Grace's Guide

British Industrial History

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 144,393 pages of information and 230,177 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

1914 Who's Who in Business: Company R

From Graces Guide

Jump to: navigation, search
Im1914WWB-p793a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p793b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p794a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p794b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p795a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p795b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p796a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p796b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p797a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p797b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p798a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p798b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p799a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p799b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p800a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p800b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p801a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p801b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p802a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p802b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p803a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p803b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p804a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p804b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p805a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p805b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p806a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p806b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p807a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p807b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p808a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p808b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p809a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p809b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p810a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p810b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p811a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p811b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p812a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p812b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p813a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p813b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p814a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p814b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p815a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p815b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p816a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p816b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p817a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p817b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p818a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p818b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p819a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p819b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p820a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p820b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p821a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p821b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p822a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p822b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p823a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p823b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p824a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p824b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p825a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p825b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p826a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p826b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p827a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p827b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p828a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p828b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p829a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p829b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p830a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p830b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p831a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p831b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p832a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p832b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p833a.jpg

Note: This is a sub-section of 1914 Who's Who in Business

RADCLIFFE (CHARLES) & CO., Steamship Owners and Brokers, Vienna Chambers, Bute Docks, Cardiff. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Principal: Charles Radcliffe. Director and Manager of the following Steamship Companies:—Birkdale Steamship Co., Ltd. (Tonnage: Gross, 2,961; Nett, 1,882; D.W., Cargo and Bunkers, 4,860); Rochdale Steamship Co., Ltd. (Tonnage: Gross, 3,718; Nett, 2,377; D.W., Cargo and Bunkers, 6,350); Snowdon Steamship Co., Ltd. (Tonnage: Gross, 3,189; Nett, 2,054; D.W., Cargo and Bunkers, 5,350). Steamers trade principally River Plate; Black Sea; Coals out, Grain home. Telephone: No. 1154 (Nat.) Cardiff. Telegraphic Address: " Triple, Cardiff." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Cardiff Docks).

RADCLIFFE, SON & CROCKFORD, Manufacturers and Merchants of Corset Materials, 9, Hart Street, Wood Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about 1845. Specialities: Corset Materials of all descriptions. Telephone: No. 7099 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Crockford, London."

RAGOSINE & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Lubricating Oils, Paints, and Varnishes; Merchants, Contractors, Importers and Exporters. Head Office, Oil Wharf, and Paint Factory: Albion Wharf, Bow, London, E. Varnish Factory: Barking, Essex. Branch Office and Warehouse: 48, Close, Newcastle-upon-Tyne. Depots in various other towns in the United Kingdom. Agents in Paris, Brussels, Prague, Australia, New Zealand, S. Africa, Turkey, Greece, &c., &c. Hours of Business: 9. a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1878 as an agency of a Moscow firm. In 1883 the London business was taken over by Ernest G. von Glehn and carried on as an independent concern under the style of Ragosine & Co. - In 1899 the business was registered as a Private Limited Company. In 1907 Ernest von Glehn retired from the active management, and Robert R. S. Tanner, who had joined the business in 1898, became Managing Director. At the same time Joseph Liddell became a director and Captain Claude H. Dale Director and Secretary. In 1908 the Company purchased the business of Dixon & Heydorn, Manufacturers of Paints and Varnishes, and incorporated it as a separate manufacturing department. Specialities: " Dixon's White "; " Royoak " Paints and Varnishes, " Dryoline," a liquid drier, Polishes, &c.; Concentrated Size and Glues. " Ragosine Oil," in various grades; "Ragosoil " Motor Car Lubricants. Connection: Widespread in the United Kingdom and Colonies. Contractors to H.M. Government and principal Railways and Engineering Works. Telephones: London, East, No. 1245 (two lines); No. 1440 Newcastle-on-Tyne. Telegraphic Address: " Ragosine, London."

RAILWAY & WORKS COMPANY, Ltd. (THE), 37, Old Jewry, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Directors: Walter J. Cutbill (Chairman), Richard W. Wright (Managing Director), Edmund Davis, Percy F. G. Lord, Company formed to take over the business of Perry, Cutbill, De Lungo & Co., who had carried out large Railway Contracts in Venezuela, Brazil, Argentine Republic, and South Africa, including among the latter the Pietermaritzburg to Ladysmith Railway. Business: The construction of all classes of Public Works, including Railways, Harbours, Floating Docks, Waterworks, &c. Jointly with R. W. Wright, Esq., the Company have constructed the Pretoria-Pietersburg Railway, in South Africa, 285 kilometres in length, at a cost of £1,533,000. They also constructed for the Government of Trinidad a Floating Dock, and erected in Trinidad large Workshops fitted with the latest type of machinery for dealing with extensive alterations to Ships of the Royal Navy and the Merchant Service generally, and have recently constructed and equipped in Peru the Railway from Ancon to Sayan, with Branches to Chancay and to Huacho Port, a length of some 212 kilometres. They are now engaged upon Railway Surveys in Europe and the Colonies. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 5 Bank. Telegraphic Address: " Cutbill, London." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Lothbury Branch).

RAINE (CHARLES) & CO., Ltd., Coal Exporters, 3 Bond Street, Hull; 17, Victoria Road, Darlington. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1906 by John Dent Chipchase, John Harry Ramsey, and Charles Raine. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912 Directors: John Dent Chipchase (Chairman), John Harry Ramsey, and Thomas William Smith. Business: Coal Exporters. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Telephone: No. 2420 Hull. Telegraphic Address: " Coke, Hull." Bankers:.North Eastern Banking Co., Ltd. (Darlington). Mr. J. H. Ramsey is Captain, 6th Batt. Durham Light Infantry.

RAINTON COLLIERY CO., Ltd., Colliery Owners, 17, Victoria Road, Darlington; and Rainton Collieries, Leamside. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company, March, 1913. Directors: John Harry Ramsey (Chairman), James Blumer, jun., Thomas Charles Cook. Collieries: Adventure, Resolution and Meadows Pits, Leamside, co. Durham. Speciality: Gas and Coking Coal. Telephone: No. 59 Darlington. Telegraphic Address: " Ballarat, Darlington." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Darlington). Mr. J. H. Ramsey is Captain, 6th Batt. Durham Light Infantry. Mr. James Blumer, jun., is Captain, 5th Batt. Durham Light Infantry.

RAITHBY, LAWRENCE & CO., Ltd., Printers and Publishers, De Montfort Press, Leicester, and Thanet House, 231 and 232, Strand (opposite the Law Courts), London, W.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1876 by H. C. Raithby and J. C. Lawrence. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Directors: Sir Samuel Faire, J.P. (Chairman), H. C. Raithby, J. C. Lawrence. Specialities: Letterpress Work, Pictorial Reproduction, High-class Jobbing, Illustrated Catalogues, High-class Bookwork of the finest grade. Colour Work by Modern Methods. Are proprietors, printers, and publishers of the " British Printer." Connection: Worldwide, chiefly British and Colonial centres. Telephones: No. 284 Leicester; No. 5338 (Post Office) Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Raithby," Leicester and London. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

RAMSAY (ALBERT) & CO., Lapidaries and Precious Stone Merchants and Commission Agents (Speciality, the fine Black Opal and Specimen Precious Stones), 94, Hatton Garden, London, E.C. (late of 1, Hatton Garden). Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established by Albert Ramsay in 1907. Present Principals: Albert Ramsay and Percy L. Whitehorn. Premises: Cutting Factory and offices. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 8191 City. Telegraphic 4dareso; " Rubylite, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Holborn Circus, E.C.).

RAMSDEN (ARCHIBALD), Ltd., Pianoforte Makers, 103, New Bond Street, London, W., and 12, Park Row, Leeds. Established about fifty years ago by Archibald Ramsden. Incorporated 1891; Archibald Ramsden, Chairman and Managing Director; A. D. Ramsden and G. E. Iles, Directors. Business: Pianoforte and Organ Dealers and Makers; sole agents for the Schiedmayer (formerly J. & P. Schiedmayer) and Beulhoff Pianos in United Kingdom. Branches: Thirteen in the North of England, employing a staff of about 200. Telephones: No. 3205 Gerrard; No. 96 Central, Leeds. Telegraphic Addresses: London, " Sernigrand "; Leeds, " Archibald."

RAMSEY, JOHN HARRY, Coal and Coke Merchant, 17, Victoria Road, Darlington. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1901 by John Harry Ramsey, the present principal. Speciality: Bunker Coal. Telephone: No. 59 Darlington. Telegraphic Address: "Ballarat, Darlington." Bankers: North Eastern Banking Co., Ltd., (Darlington). Mr. J. H. Ramsey is Captain, 6th Batt. Durham Light Infantry; is a member of the Darlington Unionist Association. Clubs: Dinsdale Golf; Newcastle Unionist and Darlington Club.

RANDALL BROTHERS, Letterpress Printers, &c., 19, 21 and 23, Lichfield Road, Aston Cross, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1889 by W. Randall and F. Randall. Present Principals: Walter Randall, Frederick Randall and Joseph E. Ripley (joined 1912). Staff: Nearly 100. Business: Letterpress Printers, Paper Bag Makers and Account Book Manufacturers. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 226 East, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: "Randall, Aston Cross, Birmingham." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Aston Cross).

RANDALL BROTHERS, Proprietors of the Copal Varnish Co., Ltd., Sherwood House, Piccadilly Circus, London, W. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. Established in 1855 by the late T. B. Randall. Present Principals: Ernest M. Randall and Percy M. Randall (sons of founder). Premises: Works cover four acres at liunnymeade. Branches Calcutta, Montreal and Toronto. Business: Manufacture of Paripan. and Varnishes. Awards: Gold Medals, Calcutta, 1884; London, 1885; Melbourne, 1888; Kimberley, 1892. Connection: Chiefly United Kingdom and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1780 and 1784 Regent, London; No. 17 Egham. Telegraphic Address: " Polishable, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd., Piccadilly Circus Branch.

RANDELLS (MALTSTERS), Ltd., Maltsters, Malt Roasters and Manufacturers of Brown and Crystallized Malts, &c. Registered Offices: 25, Mark Lane, London, E.C. Factories and Maltings: Barking and Grays, Essex. Flours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Specialities: Malt Roasting (Chocolate andBlack), Brown, Amber, Crystallized and Oat Malts, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1761 Avenue; No. 15 East Ham, London.

RANDLE RADIATOR CO. (THE), Manufacturers, Nelson Street, Coventry. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1909 by Frederic Randle, the present principal. Premises: Cover 4000 square feet. Specialities: Radiators for all types of Petrol Vehicles. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 675 Coventry. Telegraphic Address: " Coolers, Coventry."

RANDS, J., & JECKELL, Ipswich, Manufacturers, Merchants and Exporters of Sacks, Rickcloths, Waterproof Covers, and Tents. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1830 by Emmanuel Rands; succeeded by the late Josiah Rands and George Jeckell in 1870. Present Principals: Frederick Edward Rands, J.P., Ernest Josiah Rands, Harold Charles Rands (sons of the late Josiah Rands). Specialities: " Ceres " Rickcloths; " Ceres " Waterproof Covers; " Alexandra " and " Windsor " Tents. Con- tractors for Marquees, Tents, and Canvas Covering for Agricultural and Horticultural Shows and Military Encampments. Frequently honoured with commands to supply Marquees, &c., for the use of Royalty. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to H.M. King George V. and to His late Majesty King Edward VII. (1901-10). Telephone: No. 6 National, Ipswich. Telegraphic Address: " Sacking, Ipswich." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. Mr. F. E. Rands, M ayor 1911-12.

RANK (JOSEPH), Ltd., Millers, 27, Leadenhall Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1875 by Joseph Rank. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: Joseph Rank (Governing), James Voase Rank, John Stephenson Kemp. Premisea: Own four fully-equipped Mills in London, Hull, Barry Docks, and Birkenhead. 'Staff: Over 2000. Telephones: No. 2780 (Corporation); No. 2780 (National) Hull (eleven lines); No. 5053 Avenue (four lines); No. 5056 Avenue (Trunk calls); No. 3080 (National) Cardiff; No. 478 (P.O.) Cardiff (Trunk calls); No. 2454 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic Addresses: " Millocrat, London "; " Rank, Hull "; "Rank, Cardiff "; " Rank, Liverpool."

RANKIN (WILLIAM) & SONS, Corkwood Growers, Cork Merchants and Manufacturers, 10, 11 and 12, Carlton Place, Glasgow. London Office: 42, Bermondsey Square, S.E. And at Caramujo, Portugal. Hours of Business: 9 a.m to 6 p.m. Established in 1813. Present Principals: William Rankin, J. Naismith Rankin, C. D. Rankin, John N. Rankin, and R. Cecil Rankin. Premises: Own three Factories in Portugal, covering twenty acres; five large freehold Forests in Portugal, Buinheira, Frejoita, Pernada and Figueiras. Staff: About 600. Specialities: Corkwood of all grades, Corks, Metal Seals for Crown Bottles, Life Buoys, Life Belts, Granulated Cork for insulation, Fishermen's Net Floats, Cork Bath Mats, &c. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 89 Gorbals, Glasgow; No. 794 Hop, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Carltonia, Glasgow "; " Rankly, Berm, London "; " Rankin, Caramujo, Portugal."

RANSOME, A., & CO., Ltd., Saw Mill and General Engineers, and Ironfounders. Head Office and Works: Stanley Works, Newark-on-Trent. London Office: 63, Queen Victoria Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1855 by Allen Ransome. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Directors: Allen Ransome, V. S. Woods, L. H. Ransome, G. Ransome. Secretary: H. W. Gabbett. Premises: Cover ten acres; works equipped with all the latest improvements. Staff: 600. Specialities: Wood-working Machinery and Ball Bearings. Patents: Numerous, connected with Wood-working Machinery; Ball Bearings. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign (all countries), Colonial. Telephones: No. 119 Newark (two lines); No. 8779 City, London. Telegraphic Addresses: "Ransome, Newark;" and "Ransome, London." Codes: A B C ( 5th Edition), A 1, Lieber's,

RANSOME-VERMEHR MACHINERY CO., Ltd., Concrete Mixers, Steel Piling, &c. Brunswick House, Westminster, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1907 by John M. ver Mehr. Managing Director: John M. ver Mehr. Directors: H. G. Blakemore, P. Deutsch, W. H. C. Kidston, and H. G. Dakyns. Branches: Offices in Berlin, Paris, Italy, India, and the Colonies. Speci-alities: Concrete Mixers and Machinery, also Steel Piling, Pilo Extractors, Continuous Water Filters, &c. Patents held for all machinery. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2188, 2189 Victoria. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Vermehrico, London."

RANSOMES & RAPIER, LIMITED, Engineers and Ironfounders, 32, Victoria Street, Westminster, London, S.W., and Waterside Works, Ipswich. Established in 1869 by James Allen Ransome (d. 1875), Robert James Ransome (d. 1891), and Richard Christopher Rapier; joined in 1873 by Edward Gibson Midgley (d. 1881). Richard Christopher Rapier continued the business alone until 1896. Incorporated as a Limited Company in that year. The original firm took over the Railway Plant Business from Messrs. Ransomes, Sims & Jefferies, Ltd., a well-known firm, in 1869. Premises cover• thirteen acres. Business: Manufacture Hand, Steam, Petrol, and Electric Cranes, Traversers and Turntables, Capstans, Tanks, Water Cranes and Pumps, Bridges, Hydraulic Buffer Stops, Castings, Contractors' and Railway Plant, " Stoney " Sluices, &c.; Ice and Refrigerating Plants, Concrete Mixers, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, all the Colonies, India, Egypt, United States. Telephone: No. 4891 Victoria; No. 49 Ipswich. Telegraphic Addresses: " Ransomes Rapier London "; " Sluice, London "; " Waterside, Ipswich."

RANSOMES, SIMS & JEFFERIES, Ltd., Engineers, Orwell Works, Ipswich; London Office, 9, Gracechurch Street, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1789 by Robert Ransome in Ipswich. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Employees: About 2,500. Agencies in all parts of the world. Specialities: Portable and Traction Engines; Stationary Engines of all kinds; High-speed Vertical Engines for Electric Work; Boilers of all kinds; Thrashing Machines, Corn Mills, Tea Machinery, &c. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrant: To His late Majesty King Edward. Tele phones: No. 12 Ipswich; No. 10817 Central (London). Telegraphic Addresses: "Ransomes, Ipswich "; " Anglia, London." Cable Address: " Ransomes, Ipswich." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions); Private; A 1; Lieber's. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Lothbury, E.C., London); Barclay and Co., Ltd. (Ipswich).

RATNER SAFE CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Safes, Strong Rooms, and Strong Room Doors, and Bankers' Engineers. Showrooms: 51, Moorgate Street, London, E.C. Works: Bromley-by-Bow, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1889 by Daniel R. Ratcliff (late partner in the firm of Thomas Milner & Son, Safe Makers, London and Liverpool), William Milner Ratcliff, M.A. Oxon., and John M. Homer. Incorporated as a Company in 1896. Directors: W. Milner Ratcliff and John M. Horner. The Company have constructed nearly all of the principal Safe Deposits built since 1890, including the City Safe Deposit, Hull, Belfast, Harrods' Stores, Johannesburg, Bombay Safe Deposits, New Safe Deposit for Manchester and the North of England Safe Deposit, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Specialities: Ratner Safes, bent at all twelve corners out of the solid plate. This principle of construction was perfected in 1900. Patent obtained in 1909 for Safes, Doors and Rooms constructed to resist Oxy Acetylene Blowpipe. All thief-resisting Safes are fitted with Drill-proof Doors, and an interchangeable Key Lock invented by the Company in 1901. Thousands of keys will lock this lock, but it can be opened only by the one which locked it. Staff: About 200. Branches: 61, Queen Street, Glasgow;' 20, Cross Street, Manchester; 17, Queen Victoria Street, Leeds; and at York, Capetown, and Melbourne. Agencies in South Africa, Australasia, Egypt, India, China, Japan, &c. Contractors to the Admiralty, India Office, War Office, L.C.C., Crown Agents for the Colonies, Metropolitan Asylums Board, &c. Have supplied very many of the principal Banks in the kingdom and abroad, and also the leading Railway Companies. A Ratner Safe was supplied to His late Majesty King Edward for Balmoral, and several Ratner Safes were sent to India for the use of H.M. King George V. and his Staff at the Delhi Durban The Strong Room to hold the diamonds of the Premier Diamond Co. ( worth over £1,000,000) was built by the Company in 1906. Telephones: City, No. 9021 London W6,11; Works, No. 3033 Eastern; Glasgow, No. 3805 Royal; Manchester, No. 2830 Central; Leeds 2553. Telegraphic Addresses: City Office, "Thiefproof, Ave., London "; Works, " Savealls, Bochurch, London "; Glasgow, " Thiefproof "; Manchester, " Thiefproof "; Leeds, " Thiefproof "; Capetown, " Thiefproof "; Melbourne, " Thiefproof " per Reuter's; Smyrna, " Safe."

RATTRAY, A. DEWAR, Wholesale Wine Merchant, 188, Dumbarton Road, Stores, Dowanhill Street, Partick, Glasgow. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1817. Present Principal: James Cook. Specialities: " Hero " Brands Old Scotch Whisky and La Bonne Sante Old Port Wine; also Foreign Liqueurs, Brandies, Rum, Gin, Champagnes, Sherries, Clarets and Burgundies of the finest quality. Make a special feature of Tea. Award: Diploma, Brewers' and Distillers' Exhibition, Royal Agricultural Hall, Islington, London, 1912, for Excellence of Quality, open competition. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 2688 Western, Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Winevault, Glasgow." Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

RAVEN, W., & CO., Ltd., Hosiery Manufacturers, Wheat Street, Leicester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established about forty-five years ago by Wm. Raven. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Managing Directors: Wm. Raven (Chairman) and John Raven. Staff: 1,000. Specialities: Ladies' Hose, Gentlemen's Half-hose, Children's Socks. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 3665, 3666, 3667 (National). Telegraphic Address: " Raven, Leicester." Bankers; Lloyds Bank Limited (Leicester).

RAWLE & SON, Wholesale and Export Saddlers, Harness Manufacturers, &c., 231 and 232, Blackfriars Road, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1866 by John Rawle (d. 1895), joined in 1887 by Frederick John Rawle (son), the present principal. Claim to be the largest Harness Manufacturers in London. Branches: 4 and 5, Chancel Street, and 21, Prices Street, Blackfriars Road, S.E. Specialities: Hiring out new Harness and keeping Harness in repair. Harness, Saddles and Collars, Horse Clothing, Clipping Machines, Leather, Woollens, Buckles, Stable Fittings, &c. Connection: London (chiefly), also Large Shipping Trade. Contractors to H.M. Govern ment (Admiralty, War Office), also to Colonial Governments,English and Foreign Railways. Telephones: No. 578 Hop; No. 4266 Central. Cable Address: " Bellyband, London." Code: A B C. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Blackfriars).

RAWLINGS, H. D., Ltd., Manufacturers of Mineral Waters, Ginger Beer, and Lime Juice Cordial, 8, Mortimer Street, W., and Neate Street, Camberwell, London, S.E. Established over a century. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Stall: About 400. Specialities: Soda Water, Ginger Ale, and Ginger Beer. Importers and Bottlers of Lager Beers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Awards: Paris, 1850; International Health Exhibition, London, 1884. Royal Warrant Holders to H.M. King George V., H.M. Queen Alexandra, also to His late Majesty King Edward VII., T.R.H. the Prince and Princess Christian; also held Warrants to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria and to H.R.H. the Duke of Edinburgh. Telephone: For West End, .No. 3966 Gerrard; Telegraphic Address: " Slingwar, London." For Camberwell, No. 276 Hop; Telegraphic Address: " Gingerbeer, London."

RAWSON BROTHERS, Cutlery and Electro Plate Manufacturers, Globe Cutlery Works, 19 and 21, Carver Street, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1848. Present Principal: James Kinder. Staff: About 150. Specialities: High Class Cutlery and Electro Plate. Connection: United Kingdom, India, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, West Indies and South America. Telephone: No. 1866 Sheffield. Telegraphic Address: " Noswar, Sheffield," Code: A B C. Bankers: Sheffield and Hallamshire Bank, Ltd.

RAWSON, F. L., M.I.E.E., A.M.I.C.E., Consulting Engineer and Expert on the Development of new Inventions and Industries, 90, Regent Street, W. Laboratory: 48-9, Britannia Street, City Road, E.C. Hours of Business: 10.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1893 by F. L. Rawson, the present principal. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: Office, No. 2846 Regent; Private Address, No. 388 Epsom. Telegraphic Address: " Noswarlf, London." Codes: A B C (4th Edition); Moreing & Neal (9th Edition). Bankers: London and South Western Bank, Ltd. (Charing Cross Branch); and Robarts, Lubbock & Co.

RAYNBIRD & CO., LIMITED, Agricultural Seed Merchants, Seed Growers, Seed-Millers and General Farm Produce Agents, Agricultural Seed Stores and Mills, Basingstoke, and Seed Market, Mark Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Mills and Stores, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established: Based upon a business carried on by R. Raynbird, a Suffolk farmer and seed grower from 1819 to 1881, which concern developed into a large company of Seed Merchants. Continued by the son and grandsons of the Founder. Purchased by Hugh E. Raynbird and Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Directors: Hugh E. Raynbird (Chairman and Managing Director), Edward Raynbird. Specialities: Seed Corn, and Agricultural Seeds, Selected Grasses, Forage, Plants, &c., Oil Cakes and Feeding Stuffs, Manures and General Farm Produce. Inventions: Improvements in Farm Plants, including " Hybrid Wheat." Awards: Many, at leading Exhibitions. Connection: World-wide. Telegraphic Adclress: " Raynbird, Basingstoke." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Basingstoke). Mr. H. E. Raynbird is a member of the London Chamber of Commerce.

RAYNER & WARDLE, Importers of Tanning Materials, Chemicals, &c., Bridge House, Leeds Bridge, Leeds. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1854 by George Rayner (d.). Joined by Frederick Wardle in 1879. Present Principal: Frederick Wardle (since 1899). Business: Importing of Tanning Materials, Dyewares, and Chemicals. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 224 Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Rayner, Leeds." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Leeds).

READ BROTHERS, Ltd., Bottlers of Bass's Ale, Guinness's Stout and English Cider for Export only, Carker's Lane, Kentish Town, London, N.W. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in. 1877 by William Thomas Read and John Walter Read, under the name of Read Bros. Incorporated as a Limited,Company in 1898, when the business was purchased on the death of the Read Brothers and continued under the above title. Directors: George Edwards (Chairman), Jeremiah Colman, William T. Synnott, and Leonard Maple Colman. Secretary: Charles G. Webb. Managers: Paul Blackmar, Robert L. Stockman. Agencies in every part of the world. Specialities: Best quality Bass's Ale, also Guinness's Stout, and English, Cider. Connection United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 7180 Hampstead.. Telegraphic Address: " Bulldog, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition); Special.

READ, JEFFERSON, Sole Manufacturer of the " Arcanum " Cutlery, General Electro -plating. The "Arcanum " Cutlery and Plating Works, 17, Augusta Street, Birmingham: Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7.30 p.m. Established in 1875 by Jefferson Read, the present principal. Speciality: The Arcanum " process of incorporating silver with steel discovered by the principal in 1875 and applied more particularly to Table Cutlery; the special advantage being that this cutlery requires no cleaning except washing, and is as readily sharpened on a steel as ordinary cutlery. Awards: Medal, Sanitary Institute of Great Britain, 1879, for the " Arcanum " process, after practical and scientific tests; International Exhibition Awards: Paris, 1878; Sydney (N.S.W.), 1879-1880; Melbourne, 1880-1881. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 9 Jewellers', Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Arcanum, Birmingham." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. (Birmingham).

READ, W. H., & SON, Tobacco Factors and Brokers, 22, Sir Thomas Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1845 by Edward Samuelson. Succeeded by William Henry Read. Present Principals: William Henry Read and Harold Dunlop Read. Specialities: Highest grades of Virginia Tobacco. Connection; North America, Germany, Holland, South Africa. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty), formerly their sole Tobacco Broker. Telephone: No. 6240 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " United, Liverpool." Bankers: Bank of Liverpool.

READE BROTHERS & COMPANY, LIMITED, Wholesale Druggists and Manufacturing Chemists, Cleveland Road, Wolverhampton. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1773. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Specialities: Manufacture of Sulphurous Acid and Bisulphite of Lime, Finings for Brewers, Horticultural Fertilisers, Weed Killers, and Insecticides. Award: Prize Medal, London, 1862. Connection: Chiefly Home Trade; also in Canada and the United States. Telephone: No. 191 Wolverhampton. Telegraphic Address " Roado, Wolverhampton."

READHEAD (JOHN) & SONS, Ltd., Iron Shipbuilders, Engine and Boiler Builders, Graving Dock Owners, &c., West Dock, South Shields. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1865 by John Readhead. Continued by his four sons. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1909. Directors: James Readhead, J.P. (Chairman and Managing Director), John Readhead, J.P., James H. Readhead, and Stanley Readhead. Premises: Cover about twelve acres, with extensive river frontage. Staff: 1500 to 1800. Specialities: Merchant Steamships. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 14 (P.O.), No. 24, &c. (National) South Shields. Four members of the firm have been Justices of the Peace, and Mayors of South Shields six times.

READING, N. C., & CO., Jewellers and Chain Makers, 33 and 35, Hall Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1847 by John Reading. Continued by Walter Reading, afterwards by N. C. Reading, and Agnes E. Blackwell (née Reading). Present Principals: N. C. Reading and Althans Blackwell. Premises: Erected new Model Works in 1900. Staff: 300. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2116c Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Albo, Birmingham." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

RECKITT & SONS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Starch, Blue, &c., Kingston Works, Dansom Lane, Hull. London Office: 150, Queen Victoria Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. The business was taken over by. Isaac Reckitt in 1840; afterwards carried on by Isaac Reckitt & Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1378. Reconstructed in 1888 and 1899. Directors: Francis Reckitt, J.P., Sir James Reckitt, Bart. (acting as Chairmen in alternate years), Rt. Hon. Thos. R. Ferens, M.P., Arthur B. Reckitt, Harold J. Reckitt, J.P., Philip B. Reckitt, J.P., Arnold Reckitt, Albert L. Reckitt, Wm. H. Slack. Secretary: A. R. Cleminson, A C.I S. Premises: Extensive Works as above, and at Stoneferry, Hull. Branches: London, Plymouth, Liverpool, Hamburg (Germany), Sydney (N.S. Wales), Wellington (New Zealand), New York, Capetown (South Africa), &c. Specialities: Starch, Blue, Ultramarine, Blacklead, Metal Polish, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 2542, 2543, 2544, 2545 Hull. Telegraphic Address: " Reckitts, Hull." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

REDDAWAY, F., & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Textile Belting and Rubber Goods, Levrine Leather Cloths, Pendleton, Manchester, and Ponders End, Middlesex. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1874 by Frank Reddaway. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Directors: Frank Reddaway, J.P. (Managing Director), Thomas Hall (Deputy Chairman), Lambert Reddaway. Premises: Works cover 20,437 yards, fully equipped. Staff: 800. Staff Clubs: Athletic Society and Social. Branches: London, 50, 51, Lime Street, E.C.; Halifax, Manchester, Glasgow, Liverpool, Belfast, Newcastle-on-Tyne, Hamburg, Moscow, St. Petersburg, Calcutta, Paris, Montreal, Melbourne, Wellington, N.Z., Johannesburg, Mexico, Montreal, &c. Specialities: Sole Manufacturers of the well known " Camel Hair " Belting, and of Levrine Cloths; also makers of Canvas Hose, Cotton Belting and India-rubber Goods. Patents: Numerous. Trade Marks: A Camel with the words " Camel " Brand Belting, and Reddaway Belting. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: Nos. 5520 and 5521 City; No. 5520 Trunk, City; No. 1001 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Anchorage, Manchester." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Reuter's and Western Union.

REDFERN, Ltd., Court Dressmakers and Furriers, 26 and 27, Conduit Street, and 27, New Bond Street, London, W. Established by John Redfern in 1840. Incorporated as a Limited Company 1892; Sir William P. Treloar, Bart., Chairman C. P. Redfern, Managing Director. Branches: Paris, Nice, New York, Edinburgh. Patents and Inventions: Several for Sporting Garments. Warrant Holders to the English Royal Family, and to most of the Courts of Europe. Telephone: No. 3849 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Fernsons, London."

REDFERN'S RUBBER WORKS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Rubber Goods, Hyde, and 10, Gresham Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1902. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Chairman: W. E. Redfern. Managing Director T. C. Redfern. London Manager: A. H. Redfern. Works Manager: J. A. Redfern. Specialities: Mechanical Rubber Goods, Cycle Tyres, Golf Balls, Rubber Heels. Specialize in Small Moulded Rubber Goods. Awards: Diplomas and Medals, Liege, 1905; London, 1906; Milan, 1906; Turin, 1911. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 177 Hyde; No. 249 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Rubbers, Hyde "; " Berrub, Cent, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

REDMAN, C., & SONS, Machine Tool Makers, Pioneer Ironworks, Parkinson Lane, Halifax. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1876 by Cornelius Redman (d. 1892). Present Principals: Since 1892, Thomas Redman, Joseph Redman, Ernest Shaw Redman. Premises cover 6,000 square yards, equipped with up-to-date appliances. Staff: 200. Specialities: Lathes, Planing Machines, Drilling Machines, and Shaping Machines. Patent: Countershaft for Planing Machines. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 308 Halifax. Telegraphic Address: " Redma.ns, Engineers, Halifax." Codes: A B C, Lieber's. Bankers: West Yorkshire Bank, Ltd. (Halifax).

REDMAYNE & CO., Ltd., 19 and 20, New Bond Street, W., and 34 and 35, Conduit Street, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established 1808. Incorporated 1893. Specialities: Silks, Mantles, Costumes, Furs, Millinery, Blousel, Lace, Ribbons, Hosiery, Gloves, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Royal Warrant Holders as Insignia Riband Makers to His Majesty King George V., His late Majesty King Edward VII., and to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephone: No. 1015 Regent. Telegraphic Address: " Redmayne, Wesdo, London."

REDMAYNE & ISHERWOOD, Ltd., Cotton Waste Manufacturers, and Bailey, Isherwood & Co., Wool Staplers, Commercial Mills, Blackburn. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about half a century ago. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: John Hacking (Chairman), and J. L. Redmayne. Branch: 17, Cheapside, Bradford (Bailey, Isherwood & Co.) Specialities: Cotton and Cotton Waste and Engine Waste; also Wool made a special feature of by Bailey, Isherwood & Co. Telephones: Nos. 327 and 397 Blackburn, and No. 4523 Bradford (Bailey, Isherwood & Co.). Telegraphic Addresses: " Redmayne, Blackburn "; " Bawood, Blackburn " (Bailey, Isherwood & Co. ). Code: Western Union (Universal Edition). Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd., Blackburn.

REEKIE (JAMES) & SONS, Plumbers, Sanitary Engineers, Hot Water Fitters and Electricians, 39, Brecknock Road, N., and 170, Church Street, Kensington, London, W. HOUr8 of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1873 by James Reekie, joined in 1890 by James Smith Reekie (eldest son) and in 1902 by Jared Reekie and Philip Reekie. Present Principals: James Smith Reekie, Jared Reekie, and Philip Reekie. Staff: About fifty. Specialities: Sanitary and Plumbing Work and Hot Water Work and Compressed Air Mains. Patents: Clero and Rencr Intercepting drain traps, Detachable_Cantilever Brackets for Hospitals and Larders, Plugs and Fittings for Air Test to Drains. Connection: United Kingdom. Have carried out the Plumbing Work for Lloyds Register of Shipping in Fenchurch Street, also at Eton College, Charterhouse School Hospital for Sick Children, Hotham Hall, Yorks, Woolhampton Park. Telephones: No. 819 North; No. 4892 Park, London.

REEVES & SONS, Ltd., Artists' Colourmen, 18, Ashwin Street, Dalton, and 4, Farringdon Avenue, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1766 by William Reeves. Continued by (1) William Reeves and Thomas Reeves, 1782; (2) William J. Reeves, son of Thos. Reeves; (3) James Reeves and Henry Reeves, 1827; (4) H. B. Wild and C. K. Wild (nephews of Henry Reeves), 1866. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Present Directors: Charles J. Wild (Chairman and Managing Director), Harry Reginald Wild, Ernest Harold Sturge, Louis Charles Simmons, and Archibald Guy Simmons. In 1781 the firm received the " Greater Silver Palette " from the Society of Arts. Branches and affiliated Company of ' Reeves' Artists' Depots, Ltd.: 113, Cheapside; 53, Moorgate Street; 29, Ludgato Hill, E.C.; 13, Charing Cross Road, W.C.; 161, High Street, Kensington, W. Specialities: Artists' Colours, Brushes, and other Artists' materials. Connection: Con-tractors to British and Foreign Education Authorities. Telephones: No. 2860 Dalston. London. Telegraphic Address: " Greyhound, Kinland, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Robarts, Lubbock & Co., Ltd.

REEVES, WHITBURN & CO., Bankers, 27, Clements Lane, Lombard Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Established in 1859 by William Reeves (d.) and Charles Joseph Sofer-Whitburn. Present Principals: Charles William Sofer-Whitburn (only son of Founder) and Robert Cecil Bonsor. Business: Bankers. Connection: Extensive in the United Kingdom, also in the Colonies and abroad. Telephones: No. 5323 Central; No. 3247 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Whitburn, London." Code: Lieber's. Bankers: Bank of England, and Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

REID (ANDREW) & CO., Ltd., General Printers, Publishers, Manufacturing Stationers, Bookbinders, Pictorial Lithographers, and Advertising Contractors. Printing Works, Publishing and Advertising Departments, and Registered Office, Printing Court Buildings, Newcastle-on-Tyne; Lithographic Works, 50, Grey Street, Newcastle-on-Tyne; London Office, 12, Crosby Buildings, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1845 by the late Andrew Reid. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Directors: R. W. Armstrong (Chairman), Sidney Reid, Philip Reid, Geo. F. Boyd, Thos. Dobson (Secretary). Business: Printing and Publishing; Advertising Contractors, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephones: (Newcastle), No. 2476 National, for 50, Grey Street; Nos. 3001, 3002 and 3003, for Printing Court Buildings; (London), No. 5267 London Wall. Telegraphic Addresses: " Lithograph, Newcastle-on-Tyne " (for 50, Grey Street); " Printers," also " Advert," Newcastle-on-Tyne (for Printing Court Buildings). Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Quayside, Newcastle-on-Tyne).

REID BROTHERS ENGINEERS, Ltd., Engineers and Contractors, 12, Wharf Road, City Road, London, N. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1820 by William Reid. Present Directors: Edwin James Reid, M.I.E.E. (grandson of the founder), William Edwin Reid, and Wallace Bruce Good. One of the oldest houses in the trade, and intimately connected with the electric industry from the first. Laid the first Submarine Cabe across the Channel in 1850; also manufactured the original Telegraph Instruments now in South Kensington Museum. Staff: Varies from 200 to 500. Specialities: Electrical and other instruments of precision, Pneumatic Dispatch Tubes, Electric Lighting, Power, and Traction Engineering. Patents: Several on various subjects. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 12249 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Supra, Hox, • London." Code A 13 C. Bankers: London County and West minster Bank, Ltd. Mr. Edwin J. Reid is a member of the Institution of Electrical Engineers.

REID (ROBERT) & CO., Ltd., Wholesale Soft Goods Exporters and Warehouse men, 19, Chiswell Street, Finsbury, London, E.C.; also at Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane and Adelaide. Hours of Busi ness: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1874. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Staff: Over 400; factory hands over 500. Business: Wholesale Specialists in Ladies' and Gentlemen's Apparel of all kinds. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Tele phone: No. 10858 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Equivocal, Lon don." Bankers: Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co.; Clydesdale Bank, Ltd.

REID & TAYLOR, Woollen Manufacturers, Langholm Woollen Mills, Langholm, and 14, Golden Square, London, W. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1840 by Alexander Reid and Joseph Taylor. Continued by Henry Graham.. Present Principals: R. I. Graham and F. Graham. Specialities: Black, Blue and Mixture Tweeds and Serges, Fancy Suitings, Worsteds, &c. Awards: Medals, London Exhibition, 1862; Exhibition of Works of Industry of all Nations, London, 1851. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 6 Langholm; No. 1473 Regent, London. Telegraphic Address: " Tweed, Langholm "; " Durare, Lon don." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

REID, W. B., & COMPANY, LIMITED, Brewers, Wine and Spirit Merchants, Mineral Water Manufacturers, Ale and Stout Bottlers. Registered Offices: 53, Grey Street, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: Brewery and Mineral Water Factory, 6.30 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Offices, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Joint Stock Company in 1837. About 1848 C. B. Reid became proprietor. Succeeded by his son William . Bruce Reid in 1853. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Directors: William Bruce Reid (Managing Director and Chairman), Harry George Younger (Vice-Chairman), Robert Bruce, James Gordon Morrison. Premises: Leazes Brewery, Mineral Water Factory, and Bottling Stores, with all the latest improvements. Branches: North and South Shields and Sunderland. Staff 3F 230. BUsiness: Brewers of noted Newcastle Mild Ales, Wine and Spirit Merchants, Mineral Water Manufacturers, Ale and Stout Bottlers. ,Registered Trademark: " Pro Virtute." Connection,: Local. Telephones: No. 2505 National; No. 2274 (National) Newcastle-on-Tyne. Tele-graphic Address: " Reid, Limited, Newcastle-on-Tyne."

REINDORP & SON, Mahogany, Cedar, Teak, and Hardwood Merchants, East Wood Wharf, West India Docks, London, E. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1866 by J. E. Reindorp, who was joined in 1901 by his son, H. S. Reindorp. Present Principals: J. E. Reindorp and H. S. Reindorp. Premises: Warehouse, Offices, &c., at East Wood Wharf, E. Speciality: Sale of Floating Cargoes of Mahogany and Cedar. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 146 East. Telegraphic Address: " Reindorp, Phone, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.; Incasso-Bank, Rotterdam; La Banque de Commerce, Antwerp. Mr. J. E. Reindorp has been President of the Belgian Benevolent Society in London.

REISS BROTHERS, Merchants, 11, Quay Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Branches: London, 50 and 51, Lime Street (under the title of L. Reiss, Brothers & Co.); Liverpool, 39, Cotton Exchange Buildings; and in China, under title of Reiss & Co. Business: Merchants. Telephones No. 4963 City, Manchester; No. 5878 Avenue, London; No. 6437 Liverpool. Telegraphic Addresses: "Reiss," Manchester, London and Liverpool.

RELIGIOUS TRACT SOCIETY (THE), Publishers of Books, Tracts, and Magazines, 4, Bouverie Street, and 65, St. Paul's Churchyard, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1799 by the Rev. Geo. Burder, of Coventry, and about forty others, chiefly Ministers. Incorporated in 1899. Hon. Secretaries: Preb. F. S. Webster, M.A., Rev. Dr. G. Campbell Morgan. Hon. Treasurer: W. F. A. Archibald. Secretaries: Rev. A. R. Buckland, M.A., and James Bowden. Assistant Secretary: Rev. C. H. Irwin, M.A. The Retail Saloon and Tract Department are at 65, St. Paul's Churchyard, E.C. Stag: About 100. Stall Club: Swimming. Branches: 135, Deansgate, Manchester; 18, Slater Street, Liverpool. Business: The publication of Tracts, Books (Theological, Devotional, Stories, &c.), Magazines, &c. Has assisted in translating the "Pilgrim's Progress " into 114 languages, and has published Tracts and Books in 275 languages and dialects. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 7759 Central; No. 928 Holborn. Telegraphic Address: " Tracts, Fleet, London." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

REMINGTON TYPEWRITER CO., Ltd., 100, Gracechurch Street, London, E.C. Branches everywhere. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1873 by E. Remington & Sons. In 1886 the present • organisation (a limited company in England, a corporation in America) was evolved from the original firm by Messrs. Wyckoff, Seamans & Benedict. President: J. W. Earle. Premises: The Remington factory comprises thirty buildings, accommodating over 2,100 operatives, upon an area of seven acres. Speciality: The Remington Typewriter, fully protected by British and foreign patents. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government and to the Indian Government. Royal Warrants: To His late Majesty King Edward and to H.M. King George V. Telephone: No. 5555 Avenue (six lines). Telegraphic Address: " Wyckoff - Grace, London." Cable Address: " Ilion, London."

REMUS CO., Ltd. (THE), Specialists in Cardboard Box-Making Machinery, 30/34, Tabernacle Street, Finsbury Square, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1890 by Teodor Remus. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1900. Directors: J. Temler, M. Lieberoth, and G. D. Lush. Claim that the inventions of the Founder are recognised by the box-making trade as having transformed it from a hand into a mechanical industry. Specialities: Cardboard Box-Making Machinery. Patents: Numerous. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Telephone: No. 4316 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: •`.4 Teoremus, Finsquare, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

RENAULT, Ltd., Automobile Manufacturers. Head Office and Showrooms: 21, Pall Mall, S.W. Works: Seagrave Road, West Brompton, S.W. Established in 1904 by Renault Freres, 139, Rue de Point du Jour, Billancourt, Paris. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: (Head Office) No. 3996 Gerrard; (Works) No. 3020 Kensington. Telegraphic Address: " Renobranch, London."

RENNARDS & GARSIDE, Fancy Yarn Makers, Wentworth Mill, Fitzwilliam Street, Huddersfield. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 7 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established in 1874 by J. R. Brook and Jas. Morrison, afterwards Jas.. Morrison and R. A. Rennards, 1880. Present Principals: R. A. Rennards, F. O. Garside. Specialities: Worsted, Wool, Mohair, Silk and Cotton Twists, Chenille, &c., Winding, Warping, and' Twisting on Commission. Telephone: No. 410 (National), Huddersfield. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

RENNIE, J. C., & CO., Woollen Manufacturers, Milladen, Mintlaw Station, N.B. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1798 by George Rennie. Present Principals: J. C. Rennie, James Rennie (jun.), Andrew M. McRae and Francis E. McRae. Premises: Occupy two Factories and Warehouse. Specialities: Tweeds, Homespuns, Kilt Tartans, Blankets, &c. Connection: Norway, Germany, France and the United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 8 Mintlaw Station. Telegraphic Address: " Rennie, Mintlaw Station." Bankers: North of Scotland and Town arid County Bank, Ltd. (Mintlaw).

RENOLD (HANS), Ltd., Driving Chain Manufacturers. Head Office: Progress Works, Brook Street. Works: Progress Works, Manchester, and Burnage Works, Didsbury. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1879 by Hans Renold. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Directors: Hans Renold (Governing Director), Charles G. Renold, and W. H. Jackson. Premises: Floor-space over seven acres. Staff: 1200. Branches: London, Kingsway House, Kingsway, W.C.; Glasgow, 86, St. Vincent Street. Agencies: All over the world. Specialities: Driving Chains and Wheels for Power Transmission, General Engineering purposes, Motor Cars, Motor Vehicles, Motor Cycles, Bicycles, &c. Patents: Several. Awards: Five Grands Prix, Brussels and Turin International Exhibitions, &c. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, Post Office, &c.). Telephones: No. 3693 Central, Manchester (four lines); No. 3808 City, London; No. 2454 Central, Glasgow. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Driving, Manchester "; " Renolgear, London; " " Positive, Glasgow." Codes: Lieber's, A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

RESTELL, W. & T., Sworn Wine and Spirit Brokers, Valuers and Auctioneers, 29, Mark Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1866 by William and Thomas Restell, in succession to their uncle, J. G. Winn, who founded the business some half a century earlier. William Restell died in 1889 and Thomas Restell in 1899. The present sole principal is James TaylorRestell. Speciality: The firm occupy a prominent position as Wine and Spirit Brokers and Auctioneers, and hold large monthly Market Sales by Public Auction at the London Commercial Sale Rooms. They are Brokers and Auctioneers to the Port of London Authority, and to the British and Foreign Wharf. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2666 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Restells, Fen, London." Bankers: London County & Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Lothbury). Mr. James Taylor-Restell is an Arbitrator of the London Chamber of Arbitration, and is Past Master of the Worshipful Company of Upholders.

REVELL (FLEMING H.) COMPANY, Publishers, 21, Paternoster Square, London, E.C., and 100, Princes Street, Edinburgh. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1877 by Fleming H. Revell. President: Fleming H. Revell. Vice-President: S. Edgar Briggs. Secretary: Fleming H. Revell, junr. The headquarters of the Company are in New York. Agencies: Chicago, Toronto, London, Edinburgh. Business: Publishers of Evangelical and Missionary Works, and of Healthy Fiction. Telephones: No. 1528 Central, London; No. 683 Edinburgh; No. 6493 Gramercy, New York. Telegraphic Addresses: "Publiant, Cent, London "; " Publishing, Edinburgh "; " Revell, New York."

REYNOLDS & BRANSON, Ltd., Wholesale and Manufacturing Chemists, Manufacturers of and Dealers in Scientific Apparatus, Manufacturers of Aerated Waters, Retail and Dispensing Chemists and Opticians. Registered Offices: 13, Briggate, Leeds. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. (Wholesale Dept.); 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. (Retail). Established in 1816. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonies.

REYNOLDS & EASON, Auctioneers, Surveyors, House and Estate Agents, 192, Bishopsgate, London, E.C. Hours of 3 F 2 Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established over 100 years ago in the Bishopsgate district by George Mitchell. Telephone: No. 1357 Central.

REYNOLDS, FREDERICK, Razor and Cutlery Manufacturer, Providence Works, Gell Street, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1830 by Frederick Reynolds. Present Principals: Richard Reynolds and Harry Reynolds. Business: Manufacture of high-class Razors and Cutlery. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 2061 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Reynolds, Sheffield." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Sheffield and Hallamshire Bank, Ltd.

REYNOLDS, F. W., & CO., Sawmill and General Engineers, Acorn Works, Edward Street, Blackfriars Road, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1868 by Fredk. W. Reynolds, the present principal. Business: Sawmill and General Engineering. Have patented many improvements in Sawmill Machinery. Connection: United Kingdom. Shippers to Australia, New Zealand, Tasmania, Fiji, India, China, Japan, Africa, South America, France, Spain, Portugal, Italy, Russia, Turkey, &e. Telephone: No. 720 Hop. Telegraphic Address: " Excellence, London." Mr. Fredk. W. Reynolds is a Justice of the Peace for the County of London, Director of the City of London Electric Light Co., County of London Electric Light Co., Ltd., Bournemouth and Poole Electric Lighting Co., Richmond Electric Light Co., Ltd., &c. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd., 52, Cornhill, London, E.C.

REYNOLDS, J., & CO., Ltd., Flour Millers, Albert Flour Mills, Docks, Gloucester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1869 by James Reynolds and James Bruton, continued by Thomas William Hibbard (d. 1907). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Managing Directors: James Bruton and William Richard Voller. Claim to have the largest Roller Flour Millers' business in Gloucester. Agencies: London and many large cities and towns throughout the United Kingdom (Wholesale). Specialities: Highest grade Flour for Pastry and Bread Makers. Patents: Several. Awards: 114 Gold Medals for Digestive Wheatmeal. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly), Export to South Africa, China, India, and the Continent. Telephone: No. 96 (National), Gloucester. Telegraphic Address " Albert, Gloucester." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

REYNOLDS, JOSEPH, Woodware Manufacturers, Prospect Works, Chesham, Bucks. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1825 by Nathaniel Reynolds. Continued by Nathaniel Reynolds, Samuel Reynolds and Joseph Reynolds. Present Principal: Joseph Reynolds. Premises: Cover about one acre, equipped with modern appliances. Specialities: Turnery, Dairy Appliances, Plumbers' Tools, Bowls, Shovels, Household and General Woodware. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 15 Chesham. Telegraphic Address: " Joseph Reynolds, Chesham." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Chesham). Mr. Joseph Reynolds is a Councillor and is on the Bucks Insurance Committee.

REYNOLDS & SON, Ltd., Adjusters of Iron Ship's Compasses, Chronometer and Nautical Instrument Manufacturers, 14, London Street, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established about sixty years ago by William Reynolds (sen.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. Chairman: W. R. Green. Manager and Secretary: G. J. Sweetapple. The business has always been in the immediate neighbourhood since foundation. Have for many years supplied vessels with every detail connected with their navigation. Specialities: Compasses, Sextants, Lamps, Charts, Books, Sounding Machines, Patent Logs, Binoculars, Telescopes, &c. An extensive business is also carried on in repairing same. Are specially well known for Compass Adjusting. Have patented many inventions, notably the " Palinurus," " Odometer " Patent Log, " Pendent Log," " Volta " Azimuth Mirror, " Volta " Compass, Reynolds' Patent Pole Compass, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 6414 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Spyglass, London."

REYNOLDS, SONS & CO., Ltd., Wholesale Provision Merchants and Agents, 55, Charterhouse Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established about 1830 by Wm. Reynolds (father of the present Director). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896, and now incorporated with Richard Dickeson & Co., Ltd., Tooley Street, S. E. Staff: Large. Business: Provisions (wholesale only). Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3520 City (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Rennello, Smith, London." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. Sir Alfred Reynolds, the Managing Director, High Sheriff of the County of Hertfordshire 1910-11, is a Justice of the Peace for the Counties of London, Middlesex (late Chairman of the Highgate Bench) and Herts; Chairman of Visiting Board to State Inebriate Reformatory, Aylesbury, and of the Holloway Discharged Prisoners' Aid Society; Commissioner of Taxes for Herts; Visiting Justice to H.M. Prison, Holloway; one of H.M.'s Lieutenants for the City of London; Officer of the Order of the Crown of Italy; was Sheriff of the City of London, 1903.

RHENISH RUBBER & CELLULOID CO. (1908) Ltd. (THE), Manufacturers, 58, Basinghall Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established by Rheinische Gummi and Celluloid Fabrik, Mannheim. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Managing Director F. W. Punfield. Specialities: Celluloid, also Combs, Dolls, etc. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephone: No. 611 London Wall. Telegraphic Adiress: " Klavehn, Ave, London."

RHODES (JOHN) & SONS, Wool, Waste and Noils Merchants, 22 to 24, St. John's Str3et, Bradford. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1872 by John Rhodes, as John Rhodes & Co. Now carried on as John Rhodes & Sons. Present Principals: John Rhodes, Harry Rhodes and George Herbert Rhodes. Premises: Cover 1000 square yards. Specialities: Carbonised Burriocks and Wool. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 727 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Milo, Bradford."

RHODES (THOMAS), Ltd., Spinners and Manufacturers, Mersey Mills, Hollingworth, Cheshire. Hours of Business: Manchester Office, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12.30 p.m.; Mersey Mills, 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 6.30 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established in 1859 by Thomas Rhodes (d.). Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1883. Became a Public Company in 1889. Directors: George Wood Rhodes (Chairman), Fred Reyner, F. B. Ross. Premises: Extend over four acres. Staff: About 1,200. Specialities: High-class Printers, Fancies, Twills, Shirtings, Shawls, and Umbrella Cloths. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1906 City, Manchester and Mersey Mills. Telegraphic Address: " Colossus, Manchester." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.

RICE, (GEORGE,) Ltd., Fur Skin Dressers, Dyers, and Merchants, 65, Queen Street, London, E.C. (Removed from 40A, Queen Street, E.C.) Hours of Business: Various. Established in 1880 by George Rice. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1906. Directors: George E. Rico and Sidney A. S. Rice. Premises: Factories, Hudson Bay Works, Warton Road; Bridge Works, Lett Road, Stratford, E. Stall: From 300 to 500. Specialities Fur Skin Dre3sng and Dyeing. Specially known for the Dressing and Dyeing of Seal Skins. Have introduced various mechanical inventions, notably the " Oscillator " Washing Machines, used for the preparation of Seal Skins and other Fur Skins. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 5241 Bank; No. 1379 East. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Sealeries, Cannon, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions); Lieber's.

RICHARDS, GEO., & CO., Ltd., Engineers, Broadheath, near Manchester. Hours of Business 7.15 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 7.15 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1882 by Geo. Richards and B. C. Tilghman. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1884. Directors: B. C. Tilghman, Alfred Simpson, C. S. W. Packard, Alfred Eugene Mathenson (Managing Director). Premises cover fourteen acres, fully equipped with up-to-date machinery. Staff: 700 to 800. Specialities: Side Planing Machines, Boring and Turning Mills, Facing and Boring Machines, Drilling Machines, Radial Drilling Machines, Pulleys and Line. Patents: Side Planing Machines, Facing and Boring Machines, Boring and Turning Mills. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 14 Altrincham. Telegraphic Address: " Richards, Altrincham." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Broadheath).

RICHARDS, J., Ironfounder, Victoria Foundry, Dudley Port. Hours of Business: Usual. Established by J. Richards, the present principal. Specialities: Boot Protectors, Bale Studs and Small Malleable Castings. Telephone: No. 75 Tipton. Telegraphic Address: " Victor Tipton."

RICHARDSON, EDWARD & JAMES, Leather Manufacturers, Elswick Leather Works, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established more than a century ago by ancestors of the present partners. Present Principals: J. Alaric Richardson, Lawrence Richardson, Frank Richardson, Gilbert H. Richardson (partners). Is one of the oldest houses in the trade. Specialities: Sealskins, Goat Skins, Chrome Leather, Hydraulic Leathers, &c. Telephone: No. 18 (National) Newcastle-on-Tyne. Telegraphic Address: " Leather, Newcastle-onTyne." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

RICHARDSON (HENRY) & COMPANY, Agricultural Merchants and Manufacturers of Chemical Fertilisers, Skeldergate Bridge Works, York. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1824 by Wm. Richardson. Succeeded by Hy. Richardson; joined by Richd. Thompson and John Wm. Procter in 1870. Present Principals: Richard Thompson, John Wm. Procter, J.P., and Tyndale Procter (son) and Geoffrey Thompson, M.A. (son of Richard Thompson). Premises: Are on the site of an old Tannery founded by the Richardson family, who purchased the " Cherry Hill " estate in 1780, and built Cherry Hill House adjoining. The Works cover about an acre, equipped with modern appliances. Specialties: Manufacturers of Superphosphates and Vitriolised Bone, and Special Fertilisers for the various crops. Dealers in Sulphate of Ammonia, Nitrate of Soda, Nitrate of Lime, Peruvian Guano, Fish Meals, Bono Meals, Potash Salts, Basic Slags and all leading Fertilisers; Linseed and Cotton Cakes, and other Feeding Materials for Agricultural use; also Agricultural Seeds. Published a Booklet on " Artificial Fertilisers, their uses and the best sources of Supply," in 1895. Connection: Yorkshire and neighbouring counties in the Midlands. Telephone: No. 199 (National), York. Telegraphic Address: " Richardson, York." Mr. R. Thompson was Sheriff of York, 1881. Mr. J. W. Procter is a Justice of the Peace for the City of York.

RICHARDSON (JAMES) & CO., Manufacturing Chemists, Dyewood Cutters and Importers, Nether Mills, East Street, Leeds. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Offices, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established prior to 1850 by Thomas Richardson at Mabgate Mills, Leeds, and Waterloo Mills, Hunslet. Continued by (1) James Richardson and Charles Richardson, as Richardson Brothers, 1861; (2) James Richardson and J. S. Parkinson, as James Richardson & Co., to 1870; (3) James Richardson, 1900. Present Principals Mrs. Richardson (widow of James Richardson) and William Richardson (son). Staff: Twenty-two. Specialities t Logwood and Dyewoods, Indigo Extracts and Dyers' Requisites. Patent: Mordants. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 379 Central, Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Dyewoods, Leeds." Code: A B C. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

RICHARDSON (JOHN) & CO., LEICESTER, LIMITED, Manufacturing Chemists, Wholesale and Export Druggists, 10, Friar Lane, Leicester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1793. Partnership Successions: (1) Thomas Parsons; (2) Parsons & Richardson; (3) John Richardson & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Directors: H. N. B. Richardson, B.A., F.C.S., R. E. S. Richardson, F.C.S., R. E. Bartley, H. N. Stroud, J. Spilsbury, F.I.C. One of the pioneer firms to introduce Pearl-coated Pills. Premises: Warehouse and Offices at above address. Manufactories, Pocklington's Walk. Staff Club: Self-supporting Sick Benefit Society. Business: Manufacturing Chemists, Wholesale and Export Druggists. Connection: United Kingdom, India, Colonies. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty), 21st successive year. Telephone: No. 4291 Leicester. Telegraphic Address " Antizyme, Leicester." Code: A B C (4th Edition). Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

RICHARDSONS, WESTGARTH & CO., Ltd., Marine, Electrical, and General Engineers and Boilermakers, Hartlepool Engine Works, Hartlepool; Commercial Street, Middlesbrough; and Scotia Engine Works, Sunderland. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900 on the amalgamation of T. Richardson and Sons (founded 1847), Sir Christopher Furness, Westgarth & Co., Ltd. (founded 1880), and William Allan & Co., Ltd., Sunderland (founded 1888). Directors: W. J. Richardson (Vice-Chairman), Stephen W. Furness, Henry H. Murray, Alfred Harrison, John Esplen, Admiral Sir Archibald L. Douglas, G.C.B., G.C.V.O., Tom Westgarth, D. B. Morison (Managing Director). Secretary: Henry Barnes. Premises: Extensive, covering about twenty-seven acres. Staff: About 3,500. Specialities: Marine Engines and Boilers, Turbines and Turbo Generator Sets, Gas Engines, Evaporators, Condensing Plants, &c. Patents: Proprietors of Morison's Evaporator, Feed Heater, and others. Telephones: Nos. 247 and 293 (National); No. 202 (National) and No. 21 (P.O.), Middlesbrough; No. 72 (National), Sunderland. Telegraphic Addresses: " Richardsons, Hartlepool "; " Westgarth, Middlesbrough "; " Scotia, Sunderland."

RICHFORD, E. M., Rubber Stamp and Type Maker (the City Rubber Stamp Company). Head Offices and Factory: 8 and 9, Snow Hill, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1878 by E. M. Richford; joined in 1884 by C. S. Webb. Present Principals: B. M. Richford, C. S. Webb. Incorporated with the business is the Patent Printing Surface Company. Claimed' to be the original inventors of the Rubber Stamp, patented 1863. Premises: Extensive Factory and large Offices occupying six floors in Snow Hill; also two large Warehouses. Staff: Seventy-five. Branches: 34, Cheapside, and 13, Paternoster Row, E.C., and 79, High Bridge, Newcastle - on - Tyne. Specialities: The manufacture of Rubber Stamps, Rubber Type, Pads, Machines, and all accessories. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephones: No. 5012 Holborn; No. 8319 Bank. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Stamperies, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

RICHMOND GAS STOVE AND METER CO., Ltd. (THE), all kinds of Gas Apparatus. Works and General Offices: Academy Street, Warrington. London Offices and Showrooms.: 132, Queen Victoria Street, E.C. Meter Works: Ranelagh Works, Royal Avenue, Chelsea, S.W., Manchester and Leeds. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1889 by E. W. T. Richmond (d.), as Richmond & Unsworth. Incorporated as a Limited Company as Richmond & Co., Ltd. Re-registered and amalgamated in 1901 with George Glover & Co., Ltd., of Chelsea; George Newton, Ltd., Oldham, in 1902, and Clark's Syphon Stove Co., Ltd., in 1909. Directors: Thomas Dwerryhouse (Chairman), Horace M. Thornton (Vice-Chairman and Managing Director), John A. Ransome (Managing Director), John Coxon, J. F. Atkins, M.B., J. W. Glover, and J. W. Slack. Secretary: James W. Slack. Premises: Very extensive; Branch Works at Carpenters Road, Stratford, E., and Meter Works at Gaythorn Meter Works, Easton Street, Manchester; aLso Leeds. Showrooms: Liverpool, 4, Colquitt Street. Staff: 1000. Speciality: Richmond Gas Stoves and George Glover's Gas Meters. Patents: Numerous. Awards: Many at various Exhibitions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephones: No. 5546 (National) Bank, London (two lines); No. 415 Warrington (three lines); No. 851 East London; No. 1140 Kensington, London; No. 02934 Leeds; No. 09171 Manchester. Telegraphic Addresses: " Gastoves, Warrington "; " Gasapparatus, London "; " Gasogen, London " (for Stratford); " Dry Meters, London " (for Chelsea); " Meters, Leeds "; " Slot, Manchester " (for Easton Street). Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

RICHMOND & SHUFFLEBOTHAM, Sewing Silks, &c. (Wholesale only), Park Silk Mills, Leek, Staffs. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1877 by Wm. Shufflebotham and John Richmond. Present Principal: Hy. Shufflebotham. Specialities: Sewing Silk and Button Hole Twists, &c. Patent: Twisting Machinery. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 82 (National), Leek. Telegraphic Address: "Shuffiebotham, Park Mills, Leek." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank, Ltd.

RICKETT, COCKERELL & CO., Ltd., Coal and Coke Merchants, Tower House, 40, Trinity Square, London, B.C. (See also Geo. J. Cockerell & Co.) Directors: W. J. Franks, J. C. Hamilton Greig, H. Lea-Smith, H. R. Pelly, H. G. Radford, H. Cecil Rickett. The Company has a very extensive business in London, the Suburbs, Croydon, and South Coast towns. Telephone: No. 1027 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Rickett, London." C

RICORDI, G., & CO., Music Publishers and Printers, 265, Regent Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1808 by Giovanni Ricordi in Milan; London Branch opened in 1876. The Founder was succeeded by Tito Ricordi (son). Present Principal: Tito Ricordi. Branches: Milan, Rome, Naples, Palermo, Paris, Leipzig, Buenos Ayres, and New York. Agencies: In all countries. Specialities: The publication of Grand Operas; also all kinds of Vocal and Instrumental Music. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: Special Appointments to the King of Italy and the Queen of Holland. Telephone: No. 10837 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Ricordi, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Regent Street).

RIDDEL & Co., Machinery Merchants and Exporters, 40, St. Enoch Square, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1876 by John H. Riddel, the present principal. Business: Machinery Merchants and Exporters, and specialize in Shipyard Plant and Equipment. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 8722 City, Glasgow. Codes: A B C .(5th Edition); Western Union. Bankers: British Linen Bank, Ltd.

RIDER WILSON'S TABLE WATERS, Ltd., Trent Street, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1907 as Successors to the Sheffield Mineral Water Syndicate. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: John W. Wilson (Chairman); John W. Best; B. Chapman (Managing Director) and J. Eames (Secretary and Manager). Premises: Large Factory and twenty horses. Own large commercial lorry, " The Commer Car." Staff: Delivery men, twenty; inside hands, forty. Specialities . " Catley " Dry Ginger Ale; " Catley Abbey," the only Natural British Seltzer Water, and Mineral Waters in all kinds of bottles and syphons, manufactured on the most modern hygienic principles. Connection: England chiefly, and Export trade. Telephone: No. 1611 Sheffield. Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

RIDGWAYS, Ltd., Tea and Coffee Merchants, Ridgway House, King William Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1836 by Thomas Ridgway. Incorporated as a Limited Company Capital: £530,000. Directors: Sir Alfred Cooper, J.P. (Chairman), John Maitland (Managing Director), F. R. Spofforth, H. J. Chisholm and S. W. Cooper. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Branches: 182, Oxford Street, W.; 73 and 74, Minories, E.C. (Wholesale Department); Liverpool, Manchester, Leeds, Sheffield, Birmingham, Bradford, Southampton, Belfast. Agencies: Throughout the world. Specialities: High grade Teas and Coffees. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrant: To H.M. the King of Spain. Held special appointment to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephones: Nos. 828, 829 and 830 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address " Ridgwa,ys, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

RIDLEY & CO., Ltd., Publishers, 10, By ward Street, Mark Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1830 by George Ridley. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Directors: Harry John Newman, Harry H. W. Sparham, William Henry Cross. Proprietors of Ridley's Wine and Spirit Trade Circular. Business: Publishers, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 5099 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Garrafa, Bilgate, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

RIDLEY, THOS. D., & SONS, Contractors, 67, Marton Road, Middlesbrough. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in Middlesbrough by T. D. Ridley in 1869. Present Principal: T. W. Ridley. Business: General Public Works Contractors. Are also makers of Slag or Scoriae Brick for roadway.:, which they largely export to America. Telephone: No. 146 Middlesbrough. Telegraphic Address: "Ridley, Middlesbrough." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. (Middlesbrough).

RIGBY, THOMAS, Wine and Spirit Merchants. Offices and Stores: 19, Dale Street. Bonded Vaults: Boxteth Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Stores, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; 9.30 to 5 p.m. Established by Thomas Rigby. Succeeded by Walter A. Rigby, only son (d. 1905). Present Principals: Trustees, R. A. Rigby, eldest son of W. A. Rigby (Managing Trustee). Branches: Twenty retail houses in Liverpool. Business: Wine and Spirit Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 6316 (Central), Liverpool.

RIGG (JAMES) & SONS, Spade Manufacturers, Crawick Forge, Sanquhar, N.B. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1772 by John Rigg. Continued as (1) John Rigg & Sons; (2) Charles and James Rigg; (3) James Rigg & Son. Present Principal: James Rigg. Claim to be the oldest firm in the trade in Scotland. Specialities: Spades and Shovels; Drain Tools, Hill Drain Rutting Spades, Flauchter and Peat Spades. Implements for Agriculturists, Contractors, Engineers, &c. Awards: Several, including Prize Medal Highland and Agricultural Society of Scotland, 1875. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telegraphic Address: " Rigg, Sanquhar."

RIGLEY, WILLIAM, Railway Wagon Building and Contracting, Bulwell Forest, Nottingham. Lion Wagon Works: Nantyglo, Mon., and other outstations. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1888 by William Rigley, the present principal. Premises: Cover eight acres. Staff: About 250. Staff Clubs: Football and Cricket. Speciality: Railway Wagons. Patent: Rigley's Axle-box. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: Nos. 61, 62 and 64 Bulwell. Telegraphic Address: " Rigley, Bulwell." Bankers: Nottingham and Notts Banking Co., Ltd.

RIGOLD, B., & BERGMANN, East India and China Merchants, 69, Bishopsgate, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1876. Branches: Bombay, Calcutta, Delhi, Singapore. London Agents for Melchers & Co., China. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1604 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Paroquet, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Lothbury Branch).

RILEY, E. J., Ltd., Billiard Table Manufacturers, Willow Mills, Accrington. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1873 by E. J. Riley. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: J. T. Kenyon (Chairman and Managing Director), E. J. Riley (Managing Director), H. S. Grimshaw. Hold a large number of records by leading Billiard Players. Premises: 125 yards long. Staff: 250. Branch: 147, Aldersgate Street, London, E.C. Business: Manufacture of Billiard Tables, Full Size and Dining Tables. Patents: Riley's Patent Billiard Pocket and Riley's Billiard and Dining Table Adjustment. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 200 Accrington. Telegraphic Address: "Billiards, Accrington."

RIMINGTON BROTHERS, Dealers in Engineering Specialities, 6, Abbey Street, Carlisle. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1878 by G. 0. Rimington, the present principal. For a period of fifteen years a junior partner had a small share in the business which expired four and a half years ago. From a general Mill Furnishing and Engineers' Furnishing business, doing a local trade the firm has developed as Importers and Agents for Lubricating and Mechanical Specialities. Premises: Occupy a seventeenth-century three-storey house of fifteen rooms, facing Abbey Street, building in rear facing West Walls, covering about a quarter of an acre. Specialities: Lubricators and Lubricants, Power Transmission, General Engineers' Furnishings. Are Agents for Nugent's Patent Crank Pin and Crosshead Oilers and Oil Filters. Were the patentees of Rimington's Asbestos Lapped Jointing Rings, now expired. Proprietors of " Sterling " Brand (Registered) of Machinery Belting. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly), Foreign and Colonial Shipments. Telephone: No. 181 Carlisle. Telegraphic Address: " Sterling, Carlisle." Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd.

RIMMEL (EUGENE), Ltd., Perfumers. Head Office and Works: Darnley Road, Mare Street, Hackney, N.E. Registered Office: 76, Strand, London, W.C. flours of Business: Usual. Established in 1834 by the late Eugene Rimmel. Incorporated as a private Limited Company. Chairman: C. Taillefer. Premises: Works, fully equipped, cover an area of 25,000 feet. Staff: 100 or more. Branches: 79, Strand, W.C.; 119, Regent Street, W.; and 64, Cheapside, E.C. Business: Specialists in Toilet Vinegar, Toilet Soaps, Oatmeal Powder, &c. Makers of the choicest Perfumes, Eau de Cologne, &c. Patent: Myrogeno. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrant: Special appointment to H.M. Queen Alexandra. Telephones: No. 405 Dalston (Head Office and Works); No. 2321 Gerrard (retail).

RIMMER (THOMAS) & SON, Timber Merchants, 169, Regent Road, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1812 by Thomas Rimmer. Continued by John Rimmer, Samuel D. Rimmer, Stanley Rimmer, Edward Rimmer and Percy E. Rimmer. Present Principals: Percy E. Rimmer and Stanley Rimmer. Premises: Storage Yards occupy about four acres. Specialities: Mahogany, Teak, American Hardwoods, Pitch Pine, Columbian Pine, Baltic and White . Sea Red Deals. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 660 and 661 Bootle, Liverpool. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Rimmer, Liverpool." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

RING & BRYMER (" BIRCH'S "), 15, Cornhill, and 129, Bunhill Row, London, E.C. Established in 1700 by Messrs. Horton & Birch. " Birch's " is one of the few remaining old-time business land marks of the City of London. Speciality: Catering.

RINK BROTHERS, Merchants and Agents, 11, Bridgewater Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Present Principals: Arnold Rink and Heinrich Rink. Branch: Vienna. Speciality: Tanning Material. Telephone: No. 914 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Midday, London." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

RITCHIE & EASON, Manufacturers, 26, Dickinson Street, Manchester. London Office: 54, Aldermanbury, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1879 by John Walker Ritchie and Edward Adolph Eason. Present Principals: Edward Adolph Eason, Edward Arthur Eason and Wilfred Henry Eason. Agencies: In all the principal towns. Specialities: Tracing Cloths and Book Cloths, also Dyed and Printed Linings, Silesias, Pocketings, Linenettes, Sateens, Italian Cloths, Lawns, Mysores, Nainsooks, Casement Cloths, Bluettes, Steam Twills, White Calicoes, Label Cloths, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephones: Nos. 6405, 6406 and 6407 Manchester. Cable Address: " Linings, Manchester." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), Lieber's. Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd.

RITCHIE (JAMES & RONALD), Ltd., Ironfounders, Acklam Foundry, Middlesbrough; 60, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C.; 4, St. Nicholas Buildings, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established thirty-six years ago by James Ritchie. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Director and Chairman: James Ritchie. Premises: Cover six acres; equipped with all modern appliances. Staff: 250 to 300. Specialities: Cast Iron Pipes of all descriptions. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 52 Middlesbrough. Telegraphic Address: " Ritchie, Middlesbrough." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

RITSON, F. & W., Shipowners and Shipbrokers, 30, West Sunniside, Sunderland. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1857 by Francis Ritson and William Ritson. In 1881 the Nautilus S.S. Co., Ltd., was incorporated under the management of the firm. In 1899 this Company's steamers entered into the regular line running between Liverpool and Glasgow and West Coast of South America, under title of " Gulf Line," and in 1907 the firm became principals of this Line. Present Principals: Frank William Ritson, Arthur Ritson (sons of Francis Ritson). Branch: Office, 28, Mount Stuart Square, Cardiff. Business: Shipowners and Shipbrokers. Connection: The Gulf Line runs a three-weekly service from Glasgow and Liverpool (and alternately from the Tyne and Swansea), to Ports in Chili, Peru, and Ecuador. Telephones: No. 429 (National), Sunderland; No. 1177 (National), Cardiff. Telegraphic Addresses: " Nautilus, Sunderland; " " Ritson, Cardiff." Codes: Watkins', 1884; Scott's, 1896, 1906; A B C (5th Edition); A 1, 1888. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

RIVIERE (ROBT.) & SON, Wholesale Bookbinders and Booksellers, 29-33, Heddon Street, Regent Street, London, W. Robert Riviere, the founder, started in business in 1832. The firm is now carried on by his grandson, Arthur E. Calkin. Specialities: Bookbinding of all kinds for the trade. Are also Booksellers (wholesale). Connection: The United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Royal Warrant Holders to H.M. King George V., His late Majesty King Edward VII., H.M. Queen Alexandra, and to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. 'Telephone: No. 3622 Regent. Telegraphic Address: " Bindery, London."

RIVINGTONS, Publishers, 34, King Street, Covent Garden, London, W.C. Established in 1889. Present Principal: Septimus Rivington. (From 1867 to 1889 Mr. S. Rivington was a partner in the firm of Rivingtons, Waterloo Place, London, which was sold in 1890 to Messrs. Longmans.) Specialities: High-class Educational Literature and Theological Works. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and in the Colonies. Telephone: No. 4453 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address " Perduro, Rand, London."

ROBARTS, LUBBOCK & CO., Bankers, 15, Lombard Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1772. The present title of the firm dates from 1860, when the amalgamation of Robarts, Curtis & Co. with Lubbock, Forster & Co. took place. Partners: Abraham John Robarts, John Birkbeck Baron Avebury, Thomas Edward Robarts, Edward Beaumont Cotton Curtis, John Robarts, Frank Chaplin, Geoffrey Lubbock, Gerald Robarts, Hon. Harold Fox Pitt Lubbock. A very old banking firm, carrying on an extensive private business. Telegraphic Address: " Robarts Lubbock, London."

ROBERTS, ADLARD & CO., Slate and Tile Merchants and Exporters, Slaters, Tilers, and Slate Slab Masonry and Enamellers, George Row, Bermondsey Wall, Dockhead, London, S.E. Hours of Business; 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established by Evan Roberts, whose name appears in Kelly's London Directory in 1804 at St. Swithin's Lane. Present Principals: A. C. David and G. C. Johnson. Branches Shoreham, by Brighton; Mold Junction, North Wales; Folkestone and Hendon. Depots: 49, 88, and 92, Flockton Street, London, S.E.; 49-52, George Row, S.E. Business: Roofing of every description, Slate Slab, Masonry, and Enamelling, Floor and Wall Tiling. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: Nos. 87 and 88 Hop. Telegraphic Address: " Dralda, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and Premier. Bankers: Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co. (for a century) and London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

ROBERTS BROTHERS, Manufacturers of Indoor Games, Picture Cubes, Puzzles and Kindergarten Pastimes, Glevum Works, St. James', Gloucester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established in 1890 by Harry Owen Roberts and John Owen Roberts, the present principals. Incorporated with the firm is Woolley & Co., Eclipse Works, London, N.E. Claim to be the largest manufacturers of British made Games and Pastimes. Premises: Cover about one acre. Equipped with up-to-date appliances. Staff: 250 to 320. Staff Club: Football. Specialities: Children's Picture Cubes, Picture A B C Blocks, Jig-Saw Puzzles, Tipplee-Web, " Piladex," Midget Golf, Hocker Ball, Model Building, &c., Masks, Boxwood Draughtmen; also numerous Penny Games. Cardboard Box manufacturers. Fancy and Special Wood Working in all branches. Colour Printers. Patents and Inventions Numerous. Connection: United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, South Africa, and India. Telephone: No. 68 Gloucester. Telegraphic Address: " Games, Gloucester." Bankers J Lloyds Bank Limited. Mr. H. O. Roberts is President of the Gloucester Y.M.C.A. Mr. J. O. Roberts is a member of the City Council and Chairman of the City Electricity Supply and Tramways Committee, City High Sheriff, 1913-14.

ROBERTS, C. & E., Cut Nail and Shoe Rivet Manufacturers, Hunslet, Leeds. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1847 by the father of the Present Principals: Charles Roberts and William B. Roberts. Premises; Cover one acre. Staff: About. 100. Speci-alities: Cut Nails and Shoe Rivets in Steel, Copper, Zinc, BrasS, Lead, &c. Also Wire Nails. Their Trade Mark, "Hare " Brand, is known throughout the world. Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly), Ship to foreign countries and to the Colonies. Telephone: No. 1148 Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Nails, Leeds." Bankers: National . Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

ROBERTS (CHARLES) & CO., Ltd., Builders of Railway Wagons of all descriptions, Steel Hopper Wagons, Railway Tank Wagons, &c., Makers of Wheels and Axles, Ironwork, Castings, &c.; also Railway Wagon Repairers, Railway Wagon and Wheel Works, Horbury Junction, near Wakefield, and 66 to 68, Merchants Exchange, Cardiff. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1856. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Chairman: Percy C. Greaves. General Manager: Duncan Bailey. Secretary: Albert J. Larrad. Premises: Cover thirteen acres. Staff: Large. Staff Club: Miniature Rifle. Speciality: Railway Tank Wagons. Telephones: No. 446 Wakefield (two lines); No. 306 Cardiff. Telegraphic Address: " Roberts, Horbury "; " Climax, Cardiff." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

ROBERTS, J. F. & H., Ltd., Tailors' Trimmings and Linings Manufacturers and Merchants, 21, Portland Street, Manchester. Mills at Colne, Lancashire, and Oxenhope, Yorkshire. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1840 by J. F. Roberts. Joined in partnership by H. Roberts (brother) in 1842. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1877. Directors: J. W. Roberts (Chairman and Managing Director), W. Burgess, B. C. Cocks, L. W. Roberts, F. Davies, and W. L. Norbury. Branches: Warehouses— London, 24, Wood Street, E.C.; Melbourne, Sydney, Winnipeg. Agencies in New Zealand, Montreal and Toronto (Canada). Specialities: Tailors' Trimmings and Linings, Woollens, Dressmakers' Linings, Flannelettes, Calicoes, &c. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: Nos. 320 and 4900 (Central), Manchester; No. 282 (London Wall), London; No. 5228 (Royal), Liverpool. Telegraphic Addresses: " Robertus, Manchester "; " Flossy, London." Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. (Manchester).

ROBERTS & LEETE, Ltd., Printers and Stationers, 19 to 25, Bermondsey Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. One of the oldest firms in the trade. The business was in the hands of the Robins' family for upwards of a century. Partnership Successions: (1) Brook & Roberts, 1863 to 1879; (2) Roberts & Leete, 1880 to 1897. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: Francis Leete, Joseph Leete, M. C. Capes, A. S. Roberts. Premises: Head Office and Works, 19 to 25, Bermondsey Street, S.E.; Auxiliary Works at Henry Street, S.E. Branch: 39, Lime Street, E.C. Specialities: Company, General, Commercial and Lithographic Printing, Account Book Making, and Stationery of all kinds for commercial and other uses. Telephones: No. 767 Hop, No. 8555 Central; Nos. 3456 and 3457 City (City Branch); No. 4888 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Roblee, Berm, London." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

ROBERTS, T. E., & CO., Silk Manufacturers, Handkerchiefs and Piece Goods, Bandanna Printers, 19, Lever Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established twenty-five years ago. Present Principals: D. Lloyd Roberts, J. Gelert Roberts. Business: Makers of Silk Handkerchiefs (shipping specialities), Collars, Braces, Laces, Embroideries, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4059 (City), Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Strebor, Manchester." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

ROBERTS, T. & J., Wholesale and Retail Drapers,Complete House Furnishers, Remova Contractors, Public Decorators, Moorhead, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7.30 p.m. Established in 1859 by Thomas Roberts. Present Principals: William Arthur Roberts and Thomas Harland Roberts. Premises: Consist of Showrooms, Factories and Warehouses covering three acres of floor space, having over seventy plate-glass Show Windows; Upholstery and Bedding Factory • Removal Depository; New Rock Works, John Street, Sheffield. Staff: Over 200. Business: Milliners and Mantle Makers, Costumiers Linen and General Drapers, Cabinet Makers, Carpet and Oilcloth Warehousemen, Furniture Removers and Storers, Institution Contractors. Connection: United Kingdom And Colonial. Telephone: No. 226 Sheffield. Telegraphic Address: " Roberts, Moorhead, Sheffield." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd, ROBERTS, T., & SONS, Boot and Shoe Manufacturers, Portland Shoe Works, The Newarke, Leicester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.45 p.m. Established in 1872 by Thomas Roberts. Joined by Charles Henry Roberts in 1882 and Harry Roberts in 1886 (sons). Present Principals: Charles Henry Roberts and Harry Roberts. Specialities: Ladies' Boots and Shoes, high and medium grades, Goodyear Welts and M.S. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 112 Leicester. Telegraphic Address: " Portland, Leicester."

ROBERTS, WM. (TIPTON), LIMITED, Pig Iron Manufacturers, Tipton Green, Blast Furnaces, Tipton, Staffs. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established about 1854. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: E. Parkes, M.P. (Chairman), T. Cumberland, A. C. Wright. Premises: Buildings land, &c., extend over forty-seven acres. Staff: 230. Speciality: Forgo and Foundry Pig Iron. Connection: United Kingdom Telephone: No. 44 Tipton. Telegraphic Address: " Roberts, Tipton." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd. (Tipton). Mr. E. Parkes is M.P. for Central Birmingham.

ROBERTSON, A. W., & CO., Engineers, Shipbuilders. Shipbuilding Yard: Canning Town, E. City Office: 110, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Established in 1875 by A. W. Robertson. The Building Yard covers an area of about two acres, and has a frontage to the river of 500 feet. Specialities: Builders of River Passenger Steamers, Tug Boats of all sizes, Launches, Steam Lighters, Barges, and Pontoons of all descriptions for home trade and export abroad. Telephone: No. 3095 Avenue; Works Phone, No. 1749 East. Telegraphic Address: "Trunnion, London."

ROBERTSON & BAXTER, Ltd., 106, West Nile Street, Glasgow, and 90, Constitution Street, Leith, Wine and Spirit Brokors, Blenders, Distillers, and Merchants (to Wholesale Trade only). Established about fifty years ago as a private firm. Incorporated as a Limited Company, 1895. Directors: James Robertson (Chairman), T. W. Dewar, J.P., and A. C. Robertson. Secretary: Wm. M. Gordon. Business is confined to the Wholesale Trade in the United Kingdom, and for the purposes of this trade large stocks of all classes of Whiskies are maintained of all ages, both as Selfs maturing at Distilleries, and Blended in Excise Warehouses; Brandies, Rums and Wines are also stocked. The Company act as Agents for many leading foreign houses in the Brandy, Wine and Rum trade. Telephones: Glasgow, National No. 1024, Douglas; Post Office No. 1025, Douglas; Leith, National No. 488. Telegraphic Addresses: `•` Dunard, Glasgow " " Robax, Leith." Bankers: British Linen Bank.

ROBERTSON BROTHERS & CO., Port and Sherry Shippers, 98, Great Tower Street, London, E.C. Established early in the nineteenth century by Messrs. Burdon and Grey. That firm was succeeded in 1847 by Mr. Gray and Mr. Robertson. In 1855 the firm was styled Robertson Brothers. Feature of Business: The Shipping of Port and Sherry—Port under the brand of Rebello Valente, Oporto, Sherry under the brand of Robertson Bros. & Co., Jerez. Houses: Villa Nova de Gaya, Portugal, and Jorez de la Frontera, Spain. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 5346 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Altodouro, l3ilgate, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

ROBERTSON ELECTRIC LAMPS, Ltd., 31, Copthall Avenue, London, E.C. Works: Brook Green Works, Hammersmith, London, W. Established in July, 1893, when the Company was incorporated. Directors: Hugo Hirst (Chairman), James Fraser (Director). Manager: C. Wilson. Secretary: Leslie Dummere. Staff: About 650. Speciality: The " Robertson " Electric Lamps. In connection with these the Company hold several patents. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 7460 London Wall (for Secretary); No. 27 Hammersmith (for Works). Telegraphic Addresses: " Groundwork, London " (for Secretary); " Voltamento, London " (for Works).

ROBERTSON (JAMES) & SONS, PRESERVE MANUFACTURERS, Ltd., Thrush gr o v e Works, Paisley, N.B. Established about 1866 by James Robertson, who was joined later by his sons, the firm trading as James Robertson & Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Directors: James Robertson, John Robertson, William Robertson, David Robertson, Robert Robertson, and Alexander Robertson. Branch Works: Manchester, London, and Bristol. Branch Office: New York. Specialities: " Golden Shred " Marmalade; " Silver Shred " Lemon Marmalade; Wild Bramble Jelly. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 509 and 510. Telegraphic Address: `• Thrushgro, Paisley." Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd.; Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd. Mr. James Robertson is a J.P. for Renfrewshire, and was a Councillor of Paisley. Mr. John Robertson is Provost of Paisley.

ROBERTSON (JOHN) & SON, Ltd., Scotch Whisky Merchants and Distillers, • 38, Seagate, Dundee, and Coleburn Distillery, Morayshire. London Office: 7A Lower Belgrave Street, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established in 1827 by the late John Robertson of Comerton. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: William Brown Robertson (Chairman), James Laird, John Forrester and David S. Cowan. Premises: Extensive. Up-to-date Offices, Duty Paid Warehouse, Workshops and Bonded Stores, situated on the North and South Sides of Seagate; also well equipped Distillery at Coleburn. Staff: 120. Branches: Montreal, 68, McGill Street; Winnipeg, 132, Portage Avenue, East; Calgary, Alta, 325, Eighth Avenue, West; Vancouver, Water Street; Victoria, B.C., Wharf Street; Los Angeles, Cal., 404, International Bank Bldgs.; and also at Seattle and Spokane, Wash., and Portland, Ore. Specialities: Well-known brands, "Yellow Label," "Three Star," and "Special Reserve." Awards Several Gold Medals, also the Certificate of Institute of Hygiene. Connection: All Markets. Royal Warrants: Special appointments to the Belgian and Greek Courts. Telephone:- No. 70 Dundee. Telegraphic Addresses: " Brown, Dundee "; " Dudhope, London "; " Distillery, Coleburn." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Bank of Scotland (Dundee, London), North of Scotland and Town and County Bank, Ltd. (Elgin), Molsons Bank (Montreal), Canadian Bank of Commerce (Vancouver), Bank of Hochelaga (Winnipeg).

ROBERTSON, M. W., & CO., LIMITED, Cast Steel Manufacturers, Forgers, Founders, and Shear-blade Makers, Avon Steel Works, 162, Glenpark Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1867 by M. W. Robertson; joined by the late John Robertson and the late Thomas Robertson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Directors: M. W. Robertson (Chairman), Thomas W. Robertson, William Robertson (Secretary). Specialities: Shear-blades up to 20 ft. long. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephones: No. 2939 (National); No. 468 (Post Office), Bridgeton, Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Shearsteel, Glasgow." Bankers: British Linon Bank (Dennistoun, Glasgow).

ROBERTSON, SANDERSON & CO., Ltd., Wine and Whisky Merchants, 11, 13, and 14, Quality Street; Bonded Warehouses, Water Street, Quality Street, and Old Dock, Leith. London Office: 8 and 9, Charing Cross Chambers, Duke Street, Strand, W.C. Established in 1846 by Jas. Usher Dunlop, who was the first to blend whisky " in bond "; succeeded in 1872 by David Robertson and Arthur Sanderson, trading as Robertson, Sanderson & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1895. Directors,: Arthur Sanderson (Chairman and Managing Director), Fredk. Reid Sanderson (Managing Director), Wm. Blair, W.S., Arthur Buchanan Sanderson. Premises: The buildings in Quality Street cover about three-quarters of an acre. Storing capacity of warehouses, 14,000 puncheons. Staff: Twenty-five Clerks; Sixteen Travellers. Specialities: High-class Blends of Scotch W hiskies. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1077 and 1078 Leith, also 9713 City, London. Telegraphic Addresses:" Whisky, Leith "; " Sectonone, London." Code: A B C. Bankers: Bank of Scotland British Linen Bank.

ROBERTSON (WALTER) & SON, Ltd., Manufacturers of Table Jellies, &c., Brentford Bridge, Brentford, Middlesex, Export Office: 36, Camomile Street. London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1820 by William Robertson. Continued by Walter Robertson (son), later by his son, afterwards by Herbert Robertson (nephew). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1910 (reorganised). Directors: Herbert Robertson, Robert Bradford, William Bradford and T. G. White. The original house that packed Table Jelly in a solidified form known as Chelsea Table Jelly. Premises: Cover two acres. Equipped with modern appliances. Staff: 300. Specialities: Chelsea Table Jelly, Caramel Toffee, " Ye old Chelsea Goodies." Patent: Chelsea Table Jelly, 1887. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 106 and 107 Ealing. Telegraphic Address: " Solidified, Brentford." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

ROBEY & CO., LIMITED, Engineers, Globe Works, Lincoln. Hours of Business; Works, 6 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Offices, 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1852 by Robert Robey (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company, 1893. Directors: Wm. Embleton-Fox (Chairman), Frederick Andrew, W. T. Bell, O. W. Ellis, C. Scorer. Secretary: S. R. Grantham. Premises: The Globe Works at Lincoln cover many acres, and employ a very large number of hands. London Offices, 79, Queen Victoria Street, E.C. Branches: In Germany and South Africa. Agencies in all parts of the world. Specialities: Highclass Engines for driving purposes, up to 3,000 horse-power; Mining Machinery, Air Compressors, and Engines of all types, including Tractions and Portables of all sizes. Patents and Inventions: Numerous relating to Engines and other Machines. Connection: Worldwide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office); also to the Crown Agents for !she Colonies, and to most Foreign Governments. Telephone: No Lincoln Telegraphic . Address: " Robey, Lincoln." Codes: ABC; A 1; Moreing's; Lieber's. Bankers: Bank of England; London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.; National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

ROBINSON BROTHERS (BURBAGE), Ltd., Hosiery Manufacturers, Burbage, Hinckley, Leicestershire. Hours of Business: Winter, 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Summer, 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1907 by. W. Robinson and E. Robinson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Directors: W. Robinson, E. Robinson. Premises: Large. Staff: Forty. Specialities: Wool and Cotton Hosiery. Telephone: No. 4 Burbage, Hinckley.

ROBINSON BROTHERS, LIMITED, Tar Distillers, Chemical Manufacturers, Makers of Agricultural and Horticultural Specialities, Sole Licensees and Manufacturers of "Tarvia " for the Midland Counties. Registered Office: Ryder's Green, West Bromwich; and at Knottingley, Yorkshire; Spondon, Derbyshire, and Banbury, Oxon. Tarvia Branch Office: Newton Chambers, Cannon Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1869 as Robinson Brothers. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Premises: Very extensive, covering many acres of works and buildings at West Bromwich, Knottingley, Spondon, and Banbury. Specialities: All Tar Products, including special Motor fuel Benzole, Sheep Dip, Fuel Oil, Special Oils for Wood Preservation and Decoration, Insecticides and Special Manures and Sundries for. Farm and Garden, " Tarvia " and Refined Tar for dustless road -making and repairing. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 19 and 39 West Bromwich; No. 8 Knottingley; No. 168 Derby; 118 Banbury; No. 5962 (Central), Birmingham. Telegraphic Address i Robinsons" West Bromwich, Knottingley, and Spond on. Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

ROBINSON & CLEAVER, Ltd., Linen Manufacturers, Linen Merchants, Drapers, Hosiers, Outfitters, &c., 36 to 42, Donegall Place, Belfast. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1870 by Edward Robinson and John Cleaver. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: John Cleaver (Chairman), W. T. Hamilton, H. M. Robinson, A. S. Cleaver, E. A. Robinson, J. G. Lack, J. F. Cleaver. One of the leading firms in the trade. Premises in Donegall Place rank with the finest commercial structures in the three kingdoms; an eight-storied Warehouse. Shirt and Collar Factory in Adelaide Street; a large Warehouse in Bedford Street, Belfast; Linen and Damask Weaving Factory at Banbridge, with every modern improvement. Hand-loom Weaving at Bally Kelly, co. Down. Branches: Regent Street, Beak Street, and Kingly Street, London; Cheapside, E.C.; also Church Street, Liverpool. Business: Manufacturers of Damasks, Household Linens, Irish Lace, Linen Shirts, Finest Cambric Handkerchiefs, Embroidery, &c. Supply all kinds of Drapery Goods, Hosiery, Gloves, &c. Connection: Worldwide. Royal Warrants: Special Appointments to His Majesty the King, Her Majesty the Queen, H.M. the King of Spain. Held Warrants to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria, and to H.I.M. the late Empress Frederick of Germany. Telephones: No. 4287 (three lines) Belfast; No. 1070 Gerrard (four lines), London. Telegraphic Addresses: "Linen, Belfast "; " Linloom, London." Bankers: Northern Banking Co., Ltd. (Belfast); Barclay & Co., Ltd. (London); Bank of Liverpool, Ltd. (Liverpool).

ROBINSON, DAVID & CO., Ltd., Timber Importers, Cardiff. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about fifty years ago by John Grant (d.). Purchased in 1885 by Sidney Robinson. Joined in 1886 by T. W. David. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: Alderman T. W. David, J.P. (Chairman), F. W. Hybart, W. Morris, T. W. Thomas, H. T. Abbott. The business has rapidly in creased since foundation. Now occupies a prominent place amongst the importing houses of the country. Premises: Including the branch businesses, cover about fifteen acres. Branches: Port Talbot, Neath, Carmarthen, Pembroke Dock, Milford Haven, Haverfordwest, Newcastle-Emlyn. Business: Importing from all parts of the world almost every variety of Wood on an extensive scale. The Preservation of Wood by Creosoting. Believed to be the largest Saw Mill Proprietors in the United Kingdom. Connection: United KingdoM, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2611 Cardiff (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Spruce, Cardiff." Mr. Sidney Robinson, formerly Chairman, has been Member of Parliament for Breconshire since 1906. Mr. Thomas Williams David is an Alderman and a Justice of the Peace for the County of Glamorgan.

ROBINSON, E. S. & A., Ltd., Paper Bag Manufacturers and Colour Printers, Fixed and Collapsible Cardboard Box and Carton Manufacturers; Envelope, Stationery, and Account Book (loose-leaf and bound) Manufacturers, Letterpress Printers, Relief Stampers, Printers from Rubber, Paper Agents, &c., Redcliffe and Victoria Streets, Bristol. Branch Factory at Bedminster. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1844 by the late Elisha Smith Robinson. Joined by Alfred Robinson, brother (d.), Edward Robinson, and Arthur Robinson (sons of founder). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893. Directors: Edward Robinson (Chairman and Managing Director), Thomas King, Foster Gotch Robinson, and Eric A. Robinson. Staff: About 2000. Specialities: Paper Bag Making and High-class Colour Printing. Patents: Original Patentees of Satchel Bag Machine and Patentees of process for making bags from previously printed rolls of paper. Connection: British Isles, the Colonies, and the East. Telephone: Nos. 4650, 4651, 4652, 4653, 4654 Bristol. Telegraphic and Cable Address: "Robinsons, Bristol." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

ROBINSON (GEORGE), Ltd., Handkerchief. Manufacturers, 16, Princess Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established over thirty years ago by G. Robinson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Managing Director: Richard Wainwright Daniels. Staff: About forty-five. Branches: London, 49, Lime Street, E.C.; Glasgow, 182, Trongate. Speciality: Lower-class Handkerchiefs (Cotton). Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2736 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Robin, Manchester." Bankers: Paldtine Bank, Ltd.

ROBINSON (JAMES) & SONS, Hat Manufacturers, Romiley, near Stockport, and 10, Rue Charlot, Paris (A. Howland, Manager). Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1880 by J. R., F. S. and C. Robinson, three partners, one deceased and one paid out. Present Principals: Samuel Robinson and Frank Robinson. The firm can trace its history in connection with the trade for nearly. 200 years. Staff: About 600 at Romiley; about 100 Paris (Warehouse). Specialities: Special light weight Hats and all kinds of Felt Hats for men, women and children for all markets. Trade Marks: Several registered. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Turn out about 55,000 dozens per annum. Telephone: No. 140 Stockport. Telegraphic Address: " Robinsons, Romiley."

ROBINSON (JOHN) & SONS, Indigo, Blue, Black and Fancy Colour Dyers, Field Dye Works, Leeds Road, Huddersfield. Hours of Business: Usual. Established over 100 years ago. Frederick William Robinson was succeeded by his son John Lawrence Robinson, the present principal. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Business r Fine Worsted and Woollen Piece Dyers. Connection: England, Scotland, Wales. Telephone: No. 532 Huddersfield. Telegraphic Address: " John Robinson & Sons, Huddersfield." Club: Huddersfield.

ROBINSON (PETER), Ltd., Silk Mercers, &c., 200 to 234, Oxford Street; Regent Street; Great Portland Street; and Argyll Street, London, W. Established in 1833. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Present Directors: R. Rabbidge (Chairman), T. P. Clarkson, W. S. Hitchins, E. W. Robinson, W. A. Sargeant. Secretary: F. Rawkins. One of the most important of the groat London drapery houses. Specialities: Silks, Mantles, Millinery, Costumes, Blouses, Gloves, Lace, Mourning, Outfitting, Household Linens, Curtains, &c. Telephone: No. 8512 Gerrard (eight lines). Telegraphic Address: " Peter Robinson, Wesdo, London."

ROBINSON, R., & CO., Ltd. (with which is incorporated the Scandinavian Paper Mills Co.), Wholesale and Manufacturing Stationers, 6, Clavering Place, Newcastle on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1818 by Robert Robinson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893. Directors: William Thorburn, Alexander C. Wilkie, Charles Allan, Edward H. Coyah, J. S. McLean. Staff: Total 386. Staff Clubs: Cricket and Bowling. Business: Large Wholesale and Manufacturing Stationers. Connection: Principally United Kingdom; also Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1726 and 2054 Newcastle-on-Tyne. Telegraphic Address: " Stag, Newcastle." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Quayside Branch), and North-Eastern Banking Co., Ltd., Grey Street.

ROBINSON & SONS, LIMITED, Manufacturers of Surgical Dressings, &c., Wheat Bridge Mills, Chesterfield. London Warehouse: 168, Old Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1839 by John Bradbury Robinson. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893. Directors: Charles Portland Robinson, William Bradbury Robinson, Charles William Robinson, John Bradbury Robinson. Were makers of the Southall's Sanitary Towels, until 1897, when they commenced the manufacture of " Mena " Sanitary Towels. Premises: Wheat Bridge Mills, Cannon Mill, Griffin Mill, and Walton Works. Equipped with up-to-date appliances. Stall: 1,526, Specialities: Surgical Dressings, Sanitary Towels; also Lithographers and Printers of Cardboard Boxes. Patents: Numerous. Trade-mai k: A Stag. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 5 (National), Chesterfield; No. 12427 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Staglint," Chesterfield and London. Code: A B C. Bankers: Crompton and Evans Union Bank, Limited (Chesterfield). The Directors hold several public offices, William Bradbury Robinson being Mayor of the Borough at the present time.

ROBINSON (THOMAS) & SON, Ltd., Woodworking and Flour Milling Engineers, Railway Works, Rochdale, Lancashire. Established in 1840 by Thomas Robinson. Premises: Works cover thirteen acres. Staff: Over 1,300. Branches: London Office, 79, Queen Victoria Street, E.C.; Paris Office, 77, Avenue Parmentier; Russian Office, Ptt chkinskaya 24, Odessa; Australasian Depot, 93, BathurA Street, Sydney, N.S.W. Agencies: Amsterdam, Antwerp, Barcelona, Bombay, Calcutta, Capetown, Christchurch (N.Z.), Durban, Constantinople, East London (S.A.), Johannesburg, Kobe (Japan), Mexico, Moscow, Milan, Port Elizabeth, Rio de Janeiro, Rosario (Argentine), Shanghai, Smyrna, Valetta (Malta), Yokohama. Business: The Manufacture of Woodworking Machinery, specially for Shipbuilding Yards, Dockyards, Engineers' Pattern Shops, Railway Carriage and Wagon Works, &c., &c.; also Grain Cleaning and Flour Milling Machinery, Band Conveyors and Elevators, &c. Awards: Over Forty Gold and, Silver Medals. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to the Admiralty, War Office, India Office, and Colonial Office; also to Foreign Governments. Telephones: No. 467 Rochdale; London, No. 2262 London Wall. Telegraphic Addresses: "Robinson, Rochdale "; " Salkeld, Cent, London." Codes: ABC; A1; Lieber's.

ROBINSON, WM. EDWIN, Advertising Agent, 160, Fleet Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1901 by Wm. Edwin Robinson, the present principal. Business: General Advertising Agent. Specialises in Australian Advertising. London Agent for the " Melbourne Age," '" Adelaide Advertiser," Adelaide " Evening Express," " Sydney Daily Telegraph," " Melbourne Leader," " South Australian Chronicle," " World's News," the " Land," and other leading Australian newspapers. Connection United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 5377 Central. Bankers: National Bank of New Zealand.

ROBINSON (WILLIAM) & SON, Cotton Machinists, High Lee Works, Oldham. Established in 1880 by William Robinson & Son. Present Principal:. William Robinson (jun.). Premises: High Lee Works, Lee Mill, and Lyon Mill. The firm are specialists in cotton machinery are large machinery merchants and exporters, and hold a Patent for a Ring Spindle. Connection: All cotton-spinning countries. Telephone: No. 198 Oldham. Telegraphic Address: " Machinery, Oldham." Cable - Codes: A B C and Western Union. Bankers: Union Bank (Oldham).

ROBSON & SONS, Ltd., Household Furnishers, Carpet Warehousemen, &c., Upholsterers and Cabinet Makers, Furnituro Removers, 42, Northumberland Street, Newcastle-on-Tyne; and 75, Knightsbridge, London, S.W. Hours of Business; 8 a.m. to 6 p m. Established seventy-five years ago by the late Robert ftobson. Incorporated as a Limited Com pany in 1900. Directors: John S. Robson (Chairman), John Robson (Managing Director), Robert Robson, Richard Robson, Lorne C. Robson (Secretary). Premises: Steam Cabinet Works, highly equipped, at Spital Tongues, Newcastle-onTyne. Showrooms cover over 3,500 sq. ft., and have a floor area of about 70,000 sq. ft. Business: Complete House Furnishing in all its branches. Specialists in Cabinet Making and Interior Joinery Fittings. Large Stock of Carpets of every description. Household Removals carried out. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: Nos. 996, 997, and 998 (National), Newcastlo-on-Tyne; No. 301 (Post Office); No. 1588 Victoria. Telegraphic Addresses: " Spital, Newcastle-on-Tyne "; " Robsofurn, Knights, London."

ROBURITE EXPLOSIVES CO., Ltd. (THE), Manufacturers of Explosives. Head Office: 103, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Factory: Gathurst, near Wigan. Hours of Business: Head Office, 10 a.m. to 4.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1887. Directors: H. A. Krohn (Chairman and Managing Director), Charles Cockson, Arthur O. Scott, William T: Spark. Premises: Extensive and well equipped. Staff: About 100. Business: Manufacture of " Roburite," " Amvis," " Negro Powder," Dreadnought Powder, and Dreadnought Powder for Quarrying. Also the celebrated Tetryl Electric Detonators, and all appliances required for the use of explosives. Award: Gold Medal, Crystal Palace Exhibition of Mining and Metallurgy, 1890. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 141 Bank, London; No. 9 Upholland. Telegraphic Addresses: " Roburite," London and Gathurst. Bankers: The Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd. (75, Cornhill, London, E.C., and Wigan).

ROCHDALE STEAMSHIP CO., Ltd., Vienna Chambers, Bute Docks, Cardiff. See RADCLIFFE (CHARLES) & CO.

ROCK LIFE ASSURANCE CO. See LAW UNION AND ROCK INSURANCE CO., Ltd.

ROCKE, TOMPSITT & CO., Wholesale Manufacturing Druggists and Merchants, 4, Redcross Street, London, E.G.; 292 to 298, Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria; Bridge Road, Richmond, Victoria. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.In.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1877 by the late Herbert Rocke and Henry Thomas Tompsitt; continued for many years by Henry Thomas Tompsitt 3° alone. Present Principals: Henry Thomas Tompsitt, Samuel Fripp. Premises: Offices in Redcross Street, Warehouse in Melbourne; Laboratory and Factory at Richmond, Victoria. Stall: Total 250. Specialities: Pharmaceutical Products, and Proprietary Articles of all kinds. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to the Commonwealth and Victorian Governments. Telephone: No. 13510 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Rocksitt, London." Bankers: Bank of Australasia.

RODGER (GEORGE) & SONS, Shipping Merchants, Princes Buildings, 4, Chepstow Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established: Previous to 1870 by the late George Rodger. Present Principal: George F. Eck Rodger. Specialities: General Merchandise and Live Stock. Connection: Foreign. Telephone: No. 392 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Bridgeland, Manchester." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), A 1.

RODGERS (JOSEPH) & SONS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Cutlery and Silver and Electroplate, 6, Norfolk Street, Sheffield, and Pondhill and River Lane and Middlewood Forge, Oughtibridge, Sheffield. One of the oldest and. most widely known firms in the Sheffield Cutlery Trade; registered Trade-mark granted 1682, familiar at the present time in all parts of the world. Managing Director: John Rodgers. Secretary: F. J. Pullan. Branches and Agencies: London, 60, Holborn Viaduct, E.C.; New York, 93, Chambers Street; Montreal, St. James Street; and at Sydney, Melbourne, Cape Town, Johannesburg, Bombay, Calcutta, and Christchurch, N.Z. Specialities: Crucible and Shear Steel; highest-class Table and Pocket Cutlery; Razors and Scissors; Silver and Electro-plated Goods, Spoons, Forks, Fish Eating Knives, &c., &c. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrants: Cutlers by Appointment to His late Majesty King Edward VII.; also held the Royal Warrant as Cutlers to King George IV., King William IV., and Queen Victoria. Warrant granted as Cutlers to His Majesty King George V. Telegraphic Addresses: " Rodgers., Sheffield "; " Rodgersine, London"; " Saxton, New York "; " Hutton, Montreal."

RODHOUSE (CHARLES) & SON, Shoe Manufacturers, Oxford Street, and Foundry Place, Daventry. flours of Business 7.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1837 by John Marriott Rodhouse (d. 1866). Continued by (1) Charles Rodhouse and John Edward Rodhouse; (2) Charles Rodhouse. Present Principals: Charles Rodhouse, J.P., and Charles J. W. Rodhouse. One of the oldest and most up-todate firms in the trade. Premises I Equipped with up-to-date appliances; five Hand-method Casting Machines, capable of casting 1000 pairs of shoes in a week, Pulling-over Machines, three Crossley Gas Engines, &c. Staff: 200. Business: High-class Footwear. Owners of numerous trade marks. Connection Foreign and Native trade in the Colonies. Telephone: No. 10 Daventry. Telegraphic Address: "Rodhouse, Daventry." Bankers: Northants Union Bank, Ltd.

RODOCANACHI, SONS & CO., Foreign Bankers and Shipowners, Palmerston House, Old Broad Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1830 by Emmanuel Rodocanachi. Present Principals: E. M. Rodocanachi (grandson of Founder), P. J. Agelasto and G. P. Sechiari. Staff: Ten. Business: Foreign Banking and Shipowning. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 11805 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: "Rodocanachi, London." Cable Address: ".Rodocanaki, London." Code: Scott's. Bankers: Bank of England; London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

ROE, A. V., & CO., Ltd., Aeroplane Manufacturers and Teachers of Flying, &c., Clifton Street, Miles Platting, Manchester. Flying Grounds, Brooklands Aerodrome, Weybridge. Hours of Business; 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1907 by A. V. Roe, joined by H. V. Roe (brother) in 1910. Directors: Jas. Grimble Groves, J.P. (Chairman), Col. John G. Groves, Capt. H. Lutwyche, A. V. Roe and H. V. Roe (Managing Directors). Premises: Miles Platting, 17,500 square feet. Specialities: Aeroplanes, Seaplanes, Tuition in Flying, Propellors and Accessories. Patents: Several. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 337 Failsworth. Telegraphic Addresses: " Triplane, Manchester."

ROGERS BROTHERS, Specialists in Light weight, all British Fabrics for Aircraft and Feather-weight Waterproof Clothing, 33, Aldermanbury, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Satur days, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1910 by Henry T. Rogers and Harry B. Rogers, the present principals. Claim to have been the first firm to specialize exclusively in Aircraft Fabrics. Agencies: In all countries. Specialities: Light-weight " Ramie " Fabrics for Aircraft, &c. Feather-weight waterproof clothing, Raincoats, Showerproofs, Oilskins and Dustcoats, " Aer°n-lac " and " Aut°mac " Feather-weight Stormproof Garments, " Hydr°mac ' Oilskins. The " Macnova " Raincoats and " Mascot " Life-Saving Appliances for Hydro-Aeroplanes, &c. Trade Mark: " Aeroplatte." Sole Agents in the United Kingdom, British Colonies and United States for La Maison Esnault-Pelterie (Paris), Manufacturers of the " Aviator " Ramie fabrics for Aeroplanes and Dirigible Balloor.s. Claim they are the strongest, most durable and efficient of all known fabrics. Manufactured from China grass. Connection: World-wide. Chiefly export trade. Contractors to H.M.Government (War Office). Telephone: No. 12,164 Central, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Egyptillo, London." Bankers: London and South-Western Bank, Ltd.

ROGERS, R. H. & S., Ltd., Shirt and Collar Manufacturers, 9, 10 and 11, Addle Street, Wood Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1839 by Thomas Rogers. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: Sir Robert Hargreave Rogers and Samuel Rogers, J.P. (Managing Directors), Matthew Given, H. Campbell Wormald, Charles J. Mantle and Frank L. Lees. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Staff: 2000. Staff Clubs Cricket, Football. Specialities: Shirts and Collars. Connection: World-wide. Telephone t Nos. 3884, 3885 and 3886 London. Telegraphic Address " Producing, London." Bankers: Glyn Mills & Co., Ltd.

ROLLING STOCK CO. (THE), Railway Wagon Builders and Repairers, Wagons let on Hire, Central Hall, Darlington, Branches at Toton Sidings, Long Eaton, Tebay and Blaydon-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1894 by George D. Wilson and James Blumer (sen.). Present Principals; Hugh R. Wilson and James Blumer (jun.). Secretary: H. Marshall. Speciality: Railway Wagons of all kinds Let on Hire. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 36 Darlington.

ROLLS & COMPANY, Ltd., Manufacturers of all kinds of Varnish, Japan and Paints, Upper Edmonton, London. Varnish Works: Pickett's Lock, Lower Edmonton. Incorporated as a Limited Com pany in 1902. Governing Director: Arthur F. Rolls. Directors: Arthur L. Rolls, Frank H. Rolls. Premises: Originally in Poole Street, Hoxton; traded there for sixty-five years; removed in 1905 to much more extensive freehold premises erected by the firm at Upper Edmonton, to be in touch with their Varnish. Works. Specialities: Black Japan, Patent Driers and Pale Varnishes. Connection: Extensive throughout the United Kingdom, the Continent, and the Colonies. All the Directors take an active part in the manufacture and sale of their products. Members of the British Chamber of Commerce, Paris. Telephone: No. 1634 Tottenham. Telegraphic Address: " Rolls, Upper Edmonton."

ROLLS-ROYCE, Ltd., Motor Car Manufacturers, 14 and 15, Conduit Street, W. (Sale Rooms). Works: Derby. Office Hours: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12.30 p.m.; London, 1 p.m. Established as a Combination of the Automobile Department of Royce, Ltd., who were formerly, and are now, engaged in manufacture of Electric Dynamos and Cranes (founded 1884), and business of C. S. Rolls & Company, Automobile Engineers, founded by late Hon. C. S. Rolls, 1902. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Directors: Arthur Harry Briggs, Ernest A. Claremont, M.I.Mech.E.' M.I.E.E. (Chairman), Edward Alfred Goulding, M.P., Claude G. Johnson (General Managing Director), Frederick Henry Royce, M.I.Mech.E., M.I.E.E. (Works Director and Chief Engineer), George D. Rowe, Col. Lord Herbert Scott, D.S.O. Premises: Works at Derby; extensive Sale Rooms in Conduit Street, London, W.; London Repairs Depot, 112, Cricklewood Lane, Cricklowood, N .W . Speciality: British-made Six-Cylinder Rolls-Royce Car. Patents: Many parts of Rolls-Royce Chassis. Connection: United Kingdom, Europe, and India. Sales outside the United Kingdom are in the hands of Automobiles RollsRoyce (France), Ltd.; Showrooms, 102, Avenue des Champs Elysees, Paris; Offices and Repair Works, 83, Boulevard Gouvion, St. Cyr. Telephones: Derby No. 476 (four lines); Showrooms, Nos. 1654, 1655, 1656 Gerrard; Cricklewood Lane, No. 5966 Hampstead. Telegraphic Ad-. dresses: " Rolhead, London '; Roycar, Derby "; " Silvagost, Cricklewood Lane, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Derby).

ROMAN RIM, Ltd. (THE), Cycle Rim Manufacturers, Upper Priory, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 3 G 2 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: George W. Dawes, E. Graham Dawes, Ernest W. Wooders. Business: Manufacture of " Roman " Rustless Rims, a Cycle Rim made without Joint, Seam, or Rivet, having no weak places ' • " Roman " Mud Guards, " Roman " Rustless Spokes, " Roman " Paint and Polish, " Roman " Letters for Advertising Purposes. Specialise in Aluminium and Alloys. Trade-mark: " Romanalum." Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 567 (Central), Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Taciturnly, Birmingham. Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. (Bennett's Hill, Birmingham).

ROONEY, R. A., & SONS, Brush Manufacturers, Shippers and Hardware Merchants, 166-168, Bishopsgate, E.C.;. and Walthamstow. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established, in 1679 by Robert A. Rooney. Has descended directly from father to son. Present Principal: Basil Rooney. Stag: 'Averages 200. Speciality: Brush Manufacturing in all its branches. Hold several Patents. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Have Agents in most towns of the United Kingdom, the Colonies, and New York. Telephones: No. 7596 London Wall • No. 50 Walthamstow. Telegraphic Address: " Bristles, London." Codes: All the leading ones. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Threadneedle Street).

ROSE, DOWNS & THOMPSON, Ltd., Engineers, Iron Founders, and Boiler Makers, Old Foundry, Hull; 12, Mark Lane, London, E.C.; and at Shanghai. Hours of Business: Always open. Established in 1777 as a small Iron Foundry. Early records are incomplete. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893. One of the oldest firms in the engineering trade. Premises: Cover two acres in Hull. Staff: 350. Specialities: Oil Mill Machinery chiefly. Makers of the Kingston Dredger. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 344 Hull; No. 6253 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Rose, Hull "; " Arroser, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

ROSE, HEWITT & CO., Cotton Goods Manufacturers, 10, Minshull Street, Manchester. Hovers of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1874 by Hy. Rose and Joseph Hewitt. Present Principals: Joseph Hewitt and J. W. Hewitt, A. Hewitt, 0. Hewitt, F. Hewitt (sons). Branches: 6, Aldermanbury Avenue, London, E.C.; Broughton Road, Skipton, Yorks. Business: Manufacture of Cotton Goods. Proprietors of well-known Trademarks. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office). Telephones: No. 2686 Manchester; No. 6763 (Central), London. Telegraphic Addresses: "Arctic, Manchester": " Rosewito, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition); Premier. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Leeds and London).

ROSE, L., & CO., Ltd., Lime Juice Merchants and Importers, 89, Worship Street, Finsbury, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1865 by Lauchlan Rose. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: John B. Rose, Charles M. Rose, Hugh G. Rose, and E. L. Agar. Specialities: Rose's Lime Juice and Lime Juice Cordial, high-class preparations of the lime fruit. As planters, the Company have estates at Roseau, Dominica, West Indies. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 722 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Esor, London."

ROSE (SIR W. A.) & CO., Oil Boilers and Refiners, White Load, Paint, Varnish, and Grease Manufacturers, 66, Upper Thames Street, London, E.C.; and Rose's Wharf, Millwall, London, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Taken over in 1840 by the late Sir William Anderson Rose in continuation of an existing business of long standing. Present Acting Partner: Maxwell Rose. Specialities: Colza Oil for Lighthouses; Bath and Decorative Enamels; Paints, Lubricants, &c. Connection: Home, Colonial and Foreign. Contractors to British and Foreign Governments. Telephones: No. 6970 Central; No. 8088 City. Telegraphic Address: " Warose, Cannon, London." Cades: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), and Western Union.

ROSS (ARTHUR), HOTCHKISS & CO., Ltd., 1, Glengall Road, Old Kent Road, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established by the late Arthur Ross over fifty years ago. Incorporated as a Limited Company 19th June, 1907. Directors: Arthur Ross, H--.rold A. Ross. Secretary: A. E. Perry. Analyst: Arthur Ross, , F. C. S. , &c. Registered Office: 1, Glengall Road, Old Kent Road, S.E. Works: Peckham. Contractors to H.M. War Office, the Crown Agents for the Colonies, H.M. Office of Works, Metropolitan Water Board, Metropolitan Asylums Board, Port of London Authority, Hon. Corporation of the Trinity House, &c. Agents throughout the world. Specialities: Compositions for the prevention and removal of incrustation in Steam Boilers; also the " Hotchkiss " Automatic Circulator. Registered Trade - marks: " Ross's Compositions " and " Solvos." These preparations are made up to meet the special requirements of individual cases, and have been in use in Government Departments and private firms for nearly fifty years, successfully performing their work and acting further as a preservative to the metal, proving that no injurious ingredients are employed in their manufacture. The material is supplied in Block and Liquid, but a very effective, handy, and comparatively cheap addition in Compositions is the new granular " Solvos " Enamel, which is giving excellent results, more especially in steam lorries, road rollers, locomotives, &c. The " Hotchkiss " Patent Automatic Circulator is a machine which is year by year growing more in favour, and is now by many eminent engineers considered a standard attachment for inclusion in their specifications of steam boilers. Thousands of machines have been sold both at home and abroad, in some single cases more than 100 boilers having been fitted, such as Powell Duffryn Steam Coal Co., 177 boilers fitted; Guest, Keen & Nettlefold, 158; Metropolitan Water Board, 102; Nixon's Navigation Collieries, 89. For Marine Boilers the " Hotchkiss " Circulator is an absolute necessity, superseding hydrokineters and donkey circulation, doing the work automatically and continuously. all the time boiler fires are alight; removing deposit and oil, and at the same time extracting air, which is so active an agent of corrosion. A large number of tug, river, and sea-going boats have been fitted, including repeat orders from the Port of London Authwity; Hon. Corp. of Trinity House; General Steam Navigation Co.; Clyde Navigation Trustees; Australasian United Steam Navigation Co; British India Steam Navigation Co. The Company are specialists in steam boiler management, and advise upon all questions of feed-water supply and treatment. Analyses are fully undertaken of feed-waters, oils, scales, &c., necessary for best advising their customers. Having a world-wide connection, their experience is very extensive, and this practical knowledge is placed at the disposal of the public as customers free of charge. An addition to the business is the manufacture of " Steel Paint " (trade mark), a well-tested and efficient protective covering for all work expos3d to the action of factory fumes, atmosphere, sea-water, &c. Telephone: No. 977 Hop. Telegraphic Address: " Disincrust, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

ROSS, COURTNEY & CO., Ltd., Manufacturing Engineers, Screw Makers, Stampers and Piercers, 25, Ashbrook Road, Upper Holloway, London, N. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1890 by J. A. Ross and C. Courtney. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Managing Directors: J. A. Ross and Tom Brown. Premises: Extensive three-story Factory, rebuilt in 1911. Equipped with modern machinery. Store rooms and offices in separate buildings. Specialities: Parts for the Motor Car and Electrical trades, also for small Machine Makers. Patents: Wiring Terminal, Chain Lightning Grease Gun for injecting grease into bearings, &c., Greasers and Spring Cap Oilers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 1184 North, London. Telegraphic Address: " Homonyms, Upholl, London." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. Mr. Brown has been President of the London Association for the Protection of trade. The firm are members of the Hardware Trade Club, also of the Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders.

ROSS & DUNCAN, Marine Engineers and Boilermakers, Whitefield Works, Govan, Glasgow. Hours of Business: Offices, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1875 by Robert Duncan. Present Principals: Robert Duncan, Robert Rankin, and Alfred E. Lonergan. Employees: 450 to 500. Specialities: Marine Engines and Boilers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 304 and 305 (National) Govan; No. 480 (P.O.) Govan. Telegraphic Address: " Whitefield, Glasgow." Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Govan).

ROSS (JOHN) & CO., Leaf Tobacco Importers, 27 King Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1896 by John Ross, the present principal. Branch: Factories, Owensboro, Kentucky, United States. Business: Importation of Leaf Tobacco. Connection: United Kingdom, Continent, and U.S.A. Telephones: No. 3632 (two lines) Bank, Liverpool. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Invade, Liverpool "; " Ross, Owensboro." Codes: Western Union; A B C (5th Edition); Arnold's, Nos. 5 and 15. Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd. (Victoria Street, Liverpool); and United States National Bank, Owensboro, Kentucky, U.S.A.

ROSS, Ltd., Manufacturing Opticians 111, New Bond Street, W. Works: 3, North Side, Clapham Common, London S.W. Staff: Over 450 employed at Works. Established in 1830 by Andrew Ross, who was the first to manufacture photographic lenses in England. Incorporated 1897, as Ross, Limited. Specialities: Microscopes, Telescopes, Photographic Lenses, Cameras, and Apparatus; Prism-Binoculars, and Optical and Photographic Instruments. Connection: All over the world. Telegraphic Addresses: (Bond St.) " Rossano, London "; (Clapham) Rossicaste, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), and Western Union. Telephones: (Bond St.) No. 3540 Gerrard; (Clapham) No. 376 Battersea.

ROSS & NORTON, Merchants and Insurance Brokers, Leadenhall Buildings, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1809 by Thomas Ross. Present Principal: F. Henry Norton. One of the oldest firms of Merchants and Insurance Brokers. Business: Marine Insurance, General Exporters, Importers of Produce, chiefly Cocoa. Connection: British and Foreign West Indies, and Central America. Telephone: No. 1823 City. Telegraphic Address: " Rossa, London." Bankers: Barclay & Co. (Head Office).

ROSS & WALLACE, Wholesale Warehousemen, 70, Union Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 8.45 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1877 by R. H. Ross. Present Principals: R. H. Ross and John Wallace. Premises: Well-equipped Factory at Luton. Branch: Edinburgh. Speciality: Ladies' Fine Straw and Felt Hats, &c.; also Importers of French Flowers and. Feathers. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 3025 Central, Glasgow; No. 5012 Edinburgh. Telegraphic Address " Straws," Glasgow and Edin-burgh.

ROSS (WILLIAM) & CO., (LONDON), Ltd., Iron arid Metal Merchants, Malt Street, Old Kent Road, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established about 1853 by William Ross. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Business: Iron and Metal Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1986 Hop, London. Telegraphic Address: " Slipshoes, Kent, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

ROSSELL (HENRY) & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Steel, Files, Shear Blades, Tobacco Knives, Machine Irons of every description; Roller Bars, Bed Plates and uillotine Knives, and Spiral Cutters and Ledger Blades for the Textile Trades, Waverley Works, Effingham Road, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1845 by the late Henry Rossell; amalgamated with Dickson Bros. & Co. in 1891. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: Herbert Burgin Law (Chairman), James Dickson (Managing Director), Herbert Edward Law, Wm. Arthur Law. Premises: Cover an acre of ground, and are well equipped with modern appliances. Branch: Cornwall Buildings, 35, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C. Agencies in Johannesburg, Russia, France, Germany, Belgium, Holland, Canada, United States. Stall: 150. Staff Clubs: Cricket; Sick Society. Speciality: High-speed Twist Drills, Machine Knives of every description, and High-speed Steel. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 31 and 2702 Sheffield. Telegraphic Addresses: " Rossell, Sheffield "; " Ivanhoe, Sheffield; " Ivictrill, London." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Limited (Sheffield). Mr. Herbert Burgin Law is a Justice of the Peace for Glasgow.

ROSSLEIGH, Ltd., Automobile Engineers and Agents, 32, Shandwick Place, Edinburgh. Hours of Business: Always open. Established in 1890 by Ross & Sleigh. Incorporated as a Limited Company sixteen years ago. Directors: W. Lowrie Sleigh (Managing Director and Chairman), S. F. Ross, William Inman, T. Millar Sleigh and Robert Strathern, W.S. Claim to be the largest Motor Dealers in Scotland. Premises: Have Storage for 200 Cars. Staff: Large, including Drivers and Mechanics. Branches: Aberdeen, Dundee, Glasgow and Newcastle-on-Tyne. Specialities: Garage, Hiring and Repairs, every Motoring requisite kept in stock. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: Nos. 2305 and 2306 Central, Edinburgh. Bankers: Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

ROSSLYN'S COLLIERIES. —See THE EARL OF ROSSLYN'S COLLIERIES, LIMITED.

ROTHERHAM (JEREMIAH) & CO., Ltd., Wholesale General Drapery Warehousemen, 76 to 91, High Street, Shoreditch, Boundary Street, Shoreditch, and Church Street, London, N.E. Hours of Business: According to season; generally 8.30 a.m. to 6p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established 100 years ago. Partners from 1878 to date of Incorporation of Jeremiah Rotherham & Co., Frederick Snowden, Robert Dummett, William Ellis, George Gotelee. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: Frederick Snowden (Chairman), William Ellis, George Gotelee, Richard Bowden, Herbert H. Piggin, and Jas. Findlay. Is one of the oldest houses in the trade. Premises: Entirely rebuilt during last few years, now form one of the handsomest and most complete blocks of buildings for business purposes in London. Staff: Nearly 1000. (For the benefit of the employees there are swimming, cricket, tennis, football, harriers, chess, and cycling clubs.) Bible classes are also conducted for both sexes. Specialities: Very large stocks, embracing every requirement of the General and Fancy Drapery trade. Connection: United Kingdom and all parts of the world. Telephones: Nos. 244, 245, 246 City. Telegraphic Address: "Rotherham, Norton, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Prescott's Office, 50, Cornhill, E.C.).

ROTHERHAM & SONS, Watch and Expanding Bracelet Manufacturers, Manufacturers of Cycle and Motor Accessories, and Gas and Electrical Appliances, Spon Street, Coventry. London Office: 1, 2 and 3, Holborn Circus, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1750. Present Principals: Hugh Rotherham, Kevett Rotherham, and Ewan Rotherham. Claim to be the oldest firm of English Watch Manufacturers. Premises: Works, Spon Street and Gosford Street; Offices, Spon Street. Equipped with up-to-date appliances. Specialities: Watches, Expanding Bracelets, Cycle and Motor Accessories, Gas and Electrical Appliances. Patents: Many in connection with Motor and Cycle Accessories and Gas Appliances. Awards: London, 1851; Paris, 1889; Melbourne, 1888; London, 1862; Kimberley, 1892. Connection; United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty and War Office). Telephones: Nos. 14 and 245 Coventry; London, No. 952 Central. Telegraphic Addresses Rotherhams, Coventry "; " Tripplin, London." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

ROTHSCHILD, N. M., & SONS, Merchants and Foreign Bankers, New Court, St. Swithin's Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business•: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Present Principals: Rt. Hon. Nathan Mayer Baron Rothschild, G.C.V.O., Alfred Charles de Rothschild, Leopold de Rothschild. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 227 Bank. Telegraphic Address: " Rothschild, London."

ROUGH (ROBERT) & SONS, Chemical Manufacturers, Cawburn. Chemical Works, Broxburn, Linlithgowshire. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established by Robert Rough (d.). Present Principals: Robert L. Rough, Edward D. Rough (since 1887). Premises: Works cover one and three-quarters of an acre, fully equipped. Specialities: Chemical Manures, Glues, Bone, Fats, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 9 Broxburn. Telegraphic Address: " Rough, Broxburn." Bankers: Royal Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

ROUND, B. J., & SONS, Electro Platers, Gilders, &c., 8, 9 and 10, Northampton Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7.30 p.m. Established fifty years ago by B. J. Round, J.P. Present Principal: A. Round. Staff: 350 total. Branch: 65, Albion Street, Birmingham. Business: Electro -plating, Gilding, Depositing, &c. Patents: Several. Connection: United Kingdom chiefly. Telephones: Nos. 203 and 204 Jewellers; Branch No. 161 Jewellers. Telegraphic Address: " Rounder, Birmingham." Mr. B. J. Round is a Justice of the Peace for the City of Birmingham.

ROUSSELOT & CIE., Manufacturers of Glues, Gelatines, Greases, Manures, &c. Head Office: Paris, 50, rue Boileau 16e. London Offices: 161 - 163, Wool Exchange, Coleman Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1764 by Achille Parent (Givet, France). Premises: Eight important Works in France. Branches: Paris, Brussels, Amsterdam, Rotterdam, Berlin. Agents all over the world.

ROUTLEDGE, E. J., & CO., Railway Stores Contractor and Export Merchants, Moorgate Station Chambers, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1910 by Edward James Routledge, the present principal. Business: Railway Stores. Contractors and Export Merchants. Connection: Extensive among the principal foreign Railway Companies. Agents in South Africa, Australia, Canada, Cyprus, Now Zeal.and, Mexico and India. Telephone: No. 3666 City, London. Telegraphic Address: " Railstocon, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and Reuter's. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

ROUTLEDGE (GEORGE) & SONS, Ltd., Publishers, Broadway House, 68 to 74, Carter Lane, Ludgate Hill, London, E.C. Established in 1835 by George Routledge (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company, as at present constituted, in 1902. Directors: A. E. Franklin, J.P. (Chair man), Sir William Crookes, 0.M., P.R.S., J. Carr Saunders, J.P., W. Swan Sonnenschein, Laurie Magnus, M.A., .Cecil A. Franklin. Secretary: L. F. Brown. Business: Publishers of General Literature, Educational, Standard, and Popular Books; Proprietors of the Copy rights and Stocks formerly owned by J. C. Nimmo, Ltd. Large connection in the Colonies and U.S.A. Telephone: No. 5730 Bank. Telegraphic Address: "George Routledge, London." Bankers: Bank of England, and A. Keyser & Co.

ROWAN, A., & BROTHER, Ltd., Disinfectant Manufacturers and Patentees of Sanitary Appliances, 121 Narrow Street, Limehouse, London. E. Hours of Busi ness: 10 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1889 by Alfred Rowan. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Directors: E. J. Hay (Chairman), F. Masters, R. J. W. Harper. Specialities: Drain Clearing Appliances, Sulphur Candles, Screw and Bag Stoppers, Smoke Machines, Gummed Rolls and Strips, Patent Lockfast Joints, Disinfectant Sprayer Machines, Smoke Rockets, Whitewashing Machines and Fumigating Material. Disinfectant Fluids, Powders and Soaps (Household Liquid and Toilet), Kamphlyte Air Purifier Disin fectant, Blocks for Water Carts, Weed Killer Fluids, Insect Powders, Formaldehyde, Kalzen Formic Diffuser, Rowan's Automatic - Fumigator, Disinfectant Sprayers, " Century " Sprayer and Whitewasher, Drain Testing Apparat a, Waterproof Sheeting, &c. (Patentees and Manufacturers). Telephone: No. 3216 East, London. Telegraphic Address: " Rowantrees, London." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (Eastern Branch ).

ROWE BROTHERS & CO., LIMITED, Manufacturers of Sheet Lead, Lead Pipe, Red Lead, Litharge, &c., Corroders and Grinders of White Lead, Builders' Merchants. Registered Offices: 192, High Street, Exeter. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1839. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: C. E. Rowe, J.P. (Chairman), E. C. Philp, T. B. Rowe, C. A. Rowe. Secretary: H. C. Rowe, J.P. Premises: Offices and Works at High Street, Exeter; Canon's Marsh, Bristol; Berkley Street, Birmingham; Pall Mall, Liverpool; Red, White, and Orange Lead and Litharge Works, Old Quay, Runcorn. Specialities: Sheet Lead, Lead Pipe, Red and White Lead, &c. Patents: Pipe Press with double container, No. 10444 (1901), and others. Awards: Medals for Lead Pipe and Sanitary Ware by the Sanitary Institute, Birmingham, 1898; Bristol, 1906; Cardiff, 1908: Exeter, 1913. Telephones: No. 4670 (three lines) Bristol; No. 29 (two lines) Exeter; No. 340 Midland (two lines), Birmingham; No. 8190 Central (four lines), Liverpool; No. 85 Runcorn. Telegraphic Addresses: " Rowe," Bristol, Exeter, Birmingham; " Roboro," Liverpool and Runcorn. Bankers: Wilts and Dorset Bank, Ltd. Mr. C. E. Rowe was Mayor of Exeter in 1902-3.

ROWE, T. B., & CO., Ltd., Soap and Glycerine and Starch Manufacturers, Tallow Melters, Thames Soap Works; Brentford. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1757. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: Colonel D. K. Robertson (Chairman), F. B. Lacy, D. Robertson, F. S. Cross, N. Robertson, A. H. Charlton. Secretary: A. G. S. Maulo. Premises cover nearly four acres. Specialities: Soaps for the Laundry, Dyeing and Cleaning Trades; also for Manufacturers of Silk, Cloth, Paper and Carpets; Starch Combination, Pure Rice, Pearl Maize. Connection: Principally in the United Kingdom and British Colonfe-A. Telephones: No. 132 Chiswick, and No. 1455 Ealing. Telegraphic Address: " Rowes, Brentford."

ROWELL (DAVID) & CO., Government Contractors, Engineers, and Patentees, 33, Old Queen Street, Westminster, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1855 as Joseph Rowell & Co. by the late Joseph Rowell, of Aberdeen, who had previously been a partner in the Aberdeen Comb Works, still carried on in that city by his nephew, Sir David Stewart, D.L., J.P. Present Principal: Joseph Blanchet Rowell, MJ.H.V.E. Specialities: Iron Wire and other Fencing, Iron Roofs, Iron Buildings, Horticultural Buildings, Wire Rope Suspension Bridges, Iron Bridges, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Have many Agents throughout the country. Are on the " Special " and " Limited " Lists of Contractors to the Admiralty, War Office, Crown Agents for the Colonies, and othek Government Departments at home and in the Colonies. Telephone: No. 238 Victoria. Telegraphic Address: " Rowell, London." Codes: A B C, and Lieber's.

ROWELL, J., & SONS, Gas Engineers, 46, Blackett Street, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1878 by the late Jacob Rowell. Present Principals: Jacob Rowell and Robert H. Rowell. Staff: Total, 160 to 170. Branches Works and Factory, Byron Street Works, Newcastle-on-Tyne; 154, Cromwell Road, London, S.W. (T. W. Heath & Son); 5, Harrington Street, Liverpool. Business: Gas Engineering. Patents: Eos " Gas Apparatus, " Lightning " Fire Extinguisher. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1871 Central, Newcastle; Nos. 2698 and 2699 Kensington, LondOn; No. 4981 Bank, Liverpool. Telegraphic Addresses: " Eos, Newcastle and London "; " Shamrock, Liverpool."

ROWLETT, W. T., SON & CO., Yarn Agents, 31A, Newark Street, Leicester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1866 by W. T. Rowlett. Partnership Successicns: (1) W. T. Rowlett & Son; (2) W. T. Rowlett, Son & Co. Present Principals: W. Terti us Rowlett, J.P., A. W. Herbert. Specialities: Cotton, Worsted, Woollen, Merino, and Silk Yarns, and India-rubber Thread. Connection: Counties of Leicester, Nottingham, and Derby chiefly. Telephone: No. 11 Leicester. Telegraphic Address: " Merino, Leicester." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. (Leicester). Mr. W. Tertius Rowlett is a Justice of the Peace, Vice-President of the Leicester Chamber of Commerce, ex-President, ex.:Town Councillor, and ex-Chairman and Founder of the Technical School, Examiner of Framework Knitting eighteen years for the City and Guilds of London Institute. Honorary Citizen of London.

ROWLEY, DAVIES & CO., General Merchants, Tea Importers and Planters, 27, Mincing Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about 1822. Present Principals: Frederick Worthing ton, Walter Hilliers. Branches: Calcutta and Batavia. Agencies: Shanghai, Foochow, and Colombo. Telephone: No. 2979 Avenue. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Rodamos, London "; " Hillock, Calcutta "; " Hillrow," Batavia and. Colombo.

ROWNEY (GEORGE) & CO., Artists' Colourmen and Pencil Manufacturers, 6i, Brompton Road, London, S.W.; 10 and 11, Percy Street, London, W., and 27, Rue des Bons Enfants, Paris. Factories: Diana Place, Euston Road, and Malden Pencil Works, Kentish Town, N.W. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1789 by Thomas Rowney, who was succeeded by T. & R. Rowney; then known as Rowney & Forster; afterwards as Rowney, Dillon & Rowney, followed by George Rowney & Co. Present Principals: Arthur Rowney and Walter George Rowney. Specialities: Highest class Artists' Colours; all grades of Blacklead and Coloured Pencils. The firm's goods are known throughout the world. Royal Warrant: By Appointment to His Majesty the King. Telephone: No. 4893 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " George Rowney, London."

ROWNSON, DREW & CLYDESDALE, LIMITED, Hardware Merchants, Engineers and Athletic Goods Manufacturers, 225, Upper Thames Street, E.C., and 19, Midland Goods Station, Somers Town, London, N.W. Established: The business of Ronson & Drow in 1821, by Joseph Rownson and Henry Drow, and the Clydesdale Iron Foundry Co. in 1877. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Directors: L. H. Drow, A. C. Drew, P. G. Donald, B. I. Donald, H. J. 1VIonnery. Specialities: Elevators and Conveyors for Loading and Unloading Ships and other purposes (Engineering Department), " Gofky " and Tennis Goods, &c. (Athletic Department). Patents: Numerous. Connection: United Kingdom and Export. Telephone: No. 6620 London Wall, London (four lines). Telegraphic Address: " Rownson, London." Bankers: Robarts, Lubbock & Co.

ROWNTREE & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of Cocoa, Chocolate, and French Confectionery, the Cocoa Works, Wigginton Road, York. London Uric?: 16, Eastcheap, E.C. Established in 1838. Partners at date of incorporation. were Joseph Rowntree, John W. Rowntree, and B. Seebohm Rowntree, trading as H. I. Rowntree & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: Joseph Rowntree (Chairman), B. Seebohm Rowntree, Arnold S. Rowntree, M.P., Frank H. Rowntree, J. Bowes Morrell, Joseph S. Rowntree, Oscar F. Rowntree. Manager: T. H. Appleton. Secretary: Theodore H. Rowntree. Specialities: Cocoa, Chocolates, Pastilles and Clear Gums; French Confectionery. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment Manufacturers of Cocoa and Chocolate to H.M. King George V. and of Cocoa, Chocolate and Confectionery to H.M. Queen Mary. The Company also held Appointment of Cocoa and Chocolate Manufacturers to His late Majesty King Edward VII. Telephone: No. 390 National, York. Telegraphic and Cable Address: Rowntree, York." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions).

ROYAL BANK OF IRELAND, LIMITED (THE). Head Office: Foster Place, Dublin. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1836. Directors: Sir James Murphy, Bart., D.L. (Chairman), Major J. W. H. C. Cusack, J.P. (Deputy-Chairman), James Pim, J. E. Fottrell, W. B. Carson, S. P. Boyd, D.L. Secretary: O. C. M. Jones. Assistant Secretary: Joseph Crawford. Branches: 24 and 25, Arran Quay; 14 and 15, Corn Market; 63 and 64, Upper Sackville Street; 102, Upper George's- Street, Kingstown; 46, North Wall; 54, Lower Baggot Street; 76, Rathmines Road, Terenure, and sub-offices. Business: All usual Banking transactions.

ROYAL BANK OF SCOTLAND, Head Office, Edinburgh. Hours of Business: Head Office, 9.30 a.m. to 3.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Incorporated by Royal Charter in 1727. Governor: His Grace the Duke of Buccleuch and Queensberry, K.G., K.T. Deputy-Governor: The Right Hon. the Earl of Elgin and Kincardine, K.G. Ordinary Directors: Charles Carlow, John Patrick Wright, Sir Henry Cook, C. C. Maconochie, K.C., A. H. Turnbull, E. G. Baxter, L. W. Dickson, Ernest A. Davidson, James A. Fleming, K.C. Branches: Office in London, 3, Bishopsgate, E.C.; 161 in the country, including sub-offices. Business: Transacts all usual Banking business. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: Nos. 273 and 274 Edinburgh. Telegraphic Address: ".Bank, Edinburgh."

ROYAL BREWERY, BRENTFORD, Ltd., Brewers, Bottlers and Wine and Spirit Merchants, Brentford. London Office: 171, Queen Victoria Street, E.C. Hours of Business i 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established: Records lost, but as the Red Lion Brewery, it was in existence in the eighteenth century. The property of Mr. Felix (afterwards Sir Felix) Booth. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Chairman: Montague Ballard. Mr. Felix Booth provided the expenses of an Arctic Expedition, undertaken by Sir John Ross, King William IV., paid a visit to the Brewery when the arrangements were being concluded. By His Majesty's wish and in commemoration of his visit, the title was altered from " Red Lion " to the " Royal Brewery." One of the oldest Breweries in the Kingdom. It later became the property of Mr. Carrington (father of Richard Christopher Carrington, 1826-1875, the well-known Astronomer). Later owned by Messrs. Gibbon & Croxf ord. Premises: The Brewery, with Bottled Beer and Wine and Spirit Departments has a frontage of 400 feet to High Street, Brentford, and to the Thames, with a landing Wharf. Extensive Plant and all the latest improvements. Cellarage for some thousands of barrels. Large Bottling Stores and with the latest modern machinery and extensive freezing rooms. The licensed properties are alike in many particulars, and also in their departure from the stereotyped " Gin Palace " design. Specialities: The " Royal Stout," famous for its excellence. Light Bitter Ale, claimed to be an absolutely non-deposit Beer; also large Wine and Spirit Importers. Connection: United Kingdom. Royal Warrant: Special appointment. Telephone: No. 357 Chiswick. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

ROYAL CROWN DERBY PORCELAIN COMPANY, Ltd., Porcelain Manufacturers, Osmaston Road, Derby. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1877 under the name of Derby Crown Porcelain Co., Ltd. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Name of Company changed to present style by command of H.M. Queen Victoria on Grant of Appointment as Porcelain Manufacturers to Her Majesty, 1890. Directors: Henry Litherland, Edward McInnes, William Bradshaw Litherland. Premises: Extensive and highly equipped Works, covering three acres. Staff: About 400. London Showrooms: 15, Charterhouse Street, E.C. Business: The manufacture of Porcelain in Services and Ornaments of all descriptions. Leading feature, the reproduction of the " Old Derby " patterns. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign , Colonial. Royal Warrants: To H.M. the King. Held a Warrant to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria, and to His late Majesty King Edward VII. Telephones: No. 312 Derby (Works); No. 236 Holborn, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " China, Derby " (Works); " Arabesque, Smith, London." Code: Western Union. Bankers: Crompton and Evans' Union Bank, Ltd. (Derby).

ROYAL EXCHANGE ASSURANCE, Royal Exchange, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1717, and is traceable to the Mercers' Hall Marine Co., the subscribers of which raised in that year a fund of one million sterling to insure ships and merchandise. Subsequently transacted business of marine insurance under the name of the " Court of Assistants of the Mines Royal, Mineral and Battery Works," with Thomas, Lord Onslow, as Governor, 1718. Incorporated: June 22nd, 1720, by Royal Charter, and assumed present title. This and a further Charter granted in 1721 empowered the Corporation to transact Sea, Fire, and Life Assurance business. Additional powers were obtained in 1793, " to grant purchase and sell annuities upon or for lives "; in 1801, to insure vessels and goods on inland waters; in 1826, to make advances on mortgages; and in 1854, when the stocks and powers authorised by Charters and previous Acts were consolidated by 17 and 18 Vic., cap. 11. Present Constitution: Royal Exchange Assurance Act, 1901. Governor: Sir Nevile Lubbock, K.C.M.G. Sub-Governor: C. Seymour Grenfell. Deputy-Governor: G. F. Malcolmson. Directors: Right Hon. Lord Addington, Sir John H.Bothell, Bart., M.P., E. Clifton Brown, W. S. Morgan Burns, Right Hon. Lord Richard Cavendish, Lord Charles Cavendish-Bentinck, E. H. Cunard, Sir A. Dent, K.C.M.G., Chas. E. Green, Hon. R. V. Grosvenor, C. Eric Hambro, Sir Thos. Jackson, Bart., Lord Robert Manners, D.S.O., Howard Morley, Spencer J. Portal, W. G. Rathbone, John Robarts, Rt. Hon. Lord Rotherham, V. H. Smith, Somers Somerset, Captain Sir George Rawlinson Vyvyan, K.C.M.G., Rt. Hon. Earl Winterton, M.P. Secretary: W. N. Whymper, who has compiled (for private circulation) an interesting sketch of the past history of the Royal Exchange Assurance. Joint Managers of Fire Department: E. B. Hiles, Ferrers Daniell. Underwriter: H. T. Hines. Manager of Sea Claims Office: H. B. Sharpe. Accountant: P. F. Hodge. Cashier: W. G. Ross. Branches: 44, Pall Mall, London, S.W.; 29 and 30, High Holborn, W.C.; 48, Mark Lane, E.C.; 53, The Broadway, Stratford, E.; and at Birmingham, Brighton, Bristol, Carlisle, Plymouth, Leeds, Hull, Northallerton, Lincoln, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle, Nottingham, Sheffield, Southampton, Aberdeen, Glasgow, Dundee, Edinburgh, Inverness, Dublin, Belfast, Sydney, N.S.W., Johannesburg, New York, Amsterdam, Calcutta, Montreal, Buenos Aires, Tantar. Business: Fire, Life, Sea, Accident, Burglary, Plate Glass, Motor Car, and Employers' Liability Assurances; Third Party Fidelity Guarantee; Annuities; Executorship of Wills; Trusteeships of Wills and Settlements, and for Debenture Holders. Telephone: No. 5800 London Wall for all Departments. Telegraphic Address: "Foxhound, Stock, London."

ROYAL INSURANCE CO., Ltd., Head Offices: 1, North John Street, Liverpool; London, 24-28, Lombard Street, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1845. Incorporated in 1862. Directors: Herbert W. Hind (Chairman), Thomas H. Jackson, John Rankin (Deputy Chairmen), Charles Alcock, Frederic A. Bates, H. M. Beausire, Edward P. Busch, W. S. Crichton, Danson Cunningham, W. R. Glazebrook, Geo. B. Heyworth, M. H. Maxwell, Edward Paul, A. A. Paton, Samuel Sanday, Thomas Woodsend. London Board: James Duncan (Chairman), Charles Alcock, J. E. B. Bailie, Geoffrey Drage, Frank Henderson, H. W. Hamilton-Hoare, John Inglis, W. J. Le Lacheur, George Marsham, Henry Riiffer. General Manager: George Chappell. Sub-Manager: J. J. Atkinson. Assistant Secretaries: Alex. D. Robertson, Walter Carter. Accident Manager: R. W. Thompson. Secretary to London Board: R. M'Connell. Branches: Aberdeen, Bedford, Belfast, Birkenhead, Birmingham, Blackburn, Boston (Lines), Bradford, Brighton, Bristol, Canterbury, Cardiff, Carlisle, Chester, Cork, Darlington, Derby, Doncaster, Dublin, Dumfries, Dundee, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Grimsby, Halifax, Hanley, Hereford, Huddersfield, Hull, Inverness, Ipswich, Leeds, Leicester, Lincoln, London (Bayswater, Law Courts, Mercantile, North, South, South-West, West End, West Essex), Maidstone, Manchester, Newcastle-on-Tyne, Northampton, Norwich, Nottingham, Paisley, Penrith, Plymouth, Reading, Sheffield, Shrewsbury, Southampton, Sunderland, Swansea, Whitehaven, Wolverhampton. Business: Fire, Life, Accident, Marine, Motor Car, Loss of Profits, Burglary, Fidelity, Employers' Liability, Engineering Insurances, Glass, Live Stock, &c. The Company has also acquired control of the British and Foreign Marine Insurance Co., Ltd., the British Engine, Boiler and Electrical Insurance Co., Ltd., the Mutual Fire Insurance Co. of Tasmania, Ltd., and The Horse Carriage and General Insurance CO., Ltd. Connection: Worldwide. Telephones: No. 7950 Central, Liverpool; No. 3390 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Addresses: "Royal," Liverpool; "Princely," Stock London.

ROYAL MAIL STEAM PACKET CO. (THE), Shipowners, 18, Moorgate Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Company by Royal Charter in 1839. Claim to be the oldest Transatlantic Steamship Co. working under a Royal Charter. Jointly with the Elder Dempster Line purchased the Pacific Steam Navigation Company's Share capital in 1911, and a large interest in the firm of Lamport & Holt, and the Shire Line's entire business. Branches: London, 57, Moorgate Street, E.C.; 32, Cockspur Street, S.W.; Liverpool, Manchester, Leeds, Birmingham, Glasgow, Southampton. Foreign and Colonial Offices: Madrid, Buenos Aires, Rio de Janeiro, San Paulo, Colon, Antilla (Cuba), Jamaica, Trinidad, Tobago, Barbados. Business: Owners of Lines of Steamers. Telephones: No. 3720 London Wall (five lines); Nos. 2034 and 2687 Central, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Omarius," London and Branches; " Roymaspac, London," Cockspur Street.

ROYAL WORCESTER WAREHOUSE CO., Corset Manufacturers, 76/78, Mortinier Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1903 by Henry Randall and Meredith C. Craig, the present principals. Under contract with the Royal Worcester Corset Co., United States, founded for fifty-one years. Premises: Cover about 40,000 feet. Staff Large distributing. Specialities: Operating, Royal Worcester Kid Fitting Corsets. Patents: Several. Awards: Gold and Bronze Medals. Connection: United Kingdom, France, Belgium and India. Telephone: No. 6340 Mayfair, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Semidome, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. (Oxford Circus).

ROYLES, Ltd., Engineers, Irlam, near Manchester (on the Cheshire Lines Railway). Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1875 by John J. Royle. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: John J. Royle (Chairman), 0. M. Row, M.I.Mech.E.. and H. C. D. Scott. Premises: Extensive, covering about five acres of ground. Stall: About 300. Branches: John Buley, Suffolk House, Laurence Pountney Hill, London, E.C.; W. J. Richardson, 26, Grey Street, Newcastle-on-Tyne; W. B. & J. Bain, 65, Waterloo Street, Glasgow; Frank Saunders, Ltd., 178, Clarence Street, Sydney; Saunders & Stuart, Perth, W. Australia; Fyvie & Stewart, 34, Queen Street, Melbourne; Fryer et Cie.,Rouen; Hans Reisert (G.m.b.h.), Köl, Germany. Specialities: Feed Water Heaters, Calorifiers, Steam Kettles, Fresh Water Condensers, Evaporators, Steam Traps, Reducing Valves, Boiler Mountings, Water Softening and Filtering .Plants, Steam and Water Appliances for Public Baths, Iron and Brass Castings, Copper Work, &c. Have patented many inventions relating to the above. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 6718 Manchester; No. 68 Urmston. Telegraphic Address: " Elyor, Cadishead." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd. (King Street, Manchester).

ROYSTON (HENRY) & CO., Manufacturers of Linings and Dress Goods, 87A, St. James Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1892 by Henry Royston. Specialities: Linings, Handkerchiefs, Velveteens and Dress Goods. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 6407 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Address " Rostrum, Manchester." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Lieber's. Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd.

ROYSTON (JAMES), SON & CO., Ltd., Manufacturers of all kinds of iron and Steel Wire, Tinners and Galvanizers, Shroggs Wire Mills, Halifax. and 11, Lensden Place, Golden Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1797 by James Royston. Partnership 'Successions: (1) Aquilla Royston, son; (2) Mrs. Dyson Hitchen; (3) Dr. Geo. West Royston Pigott; (4) Harry Pigott and Sir Alfred Arnold, J.P.; (5) Sir Alfred Arnold, J.P., C. C. Arnold, J.P. (son of Sir Alfred Arnold). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: Thos. Sutcliffe (Chairman), Wm. Crabtree, J.P. ( Managing Director), Thomas Lucas Sutcliffe. One of the oldest Wire-drawing firms in England. Makers of a large portion of the Wire required for the first Atlantic Cable, 1857. Staff: 300. Branches: London, Paris, Aachen, Moscow. Specialities: Steel Wire for Ropes; all classes of Cast Steel, Hardened and Tempered Steel, Mild Steel, Bessemer Charcoal, and Iron Wire. Are also Tinners and Galvanizers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial, United States. Telephone: No. 52 Halifax. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Royston, Halifax." Code: A B C (4th and • 5th Editions). Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd., and West Yorkshire Bank, Ltd., Halifax.

RUDALL, CARTE & CO., Ltd., Musical Instrument Makers, 23, Berners Street, Oxford Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1780 by Mr. Kramer, who came to England in the train of King George III. Incorporated in 1910 as a Private Limited Company. Dtrectors: M. S. George and J. J. G. Zambra. In 1876 the business was removed from 20, Charing Cross to above address. Specialities: Wood and Brass Wind Instruments, Drums, &c. Connection: Throughout the United Kingdom, the Colonies, and all foreign countries. Patents: The Boehm and other Cylinder Flutes; also Conical Bore Cornets and other Brass Instruments. Branch: 7, Queen Street, Dublin. Royal Warrant Holders to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephone: No. 6775 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: "Burlettas, London." Code: A B C. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

RUDD, E. W., Ltd., Engineers and Motor Haulage Contractors, 10-16, Aberfeldy Street, and Blair Street, Poplar, London, E. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. Sunday until 2 p.m. Saturdays. Established in 1903 by E. W. Rudd. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1910. Managing Director: E. W. Rudd. The Dock Strike of 1912 was broken by the Company. Staff: 200. Speciality: Meat Carrying in Insulated Motors and delivery of same within one hundred miles radius. Telephone: No. 3830 East, London (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Ruddonia, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

RUDDERS & PAYNES, LIMITED, Timber and Slate Merchants, Slating, Tiling, and Wood Fencing Contractors, Sawmills, Chester Street and Hubert Street, Aston Road, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1862 by W. D. Rudder (d.). Purchased on his death by Harry Rudder (son). Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1897. Managing Directors: Harry Rudder, E. G. Payne, H. W. Payne. Premises are extensive, covering some five acres in Chester Street and Hubert Street, the yards running down to the canal, where there are five boat-lengths of wharf. The Works are equipped with up-to-date plant, driven by throe steam engines and ton electric motors. A large business is done in Slating and Tiling with Penrhyn, Oakeloy, Westmorland, and other slates, and best makes of tiles. Specialities: Ornamental Entrance Gates and Fencing; Lych Gates; also ordinary Boundary Fencing, Field Gates, &c. The firm supply all kinds of Mouldings, Sash Bars,. Matchboards, &c., and have a very heavy stock of English and Foreign Timber, • Wainscot Oak, Ash, Birch, Mahogany, suitable for the Cabinet and Coachbuilders' trade, Teak, Sequoia, together with every kind of hardwoods. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office). Telephones: Nos. 2529, 807, and 4333 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Addres8 I " Sawmills, Birmingham."

RUDDIN, JAMES, Poultry, Game and Meat Salesman and Produce Importer, Cold Storage Proprietor, St. John's Market, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1860 by Alderman James Ruddin, J.P. (d.). Succeeded .by Thomas Owen Ruddin, John Henry Ruddin, and James Ruddin (sons). Present Principals: Thomas Owen Ruddin, J.P., James Ruddin, and John Henry Ruddin. Premises: Claims that the chicken-fattening station at Stanley is the largest of its kind in this country, and the only one of its kind in the North of England. The buildings in St. John's Market are extensive. Cold Stores at Tryon Street have a capacity of 200,000 cubic feet. The Fattening Station at Stanley has accommodation for 15,300 chickens. Fattening Station at Gascoyne Street has accommodation for about 10,000 Ducks. Staff: About 100. Branches: London, 15, King Street, W.C.; Melbourne and Sydney. . Speciality: Chicken Fattening, Poultry, Game and Meat Sa!esmen and Produce Importers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrant: Purveyor to H.R.H. Princess Louise, Marchioness of Lorne. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

RUDGE-WHITWORTH, Ltd., Cycle, Motor Cycle, and Motor Wheel Manufacturers. Registered Office: Crow Lane, Coventry. Factories: Coventry and Birmingham. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894; C. Vernon Pugh, J.P. (Chairman and Managing Director), J. S. Taylor (Vice-Chairman), JolinV.Pugh, J.P. (Works Director), R. Percy Taunton. The Company was formed by the amalgamation of the Rudge Cycle Co., Ltd., and the Whitworth Cycle Co., Ltd., founded respectively by D. Rudge, of Wolverhampton, in 1872, and by the late Charles H. Pugh in 1891. Branches: London, Liverpool, Manchester, Southport, Leeds, Bradford, Sheffield, Newcastle, Sunderland, Birmingham, Leicester, Nottingham, Wolverhampton, Oxford, Exeter, Bristol, Cardiff, Brighton, Preston, Bootle, Bedford, Gloucester, Hull, Norwich, Aberdeen, Glasgow, Edinburgh. Dublin, Belfast, Londonderry, Waterford, Coventry, Eastbourne, and in South Africa. Specialities: Light Bicycles, Motor Bicycles, and Detachable Wheels for Automobiles. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrant: H.M. King George V. Telephone: No. 2 (G.P. O.) and 404 (National), Coventry. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Rudge, Coventry." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

RUDLEN, R., & CO., Ltd., Boot and Shoe Manufacturers, Mill Road, Wellingborough, Northants. Hours of Business: 7.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1862 by Robert Rudlen. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Managing Director: H. C. Roberts. Directors B. Jinks (Chairman), W. Pendered, C. Jinks and T. Smart. Staff: 300. Specialities: Smart Footwear for Gentlemen, Youths and Boys. Shipping' goods for all parts of the world. Connection: Foreign and Colonial. Tele., phone: No. 83 Wellingborough. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Rudlen, Wellingborough." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

RUINART PERE & FILS, Champagne Growers and Shippers, Reims. Agents: Croft & Co., Ltd., 25, Crutched Friars, London, E.C. The House of Ruinart Pere & Fils is the oldest in the Champagne Trade. Founded at Reims in 1729 by Nicholas Ruinart, nephew of the Benedictine monk, Dom Ruinart, who was contemporary at the Abbey of Hautvilliers with Dom Perignon, the discoverer of sparkling Champagne. S Aieciality: The Brand " Carte Anglaise," Extra Dry Champagne.

RUSHWORTH & BROWN, Auctioneers, Surveyors, and Estate Agents, 22, Savile Row, Burlington Gardens, London, W. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established:. Actual date unknown. Are in possession of a Catalogue issued from above address 1756. Telephone: No. 5192 Gerrard.

RUSS & CO., Wholesale Manufacturing Furriers and Skin Merchants, 70, New Bond Street, London, W. Established fifty years. Branch: 50 and 52, Buchanan Street, Glasgow. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2759 Mayfair. Telegraphic Address: " Kuerschner, London."

RUSSELL, H. C., Ltd., Milliners and Ladies' Outfitters, 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, and 7, Sidney Place, 2, 3, and 4, New Coventry Street, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, and 14, Wardour Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1865 as a high-class Milliners' Business by Messrs. Hilder & Godbold; succeeded in 1891 by Horatio Charles Russell, solo proprietor until April, 1913, when the business was converted into a Private Limited Company, with Mr. H. C. Russell as Managing Director. The wellknown Outfitting and Lingerie business of the late George Himus, founded in 1854, has recently been purchased, rebuilt, and incorporated in the establishment. Premises: Have 190 ft. frontage to Sidney Place and Wardour Street, and a new and attractive frontage to Leicester Square, with an Arcade leading to the Main Establishment. They are only two minutes' walk from Piccadilly Circus Tube Stations. Stag: Abotit 300. French, German, and Italian Interpreters. Specialities: Highclass Millinery, Ladies' Outfitting, Trousseaux, and Layettes; " Russellia " Specialities in Gloves, Hosiery, and Fancy Goods. Costume and Blouse Making in own well-appointed Workrooms. Everything for Ladies' and Children's Wear, in newest modes, at moderate prices. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Indian, and Colonial. Large postal order trade all over the world. Special facilities offered for shopping by post. Illustrated Catalogues sent post free to any part of the world. Publishers of " Everything for Baby " and " Russellia Fashions. Telephone: Gerrard, No. 1076 (Four Lines and Private Exchange). Mr. Horatio Charles Russell is Councillor of the City of Westminster, and Deputy-Chairman of the Warehousemen Clerks and Drapers Schools (Purley, Surrey).

RUSSELL (JOHN) & COMPANY, LIMITED, Wrought Iron and Steel Tube Manufacturers, Iron Manufacturers, Brass Founders, &c., Alma Tube Works, and Cyclops Iron Works, Walsall; Old Patent Tube Works, Wednesbury; and Belmont Brass Works, Birmingham. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1811 by John Russell. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1876. Directors: W. E. Harrison (Chairman), T. A. Negus, F. R. Clarke, and J. C. Forrest. Branches: London, 145, Queen Victoria Street, E.C.; Upper Thames Street, E.C.; 150, Charing Cross Road, W.C.; 58, Commercial Street, E.; 43 and 45, Newington Butts, S.E.; Epoxrt Office, Leadenhall Buildings, Leadenhall Street, E.C.; Manchester, London Road; Leeds, 15, Wellington Street; Bristol, Colston Street. Telephone: No. 34 Walsall. Telegraphic Address: " Alma, Walsall."

RUSSELL, MACFARLANE & CO., Ltd., Scotch Tweed Manufacturers, and Woollen Merchants, 42, Virginia Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30. a.m. to 1 p.m. Established about 1840 by Duncan Macfarlan as Duncan Macfarlan & Co. Partnership Successions: William Russell, Duncan Macfarlane, John Cumming, John C. Munro, Andrew McLaren, John M. Paul, Adam Rankine, and J. Scott Walter, all deceased except Adam Rankine. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Present Directors: Adam Rankine, Donald Grant, and W. M. Brown. Premises: Glasgow Warehouse formerly occupied by the Glasgow Gas Corporation. Acquired and entirely remodelled by the present Company about five years ago. Staff: Total about 100. Branch: London, 212A, Shaftesbury Avenue. Business: Scotch Tweed Manufacturers, and Woollen Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 5339 Royal; No. 162 (Bell) Glasgow; No. 1923 (P.O.) Central, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Tweed, Glasgow "; " Basilisk, London."

RUSSELL & RAMSDEN, Wool Brokers, Pilrig, Edinburgh. Hours of Business Winter, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; July to September, 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. Established in 1864 by James Ramsden (retired 1882) and John Russell (d. 1897). In 1882 C. L. Ramsden and H. Ramsden (sons) became partners. C. L. Ramsden retired in 1889. In 1897 Stephen Russell joined (d. 1908). Cqntinued by H. Ramsden. Present Principals Henry Ramsden and his son H. Stanley Ramsden (since 1912). Premises: Warehouse was built by Henry Ramsden and Stephen Russell in 1898, covering one acre. Three storeys in front, four at the back, equal to about three and a half acres of floorage. Staff: Ten; travellers, nine; warehousemen, ten in winter to twenty in summer. Business Claim to be the largest Brokers of Home Grown Wools in Scotland and to catalogue more than double the quantity of any other Scotch Brokers. Public Sales every month during season. Connection United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. #elephone: No. 223 Leith. Telegraphic Address: " Ramsden, Edinburgh." Code: Private. Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (London and Leith).

RUSSELL (STANLEY) & CO., Club and Library Contractors and Publishers, Colonial House, 17-25, Tooley Street, London Bridge, London. Hours of Business: 9 a:m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1904 by Stanley Russell, the present principal. Business: Contractors for Periodical Cases, Handbooks, &c., to the principal Clubs and Libraries throughout the British Isles (over 2000). Claim to be the largest Club and Library Contractors and Publishers in the world. Advertisements received for all London and Provincial Newspapers. Connection: All parts of the United Kingdom and the Colonies. Telephone: No. 304 Hop. Telegraphic Address: " Russell, Colonial House, London Bridge." Bankers: London and South-Western Bank, Ltd.

RUSSO-ASIATIC BANK (THE). Head Office: St. Petersburg. London Office 64, Old Broad Street, E.C. Board of Directors: A. Poutiloff (President); M. Verstraete (Vice-President), P. Bock, V. Davydoff, C. Dubreuilh, R. Logrand. London Manager: Chantrey Inchbald. London Bankers; Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co. Telegraphic Address: " Sinorusse, Stock, London."

RUSTLESS IRON CO. (THE), Iron Manufacturers, Trico Works, Keighley. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 12 noon. Established by John Smith and Arthur Edward. Berrey, the present principals. Business Treating Iron Goods to prevent their Rusting, Specialize in Rustless Washing Coppers, " Trico " Brand. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone No. 80 Keighley. Telegraphic Address: " Rustless, Keighley." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd., Keighley. Mr. Smith was Mayor of Keighley, 1904-5. Mr. Berrey was President of Keighley Chamber of Commerce, 1910-11.

RUSTON, PROCTOR & CO., Ltd., Engineers, Boiler Makers and Thrashing Machine Makers. Registered Office: Sheaf Iron Works, Waterside South, Lincoln. Other Works: Sheaf Wood Works, Anchor Street, Lincoln; Boiler Works, New Boultham, Lincoln. Hours of Business: Workmen, 6 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Fridays, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 12.30p.m. Office: 8.35 a.m. to 5.20 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.35 a.m. to 12.20 p.m. Estab lished in 1840 by Thomas Burton and James Toyne Proctor as Burton and Proctor. Joined in 1856 by Joseph Ruston, trading under original style. Thomas Burton retired in 1857. Style altered to Ruston, Proctor & Co. In 1863 Joseph Ruston became sole proprietor, style unchanged. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1889. Original Directors: Joseph Ruston, J.P. (Chairman), George Morland Hutton, C.B. (Deputy Chairman), Henry Seebohm, Theodore Fry, and Alfred Edward Tylor. Present Directors: Joseph Seward Ruston, J.P. (Chairman), eldest son of Joseph Ruston, - Alfred Edward Tylor (DeputyChairman), August Bornemann, M.Inst. M.E. (Managing Director), Frederick Howard Livens, M.I.C.E. (Engineer), and George Ruston Sharpley, M.Inst.M.E. Secretary: E. Oliver. Capital: In 1889, Debenture and Share £500,000. Present Capital: £1,200,000. Premises: Works, extend over fifty-two acres; commenced with fifteen acres. Highly equipped. Workmen and Staff: Present, 5200; in 1889, 1600 hands. Clubs: Silver Band, Golf, Football, Cricket, Tennis, Hockey, Bowls and Fishing. Branches: London Office, 46, Queen Victoria Street, E C.; and at Odessa, Russia and Milan. Specialities: Portable, Traction, at d Fixed Steam Engines, and Road Rollers, Gas and Oil Engines, Cornish, Lancashire, Multitubular, and Vertical Boilers, Steam Navvies, Centrifugal Pumps, Thrashing Machines, Clover Hullers, Maize Shellers, Straw Elevators, Chaff Cutters and Straw Presses. Patents: Many taken out from time to time. 4wards: 353 Medals and Grands Prix. Connection: United Kingdom, Export to most European and Asiatic Countries, South and Central America, Canada, the Colonies, India, Africa generally, and East Indies. Telephones: Nos. 581, 582, 583 and 584 Lincoln (Iron Works); No. 83 Lincoln (Woodworks); No. 127 Lincoln (Boiler Works). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Ruston, Lincoln." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd., Lincoln.

RUTHERFORD, A., & CO., Shipbuilders and Repairers, Engineers and Boiler. makers, Steam Yacht and Boat Builders, Ship and Yacht Outfitters, &c., Neptune Works, Bridge Street, ' and Cleveland Street, Birkenhead. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1853 by W. C. Ewing & MacMaster. Continued by W. C. Ewing in 1877, and Alexander Rutherford, their Manager, in 1884. Present Principals: Alexander Rutherford and Richard Perry Rutherford (son), manager. Premises: Works cover 5000 sq. yds., also large Workshops, Offices, and Stores. Specialities: Light Draft Steam and Motor Vessels of all kinds and all descriptions of small craft and ship repairs of all kinds. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No 104, Works; No. 436 (night work) Birkenhead. Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

RYDER & AMIES (late Parfitt), Tailors, Robemakers, Hatters, Hosiers and General Outfitters, 21 and 22, King's Parade; and Senate House Hill, Cambridge. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7.30 p.m. in Term; 6 p.m. in Vacations; Thursdays, close at 1 p.m. Established about 1820 by Parfitt & Co. Present Principals: Miss Anna B. Ryder and Edward William Amies (Acting Partner). Have the honour of being patronised by various members of the Royal Family; also Foreign Royalties. Premises: Building at No. 22, King's Parade is one of the old landmarks of Cambridge. Some 400 years old. Recently remodelled. The upper part of the house is used as the University Carlton Club, and has been for the last thirty years. Staff: About forty. Specialities: Catering for University Trade, University and Academical Robemakers, Clerical, Court, Diplomatic, and Colonial Outfit Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 71 Cambridge.. Bankers; Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (Cambridge).

RYDER & SON, Ltd., Seed Merchants, Holywell Hill, St. Albans, Herts. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1868 by the late Samuel Ryder, F.R.H.S. Continued by S. Ryder (jun.). Incorporated as a Private Limited Company. Directors: S. Ryder, J.P. (Managing Director), C. G. Davis and Stanley Robinson. Staff: About 200. Speciality: Garden Seeds of all kinds. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government through official agents, who supply natives; also to Foreign Governments. Telephone: No. 275 St. Albans. Telegraphic Address: " Ryder, Seedsmen, St. Albans." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. Mr. Samuel Ryder is a Justice of the Peace and Town Councillor. He has been Mayor of the City of St. Albans.

RYLANDS BROTHERS, Ltd., Wire Manufacturers, Warrington, Lancashire. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1805 by John Rylands. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1868. Premises: Cover fourteen acres. Staff: 1,700. London Office: 86, Leadenhall Street, E.C. Specialities: Iron and Steel Wire, Wire Netting, and Wire Ropes of every description. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 11 Warrington; London, No. 2732 Avenue. Telegraphic Addresses: " Wire, Warrington "; " Mizzen, London." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.

RYLANDS & SONS, Ltd.; RYLANDS & SONS (COLONIAL), Ltd., Warehousemen, Cotton Spinners, Manufacturers, Bleachers, Dyers, &c., New High Street, Manchester, and 55, Wood Street, London, E.C. Established in 1822 by John Rylands. Incorporated: October 25th, 1873. Present Directors: William Carnelley (Chairman), S. Barratt, W. F. Bewley, E. C. Dunford, Wm. Dornan, T. Kendall, G. W. C. Kirkham, F. Pilling, S. J. Tennant. Premises: Very large warehouses at Manchester and London; also at Liverpool, Sydney, Melbourne, and Cape Town. Works, including cotton-spinning mills and various factories, at Manchester, London, Gorton, Wigan, Swinton, Heapey, and Chorley. The Company's business in its entirety is one of the largest in the world. Staff: About 8,000. Specialities: The Company are General Warehousemen, dealing with all descriptions of Manchester goods and other textiles; also Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers, Bleachers, Dyers, and Manufacturers of Floor Oilcloth, Waddings, Clothing, Underclothing, Furniture and Bedding. Connection: World-wide. Telegraphic Addresses: " Rylands, Manchester," " Rylands, London."

See Also

Loading...

Sources of Information