Grace's Guide

British Industrial History

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 134,028 pages of information and 213,093 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

1914 Who's Who in Business: Company W

From Graces Guide

Jump to: navigation, search
Im1914WWB-p968b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p969a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p969b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p970a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p970b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p971a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p971b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p972a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p972b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p973a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p973b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p974a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p974b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p975a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p975b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p976a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p976b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p977a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p977b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p978a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p978b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p979a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p979b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p980a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p980b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p981a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p981b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p982a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p982b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p983a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p983b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p984a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p984b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p985a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p985b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p986a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p986b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p987a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p987b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p988a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p988b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p989a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p989b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p990a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p990b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p991a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p991b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p992a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p992b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p993a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p993b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p994a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p994b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p995a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p995b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p996a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p996b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p997a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p997b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p998a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p998b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p999a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p999b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1000a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1000b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1001a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1001b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1002a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1002b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1003a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1003b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1004a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1004b.jpg
Im1914WWb-p1005a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1005b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1006a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1006b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1007a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1007b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1008a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1008b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1009a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1009b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1010a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1010b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1011a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1011b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1012a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1012b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1013a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1013b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1014a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1014b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1015a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1015b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1016a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1016b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1017a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1017b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1018a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1018b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1019a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1019b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1020a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1020b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1021a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1021b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1022a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1022b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1023a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1023b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1024a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1024b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1025a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1025b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1026a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1026b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1027a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1027b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1028a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1028b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1029a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1029b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1030a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1030b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1031a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1031b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1032a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1032b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1033a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1033b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1034a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1034b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1035a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1035b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1036a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1036b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1037a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p1037b.jpg

Note: This is a sub-section of 1914 Who's Who in Business

WACKERBARTH, J. H., & CO., Ship and Insurance Brokers, Forwarding Agents and Foreign Coaling Contractors, 26A and 28, Billiter Buildings, Billiter Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1875 by J. H. Wackerbarth. Present Principals: W. H. Parry and W. G. Parry, who are also directors with H. D. Ahlers and C. Oidhmann, of J. H. Wackerbarth, Societe Anonyme, Scaldis Buildings, Antwerp. Business: Ship and Insurance Brokers, Agents for The Hansa S.S. Co., London. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 5794, 5795, 5796 and 5799 Avenue, London; No. 4633 Antwerp. Telegraphic Address: " Wackerbarth," London, Antwerp. Code: Watkins'. Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd.

WADDELLS, Ltd. (late William Waddell & Sons), Woollen Manufacturers, Cumberland Mills, Warwick Bridge, Carlisle. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1821 by William Waddell at Otterburn Mill, Northumberland. The Mill is still in full operation, and was recently enlarged. The Warwick Bridge business is a branch of the original carried on without intermission since foundation. Chairman and Managing Director: Cranston Waddell (grandson of the founder). Claim to be the originators of the " Cumberland Homespun " Costume Cloths. Since the foundation of the business have strictly adhered to the manufacture of Pure Woollen Goods. Dave the honour of being patronised by H.M. the King, H.M. Queen Alexandra, H.R.H. Princess Louise, the Duke and Duchess of Connaught and Princess Patricia. Premises: Consist of Spinning Mill and Weaving Sheds, covering 43,000 sq. ft.; equipped with modern appliances. Specialities: The celebrated Cumberland Homespuns " and Motor Coat Cloths, &c. Connection: Great Britain, France, Germany, and Japan. Contractors to H.M. Government and to the Japanese Government. Telegraphic Address: " Waddells, Warwick Bridge." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Carlisle).

WADE (CHARLES) & CO., Cloth Manufacturers, Tudor Mills, Pakington Street, Bradford. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1899 by Charles Wade, the present principal, who made a tour round the world in 1912 to ascertain the nature of cloths required in various countries. Premises: Weaving Sheds and Warehouse. Branches: 51, Elizabeth Street, and 226, Swan Arcade, Bradford. Specialities: Linings, Coatings, and Proofings. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1289 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Chamois, Bradford." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

WADE (CHARLES) & CO., Ltd., Constructional Engineers, Iron and Steel Merchants, Midland Iron Works, Aston Road, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established forty years ago by Charles Wade (d.). Continued by Herbert Louis Wade and Charles Thomas Wade (d. 1909). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1913. Directors: Herbert Louis Wade, J.P. (Managing Director), Maurice Charley Wade. Established a successful Branch at Durban, Natal, in 1902. Premises: Extensive Stock, 5,000 tons of Rolled Steel, Joists, Channels, Tees, Angles, Bars, &c. Speciality: Constructional Steelwork for Builders. Telephones: Nos. 1952, 1953 and 1954 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Wade, Birmingham." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (New Street, Birmingham).

WADE, J. & W., & CO., Manufacturers of Glazed, Floor and Mosaic Tiles, Flaxman Tile Works, Burslem, Staffs. London Office and Showrooms: Flaxman House, 9, Percy Street, Tottenham Court Road, W. Manchester Office: 29, Princes Street, Albert Square. Glasgow Office: f'3, hope Street. Melbourne: Messrs, Molden and Budden, 364A, Little Collins Street. Sydney: Messrs. Molden and Budden, 50, York Street. Hours of Business: Works, 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.; London, Manchester, and Glasgow Offices, 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1857 by John Wade. Present Principals: William Wade, Albert Joseph Wade. Specialities: Glaze Tiles for all kinds of Decorative and Sanitary purposes. Specialists in the reproduction of Antique and Oriental Tiles for Walls, Fireplaces, and Furniture; Ecclesiastical Tiling, Mosaic, &c.; Impervious Glazed Tiles for Tunnels, Enginehouses, Gas Works, &c. Have carried out many large and. important contracts. Patents: " Vestal Fire," in which superheated air is obtained by simple means and results in a great economy of fuel. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 341 Potteries (Works). Telegraphic Address: " Wades, Burslem."

WADE (RICHARD), SONS & CO., Ltd., Timber Importers and Creosoters. Head Office: Garrison Side, Hull; Commercial Terrace, West Hartlepool; and Victoria Saw Mills, Scarborough. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1797 by Richard Wade. Partnership Successions: (1) Abraham Wade (son); (2) Joseph Armytage Wade (d. 1896), John Edward Wade (d. 1899) (sons of Abraham Wade). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: E. S. Wade (Chairman and Governing Director), C. Wade, J. P. Fea, J. C. Fea, R. W. Wade. Business: Large Importers of all kinds of Sawn Woods from the Baltic, &c.; also Pitch Pine and Telegraph and Telephone Poles, Crossings and Sleepers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, Post Office) for the supply of Telegraph Poles and Creosoting. Telephones: No. 1685 (National); No. 680 (Corporation), Hull; No. 34x (National), Scarborough; Nos. 86 and 445 (National), West Hartlepool. Telegraphic Addresses: " Wade," Hull, West Hartlepool; " Victoria Saw Mills, Scarborough."

WADE, W., & SONS, Ltd., Woollen Cloth Manufacturers, Portobello Mills, Wakefield. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; employees, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1854. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Warehouses at King Street, Leeds, and Aldermanbury, London, E.C. Staff: 250. Business: Makers of Woollen and Union Beavers, Meltons, Vicunas afncl Twills? Union and Leather Cloths. Contractors to H.M. Government (War Office, G.P.O.). Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 14 Wakefield; No. 1817 Leeds; No. 6076 (Central) London. Telegraphic Address: Wader, Wakefield." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

WAILES, DOVE & CO., Ltd., Anti-Corrosive Manufacturers (Patent " Bitumastic "), 5, St. Nicholas Buildings, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Established as an offshoot of the old-standing firm of John Dove & Co. (1854), Roman Cement Manufacturers. Present firm founded over twenty-six years ago by E. F. Wailes, Naval Architect, and E. J. Dove (grand son of John Dove). E. F. Wailes died in 1895. Incorporated as a Limited Com pany in 1899. Directors: E. J. Dove, J.P. (Managing Director), B. Harman, G. R. Brace, W. H. Dick, C. Macdonald, Branches: London, Liverpool, Glasgow, Birmingham, Leeds, Hull, Cardiff, Man chester, &c. Patent: " Bitumastic " Enamels. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty and Board of Works); also to Colonial and Foreign Governments. Telegraphic Address: " Bitumastic " for all Offices. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

WAINE (JOSEPH) & CO., Ltd., Merchants and Manufacturers, with which are amalgamated Luke Lawrence & Co., Mills & Green, Green Brothers, Isaac Waine & Co., David Furguson & Co., John Arnold & Co., The Brook Tile Co., Lincoln Pottery, Burslem; New Griffin Works, Horsoley Fields, Wolverhampton. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1880 by Joseph Waine. Continued by G. A. Waine, J. Vincent Waine, and H. T. Waine. Incorporated as a Limited Com pany in 1909. Directors: G. A. Waine (Managing Director), J. V. Waine, H. T. Waine. Of the firms amalgamated, Messrs. John Arnold & Co. has been established 100 years, and is under stood to be the oldest firm in the Brass Lock trade. Staff: Total of amal gamated firms, 100 hands, and Lincoln Pottery employ eighty hands. DepOts and Branches: At Bombay, Calcutta, Madras, Colombo, Karachi, Hong Kong, Shanghai, Batavia, Singapore, &c. Specialities: Locks of all descriptions, Door Bolts, Safes, Hinges, Rabbit Traps, Combs, Floor Tiles, Brass Foundry, Tools and General Hardware, &c. Patents: Numerous. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial, Egypt, Holland, France, South Africa, Canada, Ceylon, India, Java, China, Japan, Burma, Australia, New Zealand, &c. Telephone: No. 521 Wolverhampton. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

WAITES (WILLIAM), SONS & ATKINSON, Ltd., Flax and Hemp Spinners, Manufacturers and Bleachers, Philips Park Mills, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Chairman: William Henry Waites. Works: Philips Park Mills, Manchester; Park Mills, Clayton West, near Huddersfield; Globe Mills, Gloucester Street, Hunslet, Leeds; Riggs Mill, Pateley Bridge; Bishopton Mills, Ripon. Branch Offices: 10A, New Brown Street, Manchester; 37, Walbrook, London, E.C.; Unity Buildings, Temple Street, Birmingham; Oriel Chambers, Water Street, Liverpool; Central Chambers, 93, Hope Street, Glasgow. Specialities: All descriptions of Yarns, Twines, Lines, Ropes and Cords from Flax, Hemp, Cotton, Jute, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones Manchester, No. 2158 Central; Town Office, No. 413 City; London, No. 5948 Bank; Liverpool, No. 7336. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Waites, Manchester "; " Spunyarn, London "; " Sliver, Glasgow "; " Briggs, Liverpool." Telegraphic Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd. (Spring Gardens, Manchester).

WAKEFIELD, C. C., & CO., Manufacturers of Lubricating Oils and Lubricants, &c., Wakefield House, Cheapside, E.C. Works: Regent Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1899 by Sir Charles Wakefield, the present principal. Branches; Manchester, Cardiff, Glasgow, Dublin, Aberdeen, Belfast, Birmingham, Cork, Dundee, Grimsby, Hull, Leeds, Liverpool, Newcastle-on-Tyne, Nottingham, Sheffield, Alexandria, Bombay, Brussels, Buenos Ayres, Cairo, Cape Town, Colombo, Durban, Genoa, Johannesburg, Paris. Specialities: High Grade Lubricating Oils for Railways, Marine, Textile, Electrical and General Industries, Mechanical and Condensation Lubricators, High Speed Oil Filters, &c. Patents: Lubricators, protected in all countries. Awards: Grand Prix, Brussels, 1910; Turin, 1911; Buenos Ayres, 1910. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office), &c., Home, Foreign, and Colonial Railways. Telephones; Nos. 11305 and 13466 Central, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Cheery, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Premier. Bankers: Martin's Bank, Ltd. Sir Charles Wakefield is au Alderman of the City of London, was Sheriff of London 1907 to 1908, is a member of the Haberdashers, Turners and other Companies. Clubs: Royal Societies Club, Royal Automobile Club, Imperial Industries Club, Japan Society.

WAKEFIELD, W. H., & CO., Ltd., Explosives Manufacturers, Gatebeck Gunpowder Mills, near Kendal. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1764. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: J. Wakefield, W. H. Wakefield, R. Crooke, J. W. Weston, M.P. Branch: Lowwood Mills, near Ulverston. Business: Manufacture of Explosives. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 15 Sedgwick. Telegraphic Address: " Gunpowder, Kendal."

WAKLEY & SON (1912), Ltd., Proprietors and Publishers of " The Lancet," a Journal of British and Foreign Medicine, Surgery, Obstetrics, Physiology, Chemistry, Pharmacology, Public Health, and News. Ofces 423 and 424, Strand, and 1, 2, and 3, Bedford Street (adjoining), London, W.C. Established in 1823 by Thomas Wakley, M.R.C.S., who was Proprietor and Editor• until his death, May, 1862. Succeeded in the proprietorship by his sons, Thomas Henry Wakley, F.R.C.S. Eng., and James Goodchild Wakley, M.D. The latter was also Editor until his death, August, 1886, when he was succeeded in the editorship by the above-mentioned Thomas Henry Wakley and his son, Thomas Wakley, jun., L.R.C.P. Lond., as joint Editors. Thomas Henry Wakley died in April, 1907, and Thomas Wakley in March, 1909, the editorship falling to Dr. S. Squire Sprigge. " The Lancet" is the oldest existing medical journal. Staff: About 145. Telephone: No. 5356 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Lancet, Westrand, London."

WALKER BROTHERS, Silk Goods Manufacturers, Ravensthorpe Mills, Dewsbury; and Shelley Woodhouse Mills, Shelley, near Huddersfield. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established about 1880 by Edwin Field & Sons, Skelmanthorpe. Purchased in 1912 by John Henry Walker, the present principal. Premises: Contain 220 Looms. Specialities: Silk Goods, Ladies' Dress Materials, Novelty Makers, High Class Silk and Taffeta Shirtings, NoveltyPilo Cloths and Crepe Cloths of various kinds. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 2 Dewsbury. Telegraphic Address: " Cleverness, Dewsbury." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City & Midland Bank, Ltd.

WALKER BROTHERS, LIMITED, Galvanised Iron Manufacturers, Staffordshire Galvanising Works, Walsall. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1865 by William Elwell Walker and Robert ,Griffin Walker. Succeeded in 1883 by Henry Griffin Walker, who was then manager of the - now United Counties Bank, Ltd., Dudley. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Managing Directors: Henry Griffin Walker (Chairman), Robert Griffin Walker. Premises: Very extensive, covering ton acres; highly equipped. Also Branches and Works at Dudley and Netherton. Staff: Thirty (clerical); employees about 500. Business: Constructional Engineers; Roofs, Bridges, and Iron Buildings; manufacturers of Galvanised, Corrugated, and Plain Sheets, Wire Netting, Tanks, Buckets, Baths. &c. Patent: Refining Acid. Connection: 'United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 42 (local) Walsall; No. 267 (Trunk) Walsall. Telegraphic Address: " Walkers, Walsall." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. (Dudley and Walsall). Mr. H. G. Walker has been Mayor of the County Borough of Dudley.

WALKER, C. H., & CO., Ltd., Public Works Contractors, 15, Groat George Street, Westminster, London, S.W. Established by the late Thomas Andrew Walker. Succeeded by his executors in 1889. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors Charles Hay Walker (Chairman and Managing Director), T. A. Walker, J. R. Walker, C. R. Walker. Branches: Sudbrook Shipyard, near Chepstow; Obras del Nuevo Puerto de la Capital, Prolongacion Calle San Martin-Darsena Norte, Buenos Aires; Rua Nova Livramento, 233, Rio de Janeiro. Business: Public Works Contracts. Have carried out large Railway and Dock Contracts in various parts of the world. Connection: Argentina, Brazil, England. Telephones: Nos. 4346, 4347 and 4348 Victoria. Telegraphic Addresses: " Ambulo," London, Buenos Aires, and Rio de Janeiro.

WALKER & CRAWSHAW, Ltd., Sanitary Pipe, Brick and Tile Manufacturers, Conisborough, near Rotherham. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established about 1847. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Premises and clay-field cover over twenty-one acres. Specialities: Sanitary Pipes, Facing and Moulded Bricks, Stable Bricks, Common Bricks, Land Tiles, Chimney Pots, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, local chiefly. Telephone: No. 4 Mexborough. Telegraphic Address: " Ashfield, Conisborough."

WALKER, C. & W., Ltd., Gas, Chemical, and Constructional Engineers, Midland Iron Works, Donnington, near Newport, Shropshire, and 110, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established over fifty years ago by Charles C. Walker and William T. Walker. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: J. F. Wright (Chairman), W. Perrott, C. H. Wright and A. Featherstone. Premises: Cover over fifteen acres. Works contain Constructional, Fitting, Foundry, Pattern-Making, Planing, Erecting and Sieve-making departments. Staff: Large of Technical Assistants; Works, 1000. Staff Clubs: Reading Room, Institute and Dining Hall. Specialities: Milbourne Patent Automatic Rapid Purifier Cover Fasteners, Purifiers, Internal Purifier Valves, Duplex Valve, Trinity Valve, Automatic Safety Discharged Shoot, India Rubber Jointing, Reversing Valves, &c. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 12 Wellington, Salop; No. 7638 London Wall. Telegraphic Addres,s: " Fortress," Donnington, Salop, and London. Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), A 1.

WALKER, E. D., & WILSON, Wholesale Newsagents, Booksellers and Stationers, Bookstall Proprietors, Central Div. N.E.R. Company, Darlington. Branches at Sunderland, South Shields, Stockton, West Hartlepool,. Middlesbro', and Bishop Auckland. Hours of Business: Usual; also night staff. Established about 1850. Present Principals: Sir Edward Walker and Robert Wilson. Staff: About 100 Clerks, Assistants, &c. Business: Wholesale Newsagents, Booksellers, &c. Telephones: No. 90 Darlington; No. 1607 Sunderland. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. Sir Edward Walker has been Mayor of Darlington three times, 1886, 1892, 1902. Mr. Wilson was Mayor of Darlington in 1905. The partners are Justices of the Peace.

WALKER, E., & SON, Sewing Cotton Manufacturers, Soar Mills, Western load, Leicester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Present Principals: Edmund Walker and George Alfred Walker. Speciality: Sewing Cotton. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 410 Leicester. Telegraphic Address: " Reels, Leicester." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Lombard Street).

WALKER & HALL, Manufacturers of Gold and Sterling Silver Goods, Cutlery and Electro-plate, Electro Works, Howard Street and Eyre Street, Sheffield. Established about 1840 by George Walker (d.). Claimed to have been the founder of Electro - plating in Sheffield. Joined later by Henry Hall (d.); succeeded by John E. Bingham, Charles Hy. Bingham (d.), and Albert Edward Bingham. Present Principals: Col. Sir John E. Bingham, Bart., V.D., J.P., and Albert E. Bingham. The firm have in their possession the original Plating Vat and Apparatus of George Walker. Works contain two miles and 128 yards of work benches and plating vats. Twenty-one Stock and Show Rooms in Sheffield, London, Liverpool, Manchester, Leeds, Glasgow, Edinburgh, Newcastleon-Tyne, Cardiff, Belfast, Hull, Bristol, Nottingham, Dundee, Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide, Brisbane, Cape Town, and Wellington, N.Z. Business: The manufacture of all classes of Sterling Silver Goods, Table Cutlery, and Electro-plate;' also Depositors of Gold and Silver for the Trade. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: Nos. 1055 and 3022 (National), Sheffield. Telegraphic Addresses: " Bingham, Sheffield "; " Flag Mark, London." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. (Sheffield). Col. Sir John E. Bingham, Bart., V.D., J.P., was Master Cutler of Sheffield, 1881-2 and 1884-5.

WALKER, HARRISON & GARTHWAITES, Ltd., Biscuit Manufacturers, also Dog and Game Meals and Foods, Phoenix Biscuit Works, Ratcliff Cross, London, E. Hours of Business: Factory, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; office, 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1848 by J. Parkinson. Partnership Successions: (1) J. Parkinson, (2) Parkinson & Salmon, (3) Joseph Salmon, (4) Salmon, Walker & Salmon, (5) Walker & Harrison. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: W. P. Harrison (Chairman and Managing Director), W. P. Harrison, junr., H. Barker, and J. Elson. Secretary: A. F. Shrapnel. Premises: Large works at Ratcliff Cross covering about 20,000 superficial feet. Stall: From fifty to ono hundred. Vranch Grimsby; also agencies in Paris, Rotterdam, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand. Specialities: Are Ship and Troop Biscuit Manufacturers; also Viscan " Foods for Dogs, Puppies, Game and Poultry, &c. Awards: Gold Medal, London; Highest Award and Silver Medal, Antwerp, 1885; Gold Medal, Highest Award, International Exhibition, London, 1884. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (War Office and Admira!ty). Telephone: No. 70 Eastern. Telegraphic Address: " Terrier, London." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Lothbury, E.C.).

WALKER (HARRY) & SON (LEEDS), Ltd., Boot Manufacturers, Cardigan Boot Factory, Kirkstall Road, Leeds. Hours of Business: Office, 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1865 by Harry Walker (d.). Afterwards styled Harry Walker & Son. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: John Wm. Walker (Managing Director), Thomas Collier. Premises: Works cover an area of 6,500 square yards, equipped with up-to-date machinery. Staff: 265. Stall Club: Sick Society. Specialities: Kip, Split, and Chrome Boots and Shoes, also Boot and Clog Uppers. Makers of the Nigger Ariwoker and Deputy Brand of Boots. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 928 Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Walker, Leeds." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Leeds).

WALKER (JAMES) & SONS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Blankets, &c., Holmo Bank Mills, and Butt End Mills, Mirfield. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about 1810 by James Walker. The business has been carried on by three James Walkers in succession. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Managing Directors: John Ely Walker, J.P., and Samuel Walker, J.P. Staff: About 500. Specialities: Blankets, Austrian Rugs, Army Cloths, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 27 Mirfield. Telegraphic Address: " Holmebank, Mirfield." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

WALKER, J. G., & SON, Chain and Cable Manufacturers, Derby Hand, Dudley. Hours of Business: Usual. Established over 100 years ago by the great grandfather of J. W. Higgs Walker, J.P., the present principal. One of the oldest houses in the trade. Specialities: Crane and Mining Chains, Ship Chains, and Cables. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, India Office); also to the principal Colonial Governments, and to British and Foreign Railway Companies. Telephone: No. 64 Cradley. Telegraphic Address: " Walkernail, Netherton, Dudley."

WALKER (JOHN) & COMPANY, Sugar Refiners, 5, Princes Street, Greenock. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1850 by John Walker and James Speirs. Present Principals: Hugh William Walker and John Walker. Premises: Refinery covers several acres, well equipped with modern appliances. Stall: About 300. Specialities: Golden Syrups, Table Treacle, " Walker's Scotch Granulated Sugar," Castor Sugar, Crystal Sugar, Soft White and Yellow Sugars. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephones: Nos. 217 and 218 Greenock. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Walkers, Greenock." Bankers: Royal Bank of Scotland.

WALKER (JOHN) & CO., Ltd., Publishers and Wholesale Manufacturing Stationers, Farringdon House, Warwick Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1880 by John Walker, James MacDonald (d. 1891) and William Barringer (d. 1890). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893. Directors: John Walker, John Walker (jun.), Percy Barringer, F. Wallace Whitlock and Godfrey Power (Secretary ). Business: Publishers of Atlases, Diaries, &c. Manufacturing Stationers, making the better class of Account Books, Memo Books, &c. Originators of the " Backloop " Notebooks, " Walker's Loose Leaf Books; " Walker's " Reform Refill " Books; Letterettes, &c., also producers of the well-known " Society " brands of Note Papers, " Anchor " pens and " Anchor " Office Sundries. Makers of Index Letter Files, &c. Patents: Walker's Loose Leaf Books, Reform Refill Books, Expert MSS. Book, and Letter Files, &c. Connection: World-wide. Telephones.: Nos. 9851 and 11270 Central; No. 6669 City. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Chebucto, London."

WALKER (JOHN) & SONS, Ltd., Distillers and Blenders, John Dickie Street, Kilmarnock, N.B. Established in 1820 by John Walker, the grandfather of the present Chairman of Directors, and at his death was managed by his son, the late Alexander Walker. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1886. Directors: George P. Walker (Chairman, Managing Director in London), Alexander Walker (Managing Director in Kilmarnock), J. F. Cumming, and James Stevenson. Branches: Cardow Distillery, Knockando, N.B.; Annandale Distillery, Annan, N.B.; Dunster House, London, E.C.; 12, Mark Lane, E.C.; 86, Cross Street, Manchester; 9, Albion Street, Leeds; Sydney, N.S.W. Specialities: Pure Malt Distillations produced at the Cardow and Annandale Distilleries; Special High-grade Whiskies, well known as Johnnie Walker, White Label (six years old), Red Label (ten years old), and Black Label (twelve years old). Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1.9 Kilmarnock; London, Nos. 2057 and 6036 Central; Manchester, No. 6828. Telegraphic Addresses: " Walker, Kilmarnock "; " Marnock, London "; " Cardow, Birmingham "; " Whisky, Manchester." Cable Address: " Marnock, London." Code: A B C. Bankers: Clydesdale Bank, Ltd. (Kilmarnock, Glasgow and London); London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Birmingham and London).

WALKER (JOSEPH) & CO., Brass Founders, Die Sinkers, &c:, Augusta Works, Warstone Lane, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1870 by Joseph Walker, the present principal. Premises: Fancy Metal Goods Department established in 1870 at Augusta Street; Brass Foundry Works in Regent Parade; Offices and extension of works erected in Warstone Lane; and the Augusta Street Department transferred to same in 1906. Staff: Upwards of 200. Staff Clubs: Football, also Saving Club. Their Sick and Dividend Society, founded about thirty years ago, was dissolved when the National Insurance Act came into force. Business i Cabinet, Builders' and Furnishing Brassfounders; Garden Syringes, &c., J. W. Department for Fancy Metal Goods in Silver, Electro Plate, Nickel Plate, Copper, Brass, Aluminium; Novelties and Patented Articles. The entire processes of manufacture are done on the premises (floor space upwards of 30,000 feet): Die Sinking, Tool Making, Stamping, Automatic Lathe Work, Metal Casting,everything connected with the Brassfoundry trade. Patents: Between 100 and 200 and registered articles. Connection: United Kingdom (several thousand customers), Colonial and Foreign (considerable). Telephone: No. 7269 Central, Birmingham (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Auto-matic, Birmingham." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

WALKER & MORRICE, Colonial Merchants and 'Agents, 23, Lime Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1899 by George Walker and David Morrice. Staff: Fourteen experienced Buyers, Shipping and Dock hands, &c. Business: Buying and Shipping of Constructional Iron and Stool, Fencing Wire, Galvanized Iron, Wire Netting, Nails and all requirements for Colonial Ironmongers and Storekeepers. Connection: Australia and New Zealand. Telephone: No. 479 Avenue, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Walkererde (Grace), London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), A 1, and Private. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Lombard Street). Mr. Walker is a member of the London Chamber of Commerce. Mr. Morrice is a member of the Baltic Mercantile and Shipping Exchange.

WALKER (PETER) & SON (WARRINGTON & BURTON), Ltd., Brewers, Wine and Spirit Merchants, 105, Duke Street, Liverpool. Established in 1843 by Peter Walker (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Directorate: Sir Peter C. Walker, Bart. (Chairman), Sir Charles E. Hamilton, Bart. (Deputy-Chairman), Wm. Roylance Court, J.P. (Director), J. Reid Walker, J.P., and Wm. Hall Walker, M.P. (Managing Directors). Breweries at Warrington and Burton. Branches: Birkenhead, Chester, London, Manchester, Leeds, Tipton, Uttoxeter, Southport and Birmingham. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: Nos. 2753 and 2754 Royal (Liverpool); No. 51 Warrington; No. 106 Birkenhead; No. 283 Chester; No. 7139 Central, Birmingham; No. 3646 North, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Walker Ltd., Liverpool "; " Walker," Warrington and Burton; " Klerwa, Kincross, London."

WALKER (ROBERT), Ltd., Cotton and Cotton Waste Spinners, St. Helena Mills, Bolton, Lancashire. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 12 noon. Established over a century ago by Robert Walker. Partnership Successions: (1) Robert Walker (sen.); (2) Robert Walker (jun.); (3) Robert Walker, Ltd. (4th generation). Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Harry Walker (Managing Director), E. A. Walker, R. Walker. Premises: Claim that the original building was one of the first if not the first spinning mill in Bolton. Specialities: Yarns for the Quilt and Toilet Cover trade. Imitation Hosiery and Linen Yarns. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 200 Bolton. Telegraphic Address: " Walker, Spinner, Bolton." Code: A B C. Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd.

WALKER (ROWLAND) & SONS, Curriers and Leather Manufacturers, Whitcliffe Leather Works, Cleckheaton. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 6.30 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1820 by Thomas Walker. Succeeded by Rowland Walker & Sons. Present Principals: Thomas Walker and Frederick William Walker. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Very extensive and well equipped works. Specialities: Brace, Belt, Purse Leathers, Hide, Calf and Kip Leather for Boot trade. Telephone: No. 101, Cleckheaton. Telegraphic Address: " Rowland Walker, Cleckheaton." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. Walker is a Director and Chairman of George Crossley, Ltd., Engineers, Cleckheaton.

WALKER, R.,& SONS, Ltd., Hosiery Manufacturers, utland Street and Charles Street, Leicester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1755. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1909. Directors: Theodore Walker, W. Ralph Walker, Ernest T. Walker, Kenneth R. Walker, and William H. Breward. One of the oldest and most celebrated _firms in the trade. Their name is known all over the world. Premises: Abbey Park Mills, Abbey Meadow Mills, Leicester; Fleckney, near Leicester; Shepshed, near Leicester; Coalville, near Leicester; and Hawick, Scotland. The factories are principally scattered throughout the County of Leicester, and cover a very large area. Two of the mills are situated close to the Abbey where Cardinal Wolsey died, and it is owing to this fact that the Company adopted the famous " Wolsey " trade mark. Staff: Large; employing, it is claimed, more hands than any other Underwear firm in the Kingdom. Specialities: All classes of Hosiery, Underwear, Knitted goods. Trade Mark: " Wolsey " (proprietors). Awards: Highest wherever exhibited. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 3796 and 3801 Leicester. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Rutland, Leicester." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd., and United Counties Bank, Ltd.

WALKER (SAMUEL) & SONS, Iron and Brass Founders and Builders' Merchants, Station Foundry, Mansfield, Notts. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1847 by John Walker (d. 1860). Partnership Successions: (1) Samuel Walker and John Walker (sons of founder), in partnership down to 1872; (2) Samuel Walker, alone to 1897; (3) Samuel Walker and J. J. Walker and A. W. Walker (sons), latter admitted in 1897. S. Walker died March, 1908. A. W. Walker retired December, 1908. Present Principal: J. J.Walker. The business has remained in the same family for three generations. Premises: Consist of Foundry, Showrooms, and Sale Shops. Business: General Iron and Brass Founding and Wholesale Builders' Merchants. Telephone: No. 126 (National) Mansfield. Telegraphic Address: " Walker, Mansfield." Bankers: Crompton & Evans' Union Bank, Ltd. (Mansfield), now amalgamated with Parr's Bank, Ltd.

WALKER, WILLIAM, Tanner, Tannery, Whitehaven. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established: William Walker purchased the business from William Miller in 1858. Present Principals-: Herbert W. Walker and Arthur Walker (sons of William Walker). Specialities: Rough Strap Butts, Sole and Dressing Leather. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 15, Whitehaven. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Tannery, Whitehaven." Code: Lieber's. Bankers: Clydesdale Bank, Ltd.

WALKER (WILLIAM) & SONS, Ltd., Tanners, Curriers and Belting Manufacturers, Rose Hill Tannery, Bolton; 19, Maze Pond, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established in 1824 by William Walker. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Directors: Lieut.-Colonel W. E. Walker (Chairman), C. E. Walker, T. S. Walker, A. N. Walker and II. Watkinson. Specialities: Solo Leathers, Strap Butts, Chrome Leather for Motor Tyres. Makers of the Super Solo Lather, " Dri-ped." Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 571 Bolton. Telegraphic Address: " Tannery, Bolton." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Widebrooks'.

WALKER'S TANNERIES, LTD., Tanners and Curriers, North Arch Tannery, Northallerton. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1861 by George Walker. Partnership Successions: (1) George Walker and Son; (2) Walker's Tanneries, Ltd.; Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1907. Directors: John Walker (Governing Director), John Walker (,jun.) and Frank Walker. Branch: Eggleseliffe Tannery, Yarm. Specialities: Tanning of pure Oakbark tanned Shaved and Dressing Hides, Currying of Black and Brown Harness and Bridle Leathers. Telegraphic Address: " Walker's Tannery," Northallerton and Yarm. Bankers: London, City and Midland Bank, Ltd., Northallerton.

WALKEY, THOMAS & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Cardboard Boxes, Paper Merchants, Printers, Stationers, &c., Tudor Road, Cardiff. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1880. Managing Director and Chairman: Fred Jones. Staff: 100. Specialities: Paper Bag Machine and Hand Cardboard Box Making. Patent: Tudor Folding Box. Telephone: No. 696 Cardiff. Telegraphic Address: " Walkey, Cardiff." Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd. Contractors to the Taff Vale Railway, Glamorgan County Council, &c., &c.

WALL (HOWARD) LIMITED, Manufacturers of Stay Busks, Bodice Steels, Hose Supporters, and Tailors' and other Tape Measures, Hackney Road Works, London, N.E. Regd. Offices and City Office: 4 and 5, Love Lane, Wood Street, E.C. Hours of Business: City Office, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1869. Incorporated: 5th April, 1907; Richard Howard Wall, Governing Director; William J. Dally, W. E. C. Dickason, and H. D. Greenwood, Directors; Wm. Richards Leigh, Secretary. Specialities: Are manufacturers of many articles largely used, such as the " H. W. Velvet Grip " Hose Supporters and Bo Aon Garters, •` Hovens Clip" Hose supporters, GIir's Blous3 f..nd Skirt Grips, Dean's Tailors' lape Measures, Bedington's . Surveyors' and Builders' Tc,pe Me3su: ers, &c., &c. Have patented several inventions for Stay Busks, Hose Supporters and Tape Measures. Well known in the trade for the introduction of novelties. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: (City Office) No. 2859 Central (Works) No. 1531 City. Telegraphic Address: " Symmetry, London." Code: Lieber.

WALL (JAMES) & CO.—See PEARSON, F. G. , & CO.

WALL, J. C., & CO., Ltd., Railway, Shipping, and Storage Agents. Registered Offices i 26, Redcliff Street, Bristol. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1848 by J. C. Wall. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1902. Directors: J. W. Hunter (Chairman and Managing Director), C. F. Pickering, J. G. Corfield (Secretary). Premises: Warehouses and Stores in all parts of Bristol. Staff: Clerical, fifty; Carters, Storemen, &c., about 220. Business: Hauling and Barging Contractors. Have been Carting Agents for the last sixty-five years, with the Bristol and Exeter and the Great Western Railway Companies. Business: City and Suburban Carters, General and Refrigeration Storekeepers; Customs Agents and Examination Experts. Connection: Carriers to all parts. Telephone: No. 4594 Private Branch Exchange, Bristol. Telegraphic Address: " Wall, Bristol."

WALL PAPER MANUFACTURERS, Ltd., (THE). Registered Office: 125, High Holborn, London, W.C. Incorporated 18th May, 1899, amalgamating under one governing body over twenty of the leading British concerns producing Wall Papers and kindred goods. Directors: G. W. Osborn (Chairman), J. C. Potter (Vice-Chairman), A. Barran, J. J. Beckett, V. L. Burnett, H. Carver, J. Cheetham Cockshut, P. Cockshut, A. W. Huntington, J. G. G. Mellor, G. W. Osborn (jun.), H. W. Sanderson, A. V. Sugden, J. Wylie, Dr. Walsh Yates, E. W. Walker; H. Simpson and John E. Entwisle (General Managers and Directors). Secretary: John T. Chasney. The following are the Company's Branches, showing the concerns embraced in the amalgamation, and the goods manufactured in each instance:— Allan Cock-shut & Co., Old Ford, Wall Papers; Anaglypta, Darwen, Lanes., Raised Material; Almond & Co., Darwen, Wrapping Paper; Carlisle & Clegg, Derby, Wall Papers; Carlisle & Clegg, Dublin, warehouse only; Cordelova Co., Ltd.. Sunbury-on-Thames, Raised Material; Darwen Paper Staining Co., Darwen, Wall Papers; Darwen Paper Staining Co., Glasgow, warehouse only; Essex Mills, Battersea, Wall Papers; Huntington Freres, Darwen, Continental depot; Lightbown, Aspinall & Co., Pendleton, Lanes., Wall Papers; Lignomur, Old Ford, Raised Materials; Osborn & Shearman, Fulham, Wall Papers; C. & J. G. Potter, Belgrave Mills, Darwen, Wall Papers; Potter & Co., Hollins Mills, Darwen, Plain Papers; Potter & Co., Ingress Abbey Mills, Greenhithe, Kent, Plain Papers; Potter & Co., Orchard Mills, Darwen, Enamel Chromo and Gummed Papers; Sanderson & Son, Chiswick, Wall Papers; Trumble & Son, Leeds, Wall Papers; Walker, Carver & Co., Pendleton, Wall Papers; W. G. Wilkins, Golborne, Wall Papers; Wylie & Lochhead, Darwen, Wall Papers; Yates, Dauncey, Golb orne, Wall Papers; Lincrusta Walton, Sunbury-on-Thames, Raised Material; i‘ Walpamur," Hollins Mills, Darwen, Washable Paints. Connection: Worldwide. Telephone: No. 597 7 Gerrard (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Outvalue, Westcent, London." Cable Code: A B C (5th Edition).

WALLACE & CLARK, Analytical and Consulting Chemists, Assayers and Samplers, County Analyst's Laboratory, 138, Bath Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1870 by Dr. William Wallace (d.), R. R. Tatlock (retired) and Dr. John Clark, as Wallace, Tatlock & Clark. Continued in 1888 by Dr. Clark (d. 1907). Present Principal: R. M. Clark, B.Sc., F.I.C. (joined 1902). Specialities: Analysis of Minerals, Alloys, Metals, Ores and Commercial Products. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 435 Douglas, Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Cromist, Glasgow." Mr. R. M. Clark is Public Analyst for the Counties of Lanark and Renfrew, and for the Burghs of Paisley, Partick, Motherwell, Renfrew, Kilmarnock, Ayr, Dumbarton, Helensburgh, Barrhead, Biggar and Dornoch; Official Agricultural Analyst for the County of Renfrew and the Burghs of Paisley and Dumbarton.

WALLACE, R., & CO., Specialists in Bulb Culture, Landscape Gardeners, &c., Kilnfield Gardens, Colchester. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1878 by Dr. Alexander Wallace. Pre.!ent Principal: Robert Whistler Wallace, J.P., F.R.H.S. Premises: Cover twenty acres. Fully stocked. Staff: Forty. Specialities: Choice Bulbs, Lilies (chiefly), New and Rare Hardy Plants and Bulbs, Landscape Rock and Water Gardening. Awards: Queen Alexandra's Cup and LargeGold Medal for the best Rock and Water Garden; First Prize Gold Medal for Bulbous Plants; First Prize Silver Cup for Lilies, &c., Royal International Horticultural Exhibition, 1912; Eight Gold Medals, Temple Shows, 1903 to 1911; Six Gold Medals, Holland House Shows, 1907 to 1913; Gold Medal, R.H.S. Show, Olympia, 1911; Gold Medal, Royal Agricultural Show, Liverpool, 1910; Special Gold Medal, Royal Agricultural Show, Norwich, 1911; Highest Awards (Gold Medals), 1913, at Chelsea, Holland House and Shrewsbury; Gold Medals, York, Shrewsbury, Edinburgh, and many other prominent Shows. Connection: World-wide. Telegraphic Address: " Wallace, Colchester." Mr. Robert Whistler Wallace is a Justice of the Peace, Fellow of the Royal Horticultural Society, member of the Town Council, &c.

WALLEY, S. S., & CO., LIMITED, Manufacturers and Merchants, 64 and 66, Dale Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1876. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1910. Specialities: Grey and White Calicoes, Sheetings, &c.; Lawns, Nainsooks, Madapolams, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, Cape Colony, Canada, and all other Colonies. Telephones: Nos. 6975 and 6976 (Central), Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Walhunt, Manchester." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

WALLIS, G. E., & SONS, Ltd., Builders and Contractors, &c., Broadmead Works, Maidstone. London Office: Broadmead House, Panton Street, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1859 by the late G. E. Wallis and Jas. Clements, as Wallis & Clements. Jas. Clements retired 1890. Title of firm altered to above. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Chairman: Win. F. Wallis. Managing Directors: Fred E. Wallis, John A. Wallis. Premises: The Broadmead Works cover five acres, with Wharf and Siding; Works equipped with all modern improvements. Staff: Average 1,200. Business Building and Contracting Work in all their branches; Steam Joinery and Masonry; Artificial Stone made, and Hennebique System of Ferro-Concrete. Connection: London and throughout the Southern Counties. Telephones: No. 31 Maidstone and No. 4125 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address " Wallis, Builders, Maidstone." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. Mr. W. F. Wallis is a Justice of the Peace for the Borough, Past President of the Builders Institute, London, Past President of the Southern Counties Builders Federation, and is Senior Vice-President of the London Mister Builders Association. Mr. F. E. Wallis is an ex-Mayor of Maidstone. Clubs: (Mr. W. F. Wallis), National Liberal; (Mr. F. E. Wallis), National Liberal; (Mr. J. A. Wallis), Motor.

WALLIS (THOMAS) & CO., Ltd., General and Fancy Drapers, Ladies' and Gentlemen's Clothiers and Outfitters, Complete 3 R House Furnishers, Removers and Storers, Holborn Circus, London, E.C.; and City Road, E.C., where Auction, Valuation and Estate Agency Department has now been added. Established in 1826 by Charles Meeking. Then, with Thomas Wallis, John Woodward, William Ruddock, and Richard Jaques, trading as C. Meeking & Co. Later, Thomas Henry Wallis and William David Davies wero successively admitted as partners. Incorporated: March, 1892. Directors: John Cary Lovell (Chairman), Thomas Henry Wallis, William David Davies, Daniel Reynolds, John Henry Barnard, Isaac Fisher, William Henry Nicholls. Secretary: John Henry Barnard. Stall: Between 700 and 800. Specialities: Everything within the scope of the General and Fancy Drapery, Ladies' and Gentlemen's Outfitting, and House Furnishing trades. Connection: Principally home trade, with Colonial connection. Telephones: (Holborn Circus) 5380; Holborn (seven lines): (City Road) No. 1809 London Wall. Telegraphic Addresses: "Wallis, Holborn, London," and (for City Road) " Unequalled, London." Bankers: London City and Midland (Holborn Viaduct).

WALLIS (WILLIAM) & SONS, Ltd., Lace Manufacturers, Britannia Mills, Long Eaton. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1873 by the late William Wallis. Incorporated as a Limited Com- pany in 1904. Chairman: Enoch Wallis, J.P., C.C. Branch: 7, Broad Street, Nottingham. Specialities: Levers Laces of all kinds, Coarse and fine Linen Laces, Flounces of all widths, Fancy Laces, Nets in all varieties, and Torchons of various grades. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 94 and 95 Long Eaton; No. 405 Nottingham. Telegraphic Addresses: " Wallis Sons, Long Eaton "; " Textile, Nottingham." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

WALLSEND SLIPWAY & ENGINEERING CO., Ltd., Engineers, Boilermakers, Shiprepairers, Manufacturers of Liquid Fuel Burning Installations, Wallsend-on-Tyne. London Office: 30, Great St. Helens, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1871. Directors: Thomas Bell (Chairman), W. Boyd, G. B. Hunter, Andrew Laing (Manager), Sir W. R. Plummer and J. Denham Christie, Jas. C. Henderson (Secretary). Business: Builders of Reciprocating, Turbine and Internal Combustion Engines, Cylindrical and Water tube Boilers. Sole Licensees and Manufacturers of the Wallsend-Howden Patent System of Liquid Fuel Burning. Telephones: Nos. 117 to 122 Wallsend; No. 412 City, Newcastle. Telegraphic Address: " Wall, Newcastle-on-Tyne." Codes Bentley's Complete Phrase, A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Newcastle).

WALLWIN & CO., Manufacturing Engineers, Springfield Works, Dickinson Street, Salford, Manchester. Hours of Business 7.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Present Principal: J. M. Wallwin. Specialities: Machinery for Clothing Manufacturers, Wallwin's System of Heating by Air and Gas. Patents: Collar Turning Machines, Pressing Machines, Irons, and Gas Purifiers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 946 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Unbeaten, Manchester." Code: A B C. Bankers: Williams Deacons' Bank, Ltd.

WALPOLE BROTHERS, Ltd., Irish Table Damask and Linen Manufacturers, Ladies' and Children's Outfitters. Head Offices: 8, 9, and 10, Suffolk Street, Dublin; Branches below. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in'1766 by the direct predecessors of the present members of the Walpole family. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Directors: Edward Walpole (Chairman), Henry P. Goodbody, Basil W. Walpole, Robert W. Walsh, E. Horace Walpole. Secretary: A. C. Bewley. Is probably the oldest and is certainly one of the most eminent houses in the trade. The Dublin premises represent the original undertaking as established in the eighteenth century. Own two large Factories in the North of Ireland. Staff: Clerks and assistants, about 150; weavers and out-workers, about 350. Branches: London: 89 and 90, New Bond Street, W.; 108-110, High Street, Kensington; 175 and 176, Sloane Street, Knightsbridge. Factories: Waringstown, Co. Down; 21, Alfred Street, Belfast. Colonial Branches 373, Fifth Avenue, ,New York; 231-235 Flinders Lane, Melbourne. Specialities: Irish Hand-woven Table Damask (probably the most important and extensive of Ireland's cottage industries); Irish Linen; Ladies' and Children's Outfits. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, United States. Have the honour of supplying the Viceregal Court. Royal Warrants: To H.M. King George V., to His late Majesty King Edward. Held a Warrant to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephone: No. 1340 Dublin. Telegraphic Addresses: " Walpole, Belfast "; " Seloplaw, Dublin." " Seloplaw, London." Bankers: Bank of Ireland; London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

WALSH & McCREA, Ltd., Manufacturers of Furnishing Fabrics, Worsted Coatings, &c., Arches Street Mills and Union Mills, Halifax. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1864 by T. S. Walsh and J. McCrea. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Directors: J. R. Taylor (Managing Director), C. H. Taylor, and . G. F. Taylor. Specialities: Wool and Union Damasks, Repps, Tapestries, Casement Cloths, Plain and Fancy Worsted Coatings, Serges, Estamenes. Connection: United Kingdom. Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 664 (Furnishing Fabrics); No. 139 (Worsted Coatings), Halifax. Telegraphic Addresses: "Damask, Halifax " (Furnishing Fabrics); " Unitas, Halifax " (Worsted Coatings). Bankers: Halifax Joint Stock Banking Co., Ltd. (Halifax).

WALTER (JACOB) & CO., Brazilian Merchants, Billiter Square Buildings, London, E.C.; Rio de Janeiro. Postal Address: Caixa No. 7 (F. H. Walter & Co.). Hours of Business Usual. Present Principals: J. H. Wicks, L. H. Marks, J. C. Moinet, E. Kanthack (London), F. H. Walter, E. E. Hime (Rio de Janeiro). Business: Brazilian Merchants. Telephone: No. 5512 Avenue, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Terlaw, London." Cable Address: " Scipio, Riojaneiro " (F. H. Walter & Co.).

WALTERS (STEPHEN) & SONS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Silks, &c., 26, Cheapside, London, E.C. Factory: Sudbury, Suffolk. Hours of Business: Usual. Established over 120 years ago by Joseph and Stephen Walters. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: A. Walters (Chairman), A. Walters (jun.), and H. A. Walters (Managing Directors), G. L. Andrews, A. Bernard Walters and F. C. Putman. One of the oldest firms in the trade. The business of Salter and White was incorporated in 1910. Specialities: Umbrella Silks, Tailors' Silks, Shirtings, Dress Silks, Ties (Knitted and Woven), &c. Awards: Prize Medal, London, 1851; New York, 1853; Paris, 1878; Kimberley, 1892; Cornwall, 1893; Gold Medal, Diplome d'Honneur, Brussels, 1910. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 1267 Central; No. 30 Sudbury. Telegraphic Addresses " Serious, London "; " Silkworm, Sudbury."

WALTERS, W., & CO., Manufacturers of Garden Furniture and Greenhouse Blinds, Amberley Works, Morland Road, Croydon. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established over twenty years. Principal: A. N. McCarthy, F.R.H.S. Claim to be one of the earliest Makers of Wood Lath Greenhouse Blinds. Had the honour of making Wood Lath Blinds for His late Majesty King Edward; makers also for Kew Gardens, and Botanic Gardens, Dublin. Specialities: Wood Lath Greenhouse Blinds, and Artistic Garden Furniture. Patents: Lath Sun Blinds. Awards: Silver Medal Royal Botanic Society; Banksian Medal, Royal Horticultural Society, 1907; Silver Medal, International Horticultural Exhibition, 1912. Telephone: No. 1646 Croydon. Bankers: London and South Western Bank, Ltd.

WALTON & BROWN, Ltd., Manufacturers of Steel Pressings, &c., Archimedean Works, Brearley Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established in 1906 by A. G. Lamb and W. S. Randells. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Directors: A. G. Lamb (Chairman) and W. S. Randells. Premises: Present works are where the first ball bearing was made. Specialities: Steel Pressings for Motor, Motor Cycle and Cycle trades. High-class Pressing for Engineering trade in any Metals. Patents: Five, and one Registered Design. Connection: Trade with the United King; dom, Continent, Japan, Australia and New Zealand. Telephone: No. 5377 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Archimedea, Birmingham." Bankers Lloyds Bank Limited (Temple Row).

WALTON, GOODDY & CRIPPS, Ltd., Marble Quarry Owners, Merchants and Manufacturers, Blenheim Wharf, Eagle Wharf Road, London, N. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established: The business of William Walton about 1837, at Carrara; that of Richard Cripps in 1843, in Bristol; and of Charles Gooddy in 1864, in Liverpool. The two latter firms united in 1878 as Gooddy, Cripps & Sons, Ltd., and in 1900 amalgamated with W. Walton & Nephew, as Walton, Goodly & Cripps, Ltd. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Henry Kater Cripps (Chairman), Henry Gooddy, Sydney Bush Cripps, Gino Salvini, and R. Noel Cripps. Own large Quarries, Mills and Studios at Carrara, Italy. Also Quarries and Mills at Sagra and Equi 3 R 2 Valleys. Depots at Bristol and Liverpool. Staff: Fifty; workmen, over 900. Branches: Plymouth, Glasgow; Monzone, Massa, Avenza, in Italy. Agencies: New York, Montreal, Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide, Brisbane, New Zealand, Shanghai and Buenos Aires. Business: Marble Quarry Owners, Merchants and Manufacturers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (War Office, Office of Works), Crown Agent to the Colonies; also to the Italian, Mexican, Bulgarian, and Brazilian Governments. Telephones: Nos. 2640, 2641 North, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Gooddy, London "; " Gooddy Cripps, Liverpool "; " Cripps, Bristol "; "Walton, Carrara." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

WALTON (JOHN), (HEATON MERSEY), Ltd., Yarn and Warp Bleachers and Sizers, Upper Bleach Works, Heaton Mersey, "near Manchester; and 4, Union Street, Church Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established about three-quarters of a century ago by John Walton. Now a branch of the Bleachers' Association, Ltd., 4, Norfolk Street, Manchester. Staff: About fifty. Specialities: Winders and Reelers from warp and hank for Vesta trade. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: Nos. 52 Heaton Moor and 381 City.

WARBURTON, ALLEN & CO., Yarn and Rubber Agents and Merchants, Yeoman Buildings, Rutland Street, Leicester. Hours of Business: Warehouse, 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1852 by William Warburton. Continued by Howgate Greaves Warburton (son) in 1885. Joined by Frederick Richard Allen (retired about 1905), and later by his eldest son, William Hugh Warburton and Thomas Henry Reid. In 1901 H. G. Warburton died, and his third son, Ernest Warburton, joined the firm. Present Principals: Thomas Henry Reid, William Hugh Warburton and Ernest Warburton. Premises: Consist of Warehouse, Basement for storing Rubber, Rubber Warping Room and Offices at Yeoman Buildings. Specialities: India Rubber Thread and Yarns for the Elastic Web Trade. Yarns for the Hosiery Trade, Motor and Cycle Tyres and other rubber goods. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly), Foreign. Telephone: No. 293 Leicester. Telegraphic Address: " Warburton, Leicester." Cable Address: " Warburton, Leicester, England." Code: A 1.

WARD (ANTHONY) & CO., Ltd., Silk Manufacturers, Albion Mills, Leek, Staffs. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1818 by Anthony Ward. Continued by (1) John Ward, J.P. (son); (2) Anthony Ward (grandson). Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Anthony Ward, J.P. (Chairman), John Ward and B. T. Ward (sons of Chairman and greatgrandsons of the Founder). Specialities: Sewing Silks, Twists, Machine Silks, Braids and Prussian Bindings, Proprietors of the " Coronet " and " Eye " Brands of Machine Silks and " St. George and Dragon " Silk Twists. Awards: Silver Medal, Paris, 1878; Gold Medal, Calcutta, 1884. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 31 Leek. Telegraphic Address: " Anthony Ward, Leek." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd., Leek.

WARD, JOHN, Ltd., Invalid Chair Manufacturers, 246, 247, Tottenham Court Road, London, W. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established 180 years ago by John Ward. Managing Director: James Ashton. Specialities: Bath Chairs and all kinds of Invalid Chairs, Carriages, and other Specialities. Is probably the oldest firm in the trade, and is known all over the world for appliances for invalids. Have patented many inventions. Awards: Prize Medals—London, 1851, 1862; Dublin, 1865; Paris, 1855, 1867, 1878, two Silver Medals and one Bronze Medal; Vienna, 1873, two Medals for Progress and Merit. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants To H.M. the King, H.M. the Queen, and H.M. Queen Alexandra. Telephone: No. 7657 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: "invalids, London."

WARD, LOCK & CO., Ltd., Publishers, Warwick House, Salisbury Square, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1854 by Ebenezer Ward and George Lock, but tracing its descent much farther back, through Tegg (est. 1800), Moxon (est. 1826), Beeton, Smith and Imes, whose businesses have been incorporated. Incorporated in 1893. Directors: R. D. Lock, W. G. Lock, L. Lock. Branches in Melbourne and Toronto; also separate Printing and Binding Works. Staff: About 500 in all. The leading feature of the business is the publication of books of general utility, together with standard and popular works of fiction. Are also publishers of the " Windsor Magazine," and of Mrs. Beeton's Cookery Books, Haydn's Dictionary of Dates, the Lily Series, the World Library, illustrated Guide Books, Children's Books, the Wonder Book, &c. Connection: Worldwide. Representatives in all quarters of the globe. Telephone: City, No. 8650 (five lines). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Warlock, London."

WARD, R. J., & SONS, Musical Instrument Makers, Repair Specialists and Exporters, 10, St. Anne Street, Liverpool. Hours of . Business: 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Established in 1803 by C. J. Roe. Succeeded by R. J. Ward, J.P. Present Principals: R. J. Ward, J.P., Chas. J. Ward (son), and Tom W. Ward (nephew of R. J. Ward). Premises: Large factory covering one and a half acres. Stag: Thirty-three. Branch: 19, Broom Road, Teddington, London, S.W. Specialities: Band Instruments of all kinds, Band Stands, Drums, Bugles, Flutes, DrumMajors' Staffs, Electroplaters and Repair Specialists to the Army, Navy, and Territorials at home and abroad. Patents: Ward's Hoop for Banjos. Awards: Numerous Gold Medals, London, Paris, Liverpool, York, Newcastle, Isle of Man, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1142 Royal, Liverpool; No. 297 (National), Kingston. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Drummer, Liverpool "; " Homeward, London." Codes: A B C, Adams, N.Y. Bankers: London City and Westminster Bank, Ltd., North and South Wales Bank, Ltd.

WARD, ROWLAND, Ltd., Naturalists, by special appointment to H.M. the King, " The Jungle," 167, Piccadilly, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1870 by Rowland Ward, F.Z.S. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1889. Directors: W. G. Rayner, I. B. Burlace, F.Z.S., W. T. Rowley. Business: Practical and Artistic Taxidermists; Designers of Trophies of Natural History; Preservers and Adapters of all specimens of Animal Life. Adapt the natural features of Animals in designs for decorative purposes and everyday use. Are also Furriers and Plumassiers, and Collectors in Natural History. Awards: At leading International Exhibitions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: To His late MajestyKing Edward. Telephones: No. 71 Mayfair; No. 3644 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Jungle, Piccy, London."

WARD, THOS. W. Ltd., Coal, Coke, Iron, Steel, Metal and Machinery Merchants, Albion Works, Savile Street, Sheffield. London Office: 18, Billiter Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1878 by Thos. W. Ward. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Directors: Thos. W. Ward (Chairman and Managing Director), Joseph Ward (Managing Director), Arthur J. Ward, and R. J. Wales (Assistant Managing Directors), and H. W. Lash. Local Directors: A. S. Ward, Hy. Kirk, and C. E. Parker. Premises: Head Office and Works in Sheffield cover nearly three acres. Equipped with all up-to-date appliances. Staff: About 1400. Staff Clubs: Sports and Rifle. Branches: Preston, New Diversion Quay; Wednesbury, Lea Brook; Swansea, King's Dock; Morecambe, Old Harbour; Briton Ferry, Giants' Wharf; London, Silvertown, E. Specialities: New and Second-hand Machinery, Locos, Cranes, Wagons, &c. Old Works and disused plant purchased. Rails, Scrap Iron, Steel, and Metals of any description. Coal for business and domestic purposes. Pig Iron, Coke, Cinder Slag for Road Making, Girders, Joists and Builders' Ironwork. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4321 Sheffield (six lines). Telegraphic Address: " Forward, Sheffield." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), A 1, Lieber's, Scott's, Western Union, Bedford McNeill's. Bankers: Sheffield Banking Co., Ltd.; London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Sheffield). Mr. T. W. Ward is Master Cutler and Chairman of the Sheffield Chamber of Commerce for the present year.

WARDLE, SIR THOMAS & ARTHUR H., Dyers, Churnet Works, Leek. Hours of Business: Usual. Present Principals: Arthur H. Wardle, and James Dishley. Branch: 122, Wood Street, London, E.C. Business: The Dyeing and Finishing of Silk in piece and skein, both in ordinary Dyes and Dyes fast to Light and Washing; also Waterproofing and Embossing of piece goods. Telephones: No. 47 Leek; London, No. 1756 City. Telegraphic Address: " Churnet, Leek."

WARING & GILLOW, Ltd., Decorators, Furnishers, and Building Contractors, 164-180, Oxford Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1854 by S. J. Waring (senior) at Liverpool, and in 1695 by Robert Gillow at Lancaster. Partnership Succession: S. J. Waring & Sons absorbed several important London firms, including Messrs. Gillow's, Collinson & Lock's, and T. J. Bontor's. Incorporated as Waring & Gillow, Ltd., in 1897. Re-registered in 19] 2. Directors: Kennedy Jones (Chairman), Saemy Japhet, William Joseph Jennings, Henry Portlock, David Hill Roddick, Henry Walker Weaving, Samuel James Waring. Secretary: Joseph Ritson, F.C.I.S. Handsome premises in Oxford Street, W., which cover nearly an acre, and contain more than seven acres of showrooms. Specialities: Furniture of Artistic Design and Sound Manufacture at moderate prices. The showrooms exhibit specimens of modern Furniture of the highest class and all goods for the complete furnishing and equipment -of the home. Branches: Liverpool Galleries, 42-46, Bold Street; Manchester Galleries, 118, 124, Deansgate; Lancaster, North Road; Paris, 62, Avenue des Champs Elysees; Madrid, Brussels, Montreal, Buenos Aires, Johannesburg, Bombay; Manufactories at Hammersmith, Liverpool, Lancaster, Manchester, Paris. Several thousands of hands are employed. Connection: Throughout the United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. The firm have gained many distinctions at Exhibitions, and notably three Grands Prix at the Brussels Exhibition, 1910, two Grands Prix at the Paris Exhibition of 1900, and two Grand Prizes and two Gold Medals at St. Louis; also Grand Prix and Gold Medal, Milan Exhibition, 1906. Royal Warrant Holders to His Majesty King George V. and His late Majesty King Edward. Telephones: No. 4000 Mayfair; No. 8084 Central. London Telegraphic Address: " Warison, London."

WARINGS OF LONDON WALL, Manufacturers and Warehousemen, 32 and 33, London Wall, and London Wall Avenue, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1874. Principals: D. H. Rhiner-Waring and R. RhinerWaring. Specialities: Ladies' Underclothing and Baby Linen. Also White and Coloured Underskirts, Natural Wool Underclothing, Corsets, and Embroideries. The Factories are at Shepperton Road, London, N., and Londonderry and Strabane, Ireland. Connection: Throughout the United Kingdom and in the Colonies. Telephone: No. 6214 London Wall (Private Branch Exchange). Telegraphic Address: " Emergent, London."

WARNE (FREDERICK) & CO., Publishers, Chandos House,15, Bedford Street, Strand, London, W.C., and 12, East 33rd Street, New York. Telephone: No. 2208 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Warne, London."

WARNER (JOSEPH) & SONS, LIMITED, Fishing Hook, Rod, Line and Tackle Manufacturers, Hewell Works, Redditch. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1830 by Richard Warner. Became R. Warner & Son in 1840. Continued by Josh. Warner in 1853. Josh. Warner & Sons in 1878. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. Directors: Clement C. Davies (Chairman and Managing Director), C. H. McPherson. Premises: Removed from Hewell Road in 1868. Present Factory situated in Beoley Road and Grange Road, Redditch; covers half an acre of ground, 27,500 sq. ft. of floor space; highly equipped. Staff: Office, twelve. Agents in all principal European and Colonial cities. Specialities: The finest Greenheart and Split-cane Fishing Rods, Artificial Flies and Baits, Silk, Flax, Hemp and other lines, Fish Hooks for Sea, Lake and River, Fishing Reels and Nets; Tackle for fish of all kinds; Silkworm, Gut, &c. Patents: Needle-eyed Hook, 1868; Brazed-eye Hook, 1896; Splitcane Driving Whips, Wrappers for Fishing Tackle; Anglers' Cases and Baits; Fishing Rod Fittings, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 47 Redditch. Telegraphic Address: " Warner, Redditch." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd.

WARNER & SONS, Silk and Velvet Manufacturers and Upholsterers' Warehousemen, 3 and 4, Newgate Street, London, E.C., and New Mills, Braintree, Essex. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1870 by Benjamin Warner. Partnership Successions: (1) Warner, Sillett & Ramm; (2) Warner, Ramm & Stanway; (3) Warner & Ramm. Present Principals: Alfred Warner and Frank Warner. Specialities: Furnishing and Decorating Fabrics of all periods in Silk, Wool, Linen, Ramie, &c., Brocades, Damasks, Brocatelles, Lampas, Plpin, and Figured Velvets, Satins, Lustrings, Taffetas, Tapestries, &c., Gold and Silver Metal Tissues, Ecclesiastical Fabrics of all kinds, Silk Vestings and Dress Brocades, Specialists in the Reproduction of Ancient Fabrics. Awards: Gold Medal, Paris Exhibition, 1900; two Grands Prix Felicitations, Brussels Exhibition, 1910. Telephone: No. 2911 Holborn, London (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Warram, Cent, London."

WARREN (GEORGE) & CO., Metal Agents and Merchants, 34, Lime Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1888 by George Warren. Present Principals: George Warren and James Whitby. Staff: Office, fourteen. Speciality: Galvanised Sheets, representing the largest manufacturers in the Kingdom. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Telephones: No. 2542 (2 lines); No. 4598 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Nerwar, Grace, London." Codes: A B C and A 1. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Lombard Street). Mr. James Whitby is Deputy-Chairman of the Metal Trades Section of the London Chamber of Commerce, Member of the Council of London Hardware Club, Member of the Innholders Company, and has been Master of the Vulcan Lodge 3181 Freemasons. Mr. G. Warren is Treasurer of the Vulcan Lodge 3181. Both Partners are Freemen of the City of London.

WARREN (GEORGE) & CO. (LIVERPOOL), Ltd., Steamship Owners, 19, James Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business; Usual. Established in 1844 by Enoch Train. Continued by Mr. Thayer, Mr. George Warren, F. Shaw, F. Massey, George H. Warren and Fred Warren. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Chairman: Sir Stephen W. Furness, Bart., M.P. Managing Director: J. B. Glynn. Business: Cargo Carrying, also Passengers. Connection: Foreign. Telephones: No. 155 and 1553 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: "Warren, Liverpool." Codes: Scott's and Watkin's. Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd.

WARREN, SONS & CO., Wholesale Provision Merchants, Importers and Exporters, 133 to 136, Whitechapel High Street, London, E. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. (summer), 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. (winter). Established in 1861 by Stephen Warren. Present Principals: Stephen Warren, James Herbert Warren, William Dawson Warren. Premises: Extensive at above address. Specialities: Are the proprietors of the registered " Day Dawn brand of Canadian Cheese and Butter. Have made this brand well known in the trade at home and abroad. Connection: England, Canada, India, South Africa, and Europe. Telephone: No. 7818 Central. Telegraphic and Cable Address:" Daydawn, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (21, Lombard Street, B.C.). Mr. Stephen Warren is a past-Master of the Haberdashers Company. Mr. W. D. Warren is Chairman of the Wholesale Produce Merchants Association.

WATERFOOT ANKLE STRAP CO. (THE), Boot and Shoe Manufacturers, Arcade Works, Waterfoot, near Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1898. Present Principals: James Ormerod and William Birtwistle. Specialities: Children's and Girls' Boots and Shoes, in Anklestraps, Bars, Oxfords and Gibson Shoes and Lace and Button Boots. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 69 Waterfoot. Telegraphic Address; " Anklestrap Co., Waterfoot."

WATERLOW BROTHERS & LAYTON, Ltd., Manufacturing Stationers, 24 and 25, Birchin Lane, E.C. Factory; Broken Wharf, Upper Thames Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Factory, 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1811 by James. Waterlow (great-grandfather of the present Directors). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1887. Directors: W. G. Rayner (Chairman), W. A. Waterlow (Managing Director), H. Sweetman, and Mark Waterlow (Assistant Manager). Completed their 100th year in Birchin Lane under continuous family management in 1911. Premises: Factory equipped with all up-to-date appliances. Staff: 700. Branch: Cairo. Business: Printers, Engravers, Account Book Makers, Lithographers, Bank Note, Cheque, and Postage Stamp Printers, &c., Lay Agents for Solicitors. Award: DiplOme d'Honneur, Brussels Exhibition, 1897. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 5820 Avenue; Nos. 59 and 60 Bank, London. Telegraphic Address: " Tartessus, London." Codes: A B C, Lieber's, Western Union. Bankers: Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co.; London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

WATERLOW & SONS, Ltd., Stationers and Printers, 26, Great Winchester Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1810 by James Waterlow (grandfather of the present Chairman). Incorporated as a Limited Company first in 1876 and again in 1887 and 1897, each time with increased capital. Directors: Sir Philip H. Waterlow, Bart., J.P. (Chairman), E. L. Waterlow (Managing Director), H. J. Bass, Wm. Flemming, J. Vernon, Russell Palmer, F. W. Goodman, H. W. Rap kin, J. W. Vernon. Business: Export, Retail, Law and Manufacturing Stationers, Bank Note, Postage Stamp, and General Engravers, Protection Cheque Specialists, Letterpress Printers, Lithographers, Account Book Manufacturers, Envelope Manufacturers, Photographic Art Printers, Cardboard and Railway Ticket Manufacturers, &c. The Company employ over 5,000 hands in their various factories and establishments. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government; also to the Home, Colonial, and Indian Services. Telephones: No. 1264 London Wall; No. 4326 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Waterlows, London Wall, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Finsbury Circus Branch); National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. (Head Office). Sir Philip H. Waterlow, Bart., was High Sheriff of Surrey in 1905-6.

WATERSTON (GEORGE) & SONS, Stationers and Sealing Wax Manufacturers, Warriston Road, Edinburgh. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1752 by William Waterston. Continued from father to son, now in the fifth generation. Present Principals: George Waterston, John William Waterston, James Sime Waterston, Charles Blair Waterston, Robert Waterston and Allan Waterston. Premises: Works and Warehouse cover an acre. Staff: Large. Staff Clubs: Golf and Bowling. Branches: Edinburgh, 33 and 35 and 101, George Street, and St. John's Hill; London, 8, St. Bride Street, E.C. Specialities: Bee Brand Sealing Wax. Stationery specially for the requirements of first class businesses, Home and Colonial. Patents: Two Loose Leaf Ledgers. Awards: Six Prize Medals since 1851. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: Nos. 1385 and 1386 Central, Edinburgh; No.' 3192 London. Telegraphic Address: " Waterstons," Edinburgh and London. Bankers: Bank of Scotland and Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

WATFORD MANUFACTURING CO., Ltd., (Proprietors of Freeman & Hildyard), Victoria Works, Watford, Herts. Hours of Business: Offices, 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Factory, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Freeman & Hildyard section established about fifty years ago by J. Freeman and G. H. Hildyard. Business purchased by Dr. Tibbles' Vi-Cocoa, Ltd., in 1900. Name changed to Watford Manufacturing Co., Ltd., in 1906. Chairman: Sir William P. Treloar, Bart. Premises: Watford Factory, partially destroyed by Fire in 1903, damage £113,000. Cover thirteen acres at Watford. Staff: 1000. Branches: 12, Henry Street, Grays Inn Road, W.C.; 3, Church Street, Minories, London, E.C.; Royal Insurance Buildings, Sydney, New South Wales. Specialities: Freeman and Hildyard Goods, Dr. Tibbles' Vi-Cocoa, Boisseliers' Chocolates. Awards: Numerous. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 102 Watford; No. 655 Holborn, London. Telegraphic Address: " Tachylite, ydney "; " Teacupful, Watford "; " Try it, London." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Club: (Sir William P. Treloar, Bart.) Sports, indoor and outdoor. Sir William P. Treloar, Bart., has been Lord Mayor of London.

WATHEN, GARDINER & CO., Wholesale and Export Clothiers, Staple Hill, Bristol. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established about 1810 by John Gardiner. Partnership Successions: (1) Henry Gardiner; (2) Charles Wathen and Chas. Gardiner; (3) F. W. Lewis. Present Principals: Wm. Hill, H. R. Smith. Claims to be the oldest Bristol Clothing House. Premises: Extensive; the Factory is on one floor, and covers an area of two acres. Stall: Several hundreds. Specialities: Men and Boys' Clothing. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 17 Staple Hill. Telegraphic Address: " Wathen, Staple Hill." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

WATHERSTON, J. HENRY, Jeweller, Goldsmith and Silversmith, 42, Old Bond Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1798 by John Brogden, at 16, Bridgewater Square, E.C. Partnership Successions: (1) Brogden & Garland from 1824; (2) Garland & Watherston, 1831; (3) Watherston & Brogden, 1841; (4) Watherston & Son, 1864. Present Principal: J. Henry Watherston. One of the oldest firms of Jewellers and Gold and Silversmiths. Specialities: Noted for preserving the finest examples of old-world designs, and reproducing them in styles adapted to modern ideas. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 4965 Mayfair. Telegraphic Address: " Ceramidis, London." Mr. Watherston is a member of the Worshipful Company of Goldsmiths.

WATHERSTON & SON, Jewellers, Goldsmiths and Silversmiths, 6, Vigo Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1798 by John Brogden. Partnership Successions: (1) Brogden & Garland, from 1824; (2) Garland & Watherston, 1831; (3) Watherston & Brogden, 1841; Watherston & Son, since 1864. Have been manufacturers to the trade in London and the Provinces for over fifty years. Specialities High-class Jewellery; Wedding and. Bridesmaids' Presents; faithful reproductions of the finest examples of Old English Silver Plate. Telephone: No. 2144 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Demetrius, London."

WATKINS, JAMESON, PIM & CO., Ltd., Brewers and Maltsters, Ardee Street Brewery, Dublin. Hours of Business: Usual. Established long previous to 1F00. Present firm formed by the amalgamation of Joseph Watkins & Co. and Jameson, Pim & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Directors: A. E. Darley, W. K. Darley, E. A. Trouton, W. B. Stanley. Secretary: E. R. Read. Premises: Believed to occupy the site of a Monastery of St. Thomas, which was suppressed by Henry VIII. (There was a Brewhouse on the spot in those days, in which the monks brewed their own beer.) Specialities: High-class Stouts for Bottling and Draught; also Ales and Beers. Connection: United Kingdom chiefly. Exporters of Stout in bottle to the Colonies. Royal Warrant: Brewers to His Majesty King George in Ireland. Telephone: No. 341 Dublin. Telegraphic Address: " Watkins, Dublin."

WATKINS & SIMPSON, Ltd., Wholesale Seed and Bulb Merchants, 12, Tavistock Street, Covent Garden, London, W. C., and Port Street, Evesham, Worcestershire. Hours of Business: Vary. Established in 1876 by Alfred Watkins and James Simpson (d. 1895). Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1910. Directors: Alfred Watkins (Governing Director), John Macrae Bridgeford, and Arthur Howard. Premises: Shops and Counting House, 12, Tavistock Street, extensive Warehouses for Vegetable Seeds, Mercer Avenue, Long Acre; Flower Seeds, Exeter Street, with 100 acres of Trial and Selecting Grounds at Twickenham and Feltham, Middlesex. Specialities: Vegetable, Agricultural, and Flower Seeds. Connection: United Kingdom (Extensive), Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 2962 and 2963 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Address: " Watseed, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), American Seed Trade Association, and Private.

WATKINS (STEPHEN), SON & GROVES, Chartered Patent Agents, 170, Strand (late of 75, Chancery Lane), London, W.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1869 by Stephen Watkins at Wolverhampton. Office opened in London in 1903. Business: Patents obtained throughout Great Britain, the Colonies, and in Foreign Countries. Trade-marks and Designs registered. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 8072 Gerrard; No. 48 Wolverhampton. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Chancery Lane); United Counties Bank, Ltd. (Wolverhampton).

WATNEY, COMBE, REID & CO., Ltd., Brewers, Stag Brewery, Pimlico, and Mortlake Brewery, Pimlico, London, S.W. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898, to amalgamate the interests of Watney & Co., Ltd., Combe & Co., Ltd., and Reid's Brewery Co., Ltd. One of the representative Brewing concerns of London. Telephone: No. 4902 Victoria. Telegraphic Address: " Watneys, Sowest, London."

WATSON (ANGUS) & CO., Canned Goods Specialists, Ellison Buildings, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1903 by Angus Watson and Henry Bell Saint, the present principals. One of the partners claims to have been the founder of the Norwegian Sardine Industry on a commercial basis outside of Norway. The industry now employs about 10,000 hands during the canning season. Branches: Liverpool, Manchester, Philadelphia (Pa.). Depots: Liverpool, Brussels, Philadelphia. Agencies: Throughout the world. Specialities: " Skipper " Sardines and " Herringlets." Also sell other packs of Sardines. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 4922 (two lines) Central, Newcastle -on-T) ne; No. 3496 Bank, Liverpool; No. 2400 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Addresses: " Sar- dines, Newcastle - on - Tyne "; " Conserves, Liverpool." Code: A B C (5th

Edition). Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Newcastle-on-Tyne).

WATSON (JAMES) & CO., Ltd., Distillers and Scotch Whisky Merchants. Seagate, Dundee. Established in 1815. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Capital: £500,000. Directors: John J. Watson (Chairman), James Watson, Robert L. Watson, Alexander K. Watson. Branches: London, Glasgow, Melbourne, Sydney. Agents all over the world. Specialities: The well - known brands of Scotch Whisky, " Watson's No. 10 " and " Watson's Blue Band." Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1254, 1255 and 1256 Dundee. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Seagate, Dundee." Bankers: Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

WATSON (JOHN M.) & CO., Paper Stock Merchants and Wood Pulp Agents, Crownpoint Works, 37 to 59, David Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1901 by John M. Watson. In 1903 name changed to Watson & Hannay, and in 1912 became John M. Watson & Co. Present Principal: John M. Watson. Staff: 100. Speciality: Paper Makers' Raw Materials. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 66 and 3027 Bridgeton. Telegraphic Address: " Cellulose, Glasgow." Codes: Western Union, A B C (5th Edition), Waste Merchants. Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd. Clubs: (Mr. John M. Watson), Liberal, Glasgow; Scottish Liberal, Edinburgh; Rotary, Glasgow; Member of Merchants House and Chamber of Commerce.

WATSON (JOSEPH) & SONS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Soaps, Whitehall Soap Works, Leeds; London and Glasgow. Established over fifty years ago by Joseph Watson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: Charles Watson (Chairman), Joseph Watson, Charles R. Baker, T. W. Weston. Business: Manufacture of Household Soaps. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 3970 Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Watson, Leeds."

WATSON, LAIDLAW & CO., Ltd., Engineers and Millwrights, 98, Dundas Street (South), Glasgow. Speciality: Sugar Machinery. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1700 South (Nat.) No. x172 Post Office. Tele-graphic Address: " Fugal, Glasgow."

WATT (ANDREW A.) & CO., Ltd., Wholesale Whisky Merchants and Blenders, Shipquay Street, Londonderry. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1762. Incorporated as a Limited Company in. 1895. Chairman: David Watt. Managing Director: Alexander MacMillan, F.C.I.S. A very old firm, and has always been in the hands of the same family. Business: Wholesale Whisky Merchants and Blenders. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone No. 42 Derry. Telegraphic Address: " Tyrconnell, Londonderry." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Belfast Banking Co.

WATTIS & CO., Ltd., Wholesale Jewellers, Watch and Clock Importers, Electroplate Manufacturers and Silversmiths, John Bright Street, Navigation Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1868. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Managing Directors: Charles H. Brown and John A. Appleton. Business: Wholesale Jewellers, Watch and Clock Importers, ElectroPlate Manufacturers and Silversmiths. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Telephone: No. 583 Midland, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Everywhere, Birmingham."

WATTS, BLAKE, BEARNE & CO., Clay Proprietors, Miners and Merchants, &c., Bank Chambers, Union Street, Newton Abbot. Established in 1819. Present Principals: Charles D. Blake, Arthur Bearne and William John Vicary Watts. Staff: About 250. Branches: Hanley, Teignmouth, Kingsteignton, Teigngrace, Hennock, Cornwood and Shaugh. Specialities: Potters' Ball Clay, Stoneware Clay, Pipe Clay, and China Clay, China Stone, Flint and Coal. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: No. 19 Newton Abbot; No. 568 Hanley; No. 8 Teignmouth. Telegraphic Addresees: " Clay, Newton Abbot '; Coal, Newton Abbot."

WATTS, Ltd., Varnish Gum Merchants, 72-75, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Established in 1871 by E. G. Meers and T. C. Watts (d.). Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1905. Directors: E. G. Meers (Chairman), J. C. Horsey, A. W. Meers. Secretary R. H. Meers. Premises Three Factories or Warehouses, Cordova Road, Hamilton Road and Kelday Road, Hackney Wick, E. Staff: 300 to 400. Branches: Hamburg and Aucklani I (N.Z.). Agencies: Throughout Europe and New York. Specialities: Gum Importing and Cleaning. Telephone: No. 70 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Wattsgum, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition), Western Union. .

WAYGOOD, R., & CO., Ltd., Lift and Crane Makers and General Engineers, Falmouth Road, Great Dover Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established, in 1833, in Beaminster, Dorsetshire, by Richard Waygood, who removed the business to London in 1840, and retired about 1873. Partnership Successions (1) J. M. Day (joined the business before 1840 and in it till 1903), from 1872 to 1887; (2) W. R. Green (R. Waygood's nephew), (joined the business 1863 and in it till 1910), from 1872 to 1887 and 1900 to 1902; H. C. Walker, from 1872 (joined the business in 1865); C. Day, from 1887; J. B. Nicholson, from 1889 to 1904; E. P. Okeden, from 1890. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1894, and in 1900 as a Public Company. Present Directors: H. C. Walker (Chairman and Managing Director), E. P. Okeden, D. W. R. Green (Director and Secretary) (1898), R. J. White (1900), R. Percy Sellon (1902), Harry Harmsworth (1910), and H. Cecil Walker (1910). Premises at Falmouth Road and Coventry, &c., cover about four acres. Staff and Employees: Nearly 1,000. Branches: The Vulcan Foundry, Coventry; Belfast, Birmingham, Cardiff, Dublin, Glasgow, Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle-onTyne, Plymouth. Specialities: Lifts of all kinds, both for Passengers and Goods— Electric, Hydraulic, Belt-driven, and Hand Power. Have patented many improvements relating to lifts and safety devices for lifts. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, Foreign. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment as Lift Makers to H.M. King George V., Its late Majesty King Edward VII., and to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephone: No. 4000 Hop (6 lines). Telegraphic Address: " Waygood, Sedist, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition), and Lieber's.

WAYMAN, SONS & CO., Ltd., Worsted Coating Manufacturers, Haley Hill Mills, Halifax. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1895 by William Henry Wayman and Henry Holdsworth Wayman. Joined by Maurice Wayman in 1903. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1907. Directors: W. H. Wayman (Chairman), H. H. Wayman, M. Wayman. Premises: Well-equipped Mills. Stag: 250. Branches: Offices, London, 30, Golden Square, W.; Huddersfield, 3A, Station Street Glasgow, 69, Buchanan Street. Speciality: Worsted Coatings. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 330 Halifax; London, No. 1456 Regent. Telegraphic Addresses: " Fancy, Halifax "; " Adatis, London." Bankers: West Yorkshire Banking Co., Ltd.

WEARMOUTH COAL COMPANY, Ltd. (THE), Colliery Owners, Wearmouth Colliery, Sunderland. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Premises: Two extensive, well-equipped collieries. Staff: (Surface and underground), nearly 4,000. Telephone: No. 17 (P.O.), Sunderland. Telegraphic Address: " Colliery, Sunderland."

WEATHERBY & SONS, Publishers, Printers, &c., General Offices, 15, Cavendish Square, London, W. Printing Works: 18 and 19, Durham Place, Kensington, W. Established in 1753 by James Weatherby. Present Principals: J. H. Weatherby, and E. M. Weatherby. Is one of the oldest Publishing Houses in London. Specialities: Publishing and Printing the Racing Calendar and other publications of the Jockey Club and of the National Hunt Committee. Are the Proprietors, Publishers, and Printers of the General Stud Book of Thoroughbred Race Horses (issued every four years with annual supplements). Telegraphic Address: " Racing Calendar, Wesdo, London." Bankers: Bank of England. Mr. E. M. Weatherby is Secretary to the Jockey Club.

WEBB (EDWARD) & SONS (WORCESTER), LIMITED, Hair Cloth, Horsehair Carpet, Manufacturers, Copenhagen Street, Worcester. London Office: 31, Little Britain, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1835 by Edward Webb. Incorporated as a Limited Company in. 1902. Directors: Albert Webb (Chairman), W. E. Williams (Secretary), Arnold E. Webb. Premises: Cover about two acres, chiefly three storeys high. Equipped with modern appliances. Specialities: Coloured Damask Hair Seating for Upholstery, Horsehair and Hair Carpets, Curled Hair for Stuffing, Hair Cloth for Coat Linings, Hop Drying Cloth, Hair Cord, &c. Patents: Horsehair Carpet and various methods of Weaving Hair and Wool Carpets, Looms for Weaving Hair Cloth, Machine for Lapping Short Hairs into a continuous thread, known as Laptair Yarn. Connection: World-wide. Telegraphic Address: " Webb, Worcester." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

WEBB, HENRY JOHN, Colonial and Foreign Importers and Exporters, 376 and 377 Central Markets, West Smithfield, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 5 a.m. to 1 p.m.; Fridays and Saturdays, close at 4 p.m. Established in 1888 by Henry John Webb, the present principal. Claims to be the first who received and sold Colonial Rabbits in merchantable payable quantities, and to have the finest real Turtle Soup made from his own imported Turtles from the South Pacific. Staff: About thirty-five. Staff Club: Webb's Athletic Football Team. Branches: 329 and 336, Central Markets. Specialities: Colonial Rabbits, Beef, Mutton, Poultry, Game, Cheese, Lard, Bacon, Butter, Eggs, Poultry from France, Italy, Austria, Hungary, Servia, Ireland and Great Britain. Their Turtle Soup is made on the most approved principles. Connection: Canada, United States, New •Zealand, Australia, France, Germany, Austria, Hungary, Italy, Servia, Holland, Belgium, Ireland, Great Britain and Russia, Siberia. Telephones: Nos. 2042, 2043 and 2044 City, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Frostweed, London "; " Rabimport, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Mr. Webb is a member of the London Chamber of Com merce, and of the Home and Foreign Produce Exchange and Farringdon Ward Club.

WEBLEY & SCOTT, Ltd., Manufacturers of Military and Sporting Guns, Rifles and Revolvers, 86, Weaman Street, and 123, Lancaster Street, Birmingham: and 78, Shaftesbury Avenue, London, W. Hours of Business: 7.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Estab lished in the latter part of the eighteenth century. An amalgamation of W. C. Scott & Son and P. Webley & Son. Incor porated as a Limited Company. Direc tors: Ernest Burton Winn (Uliairman), William John Whiting and Frank Murray (Joint Managing Directors), and Colonel C. E. Macdonald. Secretary: Frank Town send Murray. Premises: Extensive up to-date works at 81-91, Weaman Street, and 8-22, Slaney Street, and Premier Gun Works at Lancaster Street. Offices and Showrooms: 86, Weaman Street. London Depot: 78, Shaftesbury Avenue, W. Staff: 750. Specialities: Guns, Rifles, Revolvers and Automatic Pistols. Trade Marks: " M.P.," " W.S.," " W. & S. Steel," " The British Bull Dog." Patents: Upwards of thirty. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admir alty, War Office, India Office). Also to the Colonies, the Chinese Navy, Royal Irish Constabulary, Dublin Police, Metro politan Police, Cape Mounted Police, Lisbon Police and Egyptian Police. Tele phones: No. 5, 479 and 566 Central, Birmingham; No. 3087 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Webley, Birmingham "; " Armaments, London."

WEBSTER BROTHERS & CO., Spinners of Flax, Russian and Italian Yarns, Seaming and Roping Twines for Home and Export, Stanley Mills, Arbroath, N.B. Hours of Business Office: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1892 by Francis Webster (jun.) (d. 1899) and William Webster. Present Principals: William Webster and David Waddel Webster (since 1899). Premises: Cover three acres, equipped with all modern appliances. Staff: 300. Branch: Kavanagh Street, South Melbourne, Australia. Specialities: Flax, Russian and Italian Yarns, all classes of Seaming and Roping Twines and Yarns. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty) for Flax Sail Twines. Telephone: No. 22 Arbroath. Telegraphic Address: "Stanley, Arbroath." Cable Address: " Sledeboom, Melbourne."

WEBSTER (GEORGE) & CO., Hide, Skin and Fat Commission Agents, Albert Road, St.. Phillip's, Bristol. Hours of Business: Usual. . Present Principals: George Webster and George Sutton. Business: Exporting and Importing of Hides and Skins. Connection: England, United States of America and Continent of Europe. Telephone: No. 478 Bristol. Telegraphic Address " Trotters, Bristol." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited, Tempe Gate, Bristo'.

WEBSTER (JAMES) & BRO. Ltd., Timber Importers and Sawmill Proprietors, Importers of American Sawn Woods, Handles, &c., Manufacturers of Cask Heads, Box and Case Boards and Guelph Patent Casks, 165, Derby Road, Bootle, Liverpool. London Office: Dashwood House, 9, New Broad Street, E.C.; Wharf and Store, Cooks Road, Bow, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1862 by James Webster. Partnership Successions: (1) 1878, James Webster, J.P., Charles Webster; (2) 1898, James Webster, J.P., Charles Webster, James Stanley Webster. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1906. Directors: James Webster, J.P. (Chairman), Charles Webster, James Stanley Webster, Thomas Malcolm Webster. Premises: Sawmill covers about three acres. Branches: Dashwood House, 9, New Broad Street, London, E.C.; Wharf and Store: Cooks Road, Bow, London, E.; Dock Road, Garston. Agencies for Norwegian and Swedish Box-board and Stave Shippers. Specialities: American Hardwoods, Oak and Rock Maple Flooring, Manufactured Wood Goods, Handles, Barrows, Veneers, &c., Cooperage Material, Staves (all kinds), Hoops, Heads, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. War Office, Office of Works, Post Office, and to the Crown Agents for the Colonies. Telephones: Bootle, Nos. 5, 220, 522 (three lines); No. 2841 London Wall; Wharf, No. 615 Stratford. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Sawmill, Liverpool "; " Alnus, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. James Webster is a Justice of the Peace, was Mayor of Bootle 1882 to 1883 and 1883 to 1884.

WEBSTER, S. H., & CO., Exporters, Importers and General Commission Merchants, 22, Great St. Helen's, London, E.C. Established in 1914 by S. H. Webster, with connections in China (chiefly Manchuria), Japan, India, &c., formed about twenty-five years ago. Present Principal: Sidney Harrop Webster, formerly of Chefoo, China. Afterwards employed by large exporting houses in London. Managing Clerk: F. E. Foster, who has an extensive connection (from the past) and conducts the firm's Home and Export Trade in Coal. Premises: Office on the first floor at above address. Have their own wagons and accounts with the principal railways. Staff: Six. Business: Principal features, executing Oversea Indents, exporting the orders of the Agent of the Hongkong Electric Co., who is located within the firm's suite of offices. Coal Sales to Merchants in London and Provinces. Connection: India, Ceylon, Straits, China, Japan, Rhodesia, Canada and at Home. Telephone: No. 5108 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Webaforsco, London." Cable Address: " Webbarton, London." Codes: Western Union, A B C, Engineering, Sheppard's Syllables. Bankers: London & Provincial Bank, Ltd. Club: Northwood Golf (since 1895).

WEBSTER, STEEL & CO., South African Merchants, 5, East India Avenue, Leadenhall Street, London, E.C., and 22, West Nile Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1863. Branch: Trad© as Steel, Murray & Co. Durban and Pietermaritzburg (Natal), Iiarrismith (Orange Free State), and elsewhere in South Africa. Agencies: South Africa, United States, Australia, and India. Business: Merchants and Corporation Agents, Steamship and Insurance Agents, Coaling Supplies, Machinery, Explosives and Agricultural Implement Shippers, Grain and Wool Importers. Agents for various South African Municipalities. Telephone: No. 12350 Central, London. Telegraphic Address " Webfoot, London." Cable Addresses " Steel," Durban and Maritzburg. Codes: Bentley's, A B C (5th Edition), Western Union. Bankers: Bank of Scotland (London, Glasgow), Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (London), Standard Bank of South Africa, Ltd., National Bank of South Africa, Ltd., and Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Glasgow).

WEDDEL , W. , & CO. , Ltd., Colonial Commission Agents, 17, St. Helens Place, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1888 by William Weddel, George Goodsir, and the late Patrick G. Weddel (d. 1904). Joined by David J. Goodsir and Gordon H. Campbell in 1905. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1911. Directors: W. Weddel, George Goodsir, Gordon H. Campbell, David J. Goodsir, and George C. Kean. Staff: 100. Branches: 14, West Smithfield, E.C.; 31, Tooley Street, S.E.; Victoria Dock, London, E.; 31, North John Street, Liverpool; 80, Corporation Street, Manchester; 233, George Street, Glasgow; Geneva; Melbourne, Brisbane, Sydney, Australia; Christchurch, New Zealand. Business: Claim to be pioneers and most extensive operators in the trade in Frozen and Chilled Meats from all sources of supply; also deal in Butter, Cheese, Grain, Wool, Tallow, and most kinds of Agricultural Produce from the Colonies and South America. Make a special feature of the publication of statistics concerning Frozen Meat and Dairy Produce with annual reviews. Claim to have introduced Frozen Meat Shipments direct into Manchester and into Austria, Germany, Egypt, Italy, Switzerland, Sweden, Cape Colony, Natal, Philippine Islands, Vladivostoek, &c. Supplied Frozen Meat and Fodder for the British Army during the South African War. Connection: United Kingdom, Europe, Australia., New Zealand, South America, United States, Canada, South Africa, Far East, Mediterranean, Siberia. Telephone: No. 426 Avenue, London (five lines). Telegraphic Addresses: " Weddels," London, Liverpool, and Geneva; " Shrewdly," London, Manchester, and Glasgow. Mr. W. Weddel is a member of the Port of London Authority, and is Chairman of the Colonial Wool Merchants Association. He acted as member of the Parliamentary Committee on Combination in the Meat Trade, 1909. Mr. Gordon H. Campbell is President of the Incorporated Society of Meat Importers (1908-1913).

WEDGWOOD & CO., Ltd., Makers of Semi-Porcelain, &c., Tunstall, Staffordshire; London Office, 24, Holborn, E.C. Established in 1840 as Podmore, Walker & Co., afterwards altered to Wedgwood & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (War Office). Telephone: No. 593 National. Telegraphic Address: " Wedgwood, Tunstall."

WEDGWOOD (JOSIAH) & SONS, Ltd., Manufacturers of China, Earthenware, Jasper, &c., Etruria, Stoke-on-Trent. Hours of Business: 8.15 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1760 by Josiah Wedgwood, F.R.S. The business is still conducted by his lineal descendants. Incorporated as a Limited. Company. Directors: Major Cecil Wedgwood, D.S.O. (Chairman), Francis Hamilton Wedgwood and Kennard L. Wedgwood. One of the most interesting and famous firms in the kingdom. Premises: The buildings erected by Josiah Wedgwood in 1760 are still in use. There is also a Works Museum of great interest, containing a large number of trials and specimens of the founder's manufacture. The Museum is open to visitors, Mondays to Fridays. Works are equipped with all the latest improvements. Staff: 750 workpeople. Staff Clubs: Swimming Baths Reading Rooms, Dining Room and Recreation Rooms for the workpeople. Branches: London, 26-27, Hatton Garden, E.C.; New York, 71-73, Murray Street; Paris, 67, Rue d'Hauteville (C. P. Felton); Berlin, 126, Oranienstrasse (C. P. Felton); Australia and New Zealand, C. M. Hodge, C.P.O. Box 1946 Sydney; South America, A. A. Bayan, Lavalle 771, Buenos Aires. Specialities: Wedgwood " Jasper " Ware, also Earthenware, China and Black Basalt. Trade Marks: For Earthenware and Jasper, the word " Wedgwood " only; for China, copy of " Portland Vase," with the word " 'Wedgwood " only beneath. Connection: World-wide. Awards: Numerous Gold and other Medals, ranging from Bronze, London, 1851, to Grand Prix, Turin, 1912. Telephone: No. 18 Hanley. Telegraphic Addresses: " Wedgwood, Etruria "; " Wedgwood, London "; " Basalt, New York." Code: A B C. Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool Banking Co., Ltd. (Hanley). Major Cecil Wedgwood, D.S.O., was the first Mayor for the Federated Borough of Stoke-on-Trent.

" WEEKLY DISPATCH " (THE). See ASSOCIATED NEWSPAPERS, Ltd.

WEEKS & COOPER, Ltd., Blouse and Blouse Robe Manufacturers. Registered Office: Neville Road Works, Green Street, Upton. London Showrooms: 23 to 25, Charterhouse Square. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established twenty-five years ago by H. T. Weeks and A. E. Cooper. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1903. Directors: Herbert Thomas Weeks (Chairman), A. E. Cooper, E. J. Anderson. Premises: About 25,000 square feet. Staff: About 500. Factories: Upton and Leyton. Business: Manufacture of Blouses and Blouse Robes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 6430 Central, London; No. 547 East Ham. Telegraphic Address: " Flowerage, Upark, London."

WEEKS, J. W., & SON, 276, Westminster Road, and Smeaton Street, Liverpool. Inventors and Sole Manufacturers of Captain Weeks's Heated Surface Composition for Steamers' Funnels or other heated surfaces. This firm was established in 1868 by Capt. Weeks, the inventor of the Composition, and the business is still carried on by the family. The Composition is specially prepared for steamers' funnels, and the more heat it is subjected to the more firmly it adheres to the iron. It is noted for its reliability, stands heat without blistering or changing colour, preserves the iron, and is economical, one pound of the Composition going as far as two pounds of ordinary paint. It is prepared in all colours, mixed ready for use in 28 lb. and 56 lb. drums. An extensive connection has been established among steamship owners, companies, marine superintendents, and consulting and superintending engineers in this country and abroad, and many of them have used the Composition since it was first introduced. The firm supply most of the principal Steamship Companies in the United Kingdom, are Contractors to the Crown Agents for the Colonies, and also do a large export trade. Awards: Medals at Chicago, 1893; Antwerp, 1894; Paris, 1900. Telephone: No. 67 Bootle. Telegraphic Address: " Surface, Liverpool."

WEINTRAUD (FRANCIS), Ltd., Manufacturers, Merchants, and Agents for Fancy Goods, &c., 12 and 13, Chiswell Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1885 by Francis Weintraud. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Have four exten sive Factories. Staff: Fifty Clerks, Warehousemen, and Travellers. Specialities: Shaving Sets and Fancy Bags, Cutlery, Fans, Fancy Goods of all kinds, Aluminium Ware, &c. Patents: Several. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 14992 Central. Telegraphic Add/rem " Weintraud, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions); Lieber's. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (London); Bankverein E.G. (Offenbach); Credit Lyonnais (Paris); Wiener Bankverein (Vienna).

WEIR, G. & J., Ltd., Engineers, Cathcart, Glasgow. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Branches: Newcastle - on Tyne, Bank Chambers, 26, Mosley Street ' • London, 77, Billiter Buildings, Billiter, Street; Liverpool, 339, Royal Liver Building, Pierhead; 52, Broadway, New York. Specialties: Marine Auxiliary Machinery, Feed Pumps, Service Pumps, Independent Air Pumps, Evaporators, Surface Condensers, &c. Telephone: No. 450 Langside, Glasgow (five lines). Telegraphic Addresses: Giweir, Glasgow "; " Hydrokineter, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Western Union.

WEISS (THOMAS L.) & CO., Shipowners, Brokers, and Marine Surveyors, 5, Quayside, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of . Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1905 by Captain Thomas L. Weiss, the present principal. Premises: Office with four rooms. Staff: Six. Business: Shipowners, Brokers; and Marine Surveyors. Connections: United Kingdom and Sweden. Telephone: No. 4851 Central, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Telegraphic Address: " Weiss, Newcastle-on-Tyne." Codes: A B C, Watkins. Bankers Lloyds Bank Limited, London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Clubs: (Captain T. L. Weiss) Conservative and Pen and Toilette.

WELCH, MARGETSON & CO., LIMITED, Manufacturers and Warehousemen, 16 to 30, Moor Lane, Fore Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.45 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established in 1832 by Joseph James Welch and John Stewart Margetson, whose descendants now carry on the business in conjunction with the Messrs. Morrish and Price. Premises: The firm had their headquarters in Cheapside for over forty years, and were one of the last of the wholesale houses in the outfitting trade to leave that locality. Present premises in Moor Lane are very extensive. Branches: Edinburgh, Glasgow, Manchester, Bristol, Liverpool, Newcastle, Cardiff, Dublin, Plymouth, Melbourne, Sydney, Canada, New York, South Africa. Factories in Bermondsey, London, S,E., and at Londonderry. Specialities: Shirts, Collars, Ties, Braces, Flannels, Umbrellas, Handkerchiefs, Rugs, Dressing Gowns, &c. Are large manufacturers of, or dealers in, all these goods, and have introduced numerous inventions and improvements in same. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 4835 London Wall (four lines), Private Branch Exchange. Telegraphic Address: " Welmarson, London." Codes: Western Union; A B C (4th and 5th Editions); Premier. Bankers: Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co.

WELCH, MILTON, Merchant, 31, Dickinson Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established about 1820 by Richard Marsden. Present Principal: Milton Welch. Speciality Textiles and Textile and other Machinery and Pumps, Blowers, Fans and Electric Work. Patents: Pumps, Blowers and Fans. Telegraphic and Cable Address " Miltonic, Manchester." Code A B C, Sheppersons and Max Supplement.

WELLDON, S., & SON, Waterproof Garment Manufacturers, 10, 11 and 12, Archer Street Works, Piccadilly Circus, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7.30 p.m. • Saturdays, close 1 p.m. Establishec. by S. Welldon (sen.) many years ago, and moved to present premises in 1909, when joined by S. E. Welldon (jun.). Staff: Average about twenty. Speciality: Specialize in Waterproof Sporting and Motor Garments and highclass Livery Work. Patents: Designers of several up-to-date Motor Garments. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1840 Regent, London. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

WELLS, FARGO & COMPANY EXPRESS, Parcel and Freight Forwarders, 29, Cannon Street, London, E.C., and 16, Brunswick Street, Liverpool. Established in 1852 by Henry Wells and W. G. Fargo. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1866. B. D. Caldwell, President. Branches: Over 7000. Business: General Parcel Forwarders; Contractors for about 89,703 miles of American Railways, and maintain Offices all over the States. Have also facilities in the Republic of Mexico on practically all the Railroads. Through Express Line from ocean to ocean. Collect Bills, Drafts, Notes, Dividends, &c. London Agent: H. W. Weston, 29, Cannon Street, London, E.C.; Telephone: Bank 822. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Cable Addresses: " Welfargex, London "; " Welfargex, Liverpool."

WELLS GARDNER, DARTON & CO., Ltd., Publishers. — See GARDNER (WELLS), DARTON & CO., Ltd.

WELLS, JOSEPH, & SONS, Pyrotechnists, Illuminators, Decorators, and Limelight Contractors, Albert Firework Factory, Honor Oak Park, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1839 by Joseph Wells. Present Principals: Joseph and Albert Wells, grandsons of the founder. Is one of the leading houses in the trade. Business: Colossal Firework Displays; Illuminations. Awards: Gold Medal, International Exhibition, Hyde Park, 1873, for superiority of Signal Rockets; First Prize at Grand International Firework Competition, Alexandra Palace, 1875, for the best display of Roman Candles; Diploma, Royal Naval Exhibition, 1891. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, and Foreign. Contractors to His Majesty's Government, Egyptian Government, Turkish Government, Belgian Marine Administration, Royal National Lifeboat Institution, London County Council, &c. Telephone: No. 504 Sydenham. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Wells, Honor Oak Park, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Peckham Branch).

WELLS (MATTHEW) & CO., Oil Manufacturers and Refiners, Hardman Street Oil and Tallow Works, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1860 by Matthew Wells. Present Principal: Charles B. Crossley. Premises: Extended ten years ago. Recently rebuilt and enlarged to more than double the capacity and equipped with modern appliances. Agencies: Representatives throughout the United Kingdom, and Agents holding Stock in most foreign ports. Specialities: "Wellsaline" (Registered), highest grade Lubricants for all purposes, arid for all Markets. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2593 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Oilwells, Manchester." Codes: A 1, A B C, Western Union, and Private. Bankers: Union Bank of Manchester, Ltd. The late Mr. Matthew Wells was a City Councillor.

WELSBACH LIGHT CO., Ltd., (THE), Burners, Gas Mantles, Stoves, Cookers, Gas and Electric Metallic Filament Lamps, &c., Welsbach House, 344-354, Gray's Inn Road, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Felix Kal]mann (Chairman), Sir Edwin Grant-Burls (Vice-Chairman), Richard Feuer, Lawrence Fletcher, Ernest Lovirxson, Major G. Pringle, C. M. Crompton Roberts. Premises: Large offices and stores as above; factory at Wandsworth, S.W. Staff: About 1000. Originators, patentees, and sole owners for the United Kingdom of the well-known Welsbach Lights. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial (excepting Australia and New Zealand). Telephone: No. 2410 North. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Welsbach, London."

WELSH FLANNEL MANUFACTURING CO., Ltd., Holywell, North Wales. Hours of Business , 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1872 by William Brown (d.) of Chester. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: H. F. Brown, J.P. (Chairman) (Chester), Thomas Waterhouse (Managing Director) (Holywell), and T. Pickles (Kendal). Premises: Parts of the present buildings were Cotton Mills in 1795. Mills situated close to and partly driven by the waters of the famous St. Winifreds Well. Occupy three large Mills, driven and lighted throughout by electricity, containing 180 looms. Claim to be the largest Textile Manufacturers in Wales. Production, over two miles of materials per day. Staff: 300. Staff Club: Welsh Flannel Mills, Silver Prize Band. Agencies London, Manchester, Glasgow, Birmingham, Bristol, Leeds, Bradford, Belfast and Dublin. Specialities: Real Welsh Flannel and Tweeds, Real Welsh and Fancy Flannel Shirtings, Colonial Shirtings and Flannels. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Export largely to Australia, South Africa and the Far East. Telephone: No. 22 Holywell. Telegraphic Address: " Textile, Holywell." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. William Brown and Mr. Frank Brown (former Chairmen of the Company) were Mayors of Chester. Mr. H. F. Brown (present Chairman) was High Sheriff of Chester in 1911 and is a County Magistrate.

WELSH NAVIGATION STEAM COAL CO., Ltd. (THE).—See under FERNDALE SMOKELESS STEAM COAL.

WENGERS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Colours and Chemicals for Potters, Glazed Brick Manufacturers, Glassmakers and Enamellers on Metal, Etruria, Stoke-onTrent, England; and Limoges (France). Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1870 by Albert Francis Wenger. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1895. Directors: Albert Francis Wenger (Chairman), Adolph H. C. Wenger and Francis Edward Wenger (Managing Director). Premises: In 1900 built extensive modern works at Etruria, equipped with up-to-date machinery and Private Sidings, covering about five acres. Specialities: Enamels and Underglaze Colours, Metallic Oxides, Prepared Bodies, Glazes and Frits, Liquid Gold, Silver and Lustres, all articles for Glassmakers and prepared Enamels for Cast and Sheet Iron, Copper and Jewellery and Grinders of raw materials, Stone, Flint, Felspar, Fluorspar, &c. Suppliers of all requisites and machines for the Ceramic and allied industries. Awards: Prize Medal, Paris, 1878; Gold Medal, Limoges, 1903; Grand Prize, St. Louis, 1904; Two Grand Prizes, Franco-British, London, 1908; Three Grand Prizes, Turin, 1911. Connection: Home, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 646 Central Potteries (two lines), Stoke-on-Trent. Telegraphic Address: " Wengers, Stoke-on-Trent." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd. (Hanley); Ladenburg, Thalmann & Co. (New York); Potters National Bank, East Liverpool (Ohio); Canadian Bank of Commerce (Montreal); Deutsche Bank (Berlin); Oesterr. Creditanstalt (Carlsbad); Credit Lyonnais (Paris, Bruxelles and Valencia); Banca Commerciale Italiana, Milan; Banque Cantonale Vaudoise (Lausanne). Mr. Albert Francis Wenger has been Vice-President of North Staffs Chamber of Commerce.

WENLOCK BREWERY CO., Ltd., Wenlock Road, City Road, London, E.C. Established originally as Glover, Bell & Co. Incorporated under present title in 1893. Telephone: No. 785 North. Telegraphic Add/rem: " Brownstout, London."

WENN, Ltd., Importers of Deal and Batten Ends, Box and Packing Case Manufacturers, North Quay, Gt. Yarmouth, and The Docks, Milford Haven. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1882 by Frederick Wenn. incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Director: Frederick Wenn. Premises: Cover about two acres. Staff: 150. Staff Clubs: Football, Shooting and Boot. The Boot Club last year distributed 295 pairs to employees and families. Specialities: Fish and Flower Boxes shipped to all ports in England, Ireland and Scotland, in shooks. Connection: At most coast ports of the United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 166 Gt. Yarmouth. Telegraphic Address: "Wenn, Sawmills, Gt. Yarmouth." Bankers: London and Provincial Bank, Ltd.

WENSLEYDALE PURE MILK SOCIETY, Ltd., (Registered under the Industrial and Provident Societies Act, 1893), a Cooperative Society of Milk Producers (Farmers) and Consumers (Towns people), Northallerton. Hours of Business: Office, 8 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Thursdays, close at 12.30 p.m.; Dairy, continuous, Day and Night Shifts. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Directors: Committee of Management, S. W. Meyer (Chairman), Philip Burtt, Dr. Ethel Williams, Thomas Swain, C. W. Walker-Tisdale, W. Kirkbride and S. H. Davis. General Manager: C. W. Walker Tisdale. Premises: Building on the Railway Siding adjoining Northallerton Station. Staff: Fifty-eight. Staff Clubs: Tennis and Lending Library. Branches: Auxiliary Dairy at Redmire; • Retail Depots, Leeds, 14, The Crescent, Hyde Park Corner; Scarborough, 127, Victoria Road, and 7, South Street; Hull, 16, Princes Avenue; Blyth, 50, Park Road. Specialities: Wensleydale Pure Milk in Sealed Bottles, certified from cows which have passed the Tuberculin test and found free from Tuberculosis, Filtered and Icecooled; Rich Double Cream and Wensleydale Cream Cheese. Awards: Certificate of Appreciation from the Royal Sanitary Institute for services rendered at the Health Exhibition, York, 1912, for excellent exhibit of a Model Working Dairy; First Prizes, London Dairy, Bath and West Royal Lancashire and Royal Dublin Shows for Wensleydale Cream Cheese. Telephone: No. 19 North-allerton. Telegraphic Address: " Wensleydale Dairy, Northallerton."

WENZEL, A. E., (formerly T. E. Marsh and Co., Ltd.), Lace Manufacturers, 46-48, High Pavement, Nottingham. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established: The Company of T. E. Marsh & Co., Ltd., was incorporated in June, 1902. Present Principal: A. E. Wenzel. Specialities: Valenciennes, Fancy Laces and Nets. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 5269 Nottingham. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited. 3s

WERNER, PFLEIDERER & PERKINS, Ltd., Engineers (successors to A. M. Perkins & Son, Ltd.), Westwood Works, Peterborough. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893, as an amalgamation of Werner & Pfleiderer and A. M. Perkins & Sons, Ltd. Premises: Cover ten acres of ground, equipped with iron, steel and brass foundries, and up-to-date machine shops. Branches I London, Kingsway House, Kingsway, W.C.; Bristol, 72, Queen Square; Glasgow, 70, Wellington Street; Sydney, New South Wales, 60, Castlereagh Street. Foreign Branches: Sixteen. Specialities: Ovens and Machinery for the Baking Trade, Kitchen Equipment, Mixing and Incorporating Machinery for the Chemical and allied Industries; Washing, Masticating and Mixing Machinery for Rubber, Gutta Percha, Balata, &c.; Machinery and Apparatus for Paper Pulping and Butter Blending, Artificial Silk Manufacture, Vacuum Drying and Concentrating; Heating and Stoving; also the Installation of Heating Apparatus on the Perkins Small Bore and Pulsial Patent Systems. Finest materials and workmanship only employed. Inventors of the Steampipe principle as applied to the construction of Steampipe Ovens. Their trade mark is well known. Patents: Very numerous. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. and Foreign Governments. Telephones; No. 34 Peterborough; No. 482 Gerrard, London; No. 3436 Bristol. Telegraphic Address: " Arktos, Peterborough." Codes: AB C (4th and 5th Editions), Western Union.

WERTHEIMER, LEA & CO., Printers in all Languages, Clifton House, Worship Street, and 46 and 47, London Wall, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established by John Wertheimer in 1820. Present Principals: John Henry Williams and Charles Herman Lea. Staff: Over 300. Specialities: Law and Commercial Printing; Printers in Hebrew, Russian, and all Foreign Languages. Make a special feature of Company work and Fashion Printing. Have printed during the last 100 years nearly all the Jewish Prayer Books in Hebrew and English. Connection: London, and all over the United Kingdom, Europe and the Colonies. Telephone: Nos. 3121, 3122, 3123, 3124 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Dalziels, Finsquare, London."

WERTHEIMER, SYDNEY, Commission Merchant, 52, King William Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1900 by Sydney Wertheimer, the present principal. Business: Agency for Continental Manufacturers, London Agent for J. F. Coates, Manchester; Manufacturer and Importer Advertising Novelties. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2239 City, London. Telegraphic Address: " Popularity, Cannon, London." Code: A B C. Club: Aidwych (Advertisers), Aldwych, London, W.C.

WEST, A., & PARTNERS, Manufacturing Drawing .Office Stationers, Makers of Mathematical and Surveying Instruments, Engineers' Photo Papers, &c., Photo Printers, 91-98, York Street, Westminster, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1888. Specialities: Photo Papers for Export; specially prepared Sensitized Papers and Cloth for Engineers; Machine-mounted Drawing Papers. Patents: Several. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 135 Victoria. Tele-graphic Address: " Westanpar, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

WEST END ADVERTISING AGENCY, Ltd. — See DIXON, THOMAS.

WEST OF ENGLAND OCHRE & OXIDE CO., Ltd. (THE), Mine Owners and Colour Manufacturers, &c. Registered Officers and Chief Works: Bitton, near Bristol. Colour Works: Warmley, near Bristol. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1899 by William Machell. Incorporated as a private Limited Company Directors: William Machell (Managing Director) (Bitton), Charles E. Lucas and Henry W. Godfrey. Premises: Works and Stores cover several acres. Freehold owners of Works and Land. Claimed to be the largest of their kind in the Kingdom. Proprietors of the Old Bow Red Oxide and Iron Mines in, the Forest of Dean; also the Wick Ochre Mines and the Gatherham Ochre and Colour Mines at Wick. Also Owners of extensive Mines at Axbridge and Crooks Peak, producing fine qualities of Bright Yellow, Golden Brown and Greenish Shade Ochres, and of other Mines. Staff: Under fifty. Most of the work is done by special machinery by automatic process. Business: Pro-prietors of Colour Mines, Miners and Manu. facturers of Ochre, Red and Scarlet Oxides and Purple Browns, and Raisers of Iron Ora for Smelting purposes, Levigaters, Grinders and Sifters of the Brightest. Strongest .and Highest percentage Red and Scarlet Oxides, Ochres, Purple Browns and Fuller's Earth. Makers of Chromes, Fast Reds, Blues and Greens, &c. Connection: United Kingdom and large Export trade with almost every country for various industries. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty). Telephones: No. 19Y Bitton; No. 3 Warmley. Telegraphic Address: " Colors, Bitton." Codes: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

WEST INDIAN PRODUCE ASSOCIATION, Ltd., (THE), Exporters of Wine, Whisky, Brandy, &c., Importers of all kinds of West Indian Produce, 14, Creechurch Lane, Leadenhall Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1878 by the late James Philip of St. Kitts, West Indies, trading as Philip & Co. (Pure Cane Sugar Co.). Succeeded by Charles Archibald Philip. Incorporated with the Monocane Sugar Co. as a Limited Company in 1906. Amalgamated in 1910 with Davison, Newman & Co., who are the oldest firm of grocers in the world (established 1650). Directors: H. F. Previte (Chairman), Algernon E. Aspinall, William Tapply, C. A. Philip (Manager and Secretary). Is an association of all the leading Planters and Merchants connected with the West Indies. Branch; Cellars, 4, Fenchurch Buildings, London, E.C. Specialities; All kinds of West Indian Produce, Cigars, Cigarettes, Liqueurs; Exporters of Wine, Whisky, Brandy, &c. Have had the honour of supplying Royalty. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1823 and 11168 Central, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Wipa, London." Code: A B C. Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd., Fenchurch Street, London, E.C.

WEST NORFOLK FARMERS' MANURE & CHEMICAL CO., Ltd., (THE), Wisbech Road, King's Lynn. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1872 by Thomas Brown. Incorporated as a Limited Company in the same year. Directors: E. W. Betts, Thos. Brown (Managing Director), Alfred H. Clark, Wm. Dennis, J. B. Ellis (Chairman), H. Tansley Luddington, T. B. Ringer, George Thompson. Secretary: H. C. Brown, Ph.D., F.I.C. Nominal Capital £75,000. Business was started before co-operation became general, but rapidly increased 'in popularity. Specialities: Sulphate of Copper, Fungicide, Carbolic Acid, Sulphuric Acid, Anthracene, Naphthalene, Pyridene, Creosote, Pitch, Superphosphate, Superphosphate and Bone Meal, Dissolved Bone Compound, Bone Turnip Manure, Prepared Bono Meal, Nitrate of Soda, Sulphate of Ammonia, Muriate of Potash, Kainit, Bone Meal and Flour. Special Turnip Mixture, Turnip Manure, Potato Mixture and Manure, Oat Manure, Barley Manure and Fertiliser, Luckhurst's Mixture, Clover Manure, Bean and. Pea Manure, Mangold Manure, Grass Fertiliser, &c. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 35 King's Lynn. Telegraphic Address: " Manure, King's Lynn."

WEST YORKSHIRE BANK, Ltd., (formerly HALIFAX JOINT STOCK BANKING CO., Ltd.). Head Office: Princess Street, Halifax. Hours of Business: Usual banking hours. Established in 1829. Incorporated as an Unlimited Company in 1875; Limited in 1880. Directors: Alfred Sykes (Chairman), J. Whiteley Ward, Gamaliel Sutcliffe, John Hoyle, Richard Moore, Joseph Henry Kaye, William Foster, Robert Whitworth, John Herbert Lacy Baldwin. General Manager: James Henry Howarth. Branches: Halifax, Batley, Bradford, Brighouse, Cleckheaton, Elland, Greetland, Hebden Bridge, Huddersfield, Ilkley, Keighley, Leeds, Milnsbridge, Slaithwaite, Sowerby Bridge, Todmorden. SubBranches f Addingham, Cornholme, Golcar, Holmfir th, Honley, King Cross (Halifax), Kirkheaton, Luddendenfoot, Marsden, Mytholmroyd, North Bridge (Halifax), Ripponden. Business: General Banking; Savings Bank Department. The Company also acts as Executor, Trustee, &c. Telephones: Nos. 49 and 50 (Head Office). Telegraphic Address: " Joint, Halifax."

WESTERN-ELECTRIC CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of and Dealers in Telephone, Electric Light and Power Cable, Telephone Apparatus, &c. Registered. Office Norfolk House, Victoria Embankment, W.C. Factory: North Woolwich, London, E. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1910. Directors: G. E. Pingree (Managing Director), F. R. Welles, A. Williamson, J. E. Kingsbury and F. H. Wilkins. Secretary: D. Campbell. Branches: Birmingham, 115, Colmore Row; Cardiff, 2, Bank Buildings, St. Mary Street; Glasgow, 49, West Campbell Street; Leeds, Standard Buildings, City Square, and at Sydney, Johannesburg and Buenos Ayres. Specialities: Electric Cables and Telephones. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Post 3 s 2 Office), also to Colonial and Foreign Governments, and Corporations. Telephones: No. 5349 Gerrard (Norfolk House); No. 3840 East (ten lines), London (Factory). Telegraphic Addresses: " Relay, London " (Norfolk House); " Westophone, London " (Factory).

" WESTERN MAIL," LIMITED, Proprietors of " Western Mail," " Evening Express," and " Weekly Mail," St. Mary Street, Cardiff. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1869. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: Sir Geo. A. Riddell (Chairman and Managing Director), Captain D. Hughes Morgan, Emsley Carr, D. Watkin Thomas, and William Davies. Branches: Newport, Swansea, Merthyr, Brecon, and 176, Fleet Street, London, E.C. Business: Owners of the " Western Mail," " Evening Express," and " Weekly Mail." Undertake Newspaper and Jobbing Printing of all kinds; also supply Stationery, and undertake Photo Etching. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 2535 Cardiff; No. 346 Newport; No. 127 Merthyr; No. 550 Swansea; No. 12 Brecon; No. 1526 Holborn, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Mail, Cardiff "; " Western Mail, London."

WESTERN UNION TELEGRAPH CO., (THE), 195, Broadway, New York, and 26, Old Broad Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1866. Theodore N. Vail, President; Belvidere Brooks, General Manager. Directors: (Executive Committee) Edward J. Hall (Chairman), Union N. Bethell, Henry A. Bishop, Robert C. Clowry, Henry P. Davison, Thomas H. Hubbard, Jacob H. Schiff, Joseph J. Slocum, Theodore N. Vail. European Commercial Manager: T. W. Goulding. In 1909 made a contract with the American Telephone and Telegraph Co. for the joint use of plant and operating facilities. Capital Stock issued, 99,786,968.49 dollars. Capital Stock of Subsidiary Companies, 3,893,475.00 Dollars. Dividend of 3 per cent. has been paid, 1911. In 1866 the Company owned 75,686 miles of wires, now own 1,487,345, of which 563,599 miles are copper wire, superior to iron in transmitting messages, and in the permanent life of the plant. Branches: Receiving Offices, London, 21, Royal Exchange, E.C.; 40, Mark Lane, E.C.; East India Avenue, E.C.; The Baltic, St. Mary Axe, E.C.; 1, Drapers Gardens, E.C.; 109, Fend:arch Street, E.C.; 10, Holborn Viaduct, E.C.; Effingham House, Arundel Street, W.C.; 2, Northumberland Avenue, W.C.; 34, Victoria Street, S.W.; 5, Royal Opera Arcade, Pall Mall, S.W.; 48, Tooley Street; Liverpool, 8, Rumford Street and Cotton Exchange and Western Union House, 27, 29, Old Hall Street; Bristol, Back Hall Chambers, Baldwin Street; Bradford, 10, Forster Square; Dundee, 1, Panmure Street; Edinburgh, 50, Frederick Street; Glasgow, 4, Waterloo Street, and 113, Hope Street; Leith, Exchange Buildings; Manchester, 31, Brown Street; Newcastleon-Tyne, 1, Side; Paris, 1, Rue Auber. Business: The Transmitting of Messages. Recently introduced the Cable Letter and Week End Cable Letter Services, which have been greatly appreciated by the public. Telephones: No. 11444 Central (General Offices); Nos. 3761 and 9117 Wall; No. 3761 (Royal Exchange); No. 3762 Mark Lane; No. 3763 (East India Avenue); No. 976 (The Baltic, St. Mary Axe) Wall; No. 1830 Central (Drapers Gardens); No. 1050 Avenue (Fenchurch Street); No. 4119 City (Holborn Viaduct); No. 1713 Gerrard (Arundel Street); No. 3598 Gerrard (Northumberland Avenue); No. 3716 Victoria (Victoria Street); No. 2073 (Pall Mall); No. 984 Hop (Tooley Street) London; Nos. 2274 and 2275 Central, Liverpool; No. 309 Bristol; No. 771 Bradford; No. 1351 Dundee; No. 400 Edinburgh; No. 450 Central, Glasgow; No. 600 Leith; No. 1455 Manchester; No. 1329 Newcastle-on-Tyne; Nos. 2042 and 25 Paris. Telegraphic Addresses: " Western Union, London "; " Unpack, London." Codes: Western Union, A B C (5th Edition), Lieber's.

WESTGATE, E. E., Corn, Seed, Bulb and Sundries Merchant, 37, Abbeygate Street, Bury St. Edmunds. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Established in 1896 by Marriage A. Hicks. Managed by Edward Ebenezer Westgate, the present principal. Started to serve a long-felt want for the convenience of the inhabitants of town and surrounding villages for the sale of Agricultural Sundries. Premises: Occupy large double-fronted Shop and House, used as storage of Dry Goods and Sundries; Warehouses and Stables at the rear, having a frontage to the streets of 186 feet; Granaries, Angel Lane. Staff: Eighteen. Branch: Shop, 18, Guildhall Street, Thetford, Norfolk. Specialities: All kinds of Corn, Poultry and Game Foods, Meals, Offals, Flour; also Garden and Agricultural Seeds and Sundries appertaining to the various goods. 'Telephone: No. 87 Bury St. Edmunds. Telegraphic Address: " Westgate, Bury St. Edmunds." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. Mr. Westgate is Chairman of the St. John's Land and House Investment Society, and a member of the Committee of the Bury Dog Show. He is a member of the Oddfellows and of the Masonic body. Club: Constitutional and Masonic.

WESTLEY, W., & SONS, Manufacturers of Bearings, Dudley Brass and Bronze Foundry, Shaw Road and Vicar Street, Dudley. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1800 by W. Westley & Sons. Present Principals: W. Westley (sen.), W. Westley (jun.) and Thomas Westley. Claim to be the oldest house in the trade. Speciality: Bearings. Paten;: Westley's " Improved Selflubricating " Bearings, of which they are inventors and sole manufacturers. Telegraphic Address: " Westley, Dudley." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

WESTMINSTER FIRE OFFICE, (THE). Chief Offices: 27, King Street, Covent Garden, W.C. City Office: 82, Lombard Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Founded as a Mutual Office, A.D. 1717, by leading inhabitants of the Liberty of Westminster, and set up at Tom's Coffee House, following the custom of the time. The Office was reconstituted and incorporated under the Companies Acts, 1862-1900, in 1906. Board Day: Tuesday (1 p.m.). Directors: Sydney Pitt (Chairman), E. Heron Allen, Julius Bertram, Rev. W. D. Bodkin, Frank Debenham, A. H. Dixon, Capt. Chas. L. Lindsay, A. Fenwick Mott, Arthur Elliot Rhodes, W. H. Beaumont, C. M. Woodbridge. Secretary: Stenton T. Covington. Staff: About 100. Branches: Birmingham, 130, Colmore Row; Bristol, Corn Street; Leeds, 28, East Parade; Liverpool, 30, Exchange Street East; Manchester, 74, King Street; Plymouth, 44, George Street. Scottish: 151, West George Street, Glasgow; 16, Duke Street, Edinburgh. Business: Fire Insurance. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 1717 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Chequers, Rand, London." Bankers: Cocks, Biddulph & Co.; Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.; Barclay & Co., Ltd.; London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Birmingham, Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester); Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (Bristol); British Linen Bank (Glasgow); Royal Bank of Scotland (Glasgow).

" WESTMINSTER GAZETTE ", (THE). Evening Newspaper, Salisbury Square, London, E.C. Established in 1893 by the late Sir George Newnes, Bart. The property of the " Westminster Gazette," Ltd. Telephone: No. 2440 Holborn. Telegraphic Address " Lobby, London."

WESTMINSTER SUPPLIES CO., (THE), Dealers in Typewriter Supplies generally, including Typewriter Ribbons, Carbon Papers, Wax Stencils, Duplicating Inks, Typewriting and Duplicating Papers and Stationery, 43, Page Street, Westminster, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1908 by Henry T. How, the present principal. Specialities: Typewriter Ribbons and Carbon Papers, Wax Stencils, Duplicating Inks for all processes, Typewriting and Duplicating Papers. Make a feature of first-class quality at the lowest possible prices. Connection: London.

WESTWOOD & CO., Ltd., Fruit Merchants, Corn Factors and Commission Agents, Crown Stores and Mills, Cradley Heath and Stone Street, Dudley. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1848 by Enoch Westwood. Continued from son to grandson. Incorporated as Limited Company. Managing Director: A. H. Westwood. Speciali- ties: Fruit, Vegetables, Corn and Hay. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Telephones: No. 131 Cradley, and No. 281 Dudley. Telegraphic Addresses: " Westwood, Cradley Heath "; " Pippin, Dudley."

WESTWOOD (JOSEPH) & CO., Ltd., Bridge Builders and Constructional Engineers, Napier Yard, Millwall, London, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1883 by Joseph Westwood, of Westwood, Baillie & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Premises: Originally occupied by David Napier, one of the pioneers of Steamship building, and part of Scott Russell's yard, in which the " Great Eastern " was built. Large Works covering nearly ten acres. Staff: 700 to 800. Specialities: Steel Bridges and all kinds of Steel Constructional Work, Steel Corrugated Plates. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1066 and 1067 East. Telegraphic Address: " Westwood, London."

WESTWOOD & WRIGHTS, Manufacturers of Gas-Holders, Gas Apparatus, and Structural Iron and Steel Work. GasHolder and Engineering Works, Round Oak, Brierley Hill, and Queen's Cross, Dudley. Hours of Business: 9 a.m, to 6 p.m. Established in 1836 by John Westwood, Thomas Wright, and Edward Wright. Succeeded by (1) William Henry Westwood (son of John Westwood); (2) Edward Thomas Wright (son of Edward Wright), and William Westwood Skidmore-Westwood (nephew of Wm. Henry Westwood). Present Principals: Edward Thomas Wright and William Westwood Skidmore-Westwood. Premises: Extensive Gas-Holder and Structural Works at Round Oak, Brierley Hill; Iron Foundry and Machine Shops at Queen's Cross, Dudley. Specialities: Gas-Holders, Gas Apparatus, Structural Iron and Steel Work, Ironfounding and Engineering. Patents: Gas Valves and various sections of Coal-Gas Plant. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 45 Brierley Hill. Telegraphic Address: " Westwood Wrights, Brierley Hill." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Stourbridge).

WHALLEY, THOMAS, Wholesale Seed Merchant, 12, St. George's Crescent, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1773 by Thomas Whalley. Specialities: Agricultural Seeds. Export and Import. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4533 Bank, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " halley, Liverpool." Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank (Castle Street, Liverpool).

WHARNCLIFFE SILKSTONE COLLIERY CO., Ltd., Colliery Proprietors, Producers of House, Gas and Steam Coal, Manufacturers of High Class Coke, Roofing Tiles and Bricks, Tankersley, near Barnsley. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1854 by George Walker, Robert Baxter and John Jeffcock. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1879. Directors: George Blake Walker, J.P., M.I.M.E. (Chairman and Managing Director), Joseph Dixon, 0. J. Bainbridge, C. C. Ellison and Lt.-Col. Henry S. Walker. Secretary: C. A. Towlor. Manager: J. Wroe. Have an annual output of coal of about 500,000 tons. Staff: 1850 Minors, &c. Branches: London, 10, Arthur Street, E.C.; Sheffield, Corn Exchange Building:-;. Specialities: Silkstone House and Gas Coal, Steam Coal, Coke, Sulphate of Ammonia, Tar, Benzole, &c. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly). Telephones: No. 388 Sheffield; No. 33 Hoyland. Telegraphic Address: " Silkston.e, Tankersley." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Sheffield).

WHEATCROFT (GEORGE H,) & CO., Manufacturers of Tapes, Smallwares, &c., Haarlem and Speedwell Mills, Wirksworth, Derbyshire. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1844 by Joseph Wheatcroft. Present Principals: George H. Wheatcroft, Kenneth D. Wheatcroft and Cyril J. Wheatcroft. Premises: Occupy three mills, Warehouse and Bleachworks. Specialities: India Tapes, Electrical, Cotton and Stay Tapes, Stay Bindings, Filletings, Frames and Smallwares. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial through wholesale houses. Telegraphic Address: " Wheatcroft, Wirksworth." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

WHEATLEY & BATES, Ltd., Manufacturers of Hop Bitters, Black Beer and Cordial Makers, Wine, Spirit and Cigar Merchants, Ale and Stout Bottlers, Mineral Water Manufacturers. Registered Office: 14, Napier Street. City Office: Gun Lane, Wicker, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1850. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893. Staff: 100. Branches: Liverpool, Dublin, Belfast. Specialities: Brewed Non-intoxicants. Connection: World - wide. Telephones: No. 402 (Head Office); No. 445 (City Office), Sheffield. Telegraphic Addresses: " Sparkling," Sheffield, Dublin; " Conqueror, Liverpool." Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. Mr. J. R. Wheatley has been Lord Mayor of Sheffield.

WHEATLEY BROTHERS, Merchants and Manufacturers of Cutlery and Electroplate, Wheatsheaf Works, John- Street, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1878 by S. V. Wheatley and W. T. Wheatley (both deceased). Present Principals: W. E. Wheatley and Frank Wheatley (Sons of W..T. Wheatley). Premises: Thoroughly modern Offices, Warehouses and Workshops, constructed in 1901. They occupy an extensive area and are equipped with all the latest appliances suitable to a Cutlery Factory. Staff: 200. Specialities: Proprietors and Solo Manufacturers of the celebrated " WheatSheaf " Table Cutlery, Pocket Cutlery, Razors and Scissors; also Electro-Plate, Spoons and Forks, Files, Saws and Edge Tools. Held several patents which have now lapsed. Trade Marks: " WheatSheaf," " Standard," " Blancona." Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. On War Office List. Telephone: No. 2184 Sheffield. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Wheatley, Sheffield." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. Mr. W. E. Wheatley is Consul for Cuba and is a Freemason. Clubs: (Mr. W. E. Wheatley) Public Schools, Alpine Sports, Sickleholme Golf.

WHEATLY & CO., Manufacturers of Roofing, Flooring and other Tiles, Springfield Tileries, Newcastle, Staffs. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1869 by Samuel W. Wheatly. Present ' Principals: Samuel W. Wheatly and John Arthur Tomlinson. Premises: Cover fourteen acres. Very old Works, probably have been working for two centuries. Staff: Ninety. Specialities: Blue and Red Roofing Tiles, Blue, Red and Buff Flooring Tiles. Patent: Packing for Acid Towers. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 101 Newcastle, Staffs. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd., Newcastle, Staffs.

WHEATMAN & SMITH, Ltd., Manufacturers of Steel, Saws, Files, &c., Russell Works, Kelham Island, Sheffield. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1845 by John Wheatman and John Smith. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1870. Directors: George James Furness (Chairman), Arthur J. Bedford, Chas. R. Hides (Managing Director and Secretary). Specialities: Crucible Cast Steel of all descriptions and tempers, adapted for all purposes; Saws, Files, &c. Machine Knives and Irons, Plane Irons and Cutters for Woodworking, Veneer Cutting, Paper, Tobacco and other -Machinery; Sawmakers' Tools, &c. Trade-mark, " Plumb," and Corporate Mark, " Hammer in Hand," are well known. Connection All Timbergrowing Countries. Telephone: No. 68 Sheffield. Telegraphic Address: " Saws, Sheffield."

WHEELER, A. H., & CO., General Advertising and East India and Colonial Agents, Temple Chambers, Temple Avenue, London, E.C. And at Bombay, Calcutta, &c. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1881 by Arthur H. Wheeler. Present Principals: Arthur H. Wheeler, E. E. Moreau, T. R. David, W. M. Rudge. Advertising Contractors for Indian Railways and Railway Bookstall Proprietors. Telephone: No. 1595 Holborn. Telegraphic Addresses: " Brookleigh, London," " Bookstalls, Bombay," " Toga," Allahabad and Calcutta. Bankers: Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co.; Chartered Bank of India, Australia, and China, &c.

WHEELER, PROFESSOR G. H., & SONS, Hair Specialists, 1, New Burlington Street, London, W. Hours of Business 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Present Principal: George Henry Wheeler. Premises: Consist of Waiting-room, Consulting-room, and two Attending-rooms. Staff: Three. Business i Specialists in Treatment of the Hair. Connection: Clients from all parts of the world. Professor Wheeler is a member of the Hairdressers' Guild.

WHEELER (PHILIP) & CO., & JOHN W. HIGMAN & CO., China Clay Manufacturers, St. Austell, Cornwall. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1820 by Philip Wheeler. Present Principal: John W. Higman, J.P. Speciality: China Clay for Paper, Pottery and Chemical Uses. Connection: United Kingdom, Europo and the United States. Telephone: No. 3 St. Austell. Telegraphic Address: " Clay, St. Austell." Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and Private. Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. Mr. Higman was Chairman of the Rural District Council from 1894 to 1907, and is a Justice of the Peace for Cornwall, appointed in 1907.

WHELON (ALFRED W.) & CO., Wine, Spirit and Beer Merchants, Cigar and Cigarette Importers, Market Square, Lancaster. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established Bye years ago as above by Alfred W. Whelon, the present principal. Principal has been in the trade since.1881. Premises: Cellars and Offices of fifty years' standing. Business: Agents for John Smith's Tadcaster Ales and Stouts, Meet & Chandon's Champagnes. Sole Proprietor of Double Rose Whisky and Dujardin et Cie, Champagne. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: No. 67 Lancaster and No. 187 Windermere. Mr. Whelon is a Governor of the Royal Lancaster Infirmary, Local Agent for the last thirty years of the Phoenix Assurance Co., Ltd. He is a Freemason, Rowley Lodge. Club: County and Conservative (Lancaster). Pastime: Shooting and Cricket.

WHEWAY (JOB) & SON, Hame and Chain Manufacturers and Malleable Iron Founders, Birchill's Works, Green Lane, Walsall. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1790 by William Webster. Succeeded in 1840 by Job Wheway, J.P., who greatly enlarged the business. Present Principal: Sydney B. Wheway, J.P. (only son of Job Wheway). Probably the oldest house in the trade. Specialities: Electrically-welded Steel Chains, Hames, and Gear Work. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Very large trade in Australasia. Telephone: No. 213 Walsall. Telegraphic and Cable Address: "Wheway, Walsall."

WHICHELOW, GEORGE, Glacé Kid Manufacturer, 82, 84, Tanner Street, Bermondsey, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1868 by George Whichelow, the present principal. Claims to be the pioneer of Glacé Kid Manufacturing in England. Staff: About 200. Speciality: Glacé Kid. Patent and Invention: Semi Chrome Process. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1325 Hop. London. Telegraphic Address: "Whichelow, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Southwark).

WHIPP BROTHERS, trading under the style of JOHN MERCER, Cloth Manufacturers, Commercial Hill, Clitheroe. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about 1800 by Edmund Mercer. Partnership Successions: (1) Edmund Mercer & Sons; (2) J. & J. Mercer, sons of the founder; (3) John Mercer, grandson. Present Principals: Edward Mercer Whipp, J. Mercer Whipp, and J. T. Whipp, great grandchildren of the founder. Branches Whipp Bros. & Co., Cotton Hall Shed, Darwen (established 1887. Fancies, Brocades, Lenos, Stripes, Dobbies, &c.); Whipp Bros., Indian and Primrose Mills, Church (established 1891. Shirtings, Printers, Jacconets, Dhooties, &c.); E. & J. Mercer Whipp, 56, Mosley Street, Manchester (established 1870. Cloth Agents). Staff .1,500. Specialities: Spinning and Weaving; Shirtings, Brocades, Dhooties, and Printing Cloths. Mr. J. Mercer Whipp is a County and Borough Magistrate, a County Alderman and is Mayor of Clitheroe.

WHIPP BROTHERS & CO., Cotton Manufacturers, Cotton Hall Shed, Darwen. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1886 by the present members of the firm. Premises: Fine, and well equipped with 1,000 looms. Specialities: Leno Brocades, Cotton Brocades, Damasks, and Fancies generally. Telephone: No. 175 Darwen. Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd.

WHIPP BROTHERS & TOD, Ltd., Manufacturers of Coloured Goods, 10, Aytoun Street, Manchester, and 12, Wood Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1888. Chairman: J. Mercer Whipp, J.P., C.A. Premises: Warehouse at 10, Aytoun Street, Mills at Millstead Mill, Todmorden and Rose Mill, Leigh. Specialities: Coloured Goods Flannelettes, Zephyrs, Oxfords, Haryards, Ginghams, Regattas, West African Goods, Dress Makers' Linings, White Calicos, White Fancies, Brocades, &c. Patents: Non-Elam Safety Flannelette. Awards: Grand Prix and Gold Medal, Franco-British Exhibition; Gold Medal, Institute of Hygiene. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1035, 2332 and 3097 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Twill, Manchester." Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd. Mr. James Mercer Whipp is Mayor of Clitheroe.

WHIPPY, STEGGALL & FLEMMING, Manufacturers of Saddlery and Harness, 30, North Audley Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p,m. Established in 1780 by Benjamin Whippy. He was succeeded by his sons, John and Benjamin. On the death of the latter the business was acquired by R. W. Steggall, who had acted as Foreman and Confidential Manager for many years. At his death in 1861 he was succeeded by his son Robert and by his son-in-law, Horatio Henry Flemming. The latter died in 1891, and was succeeded by his son, Robert Flemming, who with his nephew Herbert Flemming now constitute the firm. Specialities: Saddlery of the highest class for Hunting, Polo, Military, and Colonial purposes. Harness of the highest class for all general and State purposes. Patent: A Gullet Plate for strengthening the arches of saddle trees. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrant Holders to His late Majesty King Edward VII., to H.M. King George V., H.M. Queen Alexandra, H.M. the German Emperor, H.M. the King of Italy, and to H.M. the King of Spain. Telephone: No. 3038 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Steggall, London." Mr. Flemming is keenly interested in hunting and cricket.

WHITAKER (BENJAMIN) & SONS, New and Old Rag Merchants, Carbonizers Extractors, Brighton Mill, Carlinghow Lane, and 95, Commercial Street, Batley. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established in 1852 by Benjamin Whitaker. Present Principals: Henry E. Whitaker, G. H. Whitaker, and John W. Whitaker. Staff: Forty. Specialities: New Tailors' Clippings and Carbonized Goods. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Telephones: Nos. 186 and 292 Batley.

WHITAKER, J., & SONS, Ltd., Publishers, 12, Warwick Lane, Paternoster Row, London, E.C. Hours of Business 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1856 by Joseph Whitaker, F.S.A. Partnership Successions: (1) Joseph Whitaker, 1856; (2) J. Whitaker & Sons, 1886; (3) J. Whitaker & Sons, Limited, 1901. Incorporated as a Limited Company, 1901 (no shares offered to the public). Directors: George Herbert Whitaker, M.R. C.S., L.S.A. (Managing Director), Cuthbert Wilfrid Whitaker, M.A. Oxon., F.S.A., and Charles William Speight (Secretary). Premises: Editorial and Publishing Offices at above address; entirely rebuilt, 1883. The firm are the publishers of " Whitaker's Almanack," " Whitaker's Peerage," " The Bookseller," " Stationery Trades Journal," The " Reference Catalogue," &c. Telephone: No. 1812 Holborn. Telegraphic Address: " Whitmanack, London." Mr. C. W. Whitaker is a member of the Common Council. City Companies: Mr. G. H. Whitaker is a Stationer and a Woolman; Mr. C. W. Whitaker, a Stationer.

WHITAKER, P. J., & CO., Ltd., Manufacturing Stationers, Envelope Makers, &c., 19, Paternoster Row, London, E.C. Established in 1784 by (1) Conder Jones & Kingsbury. Partnership Successions: (2) Morgan Griffith Jones, (3) Brown & King, (4) King & Loder, (5) King & Whitaker, (6) P. J. Whitaker & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: S. J. Sandie and H. J. Sandle. Factory: 1, 2, and 3, Lovell's Court, Paternoster Row. Are Dealers in all kinds of Papers; Manufacturing Stationers and Envelope Makers; Account Books and Cards of all descriptions. Connection: United Kingdom, and export. business on usual terms. Telephone: No. 25 Holborn. Telegraphic Address: " Athenian, London."

WHITAKER, WM., & CO., Ltd., Brewers and Wine and Spirit Merchants, The Old Brewery, Bradford. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1757 by Wm. Whitaker. Partnership Successions: (1) Ben Thompson (son-in-law), (2) M. W. (subsequently Sir Matthew) Thompson, (3) Reginald Thompson, Wm. Brown, Wm. G. Barker. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1897. Directors: Reginald Thompson (Chairman), Wm. Brown (Managing Director), and Clement Thompson (Secretary). Is one of the oldest established Breweries. Premises: Cover about 5,000 sq. yds. Staff: About 100. Branch: At Huddersfield. Speci06e8; Yorkshire Sting° Ale and Whitaker's " Silent Dow" Scotch Whisky. Connection: Local. Telephone: No. 909 Bradford.

WHITBREAD & CO., Ltd., Brewers, The Brewery, Chiswell Street, London, E.C. Established in the eighteenth century, the business ranks as one of the oldest and most important of the great brewing concerns of London. Incorporated in 1889. Chairman: Samuel Whitbroad. Directors: F. D. Godman, Richard Worsley. Managing Directors: F. P. Whitbread, C. E. Crawshay, Cecil Lubbock, F. T. Godman, P. H. Grundy, H. W. Whitbread. Premises: The Brewery, covering a large area in Chiswell Street, Finsbury. Also the Anchor Brewery, Britten Street, Chelsea, purchased from Matthews & Canning, 1899. Specialities: All the usual kinds and classes of Ale and Stout in cask; also (in bottle) Whitbread's Pale Ale and Stout. Connection: United Kingdom; very large London trade; also Continental. Telephones: No. 6013 (four lines) City. Telegraphic Address: " Whitbread, London."

WHITBY BROTHERS, Ltd., Glove Manufacturers, Yeovil. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about 1800 by E. Whitby. Continued by various successions from father to son. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Managing Director and Chairman: Joseph Whitby. Premises: Carried on in the same place for over one hundred years. Factories throughout Somerset, Dorset, Wilts and Oxfordshire. Staff: About 400 (indoors), many hundreds outdoor. Business: Makers of Lined and Unlined Gloves in great variety. Award: 1851 for Lambskin Gloves. Connection: England (wholesale), United States and Colonies (Wholesale and Retail).

WHITE, J. G., & CO., Ltd., Electrical, Civil, and Mechanical Engineers and Contractors, 9, Cloak Lane, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company on July 10th, 1900. Directors: J. G. White (Chairman), Lord Arthur Butler, A. N. Connett, W. C. Burton, J. B. White. Secretary: E. A. Borel. The Company was registered to acquire the foreign business of J. G. White & Co., the latter Company confining its operations to North America. Specialities: Carry out all kinds of Engineering Contracts 4t hoinP and abroad. Have completed many important general engineering undertakings such as Railways, Tramways, Hydraulic Power Developments, Water Supply, &c., in various parts of Great Britain, on the Continent, in Australia, New Zealand, South America, and India. Is one of the principal enterprises of the kind in London. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: Nos. 3306, 3307 London Wall; No. 9886 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Whitterick, London." Codes: Lieber's, A B C, Bedford McNeill, A 1, and Western Union. Bankers: Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co.

WHITE (JOHN) & CO., The Shetland House, 30 and 32, Frederick Street, Edinburgh. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1830 by W. B. Mackenzie; succeeded by John White in 1860. Present Principal: William Ramsay (nephew), since 1885. Claim that the founder was the first to introduce to the world the great merit of Shetland Wool. Premises: Formerly at 10, Frederick Street. Removed to 30 and 32, Frederick Street. Speciality: The Shetland Woollen Shawls for which the house is noted, and Shetland Underclothing, and Shetland Rugs and Blankets. The Shetland, Woollen Goods are known all over the world for their great warmth and little weight. They are made in the peasants' cottages, and are the sole source cf income to the knitters, of whom generations have knitted directly for the firm. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. (Universal Trade.) Telephone: No. 2270 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Shetlands, Edinburgh." Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

WHITE, JOHN & JAMES, Chemical Manufacturers, 7, West George Street, Glasgow, and Shawfield Works, Rutherglen. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Works always open. Established 1810, when Dr. John White of Paisley, joined John Goudie & Co. as partner. The present style was adopted in 1820, when John White was joined by his brother, James White of Fairfield. Subsequent Partners: John White of Arddarroch and Grougar; James White of Overtoun; John Orr White, Hayfield; Lord Overtoun. Present Principals: William James Chrystal of Auchendennan; Hill Hamilton Barrett and Ian Campbell Chrystal, all of whom are closely related to the former partners. Premises: Works cover about forty acres. Staff: About 800. Speciality The manufacture of Alkali leading up to the special products of Chromates and Bichromates of Potash, Soda, Ammonia, &o. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 9147 City; No. 438 Rutherglen. Telegraphic Address: " Bichrome, Glasgow." Code: Lieber's.

WHITE (J. SAMUEL) & CO., Ltd., Shipbuilders, Engineers, Boilermakers and Aero and Hydro-Aeroplane Builders, East Cowes, Isle of Wight. London Office: 28, Victoria Street, S.W. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established in 1804 by Thomas White. Continued by (1) Robert and John White; (2) John White; (3) John Samuel White. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898 by J. Samuel White. Directors: John Samuel White (Chairman), Edwin C. Carnt (Managing Director), John Smith (late R.C.N.C.), Engineer Lieutenant W. P. Sillince, R.N. Claim to be the originators of Steam Launches, Double-Skin Principle Lifeboats, Turnabout System. Early threedecker Men-of-war, and P. & 0. and Royal Mail Steamers built in Medina Dock, and one of the earliest builders of Torpedo Craft. Built the first Torpedo Boat Destroyer. Premises: Shipyard covers over six acres; Engine Works, six and a half acres. Staff: 2000. Staff Clubs: " White's " Rifle, Boating, Cricket and Football. White's (G) Company of Princess Beatrice's I. W. Rifles. Business: Builders of Torpedo Boats, Destroyers, Fast Steam Yachts, Shallow Draught, Stern Wheel or Screw in Tunnel Vessels, Steam, Petrol and Paraffin Motor Launches, " White-Forster " Water Tubo Boilers, Marine Oil Fuel Installations, " White-Diesel " Marine Oil Engine, " White " Paraffin Oil Engine, Marine Steam Turbines, Marine Steam Reciprocating Engines and Hydro-Aeroplanes. Patents: " White-Forster " Water Tube Boilers, Internal Combustion Engines, Diesel Type and Hydro-Aeroplanes. Various in Boat Construction and Oil Fuel Installation. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Builders of State Launches for H.M. Yacht " Victoria and Albert "; also for Imperial Russian Yacht " Standard " and German Royal Yacht " Hohenzollern." Telephone: No. 3 Cowes. Telegraphic Address: " White, East Cowes." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Lieber's, Engineering (2nd Edition) and Western Union.

WHITE & PRICE, Wine Merchants, 57, Mark Lane, London, E.C. Established by the late Sir Thomas White and the late George William Price. Present Principal: Cecil Herbert Thornton Price, son of the late George William Price. Has the distinction of being one of the oldest established firms of Wine Merchants in London, and is still conducted on the lines inaugurated by the founders. Premises: Offices at above address, with extensive cellars under the Corn Exchange. Specialities: Choice Wines of all descriptions, both for private trade and export. Hold large stocks, and are well known at home and abroad. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1556 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Albariza, London." Sir Thomas White was Lord Mayor of London, 1876-1877. Mr. Cecil Herbert Thornton Price is a Deputy Lieutenant of the City of London.

WHITE, R. F., & SON, Advertising Agents, 33, Fleet Street, London, E.C. Established in 1800 by James White. Telephone: No. 4870 Central.

WHITE (RICHARD) & SONS, Engineers and Merchants. Office: Old Hall. Works: Ditton Road Engineering Works, Widnes. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1869 by Richard White (d.). Joined by Joseph Walwyn White and Herbert White (sons). Present Principals: Joseph Walwyn White and Herbert White. The firm's offices being the largest room in Widnes at the time when Mr. W. E. Gladstone contested S.W. Lancashire he held a public meeting and spoke there. Premises Extensive Works covering about three acres, equipped with modern appliances. Stall: Office, sixteen. Business: Originally Merchants, now manufacture most of their Specialities. Railways equipped completely. Steel Rails, Sleepers, Railway Chairs, Railway Fastenings, Switches and Crossings, Lever Boxes, Turntables, Stopblocks, Steel Sleepers, Light Portable Railways, Aerial Wire Ropeways, Patent Cableways, Runways, Ropeway Conveyors, Self-loading Ropeways, Band Conveyors. Also own a large Ship-breaking Wharf on the banks of the river Mersey, near Garston, well equipped with steam cranes and the necessary plant for breaking up old steamers. Patents Steel Sleepers and Aerial Wire Ropeways (successful). Award: International Exhibition, Edinburgh, 1890. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial (extensive). Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office); also to the Crown Agents for the Colonies. Telephones: Nos. 25 and 27 Widnes. Telegraphic Address: " Rails, Widnes." Codes f A B C; Universal Mining; Engineering; Telegraph; Western Union; Moreing & Neal's; A 1. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. (Widnes).

WHITE & SHAXSON, Bankers, 33, Nicholas Lane, Lombard Street, London, B.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 4 p.m. Established by Samuel Francis White and Thomas Shaxson in 1866. Continued by Thomas Shaxson, Allan Vardon White and Thomas Stanley Shaxson, who are the present principals. Business General Banking and Dealers in the highest class of Bills of Exchange. Telephone: No. 6110 Bank, London. Telegraphic Address: " Pecunia, Cannon, London." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.; Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

WHITE STAR ALKALI CO., (THE), Caustic Soda, &c., Grinders and Packers, 13 and 15, Carlton Street, Great Howard Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business J 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1896. Specialities: Electrolytic Powdered Caustic Soda, 99 to 100 per cent., packed in tins and cases for export; also Caustic Potash, solid and powdered. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 2497 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address " Buoyant, Liverpool." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

WHITE STAR LINE, 30, James Street, Liverpool. Founded in 1869 by Thomas Henry Ismay, D.L., J.P. (deceased). Present Principals: Harold A. Sanderson, Henry Concanon, E. Lionel Fletcher, and Arthur B. Cauty. Branches: London, Oceanic House, 1, Cockspur Street, S.W., and 38, Leadenhall Street, E.C.; Southampton, Canute Road; Plymouth, 10, Millbay Road; New York, 9, Broadway; Boston, 84, State Street; Naples, 21, Piazza della Borsa; Genoa, Via Alla Nunziata 18. Also offices at Queenstown, Chicago, Minneapolis, Montreal, New Orleans, Philadelphia, Pittsburg, Portland, Me., Quebec, Seattle, Wash., San Francisco, St. Louis, Toronto, Washington, Winnipeg, &c. Business: The White Star Line is one of the most important of the great Mail, Passenger, and Cargo carrying lines of steamships trading from the British Isles to America and the Colonies. The " White Star" fleet now comprises thirty-three steamers, with an aggregate tonnage of 491,000 tons, the average tonnage per steamer being the largest in the world. The Company's name has become especially identified with the policy of building and utilising modern steamships of extraordinary size, power, and carrying capacity. In this direction an epoch in steam navigation was marked by the launch of the Oceanic " (the second steamer of that name to fly the " White Star " flag), which at the time of its construction exceeded in size any vessel then built or building. The " Oceanic " (704 ft. in length over all, 68 ft. in breadth, and of 17,274 tons gross register) was followed by four other steamships, which are at the present time among the largest afloat, viz., the " Cedric " and " Celtic " (21,000 tons each), the " Baltic " (24,000 tons), and the " Adriatic " (25,000 tons), and the " Olympic" (46,359 tons), the largest British Stoamer. Including tonnage building, there are twenty-seven vessels in the Company's fleet, each exceeding 10,000 tons gross register. Except the " Olympic," " Laurentic," and "Ceramic," which are triple-screw, all the services of the Line are maintained by twin-screw steamships embodying the most approved principles of construction, in conjunction with elaborate arrangements for the comfort and convenience of passengers; and the Marconi System of Wireless Telegraphy is installed on all steamers. Telephone: No. 933 Central (Liverpool). Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: "Oceanic" (for Liverpool, Naples, Plymouth, and Queensi-own); " Vessels " (for London, S.W., Genoa, Paris, and Southampton); " Ler= " (for London, E.C.) " Immerco " (for American Offices). Bankers: Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co. Mr. H. A. Sanderson is Chairman of the Oceanic Steam Navigation Co., Ltd. (White Star Line), President of the International Mercantile Marine Co., and Chairman of the Shaw Savill & Albion Co., Ltd., the Dominion Line and of Geo. Thompson & Co., Ltd. Pastimes: Golf and Motoring. Clubs: Palatino (Liverpool), Constitutional (London), Union (New York).

WHITE (THOMAS) & SONS, Ltd., Engineers, Laighpark Works, Paisley. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. (Office). Established in 1862 by Thomas White. Succeeded by Matthew White, Thomas White and John White. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Directors: Thomas White (Managing Director), J. 0. M. Clark, E. S. Coats. Premises: Extensive. Staff: 300. Specialities: Textile Machinery and Bobbin Machinery. Patents: Several. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 138 Paisley. Telegraphic Address: " White, Paisley." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Banleers: Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

WHITE, W. B., & SONS, Ltd., Textile Machinists, Red Scar Looms Works, Colne, Lancashire. Established fifty-four years ago by William Bell White; afterwards became known as W. B. White & Sons. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1899. Managing Directors: W. B. White, R. White, A. P. White (sons). The founder was one of the first Weft Fork Makers in England. Premises equipped with the most up-to-date machinery. Stag: 200. Specialities: Power Looms (all kinds), Plain Cir Box and Drop Box, Dobbies, Shedding Motions, Winding, Splitting and Dressing Frames, Cloth Folding, Cloth Brushing, and Cloth Pressing Machines. Are makers of all kinds of Springs, Spindles, Weft Forks, Shuttle Tongues, &c. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly), Foreign. Telephone: No. 13 Colne. Telegraphic Address: "White, Loom Maker, Colne." Bankers: Manchester and County Bank (Colne).

WHITEAWAY, E., & CO., Merchants and Exporters, 14, New Union Street, Moorfields, London, E.C., 14, Nicholas Street, 64, Faukner Streot (South American Dept.), Manchester, and 396, Flinder's Lane, Melbourne. Hours of Business: 9.15 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1898 by E. Whiteaway; Robert May admitted partner in 1903. Present Principals: E. Whiteaway, Robert May, E. G. L. Whiteaway (admitted 1908), and J. S. L. Whiteaway (admitted 1910). Premises: Whole building, comprising General Offices, Buyers' Rooms, Clients' Rooms, Sample Rooms; 8A, South Place, Finsbury Pavement, E.C., Packing Rooms, &c.; at Manchester Buying Office and Packing Rooms. Staff: Sixteen Buyers, two Assistant Buyers, seventy-two Clerks, fifteen Packers, seven Australian, one Canadian, one West Indian, one South American travellers. Business: Expert Buyers of all classes of Goods, including Drapery (Manchester Goods, Silks, Cottons, Woollens, &c., Millinery, &c.), Grocery, Hardware, Boots, Shoes, Saddlery, Jewellery, Earthenware, Stationery, Chemists' Sundries, Sports Requisites, Outfitting, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, America, Canada, Egypt, Chili, United States, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4827 London Wall (two lines). Cable and Telegraphic Address: " Whiteaway, London "; and Telegraphic Address only: " Whiteaway, Manchester." Bankers: National Bank of India.

WHITECROSS CO., Ltd., (THE), Wire Manufacturers, Warrington, Lancashire. London Office: 110, Fenchurch Street, E.C. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1864, Directors: J. W. Alsop, William Carson, S. Cunningham, E. H. Greg and A. McDowell. Premises: Works at Warrington, covering an area of thirteen acres. Staff: 1,500. Specialities: Iron and Steel Rolled and Drawn Wires, Patent Steel Wires, Barb Wire, Wire Ropes, Wire Nails, Wire Netting; Galvanizers. Patents are held relating to the above. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 9 and 180 (Nat.), Warrington; No. 657 Avenue, London. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: "Whitecross, Warrington"; "Abercrombie, London." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. (Warrington).

WHITEHEAD, MORRIS & CO., Ltd., Manufacturing, Export, and General Stationers, Printers, Lithographers, Engravers, &c., 9 and 10, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established July, 1857, by W. Whitehead and E. S. Morris. Incorporated May, 1893, as a Limited Company. Present Directors: Edward Sharman Morris (Managing Director), Edward Robert Morris, Duncan Walter Morris, Percy Morris, Arthur Robert Meggy. Premises: Chief Offices at 9 and 10, Fenchurch Street, E.C.; Office at Caxton House, Westminster, S.W.; Chief Factory (with large equipment of modern machinery) at Tower Hill, London, E.C. (opposite Mark Lane Station). Staff: About 250. (Sick Fund in connection with factory.) Branches: Cape Town, Cairo, Alexandria. Factories in Cape Town and Alexandria. Specialities: Postage Stamp Engravers and Printers, Security Banknote Engraving and Printing by a new process; the Engraving of Cheques, Bonds, and Share Warrants, for which the firm have long been widely known; also every description of Parliamentary, Commercial, and Artistic Letterpress and Lithographic Printing; manufacture patent Ledgers and Account Books, and all kinds of Stationery; are sole agents for the Patent " Stout Buff " Copying Paper. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: 9 and 10, Fenchurch Street, No. 2028 Avenue and No. 487 Central. Export Department, No. 9 Avenue; Westminster Office (Caxton House), No. 5692 Gerrard and No. 5307 Victoria. Telegraphic Addresses: " Wemmel," for London, Cairo, Alexandria; "Moresque," for Cape Town. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.; African Banking Corporation, Ltd.; Parr's Bank, Ltd., Charing Cross Branch (for Westminster Office); National Bank of Egypt, Ltd. (Alexandria); African Banking Corporation, Ltd. (Cape Town).

WHITEHEAD, R., & CO., Wholesale Drapers and General Warehousemen, 30, Barry Street, Bradford. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1876 by Robinson Whitehead (deceased). Now carried on by Exors. under the Will. Present Manager: Arthur Seymour (son in-law of R. Whitehead). Staff: Twenty-five. Business: Underclothing Manufacturers and all-round Caterers for Drapers; renowned for " Cut Lengths " of Dress Goods. Telephone: No. 4120 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Whitehead, Bradford, 4210." Bankers: Bradford District Bank, Ltd.

WHITEHEAD TORPEDO WORKS (WEYMOUTH), Ltd., Weymouth. Business: Torpedo Manufacturers. Telephone: No. 6 Weymouth. Telegraphic Address: " Whitehead, Weymouth."

WHITEHORN BROS., Diamond and Pearl and Precious Stone Merchant; and Jewellers, 19, 20, and 21, Featherstone Buildings, Holborn, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established by John Whitehorn about 1837; succeeded by John Whitehorn (jun. ). Afterwards by John Herbert and Ernest H. Whitehorn. Present Principals: John Herbert Whitehorn,Walter Edward Whitehorn, and William Whitehorn Bakewell. Premises: Extensive at above address, where valuable stocks of Diamonds, Pearls, and other Gem; are held. Staff: 120. Specialities: Finest Gem Jewellery and Loose Stones; Precious Stones of all kinds; Artistic Settings. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 807 Holborn and No. 207 City. Telegraphic Address: " White-horn, Holb, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Bloomsbury).

WHITELEY (WILLIAM), Ltd., Universal Providers, Westbourne Grove, London, W. Registered Office: 153, Queen's Road, Bayswater, London, W. Hours of Business: August to March, 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; April to July, 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1863 by the late William Whiteley. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: William Whiteley (Chairman), Charles Thomas Bazell, John Lawrie (General Manager), Sir Courtauld Thomson, Frank Ernest Whiteley. Secretary: F. G. Dann. Was the first establishment in London to combine all the features of a Universal Provider under one roof. Premises: Very extensive. The shops in Queen's Road cover over four acres; Depositories, Laundries, and Cleaning Works at West Kensington cover nine acres, and are equipped with every modern appliance. Stall: 5,000 to 6,000. Staff Club: " Kildare" Amateur Athletic Association. Business: Universal Providers. Supply everything. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrant: To H.M. the King. Telephone: Park, 1 (forty lines). Telegraphic Address: " Whiteley, London." Bankers: Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co.

WHITFIELD KING & CO., Postage Stamp Merchants and Philatelic Publishers, 106, Lacey Street, Ipswich. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. Established in 1869 by Charles Whitfield King, the present sole principal. Agents and correspondents in every civilized country. Business: The Importation and Sale of Stamps to collectors, and the publication of works of interest, to stamp collectors. Connection: World-wide. Awards for excellence of philatelic publications: The Hague, 1896, Bronze Medal; London, 1897, Bronze Medal; Amsterdam, 1909, Silver and Bronze Medals; Golden West Exhibition, Earl's Court, 1909, Grand Prix (Gold Medal); Demerara, 1911, First Prize; Pietermaritzburg (Natal), 1913, two First Prizes. Telephone: No. 368. Telegraphic Address: " Whitfield King, Ipswich." Bankers: National Provincial Bank, Ltd. (Ipswich and London).

WHITLEY, EDWIN J., Towage Contractor, Ship-broker, and General Shipping Agent, 2, Pierhead Chambers, Cardiff. Hours of Business: All hours. Established in 1887 by Edwin J. Whitley, the present principal. Branch: Hillbrow, Penarth. Business': Towage Contracts, Shipbroking, General Shipping Agency, open to tow any floating craft to or from any part of the world. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 278 Cardiff; No. 153 Penarth. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Whitley, Cardiff."

WHITLOCK BROTHERS, Importers and Wholesale Provision Merchants, 33 to 38, Allen Street, Goswell Road, E.C., and 21, Little Sutton Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1870. Continued by (1) Mark Whitlock, Francis Whitlock and George Whitlock; (2) H. G. Whitlock, M. C. Whitlock and W. B. Whitlock. Present Principals: H. G. Whitlock and M. C. Whitlock. Are well known in London and the Provinces. Specialities: Irish and Danish Bacon and English and Colonial Cheese. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonies. Telephones: No. 12691 Central; No. 523 Holborn, London. Telegraphic Address: " Whitlock, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

WHITMORE (HENRY), Ltd., Miller, Corn and Forage Merchants, Victoria Flour Mills, Romford, 5, Blytheswood Parade, Goodmayes; 14, Broadway, Barking; and New Corn Exchange, Mark Lane, London, E.C. Hours of -Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1858. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Managing Director and Chairman: Edward Winmill. Secretary: Geo. Page. Premises: Extensive Steam Mills, erected on the site of what was originally an old windmill, covering about one acre, situated on the xiorth and south side of Victoria Road. Staff: Thirty-two. Business: Flour Millers, Corn and Forage Merchants. Connection: Within about a twenty mile radius of Romford. Telephone: No. 522 Romford. Telegraphic Address " Whitmore, Romford." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd., and London and South Western Bank, Ltd. Mr. Winmill is an Urban and Rural District Councillor, member of Romford Board of Guardians, Chairman of Romford Union Assessment Committee, and Chairman of Essex Farmers' Union.

WHITMORE, T., & CO., Boot Manufacturers, Hill Top Works, Earl Shilton, Hinckley, Leicestershire. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1881 by T. Whitmore. Present Principals: T. Whitmore, W. Whitmore, S. Whitmore and G. A. Whitmore (sons). Specialities: Ladies' and Girls' Goods in Glace Kid, Glace Goat, Box Calf, Box Hide and Glove Hide, &c. Telephone: No. .44 Earl Shilton. Telegraphic Address: " Whitmore, Earl Shilton." Mr. T. Whitmore has been three times elected a member of the Leicestershire County Council, and he is now a Justice of the 'Peace for the County.

WHITT & BATES, Lace Manufacturers, Byard Lane, Nottingham. Paris: 10, Rue des JetIneurs. London: 44, Gutter Lane, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1881 by Frank Whitt and Alfred William Bates (retired 1906). Present Principal: Frank Whitt. Specialities: Fine Valenciennes Laces and Nets; also Fancy Laces, &c. Award: Silver Medal for Lace Exhibits at the Paris International Exhibition, 1889, only one other Nottingham Lace firm obtaining a similar distinction. Connection: United Kingdom, Continental, and United States. Telephone: No. 245 Nottingham. Bankers: Nottingham and Notts Banking Co.

WHITTAKER (JOHN) & CO., Cotton Doublers and Manufacturers. Offices: Smithy Lane, Manchester. Works: Coronation Mills, Stockport. Hours of Business: Office, 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1887 by John Whittaker, the present principal. Premises: Extensive Works. Buildings cover two and a half acres; fully equipped and fitted with all recent improvements. Staff: 400. Business: Doublers of Sewing and Crochet Cottons. Specialities: Fish Net Yarns, Heald Yarns, Cycle and Motor Tyre Canvas. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1701 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address " Doubler, Manchester." Code: A B C. Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank, Ltd. (Spring Gardens, Manchester). Mr. John Whittaker is President of various Clubs—Political, Musical, and Sporting. Also Managing Director of John Nichols' Manufacturing Co. Ltd., Newton Heath, Manchester, and the South Reddish Manufacturing Co., Ltd., Stockport.

WHITTAKER (ROBERT) & CO., British and Foreign Dress Goods Merchants and Warehousemen, 5, Bread Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1896 by Gates & Whittaker. Present Principal: Robert Whittaker. Premises: Five floors, eighty by thirty feet. Branch: 93, Market Street, Manchester. Specialities: British and Foreign Dress Goods. Connection: United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Canada. Telephone: No. 327 Central, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Subdue, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd., Lombard Street, London.

WHITTAKER, WM., & SONS, LIMITED, Engineers, Millwrights and Ironfounders, Sun Iron Works, King Street, Oldham. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1849 by Wm. Whittaker. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Managing Director and Chairman: Alfred E. Whittaker. Staff: Average about one hundred. Specialities: Machine-moulded Gear Wheels and Machine for making same, all classes of Wheels moulded by Machinery, Double Helical Tooth Wheels, &c. Patent: Wheel Moulding Machine (John Whittaker). Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephone: No. 83 Oldham. Telegrams: Whittakers, Engineers, Oldham." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

WHITTET, A., & CO., Seed Crushers, Oil Mills, Weybridge, and The Baltic, London, Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1840 by Messrs. Flockton. Present Principal: Alexander Whittet. Premises t Cover between two and three acres. Mills burnt down at the end of 1877, rebuilt 1878. Staff: Varies according to season. Specialities: Linseed Cakes of high quality and Linseed Oil, especially suited for Varnish Making. Connection: United Kingdom, chiefly. Telephone: No. 13 Weybridge. Telegraphic Address: " Whittet, Weybridge." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd., Lothbury; London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd., St. Mary Axe, London, E.C.

WHITTICK (THOMAS) & SON, British and Foreign Yeast Merchants. Head Office: 42, Cogan Street, Hull. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 9 p.m. Established over sixty years ago by Thomas Whittick (d.). Present Principals: Henry Whittick, J.P. (son), William Johnson Wharwick (son-inlaw). Have been interested in the Dried Yeast Industry from its commencement. Branches and Depots throughout the United Kingdom. Business: British and Foreign Yeast Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Telephone: No. 709 (National), Hull. Telegraphic Address: (Universal), " Whittick, Hull." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Whitefriargate, Hull).

WHITTINGHAM (CHARLES) & CO., THE CHISWICK PRESS, 20 and 21, Took's Court, Chancery Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1789 by Charles Whittingham in London; carried on there to 1810. Removed to Chiswick 1810; conducted there until 1828. Business carried on at Chiswick and London from 1828 to 1852. From 1852 to present date solely in London. Present Managing Partner: Chas. T. Jacobi. Speciality: Printing Editions de Luxe for Publishers, Learned Societies, and Private Libraries. Better class of Book Printing. Recent Awards: Participants in Grand Prix awarded to the Publishers' Association for Books, Paris Exhibition, 1900; also in Grand Prize awarded to the British Royal Commission's Collective Exhibit of Books and Music, St. Louis Exhibition, 1904. Awarded at Turin International Exhibition, 1911, two Grands Prix for Printing and for Publishing, and two Gold Medals for Paper and for Bookbinding. Connection: World-wide. Tele-phone: No. 98 Holborn. Telegraphic Address: "Whittingham, Fleet, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

WHITTINGHAM (EDWIN) & SONS, Contractors and Timber Merchants, Offices and Works, Granville Avenue, Works; Station Road, Newport, Salop. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Works, 8 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Office. Established in 1832 by Joseph Whittingham. Succeeded by Edwin Whittingham. Present Principals: Arthur Edwin Whittingham and Ernest Cyril Whittingham. Premises: Two yards covering three acres. Staff: Average 100. Speciality: Church and Mansion Work. Contractors to Home Railways for English Timber. Telephone: No. 6, Newport, Salop. Telegraphic Address " Whittingham, Newport, Salop." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

WHITTINGHAM & PORTER, Engineers, Smiths and Stampers, Victoria Iron Works, Hedon Road, Hull. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1881 by John Whittingham. Present Principal J. R. Porter (joined 1894). Premises: Cover about 1200 square yards. Staff: Varies, about sixty average. Branch: 57, Spyvee Street. Specialities: Forgings and Stampings, General Engineering Work chiefly repairs. Connection: United Kingdom. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty). Telephone: No. 569 Central, Hull. Telegraphic Address: " Stampings, Hull."

WHITWELL (WILLIAM) & CO., Ltd., Iron Manufacturers, Thornaby Iron Works, Stockton-on-Tees. London Office: 34, Lime Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1861 by William Whitwell and Thomas Whitwell. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1889. Directors: W. F. Whitwell (Chairman and Managing Director), J. F. Whitwell (Managing Director), Herbert Stra ker, A. F. Pease, C. E. Peas?. Secretary: Robert Reed. Premises: Very extensive, covering sixty acres. Equipped throughout with up-todate appliances. Staff: 750. Specialities: High-class Bar Iron, and Hematite Iron for Siemens, Bessemer, and other processes. Connection: United Kingdom, Contrac tors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office). Telephones: No. 5 (P.O.); No. 14 (National), Stockton-on-Tees. Telegraphic Address: " Whitwell, Stockton-on-Tees." Bankers: Barclay & Co, Ltd. (Stockton-on-Tees).

WHITWICK COLLIERY CO., Ltd., Coalville, Leicester. Howrs of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. '; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1873. Directors: Errington Brewis (Chairman), Thomas Boam, John Hy. Whitaker, W. E. Ison, G. A. Lewis. Commercial Manager and Secretary: Walter Lindley. Premises: Five Collieries and extensive Terra Cotta Works. Business: Owners of the Whitwick Collieries and Manufacturers of Red, White, and Buff Facing Bricks and Terra Cotta to any design. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 20 Coalville. Telegraphic Address: " Whitwick Collieries, Coalville." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Coalville).

WHITWILL (MARK) & SON, Shipowners and Shipbrokers, Grove Avenue, and 35, Queen Square, Bristol, 23, Commercial Road, Gloucester, and Docks, Sharpness. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1831 by Mark Whitwill. Continued through son in each generation. Present Principal: Mark Whitwill (grandson of the Founder). Staff: About thirty. Business: Shipbrokers and Steamship Line Agencies. Telephones: Nos. 9 and 274 Bristol. Telegraphic Address: " Whitwill, Bristol." Codes: Watkin's, Scott's and A B C. Bankers: London and South Western Bank, Ltd. (Bristol). Mr. Whitwill is Chairman of Whitwill, Cole & Co., Ltd., and Whitwills Transport Co., Ltd. (Bristol). Consul for Belgium, Vice-Consul for Uruguay. He retired with the rank of Lieut.-Colonel from the Volunteer Force. Holds a V.D. and Queen Victoria's Jubilee Medal and First Class Civic Cross from the Belgian Government. He is a Justice of the Peace for the City and County of Bristol. Member of the Town Council, Docks Committee, Council of Bristol University, Gloucester Territorial Association. Vice-President of Bristol Royal Children's Hospital. President of Certif. Industrial School for Boys, Bristol, and past President of the Bristol Chamber of Commerce. Club: Gresham (London).

WHITWORTH & CO., Ltd., Worsted and Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers, Luddendenfoot, S.O., Yorks, and 21. Watling Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established over 100 years. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1874. Business: Worsted and Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers. Telephone: No. 4 Luddendenfoot. Telegraphic Address: " Whitworths, Luddendenfoot." Bankers: Halifax and Huddersfield Union Banking Co., Ltd.

WHOLESALE HARDWARE CLUB, Ltd., (THE). Registered Office: Royal London House, 14, Finsbury Square, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual.. Established in 1906. Incorporated as a Limited Company by Guarantee in 1907. President: John S. Brown (Brown Bros., Ltd.): Acting Vice-President: Arthur W. George, VicePresidents: J. Scott Balfour, J.P., Charles Churchill, W. Bernard Fletcher, Edward Le Bas, W. Morton Johnson, Richard Gibson and Oswald Nettlefold. • Hon. Treasurer: Fredk. A. Harrison. Hon. Secretary: James Keeves. Secretary: Reginald Cooper. Business: For the mutual protection of the Wholesale Hardware and Allied Trades throughout the United Kingdom, and formed to advance the common interest of such firms by united action. Also combining Trade Protection, the Status and Debt Departments of which are strictly under the control of a salaried Secretary. Telephone: No. 5872 City, London. Telegraphic Address: " Harclubber, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Old Street).

WIDENMANN, BROICHER & CO., Ltd., General Merchants, &c., 1, Fenchurch Avenue, London, E.C. ,Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1843 by Roller & Co. Continued by (1) Ammann & Co.; (2) Ammann, Roller & Co., 1862; (3) Roller and Widenmann, 1864; (4) Widenmann, Broicher & Co., 1869. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1913. Managing Direc-tor: William Bredt. Business: General Merchants, Bankers and. Agents (Drugs, Chemicals, &c.). Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 216 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Widenmann, London."

WIGAN COAL & IRON CO., Ltd., Coal Proprietors, Iron and Steel Manufacturers, Wigan, Lancashire; London Office, 6, Strand, W.C. Established in 1865 as an amalgamation of the Earl of Crawford's Collieries with. the Kirkless Hall Coal and Iron Co., and other interests. Incorporated as a Limited Company in -the same year. Directors: The Earl of Crawford, K.T. (Chairman), W. H. Hewlett, J.P. (Managing Director). Staff: About 11,000. Numerous Agents for Coal, Iron and Steel in the principal centres of the United Kingdom. Also Agents in the United States for Iron, Steel, &c. (Dana & Co., 32, Broadway, New York). Specialities: Coal for all purposes; Wigan Cannel; Pig Iron, Spiegeleisen Silico Spiegel, Ferro-Manganese; Siemen's Open - Hearth Steel Billets, Blooms, Bars, &c.; Nickel Steel, Concrete Flags, Macadam, Tar Macadam, &c. Awards: London, 1862; Paris, 1878; Franco-British Exhibition, 1908. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 36 Wigan. Telegraphic Address: " Kirkless, Wigan." Bankers: Parr's Banking Co., Ltd.

WIGAN, RICHARDSON & CO., Hop Merchants, 15, Southwark Street. Ware houses: 61, Southwark Strut. Cold Stores: Stoney Lane, London, S.E. Hours of Business: Usual. Present Principals: J. Topham Richardson, Basil E. Richardson, E. C. Wigan and Captain J. T. Wigan. Branches: Wor cester, 10, Sansome Street. Busi ness: Hop Merchants. Introduced the modern system of Cold Storage of Hops into England. Telephone: No. 592 Hop, London. Telegraphic Address: "Marzill, London."

WIGAN ROLLING MILLS CO., Ltd., (THE), Rollers of Iron and Steel Bars and Hoops, Pagefield, Wigan. Hours of Busi ness: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works, day and night.. Incorporated in 1888 by the present Company. Directors: Alder man Wm. Scott Barrett, J.P., D.L. (Chair man), John Mellor, W. Orme-Johnson, J.P., A. E. Johnson, J.P., C.C., A. M. Lamb, H. A. Scott Barrett, J.P. (Secre tary), W. Burrion, J.P. (Works Manager). Premi;es: Extensive; twenty Puddling Furnaces and three Mills. Stan: About 400. Specialities: Merchant Bars, Horse-shoe Bars, Bast and Best Best Bars, Baling Hoops, Special Splayed Coopers' Hoops, Brands " Viking " and " Norseman." Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 31 Wigan. Telegraphic Address: " Bars, Wigan." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. (Wigan).

WIGGINS, F., & SONS, Mica Merchants, 102, 103, and 104 Minories, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, to 1 p.m. Established about 1840. Speci ality: Mica for all purposes. Claim to 3 T hold largest stock in the world. Connection: World-wide. Private firm, no agents. Telephone: No. 2248 Avenue Telegraphic Address: " Wiggins, Minories, London." Codes: A B C, A 1, and Lieber's. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

WIGGINS, TEAPE & CO., Ltd., Paper Makers and Wholesale Stationers. Warehouses: 10, Aldgate, London, E., and Sydney, New South Wales. Mills: Withnell Fold, Lancashire; Buckland, Conqueror and Crabble, Dover; Chafford Mill, Tunbridge Wells; Glory Mill, Wooburn Green, Bucks; and 1VIillholm Mill, Cathcart. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1761 by Hathaway and Edwards at the Sign of the Nag's Head, Northumberland Alley. Continued by (1) Edward & Jones; (2) Jones & Leventhorpe; (3) Jones, Wiggins, Headley & Robinson; (4) Wiggins & Teape; (5) Wiggins, Teape & Loder; (6) Wiggins, Teape, Carter & Barlow. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Directors: H. T. Parke, A. E. Parke, H. R. Prendergast, P. W. Holden, F. L. T. Barlow, K. Barlow and T. L. Parke. Secretary: W. Lay. One of the oldest firms, if not the oldest, in the trade. Premises: Original Warehouse known as Nine Bells, London, opened in 1761. Very extensive Mills, equipped with all modern appliances. Staff Clubs: Cricket, Football, at the various mills. Specialities: Highest-class Machine-made Papers, Ledger and Bank Papers and Typewriting Papers. Owners of many watermarks: " Hercules," " Lancashire Ledger," "Conqueror," " W. T. & Co., Extra Strong, 3009." Connection: World-wide. Telephones: Nos. 4361 and 4362 Avenue; No. 12338 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Teape, Ald, London." Cable Address: " Papyrifer, London."

WIGHAM (JOHN) & SON, Engineers, Ironfounders and Ship Repairers, South Hylton Engine Works; Foundry and Slipway near Sunderland. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1878 by John Wigham. Present Principals: John Wigham and John Rodham Wigham. Premises: Cover about three acres. Stag: About 200. Specialities: Ship Deck Machinery, such as Hand and Steam Steering Gears, and Steam Winches. Patents: Whipping Gear for Winches, Steam Saving Valves for Steering Gears. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3 Hylton. Telegraphic Address: " Wigham, Hylton." Bankers: Barclay & Co. (Backhouse Branch).

WIGSTON HAT & CAP CO., (THE), Hat and Cap Manufacturers, South Wigston, near Leicester. Hours of Business I Usual. Established in 1895. Present Principals: Frederick Rudd and Orson Stanley Wright. Brandi: 9, Station Terrace, Cardiff. Specialities: Hard and Soft Felt Hats, Caps, Children's Fancies, Unlined Caps and Light Weight Felts. Connection: England and Wales. Telephone: No. 89 Wigston. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

WILCE, THOMAS M., Timber Merchant, Saw Mills, Cinderford, Glos. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established about twenty-five years ago by Levi Wilce. Present Principal: Thomas M. Wilce. Premises: Cover half an acre. Staff: Fifteen to twenty. Business I Saw Milling. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 41 Cinderford. Telegraphic Address: " Scantling, Cinderford." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Cinderford) .

WILDE, A. W., & CO., Fine Art Dealers and Printsellers, 35, Brook Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Specialities: Engravings, Old and Modern, Water Colours. Telephone: No. 6527 Mayfair, London.

WILDE, JAMES, & SON (BRUSHES, Ltd.), Wholesale and Export Mill, Machine, and Domestic Brush Manufacturers, the Steam Brush Factory, Oldham. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 12 noon; Warehouse and Offices, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1840 by James Wilde (d.); continued by founder, assisted by Herbert Wilde and James Greaves Wilde (sons). Incorporated as a Limited Company, amalgamating with Thomas Shaw & Sons, Ashton-under-Lyne, and Henry Rose & Sons, St. Albans. Directors: Herbert Wilde, J.P., William Rose, Harold Shaw (Managing Directors of the different Works); J. G. Wilde, George Rose, W. T. Shaw. Capital: £100,000 nominal, £60,000 subscribed. Premises: Extensive Works at Oldham, Ashton-under-Lyne, Manchester, St. Albans, and Redbourn (Herts). Staff: Total 500 to 600. Business: claim to be the largest Works and most extensive makers of Brushes for Cotton, Woollen, and other textile trades in England. Manufacture Machine Brushes by specially patented machines automatically and by hand. Patents: Several for various improvements in Brushes. Makers of Patented Machines for Brush Making. Connection: United Kingdom, Wales and Scotland, Colonial; export to many countries. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office). Telephone: No. 371 Oldham. Telegraphic Address: " Brushes, Oldham." Bankers: Union Bank of Manchester.

WILDY & SONS, Law Booksellers, Publishers, and Exporters, Lincoln's Inn Archway, Carey Street, London, W. C. Hours of Business: 9.20 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.20 a.m. to 2.30 p.m. Established in 1830 by the grandfather of the present partners. He was succeeded by his son Charles Wildy (deceased). Present Principals: Charles James Wildy, William John Wildy (sons). Specialities: Dealers in Law Books of every description (Ancient and Modern). Connection: United Kingdom, Colonies, Africa, China, Siam, United States of America, &c. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Wildys, London."

WILEY & CO., Ltd., Wine, Spirit and Cigar Merchants, Haymarket, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1832. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: F. Fowler, E. T. Moore and F. W. Holmes, T. K. Wilson and F. Trickett. Manager: W. H. Ravenscroft. Secretary: J. H. Dean. Premises: Very old and wellknown Wine Cellars, covering a large area. Also Offices, Bottle Department and Retail Department facing Haymarket. Warehouses in King Street. Branches: 700, Attercliffe Road; 236, London Road, &c. Specialities: Wines, Spirits and Cigars, in Better-Class Wine Trade, also special Departments with Licensed House Trade. Own a number of private Trade Marks and Brands. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial (extensive). Telephone: No. 901 Sheffield. Telegraphic Address: " Wiley, Sheffield." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

WILKERSON, SAMUEL, Manufacturer of Patent Sack Lifter and Loader, Milk Churn Tipper, Water Cart Taps, &c., Agricultural Engineer, Bassingbourn, Cambs. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.15 p.m. (winter); 6 a.m. to 7.30 p.m. (other seasons); half-day on Saturdays. Established in 1873 by Samuel Wilkerson, the present principal and the original inventor of Sack Lifters and Shooters. Premises: Cover one acre. Specialities: A number, all the inventions of the proprietor. Sack Lifters and Shooters mentioned by " The Times " in 1873 as " An admirable labour-saving invention." " The Field " said it was the most ingenious novelty in the yard of the Royal Agricultural Society. Also Water Cart Taps, for Water and liquid Manure Carts, Cisterns, Portable Boilers, Hot and Cold Water Ship Tanks, Brewers' Coppers, &c., Milk Churn Tipper, Sack Holder, Section Remover, Vice and Stand and Knife Repairing Machine for repairing the knives of Reapers, Binders and Mowers. Inventions and Patents: Sack Lifter and Loader, Milk Churn Tipper, Water Cart Taps, Sack Holder, Section Remover, Vice and Stand. Awards: Eleven Prize Medals, for Sack Shooters and Lifters; The Silver Medal, Royal Agricultural Society of England, 1873; Silver Medal, Preston Agricultural Society; Silver Medal, Royal North Lancashire Society; Silver Medal, Southport and Ormskirk Society; Two Silver Medals, Northampton Society; Silver Medal, International Exhibition, London; Silver Medal, Manchester Show; Silver Medal, Preston Society, for Sack Holders; for Patent Drum Feeder and Guard, Silver Medal, Royal Agricultural Societyat Norwich. Connection: Own Machines sent to all parts of the United Kingdom. Telegraphic Address: " Wilkerson, Bassingbourn."

WILKES & CO., Engineers and Boilermakers, Albion Street, Milo End, Portsmouth. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1868 by C. Mintram and Thomas Wilkes. Carried on by the late Thomas Wilkes alone until 1913. Present Principals: T. C. Wilkes, E. J. Wilkes, G. E. Wilkes, and S. Wilkes. Premises: Cover about an acre of ground, fully equipped works. Staff: About fifty. Business: General Engineering and Boilermaking. Connection: General. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty) for Boilormaking and Engineering. Telephone: No. 877 Portsmouth. Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

WILKES, LIMITED, Bolt, Nut, Rivet, and Heavy Ironwork Manufacturers, Grand Junction Works, Darlaston. Established in 1840. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Staff: 350. Specialities: Bolts, Nuts, Rivets, Railway and Tramway Fastenings, Constructional Ironwork. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 5 Darlaston. Telegraphic Address: " Engineer, Darlaston." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Birmingham).

WILKES (SAMUEL) & SONS, Ltd., Patentees and Manufacturers of Railway Carriage Door Locks, &c., Excelsior Works, Bloxwich. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1874 by Samuel Wilkes. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1914. Directors: Samuel Wilkes (Managing Director), J. Wilkes and A. J. Wilkes. Staff: 200 to 250 hands. Specialities: Fittings for Railway Carriage Bodies, also Motor Car Bodies, of all kinds. Connection: United Kingdom and Abroad. Contractors to Indian and Foreign Railways., Also supply leading English Railway Carriage Builders. Telephone: No. 51 Walsall. Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd.

WILKINS & DENTON, Ltd., Boot and Shoe Manufacturers, Curriers, and Leather Factors, Army and Navy Contractors. Chief Office and W arehouse: 24, London Wall, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1888 by Hy. Thos. Wilkins and George Denton. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Premises: Extensive Works at Rushden and Irchester, Northamptonshire. Agents in India, South Africa, Hamburg, Paris, Cairo. Specialities: All classes of Boots and Shoes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office). Telephone: No. 743 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Bootmaking, London." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. (Finsbury).

WILKINS WIRE ROPE CO., Ltd., Wire Rope Makers, Eastwood, Notts. London Office: 16, St. Helens Place, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 -p.m. Established in 1850 by W. Wilkins. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Managing Director: S. H. Hudston. Premises: Originally in London, removed to now Factory at Eastwood in 1905, specially built and equipped with new machinery. Specialities: High-class Mining and Engineering Ropes, Claim to be one of the original makers of Wire Ropes. Awards: Prize Medals, 1851, 1862, 1899. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government, Foreign and Colonial Governments. Telephones: No. 17 Langley Mill, Eastwood; No. 1701 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address Cordelreo," Eastwood, Notts and " Cordelero, Led, London."

WILKINSON BROTHERS & CO., Manufacturers, 71, Talbot Road, Northampton. Hours of Business: 7.30 a.m. to 6.15 p.m. Established in 1894 by S. B. Wilkinson, G. F. E Wilkinson and T. Cosford. Present Principals: S. B. Wilkinson, G. F. E. Wilkinson, T. Cosford and H. Wilkinson (joined 1913). Premises: Factory contains 152,865 cubic feet. Staff: About 300. Branches: London, 10, Bow Churchyard, E.C.; Glasgow, 20, Springfield Court. Specialities: Ladies' Japanese Silk Blouses. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 19x Northampton. Telegraphic Address: " Certainty, London." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

WILKINSON BROTHERS, Ltd., Printers, and Publishers, 1, 3, 5, 7, and 9, Green Lanes, London, N. Branch Offices: 133, Cannon Street, E.C., and 3, Redcross Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1887 by Messrs. Wilkinson Brothers. Incorporated in 1890, G. H. Wilkinson being the Managing Director. The firm came into existence to publish " The Handy Shipping Guide," which has grown into a very important publication, supplying all needful information for shippers, merchants, &c. The first premises were in Leadenhall Street, from 1887 until 1893. In the latter year a move was made to 21, Bevis Marks, where the firm erected their own printing plant. In 1902 and 1913 the block of buildings from 1 to 9, Green Lanes, N., were erected, covering a large area of ground and built in the form of a square. Specialities: " The Handy Shipping Guide," published every Saturday, and " The Syren and Shipping," illustrated, every Wednesday. Telephones: Nos. 2975 and 2286 Central. Bankers: London and Provincial Bank, Ltd.; London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

WILKINSON, HEYWOOD & CLARK, Ltd., Manufacturers of all kinds of Varnishes, Colours, and Paints; Oil Boilers, Refiners and Distillers; Contractors to the Home and Foreign Government Departments, Railway and Steamship Companies. (One of the oldest, largest and best known concerns in the Varnish and Paint trade.) Home Trade Offices: Caledonian Works, Poplar and Bootle. Export Department: Storer's Wharf, Poplar. Up to November, 1912, the business has been continuous at 7, Caledonian Road since 1770, when a Mr. Pritchard traded there as a chemist, the locality being then known as Battle Bridge. He conducted experiments in the production of Tars, Varnishes, Naphtha, and added the manufacture of these articles to his business. Mr. Pritchard sold his interest in the business to a Captain Tucker, who arranged with his foreman, Mr. Wilkinson, that the industry should he carried on under the latter's name, which has ever since been retained in the title of the firm. Captain Tucker sold out to Mr. Heywood, grandfather of the late director, Mr. J. Sharp C. Heywood, who was subsequently joined by the late Mr. A. A. Clark. The firm continued thereafter as Wilkinson, Heywood & Clark until 1896, when, for private and family reasons, it was converted into a Limited Company under the present title. Directors: E. de Q. Quincey, Gerald Sturt, B. de Q. Quincey, C. G. Heywood. Managing Director: J. K. Crow, D.Sc. (Lond.). Premises: Owing to the enormous increase in trade, and to inadequate size of the Caledonian Road premises, it was decided in 1912 to acquire additional premises at Poplar, and to enlarge the Bootle premises. The factories now consist of: The Varnish Factory at West Drayton (on the G.W.R.), and three adjacent Factories at Poplar —Storer's Wharf, Caledonian Wharf, and Falcon Wharf, covering ten acres of ground with a continuous frontage of 900 feet to the River Thames; Paint and Colour Factory at Bootle, Liverpool; with the premises at Caledonian Road, which are retained as a Depot and Store. Staff: about 1000. Specialities: Coachbuilders' and all other Varnishes; all kinds of Paints, Enamels, Colours, Oils, Greases, and Lubricants generally. Connection: World-wide. In addition to branches in charge of resident representatives at Paris, Bombay, Hong-Kong, Shanghai, Melbourne, Sydney, Vancouver, British Columbia, and Montreal, large distributing centres are established in every part of the world. Telephones: No. 1360 Eastern (Private Branch Exchange) (for Poplar); No. 581 Bootle (for Liverpool); No. 16 Yiewsley (for West Drayton); No. 335 North (for Caledonian Road Depot). Telegraphic Addresses: " Storson, London "; " Woodhey, Liverpool "; " Wilkinson, Yiewsley "; " Wilheycla, London " for the above establishments respectively.

WILKINSON SWORD COMPANY, Ltd,. (THE), Sword Cutlers, Gun and Equipment Makers, 53, Pall Mall, London, S.W. Established in 1772. Incorporated in 1880. Specialitics: Everything for Army or Navy Officers. outside cloths. Widely known for Guns, Rifles, Swords, Revolvers, Equipments, &c. Patents: Many, including Wilkinson's Patent Safety Razor. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: Special Appointments to His late Majesty King Edward VII., H.M. King George V. when Prince of Wales, &c. Telephone: No. 288 Mayfair. Telegraphic Address: " Swordcut, London."

WILKINSON & TURTLE, LIMITED, Ladies' Collar, Cuff and Shirt Manufacturers, 1, Alfred Street, Belfast. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1868 by John, Wilkinson and James G. Turtle, present Directors. Specialities: Ladies' Linen Collars and Cuffs, also Ladies' Shirts and Blouses. Manufacturers of Goods of the best quality. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 15.19 Belfast. Telegraphic Address: " Cuff, Belfast."

WILLCOX, W. H., & CO., Ltd., Engineers' Stores, Oil Refiners, Hose, Pump, and Belting Manufacturers. Offices: 38, Southwark Street, London, S.E. Warehouses: 32, 34, 36, and 38, Southwark Street. Hose Factory: Emerson Street, and Canvey Street, S.E. Pump Works: 38, Southwark Street, S.E. Belting Factory: 32, Southwark Street: Oil Refinery: Castle Street and Worcester Street, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.in. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1876 by Walter Henry Willcox, who was subsequently joined in partnership by William Cordrey. Incorporated in 1897 as a Private Limited Company. Specialities: Cylinder and Lubricating Oils, Hand-sewn Leather Bolting, Wire Bound Hose, Semi-Rotary Wing Pumps, Injectors, Lubricators, Packing, and Oil Filters; also Tube Cleaning Apparatus. Patents: Several. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 3740 Hop (three lines), No. 1992 Hop (one line). Telegraphic Address " Willcox, Southwark Street, London." Bankers: Royal Bank of Scotland.

WILLEY (FRANCIS) & CO., English and Foreign Wool Merchants and Topmakers, Piccadilly, Bradford. Offices: 300, Summer Street, Boston, Mass., 19, 21 and 23, S. 2nd Street, Philadelphia, Pa., United States, Port Elizabeth, Cape Colony, Christchurch, New Zealand; and 4 C3leman Street, Llndon, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 7 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1827 by John Willey. Partnership Successions: (1) John Willey and Son, 1859; (2) Francis Willey, 1870; (3) Francis Willey and Brother, 18751884. Present Principals: Francis Willey, J.P. (son of John Willey), Francis Vernon Willey. Premises: Large seven-storey building containing Offices and Warehouse with floor space of 13,403 sq. yds. and frontage of 532 ft., erected in 18841885 on the site of the old Theatre Royal. Stag: 350. Agencies: Australia, New _ Zealand, and South America. Specialities: All classes of English and Foreign Wools, Tops, Noils, and Wastes. Connection World-wide. Telephone: No. 3743 Bradford (Private Exchange). Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Willey," Bradford and Port Elizabeth; " Wilvern," Boston and Philadelphia; " Prawn eo, AveLondon." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

WILLIAMS, ALFRED, Cutlery Manufacturer, Rivington Works, 44, Eyre Lane, Sheffield; from Jan. 6, 1914, amalgamated with W. & S. Butcher, Ltd., 41, Eyre Lane, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1891 by Alfred Williams, the present principal. Business: Manufacture of Cutlery. Connection: Colonial and, Foreign. Telephone: No. 3183 Central, Sheffield. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Derfla, Sheffield." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: Sheffield Banking Co.

WILLIAMS DEACON'S BANK, Ltd., 20, Birchin Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1836. Incorporated in 1871. Registered with Limited Liability in 1881. Directors: Charles Sumner Hoare (Chairman), Gerard Powys Dewhurst (Deputy - Chairman), W. B. M. Bird, William Francis Courthope, George Reynolds Davies, John Francis William Deacon, James Eckersley, E. A. J. Johnson-Ferguson, John Wanklyn McConnel, W. -A. Milner, Henry Garwood Seaman, Colonel Robert Williams, M.P., B. G. Wool, G. H. Wood. General Manager: John Craig. Assistant General Manager: R. T. Hindley. London Office: Manager, J. J. Meagher. Manchester Office: Manager, John Moodie; Secretary, E. A. Williams. Sheffield Office (late Sheffield and Rotherham Joint Stock Bank): Manager, H. Bradburn; Sub-Manager, H. S. Nowill. Capital: (Paid-up) £1,250,000. Reserve Fund: £700,000. LONDON BRANCHES: Brompton and Earl's Court Branch, Coleherno Court, Old Brompton Road, South Kensington, S.W.; Charing Cross Branch, 2, Cockspur Street, Charing Cross, S.W.; Marylebone Branch, Marylebone Road, N.W.; St. Mary Axe Branch, 22, St. Mary Axe, E.C.; Westminster Branch, 21 and 23, Victoria Street, S.W.; Cheapside Branch, 127, Cheapside, E.C. CHIEF COUNTRY BRANCHES: St. Ann Street, Manchester (late Heywood Brothers & Co.); Bolton (late Hardcastle, Cross & Co.); Rochdale (late Clement Royds & Co.); 104 other Offices throughout England. Business: All usual Banking transactions. Telephones: London, No. 4333 Avenue; Manchester, No. 20. Telegraphic Addresses: "Williams Deacon, Stock, London "; " Twenty, Manchester."

WILLIAMS (HAL) & CO., Consulting and Supervising Engineers, Mill and Factory Specialists and Architects, 3, Salter's Hall Court, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1900 by Hal Williams, M.I.Mech.E., M.I.E.E., &c., the present principal, who is a New Zealander by birth (son of the late John William Williams of Pakaraka, formerly member for the Bay of Islands Division in the New Zealand Parliament). Educated in England at King's College, in Engineering Works and in the Consulting Office of Sir Frederick Bramwell, Bart. (d.). Business is purely advisory and has made rapid progress. Under their supervision very important works have been designed and carried out both in new factories and in the reconstruction of old factories which are wanting in equipment, and in modern manufacturing processes. Staff: Large and experienced. The principal members and heads of departments have an interest in the Company. Business: Consulting Engineering in all Mechanical Branches, and in Mill and Factory Architecture. Designing and Supervision of Mills and Factories in Brickwork FeroConcrete or Constructional Steelwork and their complete equipment with Machinery and Plant; also Buying Machinery for Export and Inspecting it before shipment. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 8625 City (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Halwilite, Cannon, London." Codes: Western Union, Lieber's, A 1, A B C (4th Edition). Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Lombard Street). Mr. Hal Williams is a member of The Institution of Mechanical Engineers, The Institution of Electrical Engineers, The Manufacturing Section of the London Chamber of Commerce, Vice-Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Secret Commissions and Bribery Prevention League Incorporated, and a member of the Executive Committee of the Cold Storage and Ice Association and of the British Section of the International Congress Du Froid, being one of the Official Delegates to the first Congress held in Paris, 1908. He is Consulting Engineer to the Machinery Users Association. Author of a text-book on Mechanical Refrigeration, published 1903, and is a frequent contributor to the technical Press.

WILLIAMS, HENRY (OLD BAILEY), Ltd., Wholesale Newsagents, Booksellers, and Stationers, 48, Old Bailey, London, E.C. Established in 1824 by William Mark Clark at 17, Warwick Lane, E.C. Acquired by the late Henry Williams in 1863. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Directors: Joseph Shaylor (Chairman), W. H. Nicholls, Henry Williams. Secretary and Manager: T. J. Brooke. Business: Distributors of Daily Newspapers, Illustrated Weeklies, Periodicals, Magazines, Books in bulk, and Stationery. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 7161 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Literature, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank.

WILLIAMS (HOWELL J.), Ltd., Builders and Contractors, 11-17, Bermondsey Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1880 by Howell J. Williams. Incorporated as a. Limited Company. Directors: Howell J. Williams, J.P., L.C.C. (Managing Director), Joseph H. Barns and J. P. Hodgson. Branches: Bursar Street and Magdalen Street, S.E. Specialities: High-class buildings and fittings, Banks and Insurance Offices, &c. Telephones: No. 202 Hop; No. 1560 Holborn, London. Bankers: London and South-Western Bank, Ltd.; London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

WILLIAMS, H. R., & CO., Wine and Spirit Merchants, 6, Lime Street, Leadenhall Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1858 by H. R. Williams (deceased), who was soon after joined. by J. H. Lloyd (deceased). Present Principals: S. Williams, H. J. Lloyd. Premises: Offices at above address and all the cellars on the site of the old East India House. These are extensive and of equable temperature. Have many Agencies in various parts of the country. Specialities: Wellmatured and High-class Wines and Spirits, and Cigars, Duty-paid and in Bond. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Telephone: No. 890 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Vinous, Led, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

WILLIAMS & HUMBERT, Sherry Shippers and Agents. Agents for Warre & Co., Oporto, 38, Mincing Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1877 by the late Alexander Williams. Present Principals: Arthur Humbert (brother-in-law), Frank Humbert Taylor (nephew), Carl D. Williams (son), and Charles Humbert. Branches: Nuno de Canas, Jerez-de-la-Frontera, Spain, and 1158, Broadway, New York. Business: Originally founded as Sherry Shippers, now also agents for Warre & Co., Port Shippers, established 1670, and also for the U.S.A. for John Walker & Son's Scotch Whisky, Nicholson's London Gin, and Bollinger's Champagne, &c. Patents: " Molino," " Pando " and " Dry Sack " Brands of Sherry. Tele phones: No. 3987 Central, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Re pando, London." Code: A B C.

WILLIAMS (JAMES) & CO., Wholesale Manufacturers of Mint Sauce in dry form, 37w, Furnival Street, Holborn, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1906 by James Williams, the present principal. First started in South Africa; moved to Buenos Ayres; and to London in 1913. Premises: Occupy the ground floor at above address. Staff: Eight outdoor travellers, four indoor clerks, &c. Agencies: South America, India, Sydney (Australia) and South Africa. Speciality Mint Sauce specially prepared in. dry form for use in Tropical Climates. Con nection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 2213 Holborn. Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and Western Union. Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd., 335, High Holborn, W.C.

WILLIAMS & NORGATE, Publishers and Book Importers, 14, Henrietta Street, Covent Garden, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1843 by E. Sydney Williams (d. 1891) and Frederic Norgate (d. 1908). Present Principals: Geoffrey S. Williams, son of the founder, and Sir Home Gordon, Bart. Specialities: General Publishing and Works of Memoirs, on Theology, Philosophy, Science, &c. Amongst those of other famous writers, the firm issues Herbert Spencer's Works; noted for the Home University Library, Theological Translation Library, the Crown Theological Library, Hibbert Lectures, Hibbert Journal, &c. Import all the latest Continental Works, especially scientific literature. Connection: Worldwide. Have agencies in most of the important cities of the Continent. Telephone: No. 5611 Gerrard (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Librorum, Rand, London."

WILLIAMS (PETER), LIVERPOOL, LIMITED, Wholesale Clothing Manufacturers, Manufacturers of Oilskin Clothing, 13, Cooper's Row, and 36, King Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1840 by Peter Williams. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors:. Lloyd Williams (Chairman), Peter Williams, Gerald Lloyd Williams. Staff: 500. Oilskin Clothing Factory, 11 to 17, Frederick Street, Liverpool. Business: Manufacture of Clothing (Wholesale) and Oilskin Clothing. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3779 Bank, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Petwil, Liverpool." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

WILLIAMS, WM., & SONS, Ltd., Distillers of Scotch Whisky. Head Office: 36, Regent Quay, Aberdeen. Distillery: " Glendullan," Glenlivet, Dufftown. Blending Warehouses: Virginia Street, Aberdeen. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1840 by Wm. Williams. The title was altered to Wm. Williams & Sons in 1876. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1899. Directors: James Williams (Chairman and Managing Director), John Ledingham (Managing Director). Premises cover several acres; Distillery premises about twelve acres in extent, equipped with all modern appliances. Speciality: Fine Old Scotch Whisky. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to H.M. the King. Telephones: Nos. 577 and 578 Aberdeen. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Williams, Aberdeen." Bankers: Town and County Bank (Aberdeen).

WILLIAMSON, CLOUDSLEY & CO., Wholesale Tea and Coffee Merchants, 15, Cullum Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1837 by Thomas Williamson. Partnership Successions: (1) Williamson & Harrison; (2) Williamson, Cloudsley, & Webb. Present Principals: James Cloudsley, J.P., William Gore. Premises: Sale-room, counting-house, and warehouse at 15, Cullum Street, E.C. One of the oldest and bestknown firms of Tea and Coffee Merchants. Representatives visit the large towns in England, Wales, Scotland, and Ireland. Telephone: No. 3495 Avenue . Telegraphic Address: "Cloudsley, Fen, London." Bankers: Parr's Bank Ltd. Mr. James Cloudsley has been a member of the Corporation of the City of London for the Ward of Langbourne since 1886.

WILLIAMSON & CORDER, LTD., Glue Manufacturers, &c., Low Walker, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1894. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Directors: Robert Williamson, Walter S. Corder. Premises: Cover two and a half acres. Specialities: Gelatin 3, Glue, Size, Grease, Precipitated Phosphate and Bone Meal. Connection: United Kingdom, United States, Colonial. Telephone: No. 33 (National) Wallsend. Telegraphic Address: " Wilorder, Newcastle-on-Tyne." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

WILLIAMSON, H., Ltd., Jewellers, Wholesale Watch and Clock Makers, &c., 81, Farringdon Road, London, E.C. Established by Henry Williamson. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: H. Williamson (Chairman), W. E. Tucker and C. H. Williamson (Managing, Directors), F. G. Newbolt, and T; A. Welton. Secretary: J. G. Broad, F.C.I.S. Premises: Factories at Holyhead Road, Coventry; Spencer Street Works, Spencer Street, Birmingham; Suter Watch Factory, Biiren a/a, and Ruelle de l'Aurore, Chaux-de-Fonds. Branches: Showrooms, Manchester, Trevelyan Buildings, Corporation Street; Sydney; Johannesburg; Durban; Berlin; Paris. Specialities::Highcla-is Machine-made Watches and Clocks, Bullion, Cutlery, Original designs in Silver and Electro-Plate, Jewellery and Precious Stones, Optics; Materials Exchange.(Wholesale only.) Connection: World-wide. Colonial and Indian Buyers supplied direct from factories. Telephone: No. 5440 Holborn, London. Telegraphic Address: " Henry Williamson, London."

WILLIAMSON (JAMES) & SON, Linoleum Manufacturers, Lune Mills, Lancaster. Telegraphic Address: "Williamson, Lancaster."

WILLIAMSON (JOHN) CO., Ltd., (THE), Publishers of " The Tailor and Cutter," and other Fashion Publications, 42, Gerrard Street, Soho, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. Established in 1866 by John Williamson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Staft: About forty. Business: Deal with all branches of Tailoring and Allied Industries. Issue Diplomas for Proficiency in Cutting-out, &c., which are recognised by the Royal Army Clothing Depot (Pimlico), the London County Council School Board, &c. Connection: Special Editions printed for the Australasian Colonies, South Africa, and Canada. Telephone: No. 4560 Gerrard. Bankers: London and Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

WILLIAMSON KINEMATOGRAPH CO., Ltd., THE), 28, Denmark Street, Charing Cross Road, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1886 by J. Williamson at Hove, Brighton. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Managing Director: J. Williamson. Premises: Large corner building of five floors and basement. Departments: Manufacture of Kinematograph Machinery (Factories, Hampstead and Brighton); Film Hiring; Film Printing; small orders and topical work on the premises above; Trade Printing at Barn3t Factory, separate Company (The Williamson Film Printing Co., Ltd.). Patents: Various, relating to Kinematograph Machinery. Connection: United .Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 9751 Gerrard; No. 7393 Central, London Factory, No. 554 Barnet. Telegraphic Address "Kinetogram, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd., Charing Cross, London, W.C.

WILLIAMSON, MURRAY & CO., Ltd., Merchants and Financiers, 14, Gt. Swan Alloy, Moorgate Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1899 by Edgar Williamson and William Murray. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Directors: William Murray (Chairman), Edward Irving Murray and Arthur Ingram Edward Smith. Business: Merchants and Financiers. Telephones: Nos. 5377 and 5378 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Address: " Requesting, London." Codes: A 1, A B C. Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd.

WILLIAMSON, T. & R., Ltd., Varnish and Colour Manufacturers, Ripon, Yorks. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1775 by Daniel Williamson, who procured his first formula from a French refugee. The present Chairman is great grandson of the Founder. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Thomas Williamson (Chairman), J. H. K. Williamson. Claim to be the oldest Varnish Manufacturers in the British Isles. Branches: London, Montreal, South Africa. Specialities: Varnishes for Railway work. Make a special feature of Pale Varnishes and Enamels. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Colonial. Telephone: No. 32 Ripon. Telegraphic Address: " Williamson, Ripon." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

WILLIAMSON, W., & SONS, Old English Furniture, High Street, Guildford, Surrey. Established in 1760 by William Williamson; succeeded by William Williamson (son), later by William Williamson and David Williamson (grandsons of the founder). Present Principals: William Williamson and Martin Williamson (greatgrandsons of Founder). Staff: About fifty. Specialities: Old English Furniture; also Old French and Italian Furniture, Old China, Silver, Articles de Vertu. Are Decorator,7, Upholsterers, Estate Agents, Expert Valuers, Probate Valuers. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly), United States, Australia, South Africa. Royal Warrants: Appointment to H.M. Queen Alexandra 1901. Held an Appointment to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria from 1889. Telephone: No. 19 Guildford. Telegraphic Address: "Williamson, Guildford."

WILLIAMSON'S (SIR HEDWORTH) FULWELL LIME WORKS, Ltd., 15, North Bridge Street, Fulwell Quarries and Limo Works, Sunderland. Hours of Business: Usual. Established over a century ago, date uncertain. Partnership Successions: (1) Sir Hedworth Williamson, seventh Baronet 1810; (2) Sir Hedworth Williamson, eighth Baronet, 1861; (3) Sir Hedworth Williamson, ninth Baronet, 1900. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1911. Directors: Sir Hedworth Williamson, Bart. (Chairman), William Sewell, Mem. Inst.C.E. (Managing Director). One of the oldest firms in the trade. Specialities: High Calcium Lime, Lump, Ground. Hydrated, Limestone for Blast Furnace and Foundry purposes, Chemical Works, &c. High-class Lime for Steel Making, Building, Plastering, Chemical Gasworks, and Agricultural purposes. Special feature made of Hydrated Lime. Telephone: No. 122 (National) Sunderland. Telegraphic Address: " Manor, Sunderland."

WILLIS, A., & CO., Wholesale Jewellers, 28, Hatton Garden, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1891 by Arthur Willis, the present principal. Business: Wholesale Jewellers and Silversmiths and General Export Merchants. Buyers of Diamonds on Commission. Also qualified to act as Buyers of Silverware, Electro-plate, Jewellery, Watches, Clocks, &c. Connection: South Africa, Canada, India, and United Kingdom. Have received many notices in various newspapers as to the reliability and capability as buyers in South Africa, &c. Telegraphic Address: " Jenkinolo, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), and Jewellers'. Mr. 'Willis is Vice-Chairman of Southgate Urban District Council.

WILLMOTTS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Cases for Opticians, Evesham, Worcs., and 55, Hatton Garden, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works, 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1883 by James Willmott. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1900. Directors: James Willmott (Chairman), Frank J. Willmott and Fred T. Willmott Premises a Erected Factory and removed from Birmingham to Evesham in 1905. Works cover about half an acre. Staff: 102. Specialities: All kinds of Cases suitable for Opticians. Patents: In 1908 and 1909. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: No. 72 Evesham; No. 5096 Holborn, London. Telegraphic Address: " Willmotts, Evesham." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. Mr. James Willmott is a Freeman of the City of London and a member of the Guild of Spectacle Makers Company.

WILLS, C. J., & SONS, Ltd., Contractors, 28, Victoria Street, Westminster, London, S.W.; and Montreal. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1892 by C. J. Wills. Contractor for Public Works, Manchester; altered to C. J. Wills & Sons in 1905; partners, C. J. Wills, A. S. Wills and J. F. Wills. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Directors: C. J. Wills (Chairman), A. S. Wills and J. F. Wills. Branches: Ulceby (Lincs.), Montreal, Port Said and Brindisi. Have carried out numerous important works. Telephone: No. 5622 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Address: " Shovelful, Vic, London." Cable Address: " Shovelful," London, Port Said and Montreal. Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. (London and Manchester).

WILLS (SAMUEL) & CO., Ltd., Varnish, Enamel, and Paint Manufacturers, Castle Green Colour Works, and Avonside Varnish Works, Bristol. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1812 by William Evans & Co. Partnership Successions: (1) Evans, Hurndall & CO.; (2) Hurndall, Hellier & Wills; (3) Hellier, Wills & Hurndall; (4) Hellier & Wills; (5) Samuel Wills & Co. (Samuel D.Wills, J.P., a member of the well-known family of tobacco manufacturers, retired 1903); (6) Samuel Wills & Co., Ltd. Sole Director: Norman Wills. Premises: Castle Green Works are situated within the precincts of Bristol Castle. Branch: Rowland House, 6, Eldon Street, London, E.C. Specialities: Varnish, White Japan, Paints, Colours, and Enamels. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 131 (Castle Green); No. 135 (Avonside) Bristol; No. 6906 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Castle, Bristol." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

WILLS, W. D. & H. O., Branch of the IMPERIAL TOBACCO COMPANY (OF GREAT BRITAIN & IRELAND), Ltd., q.v.

WILSON BROTHERS BOBBIN CO., Ltd., Bobbin and Shuttle Manufacturers and Chemical Manufacturers, Cornholme Works, Garston, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1823 by Lawrence Wilson. Continued by (1) Lawrence Wilson & Sons; (2) Wilson Bros. Incorporated as a Limited Company under style of Wilson Bros., Ltd. Changed to above title. Directors: Thomas Smith Wilson (Chairman), William Haughton, W. T. Ingham, William Cunliffe, John W. Crowther, F. J. Grimmer, and Barton Greenwood. Claim to be the largest makers of Bobbins and Shuttles in the world, and the only firm in the trade possessing an entirely complete equipment, including a Chemical Department for the purpose of utilising waste products, sawdust, &c. Premises Works cover about eighteen and a half acres fully equipped. Staff: Employ 2000 workpeople. Branches Cornholme Mills, Todmorden, Yorks; and 19, Old Millgate, Manchester. Specialities: Bobbins and Shuttles guaranteed of superior quality and uniformity and accuracy. Original Inventors of Sheet Metal Mountings and Protectors. Patents: Numerous in Metal Protectors for Bobbins, Fittings for Shuttles, including the Amerik and Dux Hand Threading Shuttles to obviate Sucking. Awards: Sixty-nine highest, showing a continuous record for upwards of fifty years, including Eight Grands Prix, London, 1910; Brussels, 1910; Roubaix, 1911; Turin, 1911; Turin (Chemical Section—utilization of waste wood), 1911; Ghent, 1913 (Bobbins and Shuttles); Ghent, 1913 (Chemical— waste wood). Connection: World-wide, wherever Textile Industries are carried on. Telephones: Nos. 90 and 169 Garston; No. 110 Lark Lane, Liverpool; No. 7 Todmorden; No. 1687 Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Nugget, Liverpool." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), A 1.

WILSON, C. M., & CO., Cotton Yarn Agents, 5, Greek Steel, Albert Street, Manchester. Hours of Business; 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1860 by Christopher Mounsey Wilson (d. 1895). Succeeded by Thomas Utley, the present principal. Speciality Counts 20' to 200', Twist and Weft. Telephone: No. 592 City. Telegraphic Address; " Grecian, Manchester."

WILSON & CO., BARNSLEY, Ltd., Bobbin Manufacturers, Beevor Works, Barnsley, and 15, Market Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1852 by L. Wilson & Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company 1892. Chairman: W. B. Wilson, J.P. Speci ality: High-class Bobbins, shielded and enamelled for conditioning, used in the Spinning and Manufacture of Cotton, Wool, Silk, and all Textiles. Patent " Lockfast," " Simplex," and "Barnsley Climax," &c, Metal Shields and Slot Protectors applied to all descriptions of Wood Bobbins. Awards; Grand Prize, London, 1908; Diploma of Honour, Brussels, 1910; Liege, 1905. Other Highest Awards: Tourcoing, 1906; St. Louis, 1904, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2 Barnsley. Telegraphic Address: " Wilson, Barnsley." Codes: A 1; A B C. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

WILSON, F. & D., Manufacturers of Poplins, &c., Legrams Sheds and Holme Top Mills, Bradford; 26, Cooper Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Present Principals: Frederick W. Wilson and J. Douglas Wilson. Premises: Extensive, contain 600 Looms. Staff: 400. Specialities: Poplins, Plain or 'Figured, Casement Cloths, Venetians and Brocades. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 3462 and 3463 Bradford; No. 3703 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Silklike, Bradford." Bankers: Bradford District Bank, Ltd.

WILSON, G. L., & CO., Ltd., Merchants and Manufacturers, 522 to 528, High Road, Tottenham, London, N. Hours of Business: Warehouse, 7.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Depots, 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1877 by G. L. Wilson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1887. Directors: R. P. Hawes (Chairman), H. L. Stinson, T. R. Stayers, and G. L. Wilson, F.A.I., F.I.S.E. (Managing Director). Premises: Entirely destroyed by fire in 1904, present building erected in 1905. Staff: Ninety-eight. Branches: White Hart Lane, G.E. Railway, EnAeld G.E. Railway, Waltham Cross, G. E. Railway, High Barnet, G. N. Railway, Wilson's Wharf, Angel Road, Edmonton, River Lea. Business: Builders' Merchants for supplying Ironmongery, Lead and Glass, Oils and Colours, Timber and Doors, Plumbing and Gasfitting and Engineers Work, Lime, Cement, Drain Pipes and all Building Materials. Patents: Situ Paving and Cuto Tiles. Connection: London and Provinces, Scotland, South America, &c. Export trade cultivated. Telephones: No. 9 (six lines) Tottenham. Telegraphic Address: " Wilson's, Tottenham." Code: A B C and New Zebra.

WILSON & GLENNY, Ltd., Woollen Manufacturers and Spinners, Langlands and Ladylaw Mills, Hawick, N.B., and 33, Glasshouse Street, London, W. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1797 by William Wilson and his sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Directors: James Glenny, J.P. (Chairman), Charles John Wilson, J.P., G. H. Wilson, Charles Glenny, George Hood, George Davidson, and James Veitch. Speciality: Scotch Tweeds. Telephone: No. 15 Hawick. Telegraphic Address: " Glenny, Hawick." Bankers: British Linen Bank, Ltd. (Hawick), Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Hawick and London).

WILSON (JAMES) & SON (NOTTINGHAM), Ltd., Hosiers and Outfitters, Carlton Road, Nottingham. H0208 of Business: 7 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established about 100 years ago by James Wilson; succeeded by Alfred Wilson, and later by John Alfred Wilson (son of Alfred Wilson). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Governing Director: John Croshaw Wilson (son of J. A. Wilson). Secretary: Chas. Beeton. Premises: Very extensive, fitted with all the latest improvements. Branches: 85, Fore Street, London; 4, Aytoun Street, Manchester; 72, Virginia Street, Glasgow; 41, Drury Street, Dublin; Cornwall Buildings, Newhall Street, Birmingham; also at Hamburg. Have recently acquired by purchase the business of Gascoigne, Bailey and Clarke, Ltd., late of Robin Hood Street, Nottingham. Stall: About 500. Specialities: All classes of Ladies' and Gentlemen's Underwear, Hose and Half-hose. Connection.: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 3555 and 3556 Nottingham (Private Exchange). Telegraphic Address: " Wilson, Nottingham." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd.

WILSON (JOHN H.) & CO., LIMITED, Engineers and Ironfounders, Dock Road, Seacombe, Birkenhead. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1860 by John H. Wilson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Directors: C. Q. Henriques and Samuel Porter. Premises: Steam Winch and Crane Docks cover over seven acres, fully equipped with modern appliances. Branches: Union Foundry, Commercial Road, Liverpool; 15, Victoria Street, London. Staff: 500. Specialities: Steam and Electrical Cranes, Excavators, Windlasses, Capstans, Winches, Concrete Mixers, Pumps and Boilers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 475 Birkenhead. Telegraphic Address: " Engineers, Liverpool." Codes: A B C; Lieber's; Engineering Telegraph. Bankers: Metropolitan Bank of England and Wales, Ltd.; The Bridge, Walsall.

WILSON, JOHN, & MARSDEN BROTHERS & CO., Manufacturers of Skates, Edge Tools, Saws, Trafalgar Street, Sheffield. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about the year 1696; name of folinder unknown. John Wilson purchased the business of Marsden Bros. in 1895; in 1898 H. J. Haynes and R. Haynes bought the combined businesses of John Wilson & Marsden Bros. & Co.; on H. J. Haynes becoming Chairman of Robert Sorby & Sons, Ltd., he transferred the businesses to that Company. Directors: H. J. Haynes (Chairman and Managing Director), W. H. Parker, Harold Milner. Marsden Bros. made the skates used by Her late Majesty Queen Victoria and the Prince Consort, and John Wilson manufactured the skates presented to T.M. the King and Queen on their marriage by the National Amateur Skating Association. Specialities: Finost Sheffield Skates and Steel Tools. Awards: International Exhibition, 1851; New Zealand, 1865; Edinburgh, 1884; Calcutta, 1884; Edinburgh, 1886; Adelaide, 1887; Melbourne, 1888. Registered Trade-mark of Robert Sorby & Sons, Ltd., " Kangaroo "; of John Wilson and Marsden Brothers & Co., " Greyhound." Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2376 Sheffield. Telegraphic Addresses: " Skates, Sheffield "; " Kangaroo, Sheffield."

WILSON (JOHN) & SON, BELFAST, LIMITED, Manufacturers of Hand-loom Linens, Damask, Cambric, &c., Downshire House, Belfast. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1827 by Robert Wilson. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Premises include Factory, Harry ville, Ballymena; Finishing Works, Whitwell, Belfast. Branches: 129, Buchanan Street, Glasgow; 133, Princes Street, Edinburgh; 63, New Street, Birmingham. Specialities: Hand-embroidered Linens, Handkerchiefs, and Lace of the finest quality. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Addresses: " Wilson's Linens, Belfast "; " Damask, Glasgow "; " Lace, Edinburgh "; " Cambric, Birmingham "; " Linen, Ballymena." Bankers: Northern Banking Co., Ltd. (Belfast).

WILSON (JOSEPH & HENRY), Ltd., Snuff Manufacturers, Westbrook Mill, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1830 by Henry Wilson (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Rev. A. A. Harland and A. Harland. Staff: Twenty. Speciality: Celebrated Top Mill Snuffs. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 759 Sheffield.

WILSON (JOSHUA) & BROTHERS, Ltd., Wholesale Grocers, Provision Merchants, Chicory Manufacturers and Sugar Millers, Walton Lane, Grey Street, Sunderland. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1761 by Caleb Wilson. Incorporated as a • Limited Company in 1906. Directors: T. E. Pumphrey, J.P. (Governing Director), E. H. Pumphrey, A. P. M'Clelland, L. Wilson, S. W. Pumphrey, Leonard Pum.phrey. One of the oldest houses in the trade. Premises: Chief Offices at Sunderland comprise large block of Warehouses and Factory in Walton Lane; Bonded Warehouse in Coronation Street; Stables, &c., in N. Durham Street. Stall: Over 130. Branch: 18, " Side," Newcastle-on-Tyne. Specialities: Packet Goods, Chicory, Teas, Coffee, General Groceries, and Provisions. Connection: United Kingdom. Tele-phones: Nos. 1761 and 133 (National) Sunderland. Telegraphic Address: " Wilsons, Sunderland." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

WILSON (JOSHUA) & SONS, Ltd., Worsted Coating and Suiting Manufacturers, Bean Ing Mills, Wellington Street, Leeds. Hours of Business: Mills, 6 a.m. to 5.15 p.m.; Warehouse, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1874 by Joshua Wilson, Joshua Wilson (jun.), Sam Wilson, J.P., John Wm. Wilson, J.P. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Directors: Sam Wilson, J.P. (Chairman), John Wm. Wilson, J.P., Gladstone Wilson. Premises: Cover 21,000 sq. yds. of floor space, equipped with modern machinery and up-to-date appliances. Staff: 1,000. London Office: 5, Golden Square, W. Specialities: Fine Worsted Coatings and Suitings for Men's Wear. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 321 (Mill), No. 2093 (Warehouse) Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Joshua, Leeds." Bankers: Beckett & Co. (Leeds).

WILSON, P. G., Jeweller, 50, Church Street, Inverness. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1864 by P. G. Wilson, the present principal. Business: Manufacture of Scotch Jewellery and Highland Ornaments to the principal Courts of Europe. Chief purchaser of the gold found in Sutherlandshire in 1869; manufactures Sutherland Gold Jewellery, the only native Gold Jewellery introduced in the United Kingdom. Patents: Many registered designs in Rings, Brooches, etc.; one Pendant. Connection: United Kingdom, America, Canada, India, South Africa, &c. Held Royal Warrants to their late Majesties Queen Victoria and King Edward VII. Telegraphic Address: " ilson, Jeweller, Inverness."

WILSON (ROBERT) & SONS, Makers of Steel Castings and Colliery Plant, Forge and Steel Works, Bishop Auckland, Durham. Hours of Business: Always open for emergency work, such as machinery break-down at collieries. Established in 1842 by David Hope. Partnership Successions: (1) Robert Wilson, 1860; (2) Robert Wilson & Sons, 1882. Present Principals: Robert Wilson, M. Stokoe Hall, Thomas Wilson and Stephen Wilson. Premises: Works cover over six acres; well equipped with all the latest improvements. Staff: About 400. Speciality: Stone and Coal Boring Machines. Bore Rods for using against old workings. Patents: Connected with Stone and Coal Boring Machines. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 41 (National); No. 12 (Post Office), Bishop Auckland. Telegraphic Address . " Wilsons, Forge."

WILSON ROLLING SHUTTER CO., Ltd., (THE), Makers of Rolling Shutters, Blinds, &c., St. John's House, Minories, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1903 by the late Mountain Gibson, Ltd., of Bury, Lancs., as agents for the James G. Wilson Co., of New York. Formed into an independent business in 1910 under the style of The Wilson Rolling Shutter Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Branches: Man choster, 77, King Street; Glasgow, 54, Gordon Street. Specialities: Rolling Steel Shutters of the Interlocking Type, Fire Proof Shutters, Automatically Con trolled Shutters. Introduced and developed a E;pecial type of Automatically Controlled Fire Preventing Shutter. Patents: Several. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 729 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Shurolter, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Lieber's, Western Union.

WILSON, R. & W., & SONS, Ltd., Bath Manufacturers, Tinplate Workers and Japanners, 102, Wardour Street, W., and 179, Bermondsey Street, London, S.E . Established in 1840 by R. and W. Wilson. Purchased by C. Clarke. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1886. Direc tors: Charles Clarke (Chairman), F. J. Gill. The Company acquired the busi ness of B. Perkins & Son in 1906, and removed the Works from Wardour Street to Bermondsey. Premises well equipped. Stall: 300, total. Business: Manufacture of Tin Goods, Baths, &c. Patmts: Lawn Tennis Stands, Tea Pots, Toilet Can Racks, Water Pots, Travellers' Novelties, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial (Wholesale only). Telephones: No. 644 Hop; No. 5305 Gerrard; No. 713 Central. Tele graphic Addresses: "Prizebaths, London"; " Bathworks, London." Mr. C. Clarke is a member of the Tinplate Workers Company.

WILSON & STAFFORD, Ltd., Felt Hat Manufacturers, Atherstone, and 15, Hamsell Street, Cripplegate, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1872 by William Wilson and Richard Stafford. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1890. Directors: Richard Stafford (Managing Director and Chairman ), H. A. Stafford and W. D. Stafford. Premises: Cover kur to five acres, equipped with modern. appliances. Staff: About 400. Specialities: Men's and Boys' Felt Hats and Ladies' Felt and Beaver Hats. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government and to various Corporations. Telephone: No. 26 Atherstone. Telegraphic Address: " Wilstaff, Atherstone." Code: A B C. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd., Atherstone. Mr. Stafford was Chairman of the Parish Council for nine years, and has been a member of the District Council and Board of Guardians for many years.

WILSON & STOCKALL, Ambulance Specialists, Bury, Lancashire. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 12 p.m. Established in 1876. Present Principals: Thomas Wilson, J.P., Frederick John Stockall. Staff: About 100. Specialities: Ambulances, Motor and Horse, Ambulance Vans, First Class Accident Ambulances, Patent Brougham Ambulances, which close up like private carriages, Two Wheel Litters, Hand and Pony Litters, Collapsible Stretchers, &c. Patents: Several valuable ones. Awards: At leading Exhibitions. Connection: Home, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 296 Bury. Telegraphic Address: " Ambulance, Bury." Mr. Wilson is a Justice of the Peace and Director of the Bury Chamber of Commerce.

WILSON, THOS., & CO., East India Merchants and Engineers, 11, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1878 by John Fleming, C.S.I. (d.), and Thomas Wilson, the present principal. Speciality: All classes of Engineering Materials. Telephone: No. 5274 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Locund, London." Cable Address: " Morelos, London."

WILSON, THOS., SONS & CO., Ltd., Shipowners. Head Office: Commercial Road, Hull. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established upwards of seventy years ago by Thomas Wilson (d.). Charles H. Wilson (d.) and Arthur Wilson (d.) joined in 1860, and conducted the entire management. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1891. Directors: E. Kenneth Wilson (Chairman), Lord Nunburnholme (Deputy - Chairman), Oswald Sanderson (Managing Director), Clive H. A. Wilson, Hon. Guy G. Wilson, M.P. Claim to be considered the largest private shipowning firm in the world. Branches: London, Manchester, Sheffield, Leeds, Birmingham, Grimsby, Stoke-on-Trent. Business: Ship-owning, Forwarding of Goods, and Underwriting. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 2180 to 2190 (National), Nos. 968 to 972 (Corporation), Head Office. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Wilsons, Hull." Codes: Scott's, Watkins', A B C. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. Lord Nunburnholme is Lord Lieutenant of the East Riding of Yorkshire. The Hon. Guy G. Wilson is M.P. for West Hull.

WILSON (WALTER) & SONS, Hosiery Manufacturers, 7 and 9, Allan Crescent, Hawick, Scotland. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established in 1787 by William Wilson. Present Principals: Walter Francis Wilson and Fritz Aubrey Wilson. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Extensive and well fitted. Staff: 140. Branch: Teviot Road, Hawick. Business: Manufacture of Hosiery. Telephone: No. 400 Hawick. Telegraphic Address: " Handmade, Hawick."

WILSON'S (RIDER) TABLE WATERS, Ltd.—See RIDER WILSON'S TABLE WATERS, Ltd.

WILSONS & CO., Snuff Manufacturers, Sharrow Mills, Sharrow Vale Road, Sheffield.

WILSONS & NORTH-EASTERN RAILWAY SHIPPING CO., Ltd., Shipowners and Forwarding Agents, Commercial Road, Hull. Hours of Business: Vary to suit the trades; 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. for general business. Established in 1906 by Thos. Wilson, Sons & Co., Ltd., and the NorthEastern Railway, and incorporated as a Limited Company in the same year. Directors: Oswald Sanderson (Chairman), William C. Gray, A. Kaye Butterworth, E. Kenneth Wilson, Sir Hugh Bell, Bart„ and Lord Nunburnholme. Branches: London, Leeds, Manchester, Sheffield, Birmingham, Liverpool, Stoke-on-Trent. Company maintains regular Steam Communication between Hull and Hamburg, Antwerp, Ghent, and Dunkirk. Connection: United Kingdom and the Continent. Telephones: Nos. 2180, 2190 (National), and 968 to 972 Corporation, Hull. Telegraphic Address: " Wilsons, Hull." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Hull).

WILTS UNITED DAIRIES, Ltd., (THE), Wholesale Dairymen and Dairy Produce, and Fancy Provision Merchants, Trowbridge, Wilts. Hours of Business: Summer, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Winter, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. London, Summer, 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Winter, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.- Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897 as the amalgamation of various businesses with The North Wilts Dairy Co., Ltd. Directors: R. R. F. Butler (Managing Director), J. H. Maggs (London), P. E. Butler (Country),. Secretary: H. Pemberton, A.C.A. Premises: Eight main Country Branches, with three small Branches and six in London, comprising Caine, Frome, Gillingham, Melksham, Tisbury, Devizes, Bridgwater, Wells, and Bason Bridge. London, 93, Albert Embankment, S.E., 100, Kensal Road, W.; 18A, Newport Street, S.E.; Wakefield Street, King's Cross, N.; Bakers Lane, Ealing, W.; and 22, King's Street West, Smithfield, E.C. Staff: Country, 250; London, 200. Staff Club: Football and Cricket in the country. Business: The Sale of Milk and Cream (wholesale only). Condensed Milk (Diploma Brand). Special Brands of Cheese and Butter, Clotted and Thick Cream, Fancy Provisions and Dairy Produce. Awards: Over 100 Gold Medals for Dairy Produce, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: No. 106 Trowbridge; No. 75, Bridgwater; No. 2 Devizes; No. 19 Frome; No. 4550 Hop (Albert Embankment) ' • No. 4596 Paddington (Kensal Road); No. 1676 Holborn (King's Cross); No. 348 Ealing; No. 489 Holborn (Smithfield), London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Dairy, Trowbridge "; Galactic, London "; " Moonraker, London."

WINDEBANK (OSCAR) & SON, Timber Merchants, Victoria Saw Mills, Bath. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1868 by Oscar Windebank. Business: Importers and Railway Contractors in Mahogany and Hardwoods. Contractors to H.M. Government (War Office).

WINDSCHUEGL, CHAS., & CO., Merchants, 1, Leadenhall Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1890, by Charles Windschuegl, the present principal. Staff: Eighteen clerks. Speciality: Chemical and Oil Importers and Exporters. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1624 Avenue; Nos. 1075 and 1076 City; No. 124 Sidcup (private). Cable Address " Windschuegl, London." Code: A B C. Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. (Birchin Lane, E.C.).

WINGATE, W., & JOHNSTON, Ltd., Steamship and Railway Agents, Shipping and Forwarding Agents, 17, 18, Aldersgate Street, and 11, 12, Falcon Avenue, London, E.C.; 29, Monkwell Street, E.C.; 19, Steward Street, E. How's of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1815 by William Wingate. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Managing Director: Sir Charles Johnston. Branches: Liverpool, Manchester, Southampton, Bradford, Glasgow, Paris, Winnipeg. Are the European Agents of the Lehigh Valley Railroad Co. of America. Are Passenger Agents for all the principal Lines of Steamers; Ship and Forward Goods of all descriptions, Live Stock, &c., to any part of the world. Packing undertaken; Insurances effected; Cartage, Lighterage, Warehousing, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, American, Colonial. Telephones: No. 177 Bank • No. 8802 Central. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Winjohn, London:" Sir Charles Johnston is an Alderman of the City of London (Aldersgate Ward).

WINGFIELD, ROWBOTHAM & CO., Manufacturers of Crucible Steel, Saws, Files, Table and Pocket Knives, Table Cutlery, Scissors, Razors, Edge Tools and Electroplate, Suffolk Road, Sheffield. London Showrooms: 56, Holborn Viaduct, E.C. Established in 1751 by a member of the Wingfield family; continued by several successors of different names. Present Principals: Albert John Hobson, Wilfred Hobson. Specialities: Finest quality Saws, Files, Cutlery of all kinds, Edge Tools and Electro-plate. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial, chiefly Australia and New Zealand. Telephones: No. 2339 Sheffield; No. 5691 London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Wingfield, Sheffield "; " Rowbotham, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

WINKLE, F., & CO., Ltd., Earthenware Manufacturers, Colonial Pottery, Stoke-on-Trent. Showroom: 13, Charterhouse Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1880 by Frederick Winkle. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1910. Directors: A. E. Winkle and L. H. Winkle (sons). Premises: Originally at Hanley. Present Works erected in 1888. Building is situated on either side of the Trent & Mersey Canal. Staff: 600. Specialities: High-class decorative domestic earthenware; also Sanitary Ware and Diamond Enamelled Fireclay and Earthenware. Own a large number of registered designs, both of patterns and shapes. Connection,: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 751 Stoke-on-Trent. Telegraphic Address: " Winkle, Stoke-on-Trent." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers; Lloyds Bank Limited.

WINTERBOTTOM BOOK CLOTH CO., Ltd. (THE), Manufacturers. Registered Office: 12, Newton Street, Manchester. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Directors: G. H. Winterbottom (Chairman), F. Taylor (Vice-Chairman), A. W. Bentley, A. F. Bentley, E. C. Bucklin, G. W. Dunstan, W. D. Winterbottom, C. Dodd, M. Brickhill. Secretary: M. Brickhill. Was formed to consolidate the businesses of the following book cloth manufacturers: Archibald Winterbottom & Sons, Manchester; Samuel Dewhurst & Co., Ltd., Salford; Wilson & Bentleys, London; Law, Sons & Co., Foots Cray; John H Gartside & Co., Ltd., Dukinfield and Stalybridge (so far as it related to book cloth); Samuel Barlow & Co., Ltd., Manchester; W. R. C. Gouldon & Co., Manchester; The Interlaken Mills, Rhode Island, U.S.A.; and J J. Weber & - Co., Bamberg, Germany. Branches: London 51 and 52, Aldersgate Street, E.C., and 62, Friday Street, E.C. (Dress and Dyed Goods Department); Glasgow: 27, Cadogan Street; Edinburgh: 13, North Bank Street; Sydney, New South Wales: 58, Margaret Street; Dusseldorf: 77, Kronprinzenstrasse. Specialities: Book Cloth and Tracing Cloth. Are also Merchants in Dress and Dyed Cotton Goods. Telegraphic Addresses " Floval," Manchester,:London, Glasgow, Dusseldorf.

WINTON, W. M., & CO., Ltd., Golf' Goods Manufacturers and Factors, Hemp Row, Chatham Street, Walworth, London, S.E. Factories .‘ London and Montrose. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1911. Directors: W. M. Winton and A. K. Clayson Joint•Managing Directors), W. G. Jefferys (Chairman), W. J. R. James. Specialities: Air-dried Hickory Shafts and Persimmon Blocks, Celebrated Diamond brand Iron heads. Sole makers of E. Ray, Alex Herd, and J. Gassiat Clubs. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 1177 Hop, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Idendom, London." Bankers: London and South-Western Bank, Ltd.

WITHERS (SAMUEL) & CO., Ltd., Safe and Strong Room Manufacturers, Park Works, West Bromwich. London Address: 11, Dyers Buildings, Holborn, W.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12.30 p.m. Established in 1843 by the late George Withers. Succeeded by Samuel Withers, J.P. (son). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. Directors: George A. Withers (Chairman), F. Sidney Withers, Warwick E. Withers, Frederic A. Withers (sons of Samuel Withers). Premises: Works situated on the Old Oak House Estate. George Withers, founder of the firm, invented the Composite Steel Plate now used by all high-class makers, and he exhibited a safe so constructed at the London Exhibition of 1862. Staff: 150. Specialities: Safes and Strong Rooms. Awards: Medals, 1889-90, 1891, 1892, 1895, 1901, 1905 and 1907 at, the leading exhibitions. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government and to the Government of South Africa. Telephones: No. 122 West Bromwich; No. 962 Holborn, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Safes, West Bromwich "; " Postulate, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd., West Bromwich. Mr. Samuel Withers was formerly a member of the West Bromwich Town Council and of the Board of Guardians. He is a Justice of the Peace.

WOLF, W., & SONS, Cotton and Cotton Waste Importers and Exporters of all classes of Cotton and Cotton Waste for Spinning, Bleaching, and Wadding, &c., Manchester and Burnley. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1830. Premises: Extensive well-equipped Factories; Works at Stuttgart (Germany), Rouen (France), Monza (Italy), Boston, Mass., Philadelphia, Shanghai and Bombay. Staff: 2000. Business: Cotton and Cotton Waste Merchants, Importers and Exporters. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 17 City, No. 644 City, Manchester; No. 533 Burnley. Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Union Bank of Manchester, Ltd.

WOLFHILL SPINNING CO., Ltd., Spinners of Flax Yarns, Bedford Street, Belfast. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1852. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: John Malone, F. W. Finlay, John Frame, and Clarence Finlay. Premises: Extensive, containing 22,000 spindles. Staff: 800. Specialities: Prime Warp Flax Yarns for Linens, Damasks and Threads. Connection: United Kingdom, France, Belgium, Germany, Italy and Austria. Telephone: No. 4087 Belfast. Telegraphic Address: " Wolfhill, Belfast." Bankers: Northern Banking Co., Ltd. (Belfast).

WOLSELEY TOOL & MOTOR CAR CO., Ltd., (THE), Builders of Motor Cars, Motor Boats, &c., Adderley Park, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: Douglas Vickers, Lieut. Sir Arthur Trevor Dawson, R.N., Hon. Stuart- Pleydell Bouverie, Sir Vincent Caillard (Chairman), Ernest Hopwood, Francis H. Barker, Arthur McCormack, V. C. Vickers, B. L. P. Caillard. Secretary: Alexis Jacob. Premises: Head Office, Registered Office, and Works at above address. Depots: York Street, Westminster, London, S.W.; Columbine Yard, East Cowes, Isle of Wight; ' 81, Avenue Road, Toronto, Canada; and at corner Hughes and Sandhurst Road, Bombay, India. Business: Makers of " Wolseley " Auto-cars, and of Motor Vehicles for all industrial purposes, including Omnibuses, Cabs, Landaulettes, Lorries, Vans, Ambulance Waggons; also of Marine Engines from 12 to 500 h.p., Motor Boats, Yachts' Pinnaces, Motor Launches, &c. Number of people employed, over 4,000—believed to be the largest number employed by any Motor manufacturing firm in Great Britain. The Proprietors of the Company are Vickers, Ltd., whose steels are used for its products. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, Board of Works, Colonial Office. India Office). Royal Warrant: To H.M. Queen Alexandra. Telephone: No. 6153 Central (seven lines), Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Exactitude, Birmingham." Codes: A B C (5th Edition); Lieber's; Western Union. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Birmingham.

WOLSTENCROFT (WALTER) & CO., AND ALLIANCE MANUFACTURING CO., Manufacturers, &c., Dolphin Street, Ardwick, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established: The Retail branch by M. Wolstencroft in 1865; Wholesale in 1885. Continued by W. Wolstencroft as W. Wolstencroft & Co. Present Principals: Walter Wolstencroft and Robert Allen Wolstencroft. Premises: The buildings in Dolphin Street were erected by the firm in 1905. Branches: London, 24, Gutter Lane, Cheapside, E.C.; Birmingham, 174, Corporation Street (R. Mitchell); Glasgow, 81, Virginia Street; Belfast, 4, Waring Street (R. Fegan). Business: Manufacturers. Trade Marks for Garments: " Electa " and " Delex." Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephoner No. 4647 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: "Patience, Manchester." Code: A B C. Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd.

WOLTON (ARTHUR) & SONS, Hop Merchants, 78, Borough High Street, Southwark, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1841 by the late John Hyem Wolton, J.P. Became on his decease Wolton, Son & Co.; title altered in 1899 to present form. Pre sent Principals: Percival Wolton and Sidney Arthur Wolton (grandsons of the founder). Premises: Extensive Hop Warehouses adjoining the Office, and capable of containing 15,000 packages of hops under one roof. Hydraulic Machinery has been introduced for compressing hops for export. Business: General Hop Merchants; also dealers in Isinglass. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 218 Hop. Telegraphic Address: " Flavorous, London.". Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd., Southwark, and 54, Lombard Street, E.C.

WOMERSLEY (ANDREW) & SON, Oil and Grease Manufacturers, Mill Lane Works, Bradford. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 7 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1889 by the late Andrew Womersley (d. 1900). Present Principal: Andrew Ernest Womersley (son). Branch: Ludlam Street, Bradford. Specialities: Recovered Wool Grease, Wool Oils, Oleines, Stearines, and Fats, special Greases and Oil for Leather Trade. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 854 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Oilman, Bradford." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Lieber's, Private. Bankers: Halifax Commercial Banking Co., Bradford.

WOOD BROTHERS & SONS, LIMITED, Silk Spinners, Thornhill Briggs Mills, Brighouse. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1882 by Matthew Wood, Arthur Wood, and Thomas Herbert Wood. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: Matthew Wood, Thomas Herbert Wood (Managing Director), Ernest Reginald Wood. Premises: Extensive and well equipped. Staff: 600. Speciality: Spun Silk Yarns for all purposes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 57 Brighouse. Telegraphic Address: " Silk, Brighouse." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

WOOD & FAIRWEATHER, Lamp and Vegetable Black Manufacturers, and Iron Ore Merchants, Consett Chambers, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1802 by Richard Hoyle, afterwards trading as Richard Hoyle & Co. Present Principals: Philip Sligh Wood and John Fairweather. Business: Manufacture of Lamp and Vegetable Blacks, and Iron Ore Merchants. Telephones: No. 496 (City); No. 1113 (Central) Newcastle-on-Tyne. Telegraphic Address: " Hoyle, Newcastle-on-Tyne." 3 u Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited, Quayside, Newcastle-on-Tyne.

WOOD, FIELD & HANBURY, Hop Merchants, 25, Mark Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established over a century ago. Present Principals: Lionel Henry Hanbury, Cuthbert Arthur Morris Field, Edward Robert Atkins, and Nigel Hanbury. Business: Hop Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4801 Central, London. Telegraphic Address; " Woodbury, London." Code: A B C. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited; National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. Sir Matthew•Wood was Lord Mayor of London. Mr. Lionel H. Hanbury is a Director of the Bank of England.

WOOD (GILBERT) & CO., Ltd., Newspaper Proprietors and Publishers; Publishers of " The Architect and Contract Reporter," 6, 11, Imperial Buildings, Ludgate Circus, London, E.C., and 102, Colmore Row, Birmingham. Established in 1869 by Gilbert Wood. " The Builders' Reporter and Engineering Times," established 1857; " The Building Trade," 1906. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: P. A. Gilbert Wood (Chairman), M. Gilbert Wood, W. D. Borland. Secretary: The Hon. Norman Carew - Dundas. Capital: £30,000. Specialities: Fine Friezes and Art Productions. " The Architect " (Editor, F. R Farrow, F.R.I.B.A.), the principal journal issued, was established in 1869. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4725 Holborn. Telegraphic Address: " Architect Newspaper, London." Bankers: Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co.

WOOD, HENTZEN & SCHLUNDT, Wool Merchants, La Plata House, Sunbridge Road, Bradford. Hours of Business: Usual. Present Principals: Arthur Hentzen and Ewald Schlundt. Branches: At Leipzig and Tourcoing. Business: Wool Merchants. Telephones: Nos. 2907 and 2908 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Woodbine, Bradford." Bankers: West Yorkshire Bank, Ltd. (Union Bank Branch).

WOOD, JOHN & EDWARD, Engineers, Ironfounders, &c., Victoria Foundry, Bolton. Established in 1837. Specialities: Steam Engines; Mill Gearing; Superheaters. Patents: Corliss Valve Gears; Superheaters. Connection; United Kingdom? Foreign, Colonial. On Admiralty List of contractors. Telephone: No. 413 Bolton. Telegraphic Address: " Woods, Bolton." Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd.

WOOD (JOHN) & SONS (WISEWOOD), Ltd., Wisewood Steel Works, Sheffield. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1867 by the late John Wood, of Oughtibridge. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: Joseph Wood (Chairman), John Thos. Wood (ViceChairman and Secretary), William Henry Wood, John Thos. Wood, jun., Harry Wood, Horace E. Wood. Firm started one of the first Tilts and Forges established in the district. Premises: Extensive; Works cover about seven acres, fully equipped with up-to-date machinery and appliances. Business Forgers, Tilters, Double Shear Makers, and Rollers of Cast Steel, &c. Steel supplied in, all its branches to the trade. Telephone: Nos. 53 and 54 Owlerton. Bankers: Sheffield and Hallamshire Bank, Ltd.

WOOD (JOSEPH) & CO., Manufacturers and Merchants, 10, Swaine Street, Bradford. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1872 by Joseph Wood. Present Principals: Wilfrid P. Wood and Oswald 1. Wood (sons of founder). Branches: London, Glasgow, Bristol, Manchester. Specialities: Wholesale Cotton Linings, Upholstery Linings, Casement Cloths, &c., for the Far East. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1470 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Bois, Bradford." Bankers: West Yorkshire Bank, Ltd.

WOOD (MATTHEW) & SON, LTD., Wine and Spirit Merchants, Victoria Buildings, Fowler Street, South Shields. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1780 by Matthew Wood. Partnership Successions (1) Christopher Wood; (2) Matthew Wood. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: Herbert Maxwell Wood (Managing Director), Christopher William Wood, Thomas Walter Coning. Ono of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Market Place Brewery, and Victoria Buildings, South Shields. Specialities: Winos and Spirits. Telephones: Nos. 235 and 533 South Shields.

WOOD & PARKER, South African Merchants, 2, East India Avenue, London, E.C. How's of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1868 by David Peebles Wood and Archibald Parker, of Glasgow. Present Principals: A. M. Campbell, John A. Douglas Parker, Goo. Clive Parker, John Campbell, Thos. L. Livingstone. Ono of the principal merchant firms engaged in the South African trade. Business: Ex-porters to South Africa of all classes of English goods except liquors. Importers of Wool, Mohair, and Maize. Connection: United Kingdom, South Africa. Telephone: No. 50 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Umtata, London." Bankers: National Bank of Scotland.

WOOD, SKINNER & CO., LIMITED, Ship Builders and Repairers, Bill Quay, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: Office 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. (Telephones day and night.) Established by William Wood and James Skinner. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: Wm. Wood (Chairman), James Skinner, Leslie Skinner. Premises: Large Shipbuilding yard containing four berths accommodating vessels up to 450 feet. Business: Shipbuilding and Repairing. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty). Telephones: No. 1237 Central; No. 3 (Post Office), Felling. Telegraphic Address: " Winners, Bill Quay." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited, Grey Street, Newcastle-on-Tyne.

WOOD & SONS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Earthenware, Trent and New Wharf Potteries, Burslem, Staffs. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1865 by Wood Son & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1910. Directors: T. F. Wood (Chairman), H. F. Wood, A. C. Wood. Premises: Extend over three acres. Staff: 900. Specialities: Dinner, Tea and Toilet Ware. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 315 Burslem. Telegraphic Address: " Woods, Burslem." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Lieber's. Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd. (Burslem).

WOOD, T. B., & SON, Ltd., Cotton Spinners, Park Mill, Middleton. Hours of Business: Mill, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established about 1857 by Thos. B. Wood. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1892. Directors: Wm. Hy. Wood, Edgar Wood, Mrs. M. Sykes, W. M. Wiggins, J.P. (Managing Director). Business Cotton Spinners. Telephone: No. 24 Middleton. Telegraphic Address: " Wood, Spinners, Middleton." Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd.

WOOD, T. F., & CO., General Carriers and Wharfingers, Albion Wharf, York, and Wellington Street, Hull. Hours of Busi ness: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established about seventy years ago, and continued by the same family. Present Principal: Cecil E. Wood. Business: General Carriers and Wharfingers. Telephones: No. 79 York; No. 1677 Corporation, Hull. Telegraphic Address: " Wood, York." Bankers: ' Barclay & td. Mr. Wood is a Major in the 5th Co.,Batt. West Yorkshire Regiment.

WOOD, VINCENT, Manufacturer of Surgical Appliances, Victoria House, 4, Albion Place, Blackfriars Bridge, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1837 by James Wood (deceased); the firm being James Wood & Co. Present Principal: Vincent Wood, son of the founder. Believed to be the largest manufacturer of Surgical Appli ances in, the Kingdom. Staff:. Nearly 100. Also extensive Freehold Factory at Carlton, Nottingham, where the busi ness is conducted under the style of Thomas Glover & Son. Specialities: In, London the manufacture of Trusses, Belts, Binders, Elastic Hosiery, and Surgi cal Appliances. Sole wholesale consignee of the ' Eureka " Crêpe Velpeau Band ages, and Vinode Medicated Wool. At Nottingham the entire building is devoted to the manufacture of the firm's articles from the raw materials. All kinds of Rubber Goods made. Seamless and other Elastic Hosiery, Elastic Webbing and Bandages, covered Elastic Cord for Carding purposes, and for making Elastic Hosiery, Surgical Appliances, Hot Water Bottles, Enemas, Chest Expanding Braces, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, France, Italy, all British Colonies, &c. Telephones: No. 2113 Hop; No. 12 Carlton, Notting ham. Telegraphic Address: " Acme, London."

WOOD, WM., & SON, Ltd., Horticultural Specialists,Estate and Garden Contractors, North British Wharf, Wood Green, London, N. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to .1 p.m. Established in 1850 by the late Wm. Wood. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Directors: James L. Wood (son of founder, Managing Director), A. J. Wood, S. C. Wood (grandsons of founder), J. M. Jones. Premises: Cover two acres. Office Stall: Thirty. Business: (1) Estate and Garden Contracting; Landscape Gardening in all branches; Horticultural Building, Hot Water Engineering. Specialists in Rock and Water Gardens, Stone Temples, Summer Houses, Pergolas, &c. (2) Manures and 3 u 2 Fertilisers for all purposes; (3) Soils and Composts for all plant life; (4) Chemistry, including Insecticides, Fungicides, Weed Killers, &c.; (5) Implements—Horticultural, Forestry, &c.—including Spraying Machines, Mowing Machines, Motor Mower Machines; (6) Wire Goods, Garden Pavilions, Rose Temples, Wire Fencing, Tree Guards, Wire Rope, Barbed Wire and Netting, Fruit Enclosures. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to H.M. the King and H.M. Queen Alexandra. Telephones: Nos. 377 and 378 Palmers Green. Telegraphic Address: " Fungheto, Wood, London."

WOOD - MILNE, Ltd., Manufacturers of Rubber Heels, Motor Tyres and MotorCycle Tyres, Ribble Bank Mills, Preston; Ajax Rubber Works, Leyland; 6, 7, and 8, Manchester Avenue, Aldersgate Street, London,; 10, Waterloo Street, Glasgow; 149, Donegal Street, Belfast; 36, Narrow Wine Street, Bristol; Depot Road, Middlesbrough; 33, Sandhill, Newcastle-on-Tyne; 194, Corporation Street, Birmingham; 3, Fleet Street, Dublin. Hours of Business: Factories, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 12 noon; Office, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1896 by T. H. Roberts. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Chairman and Managing Director: T. H. Roberts, J.P. Claim to be the Inventors and Pioneers of Rubber Heels, and to have the largest manufacture in the world. Specialities: Rubber Heels, Tips, Pneumatic Tyres for Motor Cars and Motor-Cycles, Solid Motor Tyres Shoeshines, Golf Balls, Footpumps for Motor Tyres. General Rubber Goods. Telephones: No. 413 Preston (two lines); Nos. 4797 and 4798 City, London; No. 676 Central, Glasgow; No. 297 Belfast; No. 4354 Bristol; No. 2156 Midland, Birmingham; No. 454 Middlesbrough; No. 2884 Central, Newcastle-on-Tyne; No. 3709 Dublin. Telegraphic Addresses: " Comfort, Preston "; " Byturning, London "; " Wudmiln, Glasgow "; " Ribbed, Bristol "; " Flexible, Birmingham "; " Stephenson, Middlesbrough "; " Optic, Newcastle-on-Tyne "; " Woodmilne, Dublin."

WOODBRIDGE & CO., Ltd., General Forwarding and Shipping Agents, 81, Long Lane, Aldersgate, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established first at 6, Rue la Condamine, Paris, by Edward Woodbridge, as Removal and Storage Contractors, extended to London in 1911, and to embrace General Transports. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1912. Managing Director: Edward Woodbridge. The founder E. Woodbridge was for twentyfive years with Stockwell & Co., Ltd., General Carriers, in London and in Paris, and was commonly called their " Organiser." Branches: 1, Rue Marsollier, Paris (Transports); 6, Rue la Condamine, Paris (Removals); 3, Marshall Street, Regent Street, W., and 187, Kingsland Road, N.E. Business: Mail Parcel Services to Continental Countries, Organising and Shipment of Removals to all parts of the world. Connection: General business is being done with own branches in Paris and with agencies in almost every town and city on the Continent. Contractors to H.M. Government Board of Trade (Exhibit:0ns Branch) and to the British Arts and Crafts Exhibition held in Paris, 1914. Telephone: No. 9485 City, London. Telegraphic Address: " Transwood-Barb, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd., Smithfield Branch.

WOODCOCK (THOMAS) & SONS, Manufacturers of Sterling Silver, Nickel Silver, Britannia Metal and Electro-Silver Plate, Norfolk Place, 43, Suffolk Road, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1871 by Thomas Woodcock, W. R. Hardy and Joshua Ridge, under the style Ridge, Woodcock • & Hardy. Continued as Woodcock & Hardy. Changed later to present style. Present Principal: Thomas Woodcock. Specialities: Britannia Metal Goods and Electro Plate of all descriptions, also Cutlery of every description manufactured. Patent: Teapots with registered strainers. Award: Honorable mention, Paris Exhibition, 1878, for superiority of goods exhibited. Connection: United Kingdom, the Colonies and the Continent of Europe amongst business firms. Telephone: No. 2229 Sheffield.

WOODGER BROTHERS, Fish Salesmen, 9, Lower Thames Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 5 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1849 by Edward Woodger at Lowestoft. Continued by his sons. Present Principals: Thomas White Woodger (London), John Woodger, . of Edward Woodger & Son (Lowestoft). Claim to have originated the Kippered Herring. Branches: Lowestoft, Hull, Scarborough, St. Ives, Peterhead, and Stornoway. Specialities: Kippers, Bloaters, Salted and Fresh Herrings, Mackerel, Red Herrings and Export Cure. Awards: Silver Medals, Norwich Exhibition, 1881, London, 1883, and Edinburgh, 1882. Connection: United Kingdom and the Colonies. Telephones: No. City 5804, London; No. 218 Lowestoft; No. 2122 (Corporation) Hull.

WOODGER (CHARLES) & CO., Herring and Mackerel Merchants, 39, Monument Street, Billingsgate, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 5 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1902 by Charles Woodger, the present principal. Staff: Unlimited, according to trade demands and season of year. Branches: N. Shields, Hull, Grimsby, Lowestoft, Plymouth and Newlyn. Business: Herring and Mackerel Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 10830 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: Charles Woodger, Billingsgate, London." Code: A B C.

WOODGER (EDWARD) & SON, Wholesale Herring Merchants and Exporters, Lowestoft. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1849 by Edward Woodger. Branches: Stornoway, Peterhead, Scarborough, Hull, St. Ives (Cornwall). Business: Herring and Kipper Exporting. Awards: First Prize and Silver Medal, Norwich, 1881; Silver Medal, Edinburgh, 1882; Silver Medal and Diplomas, London, 1883. Telephone: No. 218 Lowestoft. Telegraphic Address: "Edward Woodger, Lowestoft."

WOODHEAD & CO., Navy Agents and Bankers, 44, Charing Cross, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1816. Present Principals: William Thomas Western and Herbert Frederick Guinness. Business: Navy Agents and Bankers. Telephone: No. 1526 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Address: " Neva, Westrand, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Unicode, Lieber's, Moreing Neale.

WOODHOUSE & CO., Marsala Wine Growers and Shippers, 3, Cross Lane, London, E.C. Established in 1773 by John Woodhouse. The firm held a contract with Lord Nelson in 1800 to supply the British Fleet with 500 pipes of Marsala Wine, and the original agreement in Nelson's handwriting is in their possession. Speciality: Marsala Wine. Branches: Marsala (Sicily), Malta, and Liverpool. Connection: World - wide. Are purveyors by Royal Warrant to H.M. the King of Italy. Telegraphic Address " Ampelinus, London."

WOODHOUSE (EDWIN) & CO., LIMITED, Cloth Manufacturers, Belle Vue Mills and Sunny Bank Mills, Farsley, near Leeds. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1870 by Edwin Woodhouse. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: John H. Ives and Jas. P. Ives (Joint Managing Directors), Grosvenor Talbot, T. W. P. Ives, and Chas. A. Ivos. Secretary: Alfred Leather. Premises Very extensive and well-equipped Mills. Stag: 850. Branches: 2, King Street, Leeds; Golden House, London, W. Specialities: Good qualities of Black, Blue, and Fancy Worsted Coatings and Suitings. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos.-26 and 311 Stanningley; No. 42 Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Woodhouse, Farsley, Leeds." Bankers: Londcn City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. Woodhouse has been twice Mayor of Leeds, and was Lord Mayor 1905 to 1906.

WOODHOUSE, HAMBLY & CO., Manufacturers and Merchants of Linings, Cords, Moles, Velvets, Twills, Flannelettes, &c., 4, 6, 8, and 10, Bridgewater Place, and 18, High Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.15 a.m. to 5.15 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.15 a.m. to 12.15 p.m. Established in 1836 by Bartholomew Stretton. Partnership Successions: (1) Stretton Welsh & Co., 1840; (2) Stretton & Co., 1866; (3) Harrison Griffin & Co., 1884; (4) Woodhouse, Hambly & Co., 1904. Present Principals: Percy Woodhouse, J.P., Richard Hambly (members of firm of Harrison, Griffin & Co., from 1884), and Oliver 0. Hall. One of the oldest houses in the trade. Premises: The site of the building was in olden days occupied by the Bridgewater Arms Hotel, a large Coaching House in the eighteenth century. Staff: Sixty. Agencies: London, Glasgow, Dublin, Belfast, Bradford, Canada, Sydney,'Hamburg, and Amsterdam. Specialities: Silesias, Cords, Velvets, Grey Twills, Brocades, and Printed Linings. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 5398 (National), Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Streton., Manchester." Mr. Percy Woodhouse is a Justice of the Peace for the City of Manchester and County of Derby.

WOODHOUSE & RIXSON, Bent Cranks and Forging Manufacturers, Chantrey Steel and Crank Works, Attercliffe, Sheffield. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1881 by John Woodhouse (jun.) and Francis Rixson (d. 1901). Present Principal: John Woodhouse (jun.). Specialities: Steel Forgings for all classes of Engineering. Chief feature: Bent Cranks made by improved process. Telephone: No. 1113 Sheffield. Telegraphic Address: " Rixson, Sheffield." Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. (Attercliffe, Sheffield).

WOODROW, J., & SONS, Ltd., Ladies'. and Gentlemen's Hatters, 46, Piccadilly, W., and 42, Cornhill, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to' 1 p.m. Established almost a century ago. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Directors: B. Woodrow (Chairman), J. Woodrow (Managing Director). Extensive Factory at Stockport; one of the largest and most up-to-date in the Hat Trade. Stag: Over 200. Branches: Manchester, Liverpool, Glasgow, Dublin, &c. Manufacture Hats of all kinds for Ladies and Gentlemen. Make a special feature of every variety of Sporting Hats. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to His Majesty King George V.

WOODWARD, GROSVENOR & CO., Ltd., Axminster, Wilton, and Brussels Carpet Manufacturers, Stour Vale Mills and Worcester Cross, Kidderminster. Established in 1864 by H. T. Woodward (formerly of H. Woodward & Sons, Carpet Manufacturers) and G. W. Grosvenor. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Directors: G. W. Grosvenor (Chairman and Managing Director), M. Kempson, H. Mountford, D. P. Goodwin, J. Rowlands, John Lighton. Specialities: Axminster, Wilton, and Brussels Carpets, made on a principle solely in possession of the Company, recent special patents having been taken out for Royal Axminster and Bussorah Carpets. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 2 Kidderminster; No. 11010 Central, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Grosvenor, Kidderminster." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Kidderminster Branch).

WOOLCOMBERS, LIMITED, Commission Woolcombers. Registered Offices: 11, Forster Square, Bradford. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1905. Successors to the Yorkshire Woolcombers Association, Limited, which was formed in 1899 to amalgamate the Woolcombing business of thirty-eight companies and firms. Present Directors: W. Dale Shaw, J. H. L. Baldwin, J. A. Bright, and Joseph Wheatley. Secretary: W. H. Melhuish. Branches: Allerton Combing Co. , Ltd., Allerton; Campbell & Harrison, Ltd., Shipley; J. Campbell & Co., Ltd., Thornbury; Charlestown Combing Co., Ltd., Shipley; J. & C. Crabtree, Ltd., Bradford; John Cure & Co., Ltd., Bradford; James W. Firth, Ltd., Bradford; Fieldhead Combing Co., Ltd., Bradford; Holmfield Combing Co., Ovenden; Fredck. Illingworth & Co., Ltd., Bradford; Illingworth, Wood & Co., Ltd., Bradford; W. R. Kay, Ltd., Cottingley; Ladywell Slubbing Combing Co., Bradford; Phoenix Combing Co., Bradford; J. Pickles & Son, Ltd., Thornbury; H. R. Ramsbotham & Co., Ltd., Bradford; Thomas Hy. Shaw, Ltd. (Wapping), Bradford; Terry & Co. (Bradford)iLtd., Bradford; West Brook Mills Combing Co. Ltd. (Shearbridge Road, Ashfield Mills, and Try Mills), Bradford. Telephones: (Regd. Office), No. 2328 Bradford (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Woolcomber, Bradford." Bankers: West Yorkshire Bank Ltd. (Union Bank Branch, Bradford).

WOOLFENDEN, J., & CO., Felt and Silk Hat and Cap Manufacturers, Dane Shot Bank, Denton, near Manchester. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1830 by Joseph Woolfenden. Continued by sons, grandsons, and greatgrandsons. Present Principals: Joseph Woolfenden, T. W. Woolfenden, James , Henry Woolfenden, H. L. Woolfenden, John W. Woolfenen. Staff: 400 to 500. Agencies: London, 69, Gresham Street. Berlin, 1, Wall Strasse; Amsterdam, Mr. Ad. Goldberg; and Paris, 9, Place des petit Freres. Specialities Ladies' and Children's Beaver and Velour Hats; all qualities in Ladies' and Children's Wool and Fur Hats, Men's Soft and Stiff Hats in Wool and Fur, Slouch and Colonial Hats. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephone: No. 11 Denton. Telegraphic Address: "Felts, Denton." Code: AB C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank, Ltd. The late Mr. James Woolfenden was Chairman of Denton Local Board. The late Mr. Thomas Woolfenden was Chairman of Denton Urban District Council and a Justice of the Peace for the County of Lancaster.

WOOLLAND BROTHERS, Linen Drapers, &c., 95, 97, 99, 101, 103, 105, and 107, Knightsbridge; 1 and 3, Seville Street; and 15, 16, and 17, William Street, Lowndes Square, London, S.W. One of the best-known firms in the West End. Occupy extensive and handsome modern premises, forming a prominent feature of Knightsbridge. Hold comprehensive stocks in all departments of the Drapery and Ladies' Outfitting trade. Telephone: No. 6000 Victoria (eight lines). Telegraphic Address: " Woolland Bros., London."

WOOLLEY (A. HERBERT) & CO., Lace Manufacturers, Castle Boulevard, Nottingham, and 12, Wood Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1849 by the grandfather of the present proprietors. Continued by (1) Herbert Woolley; (2) A. Herbert Woolley and J. Ernest Woolley, who are the Present Principals. Premises: Stand at the base of the very remarkable Rock on which is situated Nottingham Castle. Floor space 30,000 square feet. Staff: 200 to 300. Specialities: Cotton Laces of all classes and qualities, Silk Laces, Veilings, Hair Nets and Tubular Coil Net, Embroidered Laces and Nets. Patent: Tubular Coil Net. Connection: United Kingdom, Dominions over seas, and Foreign. Telephones: Nos. 5321, 5322, 5323 and 5324 Nottingham. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Crochet, Nottingham." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Western Union and Lieber's. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Nottingham). Mr. A. H. Woolley is a member of the Standing Joint Committee of Lace Manufacturers and Finishers, and has been Vice-President and Treasurer of the Nottingham Lace Finishers' Association.

WOOLLEY (JAMES), SONS & CO., Ltd., Manufacturing Chemists, Wholesale and Export Druggists. Warehouse, Offices, and Showrooms: Victoria Bridge, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1796 by R. H. Hargreaves. Business was acquired by James Woolley in 1844. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Directors: George Stephen Woolley (Chairman), Hermann Woolley, Charles Andrew Johnstone, Edward James Woolley (Managing Director), William Lane, Edward S. Johnstone, John H. Franklin, Arthur C. Valiance. Is one of the oldest and best-known houses in the trade. Premises: Warehouse, offices, and showrooms at above address, occupying a ground area of 1,000 square yards. Laboratories and Drug Mills at Knowsley Street. The latter are provided with the latest scientific improvements in apparatus. Specialities: The manufacture of Pharmaceutical and Galenical Preparations. Dealers in Surgical Instruments and Appliances, Chemical and Physical Apparatus, Photographic Requisites, Druggists' Sundries, and Proprietary and Patent Medicines. Have patented several Inventions, notably the " Boval " Stopper Band or Poison Guard, the " Boval " Adjustable Trusses, the " Boval " Eye Bath. Proprietors of the Sanitary Rose Powder, for use in the Nursery and for general Toilet purposes; the " Boval " Floor Gloss for Ballroom Floors; " Jecovol," a 50 per cent. Emulsion of Cod Liver Oil with Glycerophosphates; " Valkasa," a Tonic Nerve Food, prepared with Milk Casein and Glycerophosphates; Phonate of Soda Solution and Phenoda Tooth Paste. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 6430 City, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Pharmacy, Manchester."

WOOLLEY, SANDERS & CO., Ltd., Hat Manufacturers and Millinery Warehouse-, men, 128, 129, and 130, Wood Street, and 127, Cheapside, London, E.C. Established over a hundred years. Incorporated 29th June, 1899. Directors: W. Steward (Chairman), H. R. Heath, H. Deason, and H. E. Steward (Secretary). The Company's warehouse in Wood Street is partly on the site of the old " Cross Keys " Tavern, a posting-house mentioned by Charles Dickens. Specialities: Ladies' High-class Hats and Millinery; Millinery Materials. Connection: United Kingdom. Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 336 Bank (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Wolsanders, Cent, London."

WOOLLISCROFT (GEORGE) & SON, LIMITED, Brick and Tile Manufacturers, Hanley, Staffs. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Establish,ed in 1850 by George Woolliscroft. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Chairman and Managing Director: A. E. Blizzard. Secretary: D. S. Taylor. Premises: Three Works, Hanley, Etruria, and Chesterton. Stag: About 400. Branches: Offices and Showrooms—London, 19, Berners Street, W.; Manchester, 33, Examiner Buildings, Strutt Street; also Dublin. Specialities: Leadless Impervious. Glazed Tiles, all kinds of Floor, Roof, and Wall Tiles, Mosaic Faience, Terra Cotta, Red and Blue Staffordshire Goods, Fireplaces, &c. Patents: Cutter-off for Bricks, Brick Press, Grip Back for Tiles, Sifter for Sliphouses, Press for Copings; Smoke Consumer and Fuel Economiser (A. E. Blizzard). Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office); also to the Crown Agents for the Colonies, London County Council, London School Board, Metropolitan Asylums Board, &c. Telephones: No. 26 Potteries District; No. 8442 City. London. Telegraphic Addxess: " Woolliscroft, Hanley." Telegrams and Cables: " Blizzard, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

WOOLLRIGHT & CO., Drapers and Furnishing Warehousemen, 18, 20, 22, 24, and 26, Bold Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: ' 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established over a century by Henry Woollright. Partnership Successions: (1) Woollright & Chidson • (2) Woollright, Chidson & Waite; (3) Henry Woollright, John Woollright, and William Mundee;: (4) John Woollright. Present Principals: Charles Ashby and Alfred Ashby. One of the oldest established firms in Liverpool. Premises consist of a block of five shops, with a frontage of 112 ft. in Bold Street, and extending 112 ft. in depth to Wood Street. Staff: Upwards of 300. Speciality; High-class Drapery and Furnishing Goods. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 1452 Royal. Telegraphic Address: " Woollright, Liverpool." Bankers: Bank of Liverpool (Heywood's Branch).

WOOTTON BROTHERS & RADFORD, Hardware Merchants and Factors, Newton Street, Birmingham, and Morrison Court, 108, Argyle Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.;Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1874 by John Wootton (d.) and T. H. Radford. Joined by George E. Wootton (d.). Present Principal: T. H. Radford. Staff Thirty clerks, &c. Business: Hardware Merchants and Factors. Patents: Radford's Combination Latch. Connection: Scotland and England, chiefly. Telephones: No. 3877 Central, Birmingham; No. 7714 Central, Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Wootton, Birmingham." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

WORCESTER ROYAL PORCELAIN CO., Ltd. (THE), China Manufacturers, The Royal Porcelain Works, Worcester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1751 by Dr. John Wall. Successive proprietors include the well-known firms of Flight & Barr, and Chamberlains. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1862. Managing Director: Edward Probert Evans. Understood to be the oldest Porcelain Works in England with an unbroken succession of proprietors. Premises: Very extensive Works, covering about five acres. The Works have been visited by many members of the Royal Family from the time of George III. Speciality: " Worcester China." Have the exclusive right to the name " Worcester " applied to ceramic productions. The following varieties are manufactured: Fine Porcelain, Ivory Porcelain, SemiPorcelain, and Vitreous Stoneware. Specialities include Perforated Porcelain, Ivory Porcelain, Raphaelesque decoration, Metallic decorations in various styles, Jewelled Porcelain, Enamels on Royal Blue. Owners of many names and trade-marks. Manufacture Vases and Ornaments, Figures, Dinner Services, Tea and Breakfast Services, Dessert Services, Afternoon Tea Services, Dressing Table Services, Luncheon Trays, Coffee Sets, Fish and Game Sets, Goods for Mounting in Silver, Badged Ware, &c. Awards: Numerous. The Diploma of Honour (Highest Award), Vienna Exhibition, 1873; Gold Medal, Paris, 1878 (with Legion of Honour to Mr. R. W. Bin.ns); Chicago, 1893; Grand Prix, Franco-British• Exhibition, 1908., Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: Warrants to King George III.; the Prince of Wales, 1807; the Princess of Wales, 1808; Princess Charlotte of Wales, 1814; Duchess of Kent, 1830; Duchess of Kent and Princess Victoria, 1834; Queen Victoria, 1883; King Edward VII., 1901; and King George V., 1911; also Special Appointment to the Emperor of Austria and the Imperial Court of Vienna. Telephone: No. 22 Worcester. Telegraphic Address: " Royal, Wcrcester." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (Worcester).

WORDIE & CO., Railway Carriers and Carting Contractors, 75, West Nile Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about 1700 by an ancestor of the proprietors. Descended from father to son. Present Principals: Peter Wordie, William Wordie and Archibald Watson (jun.). One of the oldest houses in the carrying trade. Carriers by road before railways and on introduction of railways became Carting Agents to various Railway Companies. Branches: Over 100. Principal ones at Aberdeen, Invern.ess, Perth, Dundee, Stirling, Edinburgh, Leith, Arbroath, Newcastle-on-Tyne, Belfast and Dublin. Business: Carting Agents to Caledonian, Highland and Great North of Scotland Railways, also to Great Northern Railway (Ireland), Portpatrick and Wigtonshiro and Dundee and Abroath Joint Railways. Connection: United Kingdom, and wide dealings with Foreign and Colonial Merchants. Telephones: Nos. 1152, 1153 and 1654 Douglas, and No. 1590 South, Glasgow; Nos. 47, 48 and 848 Aberdeen; No. 49 Inverness; No. 61 Perth; Nos. 177, 543 and 643 Dundee; No. 21 Stirling; No. 623 Edinburgh; No. 477 Leith; No. 176 Arbroath; Nos. 1885 and 3170 Newcastle-on-Tyne; Nos. 2986 and 2987 Belfast; No. 839 Dublin. Telegraphic Addresses: " Wordies," Glasgow, Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh, Leith, Newcastle-on-Tyne, Belfast and Dublin.

WORDSWORTH (JOSEPH) & SONS. Wire Manufacturers, Owerlton Wire Mills, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1840 by Joseph Wordsworth. Succeeded by Joseph Wordsworth & Sons. Present Principal W. T. Wordsworth. Specialities: Best Qualities Needle and Fishhook Wire. &c.

WORKMAN, CLARK & CO., LIMITED, Shipbuilders and Engineers, Belfast Ship- yard, Belfast. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 12 noon. Offices, 9 a.m. to 5.45 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12 noon. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1879 under above title. Directors: F. Workman (Chairman), Geo. S. Clark, D.L., Chas. E. Allan, George E. Clark. Builders of the first Ocean-going Turbine Steamer, S.S. " Victorian," of the Allan Line. The firm stood at the head of the list in 1909 for tonnage output, the total gross tonnage , being 88,952 B. of T. Measurement. Premises: Very extensive. Repairing Works, Alexandra Graving Dock and Hamilton Graving Dock; Shipyard and Engine Works at Queen's Road cover an area of ninety-four acres. Works equipped with every modern improvement in machinery and appliances. Staff: 9,000. Speciality: Steel Screw Steamers of large dimensions for Passenger and Cargo Service; also builders of Turbine Machinery under Parsons' Patents. Connection: United Kingdom, United States, Germany, Italy, Japan, India, Brazil, &c. Telephones: Nos. 56, 1044 and 2017 Belfast (Shipyard); Nos. 488 and 984 (Engine Works). Telegraphic Address: " Spencer, Belfast." Codes: Lieber; Watkins'; A B C. Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Glasgow and London); Bank of Ireland, and Ulster Bank, Ltd. (Belfast).

WORKMAN (HENRY), Ltd., Timber Merchants, Saw Mills, Turners and General Woodworkers, Saw Mills, Woodchester, near Stroud, Glos. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1862 by Henry Workman, present governing Director. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1893. Directors: Henry Workman, Francis N. Workman, and Frank E. Workman. Has steadily progressed since commencement. Premises: The main mill was entirely destroyed by fire in 1911 with all the machinery, tools, stock, &c. New Mill covers over five acres. Staff: About 150, more during the timber felling season. Specialities: The conversion of all descriptions of English Timber, chiefly English Oak, of which they hold a large stock, all seasoned wood. Connection: United Kingdom, chiefly. Goods such as Railway Keys made for export. Telephone: No. 56, Stroud. Telegraphic Address: " Workmans, Woodchester." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

WORMS & CO., Coal Exporters and Shipping Agents, Goole. Also at Grimsby, Newcastle, Cardiff, Hull, and various foreign Ports. Business: Coal Exporters and Shipping Agents. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 22 (National) Goole. Telegraphic Address: " Worms, Goole." Codes: A 1, A B C.

WORSLEY MESNES IRONWORKS, Ltd., Engineers, Ironfounders, &c., Wigan. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1850 by R. J. & E. Coupe. Purchased in 1887 by Messrs. Melling. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. Managing Director: J. Arthur Melling. Chairman: J. W. Melling. Specialities: Heavy Winding Engines for Collieries in which are embodied the firm's patents for Automatic Expansion Gear, Reversing and Steam Brake Engines, with patent Controlling Gear for preventing overwinding. Connection: United. Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 46 Wigan. Telegraphic Address: " Engines, Wigan." Bankers Parr's Bank, Ltd.

WORSWICK, JAMES, Woollen Waste Merchant and Flock Manufacturer, Stacksteads Mill, Stacksteads. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Travellers' Day, Mondays, 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. Established in 1878 by James Worswick, the present principal. Premises: Fourstorey building, originally at Waterbarn, Stacksteads, removed owing to increase of business. Branches: Munn's Mill, Stacksteads; Rockliffe Mill, Bacup. Business: Dealers in new Felt Waste, of which they claim to be the largest in this country, Manufacturers of high-grade Woollen Flocks. Connection: Import Felt Waste from all parts of the Continent. Telephone: No. 60 Bacup. Telegraphic Ad dress: " Worswick, Stacksteads. ' Ban kers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd. Mr. James Worswick has been a Town Councillor at Bacup for eight years, during which time he was Chairman of the General Works Committee.

WORTHINGTON & CO., Ltd., Brewers, Burton-on-Trent. London Offices: Moor fields Chambers, 95 and 97, Finsbury Pavement, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1750. Incor porated as a Limited Company. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Branches: Manchester, 69, Corporation Street; Liver pool, 20, Sir Thomas Street; Birming ham, 8 Cannon Street; Glasgow, 147, Bath Street; Newcastle-on-Tyne, 32, Clayton Street West; Swansea, 15 and 16, Wind Street; Plymouth, 24, Bedford Street; Barrow-in-Furness, 194, Blake Street; Stoke-on-Trent, Glebe Street; Aberdare, Boot Chambers, Market Street. Speciality: Worthington's India Pale Ale. Royal Warrants: Special appointments to H.M. the King and H.M. Queen Alexandra. Held a warrant to His late Majesty King Edward vir. Telephones: No. 15 Burton-on-Trent; No. 3671 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Ad dresses: " Worthington's," Burton-on Trent and London.

WOSTENHOLM (GEORGE) & SON, Ltd., Makers of High-class Cutlery in all Branches, Washington Works, Sheffield. Flours of Business: Usual. Established in the latter part of the eighteenth century by George Wostenholm, who later took his son, George Wostenholm, into partnership, trading as George Wostenholm & Son. Carried on under the original title until 1875. Incorporated as a Limited Company in that year. Directors: William Nixon (Chairman), J. A. E. Paine (Managing Director), J. C. Wing, Philip K. Wake. Secretary: Alexr. Brown. Agencies: United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand. Travelling Agents visiting Russia, Africa, India, China, and Japan. Awards: At all the great International Exhibitions. Connec tion: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 88 Sheffield. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Wostenholm, Shef field." Bankers: The Sheffield and Hal lamshire Bank, Ltd. (Sheffield).

WREN (WILLIAM) & CO., Wax Polish Manufacturers, Grey friars Street and Albert Street, Northampton. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1887 by William Wren. Present Principals: William Edward Wren, William Edward Wren (jun.), and Thomas Duncan Wren. Claim to be the makers of the original Wax. Polish, the first on the market. Premises: Factory covers 200,000 square feet. Also Manufactory at Earls Barton, Northants. Staff: About 100. Branches: • London, 207, Shaftesbury Avenue, W.C.; Manchester, 1, Gore Street; Paris, 58, Rue Lafayette. Specialities: Boot and Shoe Polishes, Saddle and Harness Paste, Furniture Polish also, Boot and Shoe Creams. Awards: Only prize, Leather Trades Exhibition, 1892 • Grand Prix, Brussels International Exhibition. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 321 Northampton. Telegraphic Address " Wren, Northampton." Codes: A B C, Lieber's. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. William Edward Wren (jun.) is a Town Councillor of the Borough of Northampton.

WRIGHT & CO., Timber Importers, Coal Exporters, Maritime Buildings, Newcastle-on-Tyne, Blyth (Northumberland), and Jameson Chambers, Hull. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1902 by T. J. Wright and L. A. Farthing, the present principals. Staff: Fourteen. Business: Timber Importers and Coal Exporters. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Telephones: Nos. 836 and 837 Central, Newcastle; No. 9 Blyth; No. 704 Hull. Telegraphic Addresses: " Broking," Newcastle and Blyth; " Deals, Hull." Codes: Watkins; Scott's, Zebra (3rd Edition). Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

WRIGHT, F., & CO., Boot and Shoe Manufacturers, Carey Street, Kettering. Hours of Business: 7.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1895 by F. Wright and H. Wright (dissolved 1902). Present Principal: F. Wright. Premises: Extensive; recent additions to allow for 600 workers. Staff: 400. Speciality: In good reliable goods, Boots and Shoes. Award: Gold Medal, Cape Town, 1904, 1905 (only exhibit). Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 49 Kettering. Telegraphic Address: " Rightful, Kettering." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

WRIGHT (GEORGE) & CO., Stationers' Sundriesmen, The " Requisite " House, 92, Clerkenwell Road, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1890 by George Wright. Present Principals: George Wright and Daniel Odell. Staff: Thirty to forty. Specialities: Scholastic and Commercial Requisites. Contractors to H.M. Government (Stationery Office), London County Council, and to Colonial Governments. Patents: Several Educational and Commercial. Award Gold.. Medal, Turin, 1911. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3736 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Miscellaneous, Smith, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd., Aldersgate Branch.

WRIGHT (GEO.) & CO., Ltd., Billiard Table Makers, 7, Argyll Street, Oxford Circus, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1868 by F. R. Wright. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Secretary: L. A. Smith. Works: 34, Camberwell Road, London, S.E. Specialities Billiard Tables and Accessories. Awards: Twenty-four Prize Medals. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2013 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Billiards, London."

WRIGHT (GEORGE), LIMITED, Stove Grate Makers, General Ironfounders and Heating Engineers. Works: Burton Weir, Rotherham. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 5.45 p.m.; Saturdays, 6.30 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1854 by George Wright, Geo. Wilton Chambers, and Henry Crichley, at Burton Weir, Sheffield, trading as Crichley, Wright & Co. Removed to above address in 1861. Henry Crichley retired 1863; title altered to Geo. Wright & Co. George Wright retired 1884. Continued by G. W. Chambers and his two sons, who were admitted partners. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Directors: R. G. Chambers, H. P. Chambers (Governing Directors), F. W. Reed, J. A. Macdonald, James Paxton. Secretary: J. M. Fit zclarke, A.C.I.S. Premises: Extensive, covering two and a half acres. Stag: Large. Stall Clubs: Rifle, with range in works; Sick Club. Branches: London, 155, Queen Victoria Street, E.C., and 238, Upper Thames Street, E.C.; Manchester: 83, Bridge Street, Deansgate. Specialities: Patent Osborne Grates, Stove Grates, Tile Hearths, Ward Stoves, and Ventilating Grates; Marble and Wood Chimney Pieces; Kitchen Ranges; Balusters, Gates and Railings, &c.; Pavement Lights, Fireplaces in Armour Bright (Old English style), Ventilating Fireplaces, and Stoves. Awards: First Class Diploma of Merit, Sheffield Smoke Abatement Exhibition, 1909, for Anthracite and Warm-Air Stoves. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, and Crown Agents for the Colonies, Board of Works) and to the Imperial Japanese Navy. Telephones: No. 921 Bank, London; No. 5354 Manchester; No. 171 Rotherham. Telegraphic Address: " Maypole," London, Rotherham, and Manchester.

WRIGHT HAMER & SONS.—See HAMER (WRIGHT) & SONS.

WRIGHT (JOHN) & EAGLE RANGE, Ltd., Gas Engineers, Essex Works, Aston, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Summer, 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1862. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: H. James Yates, F.C.S. M.I.Mech.E. (Chairman and Managing Director), George G. Brodie, J.P. (Managing Director), S. Sanders, J.P., J. D. Prior, T. B. Peattie and W. Brodie. Branches: Showrooms and Offices, London, 19-21, Queen Victoria Street. E.C.; Preston, 108, Fishergate; Liverpool, 3, Bold Street; Bristol, 2, St. Augustine's Parade; Dublin, Hawkins Street; Cork, 72, South Mall; St. Anne'son-the-Sea, Orchard Road. Specialities: Gas Apparatus for Cooking, Heating, and Industrial purposes. Patents: Numerous. Awards: Gained at many exhibitions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 6272 Central, Birmingham (four lines). Telegraphic Addresses: " Eureka, Birmingham "; " Incandescent, Cannon, London "; " Thermo, Dublin."

WRIGHT (JOHN & EDWIN), Ltd., Manufacturers of Wire, Cotton, and Hemp Ropes, Twines, Cordage, Tarpaulins, &c., Universe Works, Garrison Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1770 by Wm. Wright (father of John Wright and Edwin Wright). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: G. H. Cartland (Chairman), G. Turner (Managing Director), W. H. Turner, A. H. Gibson, T. A. Taylor. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Patentees of the first Atlantic Cable. Premises: Extensive, covering sixteen acres. Branches: London, Liverpool, Sheffield, Cardiff, Stoke-on-Trent, Johannesburg, Durban, Sydney, Fremantle, Calcutta, &c. Specialities: Highest-grade Wire Ropes for Winding at high speeds from great depths; Cotton Ropes for the transmission of power. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 6914 Central (three lines), Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: "Universe, Birmingham." Code: A B C (5a). Edition). Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd.

WRIGHT, M., & SONS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Elastics and Non-Elastics of all descriptions for Men's and Boys' Braces and Belts, and Belts for Ladies, Quorn Mills, near Loughborough. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1868 by Michael Wright (d.) and Philip Wright (d.), James Wright and William Wright (sons), as M. Wright & Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Directors: Jas. Wright, J.P. (Chairman), Wm. Wright, J.P., S. J. Wright, Percy W. Wright, W. P. Wright, H. Wright. Premises: Branch Mills, Mill Street, Loughborough. Branches: Warehouses— London, Glasgow, Belfast, Ma4chester. Specialities: Elastic Fabrics and NonElastics of all descriptions for. Braces, Belts, Garters, Surgicals,. Cords, Braids, and all kinds of Smallware Woven Articles. Patent: Round Woven. Bands for Ladies' Skirts. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telegraphic Addresses: " Tendimus, London '; " Wrights, Quorn." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Loughborough).

WRIGHT, S. J., & CO., Ltd., Ham and Bacon Curers and Creamery Proprietors, Taunton. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1856 by Walter Wright. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Managing Director: S. J. Wright. Chairman: John White. Premises: Originally at Wellington, Somerset, new Factory on up-to-date principles erected in 1898. Specialities: Ham and Bacon Curing, Butter and Cheese Making. Awards: Numerous Medals and Diplomas for Bacon and Hams. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, Foreign. Telephone: No. 43 Taunton. Telegraphic Address: " Creamery, Taunton." Bankers: Fox, Fowler & Co., Taunton.

WRIGHT (THOMAS) & CO., Tanners and Leather Dressers, Oatlands Leather Works, Meanwood Road, Leeds. Established in 1872. Business: Tanners, Dyers, and Finishers of Fancy Leathers, Importers and Exporters. Connection: United Kingdom and Export. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephone: No. 637 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Oatlands, Leeds." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited; Beckett & Co.

WRIGLEY, E. G., & CO., Ltd., Small Tools and Gearing Manufacturers, Foundry Lane Works, Soho, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1898 at Aston Road, Birmingham; removed to present address in 1902. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: J. D. Steven (Managing Director), C. H. Burne (Secretary), J. A. Kenrick, P. J. Worsley (jun.), J. D. Steven. Staff: 400. Specialities: Cutters, Twist Drills and Taps of every description. Also manufacture all kinds of Gearing. Connection: United Kingdom chiefly; also Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 148 Smethwick (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Cutters, Birmingham." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Temple Row, Birmingham). London Branch, 28, Victoria Street, S.W. Showroom and Stores at 60, Pilgrim Street, Newcastle-on-Tyne.

WRIGLEY (JOHN) & SONS, Woollen Manufacturers, Netherton, Huddersfield, Yorks. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1766. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Branch: 9, Lower John, Street, Golden Square, London, W. Business: Manufacture of Woollen Goods. Telephone: No. 640 Huddersfield. Telegraphic Address; " Liveries, Netherton, Yorks."

WRITHLINGTON COLLIERIES CO., Ltd., Colliery Proprietors, Writhlington Collieries, Radstock, Bath. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1790. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: E. Broderip, J.P. (Chairman), E. F. Broderip, J.P., B. H. Hill, J.P., and The Hon. A. W. de Moleyns. Specialities: House, Gas, Brick Burning and Steam Coals. Telephones: No. 5 Radstock (Secretary's Office); No. 28 Radstock (Manager's Office). Telegraphic Address: " Writhlington, Radstock." Bankers: Stuckeys Banking Co., Radstock.

W. R. SYKES INTERLOCKING SIGNAL CO., Ltd., 26, Voltaire Road, Clapham, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1862 by W. R. Sykes. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: W. R. Sykes (Chairman), J. C. Sykes (Managing Director), G. H. Sykes, F. J. Sykes. Branch: Atlantic Chambers, 45, Hope Street, Glasgow. Business: Manufacture of all kinds of Electrical and Mechanical Signalling Apparatus in connection with Railways. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 325 Battersea, London. Telegraphic Address: " Blockish, Clap: com, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

WYLIE & LOCHHEAD, Ltd., Cabinet Makers and Upholsterers, House and Ship Furnishers, Decorators, Wall Paper Merchants, Removal Contractors, &c., 45, Buchanan Street; 34, Mitchell Street; and 96, Union Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1829 by Robert Wylie and William Lochhead. Incorporated as a Limited Company, 20th August, 1883. Present Directors: Robert Wylie (Managing), William A. Wylie, John Wylie, Sam. W. Wylie. (The business ranks as a typical concern in the furnishing and kindred trades.) Specialities: House, Ship, and Yacht Furnishing. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrant: To His Majesty the King. Telephones: No. 9862 Central for Buchanan Street Warehouse. Telegraphic Address: " Wylie, Glasgow."

WYMAN & SONS, Ltd., Printers, Publishers, Railway Bookstall Contractors, &c., Fetter Lane, London, E.C. Established over 250 years ago in Great Queen Street, where the business was carried on for more than a century and a half. The original name of the firm is lost in antiquity, but it was at one time Cox and Biggs. Mr. Cox was appointed printer to the East India Company. Later the firm's title was altered to Cox & Wyman, subsequently to Wyman & Sons. The present management dates back over twenty years, and has a record of increasing prosperity. Directors: Henry Burt (Chairman), E. Macintosh (Vice-Chairman and Managing Director), T. Potts Murton (Managing Director). L. C. Whitefield, Secretary. Premises: Large works at Fetter Lane, London (fifteen departments, on six floors); works at Reading cover three acres: both fitted in most up-to-date manner. Branches: 28, Abingdon Street, London, S.W. 29 and 31, Breams Buildings, Chancery Lane, E.C.; Ireland Yard, St. Andrews Hill, E.C. Business: Printers, Publishers, Wholesale News agents, Advertising Contractors, Railway Bookstall Contractors, &e. Are Printers to the Houses of Parliament, Great Western Railway, &c., and sole Advertising Contractors for over 1000 Railway Stations. Their bookstall contracts cover the Great Western, London and North Western, North London, and other lines, in connection with which they have an enormous Circulating Library. Are Sole Agents by contract with H.M. Stationery Office for the sale of Parliamentary Papers and Government Publications, and supply newspapers, hooks, and periodicals required by the various Government Departments, H.M. Navy, Government Schools, Printers and Publishers of the " London Gazette," &c. Telephones: No. 6810 (four lines) Holborn (for Fetter Lane): No. 1976 Victoria (for Abingdon Street). Telegraphic Address: "Wymanads, London."

WYNN, J. H., Goldsmith and Jeweller, 42, 44, and 46, Hylton Street. Showroom 84, Vyse Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1895 by John Henry Wynn, the present principal. Specialities: Gold Expanding Watch Bracelets in all qualities and brooch patented 1912. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 1024 Central, Birmingham Telegraphic Address: " Signature, Birmingham." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd., Hockley.

WYNN, TIMMINS & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Hand Tools for all Trades, Iron and Steel Stampers, and Die Sinkers, Century Works, Commercial Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1787 by William Wynn and. Cornelius Wynn as W. & C. Wynn. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Directors: W. H. Wynn, H. S. Wynn, W. L. Wynn. Premises: Cover about an acre, equipped with modern appliances. Staff: About 200. Specialities: Hand Tools for all trades. Contractors to British Admiralty, War, Stationery and G.P.O. Departments; also British Colonial and Foreign Governments and Rail, ways; also Iron and Steel Stampings and Die Sinking, and Press work in all sheet metals. Patents: Numerous. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 630 (Midland) Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Century," Birmingham. Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

See Also

Loading...

Sources of Information