Grace's Guide

British Industrial History

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 142,894 pages of information and 228,796 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

1914 Who's Who in Business: Company G

From Graces Guide

Jump to: navigation, search
Im1914WWB-p375b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p376a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p376b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p377a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p377b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p378a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p378b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p379a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p379b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p380a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p380b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p381a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p381b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p382a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p382b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p383a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p383b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p384a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p384b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p385a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p385b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p386a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p386b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p387a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p387b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p388a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p388b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p389a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p389b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p390a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p390b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p391a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p391b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p392a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p392b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p393a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p393b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p394a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p394b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p395a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p395b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p396a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p396b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p397a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p397b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p398a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p398b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p399a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p399b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p400a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p400b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p401a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p401b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p402a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p402b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p403a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p403b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p404a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p404b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p405a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p405b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p406a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p406b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p407a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p407b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p408a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p408b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p409a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p409b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p410a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p410b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p411a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p411b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p412a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p412b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p413a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p413b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p414a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p414b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p415a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p415b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p416a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p416b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p417a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p417b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p418a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p418b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p419a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p419b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p420a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p420b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p421a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p421b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p422a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p422b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p423a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p423b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p424a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p424b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p425a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p425b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p426a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p426b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p427a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p427b.jpg
Im1914WWB-p428a.jpg
Im1914WWB-p428b.jpg

Note: This is a sub-section of 1914 Who's Who in Business

GABRIEL & CO., Manufacturing Brassfounders, 3, 4 and 5, A.B. Row, Birmingham. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1880 by C. • E. Percy Gabriel, the present principal. Specialities . Brassfoundry, including Builders' and Cabinet Makers' requirements, Lavatory Fittings, Water Fittings, Electric Light, Railway Carriage, Tramcar, and Motorcar Fittings, and Ships' Brassfoundry. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Contractors to H.M. Government (Ad miralty, War Office); also to Foreign Governments and Offices and Works throughout the United Kingdom and Abroad. Telephone: No. 1223 Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Gabriel, Birmingham."

GALE, LISTER & CO., Wine and Spirit Merchants and Wholesale Bottlers, 105, Tonbridge Street, Leeds. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1894 by John Henry Lister and Henry Gale. Present Principal: J. H. Lister. Staff: Twelve. Business: Wine and Spirit Merchants and Wholesale Bottlers. Telephone: No. 1554 Central, Leeds.

GALE & POLDEN, Ltd., Printers, 2, Amen Corner, Paternoster Row, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established as a private firm at Chatham by James Gale about forty-seven years ago. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Directors: T. Ernest Polden (Chairman), E. Russell Polden, J. Jervis. Premises: Offices at above address; Printing Works, known as the Wellington Works, Aldershot, and Nelson Works, Portsmouth. Staff: About 500. Also Agencies in Chatham, Bombay, Malta, Gibraltar, Canada, Australia, &c., &c. Established and still own the following newspapers: " Military Mail," " Aldershot News," " Camberley News." Largest Printers and Publishers in the world of Army and Navy Books on Drill, Physical Exercises, &c. Publishers of Picture Post Cards. Specialists in Naval, Military and Commercial Printing, Stationery, Account Books, and Photography. Telephones: No. 283 and 284 Central; No. 71 (National) Portsmouth; No. 1519 (Corporation) Portsmouth; No. 2 Aldershot. Telegraphic Addresses: " Picquets, London "; "Polden, Aldershot "; " Polden, Portsmouth."

GALLAHER, Ltd., Tobacco Manufacturers, York Street, Belfast. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1857 by Thomas Gallaher, J.P. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: Thomas Gallaher, J.P. (Chairman), W. J. Bell, T. M. Bell. Premises: Cover six acres. Branch Factory: 67, Clerkenwell Road, London, E.C. Curing Warehouses throughout the Tobacco Growing States, where Tobacco is purchased direct from the Growers. Staff: 3,000. Branches: (Warehouses), Liverpool, Dublin, Manchester, Newcastle-on-Tyne, Hull, Leeds, Sheffield, Birmingham, Glasgow, Bristol, Limerick. Agencies in Foreign and Colonial Countries. Business: Manufacturers of Tobacco, Cigarettes and Snuff. Patents: Numerous inventions for the improvement of all kinds of Tobacco and Cigarette Machinery. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 795 Belfast. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Tobacco, Belfast "; " Gallaher, London"; " Harlequin," Dublin, Liverpool, Glasgow, Hull; " Gallaher," Manchester, Birmingham, Sheffield, Leeds; " Pigtail, Newcastle-on-Tyne." Bankers: Northern Banking Co., Ltd., Belfast, and Glyn Mills, Currie & Co. (London).

GALLIMORE (WILLIAM) & SONS, Manufacturers and Rollers of Nickel Silver and Brass; Wire Manufacturers in Nickel Silver, Brass and Copper; also of Silver, Electro-plated and Nickel Silver Spoons, Forks, Fish Carvers, Eaters, &c., Arundel Works, 15 to 31, Arundel Street, 1 and 3, &c., Arundel Lane, 2 and 4, Sycamore Street, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1822 by William Gallimore. Partnership Successions: (1) Elizabeth Gallimore (widow); (2) William Gallimore (son); (3) Mary Gallimore (widow of William Gallimore); (4) Henry. Gallimore, J.P., Herbert William Gallimore (grandsons of the founder). Premises cover about an acre. Staff: About 260. Branch: Office, 11, Farringdon Street, London, E.C. Business: Casting and Rolling Nickel Silver and Brass, and the supplying of the trade with Rolled Metal, Blanks and Wire; also the manufacture of Silver, Electro-plated and Nickel Silver Goods as above. Patents: Food Masticator. Salt Sifter; many registered and special designs. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1069 and 3761 Sheffield. Telegraphic Address: "Gallimore, Sheffield." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

GALLOWAY BROS., BOLTON.—See BARNETT & FOSTER.

GALLOWAYS Ltd., Constructors of Steam Engines and Steam Boilers. Engineering Works and Registered Offices: Knott Mill. Boiler Works: Ardwick, Manchester. Hours of Business: Office, 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1790 by William Galloway. Partnership Successions: (1) William Galloway & James Bowman; (2) Galloway, Bowman & Glasgow; (3) William & John Galloway; (4) W. and J. Galloway & Sons. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1889, re-registered in 1899 as a Public Company, Galloways Ltd. Directors: C. Leonard Agnew (Chairman), Edward N. Galloway, A. Hewlett (jun.), Sir Richard Mottram, C. Price, R. F. Riddick. Premises: Have probably the largest boiler works in the world. Staff: About 1,200. Representatives in all parts of the world. Specialities: The Patent Galloway Boiler, Patent Water Tube Boiler, Patent Cone Tubes, Patent Wrought Steel Steam Superheater, Rolling Mill Engines for Iron and Steel Works. Blowing Engines for Blast Furnaces and High-Speed Engines for Electric Light, Hauling and Power. Connection: World wide. Telephones: Nos. 6312-3-4 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Galloway, Manchester."

GALLSWORTHY (RICHARD) & SONS, Hide and Leather Factors, Wellesley Buildings, Wellington Street, Leeds. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Richard Gallsworthy became in 1857 the sole owner of the old-established business which had been carried on for very many years at 5 and 7, Meadow Lane, Leeds. Since 1895 the business has been carried on by Frank Gallsworthy, at the present address. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 538 Leeds. Telegraphic Address.: " Galsworthy, Leeds." Codes: Widebrook; A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: Beckett & Co. (Leeds).

GALPIN, JOHN, Ltd., Paper Merchants, 78, Fleet Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1868 by the late John Galpin. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: Percy Herbert Galpin (Chairman), Henry William Lewer (Managing Director), Stanley Ingram Galpin (Director and Secretary). Specialities: News, Printing, Magazine, Book, Music, and cheap Super-calendered Papers. Sole Agents for " Cartonite " Strawboard Centres. Telephone: No. 285 Holborn (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Energy, London." Bankers: London and South Western Bank, Ltd. (Fleet Street Branch).

GAMAGE, A. W., Ltd., Athletic, Motoring and Cycling Outfitters, 118, 119, 120, 121, 122, 122A, 125, 126, 127, 128, and 129, Holborn, and Leather Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 4 p.m. Established in 1878 by A. W. Gamage. The business is now one of the largest of its kind in the kingdom. Incorporated in 1897. Chairman and Managing Director: A. W. Gamage. Company's establishment is one of the most conspicuous features of Holborn. Specialities: The Company are Sporting and General Outfitters upon a very comprehensive scale, and pay special attention to athletic requirements. Supply everything in Clothing and Requisites for Sports and Games of all kinds. Also Departments for Photography, Tailoring, Boots, Cutlery, Plate, Fancy Goods, Ironmongery,Travelling Equipment, Jewellery, Phonographs, Drugs, Tobacco, Stationery, Toys, Hats, Hosiery, &c. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 2700 Holborn. Telegraphic Address: " Gamage, Holborn, London."

GAMESON (THOMAS) & SONS, Ltd., Ironfounders, &c., Rushall Street, Walsall. Hours of Business: Foundry Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Tinning Works, 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established eighty or eighty-five years ago by Thomas Gameson; carried on by his sons to the present time. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: A. Gameson and C. H. Gameson. Branch: Dudley Street, Walsall. Business: Malleable Ironfoundry at Rushall Street Works; Tinning business at Dudley Street. Telephones: No. 20 Walsall (Foundry), No. 266 Walsall (Tinning Works). Telegraphic Addresses: " Malleable, Walsall " (Foundry); " Tinning, Walsall " (Dudley Street).

GARCIA, JACOBS & CO., 19, Bow Street, London, W.C., in association with Simons, Jacobs & Co., Glasgow; Simons, Shuttleworth & Co., Liverpool; and Simons, Shuttleworth & French Co., New York. Established in 1820. One of the largest organisations for the sale and distribution of Fruits in the United Kingdom. Telephones: (London), Nos. 2387 and 2388 Gerrard; (Glasgow), No. 488 Tron and No. 44 Bell; (Liverpool), No. 810 Central. Telegraphic Addresses: " Aierag, London "; " Simons, Glasgow "; " Simons, Liverpool."

GARDINER (EDWARD) AND SONS, Ltd., Scotch Tweed Manufacturers, Tweed and Linglie Mills, Selkirk. London Office: 3, Heddon Street, Regent Street, W. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. -Established in 1895 by Edward Gardiner. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1910. Directors: Edward Gardiner (Chairman), Edward Gardiner (jun.) and Charles Gardiner. Staff: 350. Specialities: Scotch Tweeds and Reversible Coatings. Connection,: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial.

GARDINER, SONS & CO., Ltd., Builders and Furnishing Ironmongers, Merchants and Manufacturers, Nelson Street, Bristol. London Office: 19 and 21, Bury Street, New Oxford Street, W.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established about 1825 by Z. Cartwright. Partnership Successions: (1) Chillcott and Gardiner; (2) A. Gardiner and Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893. Directors: T. C. Gardiner (Chairman), A. H. Gardiner, F. Gardiner, E. J. L. Gardiner, Ernest Gardiner, A. Gardiner. Ono of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Cover about one and a half acres, equipped with all the latest improvements. Staff: About 300. Branches: Midland Ironworks, St. Philips, and All Saints Ironworks, All Saints Street, Bristol. Business: Wholesale and Retail Ironmongers, Builders' Merchants, Hot Water Engineers, Manufacturers of Constructional and Ornamental Ironwork, Sashes, Casements, Metal-Framed Show Cases, Hand-Power Lifts, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telephones: Warehouse and Office, Nos. 278 and 762, Midland Works; Nos. 867 and 849; Bristol, No. 7455 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Gardsons, Bristol." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

GARDINER, W., & CO., LIMITED, Australian Merchants and Warehousemen, 12, Redcroes Street, London, E.C., and York Street and Clarence Street, Sydney, N.S.W. Hours of Business: London, 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1861 in Sydney, in 1863 in London, by William Gardiner. Incorporated as a Limited Company in New South Wales in 1899. Directors: W. H. Gardiner, T. J. Hitchman, W. L. Roberts. Secretary: T. F. Edgar. Premises: Buying and Shipping Offices and Packing Rooms in London; Warehouses of eight floors with nearly three acres of floor space in York Street and Clarence Street, Sydney; Sample Rooms in Newcastle, N.S.W., and Brisbane, Queensland. Staff: London, nineteen; N.S.W., 110. Business: General Warehouse trade with Storekeepers throughout New South Wales and the other Colonies of the Commonwealth, also large business with the various groups of the Pacific Islands. Telephone: No. 1056 London Wall (London). Telegraphic Address: " Paroxysm, London." Cable Address: "Babylonia," London or Sydney. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. (London); Australian Bank of Commerce, Ltd. (Sydney, N.S.W.).

GARDNER (JOSEPH) & SONS, Timber Merchants, Hard and Fancy Wood Merchants, Peel Road, Bootle, Liverpool, and West India Docks, London, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12 noon. Established during the latter part of the eighteenth century by Richard Gardner and Joseph Gardner. Incorporated as a Private Unlimited Com, piny in 1904. Directors: A. E. Gardner, R. M. Gardner, E. Gardner. One of the oldest houses in the trade. Specialities: Tropical and sub-Tropical Hard and Fancy Woods and Cabinet Woods. Connection: All countries in Europe, United States, Brazil, East and West Indies, and British Colonies. Telephones: No. 1 Bootle (two lines) Liverpool; No. 1940 (two lines) Eastern, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Gardner," Liverpool and London. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Liverpool and London); Brown Brothers & Co. (New York).

GARDNER, LOCKET & HINTON, Ltd., Colliery Agents, Coal and Coke Factors and Merchants, Wharfingers and Lightermen. Head Office: 3, Fenchurch Avenue, London, E.C. Branches: Cardiff and Swansea. Incorporated with the above are the old-established firms of Gardner, Tomlin & Co., Locket & Judkins, and Hinton & Home, all of which have been established over 100 years. Directors: Thomas Gardner, J.P. (Chairman), W. H. Edinger, F. Gardner, Henry Gardner, A. L. Glass, S. N. Home, E. C. Judkins, F. Locket, and G. C. Locket, J.P. The Company are Shippers of Locket's Merthyr and Locket's Navigation Welsh Smokeless Steam Coal, widely known all over the Kingdom. Contractors to H.M. Government. Royal Warrant Holders to H.M. King George V. The firm of Locket & Judkins held the Royal Warrant continuously during the reigns of George III., George IV., William IV., Queen Victoria, and King Edward VII. Telephone: No. 1650 Avenue. Telegraphic Addresses: " Gardlocket, Fen, London "; " Rejo, Cardiff." Mr. G. C. Locket is Chairman of the Coal Merchants Society, and represents the Coal Trade in the London Chamber of Commerce.

GARDNER (WELLS), DARTON & CO., Ltd., Publishers, 3 and 4, Paternoster Buildings, E.C., and 44. Victoria Street, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1859. The firm was first in the hands of W. Wells Gardner and Joseph William Darton, and afterwards J. W. Darton, trading as Wells Gardner, Darton & Co. Incorporated as a Company in 1904; Joseph William Darton, Managing Director. Specialities: Church Publishing, Children's Books, various Magazines, General Literature. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Telephone: No. 2713 Central. Telegraphic Address " Publishers, London."

GARDNER, WM., & SONS (GLOUCESTER), Ltd., Flour Mill Engineers and Specialists in Sifting and Mixing Machinery for all kinds of Dry Powders, and General Engineers and Millstone Makers, Bristol Road, Gloucester. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1855 by William Gardner, one of the present Directors; joined later by two sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905, for family reasons. Directors: Wm. Gardner (founder), Charles E. Gardner, A. J. Gardner (sons). Premises: The original Works in Llanthony Road proving too small, a new site was secured, and Works driven by power erected in Southgate Street, which had to bo relinquished owing to large increase in the business. Present buildings on Bristol Road form an imposing block. Works fitted with all labour-saving appliances and machinery. Space has been secured adjoining for further enlargements owing to large increase in home and foreign trade, and on this space new buildings are being erected for increased accommodation for stores, drawing offices, clerical staff. Branches: Sydney, Adelaide, Wellington, Brisbane, Barcelona, Cape Town, &c. Specialities: Flour Mill and Sifting and Mixing Machinery. Patents: Many covering Flour Mill Machinery; Gardner's Patent " Rapid " Sifter and Mixer for Powders, Gardner's Patent "Rapid" Sifter, Mixer and Sprayer for Perfumed Powders, Flour, Grain, &c. Gardner's Patent Sugar-grinding and Dressing Machines for producing all grades of Sugar, Table Salt, &c.; Gardner's Patent " Diaphragmic " Feeder for accurately feeding Powders, Chemicals, Flour, &c., into other ingredients continuously from lb. per hour upwards to any quantity. Patented machinery for Milk Powder. Gardner's Patent " Rapid " Drying Machines for Powders. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 117 Gloucester. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Gardner, Gloucester." Codes: A 1; A B C (4th and 5th Editions); Private. Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (Gloucester).

GARFORTH COLLIERY, OWNERS OF, Colliery Proprietors and Lime Burners, Garforth, near Leeds; Newthorpe Lime Works, South Milford; Aberford, near Leeds; Shannon Street, Marsh Lane; and 32, Wellington Road, Leeds. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established about 1600 by Sir John Gascoigne. Continued by numerous successors of the Gascoigne family of Parlington, Aberford, near Leeds. Present Principal: Colonel Frederick Richard Thomas Trench Gascoigne, D.S.O., J.P. One of the oldest firms in tho trade. Premises: Extensive. Two of the present pits were sunk in 1834, the third in 1899. Staff: About 1300. Business: Producers of House and Steam Coal; also of Dolomite Lime Stone and Building Lime. Connection: Yorkshire (chiefly) and Foreign. Telephone: No. 13 Garforth; No. 2111 and 2112 Leeds. Telegraphic Address " Colliery, Gar-forth." Bankers Beckett & Co. (Leeds). Colonel Gascoigne was in the Royal Horse Guards and went to the Relief of Gordon; also volunteered in the Boer War and was attached to the Imperial Yeomanry. He is a Justice of the Peace, and member of Tadcaster Rural District Council and Board of Guardians.

GARLAND & CO., (W. B. FENN, A.R. Sand.), Patentees and Manufacturers, Engineers' Sundrymen, 1, Upper East Smithfield, near Tower Bridge, London, E.C. Hours of Business t 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established over a quarter of a century ago by — Garland. Business sold twenty two years ago to H. Ruggles, and three years and a half ago to W. B. Fenn. Present Principal: Walter Bernard Fenn, A.R.San.I. Business: Experts in Sanitary Fittings and Engineers' Requirements. Garland's Non-leaking Syphon Taps. India rubber, Asbestos and Leather Merchants and General Engineers' Furnishers. Sanitary Appliances and Fittings supplied. Specialise in Electrical Accessories and Lamps of every description. Experts in Cast Iron, Cast Steel, and Aluminium Welding. Patents: Combination Boiler and Pipe Cleaner and Condensation Drain, No. 11547, and Improved Means of Preventing Runaway Vehicles, No. 18526, patented by Messrs. Middleditch and Fenn. Connection: United King dom, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1381 City, London. Telegraphic Address: " Hydelectro, London." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

GARNAR (JAMES) & SONS, Leather Manufacturers, The Grange, Bermondsey, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 7.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1867 by James Garnar. Succeeded by James W. Garnar and Sydney T. Garnar (sons). Present Principals: James W. Garnar, Sydney T. Garnar, and Harry Fife. Staff: Over 300. Specialities: Tanning Shumac Skivers, Chamois Leather Dressing, Dyed Fancy Leathers, for Bookbinders and Leather Goods Makers, Hatters' Leather, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1242 and 1201 Hop, London. Telegraphic Address: " James Garnar, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

GARNETT, G., & SONS, Ltd., Worsted and Woollen Manufacturers, Valley Mills and Greenside Mills, Apperley Bridge and Castle Mills, Idle, near Bradford, and 10, Booth Street, Bradford. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about seventy-five years ago by the late Greenwood Garnett, J.P. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Directors: Joseph Henry Garnett, W. H. Ellis, W. H. Clarke, and G. Garnett (Chairman and Managing Director). Premises: Ground space occupied by Mill buildings about eight acres; 20,000 Woollen and Worsted Spindles, 360 Looms, besides fully equipped Dyeing and Finishing Plant. Staff: Nearly 1100. London Offices: 50, Aldermanbury, E.C. Specialities: Pure Indigo Serges and White Cricketing Cloths; Fancy Suitings and Trouserings and Saxony Flannel Suitings; Overcoatings. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (all departments). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Garnett, Apperley Bridge." Code: ABC (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

GARNETT, P. & C., Ltd., Manufacturers of Waste Machinery, Wharfe Works, Cleckheaton. Hours of Business: Office 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1850 by Peter Garnett of Otley. Continued by (1) Peter Garnett and Charles Garnett; (2) Peter Garnett and T. G. Garnett; (3) Peter Garnett and J. H. Leather, 1875. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: C. W. Leather (Chairman and Managing Director), H. D. Leather and W. Shepherd. Staff: About 160. Branch: Manchester, 69, Chapel Street; and Roubaix, 1, Bis Rue d'Oran, as P. & C. Garnett (France), Ltd. Specialities: Inventors of the famous Garnett Saw Tooth Wire now universally used for the Takerin rollers for Cotton Cards, Burr rollers for Worsted Cards, and for the clothing of Waste opening machines. Patents: Saw Tooth Wires, Waste Opening Machines, Cleaning Willeys, Burring Machines, Burr Rollers. Awards: Inventions, London, Bradford and Saltaire. Connection: United Kingdom, Germany, France, Belgium, Austria, Japan, United States, Canada, Italy, Brazil, Buenos Aires, Russia, Holland, Norway, Switzerland, Chili, Australia, New Zealand and India. Telephone: No. 9 Cleckheaton. Telegraphic Address: " Garnett, Cleckheaton." Code: A B C. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. GARNKIRK IRON CO. (THE), Iron Refiners and Pig Iron Manufacturers, Garnkirk, Scotland. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1906 by John Lees Crawford. Present Principals: John Lees Crawford and William M. Waddell. Premises: Contain Furnaces capable of producing 15,000 tons per annum. Speciality: High-class Cold Blast Refined Pig Iron. Connection: Shipping Port, Glasgow, Leith and Grangemouth. Telephone: No. 24 Stepps. Telegraphic Address: " Ironclad, Chryston."

GARRARD & CO., Ltd., Crown Jewellers, Goldsmiths and Silversmiths, 24, Albemarle Street, and 17, Grafton Street, London, W.; Manufactory, 1, 2 and 3, Avery Row, Grosvenor Street. Indian Branches at Calcutta and Simla. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays. 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1721 by George Wickes, " Ye King's Arms," Panton Street. Partnership Successions: (I) Edward Wakelin, 1747; (2) John Wakelin, 1776; (3) John Wakelin and Robert Garrard, 1792. By the descendants of the last-named the business has been carried on to the present date. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1909. Directors: Sebastian Henry Garrard, Henry Charles Pearson, Henry John Bell, Maurice Whippy Garrard, Charles Edwin Newbegin. The firm is one of the very oldest in the trade. First Royal Appointment to Frederick, Prince of Wales, eldest son of George II., A.D. 1139. Appointed Crown Jewellers to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria, also to His late Majesty King Edward VII., and to Their Majesties the King and Queen, the appointment entailing supervision of the Regalia, &c. The celebrated diamond, the " Koh-inoor," was recut on the premises in 1852, the first facet being cut by the groat Duke of Wellington. Supplied the Queen's Crown worn by Her Majesty at Westminster Abbey; also the Imperial Crown worn by H.M. the King at the Delhi Durban Premises: Ex tensive Showrooms at above address, and Factory seating 120 workpeople. Specialities: Fine Diamond and Coloured Gem Jewellery and Pearls of the highest class only. Are also Manufacturers of Gold and Silver Plate and Artistic Productions in both gold and silver, and of the Insignia of all the principal Orders of Knighthood. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrant: Special Warrant Goldsmiths and Jewellers to the Crown and to their Majesties King George V., Queen Mary, and Queen Alexandra. Telephones: Nos. 757 and 758 Regent. Telegraphic Address " Empearl, London."

GARRATTS Ltd., Colliery Proprietors, New British Collieries, Old Hill, Staffs.; and Parkhead Colliery, Dudley. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1838 by Shelah Garratt joined by Alderman Job Garratt in 1863 (d. 1908). Continued as Shelah Garratt & Son, 1863. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Directors: Julius Garratt (Chairman), Lt.-Col. J. W. Garratt and H. E. Garratt. The old firm of Garratts Ltd. has always been held by the same family. Business: Colliery Proprietors. Telephones: No. 26 Old Hill; No. 73 Dudley. Telegraphic Addresses: " Garratt," Cradley Heath and Parkhead, Dudley. Mr. Shelah Garratt, who was elected a Councillor for Dudley on incorporation in 1865, invented a model in case a pit rope broke to stop the pit cage falling down the shaft, either going down or coming up. The late Mr. Job Garratt was an Alderman, member of the Dudley Town Council for thirty-six years; Justice of the Peace for Worcestershire; Mayor of Dudley, 1881, 1882; Founder of Dudley Chamber of Commerce; Chairman of the Dudley Art Galleries, Free Libraries, and Governor of the Grammar School for twenty-five years, &c. There are several public and private memorials erected to his memory in the district..

GARRETT (RICHARD) & SONS, Ltd., Engineers, Leiston Works, Leiston. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1778 by Richard Garrett, the great-grandfather of present directors. Incorporated as a private Limited Company. Shares held by the family. Directors: Frank Garrett, sen. (Chairman), Frank Garrett (jun.), Alfred Garrett, Stephen Garrett and Charles Remy. One of the oldest firms in the trade. In 1840 Richard Garrett & Sons produced their first Portable Steam Engine, which they exhibited at Norwich. In 1806 they built the first Horse-power Threshing Machine. The company were the inventors of the Compound Portable Steam Engine. Premises: Cover between twenty and thirty acres, equipped with complete plant of upto-date tools, hydraulic, pneumatic and electrical power transmission, &c. Staff: 1500 to 2000 hands. Branches: London, St. Stephen's House, Westminster, S.W., and at Sydney, N.S.W. Agencies: In all parts of the world. Specialities: Superheated Steam Semi - Stationary Engines. Have had seventy years' experience in the construction of Steam Boilers, Portable and Semi-Portable Engines (Superheated and Saturated Steam Types), Traction Engines, Road Rollers, Motor Tractors and Motor Wagons, Boilers and Patent Superheaters and Steam Threshing Machinery. Patents: Several hundreds. Awards: More than 500 First Prizes, Grand Prix, Diplomes d' Honneur, &c. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, &c.), and to Foreign Governments. Telephone: No. 16 Leiston. Telegraphic Address: " Garrett, Leiston." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Western Union and Private. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited, Lombard Street, London.

GARROWAY, R. & J., Manufacturing Chemists, 58, Buchanan Street, Glasgow. Works: Netherfield Chemical Works, Garroway's Siding, Camlachie Station, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Works, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1817 by Dr. Robert Garroway. Present Principals: Major John Garroway, V.D., J.P., and James R. Garroway, sons of the founder. Premises cover twelve acres. Staff: 200 to 300. Specialities: Sulphuric, Nitric, Acetic and Hydrochloric Acids; Alum Cake, Sulphate of Alumina, Sewage Cake; Metabisulphite of Potash, Sulphite Soda, Sulphate of Soda; Superphosphates and all kinds of Manures. Also manufacture all kinds of Chemicals for Home and Export. Awards: Gold Medal, Franco-British Exhibition, London, 1908; St. Louis, 1904; Edinburgh, 1886; Glasgow, 1903, &c. Patents: Several. Connection: United Kingdom. Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty and War Office). Trade Mark: Red Cross. Are holders of several Gold Medals, Diplomas, &c. Telephones: Nos. 3108 and 221 Post Office. Telegraphic Address: " Garroway, Glasgow." The partners are both members of the Glasgow Chamber of Commerce and Merchant 3' House. Major John Garroway is a Justice of the Peace for the County of the City of Glasgow; Chairman of the Central Dispensary; a Director of the Royal Infirmary, Royal Blind Asylum, Juvenile Delinquency Board, Mossbank School (Boys), Maryhill School (Girls', Ophthalmic Institution, St. Mungo's College, Schaw Home, Glasgow Houses of Shelter, Cabmen's Mission, Grand Antiquity Society, St. Andrew's Ambulance Association, &c., &c.; Freemason, Mother Lodge, No. 0; Kilwinning.

GARSIDE, C., & SONS, Manufacturers of Oil Filters, Oil Handling Plant, and Steam Heating Specialists, Kebbot " Works, Ripponden, Yorks. Hours of Business: Office, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1868 by Charles Garside. Present Principals: John Garside and Edwin Garside. Premises: Extensive, with space for enlargement. Staff: Varies. Specialities: Oil Filters. The " Kebbot " Differential Pressure System of Steam Heating. Also Receptacles for oil. Apparatus for Automatic Lubrication, Steam Heating, &c. Patents: For " Kebbot " Oil Filter, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (War Office, India Office, Post Office and Office of Works); also to the West Riding County Council, Electricity Works, and to Railway and Gas Companies. Telephone: No. hr Rishworth. Telegraphic Address: "Garside, Sons, Ripponden." Cable Address: " Garside Sons, Ripponden, England." Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and Private. Bankers: West Yorkshire Bank, Ltd., Sowerby Bridge.

GARTON, HILL & CO., Brewing Sugar Manufacturers, Southampton Wharf, Battersea, London, S.W. Telephone: No. 1960 Battersea. Telegraphic Address: 1‘ Garton, Battsquare, London."

GARTONS, LIMITED, Seed Growers and Experts, and Scientific Farm Plant Breeders, Arpley, Warrington, Lancashire. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1880 by Robert and John Garton. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: Robert Garton, George P. Miln, J.P., and Thos. R. Garton. Premises: A range of Offices, together with large new Warehouses situated at Arpley, Warrington, and completed in 1910. The latter are the largest and most commodious Agricultural Seed Warehouses of their kind in the Kingdom, with an, area of 70,000 sq. ft., and equipped with the most modern seed-cleaning machinery driven exclusively by e!ectric power (300 h.p.). Railway sidings connected with L. and N.W.R. main line run through warehouses. The Company also have Plant Breeding Grounds, 500 acres in extent, at Acton Grange, Cheshire, where constant attention is devoted to the raising and perfecting of New and Regenerated Breeds of Farm Plants. In all, over 5,000 acres are under cultivation for Seeds. Staff: Nearly 300 hands employed in various capacities. Specialities: Agricultural Seeds in newest and most profitable varieties, raised under the " Garton " System of Plant Breeding by cross-fertilisation, notably the famous " Abundance " or " The Garton " Oat, " Standwell " Barley, " Victor " Wheat, and new and improved breeds of Grasses, Clovers, Mangels, Turnips, &c. Recently, the Company has introduced the distinct new breed of White Oat, " The Leader," which is claimed to be the most prolific bearing cereal in cultivation. Also a now regenerated stock of their famous White Oat " Abundance," the analysis of which shows it to be much superior in every way to the old " Abundance." Large Illustrated Catalogues, containing full ,particulars of all Gartons New and Regenerated Breeds of Farm Seeds, post free. Connection: United Kingdom, Continental, Foreign, Colonial. Patronage of His Majesty King George V. Telephones: Nos. 85 and 86 Warrington (eleven lines). Telegraphic Address: " Gartons, Warrington." Cable Address: " Abundance, Warrington." Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and Private. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

GAS LIGHTING IMPROVEMENT CO., Ltd. (THE), Motor Spirit and Oil Manufacturers and Refiners, Salisbury House, London Wall, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Varies at Branch Establishments. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1888. Directors: T. White (Chairman), J. Ewart, W. McCall, S. Neave, and P. C. Tennant (Managing Director). Secretary: H. Readwin. Branches: London, West Ham, E., Holland Park, W.,; Manchester, Liverpool, Birmingham, Middlesbrough, Cardiff, Glasgow, Edinburgh, Dublin. Specialities: " Carburine" and " Glico " Motor Spirit and Motor Oils, " Glico Turps, Benzine, Benzoline, Benzol, &c. Solvent Naphtha for Paint and Varnish Manufacture. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, Post Office), and to nearly every large municipality throughout the United Kingdom. Royal Warrant: Special appointment to H.M. The King for Motor Spirit. Telephones: Nos. 4452 and 4453 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " earburino, London " (Head Office).

GASCOYNE, G., & CO., Hop and Seed Merchants (with which is incorporated the firm of Hy. Jas. Firkins & Co., established 1799), Sansome Street, Worcester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1799 by Joseph Firkins. Continued by his son and grandson. Acquired by George Gascoyne, the present principal. Claim to be the oldest Hop and Seed firm in Worcester. The business of Hop Merchants and Wholesale Seed Merchants combined is a traditional combination, confined now to only six leading firms in the United Kingdom. Premises: Head Office, 23, Sansome Street, Worcester. Warehouses at 18 to 22, Sansome Street and South Quay Sidings. Branches: Worcester, Hop Market; London, 57, Hop Exchange, S.E. Specialities: Highest Grade of English and Foreign Hops and Extensive Seed Cleaning Machinery. Connection: United Kingdom, Continental, North and South America, Australasia and Canada (Export and Import). Telephone: No. 200 Worcester. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Gascoyne, Worcester." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Edition), Western Union (Universal Edition). Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Worcester).

GASKAIN, D. H., & CO., Hop Factors, 45, Borough, and 16, St. Thomas Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1864 by Bassett, Green, Hewetson & Staddon, all deceased. Present Principal: D. H. Gaskain. Have re2ently taken over the old-established businesses of Wests, Jones & Co. and T. Parkes, Son & Ayling (both established over 100 years ago). Premises: Hop Markets, 'Worcester, Farnham, and Parade, Canterbury. Claim to have the finest up-todate Showrooms in the trade. Business: Hop Factors. Connection: United Kingdom, United States of America, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 911 and 2793 Hop, London. Telegraphic Address: " Gaskainop, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.; Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

GASKELL & CHAMBERS, Ltd., Hotel Bar Fitters, Pewterers, Brewers' Engineers and Coppersmiths, Dale End Works, Birmingham. London Offices: 113 and 114, Blackfriars Road, S.E. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1797. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897, amalgamating with the old established business of Yates & Greenway. Directors: Cornelius Chambers, J.P. (Chairman and Managing Director), F. W. Greenway and H. H. Greenway (Joint Managing Directors), J. D. Prior, George Stephens. Purchased the Bar-fitting business of Samuel Mason, Ltd., Birmingham. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Staff: Over 300. Connection: Home, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, Board of Works, War Office, Board of Trade). Telephone: No. 640 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Gaskells, Birmingham."

GATTY, F. A., & CO., Ltd., Bleachers and Dyers, Bannister Hall Works, Higher Walton, near Preston, Lancs. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1843 by F. A. Gatty (d.) at Hagg Works, Accrington. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1886. Directors: F. Spinner (Chairman), J. Leemann, A. A. Gatty and V. H. Gatty (the last two are the Managing Directors). Premises: Removed to the present works in 1896. The Company were formerly engaged in Calico Printing, but abandoned this branch on removal to Higher Walton. Bannister Hall Works was established as a block printing works in 1778 and continued its connection with that trade until shortly before its purchase by the Company. The land owned by the Company in connection with their water and other rights amounts to about ninety acres, the Bleach and Dye Works, Warehouses and Reservoir covering about eight acres. Agencies: E. Spinner & Co. Manchester, Bombay. Sub-Agents in various countries. Specialities: Dyeing of Khaki by a process giving a colour of great fastness invented by the Founder. Patents: Various for improvements in connection with Khaki Dyeing. Connection: Export to almost all tropical countries. Telephone; No. 14 Bamber Bridge. Telegraphic Address: " Gatty, Walton-ledale." Bankers: Union Bank of Manchester, Ltd. (Accrington).

GAUMONT CO., Ltd. (THE), Inventors and Manufacturers of the Chronophone, &c., " Chrono House," 5 and 6, Sherwood Street, Piccadilly Circus, W., and 5, 6, 7 and 8, Denman Street, Shaftesbury Avenue, London, W. (Hiring Department). Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m.; Hiring Department always open. Established in 1898 by L. Gaumont & Co. in London. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Directors: Leon Gaumont (Chairman), Alfred Claude Bromhead. Premises: Large block known as Chrono House and extensive premises in Shaftesbury Buildings, Denman Street, the London and English branches covering 250,000 square feet. Extensive Theatre, Studio, and Workshops in Paris for the production of films and manufacture of Bioscope Machinery. Extensive Works and Studio in London for the production of films. Equipped with up-to-date appliances. Staff: About 650. Branches: Glasgow, Cardiff, Birmingham, Newcastle, Liverpool, Dubin, Manchester, Berlin, Milan, Bucharest, Helsingfors, Moscow, Cairo, Constantinople, Vienna, Barcelona, Buda Pesth, St. Petersburg, Odessa, Brussels, &c. Business: Inventors and Manufacturers of the Chronophone Talking and Singing Pictures, and Chonochrome System of Co!oured Cinematography, The Chrono Bioscope, Producers of many well known Star films, pre-eminent as producers of films of topical events. Publishers of the " Gaumont Graphic." Claim that it was the first Animated Newspaper. Now issued bi-weekly. Also an extensive trade done in hiring of Films. Patents and Inventions: Numerous Moving Picture Machines, Moving Picture-taking Cameras, and other appliances in connection with Cinematography. Telephones: No. 5966 Gerrard, London (four lines); Hire Dept., No. 4250 Regent. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Chronophon, Piccy, London t'; Hire Dept., " Filmirers, Telew, London." Codes: Lieber's, Western Union, A B C (5th Edition), A Z.

GAUNT & HUDSON, Ltd., Manufacturers of Hats, Caps, Helmets, Uniform and Official Caps, &c., St. George's Works, 81, Great George Street, Leeds. Hours of Business: Summer, 7 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Winter, 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1850 by the late Sir Edwin Gaunt, joined by Joseph Goodworth Hudson (son-inlaw). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: E. Gaunt Hudson (Managing Director), Frank Craven, William Henry Clarke, John Gordon. Staff: 1000. Subsidiary Companies: Gaunt & Hudson (London), Ltd., 4, Fell Street, Wood Street, London, E.C.; Gaunt & Hudson (Luton), Ltd., 67-69, Bute Street, Luton. Specialities: Hats, Caps, Helmets, Uniform and Official Caps, Felt and Straw Hats, and every description of headwoar. Patents: Numerous. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 377 Central, Leeds; No. 12556 Central, London; No. 545 Luton. Telegraphic Addresses: " Gaunt, Leeds "; " Gauntuds, London "; " Gauntic, Luton." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

GAUNT (REUBEN) & SONS, Ltd., Serge Manufacturers and Worsted Spinners, Springfield Mills (Worsted Spinning); Broom Mills, Farsley, near Leeds (Serge Manufacturing). Town Office only, Charles Street, Bradford. Hours of Business: Usual. Bradford Office, Mondays and Thursdays, 10.30 to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1830 by Reuben Gaunt, now owned by the third generation. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1897. Directors: John William Gaunt (Chairman), Gerald R. Gaunt, Percy R. Gaunt and Edgar L. Gaunt. Premises: Works contain 20,000 Spindles and 180 Looms. Staff: 800. Business: Spinners of " Emperor " Yarns for Stoving and Gabardines, Manufacturers of Serges for Tropical Climates and Export; also Home Trade, Uniforms for the Army, Navy, Tramway and Railway Police. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, Post Office, India Office). Telephones: Nos. 41, 82, 114 and 281 Stanningley (four lines). Telegraphic Addresses: " Gaunts, Farsley "; " Reuben, Farsley." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

GAUNTLETT, C., & SONS, " Wessex Serges," Yerbury Mills, Trowbridge: 31, Golden Square, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1889 by S. C. R. Gauntlett, the present principal. Speciality: Serges. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 36 Trowbridge; No. 7736 Gerrard (London). Telegraphic Addresses: " Wessex, Trowbridge "; " Wexserge, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Wilts and Dorset Bank Ltd. (Trowbridge).

GAUNTLETT'S CARDING MACHINE CO., Trowbridge, Wilts. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1889 by S. C. R. Gauntlett, the present principal. Specialities: Carding Machines for Horsehair, Fibres, Kapok, Flocks, Wools and Textile Wastes. Award: Inventions Exhibition, London, 1885. Patents: Numerous. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial, Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office). Telephone: No. 36 Trowbridge. Telegraphic Address: " Wessex, Trowbridge." Code: ABC (5th Edition).

GAVIN BROTHERS & GALLOWAY, Importers of Canadian Hay, Manufacturers and Importers of Moss Litter and Granulated Peat, Dealers in Feeding Stuffs, 112, Wellington Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1870 by the late C. F. Gavin and the late J. C. Gavin. Present Principals: A. W. Galloway and R. D. Gavin, who joined the firm in 1895. Premises: Works at Bathgate, and Pilling (Lancs.). Office, Wellington Street, Glasgow. Stand, Edinburgh Corn Ex change. Staff: Sixty. Branches: 39, Constitution Street, Leith. Agencies at chief centres. Specialities: Molassine Meal for Cattle, Horses, Sheep, Pigs and Poultry, and Dog Cakes; Hay, Straw, Moss Litter, Feeding Stuffs, " Bon.ervus " Fertilizer. Wholesale Agents in Scotland for the Molassine Co., Ltd., Greenwich. Connection: United Kingdom, Europe, and Canada. Telephones: No. 1734 (National) Argyle, Glasgow; No. 111 Leith. Telegraphic Addresses: " Flourish, Glasgow "; " Sphagnum, Glasgow "; " Foreign, Leith." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: Bank of Scotland (Glasgow and Leith). Mr. Galloway is a Director of the Midland Moss Litter Coy., Ltd.

GAWITH, HOGGARTH & CO., Tobacco and Snuff Manufacturers, Lowther Street, and Helsington Mills, Kendal. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Present Principals: Henry Hoggarth and Samuel Henry Gawith. Speciality: " Kendal Brown Snuff." Connection: United Kingdom. Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 47 Kendal. Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd. Mr. Henry Hoggarth is a Town Councillor.

GAWTHORPS, Ltd., Sign, Wood Letter and Electric Sign Makers, St. Georges Sign Works, 32, Park Place, Leeds. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1889 by A. H. Gawthorp. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1910. Directors: Ernest Roscoe (Managing Director), F. W. Gawthorp, George R. Bulmer. Premises: Area 700 square yards. Staff: Forty. Specialities: Wood Letters, Electric Signs, Tramway Indicators, Railway Indicators. Patents: Railway and Tramway Indicators, Arrival, Destination and Departure. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 2343 Central, Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Gawthorps, Signmakers, Leeds." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

GAY (CHARLES) & CO., Hatters' Furriers and Skin Merchants, 5 and 7, Marshalsea Road, London, S.E. Hours of Business: Factory and Warehouse, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in London in 1865 by Charles Gay. Present Principals: Charles Gay and C. Millne Gay. Premises: Offices, warehouses, &c., at above address. Staff: 180. Branch: New York. Specialities: Buying and Selling of British, Australian, and Continental Rabbit and Hare Skins, and the preparation of Hatters' Fur. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones No. 175 Hop and No. 3466 Central. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Hopbloom, London."

GAYFORD & CO., Wine Merchants and Shippers, Scotch Whisky Merchants and Blenders, 20, Suffolk Street, Pall Mall, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1796 at 7, Old. Bond Street. Present Principals: George H. Heilbuth and Walter J. H. Heilbuth (see H. Stodart & Co.). Premises: Offices and. Duty-paid Cellars as above; also large Duty-paid Cellars at 2 and 3, Suffolk Street, Pall Mall. Specialities: Fine Old Ports, Clarets, Brandies, Champagnes, Liqueurs, &c., of which the firm are direct importers; also . choice Scotch Whiskies, of which they are • the actual blenders, bonders, and bottlers. Well known for high-class quality of Wines and Spirits. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial (chiefly India, Ceylon, South and West Australia, China, Japan, Tasmania, New Zealand, South Africa, British- East Africa, West Coast of Africa, Mediterranean, &c.). Telephone: Gerrard 3218. Telegraphic Address: " Reference, Charles, London." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. (Head Office).

GAYMER (WM.) & SON, Ltd., Cyder Manufacturers, Attleborough, Norfolk. London DepOt, 521-529, Hackney. Road, N.E. Hours of Business: (Office) 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established over 200 years ago by an antecedent of Wm. Gaymer, the present principal. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Specialities: Cyders in Casks and Bottle. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Addresses: " Gaymers, Attleboro "; " Lidless, Beth, London."

GEDYE & SONS, LIMITED, Importers and Exporters of British and Foreign Canned Goods and Produce, 28 and 29, Nelson Street, Bristol. Established in 1868. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Managing Director: George E. Gedye. One of the pioneer firms in the Canned Goods Trade. Business: Importers and Exporters of Canned Goods and Dried Fruits. Specialities: "Tiger" and " Stag " Brands of food products. Agents for W. R. Deakin, Ltd., Packers of English Fruits in Syrups, Taylor Brothers, Ltd., Australia, Fruit Growers and Packers. " Tiger " Brand Indian Chutney. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government. Telephone: No. 203 2 c (National) Bristol. Telegraphic Address: Gedye, Bristol." Bankers: Wilts and Dorset Bank, Ltd.

GELLATLY, HANKEY & CO., Ship Brokers, Ship Owners and General Agents, Dock House, Billiter Street, E.C. West End Office: 62, Pall Mall, London, S.W. Hours of Business: Usual. Partly Established early in the nineteenth century by Duncan Dunbar. Partnership Successions: (1) D. Dunbar & Sons; (2) Dunbar & Co., and Gellatly, Hankey & Sewell; (3) Gellatly, Hankey, Sewell & Co.; (4) Gellatly, Hankey & Co. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Branches: Liverpool, 22, Water Street; Manchester, 7, Brazennose Street; Glasgow, 82, Mitchell Street; Antwerp, 14, Rue de l'Empereur; Hamburg, 32 Neuerwal; Marseilles, 21, Rue do la Republique; Jeddah Arabia, Suakim Red' Sea, Port Sudan, P.O. Box 17; Khartoum, P.O. Box 215. Business Loading lines of Steamships to various ports. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4350 Avenue. London (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Gellatly," all offices. Code: Standard.

GELLYCEIDRIM COLLIERIES COMPANY, LIMITED (THE), 14, Cambrian Place, The Docks, Swansea. Hours of Business': 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1839 by Richard Morgan & Sons. Continued by Griffith & Pollard from 1876 to 1891. Partners: Thomas Griffith, John M. Pollard. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Directors: E. Montgomery Williams (Chairman), John M. Pollard (Managing Director), John Thomas, Owen Owen. Shareholders, past members of Army and Navy and Commercial Firms who have held important public and private offices. Staff: 1,000. Business: Producers of Anthracite Coal. Area of Minerals, about 5,000 acres. Proprietors of Richard Morgan & Son's Malting and Hop-drying Coals. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 802 ( Central) Swansea. Telegraphic Address: " Gellyceidrim, Swansea."

GEM SUPPLIES CO., Ltd., Manufacturers and General Merchants, 67, Southwark Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Managing Director: J. R. Greenhalgh. Secretary: H. Bentley. Premises: Cover 30,000 cubic feet. Staff: Twenty. Specialities: Gem Turkish Bath Cabinets, Shower Baths, Pure Water Stills, Steam Cookers, Capitol Inkstands, T. Pins, Gem Paper Clips, Pinch Fasteners, Ideal Clips and Clamps, Improved Gem Paper Clips, Banjo Gem Paper Clips, Ring Clips, Niagara Paper Clips, Hotchkiss Stapler and Staples, Perfect Sealer and Stapler, S. and P. Cheque Protector, Reliance Numbering Machine, Reliance Dating Machine, Peerless Inkstands, Mason's Inkstands, Cado Pencil, Perfect Pocket Oiler, Star Oiler, Duncan Moistener, Grabler Cheque Protector. Patents: Gem Home Turkish Bath Cabinets, Gem Pure Water Stills, for distilling pure water, Gem Steam Cookers. Awards: Numerous. Trade Marks: " Gem" and " Gemesco." Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1184 Hop, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Gemulum, London." Bankers: London and South-Western Bank, Ltd.

GENERAL ACCIDENT, FIRE, AND LIFE ASSURANCE CORPORATION, Ltd., General Buildings, Perth, Scotland. London Offices: General Buildings, Aldwych, Strand, W.C.; 74 and 75 Cheap side, E.C.; 13, Pall Mall, S.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1885. Present Directors: D. M. Mackay (Chairman), A. H. B. Constable, K.C. (Vice-Chairman), C. Lemesle Adams, Colonel Arthur W. H. Hay Drummond, William C. Hunter, W.S., Wm. Low, J.P., James Macnaughton, J.P., John Proffitt, J. Simpson, C. Locke Smiles, W. Banks Skinner, Surgeon-General Sir William Taylor, M.D., K.C.B., K.H.P., LL.D., D. J. Wilson, J.P. General Manager: F. Norie-Miller, J.P. Actuary and Secretary: J. Mayhew Allen, F.I.A. London Manager: R. Y. Sketch. Branches: Besides the London Offices (as above), the Corporation has branches in the principal centres of England, Scotland, and Ireland, and also at Melbourne, Bombay, New York (U.S.A.), Toronto, Paris, Antwerp, Amsterdam, Madrid, and at Cape Town and Johannesburg. Business: Fire, Life, Accident, Burglary, Workmen's Compensation, Public Liability, &c. Insurances. Telegraphic Address: " Gaflae, Perth." Telephone: (Perth) No. 176.

GENERAL ELECTRIC CO., Ltd. (THE). Head Office: 67, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: H. Hirst (Chair man), E. G. Byng (Vice-Chairman), M. Railing (Director and General Manager), L. G. Byng (Director), F. Sells (Director): Secretary: K. Alwood. Premises: Chief Offices, 67, Queen Victoria Street. Works at Witton, near Birmingham; Peel Works, Salford; Salford Instrument Works, North George Street, Manchester; Ileene Works, Wheeleys Lane, Edgbaston, Birmingham; Robertson Lamp Works, Hammersmith; Osram Lamp Works, Hitramersmith; Union Street, Southwark. Staff: Including all employees, numbers over 8,000. Branches: Manchester; Liverpool; Birmingham; Sheffield; Leeds; Nottingham; Newcastleon-Tyne; Hull; Glasgow; Dublin; Belfast; Southampton; Cardiff; Bristol; Swansea. Specialities: Are suppliers on the largest scale of Electrical Requisites of every description. Undertake the completion of Central Station Equipment. Is one of the most important undertakings in this branch of business in the country. Telephone: (Head Office) No. 3600 London Wall (twenty lines). Telegraphic Address: " Electricity, London." Cable Address " Polyphase, London." Codes: A B C, A l , Lieber's, Western Union, and Private Codes.

GENERAL ENGINE & BOILER CO., Ltd. (THE), General Engineers, Hatcham Iron Works, Pomeroy Street, New Cross, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1873 by W. H. Northcott and B. Northcott. Partnership Suc-cessions: (1) W. H. and E. Northcott and E. Frampton, 1877; (2) W. H. Northcott and E. Frampton, 1898. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Directors: E. Frampton, M.I.Mech.E., F. P. Du Sautoy, M.A. Cantab.; 1912, F. P. Du Sautoy; L. E. Townroe, M.A. Cantab. Specialities: Air Compressing Machinery, including specially high pressure plant for Torpedo Service; Refrigerating Machinery; Capstans; Small Machine Tools; High-speed and other Steam Engines; Motor Car Engines, Gears and parts. Also all kinds of General Mechanical Engineering Work. Have taken out several Patents for Air-Compressing Machinery. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office); also to the Crown Agents for the Colonies, and to the Japanese, Russian, Chinese, Spanish, and Turkish Navies. Telephone: No. 668 New Cross. Telegraphic Address: " Oxygen, Nucros, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

GENERAL HYDRAULIC POWER CO., Ltd., London Hydraulic Power Co., Liverpool Hydraulic Power Co., Hatfield Street, Southwark, London, S.E. Office Hours: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12 noon. Directors: William T. Western (Chairman), Alan G. Anderson, Stanley L. Beale, H. Tylston Hodgson, Major W. W. Warner. The General Hydraulic Power Company supplies Hydraulic Motive Power for all purposes from street mains on the High Pressure System, and owns the London Hydraulic Power Co. and the Liverpool Hydraulic Power Co., all three Companies having the same directorate. The London Hydraulic Power Co. owns hydraulic mains between Limehouse Basin and Kensington High Street, on the North side, and between Vauxhall Bridge and Surrey Commercial Docks on the South side of the river. Pumping Stations: Blackfriars, Westminster,Wapping, City Road, Rotherhithe. Engineer and General Manager: E. B. Ellington, M.Inst.C.E. Secretary: H. E. Benthall. Telephone: No. 4540 Hop (three lines). Telegraphic Address: " Hydristic, London." The Liverpool Hydraulic Power Co., having objects similar to the above, was incorporated in 1884. Owns mains in Liverpool. Pumping Stations: Athol Street and Grafton Street, Liverpool. Engineer and General Manager: E. B. Ellington, M.Inst.C.E. Resident Engineer and Manager: G. R. Bayley, M.Inst.Mech.E. Telephone: No. 1122 Liverpool.

GENERAL LIFE ASSURANCE CO., 103, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1837. Directors: Alfred James Shepheard (Chairman), Rt. Hon. Viscount Valentia, C.B. , M. V. O., M.P. (Deputy- Chair-man ), Hon. Richard Cecil Grosvenor, H. J. Bracey, C. E. Vernon Rutter, H. E. Duke, K.C., M.P., Sir J. Jardine, K.C.I.E., M.P., Robert Henry Scott. Manager and Secretary: John R. Freeman. Branches: 1, Waterloo Place, London, S.W., and at Manchester, Liverpool, Birmingham, Leeds, Newcastle, Bristol, Edinburgh, and Glasgow. Telephone: No. 201 Central. Telegraphic Address: " General, London."

GENERAL MOTORS (EUROPE), Ltd. (Late Bedford Motors, Ltd.), 135, 136, and 137, Long Acre, W.C. Works: Old Oak Lane, Willesden Junction, London, N .W . Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1.30 p.m. Established in 1909. Incorporated as a Limited Company as Bedford Motors, Ltd., Reregistered as above. Directors: F. S. Bennett, 0. G. Bennett, and H. S. Saunderson. Claim to have the largest 2 c 2 manufacturing capacity, &c., and organization in the world of Motor Cars and Parts. Staff: Large. Specialities: Buick and Bedford Cars and Buick Trucks. Awards: Numerous Cups and Medals, including " The Gold Pokal " given by the Grand Duke Michael Alexandravitch, of Russia, Imperial Trials, 1912. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 9626 Gerrard, London (3 Lines). Telegraphic Address " Buickgen, London."

GENERAL STEAM NAVIGATION CO., Ltd. (THE), Shipowners and Wharfingers, 15, Trinity Square, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 11.M. to 2 p.m. Established prior to 1820. Is the oldest steamship company in the world, and the pioneer of steam shipping on the River Thames. Incorporated by. Act of Parliament, 1824, and since converted into a Joint Stock Company. Directors: Richard White (Chairman and Managing Director); Captain H. B. Hooper, R.I.M. (Vice - Chairman and Managing Director); D'Arcy M. Dawes, Lewis Levy, and C. H. Glyn, Premises: Chief Office at corner of Trinity Square and Great Tower Street, London. Wharf: Irongate and St. Katharine's, Tower Bridge, the point of departure and arrival of the Company's steamers. Engineering works at Deptford, S.E. Business: The carrying of His Majesty's Parc3ls Mails, and of Goods and Passengers between London and principal Continental and Mediterranean ports. Branch Offices and Agencies at most Continental Ports; also at Bradford, Woolwich, Greenwich, Southend, Margate, Ramsgate, Leeds, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Grimsby, Yarmouth, Lowestoft, Norwich, and Southampton. Telephones: No. 2270 City (for Chief Office); No. 2270 City (for Wharf). Telegraphic Address: " Glyconic, Fen, London."

GEORGE (RICHARD) & CO., Woollen Manufacturers, Glandywedog Mills, Llanidloes, North Wales. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established in 1880 by Richard George (sen.). Present Principal: Richard George (jun.). The mills are some of the oldest in the country. In the early part of last century had its own coinage. Had the honour of having shawls purchased by H.M. The Queen. Premises and outbuildings cover about a quarter of an acre. Staff: About sixty. Specialities: Coloured Welsh Goods, Shawls, Shirtings, Blouse Flannels, Yarns, &c., also Shirts, Blouses, &c., well known as the " Cymru Fydd." Connection: United Kingdom (chiefly) and Colonial. Telephone: No. 5, Llanidloes. Telegraphic Address: " Glanclywedog Mills, Llanidloes." Bankers: London and Provincial Bank, Ltd. (Llanidloes). Mr. George is an Alderman of the Llanidloes Corporation. Three times Mayor.

GEORGE'S (WILLIAM) SONS, Booksellers, 89, Park Street (" Cabot's Head "), Bristol. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p. m. Established in 1847 by William George, following William Strong (uncle), 18181846. Succeeded by Charles William George and Frank George. Present Principal: Charles William George. Premises: Situated on site of " Washington's Breach," where Colonel Washington broke through the defences during the Civil War. Occupy corner block, 80 ft. deep. Export Warehouse. SpecialitieR Antiquarian Books. Foreign Travel, Military History, Americana. Connection: Foreign and Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " George, Bristol." Bankers: Parr & Co. (Clifton).

GERHARD & HEY, AND GERHARD & HEY CO., Ltd., Shipping Merchants and Steamship Owners, Leipzig (Gerhard & Hey), St. Petersburg (Gerhard & Hey Co., Ltd.). London Office: 1, 2, and 3, Great St. Thomas Apostle, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1856 by Gerhard & Hey. Managing Director for London: Fr. Draeger. Branches: Hamburg, Berlin, Liibeck, London, New York, and Chicago, trading as Gerhard & Hey. St. Petersburg, Moscow, Riga, Odessa, Libau, Reval, and fourteen offices in Russia and Siberia, as Gerhard & Hey Co., Ltd. Business: Russian Shipping Merchants and Steamship Owners. Claim to be the oldest and largest firm in this line. Connection: England, Russia, and the United States. Telephone: No. 8840 City. Cable Address: " Gerhardey, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.; London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

GERHARTZ, Ltd., Stuff Merchants, 38, Chapel Street, Bradford. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1879. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1914. Directors: F. Gerhartz, H. E. Gerhartz, H. F. Gerhartz. Branch: 2, Mosley Street, Manchester. Specialities are Umbrella and Parasol Cloths; Stuffs; all Bradford goods, Worsted and Woollen Piece goods for the Continent, South America and Far East. Owners of well-known Trade Marks. Telephones: Nos. 4721, 4722, 4723, 4724, (Branch Exchange connecting up all departments); also 2313 (Private) Brad ford. Cable and Telegraphic Address: " Gerhartz, Bradford." Bankers: Brad ford District Bank (Commercial Bank Branch), Bradford. Mr. Frederick Gerhartz represents Belgium as Belgian Consul in Bradford, is Chairman of the Governors of St. Bede's Grammar School, Bradford, President of the United Foreign Circles, and President and Hon. Treasurer of " The Society for the Relief of Foreigners in Distress."

GERSON, M., Emigration, Passenger, Shipping and Tourist Agent, Passage Broker Authorised by the Board of Trade, 14 and 16, Queen Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. Established in 1903 by Morris Gerson, the present principal. Premises: Four well equipped offices. Branches: Glasgow, 4, Bridge Street, S.S.; Falkirk, 205, High Street; Carlisle, 23, Scotch Street. Agencies: Correspondents everywhere. Specialities: Assisted and Advanced Passages to the Colonies; Booking to all parts of the World; Emigrant and Tourist Conducted Parties; Foreign Money Exchange; Insurance of Passenger and Baggage; Collection and Shipment of Goods and Effects. Make a special feature of Continental Tours, &c. Telephones: No. 8472 City, No. 452 Central, and No. 488 Gorbals, Glasgow. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Gerson, Glasgow." Bankers: The Bank of Scotland; the Royal Bank of Scotland; and Credit Lyonnais. Mr. Gerson is a member of the British Passenger Agents Association and of the Royal Philosophical Society of Glasgow. Club: Touring Club de France.

GIANACLIS (NESTOR), Ltd., Cigarette Manufacturers. Registered Offices: 22, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1909. Directors: Nestor Gianaclis, D. Bouboulis, A. Rostovitz, Bey, M. J. Cosmetto, G. M. Chrussachi, P. Comninos. Secretary: W. H. Ryde Weller. Premises and Offices: 22, Fenchurch Street, London, E.C. Factory: Ciccolani Palace, Cairo, Egypt. Speciality: Egyptian Cigarettes, which they claim are the finest made. Awards: Highest for Cigarettes. Connection: World - wide. Telephone: No. 2455 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Address: " Gianaclis, Cairo." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Bank of Athens; Anglo-Egyptian Bank.

GIBB (EASTON) & SON, Ltd., Contractors for Public Works, 9, Victoria Street, Westminster, London, S.W. Entry-ted with the important Government Contract for Construction of new Naval Base at Rosyth. Telephone: No. 1677 Victoria. Telegraphic Address " Gibbosorum, London."

GIBBON, ROBERT W., Insurance Agent and Broker, Leadenhall Buildings, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1868 as Agent for the United Swiss Marine Insurance Co., including the Helvetia General Insurance Co., Baloise Marine Insurance Co., Switzerland General Insurance Co., Swiss National Insurance Co., Neuchateloise Swiss Marine Co. Thirty-two years with the above companies in London. Speciality: Marine Insurance. Underwriting done for each company separately; also Fire, Life and other Insurance on the Continent only. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 11233 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Helvetia, Grace, London." Codes: Swiss and Premier, 1897. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd., National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd., Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd., and Frederick Huth & Co.

GIBBONS, H., & SON, Ltd., Engineers, Kennet Works, Hungerford. Hours of Business: 7.30 a.m. to 8 p.m. Established in 1814 by Richard Gibbon (grandfather of the present Managing Director). Incorporated as a private Limited Company. Directors: Captain F. S. Brereton (Chairman), G. C. Goodhart, H. W. Gibbons (Managing Director), Mr;. Goodhart. Premises: Works cover about one acre. Large up-to-date Garage built with all conveniences situated on the Bath Road. Staff: Forty-three. Business: Agricultural and Hot and Cold Water Engineers, &c., General Engineers, Electrical and Motor Engineers. Patent: Labour Saving Machinery for Field Engineering, Shop and Foundry. Awards: London, Melbourne, Adelaide, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 11 Hungerford. Telegraphic Address: " Gibboris, Hungerford."

GIBBONS (STANLEY), Ltd., Foreign Stamp Dealers and Publishers. Head Office: 390 and 391, Strand, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1856 at Plymouth by Edward Stanley Gibbons, who sold his interest in 1890 to the present Private Company. Incorporated: June, 1890. Chairman: Charles J. Phillips. Directors: G. Hamilton Smith, S. E. Gwyer, D. W. Glendining, Frank Phillips, E. 0. Phillips. Premises: At head office (Strand) shop and twenty rooms. Branch: 571 Rivadavia, Buenos Aires, Argentine Republic. American Correspondents, 198, Broadway, New York City, U.S.A. Also agencies at Sydney, Wellington (N.Z.), Bombay. Specialities: The Purchase and Sale of large Stamp Collections, Dealing in Rare Stamps, Importing all New Issues, Philatelic Publishing. Stall: About eightyfive persons. Connection: Widespread. Telephone: No. 9031 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Philatelic, Rand, London," Cable Address: "Stangib," London or Buenos Aires. Code: Lieber's; A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

GIBBS (ANTONY) & SONS, Merchants 22, Bishopsgate, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1808 by Antony Gibbs, in partnership with son George Henry Gibbs until 1815. Partnership Successions: (1) George Henry Gibbs & William Gibbs (sons of the founder), 1816 to 1842; (2) William Gibbs and others, 1843 to 1875; (3) Henry Hucks Gibbs (Lord Aldenham) (grandson of the founder), and other,4, 1875 to 1907. Present Principals: Alban George Henry Gibbs (Lord Aldenham), Hon. Vicary Gibbs, Hon. Herbert Gibbs, John Arthur Gibbs, Brien Cokayne (greatgrandsons of the founder), Hon. Gerald Gibbs (great-great-grandson of the founder). The houses established by Antony Gibbs or his sons from 1789 to 1818 in Spain, and the branch house in Lima established in 1821, and those founded in other parts of Peru and in Ecuador, are now closed. The Liverpool house of the separate concern of Gibbs, Bright & Co. (established there in 1805), and the Bristol house of the same firm (founded about 1750) were taken over in 1881, under the style of Antony Gibbs, Sons & Co., and the Australian and New Zealand houses of the same firm as Gibbs, Bright & Co. The Bristol house was closed in 1887, the Liverpool house in 1909, and the New Zealand house in 1888. Branches: The Valparaiso house of Gibbs & Co. was established in 1826, and that of Iquique in 1880; other houses have since been founded in Chile. There is a house in each of the States of Australia. Premises: The Offices were removed in 1850 from Lime Street to 15, Bishopsgate Street Within (now known as 22, Bishopsgate), when the freehold of the latter was purchased. Telephone: No. 6144 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Antipodes, London." Bankers: Bank of England. Lord Aldenham was Member of Parliament for the City of London from 1892 to 1906, when he retired in favour of the Right Hon. A. J. Balfour. The Hon. Vicary Gibbs was Member of Parliament for Mid-Herts from 1892 to 1904. Mr. Brien Cokayne is a Director of the Bank of England. •

GIBBS, D. & W., Ltd., Soap Makers, The City Soap Works, Wapping, London, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1712. The business, which is one of the oldest of its kind, was bought by David Gibbs, great-grandfather of present principals. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: Leonard Angus Gibbs, Kenneth Gibbs, W. R. Collins, J. Y. Gibbs (Secretary). Firm purchased the business and premises of Paton and Charles at Wapping, whore they carry on the two concerns, together with that of Sharp Bros., which was also acquired. The works cover two and a half acres of ground, and employ 250 hands, exclusive of the clerical and travelling staff, numbering about fifty. Specialities: Every kind of Hard, Toilet, and Soft Soaps. Are also Distillers of Glycerine. Patents and Inventions: B.S.M. Soft Soap, Composite Household Soap, and Cold Cream Toilet and Shaving Soap. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government; Royal Warrant Holders. Telephone: No. 2518 Avenue (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Paos, London."

GIBBS (JAMES) & FINCH, Ltd., Vitriol and Chemical Works. Chief Office: Cattedown, Plymouth. Depot: St. Philip Marsh, Bristol. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1810 by James Gibbs. Partnership Successions: (1) 1853, James Gibbs (son); (2) 1887, Lieut.-Col. James Ruddle Gibbs (son). Incorporated as a Private Limited Company, 1901. Directors: Martin L. Finch (Chairman and Managing Director), Frederick M. James Gibbs, Archibald M. Finch. Premises: First established in Bristol, extended to Plymouth in 1858. Head Office transferred to Plymouth in 1901. Staff: 70 to 100. Specialities: Sulphuric, Nitric, and Hydrochloric Acids, Tar and Ammonia Distilling, dealing in Chemicals, Chemical Engineering. Connection: For Acids, South-West of England; Tar Products, London, South Wales, France. Telephone: No. 136 (National) Plymouth. Telegraphic Addresses: " Vitriol, Plymouth." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. (Plymouth).

GIBBS (RENTON) & CO., Ltd., Heating Engineers, Saint James' Works, Mill Street, Liverpool, and Branches at Birmingham and Reading. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1868 by Renton Gibbs. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Directors: Renton Gibbs (Managing Director), Alice Gibbs, W. S. Rance, and E. A. Miles. Premises: Extensive Works at Liverpool; Works and Office at Birmingham; Office and Stores, Reading. Specialities: High Pressure Heating for Steam Ovens, Drying Stoves and " Medium Pressure " for Houses, &c. Patents: Boilers and Furnaces, &c. Connection: United King dom, Foreign, Colonial. Have executed work in Adelaide, Russia, Hungary, Belgium, Holland, Canada, United States, and Spain. Telephones: No. 412 (Royal) Liverpool; No. 16] 2 (Midland) Birming ham. Telegraphic Address: " Heating," Liverpool, Birmingham, and Reading.

GIBRALTAR MILL CO., Ltd. (THE), Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers, Haughton Green, Denton, near Manchester; and 13, South Corridor, Royal Exchange, Manchester. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1872. Directors: W. S. Finch, L. Broderick, E. H. Scott and James Ashton. Specialities: Medium Counts, Cheshire Printers and Shirtings. Connection: Manchester Trade. Telephones t No. 69 Hyde; No. 2159 City, Manchester.

GIBSON (GEORGE) & CO., Ship Owners and Ship Agents, 64, Commercial Street, Leith. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about 1797 by George Gibson. Present Principal 8: Robert Somerville, J.P., Campbell Gibson (great grandson of the founder), Robert A. Somerville, Hugh C. Somerville. Over 100 years since the firm first ran ships between Leith and Rotterdam. Branches: Offices, 17, Dock Street, Dundee; 14, St. Vincent Place, Glasgow. Agencies: Rotterdam, Amsterdam, Harlingen, Antwerp, Ghent, Terneuzen, Dunkirk, Calais, Middles brough, Newcastle, London, Dundee, Glasgow. Business: Originally general merchants, with a few trading schooners. Telephones: Nos. 1000 to 1004 Leith; No. 264 Dock Office; No. 1073 Dundee; National No. 9002 City (five lines), Glasgow. Telegraphic Addresses: " Gibson, Leith "; " Gangway, Dundee "; " Gardiner, Glasgow." Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

GIDDY & GIDDY, Auctioneers, Surveyors and Estate Agents, 4, Waterloo Place, Pall Mall, London, S.W.; and at Windsor, Maidenhead, and Sunningdale. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1880, at 121, Pall Mall, by O. F. Giddy, and now carried on by his two sons. Staff: About fifty clerks. The business is one of the most extensive of its kind in London, and is mainly in the best class of Country and West End houses. Speciality: The Sale and Letting of the Principal Residences in the Home Counties, and in the Thameside, Ascot and Windsor Districts. Telephones: Nos. 1722 and 4143 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Giddys, London."

GILBERTSON (JAMES) & CO., Brokers and Agents, 15, Victoria Street, Liverpool. London Office: 16, Philpot Lane, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1893 by James Gilbertson, the present principal. Specialities: California Canned and Dried Fruits; Pulp; Asparagus; Oregon Dried Plums; Canned Salmon; Lobsters; Sardines; Singapore and Hawaiian Pineapple; Gallon Apples; Canned Meats and Extract of Meat. Connections: California; Oregon; British Columbia; Canada; Singapore; Yokohama; and the Continent of Europe. Telephone: No. 5995 Central, Liverpool (Private Exchange); No. 1758 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Gilbertine, Liverpool "; " Eateth, Grace, London." Codes: A 1; A B 0 (4th and 5th Editions); Armsby's (1901 and 1907); California Fruit Canners Association; Porter's, etc. Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd., and Parr's Bank, Ltd. (Liverpool); London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Lothbury, London).

GILBERTSON, W., & CO., Ltd., Makers of Siemen's Steel, Pontardawe, Glasgow, and 122, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1860 by William Gilbertson. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: F. W. Gilbertson (chairman), Cecil F. Gilbertson and Charles G. Gilbertson: Premises: Very extensive. Have capacity for an output of 2000 tons weekly of - Steel Tinplates and 1000 tons Galvanized and other sheets. Staff: 1600. Specialities: Tinplates, Terne Plates, Aluminium coated Plates, Galvanized sheets, High Carbon and Soft Steel Billets and Bars. Basic Slag Meal. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 607 Pontardawe. Telegraphic Address: " Gilson, Pontardawe." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. (Lombard Street, London), Capital and Counties Bank, Limited (Neath).

GILBEY, W. & A., Ltd., Wine and Spirit Merchants and Distillers, Pantheon, Oxford Street, London, W. Established in 1857. Incorporated as a Limited Company in June, 1893. Directors: Lord Blyth, Sir Charles Gold, A. Gilbey, W. Crosbie Gilbey, N. Gilbey, H. W. Gilbey, A. G. Gold, A. N. Gilbey, G. Grinling, H. W. Blyth, and A. W. Blyth. Secretary: A. J. Burke. Capital: £1,440,000 in 72,000 ordinary and 72,000 preference shares, all of £10 each. The whole of the capital was allotted to the Directors, then partners. Specialities: Wines and Spirits (wholesale). The firm ranks as the largest of its kind in the kingdom. There are over 4000 agents throughout the country. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Royal Warrant Holders to His late Majesty King Edward VII., H.M. King George V., the late King of the Belgians. Telephones: No. 8816 Gerrard; No. 3791 Central. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Gilbey, London."

GILCHRIST & CAMERON, Ostrich Feather and Fur Merchants and Manufacturers, 52, Argyle Arcade, and 344, Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow; and 4, Princes Street Arcade, Edinburgh. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in ,1866 by Miss Cameron. Joined in 1873 by Mr. Gilchrist (d. 1897), and title altered to Gilchrist and Cameron. Present Principal: Mrs. Gilchrist. Premises': In 1876 new works were built at Rutherglen, a suburb of Glasgow. Staff: Thirty-five to forty. Specialities: New Goods Department. Making up plain and Lancer Feathers from raw feathers as they come from the Ostrich. Renovating Department. Dyeing, cleaning and remodelling faded or worn Furs and Feathers. Connection: Scotland.

GILES (GODFREY) & CO., Decorators and Furnishers, 18, Old Cavendish Street, Oxford Street; Works, Dering Works, Dering Street, Bond Street, London W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1885 by Godfrey Giles, the sole proprietor; joined by his son, Godfrey Giles, junr. in 1914 Staff: About 250. Specialities: High-class Interior Decorating and Furnishing in original designs; " Originality and Versatility." Electric Lighting is also carried out, as well as Sanitary Work and Structural Alterations. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Patents: Original inventors and patentees of the " Cosy Corners " and " Mantel Casings," for covering or hiding unsightly mantelpieces, and of a method of making Decorative Materials and Woodwork to represent any kind of hardwood. Awards: International Inventions Exhibition, London, 1885; Franco-British Exhibition, London, 1908. Telephones: Nos. 4578 and 4579 Mayfair. Telegraphic Address: " Gillonem, Wesdo, London."

GILL (ALFRED) & CO., Top Makers and Wool Merchants, Colonial Buildings, Sun bridge Road, Bradford. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1887 by Alfred Gill, the present principal. Speciality: Tops from Colonial Wools. Telephone: No. 474 Bradford. Telegraphic Address: " Agile, Bradford." Code: Private. Bankers: Bradford District Bank, Ltd.

GILL (GEORGE) & SONS, Ltd., Publishers, Minerva House, Warwick Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1864 in Liverpool by George Gill. Business was transferred to London. in 1879. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: George Reginald Gill (Chairman), Claude Gill. Secretary: J. H. Adamson. Staff: Twenty to twentyfive. Speciality: Educational Books, Examination Preparation Manuals, &c. Have patented the " Normal System of Writing," and Drawing Models. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign,. Colonial. Telephone: No. 1711 Central.

GILL, H. A., & CO., Patent Agents, 55 and 56, Chancery Lane, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1.30 p.m. Established in 1912 by Hubert A. Gill and Ridsdale Ellis (dissolved 1913), Ridsdale Ellis released to go to America and Hubert A. Gill, taking over all assets and liabilities. Present Principal: Hubert Alexander Gill, M.A., Cantab. Previously with firms of Patent Agents in Liverpool and London, from 1898 to 1912. Premises: Occupy three rooms. Business: Patent Work upon inventions relating to Engineering and Chemical Industry. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign And Colonial. Telephone: No. 5226 Holborn, London. Telegraphic Address: " Gillpateco, Holb, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

GILL, L. UPCOTT, Newspaper Proprietor, Book Publisher and General Printer, Bazaar Buildings, Drury Lane, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1868. Premises: Occupied 32, Wellington Street, Strand, for the first ten years; removed to and remained at 170, Strand, for twenty-five years. Since then located at above address; four frontages with 54,270 square feet of floor space. The Printing business is equipped with over 300 machines of various kinds. Staff: About 600. Business: Proprietor and Publisher of " The Bazaar, Exchange, and Mart " Newspaper; also of Practical Handbooks for Amateurs; Chairman and Governing Director of L. Upcott Gill & Son, Ltd., General Printers of Newspapers, Magazines, and Commercial Work generally. Patentee of a Rapid Magazine and Newspaper Trimmer and a Rapid Book Sheet Folder. Connection: United Kingdom chiefly, and Export, in Books, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1060 Gerrard; No. 9928 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Bazaar, London," and " Upcottic, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (Temple Bar).

GILL, M. H., & SON, Ltd., Publishers, Booksellers, Stationers and Church Furnishers, 50, Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin, and The Quay, Waterford, Ireland. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1856 by M. H. Gill (Owner of the Dublin University Press from about 1842 to 1875), under the title of McGlashan & Gill, McGlashan's Publishing and Wholesale Bookselling business being purchased by M. H. Gill. His son, H. J. Gill, M.A., J.P., admitted into partnership, and name changed to M. H. Gill & Son. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1903. Directors: Michael J. Gill (Chairman and Managing Director) and Richard A. Gill. Specialities: The Publication of Irish Literature, Irish History, Educational Works, Language, Works on Irish Public Affairs, Economics, &c., Local and Diocesan Histories, Fiction, Roman Catholic Books and Prayer Books, new and old (special feature). Publishers of numerous general books, and of the well-known Scholastic Quarterly Review, " The Irish Theological Quarterly," the " Irish Monthly Magazine," the " Catholic Bulletin and Book Review." Connection: United Kingdom. Large export trade in Books, School Stationery and Church goods to all parts of the Colonies, India, United States. Telephone: No. 365 Dublin. Telegraphic Address " Gill, Dublin."

GILL, ROBERT, Currier and Leather Manufacturers, The Tannery, Guiseley, near Leeds. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1884 by Robert Gill. Succeeded by Carr & Gill, from 1886 to 1897. Present Principal: Robert Gill. Premises: Large and well-equipped Factory, 50 yards by 18 yards, three stories high. Staff: About sixty. Specialities: Enamelled and Japanned Leathers, Waxed Splits and Rolled Splits. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 25 Guiseley. Telegraphic Address: " Satin, Guiseley." Code: Widebrook. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

GILL (THOMAS) & SONS, Hemp and Tow Spinners and Twine Manufacturers, New York Mills, Summerbridge, near Leeds. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1868 by Thomas Gill. Continued by his sons. Present Principals: Charles Gill, John William Gill, Joseph Gill, Harry Gill. The grandfather of the present partners commenced spinning in the beginning of the eighteenth century. Premises extend over six acres. Staff: 110. Specialities: Hemp Yarns, High-class Shop Packing Twines. Cords, &c. Patent: Improvements in finishing of Twine. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Gills, Summerbridge." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

GILLANDERS, JAMES, Produce Broker and Provision Agent, 29, Tooley Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1902 by James Gillanders, the present principal. Pre mises: Consisting of Offices and Sample Room. Specialities: Australian, New Zea land and Canadian Cheese and Butter. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4450, Hop, London (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Edax, London." Codes: A B C, Western Union, Bentley's, Alexander, Fiveletter. Bankers: Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (62, Lombard Street, E. C. ).

GILLESPIE (GEORGE) & CO., Ltd., East India Merchants, Billiter Square Buildings, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1885 by George Gillespie and William Halliday; T. R. Nicholson and William Archibald subsequently admitted partners. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Branch: Rangoon, Burma. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 9723 (National) London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Gillhall, London." " Gillespie, Rangoon." Bankers: Chartered Bank of India, Australia, and China; the Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd.

GILLESPIE & NICOL, Managing Owners of Steamship Companies, &c., 68, Gordon Street, Glasgow; Royal Bank Chambers, Charing Cross, Grangemouth, and South Alloa. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Telephone open at night. Established in 1882 in South Alloa, extended to Grangemouth in 1893, and to Glasgow in 1900 by William W. Gillespie. Joined in 1893 by Douglas Nicol. Present Principals: William Wyse Gillespie and Douglas Nicol (Glasgow Manager). Staff: Twenty-one. Business: Managing Owners of Three Steamship Limited Companies, Steamship Brokers, Shipping and Forwarding Agents. Telephones: No. 623 Argyle, Glasgow; No. 35 (National) Grangemouth. Telegraphic Addresses: " Discretion, Glasgow "; " Nicol, 'Grangemouth "; " Gillespie, South Alloa."

GILLIAT (ROBERT) & SONS, Ltd., Cotton Waste Merchants, 15, Medlock Street, Oldham. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1863 by Robert Gilliat (d.). Joseph William Gilliat and Robert B. Gilliat (sons), Managing Directors. Business: Cotton and Cotton Waste Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 233 Oldham. Telegraphic Address: " Gilliat, Oldham." Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Banking Co., Ltd. Mr. J. W. Gilliat is a Town Councillor and Overseer.

GILLIBRAND (THOMAS) & SONS, Fancy Cotton Manufacturers, Hollin Grove Mill, Darwen, Lancs. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1836 by Thomas Gillibrand. Premises: Very, extensive, equipped with up-to-date appli ances; 1500 looms. Staff: 596. Branch: 14, Marble Street, Manchester. Speciali ties: Brocades and Fancy Cloths. Connec tion: In all markets. Telephones: No. 20, Darwen; No. 4330 City, Manches ter. Telegraphic Address: " Gillibrand, Darwen.' Bankers: Manchester and Liverpool District Bank, Ltd. (Darwen).

GILLOTT (JOSEPH) & SONS, Steel Pen and Penholder Makers, 37, Gracechurch Street, London, E.C., and Victoria Works, Graham Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 2 p.m. One of the representative British firms of Steel Pen Manufacturers, and one of the oldest in this trade. Established in 1827 by Joseph Gillott. Specialities: Steel Pens of every description. Awards: At all the Great Exhibitions from 1851. Connection: World - wide; especially United States and Colonies. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to His late Majesty King Edward and to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria (dated 1840). Telegraphic Address: Gillott, Birmingham."

GILMOUR, W. & M., Produce Importers and Wholesale Provision Merchants, 70, Ingram Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1886 by James Kerr and Walter Gilmour, as Kerr & Gilmour. Present Principal: Walter Gilmour. Have made steady progress, from being one of the smallest firms, it is now one of the largest if not the largest in the trade. 'Premises: Large building. Staff: Forty-four. Branch: 10 and 17, North Albion Street, Glasgow. Specialities: Butter and Cheese stocked from all the best Dairies and Creameries, and sold on keen lines. Special Registered Brands of Butter and Margarine. Connection: England, Scotland, and Ireland; also Export. Telephone: Nos. 482 and 483 Bell, Glasgow. Telegraphic Address: " Forward, Glasgow." Code: Private. Bankers: British Linen Bank (Trongate).

GILROY, SONS & CO., Ltd., Merchants, Spinners, and Manufacturers of Jute Goods, Tay Works, Dundee. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1848 by Robert, George, and Alexander Gilroy, under the style of Gilroy Brothers & Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1890. Directors: George Alexander Gilroy (Chairman and Managing Director), Alexander Bruce Gilroy (Managing Director), David Ferguson, and Harry Chalmers. Premises: The Tay Works cover a large area of ground, fully five and a half acres being occupied by tho various departments, all equipped with the best modern machinery and appliances. Staff: About 2,200. Specialities Fine Hessians and Burlaps. Also Floorcloth and Linoleum Foundations. Connection: United. Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 357 Dundee. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Castleroy, Dundee." Bankers: Bank of Scotland (Dundee and London).

GILSTRAP, EARP & CO., Maltsters, Newark-on-Trent. Hours of Business: Usual. Present Principal: Major John MacRae-Gilstrap. General Manager: H. D. Cherry-Downes. Head Salesman: H. F. Collura. Business: Maltsters. Telephone: No. 79 Newark. Telegraphic Address: " Gilstraps, Newark." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd., and Lloyds Bank Limited.

GIMSON & CO. (LEICESTER), Ltd., Engineers, Vulcan Street, Leicester. Depots: Leeds, Norwich, Northampton and Bristol. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1843 by Benjamin Gimson (d.) and Josiah Gimson (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: J. M. Gimson (Chairman), J. R. Gimson, H. Gimson and K. S. Gimson. Secretary: Josiah Gimson. Premises: Cover three and a half acres, equipped with up-to-date appliances. Staff: 700. Specialities: Passenger and Goods Lifts, Boot and Shoe Machinery, and all classes of General Engineering Work. Telephone: Nos. 6 and 734 Leicester. Telegraphic Address: " Gimson, Leicester." Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and Western Union. Bankers: Parr's Banking Co., Leicester.

GIMSON (WILLIAM) & SONS, Timber Merchants and Saw Mills Proprietors, Builders and Contractors, 47, Welford Road, Leicester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1836 by William Gimson (retired 1890), leaving the business solely to be carried on by Gimson Brothers (sons). Present Principals: William Gimson and Thomas Yeomans Gimson. Have erected several hundred houses; also a large number of Factories and Warehouses, the Children's Hospital, Constitutional Club, Corporation Gas Offices, a very fine edifice, and several other public buildings and institutions. Premises: Extensive, comprise 284,368 cubic feet of working space. Staff: 150. Branches: Humberstone Road, and 3 to 15, Sanvey Gate, Leicester. Specialities: Makers of Cigar Boxes, Cabinets, Goods Shipping Cases, &c. Patents and Inventions: S.S.S. Money Boxes. Proprietors of numerous Copyright Cigar Labels and Brands. Contractors to H.M. Government (Office of Works). Telephones: Nos. 1763 and 1764 Leicester. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

GINESI, S., & CO., Ltd., Stone, Granite, Marble and Slate Merchants, Clarence Wharf, Tunnel Road, Rotherhithe, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Managing Director: Henry Taylor. Secretary: Charles R. Talbot. Premises: Depot and Saw Mills and Monumental Showroom, Tunnel Road; Depot, Tunnel Wharf, 125, Rotherhithe Street, S.E.; Depot, Midland Railway, Kings Road, St. Pancras, N.W.; Quarries and Studio, Carrara, Italy. Specialities: Stone for building and Monumental Work, Marble in Blocks, Sawn Slabs, Kerbs and Ready Worked Monuments, also Granite and Slate. Sicilian Marble Kerbstones, Plain Carved and Rustic Crosses, Pedestals, Urns, Figures, &c., also Sicilian Marble Blocks, Scantlings and Sawn Kerbs of all sizes. Slate Slabs Planed and Sawn to size. The trade only supplied. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 30 London. Telegraphic Address: " Apagoge, Rothun, London." Code: A B C (5th edition). Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

GINNER, MORTON & GODDARD, Merchants, Importers and Exporters, Dealers in Sugar, Dried and Green Fruits, Canned Goods, Coffee, Rice, Tea, Cereals Spices, &c., Botolph House, Eastcheap, London, E.C.; and 46, Stanley Street, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. Established in 1880. Present Proprietors: William Peter Ginner and Walter Edward Thorp. The firm has since its inception attained a prominent position in commerce. Specialities Sugar, Dried and Green Fruits, Canned Goods, Coffee, Rice, Cereals, and Spices. Have registered several well-known brands. Staff: Over one hundred employees. Connection: Throughout the United Kingdom and in the Colonies. Telephones: No. 1330 Avenue (two lines); No. 10937 Central; No. 4028 Bank, Liverpool; W. P. Ginner, No. 516 Sydenham; W. E. Thorp, No. 568 Sydenham. Telegraphic Addresses: "Ginner, London"; " Goddard, Liverpool."

GIRVIN (ROBERT) & CO., Merchants, Exchange Chambers, St. Mary Axe, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in Liverpool in 1845 by the late Robert Girvin, and in London in 1878 under the title of Robt. Girvin (jun.). Specialities: Charterers, Exporters of General Merchandise, Tinplates and Metals, &c.; Importers of Grain, Canned Goods, and Pacific Coast Produce, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Colonial. Telephone: No. 6177 (2 lines), London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Girvin, London." Bankers: Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co.

GJERS, MILLS & CO., Ltd., Ironmasters, Ayresome Iron Works, Middlesbrough. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1870 by Jno. Gjers and Jno. Mills. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1902. Directors: L. F. Gjers (Managing Director), Jno. Mills (Chairman), Chas. E. Mills. Premises: Cover thirty-two acres. Shipping Wharf on the River Tees. Staff: Large. Staff Clubs: Athletic; Social. Specialities: Special Foundry Pig-iron, Ordinary Hematite, Low Phosphorous Hematite, Ferro-Silicon, and Silico-Spiegal. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: Nos. 22 and 1026 Middlesbrough. Telegraphic Address: " Ayresome, Middlesbrough." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

GLAMORGAN COAL CO., Ltd. (THE), Colliery Proprietors, Cambrian Buildings, Cardiff. London Office: 31, Great St. Helens, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: D. A. Thomas (Chairman), J. H. Thomas, P. H. Thomas, Edward A. Mitchell Innes, K.C., and Leonard W. Llewelyn. Staff: 4200 men employed at the collieries. Specialities: Hoods Merthyr Smokeless Steam Coals and Foundry and Furnace Cokes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3280, Cardiff. Telegraphic Address: " Glamorgan," Cardiff and London. Codes: A B C and Scotts and Watkins. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

GLASGOW IRON & STEEL CO., Ltd. (THE), Steel Manufacturers, Coalmasters, &c., Wishaw Iron and Steel Works, Wishaw, N.B. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1844 by James Reid, James Reid Stewart, and Robert Cassels. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1888. Directors: A. Hornby Lewis (Chairman), Gnome A. L. Whitelaw, and J. J. W. Miller. General Manager: Capt. G. G. Traherne, late Royal Artillery. Originated at Glasgow Iron Works, and successively acquired Motherwell Iron Works, St. Rollox Iron Works, and finally Wishaw Works and Collieries. Specialities: Steel Plates for Ships and Boilers, Patent Interlocking Steel Piling, Bars, Angles, Channels, Billets, and Slabs. Are Manufacturers of Sulphate of Ammonia, Oil, Pitch, and Tar. Connection.: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2 Wishaw. Telegraphic Address: " Ingot, Wishaw." Bankers: Clydesdale Bank, Ltd. (Glasgow); Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Glasgow).

" GLASGOW NEWS."—See SMITH, J. M., Ltd.

GLASGOW WEEKLY MAIL, Ltd., Newspaper Proprietors and Publishers, Head Office, 102 to 114, Union Street, Glasgow. London Office: 173 to 175, Fleet Street, E.C. Established 1862. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1912. Directors: Bertram L. Lima, Andrew Forbes, J.P., Frank Sanderson.

GLASIER, WILLIAM, Land Agent and Surveyor, 17, Pall Mall East, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1911 by William Glasier, the present principal, upon the dissolution of the firm of Field, Sons & Glasier, of Southwark, S.E., and Waterloo Place, S.W. The Principal is the eldest son of William R. M. Glasier, formerly a partner in the old established firm of Glasier & Sons, late of 41, Charing Cross, S.W., who was the eldest son of the late W. R. Glasier, founder of that firm. Premises: Attractive professional offices, previously occupied by the L.C.C. Architects Department. Business: Estate Management, Valuations, Surveys for Rating purposes, expert evidence and the like, and dealings in properties of every description. Connection: District of the Strand, Charing Cross and West End; also Blackfriars, Southwark and Bermondsey. Telephone: No. 5345 Gerrard, London. Telegraphic Address: " Telglasier, , London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. (St. James' Square). Mr. Glasier is Surveyor and Agent to Brown's Estate (Blackfriars), the Territorial Force Association of the County of London, &c.

GLAVE, HENRY, Silk Mercer, Linen Draper, Costumier, Milliner, Hosier, Glover, Laceman, 80 to 100, New Oxford Street, London. Telephone: No. 2244 (Post Office), Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Glave, London."

GLAZEBROOK, J., & CO., Hosiery Manufacturers, (Countsthorpe, near Leicester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1859 by John Glazebrook. Present Principals: J. Glazebrook and T. Morris. Specialities: Men's Hose and Half Hose; Boys' Knickers. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Glazebrook, Countsthorpe." Bankers: Lloyds Bank, Limited.

GLEDHILL, G. H., & SONS, Ltd., Cash Register Manufacturers, Trinity Works, Harrison Road, Halifax. Hours of Business: Office and Showrooms, 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1886 by George Henry Gledhill. Acquired in 1895 the oldest Check Till business, established in 1875 by Ezra Lofts. In 1899 added the business of the Walsall Voucher Check Till. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1896. Staff: 100. Branches: London and Glasgow; also in France (Lille). Specialities Autographic and Coin Exhibiting Tills, Self-closing Tills, Receipt-issuing Tills, Detail and Total-' adding Cash Registers, Multiple Drawer Tills, Adding Machines and Calculators. Awards: Highest, Franco-British Exhibition. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 96Y Halifax. Telegraphic Address: " Till, Halifax." Bankers: Halifax and Huddersfield. Union Banking Co., Ltd.

GLENBOIG UNION FIRE CLAY CO., Ltd. (THE), Fire Clay Manufacturers, 48, West Regent Street, Glasgow. Works: Glenboig, Gartcosh and Cumbernauld. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1882. Directors: James Dunnachie (Chairman and Managing Director), Henry Morgan, Robert Suttie, David Craig, Hugh Beckett. Staff: About 1000. Business: Manufacture of Fire Clay. Awards: Fifty-seven Medals, all Highest. Telephones: Nos. 2120 and 3009, Glasgow; No. "25, Coatbridge. Telegraphic Address: " Glenboig, Glasgow." Codes: A B C, Lieber's. Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

GLENDENNING, W., & SONS, Ltd., Wine, Spirit, and Liqueur Merchants. Head Offices: Newcastle-on-Tyne and 170, Shaftesbury Avenue, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. .Ustabiished in 1867 at Newcastle-on-Tyne by the late William Glendenning. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: W. G. Glendenning and G. H. Glendenning. Premises: Head and Registered Office at St. Mary's Place, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Branches: Glasgow; Newcastle; Gateshead. Specialities: Glendenning's Beevinalt; Calleyvat Whisky. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 2377 and 1999 Newcastle; No. 6194 Gerrard (London).

GLENFIELD & KENNEDY LIMITED, Hydraulic and. Sanitary Engineers and Ironfounders, Low Glencairn Street, Kilmarnock. Hours of Business: Usual. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899 by the amalgamation of the Glenfield. Company, Kilmarnock (Ltd.), and Kennedy's Patent Water Meter Co., Ltd. Premises: Extend over about twentyfour acres. London Office: 39, Victoria Street, S.W. 'Store: 196, Vauxhall Bridge Road, S.W. Staff: About 1,500. Representatives in all the large Colonies and in many Foreign Countries. Specialities: Water Meters, and Pumps for Wells and Boreholes. Manufacturers of all classes of Fittings for Waterworks, Hydraulic Machinery, Pumping Machinery, &c. Connection: United Kingdom; Ship to the Colonies, India, Japan, South America, and parts of Europe. Con-tractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office). Telephones: No. 28 Kilmarnock. Telegraphic Address: " Glenfield, Kilmarnock." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Al, Lieber's, Western Union, Engineering (2nd Edition), Premier. Bankers: Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Kilmarnock).

GLENGARNOCK IRON & STEEL CO., Ltd. (THE), Coalmasters, Manufacturers of Pigiron and Steel, Glengarnock and Stevenston, Ayrshire. Registered Office: 127, St. Vincent Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: J. C. Cuninghame (Chairman), J. H. Davidson, Robert Main, L. G. Pearson. Premises: Glengarnock Iron and Steel Works; Ardeer Iron Works. Sale Collieries: Ardeer and Auchenhar vie. Specialities: Glengarnock Pig-iron, Steel Joists, Rails, Angles, Channels, etc.; ByeProducts (Ardeer), Sulphate of Ammonia, Tar, Pitch, Oil. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial, Contractors to War Office, Admiralty, Lloyds, &c. Telephones: No. 8 Beith; No. 961 N. Central,. Glasgow (with connection by special line to Glengarnock Works). Telegraphic Address: " Merry, Glengarnock." Bankers: Clydesdale Bank, Ltd. (30, St. Vincent Place, Glasgow).

GLOAG (MATTHEW) & SON, Whisky and Wine Merchants, Bordeaux House, Perth, Scotland. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1800 by the then Matthew Gloag; Matthew Gloag, 1814; William B. Gloag, 1860; Matthew Gloag, 1896; Matthew W. Gloag, 1907. Present Principal: Matthew W. Gloag. Premises: Buildings and Cellars cover quarter of an acre. Specialities: French Wines and Scotch Whiskies, notably the famous Grouse " Brand. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 67 Perth. Telegraphic Address: " Matthew Gloag, Perth." Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Perth).

" GLOBE " (THE), Evening Newspaper, 367, Strand, London, W.C. Established in. 1803. The oldest Evening Paper. Several editions are published daily, the most important of which are the " City Special " Edition and the " Special " Edition. Telephones: Nos. 644 and 645 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Globe, London." Bankers: Charles Hoare & Co. (Fleet Street).

GLOBE BOX CO.—See CARTWRIGHT & RATTRAY, Ltd.

GLOBE ELECTRO-PLATE CO., Ltd. (THE), 29, Graham Street, Birmingham; London Office and Showroom, 41, If in.sbury Pavement, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1908. Incorporated as a Limited Company in the same year. Directors: Edgar Kennedy, Hermann Cropp, W. J. de N. Guy. Staff: Seventy to eighty. Specialities: Cheap and Medium Price Cruets, Jellies, Jam and Butter Dishes, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 5815 Central, Birmingham; London, No. 3294 City. Telegraphic Addresses: " Glograco," Birmingham and London. Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

GLOBE EXPRESS, Ltd. (THE), General Carriers and Railway Agents, Errol Street, Whitecross Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1837 by John Hinshelwood. Incorporated as a Company in 1896. Telephone: No. 6451 (two lines) London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Globelike, Bart, London."

GLOBE-WERNICKE COMPANY, LIMITED (THE), Manufacturers of Office and Library Furniture, " Elastic " Bookcases, Filing Cabinets, &c. Showrooms: 44, Holborn Viaduct, E.C.; 82, Victoria Street, S.W.; and 98, Bishopsgate, E.C. Wholesale Department and Factory: 18-22, Euston Buildings, George Street, London, N.W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1897. Incorporated as a Limited Company in the same year. Directors: George Ryder Ousey (Chairman and Managing Director), J. E. Ousey, F. H. Ousey, A. Lever, W. J. Dickinson. An entirely British Company; all the ordinary shares are held by British shareholders. Entire staff English. Premises: Extensive Showrooms at 44, Holborn Viaduct, E.C.; 82, Victoria Street, S.W.; and 98, Bishopsgate, E.C. Large Manufacturing Works with electric power at 18-22, Euston Buildings, N.W. Stag Club: Football. Specialities: All kinds of Office and Library Furniture, Filing Cabinets, Bookcases, &c. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 44 Central; No. 88 City; No. 461 City; No. 823 Central; No. 372 Victoria. Cable Address: " Globernick, London."

GLOSTER (JOSEPH). Ltd., Manufacturers of Silver Goods, Lion Silver Works, Hockley Hill, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1880 by Joseph Gloster. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Joseph Gloster, J.P. (Governing Director), Joseph Gloster (junr.), Ernest Gloster, and A. E. Jackson. Premises: Have recently erected a thoroughly up-to-date factory, with all modern improvements. Staff: 100. Specialities: Silver Goods of every description. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 76 Jewellers. Telegraphic Address: " Matchboxes, Birmingham." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. ( Wanton° Lane Branch, Birmingham). Mr. Joseph Gloster is an Alderman of the City of Birmingham, and a Justice of the Peace for Worcestershire.

GLOSTERS, Ltd., Corn, Seed and Forage Merchants, Corn Exchange, Woking, Surrey. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1876 by the late Henry William Gloster. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Directors: F. Gloster, F. J. Arnold, W. J. Clark. Speciality: " Thrivo," a complete food for young chickens. Telephone: No. 176 Woking. Telegraphic Address: " Forage, Woking." The late Mr. Henry William Gloster was Chairman of the Woking Urban District Council, and also served on the Surrey County Council.

GLOUCESTER RAILWAY CARRIAGE & WAGON CO., Ltd., Railway Carriage Builders, Gloucester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1860 as the Gloucester Wagon Co., Ltd. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1888. Directors: R. V. Vassar-Smith (Chairman), E. L. Evan Thomas, J. A. Matthews, E. K. Little, Hon. M. H. Hicks-Beach, M.P., J. A. Stanley Baldwin, M.P., John J. Steinitz (Managing Director). Secretary: J. H. Beach. Premises: Works at Gloucester cover twenty-two and a half acres. Staff: 1900. Branches: London Offices, 1, Victoria Street, S.W.; Cardiff, Barry, Hirwain, Swansea, Chester, &c. Speciality: Rail way Rolling Stock of every description. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Colonial. Telephones: No. 15 Gloucester; No. 115 Westminster. Telegraphic Ad dresses: " Slater, Gloucester "; " Ercas, London." Code: A B C. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

GLOVER BROTHERS (LEEDS), LIMITED, Cloth Manufacturers, Merchants, and Shippers, Wortley Low Mills, Leeds. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Office and Warehouse, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1866 by Joseph Glover (d. 1886); succeeded by three sons —Leonard Glover, Edgar Glover (retired 1896), Clarence Glover (retired 1911). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1908. Director: Leonard Glover (Chairman), Premises: Extensive Spinning, Weaving, Dyeing, and Finishing Works at Wortley. London Office and Warehouse: 6, Foster Lane, Cheapside, E.C. Staff: About 250. Specialities: Blanket Cloths, Overcoatings, Meltons, Vicunas, Serges, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Govern ment (Admiralty). Telephone: No. 458 Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Glovers, WortleY, Leeds." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

GLOVER (GEORGE) & CO., Ltd., Dry Gas Meter Manufacturers, Ranelagh Works, Royal Avenue, Chelsea, London, S.W. Established in 1860 by Dr. George Glover. Incorporated in 1901. Directors: Thomas Dwerryliouse (Chairman), J. W. Glover (Managing Director), J. F. Atkins, John Coxon, A. W. Glover, J. A. Ransome, J. W. Slack, W. Staples, H. M. Thornton. Premises: Head Offices and Manufactory, Ranelagh Works, Chelsea, a highly-organised establishment for the production of Dry Gas Meters, with which class of Apparatus the Company's name is intimately associated. Branches: Gaythorn Meter Works, Easton Street, Manchester; 9, Dewsbury Road, Leeds. Specialities: Automatic Coin Meters; also Dry Meters. Have received highest awards for Dry Meters at the principal International Exhibitions since 1861. Telephones: No. 1140 Kensington (London); No. 6898 City, Manchester; No. 2934 Leeds. Telegraphic Addresses: " Dry Meters, London "; " Slot, Manchester "; " Meters, Leeds."

GLOVER, M., & CO., Patentees and Saw Mill Engineers, Holbeck Lane, Leeds. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about fifty years ago by Matthew Glover (d.). Privately held by members of the family bearing the same name. Managing Director: Arthur Wm. Glover. Premises: Works in Leeds. Also connected with other businesses in Leeds, London and the Midlands. Speci alities: Saw Sharpening Machines, Fire wood Sawing, Splitting, Arranging, and Bundling Machines, Briquette Machines, Fire - lighter - making Machines, Saw Guards, &c. Connection: United King dom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government, and to Foreign Governments. Telephone: No. 984 Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Glovers, Leeds."

GLOVER (THOMAS) & CO., Ltd., Gas Meter Manufacturers, 49, Queen Victoria Street, London, E.C. Established in. 1844 by the late Thomas Glover. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: R. Thomas Glover (Chairman and Managing Director), Robert B. Main, A. P. Main, Sir Paul A. Makins, Bart., Kenneth Aird, Thomas Glover, W. R. Glover. Original makers of present form of Dry Gas Meter. Head Office and Works: Gothic Works, Angel Road, Edmonton, N., ex tending over three acres; also Factories at Birmingham and Falkirk, N.B. Staff: Over 900. Branches: Manchester, Birmingham, Glasgow, Falkirk, Belfast, Melbourne, and Sydney. Business: Dry Gas Meter manufacture, and High-pressure Gas Lighting. Patent: Prepayment (or " Penny-in-the-Slot ") Gas Meter. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 41 Tottenham; No. 379 Paddington. Telegraphic Address: " Gothic," for London and all branches. Bankers: Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

GLOVER, W. T., & CO., Ltd., Electric Cable Makers and Contractors for. Laying, Trafford Park, Manchester. Hours of Business: Works, 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1868. Incorporated as a Limited Company, 1898. The original works were in Salford. New building at Trafford Park has been occupied since 1902. Staff: Over 1,000. Specialities: Makers of Electrical Power Cables of all kinds; House Wires, Colliery Cables, Fire-resisting Cables, Motor Car Wires, Joint Boxes and Accessories. Also makers of Cable Machinery. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial; also considerable foreign trade. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office, India Office): also to several Colonial Government Departments. Telephones: No. 7200 Central (six lines), Manchester; No. 4791 Victoria, London; No. 3856 Douglas, Glasgow; No. 6848 Central, Edinburgh; No. 878 City, Newcastle-uponTyne; No. 1134 Belfast. Telegraphic Addresses: " Cables, Manchester "; "Phonoscope, Vic, London"; "Conductors, Glasgow"; " Conductors, Edinburgh"; " Cables, Newcastle-upon-Tyne "; " Ardrey, Belfast." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Lieber's, Western Union, Imperial Combination, and Privato.

GLOVERS, FENTON & CO., Paper Bag Makers, Paper Merchants and Parchment Importers, 57, Joseph Street, Bradford. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1847. Incorporated as a Limited Company, dissolved in 1906. The paper business was continued by Samuel Fenton (connected with Glovers, Ltd., for twenty-four years), and who is now represented on the road by J. Millington, the Chairman of the late firm. Specialities: Hand-made Bags for Grocers, &c., made on blocks and by this means provides a bag with a double seam, affording better protection than can be given by other methods. Connection: North of England. Telephone: No. 521 Bradford. Mr. Fenton takes an active part in connection with the United Kingdom Commercial Travellers Association, and the National Commercial Temperance League.

GLYN, MILLS, CURRIE & COMPANY, Bankers, 67, Lombard Street, London, E.C. Established as a Private Bank about 1753. Incorporated as a Joint Stook Company, January 14, 1885. Busine9s General Banking. Are London Agents for a large number of Foreign Banks. Telephone: No. 511 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Glinmil, London."

GLYNHIR TINPLATE CO., Ltd., Blackplate Manufacturers, Pontardulais, Glam. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Director r M. Michael. Premises: Five Mills. Business: Manufacture of Finished Blackplates, Stamping and Enamelling Blackplate, Canada Plates and Roofing Sheets. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 22 Pontardulais. Telegraphic Address: " Glyn, Pontardulais." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd., Swansea.

GLYNN COMPANY (THE), Manufacturers and Importers of Essential Oils, Essences, &c. Office and Laboratory: 20 and 22, Cross Hills, Halifax, Yorks. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 12 noon.. Established in 1898 by Albert Field. Succeeded by Arthur Field and Albert Reginald Field. Present Principals: Albert Field and Arthur Field. Premises: Warehouse, Cross Hills, North Bridge, Halifax. Staff: Fourteen. Specialities: Essential Oils, Flavouring Essences, Perfumes, &c.; also Manufacture Vegetable and Aniline Colours of every description. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 1378 Halifax. Telegraphic Address: " Essences, Halifax." Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd. (Halifax). Mr. Albert Field is a Freemason and a member of St. John's Lodge 1736, Halifax.

GLYNN, M., & SONS, Flour Millers and Indian Meal Millers, &c., Kilrush, co. Clare. Established in 1811 by grandfather of present owners. Branches at Limerick and Kerry. Lloyd's Agents. Steamship Owners and Coal Importers at Limerick. Telephones: Nos. 156 and 180 Limerick. Telegraphic Addresses: " Glynn, Kilrush "; " Glynn, Limerick."

GOERZ, A., & CO., Ltd., Mine Finance Company, Pinners Hall, Austin Friars, London, E.C., and Silesia Building, Main Street (P.O. Box 1156), Johannesberg. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Incorporated in the Transvaal as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: Amandus Brakhan (Chairman), Henry Strakosch (Managing Director), Count Jean d'Ayguesvives, Otto Braunfels, Paul Mankiewitz, Sir Carl Meyer, Bart., Max Steinthal, James Zutrauen. Staff: About seventy-five. Branches: Mexico City, 1A do Nuevo Mexico 6; Berlin, Mauerstrasse 29 to 32; Paris, 25, Rue de Clichy. Business: The Company is one of the Rand Mining Groups and controls important. mining interests in Mexico. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1388, 2782 and 2783 London Wall, London. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Goerz, London "; " Brick, Johannesburg "; " Goerz, Mexicocity "; " Brickliga, Berlin." Codes: McNeill's (1898 Edition), Moreing and Neal (1899 Edition). Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd., London; National Bank of South Africa, Ltd.; Deutsche Bank, Berliner Handels Gesellschaft, Berlin; Banque de Paris et des Pays-Bas, Banque Suisse et Fran raise, Paris.

GOERZ, C. P., OPTICAL WORKS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Photographic Lenses, Cameras, Field and Opera Glasses, &c., 1, 4 and 6, Holborn Circus, E.C. Telephones: Nos. 1696 and 5929 Holborn. Telegraphic Address: " Photopsia, Smith, London."

GOLDENDALE IRON COMPANY, Cylinder Pig Iron Makers, Tunstall, Stoke-on-Trent. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Works, three shifts of eight hours each. Established in 1844 on the foundation of a much older business dating from the eighteenth century, founded by Williamson Brothers. Present Principal: H. H. Williamson (nephew of the Williamson Brothers). One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Contain three furnaces equipped with modern appliances. Staff: Large. Staff Clubs: Two sick and accident societies. Specialities: Hard, Close, Grey, and very Fluid Pig Iron for Cylinder Making, easy to Machine. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty). Telephone: No. 580 Tunst all. Telegraphic Address: " Goldendale, Tunstall." Bankers: United Counties Banking Co., Ltd.

GOLDSCHMIDT BROTHERS, Merchants and Commission Agents, 1, Wood Street Square, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1866 by Francis S. Samuel and S. H. Goldschmidt, joined by F. B. Goldschmidt in 1871, in which year Francis S. Samuel retired. Present Principals: S. H. Goldschmidt and F. B. Goldschmidt. Premises: Built by the firm, originally at 39, Monkwell Street, London, occupy the whole building. Staff: Twelve. Branch: 16 and 17 Korassandjian Han, Stamboul, Constantinople. Specialities: Velvets, Silks, Ribbons, Scarves, Parisian Novelties, Knitted Goods and Oriental and Antique Embroideries. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 12875 Central, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Goatly, Cent, London." Code: A B C. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd., Lon don.

GOLDSMITHS AND SILVERSMITHS CO., Ltd. (THE), Jewellers, Silversmiths, Dia mond Merchants, Watch and Clock Makers, &c., 110 to 112, Regent Street, 47, 48 and 49, Warwick Street, and 48, Glasshouse Street, London, W. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1880 by William Gibson and John Lawrence Langman. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: William Gibson (Chairman), Sir Courtauld Thomson (Deputy Chairman), C. L. Graff, E. H. Posen, W. S. Salisbury, and A. T. Isaac. Secretary: James W. Rice. Staff Clubs: Cricket and Lawn Tennis. Specialities: Diamond and Gem jewellery, Presentation Plate, Antique Silver, Military Mess Plate and Trophies, Watches, Clocks, Chronometers, Dressing Bags, &c. Awards: Gold Medal, Fisheries Exhibition, 1883; Inventions, 1885; Indian and Colonial, 1886; Paris, 1889; Chieago, 1893; California, 1894; Grand Prix, Paris, 1900; Franco-British Exhibition, 1908, " Hors Concours." Royal Warrants: Special appointment to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria, His late Majesty King Edward VII., Their Majesties King George and Queen Mary, H.M. The King of the Hellenes, H.M. The King of Spain, H.M. The King of Siam. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 9091 Gerrard (three lines); No. 313 Holborn, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Argennon, Reg, London." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd., 1, Pall Mall East, London.

GOLLIN & CO., PROPRIETARY, Ltd., General Merchants, 17, Mincing Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established many years ago as Gollin & Co. in Australia and New Zealand. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: Alfred Gollin, George Gollin, W. J. Gollin, L. A. Gollin, Harold Fisher, A. E. Braund, F. W. R. Braddock, E. B. Paine, L. H. Biddle, H. F. Middleton. Branches: Adelaide (South Australia); Melbourne (Victoria); Sydney (New South Wales); Brisbane (Queensland); Wellington, Auckland, Christchurch and Dunedin (New Zealand). Specialities: General Merchandise, Hardware, Wines and Spirits, Soft Goods, &c. Telephone: No. 866 (Avenue), London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: "Humidity, London." Bankers: Bank of Australasia (London and Branches).

GONDRAND FRERES INTERNATIONAL FORWARDING CO., Forwarding Agents, 42, Great Tower Street, London, E.C.; London Branch of the Societe Anonyme 2D Internationale de Transports Gondrand Freres. Hours of Business: (London) 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Registered Head Office: Basle, Switzerland. Incorporated as a Limited Company, under Swiss law, in 1902, continuing the business of Girard freres and Gondrand freres. Business: Supply Refrigerator Trucks from Italy for English Cheese and Butter Traffic. Forward Goods of all kinds. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2559 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Gondrand, London." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Great Tower Street).

GONZALEZ, BYASS & CO., Ltd., Wine Growers and Shippers, 74, Great Tower Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1835 by Excelentisimo Senor Don Manuel Maria Gonzalez, at Jerez-de-la-Frontera, Spain. Incorporated February 24th, 1896; R. William Byass, Chairman and Managing Director; R. Nicholl Byass, P. N. Gonzalez, P. N. Gonzalez (jun.), and Reginald C. Byass, Directors. Premises: London offices, sample-rooms, &c., in Great Tower Street. Branches at Jerez-de-la-Frontera, Spain, and Oporto, Portugal, the latter opened in May, 1895. The premises in Spain stand upon sixteen acres of ground, and the bodegas, or stores, contain very large stocks of wine. Speciality: The Growing and Maturing of Fine Sherries and Ports. The firm have been for many years the largest shippers of Sherries, for which they have a far-reaching reputation. They are also the largest proprietors of vineyards in the best districts round Jerez. In addition to Sherries and Ports, an extensive business in Claret, Burgundy, and Champagne, the firm being Agents for A. Lalande & Co., Bordeaux; Goichard-Potheret et Fils, Chalon-sur-Same; and Charles Heidsieck, Reims. Connection: World-wide. Royal War-rants: By Appointment to the Royal Courts of Great Britain, Spain, and Portugal The establishment at Jerez has several times been visited by Royalty, the most recent of such visits having been that of H.M. King Alfonso XIII. on May 10th, 1904. Telephones: Nos. 4432 and 4433 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Vindemia, Bilgate, London."

GOOD (JOHN) & SONS, Ltd., Steamship Owners, Steamship Agent s, Shipping and Forwarding Agents, Coal Exporters, Warehousemen and Wharf fingers, Ship (1 'and lors, Maritime Buildings, Alfred Gelder Street, Hull. Warehouses: 70 and 71, High Street. Stores: 176, High Street. Also at Baltic Chambers, Newcastle-on-Tyne, and Royal Dock Chambers, Grimsby. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1833 by John Good. Joined in partner. ship in 1864 by Joseph Good and Thomas Good (sons of founder). Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1908. Directors: Joseph Good, W. Minnitt Good, J. H. Good, T. A. Good, and Ambrose Good. Business: General Steamship Agents, Agents for the Finland Lines of Steamers; Coal Exporters; Forwarding Agents t o all parts; Warehousemen and Wharfingers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephones: Nos. 2495-6-7 (National), Hull; N o. 4819 (National) Newcastleon-Tyne; No. 505 (National) Grimsby. Telegraphic Addresses: " Goodsons," Hull and Grimsby; " Finland, Newcastle-on-Tyne." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

GOODACRE (WILLIAM) & SONS, Ltd., Manufacturers of Cocoa Mats, Mattings, and Coir Yarn Goods, Ceylon Mills, Victoria Docks, London, E. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established in 1363 by William Goodacre. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Directors: Joseph Haggarty (Chairman), Walter Goodacre, F.R.A.S., Harry Goodacre, Arthur D. Goodacre, Eric Goodacre, A. E. Harrison, J. Mitchell Jones. Secretary: Charles William Laban. Premises: Cover three and a half acres in London. Have own Raw Material Factory in India. Staff: 500, in India 600. Branches: Manchester, Glasgow, Cochin. Specialities: Cocoa Mats, Mattings, Coir Yarn, Skins, Cloth Rugs, Indian Produce, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government; also Railway, Steamship, and Municipal Bodies. Telephones: Nos. 1740 and 1741 (East), London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Goodacre, London "; " Goacre, Cochin." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), and Western Union. Bankers: London and Provincial Bank, Ltd. (Canning Town).

GOODALL, BACKHOUSE & CO., Wholesale Druggists, &c., White Horse Street and Sovereign Street, Leeds. Hours of Business: 8.45 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.45 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. Ware houses and Manufactories, 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1837 as Bell & Brooke. Succeeded in 1858 by Goodall, Bad:house & Co. Principals, Robert Goodall (d. 1870), Hy. Backhouse (d. 1876), William Powell (d. 1900). Present Principals: William Powell Bowman and Frank Boyce, F.I.C. Premises: Floor area of buildings owned and occupied about eight acres. Fully equipped works. Staff: About 350. London Office: 54, Southwark Street, S.E. Speciality: Yorkshire Relish, also Household Specialities. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Leeds, Central, Nos. 3574 (four lines); No. 2038 Hop, London. Telegraphic Address: " Relish," Leeds and London. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Leeds).

GOODALL (CHARLES) & SON, Ltd., Playing Card Makers, Wholesale and Export Stationers, Camden Works, 24, Great College Street, Camden Town, London, N.W.; 17, St. Bride Street, Ludgate Circus, London, E.C.; 60, Charing Cross Road, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. .to 1 p.m.; 2 p.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1820. Incorporated as a Company in 1897, with a Directorate consisting of Montague Goodall (Chairman), Mortimer J. Goodall, and J. W. George (Directors). Specialities: Playing Cards and Highclass Fancy Stationery, Menu and Programme Cards, Calendars, and Fine Art Printing. The firm's establishment covers about two acres. Branches: City and West End, and 5 and 6, Livery Street, Birmingham. Stag: About 1,000. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and in the Colonies. Telephones: No. 411 Holborn; for Works, No. 1260 North. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Aldine, London."

GOODALL & WHITE, Ltd., Lace Curtain Manufacturers, 109, Brook Street, Mile End, Glasgow. Hours of Business: Manufactory open day and night; Warehouse, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1886 by Thomas Goodall and George A. White. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Managing Directors: Thomas Goodall and George Arthur White. Premises: Extensive, well-equipped Works, covering 12,000 sq. yds. Stag: 300. Specialities: Lace Curtains, Lace Nets, Furniture Laces, Bedspreads, Quilts, &c. Patents: Various Patterns. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. Y281 (P.O.)

Bridgeton. Telegraphic Address " Cur-tains, Glasgow." Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

GOODBODY, J. & L. F., Ltd., Jute Spinners and Manufacturers, Clashawaun Works, Clara, King's Co., and 1 and 2, Cope Street, Dublin. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1864; afterwards converted into a Private Limited Company. Incorporated in 1888. Directors: Robert Goodbody, J. H. Goodbody, and J. B. Goodbody. Premises: Extensive Works at Clara, with complete modern equipment. Staff: About 700. Branch: 17, Corn Exchange, Liverpool. Specialities: Fine Twill Jute Grain and Flour Sacks; Twines, and Hay-pressing Cords. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 3 Clara; No. 262 Dublin. Telegraphic Addresses: " Jute, Clara "; " Jute, Dublin "; " Warps, Liverpool."

GOODE (THOMAS), LIMITED, Wholesale Brush Manufacturers, 114, Suffolk Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1783 by Thomas Goode. Partnership Successions: (1) Thomas Goode to 1815; (2) Thomas Goode & Son to 1824; (3) Thomas Goode alone to 1849; (4) Kendrick & Goode to 1884; (5) Thomas Goode to 1906. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Branch: 44, Severn Street, Birmingham. Business: Brush Manufacturers, General Hardware and Twine Merchants. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1412 Midland, Birmingham. Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales)„ Ltd.

GOODLAKE & NUTTER, Oil and Produce Brokers, 78, Cornhill, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established about 1810 by William Hartley Goodlake, joined in 1854 by Elliot Smith Nutter (d. 1906). Present Principals: Philip Edward Nutter and Vesey H. P. Bennett. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Specialities: Seed Oils, Cocoanut oil. Importers of Turpentine and Rosin. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 1276, 1277, and 2689 Avenue; No. 8516 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Goodlake, London." Codes; All. Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Lothbury).

GOODWIN (ARNOLD) & SONS, Ltd., Engineers and Millwrights, Sumner Street, Southwark, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established over sixty years ago by Arnold Goodwin (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company. Director: Arnold Goodwin. Business: General Engineering with one of the largest plants in London. Water Supplies, Pumpless 'Water Raising, Town 2 D 2 Water Supplies, Air Compressors, Overhead Runways, Lifting Tackle, Patent Piston Rings, Pulley Makers and Power Transmission Accessories, &c. Connection: Extensive in London and 100 miles round. Telephone: No. 197 Hop, London. Telegraphic Address: " Shaftman, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

GOODWIN & CO., Steel Manufacturers, &c., Scottish Steel and File Works, Neepsend, Sheffield. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1880 by J. H. Goodwin and J. J. Goodwin. Continued by J. H. Goodwin and S. C. Goodwin. Present Principal: Stuart C. Goodwin. Premises: Extensive. Branch Works: Cornish Street, Mowbray Street. Branches: Depots, Cornwall, Stenalees, St. Austell (H. H. Goodwin), France, Spain, Switzerland, Belgium. Specialities: Best quality Steel for all purposes. Crucible Cast Steel for the Manufacture of Spindles and Flyers, Homogeneous Dead Soft, Flyer and Presser Steel, Double Shear, Blister, Spring and Miners' Jumper and Borer Steel, High-Speed Twist Drills, Files, Air Hardening, High Speed Steel. Their Trade Mark, with motto " Tempers Well," is well known. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4527 Sheffield (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Goodwin, Sheffield." Code: Lieber's.

GOOLD, LEWIS WILLIAM, Patent Agency, 5, Corporation Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1894 by the present principal, Mr. Lewis Wm. Goold, F.C.I.P.A., Consulting Engineer, Expert, and Chartered Patent Agent, qualified by examination conducted under Board of Trade Rules of the Patents and Designs Act; Author of a concise manual on " Patents, Designs and Trade Marks for Inventors, Manufacturers, and Merchants,"—and conducted with the co-operation of Mr. Rowland L. Goold, Qualified Patent Agent, Consulting Engineer, Associate Institution Electrical Engineers, Fellow of the Chemical Society. Premises comprise a suite of offices, prominently situated in the leading thoroughfare, and within three minutes of the main station. Business: Patents, Designs, and Trade-marks protected in Great Britain and abroad; expert services afforded in the investigation of infringements, preparation of opinions, and general co-operation in the conduct or defence of legal proceedings. Connection: United Kingdom and the principal foreign and colonial countries. For the conduct of his business abroad Mr. Goold has established agencies in the following foreign and colonial capitals and cities:— Berlin, Brussels, Buenos Ayres, Cairo, Calcutta, Cape Town, Capellen (Luxembourg), Chicago, Christiania, Constantinople, Copenhagen, Durban, Johannesburg, Madrid, Melbourne, Milwaukee, Moscow, New York, Paris, Pietermaritzburg, Rotterdam, Rio de Janeiro, Rome, St. Petersburg, Sydney, Tokio, Toronto, Vienna, Washington, Wellington (N.Z.), and Zurich. Telephone: Central 2700. Telegraphic Address: " Diplomacy, Birmingham." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

GORDON HOTELS, Ltd., Hotel Proprietors. Central Offices: 450, Strand, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1890 by the late Frederick Gordon, and Incorporated as a Limited Company in the same year. The Company own hotels in England and on the Continent, all well known for completeness of organisation. Telephones: Nos. 57 and 58 Gerrard (for Central Offices). Telegraphic Address: "Taberna, London."

GORDON, WOODROFFE & CO., East Indian and Colonial Merchants, 1, East India Avenue, and Terminus Chambers, 6, Holborn Viaduct, London, E.C. Established in 1868 by Henry Evans Gordon and George William Plukenett Woodroffe. Present Principals: George William Plukenett Woodroffe, William Arthur Wigram, James Campbell Thomson, Eustace H. Robinson, and Robert Galloway. Premises: Office, &c., 1, East India Avenue, E.C.; Colonial Department, Terminus Chambers, 6, Holborn Viaduct, E.C. Representatives at Madras, Coconada, Vizagapatam, Bimlipatam, Pondicherry, Christchurch (New Zealand), and Sydney (Australia). Connections with other parts of New Zealand and Australia, also with Japan and Singapore. Specialities: Indian Department, Shipping; Export of Manchester and Glasgow Goods and Yarns, also Metals and Sundries; Imports of all articles of Produce, Hides and Skins. Colonial Department, Frozen Meat, Wool, Seeds, &c., &c. Telephone: Indian Department, No. 10762 Central; Colonial Department, No. 5421 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Woodroffe, London." Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. (Consolidated Branch).

GORRINGE (FREDERICK), Ltd., Drapers, 49 to 75, Buckingham Palace Road, London, S.W. Hours of Business: Winter, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Summer, 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Established in 1857 by Frederick Gorringe. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Directors: D. W. Butterfield (Chairman), H. W. Halifax, C. J. Shuter, S. Woolger. Staff: Large. Specialities: Everything requisite for Ladies' wear. Also Fancy Goods. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to H.M. the King and to H.M. the Queen. Telephone: No. 400 Gerrard, London. Private Exchange to all departments. Telegraphic Address: " Gorringe, London." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd. (Victoria).

GORTON (EDWARD), Ltd., Gelatine, Glue, Size, Grease and Manure Manufacturers, Paddington Works, Warrington. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1852 by W. & C. Royston. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Staff: About fifty. Speciality: Glue free of Grease and Acid. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 218 Warrington. Telegraphic Address: " Gorton, Paddington, Warrington." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

GORTON RUBBER CO., LTD. (THE), Indiarubber Manufacturers, Cornwall Street, Openshaw, Manchester, and Droylsden Works, Edge Lane, Droylsden. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established: Many years ago, date unknown, by Seddon Pneumatic Tyre Co. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Managing Director: George Spencer. Secretary: John Ryding, A.I.S.A. Premises: Cover six and a half acres. Staff: 500. Branches: London Office, 104, Queen Victoria Street, E.C. Dutch Offices and Warehouse, Reguliersdwarsstraat 96, Amsterdam; also at Coventry, Birmingham, Copenhagen, and Milan. Specialities: Cycle Tyres, General Proofing, Indiarubber Goods. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 5126 (Central) Manchester (Gorton) Works; No. 38 Openshaw (Droylsden Works); No. 8369 (Bank), London; No. 7411 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Pneumatic, Manchester." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

GOSFORTH FOUNDRY CO., Ltd. (THE), Malleable Ironfounders, Dronfield, near Sheffield. Hours of Business: Works, 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 6.30 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Office, 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. Established in 1894 by William Prestwich. Incorporate4 as u Limited Company in 1909. Directors: William Prestwich, William Carl Prestwich (Secretary), Richard Gilbert Prestwich, Algernon Prestwich. Premises: Works cover one and a quarter acres. Staff: Sixty-two. Specialities: Driving and Elevator Chains, Buckets, Sprocket Wheels, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty, War Office) and to the Crown Agents for Colonies for small malleable Castings. Telephone: No. 11 Dronfield. Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd., Sheffield.

GOSLING, W. & H., Packers and Packing-Case and Cask Manufacturers, 56, Lionel Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1816 by Charles Clulee, continued by (1) Henry Clulee and Tom Clulee (sons); (2) Henry Clulee; (3) Purchased by Samuel Gosling, in 1850; (4) Purchased by William Gosling from the Executors of S. Gosling (d.), in 1879; (5) William Gosling and Howard Gosling, 1881. Present Principal: Howard Gosling. Specialities: In receiving, packing, and dispatching goods for export. Telephone: No. 719 Central, Birmingham. Telegrams: " Howgos, Birmingham." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Temple Row).

GOSNELL (JOHN) & CO., Ltd., Perfumers and Toilet Soap Makers, 211 to 215, Blackfriars Road, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1760. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1898. Specialities: Perfumes, Powder and Soaps, Eau de Cologne, Tooth Paste. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to H.M. Queen Alexandra. Telephone: No. 1425 Hop. Telegraphic Address: " Gosnell, London."

GOSS, WILLIAM H., Porcelain Manufacturer, Falcon Pottery, Edward Street, Stoke-on-Trent. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1857 by William Henry Goss, F.G.S. and F.R.Met.S. Continued in 1906 by Victor Henry Goss (d. 1913) and William Huntley Goss, sons. Present Principals: William Huntley Goss and Executors of Victor Henry Goss. Business: Claims to be the Maker of tho Original Heraldic Porcelain. Manufactures the finest Porcelain. Awards: Prizo Medal, London, 1862; Gold Medal, Boston (United States), 1883; Silver Medal, Brussels, 1910; Gold Medal and Grand Prix, Turin, 1911; Gold Medal, Ghent, 1013. Cormection; lJnited Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Mr. W. Huntley Goss has been Chairman of Alsager Urban District Council, 1909, and again in 1911, and is still a Councillor; also a member of Cheshire County Council since 1911'. The late, Mr. Victor Henry Goss was on the Stoke-on-Trent County Borough Council. He was in. the Territorials, and was Captain of the Stoke Company for years; served in South Africa, 1901-2, and was made Hon. Lieut. in the Regular Army; was appointed Adjutant of the Troopship for the voyage home,, and was also member of the Nantwich Board of Guardians. Clubs: (Mr. William Huntley Goss), A.A. & M.U.; Alsager Golf.

GOSSAGE (WILLIAM) & SONS, Ltd. , Soap and Chemical Manufacturers, Soap Works, Widnes. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established about 1850 by the late William Gossage. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Directors: William Winwood Gossage, Shirley Sutton Timmis, John J. Crosfield, George R. Crosfield, Robt. F. Jones, C. Haslam, Fredk. H. Harris, H. Kingdon. Premises: Cover about fourteen acres. Branch: Blackstock Street, Liverpool. Staff: About 1500. Specialities: Dry and other Soaps, Silicate of Soda, Glycerine. Awards: London, 1862 and 1865; Paris, 1867 and 1900. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 97 Widnes; No. 603 Liyerpool. Telegraphic Address: " Gossage," Widnes and Liverpool. Cable Address: " Gossage, Widnes." Code: Private. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

GOULD, W. W., & SONS, Manufacturers of Needles and Fish Hooks, Feckenham, Redditch. Present Principals: C. F. Farr and Alfred Farr. Successors to George Webb & Sons, established in 1743, and Josh. Warrin, whose needles are a household word in America. U.S.A. Agent: Abbey and Imbrie, New York. Specialities: W. Gould's " Star " Brand, Gould & Sons' " Lion " Brand, Josh. Warrin's " Eagle " Brand, Gould & Farr's " G " Brand. George Webb & Son's " Needle and Cross Fish Hook " Brand. Sewing Needles of all descriptions; Pack, Sail, and Upholsterers' Needles; Machine Needles; Awls, Drivers, Hooks, &c., for the Boot and Shoe Trade. Are the inventors of the " Filtenax " Needle, the eye having a slit on the side through which the thread is slipped. Fish Hooks for River and Sea Fishing; all sorts, all sizes, all prices. Sole makers by injunction in Chancery, 1874, for Webb's Brand. Connection: United Kingdom, export trade chiefly through British merchants to all parts of the world. Telegraphic Address: Gould, Feckenham."

GOULDING, W. & H. M., Ltd., Fertiliser and Sulphuric Acid Manufacturers, North Wall, Dublin, and at Cork. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6p.m. Established in 1856 by the late William Goulding and Humphreys M. Goulding. Incorporated as a Limited Company ,11. 1872. Chairman and Managing Director: Sir William J. Goulding, Bart., D.L., Claim to be the largest producers of Chemical Fertilisers (Superphosphates, &c.) in the United Kingdom. Premises: Extensive Factories at Dublin, Cork. Belfast, Londonderry, and Waterford. Staff: About 1200. Specialities: Superphosphates; complete Fertilisers for all crops. Patents: Several. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2371 (three lines) Dublin. Telegraphic Address: " Goulding, Dublin." Codes: A B C (4th Edition); A 1 (1888).

GOULDING'S (JOHN) SONS, Ltd., Hatters' Fur Manufacturers, Rabbit and Hare Skin Merchants, Grafton Street, Northampton. Hours of Business: Factory, 7.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12.30 p.m. Office, 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established in 1863 by John Goulding (d.). Managing Director: James Goulding. The firm has a depot at 34, Rick Street, Notts; employ at Northampton upwards of 500, chiefly females. Specialities: Hatters' Furs, Rabbit and Hare Skins. Handle upwards of 12,000,000 rabbit skins yearly. Connection: Worldwide. Telephone: No. 48 Northampton. Telegraphic Address: " Goulding, Northampton." Codes: A B C, Lieber's, Western Union. Bankers: Northamptonshire Union Bank, Ltd.

GOUROCK ROPEWORK CO., Ltd. (THE), Sailcloth, Cordage, and Twine Manufacturers, Port Glasgow. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1735. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Directors: William Birkmyro (Chairman), William Middleton Campbell, James Birkmyre, John Birkmyre (jun.) (Managing Director), Henry Birkmyre (Managing Director), John Kerr (Managing Director), John Cormie (Managing Director), William Cuthbert (Director), resident in South Africa. (Mr. William Middleton Campbell was Governor of the Bank of England during 1907 and 1908.) Claims to be the oldest firm in the trade. Premises: Very 'extensive factories at Port Glasgow, Greenock, and Lanark. Employees: 3,000. Branches: Throughout Scotland and England, also Hamburg, Christiania, Scheveningen, Lisbon, Montreal, Winnipeg, Buenos Aires, Rio de Janeiro, Valparaiso, Callao, Sydney, Melbourne, Calcutta, Bombay, Cape Town, Port Elizabeth, East London, Durban, Johannesburg, Delagoa Bay, and Salisbury. Speciality: Waterproof Canvas known as " Birkmyre's Cloth." Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 10 Port Glasgow. Telegraphic and Cable Address.: " Gourock, Port Glasgow." Bankers: Union Bank of Scotland, Ltd.; Royal Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

GRACE BROTHERS, Australian Merchants. London Export 011ice: 25-27, Chiswell Street, London, E.C., and at Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1885 by J. N. Grace and A. E. Grace. Staff: Over 1,500. Specialities: Drapery Goods, Boots and. Shoes, China and Glass, Furniture, Ironmongery, Paper Hangings, Sheet Glass, Oils and Colours, Tobacco, Pictures, Stationery, Toys; suppliers of Electricity for Power and Light from own Generating Station. Connection: London and Sydney. Telephone: No. 6923 London Wall. Cable Addresses: " Graces, Sydney," and " Ecargoan, London," Bankers: English, Scottish and Australian Bank, Ltd. (Lombard Street, E.C.).

GRAHAM (ALFRED) & CO., Electrical Engineers and Contractors, St. Andrew's Works, Crofton Park, S.E. City Office: 4, Great Winchester Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p'.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Works, 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established in 1894 by Alfred Graham. Joined by A. L. Dearlove, and subsequently by E. A. Graham. Present Principals: Alfred Graham, A. L. Dearlove and Edward A. Graham (Managing Partner). Claim to be the pioneers in loud-speaking telephony. Graham's Instruments the first telephones successfully applied for communication on board war vessels. Premises: Erected in 1905, covering one acre equipped with Machinery and Plant of the most modern description. Staff: About 300. Staff Clubs: Athletic, including Cricket, Football, Harriers, Swimming and other sections; also Sick and Benefit. Agencies: France, Japan, China, Italy, Holland, &c. Specialities: Loud Speaking Telephones, Exchange Switchboards and other apparatus for communication on board war and mercantile vessels, for use in Power Stations, Mines, Collieries, &c. Patents: On practically all their manufactures in Great Britain and other countries. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty), Foreign Governments and to leading steamship lines. Telephone: No. 952 Sydenham.. Telegraphic Address: " Navalhada, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and Private.

GRAHAM & BRADLEY, Wine Merchants, 59 and 61, Northumberland Street, Newcastle-upon-Tyne. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1819 by Messrs. Richardson & Finlay, continued by Finlay and Scott, and from 1884 by Graham & Bradley. Present Principal: John Graham. Premises: Removed from old premises in Bigg Market in 1901 to the present large modern buildings in Northumberland Street, with extensive cellarage accommodation. Speciality: High-class Family Wine Merchants. Commotion: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 1476 Newcastle. Telegraphic Address " Pilsener, Newcastle - upon - Tyne." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Lambton's Branch, Newcastle).

GRAHAM, CHAS., & CO., Ltd., Steamship Owners, Ship Brokers and Brokers for the Sale and Purchase of Shipping, Shipping and Insurance Agents, Royal Exchange Buildings, Alfred Gelder Street, Hull. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1906 by Charles Graham. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company, under the style of Chas. Graham & Co., Ltd., Feb. 6th, 1909. Managing Director: Charles Graham. Stall: Twe ty. Branch: 34, Lime Street, London, E.C. (opened March, 1910). Business: Agents for Steamers to Russian Ports and also to Mexican Ports. Are Managers of the Town Steam Ship Co., Ltd., Sole Chartering Agents for U.K. for Graham Ejbol & Co. of St. Petersburg, Riga, Hungerburg/Narra, and Copenhagen, of which firm Mr. Charles Graham is senior. Represented at Immingham ar d Grimsby by Graham, Wahlstrand & CD., Ltd., of which firm Mr. Charles Graham is a Governirg Director. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. • Telephones: Nos. 1140, 1141, and 1142 Central, Hull; No. 3304 City (two lines); Trunk, No. 101 City, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Alert, Hull "; " Graham eney, London." Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd. The firm are members of the Shipping Committee, Chamber of Commerce, Hull. Mr. Charles Graham held the appointment of German Consular Agent at Alloa (resigned).

GRAHAM (JAMES & JOHN), Ltd., Wholesale and Retail Grocers, Italian Warehousemen, Oil, Cake and Artificial Manure Merchants and Manufacturers, Agricultural Seedsmen. Registered Office: Market Square, Penrith. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Thursdays, close at ]. p.m. Established in 1793 by James Graham and John Graham. Continued by (1) James Graham; (2) C. H. and T. D. Graham; (3) T. D. Graham. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1899. Directors: J. Ewan C. Graham (Chairman), Hartley Graham (Solicitor), P. Atkinson and William Bradley. Managers: Market Square, Penrith: James Savage; King Street, Ponrith: William Bradley; Market Place, Keswick: Parkin Atkinson; Bridge Street, Appleby: John Smith. One of the oldest established businesses in the two counties. Premises: were rebuilt in 1880. Branches: Penrith, King Street; Appleby, Bridge Street; Keswick, Market Place; Cake and Manure Warehouses, Seed Warehouses, Butter Factory, and Mill, Cromwell Road, Penrith. Specialities: Groceries, Seeds, Oil Cake and Artificial Manures, Bone Crushing, &c. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephones: No. 82 Penrith; No. 82 Appleby; No. 26 Keswick. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd.

GRAHAM, JOHN H., & CO. (OF NEW YORK), American Hardware Manufacturers' Direct Representatives, 118-122, Holborn, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1870 by John H. Graham. Head Offices, New York. Branches: Copenhagen, New Zealand, and South Africa. Business: Direct representation of the Firms whose Goods are offered. Speciality: Door Bells of all descriptions; Doorbell Plates, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3041 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Zarpar, London." Cable Address: " Grahaines, London."

GRAHAM (WILLIAM) & CO., Importers and Exporters, Shipping Agents, &c., 400 Cathedral Street, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1784 by William Graham (grandfather and great-grandfather of present partners). Present Principals: Sir J. H. N. Graham, Bart., James N. Graham, and their sons and nephews, One of the oldest firms in the trade. Branches: Manchester, 48, Sackville Street; Liverpool, 7, Rumford Street; London, 5, Bishopsgate, E.C.; Bombay, W. & R. Graham & Co., W. & A. Graham & Co.; Calcutta, James Graham & Co., Graham & Co.; Karachi, D. & J. Graham & Co., Donald Graham & Co.; Rangoon, W. & F. Graham & Co., J. & F. Graham & Co.; Lisbon, William Graham (jun.) & Co.; Oporto, W. & J. Graham & Co. Also Agents and Managers of The Braco de Prata Printing Co., Ltd.; John Graham & Co., Ltd.; The Boa Vista Spinning and Weaving Co., Ltd.; The Graham Joint Stock Shipping Co., Ltd.; The Graham's Morocco Co., Ltd.; The Indus Valley Bone Mill Co., Ltd.; The Ganges Valley Bone Mill Co., Ltd.; Graham's Manchester Agency, Ltd.; The Graham Properties Co., Ltd.; The Abelheira Pai,er Mill, Ltd. Telephones: No. 3200 Douglas (six lines), Glasgow; No. 5694 (three lines) London Wall; London, Trunk 105. Tele-graphic and Cable Addresses: " Grahams, Glasgow, London, Manchester, Liverpool, Bombay, Calcutta, Karachi, Rangoon, Lisbon and Oporto." Codes: Private; A.B.C., Bentley; Scott's (10th Edition); the Standard Shipping, &c. Bankers: Royal Bank of Scotland.

GRAIGOLA MERTHYR CO., Ltd. (THE), Colliery Proprietors and Patent Fuel Manufacturers, Cambrian Place, Swansea. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established about 1860 by Thomas Cory and Frank Ash Yeo (late M.P. for Gower Division, Glamorgan). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1885. Directors: J. Mesnier (Chairman), A. Lawrence (Director), F. Cory Yeo, J.P., W. T. Farr, and S. L. Gregor, J.P. (Joint Managing Directors). Secretary: E. S. Isaac. Premises: Offices were at one time the Assembly Rooms. Proprietors of Clydach Merthyr Colliery, Cwm Colliery, and Graig Merthyr Colliery. Patent Fuel Works in Swansea and at Clydach-on-Tawe. Business: Coal supplied for home and export use. Manufacture of Patent .Fuel. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 984 (Central) P.B.E. Telegraphic Address: " Graigola, Swansea." Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd. Mr. F. Cory Yeo and Mr. W. T. Farr are Swansea Harbour Trustees.

GRAINGER & SMITH, Ltd., Woollen Merchants and Clothing Manufacturers, 65, High Street, Dudley. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a,m, to 1 p.m. Established about 1840 by Edward Grainger (sen.). Partnership Successions: (1) Grainger, Son & Smith, 1872 to 1877; (2) Grainger & Smith, 1877 to 1898. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1898. Directors: Edward Smith, J.P. (Chairman), Edward Grainger, J.P., E. Hastings Grainger, T. S. Stewart-Smith, Watkin W. Jenkins, A. Gordon Smith. Secretary: Percy F. Jenkins. Business has grown from a Retail Drapery Shop to one of the most important concerns in the trade. Premises: Originally in Market Place; removed to 65, High Street in 1870. Present extensive Warehouse erected in 1875. Equipped with up-to-date ap-pliances. Town Mills (for Clothing), Mill Street, Dudley. Warehouses at. 64, Aldermanbury, London, E.C.; Trinity Street, Hanley; Guildhall Street, Preston; Carr's Lane, Birmingham; Rosemary Street, Belfast (all Woollen and Clothing); Parliament Street, Dublin. Staff: About 1,400. Stag Clubs: Recreation, Benefit Society, Specialities: Woollen, Cotton, and Linen Goods, Tailors' Trimmings, and all requisites for the Tailoring Trade also Blankets, Heavy Drapery, Hosiery, and Underclothing. Manufacturers of Men's and Juvenile Clothing and to special measure. Ladies' Costumes to special measure. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 30 (two lines) Dudley (for Woollens); No. 27 Dudley (for Clothing); No. 3888 Central, London; No. 1157 Hanley; No. 890 Preston; No. 02388 Belfast; No. 827 Birmingham. Telegraphic Addresses: " Grainger, Dudley " (for Woollens); " Grainger, Hanley " " Grainger, Preston"; " Clothing, Dudley " (for Clothing); " Grainzard, London "; " Cloth, Belfast "; " Woollens, Birmingham." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Dudley). Mr. E. Grainger is a Justice of the Peace and late Mayor of Dudley. Mr. E. Smith is a Justice of the Peace and President of Midland Adult School Union, and Vice-President of the National Council of Adult School Unions.

GRAMOPHONE COMPANY, LIMITED, Manufacturers of Gramophones and Records' Hayes, Middlesek, and 21, City Road, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established: 1898. Incorporated: 1900. Directors: E. Trevor Lloyd Williams (Chairman), Alfred Clark (Managing Director), Rt. Hon. Walter H. Long, M.P. Romer Williams, E. De la Rue, S. W. Dixon (Manager, English Branch), Joseph Berliner, Staff: 350 at London House. Factories: Hayes (Middlesex), Hanover, Riga, Ivry (France), Barcelona, Calcutta, Ausrig (Austria). Speciality: "His Master's Voice " Machines and Records. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: (Hayes) Nos. 88, 113, 114 and 115 P. 0. Southall; (London) Nos. 4621 to 4626 London Wall. Telegraphic and Cable Addresses: " Jabberment, Hayes"; "Jabberment, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

GRANDAGE & CO., Merchants, India House, Whitworth Street, Manchester, and Calcutta. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1898 by A. Grandage. Present Principals: A. Grandage, George Grandaga, L. Grandage, and M. S. Hodson. Staff: About 100—fifty in Manchester and fifty in Calcutta. Specialities: White and Dyed Goods and Fancy Prints. Connection: India, China, and the Far East, South America. Telephones: Nos. 6871, 6872, and 6873 (Central), Manchester. Telegraphic Address: " Intrepid, Manchester." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions), A 1, Whitelaw's 401,000,000 Words, Premier, Lieber's, Ross Moss, and Private. Bankers: Beckett & Co. (Bradford), and Union Bank of Manchester, Ltd. Mr. A. Grandage is Vice-Chairman of the Bradford Dyers Association, Ltd.

GRANT (JAMES) & SON, Goldsmiths and Diamond Merchants. Retail, 75, English Street, Carlisle, and 66, King Street, South Shields. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7.30 p.m. Established in 1870 by Alderman James Grant, J.P. (retired) in South Shields. Apprenticed to Mr. Wheatley, Jeweller, Carlisle, afterwards in partnership with Mr. Johnstone (d.), Carlisle. Joined in Carlisle by Norman Grant. Present Principals: Corrie Grant (South Shields), Norman Grant (Carlisle). Purchased the business of the late Mr. Stalker, Jeweller, Castle Street, Carlisle, in 1906, and of Mr. Routledge, 75, English Street, Jeweller, in 1911. Premises: At No. 75, English Street, refitted; new and extensive building opened. Fittings by Pollard. Staff: About twenty. Branches: North Shields, 14, Saville Street; Jarrow-on-Tyne, 63, Ormond() Street. Specialities: Diamonds, Jewellery and Silver. Connection: At Home and abroad. Telephones: No. 284 Carlisle; No. 77 South Shields. Mr. James is a Justice of the Peace, Alderman and formerly Mayor of South Shields,

GRANT (JOHN A.) & CO., Seafield Engineering Works, Cardonald, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1895 by John A. Grant, Alexander D. Grant, James P. Grant and William Grant, the present principals. Premises: Covering two acres. Equipped with modern appliances. Staff: 100. Specialities: Spring Safety Valves for the Admiralty, War Office, Lloyds, Board of Trade and all Foreign Surveys. Patents: In connection with Safety Valves. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 110 and 402 Govan. Telegraphic Address: " Grant, Crookston." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Commercial Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

GRANT (JOHN) & SONS, Ltd., Millers, Craig Mills; and Registered Office: 23, High Street, Dundee. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to. 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1813. Incorpor ated as a Limited Company in 1911. Managing Directors: John Grant (Chair man), James Grant and John Bell Grant. Specialities: Grant's Finest Scotch Oat meals, Grant's Scotch Oatflour and Old . John Rolled Oats, Pot and Pearl Barleys, all packed in tin, wood, or sacks for Home and Export trade. Trade Marks: " Grant's " and a Miller's Pick (both registered). Awards: Medals and Awards (Four Gold Medals), Paris, 1878; Crystal Palace, 1884; London Health Exhibition, 1884; Edinburgh, 1886; Dundee, 1888; Kimberley, South Africa, 1892; Cape Town, 1904; Elizabethville, Congo Belge, 1913. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty and War Office). Telephone: No. 827 Dundee (two lines). Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Strath, Dundee." Codes; A B C (4th and 5th Editions), and A 1. Bankers: Royal Bank of Scotland.

GRANT, W. H., & CO., Manufacturers of Fancy Woven Goods, Livingstone Mills, Foleshill, Coventry. Hours of Business 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1882. Princirals: William Henry Grant and Joseph Grant. Agencies: London, Luton and Glasgow. Specialities: All kinds of Fancy Woven named Goods, Flag Cap Ribbons, Straw Hat Bands, Club Badges, Silk Cords and Tassels, Cap Lace, Coat and Mantle Labels, &c., Dress Bands, Boot Top Bands, &c., Medal Ribbons, Silk Woven Portraits, Mohair and Silk Oak-leaf Lace, &c. Awards: Twenty-nine (Highest), Two Grand Prix Franco-British Exhibition. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3x Coventry. Telegraphic Address: " Grants, Foleshill, Coventry."

GRANT (WILLIAM) & SONS, Ltd., Scotch Whisky Distillers, Blenders and Exporters, The Glenfiddich Distillery, Dufftown, Banffshire, Scotland, and 16, Carlton Place, Glasgow. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established by Major William Grant (father of the present Managing Director), 1886. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1903. Directors: Major William Grant (Chairman), John Grant (Managing Director), Charles Gordon; (Secretary) Dr. George Cowie Grant. Premises: Distilleries, The Glenfiddich Distillery and The Balvenie Glenlivet Distillery, Dufftown; Bonded Warehouses, 25, Dunlop Street, Glasgow. Branch: Exchanges Buildings, Blackburn. Specialities: Pure Malt Highland Scotch Whisky, Special Brands of High-class Whiskies, " Best Procurable " Liqueur and " Stand Fast." Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 165 Gorbals; No. 3624 Central, Glasgow. Telegraphic Addresses: " Fiddich, Glasgow "; " Grants, Duff town." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Royal Bank of Scotland, Ltd. (Glasgow), North of Scotland and Town and County Bank, Ltd. (Dufftown).

" GRAPHIC " (THE).--Scc BAINES, H. R., & COMPANY, Ltd.

GRAUTOFF, B. A., & CO., General Merchants, 6, Billiter Street; Warehouse, 3, Jewry Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 2 p.m. Established in 1827 by Bernhard Augustus Grautoff; succeeded by Henry Grautoff (son). Present Principals: Franz Noltingk (nephew), Ludwig Bernhard Noltingk (son of F. Noltingk). In 1913 took over the business of John Williams & Co., Iron, Steel, and General Merchants. Agencies: In Germany, Holland, South Africa, New Zealand, Finland, Canada. Business: General Export, Import, and Commission Trade to the Continent, Colonies, and Near and Far East. Connection: Unit©d Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 2911 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Grautoff, Fen, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition); Ross-Moss; Western Union. Bankers: Parr's Bank, Ltd. (Lombard Street).

GRAVES (HENRY) & CO., LIMITED, Fine Art Publishers and Picture Dealers, 6, Pall Mall, London, S,W. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1752 by Alderman Boydell; joined in partnership by Josiah Boydell (brother), who became sole principal in 1804. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1896. Business: Publishers and Printsellers. Noted for first-class hand-made Engravings; only these brought out. Connection: World-wide. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to His late Majesty King Edward, H.M. Queen Alexandra, and T.M. the King and Queen. Telephone: No. 3690 Gerrard. Telegraphic Address: " Ascendency," London.

GRAY, D. J. T., & CO., Manufacturers of Jute and Linen Goods, &c., Dundee. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1885 by D. J. Thomson Gray. Continued in 1901 by D. M. Barrie and James Miller as D. J. T. Gray & Co. Present Principal: James Miller. Premises: Large works. Staff: 500. Specialities: Jute and Linen Goods, Bags and Sacks, Burlaps, Paddings, Paper-lined and Cottonlined Bags, and Yarns, Ropes and Twines. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 1228 Dundee. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Gray, Dundee." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Edition), Private. Bankers: British Linen Bank (Dundee). Mr. Thomson Gray was a County Councillor and held various other offices. He was the Editor and owner of a Dog and Poultry Paper. Author of books on Dogs and Poultry, and " Wild Life in Strathearn." He was also a Breeder of Cattle and Sheep; Black Cattle, and Leicestershire and Shropshire Sheep. Pastimes: Cricket, Billiards, Golf.

GRAY (JAMES) & SON (incorporating Smiths & Co.), Makers of Strong Room Doors, Kitchen Ranges, &c., 89, George Street, Edinburgh. Established in 1818 by James Gray (d.); succeeded by Alexander Gray (son) (d); succeeded by Robert Alexander Douglas (d). Present Principals: Robert E. and W. A. Douglas (sons). Specialities: Strong Room Doors for Banks, Law Offices, &c.; Kitchen Ranges and Cooking Apparatus; Fine Fireplace Suites. Carry out Installations of Electric Light and Power, Electric Fittings, &c. Are the Inventors of an Improved Fire to Kitchen Ranges. Connection: United Kingdom. Contractors to H.M. Government (Office of Works, Edinburgh). Royal Warrant: Special Appointment Ironmongers to H.M. the King. Held an appointment as Stove and Grate Makers to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephone: No. 7486 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Grates, Edinburgh."

GRAY (W. ARIEL) & CO., Cigar, Cigarette and Tobacco Merchants, Importers and Manufacturers, B3, Exchange Buildings, Rumford Street, and 35-37, Everton Road, Liverpool. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. (Exchange Buildings); 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. (Evertor) Road). Established in 1855 by ,T. T. Sparke. Continued by F. J. Meikleham and J. Wansey; W. Ariel Gray and Thomas C. Dolan. Present Proprietor: Thomas C. Dolan. Premises: At Everton Road are also used for the wholesale distribution to Clubs, Hotels, Shopkeepers, &c., of all goods connected with the tobacco trade, including Fancies of most Manufacturers. Staff: Thirty to forty. Specialities: High-class Havana Cigars; and Manufacturers of Cigarettes for Ships' Stores. Particular attention paid to Passenger Steamship Companies' requirements (Publicity Department), specialising for se-s, eral of the largest Passenger S.S. Co.s in the world. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 6993 Central; No. 297 Anfield, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Ariel, Liverpool." Bankers: National Provincial. Bank of England, Ltd.

GRAY, W. A., & SONS, Stoneware Manufacturers, Midlothian Potteries, Portobello, near Edinburgh. Branch Pottery: Newbigging, Musselburgh, N.B. London Agent and Show ROOMS: 15, Charterhouse Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1858 by Dr. William A. Gray, continued by William Affleck Gray, M.D. (d.), Alexander Gray, J.P. (d.), and William Gray (sons). Present Principal: William Gray. One of the oldest Potteries in the East of Scotland (about 130 years old). Staff: Office, Six; Works about 100. Specialities: Stoneware Jam Jars, Bottles, Spirit Jars, and White (Patent) Jam Jars, thoroughly vitrified and non-crazing by firing only once in the kilns. Also Jars, Bottles for Chemists, etc., Match Stands with Crests, and Names Printed in Fast Colours, Foot Warmers, etc. Patent: White Jam Pots manufactured by the one-firing process, which constitutes the patent. Award: Gold Medal, Edinburgh, 1886. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 159, Portobello. Telegraphic Address: " Gray, Portobello." Bankers: National Bank of Scotland, Ltd.

GRAY (WILLIAM C.) & SONS, Carpet Manufacturers, Newton Carpet Works, Ayr. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1876 by William C. Gray. Present Principals: William C. Gray, Charles S. Gray and Andrew J. Gray. Premises: Very extensive, covering seven acres. Equipped with all modern appliances. Staff: 800. Branches: London, 5, Giltspur Street, E.C.; Manchester, 38, King Street; West Glasgow, 87, Union Street. Speciality: Carpets. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 73 Ayr.

GRAY (WILLIAM) & SON (LEVER BRIDGE MILLS), Ltd., Cotton Spinners, Manufacturers and Shippers, Lever Bridge Mills, Darcy Lever, near Bolton. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1796 by William Gray. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Directors: George Fredk. Smith, Frank Hindley Smith. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Equipped with modern appliances, contain 22,000 spindles, and 1,100 looms. Specialities: Spinning of Fine Yarns and Manufacture of Fine Goods of all sorts; also of Lenos, Fancy-stripes, Handkerchiefs, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 710 (two lines) Bolton. Telegraphic Address: " Cambric, Bolton." Bankers: Williams Deacon's Bank, Ltd. (Bolton).

GREAT GRIMSBY COAL, SALT, & TANNING CO., Ltd. (THE). Head Offices: Grimsby Docks. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1873 by a number of fishing smack owners. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1873, re-constructed in 1884 with increased powers. Directors: Harrison Mudd (Chairman), Henry Morris, George Jeffs, T. W. Baskcomb, George E. J. Moody, Wm. S. Letten, R. W. Roberts, W. Grant, W. W. Butt, Henry Kelly. General Manager: Chas. Fredk. Carter. Secretary: Hubert Ravenhill. Claim to be the largest firm in connection with the fishing trade in the world. Branches: Aberdeen, Fleetwood, Milford Haven, Brixham, and Sheringham. Agencies: Nantes, Reykjavik, Lisbon, Christiania and Japan. Business: Supply everything connected with the Steam Trawling and Lining business, and the fitting out of Fishing Vessels. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty) and to the Government of the United States and New South Wales. Also to many Foreign Fisheries, On the Admiralty List. Tele phones: No. 1 (National), Grimsby No. 663 (National), Aberdeen; No. 103 (National), Fleetwood; No. 32 Milford Haven. Telegraphic Addresses: " Carter, Grimsby "; " Fisheries," Aberdeen, Fleetwood, Milford Haven, and Brixham. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

GREAT GRIMSBY ICE CO., Ltd. (THE), Ice Manufacturers, Fish Docks, Grimsby. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1864. _Incorporated as a Limited Company. Chairman: H. Mudd. Secretary: W. Readman. Premises: Extensive Ice Factory, cost £180,000. Staff: 120. Business: Ice Manufacturers and Importers. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Telephone: No. 9 Grimsby. Telegraphic Address: " Hawke, Grimsby." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

GREAT INTERNATIONAL PLATE GLASS INSURANCE AND CLEANING CO., Ltd. (THE), Fox Court, Holborn, London, E.C. Established in 1888 by R. Staehr and Max Kuehn. Incorporated in April, 1898, as a Limited Company, with the above as Directors; E. Boam, General Manager. Speciality: Effecting Insurances on Plate Glass. Also Window Cleaning; about 40,000 contracts for Window Cleaning running at present time. The Company's business is steadily increasing. Their premises are chiefly in Fox Court, but they have also the adjoining premises, White Hart Yard; the floor space covers about a quarter of an acre. A permanent staff of 600 assistants is employed in London. Connection: All over London and the suburbs, also in Germany, Russia, Austria, and the United States of America. Telephone: No. 986 Holborn. Telegraphic Address: " Pieces, Holb., London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

GREATREX, C., & SON, Ltd., Saddlery and Harness Manufacturers, Coach Goods Manufacturers, General Saddlery and Coach Ironmongers, 37 and 38, Lower Forster Street, Walsall, Staffs. Stocks held at 288, Lonsdale Street, Melbourne. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1755 by Charles Greatrex. Continued by father to son for three generations. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1907. Chairman: A. D. Cozens, J.P. Claim that they are considered to have the oldest direct representation in Australia. Agencies: Young & Collins, Ltd., Wanganui (New Zealand); F. W. litilse a co,, Ltd., East London, Cape Colony. Specialities: Saddlery, Harness, Coach and Motor Accessories. Connection: Foreign and Colonial. Telephone: No. 220 Walsall. Telegraphic Address: " Rex, Walsall." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

GREAVES, BULL & LAKIN, LIMITED, Lime. and Cement Manufacturers. Head Ofwe Harbury, Leamington. Birmingham Office: Worcester Wharf. London Office: Great Central Railway Goods Depot, Marylebone, N.W. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1825 by Richard Greaves (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: Sir Michael Lakin, Bart., J.P., E. L. Lakin (senior), J.P., Richard Lakin, J.P., H. G. Lakin, J.P., E. L. Lakin (junior). Specialities: " Greaves' " Portland Cement, Blue Lias Lime and Selenitic Plaster. Telephones: No. 7 Southam; No. 274 Midland, Birmingham; No. 138 Paddington, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Greaves, Harbury "; " Greaves, Birmingham "; " Lias, London." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Warwick).

GREEFF, R. W., & CO., Chemical Merchants, Thames House, Queen Street Place, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1881. Present Principal: R. W. Greeff. Premises: Offices on the first floor. Staff: Sixty. Branch: 36, Spring Gardens, Manchester. Business: Wholesale Merchants and Agents in Chemical and Pharmaceutical Products. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial, and America. Telephones: No. 8600 City (four lines), London; No. 5707 City, Manchester. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Greeff," London and Manchester. Codes: A B C, A 1, Western Union, Lieber's. Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd. Mr. Greeff is a Director of the Saccharin Corporation, Ltd, and a member of the Directors' Institute, etc. Clubs: Royal Automobile, Gresham, German Athenaeum.

GREEN (ALBERT), Ltd., Wire Manufacturers, New Normanton Mills, Derby; Agard Street Mills, Derby; North End Mills, Wirksworth and London. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1877 by Joseph Green. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Managing Director: Albert Green. Staff: 500. Speciality: Millinery Wires. Telephone: No. 553 Derby. Registered Telegraphic Address: " Hatwires, Derby." Bankers: Crompton & Evans Union Bank, Ltd. (Midland Road, Derby).

GREEN BROTHERS, Rope, Twine, Sacks, Trug Baskets, Mat and Matting Manufacturers, Hailsham. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 2 p.m. Established in 1830 by George Green (d.). Continued by (1) Mrs. Lucy Green, widow (d. 1876); (2) James Green, Frederick William Green (d. 1905), and Charles Henry Green (retired 1912). Present Principals: James Green and his two sons, James Robert Gr-cn and Arthur William Green. Staff: About Eighty. Specialities: Ropes, Twines, Sacks, Mats and Matting and Trugs. Connection: United Kingdom, Home Counties chiefly. Telephone: No. 17 Hailsham. Telegraphic Address: " Green, Hailsham." Bankers s Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Hailsham).

GREEN & CADBURY, Ltd., Manufacturing Silversmiths, and Makers of General Fancy Goods, Great Hampton Street Works, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1858 by Edwin Green, joined by Joel Cadbury in 1861 as Green & Cadbury. S. Wall Richards joined in 1874 (retired 1882). Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1899. Directors; Joel Cadbury (Chairman), Fred W. Lambert, J. Hotham Cadbury. The Linen Button portion of the business was amalgamated with Buttons, Ltd., in 1908. Premises: Originally in Summer Row. Acquired freehold ground and erected the present works in 1873. Staff: About 300. Specialities: Silver and Electro Plated Goods, Photo Frames of various kinds, Studs, Links, &c. Telephone: No. 2223 Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Cadmus, Birmingham." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Great Hampton Street, Birmingham).

GREEN & CO., Champagne Shippers, Epernay, France. London Ogice: 16, Mark Lane, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1876 by Edward Green, the present principal. Claimed to be the only English firm making Champagne in the Champagne district and resident there. Speciality: Round Quarter Bottles of Champagne. Is the only firm allowed to ship Champagne in round Quarters, Brand Sillery, Champagne Epernay. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment to H.R.H. the Duke of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha. Telephone: No. 6570 Central. Telegraphic Addresses: " Conciator, London "; " Green, Epernay." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

GREEN, E., & SON, Ltd., Fuel Economiser Makers, Wakefield, Yorkshire. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1821 by Edward Green. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company. Directors: Sir Edward Green, Bart., Francis W. Green, and Gilbert E. Tennant. Is the oldest firm in the trade. Premises: Works cover about twenty acres. Stall: 1,000. Branches: Manchester, London, Glasgow, Birmingham, Cologne, Lille, Brussels, Paris, &c. Business: Fuel Economisers for Steam Boilers to utilise Waste Heat in Flue Gases, Boiler Feed Pumps and small Horizontal Steam Engines, Air Heaters, &c. Patents: The Economiser invented by the father of the present Sir Edward Green, Bart.; also numerous improvements from time to time. Awards: Twenty-seven highest. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 43 Wakefield; No. 1375 Manchester. Telegraphic Address: "Economiser, Wakefield." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions ), A 1, Engineering, Lieber's, and Western Union.

GREEN, E. UNSWORTH, & CO., Wine and Spirit Shippers, 16, Mark Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1824 by E. Unsworth Green; succeeded by E. Green. Present Principal: E. Unsworth Green. Premises: Trinity Duty-paid Vaults, Savage Gardens, E.C. Business: Wholesale Wine and Spirit Shippers, Agents, Brokers, and Exporters, Champagne House, Green & Co., Epernay, established 1876. Specialities: Champagnes; Hocks and Moselles, Burgundies, Clarets, Sauternes, Sherries, Madeira Ports, Scotch and Irish Whiskies, Brandies, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 6570 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Conciator, London." Code: A B C. Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

GREEN, G. F., & CO., Importers of Wood-pulp Boards, &c., Suffolk House, 5, Laurence Pountney Hill, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1879 by George Francis Green. Business formerly carried on in partnership with brother, W. A. Green (1880 to 1899, retired). Present Principal: George Francis Green. Specialities: Importers of Wood-pulp Boards, &c. Awards: Silver Medal, International Forestry Exhibition, Edinburgh, 1884; Bronze Medal, International Inventions Exhibition, London, 1885. Connection: United Kingdom chiefly, and Foreign. Telephone: No. 981 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Woodpulp, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd. (Prescott's Office).

GREEN, G. and H., Wharfingers and Transporters. City Office: 19, Swan Street, Minories, London, E.C. Hours of Business Warehouses, March to November, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; November to March, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Office, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1856 by Timothy & Green. Present Principals: Alfred William Saint and Wilfred Dulcken. Timothy & Green were the first Wharfingers to land Indian Jute and Grain in London. Premises: Grice's Wharf, Rotherhithe Street; Timothy's Wharf, Millwall; Bombay Wharf, Rotherhithe; Coventry Wharf, Shad Thames; Upper and Lower Cochin Wharves, Pauls Wharf, Upper Thames Street. Showrooms: Mansel Street, E. Specialities: Indian Produce, Spices, Gums, Grain, &c., Hemps and all Fibres. Connection: World-wide. Telephone No. 117 Avenue, London (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Tymotheus, London." Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

GREEN, J. H. & F. W., Timber Merchants and Importers, and Joinery Manufacturers, Whittington, Chesterfield. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5 p.m.. Office, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 12 noon. Established in 1830 by William Green, continued by John Green. Present Principals: John Henry Green, J.P. and F. W. Green (grandsons). Premises: Home Mill and Office cover two and a half acres, with siding attached. Equipped with a permanent Sawing Plant at Whittington for Home Grown Timber and Moulding and Joinery Machinery Plant for the Manufacture of Joinery, also Four Portable Mills constantly working in the woods in different parts of the country. Staff: 150 to 200. Business: Timber Merchants and Importers, also Joinery Manufacturers. Connection: United Kingdom (extensive), Importers of Timber from Archangel, Riga, and Kotka. Telephone: No. 27, Chesterfield. Telegraphic Address: " Green Brothers, Whittington Moor." Code Wood. Bankers: Sheffield Banking Co., Ltd. (Chesterfield). Mr. J. H. Green is Chairman of the Whittington and Newbold Urban District Council and is a Justice of the Peace for the County of Derby, Chairman of the Chesterfield Agricultural Society and Member of the Whittington Endowed School Trust. Mr. J. H. Green is a member of the Scarsdale Lodge of Freemasons. Mr. F. W. Green is a member of the Cavendish Lodge of Freemasons.

GREEN (JOSEPH) & NEPHEW, Ltd., Saw Mill, Automobile, Electrical, and General Engineers, Globe Iron Works, Hunslet, and City Depot and Garage at Wade Lane, Leeds. Hours of Business: Office, 8.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1846. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company. Directors: Stuart A. Hirst (Chairman), James Gurnie Hirst (Managing Director), and Norman Hirst. Premises originally started in Water Lane. Agencies in all the principal towns of the British Isles. Special sole representatives in South America, Australia, New Zealand, France, &c. Specialities: Hand and Power Woodworking Machinery of every description; Textile Comb-making Plant for Wool, Silk, Cotton, Flax, Jute, &c. Drilling and Milling Machines for special purposes. Motor Car Parts, and Repairs. Patents: Mortising Machines, Saw Benches, Cramps, Slate-holing Machines, &c., and others in Auto matic Multiple Head Drilling Machines for the Company's Textile Engineers' Tools. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: Nos. 578 and 1659 Leeds. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Green Nephew, Leeds." BankerR: Beckett. & Co. (Leeds).

GREEN (ROBERT) & CO. (OLDBURY), Ltd., Galvanizers and Bolt and Nut Manufacturers, Oldbury. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established by Robert Green in 1902. Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1911 for family reasons. Directors: Robert Green (Chairman), and James Green. Secretary: A. M. Green. Premises: Works cover one acre fully equipped. Staff: 100. Specialities: Galvanized Roofing Fittings, Galvanized by Electricity, Makers of Bolts and Nuts by American process. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 137 Oldbury. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Screws, Oldbury." Codes: A B C (5th Edition) and Private. Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England' and Wales), Ltd. Mr. Robert Green is a member of the Oldbury Council and Educational Authority.

GREEN & SON, Auctioneers, Surveyors, Land and Estate Agents, 17, St. Swithin's Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.15 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.15 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. Established in 1822. Business: Auctioneers, Sur veyors; Estate Agency. Connection: United Kingdom, Colonial, American. Telephone: No. 3950 Central.

GREEN (THOMAS) & SON, LIMITED, Lawn Mower Manufacturers, Steam Road Roller and Locomotive Manufacturers, Smithfield Iron Works, North Street, Leeds; and New Surrey Works, Southwark Street, London, S.E. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1835 by Thomas Green. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1862. Directors: Wm. Penrose-Green (Chairman); W. A. Owston (Director); George W. Blackburn and W. H. Cloake (Managing Directors). Secretary: E. Jeavons. Specialities: Lawn Mowers, Garden Rollers, Steam Tractors, Steam Road Rollers, Motor Rollers, Motor Street Sweeping Machines, and Locomotives. Royal Warrant: Special Appointment Horticultural Engineers to H.M. the King. Telephones: No. 3580 Leeds; No. 2022 Hop (London). Telegraphic Addresses: " Smithfield, Leeds "; " Surrey Works, London." Codes: A B C (5th Edition); Engineering.

GREEN, WILLIAM N., Corn and S.-x,d Merchant and Maltster and Shipping Agent, Ehnswell and Sudbury, Suffolk. London Office: New Corn Exchange, Mark Lane, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1854 by Thomas J. Green. Present Principal: William N. Green. Business: Corn and Seed Merchant and. Maltster and Shipping Agent. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Addresses: " Green, Elmswell "; " Green, New Corn Exchange, London." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

GREEN (WILLIAM) & SONS, Publishers, 2 and 4, St. Giles Street, Edinburgh. London Office: 23, Fleet Street, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1874 by William Green (deceased). Present Principal: Charles E. Green, F.R.S.E. (eldest son of founder). Incorporated the oldest publishing firm in Scotland in 1906—that of Bell & Bradfute (Established in 1734). Premises: Printing Department at 10 to 13, Johnstone Terrace, Edinburgh. Stall: About 100. Specialities: Professional Literature of all kinds, chiefly Medical and Legal Works. Telephone: No. 766 Edinburgh. Telegraphic Addresses: " Viridis, Edinburgh "; " Viridomar, London."

GREEN, W., SON & WAITE, Manufacturers of Dandy Rolls, &c., 134, Albany Road, London, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established over 200 years. Partnership Successions: (1) Brewer; (2) Brewer & Co.; (3) W. Green; (4) W. Green & Son; (5) W. Green, Son & Waite. Present Principals: The Misses Green, F. W. Green, J. Waite. Business: Suppliers of Moulds and Dandy Rolls for producing watermarks in paper to the Bank of England, Home and Foreign Governments, and all principal European Paper Mills. Makers of Metal Machine Wires, &c. Awards: At all Exhibitions entered. Connection: United Kingdom, Europe, India, Japan, America, Canada, &c. Contractors to H.M. Government, Foreign Governments, and to the principal European Paper Mills. Telephone: No. 13768 Central, London. Telegraphic Address: " Deckle, London." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

GREENER & CO., Manufacturers of Pressed Table Glass, &c., Millfield, Sunderland. London Office and Showrooms: 12, Thavies Inn, Holborn, E.C. Staff: About 300. Specialities: Flint and Coloured Glass Ware; Railway Lenses, Ship and Pavement Lights. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 903 Sunder-land; No. 5329 Holborn, London. Telegraphic Address: " Greener, Sunderland."

GREENER & WIGZELL, Manufactured Ostrich and Fancy Feather Merchants, 75, Golden Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. Established in 1886 by Messrs. Greener and Wigzell. Specialities: Every description of Ostrich Feathers, Mounts, Willows, Pleureuses, Tips, Amazons, Aigrettes, Ospreys, Paradise, Boas, Ruffles, Fancy Wings, &c., in all qualities for all markets. Connections: World-wide. Telephone: No. 1338 Central. Telegraphic Address: "Plumelike, London." Codes: Lieber's; A B C (5th edition). Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

GREENER, W. W., Gun Maker, Rifle Maker, Cartridge Maker, Engineer, Contractor for War Material, St. Mary's Square, Birmingham. Hours of Business 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1829 in Newcastle by W. Greener, C.E.; removed to Birmingham in 1844. Works cover about 4,000 square yards, with shooting range. Branches: 68, Haymarket, London; 19, Paragon Street, Hull. Specialities: Highclass Guns, Medium Quality Guns, Sporting Rifles, Military Rifles, Rifle Club Rifles. Connection: World-wide. Telephones: No. 4232 Birmingham; No. 11019 Central, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Greener, Birmingham "; "Ejector, London."

GREENFIELD MILL COMPANY (DARWEN), Ltd., Cotton Manufacturers, Greenfield and Waterfield Mills, Spring Vale, Darwen, Lancs; and 64, 11,,uritain Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1867 by Thomas Davies (d. 1892) and Ernest M. Davies and Thomas P. Davies (sons). Continued by (1) Ernest M. Davies (retired 1908) and Thomas P. Davies; (2) Thomas P. Davies and J. Percival Davies and W. R. Davies (sons), 1908. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1913. Directors: Thomas P. Davies (Chairman), J. Percival Davies and W. Russell Davies. Premises: Extensive well appointed mills at Greenfield and Waterfield Mills, built by the Company and kept up to present requirements. Containing 1808 Looms. Stall: 750. Specialities: India and China Shirtings; Mads, Printers and Jacconettes. Connection: United Kingdom, India, China, Syria, South America, &c. Telephones: No. 28 Darwen; No. 3098 (Central) Manchester; Mr. W. R. Davies, No. 348 Darwen. Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd. Mr. Thos. P. Davies has been Mayor of Darwen. He is a member of the Town Council, and a Director of the Blackburn and District Chamber of Commerce.

GREENHALGH, JOHN, LIMITED, Fruit Preservers, and Manufacturers of Candied Peels, Custard and Jelly Powders, &c., Hirst Street, Reddish, Stockport. Hours of Business: Works, 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Offices, 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1857 by John Greenhalgh and Mrs. Greenhalgh (father and mother of present Managing Director). John Greenhalgh died in 1886. Business carried on by Executors until 1892. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in the same year *(members of family only). Managing Director: John Greenhalgh (son of founder). Premises: First established at Burnley. Removed to Heaton Norris in 1885 and in 1890 to present works. Very extensive factory covering, with land, two and a half acres. Buildings alone occupy one and a half acres. Fully equipped with all modern improvements. Staff: Fifty to 200, according to season. Specialities: Highclass Whole Fruit Preserves, Seville Orange Marmalade, Candied Peels (Lemon, Orange, and Citron), Table Jellies, Custard and other Powders. Connection: United Kingdom chiefly. Small Foreign and Colonial trade. Telephone: No. 34 Stockport. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Greenhalgh, Preserver, Reddish." Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd. (Stockport); Union Bank of Manchester, Ltd. (Reddish).

GREENHALGH (JOHN) & SONS, Ltd., Willow Makers, Vulcan Iron Works, Oldham. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established in 1847 by John Greenhalgh. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Life Directors: Richard Greenhalgh and Josiah Greenhalgh. Staff: Forty. Speciality: Willows for opening and cleaning, Cotton, Fly, Strips, Scutcher Droppings, Flocks, Camel Hair, Persian Wool, Wool for Carpets and Hat Manufacturing, &c. Patents: Several. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 195 Oldham. Telegraphic Address: " Greenhalgh, Sons, Oldham." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd.

GREENHALGH & SHAW, LIMITED, Cotton Spinners and Doublers, Halliwell Mills, Bolton. Established in 1852 by Nathaniel Greenhalgh and William Shaw. Partnership Successions: T. W. Shaw, J. H. Shaw, and C. H. Shaw, from 1877 to 1891. Incorporated as a Limited Company, Feb. 16th, 1892; Capital, £150,000; Directors, T. W. Shaw, C. H. Shaw, and William Grierson. Reconstituted, Dec. 30th, 1896. Present Directors: T. W. Shaw (Chairman), C. H. Shaw, William Grierson, and Colin R. Shaw. Thos. Dutton, Secretary. Branch: Ancoats, Manchester. Stag: From 1,400 to 1,500 workpeople. Specialities: Special and Extra Qualities of Bolton Yarns, of which the Company are large producers in single, twofold, cords, crochets, and embroideries. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 77 Nat. (two lines). Telegraphic Address: " Greenhaws, Bolton." Codes: Private and A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Manchester and County Bank, Ltd.

GREENLEES BROTHERS, Highland Pure Malt Pot Still Whisky Distillers, 29 and 31, Commercial Street, Aldgate, London, E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1870 by James Greenlees, Samuel Greenlees, Charles Colvill Greenlees, and Samuel Greenlees (senior). In 1880 two last named retired under the terms of the first partnership deed, and in 1908 James Greenlees retired. Present Principal: Samuel Greenlees, J.P. Pioneers of high-class Scotch Whisky in London and South of England, and generally all over the world. Started business contemporaneously with the marriage of the Marquis of Lorne, the distilleries being on estate of Duke of Argyll in Scotland. Premises: Two large warehouses with ten floors in London as Head Offices and Stores. Bonded Warehouse in Glasgow, covering an acre and a quarter of ground. Three distilleries in Campbeltown, Argyleshire. Specialities: Highest grade Scotch Whisky. Are sole proprietors of the celebrated " Lorne," " Claymore," " G. B. Special," " Grand Old Parr," " King Edward VII." Scotch Whiskies, and many brands of pure Malt Whisky. The trade-marks of the firm are known all over the world. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Agencies throughout the world. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty). Telephones: No. 8409 P.O. Central; No. 2122 Avenue. Telegraphic Address: " Greenlees, Ald, London." Codes: A B C (4th and 5th Editions); A 1; Lieber's, and Western Union.

GREENSLADE & CO., Lithographers and Printers, Factory Bridge, Reading, with which is incorporated the letterpress printing business of Joseph Hawkes, Station Hill, Reading. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established over forty years since by H. E. Greenslade. Purchased by Thomas J. Peacock in 1897. Joined by R. Lee (retired 1910) and Joseph Hawkes (retired 1909). Present Principal: Thomas J. Peacock. Premises: Situate on the banks of the Kennet, opposite the worldfamed biscuit factory of Messrs. Huntley & Palmers, and at Station Hill, adjoining the Great Western Railway. Specialities: Colour Printing, Labels and Wrappers for Food Stuffs. Copyright: Record and Syllabus Book and Conduct Sheet used largely throughout England in Elementary Schools. Connection: United Kingdom, India, South Africa, and South America. Telephones: Nos. 39 and 40 Reading. Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd. (Reading).

GREENSLADE, E. A., & W., Brush, &c. Manufacturers, Thomas Street, Bristol. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1726 by R. Rutter. Continued 1( 1) by W. Greenslade; (2) E. A. & W. Greenslade. Present Principal: W. A. Greenslade, J.P. Claim to be the largest brush manufacturers in the Kingdom. Premises: Cover three acres. Staff: 350. Specialities: Brushes, Bellows and Planes. 2E Awards: London, 1851; Melbourne, Paris. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 754 Bristol. Telegraphic Address: " Greenslade, Bristol."

GREENSLADE & WILLIAMS, Coal Exporters and Contractors, 17 and 18, Dowlais Chambers, Cardiff. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established by Benjamin Robert Greenslade and John Lewis Williams, the present principals. Speciality: Coal Contracting. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Telephone: No. 338 Cardiff. Telegraphic Address: " Gloda, Cardiff." Codes: A B C and Scott's. Bankers: Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd.

GREENWAY BROTHERS, LIMITED, Makers of Galvanised, Plain and Corrugated Sheets, Ridging and Accessories, Iron Strip and Bar Iron, Liverpool Iron and Steel Works, Widnes, Lancashire. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1883 by James Luther Greenway, J.P., and Henry Havelock Greenway. Joined in 1888 by Dr. Alfred Griffiths Greenway (d. 1907) and William K. Greenway (d. 1906). Incorporated as a private Limited Company in 1905. Managing Directors: James Luther Greenway, J.P. (Chairman), Henry Havelock Greenway (Secretary). Premises: Very extensive, fully equipped with all the latest improvements. Staff: Between 800 and 1,000. Branches: Britain Iron and Steel Works, Bilston, Staffs; formerly owned by the extensivp firm of Samuel Grencutt & Sons. London Office, 49, Newgate Street, E.C.; Glasgow Office, 7, Royal Bank Place; Liverpool Office, 10, Dale Street; Birmingham Office, 3, New Street. Business: Manufacture of Galvanised, Plain and Corrugated Sheets, Ridging and Accessories, Iron Strip and Bar Iron. Connection: World-wide. Trade-marks: " The Great Auk," " Star and Crescent," " Rhododendron Flower." Telephones: No. 51 Widnes; No. 6 Bilston. Telegraphic Addresses " Greenway Brothers," Widnes and Bilston Metallic, London."

GREENWOOD & BATLEY, LIMITED, Engineers, Albion Works, Leeds. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1856 by Thomas Greenwood and John Batley. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1888. Directors: Major-General Edward Micklem (Chairman), Henry Greenwood, Colonel Ralph Vivian, A. G. Hopper, Sidney T. Batley, T. Greenwood. Premises: Cover eleven acres, with shop area of 50,000 square yards, fully equipped. Ammunition Works, Abbey Wood, Kent;* London Office, 16, Great George Street, S.W. Staff: From 1,500 to 2,000 workpeople. Specialities: Makers of Special and General Machinery for Arsenals, Mints, Bolt Factories, Oil Mills, Silk Mills; Electrical Machinery, Steam Turbines, Centrifugal Pumps, Torpedoes, Cartridges, &c. Patents: Numerous. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 270 Leeds; No. 4668 Victoria (London). Telegraphic Addresses: " Greenwood, Leeds "; Outflank, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

GREENWOOD (JAMES) & SON, Ltd., Blankets and Woollen Goods Manufacturers, Holme Mills, Sowerby Bridge, Yorkshire. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 6 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1860 by James Greenwood. Succeeded by Joseph Greenwood (son). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1891. Directors: G. H. Wood (Chairman), Eli Whiteley, Ald. J. F. Clay. Premises: Extensive and well-fitted. Staff: 150. Branch: 61, Gresham Street, London, E.C. (T. Woodgate). Business: Blankets and Woollen Goods Manufacturers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 545 Halifax. Bankers West Yorkshire Bank, Ltd.

GREENWOOD, PAIGE & COMPANY, LIMITED, Jam Manufacturers, Peel Preservers, Fruit Bottlers, &c., 193 to 199, Tiverton Road, Bournbrook, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1899 by R. W. Greenwood. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1906. Directors: R. W. Greenwood (Managing Director), Thomas Stanley (Chairman), J. 0. C. Paige, W. Harvey, H. Hopkins. Specialities: High-class Jams, Marmalades, Peels, Bottled Fruits, Mincemeat, Lemon Curd, and Table Jellies. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 24 Selly Oak. Telegraphic Address: " Greenwood, Bournbrook, Birmingham." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Parade, Birmingham).

GREG (ROBERT) & CO., Cotton Manufacturers, Quarry Bank Mill, Styall, Cheshire. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5 30 p.m. Established in 1784 by Samuel Greg, of Manchester and Belfast. Continued by (1) Robert Hyde Greg; (2) Edward Hyde Greg; (3) Alexander Greg. Present Principal: Alexander Greg. Premises: Originally a watermill, still chiefly driven by water power, situated on the River Bollin, twelve miles south of Manchester. Mill contains 500 looms, of which 126 are automatic. Staff: Workshop, 170. Business: Cotton Manufacturers. Connection: Home and Foreign trade. Telephone: No. 12 Wilmslow, Manchester area. Bankers: Union Bank of Manchester, Ltd. Major Alexander Greg is County Councillor for Alderley Edge (Cheshire), Rural District Councillor and Justice of the Peace for the County of Chester, and an officer in the South. Lancashire Regt. (Special Reserve Battalion).

GREGG & CO., Ltd., Leather and Boot Factors, 2, Hockley, Nottingham, with Branch at Post Office Arcade, Kettering, also Shoe and Slipper Manufacturers, Imperial Works, Southall Street, Manchester. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Mr. George Gregg took over the business in Nottingham in 1858, taking his two sons later into partnership, George Arthur Gregg and Oliver Gregg. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1897. Directors: George Gregg, Oliver Gregg, Arthur Carnill. Specialities: Nottingham —Principal English Tannages in butts, bends, shoulders, bellies; Dressed leathers, glace kids, box calf, box sides, &c.; large and well selected boot stock. Manchester— Slippers, Glace Ward and. Canvas Shoes. Connection: United Kingdom and Colonial. Bankers: Nottingham and Notts Bank, Ltd.; Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd.

GREGORY & SONS, Straw Goods Importers, &c., 8 and 9, New Zealand Avenue, Barbican, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about three generations ago in 1800 as Welch, Gregory & Cubitt. Partnership Successions: (1) Gregory & Cubitt; (2) Gregory, Cubitt & Alabaster; (3) Gregory, Cubitt & Sons; (4) Gregory & Sons. Present Principals: John Davies Gregory, Henry Hamond Gregory, Edmund Douglas Gregory. Specialities: Importers of Straw Goods from China, Japan, and Italy. All kinds of Straw Hats, chiefly Panamas. Connection: United Kingdom (Luton and London), France, Germany, Italy, for the sak of Hats and Plaits. Telephone: No. 1336 London Wall. Telegraphic Address: " Gregorio, London." Bankers: London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

GREGSON VENTILATING & ENGINEERING CO., Engineers, Excelsior Works, Great Harwood, Lanes. Hours of Business; 6 a m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1867 by Thomas Gregson. Present Principals Thomas Gregson and John Gregson. Staff: Eighty. Specialities: Textile Mill, Ventilation Dust Collecting, Heating and Drying. Patents: Dust Collecting Appliances. Telephone: No. 139 Great Harwood. Telegraphic Address: " Gregsons Engineers, Great Harwood." Mr. Thomas Gregson has been nine years a Councilor, and is on the Board of Guardians, and has been for six years.

GRESHAM LIFE ASSURANCE SOCIETY, Ltd. Head Office: St. Mildred's House, Poultry, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to. 1 p.m. Established in 1848. Premises: The Head Office of the Society is the large and handsome building known as St. Mildred's House, erected on the site of the historic Church of St. Mildred, Poultry. Branches: Aberdeen, Belfast, Birmingham, Bristol, Cardiff, Cork, Dublin, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle, Norwich, Nottingham, Plymouth, Portsmouth; also on the Continent, and in India, Egypt, South Africa, and Canada. Business: Life Assurance and Annuities. Telephone: No. 2140 City '(six lines). Telegraphic Address: " Mahserg, Stock, London."

GREY, EDWD., & CO., Sugar Brokers, 1, Old Hall Street, Liverpool, and 14, Mincing Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1839 by John Grey, (retired 1876). Joined in 1841 by Edward Grey to 1876, as Jno. & Edwd. Grey. Joined by Edward W. Jones in 1865 and Gilbert W. Fox in 1893, trading as Edwd. Grey & Co. Present Principals: Edward W. Jones, Gilbert W. Fox. Business: Sugar Brokers. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 892 and 782 (National); No. 14 (P.O.), Liverpool; No. 5231 Central, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Grey, Liverpool "; " Osthers, London."

GREY (JOHN), Ltd., Cotton Manufacturers and Merchants, Livingstone and Cameron Mills, Burnley. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1860 by John Grey, father of the present chairman. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: James M. Grey (Chairman), John H. Grey, A. Knoop, G. H. Grey. Premises: Extensive Works covering four acres equipped with up-to-date appliances. Staff: Over 900. Branch: 22A, Princess Street, Manchester. .Specialities: Prin hers, Twills, Jeans, Sateens, Shirtings, Brocades, 2 E 2 Venetians, &c. Telephones: No. 178 Burnley; No. 1292 Central, Manchester. Telegraphic Addresses: " Grey, Burnley "; " Graystone, Manchester." Bankers: Lancashire and Yorkshire Bank, Ltd.

GRIBBON BROTHERS, Handkerchief Manufacturers, Fancy Linen Manufacturers, 58, Bedford Street, Belfast. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; Branches, 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. Present Principal: Robert W. Gribbon. Branches: London, 23, Noble Street, E.C.; New York, 54 and 56, White Street; Mancheschest or, 35, Back Piccadilly; &c. Specialities: " Etonia" Handkerchiefs, Hemstitched and Embroidered Linens. Patent: Tandem Hemstitching Machine. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 2901, 2902 and 2903 Belfast. (I rivate Branch Exchange). Telegraphic Address: " Gribbon, Belfast." Code: Lieber's. Bankers: Bank of Ireland.

GRICE, GRICE & SON, Ltd., Brass and Copper Tube Manufacturers, Nile Street, Birmingham; Leadenhall Buildings, E.C.; and 5, Creechurch Lane, London, E.C.; 130, West Nile Street; Glasgow; 26, Mosley Street, Newcastle-on-Tyne. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1870 by James Thomas Grice. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Directors: Edward Mills, Edwin Grice, H. A. Latimer, W. W. Letcher and Harry Mills (Managing Director). Secretary: E. Litherland. Specialities: Every description of Seamless and Brazed Brass and Copper Tubes. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephone No. 22 Midland, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Grice, Birmingham."

GRIDLEY & CO., Isinglass Importers and Merchants, 9, Duke Street, London Bridge, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1855 by William Gridley. Present Principals: C. 0. Gridley, F. B. Pike, W. J. Barnby. Probably the largest and best-known firm in the isinglass trade. Special machinery of the firm's own design; numerous and experienced staff. Specialities: Isinglass for domestic and industrial purposes. Also " Isinglassine," a special preparation for household use. Awards: Highest Awards for Isinglass at the International Health Exhibition, London, 1884, and the International Exhibition, Melbourne,1888; Gold Medals Edinburgh, 1886 and 1890. Connection: United Kingdom; export to Canada, United States, Australia, South Africa, the Continent, &c. Telephones: No. 3620 Central; No. 529 Hop. Telegraphic Address: " Isinglass, London."

GRIERSON, OLDHAM & CO., Ltd., General Wine and Spirit Merchants and Shippers. Offices: 9, Regent Street, S.W. Bonded Stores and Warehouses: Waterloo, London, S.E. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1820 by Gledstanes & Coningham. Partnership Successions: (1) Gledstanes; (2) Coningham; (3) Grierson, Oldham & Co. Incorporated: August 28, 1894. Business: Wholesale Wine and Spirit Merchants and Shippers. Specialities: California Wines and American Cocktails, Sparkling Muscatel, and Sparkling Wines; also California Brandies. Connection: United Kingdom, the Colonies, and Foreign Countries. Telephone: No. 8695 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Barmalt, London." Cable Addresses: (Eastern Telegraph Co.) " Negus, London "; (E. E. A. & Co.) " Circassian, London "; (Mackay Bennett) " Oldgrier, London." Code: A B C.

GRIEVE, T., & CO., Hosiery Machine Builders, Queen Street Works, Leicester. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1894 by T. S. Grieve, the present principal. Premises: Erected new building in 1902, extended in 1905, and again in 1912, covering 20,000 square feet, equipped with up-to-date appliances. Staff: 220. Staff Clubs: Cricket Team and Whist in connection with the Leicester Trades' League. Specialities: Fully Automatic Knitting Machinery for Seamless Footwear, Ribbed or Plain for Hose and Half-hose. Licensed Valuers to the Hosiery Trade. Patents: Many for Hosiery Machinery. Connection: Worldwide. Telephones: Nos. 572 and 3713 Leicester. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Excel, Leicester." Code: A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

GRIFFIN, J., & CO., Royal Naval Publishers, 2, The Hard, Portsmouth. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established at Portsmouth in 1798. Present Principal: G. L. Griffin. Manager: A. Muriel. Specialities: Naval Text and Literary Works. Publishers of " Brassey's Naval Annual." Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty). Royal Warrant: Held a Special Appointment to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephones: No. 35 (Post Office and Municipal) Portsmouth. Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd.

GRIFFIN, J. & R., Ltd., Jewellers, Silversmiths and Electro Plate Manufacturers, Link Works, Birmingham. London Office: 19, Bartlett's Building, Holborn, London. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1887, by J. J. Griffin. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1902. Directors: J. J. Griffin (Managing Director), H. S. Griffin (Secretary). Premises: Extensive and well-equipped. Staff: 240. Speciality: Silver Toilet Ware. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 496 Northern, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Diversity, Birmingham." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited, Great Hampton Street, -Birmingham.

GRIFFIN, WILLIAM, Chain Manufacturer, Cradley Heath, Staffs. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1790 by Wood Brothers, succeeded by Wood, Aston, & Co. Present Principal: William Griffin. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Extensive and well fitted. Staff: About 200. Speciality: " Triton " and " Beacon " quality Chains. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 3, Cradley. Telegraphic Address: " Chain, Cradley Heath." Codes: A B C (5th Edition), Pierons Condensor. Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd., and Metropolitan Bank (of England and Wales), Ltd. Mr. W. Griffin is Chairman of the Chain Manufacturers Association.

GRIFFITH (DANIEL C.) & CO., Assayers and Analytical Chemists, 8, Victoria Avenue, Bishopsgate, London, E.C. Established in 1850 by G. H. Makins, who was joined in 1860 by Daniel C. Griffith. Present Principals: Daniel C. Griffith, Richard C. Griffith. Are widely known in the trade, and are Assayers to the Bank of England. Specialities: The Assaying of Bullion, Metals, Minerals, Earths, &c.; are also Analytical Chemists, Agents for Sale of Ores. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: Nos. 3000 Central and 2434 City. Telegraphic Address " Gryffydd, London."

GRIFFITH, WALTER & CO., Merchants, Crosby Buildings, 6, Crosby Square, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established half a century ago by the late Walter Griffith. Present Principal: Walter Griffith (son). Premises: Ground Floor, occupied by the firm for over forty years. Specialities: Export Hardware and Soft Goods, Import Qil, Rubber and Timber. Connection: Chiefly Africa, Australasia, Canada. Telephone: No. 9744 Central, London. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " W alterian, London." Codes: Whitelaw's and A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: National Provincial Bank of England, Ltd., Bishopsgate, London.

GRIFFITH, W. P., & SONS, Ltd., Printers, Stationers, Account Book Manufacturers, Prujean Square, Old Bailey, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1860. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1884. Directors: Isaac Clark Griffith (Chairman), Henry Griffith, Frank Griffith, Walter J. Tull, Oscar C. Griffith. Pre mises: Large Warehouses and Offices in Prujean Square; also Factories at 24, Great New Street, E.C., and at Coldharbour Lane, S.E. Staff: About &O. Specialities: General Printing, the Manufacture of Account Books, Diary Printing, &c. Connection: United King dom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government.

GRIFFITHS, C. H., & SONS, Fire and Thief-Proof Safe Manufacturers, 43, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1845 by Charles Henry Griffiths, who originated the phrase " Who's Griffiths ? " Present Proprietor: George Edward Klein wort. Specialities: Fire and Thief-Proof Safes; also Bankers' Strong Rooms and Plate Closets. Works, 266-267, Poyser Street, Cambridge Heath, E. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Telephone: No. 5068 Bank. Telegraphic Address: "Prevention, London." Bankers: London City and Midland Bank, Ltd.

GRIFFITHS & CO. CONTRACTORS, Ltd., Engineers and Public Works Contractors, Griffiths House, 59A, London Wall, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company. Chairman: Lord Howard de Walden and Seaford. Vice-Chairman: E. P. Powles. Managing Director: J. Norton Griffiths, M.P. Brancho,s: L.C.C. Battersea to Deptford Sewer, 73, Knatchbull Road, Camberwell, S.E.; The Harbour Works, St. John, New Brunswick; Vancouver, B.C., Carter Cotton Buildings, and Montreal, P.Q., Dominion Express Building (Norton Griffiths & Co., Ltd.); Vancouver, B.C., Dominion Trust Buildings (Norton Griffiths Steel Construction Co.); St. Petersburg, Preobrashenskaia (Griffiths & Co., Ltd. (of Russia)); Baku, Russia, 1, Mikailovskaia (Griffiths Co,& (of Baissia)); Sydney, New South Wales, " Strathkyle," 19, Bligh Street (Griffiths & Co., Ltd.); Nairobi, Africa (Griffiths & Co., Ltd.). Business: Engineering, Public Works Contracts. Connection: London, Canada, Russia, Australia, Africa, Chile. Telephones: Nos. 700, 708, and 3270 London Wall, London. Telegraphic Address: " Jonorgrif, London." Codes: Bentleys, Western Union, A B C (5th Edition).

GRIFFITHS & MILLINGTON, Ltd., Advertising Contractors, London. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1880 by Griffiths & Millington. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1893. Directors: Richard Thomas Simcock (Chairman), IL A. Leicester, J.P., N. Millington, J. Hebblethwaite, G. Gerrish. Branches: Over forty. Business: Advertising in all its branches. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 4814 Gerrard. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (London, Birmingham, and Worcester).

GRIFFITHS (THOMAS) & CO., Importers and Exporters of all classes of Cotton Waste, &c., Engine Waste Manufacturers and Sizing Merchants, Lees Street Mills, Lees Street, Ancoats, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1888 by Thomas Griffiths, George Edwin Jowett, and Thomas Percy Griffiths, the present principals. Premises: Extensive well equipped Mills. Staff: 200 to 300. Branch: Oriel Street, Vauxhall Road, Liverpool. Business: Engine Waste Manufacturers, Sizing Merchants, Wholesale Rag and Rope and Paper Stock Merchants, Importers and Exporters of all classes of Cotton Waste, Rags, Ropes, New and Old Cotton and Woollen Rags, Waste Paper, Twines, Fonts, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government and to Railway Companies. Telephone: No. 913 Central, Manchester; No. 450 Central, Liverpool. Telegraphic Address: " Bagging," Manchester and Liverpool. Bankers: Bank of Liverpool, Ltd.

GRIMBLE & CO., Ltd., Malt Vinegar Brewers, also Proprietors of the Edinburgh Malt Vinegar Co. and Hutchings & Co., Bristol, Spiced and Malt Vinegar Brewers, Cumberland Market, London, N.W . Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established as an offshoot of the Distillery Firm of Grimble & Co., of Albany Street. Founded 1841. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1889. Directors: J. Grant Malcolmson. and Ivor Forbe$ Maloolmon, One of the oldest houses in the trade. Speciality: Malt Vinegar. Sole article. Awards: Eight Gold Medals. Connection: World-wide. Telephone: No. 2058 North. Telegraphic Address: " Belgrim, London." Code: A B C (5th Edition).

GRIMES BROTHERS, Timber Merchants and Saw Mill Proprietors, East Bute Timber Yard, East Moors, Cardiff. Hours of Business: Office, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12 noon. Established about 1868 by A. R. Thomas. Purchased by Grimes Brothers in 1883. Partners, John Grimes, J. F. Grimes (d. 1902). Present Principal: John Grimes. Premises: Cover an acre and a half, fullyequipped Saw Mill. Stag: Thirty to forty. Speciality Manufacture of Highclass Hand-finished Builders' Mouldings. Connection: United Kingdom. Tele-phone: P.O. 746 (two lines) Cardiff. Telegraphic Address: " Grimes Brothers, Cardiff." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (Cardiff).

GRIMOND, J. & A. D., Ltd., Jute Spinners, Manufacturers and Merchants, Bow Bridge Works, and Maxwelltown Works, Dundee, and Holt Town Works, Manchester. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established about 1840 by Joseph Grimond (one of the pioneers of the Jute Trade) and Alexander Dick Grimond. Continued by George Washington Grimond (d.) and Alexander Moulding Grimond (d.), sons of Joseph Grimond. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1892. Directors: Joseph Bowman Grimond and Louis Grimond Macintyre (Managing Directors), Miss Helen Josephine Grimond and Herbert Norman Gildea. Premises: Very extensive works equipped with the latest appliances, containing about 13,000 Spindles, and 750 Looms, &c. Staff: 3000. Branches: London, 4, Carey Lane, E.C.; New York, 309, Broadway; Manchester, 2, Chorlton Street, Portland Street; Tormito, 86, Adelaide Street East. Agencies: Bradford, Huddersfield, Kidderminster, Gateshead-on-Tyne, Paris, Salonica, Galatz, Brussels, Janina, Philippople. Specialities: Hessians, Bags, Burlaps, Floorcloth and Linoleum Canvas, Cotton and Linen Oilcloth, Tarpaulings, Twines, Yarns, Cords and Ropes, Jute Brussels, Velvets Tapestry, Kidder, Dutch, Mattings, Prints and Twilled Carpets; also Rugs and Squares, Webbing Curtains, Wall Decorations, and AutoFabrics, &c. Awards: Silver Medals: International Exhibition, London, 1862; Exposition TJniverselle Internationale, Paris, 1878 (for Carpets); First Prize, Exposition Internationale De Agricultura, Buenos Ayres, 1910 (for Twines and Ropes). Connection: • United Kingdom, United States, Canada, and the Continent (extensive trade). Telephones: Nos. 258, 261, 403, 404 and 405 Dundee; No. 5125 Bank, London; No. 1980 Central, Manchester; No. 318 Worth, New York; No. 1525 Adelaide, Toronto. Telegraphic Address: " Grimonds," Dundee, London, Manchester, -New York, Toronto. Codes: Lieber's, A B C (5th Edition), Western Union, Private. Bankers: British Linen Bank, Ltd. (Dundee, London ).•

GRIMSHAW, BAXTER, & J. J. ELLIOTT, Ltd., Clock Manufacturers and Importers, Tools, Materials, Watches, &c. Head Offite and Showrooms: 29-37, Goswell Road, London, E.C., and 91, Mitchell Street, Glasgow. Clock Factory: Little Grays Inn Lane, B.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Is an amalgamation of two old-established firms, J. J. Elliott & Sons, Ltd., and Grimshaw & Baxter. Incorporated as a Private Limited Company in 1909. Directors: Charles G. Baxter, Alfred J. Baxter, Frank W. Elliott, Charles H. Elliott. Staff: About 200; out-workers, about thirty. Speciality: Musical and Chiming Clocks. Connection: Home trade; export to all parts of the world. Telephones: No. 485 Holborn; Glasgow, No. 7889 City. Telegraphic Addresses: " Grimbax," London and Glasgow. Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd.

GRIMWADES, Ltd., Manufacturers of General Earthenware, Winton Pottery, Stoke -on-Trent, and Stoke Pottery, Heron Cross Pottery, and Upper Hanley Pottery. Hours of Business: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1885 by Leonard Grimwade, Sidney Grimwade, and Edward Grimwade (brothers). Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Branch: 13, St. Andrew Street, London, E.C. (Manager, John Sayer). Specialities: Middle-class Domestic Pottery, chiefly Dinner and Tea Ware, Toilet Ware, Invalid and Hospital Ware; Hotel and Restaurant Ware; Fancy Goods, Flower Pots and Pedestals and Pots. Patents: Several. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Australian Agents: Reslaw Green & Co. 163, Pitt Street, Sydney. New Zpalan;:l Agents: H. E. Cooper & Co., Hobson's Buildings, Auckland. Telephone: No. 616 Stoke-onTrent. Telegraphic Address " Grim wades, Stoke-on-Trent." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited (Hanley and London).

GRIMWOOD, A., & CO., Merchants, Ethelburga House, 70, Bishopsgato Street, London, E.C. (London Agency for Mexico Houses only). Head Offices Mexico City. Branches: Offices, Vora Cruz, Antwerp, and London. Specialities: Cement and Asphaltum. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No, 13445 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Grimpolon, London." Bankers: Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co. (London) National Bank of Mexico (Mexico City).

GRINDLAY & CO., Bankers, Army, Indian (Civil and Military), General and Shipping Agents, 54. Parliament Street, London, S.W. Hours of Business: 9.30 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays, 9.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1828 by the late Captain R. M. Grindlay. Present Principals: James Henry Matthews, Austin Low, Eric Stuart Matthews, Trevor Jocelyn Matthews. Is the oldest established firm of Indian Agents in existence. Originated in the days of the East India Company, and formerly carried on its business in the City, but moved west when the Government of India was assumed by the Crown. The firm has branches in Bombay, Calcutta, and Simla., and correspondents and agents at Madras, Karachi, Rangoon, Aden, Port Said; Malta, Marseilles, and most other important cities in the East and on the Continent. Stag: About seventy. Leading features of the business: Banking of every kind. The securing of passages to all parts of the world; the collection, shipping, and insurance of baggage. Supplies of all kinds are also obtained and shipped. Insurances are effected. The firm has a large and representative Military, Civil Service, and general clientele. Telephone: No. 3286 Victoria (with private wire to the Stock Exchange). Telegraphic Address: " Grindlay, London." Bankers: Bank of England; and Coutts & Co.

GRINDLEY & CO., Ltd., Tar and Rosin Distillers, 21 to 23, Broomfield Street Poplar, London, E. Branch Works: Rawcliffe, Yorks. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1868 by R. D. Grindley (d.). Incorporated as a Limited Company. Directors: Rev. R. D. Grindley (Chairman), W. S. Duff (Managing Director), J. B. Bird, R. G. Halsted and J. J. Patrick. Premises: Cover about three acres. Specialities: Insulating and Transformer Oils, Black Varnishes, Soluble Drier Preparations, Motor and other Greases. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign and Colonial. Telephones: No. 58 East, London (two lines), and (Rawcliffe) No. 11 Snaith. Telegraphic Addresses: " Resinous, Pop, London "; " Grindley, Rawcliffe." Mr. W. S. Duff is Colonel of the 2nd East Anglian Brigade, R.F.A.

GRINDSTONE MANUFACTURING CO. (THE), Grindstone Manufacturers, Bilston, Staffs. Hours of Business: 6.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. Established over ninety years ago by John Legge. Joined by George Legge and William F. Legge. Present Principal: William F. Legge. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Specialities: Grindstones, Glass Cutting Stones, Rubstones, Scythestones. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telegraphic Address: " Legge, Bilston." Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

GRINSELL, JOHN & SONS, Ltd., Manufacturing Silversmiths, Electroplaters, Glass-Cutters, Gilders, Oak Workers, &c., 13, Charterhouse Street, London, E.C., and Victoria Works, Tower Street, Birmingham. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1876 by John Grinsell (d.); succeeded by Thomas Bywater Grinsell, James E. Grinsell (d.), Lorenzo Grinsell, and Joseph C. Grinsell. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1905. Connection: Uni.,ed Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 580 Holborn; No. 5357 Central, Birmingham. Telegraphic Address: " Grinsell," London and Birmingham. Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

GRIST, MATTHEW, Washed Wools and Milipuffs for Bedding, Merretts Mills, Woodchester, Stroud, Glos. Hours of Business: Mills, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Office, close at 6 p.m. Established over sixty years ago by Henry Grist. Continued by William Grist (son). Present Principal: Matthew Grist (son of W. Grist). Claim that they have never made any unwashed Flock. Premises: Situated on the banks of one of the tributaries of the Severn, and have an unlimited supply of clean water. Mills cover about three acres. Staff: About fifty. Specialities: Washed Wools and Millpuffs only made, which are guaranteed to pass the standard of the Rag Flock Act, 1911. Connection: United Kingdom. Telephone: No. 316 Nailsworth, Gloster Area. Telegraphic Address: " Merretts, , Woodchester." Bankers: Capital and Counties Bank, Ltd. (Nailsworth). Mr. Grist is a Justice of the Peace for Gloucestershire, member of the Gloucestershire County Council, and a member of the Stroud Rural District Council.

GROOM, DANIELS & CO., Timber, Slate, Cement and Sanitary Ware Merchants, Sawing, Planing, and Moulding Mills, Magdalen Street, also Waterside premises at Hythe, Colchester. Hours of Business: 6 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, close at 1 p.m. Established in 1866 by William Groom, Pattrick Daniels, and N. F. Cobbold. Continued in 1887 by William Groom and Edward John Potter. Present Principals: Samuel Robert Groom, Edward John Potter, Herbert Frederick Potter, and F. H. P. Leguen de Lacroix (since 1910). Telephone: No. 142, Colchester. Telegraphic Address: " Groom, Colchester."

GROSSMITH, J., SON & CO., Wholesale Perfumers and Fine Soap Makers. Warehouse and Office: 29, Newgate Street, London, E.C. Established in 1835 by the father of the present sole proprietor, John Lipscomb Grossmith, Deputy-Alderman of the Ward of Farringdon Within, and Lieutenant of the City of London. Specialities: High-class Perfumery in all its branches and Toilet Soaps. Telephones: Nos. 6468, 6469 Holborn. Telegraphic Address: " Grossmith, London."

GROSSMITH, W. R., Artificial Limb Manufacturer, 110, Strand, London, W.C. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1760 by J. H. Sleath. Present Principal W. R. Grossmith. One of the oldest firms in the trade. Premises: Formerly in Fleet Street, removed to the Strand in 1895. Specialities: Artificial Limbs and Eyes. Awards: Prize Medals, London, Paris and Dublin. Connection: Worldwide. Telephone: No. 5918 City.

GROSVENOR, CHATER & CO., Ltd., Paper Makers and Wholesale Stationers, 68, Cannon Street, London, E.C. Works Abbey Paper Mills, Holywell, Flintshire. Established in 1690 by Robert Grosvenor. Incorporated as a Company in 1889. Present Directors: George Chater (Chairman), Thomas Rutt, Colonel V. Chater, Lionel G. Chater, and Harold A. Rutt. Secretary: Harold A. Rutt. Oldest house in the paper trade in the City of London. Telephones: No. 589 Bank; No. 5949 Central. Telegraphic Address: " Chater, Cannon, London."

GROTRIAN (FREDERICK B.) & CO., Grain and Seed Merchants, The Avenue, High Street, Hull. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1860 by (1) Frederick B. Grotrian, continued by F. B. Grotrian, F. Grotrian, J. Smailes, J. H. Jackson, 1892 to 1894; (2) F. Grotrian, J. Smailes, and J. H. Jackson, 1895 to 1896; (3) F. Grotrian and J. Smailes, 1896 to 1901; (4) Frederick Grotrian, 1901 to 1904; (5) Frederick Grotrian and E. L. Petersen, 1904 to 1909; (6) E. L. Peterson and H. D. Clarke, 1909 to 1911. Present Principal H. Douglas Clarke (since 1911). Staff: Eleven. Specialities: In Grain, Seeds, and Oils. Connection: United Kingdom and Foreign. Telephone: No. 74 Hull. Telegraphic Address: " Grotrian, Hull." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd.

GROUT & CO., Ltd., Silk Crape Manufacturers, 35, Wood Street, Cheapside, London, E.C. Factory and Registered Offices: Silk Crape Works, Great Yarmouth. Hours of Business: London, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Yarmouth, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1806 by Joseph Grout. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1894. Directors: Sir R. H. Inglis Palgravo (Chairman), Frank Burton (Vice-Chairman), Charles S. Orde, Frank Arnold, William T. Hall, and Frank J. Farrell (Managing Directors). Secretary: Thomas B. Hall. London Manager: J. R.Bately. Premises: Extensive Factory at Great Yarmouth; London Offices and Warehouses as above. Stag: From 800 to 900. Specialities: Mourning Crapes, Crêpes de Chine, Silk Scarves, Dress Goods (Silk and Wool, and Silk and Cotton), and Chiffons. The firm are known all over -the world in connection with the manufacture of Black Silk Crapes for mourning purposes. (Original inventors and patentees of same; patent granted to Joseph Grout in 1822.) Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Royal Warrants: Special Appointment to H.M. Queen Mary. Held a Warrant of Appointment to Her late Majesty Queen Victoria. Telephones: No. 6625 City (London); No. 101 Great Yarmouth. Telegraphic Addresses: " Grout, Phone, London." " Grout, Great Yarmouth." Cable Address: " Grout, London." Bankers: Barclay & Co., Ltd-.

GROVE MILLS Ltd., Cotton Spinners and Manufacturers, 46, Portland Street, Manchester, and Grove Mills, Rochdale. Hours of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1861 by William Hoyle, William James Petrie, J.P., and Alfred Hoyle, as Hoyle, Petrie Co, Partnership Successions: (1) Wm. Hoyle, Wm. James Petrie, J.P., Alfred Hoyle, Wm. Henry Petrie; (2) Wm. James Petrie, J.P., Alfred Hoyle, Wm. Henry Petrie; (3) Wm. James Petrie, J.P., Alfred Hoyle. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1904. Directors: Wm. James Petrie, J.P., Herbert Alfred Hoyle, Ernst Cummins Harvey, J.P. (Chairman), John Taylor, James Caladine, Robert Barlow. Staff: About 600. Specialities: American Cotton, 10's to 36's, Twist; also the manufacture of Grey Cloths, principally Drills and Jeans, both for the Home Trade and Shipping. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephones: No. 1148 City.; No. 19 Rochdale; Telegraphic Address " Petrol, Rochdale."

GROVER & CO., Ltd., Engineers and Millwrights, Britannia Works, Wharf Road, London, N. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1874 by J. W. Grover, M.Inst.C.E., and George G. Hunt. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1875. Directors: Bertram R. Beale (Chairman and Managing Director), S. F. Staples, C. W. Farrar. Staff: About 100. Specialities: Grover's Spring Washers, Simplex Lead Glazing, Rubber Stopper Machinery, Perforating, Stamping, and Gumming Machines; Millwrights and General Machinery. Patents: Grover's Spring Washers, Simplex Lead Glazing, Postage Stamp Perforating Machines. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Contractors to H.M. Government, also to Foreign and Colonial Governments, Railway Companies, Municipalities, &c. Telephone: No. 617 North, London. Telegraphic Address: " Adopted, Nordo, London." Bankers: Union of London and Smiths Bank, Ltd.

GRUNDY, G. G. S., Iron and Steel Merchant and Agent, 8, Park Square, Leeds. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1899 by G. G. S. Grundy, the present principal. Speciality: Swedish Pig Iron. Telephone: No. 90w, Leeds. Telegraphic Address: " Links, Leeds." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited. Mr. Grundy is a member of the Iron and Steel Institute and an Associate of the Royal School of Mines. Clubs: Public Schools, London, and Leeds Club.

GUARDIAN ASSURANCE CO., Ltd., 11, Lombard Street, London, E.C. Hours 0/ Business: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1821 by Deed of Settlement. Directors: Hon. Evelyn Hubbard (Chairman), Joseph A. Burrell (Deputy-Chairman), Reginald E. Johnston (Viee,-Chairman ), Lord Aldenham F. R. S. Balf our. Henry BonhamCarter, William Dawson, P. Lyttelton Gell, Charles R. Gilliat, Lionel H. Hanbury, J. Warrington Haward, F.R.C.S., Robert L. Hunter, E. Henry Loyd, Philip H. Martineau, Edward Norman, Sir Augustus Prevost, Bart., Roderick Pryor, John Walter. Secretary: T. G. C. Browne. Actuary: Ernest Woods. Manager of Fire, Burglary, Fidelity, and Glass Insurance Departments: A. J. Relton. Branches: London (Law Courts), 21, Fleet Street, E.O.; ( Westminster), 28, King Street, Covent Garden, W.C.; Birmingham, Brighton, Bristol, Card'ff, Dublin, Glasgow, Edinburgh, Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle, Nottingham. Business: Fire, Life, Accident, Burglary, Fidelity Guarantee, Glass, and Employers' Liability Insurances. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, and Colonial. Funds: Subscribed Capital, £2,000,000; Capital Paid-up, £1,000,000; Total Assets over £6,000,000; Total Income, over £1,000,000; Life Funds, over £4,000,000. Telephones': No. 6640 Avenue (five lines). Telegraphic Address: "Fireguard, Stock, London."

GUEST & CHRIMES, Original Manufacturers of Chrimes' High-Pressure Loose Valve Cocks, &c., Foundry and General Brass Works, Rotherham. Hours of Business: 7.45 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.; Saturdays, 7.45 a.m. to 12 noon. Established in 1843 by Chrimes Brothers. Afterwards Chrimes, Neatby & Co. Taken over in 1847 by Guest & Chrimes. Present Principal: Charles E. Chrimes. Premises: Very extensive; cover two acres and a half, with a floorage of 100,000 square feet. Equipped with all the best modern appliances. Staff: About 400. Agency: Thomas Beggs & Son, 132, Southwark Street, London, S.E. Specialities: Chrimes' High-Pressure Loose Valve Cocks, Guest & Chrimes' Improved Sluice Valves (body cast in one piece), Siemens & Adamson's Water Meter, Reservoir Valves and Fittings, Fire Extinguishing Apparatus, General Plumbers' Goods, Gas Fittings (including High-Power Lamps, Wet and Dry Gas Meters). Patents and Inventions: Numerous. Connection: World-wide. Contractors to H.M. Government (Admiralty); also to many large Estates, including those of His late Majesty King Edward, and members of the Nobility. Telephone: No. 205 Rotherham. Telegraphic Address: " Guest, Rotherham." Bankers: Sheffield and Hallamshire Bank, Ltd.

GUEST (JOHN) & SONS, Malleable and .General Ironfounders, Wolverhampton Road, Walsall. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established prior to 1820 by the grandfather of the senior partner. Present style adopted about eighty years ago. Present Principals: John Thomas Guest (father), Ivor G. Guest and Herbert Guest (sons). Claim that the father of the senior partner was the first to make Malleable Cast Iron Keys (previously all Stampings). Also claim to be the largest makers in the world. Specialities: Malleable Crucible Castings for Engineers, Machinists, &c. Connection: -United Kingdom chiefly. Small Foreign and Colonial trade. Telephone: No. 292 Walsall. Telegraphic Address: " Guests, Ironfounders, Walsall."

GUEST, KEEN & NETTLEFOLDS, Ltd., Ironmasters, Steel Manufacturers, &c., London Works, near Birmingham. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1900. Directors: Arthur Keen (Chairman), the Earl of Bessborough, C.V.O., C.B., Arthur T. Keen, Francis W. Keen, Godfrey Nettlefold, E. Windsor Richards, Edward Steer, and Sir J. Weston Stevens. Secretary: H. Probyn. The Company was first registered as Guest, Keen & Co., Ltd., to acquire the businesses of the Dowlais Iron Co. and Guest & Co., Ironmasters, Steel Manufacturers, Colliery Proprietors, &c., and that of the Patent Nut and Bolt Co., Ltd., Ironmasters, Colliery Proprietors, and Manufacturers of Steel and Iron Railway Fastenings, &c. In 1902 the business of Nettlefolds, Ltd., was acquired, and the name of the Company changed as above, the capital at the same time being largely increased. The Company's operations embrace the manufacture of Steel, the well-known Nettlefold Screws, &c. (as previously carried on by the several above-named concerns, now amalgamated); and important collieries are also worked in conjunction with this industry. Telephone: No. 8 Smethwick. Telegraphic Address: " Globe, Birmingham."

GUEVARA, Ltd., Manufacturers and Merchants of Worsteds and Woollens, 1, Chapel Street, and Parkside Mills, Bradford. Hours of Business: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1912. Directors: Luis Guevara, Harry L. Searle and Allan C. Bailey. Premises: Offices and Warehouse at Eastbrook, Buildings, Mill and Warehouse Parkside, equipped with modern appliances. Staff: Thirty-eight; works, 150. Specialities: In Worsteds and Woollens (Merchants and Manufacturers). Telephones: Nos. 3604, 3605, 3607 Bradford. Telegraphic'Address:" Guevaras, Bradford." Code: Western Union. Bankers: United Counties Bank, Ltd.

GUGENHEIM BROTHERS, Manufacturing Jewellers and Diamond Mounters, 9 and 10, Pollen Street, Maddox Street, London, W. Hours of Business: Usual. Established in 1882 by Julius Gugenheim; joined in 1889 by Carl Gugenheim (brother), the present principals. Speciality: Well known for high-class Diamond and Gem Jewellery. Telegraphic Address: " Gugheim, Reg, London."

GUILLAUME, Ltd., Needles, Fishhooks Fishing Tackle and Fishing Lines Manufacturers, Varsity Works, Redditch. Hours of Business: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established in 1896 by H. Guillaume. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1901. Directors: H. Guillaume (Chairman and Managing Director) and M. Thomas. Premises:- Occupy the works precedently used as Needle Works by James Thomas & Sons at Clive Road, Redditch. Covering about 800 square yards of two or three storey buildings, equipped with all Automatic Line Machinery. Own 1500 square yards of land adjoining the works for further extensions. Staff: Thirty to sixty. Branch: 10, Rue Tajol, Paris, and Works for French Goods near Dieppe. Specialities: FishingLines and Wire Gimps, Plaited and Twisted in all materials of Silk, Flax, &c. Claim to be the sole Manufacturers of these Goods in Redditch. Inventions: Several Novelties in the Fishing Tackle Trade. Awards: Gold Medals, Spa, 1904; Liege, 1905; Grand Prix, Paris, 1907. Connection: Worldwide. England, France and Belgium chiefly Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Guillaume, Redditch."

GUINNESS (ARTHUR) SON & CO. Ltd., St. James Gate, Dublin, and Salisbury House, London, E.C. Established in 1759, and continued as a private concern until registration. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1886. Directors: The Viscount Iveagh, K.P., G.C.V.O. (Chairman); C. D. La Touche (Managing Director); Colonel H. W. RennyTailyour, the Hon. A. E. Guinness, C. E. Sutton, and F. E. Greene (Assistant Managing Directors); Colonel G. W. Addison, the Hon. R. E. C. L. Guinness, C.B., C.M. G. , M.P., the Hon. W. E. Guinness, M.P., the Earl of Kenmare, J. Luard Pattisson, C.B., the Lord Revelstoke. London Secretary: J. W. Smith. Dublin, Secretary: G. S. Green. Premises: The Brewery at St. James Gate, Dublin, with Stores, &c., covers about fifty acres of ground. Stag: About 4000. Speciality-: Stout. Connection: World-wide. Telegraphic Address: " Guinness, Dublin." Bankers: (Dublin) Bank of Ireland; (London) Glyn, Mills, Currie & Co.

GUINNESS, MAHON & CO., Bankers, 81, Lombard Street, London, E.C., and 17, College Green, Dublin. How's of Business: 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Established in 1836 by Robert Rundell Guinness and John Ross Mahon; succeeded by Richard Seymour Guinness, Henry Guinness, Benjamin Seymour Guinness, Robert Darley Guinness, Gerald Seymour Guinness, Howard Rundell Guinness, Arthur Eustace Seymour Guinness, the four last-named being the present principals. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign. Telephone: No. 242 Central. Telegraphic Addresses: " Guimaco, London "; " Mars, Dublin." Bankers: (Clearing), Parr's Bank, Ltd.; other Bankers, Bank of Ireland (Dublin).

GULLAND, J. K., Ltd., The Diamond Drill Co., Late Boring Contractors and Diamond Drill Makers, 8, Victoria Street, Westminster, London, S.W. (Telephone: No. 2027 Victoria). City Office: 32, Great St. Helens ('phone 5110 Central). Hours of Business: London, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Established in 1877 by J. K. Gulland, joined by R. G. Ker Gulland (son) in 1910. Incorporated as a private Limited Company 1st January, 1912, amalgamating with the late firm of A. T. Hirsch & Co. (late of 3, Great St. Helens), Importers and Brokers of Brazilian Rough Diamonds (white and black), &c. Managing Directors: J. K. Gulland, M.I.M.E., F.G.S., F.S.A., Alfred J. Hirsch, and R. G. K. Gulland. Claim that it is the oldest firm in the business and the largest Importers of Black Diamonds for boring in the world. Branches: United States; Duluth, Minn.; New York City; Seattle, Wash.; Mexico City. Business: Importers of and Commission Agents for Rough Brazilian Diamonds, Rock Crystal, &c., and Dealers in Carbonado (Black Diamonds) and Boarts for prospecting and mechanical purposes. Patents: Numerous in connection with Diamond Prospecting Drills. Connection: World-wide; North America, Brazil, Australasia, S. and W. Africa; also general European; India, Japan. Telephone: No. 2027 Victoria. Telegraphic Address: " Gulland, London." Code:A B C (4th and 5th Editions). Bankers; London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd,

GUNN & MOORE, Manufacturers of every article connected with British Sports, Carrington Street, Nottingham. Hows of Business: 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Established by William Gunn and Thomas James Moore. Present Principal: William Gunn. Works: Haslam Street and Castle Boulevard, Nottingham. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 714 Nottingham. Telegraphic Address: " Autograph, Nottingham." Bankers: Lloyds Bank Limited.

GURTEEN, D., & SONS, Textile Cloths and Clothing Manufacturers, Chauntry Mills, Haverhill, Suffolk. Hours of Business: Factory, 6.30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Counting House, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Established in 1784 by Daniel Gurteen (greatgrandfather of the present member), as a Manufacturer of Fustians, Drabbets and Smock • Frocks. Continued from father to son. Present Principal: Jabez Gurteen, J.P. From the making of Fustians and Smock Frocks the firm gradually extended to ready-made Clothing of all descriptions, installing Steam Power in 1856, and extending the manufacture of Drabbets, Strainer Cloths, Huckaback Towelling and Scrims, and in 1880 introducing Horsehair Padding and Crinoline Cloths. In 1885 the manufacture of Cocoa Fibre Mats and Cloth Hearthrugs was commenced. Premises: Extend over several acres. Staff: Large, also many outworkers employed in the surrounding districts. Branches: London, 6, Honey Lane Market, Cheapside, E.C.; Manchester, 12, Mosley Street; Birmingham, Cannon Passage, Cannon Street; Bristol, 2, Tailors Court, Broad Street; Glasgow, 77, Queen Street. Specialities: Clothing of all descriptions; Drabbets, Strainer Cloths, Huckaback Towelling, and Scrims; Horsehair Padding, Crinoline Cloths, Cocoa Fibre Mats and Cloth Hearthrugs. Awards: Gold and Silver Medals, Brussels International Exhibition, 1910; Two Gold Medals, Turin International Exhibition, 1911. Connection: Ship to all parts of the world in extensive quantities. Telephone: No. 15 Ha' erhill. Telegraphic and Cable Address: " Gurteen, Haverhill." Code: A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: London County and Westminster Bank, Ltd. Mr. Gurteen is a Justice of the Peace for the County, and Chairman of the Urban District Council.

GUTEKUNST, OTTO C. H.—See COLNAGHI, P. & D., & OBACH.

GUTTMANN (OSCAR) & SONS, Consulting Engineers and Chemical Advisers, 60, Mark Lane, London, E.C. Hours of Business: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Established in 1889 by Oscar Guttmann (d.) Present Principals: Leo. F. Guttmann, A.C.G.I., Ph.D., F.I.C., F.C.S., and Camillo J. Guttmann, A. C. G. I. , B.Sc.., Asso c.M. Inst. C. E Premises: Occupy four rooms in London. Staff: Six to ton. Branch: 46, Earl Street, Kingston, Ontario, Canada. Specialities: Undertake the Design, Erection and Supervision. of Chemical Factories of all kinds. Specialists in Explosives, Acids, Recovery of Solvents and Fixation of Nitrogen from the air. Patents: Several for apparatus and Plant in connection with the Chemical Industry. Awards: Two Gold Medals, &c. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Telephone: No. 6309 Avenue, London. Telegraphic Addresses: " Grantable, London "; " Guttmann, Kingston-Ont." Codes: Marconi, A B C (5th Edition). Bankers: Bank of Scotland, Ltd.; Bank of Montreal, Ltd.; London Joint Stock Bank, Ltd.

GWAUN CAE GURWEN COLLIERY CO., Ltd., Anthracite Collieries Proprietors. Registered Office: Rotherham, Yorks; General Office: Swansea, South Wales; London Office: 31A, Coal Exchange, E.C. Hours of Business: Usual. Established nearly a century ago as Richard Morgan & Sons. Incorporated as a Limited Company in 1879. Directors: E. W. Hodgkinson, J.P. (Chairman), F. Sellars, J.P. (ViceChairman), B. G. Wood, Alderman G. Senior, J.P., E. Crowther, J.P. Premises: Cover 5000 acres. Staff: 1,500. Business: Producers of Big Vein Malting Coal, also for Lime Burning, Hop Drying, Horticultural and House purposes. Awards: Numerous Medals. Connection: United Kingdom, Foreign, Colonial. Cable Address: " Caegurwen," Rotherham, Swansea, London.

See Also

Loading...

Sources of Information