred L. Burrow. Branches: Office, 67, Fore Street, London, E.C.; 384, Little Collins Street, Melbourne; 16, Carrington Street, Wynyard Square, Sydney. Speciality: Brushes of all kinds. Patents: For numerous improvements in Manufacture of Brushes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 547 Leeds. Telegraphic Addresses: " Burrow, Leeds "; " Painting, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

BURROW, W. & J., Proprietors of the " Alpha Brand " Malvern Waters, The Springs, Belle Vuo Terrace, Malvern, Worcestershire. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1850 by Walter Burrow and John Burrow. Present Principal: John Burrow Graham (grandson of the former senior partner, Walter Burrow). Have made careful conservation of the Historic Malvern Spring, the Bottling of its beautiful natural spring water in a state of purity for general uso. Had the honour for many years of supplying His late Majesty King Edward VII., and other members of the Royal Family with their drinking water. Premises: Consist of Bottling House, Factory, Warehouses, Packing Rooms, &c. Specialities: Bottling and Distribution of the Natural Spring Water (Still and Aerated), Burrow's " Alpha " Brand Malvern Seltzer, Real Soda, Potass and Lithia Water, " Malvernia," Lithiated " Malvernia " (for Gout), Dry Lemonade, Ginger Ale, Dry and Sweet, Brewed Ginger Beer, &c. Manufactured with the Spring Water of renowned purity. Medically recom-mended for Gout, Rheumatism, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: By Appointment by Royal Warrant to His Majesty King George V. Special Appointment to Her late Royal Highness Princess Mary Adelaide, Duchess of Teck. Gold Medals, 1913, at the International Exhibitions of Hygiene and Alimentation in Rome, Barcelona and Geneva. Telephone: No. 152 (National), Malvern. Telegraphic Address: " Springs, Malvern." Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd.

BURRUP, MATHIESON & SPRAGUE, Ltd., Manufacturing Stationers and Printers, 35, Throgmorton Street, London, E.C. Works and Counting House: 114, Southwark Street, S.E. Hours of Business: Factory, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. City offices, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1.30 p.m. Communication can usually be obtained until 10 or 11 p.m. Established in 1628. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1905. Directors: F. W. Burrup (Chairman and Managing Director ), W. J. Williams, H. G. Mathieson, E. N. Mathieson and A. E. Gent. When known as Burrup & Sons, occupied a site in the Royal Exchange from 1720, the original sign of the Dolphin being still in existence in the Guildhall Museum. Staff: About 200. Specialities: Prospectus and Company Printing, Share Warrants, Bonds, Certificates, all classes of Letterpress and Lithographic work. All stylEs of binding and loose leaf books, Filing devices and Card Indexes, Law and other Stationery. Patent: Individual File, an improved File or Binder. Connection: London (chiefly), Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 4420 Hop (Private Branch Exchange); No. 4206 City (for use after 6 p.m. to the works only), London. Telegraphic Address: " Observant, Boroh, London." M2 Cable Address: " Observant, London." Bankers: Robarts, Lubbock & Co., Lloyds Bank Limited, and Parr's Bank, Ltd.

BURT BROTHERS, Coppersmiths, Metal Spinners, &c., Crescent Copper Works, Edward Street, Parade, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1775 by James Pemberton. Stall: About 150. Business: Coppersmiths, Metal Spinners, Stamped Brassfounders, Stampers and Piercers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephone: No. 575 (National), Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Stewpan, Birmingham." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Temple Row, Birmingham).

BURT-MARSHALL (JAMES), Ltd., Linen and Cotton Bleachers, Mercerizers and Finishers, Luncarty Bleachfield, Luncarty Station, Perth; 5, Bedford Street, Belfast. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1750. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Directors: Mrs. Catherine Burt-Marshall, David B. Burt-Marshall, William M. Burt-Marshall, Sir Charles Wright Macara, Bart., Duncan McKellar and Adam Conacher. Premises: Extensive Works in Luncarty. Staff: 400. Speciality: Damask Finishing. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Telephones: No. 297 Perth; No. 3835 Belfast. Telegraphic Address: " Marshall, Luncarty."

BURTON, SON & SANDERS, Ltd., Sugar Millers, Merchants, Importers, Peel and Jam Manufacturers, Almond Millers, Ipswich. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1824. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: B. H. Burton (Chairman), W. P. Burton (Vice-Chairman), W. 0. Jolly, F. Leighton, G. A. Scott. Secretury: H. C. Warren. Staff: Total about 500. Branches: Liverpool, Manchester, Glasgow, Bristol, Colchester, Newcastle, Norwich and London. Specialities: Icing Sugars. Prepared Almonds and all Confectioners' Requisites. Awards: Various Gold Medals for Excellence of Quality. Connection: United Kingdom, America and all Colonies. Telephones: Nos. 68, 265 and 379 Ipswich. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Burton, Ipswich." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

BURY QUILTING MANUFACTURING CO. Ltd., Heavy Cotton Piece Goods Manufacturers in the finest grades. Mills: Fern Grove Mills, Bury, Lancs. it'arehouse: 28 to 34, Faulkner Street, Manchester, and 5, Golden Square, London. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1890 by John W. Hall. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Directors: Edmund Milnes (Chairman), James Redfern (Managing Director), James Milnes and E. H. Kay. The founder's family had been in the quilting trade for over one hundred years, he being the last of the family in it. The Directors' families have been in the cotton business for even a longer period. Premises: Very extensive fully equipped mills. Staff: 900. Agencies: Paris, Berlin, Vienna, New York and Melbourne. Specialities: Waistcoat Cloths, Suiting Cloths, and Breeches Cloths. Patents: Three. Awards: Paris and London. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: No. 3304 City, Manchester; No. 126 Bury; No. 5869 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Address: Quiltings, Manchester." Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd., Parr's Bank, Ltd., A. Schaaffhausen'scher Bankverein.

BUSER, E., & CO., Ltd., Warehousemen, 44, Gutter Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1897 by E. Buser. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: W. W. R. Swinson (Chairman), Emil Buser (Managing Director), A. Spuhler. Staff: Twelve. Specialities: Swiss Ribbed Underwear, Swiss Hand Knitted Sport Goods, and Crepe de Sante Underwear. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 11880 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Ebulco, London."

BUSH (HENRY W.) & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Druggists' Sundries, General Fancy Goods, &c., 32/34, Commercial Street, London, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1887 by Henry W. Bush. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Directors: Henry W. Bush (Chairman and Managing Director), and B. T. Pegg. Secretary: H. Smith. Specialities: The manufacture of all kinds of Druggists' Sundries. Are also Glass Blowers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government, also to the Indian Government. Telephones: No. 1957 Central, and 4371 City. Telegraphic Address: " Bushranger, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

BUSH, W. J., & CO., Ltd., Manufacturing Chemists, Distillers of Essential Oils, Manufacturers of Soluble and Fruit Essences and Perfumery, &c., 28, Ash Grove, Hackney, London, N.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1851. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Premises: Extensive Factory at Ash Grove, Hackney, covering two and a quarter acres; one of the most complete establishments of the kind. Specialities: Soluble and Fruit Essences, and Essential Oils. Inventors of many of the Soluble Essences now on the market. Awards: Many at leading Exhibitions. Connection: All countries of the world. Telephones: Nos. 461 to 464 Dalston. Telegraphic Address: " Tangerine, London." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions).

BUSHBY BROTHERS, Cotton Merchants and Shippers, 39, Old Hall Street, Liverpool, and Houston, Texas, U.S.A. Hours of Business: Usual. Present Principals: Geoffrey Campbell Bushby and Edmund Fleming Bushby. Branch: Gainesville, Texas, U.S.A. Business: Cotton Merchants and Shippers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 5848 and 5849 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic and Cable Address " Lildor, Liverpool." Codes: Meyer's (39th Edition) and Shepperson s. Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd.

BUSST & MARLOW, Shaving Brush Manufacturers, 18, Lower Rushall Street, Walsall. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1805 by Joseph Busst. Continued by (1) William Busst and John Marlow; (2) William Busst; (3) William Busst (jun.) and Frank Busst. Present Principal: Frank Busst. Claim to be the largest Shaving Brush Manufacturers only in Great Britain. Staff: Thirty-five. Speciality: Shaving Brushes. Patent: " Trident " Shaving Brush, No. 469823. Connection: Lnited Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

BUSZARD, W. & G., Bride Cake Manufacturers, Refreshment Contractors, Ball and Rout Furnishers, 197 and 199, Oxford Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1848. Specialities: Wedding Cakes; Catering for Wedding Receptions, Dejeuners, Dinners, arid Ball Suppers, &c, The Factories are at Camden Town and Enfield. Staff: 250. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 5212 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Buszard, London."

BUTCHER, W., & SONS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Cameras, Photographic Apparatus, Cinematographs, &c., Camera House, Farringdon Avenue, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1860 by William Butcher (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: William F. Butcher (Managing Director), Frank E. Butcher, Isidor Joseph, Alec J. Jones, C. Garner, Charles Tyler. Secretary: S. S. Bloxham. Staff: Over 650. Agencies: Representatives in Russia, Germany, Belgium, Holland, Italy. Travellers in China, India, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, Buenos Ayres, Canada and South Africa. Specialities: Cameras and Photographic Apparatus of all kinds. Cinematograph Cameras and Projectors, Films, and everything connected with the Animated Picture Trade. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 5995 Holborn, London (four lines). Telegraphic Address: " England, Fleet, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition).

BUTE GRAIN & SEED STORES, 5 and 7, King Street, Rothesay, N.B. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1886 by James Fisher, the present principal. Assisted by Robert Burns Fisher (eldest son). Preinises: Equipped with up-to-date machinery for Cleaning Agricultural Seeds and Dressing Grain, &c. Storage covers over 20,000 square feet. The property of the firm. Staff: Twelve to twenty, according to the season. Specialities: Agricultural Seeds and Grain; also the laying down of Pastures, Saving of Seed Potatoes, and Manufacturing Chemical Manures. Connection: Scotland, England and Ireland. Telephone: No. 2 Rothesay. Telegraphic Address: " James Fisher, Rothesay." Mr. Fisher has been a member of Rothesay Town Council for twenty-four years, and has filled all the offices in the gift of the Council. He is Provost of the Burgh, Justice of the Peace for the County of Bute, and a member of Bute County Council. He is First Chairman of the National Insurance Committee, Chairman of the Old Age Pension Committee and Chairman of the Board of Directors of Norman Stewart Institute, Secretary and Treasurer of Bute Agricultural Society, Treasurer for fifteen years, Secretary and Trear truer ten years.

BUTLER BROTHERS, Harness and Saddlery and General Leather Goods Manufacturers. Head Office: Park Street, Walsall. Hours of Business: Offices, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established 100 years ago. Founders succeeded by three generations of the family. Present Principals: J. H. Butler, E. R. Butler. Specialities: Harness, Saddlery, Chains, Buckles, and General Leather Goods. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 82 Walsall. Telegraphic Address: " Butler Brothers, Walsall." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Unicode. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

BUTLER, CHARLES, Timber Merchant, Draycott, Blockley, Worcestershire. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1852. Premises: Cover one and a quarter acres. Speciality: All English Timber. Contractors to H.M. Government (War Office).

BUTLER (EDWARD) & SONS, Ltd., Wholesale Manufacturers of Saddlery, Harness, &c., Saddlers' Ironmongers, 74, Park Street, Walsall. Hours of Business: a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about two generations ago. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Branches: 332, Pitt Street, Sydney, N.S.W.; 432, Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland. Specialities: Saddlery, Harness, &c., also all kinds of Ironmongery for Saddlers and Harness Makers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 83 Walsall. Telegraphic Address: " Leather, Walsall." Code: Western Union (Universal Edition).

BUTLER (GEORGE) & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Cutlery and Electro Plate, Trinity Works, 105, Eyre Street, Sheffield; London Showroom, 62, Holborn Viaduct, E.C. Established during the seventeenth century. (The " Butler " Trade-mark was registered by the Cutlers Company in 1768 and the " Key " Trade - mark in 1681.) Managing Director: Robert Belfitt. Premises: Trinity Works, Sheffield, completely equipped for the manufacture upon a large scale of Cutlery and Plate of every description. London Showrooms as above (over Snow Hill Station). Specialities: Cavendish " Cutlery and Electro-plate. Sole makers of other Special Brands. Also Cabinets and Cases of Cutlery and Plate, Presentation Outfits, Prizes for Sports, Spoons and Forks, Fish and Dessert Sets, Wedding and Christmas Presents, &c. Awards: Highest and Special Mention, Cold Medals, Grand Prix at leading Exhibition% Connection: UniteU King dom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 3216 National (Sheffield) • No. 6976 Central (London). Telegraphic Address: " Butlers, Sheffield." Mr. Robert Belfitt, J.P., was Master Cutler of Sheffield for the year 1891-2.

BUTLER & HACON, Corn, Seed Cake, and Hop Merchants, Butter and Egg Importers, and Egg Picklers, 11, 13, and 15, Duke Street, Norwich. Hours of Business: Usual. Present Principals: Henry Jackson Butler, Edgar Gooch Hacon, and Kenneth Hicks Butler. Premises: Extensive, on river side at Norwich, Coslany Wharf, and Dukes Palace Wharf. Considerable plant of Crushing and Mealing Machinery. Branch Stores: North Quay, Great Yarmouth. Business: First Branch as Corn, Seed, Cake, and Hop Merchants. Importers of Clover and other Agricultural Seeds and Shippers of Canary and Hemp Seed, Dutch Blue Peas, Haricot Beans, all descriptions of Rice, Oatmeal, &c. Second Branch The firm hold important Agencies for well-known brands of Danish, Irish, Normandy, and Colonial Butters, and are also importers of Continental Eggs. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 140 (National) Norwich. Telegraphic Address: " Prompt, Norwich." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. (Norwich).

BUTLER, McCULLOCH & CO., LIMITED, Wholesale Herbalists, Druggists, and Seed Merchants, South Row, Covent Garden Market, London, W.C. Hours of Business; Market days, 5 a.m. to 6 p.m.; other days, 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1735 by James Butler, at " Ye Sygne of Ye Thistle and Crown " Herb and Seed Warehouse, where it is still carried on. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Managing Director: Sidney G. Hart. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Business: Wholesale Importers and Exporters of all kinds of Culinary and Medicinal Herbs, Distillers of Perfumed and Medicinal Waters, and Essence Manufacturers; Importers of Guaranteed Pure Lucca Olive Oil. Awards: Prize Medals at the Great International Exhibitions of 1851 and 1862 for the general excellence of their Goods and Preparations. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: To H.M. King George V.; also to His late Majesty King Edward VII. Telephone: No. 8105 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Antiquity, Rand, London." Bankers: London City and. Al i i l land Bank, Ltd.

BUTLER & TANNER, Letterpress Printers and Bookbinders, The Selwood Printing Works and the Adderwell Printing Works, Frome, Somerset. Hours of Business: Usual. Established between 1790 and 1795 by one Crocker. Partnership Successions: (1) W. Langford; (2) W. T. Butler bought the business; (3) W. T. Butler and J. Tanner; (4) J. Tanner; (5) R. R. Tanner and L. R. Tanner (sons), 1895. Present Principals: Russell Robson Tanner and Lanfear Robson Tanner. Branch: 19, Ludgate Hill, London, E.C. Business: Letterpress Printing and Bookbinding. Specially laid out for long runs. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 4 Frome, Private Exchange; No. 13109 Central, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Selwood, Frome "; " Typenhaft, Cent, London." Bankers: Wilts and Dorset Bank, Frome.

BUTLER, WM., & CO. (BRISTOL), Ltd., Tar and Rosin Distillers, Turpentine, Rosin and Tar Importers, St. Philip's, Bristol. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1843 by Wm. Butler. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Directors: William Henry Butler, J.P. (Chairman), Joseph Beaumont Butler, Thomas Butler, J.P. Premises: Works, Crews Hole, Bristol, about seven acres in extent; Offices and Stores, about one and a half acres; Works, Upper Parting, Gloucester, about three acres; Wharf and Store, Worcester Wharf, Birmingham. Staff: Office, twenty-three; workmen about 180. Business: Distillers of Tar and Turpentine, Importers of Turpentine, Rosin, and Tar. Telephones: No. 4681 (four lines) Bristol; No. 875 Gloucester; No. 1266 (Midland) Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Butler, Bristol."

BUTLIN (THOMAS) & CO., Ltd., Pig Iron Smelters, Ironfounders, &c., Irthlingborough Iron Works, Wellingborough. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1852 by William Butlin (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: W. H. Butlin, B.A., K.I.C. (Spain) (Chairman and Managing Director), William Wright, J.P. (Deputy Chairman), F. J. Butlin, Alfred Docker and W. H. B. Bowes, B.A. The members of the American Mining Engineers and of the Iron and Steel Institute visited the works in 1906, and were entertained by the Company. Premises: Cover about thirty acres. Staff: 170 to 180. Agencies: Birmingham, 62, Stafford Street (Whitfield & Co.); Agents for Pig Iron, Birmingham District, 164, Edmund Street (Lander and Larsson); Agents for Pig Iron, Lancashire, Yorkshire and Cheshire District. Specialities: Highclass Pig Iron, both Foundry and Forge, known as the "Butlin " brand; also Cast Iron Work of every description. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Telephone: No. 3, Wellingborough. Telegraphic Address: " Butlin, Wellingborough." Mr. W. H. Butlin is ViceConsul for Spain at Northampton, and holds the Cross of Isabella Catolica. Mr. W. Wright is Chairman of the Bench of Magistrates for Notts County. Mr. F. J. Butlin is Cancellier to the Vice-Consul for Spain at Northampton.

BUTT, VOSPER & KNIGHT, Woollen Merchants, Manchester, Tailors' Trimmings, Hosiery, Tweed Caps, and Clothing Manufacturers. Warehouse: 103, Old Town Street. Factory: Mill Street, Plymouth. London Office: 50, Aldermanbury, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to '6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1854 by William Butt. Partnership Successions: (1) William Butt (d.) and William Vosper, trading as William Butt & Co., 1873; (2) William Vosper and Frederick William Butt (retired), as Butt, Vesper & Co., 1876; (3) William Vesper and William Satchel Knight, trading as Butt, Vosper & Knight, 1892; (4) William Vosper (retired), W. S. Knight, and Canning Vosper, 1899. Present Principals: Since 1904, William Satchel Knight and Canning Vosper. Premises: In 1895 Warehouses rebuilt and enlarged; in 1902 Clothing Factory started; 1905, removed to larger and more commodious buildings, fitted throughout with modern appliances; 1911, Warehouse considerably enlarged by purchase of adjoining property. Staff: About 350. Specialities: Woollen Goods, Tailors' Trimmings, Hosiery, &c. Factory Branch: Ladies' and Gentlemen's Special Measure Orders and Ready-mades. Sole makers of the " Defiance " Rainproof Coats. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 425 Plymouth. Telegraphic Address: " Butt, Plymouth." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

BUTTERLEY COMPANY LIMITED (THE), Colliery Proprietors, Constructional and General Engineers, Iron Manufacturers, Butterley, near Derby. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1190 by Benjamin Outram and William Jossop (Engineers), Francis Beresford, and John Wright. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1888. Directors: F. Beresford Wright (Chairman), A. Leslie Wright (Managing Director), FitzHerbert Wright, Arthur F. Wright, H. FitzHerbert Wright, and Alfred M. Wright. Premises: Butterley Works, Derby; Butterley Station, Midland Railway; Codnor Park Works, nr. Alfreton; Lime Works, Bull Bridge, Derby • Ambergate Station, Midland Railway. Colliery Offices: Codnor Park, Alfreton. Branches: Offices —London, 118, Cannon Street, E.C.; Manchester; Birmingham; Glasgow; Johannesburg. Specialities: Heavy and Light Castings and Pipes, Colliery Plant, including Winding Engines, Pumping, Haulage, and Screening Machinery, Bridges, Roofs, and Constructional Work of all kinds; Coal. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office, Colonial Office); also to the Australian Commonwealth and New Zealand Governments, the Imperial Austro-Hungarian, Italian, Turkish, Greek, Chinese, and Japanese Governments, &c. Telephone: No. 6 Ripley. Telegraphic Addresses: Coal, "Laoc, Ironvilla "; Engineering, " Ironworks, Butterley." Bankers: Crompton & Evans Unon Bank, Ltd. (Derby).

BUTTERWORTH & CO., Law and Medical Publishers, Bell Yard, Temple Bar, London, W.C. Hours of Business 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established by Henry Butterworth about 1818 at the Hand and Starre, which sign was set up in the year 1553 by Richard Tottell in Fleet Street, who held the appointment of " Printer by Special Patentes of the Bokes of the Common Lawe." Colonial Correspondents: Butterworth & Co. (Australia), Ltd., 76, Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales; Butterworth & Co. (India), Ltd., Box 251, Calcutta (6, Hastings Street); Butterworth & Co. (Canada), Ltd., 191, Hargrave Street, Winnipeg. Specialities: Publications covering Law in all its branches, and Medical Works. Issue such well-known works as Stephen's " Commentaries on the Laws of England," " Stone's Justices' Manual," the " Yearly Legal Practices," the " Hornbook " Series of Students' Text Books, &c. Publishers of " The Laws of England," under the general editorship of the Right Hon. the Earl of Halsbury, Lord High Chancellor of England, 1885-6, 1886-92, and 1895-1905, with the cooperation of a very distinguished body of lawyors. Also Publishers of the " Ency clopeedia of Forms and Precedents," of the " Encyclopaedia of Local Government Law," and of Butterworth's Fifteen Years' Digest, 1898-1912. Have an influential legal connection and a Colonial medical' connection. Telephone: No. 2466 Holborn (three lines). Telegraphic and Cable Address: "Butterwort," London, Winnipeg; Sydney, or Calcutta. Code: Western Union.

BUTTERWORTH (EDWIN) & CO., Manufacturers of Engine Cleaning Waste and Cotton Waste for respinning, Dealers in Wood Pulp and all kinds of Paper Making Materials, Hide Curers, Makers of Buffalo Hide Sizing, and Woollen Rag Merchants, Pollard Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1839 by Edwin Butterworth. Partnership Successions: (1) Edwin Butterworth and James Smalley (d. 1878 in Calcutta), 1871 to 1878; (2) Edwin Butterworth, Arthur Smalley, and Thomas Griffiths, 1878 to 1888, when the latter retired; (3) Edwin Butterworth (d. 1898), Arthur Smalley, E. T. Butterworth (son of founder), and W. F. Dodgo, 1888 to 1898; (4) Arthur Smalley, E. T. Butterworth (d. 1909), W. F. Dodge. Present Principals: Arthur Smalley, W. F. Dodge. Premises: Extensive, fitted with modern appliances. Own Warehouses in Manchester, Liverpool, and Ghent, and Hide Curing Works in Salford. Staff: About 540. Branches: Liverpool; Ghent, Belgium; Offices, New York and Boston. Business: Manufacture of Engine Cleaning Waste, Cotton Waste for Respinning, Hide Curing, Dealing in Wood Pulp and all kinds of Paper Making Materials, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 355 and 6960 Manchester Central; No. 1315 Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Deansgate," Manchester and Liverpool. Codes: A B C, A 1 (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.

BUTTONS, LIMITED, Button Manufacturers, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Chairman: E. H. Green. This firm was formed by the amalgamation of Messrs. Plant, Green & Manton, Ltd., Harrison & Smith, Ltd., and Thomas Carlyle, Ltd. Claim to be the largest Manufacturers of Buttons of all kinds in the world. Specialities: Buttons, Buckles, Hooks and Eyes, Military Ornaments, and General Smallwares. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 822 (East), for Portland Street Works; No. 2350 (Central), for Warstone Lane Works; No. 3744 (Central), for Clissold Street Works. Telegraphic Addresses: " Carlyle, Birmingham," for Portland Street; " Linen, Birmingham," for Warstone Lane; " Cygnus, Birmingham," for Clissold Street.

BYFORD, JOHN, & SON, Cement, Lime, Brick, and Firegoods Manufacturers and Merchants, Moody Wharf, East India Dock Road, Poplar, London, E. Hours of Business: 6 a.m.. to 6 p.m. Established in 1870. Branches: East Ham, Canning Town, Barking, Blackwall, Hockley (Brick Works), &c., &c. Specialities: Cement, Lime, and Bricks; also all kinds of Building Materials and Fire-goods. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1049 and 3159 East; No. 11 Barking. Telegraphic Address: " Byford, Poplar."

"BYSTANDER" (THE). — See BAINES, H. R., & COMPANY, Ltd.

See Also

Loading...

Sources of Information